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Once you have verified federal net income, you will need to make state adjustments to 
revise federal income to the amount(s) allowable under California law.  The most 
common state adjustments are discussed in this section.  Because of differences in the 
way that taxpayers compute "net income before state adjustments", state adjustments 
may include virtually any kind of adjustment that the tax return preparer considers 
appropriate in order to arrive at California income.  For example, net income before 
state adjustments will often reflect "pro-forma" Form 1120s that include unitary 
members that were not included in the consolidated return filed for federal purposes 
such as subsidiaries owned less than 80 percent.  In other cases, net income before 
state adjustments will include only the income from entities that were actually included 
in the consolidated return as filed.  The taxpayer will then make a state adjustment to 
include the income from unitary foreign subsidiaries and less-than-80 percent-owned 
subsidiaries.  Both methods in the will result in the correct income.  It is impossible to 
develop a checklist due to the various ways that income is reported.  You will need to 



CALIFORNIA FRANCHISE TAX BOARD 
Internal Procedures Manual 
Multistate Audit Technique Manual 
 

Page 2 of 38 

_______________________________________________________________________________ 
 

 
The information provided in the Franchise Tax Board's internal procedure manuals does 
not reflect changes in law, regulations, notices, decisions, or administrative procedures 
that may have been adopted since the manual was last updated. 

 

carefully analyze the state adjustments in conjunction with their analysis of the income 
base in order to fully understand what is being reported to California. 
 
Not only should you thoroughly review all material state adjustments, also look out for 
state adjustments that the taxpayer failed to report.  In order to identify potential 
adjustments, you will need to be familiar with the areas of the law in which federal/state 
differences exist. 
 
6005 AMORTIZATION OF INTANGIBLES 
 
For federal purposes, IRC §197 entitles taxpayers to amortize certain intangible property 
over a 15-year period.  Intangibles, which are eligible for this treatment, are defined in 
the statute, and include such property as goodwill, going-concern value, patents, 
licenses, and covenants not to compete.  Although this provision generally applies to 
property acquired after August 10, 1993, taxpayers may elect to have the provisions 
apply to property acquired after July 25, 1991 (Temporary Treas. Reg. 1.197-1T; § 
13261(a) and (g) of the Revenue Reconciliation Act of 1993 (P.L. 103-66)).  If eligible 
assets were acquired in years that have already been filed, then federal amended 
returns will be necessary in order to reflect IRC §197 treatment from the date of the 
asset acquisition. 
 
California has adopted IRC §197 for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 
1994. See R&TC §24355.5.  Although California also applies these rules to property 
acquired after August 10, 1993 (and to property acquired between July 25, 1991 and 
August 10, 1993 if such treatment was elected for federal purposes), IRC §197 
treatment will not be allowed for any taxable year beginning before 1/1/94.  Therefore, 
taxpayers will be under the old rules for years prior to 1994, and will switch to IRC §197 
treatment beginning in 1994. See R&TC §24355.5(c).  (Under the pre-§197 rules, 
intangibles were only amortized if a limited useful life could be demonstrated with 
reasonable accuracy.  No amortization or depreciation deduction was allowed with 
respect to goodwill (Treas. Reg. 1.167(a)-3).)   
 
Example 
 
A calendar year taxpayer acquires goodwill of $10 million on January 1, 1993, and 
makes the retroactive election to amortize it over 15 years.  For federal purposes, the 
goodwill will be amortized at a rate of $666,667 per year for 15 years, beginning in 1993 
($10 million / 15).   
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For California purposes, no amortization is allowed for 1993.  At January 1, 1994, the 
goodwill still has a basis of $10 million, and has 14 years remaining out of the 15-year 
life.  Therefore, beginning in 1994, the taxpayer will deduct $714,286 per year for 14 
years ($10 million / 14).   
 
In 1993, the taxpayer will have a positive state adjustment of $666,667.  For each year 
from 1994 through 2008, the taxpayer will have a negative state adjustment of 
$47,619.  
 
The federal/state differences are only timing differences.  As with any other issue that 
only involves the timing of a deduction, use good judgment in deciding whether to make 
an adjustment. 
 
6010 ADR DEPRECIATION 
 
Congress adopted the ADR class life system to provide for a safe-harbor useful life.  The 
ADR system assigns a class life (mid-range life) for each class of assets.   Each class of 
assets (other than land improvements and buildings) is also given an asset depreciation 
range of 20 percent above or below the class life.  Although for federal purposes a 
taxpayer could elect to use the lower or higher range life for depreciation purposes, 
California conforms only to the mid-range class life.  (Rev.Proc. 83-35; R&TC 
§24349(l).) 
 
If a taxpayer uses the 20 percent lower range life for federal purposes, then a state 
adjustment is required to adjust depreciation to the amount allowable for California 
purposes.  You should accept reasonable adjustments made by the taxpayer. If no 
adjustment has been made, and the amount of the adjustment would be material, then 
you should request the taxpayer re-compute depreciation using mid-range class lives.  
The taxpayer should also be allowed to re-compute additional depreciation for California 
if the 20 percent higher range life has been used. 
 
If the taxpayer has used the 20 percent lower range, and will not re-compute 
depreciation for California purposes, you can approximate an adjustment to a mid-range 
life by: 
 

• Disallowing 20 percent of the depreciation taken by class life in each year  and  
• Amortizing the 20 percent disallowance for each year over a period that is one-

year less than the mid-range class life.  The amortization should begin the year 
after the 20 percent disallowance. 
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Following is an example of this computation: 
 
Asset 
Class 

Description --- Depreciation Reported 
--- 

  1st 
Year 

2nd 
Year 

3rd 
Year 

0.11 Office Furniture 40,000 50,000 60,000 
10.0 Mining Equipment 320,000 400,000 480,000 
33.4 Assets used in the 

manufacture of steel 
140,000 175,000 210,000 

 
The asset depreciation range of classes 0.11 and 10.0 is 8, 10 and 12 years.  The asset 
depreciation range of class 33.4 is 12, 15 and 18 years.  The taxpayer has used the 
lower range lives. 
 
The first step is to combine the depreciation of asset classes within the same range.  
Then, 20 percent of the depreciation is disallowed in each year, and amortized over 
subsequent years. 
 
Asset 
Class 

 --- Depreciation Reported 
--- 

  1st 
Year 

2nd 
Year 

3rd 
Year 

0.11  40,000 50,000 60,000 
10.0  320,000 400,000 480,000 
Total depreciation in asset 
range 

360,000 450,000 540,000 

  X       
20% 

X     
20% 

X     
20% 

Amount disallowed 72,000 90,000 108,000 
Amortize over 9 yrs 
(mid-range - 1): 

   

 72,000 / 9  (8,000) (8,000) 
 90,000 / 9   (9,000) 
Net adjustment to 10 year 
mid-range 

72,000 82,000 91,000 

 
Asset  ----- Depreciation Reported ---  
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Class 
  1st Year 2nd Year 3rd Year 
33.4  140,000 175,000 210,000 
  X     20% X     20% X     20% 
Amount disallowed  28,000 35,000 42,000 
Amortize over 14 yrs (mid-range-
1): 

   

 28,000 / 14  (2,000) (2,000) 
 35,000 / 14   (2,500) 
Net adjustment to 15 year 
mid-range 

28,000 33,000 37,500 

Total Adjustment  (10 yr + 15 yr)  100,000 115,000 128,500 
 
6015 ACRS OR MACRS DEPRECIATION 
 
California has not adopted the federal depreciation methods known as Accelerated Cost 
Recovery System (ACRS) or Modified Accelerated Cost Recovery System (MACRS).  If 
those systems are used for federal purposes, state adjustments are required to adjust 
depreciation to the amount allowable under California law. 
 
For federal purposes, ACRS must be used to compute depreciation for most tangible 
depreciable property placed in service after 1980 and before 1987.  Under ACRS, the 
cost of property is recovered over 3, 5, 10, 15, 18, or 19 years, depending on the type 
of property and the year it was placed in service.  The amount of the depreciation 
deduction is determined through use of tables found in Proposed Treas. Reg. §1.168-2. 
 
Federal law requires the use of MACRS for most tangible depreciable property placed in 
service after December 31, 1986.  MACRS extended the ACRS useful lives to 3, 5, 7, 10, 
15, 20, 27.5 and 31.5 years.  The amount of depreciation is determined using the 
applicable depreciation method, the applicable period and the applicable convention.  
Tables computing the deduction may be found in Rev. Proc. 87-57. 
 
The specific rules for both ACRS and MACRS are complex.   You should research them if 
additional information is necessary. 
 
R&TC §24349(b)(4) provides that, for California purposes, taxpayers may use any 
consistent method of depreciation as long the method does not result in more 
depreciation during the first 2/3 of the useful life than would result through use of the 
double declining balance method.  Under this test, ACRS or MACRS would be an 
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allowable method for California for 3-year ACRS/MACRS property, which also has a 3-
year mid-range ADR life.  Most other classes of ACRS/MACRS property would not meet 
this test.  
 
If the taxpayer has not made a state adjustment to place ACRS or MACRS on an 
acceptable state depreciation method, you should request the taxpayer compute 
California depreciation.  In determining whether the taxpayer's computation is 
reasonable,  you should be aware that the use of the safe-harbor ADR mid-range lives 
may only be elected on a timely filed return for the year that the assets are placed in 
service (CCR §24349(l)(1)(C)).  If no election was made, then the useful life is 
dependent upon the facts and circumstances.  Facts that you should take into account 
may include the useful life of assets for financial reporting purposes, and the taxpayer's 
asset replacement and disposition history. 
 
Since depreciation allowable under generally accepted accounting principles is usually 
allowable for California as well, you may adjust federal ACRS or MACRS depreciation to 
reflect book depreciation if the taxpayer does not compute depreciation under an 
allowable California method.  
 
There may be situations where book depreciation would not be acceptable.  For 
example, if a corporation is acquired when the fair market value of its assets exceeds 
the book value, the acquiring corporation may step-up the asset values for book 
purposes, and accrue additional depreciation on the stepped-up amounts.  This 
additional depreciation would not be deductible for California.  See MATM 7110 for more 
information regarding this issue. 
 
The adjustment to substitute book depreciation for federal depreciation may be made by 
reversing the taxpayer's M-1 adjustments, or M-3 if applicable, related to depreciation.  
Alternatively, you may review the taxpayer's AMT depreciation calculations to determine 
whether depreciation computed under the AMT methods can be accepted as a 
reasonable California depreciation deduction.  See MATM 8520 for a summary of the 
AMT depreciation methods. 
  



CALIFORNIA FRANCHISE TAX BOARD 
Internal Procedures Manual 
Multistate Audit Technique Manual 
 

Page 7 of 38 

_______________________________________________________________________________ 
 

 
The information provided in the Franchise Tax Board's internal procedure manuals does 
not reflect changes in law, regulations, notices, decisions, or administrative procedures 
that may have been adopted since the manual was last updated. 

 

Corporate Partners and S Corporations: 
 
A corporate partner's distributive share of partnership depreciation may reflect MACRS. 
Pursuant to R&TC §17858, added by Sec. 55.5 of A.B. 802 (Stats. 1989, Ch. 1352):  
 
For purposes of this part and part II (commencing with R&TC §23001) any election 
relating to the computation of depreciation shall be made by the partnership and each 
partner shall take into account his or her distributive share of the amount computed in 
accordance with that election. 
 
Section 165 of that same bill provides that §55.5 of the act is declaratory of existing law 
and shall apply to taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 1987. 
 
Therefore, for partnership taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 1987, a 
corporate partner is not required (or allowed) to re-compute its distributive share of 
partnership income where the partnership properly elected the MACRS method of 
depreciation. 
 
Pursuant to R&TC §23802(f)(1), S Corporations must compute depreciation in 
accordance with the rules set forth in the California Personal Income Tax Law.  These 
rules include use of the MACRS method. 
 
6020 DEPRECIATION – FOREIGN CORPORATIONS   
 
Depreciation laws in foreign countries may vary considerably from those of California.  
In addition to allowing different methods of depreciation, some countries may allow 
depreciation to be computed on a basis other than historical cost (i.e.,. market value).  
You should review depreciation deductions of foreign operations in a combined report for 
reasonableness.   Regulation §25106.5-10 provides that the profit and loss statements 
of foreign branches and corporations must be adjusted to conform to California tax 
accounting standards, and this includes California law with respect to depreciation.  In 
accordance with CCR §25106.5-10(b)(3)(C),no such adjustments are required unless 
they are material in nature. 
 
U.S. parents are required to report depreciation of foreign branches and affiliates on a 
U.S. accounting basis for purposes of financial statements prepared in accordance with 
generally accepted accounting principles, and also for purposes of Federal Form 5471 
(Information Return of U.S. Persons With Respect to Certain Foreign Corporations).  In 
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the case of foreign parents, the notes to the foreign financial statements may disclose 
information regarding the method of depreciation used.   
 
The assets of foreign corporations in a combined group may be depreciated using any 
method of depreciation otherwise acceptable for California, including accelerated 
depreciation.  In accordance with the normal rules for depreciation, accelerated 
depreciation methods will generally only be allowed when such methods are used for 
California purposes from the date that the depreciable asset is acquired.  When an 
existing foreign corporation becomes a member of the combined group, its depreciation 
has not generally been computed for California purposes in the past.  Therefore, the new 
member may opt to use accelerated methods for existing assets as well as for newly 
acquired assets.  The amount of accelerated depreciation on existing assets must be 
computed as if the accelerated method had been used from the time that the assets 
were acquired.  Alternatively, if the taxpayer does not want to recompute prior years 
and elects to apply accelerated methods only to current year additions, it may do so.  
When combining a foreign corporation for the first time, offer the taxpayer (in writing) 
an opportunity to elect an acceptable California accelerated depreciation method. 
 
Occasionally, taxpayers will try to convert their foreign depreciation to an allowable 
California method through use of estimates or ratios (such as the ratio of foreign assets 
to domestic assets).  You should not allow it unless you determine them to be 
reasonable approximations of the actual depreciation allowances. (Appeal of PPG 
Industries, Inc.,93-SBE-002, August 31, 1995). 
 
6025 DEPRECIATION RECAPTURE 
 
California conformed to the federal depreciation recapture provisions for taxable years 
beginning on or after January 1, 1987. See R&TC §24903 and R&TC §24990 for taxable 
years beginning on or after January 1, 1988.  Prior to 1987, California had not adopted 
depreciation recapture rules.  In many cases, characterization of income as ordinary 
recapture income rather than as capital gain will not have a tax effect.  In certain 
situations, this can be a material issue.  The situations that have been identified are as 
follows: 
 

• Limitation on capital losses.  For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 
1990, taxpayers may only deduct capital losses to the extent that they have 
capital gains. See MATM 6040.  Gain from the sale of a capital asset that has been 
characterized, as ordinary depreciation recapture income will not free up capital 
losses.   



CALIFORNIA FRANCHISE TAX BOARD 
Internal Procedures Manual 
Multistate Audit Technique Manual 
 

Page 9 of 38 

_______________________________________________________________________________ 
 

 
The information provided in the Franchise Tax Board's internal procedure manuals does 
not reflect changes in law, regulations, notices, decisions, or administrative procedures 
that may have been adopted since the manual was last updated. 

 

 
• Liquidations falling under the transitional relief rules: Pursuant to P.L. 99-514, 

§633(c)(1), liquidations and stock acquisitions qualifying under IRC §336 - IRC 
§338 were generally nontaxable if they were subject to a binding contract entered 
into on or prior to August 1, 1986, and if the liquidation or acquisition was 
completed by January 1, 1988.  In addition, P.L. 99-514, §633(d) extended the 
transitional relief to January 1, 1989 for certain small corporations.  Pursuant to 
IRC §1245(a)(1) and IRC §1250(a)(1) (to which California conforms), the 
recapture provisions override these non-recognition provisions.  Therefore, 
recapture income is recognized with respect to transactions in taxable years 
beginning on or after January 1, 1987, which would otherwise be nontaxable 
under the transitional rules. 

 
Although the recapture income is reported for both state and federal purposes, you 
should be alert to the fact that the amount of recapture income will seldom be the same 
due to state and federal depreciation differences.  Since federal depreciation methods 
are generally more accelerated than state methods, the recapture amount will usually be 
higher for federal purposes.  For cases in which depreciation recapture will produce a tax 
effect, you should request the taxpayer's workpapers computing the recapture 
adjustment to verify that their calculation is correct for state purposes. 
 
6030 DEDUCTIBLE DIVIDENDS 
 
6032 Intercompany Dividends 
6034 Dividends From Insurance Companies 
6036 Dividend Gross-Ups, Subpart F Income, and IRC §1248 Dividends 

 
 
Prior to 1990, dividends received from corporations subject to the Franchise Tax or 
Corporation Income Tax were deductible to the extent paid from earnings previously 
taxed under the Bank and Corporation Tax Law.  The intent of this provision was to 
avoid double taxation of corporation income. This was pursuant to R&TC §24402 
 
For taxable years beginning on or after 1990 and ending before December 1, 
1999 
 
R&TC §24402 was revised to allow a deduction for only the following portion of dividends 
paid from previously taxed earnings: 
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• 100 percent if received from a more than 50 percent owned corporation. 
 

• 80 percent  if received from a corporation owned at least 20 percent, but not more 
than 50 percent; 

 
• 70 percent if received from a corporation owned less than 20 percent. 

 
As a result of the Farmer Bros Co. vs FTB (203) 108 CalApp 4th, 134 Cal Rptr. 2nd 390 
decision, the following policy is also applicable:  
 

• R&TC §24411(a) provides for a deduction of 75 percent of qualified dividends in 
the case of a water's edge election. The dividends in question are generally from 
foreign subsidiaries that are not included in the water's edge combined report. In 
most instances, the dividends described in  R&TC §24411 are fully deductible 
pursuant to section 24402 dividends in accordance with the Farmers Bros decision 
for tax years ending prior to 12/1/99. Therefore, there is no R&TC §24411 
dividend deduction in these years.  

• The foreign investment offset, R&TC §24334(c) will not be applicable in most 
cases for tax years ending prior to 12/1/99 

• For tax years ending prior to 12/1/99, you should apply R&TC §24425 to deny 
expenses to earn income not in the measure of tax under R&TC §24402.  R&TC 
§24425 applies to dividend described in R&TC §24411 that are now deductible as 
section 24402 for tax years ending prior to 12/1/99.  
 

Taxable Years Ending on or After December 1, 1999 
 
In Farmer Bros Co. vs FTB (203) 108 CalApp 4th, 134 Cal Rptr. 2nd 390, the Court of 
Appeals held that R&TC §24402 dividend deduction is unconstitutional. The department 
policy for taxable years ending on or after December 1, 1999 is as follows:  
 

• Disallow all R&TC §24402 deductions. To the extent that a taxpayer added back to 
income expenses related to the section 24402 deduction because the dividends 
were not in measure of tax as provided by R&TC §24425, that state adjustment 
should be reversed.  

• For tax years ending prior to December 1, 1999, all dividends received from non –
insurance corporations are deductible subject to the ownership limitation of R&TC 
§24402 (b).  
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• Dividends from an insurance company that do not qualify for a deduction pursuant 
to R&TC §24410 for tax years ending on or after 12/1/97 are not allowable 
pursuant to R&TC §24402 as a dividend deduction.  

 
6032 Intercompany Dividends   
 
Pursuant to R&TC § 25106 inter-company dividends paid out of earnings from the 
combined unitary business are eliminated from the income of the recipient corporation.  
This section addresses the computations of the R&TC §25106 elimination.  For a 
discussion of issues related to deemed inter-company dividends (IRC §1248 dividends) 
arising from the sale of a subsidiary, see MATM 6036. 
 
When reviewing inter-company dividend eliminations, you should verify that the 
distributions were paid from unitary business earnings.  To the extent that the 
distributions exceed the earnings and profits of the payer, or to the extent that they are 
paid from pre-affiliation or non-business earnings, such distributions are not eliminated 
under R&TC §25106 (See Willamette Industries, Inc. v Franchise Tax Board, 34 
Cal.App.4th 1396A).   You must also keep in mind that adjustments to the taxpayer's 
method of filing may affect the dividends eligible for elimination.  For example, if a 
subsidiary is determined to be non-unitary and is de-combined at audit, dividends 
received from that subsidiary may not be eliminated under R&TC §25106.  
 
A distribution by a corporation to its shareholders is a dividend to the extent that it is 
paid out of current earnings and profits, then from accumulated earnings and profits in 
the reverse order of accumulation.  For years prior to 1991, R&TC §24495 defined the 
term "dividend."  Effective for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 1991, 
R&TC §24451 conformed to the IRC §316 definition. Earnings and profits can vary 
tremendously from net income for state purposes, particularly since earnings and profits 
are decreased by federal and state income taxes.  Even though a dividend may not 
exceed the net income of the payer corporation, it may exceed the earnings and profits.  
It is also important to note that earnings and profits are calculated on a separate 
company basis.  Therefore, although a subsidiary that incurs losses on a separate basis 
may be apportioned a large share of the combined business income of the unitary group, 
its earnings and profits will still reflect losses.  See Appeal of Young's Market Company, 
86-SBE-198, November 19, 1986.  A detailed discussion of how to compute earnings 
and profits is in the Water's Edge Manual, Chapter 11. 
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Example - Distribution exceeding earnings & profits 
 
Corporation P and unitary subsidiary S filed a combined report for the year in which S 
was formed.  S's net income computed on a separate basis was $10,000. Its 
apportioned share of the unitary business income was $50,000.  S paid income taxes of 
$4,000.  S distributed $9,000 to its parent during the taxable year.  Although S's net 
income exceeded the amount of the distribution, S's earnings and profits were only 
$6,000 ($10,000 income - $4,000 taxes).  Therefore, only $6,000 of the distribution is 
considered a dividend subject to elimination under R&TC §25106.  The remaining $3,000 
will first be applied to reduce the parent's basis in the stock of S; and once the basis is 
reduced to zero, any remaining amount will be treated as gain from the sale or 
exchange of property (such gain is not subject to R&TC §25106 elimination).  See MATM 
5260 for more detail concerning treatment of inter-company distributions in excess of 
earnings and profits and stock basis.   
 
Once you determine that the distribution is a dividend, take this concept one step 
further and determine whether the dividends were "paid out of the income of the unitary 
business."   
 
Example - Distribution paid out of non-unitary income 
 
Corporation P acquired subsidiary S. They were found to be instantly unitary and filed a 
combined report for the year. P had E&P of $50,000 in that year and accumulated E&P of 
$100,000 from prior year. P distributed $75,000 to its parent P during the taxable year. 
Of the $75,000 paid, only $50,000 would be subject to a deduction pursuant to R&TC § 
25106. This is the amount paid out of unitary earnings. Although there is E&P from prior 
years this is prior to the acquisition and not paid out of unitary earnings.  
 
Since dividends are paid out of earnings and profits and not out of income, this statutory 
wording should be interpreted to mean that the dividends must be paid out of the 
earnings and profits that correlate with the unitary business income (Rosemary 
Properties, Inc. v. McColgan, 29 Cal2d 677).  To the extent that the dividends are paid 
from earnings attributable to non-business or pre-affiliation income, they may not be 
eliminated under R&TC §25106. 
 
Example - Dividend paid out of non-business income 
 
Corporation P owned 100 percent of the stock of unitary Subsidiary S.  In the current 
year, S had net earnings and profits of $80,000 comprised of business earnings of 
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$20,000 and earnings attributable to a non-business activity of $60,000.  At year-end, S 
paid a dividend of $10,000 to P. 
 
Since 25 percent of S's current year earnings were attributable to business activities 
($20,000/$80,000), Corporation P would be able to eliminate $2,500 (25 percent of the 
dividend) under R&TC §25106.  The remaining $7,500 of the dividend is business 
income to P because the S stock was a unitary business asset of P at the time that the 
dividend was paid (see MATM 4020), but it would not be subject to R&TC §25106 
elimination.  
 
If the dividend had been paid out of earnings and profits accumulated in prior years, the 
same process would be applied to determine the portion of the earnings attributable to 
business activities in each prior year, starting with the most recent year and working 
backwards. 
 
6034 Dividends From Insurance Companies   
 
On December 21, 2000, the Court of Appeal in Ceridian v. FTB, (2001) 85 CalApp4th 875 
(as modified, 86 CalApp.4th 383) held that the R&TC § 24410 insurance dividend 
deduction is unconstitutional.  R&TC § 24410 provides for the deduction of part of the 
dividends paid by an 80 percent owned insurance subsidiary that was subject to the 
California gross premiums tax to a parent corporation commercially domiciled in 
California.  The Court found that R&TC §24410(a) violates the US Constitution 
commerce clause by limiting the deduction to entities commercially domiciled in 
California.  The Court also found that R&TC § 24410(b) which computes the amount of 
the deduction, violated the commerce clause because it limited the deduction for entities 
earning income outside the state. 
 
A statute that is declared unconstitutional is void and ceases to operate, see Kopp v. Fair 
Political Practices Commission (1995) 11 Cal4th 607, citing with approval, Jawish v. 
Molet (1952) 86 A.2d.96.  R&TC § 19393 provides that if a deduction, credit, or 
exclusion is determined to be invalid or discriminatory under the constitution, the tax for 
taxpayers who received the benefit of the deduction is to be recomputed by disallowing 
the deduction.  However, the court in Ceridian held that R&TC § 19393 only applies if all 
taxpayers who took the deduction for a particular tax year can be treated similarly. 
 
The court considered three potential remedies: 
 

• Making assessments against taxpayers that benefited from the deduction,  
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• Allowing refunds to taxpayers disadvantaged by the deduction, or  
• A combination of the two.   

 
The court held that the only remedy available in this case was to give Ceridian 
Corporation a refund because the years in issue were so old that the SOL had expired 
for assessing and collecting additional tax from Ceridian's competitors who had 
benefited from the deduction.  
 

Taxable Years Ending Before December 1, 1997 
 
For tax years' ending before December 1, 1997, the statute of limitations for issuing 
assessments has already expired for some taxpayers. It was not possible to treat all 
taxpayers comparably by disallowing the R&TC §24410 deductions.  Therefore, in 
accordance with the holding in Ceridian, taxpayers will be allowed to take a 100percent 
dividend deduction for dividends received from an 80 percent owned insurance 
subsidiary regardless of the commercial domicile of the parent or where the insurance 
company is operating.  Refunds will be allowed if claims are, or have been, filed within 
the statute of limitations. 
  
Taxable Years Ending On or After December 1, 1997 
 
For tax years ending on or after December 1, 1997, the statute of limitations for issuing 
assessments is open for all taxpayers. Therefore, R&TC section 19393 is applicable and 
the R&TC section 24410 dividend deduction should be disallowed for all taxpayers.   
 
Effective for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2004  
 
R&TC §24410 was re-enacted to allow a "Dividends Received Deduction" of qualified 
dividends received from an insurer subsidiary. The deduction is allowed whether or not 
the insurer is engaged in business in California, if at the time of the payment at least 80  
of each of the class of stock of the insurer was owned by the corporation receiving the 
dividend.  The amount of the deduction is: 
 

• For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2004 and ending on or before 
January 1, 2008, an 80percent deduction  for qualified dividends;  

• For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2008 the deduction is increased 
to 85percent.  
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A portion of the dividend may not qualify if the insurer subsidiary paying the dividends is 
overcapitalized for the purposed of the dividends received deduction.  

The total amount of funds available to an undertaking should be neither too much nor 
too low. An important question, therefore is the question of capitalization of the 
company, i.e., the determination of the amount which the company should have at least 
its disposal. The total amount of long term funds available to the company, therefore, is 
the capitalization of the company. 

A concern is said to be over-capitalized if its earnings are not sufficient to justify a fair 
return on the amount of share capital and debentures that have been issued. It is said 
to be over capitalized when total of owned and borrowed capital exceeds its fixed and 
current assets, in other words, when it shows accumulated losses on the assets side of 
the balance sheet. 
 
See MATM 3085 and MATM 5190 for additional issues concerning insurance companies. 
 
6036 Dividend Gross-Ups, Subpart F Income, and IRC §1248 Dividends 
 
The Federal 1120 returns contain adjustments to dividend income reported on Schedule 
C that may not be applicable for state purposes.  Some adjustments are: 
 

• Dividend Gross-Ups - For federal purposes, dividends received from foreign 
affiliates are "grossed up" to include income taxes paid on the dividends to foreign 
countries.  The taxpayer is then allowed to take a foreign tax credit for the 
grossed-up amount.  California has no such provision and this income should be 
eliminated.  You should review Schedule C of the Federal Form 1120, or Form 
1118 (foreign tax credit form) to identify any dividend gross-ups. 

 
Subpart F Income - For federal purposes, dividend income may include Subpart 
F income.  In general, certain types of income earned by controlled foreign 
corporations (as defined in IRC §957) are taxed to the U.S. shareholder as a 
deemed dividend under Subpart F of the Internal Revenue Code (IRC §951 - IRC 
§964).  To the extent that actual distributions are made out of earnings that have 
been previously taxed to the shareholder under Subpart F, the distributions are 
excluded from the recipient's income.  You should review Schedule C, M-1 or M-3 
and Federal Form 5471 to identify any Subpart F Income.  
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Example 
 
A CFC has subpart F income of $8 in Year 1.  The $8 is treated for federal purposes as 
deemed dividend income to the U.S. shareholder in Year 1.  In Year 2, the CFC pays an 
actual dividend of $10.  For federal purposes, the dividends are considered to be 
distributed first from previously taxed income (in contrast to the normal LIFO ordering 
rule for dividends).  Therefore, $8 of the $10 dividend is considered paid from the 
previously taxed income, and $2 is paid from non-subpart F earnings.  Only $2 of the 
distribution will be shown as a taxable dividend on the federal return for Year 2. 
 
Since California does not conform to the Subpart F provisions, the income is not taxed 
for State purposes until it is actually repatriated to the U.S. shareholder.  Therefore, 
state adjustments will be necessary (1) to eliminate the subpart F deemed dividend 
income, and (2) to include the actual dividend distributions in income when paid.  
 
Example 
 
Assume the same facts as in Example 1.  For California purposes, the taxpayer should 
have made a state adjustment in Year 1 to reverse the $8 federal subpart F deemed 
dividend income.  In Year 2, another state adjustment will be necessary to increase 
dividend income reported for federal purposes by $8.  If the CFC is a member of the 
combined report, then the $10 dividend may be subject to elimination pursuant to R&TC 
§25106.  If the dividend was not paid out of unitary earnings and profits, then the 
dividend would be taxable for California purposes. 
 
The presence of Subpart F income is usually shown on the federal Schedule C or Form 
5471.  In the year that the actual distributions are made however, the Schedule C will 
only identify the portion of the dividend that is taxable for federal purposes.  There 
should be a Schedule M-1 adjustment for the difference between the actual distribution 
and the federal taxable amount, but occasionally there will be no M-1 adjustment, or the 
adjustment will be buried within another M-1 item.  Consequently, the federal return is 
not a reliable source for verifying the amount of the actual distribution.  If properly 
prepared, Schedule 5 of the Form 5471 should detail actual distributions and whether 
they are considered to be from previously taxed subpart F income.  The best way for you 
to determine the actual amount of the dividends received is usually through the 
taxpayer's pre-consolidation books of account. See Chapters 2 and 11 of the Water's-
Edge Manual for a more detailed explanation.  It also provides examples of how to 
determine the amount of the actual distributions. 
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1248 Dividends 
 
When a U.S. shareholder sells stock in a controlled foreign corporation in which they 
meet certain ownership requirements, the gain recognized on the sale may be 
considered a deemed dividend for federal purposes subject to certain earnings & profits 
limitations.  Pursuant to R&TC §24903 and R&TC §24990, California conformed to this 
provision during a window period beginning with taxable years beginning on or after 
January 1, 1987.  Our conformity was terminated by R&TC §24990.7 for transactions 
occurring after August 20, 1990, in taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 1990.  
Therefore, for sales of stock reported on the installment method, payments received 
during the window period would be subject to IRC §1248 treatment even though the 
actual sale took place prior to January 1, 1987.   
 
During the window period, the deemed dividends may be subject to a R&TC §25106 
elimination if the foreign subsidiary was a member of the combined report (MATM 6032).  
Transactions occurring before and after the window period are treated as gains on the 
sale of stock for California purposes.  Adjustments may be necessary to reflect the 
correct amount of gain based upon the California cost basis of the stock. See MATM 
6095 for a discussion of these adjustments and other issues related to sales of 
subsidiaries. 
 
If a member of the combined report has a recently acquired foreign subsidiary, and if 
the acquisition date was outside the window period, you should review the taxpayer's 
pre-consolidation books or ledger summaries to look for subsequent distributions made 
by the foreign corporation to its new owners.  If the stock sale was treated as a deemed 
distribution for federal purposes, a portion of the foreign corporation's earnings and 
profits will be considered to be "previously taxed."  Actual distributions made to the new 
owner in subsequent years will not be subject to federal tax to the extent that they are 
paid from the previously taxed earnings and profits (even though the E&P was 
previously taxed to the seller, not the buyer!)  Consequently, foreign dividends identified 
on the new owner's federal Schedule C or Form 5471 may be understated or omitted 
altogether.  The book/federal tax difference may be disclosed on the Schedule M-1, but 
is not always apparent.  For California purposes, the earnings and profits are not 
considered to be previously taxed so the dividends may be taxable.  Furthermore, since 
the E&P was incurred prior to acquisition by the new owners, it will not be subject to 
R&TC §25106 intercompany elimination (although a foreign dividend deduction may 
apply if the new owner has elected water's-edge). 
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A review of Schedule C of the Federal Form 1120 may identify whether any of these 
items are included in federal dividend income.  The Schedules M-1 and Form 5471 
should also indicate the existence of dividend gross-ups and Subpart F income.   You will 
then need to determine whether appropriate state adjustments have been made. 
 
6040 CAPITAL LOSSES 
 
Prior to 1990, California did not conform to the federal limitation on capital losses.  For 
federal purposes, capital losses can only be deducted to the extent of capital gains.  Any 
capital losses that are not deductible in the year of the loss may be carried back three 
years, and carried forward five years. See IRC §1211 - 1212.  In the year in which a 
capital loss was incurred, the taxpayer would therefore have a negative state 
adjustment for the amount of the loss that was not allowed for federal purposes.  
Positive state adjustments would be made in the years in which the taxpayer utilized the 
federal capital loss carry-backs and carryovers. 
 
Effective for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 1990, R&TC §24990 states 
that IRC §1201 - IRC §1296 are applicable law for determining capital gains and losses.  
Included in these sections are the provisions relating to the federal capital loss 
limitation.  For California purposes, unused capital losses may only be carried forward; 
no carry-backs are allowed.  See R&TC §24990 - 24990.5. 
 
Although California now conforms to the capital loss limitation, federal/state differences 
will still arise.  Federal/state basis differences will affect both the amount of capital loss 
and the amount of capital gain to which the capital loss deduction will be limited.  For 
example, assume a taxpayer has a $35,000 capital loss for both federal and state 
purposes.  For federal purposes, the taxpayer has a $40,000 capital gain, and may 
therefore deduct the entire capital loss.  Due to basis differences, the gain is only 
$30,000 for California.  The loss will be limited to $30,000, and the taxpayer will have a 
$5,000 capital loss carryover for California.   
 
If material gain or loss transactions are reported on the Federal Schedule D or Form 
4797, you should review the federal and state computations to ensure that appropriate 
federal/state basis differences were taken into account.  Review the amount of any 
capital loss carryover to verify that it properly reflects the California amount. 
 
Also, included in these law sections to which California now conforms are the federal 
procedures for netting gains and losses in order to determine the capital loss limitation. 
Capital losses are deductible only to the extent of capital gains, and any excess losses 
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may be carried over and applied against capital gains in each of the five succeeding 
taxable years. 
 
On July 13, 1999 CCR §25106.5 went final.  Regulation §25106.5-2 provides for the 
intrastate apportionment of business gains or losses from the sale or exchange of capital 
assets, IRC §1231 property and involuntary conversions prior to the netting provisions. 
Those gain/loss items are then netted at the entity level after intrastate apportionment 
with non-business gains or losses.  The PASS Schedules may assist in this calculation. 
The regulation is retroactive.  
 
6050 CHARITABLE CONTRIBUTIONS  
 
Contributions deductible for state and federal purposes may differ significantly.   When 
reviewing the contributions deduction for state purposes, you should be aware of the 
following: 
 
The federal limitation on the deduction for contributions is generally 10 percent of net 
income, although members of a consolidated return are limited to 5 percent of adjusted 
consolidated taxable income.  The California limitation is also 10 percent for years 
beginning on or after 1/1/96 (5 percent for taxable years prior to 1/1/96), and applies 
on a combined basis. See R&TC §24358.  In addition, California further adjusts the 
contribution deduction to take into account the effect of non-business items on the 
income limitation. This is termed the "contributions adjustment". See MATM 4070.  The 
contributions adjustment is calculated on Schedule R-6 of the Form 100.  Rather than 
separately compute (1) the general 10 percent income limitation as a state adjustment, 
and (2) the contributions adjustment on Schedule R-6, taxpayers will often use the 
Schedule R-6 to reflect the overall adjustments.  By analyzing the Schedule R-6 
computation, as well as what has ultimately been deducted on the California return 
(federal deduction ± state adjustments ± contributions adjustment), you can determine 
whether the bottom line result is correct. 
 
In addition to differences in federal and state net income, there are differences in the 
adjustments to income that are required for purposes of computing the limitation.  For 
federal purposes, net income is adjusted for net operating loss deductions, and other 
special deductions not applicable to California.  For California, adjustments are made to 
add back, deductions for built-in gains and passive investment income, and certain other 
deductions. 
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Federal law allows for a five-year carryover of excess contributions.  For taxable years 
beginning on or after 1/1/96, R&TC §24358(3)(b) is applicable and provides that IRC 
§170(d)(2), relating to carryovers of excess contributions, shall apply with respect to 
excess contributions made during these taxable years.  For taxable years prior to 
1/1/96, California had no carryover.  
 
California generally limits the contribution of appreciated property to the corporation's 
basis in the property. See R&TC §24357.1.  See MATM 6051 below for an exception with 
respect to qualified research contributions. 
 
R&TC §24359 states that a charitable contribution means a contribution or gift to or for 
the use of a qualified recipient, created or organized in the United States or in any 
possession thereof.  In computing combined unitary income, however, it is the 
Department's policy to allow contributions made by non-US corporations to a non-US 
charitable organization provided that the foreign jurisdiction has not ruled that such 
beneficiary is not a qualified charitable organization.  See Audit Program Report 86-4.   
 
R&TC §24425 provides for the disallowance of expenses incurred to earn income that is 
not included in the measure of tax.  The most common type of income that is not 
included in the measure of tax is deductible dividend income.  Because the dividend 
income is not being taxed, R&TC §24425 provides that the expenses incurred to earn 
the dividends should not be deducted.  Expenses relating indirectly to this type of 
income may include charitable contributions, interest expense, officer's compensation, 
office rent and overhead, etc.  If material, a portion of these expenses should be 
allocated to the deductible dividends. The methodology used to allocate the expenses 
will vary depending upon the facts and circumstances, so you will have to select an 
allocation method that is reasonable for the taxpayer's specific situation. For example, 
charitable contributions generally relate indirectly to all of a taxpayer's income. 
Therefore, it would be reasonable to allocate the contributions to deductible dividends 
based on the ratio of deductible dividends over the taxpayer's total receipts (the SBE 
and courts have supported this approach). However, if the taxpayer suggests a different 
allocation method, be sure to evaluate that method to determine whether it is 
reasonable.  If the primary position you are taking is that the dividends should not be 
deductible in the first place, you should still develop whether material expenses 
attributable to that dividend income should be disallowed as an alternative position. 
 
Certain other differences exist with respect to the rules for certain types of 
contributions.  If a contribution is material, you should verify whether California 
conforms to the specific rules pertaining to that contribution.   
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A review of the schedule M-1, or M-3 if applicable, should reveal whether the federal 
contribution deduction includes carryover amounts or contributions of appreciated 
property.  
 
6051 QUALIFIED RESEARCH CONTRIBUTIONS  
 
California is in basic conformity with IRC §170(e) dealing with charitable contributions of 
ordinary income and capital gain property.   
 
Many computer companies donate systems to colleges and avail themselves of IRC 
170(e)(4).  If they meet all of the requirements, they are entitled to increase their 
deduction by 50 percent of the difference between the fair market value and cost 
limited, to twice the basis of the property. 
 
The principle requirements under R&TC §24357.8 are as follows: 
 

• California limits the timing of the deduction to contributions made on or after 
July1,1983 and on or before December 31,1993 R&TC §24357.8(b)(7) 

 
• The contribution must be of tangible personal property as described in paragraph 

(1) of IRC §1221 -- generally property included in the inventory of the donor. 
 

• The contributed property must be scientific equipment or apparatus; and 
substantially all of the use by the donee must be for research or experimentation 
or for research training in physical, applied, or biological sciences, or for 
instructional purposes.  Use of the property for instructional purposes does not 
qualify for federal purposes. 

 
• The property must be contributed within two years after construction.  California 

does not have the federal requirement that the taxpayer must construct the 
property. 

 
• The donee must be an institution of higher education in California.  Unlike federal, 

California does not include tax-exempt scientific organizations as eligible donees. 
 

• The donee must be the original user of the property. 
 

• The college or university cannot transfer the property for money, other property or 
services. 
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• A written statement must be obtained from the donee representing that the use 

and disposition of the property will be in accordance with R&TC §24357.8. 
 
If you determine that a federal contribution deduction was made under this provision, 
and the deduction was made outside of the allowable period for California, then 
adjustments should be made to limit the contribution deduction to the cost basis of the 
contributed property.   
 
If the contribution was made within the allowable period, verify that deductions for 
qualified research contributions do not include contributions to non-California donees.  If 
such contributions are noted, make an adjustment e to limit the deduction to the cost 
basis of the contributed property. 
 
If the contribution to California institutions is material, review the required donee 
statements for compliance with R&TC §24357.8.  The taxpayer's method of establishing 
the fair market value of the property should also be reviewed for reasonableness. 
 
Prior to 1992, any portion of the contribution deduction that exceeds the adjusted basis 
of the donated property is a tax preference item (see MATM 8530).  You should review 
the AMT computation to verify that this preference has been reported correctly. 
 
6055 DONATED AGRICULTURAL PRODUCTS TRANSPORATION CREDIT 
 
For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 1996, taxpayers may claim a credit 
for eligible transportation costs paid or incurred in connection with the transportation of 
any donated agricultural products donated to nonprofit charitable organization. The 
credit is 50percent of the eligible costs. There is not a comparable federal credit. Only 
taxpayers engaged in the business of processing, distributing or selling agricultural 
products may claim the credit. The credit cannot reduce the alternative minimum tax or 
the minimum franchise tax.  
 
To receive the credit the taxpayer must obtain a certificate issued by the nonprofit 
organization. This certificate must be made available to us upon request.   
 
See R&TC §23608 and 23036.2 for additional information.  
 
Corporations can assign credits to other members of the combined group for tax years 
beginning on or after July 1. 2008.  However, an assigned credit may only be applied 
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against the tax of the eligible assignee in a tax year beginning on or after January 2, 
1010.  See R&TC §23663 for additional information.  
 
6057 JOBS/ZONE WAGE TAX  
 
For federal purposes, if a taxpayer claims a jobs tax credit, their deduction for wages 
and salaries must be reduced by the amount of the credit (IRC  section 280C(a)).  
Although California does have a jobs tax credit (R&TC  section 23621, MATM 9070), the 
provisions differ from the federal provisions.  The principal difference is that California 
does not reduce the taxpayer's deduction for wages and salaries by the credit.  In all 
circumstances, the deduction for payroll and salary expense is allowable in its entirety 
for state purposes.  If a federal jobs tax credit has been taken, there should be a 
Schedule M-1 adjustment for the payroll expense reduction.  For California purposes, 
you should verify a state adjustment has been made to reverse the M-1 adjustment. 
 
California law also provides credits for wages paid to qualified individuals in designated 
Enterprise Zones (R&TC  section 23622; MATM 9062), Program Areas (R&TC  section 
23623; MATM 9062), Local Agency Military Base Recovery Areas (R&TC  section 23646; 
MATM 9084), and the Los Angeles Revitalization Zone (R&TC  section 23623.5, R&TC  
section 23625; MATM 9092 - MATM 9094).  If any of these credits are claimed, the 
deduction for wages paid to such individuals must be reduced by the amount of the 
credit generated in that taxable year.  Since there are no comparable credits in Federal 
law, you should verify a state adjustment has been made.  For further details regarding 
economic development area tax incentives, refer to the Economic Development Areas 
Audit Manual.  
 
6065 INTEREST ON GOVERNMENT BONDS 
 
For California Franchise Tax purposes, pursuant to R&TC §24272, gross income includes 
all interest received from federal, state, municipal or other bonds.    
 
The U.S. Constitution prohibits a direct tax on interest income from U.S. obligations.  
This interest is not taxable for California Income Tax purposes (chapter 2).  The 
constitutional prohibition does not apply to the California Franchise Tax (chapter 3).  
This is because this tax is not considered a direct tax. It is based on income and is 
actually a tax on the privilege of doing business.  Since U.S. government interest is 
taxable for federal purposes, no state adjustment for such interest should be necessary 
for taxpayers subject to the franchise tax.  You will need to reverse any state 
adjustments made by the taxpayer to back out the interest income.  
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Interest on state and municipal obligations is generally not taxable for federal purposes.  
Such interest is only exempt for California Income Tax purposes if the obligations are on 
California or its political subdivisions.  Interest on obligations of other states and foreign 
countries are subject to the California Income Tax.  All state and municipal interest is 
subject to the franchise tax.   Schedule M-1 or M-3, if applicable, will disclose whether 
the taxpayer has exempt interest for federal purposes.  If such interest exists, you 
should verify that state adjustments have been made to add back the interest to the 
extent necessary for franchise or income tax purposes. 
 
6070 INTERCOMPANY PROFIT IN INVENTORY 
 
The intercompany transaction regulations reflected in CCR §25106.5-1 are for 
intercompany transactions that occur (regardless of the taxable year involved) on or 
after January 1, 2001. If a transaction occurred prior to January 1, 2001, the rules in 
place before that date may affect the determination of income in a later year. For 
example, if an intercompany transaction income was eliminated and the basis of the 
asset was transferred to the purchaser, the transferred basis of the asset will have an 
effect on the determination of taxable income when the asset is sold in a later year.   
 
Our prior practices regarding intercompany profit in inventory are reflected below.   
 
Intercompany profit in inventory occurs when sales of products are made between 
members of a combined group.  Profit from intercompany sales is generally not 
recognized until the goods are sold to an outside party.  Therefore, to the extent that 
goods that had been subject to an intercompany sale remain in the inventory of the 
unitary purchaser, the profits from the intercompany transaction should not be 
recognized.   
 
The department's policy, as set forth in Publication 1061, Guidelines for Corporations 
Filing a Combined Report, is that the intercompany profit in inventory should be 
eliminated from combined income (MATM 5260).  Correspondingly, the profit in 
inventory should also be eliminated from the beginning and ending inventories for 
purposes of computing cost of goods sold, as well as for property factor purposes.  (See 
MATM 7173 for property factor adjustments).  The income adjustment for any one year 
will be the difference between the intercompany profit in the beginning inventory and 
the ending inventory of each affiliate which has intercompany purchases.  As a general 
rule, a negative adjustment to income will be necessary if inventories increase from year 
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to year; while a positive adjustment will result if inventories decrease.  Examples of both 
cases are as follows: 
 
 

 Increasing 
Inventory 

Decreasing 
Inventory 

Profit in Inventory  -  
01/01/xx 

$ 100 $ 100 

Profit in Inventory  -  
12/31/xx 

150 50 

Adjustment to Eliminate 
Intercompany Profit in 
Inventory 

( 50) 50 

 
If the taxpayer has made an adjustment for intercompany profits in inventory, you 
should review to ensure that the amount is reasonable, that the taxpayer is applying the 
adjustment consistently from year to year, and that the factors have also been adjusted. 
 
Under GAAP, intercompany profits in inventory are eliminated for book purposes.  A 
reconciliation of Schedule M-1,or M-3 if applicable, book income to the financial 
statements (MATM 5130) should identify whether the book elimination adjustments have 
been picked up for federal purposes.  If the Schedules M-1 reveals that the federal 
intercompany profits in inventory differ from the book amounts, then you should 
determine whether a state adjustment is necessary.   
 
For federal purposes, intercompany profits on sales of products are deferred rather than 
eliminated.  (See MATM 5260 for a discussion of the federal deferral rules.)  Neither 
method recognizes intercompany income in the year of the sale. The primary difference 
between elimination and basis transfer, and deferral are: 
 

Elimination and basis transfer – This method provides for: 
• The elimination of intercompany income 
• The buyer takes the related seller's basis in the product  
• The gain is effectively recognized only when the product is ultimately sold to a 

third party. 
 
Deferral – Under this method: 

• The gains and losses from intercompany transactions are not truly eliminated, but 
merely deferred. 
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• The buying member's basis in the property is the consideration paid for the 
product. 

• The seller's gain is put into a deferred status (unless the taxpayer elects not to 
defer), and is eventually recognize when a "restoration" event occur. (Refer to 
MATM 5260.)  

 
This distinction may create a federal/state difference when a restoration event other 
than a third party sale occurs.  For federal purposes, the deferred intercompany profits 
would be restored into income, but no gain would be recognized for California.  
Federal/state differences may also occur when the taxpayer has intercompany profits in 
inventory with respect to entities that are not included in the consolidated Form 1120 
(e.g.,foreign entities). 
 
Material issues may be created when inventory balances at the date of a water's-edge 
election include inventory purchased intercompany between foreign and domestic 
entities.  See Chapter 17, Water's-Edge Manual for more discussion of this issue. 
 
6075 FOREIGN INVENTORY ADJUSTMENTS 
 
Pursuant to R&TC §24701, California generally conforms to the federal rules for 
inventory valuations and methods (IRC §471 and IRC §472).  In accordance with those 
rules, inventories are valued at either (1) cost or (2) lower of cost or market.  For an 
inventory accounting method to be accepted under IRC §471, it must conform as nearly 
as possible to the best accounting practice in the trade, and it must clearly reflect 
income.  Some of the inventory methods allowed for tax purposes are described in 
Treas. Reg. §1.471-5 through Treas. Reg. §1.471-11, and Treas. Reg. §1.472 (LIFO). 
 
Both California and federal law allow the use of the Last-in First-out (LIFO) inventory 
method.  California generally conforms to the IRC §472(c) requirement that the LIFO 
method will only be allowed for tax purposes if it is also used for financial statement 
purposes.  Because LIFO is not an acceptable method in many foreign countries, 
California will allow the use of LIFO for foreign operations even though the foreign 
inventories are computed on a FIFO basis for financial statement purposes (CCR 
§25106.5-10(b)(3)(B)(2)).   
 
Normally, the election to use LIFO must be made on the original return or on an 
amended return filed by the due date of the original return.  This applies to foreign as 
well as domestic entities in the combined report.  In cases where foreign corporations 
are combined for the first time at audit, the taxpayer will be allowed to retroactively 
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elect to use LIFO for valuation of the foreign corporation's inventory starting with the 
first year of combination.  
 
Example 
 
Audit combined the taxpayer on a worldwide basis for 1980 - 1989.  All years are in 
litigation, appeals or protest.  In 1996, the taxpayer now agrees that they are unitary on 
a worldwide basis.  The taxpayer will be allowed to elect to use LIFO for inventory 
valuation starting in 1980. 
 
Example 
Assume the facts as in Example 1, except the taxpayer was previously audited for 1977 
- 1979, and did not dispute the worldwide combination for those years.  The years were 
closed without the use of LIFO inventory valuation.  The taxpayer cannot use the LIFO 
method on a retroactive basis for any year.  If the due date for the current year return 
has not passed, the taxpayer can elect to use LIFO for that year. 
 
To verify the acceptability of the foreign inventory method, you should:  
Determine the base of valuation for foreign inventories (e.g., cost, lower of cost or 
market, or another method).  For some countries, the inventory balances themselves 
may not be adjusted to account for market fluctuations, but such fluctuations may be 
charged to reserve accounts.  The financial statements will usually identify the inventory 
valuation used, and whether any reserves are used.  Publications, which describe the 
accounting practices of the foreign parent’s country, may also help to determine how 
inventory was valued -- see Exhibit J.  If the valuation is not acceptable for California 
purposes and the difference is material, then you should propose adjustments to 
beginning/ending inventories and to the property factor.  (See CCR §25106.5-10 and 
MATM 5145 for criteria to consider before requiring a foreign corporation to conform its 
method of accounting to a California method.)   
 
Determine the inventory method used to account for foreign inventories (e.g., FIFO, 
LIFO, etc.).  The financial statements will usually identify the inventory methods used, 
and publications, which describe the accounting practices of the foreign parent’s country, 
may provide additional information regarding those methods.  If the inventory method is 
acceptable for California purposes, then the issue does not need to be pursued further.  
However, if the foreign corporations are being combined for the first time and the 
taxpayer wishes to elect an inventory method specifically for California worldwide 
reporting purposes, they should be given the opportunity to do so. 
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If the taxpayer wishes to convert to a LIFO inventory method for foreign inventories, 
verify that the LIFO adjustments are correct. In the past, the department required 
taxpayers to submit a CPA certification to support their LIFO values. This is no longer 
required, although you may still accept such a certification as one way for the taxpayer 
to meet its burden of proof regarding the LIFO valuations.   
 
Rules for use of the LIFO method are provided in Treas. Reg. §1.472, and a description 
of LIFO is also contained in Chapter 17, Water's-Edge Manual.  Although LIFO can be 
calculated based upon the quantity and cost of specific goods (e.g., unit method), most 
taxpayers use the "dollar-value" method:   
 
For each pool of inventory, the cost for each item in the pool at the beginning of the first 
LIFO year will be aggregated to derive the base-year costs.  The beginning inventory 
costs used for financial reporting purposes should generally be used.  Because LIFO 
inventories are required to be stated at cost rather than at lower of cost or market, any 
previous write-downs of base-year inventory must be added back into income ratably 
over three years (IRC §472(d)). 
 
For each LIFO year, the value of each pool of ending inventory must be determined 
using the cost that the inventory would have had in the base-year.  The computational 
approaches available to restate ending inventory at base-year costs include the double-
extension method, the index method, and the link-chain method.  These methods are 
explained in Treas. Reg. §1.472-8.   
 
The beginning and ending inventories (expressed in base-year costs) are compared.  If 
the value has increased over the year, then the amount of the increase is multiplied by 
the ratio of current costs over base year costs to arrive at the value of the current year 
LIFO layer.  If the value has decreased, then prior year LIFO layers are decreased 
(liquidated) accordingly. 
 
Once inventory balances have been determined under the LIFO method, cost of goods 
sold must be recalculated.  If financial statement net income was used as the base for 
California net income, the state adjustment should reflect the difference between cost of 
goods sold calculated for book and California tax purposes.  
 
As discussed in CCR §25106.5-10 and MATM 5145, the department must consider the 
cost of compliance and materiality of the issue.  For example, if a subsidiary operates 
solely within one foreign country and has a similar line of products, it may be reasonable 
to take a "short-cut" by treating all inventory in that country as one LIFO pool.  On the 
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other hand, the information needed to make LIFO computations maybe available in the 
ordinary course of the taxpayer's business, so estimations should not be accepted unless 
you are comfortable that the estimate is a reasonable approximation of the actual 
numbers.  For example, it is never reasonable to accept foreign LIFO valuations based 
on the ratio of domestic tax inventory to domestic book inventory.  
 
When the inventory method used for California is different from the method used for 
book purposes, verify that the correct inventory valuation has been included in the 
property factor.  Book/tax differences may be revealed during the property factor 
reconciliation discussed in MATM 7110. 
 
6080 DEPLETION  
 

For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 1993, California has conformed to IRC 
§611 through 638, relating to the deduction for depletion of natural resources (R&TC 
§24831). However,  R&TC §24831.6, relating to temporary suspension of the 100 
percent taxable income limit with respect to marginal production of oil and natural gas 
does not apply in California. (IRC §613A(c)(6)(H)). As a result, the percentage depletion 
deduction is restricted to 100percent of the net income derived from the oil or gas well 
property, which is further not exceeded to 65percent of the taxable income.   

For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 1987 through December 31, 1992, 
California modified IRC §613 to provide for its own percentage depletion rates for oil, 
gas and geothermal wells. Under former R&TC §24833, California allowed a percentage 
depletion of all oil, gas, and geothermal wells at 22 percent of gross income from the 
property, up to 50 percent of the taxpayer's taxable income from the property. 

For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 1987 through December 31, 1992, 
California conformed to the federal rules for depletion, except with respect to percentage 
depletion for oil, gas and geothermal wells (R&TC §24831 - R&TC §24833). For taxable 
years beginning on or after January 1, 1993, California repealed section 24832 and 
section 24833 and now conforms to federal depletion rules for oil, gas and geothermal 
wells.) The percentage depletion rates are listed in IRC §613. Prior to January 1, 1987, 
California's depletion rates differed from federal, and were listed in section 24833. 
Another state/federal difference that existed prior to January 1, 1987 was California's 
limitation on the amount of percentage depletion on sulfur that could be deducted in any 
one year. This limitation was similar to the limitation on oil and gas that is discussed 
below. 
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Percentage depletion allowance is a preference item for AMT purposes to the extent that 
it exceeds the basis of the property at year end (see MATM 8530). 
 
Oil, Gas & Geothermal Wells 
 
Under federal law, percentage depletion is allowed for the following: 
 

• Regulated Natural gas 
• Natural gas sold under a fixed contract 
• Certain geothermal deposits 
• Certain independent producers and royalty owners subject to a 65 percent of 

taxable income limitation. 
 
For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 1993, California follows the federal 
provisions for percentage depletion. 
 
For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 1987 through December 31, 1992, 
California does not restrict percentage depletion as provided under federal law, but 
provides for a depletion rate of 22 percent for oil, gas and geothermal wells.  As long as 
the accumulated depletion does not exceed the adjusted basis of the property, the 
amount of depletion deductible in any year is limited only by the general 50 percent of 
net income limitation (computed on a combined basis).  Once basis is exceeded, an 
additional limitation will apply if the total depletion for all of the taxpayer's oil, gas and 
geothermal properties exceeds $1,500,000.  In such a case, the depletion that would 
otherwise be allowable must be reduced by 125 percent of the amount by which the 
depletion allowance exceeds $1,500,000.  Under this formula, if the accumulated 
depletion exceeds the cost basis and the current year depletion allowance is $7,500,000 
or more, the depletion deduction for the current year will be phased out.  The limitations 
on the depletion deduction must be computed for the combined group as a whole, not 
on a separate entity basis (former R&TC §24833.) 
 
For taxable years beginning prior to January 1, 1993, you should verify that a state 
adjustment has been made to account for the state and federal depletion differences.  If 
the state depletion deduction is material, you should review the taxpayer's depletion 
workpapers to determine whether the limitation has been correctly applied. 
 
Although California conforms to federal depletion provisions for taxable years beginning 
on or after January 1, 1993, you should be aware that the basis on which the cost 
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depletion is calculated may differ.  For example, if the original asset cost was $100 and 
federal cost depletion taken prior to 1993 was $80, a federal basis of $20 would remain.  
For California purposes, percentage depletion taken prior to 1993 might have been $90, 
leaving a California basis of $10.  California cost depletion for 1993 should be based on 
$10. 
 
6085 INTANGIBLE DRILLING AND DEVELOPMENT COSTS 
 
The California and federal laws are similar.  For taxable years beginning prior to January 
1, 1987, California did not conform to IRC 291(b), which only allowed a percentage of 
the intangible drilling costs (IDCs) to be currently deducted.  Since the portion of the 
IDCs that was not currently deductible for federal purposes was allowed to be amortized 
over five years, this may result in a state/federal difference through 1991 (the five-year 
federal amortization period of IDCs capitalized in 1986 will end in 1991).   
 
Another California-Federal difference involves geothermal wells.  For federal purposes, 
IRC section 263(c) allows taxpayers the option to currently expense IDCs for oil, gas and 
geothermal wells located within the United States.  R&TC §24423 is substantially the 
same as IRC §263(c), but only applies to oil and gas wells.  Therefore, California has no 
provision that would allow IDCs related to geothermal wells to be currently expensed. 
 
For years beginning on or after January 1, 1987, neither Federal nor California permit 
expensing of IDC's relating to costs paid or incurred with respect to an oil, gas, or 
geothermal well located outside the United States. 
 
Intangible drilling costs may be an item of tax preference for alternative minimum tax 
purposes.  See MATM 8530 for more details. 
 
Property Factor Issues 
 
Although not a state adjustment, there are property factor issues that are unique to IDC 
that deserve mention in this section. As a general rule, items, which are expensed for 
tax purposes, are not includable in the property factor. IDCs are capitalized for book 
purposes, but are usually expensed for tax purposes. Prior to 1990, you should ensure 
that IDCs have been excluded from the property factor if they have been expensed on 
the return. For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 1990 however, CCR 
§25130(a)(1) was revised to include IDCs in the property factor regardless of whether 
they have been expensed or capitalized. The property factor inclusion is not limited to 
IDCs incurred after January 1, 1990, but applies to all IDCs that are still capitalized on 
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the taxpayer's books, even though they may have been expensed for tax purposes in a 
prior year. See MATM 7795 for more details. 
 
6086 TERTIARY INJECTANT EXPENSES 
 
A "tertiary recovery method" means any method that is described in Section 
212.78(c)(1) through (9) of the June 1979 Energy Regulations, 10 CFT 212.78 (1979).  
Very broadly, this entails injecting hydorcarbon gas into an oil or gas well to increase 
pressure for recovery.  For federal purposes, tertiary injectant expenses are deductible 
in the year that the injections were made (IRC §193; §263(a)(1)(F)).  California does 
not conform to the federal treatment.  R&TC §24422 adopts similar language as IRC 
§263, except for §263(a)(1)(F).  In addition, California does not have a similar provision 
as IRC §193.  For California and financial reporting purposes, if tertiary costs enhance 
the recovery process, they are capitalized and amortized over the life of the reserve.  If 
the tertiary costs do not enhance the recovery process, they will be expensed.  
 
An examination of the federal Schedule M-1, or M-3 if applicable, should identify if 
tertiary costs have been capitalized for books but expensed for federal tax purposes.  If 
so, then state adjustments will be required to reverse the deduction in the year of the 
injection and to allow amortization in subsequent years. 
 
6090 SAFE HARBOR LEASING 
 
Between 1981 and 1983, former IRC §168(F)(8) provided a safe harbor election that 
guaranteed that certain transactions would be treated as leases rather than as financing 
arrangements, even though the transaction would not otherwise qualify as a lease.  In 
effect, this provision permitted the transfer of depreciation benefits and investment tax 
credits between taxpayers.  California never adopted the Safe Harbor Leasing provision, 
and continued to follow case law and pre-safe harbor IRS guidelines in determining 
whether a transaction should be treated as a lease.   
 
Even though the safe harbor rules no longer exist under current law, the rules still apply 
for federal purposes for the duration of leases that were entered into under a valid safe 
harbor election.  Therefore, federal net income may still include income and deductions 
related to safe harbor leases.   
 
Example 
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Corporation X purchases new equipment with a 10-year life for $1,000,000.  X "sells" 
the equipment to Corporation Y for $200,000 cash and an $800,000 15-year note.  Y 
then "leases" the equipment to X for 15 years, for an amount that exactly offsets the 
debt service.  The only money that changes hands on the transaction is the $200,000 
payment from Y to X.  At the end of the lease Y sells the asset to X for one dollar.  As 
the deemed owner under former IRC §168(f) (8), Corporation Y is entitled to an 
investment tax credit and accelerated depreciation with respect to its "leased" asset.  
Corporation X has the benefit of a rental deduction. 
 
Schedule M-1, or M-3 if applicable, should disclose whether any transactions are being 
reported under the safe harbor rules for federal purposes.  If so, state adjustments are 
necessary to reverse the income and deductions related to the transaction.  These 
adjustments may include the following: 
 

• If the taxpayer is the lessor, depreciation on the leased property and interest 
deductions related to the note should be added back into income.  Rental income 
should be eliminated. 

 
• If the taxpayer is the lessee, rental expense should be added back into income, 

and interest income from the note should be eliminated.  The lessee should be 
allowed a depreciation deduction for the property based upon original cost less the 
down payment received from the lessor. 

 
For state purposes, some taxpayers have attempted to deduct or amortize the down 
payment made on the safe harbor lease transaction (the $200,000 payment in the 
above example).  This payment is for the purchase of federal tax benefits.  Since the 
federal income taxes themselves are not deductible, neither is the safe harbor lease 
down payment.  This deduction should be disallowed.  Since the adjustment may be 
netted with other safe harbor lease items, it is important that you analyze the taxpayer's 
adjustments to verify that they are proper. 
 
Adjustments to the property factor of both the lessor and lessee will also be necessary.  
See MATM 7205.  
 
6095 SALES OF SUBSIDIARIES  
 
Since California law is significantly different from federal law with respect to investments 
in subsidiaries, material issues may be found in this area. 
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When a parent and subsidiary are members of a consolidated group, the parent's basis 
in the subsidiary's stock is treated as an investment account for federal purposes.  
Accordingly, it is increased by the net income of the subsidiary, and decreased by net 
losses and distributions out of earnings and profits (Treas. Reg. § 1.1502-32(b)).  To the 
extent that the negative adjustments would otherwise reduce the parent's basis in its 
stock below zero, an "excess loss account" is established.  When the subsidiary is sold, 
gain or loss on the disposition of the stock is computed using the parent's basis net of 
any investment adjustments.  The balance of any excess loss account is recaptured into 
the parent's income (Treas. Reg. § 1.1502-19).  California has no similar provisions.  For 
state purposes, gain or loss on the sale of the stock of a combined subsidiary is 
computed using the parent's original cost basis, net of any distributions that constituted 
returns of capital.  Because of this difference, the sale of a consolidated subsidiary will 
almost always result in a state adjustment.   
 
Federal/state basis differences may also occur with respect to stock in foreign 
subsidiaries.  For federal purposes, certain income of controlled foreign corporations 
(CFCs) is treated as a deemed dividend to the U.S. shareholder.  Such income is termed 
"subpart F" income.  The U.S. shareholder's basis in the CFC stock is increased by the 
amount of subpart F income that has been included in the gross income of the U.S. 
shareholder, and is reduced by the amounts that have been distributed out of previously 
taxed subpart F income.  (IRC § 961, see MATM 6036.)  Since California does not 
conform to these rules, gain or loss from the sale of a foreign subsidiary is again 
computed using the cost basis of the stock. 
 
For federal purposes, the gain on the sale of stock in a CFC may also be deemed 
dividend income to the U.S. shareholder (IRC § 1248).  California conformed to this 
provision during a window period from taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 
1987 to transactions occurring on or before August 20, 1990 in taxable years beginning 
on or after January 1, 1990.  Outside of that window period, IRC section 1248 gains on 
the sale of stock are not deemed as dividends for California purposes, and are not 
subject to the treatment of any California dividend received provisions such as R&TC 
sections 25106 and 24411 (see MATM 6036). 
 
Reviewing Schedules D and M-1 or M-3, if applicable, of the Form 1120 may identify 
stock transactions.  Annual reports and SEC Form 10-Ks may also identify dispositions of 
subsidiaries.  When a subsidiary has been disposed of during the audit period you should 
determine how the disposition was reported for state purposes.  To ensure that original 
cost was used, the taxpayer's basis computations should be reviewed. 
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6100 TAXES MEASURED BY INCOME OR PROFITS 
 
Pursuant to R&TC §24345 no deduction is allowed for taxes on, or according to, or 
measured by income or profits paid or accrued within the taxable year.   Since state, 
local and foreign income taxes are generally deductible for federal purposes, you should 
analyze the deduction for taxes to insure that all taxes measured by income have been 
added back for state purposes.   
 
For purposes of R&TC §24345, the term "income" refers to gross income.   You must 
distinguish between gross income and gross receipts because a tax measured by gross 
receipts is deductible.  Gross receipt is a term generally used to describe gross proceeds 
including a return of capital (cost of goods sold).  In order to arrive at gross income, 
gross receipts are reduced by cost of goods sold.  You must make the determination of 
whether a tax is on or according to or measured by income on a case-by-case basis by 
looking at the make-up of the specific tax imposed.  Certain types of receipts, such as 
rents or income received for the performance of services, do not contain a return of 
capital element.  In these cases, gross receipts are the same as gross income, and the 
tax on that income will be considered to be a non-deductible income tax.  For further 
guidance in determining whether a tax is based on income, see Appeal of Huntington 
Alloys, Inc. 84-SBE 129, September 12, 1984; Appeal of Charles and Mary Haubiel 73-
SBE-004 l., May 15, 1974; Beamer v. Franchise Tax Board, (1977) 19 Cal.3d 467, 475; 
MCA inc. v. FTB (1981) 115 Cal.App.3d 185. 
 
Federal Environmental Tax 
 
The federal environmental tax imposed by IRC §59A is deductible for federal purposes.  
The computation of this tax is based on federal alternative minimum taxable income 
(AMTI).  Since AMTI is merely net income computed under different rules than those 
used for federal regular tax purposes, the environmental tax is a tax based on net 
income.  The environmental tax is not deductible for California purposes, and you should 
verify that it has been added back as a state adjustment. 
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Michigan Single Business Tax 
 
The state of Michigan imposes a tax known as the Single Business Tax (MSBT).  For 
purposes of computing the tax base, employee compensation is added back to federal 
gross income.  Since a labor component is generally included in cost of goods sold, 
adding back the compensation will result in an element of cost of goods sold being 
included in the tax base.  The State Board of Equalization has ruled that if the tax base 
includes any element of return of capital, then the tax is measured by something other 
than gross income, and is therefore deductible. See Appeal of Dayton Hudson 
Corporation, 94-SBE-003, February 3, 1994.  In order to determine whether a 
corporation has a labor component in cost of goods sold, you should look to the federal 
standards under IRC §263A.  If the corporation has as little as $1 of labor cost of goods 
sold, the MSBT will be deductible.  
 
 In the Appeal of Kelly Service, Inc and Subsidiary Corporations, 97-SBE-10, May 8, 
1997, the State Board of Equalization concluded that the MSBT makes no distinction 
between activities of a taxpayer when calculating the measure of tax. The State Board of 
Equalization found that the MSBT is deductible as provided by R&TC §24345(b), 
regardless of the specific components of the MSBT base of the taxpayer claiming the 
deduction. 
 
Although not specifically addressed in the Dayton Hudson case, the MSBT computation 
also includes a depreciation add-back.  To the extent that the depreciation would be a 
component of cost of goods sold under the IRC §263A standards, it appears that the 
same rationale may also apply.  
 
Alternative Taxes or Hybrid Tax 
 
Some states have an alternative tax system under which a tax is calculated under two 
different bases (i.e., net income and net worth), and the larger of the two taxes is 
assessed.  In such cases, you must determine which method was ultimately used to 
compute the tax in each year.  For years in which the tax was based upon net income, 
the tax is not deductible.  A review of the other state tax return will assist you to identify 
the base used to calculate the tax. 
 
Other states have a hybrid tax.  An example is the franchise tax that Texas has imposed 
since 1991.  Under the Texas franchise tax, tax is computed separately on net taxable 
capital and net taxable earned surplus.  To the extent of the tax on net capital, the 
franchise tax imposed will always be characterized as a non-income tax.  But, if the tax 
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on earned surplus exceeds the tax on net capital, the excess is characterized as a tax on 
earned surplus (an income tax).  Since Texas itself divides its franchise tax into income 
and capital elements, the FTB has taken the position that the portion of the tax that is 
imposed on earned surplus is not deductible.   
 
Foreign Taxes 
 
Because of the difficulties involved with determining the nature of some foreign taxes, 
rules specifically for foreign taxes have been set forth in CCR §24345-7.  The regulation 
contains a presumption that foreign taxes are income taxes.  The burden of proof rests 
upon the taxpayer to establish that a particular foreign tax was not based on net 
income.  Some countries impose a "dual capacity tax,” which is defined as a tax, which 
is all or in part an income tax, but which is also for receipt of a specific economic benefit.  
In order to deduct any portion of a dual capacity tax, the taxpayer must prove that the 
portion of the tax is not an income tax.  Once the taxpayer has established that it has 
paid a dual capacity tax, then it must determine the amount of such tax by either facts 
and circumstances or application of the safe harbor formula.  See MATM 7795 for 
detailed guidelines on this matter. 
 
Audit Techniques 
 
All annual reports of U.S. companies disclose the amount of income taxes.  If the 
taxpayer has classified taxes as income taxes for book purposes, they should generally 
be added back as a state adjustment.  You may use the following test to determine 
whether the income tax add-back is reasonable in relation to the income taxes disclosed 
on the audited financial statements: 
 

Income taxes per Annual Report xxx 
Schedule M-1 or M-3 adjustments: xxx 
Add: State, local or foreign  income taxes deducted in 

return but not for book purposes 
 

Deduct Federal income taxes booked but not deducted in 
the return 

(xxx) 

 State, local or foreign income taxes booked but not 
deducted in the return 

(xxx) 

 Minimum amount required to be added back as a 
state adjustment: 

xxx 

Less: Amount added back per return (xxx) 
 DIFFERENCE xxx 
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You should not propose adjustments based solely upon the above reconciliation.  The 
reconciliation is only a test to identify whether additional work is required. 
 
If there is a material difference between the above amount and the amount added back 
into income, you should make a thorough analysis of the taxes deducted on the return 
and the tax provision in the financial statement footnotes.  Following are some sources 
of information regarding amounts of foreign and domestic taxes: 
 
Supporting detail to Form 100 or 1120: 
 

• Cost of Goods Sold  
• Taxes  
• Other Deductions  
• Schedule M-1 and M-3 if applicable  
• Federal Form 5471 (Information Return of U.S. Persons with Respect to Foreign 

Corporations) Federal Form 1118 (Computation of Foreign Tax Credit - 
Corporations). 

 
Federal Form 1118 will provide you with information regarding foreign taxes taken as a 
credit, but it is not necessarily determinative as to whether a tax is an income tax.  A 
tax that qualifies for the foreign tax credit is generally a tax measured by income. This is 
assuming that the taxpayer filed their Federal Form 1118 correctly.  On the other hand, 
the fact that a tax is not reported on Federal Form 1118 does not indicate that the tax is 
not measured by income, because taxpayers may elect to deduct foreign income taxes 
for federal purposes rather than take a credit.   
 
Once you have identified the taxes paid to particular jurisdictions, you may find 
information regarding the nature of the taxes imposed by the various jurisdictions on the 
internet or in large public libraries.  A review of the tax returns filed with the other 
jurisdictions will also help you in identifying the nature of the tax and the composition of 
the tax base. 
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