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Since we introduced our e-file program in
1994, the number of California taxpayers
wanting to e-file has grown--and so has the
number of electronic return originators

Increasing numbers of tax practitioners
are choosing to become electronic
return originators because making more
benefits available to clients makes
sense.

What’s in it for you?

• Your California head of
household clients can
complete an optional e-file
questionnaire to reduce the
chance of  receiving a follow-
up letter from FTB (In 1998,
letters were sent to one
percent of e-file HOH returns
and to 13 percent of paper-filed
HOH returns).

• Your e-file clients are less likely
to receive any other follow-up
letter.  Using approved
software ensures calculations
are correct and data is
presented in an approved

format.

• You can prepare and e-file
current-year federal and state
personal income tax returns,
including supporting forms
and schedules as needed.
Since 65 percent of e-filed
returns include one or more

Continued on page 6

Practitioner Participation
In e-file Growing Rapidly

(EROs) servicing them.  Note: For the year
2000, the number of e-file returns received is
the projected total. The number of EROs is
the actual total.
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Over the past four years, we have
increased our accuracy in computing
corporation and partnership taxes while
improving the timeliness of our
business entity refund and billing
processes.

The reason is our new automated
accounting system for corporation and
partnership taxes, the Business Entities
Tax System. Soon we will be able to do
the same for limited liability companies.

We expect to have completed the
transition of our Limited Liability
Company Return Processing program
into the Business Entities Tax System
by this summer.

You can help us by performing a simple
review of your limited liability
company clients’ returns.

Here’s what to look for:

• Did your calendar year clients
pay the 1998 limited liability
company annual tax by
April 15, 1998?

• Did your calendar year clients
pay the 1999 limited liability
company annual tax by
April 15, 1999?

• Was the 1998 limited liability
company annual fee correctly
calculated?  Was the
calculation based on total
income, not net income?   And
was it paid by the original due
date of the tax return?

If you answered no to any of these
questions, or if your clients made
payments but they weren’t made timely,
then do the following:

• First, calculate the penalties
and interest that are due for
each taxable year to the date
the payment will be made.

• Next, ask your client to pay the
calculated amount by sending
a separate payment for each
taxable year using Form FTB
3522, Limited Liability
Company Tax Voucher.  Make
sure the voucher is for the
appropriate year.

By sending payment now for penalties
and interest with the Form FTB 3522 tax
voucher, your clients stop the accruing
of additional penalties and interest on
the balance due.

Limited Liability Companies:
Greater Automation in Store for Program

Did you know that this year’s
California Package X  CD-ROM
contains more  “fill-in” forms than
last year’s?

Fill-in forms are time savers
because they allow users to enter

Did You  Know…
information while the form is
displayed on the computer screen
and then print the completed form.

Also, fill-in forms produce cleaner,
crisper printouts to use for tax
filing or record keeping.
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 Anne Smith
Taxpayer
Advocate

Continued on page 4

Do you have clients who have not yet
filed their 1998 corporate tax return?

It’s never too late to file. Filing before
June will help your client avoid
receiving a Request to File notice
from us.

If your client receives our request,
however, and you believe that the
corporation does not have a filing
requirement, complete the
accompanying questionnaire with your
client and return it immediately.

We designed the questionnaire to
identify corporation business activity
conducted in California.

Respond immediately and your client
will avoid additional penalties and fees.

If your client has already filed a
California corporate tax return for 1998,
send a signed copy of the complete
return.

Although we make every effort to avoid
erroneous contacts, occasionally
corporations receive a Request to File
notice when they do not have a filing
requirement.

This happens when the business has
ceased operating as a corporation, but
continues to operate as a sole-
proprietor or partnership using tax
identification numbers assigned to the
corporation.

You can help prevent this from
reoccurring. Make sure your clients
update their entity statuses and
classifications with the Employment
Development Department and the State
Board of Equalization when they cease
operating as a corporation.

Senate Bill 934 was signed into law on
Oct. 9, 1999.  This bill added a section
to California Revenue and Taxation
Code 23701 allowing state-chartered
credit unions to qualify for exemption
from franchise or income tax.

Before a state-chartered credit union
can qualify for the exemption, it must

apply for the exemption by completing
and submitting the Exemption
Application Form 3500 to the Franchise
Tax Board.  This law applies to income
years beginning on or after
January 1, 1999.

SB 934 also exempts all credit unions
from other state, county and municipal
taxes and license fees, except certain
specified taxes such as real property
taxes, sales and use taxes, tax on
unrelated business income and motor
vehicle license fees.

State-chartered credit unions still
remain subject to tax on unrelated
business taxable income.

New Law Qualifies State
Credit Unions for Exemption
Editor’s Note:  For more information
about state-chartered credit unions
and Senate Bill 934, please refer to the
article published in the March/April
issue entitled “Like treatment for State,
Fed Credit Unions.”

Client Changing Business Entity Status?
Don’t Forget to Notify EDD, BOE

Editor’s Note:  The Franchise Tax
Board’s Taxpayer Advocate
receives hundreds of letters and
emails every month.  Most
taxpayers have a tax problem that
they would like FTB to help them
resolve.  Some, however, are just
asking for information about our
programs or tax laws.  The
purpose of this column is to let
you, the practitioner, know some of
the items that the Advocate staff is
currently working on.

 Did new Taxpayers’ Bill of Rights
legislation pass in 1999?  What
are some of the key provisions?

The Taxpayers’ Bill of Rights Act
of 1999 is the most recent
Taxpayers’ Bill of Rights
legislation.  Some of the provisions
are:

• Innocent Spouse Relief

Taxpayers who filed a joint
return and had no
knowledge that their
spouse underreported the
amount of tax due may not
be held responsible for
payment of that
deficiency.  Specific
conditions must be met to
qualify for relief.

Ask the Advocate

File Corporation Tax
Returns By June
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Business entity tax booklets,
scheduled to be mailed in early
February, were not mailed until

March 8, 2000.  The booklets
included the Corporation Franchise

or Income Tax Return (Form 100),
the S Corporation Franchise or

Income Tax Return (Form 100S) and
the Exempt Organization Business

Income Tax Return (Form 109).

California law provides an
automatic seven-month extension

to file for business entities — until
October 15 for calendar year

taxpayers.  More than two-thirds of
all business entities take advantage

of the extension.

No taxpayers will be assessed a
penalty for not filing by

March 15, 2000.  Franchise Tax
Board staff sincerely apologize for
any inconvenience this delay may

have caused California businesses.

Corporation
Tax Booklets

Delayed

• Suspension of Interest/Fail to
Notify

FTB must notify taxpayers of
any changes in their tax
liability within 18 months of
the date they filed the tax
return, or the return due date,
whichever is later.  Failure to
do so results in suspension of
interest and penalties for the
period that begins at the end
of the 18 months and ends
after FTB provides the
taxpayer with a notice.  Special
rules apply if the Internal
Revenue Service changes the
taxpayer’s liability.

Continued from page 3

Ask the Advocate

• Waiver of Early Withdrawal
Penalties

If FTB levys a taxpayer’s
retirement plan to collect
delinquent taxes, and the
taxpayer is subjected to an
early withdrawal penalty, no
early withdrawal penalty will
be assessed for California
purposes.

You can read more about this legislation
in our new brochure entitled Highlights
of California Taxpayers’ Bill of Rights
Act of 1999 (FTB 4064).

The brochure is available on FTB’s
website www.ftb.ca.gov and can also be
ordered by calling the Tax Practitioner
Support Unit at (916) 845-7057.

In some cases, this has caused us to
erroneously input data into the direct
deposit field of tax returns for taxpayers
who have not requested direct deposit.

We have manually identified and
corrected many of the flawed forms;
however, we have also issued
erroneous notices (Form FTB 4028) to
some of the affected taxpayers,
informing them that their refunds could
not be deposited directly into their bank
accounts due to incomplete banking
information.

ORRTAX has contacted the
practitioners who we identified as
having the problem.  If you think you
may be affected by this problem contact
ORRTAX Technical Support at
(425) 641-4357.

Problem #2

The second problem is the result of a
programming error found in the first

Flawed Forms Cause Problems
for Direct Deposit Customers
We are having problems processing
some tax practitioner produced
scannable forms.  Two significant
problems affect taxpayers’ direct
deposit refund requests.

Problem #1

ORRTAX Software, Inc. has instructed
its customers to change or update their
computer equipment in order to produce
FTB-approved forms with the
company’s software. However, some
practitioners who use their software
have not complied.

Those practitioners who have not
complied with the software vendor’s
instructions are producing forms that
do not meet the specifications outlined
in our FTB Pub. 1098, Guidelines for the
Development and Use of Substitute,
Scannable, and Reproduced Tax Forms.

As a result, our image recognition
systems cannot accurately process
specific fields on these forms.

Continued on page 5
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May

· Notices of Proposed
Assessments are mailed to
corporations that failed to
comply with requests issued in
prior months for 1997 tax returns.

· Notices of Proposed
Assessments are mailed to
individuals who have not filed
their 1998 tax returns.

22 Previous month nonresident
withholding payments are due if
total withholding exceeded
$2,500.

June
• Questionnaire/Demands will be

mailed to corporations that did
not file 1998 returns.

· Notices of Proposed
Assessments are mailed to
corporations that failed to
comply with requests issued in
prior months for 1997 tax returns.

· Notices of Proposed
Assessments are mailed to
individuals who have not filed
their 1998 tax returns.

15 Second quarter 2000 personal
income tax estimate payments are
due.

22 Previous month nonresident
withholding payments are due if
total withholding exceeded
$2,500.

July

• Requests for Tax Return are
mailed to individuals who have
not filed their 1998 personal
income tax return.

• Notices of Proposed
Assessments are mailed to
individuals who have not filed
their 1998 personal income tax
return.

FTB CalendarContinued from page 4

release of software distributed by ATX
Forms, Inc.  Scannable forms produced
by this software contain incomplete
data in the direct deposit routing transit
number field of the tax form’s scanband.

When this occurs, we are unable to
process the direct deposit request and
we issue a notice to the affected
taxpayers informing them that their
refunds could not be deposited directly
into their bank accounts due to
incomplete banking information. ATX
has subsequently fixed the problem.

If you think you may be affected by this
problem, contact ATX Technical
support at 1(800) 638-8291.

Early software versions

Though uncommon, we occasionally
get returns that are prepared on early

draft versions of tax software. Tax
software developers may send out a
draft of their product prior to sending
a final version and, even after the final
version, they often will send
subsequent software program
updates.

Always review the updates as soon as
you receive them.  This will help to
ensure that the returns you prepare
are correct. When applicable, you
should register with your software
developer so you can get all upgrades,
corrections and additions to their
programs.

If the software package you received
indicates that it’s a draft or a
preliminary copy, or contains
statements such as “do not file,”
“approval pending,” etc., do not use
that version of the software to file
your customers’ returns. These are
not FTB approved.

Are you Using FTB-approved Forms?
If you are using scannable forms, make
sure they meet our requirements.  If
they do not, delays may occur during
processing.  In some cases, we may not
be able to process your clients’ forms.

If you are unsure whether your software
is producing FTB-approved forms, ask
your software vendor to provide you

with a letter of approval for each FTB
form you intend to use this filing
season.

For additional information about how to
prepare substitute and scannable forms,
please get FTB Pub. 1095D, Tax
Practitioner Guidelines for Computer-
Prepared Returns.

Flawed Forms

For the period of July 1, 2000,
through December 31, 2000, the
interest rate on underpayments and
overpayments of California income
taxes will be eight percent.  The
following table lists interest rates
since January 1990.

Effective Date Rate
1 Jan. 1990- 30 June  1990 11%
1 July 1990- 31 Dec. 1990 11%
1 Jan. 1991- 30 June  1991 11%
1 July 1991- 31 Dec. 1991 10%
1 Jan. 1992- 30 June  1992 10%
1 July 1992- 31 Dec. 1992   9%
1 Jan. 1993- 30 June  1993   8%

1 July 1993- 31 Dec. 1993   7%
1 Jan. 1994- 30 June  1994   7%
1 July 1994-  1  Dec.  1994   7%
1 Jan. 1995- 30 June  1995   8%
1 July 1995- 31 Dec. 1995   9%
1 Jan. 1996- 30 June  1996   9%
1 July 1996- 31 Dec. 1996   9%
1 Jan. 1997- 30 June  1997   9%
1 July 1997- 31 Dec. 1997   9%
1 Jan. 1998- 30 June  1998   9%
1 July 1998-31  Dec.  1998   9%
1 Jan. 1999-30  June   1999   8%
1 July 1999-31  Dec. 1999   7%
1 Jan. 2000-30 June  2000   8%
1 July2000-31 Dec. 2000   8%

Effective Date Rate

Interest Rates
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schedules, you can handle
virtually all your clients’
returns in the same way.

• Prepare and e-file California
Form 540NR for nonresident
and part-year resident clients.

• You get e-file marketing
support from us and the
Internal Revenue Service.

What’s in it for your clients?

• They receive confirmation that
IRS and FTB received their
returns.  A recent FTB survey
points to confirmation as the
most appealing feature of e-file
for 62 percent of respondents.

• They can choose direct
deposit of a refund and see the
funds in their account in 7-10
banking days (state) or 8-14
days (federal).

• They can choose to e-pay a
balance due.  Funds will be
withdrawn on the date they
specify.

Here’s how to join:

Step 1:  Apply for a federal
Electronic Filer Identification
Number/Electronic Transmitter
Identification Number by
completing federal Form 8633.  You
can get this form from the IRS
website, www.irs.gov.

Step 2:  Pass the IRS
suitability test. The purpose of the
suitability check is to ensure that
the applicant is in compliance with
federal tax laws by verifying that:

· all business entities are
valid and licensed;

· all personal and/or business
tax returns are timely filed;
and

· all liabilities are paid and/or

current. If you are in
payment arrangement
status, you are in
compliance.

Step 3:  Complete California Form
8633.  You can get this form from
the Electronic Services webpage
found on the FTB website at
www.ftb.ca.gov.

Step 4: Pass the FTB suitability
test.

What do you need to get started?

• IRS/ FTB approved tax
preparation software to format
the data correctly.

• Computer capable of handling
software selected.

 e-file
Continued from page 1

Visit the New California Tax Information Center

The California Tax Information
Center, an easy to use website,
allows users to find income, payroll,
sales and use, special, and property
tax information, all in one location.

The site, located at
www.taxes.ca.gov, is a joint effort of
the Board of Equalization,
Employment Development
Department, Franchise Tax Board
and the Internal Revenue Service.

The site features:

• An in-depth tax calendar.

• Addresses and telephone
numbers for local offices.

• Downloadable forms.

• Various tax planning
resources.

The Special Circumstances webpage,
also featured on the website, offers
helpful information on handling the
tax effect of disasters, divorce, fraud,
payment proposals and more.

The California Tax Information
Center is a good way for your
clients, (especially small business
owners) who are nonresidents or
new to California, to get an overview
of California taxes and other general
tax information. Business owners can
learn how to start, run or close a
business; get information on how to
report business taxes; or search for
additional information via the many
links provided.

• Modem to transmit the data.
Printer to print copies of
federal and state returns for
your client and to print the
signature documents: federal
Form 8453 and FTB form 8453
(remember to retain signed
copies for your files as
specified).

• IRS Pub 1345, Handbook for
Electronic Return Originators.

• FTB Pub 1345, The e-file
Handbook.

Where can you get more information?

Attend an IRS/FTB e-file seminar this
summer.  Check out the e-file calendar at
www.ftb.ca.gov/electroserv/efile for
dates and locations .



Page 7

Among the measures being considered
by the California Legislature are some
that involve conformity with the
Internal Revenue Code.

 SB 1760 (Speier) would further
conform to federal income tax laws by
excluding contributions of appreciated
property as a tax preference item for
purposes of calculating the alternative
minimum tax.  A corresponding change
would be made to the minimum tax
credit allowing contributions of
appreciated stock to be deducted at
their full fair market value.

Among the measures being considered
by the California Legislature are several
Franchise Tax Board sponsored bills.
Many of these bills also involve
conformity.

AB 1843 (Ackerman) would replace the
references to income year with taxable
year in all provisions of the Bank and
Corporation Tax Law, Personal Income
Tax Law and the Administration of the
Franchise and Income Tax Law.  If a
provision refers to a tax measurement
period beginning prior to the operative
date of the bill, the term taxable year
would mean income year under prior law
wherever applicable.

The bill would specify that the
franchise tax, like the income tax, would
be computed based on the net income
for the taxable year, instead of based on

the net income of the next preceding
income year.  This bill would include
legislative declaratory language that the
sole purpose of the change is to
simplify the law and that the actual
amount of tax and the timing of the
payment will not change as a result of
this bill.

Further, this bill states that if a taxpayer
can demonstrate that it was required to
accelerate any payment of tax as a

result of this change, the department
would adjust the amount and due date
of each payment of tax to the amount
and due date that would have been
required under the law prior to the
enactment of this bill.

This bill would make related changes to
the provision that exempts new
corporations from payment of the
minimum franchise tax at the time of
incorporation and for its first tax return

Proposed Bills

Continued on page 8
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Proposed Bills

to prevent the bill’s changes from
extending the exemption to the second
tax return (formerly the third taxable
year).

AB 2741 (Alquist) would
fundamentally reform the water’s-edge
election procedures.  Water’s-edge
elections would no longer be made by
contract, but by statutory election.

AB 2892 (Assembly Revenue and
Taxation Committee) would amend and
restructure a significant number of tax
laws, particularly those regarding tax
and information returns and unpaid
interest and deficiencies, to more
closely conform to federal law by
referencing the federal code rather than
duplicating its language.

AB 2893 (Assembly Revenue and
Taxation Committee) would amend and
restructure the state tax laws regarding
exempt organizations to more closely
conform to federal law by referencing
the federal code rather than duplicating
its language.

AB 2895 (Assembly Revenue &
Taxation Committee) would amend the
Local Agency Military Base Recovery
Areas and Manufacturing Enhancement
Areas hiring credit statutes to be
consistent with the vouchering
requirements currently in the statutes
relating to enterprise zones.

AB 2896 (Assembly Revenue &
Taxation Committee) would allow the
Franchise Tax Board to continue its
current practice of using the tax return
or the electronically captured
information from that tax return, with
respect to deficiency determinations.  If
the return or information is not

available, the taxpayer would be
notified and have 30 days to provide a
paper or electronic copy of the tax
return to FTB, upon request, (A similar
bill has been proposed in the Senate).

Additionally, FTB would be required to
include in the tax booklet a statement
that taxpayers may be requested to
furnish FTB with a copy of California or
federal tax returns that may be the
subject of or related to a federal audit.

AB 2897 (Assembly Revenue &
Taxation Committee) would amend
existing state law regarding the
computation of interest with respect to
a court action to eliminate language
which conflicts with the more general
state law that describes when the
calculation of interest begins on an
erroneous refund amount.  This bill also
would amend a Corporations Code
section to correct a reference to the
Revenue and Taxation Code (R&TC)
section and amends an R&TC section
to substitute subdivision for the
incorrectly used subsection.

SB 2171 (Senate Revenue & Taxation
Committee) would remove the
commercial domicile restriction from

Section 24410 allowing all corporations,
regardless of where commercially
domiciled, to deduct dividends received
from an insurance company subsidiary
operating in California and subject to
the gross premiums tax.

SB 2173 (Senate Revenue & Taxation
Committee) This bill would clarify that
with respect to lump sum amounts
received by a lottery prize winner
assignor, transactions made relating to
the assignment of the right to receive
future payments of lottery prize awards,
are exempt from state and local taxes.

SB 2176 (Senate Revenue & Taxation
Comm.) would amend and restructure a
significant number of tax laws,
particularly those regarding
information returns, exempt
organizations, unpaid interest and
deficiencies, to more closely conform
to federal law by referencing the
federal code rather than duplicating its
language.

This bill would amend the Local
Agency Military Base Recovery Areas

Would you like to know more about
a legislative measure you read about
in Tax News?  We post analyses of
legislation on our website.

Go to www.ftb.ca.gov and click on
the Law and Legislation button.
There you will find a preview of
proposed tax law changes and how
they might affect your clients if the
legislation becomes law.

We also post proposed and final
regulations, legal notices and
rulings, and links to the Revenue and
Tax Law and the California Code of
Regulations.

You can find legislative measures at
www.leginfo.ca.gov, the Official
California Legislation Information
website.

Legislative Analyses on the Internet

Continued on page 9



Page 9

Proposed Bills

and Manufacturing Enhancement Areas
hiring credit statutes to be consistent
with the vouchering requirements
currently in the statutes relating to
enterprise zones.  This bill also would
make several minor technical
corrections to various statutes, to
eliminate inconsistencies or correct
references.

Among the measures being considered
by the Legislature are some that would
either create new tax credits or modify
existing ones.

AB 1804 (Scott) would increase the
adjusted gross income thresholds for
purposes of determining renter’s credit
eligibility.  The AGI thresholds would
increase as follows:

• From $50,000 to $60,000 for
married filing joint, head of
household and surviving spouse.

• From $25,000 to $30,000 for
individuals.

AB 1811(Reyes) would delete the
existing farmworker housing credit and
instead would specify within the low-
income housing credit that $500,000
would be allocated to the construction
or rehabilitation of farmworker housing.
The bill would define qualified
farmworker housing.  The credit would
not be allowed unless the taxpayer
constructs or rehabilitates the property
subject to the codes, covenants,

conditions and restrictions of the low
income housing credit and the
Farmworker Housing Assistance
Program.

This bill also would eliminate the credit
for foregone interest on loans for the
construction or rehabilitation of
farmworker housing for banks and
financials.

AB 1903 (Lowenthal) would allow the
California low-income housing credit to
be transferred, sold or assigned
separately from the federal low-income
housing credit.

AB 1923 (Cardenas) would create two
credits.  The first credit would equal 50
percent of qualified expenditures for a
qualified child care facility, as defined.
Qualified expenditures would include
only monetary contributions in excess
of $4,000 and would be capped in two
ways.  For a single facility, qualified
expenditures would be limited to
$400,000.  For any qualified taxpayer,
total expenditures for all facilities would
be limited to $2 million.  The credit
would be limited to $150,000 for any one
taxable or income year and the
aggregate credit (for all years) for each
taxpayer would be limited to         $1
million.  The taxpayer would be required
to provide certification to the Franchise
Tax Board, upon request.  The credit
would not be allowed for any taxpayer
required by any local ordinance or
regulation to provide a child care
facility.  The credit would be effective
for taxable or income years beginning
on or after January 1, 2000, and before
January 1, 2005, and any excess credit
could be carried over for six years.  The
credit also could reduce regular tax
below the tentative minimum tax.

Second, this bill would allow a bank or
financial corporation a credit equal to
50 percent of the foregone interest
income on loans used to finance
expenditures to purchase, construct,

expand or rehabilitate a qualified child
care or development facility.  The credit
would be taken in equal installments
over the lesser of 10 years or the term of
the loan.  The credit would not apply to
loans with a term of less than three
years or to loans funded prior to
January 1, 2000.  The credit would be
effective for income years beginning on
or after January 1, 2000, and before
January 1, 2010.

FTB would be required to report, upon
request of the Legislature, specified
information related to the credit for
foregone interest income.

AB 1924 (Runner) would allow a credit
equal to the amount paid or incurred for
the overhead cost of the specific
business unit related to the Aerospace
Training Competitiveness Improvement
Program located within an enterprise
zone.  The credit would be effective for
income years beginning on or after
January 1, 2000, and before
January 1, 2004, and any excess credit
could be carried over until exhausted.

The bill also would make changes under
the Government Code regarding an
aerospace training program within
enterprise zones.

AB 1953 (Cunneen) would modify the
research and development credit as
follows:

• Increase the credit percentage
for “qualified research
expenses” from 12 percent to
15 percent.

• Decrease the minimum
threshold for the taxpayer’s
base amount in computing the
R&D credit from not less than
50 percent to not less than 35
percent of the taxpayer’s
current year qualified
research expenditures.

Continued from page 8

Continued on page 10
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Continued on page 11

AB 2097 (Davis) would allow a credit
equal to the federal credit for expenses
for household and dependent care
services necessary for gainful
employment.  The federal credit
percentage varies from 20 percent to 30
percent of qualified expenses.  Qualified
expenses are limited to $2,400 for one
qualifying individual and $4,800 for two
or more qualifying individuals.  Any
excess credit could be carried over until
exhausted.

AB 2170 (Rod Pacheco) would allow a
credit equal to an unspecified amount
of farm losses suffered by farmers in
this state as a result of any natural
disaster.  For purposes of this bill,
natural disaster would include pest
infestations.  Any excess credit could
be carried over until exhausted.

SB 1336 (Monteith) would allow a
credit equal to the guarantee fee paid or
incurred to the United States Small
Business Administration to obtain
guaranteed financing.  The credit would
be allowed only for a guarantee fee paid
in connection with a business located
in a county that has twice the average
California unemployment.  Any excess
credit could be carried over until
exhausted.

SB 1369 (Poochigian) would allow a
credit for the eligible fees paid or
incurred on behalf of any student who
is a resident of California. The credit
amount would equal:

• 100 percent of the eligible
fees up to $350;

• 50 percent of the
eligible fees in excess
of $350.

 Eligible fees would include application
fees for the Advanced Placement
Examination, the Scholastic Aptitude
Test, the University of California, the
California State University or a
California private university.  The
taxpayer would be required to provide
to Franchise Tax Board, upon request,
substantiation of the amount of the
eligible fees paid.  The credit would be
allowed for more than one examination
and for more than one student.  The
credit would be in-lieu of any otherwise
allowable deduction for the
contribution (fees). The credit would be
effective for taxable or income years
beginning on or after January 1, 2000
and before January 1, 2005 and any
excess credit could be carried over for
five years.

SB 1416 (Rainey) would allow a credit
equal to 100 percent of the reimbursable
services provided by a physician and
surgeon for Medi-Cal services that
would otherwise qualify for
reimbursement by the state.  The credit
would be in lieu of any other
reimbursement for which the taxpayer
would be entitled.  Any excess credit
could be carried over until exhausted.

SB 1421 (Solis) would allow a
refundable credit equal to 15 percent of
the federal earned income credit. The
credit would not be allowed to a
nonresident for any portion of the year,
any married person that files married
filing separate or any person who does
not have a qualifying child, as defined.
The credit would be allowed to reduce
regular tax below the tentative minimum
tax.

The Franchise Tax Board would be
required to provide training to
employers to enable employees to
adjust their withholding allowances to
reflect the credit.

Interest would be allowed on the
overpayment, if the overpayment is not

refunded or credited within 90 days
after the return is filed or within 90 days
after the last day prescribed for filing a
return (without regard to extension),
whichever is later.

The credit would be effective for taxable
years beginning on or after
January 1, 2000, and before
January 1, 2005.

SB 1427 (Rainey) would allow a credit
equal to 40 percent of the cost paid or
incurred by an employer for subsidized
public transit passes to an employee.
The bill would define employer,
employee and transit pass.  The credit
would be in lieu of any otherwise
allowable deduction for the cost of any
subsidized transit passes.  The credit
would be effective for taxable or income
years beginning on or after
January 1, 2000, and before January 1,
2005, and any excess credit could be
carried over for 11 years.

The California Research Bureau would
be required to report to the Legislature
by January 1, 2004, on specified
information related to this credit.

The revenue loss attributable to this
credit would not be considered by the
Department of Finance in calculating
General Fund revenue for purposes of
reducing the vehicle license fee.

SB 1438 (Rainey) would allow a 100
percent credit for qualified educational
expenses paid or incurred, not to exceed
$200, by any teacher or parent at a
qualifying educational institution.

Qualified educational institution would
mean any public elementary, secondary
or vocational-technical school in this
state for grades K through 12, inclusive.
The credit would be in lieu of any
otherwise allowable deduction for the
same expenses. The credit would be
effective for taxable or income years
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violence awareness program” and
“allowable costs.”  The credit would be
allowed to reduce regular tax below
tentative minimum tax and any excess
credit could be carried over until
exhausted.

SB 1726 (Burton) would allow a credit
equal to an unspecified percentage of
the amount paid or incurred to lease or
purchase a new zero-emission vehicle.
The credit would be limited to $3,000
per vehicle per year.  The credit would
apply to new vehicles whose lease or
purchase begins between January 1,
2001, and December 31, 2002.  The bill
would define “zero-emission vehicle.”
The California Air Resource Board shall
administer the determination of vehicle
eligibility for Franchise Tax Board.  The
credit would be effective for taxable or
income years beginning on or after
January 1, 2000, and before January 1,
2006, and any excess credit could be
carried over until exhausted.

SB 1799 (Leslie) would allow a credit
equal to the amount paid or incurred to
the United States Small Business
Administration as a guarantee fee to
obtain guaranteed financing.  Any
excess credit could be carried over for
five years.
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beginning on or after January 1, 2000,
and before January 1, 2005, and any
excess credit could be carried over until
exhausted.

SB 1481 (Mountjoy) would increase
the senior exemption credit.  The
existing senior credit (65 or over) would
be multiplied by a factor of 2, 3 or 4 for
taxpayers 75 years or older, 85 years or
older or 95 years or older, respectively.

SB 1495 (Brulte) would modify the
research and development credit (R&D)
as follows:

• Increase the credit percentage
for “qualified research
expenses” from 12 percent to
15 percent.

• Decrease the minimum
threshold for the taxpayer’s
base amount in computing the
research expenses credit from
not less than 50% to not less
than 20% of the taxpayer’s
current year qualified research
expenditures.

SB 1553 (Monteith) would allow a
credit equal to the sales or use tax paid
or incurred for agricultural equipment,
as defined.  The credit would be
effective for taxable or income years
beginning on or after January 1, 2000,
and before January 1, 2006, and any
excess credit could be carried over until
exhausted.

SB 1691 (Speier) would allow a 75
percent credit for allowable costs
incurred in establishing and maintaining
a domestic violence awareness program.
The bill would define “domestic

AB 2095 (Lempert) would allow a
qualified taxpayer a 50 percent
deduction for contributions made to a
Scholarshare Trust on behalf of any
qualified beneficiary.  The definition of
a qualified taxpayer would be based
upon the taxpayer’s federal adjusted
gross income.  The deduction would be
limited to $1,200 per taxable or income
year for each qualified beneficiary.

The Franchise Tax Board would be
required to annually report, to the

extent data are available, on the use of
this deduction. The deduction would be
effective for taxable or income years
beginning on or after January 1, 2000,
and before January 1, 2005.

AB 2096 (Davis) would allow a $500
deduction for a taxpayer who provides
long-term care for any eligible family
member in the taxpayer’s principal place
of residence.  The bill would define
eligible family member and long-term
care.  Any excess credit could be
carried over until exhausted.

SB 1453 (Schiff) would allow a
deduction, not to exceed $10,000, for
the amount paid or incurred by the
taxpayer for college tuition costs at
special educational institutions for the
taxpayer or a dependent of the taxpayer.

SB 1752 (Poochigian) would allow a
qualified teacher a deduction for
unreimbursed qualifying classroom
educational expenses, not to exceed
$500, paid or incurred at a qualifying
educational institution.  The bill would
define “qualifying classroom
educational expenses,” “qualified
teacher,” and “qualifying educational
institution.”  The deduction would be
effective for taxable years beginning on
or after January 1, 2000, and before
January 1, 2005.
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