Skip to Main Content
State of California Franchise Tax Board

State's Annual Nonfiler Program Begins

Released: February 1, 2010

SACRAMENTO – The Franchise Tax Board (FTB) today announced that it is contacting more than 900,000 people who earned California income, but neglected to file a state income tax return for the 2008 filing year.

FTB finds nonfilers by using more than 350 million income records it receives each year from third parties such as the IRS, banks, employers, state departments, and other sources. In addition, FTB uses occupational licenses and mortgage interest payment information to detect others who may also have a requirement to file a state tax return.

Last year, FTB collected more than $600 million through these efforts.

Since the 1950s, FTB has contacted people who may have a filing requirement, but have not filed a tax return. Individuals contacted have 30 days to file their state tax return or show why one is not due. When a required return is not filed, FTB issues a tax assessment using income records to estimate the amount of state tax due. The assessment includes interest, fees, and penalties of up to 50 percent.

More information is available for those receiving notices at Select the Bills and Notices tab, and then under the Tax Debt Section, select: Respond to request or demand for tax return. Taxpayers can request more time to respond, retrieve information that can assist them in filing a tax return, request tax forms, learn about payment options, sign up to receive an email reminder to file, and much more. Individuals can also call FTB at 866.204.7902 to get information.

Editor’s Note: Please call for county and city statistics.

Chat with an FTB Representative