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CORPORATIONS FORMERLY SUBJECT TO FRANCHISE TAX 
 
Syllabus: 
 
An opinion has been requested as to the proper application of section 23504 
on the following facts. 
 
Taxpayer filed a return under Chapter 2 of the Bank and Corporation Tax Law 
for income year ending December 31, 1958.  The return reflected an income of 
$10,000, for which a tax of $400 was paid.  The corporation discontinued doing 
business and withdrew as of June 30, 1959.  At that time a refund of 6/12 of its 
tax ($200) was made.  During the period up to June 30, 1959, taxpayer had income 
of $5,000 and income from sources in California of $3,000 during the last six 
months of the year. 
 
Based upon these facts a taxpayer concluded that the $3,000 earned in the 
last six months of 1959 is not taxable under Chapter 3 by reason of section 
23504. 
 
Is such income exempt from tax under section 23504? 
 
The proration provisions of section 23332 are designed to only require 
payment of the Chapter 2 tax for periods that a taxpayer has the right to do 
business in California. 
 
Section 23501, on the other hand, imposes a tax under Chapter 3 on any income 
received from California sources during any period for which a tax was not paid 
under Chapter 2 measured by or according to net income.  Under this 
section this Board may not levy a tax under Chapter 3 for any taxable year for 
which the taxpayer has already paid a tax measured by income under Chapter 2. 
 
In addition, section 23503 provides that if a Chapter 3 tax is due and 
payable for a particular taxable year, any Chapter 2 tax which may have been 
paid for the same taxable year shall be offset against the Chapter 3 tax.  The 
usual situation where this section has application is where a taxpayer does not 
"do business" in California but has income from sources in this State.  For 
protective reasons the corporation then qualifies with the Secretary of State 
and thereafter pays the minimum tax for each subsequent year.  Under section 
23503 the minimum tax paid is offset against the Chapter 3 tax.  Since the 
minimum tax is not measured by or according to income, section 23501 does not 
prevent the assessment of the Chapter 3 tax. 



                                                          
 
In this setting section 23504 then provides: 
 

"Where a corporation formerly subject to tax under Chapter 2 
becomes subject to tax under Chapter 3, it shall file an information 
return for the income year in which the change occurs.  The tax for the 
year in which the change occurs will be assessed under Chapter 2 
and not under Chapter 3.  For years subsequent to the year in which 
the change occurs, the tax will be assessed under Chapter 3." 

 
When this section is read in connection with its predecessor sections, it 
merely clarifies the tax treatment where a taxpayer ceases to do business and 
does not withdraw but continues to have income from California sources.  In this 
instance there is no proration under section 23332 and the tax paid for the year 
of change, measured by the previous year's income, will be assessed under 
Chapter 2.  Since a tax measured by income has been paid under Chapter 2 for the 
entire year of change, the income received from sources in this state after the 
cessation of business is not taxable. 
 
Interpreting these sections in this manner the following conclusions are 
reached: 
 
In the instant factual situation the assessment of tax is controlled by 
sections 23332 and 23501.  Since taxpayer withdrew on June 30, 195, proration of 
the Chapter 2 tax measured by the 1958 income was made.  Since no Chapter 2 tax 
measured by income or profits was paid for the period July 1, 1959 to December 
31, 1959, section 23501 authorizes a Chapter 3 tax on the income received 
during this period. 
 
Attorney General Opinion NS 834 affirms our conclusion that a Chapter 3 tax 
cannot be imposed on income earned during any period for which a tax measured by 
income or profits was levied under Chapter 2. 
 
 
 


