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Year to Appear on Checks
For many years, practitioners have
asked Franchise Tax Board to find a way
to imprint the tax year on refund checks.
This is especially helpful when
taxpayers are receiving refunds for
amended or delinquent returns.

Unfortunately, this request was a more
challenging assignment than it might
seem, because most of the warrants
issued by the State Controller’s Office
are generated from the same program
with the same check format.

However, after many months of
working with the State Controller’s
staff to “squeeze out” some free space
on the data file, FTB is pleased to
announce that beginning in 2000, the
State Controller’s Office will begin
putting the tax year of the refund on all
checks issued for Personal Income Tax
and Business Entity Income Tax
refunds.

Just another small step for customer
service!
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Legislation Broadens FTB’s
Offer in Compromise Authority

Next year, more than 3.4 million
California taxpayers will receive the
smallest, simplest tax form ever offered
by the Franchise Tax Board.

The Form 540 2EZ measures only 5.5 by
8.5 inches, comes with its own pre-
addressed envelope and calculates tax
using special tables that have the
standard deduction, personal and
dependent exemption credits already
built in.

The Form 540 2EZ is aimed at further
simplifying the filing process for millions
of taxpayers who used Form 540EZ to
file their own tax return last year.

FTB will direct mail Form 540 2EZ to
eligible California resident taxpayers
who meet the following criteria:

• Single and head of household
filer with gross income of $50,000 or
less.

• Married filing joint and
qualifying widow(er) with gross
income of $100,000 or less.

• Taxpayer’s income is only from
wages and interest ($400 or less).

• Filing status is not married
filing separate.

• The taxpayer cannot be claimed
as a dependent by another taxpayer.

• The taxpayer was under age 65
and not blind on December 31, 1999.

• The taxpayer is qualified to
claim 0 – 3 dependents.

• The taxpayer is not claiming
itemized deductions.

• The taxpayer has no
adjustments to income.

• The taxpayer did not have a
1998 overpayment applied to the
1999 tax year.

FTB to Introduce Smaller, Simpler Tax Form

The address to send protest
letters regarding an FTB audit
assessment on a corporation has
changed to:

Protest Control Desk
Mail Stop D-12
PO Box 1286
Rancho Cordova CA
95741-1286

Send Protest Letters
For Corporations to
New Address

Senate Bill 94, the Taxpayers’ Bill of
Rights Act of 1999, was signed by the
Governor and provides the Franchise
Tax Board with the authority to accept a
taxpayer’s offer to compromise a
taxpayer’s final tax debt in a manner
similar to the Internal Revenue Service.

This legislation added R&TC section
19443 which allows the three-member
FTB, itself, upon recommendation by its
executive officer and chief counsel,
jointly, to compromise a final tax liability
involving a reduction in tax in excess of
$7,500.

The legislation also allows FTB’s
executive officer and chief counsel,
jointly or by delegation, to compromise
any final liability in which the reduction
of tax is $7,500 or less.
 Prior to the new law, FTB was required
to file a lawsuit in superior court to
accomplish a legally binding reduction
of  a final tax liability for less than its full
value.

To review this bill in its entirety on the
Internet, go to the Official California
Legislation Information Website located
at www.leginfo.ca.gov.
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November

• Package X order forms mailed.

· Notices of Proposed Assessment
are mailed to individuals who
have not filed their 1998 tax
returns.

· Notices of Proposed Assessment
mailed to corporations in August
become billable.20

8-10 California Tax Policy Conference.

20 Previous month nonresident
withholding payments are due if
total withholding exceeded
$2,500.

December

· Notices of Proposed Assessment
mailed to individuals who have
not filed their 1998 tax returns.

· Notices of Proposed Assessment
mailed in September become
billable.

20 Previous month nonresident
withholding payments are due if
total withholding exceeded
$2,500.

January

· Package X is published and
distributed.

· e-file return transmissions begin.

· Notices of Proposed Assessment
mailed to individuals who have
not filed their 1998 tax returns.

18 Personal income tax estimate
payments are due.

20 Previous month nonresident
withholding payments are due if
total withholding exceeded

$2,500.r

31 Form 592, Resident Withholding
Annual Return is due.

FTB Calendar
The Franchise Tax Board is holding the
annual Taxpayers’ Bill of Rights hearing
on December 16, 1999.

The purpose of the hearing is to give
taxpayers and tax practitioners the
opportunity to present proposals that
change existing state income tax law,
and/or improve FTB publications or the
services FTB provides to the public.

FTB will hold the hearing in Room 121,
450 N Street, Sacramento, California, as
part of a regular Board meeting.

FTB asks that anyone who plans to make
a proposal submit a written statement
before the hearing.  The statement should
include the proposed change and the
Revenue and Taxation Code (R&TC)
sections that would be affected.
Taxpayers can send their statements to:

Taxpayer Advocate Bureau
PO Box 157
Rancho Cordova  CA
95741-0157.

The meeting will start at 10 a.m.

FTB Hearing in December

If you have clients who make payments to
nonresidents of California or if you have
nonresident clients who receive income
from California sources, check out the new
Nonresident Withholding webpage on the
Franchise Tax Board website.

To get there, go to www.ftb.ca.gov, click
on “Tax Assistance,” then click on
“Nonresident Withholding.”

You can get information about the various
nonresident withholding programs
administered by FTB, get answers to
frequently asked questions, download
applicable forms and publications and
send email to the FTB Nonresident
Withholding Section.

Withholding Requirements

Your California clients who make
payments to nonresidents are required to
withhold taxes under certain
circumstances and forward the
withholdings to FTB.

Withholding is generally required when a
nonresident:

• Sells California real property, or

• Receives payment for services
performed in California, or

• Receives payments for leases,
rents or royalties for property located
in California, or

• Receives a partnership
distribution of California income
(domestic nonresidents) or a
partnership allocation of income
(foreign nonresidents), or;

• Receives a distribution of
California income from an estate
or trust.

These withholding requirements were
established to promote voluntary
compliance with California tax laws among
nonresident individuals and entities that
may be unaware of their filing
requirements.

Questions about Nonresident Withholding?
New Webpage Puts Help Just a Click Away
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Beginning in November, the Franchise
Tax Board will mail approximately
700,000 reminder notices urging
individuals to file their 1998 state
income tax return.

The best way to reduce

the amount of penalties,

interest and fees is to file

the return within 30 days.

If one of your clients receives a notice,
advise him or her that the best way to
reduce the amount of penalties,
interest, and fees is to file the return
within 30 days.

If a return is not filed in response to the
notice, FTB may issue a proposed
assessment. The assessment will be
based on information provided to FTB
by various sources and will include tax,
penalties and interest, as well as fees to
cover the cost of enforcing his or her
filing requirement.

Who are California’s nonfilers?  The
following are some statistics compiled
by the FTB Filing Enforcement Bureau:

• 65 percent are first-time
nonfilers who have a history of
filing their returns on time.

FTB Attempts to
Reach Them
Before It’s too Late

California’s Nonfilers

• The majority of nonfilers are
between 36-45 years old.

• The average nonfiler assessment,
including tax, penalties, interest and
fees is $4,000.

Of  the 700,000 individuals to be contacted
by FTB:

• 54 percent are wage earners.

• 29 percent are self-employed.

• 8 percent filed a federal tax return
from a California address, but did not
file a California return.

• 4 percent are being contacted as a
result of information reported on a
Form 1098 “Mortgage
Interest Statement.”

• 3 percent are being contacted
because they sold real property located
in California.

• 2 percent had partnership or S
corporation income.

Historically:

• 38 percent of the individuals
contacted file their required return
within 30 days of FTB’s initial request.

• 25 percent file their return after
FTB issued a proposed assessment.

• 37 percent file after some type of
collection action has been initiated by
FTB.

When Do They Fi le?

37% file after
collection action
has  been  initiated

38% file within
30 days of receiving
the first notice

25% file after
receiving a notice
of proposed
assessment
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Several legislative measures dealing
with taxes or affecting the Franchise Tax
Board were recently signed into law. For
FTB’s complete legislative analyses of
these bills, visit the FTB Law and
Legislation webpage located on the FTB
Internet Website.  The address is
www.ftb.ca.gov/law_legis/index.htm.

Conformity / IRS Reform Act

SB 94 Chesbro (Ch.99-931) This act
conforms, with some modifications, to
22 selected provisions of the Taxpayer
Protections and Rights contained in the
Internal Revenue Service Restructuring
and Reform Act of 1998 (IRS Reform
Act).
This act:

1. Deletes obsolete refund
provisions relating to the renter’s
credit;
2. Provides relief to an employee
whose employer withheld
delinquent taxes from the
employee’s pay, but failed to remit
the amounts to the FTB; and
3. Provides FTB administrative
authority to compromise a tax debt
similar to the IRS’s current offers in
compromise authority.

SB 685 Monteith (Ch.99-348) This act
conforms, with some modifications, to
two provisions of the Taxpayer
Protections and Rights contained in the
IRS Reform Act.  This act requires FTB
to notify tax debtors:

1. At least 30 days before it intends
to levy.
2. Within five business days of
filing or recording a notice of state
tax lien that such notice of lien has
been filed.  During the 15-day
period following the filing of the

notice of state tax lien, tax debtors
may request an independent
departmental administrative review.

The notice would have to include the
proposed actions that may be taken
(but does not require itemizing the
property) and the laws and procedures
relating to the release of levy.  The
notice would have to be given by first
class mail to the address of record,
unless mail sent to the same address
was returned undelivered with no
forwarding address, in which case
notice would not be required.  No levies
may be made during the 30-day period.
If the tax debtor were to request a
departmental independent administrative
review, collection action must be
suspended during the review period
plus 15 days.  The provisions would not
apply to jeopardy assessments, but FTB
is required to give these tax debtors an
opportunity for hearing within a
reasonable time.

Child Support Enforcement

AB 150 Aroner (Ch.99-479) This act
designates FTB, as agent for California’s
Title IV-D agency, to be responsible for
the procurement, development,
implementation and maintenance of the
California Child Support Automation
System (CCSAS) in accordance with the
state’s child support plan.  CCSAS will
be a single statewide automated system
that will include the State Case Registry,
the State Disbursement Unit and all
other necessary data bases and
interfaces.
AB 196 Kuehl (Ch.99-478) This act
creates within the California Health and
Human Services Agency the Department
of Child Support Services to replace the
Department of Social Services (DCSS) as

California’s Title IV-D agency.  In
addition, this act transfers the county
district attorneys’ or new local child
support agencies’ responsibility and
authority to enforce collection of
delinquent child support to FTB.

Under this program, counties are
required to transfer to FTB all child
support accounts greater than $100 and
more than 60 days in arrears or as
otherwise defined by guidelines
prescribed by the DCSS, in consultation
with the FTB. Upon transfer of the
delinquency, FTB has the authority to
enforce collection of the delinquency as
though it were a delinquent personal
income tax liability.

AB 370 Wright (Ch.99-654) Under this
act, whenever a notice is issued by a
state (or local) governmental agency to
a support obligor, the notice is required
to:

1.  State the date upon which the
amount of the delinquency was
calculated;
2.  Notify the obligor that the
amount calculated may or may not
include interest; and
3.  Notify the obligor of his or her
right to request that the local child
support agency (county) review the
arrears and make an administrative
determination of arrears.  A request
for an administrative determination
would not suspend the enforcement
of the arrearage, unless so
instructed by the county.

AB 472 Aroner (Ch. 99-803) This act
requires FTB to cooperate with the local
child support agency in resolving any
complaints concerning the action or
inaction of the FTB on a child support

 Laws and Legislation
Summary of Legislation Recently Signed Into Law
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delinquency referred to FTB for
accounts receivable management. FTB
will be required to ensure that a
representative attend any compliant
resolution hearing if deemed necessary
by the local child support agency. FTB
and the local child support agency will
be required to comply with, and execute,
decisions rendered by the director of the
Department of Child Support Services.

AB 1671 Judiciary Committee (Ch.99-
980) As this act directly affects the FTB,
it will:

1. Require that out-of-state child
support delinquencies be processed
through the financial institutions
data match and levies be made
thereon, as mandated by federal law.
2. Create a lien by operation of law
(statutory lien) on an obligor’s
personal property for all amounts of
overdue support regardless of
whether the amounts have been
adjudicated or otherwise
determined.  However, the child
support statutory lien would have
priority over any competing state
tax and lien only if the child support
lien is filed with the Secretary of
State (SOS) or the levy is made on
the property before the state tax lien
is filed with the SOS.
3. Make technical corrections to
child support collection laws
administered by FTB under the
Revenue and Taxation Code by
replacing a repealed section number
of the Welfare and Institutions
Code (WIC) with the number of the
new WIC section under which
counties receive incentive
payments for child support
collections. It also replaces the
formal name of Statewide
Automated Child Support System
(SACSS) with a generic reference to

California’s automated child support
system.

SB 542 Burton (Ch.99-480) This act, as
it directly affects the FTB, amends AB
196 (Ch. 99-478).  SB 542 clarifies that
the transfer of the responsibilities and
authorities to enforce collection of
delinquent child support from the local
agencies to the FTB is for purposes of
accounts receivable management and
not case management, as defined, and
for purposes of enhancing the
promptness, efficiency and
effectiveness of wage withholding.
Under this act:

1.  The definition of delinquency is
certain (i.e., accounts greater than
$100 and more than 60 days in
arrears) and could not be
superceded by Department of Child
Support Services (DCSS) guidelines
(which was not the intention of the
author of AB 196 but otherwise
would be allowed under that act).
2.  Any levies on wages for
delinquent child support issued by
FTB are through the issuance of a
notice of assignment (which is
currently issued only by district
attorneys) and will be issued on
behalf of and in the name of the
county transferring the
delinquency.
3.  The amount of an employee’s
wages subject to levy for
delinquent child support under a
notice of assignment will increase
(from the greater of three percent of
the arrearage or $50) to that amount
currently subject to levy through
FTB’s earnings withholding orders
(up to 50 percent of the employee’s
disposable earnings).
4.  When FTB identifies an
employer to enforce payment of a
child support delinquency and the

obligor also owes an amount for
current support, FTB will be
required to include in the notice of
assignment the current support
amount.
5.  FTB is required to direct obligors
or third parties to make any
payments directly to the local child
support agency that transferred the
delinquency to FTB, pending
implementation of a state
disbursement unit.  Directing the
payments to the local child support
agency is subject to phase-in, to
the extent necessary to ensure that
the local child support agency is
capable of accepting payment.

Additionally, this act delays from July 1,
2000, to January 1, 2001, the operative
date for the Employment Development
Department independent contractor
registry.

FTB Sponsored
Legislative Proposals

AB 189 Ackerman (Ch. 99-249) This
act removes the erroneous reference to
a limited liability company (LLC)
classified as a partnership in the
definition of “tax” for purposes of
suspending an LLC.

AB 1140 Villaraigosa (Ch. 99-196)
This act raises the income threshold
below which taxpayers are not required
to file an income tax return by taking
into account both the senior exemption
credit and the recent increases in the
dependent exemption credit.

AB 1634 Revenue & Taxation
Committee (Ch. 99-144)  Under the
Unemployment Insurance Code, this act
specifies that the definition of wages for
the purposes of the quarterly report

Summary of Legislation Recently Signed Into Law
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includes all remuneration includable in
gross income for services paid by an
employer engaged in a trade or
business to all employees, while
maintaining the current definition of
wages for withholding purposes to
preserve current exceptions to
withholding.  This act also clarifies
which amounts must be included in the
Report of Wages by specifically
including in the definition of wages
amounts withheld from pensions,
annuities, and other forms of deferred
compensation.

AB 1635 Revenue & Taxation
Committee (Ch. 99-605) This act:

1. Allows FTB to revise the
California return to reflect the
proper filing status (making the
filing status different from the
status on the federal return) when
the filing status used on the
California return is determined to be
incorrect.
2. Allows taxpayers who are not
required to file a federal return to
select any filing status for the
California return that could have
been claimed on the federal return
had one been required.
3. Allows taxpayers who file a joint
return for federal purposes and are
allowed to file either married filing
separate returns or a joint return for
California purposes to change their
California filing status after the due
date for filing the return has
passed.
4. Provides that the 90-day period
for filing an action regarding
income taxes or interest begins on
the date the Board of Equalization
determination becomes final.

AB 1637 Revenue & Taxation
Committee (Ch. 99-930) This act
eliminates the tentative minimum tax

limitation on personal exemption credits
by allowing the personal exemption
credits to reduce regular tax below
tentative minimum tax.  This act also
makes a technical correction regarding
the renters’ credit.

SB 603 Speier (Ch.99-203) This act
allows the Government Code provisions
to control the FTB credit card program
by removing the current discount rate
limitation.

Under the Government Code, this act
requires the FTB and any other state
agency accepting credit cards for
payment to notify each eligible payer
and to provide the payer either a space
on the billing statement or complete
instructions on how to pay the agency
by credit card.

This act also allows FTB to abate
interest for the same period as the IRS
for delays resulting from an error or
delay in the performance of a ministerial
or managerial act by an IRS officer or
employee that occurred on or before the
final federal determination was made.

SB 1229 Revenue & Taxation
Committee (Ch. 99-987) This act makes
the following changes:

1. Retains the program to refund
excess state disability insurance
through the tax return while
ensuring that taxpayers who fail to
claim the credit on their return still
would be identified as quickly as
possible to receive a refund of their
excess contributions.
2. Makes several changes relating
to federal adjustments regarding
defining the final federal
determination date and
requirements for taxpayers to notify
the department of any federal
changes to their tax return.

deletes redundant and unnecessary
language.
4. Specifies that for purposes of
determining the correct amount of
tax for water’s-edge electors, the
presumption of correctness
attaches to all federal audit
determinations, including
determinations made at the audit,
appeals and/or competent authority
levels.
5. Clarifies that substandard
housing could be housing that is
either (1) occupied or (2)
unoccupied or abandoned.
6. Eliminates obsolete language
regarding pending litigation that
allows elimination from income of
certain unitary corporation
intercompany dividends.
7. Eliminates ambiguity about the
due date for filing a tax return by
requiring corporate taxpayers to file
their income tax return “on or before
the 15th day of the third month
following the close of its income
year.”
8. Specifies that a taxpayer that uses
the head of household filing status
or surviving spouse filing status
cannot claim the dependent parent
credit.
9. Cleans up technical issues made
necessary by the enactment of
various bills affecting the R&TC in
the 1998 legislative session.
10. General maintenance of the
R&TC including repealing obsolete
provisions, updating cross-
references, and making consistent
references to federal law.
11. Clarifies that payment of
estimated tax by corporations and
exempt organizations is not a
prerequisite for receiving an
extension of time to file a return.

CONTINUED ON PAGE 8

Summary of Legislation Recently Signed Into Law

3. Clears up inconsistencies regarding
voluntary contribution funds and
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12. Clarifies that exempt
organizations that are subject to tax
on unrelated business taxable
income are required to make
estimated tax payments.
13. Eliminates the requirement for
the revivor fee for exempt
organizations and requires all
exempt organizations seeking
revivor to submit a new exemption
application when requested by the
department.
14. Specifies that an organization’s
exempt status may be revoked for
failure to file any return required or
failure to pay any tax due. Exempt
status may be reestablished only
upon the filing of all returns or the
payment of all taxes due.

Enterprise Zones

SB 84 Costa (Ch.99-137) This act
modifies the rules regarding expansion
of enterprise zones as follows:

1. Allows the enterprise zones
located in Fresno or Kern Counties
to expand into adjacent
unincorporated areas.
2. Allows expansion into
noncommercial or nonindustrial
land if that land is needed as a right-
of-way and is needed for
contiguous expansion.
3. Specifies that expansion into an
adjacent unincorporated area must
be into an area contiguous to the
existing enterprise zone.

SB 113 Kelley (Ch.99-58)This act
makes a technical correction to the
definition of qualified disadvantaged
individual in the Manufacturing
Enhancement Area Employers Hiring
Credit by specifying that the references
to expired federal programs include any
successor programs.

Internet

AB 187 Hertzberg (Ch.99-405) This act
creates the Grant Information Act of
1999 and allows all state agencies to
include a listing of all grants and
applicable forms administered by that
state agency on the Internet.

AB 1234 Shelley (Ch.99-393) This act
amends the Bagley-Keene Open
Meetings Act (the Act) to require that a
state body provide notice of its
meetings, certain findings of special
meetings and the minutes from
emergency meetings on the Internet.

In addition, this act amends the
authority of the Attorney General and
others to commence an action for the
purpose of determining the applicability
of the Act to past actions by members
of the state body.  This act provides that
an interested person would have 90
days instead of 30 days to commence an
action for the purpose of obtaining a
judicial determination that the action by
a state body was in violation of specific
sections of the Act.

Credits

AB 97 Torlakson (Ch.99-893) This act
eliminates the January 1, 2000, sunset
date and instead provides that the
chapter authorizing the Tax Credit
Allocation Committee to allocate the
credit for the costs of constructing or
rehabilitating low-income housing shall
be in effect so long as the federal low-
income housing credit is in effect.

SB 705 Sher (Ch.99-77) This act
increases the state credit for “qualified
research expenses” from 11 percent to
12 percent.

Deductions

AB 114 Florez  (Ch.99-165) This act
allows special disaster treatment of
losses sustained as a result of a freeze
or any related casualty that occurred
during the winter of 1998-99 in any
county of California that was declared a
disaster.  In addition, this act adds a
provision inadvertently dropped in a
prior amendment to this section, which
reinstates favorable disaster loss
treatment to Governor declared
disasters which are added to the list of
disasters in this code section.

AB 1107 Cedillo (Ch.99-146) and AB
1289 Baugh  (Ch.99-117) These acts
provide that for taxable years beginning
on or after January 1, 1999, California
law will conform to federal law with
regard to the incremental phase-in of a
100 percent deduction for self-employed
health insurance costs.

Voluntary Contributions

AB 160 Alquist (Ch.99-315) This act
extends the operation of the California
Alzheimer’s Disease and Related
Research Fund to January 1, 2005.

SB 246 Solis (Ch. 99-988) This act
allows the California Firefighters’
Memorial Fund to be used for the
maintenance as well as the creation of a
memorial and extends the fund’s
operation to January 1, 2006.

AB 1697 Aging Committee (Ch.99-
228) This act extends the sunset date
for the California Fund for Senior
Citizens to January 1, 2005, and requires
the fund to meet the annual minimum
contribution amount.

CONTINUED ON PAGE 9

CONTINUED FROM PAGE 7

Summary of Legislation Recently Signed Into Law
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SB 493 Figueroa (Ch.99-398) This act
allows taxpayers to make a voluntary
contribution on their personal tax
income returns to the Birth Defects
Research Fund.

SB 1064 Perata (Ch.99-989) This act
amends the statute for the California
Mexican American Veterans’ Memorial
Beautification and Enhancement
Account to specify the $250,000
minimum contribution limitation will not
take effect until 2001.

SB 1230 Burton (Ch.99-215) This act
allows taxpayers to make a voluntary
contribution on their personal income
tax returns to the California Peace
Officer Memorial Foundation Fund.

Miscellaneous

AB 10 Correa (Ch. 99-64)This act
exempts every corporation that
incorporates or qualifies to do business
in California on or after January 1, 2000,
from the minimum franchise tax prepaid
to the Secretary of State for its first
taxable year and the minimum franchise
tax for the second taxable year.

AB 41 Wesson (Ch. 99-463) This act
allows a taxpayer to make a deposit in
the nature of a “cash bond” to stop the
running of interest and provides that
such payments shall not be considered
a “payment of tax” for purposes of
filing a claim for refund or bringing an
action.

AB 197 Ackerman (Ch.99-250) This
bill authorizes California general
partnerships to convert to California
limited liability companies or California
limited partnerships and authorizes
California LLCs and LPs to convert to

general partnerships and foreign and
other business entities.

AB 414 Havice (Ch.99-614) This act
modifies the statute of limitation
applicable to credits and claims for
refund.  This act begins the four-year
statute on the date the return was
actually filed, if the return was timely
filed by the extended due date.

AB 831 Leach (Ch.99-490) This act
authorizes the organization of single-
member limited liability companies in
California.

AB 1105 Jackson (Ch.99-67) This act
removes the requirement that cities that
maintain a computerized record-keeping
system or that have access to such a
system annually furnish the FTB with
information regarding taxpayers who
pay city business license taxes.

AB 1120 Havice (Ch.99-69) This act
removes the January 1, 1999, sunset
date on the issuance of qualified small
business stock, thereby making the
exclusion permanent.

AB 1379 Granlund (Ch.99-241) Under
the Business and Professions Code, this
act allows a trustee of a funeral trust to
pay taxes on earnings of the trust,
provided the taxes are not paid from the
corpus of the trust.

SB 93 Chesbro (Ch.99-8) This act
conforms to federal technical changes
relating to Roth Individual Retirement
Accounts included in the Internal
Revenue Service Restructuring and
Reform Act of 1998 (IRS Reform Act).

SB 164 Johnston (Ch.99-471) This act
provides an exclusion from gross income
for amounts received as reparation

payments paid by the Canadian
government to redress the injustice
done to persons of Japanese ancestry
who were interned in Canada during
World War II.

SB 284 Kelley (Ch.99-1000) This act
provides that, upon a corporate merger,
the surviving domestic corporation
assumes the liability of the
disappearing corporation and file the
required tax and information returns.  In
addition, this act requires, under certain
circumstances, that the Secretary of
State file the merger without a
certificate of satisfaction from FTB.

SB 319 Burton (Ch.99-306) This act
extends the authority of the Joint
Enforcement Strike Force on the
Underground Economy until January 1,
2006.  This act also extends the
authority of the Labor Commissioner to
designate, authorize and train an
employee of any agency participating
in the strike force to issue citations and
to issue and serve a penalty
assessment order.

SB 934 Burton (Ch.99-675) This act
allows state-chartered credit unions to
qualify for exemption from franchise or
income tax under the Bank and
Corporation Tax Law and also exempts
all credit unions from other state,
county and municipal taxes and license
fees, except certain specified taxes.

CONTINUED FROM PAGE 8

Summary of Legislation Recently Signed Into Law
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Interest Rates

For the period of January 1, 2000, through
June 30, 2000, the interest rate on
underpayments and overpayments of
California income taxes will be eight
percent.  The following table lists interest
rates since October 1988.

Effective Date Rate
1 Oct. 1988 -  30 June 1989 11%
1 July 1989 -  31 Dec. 1989 12%
1 Jan. 1990 -  30  June 1990 11%
1 July 1990 -  31 Dec. 1990 11%
1 Jan. 1991 -  30 June  1991 11%
1 July 1991 -  31 Dec. 1991 10%
1 Jan. 1992 -  30 June  1992 10%
1 July 1992 -  31 Dec. 1992   9%
1 Jan. 1993 -  30 June  1993   8%
1 July 1993 -  31 Dec. 1993   7%
1 Jan. 1994 -  30 June  1994   7%
1 July 1994 -   1 Dec.  1994   7%
1 Jan. 1995 -  30 June  1995   8%
1 July 1995 -  31 Dec. 1995   9%
1 Jan. 1996 -  30 June  1996   9%
1 July 1996 -  31 Dec. 1996   9%
1 Jan. 1997-   30 June  1997   9%
1 July 1997 -  31 Dec. 1997   9%
1 Jan. 1998 -  30 June 1998   9%
1 July 1998 -  31 Dec. 1998   9%
1 Jan. 1999 -  30 June  1999   8%
1July  1999 -  31 Dec. 1999   7%
1 Jan.  2000 - 30 June  2000   8%

Filing information returns via magnetic
media can save you time and money, but
even magnetic media loses its effectiveness
when your files have to be returned and
resubmitted due to file format errors.

That’s why the Franchise Tax Board created
“1099 TestWare” for its information return
magnetic media filers.  1099 TestWare is free
software that enables you to test your data
files before submitting them to FTB.

First, 1099 TestWare performs a pre-edit
check on your file to ensure that it is in a
format that can successfully pass FTB’s
mainframe edit programs.  The software
identifies problem areas that may prevent
speedy processing.

Besides reviewing data sets for structural
correctness, the software also performs
data integrity edits and verifies calculated
totals on the “C,” “K” and “F” records of
the file.  However, the software does not
verify the correctness of the data.  Once the
file has been edited and corrected, you can
send it to FTB.

For more information about the 1099
TestWare, contact the Magnetic Media Unit

 Pr
of

es
sio

na
l

at (916) 845-3778.  Or visit the Magnetic
Media Unit’s webpage entitled “Frequently
Asked Questions About Information
Returns (Forms 1098, 1099 series, 5498, W-
2G) - Your Reporting Questions Answered.”
To access the webpage, go to
www.ftb.ca.gov, and type “information
returns” into the search feature.

The Franchise Tax Board has an electronic
information service exclusively for tax
practitioners.

The service is called Tax e-News and it is
designed to provide current news and
information affecting tax professionals.

To sign up for the service, simply send an
e-mail message to:

Tax_e-News@ftb.ca.gov.

If you have questions about the service,
call Tax News at (916) 845-3428 or 845-7070.

Sign up Today
for Tax e-News

Free 1099 TestWare Saves
Time by Reducing Errors

The Franchise Tax Board and the
Internal Revenue Service are

co-sponsoring free e-file
seminars.  You can learn about

everything from how to fill out an
e-file application to how to read

the acknowledgement report you
receive when your tax returns

are accepted by an e-file system.

To register for a seminar,  send a
fax to (916) 845-5340 .

Here are the remaining seminars
for 1999:

Los Angeles

November 15 – Van Nuys

San Diego Area

November 17 –   San Diego

November 18 –  Corte Madera

November 22 – Laguna Niguel

November 23 –  Oceanside

Northern California

November 18 –  Sacramento

December 2 – Walnut Creek

December 7 – Oakland

December 9 – San Francisco

December 9 – Sacramento

December 16 – Sacramento

Central California

December 1 – San Jose

Register for
Free e-file
Seminars

mailto:Tax_e-News@ftb.ca.gov
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Franchise Tax Board conducts informative
presentations on the head of household
filing status at locations throughout the
state.

The presentations are geared towards
helping practitioners better understand
the head of household filing status.

A typical presentation includes a head of
household program overview,

In November and December, the 1999 Tax
Practitioners’ Institute will offer tax
practitioners the opportunity to obtain up
to 24 hours of continuing professional
education credits.

The education credits may be used to
satisfy the requirements of the California
State Board of Accountancy, the California
Tax Education Council and, the Internal
Revenue Service.

The Institute will offer federal and state tax
law programs at the following times and
places.  For enrollment, registration fee and
other information, call one of the telephone
numbers listed below.

Chico
November 15-17
(916) 898-6105

Santa Barbara
November 18-20
(805) 893-4952

Oakland
November 29 - December 1
(510) 885-3605

Monterey
December 2-4
(408) 342-0233

Arcata
December 6-8
(707) 826-3731

The Institute’s federal program covers
compliance issues including policy and

procedural updates for the current season
and tax planning strategies for individual
and corporate returns.  The state program
includes a review of changes in state
income and franchise tax law and policy.

Bob Meyer, IRS’ Assistant District
Technical Coordinator, will present the
Institute’s federal program.

Meyer will explain the new innocent
spouse provisions and related issues, tax
planning for “office in the home” (e.g.,
residence sales and tax planning issues)
and buying or starting a business.

Meyer will also present “A New, Kinder
and Gentler IRS,” a briefing on the IRS’
reorganization.

The federal program will also include a
presentation Andy Fulop, an enrolled
agent and a tax consultant, who has been
admitted to practice before the Tax Court
of the United States.

Fulop will discuss tax and penalty issues
related to planning pension and Individual
Retirement Arrangements distributions,
sale of a business and the innocent
spouse rules.

John Pavalasky, legislative specialist for
the Franchise Tax Board, will review
changes in state income and franchise tax
law and policy.  He will also cover state
and federal law differences that affect
state returns for individuals and
corporations.

Institute Offers Tax Law Programs

an explanation of the qualification criteria
for using the head of household filing
status and a discussion about important
questions that practitioners should ask
their clients who file head of household.

For information on how to schedule a
head of household presentation
conducted in your area, contact FTB’s
Head of Household Unit at (916) 845-6265.

Call FTB for Head of Household Presentation

 P
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Are you planning to use scannable or
substitute 1999 California tax forms?

If so, make sure they meet the Franchise
Tax Board’s requirements.  If they do
not, delays may occur during
processing.  In some cases, FTB may
not be able to process your clients’
forms and will have to contact them
directly.

All companies that produce or sell
substitute or scannable California tax
forms must file an agreement to comply
with FTB requirements for the 1999 tax
year.   Form FTB 1096, “Agreement to
Comply with FTB Publication 1098,”
states that the company agrees to follow
certain rules for developing scannable
and substitute forms.  Merely filing form
FTB 1096, however, does not mean the
company’s forms have been approved
by FTB.

Each year, companies must also submit
their forms to FTB for approval.
Companies that either sell or provide
photocopies of official FTB forms do
not need to submit them for approval. If
you are unsure whether all your forms
have been approved for the 1999 tax
year, ask your tax software company to
show you the letter of approval for each
form before you use it.  Do not accept a
general statement that the forms have
been approved.  Instead, give the
company a list of the forms you plan to
use and request a copy of the letter of
approval for each one.

Here is a list of the companies that have
filed forms FTB 1096 with the
department so far.  Look for an updated
list in the January Tax News:

2nd Story Software
(319) 373-3600

5227 Tax Systems, Inc.
(626) 578-1978

Accountant Stationers & Printers
(800) 423-9717

Alpine Data Inc.
(800) 525-1040

AM Software
(816) 741-7848

American Financial & Tax
(714) 669-1172

Arthur Andersen LLP
(941) 341-2498

Atilla M. Taluy
(805) 984-0248

ATX Forms, Inc.
(207) 498-4289

Block Financial Corporation (TaxCut)
(913) 599-2885

BNA Software
(301) 424-6350

CCH Incorporated (Torrance)
(310) 543-6200

CCH Incorporated (Wichita)
(316) 612-5000

CFS Income Tax
(805) 522-1157

Content Creators, LLC
(415) 893-9915

CPASoftware
(850) 434-2685

Creative Solutions
(734) 426-5860

Curtis Publications, Inc.
(Telephone number not available)

Deloitte & Touche Tax Technologies
LLC (847) 236-8000

Drake Enterprises
(828) 524-8020

EXACTAX
(714) 778-4081

Gear Up Tax Seminars
(916) 979-1222

GEMISYS
(303)705-6000

Golden State Tax Training
 Institute, Inc.
(847) 459-3000

Hayden R Wisdom, EA
(530) 888-1040

H&R Block
(816) 932-8495

Hambrecht & Quist
(415) 439-3000

HowardSoft
(858) 454-0121

Inland Society of Tax Consultants
(Telephone number not available)

Intuit, Inc.
(858) 784-4274

IPS/ImageOne, Inc.
(818) 701-9692

IRIS Systems
(800) 852-4747

ITS, Inc.
(800) 487-8291

Jackson Hewitt Tax Service
(757) 473-3300)

KPMG LLP
(Telephone number not available)

Make Sure Your 1999 Tax Forms are Usable
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Lacerte Software
(972) 490-8500

MAVRICC Management Systems, Inc.
(248) 614-4500

Micro Vision Software
(800) 829-7354

Nelco
(920) 337-2774

ORRTAX Software, Inc.
(800) 377-3337

Petz Enterprises, Inc.
(209) 835-2720

Probate Software
(970) 330-3260

Professional Stationers, Inc.
(818) 982-5222

Research Institute Of  America Group
(212) 807-2898

Reynolds & Reynolds
(Telephone number not available)

RIA (formerly CLR/FastTax)
(800) 327-8829

RIA (Omega Group) (formerly CLR/
FastTax) (972) 250-8000

Spidell Publishing, Inc.
(714) 776-7850

Stallion Software, Inc.
(513) 936-9771

STF Services Corporation
(800) 541-7197

Tax And Accounting Software
Corporation
(800) 998-9990

Tax Forms Inc.
(Telephone number not available)

Tax Link, Inc.
(614) 457-1949

Taxtor Educators
(909) 885-5017

Taxware Systems, Inc.
(800) 877-1065

Taxworks by Laser Systems
(801) 552-8800

Top Bookkeeping Service
(818) 996-5677

Tri-Tech Software Development
Corporation
(972) 680-2223

U S Tax Systems, Inc.
(800) 966-8787

Universal Tax Systems
(800) 755-9473

Wallace Computer Services
(630) 588-6151

Weaver Tax Service
(408) 258-0912

William H. Downs, CPA
 (818) 981-4313

Xpress Group, Inc.
(Telephone number not available)

Forms Producers
CONTINUED FROM PAGE 12

Walt Disney once said, “You don’t
build the product for yourself.  You
need to know what the people want
and build it for them.” The
Franchise Tax Board is taking that
advice to heart as it develops its
new Integrated Nonfiler Compliance
(INC) system.

INC is a new automated system that
will replace FTB’s current personal
income tax and corporation filing
enforcement systems by late 2000.
Once implemented, INC will help to
improve the way FTB identifies and
contacts individuals and
businesses that have not filed state
tax returns and information
reporters who have failed to meet
their filing requirements.

Some of the improvements INC will
provide include:

• The elimination of more
than 55,000 erroneous contacts
annually with taxpayers who
either do not have a filing
requirement or have already
filed their return,

• Notices that are timely,
customer friendly and tailored
to the specific facts of the case.

The INC Project team wants to learn
more about how FTB’s nonfiler
program affects the tax practitioner
community in order to develop a
program that better meets the needs
of tax practitioners and their clients.

The INC team is conducting focus
group meetings with tax
professionals to discuss nonfiler
programs, to get practitioners’
inputs about FTB’s methods for
identifying and contacting nonfilers
and to get advice about how the
department can meet the needs of
the tax practitioner community and
their clients. For example,
practitioners will review the new
notices FTB will send to nonfilers.

 If you have ideas on how to
improve FTB’s Nonfiler Program, or
have any concerns about it, the INC
Project would like to hear from you.
Please send an email to:

 Michael_Todd@ftb.ca.gov.

Practitioners: How Does the Nonfiler Program Affect You?
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• PostScript Windows-
compatible printer or Hewlett-
Packard LaserJet III and above with
one megabyte of user RAM.

To place your order for a Package X, use
the 1999 Package X/Tax News order form
on the back page of this issue. (You can
also use the form to renew your
subscription to Tax News.)  Here are
some tips for completing the order form:

• Use the 1999 order form
provided.  Do not use a form from a
previous year.  Even if you cross
out the year and write in “1999,”
you are using an out-of-date order
form and your order may be
delayed.

• Make any necessary
corrections to the name and mailing
address that are printed on the form.

• Provide your telephone
number.

• Add the amounts for the
Package X and the Tax News orders,
and apply the appropriate amount
of sales tax to the Package X order
based on the county of your
residence. (Refer to the sales tax
table provided on this page.)
Remember: Do not apply sales tax to
the Tax News order amount.

• Be sure to enclose your check
or money order payable to the
Franchise Tax Board.  Orders
without payments are not
processed.  Do not send cash.

Mail the order form and your check or
money order to:

Package X / Tax News
PO Box 2708
Rancho Cordova CA
95741-2708.

For more information about Package X
or Tax News, call (916) 845-7070.

Time to Order 1999 Package X
It is time to order your 1999 California
Package X.

The Franchise Tax Board is now
accepting orders and will mail the
Package X in January.  All early orders
will be processed immediately so the
labels are ready to print as soon as the
Package X is produced.

There are three versions of the 1999
Package X to choose from. The bound
and loose-leaf paper versions cost $13
plus sales tax.  The best value, however,
is the CD-ROM for Windows version. It
also costs $13 (plus sales tax) and
comes with:

• 1999 California Package X
forms;

• 1999 Internal Revenue Service
Package X forms;

• fillable forms;

• California Package X forms for
the four previous years; and

• information on electronic filing
(e-file).

The CD-ROM for Windows version also
has a search feature so that you can
locate references to special words or
terms in both the tax forms and
instructions.  And in March you will
receive a second disk with updated
forms.  You should be able to use the
CD-ROM if you have:

• A 486DX or Pentium computer
with a processor speed of 33
megahertz or faster.

• Microsoft Windows 3.1 or later
with a mouse.

• Four megabytes of RAM (main
memory).

• Double speed or greater CD-
ROM drive capable of reading ISO
9660 format.

• VGA, SVGA or higher
resolution color video display/
adapter.

California residents ordering
Package X must add sales tax to
their total based on their county of
residence. (Remember: Do not add
sales tax to your Tax News
amount.)
Here are the sales tax rates for
California’s counties:

Nevada, Solano, Stanislaus
Counties
7.375%

Sonoma
7.5%

Fresno, Imperial, Inyo, Madera,
Napa, Orange, Riverside,
Sacramento, San Benito, San
Bernardino, San Diego, San
Joaquin, Santa Barbara
7.75%

Santa Cruz
8.0%

Alameda, Contra Costa, Los
Angeles, Santa Clara, San Mateo
8.25%

San Francisco
8.5%

All Other Counties
7.25%

Remember to
Add Sales Tax to
Your Purchase


