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Take a Quick Survey to Help Us Help You! 
 
We invite you to participate in a quick, three-minute online survey related to the Tax 
Professionals section of our website. We intend to use the information we gather to 
update this section to better meet your needs as you serve your clients. The survey will 
be available online from October 18, 2012, through November 15, 2012. Completing the 
survey today improves your website for tomorrow. 
 
 
 
 
Keeping Good Records of Your Credits 
 
California has many credits that California taxpayers and businesses may benefit from. 
Tax laws regarding tax credits are always changing, but there are tax credits qualified 
taxpayers can use to reduce their tax liability. Since tax credits directly reduce a 
qualified taxpayer’s tax liability, they can save your clients more than a tax deduction. 
For example, for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2012, and before 
January 1, 2017, California has a new Donated Fresh Fruits or Vegetables Credit, as an 
alternative to claiming a deduction. Qualified taxpayers who make a qualified donation 
of fresh fruits or fresh vegetables to a California food bank and received the required 
certificate acknowledging the donation will be able to claim a credit equal to 10 percent 
of the costs, as specified. Any unused credit may be carried over and used in the 
following seven years. 
 
Tax credits are usually enacted as incentives to do something, like encourage business 
investments and promote the creation of new jobs. For example, California’s New Jobs 
Credit which allows small business owners, who had 20 or fewer employees on the last 
day of the previous taxable year, to claim a credit for each additional full-time employee 
hired. California allocated $400 million for this tax credit. As of October 6, 2012, the 
cumulative total amount of New Jobs Credit generated on personal income tax and 
business entity tax returns filed and processed is $133,963,239. This credit is  
allocated on a first-come, first-served basis up to $3,000 for each additional full-time 
qualified employee. 
 
Now is the time to make decisions to take advantage of tax credits. When it comes to 
tax credits one thing they all have in common is the need to retain the proper 
documentation/records for the tax credits you want to claim. 
 
Good tax planning would include looking ahead at what credits your client may qualify 
for and determine what records you should keep that will support the tax credit they plan 
to claim in the upcoming year.  

https://www.ftb.ca.gov/professionals/index.shtml?WT.mc_id=Global_Professionals_Tab
https://www.ftb.ca.gov/professionals/index.shtml?WT.mc_id=Global_Professionals_Tab
https://www.surveymonkey.com/s/TAXProSurvey
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Keeping good records helps you 

Having a good recordkeeping system which you keep up-to-date will help you: 

• Keep track of qualified expenses. 
• Save time and accountancy costs. 
• Pay the correct amount of tax. 
• Receive the correct amount of benefits or credits. 
• Avoid paying any extra tax or penalties. 

The records you need to keep 

The sort of records you need to keep depends upon the type of tax credit you plan to 
claim.  

How to keep your records 

The law does not say how you must keep your records. You must keep some original 
paper documents which show that tax has been deducted. You can keep all original 
documents; however, records can be kept electronically (on a computer or any storage 
device, such as disk, CD, memory stick, or microfilm) as long as the method you use: 

• Captures all the information on the document (front and back). 
• Allows the information to be presented to us in a readable format, if we need to see it. 

How long to keep your records 

As a general rule, you should keep your records for as long as you have credit available 
to be used plus a minimum of four years (in addition to the year a credit amount is 
claimed).  
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California’s 15-Day Rule - What is it and How Does it Work? 
 
Short Tax Year  
 
California law (R&TC Sections 17936, 17946, 17948.2 and 23114) contains provisions 
that operate to provide relief to business entities (limited partnerships, limited liability 
partnerships, limited liability companies, and corporations) from the general requirement 
to pay the annual/minimum tax.  

A business entity is not subject to the $800 annual/minimum tax if the entity: 

• Did not conduct business in the state during the tax year. 

• The tax year was 15 days or less.  

The short tax year of 15 days or less rule is explained in FTB Publication 1060, Guide 
for Corporations Starting Business in California. And when it comes to corporations, if 
the rule qualifies for the short-year 15-day rule, this period of time will also be 
disregarded for purposes of determining the corporation’s first year minimum tax waiver 
(see October 2012 and August 2011 Tax News for more information).   

Entity Conversions 

Under California law, a business entity may be able convert its legal form into another 
business entity type by filing the necessary paperwork with the Secretary of State 
(SOS), such as when a limited partnership converts into a limited liability company.  

An entity that converts into another entity is effectively the same entity that existed 
before the conversion, except for tax purposes. 

The converting entity ends its tax year on the date of conversion, while the converted 
entity does not begin its tax year until the next day. 

The 15-day rule does not normally apply to entities involved in a conversion because 
they are usually continuously doing business during the both periods involved, so both 
the converting and converted entity will each have a filing requirement. 

Fractional Month  

Unlike the short tax year discussed above, when it comes to determined due dates for 
payment and filing, every day counts, and a fractional month counts as a full month. 
California’s laws due dates are normally determined based on the 15th day of a 
specified month. For example, individuals and corporations generally have a 
requirement to make estimated tax payments on the 15th day of the 4th, 6th, and 9th 
month of the tax year and the 15th day 1st month following the end of the tax year. Tax 
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returns are generally due on either the 15th day of the 3rd or 4th month after the close of 
a tax year depending on the type of tax return filed. Limited liability companies are 
required to pay their $800 annual tax on or before the 15th day of the 4th month of its tax 
year. Taxpayers who fail to timely file or make payments by the required dates are 
generally subject to penalties and interest.    

We have been receiving inquiries from taxpayers who have received a bill for penalties 
and or interest, wanting to use a 15-day rule to disregard a month within a longer tax 
year. When it comes to counting months for a tax year (that is more than 15 days), there 
is no 15-day rule in the law. Any fraction of month counts as a full month whether it is at 
the beginning of a tax year, like the start of a new business, or at the end of a tax year.  

For newly-formed LLCs, the $800 annual tax payment is due and payable by the 15th 
day of the 4th month after the LLC registers with the California SOS or the date it begins 
doing business, if business began before it registers with the California SOS. Any 
portion of a month is considered a full month for calculating the annual tax payment  
due date. 
 
Example:  LLC1, a newly-formed LLC, organizes as an LLC and registers with the 
California SOS on June 18, 2012. LLC1 begins doing business in California on August 
14, 2012. Since LLC1 registered on June 18, 2012, the annual LLC tax is due by 
September 15, 2012 (by the 15th day of the 4th month). LLC1’s annual tax payment for 
taxable year 2013 is due by April 15, 2013. If LLC1’s fiscal year (June 1, 2013 – May 
31, 2014) the annual tax payment for taxable year 2013, is due by September 15, 2013. 
The annual tax payment is due with Form FTB 3522, LLC Tax Voucher.  
      
Based on your input that our instructions are unclear when it comes to counting a short 
formation month as the first month we will add language and an example to the 2012 
Form 568, Limited Liability Return of Income.   
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Ask the Advocate 
 

CSEA Annual Meeting 
 
On September 21 2012, we held our annual liaison 
meeting with the California Society of Enrolled Agents 
(CSEA). This year, like every year, they had some 
really great questions for FTB staff. I’ve decided to 
share a few of questions I thought our Tax News 
readers would find most interesting in my Ask the 
Advocate column this month.  
 
Question 1: 
  
Please provide any progress towards FTB’s ability to 
accept amended and prior year returns through e-file.  
 
Response 1: 
 
Amended returns: Software providers have indicated 

they will not support e-file for CA amended returns (FTB 540X) until the IRS begins 
allowing federal amended returns (IRS 1040X) to be e-filed. Therefore 540X returns will 
be implemented at the same time the IRS implements e-file of 1040X returns. At this 
time the IRS has not set a definitive date, but currently is planning to implement the 
1040X in January 2015, at the earliest.   
 
Prior year returns:  FTB currently supports e-filing of two prior tax years in addition to 
the current tax year. Tax preparers should check with their software provider to see if 
they support e-filing of prior years. 
 
 
Question 2: 
 
Our members reported that taxpayers, who have filed tax returns and failed to claim real 
estate withholding on Form 593-B, even in situations where FTB has been able to 
confirm receipt of these funds as credits on the taxpayer account, are not refunding 
these amounts unless an amended return with Form 593 B is filed with FTB requesting 
the amount. Is this correct information? Shouldn’t the withholding be included on a 
Return Information Notice (RIN) and refunded in the normal processing of the  
original return?  
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Response 2: 
FTB eliminated Form 593-B beginning with tax year 2008. Real estate withholding is 
reported on FTB Form 593, Real Estate Withholding Tax Statement, when escrow 
 is completed.  
To claim the withholding credit, the taxpayer should: 

• Report the sale or transfer as required on their appropriate tax return.  
• Enter the withholding amount from Form 593, on the appropriate line designated 

for real estate withholding on the tax return. Attach a copy of Form 593 to the 
lower front of the tax return, Side 1.     

 
If the real estate sale or transfer is reported on an original return but the taxpayer fails to 
claim the withholding credit on that return, the subsequent request is a refund claim 
under Revenue and Taxation Code (R&TC) Section 19322. We request the taxpayer file 
an amended return to properly report the credit to ensure accurate processing and to 
preserve the taxpayer's administrative appeal rights if the claim is denied. We 
understand the concerns with time and costs associated with filing an amended return. 
Our system generates a RIN when an error on the return results in an adjustment during 
processing. The taxpayer will not receive a RIN when real estate withholding is omitted 
because our current systems are not able to associate unclaimed withholding with the 
tax return during processing. We are working to improve our systems and current 
practices and expect to have the ability to notify taxpayers of any unclaimed withholding 
credits at the end of 2013 or early 2014. These are estimated dates, pending  
available resources. 
 
Question 3: 
 
CSEA was pleased to see FTB 2012 Legislative Proposal C, which seeks to reenact 
expired R&TC Section 21004, authorizing the FTB Taxpayer Advocate to waive 
penalties and other additions to taxes for FTB errors. If this provision is reenacted 
effective January 2013, could you explain the correct procedure for a taxpayer to apply 
for this relief with the Taxpayer Advocate’s office?  
 
Response 3: 
 
On September 17, 2012, the Governor signed AB 2686. Accordingly, the procedures for 
requesting equity relief will be similar to the existing process for requesting an 
abatement of interest. Specifically, taxpayers will make requests for equity relief 
in writing.  
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The request for equity relief will include: 
• Taxpayer’s name. 
• Social security or entity identification number. 
• Taxpayer’s address. 
• Tax year and type of relief requested. 
• An explanation of why relief should be granted. 
• Signature, title, if applicable, and date. 

 
We are presently creating a form, similar to FTB 3701, that may be used to make 
requests or equity relief. 
 
Mail request to: 
 

EXECUTIVE AND ADVOCATE SERVICES 
FRANCHISE TAX BOARD MS A381 
PO BOX 157 
RANCHO CORDOVA CA 95741-0157 

 
Fax request to: 916.845.6614   
 
 
Question 4: 
 
Members have reported that an FTB procedure allows for corporate revivors of 
suspended corporations before full payment is received. This includes processing 
delinquent franchise tax returns, concluding with installment payment arrangements. 
Please clarify your revivor practice, including timing for revivor with/without all 
delinquent returns and full payment.  
 
Response 4: 

 
Generally, suspended corporations or LLC’s (entity) are required to file all missing 
returns and pay all amounts due as a condition of being revived to good standing. 
(R&TC Sections 23305 and 23305.1)  
 
However, if collection of the full amount cannot be secured because of the suspension, 
collection staff has the discretion to consider reviving the entity to good standing without 
full payment to allow the entity to receive funds or other assets used to pay any 
amounts due in full. (R&TC Section 23305b) A specific future source or method of 
collection must be identified and secured and the entity must provide any 
documentation to support the decision to revive the entity that is requested. Under this 
procedure, an entity may be revived without full payment, however all missing returns 
must be filed. If there is a financial hardship, an installment agreement may be 
approved with this procedure. 
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Estimated revivor turnaround time once a complete request is received: 
 
Revivor request by mail Up to 6 weeks 
Revivor request by telephone Up to 2 weeks 
Revivor request at the field office Up to 2 weeks 
Rush “walk-through” revivor* Same day 
Discretionary revivor  
(R&TC Section 23305b) 

Up to 10 days 

 
*Rush walk-through revivor is available in the Sacramento, Oakland, San Francisco, 
Santa Ana, Los Angeles, and San Diego field offices. A fee of $56 applies for 
corporations. There is no fee for LLC’s at this time. All requirements must be received in 
the field office by 2 p.m., 1 p.m. for Los Angeles. To expedite processing, please call 
888. 635.0494 to obtain up-to-date revivor requirements prior to your visit to our  
field office. 
 
Steve Sims, EA 
Taxpayers’ Rights Advocate 
 
Follow me on Twitter at twitter.com/FTBAdvocate. 

 
 
 
 
 
Event Calendar 
 
As part of our education and outreach to our tax professional community, we participate 
in many different presentations and fairs. We now provide a combined-calendar to show 
the events we are attending as well as other events happening with us such as 
interested party and board meetings.  
 
  

http://twitter.com/FTBAdvocate
https://www.ftb.ca.gov/aboutftb/Events_calendar.shtml?WT.mc_id=News_Sidebar_Events
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EDR in the News 
Successful Implementation of EDR Release 1.0 
 
On September 30, we successfully implemented EDR Release 1.0. Release 1.0 uses 
new technology and equipment that makes our return and payment processes more 
efficient. For instance, our four new scanners are faster and allow us to scan more 
types of returns and attachments.  
 
We implemented Image Cash Letter (ICL). ICL allows us to electronically deposit 
checks into our bank accounts instantly by transmitting electronic images of the checks 
to our bank. Our new deposit process allows us to make many electronic deposits 
throughout the day versus one deposit per day.  
 
On December 31, 2012, we will kick-off EDR Release 1.0.1. This release expands the 
types and volumes of returns and payments that we are scanning. 
 
 
 
 
 
Inside FTB 
 

New Tax News Live Video – Avoid an Estimate Penalty 

We partnered with California Society of Enrolled Agents Education Foundation to 
produce our latest new video. Our newest video, Avoid an Estimate Penalty, gives tips 
to tax professionals for when their clients should pay estimated tax payments. For other 
products, go to our products page at ftb.ca.gov. 

 
  

https://www.ftb.ca.gov/professionals/taxnews/2012/august/EDR.shtml
http://www.youtube.com/watch?list=UU-1Kl0NQO9yRBUK5YTmcGBQ&v=6Jj02wf2cYE&feature=player_detailpage
https://www.ftb.ca.gov/professionals/taxnews/Index.shtml
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/
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Criminal Corner

Los Angeles Tax Professionals Arrested for Illegal Tax Schemes 
Costing State $7.6 Million

A Cerritos CPA and Los Angeles attorney were arrested on felony charges of 
conspiracy and tax evasion.

((****************)), 53, and ((****************)), 51, each own one-third of Kruse Mennillo, 
LLP. According to our special agents, ((******)) and ((********)) allegedly promoted an 
abusive tax avoidance transaction (ATAT) to more than 100 clients during the years 
2002-2005. The fraudulent activity cost the state more than $7.6 million in tax liability. 

They each face three felony counts of aiding in the preparation of false state income tax 
returns and one felony count of conspiracy. Each tax count carries a maximum 
sentence of three years in state prison.

They instructed their clients to utilize an ATAT involving the creation of Nevada 
corporations and Roth IRA or Employee Stock Option Plans (ESOP) as the sole 
shareholders. The ATAT was formed with a series of related transactions with no valid 
business purpose other than tax evasion.

((******)) and ((*******)) were recently arrested and both pleaded not guilty at their 
arraignments.

Los Angeles County Deputy District Attorney (Major Fraud Division), Lana Kim is 
prosecuting the case.

Legislation enacted in 2003 and 2011 provided us with more enforcement tools to crack 
down on abusive tax shelters, such as increasing the time period to conduct audits, 
greater registration requirements, and increased penalties for both investing in and 
promoting illegal tax shelters.

Our audit program identified and referred this case to the department’s criminal 
investigation program. We continue to attack the use of abusive tax shelters, which 
costsCalifornia hundreds of millions in lost revenue.

NOTE: ((***)) = Indicates confidential and/or proprietary information that has been deleted.
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Big Business 
 
Short Period Return Due Date 
 
What is a short period return and when is it due? Let’s start with defining a short period 
tax year as. It is any period of less than 12 months. The circumstances that would 
generally result in a “short period” return to be filed with California are: 
 

• When a federal return for a period of less than 12 months is required. 
 

• When there is an accounting period change. In such case, the return shall be 
made for the short period beginning on the day after the close of the former 
taxable year and ending at the close of the day before the day designated as the 
first day of the new taxable year.  

 
• A business entity exists for only part of what would otherwise be its taxable year. 

 
• When an S corporation election is terminated during its year. The corporation 

must file two short-period returns. Each short-period return is deemed a separate 
tax year, and both will generally be subject to the minimum franchise tax.  

 

Although California does have a paperless extension that allows the tax return to be 
filed later, for most business entities, except limited liability companies, tax is generally 
due on either the 15th day of the 3rd or 4th month after the close of a tax year depending 
on the type of tax return being filed. Therefore, the tax for short period corporate return 
generally will be due on the 15th day of the 3rd month after the close of the short-period 
tax year, unless provided otherwise in the law. 
 
For more information, see FTB Publication 1060, Guide for Corporations Starting 
Business in California at ftb.ca.gov. 
 

http://www.ftb.ca.gov/forms/misc/1060.pdf
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/forms/misc/1060.pdf
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/
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