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California’s Paperless Extension is for Filing not Paying  

Generally, California grants all income and franchise taxpayers an automatic extension 
of time to file a tax return. There is no request a taxpayer needs to make in order to take 
advantage of this automatic extension to file a tax return. As long as taxpayers file their 
tax returns within the extension period, taxpayers are allowed either a six-month or 
seven-month extension. 1  There is no request a taxpayer needs to make in order to 
take advantage of this automatic extension to file a return. The extended due date for a 
2012 California calendar-year taxpayer (individual, partnership, limited liability company, 
or corporation) is October 15, 2013.2 If the tax return is filed late (after October 15) no 
valid extension exists and the taxpayer is subject to a late filing penalty.3 (Cal. Code of 
Regulations section 18567(a)) The late filing penalty is computed at a rate of five 
percent of the tax due for every month that the tax return is late, up to a maximum of 25 
percent. (Revenue and Taxation Code Section 19131(a)) In some cases individual 
taxpayers may be subject to a minimum late filing  
penalty amount.4 

In addition to the late filing penalty based on tax, pass-through business entities (such 
as partnerships, limited liability companies, or S corporations) are also subject to a late 
filing penalty based on the total number of partners, members, or shareholders. For 
more information on this late penalty, see our August 2012 Tax News article. 

The extension is for time to file, not for time to pay, so when the full amount of tax is not 
paid by the original due date of the tax return, a late payment penalty5 at the rate of five 
percent plus 0.5 percent per month or a fraction of a month and interest will be imposed 
until the tax is fully paid even if the return is filed on time. The late payment penalty will 
continue to accrue from the original due date until the taxpayer pays in full or we assess 
the maximum  
25 percent penalty. 
 
Like the late filing penalty, taxpayers can avoid this penalty if they can show their failure 
to pay was due to reasonable cause. The fact that it may have been difficult to estimate 
the proper amount of tax due is not sufficient, to prove reasonable cause. Taxpayers 
must be able to prove that despite the exercise of ordinary business care and prudence, 
they were unable to pay the correct amount of tax. However, the penalty is not imposed 
                                                 
1  Tax returns for corporations filing on a calendar year basis are due on the 15th day of the third month following the 
close of the tax year. To allow for uniformity of the extended due date, corporations have a seven month extension 
to file.   
2 In some cases additional time may be allowed. For example, taxpayers residing or traveling abroad and members 
of the armed forces or Merchant Marines serve beyond the boundaries of the U.S. 
3 To avoid the late filing penalty the taxpayer would need to show the failure to file was due to reasonable cause. 
4 The minimum amount for individuals is the lesser of $100 or 100 percent of the tax required to be shown on the 
return. The tax amount upon which the penalty is based is the amount of tax required to be shown on the return, 
reduced by any amount of tax paid on or before the prescribed due date for the payment of the tax and any credit 
against the tax which may be claimed upon the tax return. 
5 Also called the underpayment of tax penalty or the failure to pay penalty 

https://www.ftb.ca.gov/professionals/taxnews/2012/August/Article_5.shtml
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if taxpayers pay at least 90 percent of the tax by the original due date and pay any 
remaining amount due with their timely-filed (by the extended due date) tax return.  

For more information on penalties we may assess businesses and individuals, see our 
recently updated FTB 1024, Penalty Reference Chart. 

Interest 
 
Even if your client can show reasonable cause for either the late filing or late payment of 
tax, interest is charged. Interest is not a penalty. Since 1982, California law requires 
interest to be compounded daily. Interest begins to be charged from original due date 
for underpayments because the liability for tax arises on the original due date and ends 
on the effective date of payment.  
 
To find both current and past adjusted interest rates, go to ftb.ca.gov and search for 
interest rates. 
 
If your client is planning to file the return under the automatic extension period, but has 
not paid the full amount of tax owed, unpaid tax should be paid as soon as possible 
after the original due date to avoid the accrual of penalties and interest. 
 
Your client can use Web Pay for Individuals or Businesses to make payments online. 
Businesses and individuals can either pay the same day or schedule payments up to 
one year in advance 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Go to ftb.ca.gov and search for 
web pay.  

Note: Taxpayers that cannot pay in full and needs to make monthly payments can 
request an Installment Agreement. 

 

 

  
Update on California’s Other Withholding Regulatory 
Process  
 
After our public hearing held on April 4, 2013, we are now closer to having updated 
regulations for withholding of tax at source relating to California source income (R&TC 
Section 18662). The proposed regulations will provide clear, comprehensive guidance 
to taxpayers, tax practitioners, withholding agents, and the public. 
 
We designed our new withholding regulations to provide guidance consistent with the 
current statutory framework, reflect our current practices and procedures, and reflect 
changes determined to be necessary or desirable after consulting with taxpayers, tax 
practitioners, and other parties at the interested parties meetings.  

https://www.ftb.ca.gov/forms/misc/1024.pdf
https://www.ftb.ca.gov/individuals/faq/ivr/617.shtml
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/index.shtml
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/online/eia/index.asp
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Withholding on the Sale or Transfer of a Business or 
Substantial Portion of Business Assets  

Did you know if you acquire the assets of a business, you also acquire its (the payer’s) 
withholding tax liability? Under California law (RT&C Section 18669) the successor of 
business assets can be held personally liable for the amount of withholding taxes, 
interest, and penalties if not paid by the payer. It does not matter how the assets were 
acquired, whether purchased, transferred, inherited, or distributed in liquidation. The 
obligation to pay required withholding tax transfers with the assets. The successor’s 
liability is limited to the fair market value of the assets acquired.  

As a successor, you are required to withhold in trust a sufficient part of purchase price 
or set aside in trust money or property to cover the amount of the taxes required to be 
withheld and any interest or penalties associated with the withholding tax obligation(s) 
that are due or unpaid by the business entity (payer).  

Not sure how much? Just Ask  

A successor can submit a written request to us for the amount of withholding taxes, 
interest, or penalties due. We have 60 days to issue a certificate or statement showing 
the amount due. The successor is then required to pay any required withholding taxes 
and any interest or penalties due or unpaid within 30 days after we issue a statement 
showing the amount due or on the day the business or assets are acquired, whichever 
occurs last. If a written request for a certificate is not made by the successor, the 
amount of withholding taxes, interest, or penalties due or unpaid is due the day the 
business or assets are acquired. If payment is not made by the due date, a 10 percent 
penalty, based on the payable amount, can be assessed.  

If we do not issue a certificate or statement within the 60-day period after a successor 
submits a request, we are deemed to have issued a certificate stating no withholding 
taxes, interest, or penalties are due.  

Whether or not we issue a certificate or statement within the 60-day period or collect 
amounts due from a successor, the business entity (payer) remains liable for the 
amount due, less any amounts we collected from any successor(s).  

To request a certificate:  
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The successor of a California business, successor representative, escrow officer, or title 
officer may submit a written request for a bulk sale certificate. The written request can 
be faxed to 916.845.9034. The request must include the following information:  

• Name of successor  
• Complete successor’s mailing address  
• Escrow company’s name  
• Complete escrow company’s address, phone, and fax  
• Escrow officer’s name  
• Escrow number  
• Sales price  
• Estimated closing date  
• Name of business being transferred  
• Physical address of business  
• Liquor license number (if any)  
• Payer name  
• Complete payer physical address  
• State tax account number  

Need more information?  

• Send us an email at withholding services.  
• Give us a call at:  

o 888.792.4900  
o 916.845.4900  

Stay tuned to our website and Tax News for more information about  
California withholding.  

 
 

  
Using Web Pay to Make Amended Return Payments 
 
If your clients file an amended return with a balance due and use Web Pay to make the 
payment, they should select the following payment option: Notice of Proposed 
Assessment, Amended Return (Form 540X), or Form 3834 Payment (Interest 
Computation Under the Look-Back Method for Completed Long-Term Contracts). This 
payment will be reflected in their MyFTB Account as a Notice of Proposed Assessment.   
 
 
 

https://www.ftb.ca.gov/contact_us/withholding_questions.asp?
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Top 500 State Income Tax Delinquents  
 
We updated our Top 500 Delinquent Taxpayers list. 310 individuals and 62 businesses 
make up the new list. Combined they owe the state more than $193 million.  

In February, we sent letters to 500 taxpayers who could potentially appear on the list if 
they failed to resolve their tax liabilities. 128 taxpayers resolved their accounts and paid 
more than $3 million, to prevent their inclusion. More than $216 million has been 
collected from the top debtors program since its October 2007 inception. 

Being on the Top 500 Delinquent Taxpayer list carries added provisions, including:   
 
• Suspension of state-issued licenses including driver’s licenses and occupational 

or professional licenses. 
• Publishing professional license information. 
• Prohibiting state agencies from entering into contracts with listed debtors.   
• Returning noncompliant taxpayers to the list. 
• Publishing the names and titles of corporate officers of listed corporations. 

 
We will remove taxpayers on the Top 500 list once the tax is paid or the taxpayer 
agrees to make payments under an approved installment agreement or Offer in 
Compromise. Tax liabilities in bankruptcy proceedings are not included on the list.  
 
Individuals on the list can contact us at 888.426.8555 to resolve their accounts. 
Business taxpayers can call 888.426.8751.  

The Top 500 list is published twice a year in April and October. The October 2012 
update listed 385 taxpayers and total balances owed in excess of $224 million. A total of 
115 accounts were resolved prior to publication.  

The Board of Equalization has a similar list of the state’s top sales and use tax 
delinquencies, which they update quarterly. 
 
 

 

  
Statewide Median Income Up In 2011 
 
The statewide median income for all 2011 individual tax returns was $34,684, an 
increase of 2.2 percent over 2010’s median income amount. For joint tax returns, the 
statewide median income was $68,122, an increase of 3.6 percent over 2010.  
 

https://www.ftb.ca.gov/aboutFTB/Delinquent_Taxpayers.shtml
http://www.boe.ca.gov/cgi-bin/deliq.cgi
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“Median income” is the point where one half of the tax returns are above and one half is 
below the midpoint of the range of values. Median income represents the income 
reported by a typical California individual or couple. 
 
California taxpayers filed 15.8 million 2011 state income tax returns, reporting $1.1 
trillion of adjusted gross income. This is an increase of 5.7 percent from tax year 2010 
figures. Adjusted gross income is a tax term that means the total income increased or 
reduced by specific adjustments, before taking the standard itemized deduction. 
 
Over the past 40 years, the Bay Area counties of Marin, San Mateo, Santa Clara, and 
Contra Costa have consistently reported the highest median incomes. Marin County still 
remains the highest median income for joint tax returns, reporting $120,170, an 
increase of 5.4 percent over 2010. Santa Clara County ranked second with $103,019, 
while San Mateo County ranked third with $102,793 and Contra Costa County ranked 
fourth with $89,924. 
 
Los Angeles County taxpayers filed 25.4 percent of all 2011 income tax returns in 
California. They reported median incomes of $30,255 for all individual tax returns and 
$58,859 for joint tax returns, ranking 38 and 26 respectively. 
 
Alpine County reported the largest percentage gain in median income for all counties of 
8.2 percent. For joint-filed tax returns, Trinity County reported the largest increase gain 
with a 7.0 percent increase. 
 
 
 
 
 
Ask the Advocate 
 

Looking for Information about Nonresidents 
and Part-Year Residents? We’ve got that! 
 
We continually look for ways to communicate with the taxpayer 
and provide guidance on a variety of issues our stakeholders are 
interested in. In March, we updated our website to include 
information on the basics of residency status, source income, 
community property and the other state tax credit (OSTC) 
 
Until recently, we had limited web page information for 
nonresident and part-year resident taxpayers. Most of what was 
out there required you to look through the following publications: 

 
• Publication 1031 – Guidelines for Determining Resident Status  

https://www.ftb.ca.gov/forms/2012/12_1031.pdf
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• Publication 1100 – Taxation of Nonresidents and Individuals Who Change 
Residency  

• 540NR – Nonresident or Part-Year Resident  Booklet 
 
By  creating new webpages dedicated to nonresidents and part-year residents, we are 
able to provide all the content in one place and also provide links to the appropriate 
forms and publications, the Residency and Sourcing Technical Manual, and information 
on withholding on California source income.   
 
 
Steve Sims, EA 
Taxpayers’ Rights Advocate 
 
Follow me on Twitter at twitter.com/FTBAdvocate. 
 
 
 
 
 

 
Event Calendar 
 
As part of our education and outreach to our tax professional community, we participate 
in many different presentations and fairs. We now provide a combined-calendar to show 
the events we are attending, as well as other events happening with us, such as 
interested party and board meetings.  
 
 
 
 

 
Introducing a new periodic column… 
 
Chief Counsel Corner 
 

To Docket or Not to Docket – That is the Question  
 
A taxpayer who receives a Notice of Proposed Deficiency 
Assessment (NPA) may request an administrative review by the 
Franchise Tax Board (FTB) of that proposed assessment by 
filing a "protest" as provided in Revenue and Taxation Code 
Section 19041. Protests are assigned to a hearing officer in 
various units within FTB depending upon the origin of the NPA 
or the subject matter of the NPA. Some protests are handled by 
the Accounts Receivable Management Division and some by 

https://www.ftb.ca.gov/forms/misc/1100.pdf
https://www.ftb.ca.gov/forms/2012/12_540nrbk.pdf
https://www.ftb.ca.gov/individuals/fileRtn/Nonresidents_PartYear_Residents.shtml
https://www.ftb.ca.gov/individuals/fileRtn/Nonresidents_PartYear_Residents_forms_pubs.shtml
https://www.ftb.ca.gov/aboutFTB/manuals/audit/rstm/index.shtml
https://www.ftb.ca.gov/individuals/wsc/index.shtml
http://twitter.com/FTBAdvocate
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the Filing Division. Also, some are handled in the Audit Division's automated program 
areas.   
 
Protests of NPAs that originate as the result of field audits are handled either in FTB’s 
Audit Division or FTB’s Legal Division. Each week, a list of all of this type of new 
protests filed with the FTB is distributed to staff in both the FTB Audit and Legal 
Divisions to determine whether to docket the protest. Protests assigned to the Legal 
Division are called "docketed protests.” Protests assigned to the Audit Division are 
called "undocketed protests." 
 
You may wonder what criteria are used to determine which cases will be handled by the 
Legal Division and which will be handled by the Audit Division. In general, protests 
handled in the Legal Division typically involve larger dollar amounts and more complex 
issues. They may also involve emerging issues or issues of first impression. In addition, 
most protests involving assessments based on the use of potentially-abusive tax 
avoidance transactions are handled by the Legal Division.   
 
Even though a protest case may be assigned to the Audit Division does not mean the 
Legal Division will not be involved, and vice versa. FTB attorneys are available to 
consult with the Audit protest hearing officers as needed throughout the process, and 
Audit support is also utilized by the attorneys handling docketed protests. FTB Legal 
and Audit Divisions work collaboratively in the handling of taxpayers' protests.   
 
Jozel Brunett 
Chief Counsel 
 
 
 
  
 

 
 
EDR in the News  
 
EDR Release 2.0 Is Coming in June 
June is fast approaching and we are getting ready to implement EDR Release 2.0 This 
release is a pilot and includes two primary components: automating our correspondence 
processing and expanding our Image Cash Letter program.  
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Overall, we receive over 2.5 million pieces of correspondence annually. For the pilot, we 
are focusing on correspondence related to Personal Income Tax Return Information 
Notices (RINs). We anticipate about 5,000 pieces of RIN correspondence during the 
pilot period.  
 
Currently, we handle correspondence manually which is a labor-intensive and time-
consuming process. It includes opening, sorting, and manually routing each letter to the 
appropriate work area. Our new EDR process allows us to scan and electronically route 
the scanned image of the correspondence to the appropriate work area for processing. 
These changes will help us to handle our correspondence more efficiently and speed up 
our response time for taxpayers.  
 
Also, we expanded the Image Cash Letter (ICL) program to include all check payments 
we receive. Previously, we processed a limited number of checks through ICL. ICL 
allows us to electronically deposit payments made by paper check. This helps us 
reduce the time, cost, and risk involved with processing paper checks.  
  
Release 2.0 will be implemented on June 30, 2013. 
 
 
  
 
Inside FTB 
 
Free Webinars 

Interested in participating in free live upcoming webinars or viewing a re-broadcast of a 
previous webinar at your convenience? Just visit the News & Events section of our 
website, and select the “Webinars” option from the left side menu. 

We offer free webinars that cover many topics. All you need to register is a valid email 
address and your name.  

Registration will soon begin for the following webinars: 
 

• 06/12/13 Self-Help: Using Our Website to Help You 
• 06/25/13  Individuals: 10 Reasons Why We Issue RINs & How to Prevent  

    Them 

If you missed participating in a live event, you can always watch webinar videos or read 
the transcripts online. Presently available are the following two webinars: 

• 03/19/13  FTB 3520, Power of Attorney - What's New 
• 03/26/13 How to Request Waivers for the Underpayment of Estimated Tax  

   Penalty Due to Proposition 30 

https://www.ftb.ca.gov/professionals/taxnews/2012/March/Article_11.shtml
https://www.ftb.ca.gov/aboutftb/media/webinars/index.shtml
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To view our prerecorded webinars, you must register for each webinar separately. 
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