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What’s new for filing 2015 tax returns 
Standard deductions 

The standard deduction amount for single or separate taxpayers increased from $3,992 to 
$4,044 for tax year 2015. For joint, surviving spouse, or head of household taxpayers, the 
standard deduction increased from $7,984 to $8,088 for tax year 2015. 

 

Personal exemptions 

The personal exemption amount for single, separate, and head of household taxpayers 
increased from $108 to $109 for the 2015 tax year. For joint or surviving spouse, the personal 
exemption credit increased from $216 to $218. 

 

Dependent exemptions 

The dependent exemption credit increased from $333 per dependent claimed in the 2014 tax 
year to $337 each for 2015. 

 

Voluntary contributions 

Personal income taxpayers may contribute to the following two new funds: 

State Children’s Trust Fund for the Prevention of Child Abuse. 

Prevention of Animal Homelessness & Cruelty Fund. 

 

Earned Income Tax Credit 

For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2015, the refundable California Earned 
Income Tax Credit is available to taxpayers who earned wage income within California and lived 
here for more than six months. This credit is similar to the federal Earned Income Credit. This 
credit is available to taxpayers with earned income of less than $13,870. Additional information 
can be found on California form FTB 3514, California Earned Income Tax Credit.  

 

Payments and credits applied to use tax 

For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2015, if an individual or a corporation 
includes use tax on their income tax return, payments and credits will be applied to use tax first, 
then towards income tax, interest, and penalties. Additional information can be found in the 
instructions for the taxpayer’s income tax return.  
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Dependent social security number (SSN) 

For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2015, taxpayers claiming an exemption credit 
must write each dependent’s SSN in the spaces provided within line 10 on Form 540, California 
Resident Income Tax Return and Long or Short Form 540NR, California Nonresident or Part-Year 
Resident Income Tax Return or line 8 on Form 540 2EZ, California Resident Income Tax Return.  

 

Financial incentive for seismic improvement 

For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2015, taxpayers can exclude from gross 
income any amount received as loan forgiveness, grant, credit, rebate, voucher, or other 
financial incentive issued by the California Residential Mitigation Program or the California 
Earthquake Authority to assist a residential property owner or occupant with expenses paid, or 
obligations incurred, for earthquake loss mitigation. Additional information can be found in the 
instructions for the taxpayer’s income tax return.  

 

Disaster losses 

For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2014, and before January 1, 2024, taxpayers 
may deduct a disaster loss for any loss sustained in any city, county, or city and county in 
California that is proclaimed by the Governor to be in a state of emergency. For these 
Governor-only declared disasters, subsequent state legislation is not required to activate the 
disaster loss provisions. Additional information can be found in the instructions for form FTB 
3805V, Net Operating Loss (NOL) Computation and NOL and Disaster Loss Limitations – 
Individuals, Estates, and Trusts, and form FTB 3805Q, Net Operating Loss (NOL) Computation 
and NOL and Disaster Loss Limitations — Corporations. 

 

Slain Officer Family Support contribution 

California does not conform to the federal Slain Officer Family Support Act of 2015, enacted 
April 1, 2015. For federal, taxpayers can choose to treat cash contributions for the relief of the 
families of slain New York Police Department detectives made between January 1, 2015 and 
April 15, 2015, as if made on December 31, 2014. Eligible contributions can be claimed on 
either a 2014 or 2015 federal tax return, but not both. Contributions made after April 14, 2015, 
but on or before December 31, 2015, can only be claimed on a 2015 federal tax return. For 
California purposes, contributions may only be claimed on a 2015 tax return. Taxpayers, who 
claimed contributions under the Slain Officer Family Support Act on their 2014 federal tax 
return, will make an adjustment to their 2015 California tax return to add the amount of the 
contribution to their charitable deductions. Taxpayers, who erroneously deducted the 
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contribution on their 2014 California tax return, will need to amend their 2014 tax return to 
reduce the contribution. 

 

Head of Household (HOH) 

For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2015, California requires taxpayers who use 
HOH filing status to file form FTB 3532, Head of Household Filing Status Schedule, to report how 
the HOH filing status was determined. 

 

Credits 

Natural Heritage Preservation Credit 

For qualified contributions made on or after January 1, 2015, the credit carryover period 
has been extended to 15 years or until exhausted whichever occurs first. Any unused 
credits remaining before January 1, 2015, will remain subject to an eight-year carryover 
provision. In addition, the period for when a qualified contribution is made, for which a 
tax credit will be allowed, has been extended to June 30, 2020. 

Enterprise Zone (EZ) Sales or Use Tax Credit 

For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2015, taxpayers cannot generate the 
EZ Sales or Use Tax Credit. However, taxpayers can claim the EZ Sales or Use Tax Credit 
carryover from previous years. 

 

Extend the time for payment of taxes for corporations expecting net operating loss carryback 

A corporation or exempt organization that expects a net operating loss (NOL) in the 2016 
taxable year can file form FTB 3593, Extension of Time for Payment of Taxes by a Corporation 
Expecting a Net Operating Loss Carryback, to extend the time for payment of taxes for the 
immediately preceding 2015 taxable year. This includes extending the time for payment of a tax 
deficiency. The payment of tax that can be postponed cannot exceed the expected 
overpayment from the carryback of the NOL. For more information, get form FTB 3593. 

 

Minimum wage 

Beginning on and after January 1, 2016, the minimum wage is $10.00 per hour. The California 
minimum wage was $9.00 per hour from July 1, 2014, through December 31, 2015. 
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MyFTB client list 
With the launch of the enhanced MyFTB, tax professionals can register as a Tax Preparer and 
access their clients’ accounts online.  

You do this directly from the Client List page – your home page in MyFTB. You may view, add, 
and manage your clients on the Client List. 

There are two types of clients that may be viewed on the Client List and they are distinguished 
based on Access Type: Tax Preparer or Power of Attorney (POA). 

Access types 

As a tax preparer (without a POA declaration), you may: 

• Access information needed to prepare a return for your client.
• View information for clients you added through MyFTB within the last 13 months (Refer

to the How to Add a Client to My Client List for instructions on how to add a client to your
client list).

• Access your clients’ for 13 months unless you or your client terminates your access
earlier.

• Maintain continued uninterrupted client access by re-adding clients prior to the 13
month expiration date.

• Choose not to re-add client before their expiration date, so they will no longer display on
your Client List.

• Remove a client from your Client List by selecting Remove in the Actions column.

https://www.ftb.ca.gov/myftb/help/adding-clients-help.html
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Tax preparer (with a POA declaration): 

As a Tax preparer who is registered in MyFTB and has a processed POA declaration, you may: 

• Access all the information and take the actions detailed above.
• View additional information, such as view images of tax returns, notices and

correspondence, and receive email notifications of notices sent to your client and act on
behalf of the taxpayer by submitting protests or updating contact information;
see Changes Coming for Power of Attorneys on January 4, 2016 in the November Tax
News.

Information about POA representatives: 

• The information available for a POA representative to view depends on the tax years or
account periods for which the POA Declaration was submitted.

• If you submitted your POA Declaration on or after October 1, 2014, the POA clients
automatically display on your Client List. If they do not display, contact the Tax
Practitioner Hotline at 916.845.7057.

• Allow 30 business days after submitting the POA Declaration online for your client to
display on your Client List. If you do not see your client after 30 business days, contact
the Tax Practitioner Hotline at 916.845.7057.

• To add a POA client, File a POA Declaration (Refer to the How To Submit a FTB Form
3520, Power of Attorney Declaration for instructions on how to submit a POA Declaration
online). 

• POA Declarations require processing before your client will display on your Client List,
refer to the POA page for more information.

https://www.ftb.ca.gov/tax-pros/power-of-attorney/submit-a-power-of-attorney.html
https://www.ftb.ca.gov/tax-pros/power-of-attorney/submit-a-power-of-attorney.html
https://www.ftb.ca.gov/tax-pros/power-of-attorney/index.html
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• If you submit your POA Declaration by paper and indicate that you meet an exception,
allow up to 45 days for processing. If you did not indicate that you meet an exception,
processing can take 90 days or more.

• If you submitted a POA Declaration to FTB prior to October 1, 2014 and you want online
access to your client’s account with the additional Power of Attorney features, submit a
new POA Declaration (Refer to the How To Submit a FTB Form 3520, Power of Attorney
Declaration for instructions on how to submit a POA Declaration online).

• POA clients display as a single row on your Client List, even if you have multiple POAs for
the client. Select View POA in the Actions column to view a list of the POAs for a specific
client. View and manage the POA from the POA Detail page.

What clients will display when MyFTB is first accessed? 

• Clients with a POA Declaration submitted on or after October 1, 2014 will automatically 
display.

• The Client List is available to display up to 200 Individual clients (the number of clients 
you can add is unlimited.
o Use the Search for Client section to search for Business, Estate, and Trust clients or 

filter your results.
• Tax Preparer (non POA) clients will not display; they must be added (Refer to the How to 

Add a Client to My Client List for instructions). 

Search for clients 

To search for a client, select the “+” to expand the Search for Client. 
Here you may select to view by Client Type: 

• Individual
• Business
• Estate/Trust

For POA representatives, you can search for active POA clients: 

• Select Access Type of POA.
• Select POA Status of Active.
• Select the Search button.

If the search results display more than 200 results, refine your search results by adding more 
information such as a last name, first name, or ID number. 

https://www.ftb.ca.gov/tax-pros/power-of-attorney/submit-a-power-of-attorney.html
https://www.ftb.ca.gov/tax-pros/power-of-attorney/submit-a-power-of-attorney.html
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Note: Estate, Trust, and Nonresident Group Return client accounts are not available online at 
this time. However, from your Client List you can view details of active and pending POAs for 
Estate and Trust clients and manage active POAs.  

Features by access type 

The below table highlights the various MyFTB features you can access for your client based on 
your Access Type. 
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For more information relating to Tax Preparers, see the Tax Preparer Tour of MyFTB in the 
December Tax News. 
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Obtaining your client’s permission to view their MyFTB account 
If you do not have a Power of Attorney with your client, you need to obtain your clients’ 
permission to access their MyFTB account. 

Tax Professionals can use FTB 743, Online Account View Access Authorization, (or equivalent 
form) from your client to gain permission to their account. Do not mail this form to us; keep it in 
your records. 

Below are additional important details regarding accessing your client’s MyFTB account: 

1. When adding your client to your Client List you must acknowledge that you have your
client’s permission to view their account, see below image. Access How to Add a Client to
My Client List for more details.

2. After submitting the request to add the client to your Client List, you will receive the
following confirmation indicating: 1) the client you have added, 2) how long the client will
remain on the account, and 3) your access can be viewed by your client.
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After you add your client to your Client List, your client will receive an acknowledgement letter 
from FTB (Access Granted to Your MyFTB Account) notifying them  that you have added them 
as a client through MyFTB allowing you access to limited account information  tax account 
information to help prepare their taxes.   

Note: The letter your client will receive lists your individual name (we are unable to add a 
company or firm name). You should notify your client that you will be adding them to 
your Client List and they will be receiving this letter from us.  

When your client accesses their MyFTB account, they will receive a notification of when you 
accessed their account under Account Access on their Home Page, see below for sample 
message. 

MyFTB registration – Common questions 
As of February 1, over 115,500 users have registered for MyFTB. Below are answers to some of 
the top questions we have received to date. 

Q: Do I need to have a power of attorney (POA) declaration processed before I can speak to an 
agent regarding a taxpayer’s account?  

A: We will work with tax professionals to help you with your clients’ account prior to processing 
the POA declaration. Specific tax matters such as a levy, order to withhold, lien, audit, and filing 
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enforcement will be considered. Before our agents can assist with the call, you will need to pass 
“identity proofing” and provide specific information on the notice or transaction. Be sure to 
obtain specific information from your client related to the account question prior to calling us. 
We will only discuss the tax matter indicated on the notice or regarding the transaction. 

Q: Do my clients need to have a MyFTB account to make a payment? 

A: No. Both individuals and business entities can continue to use Web Pay without registering 
for a MyFTB account. Web Pay for Individuals and Web Pay for Businesses are available directly 
from the ftb.ca.gov homepage. 

Q: How will I receive my PIN? 

A: Your PIN will be mailed by US mail to the address associated to the tax preparer ID you 
provided during registration. For example, if you register for MyFTB using your PTIN, we mail 
your PIN to the address provided to the IRS when you renewed or registered for your PTIN. 

Q: How long will it take to receive my PIN? 

A:  Allow 10 days to receive your PIN by US mail. If you do not receive it in 10 days, please call 
us at:  

Phone: 
800.852.5711, Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., except state holidays. 
916.845.6500 (outside U.S.) 

California Relay Service 
711 or 800.735.2929  

TTY (Device to Device) 
800.822.6268 

Q: Can I get my PIN over the phone? 

A: For security reasons we are unable to provide the PIN over the phone, FAX, or chat. If you 
need assistance before receiving your PIN, contact us. You can also go to any FTB field office to 
receive your PIN in person by presenting a valid government ID. Search for office on ftb.ca.gov 
for office locations. 

Q: What if I forget my User Name or password prior to logging in with my PIN? 

https://www.ftb.ca.gov/
https://www.ftb.ca.gov/aboutFTB/contact.shtml
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A: Your User Name and password are needed to complete your registration. If you can’t 
remember them, you will need to restart the registration process. Call us at 800.353.9032 we 
will reset your password and security questions.  

Q: If I just received my PTIN from the IRS, when can I register for a Tax Preparer MyFTB account? 

A: Allow approximately 10 days from the date you receive your PTIN from the IRS to register for 
MyFTB.   

Q: Can an individual register for a MyFTB account if they have not filed a California return in the 
last five years? 

A: No. To register for an account, an individual must have filed a return for one of the last five 
taxable years.  

Q: Which AGI is needed for registration? 

A: California AGI from the original return, NOT federal AGI. Be sure to select the appropriate tax 
year for the California AGI entered. 

Q: Do I need permission to view my client’s account? 

A: Yes. Tax Preparers need to  obtain permission to access a client’s online MyFTB account. You 
can use FTB 743, Online Account View Access Authorization, (or equivalent form) to gain 
permission. Do not mail us this form; keep it for your records. We recommend you notify your 
client that they will receive this letter from us. See Obtaining Your Client’s Permission to View 
Their MyFTB account for more details.  

For more information see MyFTB Account Registration – Frequently Asked Questions. 

Are you on a tight schedule? 
Filing reminders can help 
If you are having trouble getting your tax return completed by April 15, here are some helpful 
filing reminders to help those who are on a tight schedule. 

If you are having trouble getting your tax return completed by April 15, here are some helpful 
filing reminders to help those who are on a tight schedule.   

https://www.ftb.ca.gov/forms/misc/743.pdf
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April 18, 2016 

Save the date! April 18, 2016, is the due date for 2015 California state personal income tax 
returns. Normally, the due date would be April 15. However when the due date falls on a 
weekend or holiday, the deadline to file and pay is extended to the next business day. Due to 
the Emancipation Day holiday celebrated in Washington DC on April 16, 2016, tax returns filed 
and payments mailed or submitted on April 18, 2016, will be considered timely. If the balance is 
not paid by this date, penalties and interest may apply.  

For more information on individual’s due dates, go to ftb.ca.gov and search due dates. 

Automatic paperless extensions - Personal income tax law 

If you are unable to file your client’s 2015 California state personal income tax return by April 
18, 2016? Not a problem, we allow an automatic six-month extension to file without the need 
to file a written request if the return is filed within six months of the original due date. This 
applies to all taxpayers filing Forms 540, 540NR, 540EZ, 541, and 565. The extension time 
period for fiscal and calendar year taxpayers is the original due date plus six months. This 
granting of the extension is conditioned on the filing of a return within the automatic extension 
period. To read the automatic paperless extensions for personal income tax law in detail check 
out FTB Notice 91-3. 

Note: This extension to file is not an extension of time to pay. Tax is due on the original due 
date of the return without regard to extension. 

https://www.ftb.ca.gov/
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Form 1099, who do I send it to? 
Here’s a quick refresher on who to send your form 1099s to: 

If you use the IRS Combined Federal/State Filing Program1 you only have to file once. The IRS 
will forward the information provided on the following forms to FTB:  

 

• 1099-B 
• 1099-DIV 
• 1099-G 
• 1099-INT 
• 1099-K 
• 1099-MISC 
• 1099-OID 
• 1099-PATR 
• 1099-R 
• 5498 

 

You are still responsible to file the following IRS information returns with FTB: 

• 1098 
• 1098-E 
• 1098-T 
• 1099-A 
• 1099-C 
• 1099-LTC 
• 1099-Q 
• 1099-S 

 

California payers who file paper information returns with the IRS should not send a paper copy 
to FTB. The IRS will forward the information to FTB, whether the payer is located inside or 
outside of California. 

 

                                               
1 Information on the Combined Federal/State Filing Program is available in the IRS Publication 
1220, Specifications for Electronic Filing of Forms 1097, 1098, 1099, 3921, 3922, 5498, 8935, 
and W-2G. 

http://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/p1220.pdf
http://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/p1220.pdf
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Payers subject to an exception that requires them to report differently for federal and state 
purposes, such as a different dollar amount, must file separate information returns with the IRS 
and FTB. 

 

While we encourage you to file electronically, if you must file a paper return with us, mail it to: 

FRANCHISE TAX BOARD 
PO BOX 942840 
SACRAMENTO, CA 94240-6090 

 

In general, the penalty for each failure to file an information return with the IRS and/or the FTB 
is $50, with an annual maximum of $250,000. If the failure is due to intentional disregard, the 
penalty is the greater of $100 or 10 percent of the total amount of the items that should have 
been reported with no maximum. Penalties may be waived for reasonable cause. 

 

The IRS has many different federal forms 1099 that report various types of income such as 
nonemployee compensation, interest and dividends, or brokerage proceeds. For a complete list 
of all required returns and what to report, go to irs.gov and search for A Guide to Information 
Returns.  

 

Payers should not file the following IRS forms with us:  

• 1099-CAP, Changes in Corporate Control and Capital Structure 
• 1099-H, Health Insurance Advance Payments 
• 1099-SA, Distributions From an HSA, Archer MSA, or Medicare Advantage MSA 
• 5498-SA, HSA, Archer MSA, or Medicare Advantage MSA 

 

Tip: When we examine business records, failure to report payments made for attorney fees is 
one payment area where we often see noncompliance. While payments made to a corporation 
are generally an exception to the requirement to report on a federal Form 1099-MISC, 
payments made to a corporation for legal services, such as attorneys’ fees, have been required 
to be reported since 1998. Medical and health care payments are also required to be reported 
even if paid to a corporation. 

 

For more information, read the Tax News article, Filing the Correct 1099 for the IRS. 

 

http://www.irs.gov/
https://www.irs.gov/Businesses/Small-Businesses-&-Self-Employed/A-Guide-to-Information-Returns
https://www.irs.gov/Businesses/Small-Businesses-&-Self-Employed/A-Guide-to-Information-Returns
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Charitable contribution limitations and carryovers 
In the January issue of Tax News, we discussed the general rules for charitable contributions 
made by individuals including the substantiation requirements. This month, we want to touch 
briefly on the 50 percent, 30 percent, and 20 percent contribution limitations. 

 

Based on federal adjusted gross income (AGI), the carryover rules and a reminder to double-
check that any contributions carried over from prior years are properly limited in the current 
year.  

 

Contribution limitations 

An individual's deduction for charitable contributions is limited overall to 50 percent of their 
federal AGI, computed without regard to the net operating loss carryback deduction. However, 
certain charitable contributions are limited to 30 percent and 20 percent of federal AGI. 

 

Contributions limited to 50 percent of federal AGI are generally those made to: 

• Churches, and conventions or associations of churches. 
• Educational organizations. 
• Hospitals and certain medical research organizations associated with these hospitals. 
• Publicly supported charities. 
• The United States, any state, a U.S. possession including Puerto Rico, or a political 

subdivision. 
• Private operating foundations. 
• Private nonoperating foundations that make qualifying distributions.  
• Certain private foundations. 

 

Note: An organization will generally be able to tell the taxpayer whether it is a 50 percent limit 
organization. 

 

Contributions limited to 30 percent of federal AGI are generally those made to all qualified 
organizations other than 50 percent limit organizations, including veterans' organizations, 
fraternal societies, nonprofit cemeteries, and certain private nonoperating foundations. The 30 
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percent limit also applies to a donation of appreciated property that if sold would result in a 
capital gain, and that property is given to a 50 percent limit organization (discussed above). 
However, the donation of appreciated property is not limited to 30 percent of federal AGI if the 
taxpayer elects to limit the deduction to their adjusted basis in the donated property rather 
than fair market value. If this election is made, the 50 percent limit applies. 

 

Contributions limited to 20 percent of federal AGI are those gifts of capital gain property to or 
for the use of qualified organizations other than 50 percent limit organizations, e.g., the 
donation of appreciated property which if sold would result in a capital gain, to a veteran's 
organization.  

 

When contributions are greater than the applicable 50 percent, 30 percent, or 20 percent of 
federal AGI limitations for a given year, the excess contributions are carried over and may be 
deducted for five years. The ordering rule is to first deduct current year's contributions, and 
then look to prior years' contributions carried forward, by each separate limitation amount. It is 
always important to know the correct limitation category (50 percent, 30 percent, or 20 percent 
of federal AGI) for contributions; both for the current year's contributions return and for prior 
years' carryovers. This is especially true if you are preparing a new client's return for the first 
time and they have contributions carried over from prior years.  

 

Federal Regulations under Internal Revenue Code Section 170, to which California conforms, 
require that when excess carryover contributions from a prior year are deducted, a statement 
must be included with the current (deduction year) return showing the year(s) in which the 
contributions were originally made, the amount taken in the intervening years, and the 
appropriate AGI limitations for each category.  
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We have new chiefs 
We are pleased to announce that FTB appointed two new division chiefs effective January 1, 
2016. 

Jennifer Fowler, Chief, Accounts Receivable Management Division 

Jennifer is responsible for collection program policy and operations which 
includes all aspects of individual, business, and nontax Court-Ordered 
Debt, Interagency Intercept, and Vehicle Registration collection programs.  

 

Jennifer has worked for FTB since 1988. She began her career in the Filing 
program. Since that time she has held a variety of positions in the Filing 
and Accounts Receivable Management Divisions. Jennifer has led and 
managed large collection programs directing the recovery of delinquent 

business entity taxes, personal income taxes, and all nontax debts (referred from 400 state and 
local agencies) recovering over $800 million annually to support needed services provided from 
the California General and Special Fund. 

 

As the Chief of the Accounts Receivable Management Division, Jennifer supports innovative 
technology that makes doing business with the State of California easier and will maintain a 
customer centric focus by addressing issues from the practitioner and taxpayer community. 
Jennifer graduated from both the California State University Sacramento (CSUS) Leadership for 
Government Executives and Management Development Program (MDP). She continues to 
pursue her Organizational Communication Bachelor of Arts degree from CSUS. 

 

Denise Mellor, Chief, Administrative Services Division 

As chief of FTB’s Administrative Services Division, Denise is responsible for 
overseeing all aspects of the human resource, internal audit, 
communications, executive and advocate services, and privacy and 
security bureaus. 

 

Denise has worked at FTB for over 26 years. She started her career with 
FTB as a student assistant while attending California State University, Sacramento. After earning 
a Bachelor of Science Degree in Accounting, she worked for KPMG (Peat Marwick at the time) 
for three years prior to returning to FTB. For the past 12 years, she has served as the Chief 
Security Officer as well as the Director for the Privacy, Security, and Disclosure Bureau. She was 
responsible for FTB’s privacy program, both information and physical security as well as 
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ensuring FTB is in compliance with the Information Practices Act (IPA), the Public Records Act 
(PRA), and the disclosure provisions in the Revenue and Taxation Code. Denise was also the 
Information Security Officer for the Government Operations Agency and the Business, 
Consumer Services and Housing Agency. 

 

Prior to her most recent assignments, Denise established and served as Director of the FTB’s 
Office of Resolution Management. In addition to working in the Administrative Services Division, 
she has held positions in the Audit Division, the Filing Division, and what used to be known as 
the Operations Division (a combination of Filing and Technology Divisions). Denise is also a 
Certified Information Privacy Technologist (CIPT). 

 

Denise has an extensive background in FTB operations and tax and is excited to be more 
involved in those arenas. In addition, she plans to focus on FTB’s goal to build a strong 
organization as she believes that is imperative in order to serve our customers. 

 

 

Adjusted interest rate 
The new adjusted interest rate for the period July 1, 2016, through December 31, 2016, 
remains the same at three percent. 

 

This is the rate compounded daily that accrues with respect to various state taxes including: 
personal income, corporate income, and franchise. The rate for corporation tax overpayments 
for the period is zero percent. For previous interest and estimate penalty rates, go to ftb.ca.gov 
and search adjusted interest rate. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 



Page | 21  
 

Ask the Advocate 
Our new technical assistant to the advocate 

I am pleased to announce Marc Narlesky as one of my new Technical 
Assistants to the Taxpayers' Rights Advocate’s Office. 
 

Marc will take charge of various tasks to include advocate equity relief, 
publication review, and legislative liaison. He will also contribute 
through public speaking engagements and Tax News. 

 

Marc started with the FTB in 1989, working as an Auditor and Lead 
Auditor/Reviewer. He has held staff positions for divisional budgeting 
as well as Business Lead for our Activity Based Costing project where 
he learned the operations of the department. 

 

Marc’s professional experience began in small CPA firms. He has worked in general practice 
with a multi-service firm and as a financial auditor for nonprofit organizations. Marc is 
reactivating his CPA license since he now will work with tax professionals. He graduated from 
San Jose State University with a Bachelor of Science Degree in Business Administration with an 
emphasis in Accounting and a minor in Industrial Technology. 

 

Inside FTB 
FTB assists taxpayers at Butte and Valley Fire Disaster Recovery Centers 

In September, Governor Edmund G. Brown Jr., declared a State of Emergency in Calaveras and 
Amador counties for the Butte Wildfire and in Lake and Napa counties for the Valley Wildfire. 
Together both fires burned over 145,000 acres of land which included 2,821 structures. 

 

Beginning on September 18, the Governor’s Office of Emergency Services (Cal OES) opened 
Local Assistance Centers (LACs) in San Andreas and Middletown to assist residents affected by 
the Butte and Valley fires. 

 

By September 22, President Barack Obama declared both the fire zones in Calaveras and Lake 
counties major disaster areas. Each center had various city, county, state, federal and nonprofit 
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agencies which provided aid and information to the survivors. We were one of several state 
agencies offering assistance. More than 30 of our representatives assisted at the LAC locations 
from September to November. 

 

Our representatives assisted the residents. They: 

• Provided copies of lost returns. 
• Answered questions regarding their account. 
• Provided information and handouts about how to claim a qualified disaster loss on their 

tax return. 
• Listened and showed compassion. 

 

Taxpayers affected by the fire that have questions, can contact us at 800.852.5711. 

 

All About Business 
Reminder: Sales-only apportionment formula and assignment of sales (sales factor) for years 
2013 and after 
For most apportioning business entities getting ready to file their original tax returns due in 
2016, California tax law requires them to use the sales-only apportionment formula to 
apportion their business income to California. 
 

Over the years, California laws have changed how apportioning trades or businesses are taxed 
in California. Starting in 1993, the mandatory apportionment formulas for apportioning trades 
or businesses are: 

• 1993 through 2010: Double-weighted sales, four-factor apportionment formula 
contained in California Revenue and Taxation Code (R&TC) Section 25128(a). 

• 2011 through 2012: For years 2011 and 2012, most apportioning taxpayers could elect to 
use a sales-only apportionment formula on a timely filed original return instead of the 
four-factor formula as explained in CCR Section 25128.5. 

• 2013 and after: Sales-only apportionment formula contained in R&TC Section 25128.7. 

 

There are certain exceptions to the above methods under R&TC Sections 25128 and 25128.7. 
Each section provides that if an apportioning trade or business derives more than 50 percent of 
its gross business receipts from any of the qualified business activities listed below, it must 
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apportion its business income to California using the three-factor formula of property, payroll, 
and sales, with each factor equally weighted (one-third): 

• Agricultural 
• Extractive 
• Savings and loan 
• Bank or financial 

 

Market-based sourcing 
In addition, all apportioning trades or businesses using sales-only apportionment (for years 
2013 and after) and those that elected to use a sales-only apportionment formula (for years 
2011 and 2012) must use market-based rules for assignment of sales of other than tangible 
personal property (sales of services and intangibles) to the sales factor numerator. (R&TC 
Section 25136) For additional information on market-based sourcing, refer to Single Sales 
Factor Assignment. 

 

We remind apportioning trades or that they must use the appropriate apportionment formulas 
when filing their California returns. Taxpayers who do not use an appropriate method may be 
subject to additional tax, penalties, and interest. 

 

For additional information, refer to Corporation Tax Law Changes. 

 

Event Calendar 
As part of education and outreach to our tax professional community, we participate in many 
different presentations and fairs. We now provide a calendar that shows the events we attend, 
as well as other events happening with us, such as interested party and board meetings.  
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