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State Conforms on Roth IRAS

Before Governor Gray Davis signed Senate
Bill 93 into law on April 12, 1999,

California did not conform to federal law
regarding how taxpayers report the
conversion of their traditional Individual
Retirement Arrangement to a Roth IRA.

For California purposes (prior to the April
12, 1999 enactment of SB 93), the taxable
amount of a rollover contribution from an
IRA into a Roth IRA had to be reported
ratably over four tax years, and a surviving
spouse beneficiary could not use the four
year spread if a decedent’s spouse made a
rollover from a traditional IRA to a Roth
IRA in 1998.

Current federal law requires taxpayers to
report ratably over four years the taxable
income that results from a 1998 Roth IRA

conversion, or allows them to elect to
include the entire amount as 1998 income (
their 1998 return. If a taxpayer made a 199
rollover to a Roth IRA and dies at any time
during the four year spread, the entire
amount not previously included in taxable
income is taxable on the return for the year
of the decedent taxpayer’s death. If a
taxpayer dies in 1998, all of the income frorj
a 1998 rollover is taxable on the decedent’s
tax return for 1998.

Federal law allows surviving spouse
beneficiaries to elect to defer (up to four
years) any remaining deferred taxable
income that resulted from a 1998
conversion.

(CoNTINUED ON PAGE2)

AB 1635 (Assembly
Revenue & Taxation
Committee) would
clarify that FTB may
revise the California
return to reflect the
proper filing status
(even if different from
federal) when the filing
status used on the
taxpayer’s federal
income tax return is
determined to be L
incorrect. \

For a summary of this
and many other
proposed bills, go to
page 13.
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Tips for Reporting IRA Contributions

Here are some tips for completing the
worksheet on page 3 of the
FTB Pub 1005A:

Part B, Line 6

Enter only the post-1986 contributions
made to traditional IRAs on Line 6.
DO NOT include 1998 contributions
made to a Roth IRA.

Part B, Line 8

If your client has recovered any
California post-1986 basis in prior
years, subtract it from the total on line 8.

For example, the client took a partial
distribution from his or her traditional
IRA in 1996, and recovered $1,000 of
post-1986 California basis in that
distribution, you would reduce the total
on line 8 by the amount of California

post-1986 basis previously recovered, as

follows:

* Enter the total IRA contributions
made after 1986 on Line 6.
(Assume the amount is $10,000)

* Enter the California deductions
claimed after 1986 on Line 7.
(Assume the amount is $7,000)

Subtract the amount on Line 7
($7,000) from the amount on Line 6
($10,000).

*  Subtract from the remainder
($3,000) the amount of post-1986
California basis you recovered in
the partial distribution you took in
1996 ($1,000). Enter this amount
($2,000) on line 8.*

* (If no California post-1986 basis had been

recovered, the amount on line 8 would be

$3,000 (10,000 — 7,000). However, since you
recovered $1,000 of California post-1986 basis
in a previous year, the amount on line 8 must bg

reduced by the amount of post-1986 basis
previously recovered (3,000 — 1,000 = 2,000).

Part B, Line 13

When inputting an amount on Line 13,
carry the decimal to four places.

C___)
Part C

If your client electNOT to use the
four-year spread and instead wants to
include the entire amount of taxable
income on his or her 1998 return, you
must adjust Part C as follows:

Skip line 18; and on line 20, use the
amount from line 17 in each place
where the line instructions refer to
line 18.

CA Conforms on Roth

(CoNTINUED FROM PAGEL)

Here are the answers to some of the
frequently asked questions about SB 93
and Roth IRAs:

How does SB 93 affect California
taxpayers filing a 1998 state tax
return?

As result of this legislation, California
conforms to current federal law regarding
Roth IRAs, as amended by the IRS
Restructuring and Reform Act of 1998
(which allows taxpayers the elections
described earlier). Furthermore,
California now requires that taxpayers use
the same election for California that was
elected for federal purposes. Any federal
election made is binding for California.

For example, if a taxpayer elected to
report all of the federal taxable income
that results from a 1998 Roth IRA

May 1999

conversion on his or her 1998 federal
return (instead of spreading it over four
years), he or she must also report all of
the California taxable income that results
from the 1998 Roth IRA conversion on
his or her 1998 California return.

NOTE: The federal election is made on
federal form 8606, Nondeductible IRAs,
and cannot be made or changed after the
filing due date (including extensions) for
the 1998 return. There is no separate
California form to file regarding the
election.

How does conformity impact
FTB Pub. 1005A?

The differences relating to Roth IRA
conversions that are explained in FTB
Publication 1005A, California Treatment
of Roth IRA,no longer apply.

However, taxpayers may still use the
worksheet on page 3 of the publication to

(CoNTINUED ON PAGE3)
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CA Conforms on Roth

(CONTINUED FROM PAGE2)

compute their California income adjustme
if they had a difference between the
California basis and the federal basis of
their IRA.

What if the California basis of the IRA
converted to a Roth IRA is different than
the federal basis?

Taxpayers who have a different IRA basis
for California than for federal purposes fo
tax year 1998(on the traditional IRA that
was converted to a Roth IRA) will need to
make an adjustment on their 1998
California return. Although the difference:
explained on pages 1 and 2 of FTB
Publication 1005A no longer apply,
taxpayers may still use the worksheet on
page 3 to compute the California
adjustment.

NOTE: Taxpayers who elect not to use ti
four-year spread and instead want to inclt
the entire amount of taxable income in the
1998 return must adjust the amounts on F
C of the worksheet as follows:

Skip line 18; and on line 20, use the amot
from line 17 in each place the line
instructions refer to line 18.

When is an amended return required for
the 1998 tax year?

Taxpayers must file an amended Californi
return for the 1998 tax year if the 1998
California return was filed reflecting a tax
treatment different than the federal tax
treatment that was elected for federal
purposes for the 1998 tax year. Here are
two examples.

Example #1
If the taxpayer:

* Filed a 1998 federal return with an
election to include 100 percent of the
taxable income that resulted from a
1998 Roth IRA conversion, and

* Filed a 1998 California return which
included only one-fourth of the taxable
income that resulted from a 1998 Roth
IRA conversion, then;

the taxpayer must file a 1998 amended
California return (Form 540X) to include
the remaining three-fourths of the Californig
taxable income that resulted from the Roth
IRA conversion.

Example #2

The taxpayer is a surviving spouse and the
sole beneficiary of a Roth IRA and he or
she:

e Filed a 1998 federal return in which he
or she elected to use the four-year
spread of the taxable income that
resulted from the decedent spouse’s
Roth IRA conversion in 1998, and

* Filed a 1998 California return in which
he or she reported all the deferred
taxable income that resulted from the
decedent spouse’s Roth IRA
conversion in 1998, then;

the taxpayer must file an amended
California return (Form 540X) for 1998 and
adjust the reported amount of taxable
income that resulted from the 1998 Roth
IRA conversion to one-fourth of the
remaining deferred taxable income.

1998 Tax Form Corrections

Tax practitioners should note the
following corrections to the 1998 tax
form information:

Form 541 Credit Chart

“Farmworker Housing — Loan, credit
code 208"

Delete “Farmworker Housing — Loan,
credit code 208" and its description from
the chart. (Estates and Trusts do not
qualify to take the “loan” credit, it
applies to corporations.)

The Internet version is correct. Package
X, paper and CD-ROM (release 98.1 and
98.2) and Form 541 Booklet are
incorrect.

FTB 38052, Enterprise Zone Business
Booklet, Worksheet VI, Section B, line 1
reads: “Net loss for state purposes...; or
Form 109, line 1. Apportioning
corporations, enter the amount from
Schedule R, line 13b for corporations doing
business in the zone. Enter as a
positive number..."

It should read: “Net loss for state

purposes...; or Form 109, line 1. Enter asp

positive number. Note: Apportioning
corporations, enter the amount from
Schedule R, line 12 for the corporations
doing business within the zone.”

The Internet version is correct. Package X,

paper and CD-ROM (release 98.1 and 98.2

and FTB 3805Z Business Booklet are
incorrect.

(CoNTINUED ON PAGEL9)
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Free
Tax News

There are a number of ways
you can get your Tax News
free of charge.

To download, view and print
Tax News from the Internet,
contact the Franchise Tax
Board at its

www.ftb.ca.gov

Web site.

To subscribe to Tax News by
E-mail, also contact the FTB
Web site. Access the
Education and Outreach page.
Click on the Tax News logo
and then on

“Tax News by E-Mail.”

Insert your E-mail and other
address information in the
fields provided. Click on
“subscribe” and then on
“submit” to record your
subscription.
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Need e-Filing
Assistance?

If you need assistance or have

guestions about FTB’s e-file

or e-pay programs, you can

get the information you neeg

either by phone or on thd
Internet.

To talk to someone at the
e-file Help Desk, call (916)
845-0353. Or visit the FTB
Web site at www.fth.ca.gov/

elecserv.

Making Payments Electronically
Frequently Asked Questions About e-Pay

statement.

How will taxpayers be notified if their
e-pay request is not honored by their
financial institution?

If the e-pay request is returned from the

The Franchise Tax Board now allows
e-file balance due taxpayers the option of
having their payment debited directly
from their bank accounts.

Taxpayers that elect to e-pay have the
option of choosing the date to have FTB taxpayer's bank for insufficient funds,

deduct their payment from their bank account closed, invalid account number or
account. For the 1998 tax year, taxpayers any other reason, the taxpayer will be

can select any day between January 15 jsged a Notice of State Income Tax Due
and October 15, 1999. stating that the taxpayer's payment has
As is the case with paper payments, late been returned by his or her bank.
payment penalties and interest will apply ¢ the taxpayer receives a return
to e-pay payments made after information notice from FTB advising
April 15, 1999. of a change to the tax due, will the

e-pay request be changed?

No. If the taxpayer receives a notice from

“Taxpayers can requeSt to FTB showing an increase in liability, the
StOp an e_pay transaction taxpayer can remit the difference by

check or the taxpayer can cancel the e-pay
by Ca”ing the e-file He|p request and mail a check for the revised
Desk.”

liability. If the liability decreases, the
taxpayer can cancel the e-pay request and
mail a check. If the e-pay occurs and the

liability has decreased, the taxpayer will
receive a refund of the overpayment.

Can any date between January 15 and

rogram:
prog October 15, 1999, be chosen as the
Can an e-pay request be cancelled? debit date?

Yes. Taxpayers can request to stop an e- yes, However, for the payment to be

pay transaction by calling the e-file Help  gnsidered timely, the e-pay date must be
Desk at (916) 845-0353 at least two on or before April 15, 1999. If the
business days prior to the chosen e-pay  taxpayer chooses a nonbanking day as the
debit date. debit date, the e-pay request will occur on
Can e-pay information be changed the first possible business day following
after FTB has accepted the e-file the debit request date. If a return is
return? transmitted with a debit request date that
No. e-pay information cannot be is prior to the actual date the return is

changed.” If a taxpayer determines that ;!Ie(tj, the %’Ipag requestdwill ch‘iaon the
the banking information provided was IrSt poSSIbIe business day and the
invalid. he or she can call to have the e- Payment received date will be considered
pay cancelled. The taxpayer will then "€ return.flled dat_e. _
have to mail in the payment in the For more information regarding e-pay or
traditional manner. the e-file program, please visit the FTB

. ; ; Web site at www.ftb.ca.gov or contact the
P e arying e-file Help Desk at (916) 845-0353. The

payment has been received? Help Desk’s hours are 8 a.m. until 5p.m.,

) Monday through Friday.
No. FTB does not issue a statement
confirming withdrawal of an e-pay
payment. Confirmation of withdrawal
will be reflected on the taxpayer’s bank

Here are some of the most frequently
asked questions about FTB'’s e-pay

May 1999
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ot so long ago, when the
Franchise Tax Board received a
tax return that lacked the proper

Form W-2, our only option was to
disallow the taxpayer’s
withholding claim.

Today we can verify a claim for
withholding with or without the

taxpayer’'s Form W-2. We now resolve
discrepancies with a telephone call to the
taxpayer’'s employer instead of a notice to
the taxpayer.

“Best of all, we sent
fewer withholding
adjustment notices
to taxpayers.”

These are just a few of the benefits of
Assembly Bill 3086 and our new wage
and withholding verification process.

AB 3086, which was enacted in 1994,
made two significant changes to the filing
requirements for California’s employers.

It reduced the number of payroll tax
returns that employers were required to
file and it required employers to report
personal income tax withholding amounts,
personal income tax wages and each
employee’s full first name to the
Employment Development Department on
a quarterly basis.

The new law also gave us an opportunity
to improve the way we exchanged
information with employers and EDD.

Big changes occurred in 1997. First,
EDD implemented a new automated
system that allowed it to pass on
information it received from employers
directly to us on a daily basis.

At the same time, we developed a new
wage and withholding verification process
that allowed us to receive the wage and

Verification Process Eases

Taxpayer Burden

withholding information from EDD on a
daily basis, compare the information to
the wage and withholding amounts
claimed on the taxpayer’s personal
income tax return and resolve
discrepancies in the reported amounts by
contacting the taxpayer's employer
instead of the taxpayer.

The new process has been a success.
During 1998, the first full year of
implementation, we performed 450,000
fewer manual withholding verifications on
tax returns than in the previous year.

In addition, the number of adjustments we
performed that resulted in an increase to
the taxpayer’s withholding claim grew
under the new process.

Best of all, we sent fewer withholding
adjustment notices to taxpayers.

In 1999 we have turned our focus to
verifying wage information. We are
evaluating the accuracy of the wage
information received from employers as
well as the accuracy of the adjustments
we make to taxpayers’ returns when the
information does not match.

As we continue to improve the wage and
withholding verification process, there is
one thing you can do to help reduce the
chance of one of your clients being
contacted during the process.

Make sure that we have all the proper
information about your clients’ wages, by
attaching or transmitting copies of all the
appropriate state and federal schedules
and attachments that document
adjustments to their adjusted gross
income based on wages. For example, if
one of your clients has treated any wages
included on a Form W-2 as business
income, attach or transmit a copy of his or
her federal Schedule C, “Profit or Loss
From Business,” with the return.

FTB Calendar

T8 Calendar |

May

20

Requests for Tax Return
are mailed to individuals
who have not filed their
1997 personal income tax
return.

Notices of Proposed
Assessment are mailed to
individuals who have not
filed their 1997 tax
returns.

Previous month
nonresident withholding
payments are due if total
withholding exceeded
$2,500.

June

15

20

Requests for Tax Return
are mailed to individuals
who have not filed their
1997 personal income tax
return.

Notices of Proposed
Assessment are mailed to
individuals who have not
filed their 1997 tax
returns.

Requests for Tax Return
are mailed to
corporations who have
not filed their 1997
corporate tax return.

Demands to file 1997
corporate tax returns are
mailed to nonqualified
and qualified
corporations.

Second quarter 1999
personal Income tax
estimate payments are
due.

See May 20.

July

Requests for Tax Return
are mailed to individuals
who have not filed their
1997 personal income tax
return.

Notices of Proposed
Assessment are mailed to
individuals who have not
filed their 1997 tax
returns.

(CoNTINUED ON PAGEY)
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Wanted:
New
FTB e-filers

More and more practitioners
are joining the FTB e-file
program.

To join the FTB e-file program,
access form FTB 8633,
“California Application to
Participate in the e-file
Program,” from the FTB Web
site at www.fth.ca.gov/forms.

Download the form, complete it
and send it by fax to FTB at
(916) 845-0287.

For more information, call the
FTB e-file Help Desk at
(916) 845-0353.
Help Desk hours are Monday/
through Friday, 8 a.m.

until 5 p.m.

Software Woes? Visit an e-file Workshop

The Franchise Tax Board and the
California Districts of the Internal
Revenue Service are sponsoring a series
of free e-file software workshops
beginning in June.

The e-file Software Workshop and
Exhibit series will provide tax
practitioners an opportunity to learn first-
hand about the various FTB and

IRS accepted e-file software packages.

Experts from major software companies
will be available to discuss their
software’s features, technical
requirements, compatibility with the
California e-file program, required forms,
costs and customer support services.

The workshops run from 9 a.m. until
4 p.m. and are divided into morning and
afternoon sessions.

During the morning session, practitioners
can ask questions during a panel
discussion with e-file software vendors.

In the afternoon session, practitioners will
have an opportunity to visit the individual
exhibits and see demonstrations of
software programs.

Practitioners are encouraged to bring their

laptop computers and try out some of the
software packages.

For more information about workshops in
your area, contact the FTB e-file Help
Desk at (916) 845-0353. Help Desk
hours are 8 a.m. until 5 p.m., Monday
through Friday. Beginning May 11, you
can register on line at www.ftb.ca.gov.

Listed below are the confirmed dates and
locations of the workshops:

Tuesday, June 22, in Oceanside at
Mission San Luis Rey Parish

4070 Mission Avenue

Oceanside, CA

Wednesday, June 23, in Riverside/Inland
Empire at

Jack Kramer's Los Serranos

Golf and Country Club

15656 Yorba Avenue

Chino Hills, CA

Thursday, June 24, in Los Angeles at
The Holiday Inn

150 East Angeleno

Burbank, CA

Tuesday, June 29, at

The Four Points Sheraton Hotel
5115 Hopyard Road
Pleasanton, CA

Wednesday, June 30, in Fresno at
Pardini's

2257 West Shaw Avenue

Fresno, CA

Thursday, July 1 in Sacramento at
The Holiday Inn

5321 Date Avenue

Sacramento, CA

BOE Implements New Tax Practitioner Hotline

News From the
State Board of

Equalization

The Board of Equalization has announced
a new toll free tax practitioner hotline to
offer practitioners faster access to
information, duplicate tax returns and

May 1999

other forms and publications. Customer
service representatives and tax opinion
experts are available to answer your
questions from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday
through Friday, except on state holidays.
Duplicate tax returns, forms and
publications can be requested through
automated services 24 hours a day, seven
days a week. Tax practitioners are
encouraged to call the hotline at

(800) 401-3661.
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HRA Program Increases Income Limits

California has increased the income limits December 31, 1998. For renter

for Homeowner and Renter Assistance
claimants.

Chaptered on August 20998, Assembly

Bill 2797 (Cardoza) increased the income

limits for HRA claimants from $13,200 to
$33,132 for total household income and
from $24,000 to $60,240 for gross
household income.

The income limits will be adjusted
annually for inflation. The inflation
factor used in determining the income
amounts for the 1999 claim year is 2.51
(The inflation factor is 2.51 because the
bill adjusts for all prior years when there
was no adjustment for inflation). This
factor will be adjusted each year on or
before February 1.

The assistance is available to qualifying
senior, blind or disabled individuals as a
once-a-year payment from the State of
California based on a portion of the
property taxes paid by a homeowner or
paid indirectly by a renter.

Homeowner and Renter Assistance claimsClaimants also may obtain a booklet by
may be filed any time after May 15, 1999,

and on or before August 31999.

To qualify for homeowner assistance,
claimants must have owned and lived in
their own homes in California on

Magnetic Media: Faster, Better, Cheaper

Four Options, TestWare
Makes Filing a Breeze for
Schedule K-1 (565) Filers

If you have been filing Schedule K-1s on
paper, stop! It is time to enter the
electronic era and file via magnetic
media.

Last year the number of partnerships that
filed Schedule K-1s (565) by magnetic
media increased by almost 60 percent.
Today, filing K-1s (565) on magnetic
media has never been easier. You now
have a choice of four types of media to
use: CD, diskette, cartridge or tape reel.
In addition to current year K-1
information, FTB also accepts amended
current year Schedules K-1 and K-1 data
for short period participants.

assistance, claimants must have lived in al
qualified rented residence in California
and paid $50 or more per month for rent
during 1998. For either kind of
assistance, claimants also must:

« Have been age 62 or older, blind or
disabled on December 31, 1998.

« Have had a total household income
of $33,132 or less in 1998.

« Have had a gross total household
income of $60,240 or less in 1998.

« Be a citizen or designated alien,
including a qualified alien, of the
United States when the claim is filed.

FTB will mail claim booklets to last

year’s claimants no later than May 15,
1999. After that date, other claimants
may obtain forms from the FTB Web site
at www.ftb.ca.gov, by diing (800) 338-
0505 and selecting “Personal Income Tax
Forms” at the voice prompt or by visiting
an FTB district office.

writing to:

Tax Forms Request

PO Box 307

Franchise Tax Board

Rancho Cordova, CA 95741-0307.

An enhanced version of FTB’s K-1
TestWare is also available. K-1
TestWare edits the records before
submitting them to FTB, allowing the
transmitter to file error free records.

The improved version also can expand
files from a delimited format to one that
meets FTB’s requirements (standard
fixed length).

A year ago, one transmitter spent several
months submitting and re-submitting
180,000 K-1 records due to errors in the
record layout. This year, that same
transmitter used our new K-1 TestWare
for their Schedules 1997 K-1 and every
one of their files passed the FTB edit
program on the first attempt.

The K-1 TestWare is available to
download from the FTB Electronic
Services Web site located at

www.fth.ca.gov/elecserv

HRA Help
Available

The Franchise Tax Board
has made it easier for eligible
individuals to make a claim
for Homeowner and Renter
Assistance.

In accordance with the
Americans with Disabilities
Act, FTB provides the FTB
9000, “Homeowner
Assistance Claim Booklet”
and the FTB 9000R, “Renter
Assistance Claim Booklet,”
in large print and on
audiocassette. To order a
booklet or audiocassette, call
FTB at (800)-822-5711.
TDD users call 800-822-
6268.

FTB also provides fillable
forms on its Web site so
eligible individuals who
prefer to use the Internet can
complete a form on-line.

The Internet Web site
address is www.fth.ca.gov.

Free assistance is also
available from the
Homeowner and Renter
Assistance Volunteer
Program. For information on
program sites, call FTB at
(800) 852-5711, contact a
local Senior Citizen
Information and Referral
Service or visit an FTB
district office.

FTB Calendar|

(CONTINUED FROM PAGED)

* Requests for Tax Return
are mailed to
corporations who have
not filed their 1997
corporate tax return.

» Demands to file 1997
corporate tax returns are
mailed to nonqualified
and qualified
corporations

Second quarter 1999
personal iIncome tax
estimate payments are
due.

20 See May 20.
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Filing Tips
for
QSubs

Will your Form 100S include
one or more QSubs? If so
here are some tips for
completing Form 100S.

Tip #1
Form 100S (Side 1), Questior

D, should be checked "Yes'
to indicate that the return

includes one or more QSubs.

Tip #2
Per Form 100S, Section DO
instructions, California
requires that the paren
S corporation attach a copy 0
the federal Form 966 for eacli
QSub doing business o
gualified to do business in
California to the return for the
income year during which the
QSub election was made
Tip#3
Form 966 should also be
attached to Form 100S fof
any subsequent year that thel

is any QSub addition or
termination
Tip #4
The S corporation parent
should include Schedule QS
(Qualified Subchapter S
Subsidiary Information
Worksheet) with Form 100S

each year that a QSulj
election is in effect.

QSub: A New Tax Planning Vehicle

The passage of the Small Business Job
Protection Act provides for the tax
treatment of a Qualified Subchapter

S Subsidiary (QSub, a.k.a. QSSS) for

corporation include accumulated earnings
and profits, passive investment income
and built-in gains. Transactions between
the parent S corporation and the QSub are
taxable years beginning after 1996. The not taken into account. The tax treatment
House Ways and Means Committee of the liquidation or of a larger

understood that there are situations where transaction that includes the liquidation
taxpayers may wish to separate different will be determined under the IRC and
trades or businesses in different corporate general principles of tax law, including
entities. The Committee believes that, in the step transaction doctrine.

such situations, shareholders should be For a valid QSub election, the parent must
allowed to arrange these separate o 5 gualified S corporation (IRC Section
corporate entities under parent-subsidiary 1362(a)), the QSub must meet the
arrangements as well as brother-sister standard,s for qualification under IRC
arrangements. Section 1361(b), and the S corporation
Under the proposed regulations, the QSul must make the QSub election for federal
election’s effect is that the existing purposes. Note: an election made by the
subsidiary is not to be treated as a S corporation to treat its subsidiary
separate corporation. The QSub is corporation as a QSub for federal
deemed to have liquidated under IRC purposes is a binding election for
Sections 332 and 337. All assets, California. An election different from the
liabilities, and items of income, federal QSub election may not be filed for
deduction, and credit of a QSub are to be California. California follows the federal
treated as those of the parent S transitional relief procedures for
corporation. Items of the QSub that perfecting a QSub election.

become attributable to the parent S

How Much Tax Should S Corporations Pay?

The S corporation parent is required to
pay an $800rnual tax for each QSub it
owns. If the S corporation parentis not  California franchise tax, in an amount at
doing business in California and is not a least equal to the minimum franchise tax.
qualified corporation in California, but the For income year 1998, Scoop is

QSub is, then the S corporation parent is responsible for its own franchise tax (the
deemed to be qualified and/or doing greater of the minimum franchise tax or
business in California as well. This 1.5 percent of net income for tax
situation then subjects the S corporation purposes) plus two annual taxes for the
parent to the minimum franchise tax, as  QSubs Vanilla and Chocolate.

well as the commencing tax due to the The QSub annual tax is due and payable
Franchise Tax Board. when the S corporation's first estimated
Example: tax payment is due. If a QSub election is
Scoop, an S corporation parent, owns ~ Made during the income year, the QSub
three QSubs (Vanilla, Chocolate and annual tax is due with the S corporation's
Strawberry). Scoop began business as ar N€Xt estimated tax installment. The QSub
S corporation in 1997. It made valid annual tax is subject to estimated tax rules
QSub elections for Vanilla, Chocolate anc @nd penalties, and is the liability of the
Strawberry in 1998. Vanilla and parent S corporation.

Chocolate are qualified and doing An amount equal to the greater of the
business in California, Scoop and minimum franchise tax or 1.5 percent of
Strawberry are not. net income for tax purposes for the parent
For income year 1998, Scoop is deemed S corporatiorplus the QSub(s) annual

to be doing business in California becaus: [2X(€S) is to be reflected on Form 100S,
line 22, Tax.

of Vanilla's and Chocolate's business
activities in California and is subject to

May 1999
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FTB to Contact Nonfiler Corporations

In June, the Franchise Tax Board will shareholders and are still in business as
mail notices to corporations that have yet sole proprietors or partnerships.

to file their 1997 California corporate If you have clients that fall into this

tax return. category, they can avoid receiving these
If you have clients who fall into this notices by ensuring that the dissolving
category, file the delinquent returns as  corporations contact the Employment
soon as possible. Development Department and the State

All of the corporation accounts go Board of Equalization to update their

through a rigorous review process prior to €Ntity status and change their

the issuance of notices, however, some ~ classification.

notices are sent to corporations that do  Once the corporation’s classification is

not have a filing requirement with us changed, FTB will no longer send out

because they were dissolved by notices requesting that a corporate tax
return be filed.

Notices to Nonfilers Mailed in May

i i contacted during the months of
Ph(_’”_e Service C_an ASSI_St January and February of this year,
Individuals Seeking to File and in the first 30 days after the

notices were mailed, more than
1,000 tax returns were received.

Now that you've finished preparing your * A new FTB form was developed

Delinquent Returns

clients’ 1998 personal income tax returns, ~ and mailed out with every nonfiler
you may want to make sure they've filed Notice of Proposed Assessment.
their 1997 returns. This “Quick Resolution/Protest

Worksheet” is a check-the-box type
form and covers the most common
responses to FTB’s Notice of
Proposed Assessment.

The Nonfiler Program’s Interactive
Voice Response applications are
available 24 hours a day, seven days a
week. This means that an individual

can, at their own convenience:
More proposed assessments will be 1) order forms,
mailed during the coming months, as well
as more requests for tax returns, and it's 2) get answers to commonly asked

The Franchise Tax Board has been
sending notices to nonfilers over the last
few months, reminding them of their
requirement to file a return.

During the month of May, approximately
70,000 of those individuals will receive a
Notice of Proposed Assessment from
FTB.

always best to file the return before the questions, and
reminders come. 3) resolve their own account (in cases
Even if you've dealt with these issues in where they had already filed the
the past, there are some new aspects to required return under a social
FTB’s Nonfiler Program that you may security number other than the one
encounter. For example, this year: shown on FTB's notice).
 Individuals were contacted who had The IVR telephone numbers for the
paid a substantial amount of Nonfiler Program are shown below.
mortgage interest during the 1997 tax When responding to a:
year (which would imply that they « Request for tax return, call
had income), but who had gone (800) 545-50009.

undetected by the current Nonfiler
Program. Approximately 24,000
individuals meeting this criteria were

Notice of proposed assessment, cal
(800) 895-5440.

Collection
Queries?
Send Us a Fax

You can send a fax with your
guestions about personal
income tax collection to the
Franchise Tax Board.

The fax number, which is for
tax professionals only, is
(916) 845-0494.
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Basic Steps
for Applying
IRC 469 Rules

Here are the basic steps fo
applying the passive activity
loss limitation rules:

Step 1

Identify the activities. See
Treasury Regulation 1.469-4
for the definition of activity.
Treasury Regulation Section

469-4(c) provides the genera
rules for grouping activities.
Treas. Reg. §1.469-4(d)
explains the limitation on
grouping rental activities with
trade or business activities

Step 2

Separate activities into renta
activities and trade/businesy
activities. See Internal
Revenue Code §469(j)(8) and
Treas. Reg. §1.469-1T(e)(3
for the definition of rental
activities and Treas. Reg.
81.469-4(b) for the definition
of trade or business activities

Step 3

For each rental activity,
determine whether the activityj
meets one of the six
exceptions to rental activity.
If the rental activity does not
meet an exception, the
activity is a passive rental
activity. If the activity meets
one of the six exceptions,
then treat as a trade/busineg
activity or as part of a trade/

business activity. See Treas.

Reg. 1.469-1T(e)(3)(ii) for
the six exceptions to rental
activity.

(CoNTINUED ON PAGEL1)

7]

Watch Out for California Nonconformity
with Internal Revenue Code Section 469

California conforms to Internal Revenue
Code (IRC) Section 469 with certain
exceptions (California Revenue and
Taxation Code Sections 17551, 17561
and 24642).

But, California has never conformed to

The Internal Revenue Service does not
apply the passive loss limitation rules to
S corporations because an S corporation
is generally exempt from federal income
taxes (IRC Section 1363(a)).

the special rules for qualified real estate
professionals provided under IRC Sectior
469(c)(7).

Additionally, for purposes of the

S corporation franchise or income tax,
California law applies the rules for
limitations and material participation
differently for California S corporation
taxpayers (CRTC Section
23802(f)(3)(A)).

Rental Real Estate

IRC Section 469(c)(7) provides special
rules for qualified real estate
professionals. For federal purposes, thed
special rules provide that rental real estat
activities of a qualified real estate
professional are not presumed passive.
To apply these special rules, more than
half the taxpayer's personal services in al
businesses must be in real property
businesses in which the taxpayer
materially participates and the taxpayer
must spend more than 750 hours in such
real property trades and businesses. If a
taxpayer satisfies both of these
requirements, each rental real estate
activity in which the taxpayer materially
participates is treated as nonpassive.
California, however, has never conformeg
to these special rules; therefore, for
California purposes, any rental activity is
a passive activity.

S Corporation and Passive Activity

For purposes of the California S
corporation franchise or income tax, the
passive loss limitation rules apply to

S corporations as if the S corporation
were an individual. Material participation
of an S corporation in its activities is
determined as if the S corporation was a
closely held C corporation (CRTC
Section 23802(f)(3)(A)). These passive

loss limitation rules apply only for

Interest Rates
For the period of July 1, 1999, through
December 31, 1999, the interest rate oh
underpayments and overpayments of
California income taxes will bgeven
percent. The following table lists
interest rates since 1988.

Effective Date Rate

1 Apr. 1988- 30 Sept. 1988 10%
1 Oct. 1988- 30 June 1989 11%
1 July 1989- 31 Dec. 1989 12%
1 Jan. 1990- 30 June 1990 11%
1 July 1990- 31 Dec. 1990 11%
1 Jan. 1991- 30 June 1991 11%
1 July 1991- 31 Dec. 1991 10%
1 Jan. 1992- 30 June 1992 10%
1 July 1992- 31 Dec. 1992 9%
1 Jan. 1993- 30 June 1993 8%
1 July 1993- 31 Dec. 1993 7%
1Jan. 1994- 30 June 1994 7%
1 July 1994- 31 Dec. 1994 7%
1 Jan. 1995- 30 June 1995 8%
1 July 1995- 31 Dec. 1995 9%
1 Jan. 1996- 30 June 1996 9%
1 July 1996- 31 Dec. 1996 9%
1 Jan. 1997- 30 June 1997 9%
1 July 1997 - 31 Dec. 1997 9%
1 Jan. 1998- 30 June 1998 9%
1 July 1998- 31 Dec. 1998 9%
1 Jan. 1999- 30 June 1999 8%
1 July 1999 - 31 Dec. 1999 7%

purposes of the S corporation franchise
income tax. The passive loss limitation
rules do not affect the amounts passed
through to shareholders.

May 1999
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State Reduces Prepaid Minimum Tax

AB 2798 Also Shrinks
2nd Year Minimum Tax
for Eligible Entities

Beginning this year, eligible foreign and
domestic corporations will pay less
prepaid minimum taxes. Some
corporations may be eligible for a
reduced second year minimum franchise
tax as well.

Enacted in August998, Assembly Bill
2798 (Machado), reduced the prepaid
minimum tax amount from $600 to $300
for an income year that begins during
1999 or later. Before AB 2798, certain
corporations were already eligible for a
reduced prepaid minimum tax of $600
for income years beginning on or after
January 1, 1997.

The prepaid minimum tax is payment for
the corporation’s first taxable year and is
due on the day that the corporation
registers or qualifies with the Secretary
of State or begins to do business

in California.

The corporation must meet two conditions
to qualify for the reduced payment. First,
50 percent or more of the corporation’s
stock cannot or will not be owned by
another corporation. Secondly, the
corporation must meet the definition of a
qualified new corporation.

If a corporation’s income year began
during 1999 or later and it:

* Began operations at or after the time
of incorporation,

« Estimates its gross receipts (less
returns and allowances) to be
$1,000,000 or less on its first Form
100 tax return,

« Estimates its tax liability to be $800
or less on its first Form 100 tax
return, and

Did not begin business operations as
a single proprietorship, partnership or
other business entity prior to
incorporation,

then it meets the definition of a qualified
new corporation and should pay the
reduced prepaid minimum tax of $300.

(CoNTINUED ON PAGEL2)

Here are three scenarios (each
involving the fictitious Alpha
Corporation) that describe how to pay
and report the reduced minimum tax
and the second taxable year minimum
franchise tax. For each of the
scenarios, assume that:

* The Alpha Corporation
incorporated with the California
Secretary of State on
January 12, 1999, and paid a
reduced prepaid minimum tax of
$300.

e On April 15, 1999, the Alpha
Corporation made its first and
only estimate payment of $500
for income year ending
December 1999.

e The corporation filed a return for
income year ending December
1999 on March 15, 2000.

Tips for Paying, Reporting Reduced Minimum Tax

Example 1

The Alpha Corporation filed its first
Form 100 tax return timely and
reported gross receipts (less returns
and allowances) of $945,000.

The corporation reported a loss of
$8,500 on the “net income for tax
purposes” line and the reduced
minimum franchise tax of $500 on the
next line of the Form 100. The Alpha
Corporation does not enter any amoun
on the “Additional SOS prepayment
tax” line of its Form 100.

Since the Alpha Corporation did not
have any credits or Alternative
Minimum Tax, it reported $500 on the
“Adjusted Total Tax” line of Form

100. The corporation entered $500 on
the “1999 estimated tax payments...”
line, and no amount on the

“Tax due”line.

(CoNTINUED ON PAGEL2)

Basic Steps
for Applying
IRC 469 Rules

(CoNTINUED FROM PAGELQ)

Step 4

For each trade/business
activity for which income is
not specifically excluded
from passive activity,
determine whether the
taxpayer's participation meets
one of the seven tests for
material participation. If the
taxpayer meets any one of the
seven tests, the activity is
nonpassive. If the taxpayer
does not meet any one of the
seven tests, the activity is
passive. See Treas. Reg.
81.469-5T(a) and (b) for the
seven tests to determine
material participation in trade
or business activity.

[Note: For items of income
specifically excluded from
passive activity, see IRC
Section 469(e); Treas. Reg.
1.469-1T(e)(4), (5) and (6);
and Treas. Reg. §1.469-
2T(c)(3), (4), (5). (6)

and (7).]

Step 5

For each passive activity that
has net income, determine
whether the income is subject
to recharacterization. See
Treas. Reg. §81.469-2(f) and
1.469-2T(f) for six situations
in which income (but not

loss) is subject to
recharacterization.
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Keep

Tax News
Coming

Is your Tax News
subscription about to expire?

If so, the Franchise Tax
Board will send you a
renewal form by mail. Be
sure to return the form
immediately so that you will

not miss any upcoming issues|

Remember: Tax News is alsg
available by e-mail at no
charge and it can be viewed
on FTB’s Web site at
www.fth.ca.gov.

If you have any questions
about your Tax News
subscription, call
(916) 845-7070.

Prepaid Minimum Tax Drops to $300

(CoNTINUED FROM PAGEL1)
If a corporation’s income year began
during 1997 or 1998 and:

e It estimates its gross receipts (less
returns and allowances) to be
$1,000,000 or less on its first Form
100 tax return, and

» It estimates its tax liability to be $800
or less on its first Form 100 tax
return,

then it meets the definition of a qualified
new corporation and should pay the
reduced prepaid minimum tax of $600.

If a qualified new corporation pays a
reduced prepaid minimum tax and
afterwards it exceeds the allowable gross
receipts (less returns and allowances) of
$1 million or the allowable tax amount of
$800 on its first Form 100 tax return, it
must pay an additional tax of:

»  $200 for an income year that began
in 1997 or 1998, or

» $500 for an income year that began
in 1999 or later.

This additional tax must be paid by the
due date of the corporation’s first Form
100 tax return (without regard to
extension).

AB 2798 also reduced the second taxable
year minimum franchise tax to $500 for
eligible corporations. This provision is
also effective for income years beginning
on or after January 1, 1999.

In order to pay the reduced second
taxable year minimum franchise tax, a
corporation must meet the following
criteria:

1 It must be a qualified new
corporation. To be considered a
gualified new corporation, the
corporation must:
Begin operations at or after the time
of incorporation,
Estimate its gross receipts (less
returns and allowances) to be
$1,000,000 or less on its first Form
100 tax return, and

(ConTinuED ON PAGE20)

(@)
(b)

Tips for Paying, Reporting Reduced Minimum Tax

(CoNTINUED FROM PAGEL1)
Example 2

The Alpha Corporation filed its first
Form 100 tax return timely and
reported gross receipts (less returns
and allowances) of $945,000. The
corporation reported $6,300 on the
“Net income for tax purposes” line
and measured tax of $557 on the next
line of the Form 100. The
corporation does not enter any
amount on the “Additional SOS
prepayment tax” line of its Form 100.

Since the corporation had no credits
or Alternative Minimum Tayx, it
reports $557 on the “Adjusted Total
Tax” line of Form 100. The
corporation enters $500 on the “1999
estimated tax payments...” line, and
$57 on the “Tax dueline.

Example 3

The corporation’s first Form 100
tax return reports gross receipts
(less returns and allowances) of
$1,100,000. The corporation reports
$6,300 on the “Net income for tax
purposes” line and the minimum
franchise tax of $800 (on the next
line) of Form 100. The corporation
enters $500 on the “Additional SOS
prepayment tax” line of the Form
100 because it did not meet the
gross receipts requirements.

Since the corporation had no credits
or Alternative Minimum Tayx, it
reports $1,300 on the “Adjusted
Total Tax” line of Form 100. The
corporation enters $500 on the
“1999 estimated tax payments...”
line, and $800 on the

“Tax due”line.

May 1999
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Capital Gains

Among the measures being considered by
the California Legislature are several that
would affect capital gain taxes.

AB 7 (Campbell) and SB 34 (Brulte)
would exclude from gross income any
gain from the sale or exchange of a
capital asset held by the taxpayer for five
or more years.

SB 30 (Peace) would extend, and in

certain cases, increase the exclusion
percentage for gain from the sale or

exchange of small business stock.

Conformity

Among the measures being considered by
the California Legislature are some that
involve conformity with the Internal
Revenue Code or the Internal Revenue
Service Reform Act.

SB 94 (Chesbro) would make a number of
conformity and other tax changes. This
bill would conform to the Internal
Revenue Service Restructuring and
Reform Act of 1998 technical changes
relating to the exclusion of capital gains
on the sale of a principal residence. It
would expand innocent spouse
protections by conforming to the IRS
Reform Act provisions relating to
innocent spouses and conform to the IRS
Reform Act provision to suspend the
statute of limitations for certain refund
claims for periods during which the
taxpayer is “financially disabled.” This
bill would provide FTB administrative
authority to compromise a tax debt
similar to the IRS’s current offers in
compromise authority.

This bill also would eliminate the
tentative minimum tax limitation on
personal exemption credits by allowing
the personal exemption credits to reduce
regular tax below tentative minimum tax.

It would delete obsolete refund provisions
relating to the renter’s credit that are no
longer necessary because the reinstated
renter’s credit is not refundable. This bill
would provide relief to an employee
whose employer withheld delinquent
taxes from the employee’s pay, pursuant
to an earnings withholding order from the
Franchise Tax Board (FTB), but failed to
remit the amounts to FTB.

Tax Credits

Among the measures being considered by
the Legislature are some that would either
create new tax credits or modify existing
ones. They include bills dealing with
these subjects:

Agriculture.

AB 287 (Strickland) would allow a credit
equal to the fair market value at wholesale
of agricultural products donated by a
taxpayer during the taxable or income
year to a nonprofit charitable organization
or food bank.

At-risk youths.

AB 203 (Washington) would establish the
Second Chance Youth Employment Act
of 1999 and would create credits equal to:

One-third of the amount paid or incurred
by a qualified employer as wages to a
qualified at-risk youth during the first

year of employment, and the amount paid
or incurred for the county probation
officer fee, not to exceed $300, for each
qualified at-risk youth.

Child care.

AB 149 (Leach) would create the Family
Choice Child Care Act of 1999. The bill
would allow a credit equal to 30 percent
of the federal credit for household and
dependent care services necessary for
gainful employment or $150 per
qualifying individual.

AB 401 (Strickland) would remove the
January 1, 2003, sunset date for the
Employer Child Care Contribution Credit.
In addition, this bill would allow a credit

(CoNTINUED ON PAGEL4)

Interested in
Proposed Law?

Would you like to know more
about a legislative measure
covered in this issue of

Tax News?

For a copy of any legislative
bill, write the Legislative Bill
Room, Room B-32, State
Capitol, Sacramento, CA
95814. Or call the Bill Room
at (916) 445-2323.

On the Internet, you will find
legislative measures at
www.leginfo.ca.gawvhich is
the Official California
Legislation Information
Web site address.
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Moving?
Take Tax News
With You

If you plan to move you
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Make sure the newslett
continues to reach yd
without delay. Send you
new address and telephg
number to

Tax News

PO Box 520
Rancho Cordova, C
95741-0520

Also include the account

number that is printed abo
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Tax Credits

(CoNTINUED FROM PAGEL3)

equal to the amount paid or incurred for
child care for any child of the taxpayer
who is under 13 years of age. The credit
could not exceed $300 per child per
taxable year.

AB 763 (Bates) which would allow a

50 percent credit for certain costs paid or
incurred during the taxable year for the
adoption of any minor child.

SB 549 (Ortiz) would permit the
Employer Child Care Program Credit to
reduce tax below the tentative minimum
tax for purposes of alternative minimum
tax. The bill also would increase from 30
percent to 70 percent the percentage of
costs eligible for the credit for facilities
serving low-income children. This bill
also would create a new credit for loans
made by a bank or financial corporation
to purchase, construct, expand or
rehabilitate a qualified child care facility.

Corporate headquarters.
AB 490 (Ducheny) would create a new

PROPOSED BILLS

b o=

California public school or vocational
institution for teaching math or science.

The second credit would be equal to 50
percent of the amount paid or incurred
during the taxable or income year for
qualified expenses in connection with
allowing a public school teacher to attend
an employer-sponsored education class.

AB 122 (Kaloogian) would allow a credit
equal to any fees, not to exceed $500 per
taxpayer, paid to a public school in
California for the support of a school-
sponsored activity.

ABX 34 (Kaloogian) would provide a
credit equal to a qualified fee paid by the
taxpayer to a qualified school for a
school-sponsored activity. The credit
could not exceed $500 per taxable or
income year. For a husband and wife
who file separately, the credit would be
equally divided between them.

Enterprise zone.

SB 403 (Kelley) would amend the

existing enterprise zone sales and use tax
credit for the purchase of qualified
property to include agricultural drain
water treatment facilities in the definition
of qualifying water pollution control
mechanisms.

headquarters credit equal to six percent ofExploration.

the eligible costs paid or incurred by a
qualified taxpayer that either locates a

SB 85 (Knight) would establish a credit
equal to 10 percent of wages paid by the

new corporate headquarters in this state otaxpayer to employees performing

maintains or expands an existing
corporate headquarters in this state.

Custodial/Noncustodial parents.

AB 53 (Pacheco) would allow a
noncustodial parent of a child to deduct
from gross income all child support
payments, provided the parent pays all
court-ordered child support by
December 31 of the year for which the
child support is owed.

Education.

AB 49 (House) would establish a credit
equal to $500 for each child of the
taxpayer that attends a California private
school.

AB 81 (Cunneen) would establish two
credits. The first credit would equal 50
percent of the amount paid or incurred
during the taxable or income year for
qualified expenses in connection with
lending a qualified employee to a

May 1999

services related to a resuable launch
vehicle.

Family member care.

AB 408 (Correa) would allow a credit to
a taxpayer who maintains a home for an
immediate elderly family member. The
amount of the credit in any one taxable
year would be limited to $250 for each
taxpayer.

Firearms.

AB 9 (Cardoza) would establish a credit
of $150 each for the purchase of up to
two gun safes during the taxable year.

AB 156 (Strickland) would create a credit
equal to the amount paid or incurred, not
to exceed $75, for the purchase of each
locking device on a firearm. The amount
of the credit allowed in any one taxable
year could not exceed $225.

(ConNTINUED ON PAGELS)
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Tax Credits

(CoNTINUED FROM PAGEL4)
Inventory storage expenses.

AB 462 (Briggs) would establish a six
percent credit similar to the
Manufacturers’ Investment Credit for the
construction, reconstruction or acquisition
of qualified property that is primarily

used for the handling, movement and
storage of inventory in a qualified facility
(warehouse).

Low-income housing.

AB 97 (Torlakson) would provide that the
credit for the costs of constructing or
rehabilitating low-income housing shall
be in effect so long as the federal low-
income housing credit is in effect; and it
would permanently increase the maximum
aggregate housing credit dollar amount
allocated annually by the California Tax
Credit Allocation Committee from $35
million to $50 million for years beginning
in the year 2000 or later.

Manufacturers’ Investment Credit.

AB 473 (Hertzberg) would remove the
January 1, 2001, sunset date and the
related job creation requirement for the
Manufacturers’ Investment Credit. The
MIC would become a permanent credit.

Motion picture and television program
expenses.

AB 358 (Wildman) would allow a credit
equal to 10 percent of the amount paid or
incurred for qualified wages and salaries
to employees and contractors in
connection with the production of a
qualified television program or qualified
motion picture.

AB 484 (Kuehl) would allow taxpayers
engaged in the production, development
or distribution of motion picture and
television production to claim a
refundable credit equal to 6% of specified
production labor contract costs of
qualified property.

PROPOSED BILLS
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Public transit passes.

SB 17 (Figueroa) would reinstate the
credit for employer provided public

transit passes. The credit would equal 40
percent of the cost paid or incurred by an
employer for providing subsidized public
transit passes to an employee.

Research expenses.

AB 68 (Cunneen) would increase from 11
percent to 15 percent the California credit
percentage for qualified research. In
addition, this bill would decrease the
minimum threshold for the taxpayer’s
base amount in computing the research
expenses credit from not less than 50
percent to not less than 35 percent of the
taxpayer’s current year qualified research
expenditures.

AB 465 (Nakano) would increase the
California alternative incremental credit
(research and development credit) by
fully conforming to the federal credit
percentages for the alternative
incremental credit.

SB 495 (Figueroa) would allow a credit
equal to $1,000 for each qualified
employee who is engaged in activities

related to space vehicles and parts and has

been employed by the taxpayer for more
than six months but less than three years
during the taxable or income year.

Seed and venture capital investments.

AB 482 (Davis) would establish the
California Seed Capital and Early Stage
Corporation (the Corporation) to generate
investment in private seed and venture
capital partnerships or entities through a
single designated for-profit investment
fund.

Unemployment insurance /
Employment training.

AB 489 (Ducheny) would create a credit
equal to the costs paid or incurred during
the taxable or income year for
unemployment insurance and employment
training taxes on tips reported by the
taxpayer’'s employees pursuant to the
Unemployment Insurance Code.

(CoNTINUED ON PAGEL6)

Package X
Still
Available

The 1998 Package X is still
available.

There are three versions to
choose from. The bound and
loose-leaf paper versions cost
$12 plus sales tax.

The best value, however, is
the CD-ROM for Windows
version. It costs $19, plus
sales tax and comes with:

e 1998 California
Package X forms;

e 1998 Internal Revenue
Service Package X
forms;

» Several fillable forms;

e California Package X
forms for the four
previous years; and

» Information on electronic
filing (e-file).

If you would like to have a

copy, call the Franchise Tax

Board at (916) 845-7070 and

ask for a Package X order

form.
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Sign up
For
Tax e-News

The Franchise Tax Board h3
an electronic information
service exclusively for tax
practitioners. The service i
called Tax e-Newand it is
designed to provide currer]
news and information

affecting tax professionals.

To sign up for the service
simply send an e-mai
message to

Tax_e-News@ftb.ca.goV
If you have questions abol
the service, call:

(916) 845-7070.
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Tax Deductions

(CoNTINUED FROM PAGELS)

The California Legislature is considering
a variety of tax deduction measures and
proposals on topics ranging from
adoption to Year 2000.

Among the measures that would give
taxpayers additional or expanded
deductions are:

AB 130 (Kaloogian)which would
conform the deduction allowed for
medical insurance for a self-employed
individual to the percentages allowed
under federal law.

AB 579 (Honda)which would allow a
taxpayer to claim a section 179 deduction
for the cost of items placed in service
during 1998 or 1999 for modifying or
purchasing computer software that is year
2000 compliant.

SB 109 (Knight) which would allow as a
deduction an amount equal to the amount
paid or incurred during the taxable year
for private mortgage insurance for the
first five years that the home is owned by
a first-time home buyer.

SB 493 (Figueroa)which would create
and place the California Birth Defects
Research Fund on the individual income
tax return and permit taxpayers to
designate contributions to the fund for
taxable years beginning on or after
January 1, 2000, and before January 1,
2005. A deduction would be allowed for
any contribution made to the fund. For
taxable years beginning in 2000, the fund
would be required to receive
contributions of $250,000 (or the indexed
amount) to remain on the tax return.

May 1999

Economic Areas

There are also measures being considered
by the California Legislature that would
affect economic development areas:

AB 51 (Briggs)would allow the
governing body of a city, county, or city
and county to apply to the Trade and
Commerce Agency to reconfigure the
geographic boundaries of an existing
enterprise zone within its jurisdiction.

AB 356 (Washington)would require the
Trade and Commerce Agency to
designate one city within the Los Angeles
County as a new enterprise zone based on
a ranking of applicant cities. The new
zone would be required to meet specified
criteria related to the city unemployment,
median annual household income, and
population. Businesses operating within
the new zone would receive the same tax
incentives as those received by businesses
operating in existing enterprise zones.

SB 84 (Costawould modify the rules
regarding expansion of enterprise zones.
It would:

e Delete the requirement that the
proposed expansion area meet the
general enterprise zone designation
criteria that currently requires that the
designation application propose
effective, innovative and
comprehensive regulatory, tax,
program and other incentives in
attracting private sector investment in
the enterprise zone.

« Allow expansion into adjacent
unincorporated areas of the county as
well as into an adjacent city or cities.

* Allow expansion into noncommercial
or nonindustrial land if that land is
needed as a right-of-way and is
needed for contiguous expansion.

e Specify that expansion into an
adjacent city or cities, or
unincorporated area of the county,
must be into an area contiguous to
the existing enterprise zone.

(CoNTINUED ON PAGEL7)
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Economic Areas

(CoNTINUED FROM PAGELG)

Under this bill, any businesses located in
or that move to areas in which an
enterprise zone is expanded would be
eligible for the enterprise zone tax
incentives.

SB 511 (Alarcon)would permit an
enterprise zone to also expand into an
adjacent unincorporated area of the
county.

FTB - Sponsored Bills

Among the measures being considered by
the legislature are several Franchise Tax
Board sponsored bills. They include bills
dealing with these subjects:

Appeals.

AB 1636 (Assembly Revenue & Taxation
Committee) would specify that the 90-day
period for filing an action in court begins
on the date the State Board of
Equalization determination becomes final,
clarifying that the taxpayer would have
120 days to file an action.

Corporation elections.

SB 184 (Kelley) would allow a top tier
corporation to elect, on the behalf of all
qualified extractive apportioning trades or
businesses within the commonly
controlled group, whether the members of
its group would apportion using the
single- or double-weighted sales factor.

Credit cards/Interest abatement.

SB 603 (Speier) would allow the
Government Code provisions to control
FTB'’s credit card program by removing
the current Revenue and Taxation Code
references. This bill would require FTB
and any other state agency accepting
credit cards for payment to notify each
eligible payer and to provide the payer
either a space on the billing statement or
complete instructions on how to pay the
agency by credit card.

e -
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This bill would allow FTB to abate

interest for the same period as the Internal
Revenue Service for delays resulting from
an error or delay in the performance of a
ministerial or managerial act by an IRS
officer or employee that occurred on or
before the final federal determination was
made.

Filing status.

AB 1635 (Assembly Revenue & Taxation
Committee) would make the following
changes:

Allow FTB to revise the California return
to reflect the proper filing status (even if
different from federal) when the filing
status used on the taxpayer’s federal
income tax return is determined to be
incorrect.

Allow taxpayers who are not required to
file a federal income tax return to select
any filing status that could have been
claimed on the federal return.

Permit taxpayers who file a joint return

for federal purposes and are allowed to
file either married filing single or joint for
California purposes to change their filing
status to married filing single after the due
date for filing the return has passed.

Limited Liability Corporations.

AB 189 (Ackerman) would clarify the
Franchise Tax Board’s authority to
suspend a disregarded limited liability
corporation by eliminating an erroneous
reference to LLCs classified as a
partnership.

AB 190 (Ackerman) would make the
annual tax of an LLC (whether classified
as a partnership or disregarded) due and
payable on the due date of the LLC
return, rather than by the 15th day of the
fourth month after the beginning of the
taxable year. This change would be
consistent with the annual tax due date for
limited partnerships and limited liability
partnerships.

Multistate tax compact.

AB 753 (Kaloogian) would repeal all
provisions related to the Multistate
Tax Compact.

(CoNTINUED ON PAGEL8)

Request a
Head of
Household
Presentation

Franchise Tax Board
conducts informative
presentations on the head of
household filing status at
locations throughout the state.

The presentations are geared
towards helping practitioners
better understand the head of
household filing status. A
typical presentation includes a
head of household program
overview, an explanation of
the qualification criteria for
using the head of household
filing status and a discussion
about important questions that
practitioners should ask their
clients who file head of
household.

For information on how to get
a head of household
presentation conducted in
your area, contact FTB’s
Head of Household Unit at
(916) 845-6265.



Page 18

Tax Agencies
Offer
Educational
Opportunities

The Franchise Tax Board
along with the State Board of
Equalization, Internal
Revenue Service,
Employment Development
Department and a host o
state, local and federal
organizations, routinely offer
free seminars for businesg
owners and individual
taxpayers.

For information about FTB’s
participation in these events

contact Alvaro Hernandez,
FTB Small Business Tax

Education Coordinator, at
(916) 845-5257.

Also visit the BOE Web site

atwww.boe.ca.gov
and click on “Taxpayer

Education.”

FTB - Sponsored Bills

(CoNTINUED FROM PAGEL7)
Penalties.

AB 296 (Strickland) would amend the
demand penalty when an individual fails
or refuses to make and file a return (and
the failure is not due to reasonable cause),
so that the 25 percent penalty would be
calculated after allowing for credits and
withholding. Thus, a taxpayer who would
have been entitled to a refund would not
owe a penalty.

Tax Brackets.

AB 1140 (Villaraigosa) would increase
the income filing thresholds for taxpayers
eligible to claim the senior exemption
credit or the dependent exemption credit,
eliminating the need for certain taxpayers
to file an income tax return.

Tax credits and/or refunds

AB 463 (Maldonado) would provide that
the statute of limitations for claims for
refunds or credits is the four-year period
that begins on the date the return was
actually filed, if the return was timely

filed by the extended due date. Thus, for
timely filed returns, this bill would
eliminate the difference in the SOL
applicable to proposed deficiency
assessments and overpayments.

Wage Reporting.

AB 1634 (Assembly Revenue & Taxation
Committee) would change the definition
of wages for the purpose of the quarterly
report to include all renumeration
includible in gross income for services
paid by an employer engaged in a trade or
business “to all employees,” while
maintaining the current definition of
wages for withholding purposes to
preserve the current exception to
withholding.

In addition, here are the highlights of
some other FTB-sponsored proposals:

SB 1229 (Senate Revenue & Taxation
Committee) would make the following
changes:

May 1999

¢ Clarify that substandard housing
could be housing that is either
occupied or abandoned.

* Eliminate obsolete language
regarding pending litigation on
intercompany dividends from the
provisions regarding dividends paid
between members of a unitary group.

Specify that for purposes of
determining the correct amount of tax
for water's-edge electors, the
presumption of correctness attaches
to all federal audit determinations
including determinations made by the
audit, appeals and/or Competent
Authority Levels.

SB 1230 (Senate Revenue & Taxation
Committee) would:

¢ Delete language that would require
the payment of estimated tax as a
prerequisite for receiving an
extension of time to file a return.

¢ Delete the separate exempt
organization provision for the
automatic extension of time to file.

* Eliminate the $10 fee for the revivor
of an exempt organization; and

e Permit FTB to require, as a condition
of revivor, an exempt organization to
submit a new exempt application, if
requested by FTB.

Minimum Taxes

Among the measures being considered by
the California Legislature are several that
would either change or eliminate the
minimum franchise tax for some
corporations.

AB 10 (Correa)would provide that for
income years beginning on or after
January 1, 2000, and before

January 1, 2003, a qualified new
corporation would not be subject to the
prepayment of minimum franchise tax to
the Secretary of State. For income years
beginning on or after January 1, 2003, the
prepayment to the SOS for qualified new
corporations would return to $300.

(CoNTINUED ON PAGEL9)
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Minimum Taxes

(CoNTINUED FROM PAGEL8)

AB 19 (Leach)would exempt from the
minimum franchise tax every corporation
that has been incorporated for less than
five years.

SB 40 (Brulte)would eliminate the
minimum franchise tax and the related
prepayment of the minimum franchise tax
to the Secretary of State.

Miscellaneous

In addition, here are the highlights of
some miscellaneous measures being
considered:

Education.

AB 2 (Alquist) would expand the current
gross income exclusion for amounts paid

PROPOSED BILLS #

or incurred by the employer for
“educational assistance” to include
graduate level courses beginning after
June 30, 1999 and before July 1, 2007.

Payment methods.

AB 41 (Wesson) would allow a taxpayer
to make a payment of taxes with a
“deposit in the nature of a cash bond” to
stop the running of interest and still
preserve the taxpayer’s right to file a
subsequent claim for refund.

Disasters.
AB 114 (Florez) would allow special

disaster treatment of losses sustained as|a

result of a freeze or any related casualty
that occurred during the winter of
1998-99 in any county of California that
was declared a disaster.

Voter Registration.

SB 86 (Murray) would require the
Secretary of State to provide voter
registration information to the FTB for
inclusion in the income tax instructions
pamphlet.

Tax Form Corrections

(CONTINUED FROM PAGE3)

Schedule CA (540NR), California
Adjustments - Nonresidents or Part-
Year Residents, Instructions, for
Column E, line 7, Wages, Salaries,
Tips, Etc. reads:

"Enter all wages, salaries, tips and other
compensation you earned while you were
a California resident. And, if you
performed work in California while you
were a nonresident, include the portion of
wages or other compensation earned in
California.Include moving expense
reimbursement for moves into California
Airline employees and Interstate Rail and
Motor Carrier employees, get FTB Pub.
1031, for more information."

Delete this sentencinclude moving
expense reimbursement for moves into
California.”

The Internet version is correct. Package
X, paper and CD-ROM (release 98.1 and
98.2), Form 540NR Booklet and single

copy are incorrect.

Schedule K-1 (541), Beneficiary’s

Share of Income, Deductions, Credit,
etc. Beneficiary’s instructions, line 10a
reads: “Report any amount in column (c).
Then enter the adjustment on Schedule
CA (540 or 540NR), line 37,
as...appropriate.”

It should read: “Report any adjustment or
line 10a, column(c). Then enter the
adjustment on Schedule CA (540 or
540NR), line 38, as...appropriate.”

The Internet version is correct. Package
X, paper and CD-ROM (release 98.1 and
98.2), Form 541 Booklet and single copy
are incorrect.

Schedule P (541), Alternative
Minimum Tax and Credit Limitations—
Fiduciaries, Instructions, Credit Table

Delete the Credit Code 170, Joint
Custody Head of Household; and Credit
Code 163, Senior Head of Household
from the Credit Table.

Note: The instructions were revised
because a trust cannot meet the definitiovr

(CoNTINUED ON PAGE20)

You Can Get
There from
FTB's Web Site

You are browsing the
Franchise Tax Board’'s Web
site. You discover that you
need information from
another tax agency. Do you
start your Internet surfing all
over again?

No. From FTB’s Web site
you can link to the home
pages of the Internal Revenue
Service, the State Board of
Equalization, the
Employment Development
Department, the Controller
and the Secretary of State.
You also can reach the
California Home Page from
the FTB site.

The FTB Web Site Address is
www.ftb.ca.gov.
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State Also
Shrinks

2nd Year
Minimum Tax

Tax Form
Corrections
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(CoNTINUED FROM PAGEL2) 4 It cannot be a limited partnership,

(c) Not begin business operations as a limited liability company, limited
single proprietorship, partnership or liability partnership, charitable
other business entity prior to organization, RIC, REIT, REMIC,
incorporation. FASIT, qualified Subchapter

2 It must have incorporated on or after S subsidiary or any other subsidiary
January 1, 1999, corporation.

3 It cannot be a corporation that For additional information regarding the

; duced prepaid minimum tax refer to
reorganized solely for the purpose of € .
reducing the minimum franchise tax; ~ R€venue and Taxation Code (R&TC)

and Section 23221.

(CoNTINUED FROM PAGEL9) General Information, 4th paragraph reads:
of qualified taxpayer under these credits, “No addition to tax...increased by the

nor can these credits be carried over (they provisions of Assembly Bill 2797

would be applicable only up to the date of ¢ (Ch. 98-322).”

taxpayer's death). It should read: “No addition to

The Internet version is correct. Package X tax...increased by the provisions of Senate
paper and CD-ROM (release 98.1 and 98.Z Bill 519 (Ch. 7, Stats. 1998) or Assembly
and single copy are incorrect. Bill 2797 (Ch. 322, Stats. 1998).”

FTB 5806, Underpayment of Estimated The Internet version is correct. Package X,
Tax by Corporations, Instructions, Page 1, paper and CD-ROM (release 98.1 and 98.2)
and single copy version are incorrect.
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