Instructions for Form FTB 3506

Child and Dependent Care Expenses Credit

General Information

Attach the completed form FTB 3506, Child and Dependent Care Expenses
Credit, to your Form 540/540A, California Resident Income Tax Return, or
Long Form 540NR, California Nonresident or Part-Year Resident Income Tax
Return, if you claim the child and dependent care expenses credit.

Registered Domestic Partners (RDP)

RDPs under Galifornia law must file their California income tax returns using
either the married/RDP filing jointly or married/RDP filing separately filing
status. RDPs have the same legal benefits, protections, and responsibilities
as married couples unless otherwise specified.

If you entered into a same sex legal union in another state, other than a
marriage, and that union has been determined to be substantially equivalent
to a California registered domestic partnership, you are required to file a
California income tax return using either the married/RDP filing jointly or
married/RDP filing separately filing status. For more information on what
states have legal unions that are considered substantially equivalent, go to
our website at fth.ca.gov and search for RDP.

For purposes of California income tax, references to a spouse, a husband,

or a wife also refer to a California registered domestic partner (RDP), unless
otherwise specified. When we use the initials RDP, they refer to both a
California registered domestic “partner” and a California registered domestic
“partnership,” as applicable. For more information on RDPs, get FTB Pub. 737,
Tax Information for Registered Domestic Partners.

Round Cents to Dollars

Round cents to the nearest whole dollar. For example, round $50.50 up to
$51 or round $25.49 down to $25. If you do not round, the Franchise Tax
Board (FTB) will disregard the cents. This helps process your return quickly
and accurately.

A Purpose

You may qualify to claim the 2008 credit for child and dependent care
expenses, if you (and your spouse/RDP) paid someone in California to care
for your child or other qualifying person while you worked or looked for
employment. You must have earned income to do so. If you qualify to claim
the credit, use form FTB 3506 to figure the amount of your credit.

If you received dependent care benefits for 2008 but do not qualify to claim
the credit, you are not required to complete form FTB 3506. For additional
definitions, requirements, and instructions, get federal Form 2441, Child and
Dependent Care Expenses.

B Differences in California and Federal Law
The differences between California and federal law are as follows:

e (alifornia allows this credit only for care provided in California.

e |f you were a nonresident, you must have earned wages from working in
California or earned self-employment income from California business
activities.

e Federal adjusted gross income must be $100,000 or less to qualify for
the California credit.

e The Galifornia credit is a percentage of the federal credit as modified by
California law.

e The California credit is refundable.

e Same-sex married couples (SSMCs) and RDPs may file a joint California
return and claim this credit. For more information, get FTB Pub. 776, Tax
Information for Same-Sex Married Couples, or FTB Pub 737.

C Qualifications
You may take the credit if all eight of the following apply.

1. If you are married or an RDP, you must file a joint return. For an
exception, see Section E, Married Persons or RDPs Filing Separate
Returns, on page 2.

2. Care must be provided in California for one or more qualifying persons.
See Section D, Qualifying Person Defined, on this page.

3. You paid for care so you (and your spouse/RDP) could work or look for
work. However, if you did not find a job and have no earned income,
you do not qualify for the credit. If your spouse/RDP was a student or
disabled, see the instructions for Part Ill, line 5, on page 4.

4. You (and your spouse/RDP) must have earned income (wages or self-
employment income) during the year. See the instructions for Part Il
line 4, on page 3 for more information on earned income.

5. You and the qualifying person(s) live in the same home for more than
half the year.

6. The person who provided care was not your spouse/RDP, the parent of
your qualifying child, or a person for whom you can claim a dependent
exemption. If your child provided the care, the child must have been
age 19 or older by the end of 2008.

7. You report the required information about the care provider(s) in Part Il,
line 1, and the information about the qualifying person(s) in Part Il1, line 2.

8. Your federal adjusted gross income is $100,000 or less.

D Qualifying Person Defined

Rules for Most People

A qualifying person is:

1. Achild under age 13 who meets the requirements to be your dependent
as a Qualifying Child. A child who turned 13 during the year qualifies
only for the part of the year when he or she was 12 years old.

2. Your spouse/RDP who was physically or mentally incapable of self-care.

3. Any person who was physically or mentally incapable of self-care and
either:

a. Was your dependent.
b. Would have been your dependent except that:
i. He or she received gross income of $3,500 or more.
ii. He or she filed a joint return.
iii. You, or your spouse/RDP if filing a joint return, could be claimed
as a dependent on someone else’s 2008 return.

Qualifying Child
A Qualifying Child is a child who meets all of the following tests:

e Relationship Test — The child must be your son, daughter, stepchild,
adopted child, eligible foster child, brother, sister, half-brother, half-sister,
stepbrother, stepsister, or a descendant of one of these. An adopted child
includes a child who has been lawfully placed with you for legal adoption
even if the adoption is not yet final. An eligible foster child must be
placed with you by an authorized placement agency or by a court.

e Age Test — The child must be under 19 years of age or a full-time student
under 24. (For the purposes of qualifying for the Child and Dependent
Care Expenses Credit, the child must be under 13.)

e Residency Test — The child must live with you for more than half the
year.

e Support Test — The child must not have provided more than half of his or
her own support.

e Joint Return Test — The child must not have filed a joint federal or state
income tax return with his or her spouse/RDP.

e (Citizenship Test — The child must be a citizen or national of the U.S. or a
resident of the U.S., Canada, or Mexico.

Qualifying Child of More Than One Person -- Tie-Breaker Rules

If Then the child will be treated as the qualifying
child of the...

Only one of the Parent.

persons is the child’s

parent

Both persons are the |Parent with whom the child lived with for the longer
child’s parent period of time. If the child lived with each parent
for the same amount of time then the child will be
treated as the qualifying child of the parent with the
highest adjusted gross income.

None of the persons |Person with the highest adjusted gross income.
are the child’s parent

Divorced, RDP terminated, Separated, or Never Married Parents

For divorced, RDP terminated, separated, or never married parents, special
rules apply in determining if your child meets the requirements to be your
qualifying person. When parents file separate returns, only one parent
qualifies to claim a child as a qualifying person.

Even if both parents pay for child care for the same child, both parents

cannot qualify for the credit. Some custody agreements designate which
parent is entitled to the credit. However, the designated parent must meet all
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the qualifications in Section C, Qualifications, to claim the credit. To verify
that your child meets the requirements to be your qualifying person, use the
table below.

RULES FOR DIVORCED, SEPARATED, OR NEVER MARRIED PARENTS

IF AND THEN

ALL four of the following apply: You were the The child
1. Your child was under 13 custodial parent and | is your

and/or physically or mentally | Yo can claim the qualifying
incapable of self-care when dependent exemption | person.

the care was provided. credit for the child. . .
Children turning 13 during You were the custodial | The child

the year qualify only for the | parent and under is your
part of the year they were the provisions of a qualifying
12 years old. decree of divorce, person.

legal separation,
termination of
registered domestic
partnership, or a
written separation
agreement, the
noncustodial parent
claimed the dependent
exemption credit,

2. One of the following applies
a. You are divorced, legally
separated, or have
terminated a registered
domestic partnership.
b. You are separated under
a written separation
agreement.
¢. You and the other parent C
lived apart at all times or you signed a
during the last 6 months | statement releasing
of the year. (This includes | the dependent
parents never married to | exemption credit
each other.) to the noncustodial
3. 0ne or both parents had parent.

custody of the child for more | You are not the The child
than half the year. custodial parent. is not your
4. One or both parents provided qualifying
more than half the child’s person.
support for the year.
One or more of the four Use the
statements above do not apply. “Rules for
Most People”
on page 1,
Section D.

Custodial parent. You are the custodial parent if you had physical custody
of your child longer than the other parent during the calendar year. On days
where custody is shared, the parent having custody of the child for more
than 12 hours is considered to have custody for that day.

E Married Persons or RDPs Filing Separate
Returns

Generally, if you are married or an RDP, you must file a joint return to claim
the credit. However, you can take the credit on your separate return if:

1. You meet all three requirements below:

* You lived apart from your spouse/RDP at all times during the last six
months of 2008.

* The qualifying person(s) lived in your home more than half of 2008.

e You provided over half the cost of keeping up your home.

2. You meet all the other qualifications in Section C, Qualifications.

F Nonresidents and Part-Year Residents

1. You must complete and attach Schedule CA (540NR), California
Adjustments — Nonresidents or Part-Year Residents, to your tax
return, Long Form 540NR. If Part | of Schedule CA (540NR) is not fully
completed, we may disallow your credit.

2. Nonresidents must have earned income from California sources to
qualify for the credit. A nonresident servicemember’s military wages are
considered earned income from a Galifornia source for the purpose of
qualifying for the credit.

3. Part-year residents must have earned income while a California resident
or earned income from California sources while a nonresident to qualify
for the credit.

G Military Personnel

For the purposes of this credit, active duty pay is considered earned income
from California sources, regardless of whether the servicemember is
domiciled in California.

Example: Sgt. Miller is domiciled in California, but stationed all year in
Virginia. Sgt. Miller’s only source of earned income is his military pay. His
wife, Ann, and their child remained in California. Ann worked in California
and they incurred childcare expenses for care provided in California. To
qualify for the credit on their joint return, both spouses must have California
earned income. Because Sgt. Miller’s military pay while serving in Virginia is
considered California earned income for purposes of computing the credit,
they qualify for the credit on their joint return.

Military Personnel Domiciled Outside of California.
This is additional information you need to complete form FTB 3506.

1. Under California Law, your military pay for service in California is
considered California earned income for purposes of computing the
credit. See instructions for line 4.

2. Modified federal adjusted gross income — Use the federal adjusted gross
income less your military pay to determine:
 |f your federal adjusted gross income is $100,000 or less.

e The decimal amount to use on form FTB 35086, line 7 and line 9.

If using modified federal AGI to compute the Child and Dependent Care
Expenses Credit, write “MPA” to the left of the credit amount on line 12 or
include it according to your software’s instructions.

For more information on Military Personnel, get FTB Pub 1032, Tax
Information for Military Personnel.

Specific Line Instructions

Part |, Unearned Income and Other Funds
Received in 2008

List the source and amount of any money you received in 2008 that is

not included in your earned income (line 4 and line 5) but that was used

to support your household. Include child support, property settlements,
public assistance benefits, court awards, inheritances, insurance proceeds,
pensions and annuities, social security payments, workers’ compensation,
unemployment compensation, interest, and dividends.

Part ll, Persons or Organizations Who Provided
the Care in California

Line 1

Complete line 1a through line 1g for each person or organization that
provided the care in California. Only care provided in California qualifies for
the credit. Use federal Form W-10, Dependent Care Provider’s Identification
and Certification, or any other source listed in the instructions for Form W-10
to get the information from your care provider. If your provider does not give
you the information, complete as much of the information as possible and
explain that your provider did not give you the information you requested.

If you do not give correct and complete information, we may disallow your
credit unless you can show you used due diligence in trying to get the
required information.

Lines 1a through Line 1c

Enter your California care provider’s complete name (or business name),
address, and telephone number (including the area code). If you do not give
complete information, we may disallow your credit. We may contact your
care provider to verify the information you provide.

If you were covered by your employer’s dependent care plan and your
employer furnished the care (either at your workplace or by hiring a care
provider), enter your employer’s name on line 1a. Next, enter “See W-2” on
line 1b. Complete line 1c¢ through line 1f. Then leave line 1g blank. But, if
your employer paid a third party (not hired by your employer) on your behalf
to provide care, you must provide information on the third party on line 1a
through line 1g.
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Line 1d

For each care provider, check one box indicating whether the care provider is
a person or organization.

Line 1e
If your care provider is Then enter on line 1e
An individual The provider’s social security

number (SSN) or Individual Taxpayer
Identification Number (ITIN)

The provider’s federal employer
identification number (FEIN)

Not an individual

A tax-exempt organization “Tax-exempt”

Line 1f

Enter the complete physical address where the care was provided. A post
office box is not acceptable. If you do not provide correct or complete
information, your credit may be disallowed. Only care provided in California
qualifies for the credit.

Line 1g

Enter the total amount you actually paid in 2008 to your care provider for
care provided in California. Also include amounts your employer paid to

a third party on your behalf. It does not matter when the expenses were
incurred. Do not reduce this amount by any reimbursement you received.

We may ask you to provide proof of payment. Cash payments without
documentation may not be accepted.

Part lll, Credit for Child and Dependent Care
Expenses

Line 2

Complete column (a) through column (e) for each qualifying person for
whom care was provided in California. If claiming more than three qualifying
persons, attach a sheet of paper to your return with the required information
and write “see attached.” Write your name and SSN or ITIN on the sheet.

Column (a)
Enter each qualifying person’s name.

Column (b)

Enter each qualifying person’s SSN. Verify that the name and SSN match

the qualifying person’s social security card to avoid the reduction or
disallowance of your credit. If the person was born in, and later died in,
2008, and does not have a SSN, enter “Deceased” in column (b) and attach a
copy of the person’s birth and death certificates.

Enter the SSNs of the first two qualifying persons on Form 540, line 40 and
line 41; Form 540A, line 40 and line 41; or Long Form 540NR, line 47 and
line 48.

Column (c)

Enter the qualifying person’s date of birth (mm/dd/yyyy) in the space
provided or if the qualifying person is disabled (physically or mentally
incapable of self-care), check the “Yes” box. Incomplete information could
result in a delay or disallowance of your credit.

Column (d)

If you shared custody of the qualifying person(s), enter the percentage of
time you possessed physical custody during 2008. If you have 50% or less
physical custody of your child, you don’t qualify for the credit.

Column (e)

Enter the qualified expenses you incurred and paid in 2008 for the qualifying
person(s). Include only the qualified expenses for care provided in California.
If the child turned 13 years old during the year, include only the qualified
expenses for the part of the year the child was under 13.

Do not include in column (e) qualified expenses:

e Youincurred in 2008 but did not pay until 2009. You may be able to use
these expenses to increase your 2009 credit.

e Youincurred in 2007 but did not pay until 2008. Instead, see instructions
for line 11.

e You prepaid in 2008 for care to be provided in 2009. These expenses
may only be used to figure your 2009 credit.

A qualified expense does not include the amount you paid for education
(school tuition) or the amount you received through a subsidy program.

Qualified Expenses are amounts paid for the care of your qualifying person
while you worked or looked for work.

Qualified expenses include: Qualified expenses do not include:

e The cost of care for the e Child support payments.
qualifying person’s well-being Payments made to the parent of
and protection. If care was your qualifying child.
provided by a dependent care Payments made to your spouse/
center, the center must meet RDP.
all applicable state and local Payments made to your child
regulations. who is under age 19 at the end

* Cost of pre-school or similar of the year, even if he or she is
program below the kindergarten not your dependent.
level. * Payments made to a dependent

e Day camp, even if it specialized for whom you (or your spouse/
in a particular activity, such as RDP) can claim a dependent
soccer. exemption.

* Expenses paid by or reimbursed
through a subsidy program.

e Cost for education (school
tuition) at the kindergarten level
and above.

e Qvernight camp.

Line 4

Earned income Includes:

e \Wages, salary, tips, and other
taxable employee compensation,
as well as, military compensation

Earned income does not include:
Pensions or annuities

Social security payments
Workers’ compensation

including compensation for service [® Interest
in a combat zone. Dividends
e Net earnings from Capital gains

Unemployment compensation.

e Strike benefits. Public assistance

e Disability payments you report as Homeowner and Renter
wages. Assistance

e Active duty pay received by
servicemembers of the armed
forces is considered earned
income regardless of whether the
servicemember is domiciled in this
state or elsewhere.

self-employment.

Nonresidents and Part-Year
Residents Only: Earned income

from California sources includes: | Earned income does not include:

e Wages, salary, tips, and other e Pensions or annuities
taxable employee compensation | Social security payments
for working in California, as e \Workers’ compensation
well as, military compensation e |nterest
including compensation for e Dividends
service in a combat zone. e (apital gains
e Net earnings from e Unemployment compensation
self-employment from California | ® Public assistance
business activities. e Homeowner and Renter

o Strike benefits related to Assistance
California employment.

e Disability payments you report
as California wages.

e Active duty pay received by
servicemembers of the armed
forces is considered earned
income regardless of whether
the servicemember is domiciled
in this state or elsewhere.
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Line 5

Spouse/RDP Who Was a Student or Disabled

Your spouse/RDP was a student if he or she was enrolled as a full-time
student at a school during any 5 months of 2008. A school does not include
a night school or correspondence school.

Your spouse/RDP was disabled if he or she was not capable of self-care.
Figure your spouse’s/RDP’s earned income on a monthly basis.

For each month your spouse/RDP was a full-time student or disabled, enter
on line 5 the larger of the following:

e Your spouse’s/RDP’s actual earned income for that month.
e $250 ($500, if you have 2 or more qualifying persons).

If, in the same month, both you and your spouse/RDP qualified as either
full-time students or disabled, only one of you receive treatment as having
earned income of $250 (or $500) in that month. For any month that your
spouse/RDP was not a full-time student or disabled, use your spouse’s/
RDP’s actual earned income for that month.

Line 7

Use the chart on this page to determine the decimal amount to enter on

line 7. Your federal adjusted gross income (AGl) is on Form 540, line 13;
Form 540A, line 13; or Long Form 540NR, line 13. For military personnel
domiciled outside of California, use your federal AGI less your military pay to
determine the decimal amount to enter on line 7.

If your Federal AGI is: The decimal amount

Over But not over on Line 7 is:

$0 $15000.................... 35
15,000 17,000, . .................. 34
17,000 19,000.................. .. 33
19,000 21,000, ................. .. 32
21,000 23,000................. .. 31
23,000 25,000, ............ ... 30
25,000 27,000.................. .. 29
27,000 29,000, ... 28
29,000 31,000, ...l 27
31,000 33,000, ... 26
33,000 35000 .................l 25
35,000 37,000 ... 24
37,000 39000 ...l 23
39,000 41,000 ... 22
41,000 43000 ............... .l 21
43,000 Nolimit ................... 20

Line 9

Use the chart below to determine the decimal amount to enter on line 9. For
military personnel domiciled outside of California, use your federal AGI less
your military pay to determine the decimal amount to enter on line 9.

If your federal AGI from Form 540,
line 13; Form 540A, line 13;
or Long Form 540NR, line 13 is:

The decimal amount to
enter on Line 9 is:

$40,000 07 18SS. . v 50

Over $40,000 but not over $70,000 ................. 43

Over $70,000 but not over $100,000 ................ 34

Over $100,000 ........... Stop. You do not qualify for this credit.
Line 11

If you had qualified expenses for care that was provided in 2007 that you
paid for in 2008, you may be able to increase your credit for 2008. Complete
the Worksheet on Side 2 of form FTB 3506. See Worksheet instructions on
this page.

Part IV, Dependent Care Benefits
Line 13

Dependent care benefits are:

e Amounts an employer paid directly to you (or your spouse/RDP), or to
your care provider for the care of your qualifying person(s), while you
worked.

e A day-care facility provided by your employer.

e (Generally deducted from your salary.

e Shown in box 10 of your 2008 Form(s) W-2.

Line 14

Enter the amount from federal Form 2441, line 15.

Line 15

If you had a flexible spending account, any amount included on line 13 that
you did not receive because you did not incur the expense is considered
forfeited. Do not include amounts you expect to receive at a future date.

Line 17

Enter the total of all qualified expenses incurred in 2008. It does not matter
when the expenses were paid.

A qualified expense does not include the amount you paid for education
(school tuition) or the amount you received through a subsidy program.

Example: You received $2,000 cash under your employer’s dependent
care plan for 2008. The $2,000 is shown in box 10 of your Form W-2. You
incurred $900 of qualified expenses in 2008 for the care of your 3-year-old
dependent child. Enter $900 on line 17, but report the entire $2,000 on
line 13.

For all other lines, follow specific line instructions on the form. For additional

information, get federal Form 2441 or federal Publication 503, Child and
Dependent Care Expenses.

Line 20

If you are married or an RDP filing a separate return and you meet the
requirements of Section E, Married Persons Filing Separate Returns, item 1,
then enter your earned income from line 19. On line 24, enter $5,000. If you
were married or an RDP and filed a separate return but did not meet the
requirements of Section E, Married Persons Filing Separate Returns, item 1,
then enter your spouse’s/RDP’s earned income. If your spouse/RDP was a
;tudent or disabled in 2008, see the instructions for line 5. On line 24, enter
2,500.

Worksheet - Credit for 2007 Expenses Paid
in 2008

You will need a copy of your 2007 California tax return to complete the
worksheet.

Line 12 and line 14

You need the 2007 form FTB 3506 instructions to complete the Credit for
2007 Expenses Paid in 2008 Worksheet, on Side 2. Forms are available from
our website at fth.ca.gov or by calling 800.338.0505.

Line 12

Enter the decimal amount from the chart in the line 7 instructions of the
2007 form FTB 3506 that corresponds to your 2007 federal adjusted gross
income.

Line 14

Enter the decimal amount from the chart in the line 9 instructions of the
2007 form FTB 3506 that corresponds to your 2007 California adjusted
gross income.
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