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After the Tax Preparer Program:
Business as Usual Inside ...
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Cartloads of tax returns from 1995 fill the foreground in this overhead
photograph of the Franchise Tax Board’s central office.  The sampling of returns

is used for revenue analysis and to identify economic trends.

Spotting the Trends

When the new California Tax Education
Council debuts on July 1, 1997, what's in
store for tax preparers?  The answer is:
Business as usual, for the most part.

When the Department of Consumer Affairs
shuts down its Tax Preparer Program at the
end of June and the California Tax Education
Council takes over (see "Tax Preparer
Program to Shut Down" in the November

1996 Tax News), tax preparers may not notice
the change-over.

Still in effect are the requirements that tax
preparers complete 60 hours of tax instruction
from an approved provider their first year and
20 hours a year thereafter, be at least 18 years
of age and maintain a $5,000 surety bond.

CONTINUED ON PAGE 2



Currently, nine organizations are
represented on the California Tax
Education Council.  They are:

• California Society of
Accounting and Tax
Professionals.

• California Society of Enrolled
Agents.

• East Bay Association of
Enrolled Agents, Inc.

• H&R Block, Inc.

• Inland Society of Tax
Consultants, Inc.

• Jackson Hewitt Tax Service.

• Mission Society of Enrolled
Agents.

• National Association of
Enrolled Agents.

• National Association of Tax
Practitioners.�

Members of the
California Tax

Education Council
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In terms of the educational requirement,
tax preparers currently registered with the
Tax Preparer Program have met the 60-
hour course requirement and need only
verify their Tax Preparer Program
registration with the California Tax
Education Council and complete the
annual 20-hour continuing education
requirement as they would have under
Tax Preparer Program rules.

Instead of completing the training,
obtaining a bond and then applying for
registration with the Tax Preparer
Program, individuals under the new
program will complete the appropriate
training, apply to the California Tax
Education Council and receive
certification of successful completion.
They will use that certification when they
apply for a bond.  Once the bond is
received, the individual can prepare
returns in California.

Another change affects tax preparers who
fail to perform their duties and are found
guilty in court.  Prevailing plaintiffs are
entitled to reasonable attorney fees and
costs, and tax preparers are subject to a
$1,000 civil penalty.

The only new conditions concerning the
bond requirement are that tax preparers:

• May not conduct business without a
current bond.

• Must amend the bond within 30 days
if any changes occur in their status.

• Must let customers know in writing
that they maintain the bond and what
the bond's number is.  The written
notice about the bond can be handed
to customers or posted on the tax
preparer's office wall.

The California Tax Education Council is
made up of one representative from each
qualifying professional society,
association or other entity operating as a
California nonprofit corporation and from
each qualifying for-profit tax preparation
corporation.  So far, nine organizations
are represented on the council (see box on
this page).

After the Tax Preparer Program:
Business as Usual

CONTINUED FROM PAGE 1

Watch future issues of Tax News for
more information on the California Tax
Education Council and where to reach the
council if you have questions.  In the
meantime, until July 1, 1997, the
Department of Consumer Affairs' Tax
Preparer Program will continue with its
regular duties, which include handling tax
preparer registrations and renewals, tax
school approvals and taxpayer
complaints.  The Tax Preparer Program
can be reached at  (800) 952-5210.

(The Franchise Tax Board is not
associated with either the current Tax
Preparer Program or the upcoming
program administered by the California
Tax Education Council.)�
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Pointers for Partnership Returns
changed since the partnership filed its
last Form 565, check the box that has
been added to the 1996 form for that
purpose.  If the name has not been
changed legally but the partnership is
doing business under a different
name, enter the legal name on the
"Partnership name" line and the name
that the business uses in the "DBA"
line.

• All limited partnerships that are
registered in California must enter on
line "H" their 10-digit Secretary of
State file number.

• The number of Schedule K-1s
attached to Form 565 must be the
same as the number you enter on  line
"J."

• The information on the Schedule
K-1s must reconcile with the return
summary Schedule K (565).�

The Franchise Tax Board has two new
publications to help partnerships file their
Schedule K-1s (565) in efficient,
paperless ways.

The free publications assist partnerships
in filing on magnetic media and by an
electronic data interchange (EDI).  EDI is
the computer-to-computer transfer of
business information using standard
national formats.  Both filing methods
alleviate the expenses associated with
processing paper.

The new publications are:

"Guide for K-1 (565), Filing by
Diskette or Magnetic Media," FTB
Publication 1062.  This guide includes
the information needed to file California's
Schedule K-1 (565) on magnetic media.
It covers:

• Reporting requirements for
partnerships planning to send
California Schedule K-1s on
magnetic media.

• Acceptable media formats.

• File specifications and filing
procedures such as format reporting,
test files, shipping instructions, the

CONTINUED FROM PAGE 1

Advances in the Franchise Tax Board's
processing capabilities mean that
partnership returns are checked more
thoroughly than before for accuracy and
completeness.

To make sure that your partnership
clients' returns are not delayed in
processing, be sure to fill out Form 565,
"Partnership Return of Income,"
accurately.  So far, errors identified
during processing show that tax
professionals should pay close attention to
these five points:

• The partnership's federal employer
identification number (FEIN) must be
valid.  FEINs are issued, one to a
customer, by the Internal Revenue
Service.  Be sure that you enter on
line "D" the correct number exactly
as the IRS assigned it.

• The partnership's exact legal name is
required.  If the legal name has

Form 565, "Partnership Return of
Income," and payments.

• General record and K-1 record layout
information.

• Information on penalties that may be
assessed when a  Form 565 is filed
incorrectly.

• Numbers to call for more information
or assistance.

"Guide for K-1 (565), Filing by EDI
(Electronic Data Interchange)," FTB
Publication 1062A.  This manual tells
partnership taxpayers how to implement
EDI for filing California's Schedule K-1
returns.  It provides, among other things,
general EDI information, transmission
process guidelines, communications
requirements and tips on resolving
problems.

Publication 1062 will be available this
month, and Publication 1062A will be
available in April.  As soon as they are
published, you can download them from
FTB’s http://www.ftb.ca.gov Internet
address.  Or contact the Tax Practitioner
Support Unit by calling (916) 858-0571or
faxing (916) 845-6377.  You also may
write Tax Forms Request, P.O. Box 307,
Rancho Cordova, CA 95741-0307.�

New Publications Aid Schedule K-1 Filers



Whether they deduct their loss on an
original or an amended return, taxpayers
must:

• Complete federal Form 4684,
"Casualties and Thefts," using
California amounts on the federal
form, and attach it and any other
supporting schedules to their return.

• Complete Form 4684, Section B,
using California amounts, to figure
the disaster loss for property that is
trade or business, income-producing
or rent or royalty property.

• Determine whether losses need to be
reported on Schedule D-1, "Sales of
Business Property," form FTB
3805V, "Net Operating Loss (NOL)
Computation and NOL and Disaster
Loss Limitation — Individuals,
Estates and Trusts," or form FTB
3805Q, "Net Operating Loss (NOL)
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By press time, the President had
designated 48 California counties as
disaster areas as a result of the storms and
floods that occurred or began on
December 28, 1996.

The designation allows storm and flood
victims in the 48 counties (see page 5) to
deduct their disaster losses on tax returns
for either the year of the disaster or the
previous year (see box below).

At press time, legislation had been
proposed in California to allow amended
returns to be filed by extended due dates.
The Legislature also is considering a
measure that would allow taxpayers in the
disaster areas to carry over 100 percent of
any excess disaster loss to future taxable
years.

To amend a return, taxpayers must file a
Form 540X, "Amended Individual
Income Tax Return," or a Form 100X,
"Amended Corporation Franchise or
Income Tax Return."

What constitutes a
disaster loss?

A disaster loss is a casualty
loss that is sustained as a

result of a disaster and that is
not reimbursed by insurance

or otherwise.�

President Designates Disaster Areas

CONTINUED ON PAGE 5

What Is a
Disaster Loss?

For personal income tax returns

Year of loss: When to claim the loss:

When to Claim Storm and Flood Losses

1996 1995 return 1996 return 1997 return
On amended 1995 On original 1996 return n/a
return due April 15, due October 15, 1997.
1997. (Legislation
could extend this
date to October 15,
1997.)

1997 n/a On original 1996 On original 1997
return due October 15, return due
1997, or, if the return October 15, 
is already filed, on 1998.
amended 1996 return
due April 15, 1998.

For corporate income tax returns
Follow the chart above, substituting "the 15th day of the third month after the close of the
1996 (or 1997) income year" for April 15, 1997, and April 15, 1998, respectively.
Substitute "the 15th day of the tenth month after the close of the 1996 (or 1997) income
year" for October 15, 1997, and October 15, 1998, respectively.
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• Taxpayer Services Center
and Tax Practitioner
Support Unit telephone
service is available from
7:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m.
through April 15.

• Notices of Proposed
Assessment mailed to
individuals who failed to
file 1995 returns.

• Package X CD-ROM
update mailed.

20 Previous month
withholding at source
payments due if total
withholding exceeded
$2,500.

April
 5 Taxpayer Services Center

and Tax Practitioner
Support Unit telephone
service is available this
Saturday.

12 Same as above.
15 First 1997 personal

income tax estimate
payments due.

15 Personal income tax
returns due.

16 Taxpayer Services Center
and Tax Practitioner
Support Unit telephone
service resumes normal
business hours of 8:00
a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

20 See March 20.
26 Small Business Fair,

Hayward.

May
15 Homeowner/Renter

Assistance filing season
begins.

20 See March 20.

June
17 Personal income tax

estimate payments due.
20 See March 20.�

President Designates
Disaster Areas

Computation and NOL and Disaster
Loss Limitations — Corporations."

• Attach to the return a statement that
lists the disaster date and the city and
county in which it occurred.

• Print "Disaster Floods '96/'97" in red
ink at the top of Side 1 of the return.
This will speed up the refund
process.

For more information, see the free FTB
Publication 1026N, "California Disaster
Relief Tax Provisions."  If you have
Internet access, you may download, view
and print the publication.  It is available at
FTB's http://www.ftb.ca.gov address.

You also may obtain a copy from FTB's
Tax Practitioner Support Unit by calling
(916) 858-0571 or faxing (916) 845-
6377.  Or write Tax Forms Request,
Franchise Tax Board, P.O. Box 307,
Rancho Cordova, CA 95741-0307.�

CONTINUED FROM PAGE 4

Forty-eight Counties
Named Disaster Areas
At press time, the 48 counties
designated disaster areas by the
President as a result of the 1996-97
storms and floods are:  Alameda,
Alpine, Amador, Butte, Calaveras,
Colusa, Contra Costa, Del Norte,
El Dorado, Fresno, Glenn, Humboldt,
Kings, Lake, Lassen, Madera, Marin,
Mariposa, Mendocino, Merced,
Modoc, Mono, Monterey, Napa,
Nevada, Placer, Plumas, Sacramento,
San Benito, San Francisco, San
Joaquin, San Luis Obispo, San Mateo,
Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Shasta,
Sierra, Siskiyou, Solano, Sonoma,
Stanislaus, Sutter, Tehama, Trinity,
Tuolumne, Tulare, Yolo and Yuba.

Victims who incur losses in disaster
areas designated by the President
qualify to claim the losses on prior
year tax returns (see article on
page 4). �

During the December and January storms
and floods in California, victims received
many things, including donations of food,
clothing and shelter.  One thing they did
not receive in the immediate aftermath of
the storms and floods was a request from
the Franchise Tax Board to file a
delinquent tax return.

On an ongoing basis, FTB issues letters
requesting either a delinquent tax return
or substantiation that the individuals
contacted had no requirement to file.

FTB computers that would have produced
letters to 85,000 people, including many
who were in designated disaster areas,
were reprogrammed to delay the notices.
Another 5,000 letters already produced
were retrieved from the FTB mail room
for distribution at a later date.

In addition, a number of Notices of
Proposed Assessment were delayed.�

Notices to
Disaster Victims

Delayed
Your clients who need to replace tax
returns that were lost or destroyed during
the December storms and January floods
in Northern California can obtain them
from the Franchise Tax Board at no cost.

Clients seeking replacement tax returns
should write to RID Unit, Franchise Tax
Board, P.O. Box 942840, Sacramento,
CA 94249-0060.  Or they can complete
form FTB 3516, "Request for Copy of
Tax Return."

Form FTB 3516 is available in the 1996
Package X.  If you have Internet access,
you can view, download and print the
form from FTB's http://www.ftb.ca.gov
address.  Or you can write Tax Forms
Request, P.O. Box 307, Rancho Cordova,
CA 95741-0307.

Storm and flood victims will not be
charged for copies of their tax returns if
"Disaster Floods '96/'97" is printed at the
top of the letter or form.  For other
taxpayers, the charge for a copy of a tax
return is $10.�

Need to Replace
Tax Return

Lost in Flood?



Internal Revenue Service, Private
Industry Council, San Mateo County
Assessor's Office, Small Business
Administration, State Compensation
Insurance Fund and U.S. Postal
Service.�
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Phone for Small
Business Fair

Information
For more information on the

Small Business Fair in
Hayward, contact the State

Board of Equalization at one
of three locations.

Call (415) 396-9800 in San
Francisco, (510) 286-0347 in

the East Bay and
(408) 277-1231 in the South

Bay.�

Small Business Fair Offers
One-Stop Shopping

Tax Talk
Expands into
Video Series

A Small Business Fair in Hayward can be
a valuable one-stop source of information
for people who own or want to own small
firms.

In one day, at one place, your San
Francisco Bay Area clients can learn how
to start a new business, write a business
plan, avoid penalties and determine
whether they are considered employers.
They also will find out when to pay sales
taxes and which tax and other forms they
must file.

The Hayward Small Business Fair is
scheduled for April 26 from 8:30 a.m. to
3:00 p.m.  The event will be held in the
University Union Building, 25800 Carlos
Bee Boulevard, California State
University, Hayward.

One of the fair's highlights is a series of
10 seminars and workshops covering such
topics as business taxes, employees and
independent contractors, employment
eligibility, forms of business ownership,
insurance issues, sales and use tax
exemptions, success stories and what
nonprofits can offer small business
owners.

In addition, people attending the Small
Business Fair can pick up free
information in an exhibit area and meet
with representatives of government
agencies and nonprofit organizations.

Participants include the Alameda County
Assessor's Office, Bay Area Entrepreneur
Association, Board of Equalization,
California Chamber of Commerce,
Community and Economic Services of the
City of Hayward, Consumer Credit
Counseling Service, Department of Trade
and Commerce, Division of Labor
Standards Enforcement, East Bay Small
Business Development Center,
Employment Development Department,
Federal Trade Commission, Franchise
Tax Board, Hayward Chamber of
Commerce, Hayward Public Library,
Immigration & Naturalization Service,

The producers of Tax Talk, the annual
seminar telecast live to 20-plus locations
in California, Nevada and Oregon, will
introduce a video series in 1997.

The videos, which will update material
covered at Tax Talk seminars in the past,
will be packaged with exercises and a
test.  Individuals who successfully
complete the test will be entitled to three
continuing education credits.  Each video
will cover one topic.

The videos are the third variation on the
Tax Talk theme, joining the annual
seminar and a home study course based
on each seminar.

Watch upcoming issues of Tax News for
information on when the Tax Talk videos
will be available for purchase.

Tax Talk is a program of the Center for
Tax Education presented by the Franchise
Tax Board, Employment Development
Department, Internal Revenue Service,
State Board of Education and the School
of Business Administration, California
State University, Sacramento.�
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Do you want more
information on one of the
legislative measures covered
in the article on this page?  If
so, you can obtain a copy of
any bill from:

Legislative Bill Room
Room B-32
State Capitol
Sacramento, CA 95814
(916) 445-2323.�

Legislation to Watch
Capital gain exclusion.  AB 9
(Campbell) would exclude from gross
income 100 percent of any gain from the
sale or exchange of a "California capital
asset," which would be defined as
tangible property located in this state or
an ownership interest in a California-
based company.  The bill would apply to
taxable and income years beginning on or
after January 1, 1997.

Capital losses.  SB 100 (Lewis) would
allow a deduction for any loss from the
sale or exchange of a taxpayer's principal
residence.  The residence would have to
be located in California and used by the
taxpayer for 24 consecutive months
before the sale or exchange.  The loss
deduction would be limited to $250,000,
but the allowable deduction in any one tax
year would be subject to the capital loss
rules under the Internal Revenue Code.
As a result, the loss would be allowed to
the extent of capital gains plus $3,000.
Any remaining loss would be carried over
to succeeding years until it was
exhausted.  The bill would apply to
contracts for sales or exchanges entered
into on or after July 1, 1997.  It would not
apply to any individual who fails to file an
income tax return for the year of the loss.

Disaster losses.  AB 1X (Cardoza, et al.),
AB 94 (Cardoza) and AB 4X and AB 91
(Bowler) would add to existing disaster
relief provisions of the Personal Income
Tax Law and the Bank and Corporation
Tax Law losses due to storms or flooding
that occurred in 1996 or 1997 in any
county declared a disaster area.  As a
result, if a loss exceeds income for the
year it is claimed, the taxpayer would be
able to carry forward for five years 100
percent of the excess. The taxpayer also
would be able to carry forward for the
next 10 years 50 percent of any disaster
loss remaining after the five-year period.

SB 1X (Leslie) is a similar bill but, unlike
the above measures, covers storms or
flooding occurring only in December
1996 or January 1997, not throughout
both years.

Earned income credit.  SB 43 (Solis)
would create a tax credit of an
unspecified percentage based on the
federal earned income credit.  The

California legislators are considering
measures on the following topics of
interest to tax professionals:

Age 65 exemption credit.  SB 140
(McPherson) would temporarily suspend
the annual inflation adjustment to the
exemption credit for an individual 65
years of age or older.  The adjustment
would be suspended for taxable years
beginning on or after January 1, 1997,
and ending before January 1, 2002.  The
resulting revenue savings would be
transferred to the California Seniors
Special Fund.  The bill also would extend
the operative date of the California Fund
for Senior Citizens, a designated
voluntary contribution on the individual
tax return, until January 1, 2002.

Agriculture credit.  SB 38 (Johannessen)
would create a tax credit equal to 6
percent of the cost paid for specified
tangible personal property and capitalized
labor costs used by taxpayers involved in
agricultural operations.

This credit is modeled after the
Manufacturers' Investment Credit and
contains many similar provisions and
definitions.  Some of the similar
provisions deal with binding contracts and
leased property; others allow small
businesses a longer carryover period and
require recapture of the credit if the
property is removed from the state or no
longer used for agricultural purposes.

The credit would be allowed for taxable
and income years beginning on or after
January 1, 1998, and would cease on
January 1, 2005.  However, the credit
could first be claimed on 1999 income tax
returns.

Business registrations.  AB 61 (Strom-
Martin) would require the Secretary of
State to adopt by July 1, 1998, regulations
to allow businesses to register at a single
location for all state and local agencies.
The businesses would receive a statewide
fictitious business name that would be
accepted by all agencies and an account
number that would be used by the
Secretary of State, the Board of
Equalization and the Employment
Development Department.  The bill also
would require access to the registry either
through a toll-free telephone number or
electronically.

CONTINUED ON PAGE 8



January 1, 2001, for taxpayers who file
under the Personal Income Tax Law.
This bill does not extend the sunset date
for the LARZ.

AB 82 (Villaraigosa) would extend the
sunset of the LARZ sales or use tax credit
from taxable or income years beginning
before January 1, 1998, to taxable or
income years beginning before January 1,
2003, for taxpayers who file under either
the Personal Income Tax Law or the Bank
and Corporation Tax Law.  This bill also
would extend the operation of the LARZ
Act under the Government Code by
extending the repeal date of the
applicable chapter from December 1,
1998, to December 1, 2003.

Legislation analysis.  SB 58 (Ayala)
would require every state agency to
analyze any legislative measure that might
significantly affect it.  The agencies
would be required to deliver their
analyses to the bill's author and
appropriate policy committee no later
than seven calendar days before the bill's
first hearing.

Low income credit.  SB 83 (McPherson)
would create a tax credit, ranging in
amount from 20 to 100 percent of net tax,
for low-income individuals.  The credit
would be based on both the individual's
adjusted gross income and filing status.
The credit would be allowed against "net
tax" after all other credits have been
claimed.  The adjusted gross income
amounts used to determine the applicable
credit percentage would be adjusted
annually for inflation.  The credit could
not be claimed by trusts, estates or
taxpayers who pay alternative minimum
tax. The credit would be available for
taxable years beginning on or after
January 1, 1997, and before January 1,
2001.

Minimum franchise tax.  Two measures
address the minimum franchise tax.
AB 8 (Brewer and Leach) would
eliminate the minimum franchise tax for
the first five income years of operation for
any bank or corporation that forms on or
after January 1, 1997, and that does not
have positive net income.  The bill would
not apply to specified entities, such as
limited partnerships and limited liability

Page 8
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Franchise Tax Board would be required
to provide training and information to
employers so that employees who are
eligible for the credit may adjust their
withholding allowances to reflect the
credit.  The credit would be allowed for
taxable years beginning on or after
January 1, 1997, and could be carried
over indefinitely.  AB 83 (Villaraigosa)
contains similar provisions.

Education trust.  AB 13 (Firestone)
would create the California Postsecondary
Educational Scholarshare Trust.
Participants would be allowed to invest
money in the trust for the benefit of a
specific beneficiary who may be
designated from the date of birth through
age 14.  Payments from the trust would
begin the first full academic semester
after the beneficiary's 17th birthday.  The
trust, income from its operations and
interest earned on money paid by a
participant would be exempt from state
taxation.  The bill would become
operative on January 1, 1998.

Employers' school facility credit.
AB 56 (Mazzoni) would create a tax
credit equal to 30 percent of the
taxpayer's expenses paid or incurred
during the taxable or income year for
establishing a school facility to be used by
the children of the taxpayer's employees,
children of the taxpayer's tenants'
employees or children in the same district.
The credit amount would be limited to
$50,000 for any taxable year, and any
excess could be carried over.  The credit
would apply to taxable or income years
beginning on or after January 1, 1997,
and before January 1, 2007.

LAMBRAs.   AB 3 (Baca) would direct
the Trade and Commerce Agency to allow
an additional six months for the
competition period for designating Local
Agency Military Base Recovery Areas
(LAMBRAs).

LARZ.  Two bills are of interest to
companies operating in the Los Angeles
Revitalization Zone (LARZ).  AB 69
(Washington) would extend the sunset of
the LARZ sales or use tax credit from
taxable years beginning before January 1,
1998, to taxable years beginning before

Appeal of AeroVironment,
Inc., November 15, 1996

(Opinion adopted
January 10, 1997).

According to the terms of
former Revenue and Taxation

Section 23601, the solar
energy credit could be

claimed only by the entity that
was the "owner" of the

property upon which the
qualifying energy-saving

device has been constructed.
Thus, the solar energy credit

could not be claimed at the
unitary group level.�

Legislation to Watch
CONTINUED FROM PAGE 7

CONTINUED ON PAGE 9

SBE Opinions



Assessments
Proposed for
120,000

Page 9

The Franchise Tax Board is
sending Notices of Proposed
Assessment this month to
120,000 individuals for
failing to file 1995 tax
returns.

Previously, these individuals
received a letter from FTB
stating that information from
various sources indicated that
they are required to file a tax
return. Because they did not
respond by either filing a
return or showing why they
are not required to do so,
assessments are now
proposed.

The proposed assessments
include not only tax due,
based on available
information, but penalties,
interest and a fee to cover the
cost of enforcing the filing
requirement.�

Legislation to Watch

qualified cost of replacing a nonfire
retardant roof on a residential dwelling in
California with a fire retardant one.  The
qualified cost would be the excess cost,
including materials and labor, of the fire
retardant roof over the nonfire retardant
roof.

S corporations.  SB 5 (Lockyer) would
substantially conform California law to
the changes made to federal S corporation
tax law by the Small Business Job
Protection Act of 1996.  It generally
would conform to 16 federal items
including increasing from 35 to 75 the
maximum number of shareholders an S
corporation can have, allowing trusts and
certain financials to be S corporation
shareholders and allowing S corporations
to hold subsidiaries.

The bill would raise the current state S
corportion tax of 1.5 percent.  The tax
rate would be changed for income years
beginning on or after January 1 for each
of the following years:  1997, 1.6 percent;
1998, 1.65 percent; 1999, 1.7 percent;
2000 and thereafter, 1.6 percent.

In addition, the bill has one transitional
provision for electing S corporations that
allows estimate tax payments made while
a C corporation to be transferred to the
individual shareholders' tax accounts.
The transitional provision would be
effective only for S corporation elections
made for income years beginning in 1997.

Small business expensing.  Under the
Personal Income Tax Law, AB 41
(Murray) would conform state laws
regarding small business expensing to
current federal law, increasing the amount
of tangible property a small business may
elect to treat as a expense in the year
acquired from $12,500 to $18,000 in
1997, from $15,000 to $18,000 in 1998,
to $19,000 in 1999, to $20,000 in 2000,
to $24,000 in 2001 and 2002 and to
$25,000 in 2003.

Solar energy credit.  Under the Personal
Income Tax Law and the Bank and
Corporation Tax Law, SB 116 (Peace)
would create a tax credit for solar energy
devices installed on premises that the

companies, or to any bank or corporation
that reorganizes solely for the purpose of
reducing its minimum franchise tax.  The
bill also would specify that the existing
exclusion from the minimum franchise tax
for certain domestic banks or domestic
corporations that have filed a certificate
of dissolution applies only to those
entities with gross receipts of $10 million
or less.

AB 27 (Strom-Martin) would reduce the
initial minimum franchise tax from $600
to $300 for qualified new corporations as
defined by existing law.  However, if the
corporation's gross receipts exceed
$1 million or its measured tax exceeds
$800, the corporation would be liable for
an additional tax of $500 on the due date
of its franchise tax return.  This bill would
apply to income years beginning on or
after January 1, 1998.

Open meetings/teleconferences.  SB 95
(Ayala) would make several changes to
the Bagley-Keene Open Meeting Act.
The changes include, but are not limited
to, requiring a state body such as the
Franchise Tax Board to list, with a brief
general description on an open meeting
agenda, all items for discussion in a
closed meeting and to report orally or in
writing in open session any action taken
in closed session.  The bill also would
extend from January 1, 1998, to
January 1, 2001, the sunset date of the
existing law that allows state agencies to
teleconference.  And it would limit a state
entity's teleconferencing discussions to
public comment or testimony and to the
entity's deliberations.

Residential roof credit.  AB 77
(Morrow) would create, under the
Personal Income Tax Law and the Bank
and Corporation Tax Law, a tax credit
equal to an unspecified percentage of the
costs for replacing a residential wood
shake roof with a new roof of fire-
resistant materials.  The credit amount
caps at $5,000.  The credit would be
allowed for taxable or income years
beginning on or after January 1, 1997,
and may be carried over until it is
exhausted.

A second bill, AB 109 (Kaloogian),
would provide a tax deduction for the
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The Franchise Tax Board has revised five
1996 tax forms.

If you are using any of the following
forms, be sure to make the necessary
revisions on the forms:

Form 100, "California Corporation
Franchise or Income Tax Return."

Side 3, Schedule H, column (j) reads:
"Allowable...(Side 1, line 11)."  It
should read:  "Allowable...(Side 1, line                                        
10     ).
Side 3, Schedule H, "Total" line reads:
"Total. Add columns (f), (h) and (j).
Enter here..."  It should read:  "Total.           
Enter here...."                         

Form 540NR, "California Nonresident
or Part-Year Resident Income Tax
Return."

Instructions, Page 2, "What's New for
1996," should read: "PENSION                    
INCOME OF RETIREES WHO                                                        
MOVE TO ANOTHER STATE.                                                        
California incorporated the federal                                                            
preemption regarding the taxation of                                                               
nonresident pension income (Public                                                             
Law 104-95).  Payments based on                                                         
California service and received by                                                          
nonresidents on or after January 1,                                                            
1996, are not taxable to California.  If                                                                 
California state income tax was                                                      
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Do you like keeping a step ahead of the
competition?  If so, offer your clients the
option of filing their California tax returns
electronically.

Electronic filing can be a better way to do
business for you and your clients because
it provides fast refunds and is completely
paperless.  And you can be confident that
FTB receives your clients' returns because
you will receive an acknowledgment right
away.

This year, you can file 540, 540A and
540EZ returns electronically whether your
clients will receive a refund, have a
balance due or have no balance due.  FTB
will accept electronically filed returns
through October 15, 1997.

If you have questions about the electronic
filing program or would like to apply to
file electronically, call FTB's Electronic
Filing Help Desk at (916) 845-0353 or
fax (916) 845-5340.  Staff is available to
help you on weekdays from 8:00 a.m. to
5:00 p.m.�

When a tax return goes over
the wire, any balance due

payments must go in the mail.

Remind your clients that
filing tax returns

electronically is not the end of
the process when they have a

tax liability.  The tax they
owe must be paid in full by
April 15, 1997, in order to

avoid penalties, interest
charges and correspondence

from the Franchise Tax
Board.

Clients should send their
payments with form FTB

3582, "Payment Voucher for
Electronically Transmitted

Returns." �

Electronic Filing:
Good for
BusinessRemind

Electronic Filers
to Pay

Balance Due

CONTINUED ON PAGE 11

Make Revisions
to 1996 Forms

If you plan to file any clients'
California returns electronically this
year, here are the dates to
remember:

• April 15 - Last day to pay on
time for a balance due return.

• April 30 - Last day that the
Franchise Tax Board accepts
test transmissions.

• October 15 - Last day to file
an electronic return.

• October 18 - Last day to
retransmit a rejected return.�

1997 Electronic
Filing Calendar

Increased numbers of taxpayers are using
California's electronic filing system.

As of February 17, 1997, 145,302 people
had filed their tax returns electronically.
On the same date last year, 104,324 had
filed electronically.

Close to 84,000 of the electronically filed
returns were Forms 540A.  Almost 45,000
were Forms 540, and nearly 17,000 were
Forms 540EZ.  Additional Form 540EZ
taxpayers filed their returns this year by
telephone (see "TeleFilers Ring in the
New Year" on page 14).�

Electronic Filing
Is on the Rise



Do you need a Package X?

To order either a bound or loose-leaf
paper version or a CD-ROM version of
the California Package X, call (916) 845-
7070 for an order form.  When you
receive the order form, send it with a
check or money order to the address on
the form.  Paper Package Xs are $12; the
CD-ROM, which includes 1996, 1995
and 1994 California tax forms and 1996
Internal Revenue Service Package X
forms, is $19.

If you need California tax forms in a
hurry, you can find them on the Internet.
To download the forms, go to
the Franchise Tax Board's
http://www.ftb.ca.gov address.  In
addition, some libraries and quick-print
shops stock the California Package X so
that you can photocopy the forms you
need.�

Quick Collect
Payment Fee
Increases

Page 11

The cost of making a same-
day payment of an
outstanding California tax
liability by Western Union is
now one dollar more.

The flat fee for Western
Union's Quick Collect
program increased from
$10.50 to $11.50 on
January 1, 1997.  With Quick
Collect, taxpayers can
immediately transfer money
to the Franchise Tax Board to
pay a tax obligation.

The $11.50 fee covers one
Quick Collect payment of
$5,000 or less.  Any amount
more than $5,000 requires a
second money transfer with
an additional $11.50 fee.

Quick Collect was introduced
as a tax payment option
through a pilot program in
1992.  The next year, it
became an ongoing
program.�

Where to Get a
Package X

Package X:
CD-ROM Orders

Increase

withheld from your payments, file                                                          
Form 540NR for a refund."                                               

Form 568, "Limited Liability Return of
Income."

Instructions, Page 4, "When and Where
to File," reads:  "Mail Form 568 to:..."
It should read:  "Mail Form 568 With                                      
Payment to:...and Mail Form 568                                                         
Without Payment to:                                    
FRANCHISE TAX BOARD
PO BOX 942857
Sacramento CA 94257-0600."

FTB 3510, "Credit for Prior Year
Alternative Minimum Tax - Individuals
and Fiduciaries."

Instructions, Side 2, 3rd column, Line
24, 3 bulleted items reads: "Schedule P
(540), Part V,...column (d); Schedule P
(540NR), Part VI,...column (d);
Schedule P (541), Part V,...column (d);”
It should read: "Schedule P (540), Part                                        
V,...column b; Schedule P (540NR),                                                            
Part VI,...column (b); Schedule P                                                         
(541), Part V,...column (b);...."                                                    

Tax practitioners are ordering more than
twice as many Package Xs in a CD-ROM
format than they did last year.

Almost four months after distributing
Package X order forms, requests for the
CD-ROM version of the Package X hit
more than 5,900.  Last year,
approximately 2,500 CD-ROMs were
ordered over a 12-month period.

Like last year, requests for paper versions
of the Package X continue to exceed
requests for the CD-ROM.  Tax
professionals have ordered close to
30,000 books so far this year.  The figure
is lower than last year's due to increasing
CD-ROM sales and possibly also to the
availability of Package X tax forms on the
Internet.�

Make Revisions to 1996 Forms
CONTINUED FROM PAGE 10

All tax preparers who ordered
a Package X on CD-ROM
this year are entitled to a
second disk with updated
information.

Distribution of the updated
CD-ROMs by first class mail
began early this month, so
you may already have
received your copy.

The second CD-ROM
includes any necessary
clarifications to tax forms
identified since the Package
X was published in
December.  It is included in
the purchase price.�

Package X
on CD-ROM
Is Updated

Schedule H (100S), "S Corporation
Dividend Income."

"Total" line reads:  "Total. Add column
(f) and column (g).  Enter here..."  It
should read:  "Total.  Enter here...."                                       

FTB 5806, "Underpayment of
Estimated Tax by Corporations."

Side 1, Part I, Line 6c: Line 6c should
be deleted.

Side 1, Part I, Line 7 reads: "Subtract
line 6c from the sum of line 6a and line
6b."  It should read:  "Add line 6a and                           
line 6b.             "

FTB 5806, "Underpayment of
Estimated Tax by Corporations."
Instructions, Page 1, Part I, 3rd column
after Line 6a should read:  "Line 6b -                
Enter the overpayment from the                                                       
previous installment.  However, if an                                                               
underpayment existed on any prior                                                            
installment, pay that underpayment                                                             
first.         "



How Do Other States
Collect Taxes Here?

Some states assess California residents
and partnerships doing business in
their states for taxes on income
purported to be earned in those states.
• Does California have agreements

and an obligation to assist other
states in collecting taxes assessed
against California residents?

• What procedures do other states
have to follow to collect taxes here?

• Does California benefit from
assisting other states?

California does not have any agreements
with or obligations to other states to assist
them in collecting taxes from California
residents.  However, California may enter
into an information exchange agreement
with another state to provide it with
information on a taxpayer.

Before another state may take involuntary
collection actions in California, it must
file a civil judgment within California.
The other state also may hire an agent
operating in California to attempt to
collect on the liability.

California benefits from the information
agreements it has with other states
because the information often helps the
Franchise Tax Board locate debtors and
their assets and is also useful in
conducting audits.  The information
agreements have strict provisions to
maintain the security of the shared
information.

What Attaches to
State Return?

When a copy of the federal return must
be attached to a California individual
tax return, should the taxpayer include
Form 5471, "Information Return of
U.S. Persons With Respect to Certain
Foreign Corporations," that was filed
with the federal return?
Yes.  Whenever a taxpayer is required to
attach a copy of the federal Form 1040 to
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As the new chair of the State Board of
Equalization, Ernest J. Dronenburg, Jr.
now serves on the three-member
California Franchise Tax Board.

Dronenburg joins continuing board
members Controller Kathleen Connell,
who is the board's chair, and Department
of Finance Director Craig L. Brown.

Dronenburg is serving his fifth term on
the Board of Equalization.  He was a
member of the Franchise Tax Board on
four previous occasions.  He also was the
architect and key sponsor of the
California Taxpayers' Bill of Rights,
which became law in 1989.�

Is your subscription to Tax
News about to run out?  If so,

you will receive a notice by
mail.

To keep Tax News coming,
be sure to return the notice
and your check for another

year’s subscription to the
newsletter.�

The Question Column

Keep Tax News
Coming

taxpayer owned in California during
taxable and income years beginning on or
after January 1, 1997, and before
January 1, 2007.  The credit would be 25
percent of the cost of the solar energy
system up to a $1,000 maximum credit.
Any unused credit would be carried
forward to reduce tax liability for five
years.

Trial jury compensation credit.  SB 14
(Calderon) would establish a tax credit for
employers equal to an unspecified
percentage of compensation paid to an
employee serving on a trial jury.  Any
excess credit could be carried over until it
is exhausted.  The credit would be
allowed for taxable and income years
beginning on or after January 1, 1998.

Voluntary contributions.  SB 78
(Thompson) would reenact the
Endangered and Rare Fish, Wildlife and
Plant Species Conservation and
Enhancement voluntary contribution,
which was repealed on January 1, 1997.
The language duplicates the existing
statute except that the new repeal date
would be January 1, 2002.  Therefore, the
bill would allow the Endangered and Rare
Fish voluntary contribution to remain on
1997 through 2001 income tax returns.�

Dronenburg
Is Franchise Tax
Board Member

Legislation to Watch

CONTINUED ON PAGE 13
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Do You Have a
Question?

Page 13

Would you like your question
answered in The Question
Column?

To submit a question to the
column, write to: Editor, Tax
News, P. O. Box 520, Rancho
Cordova, CA 95741-0520.�

the California return, all supporting
federal forms and schedules should be
included.

Who Qualifies for
Head of Household Status?

To qualify for the head of household
filing status, a taxpayer must maintain
his or her home as the principal place
of abode for his or her child for more
than one-half of the tax year.   Must
the one-half of the taxable year consist
of consecutive days if the number of
days totals more than 183?  For
example, a child lived with its father in
the father's home for 189 days.  From
January through August, the child
lived in the father's home every other
weekend, one day during the week and
one entire week.  From September
through December, the child lived in
the father's home full time except for
one weekend each month.  Does the
father qualify for head of household
filing status?
Assuming that the father met all of the
other requirements for the head of
household filing status, the answer
depends on who had physical custody of
the child during the year.

If the mother had primary physical
custody during the first eight months and
the father had visitation every other
weekend, one day a week and one entire
week and if beginning in September the
father had primary physical custody and
the mother had visitation one weekend
per month, the father would not qualify
for the head of household filing status.
The father's home would not be
considered the child's principal place of
abode until September, when the father
had primary physical custody and the
child lived with the father.  Because the
father’s home was not the child’s
principal place of abode for more than
one-half of the year, the father would not
qualify for the head of household status.

If the parents had joint physical custody
of the child and the father's custody time
was every other weekend, one day a week

and one entire week for the first eight
months and full time, except for one
weekend a month, thereafter, the father’s
home would be the child’s principal place
of abode for more than one-half of the
year.  As a result, the father would qualify
for the head of household filing status.

Each parent is considered to have
maintained a principal place of abode for
the child during the periods of their
physical custody.  The parent who had
physical custody for more than one-half
the year would qualify for the head of
household status.

Divorcing Couples:
Who Gets Tax Overpayment?

A couple that has been filing California
tax returns using the "married filing
joint" status gets or files for a divorce
and changes filing status to either
"single" or "married filing separate."
The couple's last "married filing joint"
return reflects a tax overpayment to be
applied to the next year's estimated
taxes.  To whose estimated taxes is the
overpayment applied?
In this situation, the full amount of all
payments is applied to the next year's
estimated taxes of the first former spouse
to file a return unless the taxpayers
indicate otherwise. For a couple that
agrees to split the payments under a
different arrangement, Form 540, line 39
instructions state: "If you and your spouse
paid joint estimate tax but are now filing
separate returns, either of you may claim
all or part of the amount paid.  Attach a
statement signed by you and your spouse
explaining how you want your payment
divided."

Attaching a statement is not required by
law.  However, a notation near line 39 on
Form 540 will help assure that the credit
is handled according to the taxpayers'
wishes.�

The Question Column

CONTINUED FROM PAGE 12
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The Franchise Tax Board has
improved its telephone
service for callers with

withhold at source questions.

"Withhold at source" refers to
withholding that is required

when a nonresident individual
or a corporation or

partnership not qualified to do
business in California or

without a permanent place of
business here receives

payments of California source
income.

Starting now, FTB's withhold
at source telephone number
will connect callers with an
interactive voice response

(IVR) system.  The system
provides callers with quick,

automated responses to
frequently asked questions in
addition to fast access to the

withhold at source
representative most qualified

to address their needs.

The withhold at source IVR
telephone number is

(916) 845-4900.�

Fifty people started the first business day
of the new year by filing their California
income taxes by telephone.

The early filers are among the 115,187
taxpayers who had participated in the
Franchise Tax Board's TeleFile program
by press time.  At the same time last year,
only 6,276 individuals had used the
TeleFile program; however, relatively few
individuals were invited to participate last
year.

Approximately 240,000 taxpayers are
expected to file their tax returns by
telephone this year.  They represent 15
percent of the 1.6 million taxpayers who
received FTB's TeleFile booklet because
they appear to qualify for the program.

Last year, when the program was
launched, only 100,000 taxpayers were
invited to participate.  This year, in
addition to sending the TeleFile booklet
to more taxpayers, FTB has produced
print and movie theater advertisements for
the program, encouraged press coverage,
set up college campus TeleFile sites and
joined the Internal Revenue Service in
promoting the TeleFile program.�

TeleFilers Ring in
the New Year

Withhold at
Source Phone

Service Improved

The taxpayers are not required to file
amended returns.  Before the
FTB/EDD automated information
exchange was instituted, withholding
amounts were verified manually as returns
were processed.  Amended returns
sometimes were filed in cases of errors.

For more information on the automated
withholding verification process, see the
November 1996 and January 1997 issues
of Tax News.  And watch upcoming
issues for filing season statistics.�

Reporting federal withholding amounts on
California tax returns is the first trend in
taxpayer errors spotted by the Franchise
Tax Board's new automated withholding
verification process.

Since January 1997, withholding amounts
have been verified on-line, thanks to an
automated information exchange between
FTB and the Employment Development
Department.  The exchange is part of an
ongoing integration of California's
personal income tax and employment tax
systems.

The erroneous withholding amounts are
occurring primarily on tax returns filed
through FTB's TeleFile system (see
"TeleFilers Ring in the New Year" on this
page).  Because returns that are filed by
telephone are not accompanied by W-2
and other forms as paper tax returns are,
FTB staff uses its new database to resolve
incorrect information provided by
TeleFilers.  Where EDD and tax return
data do not match, FTB staff may contact
employers to verify the information on
returns that claimed high withholding
amounts.

When errors are identified, FTB informs
the taxpayers in question that the
withholding amounts have been corrected.

If your tax practitioner organization or
community group would like to hear
about tax law or tax issues at an upcoming
meeting, call the Franchise Tax Board for
a speaker.

You can reach FTB's Speakers' Bureau at
(916) 845-5257.  Be sure to call at least
four weeks before the event for which you
need a speaker.�

Need a
Speaker?

Withholding Verification Spots
Federal Amounts on California Returns



Taxpayers who qualified for state
disability insurance (SDI) credits during
the last three tax years but did not claim
them will be receiving refunds.

Senate Bill 1682 - Johnston (Ch. 96-
1157) provides that taxpayers entitled to
the SDI credit for 1993, 1994 or 1995
will receive refunds.  Separate checks will
be issued for each year.

Until the 1996 tax year, only California
Forms 540 and 540NR featured a place to
claim a credit for excess SDI that was
withheld.  Taxpayers who filed Forms
540A or 540EZ may not have been aware
of the credit because, although
instructions were provided to claim the
credit, there was no place to claim it on
those forms.

The Franchise Tax Board and the
Employment Development Department
have been working together to identify
these taxpayers and issue the refunds.
The agencies also are working to identify
and issue refunds to taxpayers who filed
Forms 540 and 540NR for the same years
and qualified for the credit but did not

State Disability Insurance Credit Refunds Issued
claim it.  However, according to law, only
Form 540A and 540EZ filers are entitled
to interest, which runs from the original
due date of the return.

To qualify for a refund of excess SDI
withheld, a taxpayer must have:

• Worked for two or more employers
during the tax year.

• Received more than $31,767 in
wages from the two or more
employers.

• Attached a copy of a W-2 form from
each employer showing the amount
of SDI withheld.

• Had more than $412.97 withheld
from all employers for tax years 1993
and 1994 or more than $317.67
withheld for tax year 1995.

The first refunds were issued in late
January 1997 with an explanatory notice.
SB 1682 requires that all of the refunds
be issued by October 15, 1997.

Taxpayers do not need to call FTB or
EDD.  FTB will issue refunds to all
taxpayers who qualify.�
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The Franchise Tax Board receives mail by the cartful.  As one staff
member unloads envelopes, another prepares to feed them into

machinery that opens 18,000 envelopes per hour.

Pushing the Envelope

In February, the Franchise
Tax Board learned that
substitute/scannable tax forms
developed by T. K.
Publishing, Inc. (Tax Shop)
were released to the public
before receiving FTB
approval.  Subsequently, the
company submitted its
substitute/scannable tax forms
and, after making
adjustments, received
approval.

If you purchased tax forms or
software from T.K.
Publishing before January 23,
you may want to ask the firm
if you have the approved
software.

Tax preparers should be sure
to use tax software and
computerized processing
services that produce FTB-
approved forms.  To verify
that you are using such
forms, ask your software
company for a copy of the
FTB approval letter for the
tax forms you need.�

Substitute Forms
Released
Before Approval



Reminder:
Hotline Has
New Name When you amend tax returns for your

corporate clients for 1988 and later tax
years, be sure to use the current version of
the correct form.

To avoid substantial delays in the
processing of your clients' tax forms,  use
the version of  California Form 100X,
"Amended Corporation Franchise or
Income Tax Return," that has a three-
column format.

The three-column form, developed in
1993, breaks the "Income and
Deductions" and "Computation of Tax"
sections of the return into three columns:
"As originally reported or as adjusted,"

Use Revised 100X to Amend
Corporate Return
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The Franchise Tax Board's
Tax Practitioner Support Unit

is the new name for the Tax
Practitioner Hotline and for
Tax Practitioner Electronic

Correspondence.

To reach the Support Unit by
telephone, call

(916) 845-0571.  Or send a
fax to (916) 845-6377.

Both the telephone and fax
numbers are intended for tax

practitioners only, not for
their clients.�

"Net change" and "Correct amount."  The
Form 100X that featured only one column
for entering figures is now obsolete.

The current Form 100X is included in the
1996 Package X.  If you have Internet
access, you may download, view and print
the form from the Franchise Tax Board's
http://www.ftb.ca.gov address.  You also
may order the form from FTB's F.A.S.T.
(Fast Answers about State Taxes) system
by calling (800) 338-0505.  Or write Tax
Forms Request, P.O. Box 307, Rancho
Cordova, CA 95741-0307.�


