State Noticing Those Who Did Not File Last Year’s Taxes
Media Contact Only
Public Affairs Office
For Immediate Release
Sacramento – The Franchise Tax Board (FTB) today announced that it is contacting more than one million people who did not file a state income tax return for last year. The deadline to file a 2011 state tax return was October 15, 2012.
FTB contacts those who earned California income, but did not file a return for the 2011 filing year. FTB compares its records of filed tax returns with the more than 400 million income records it receives each year from third parties. FTB receives income information from the IRS, banks, employers, state departments, and other sources. FTB also uses occupational licenses and mortgage interest payment information to detect others who may also have a requirement to file a state tax return.
Last year, FTB collected more than $714 million through these efforts.
Since the 1950s, FTB has contacted people who may have a filing requirement, but did not file a tax return. Those contacted have 30 days to file a state tax return or show why one is not due. When a required return is not filed, FTB issues a tax assessment using income records to estimate the amount of state tax due. The assessment includes interest, fees, and penalties that can total up to 50 percent.
FTB provides more information and online services for those receiving notices at ftb.ca.gov/inc. Individuals can use our Respond to request/demand for tax return online service to request more time to respond, retrieve information that can assist in filing a tax return, request tax forms, learn about payment options, sign up to receive an email reminder to file, and access other services. They can also call FTB at 866.204.7902 to get information.
Last year, more than 15.8 million tax returns were filed by California taxpayers for the 2011 tax year.
Editor’s Note: Please call for county and city statistics.
For more information on other taxes and fees in California, visit: taxes.ca.gov.