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What’s New and Other Important Information for 2011 
Final Filing Date  

Since Monday, April 16 is a legal holiday in Washington DC (Emancipation Day), 
California will accept returns and payments as timely if received on or before Tuesday, 
April 17.  

Tax Decrease  

The personal income tax rate decreased by 0.25 percent. 

Dependent Exemptions Credit 

The dependent exemption credit increased from $99 to $315 per dependent. 

Child and Dependent Care Expenses Credit 

The Child and Dependent Care Expense Credit is now nonrefundable. 

Voluntary Contributions 

Personal income taxpayers may contribute to the following three new funds: 

• Municipal Shelter Spay-Neuter Fund. 
• ALS/Lou Gehrig’s Disease Research Fund. 
• Child Victims of Human Trafficking Fund. 

Estimated Use Tax Table 

Personal income taxpayers may use the Estimated Use Tax Table in the 2011 
California 540, 540A, and 540 2EZ Tax Booklets to report the use tax due on individual 
non-business items purchased for less than $1,000 each, instead of using the Use Tax 
Worksheet. This option is only available if taxpayers are permitted to report use tax on 
their income tax returns and taxpayers are not required to use the Use Tax Worksheet. 
Simply include the use tax liability that corresponds to the taxpayer’s California Adjusted 
Gross Income and the taxpayer will not be assessed additional use tax on the individual 
non-business items purchased for less than $1,000 each. 

http://www.ftb.ca.gov/forms/2011/11_540bk.pdf
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Do not use the Estimated Use Tax Table to estimate and report the use tax due on 
purchases of items for use in business or on purchases of individual non-business items 
purchased for $1,000 or more each.    

California Motion Picture and Television Production Credit 

The credit, which is allocated and certified by the California Film Commission, is 20 
percent of expenditures attributable to a qualified motion picture and 25 percent of 
production expenditures attributable to an independent film or a TV series that relocates 
to California. 

The qualified taxpayer can: 

• Offset the credit against income tax liability. 
• Sell the credit to an unrelated party (independent films only). 
• Assign the credit to an affiliated corporation. 
• Apply the credit against qualified sales and use taxes. 

Form FTB 3541, California Motion Picture and Television Production Credit. 
Form FTB 3551, Sale of Credit Attributable to an Independent Film.  
 
For more information go to ftb.ca.gov and search for California Motion Picture and 
Television Production.  
 
2011 Corporation Tax Law Changes 

California adopted and amended statutes that change how multistate corporations are 
taxed in California. The following areas of law have changed: 

• Market Assignment - Requires a taxpayer to assign sales, other than sales of 
tangible personal property, based on market rather than costs of performance when 
a single-sales factor formula election has been made. 

• Finnigan Rule - For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2011, the 
Finnigan Rule is adopted in assigning sales from tangible personal property. 
Finnigan refers to a method of calculating the sales factor numerator in a unitary 
group of corporations. 

• Gross Receipts - The definition of gross receipts was amended. 

• “Gross receipts” means the gross amounts realized (the sum of money and 
the fair market value of other property or services received) on either of the 
following: 

o The sale or exchange of property. 

o The performance of services. 

o The use of property or capital (including rents, royalties, interest, and 
dividends) in a transaction that produces business income, in which 
the income, gain, or loss is recognized (or would be recognized if the 

http://www.ftb.ca.gov/forms/2011/11_3541.pdf
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/forms/2011/11_3551.pdf
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/individuals/california_motion_picture_and_television_production_credit/index.shtml
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/individuals/california_motion_picture_and_television_production_credit/index.shtml
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transaction were in the United States) under the Internal Revenue 
Code (IRC). 

Amounts realized on the sale or exchange of property shall not be reduced by the 
cost of goods sold or the basis of property sold. 

• Doing Business - A taxpayer is doing business if it actively engages in any 
transaction for the purpose of financial gain in California or if any of the following 
conditions is satisfied: 

• The taxpayer is organized or commercially domiciled in California. 
• The sales, as defined in Revenue and Taxation Code (R&TC) Section 

25120(e) or (f), of the taxpayer in California, including sales by the taxpayer’s 
agents and independent contractors, exceed the lesser of $500,000 or 25 
percent of the taxpayer’s total sales. 

• The real property and tangible personal property of the taxpayer in California 
exceed the lesser of $50,000 or 25 percent of the taxpayer’s total real 
property and tangible personal property.  

• The amount paid in California by the taxpayer for compensation, as defined in 
R&TC Section 25120(c), exceeds the lesser of $50,000 or 25 percent of the 
total compensation paid by the taxpayer. 

• In determining the amount of the taxpayer’s sales, property, and payroll for 
doing business purposes, include the taxpayer’s pro rata share of amounts 
from partnerships and S corporations.  

 
• Single-Sales Factor Formula – Any apportioning trade or business, other than an 

apportioning trade or business under R&TC Section 25128(b) such as certain 
taxpayers in agricultural, extractive, and financial areas, may make an irrevocable 
annual election on an original timely-filed return to apportion California business 
income using the single-sales factor formula. For more information, get Schedule R, 
Apportionment, and Allocation of Income. 

For more information go to ftb.ca.gov and search for 2011 tax law changes  

New Schedule EO, Pass-Through Entity Ownership  

The new schedule EO is developed for pass-through entities to report all pass-through 
entities in which the taxpayer holds ownership interests. In the past, we asked for that 
information in the form of a taxpayer statement. We also ask the taxpayer to indicate 
which entities received California source income, and to provide the profit and loss 
sharing percentages used to compute the amount of income received by the owner. We 
will use that information to validate returns during processing to reduce processing time 
and errors. 
 
Schedule EO (565) . 
Schedule EO (568) . 
 

http://www.ftb.ca.gov/
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/businesses/2011_Corporation_Tax_Law_Changes.shtml
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/forms/2011/11_565eo.pdf
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/forms/2011/11_568eo.pdf
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Table 3, Partner’s share of cost of goods sold, deductions, and rental income, 
added to Schedule K-1. 
 
We added Table 3 to the Schedule K-1(565) for partnerships to report proportional cost 
of goods sold, ordinary deductions, real estate rental income, and other rental income, 
to all partnerships and limited liability companies taxable as partnerships. Table 3 also 
gathers information from the pass-through entity’s own return as well as other Table 3s 
the entity receives. This facilitates the path of reporting to a limited liability company 
(LLC) subject to the LLC fee that will ultimately use the information to complete the LLC 
Income Worksheet. 
  
Schedule IW, Limited Liability Income Worksheet 
 
The Limited Liability Income Worksheet has been renamed as Schedule IW, Limited 
Liability Income Worksheet, and is now part of Form 568. It is no longer a separate 
attachment to Form 568. Making the Income Worksheet part of the Form 568 helps to 
make filing easier for taxpayers and faster processing for us.  
 
Redesigned Tax Exempt Application Booklet  
 
The Tax Exempt Application Booklet FTB 3500 has been redesigned to increase clarity 
in the language, flow of the booklet, and improve guidance. 
 
Foreign Reduced Withholding  
 
We began applying Federal Treasury Regulation 1.1446-6 procedures to reduce or 
eliminate withholding of California tax on effectively connected taxable income (ECTI) 
from California sources allocable to a foreign partner. The foreign partner must sign and 
send IRS Form 8804-C to the partnership. The foreign partner must sign and send Form 
589 to the FTB along with a signed copy of IRS Form 8804-C. We will review the 
request within 21 business days. If the request is approved, the partnership should remit 
the reduced withholding amount to us along with Form 592-A. 
 
Nonadmitted and Reinsurance Reform Act (NRRA) 
 
Assembly Bill 315, effective July 21, 2011, conforms California law to the Nonadmitted 
and Reinsurance Reform Act (NRRA) that is part of the Dodd-Frank Wall Street Reform 
and Consumer Protection Act of 2010. This law was enacted by the federal government 
and authorizes the collection of tax on 100 percent of the premiums of California home 
state insured policies. If a person is determined to be a California home state insured, 
then all premiums related to all insurance policies obtained from a nonadmitted insurer 
are subject to tax, whether or not the insurance coverage is associated with California. 
The NRRA only allows one state to tax a home state insured, so proration of premiums 
among the states for taxation no longer occurs. For more information, get  
FTB Form 570. 
  

http://www.ftb.ca.gov/forms/2011/11_565k1.pdf
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/forms/2011/11_568.pdf
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/forms/misc/3500bk.pdf
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/forms/misc/589.pdf
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/forms/misc/589.pdf
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/forms/2011/11_592a.pdf
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/forms/2012/12_570.pdf
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Common Audit Issues and Recent Developments in the Like 
Kind Exchange Arena 
 
As we begin 2012, one of our top audit issues continues to be like kind exchanges, also 
known as 1031 exchanges. Under IRC Section 1031 and conforming California laws, if 
certain conditions are met, taxpayers may defer gain from the sale of property, either in 
part or full. There are three general requirements: 
 

• There must be an exchange, as opposed to a separate sale and reinvestment, by 
the same taxpayer. 

• The relinquished property and replacement property must be "like kind."   

• Both the property given up and the replacement property must be held for 
investment or for productive use in a trade or business. Property held for 
personal use or primarily for sale is generally not eligible for  
nonrecognition treatment. 

If at any time during the exchange, the taxpayer or his agent has receipt or control of 
any portion of the sales proceeds, this will generally result in gain recognition. Along 
similar lines, if the taxpayer does not reinvest the full amount of proceeds into eligible 
replacement property, or obtains other property in the exchange (referred to as "boot"), 
this may also result in gain recognition. If the transaction is done in accordance with IRC 
Section 1031 regulations, a qualified intermediary will not be considered the  
taxpayer's agent. 
 
The source of the original deferred gain on California property will remain with 
California, regardless of the location of the replacement property. When the 
replacement property is ultimately sold in a taxable transaction, the gain originally 
deferred on the California property will have its source in and be taxable by California. 
 
Common Audit Issues 
 
Common 1031 issues include: 
 

• Sourcing of gains to California upon disposition of replacement property received 
in a California deferred exchange. 

• Taxpayer receives other property (boot) in the exchange but does not report the 
boot on their return. 

• Taxpayers do not meet identification or other technical requirements of IRC 
Section 1031. 
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• Relinquished and/or replacement property are not held for investment or for 
productive use in a trade or business (i.e. property is used for personal purposes 
or is held primarily for sale). 

• The taxpayer who transfers relinquished property is a different taxpayer than the 
party who acquires replacement property. 

We also continue to review certain "drop and swap" or "swap and drop" transactions. 
Not all of these transactions are ineligible due to varying facts and circumstances; 
however, where the form does not support the economic realities or substance of the 
transaction, we will recharacterize the taxpayer's transaction as appropriate. 
 
Recent Developments 

Recently, the Board of Equalization decided several notable, although noncitable, 
like kind exchange cases. The three cases are: 

• Appeal of Frank and Mary Lou Aries, Appeal No. 464475 (swap and drop). 

• Appeal of Gerald J. and Carol L. Marcil, Appeal No. 458832 (different taxpayer 
acquired replacement property, rehearing granted). 

• Appeal of Howard Brief, Appeal No. 530872 (deemed contribution to  
a partnership). 

The significance of these cases is that we are sustaining a taxable position where we 
have recharacterized the taxpayer’s transaction to reflect the realities of the transaction. 
 
 
 
  
 
Changes to Form 3506, Child and Dependent Care Expenses 
Credit 
 
The 2011 Child and Dependent Care Expenses (CDC) Credit is no longer a  
refundable credit.  
 
Senate Bill 86 made the CDC credit nonrefundable for tax years beginning on and after 
January 1, 2011, so the credit cannot reduce a taxpayer's liability below zero. See FTB 
Form 3506.  
 
Qualifications for the CDC Credit 
 
To assist your clients claiming the CDC credit and avoid processing delays, make sure 
all of the following eight qualifications are met:  

https://www.ftb.ca.gov/forms/2011/11_3506.pdf
https://www.ftb.ca.gov/forms/2011/11_3506.pdf
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1. Married taxpayers or registered domestic partners (RDP) must file a joint return 
to claim the credit. However, the credit may be claimed on a separate return if 
the:  

• Taxpayer lived apart from their spouse/RDP at all times during the last six 
months of 2011. 

• Qualifying person(s) lived in the taxpayer’s home for more than half of 
2011. 

• Taxpayer provided over half the cost of keeping up their home. 

2. Care must be provided in California for one or more qualifying persons.  
• Any of the following can be a taxpayer's qualifying person : 

o A child under the age of 13 who meets the requirements to be the 
taxpayer’s dependent as a Qualifying Child. 
 A child who turned 13 during the taxable year only qualifies 

for the credit for expenses incurred up to, but not including, 
the child's 13th birthday.  

o The taxpayer's spouse/RDP that was physically or mentally 
incapable of self-care. 

o The taxpayer's dependent, regardless of age, which was physically 
or mentally incapable of self-care.   

o Any person who was physically or mentally incapable of self-care 
and would have been the taxpayer's dependent except that:  

• They received gross income of $3,700 or more. 
• They filed a joint return. 
• The taxpayer or taxpayer's spouse/RDP with whom a 

joint return is filed could be claimed as a dependent 
on someone else’s 2011 return. 

3. The qualifying care expenses must be paid by the taxpayer so that the taxpayer 
(and spouse/RPD) could work (full-time or part-time), attend school full-time, or 
seek employment.  

• Qualifying care expenses include: 
o Expenses related to sending a child to a pre-kindergarten 

educational program such as nursery school or preschool.   
o Expenses related to sending a child to a before or after school 

program while the taxpayer is at work. 
o Day camp, even if it specialized in a particular activity, such as 

soccer. 
• Qualifying care expenses do not include: 

o Amounts paid for education (school tuition at the kindergarten level 
and above) 

o Expenses paid by, or reimbursed through, a subsidy program 
o Child support payments 
o Overnight camp expenses 
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4. The taxpayer (and spouse/RDP) must have earned income, be a full-time 
student, or be disabled during the year 

• Earned income includes wages, salary, tips, active duty pay, or net 
earnings from self-employment income. 

• Earned income does not include pensions, social security payments, 
worker’s compensation, interest, dividends, capital gains, unemployment 
compensation, or public assistance. 

• If the taxpayer's spouse/RDP was a full time student or disabled, see page 
4 of the instructions for Form 3506, Part III, line 5. 

 
5. The taxpayer and the qualifying person(s) must live in the same home for more 

than half the year.  
• If the qualifying person lived with more than one person during the year, 

see the “Tie-Breaker Rules” table on page 1 of Form 3506 instructions.  
• When parents file separate returns, only one parent can claim the CDC 

credit, even if both parents paid for child care. See the rules on pages 1 
and 2 of the Form 3506 instructions for rules for divorced, RDP 
terminated, separated, or never-married parents.   

6. The care provider cannot be the taxpayer’s spouse/RDP, parent of the qualifying 
child, or a person for whom the taxpayer can claim a dependent exemption. 
• If the taxpayer’s child provided the care, the child must have been age 19 or 

older by the end of 2011. 

7. All required information about the care provider(s) and the qualifying person(s) 
must be provided on Form 3506. Incomplete information may cause delay or 
disallowance. 
• The physical address (street address, city, state, and zip code) where the 

care was provided must be entered. Post office box addresses are not 
acceptable. 

8. The taxpayer’s federal adjusted income must be $100,000 or less. 

Some More Ways to Help Prevent Reduction or Disallowance of the CDC Credit 

We routinely audit CDC credit claims to verify the information provided on Form 3506 
and the taxpayer's entitlement to the CDC credit. During this audit, the taxpayer may be 
asked to produce evidence to prove entitlement to the credit. We may also contact the 
care provider to verify the information provided. The following tips can help prevent a 
reduction or disallowance of the taxpayer's CDC credit: 

• We recommend that taxpayers maintain accurate records which include identity 
records for the care provider (e.g. copies of driver's license and social security 
card), identity records for the qualifying persons (e.g. copies of birth certificate 
and social security card), and proof of payment for the care expenses (e.g. 
copies of canceled checks/money orders). Taxpayers should retain their records 
for at least seven years.   
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• Ensure that the contact information provided for the care provider on Form 3506 
is accurate and up-to-date. 

   

 

Online Business Registration Coming Soon  
 
The Board of Equalization (BOE) will offer a new service called eReg that will allow 
businesses to register for a permit or license online for the tax and fee programs 
administered by the BOE.  
The new eReg system will be implemented in early 2012. eReg will provide you an 
easy, quick, and accurate method of registering your business. No more filling out paper 
applications! The new system will also create efficiencies and generate cost savings  
for California.  
eReg will guide you through the process whether or not you know what type of 
registration you require. Answers to questions regarding your business activity will 
determine the appropriate registration type(s) required.  
As implementation approaches, details regarding the new system will be available on 
BOE’s website, boe.ca.gov.  
 

  
 
CTEC Update on Continuing Education Requirements 
 
California Senate Bill 944 takes effect January 1, 2012, which revises the hourly 
breakdown of continuing education requirements for tax preparers registered with the 
California Tax Education Council (CTEC). 
 
Starting this year, CTEC-registered tax preparers (CRTPs) must complete a minimum of 
15 hours federal and five hours state of continuing education each year. Prior to the 
legislative change, CRTPs were required to complete 12 hours federal, four hours state, 
two hours ethics, plus two hours federal and/or state of continuing education each year. 
 
The goal of the legislative change was to conform CTEC federal continuing education 
requirements to the new Internal Revenue Service requirements. 
 
Starting January 1, 2012, the IRS is requiring nonexempt tax preparers to complete 15 
hours of federal continuing education each year (three hours of federal tax law updates, 
ten hours of other federal tax law, plus two hours ethics). Nonexempt tax preparers, 
including CRTPs, must also pass an IRS competency exam and background check  
by 2013. 

http://www.boe.ca.gov/
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Attorneys, certified public accountants, and enrolled agents are exempt from the new 
IRS continuing education and exam requirements. 
 

  
 

Online Services  
MyFTB Account - Individuals 

We’ve made some changes to MyFTB Account to benefit you and your clients. New 
features include:  

• Displays zero balance tax year information 
• Advises if taxpayer has a mandatory e-pay requirement 
• Advises if we have a returned mail indicator on the taxpayer’s account 

(taxpayers only, not available for tax professionals.) 
 

Also it’s been brought to our attention there is some confusion with the manner 
estimated tax payments are displayed. Estimated tax payments made on joint accounts 
are generally reflected in full for each taxpayer.  
 
Example: 
A 2010 tax return is filed by Taxpayer A and Taxpayer B using the Married/RDP Filing 
Jointly status. A $1,000 credit from the 2010 return is carried forward to the 2011 tax 
year. The June 2011 estimated tax payment of $2,000 was not submitted as a joint 
payment; it only had Taxpayer A’s social security number. The September estimated tax 
payment of $3,000 was submitted using both taxpayers’ social security numbers. 
MyFTB Account reflects: 
 
Taxpayer A 
Type    Amount  Date   Tax Year 
 
Estimate Payment  $3,000  09/15/11  2011 
Estimate Payment  $2,000  06/15/11  2011 
Transfer from 2010  $1,000  04/15/11  2011 
 
Taxpayer B      
Type    Amount  Date   Tax Year 
 
Estimate Payment  $3,000  09/15/11  2011 
Transfer from 2010  $1,000  04/15/11  2011 
 
In this example, the transfer from 2010 of $1,000 and the joint estimate payment of 
$3,000 are reflected on each taxpayer’s MyFTB Account. Both taxpayers are legally 
entitled to these credits, and if the taxpayers file separately in 2011, they must decide 
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how to divide these credits. Although both the $1,000 transfer and $3,000 estimate 
payment are reflected on each taxpayer’s account, the total joint credit amount available 
for use by either party is $4,000 and use of any of this $4,000 credit by either taxpayer 
will deplete the credit available to the other taxpayer. For example, if Taxpayer A and 
Taxpayer B file separate 2011 tax returns, and Taxpayer B reports estimate 
payments/credits of $4,000, the joint credits have been exhausted by Taxpayer B and 
the only credits available to Taxpayer A would be the $2,000 paid in June.   
 
The estimated payment made only to Taxpayer A’s account is only available to 
Taxpayer A. If Taxpayer A and Taxpayer B file a joint return, total estimated tax and 
other payments available are $6,000. (Joint Transfer of $1,000 + Joint Estimated 
Payment of $3,000 + Separate Estimated Payment of $2,000.) 
 
Use caution to correctly report the amount of estimated tax and other payments 
available when filing your clients’ returns since joint payments are reflected on each 
taxpayer’s account. Also make sure to include each taxpayer’s account information 
when submitting joint payments.  

MyFTB Account – Business Entities 

You and your clients can use MyFTB Account to view estimated tax payments online. 
Estimated payment information is available for corporations (including exempt 
organizations), Limited Liability Companies (LLCs), and partnerships. To view your 
client’s account you must complete a onetime registration. For more information, go to 
MyFTB Account for Businesses.  

Web Pay - Individuals 

Web Pay is FTB’s online system for making electronic payments. On January 3, 2012, 
we are rolling out a set of major improvements that will make Web Pay much easier to 
use. See the article, Major Improvements to Our Web Pay, for more details.  

Web Pay – Business Entities 

Web Pay is now available for corporations, partnerships, and LLCs. After a one-time 
registration process, businesses can make online payments, 24 hours a day, 7 days a 
week. Businesses can pay today or schedule a payment up to one year in advance. We 
do not charge for this service. Go to Web Pay for Businesses 

If your clients use Web Pay, do not mail the paper payment vouchers. Currently, 
businesses cannot make real estate, resident/nonresident, or backup withholding 
payments through Web Pay. Use Web Pay for Individuals when making a payment for 
group nonresident/composite returns. 

Not Registered Yet? 

In order to access your client’s MyFTB Account you first need to complete a one-time 
registration, to create your Tax Professional account. Once you have created your 

http://www.ftb.ca.gov/online/myacct/business_entities.asp?WT.mc_id=Business_Online_ViewEstimatePayments
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/online/Access_Your_Account/Check.asp?path=Register
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/online/webpay/Business_Entities.asp?WT.mc_id=Business_Online_MakeAPayment
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account, you login and with your client’s permission, use information from a previous 
year’s tax return to view their MyFTB Account. You no longer need to retrieve and use 
your client’s Customer Service Number. 

More than 230,000 customers, including 23,000 tax professionals, have registered to 
use this service. 

Based on feedback from customers experiencing problems during registration, here are 
some things to remember about registration: 

Username, Password, Security Questions, and Answers 

• Select your own username and password – make sure you remember them. 
• Select three security questions and answers – make sure you remember them. 
• We recommend that you write them down and keep them in a secure place. 

Confirmation Email 

• We send you an email after registering. You have to click on the link in the 
email within 72 hours of registering. If you do not do this your account is  
not activated. 

• Some email providers can take several hours to deliver new emails to your inbox. 
• If you do not see the confirmation email in your inbox, check your spam folder. 

 
Assistance Choosing a Role 
  

• You must choose a role when you register. You can add additional roles after 
you have initially created an account. You will be able to add additional roles 
after you have created your account. You can register for just one role or all three 
roles. You can register as: 
 
o An individual - To view your personal tax account information. 
o Business entity – If you work for a corporation, partnership, or LLC and plan 

to make payments on behalf of the business. 
o Tax professional - To view your clients' tax account information. 

 
Assistance Adding a Role  
 

• Login to your account. 
• Select "Add another role." 
• Follow the prompts. 

 
For additional information, see How do I add another role?  
  

http://www.ftb.ca.gov/online/Access_Your_Account/faq.shtml#g9
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Preparer Tax Identification Number (PTIN) (Tax Professional Identification 
Number) 

• Verify the PTIN, EFIN, CPA or CTEC number you enter during registration is 
correct. We found that the practitioners who experienced difficulty during 
registration entered the wrong professional identification number. 

• The Board of Accountancy only provides us with licensing information for CPAs 
who were issued their license in California. If you are a CPA in another state you 
will not be able to use your CPA number when registering. You will need to use a 
different number such as your PTIN or EFIN. 

Hardware and Browsers we support 

• Handheld devices  
o We currently do not support mobile operating systems for the registration 

process. Mobile phones, iPads and other tablets accessing the internet using 
iOS, Android, or Windows Phone 7 are not supported either. 

• Older browser versions  
o Make sure your browsers and operating systems are current. See our 

Browsers We Support page for further information. 
o If your browser is not compatible with our system, you will need to upgrade 

your current version or download a different browser. 
 
 
  
 
e-filing 
 
We Now Allow Year-Round and Previous Year Individual e-filing 
We allow year-round individual e-filing. We no longer shut down our individual e-file 
program after October 15. We also support e-filing of certain previous year returns 
through individual e-file. Check with your e-file Software Provider to see if they support 
these individual e-file features. 
 
Business Entities 
 
For taxable years on or after January 1, 2011, we offer e-filing for exempt homeowners 
associations and exempt political organizations filing Form 100, California Corporation 
Franchise or Income Tax Return. Check with your software providers to see if they 
support business e-filing. 
 
Beginning mid-July 2012, we will offer e-filing for exempt organizations filing Form 199, 
California Exempt Organization Annual Information Return. 
 
 

http://www.ftb.ca.gov/online/Browsers_We_Support.asp
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Permission to Access MyFTB Account 
 
You shared many positive stories of how helpful the information provided by us in 
MyFTB Account is to taxpayers and tax professionals, especially being able to view the 
estimated payment information when preparing returns.  
 
As filing season approaches, we want to remind tax professionals that although you 
may possess the tax return information needed to access your clients’ MyFTB 
Accounts, you should also have their permission. Permission is between you and your 
client. Our permission is not required.  
 
How tax professionals choose to gain permission is a personal choice. Some potential 
ways to obtain permission might include: 
 

• Using Form FTB 3520, Power of Attorney. 
• Using IRS Form 2848, Power of Attorney 
• Using Form FTB 743, Online Account View Access Authorization. 
• Having clients sign and date a Client or Engagement letter that includes 

permission language. 
 
Remember that because this is an agreement between you and your clients, you should 
retain the permission agreement in your files. Only the Power of Attorney Form FTB 
3520 must be submitted to us. Do not mail Form FTB 743 to us, as it was created 
merely to assist you in obtaining and confirming a client’s permission.  
 
For a copy of the Form FTB 743, Online Account View Access Authorization, go to 
ftb.ca.gov and search for FTB 743. If you choose to use this form, keep in mind that the 
authorization remains in effect until your client revokes it in writing. So, you may want to 
get former clients to give you written revocation for your files when an FTB 743 was 
previously used. 
 
 
 
 
Major Improvements to Our Web Pay 
 
Web Pay is our online system for making electronic payments. On January 3, 2012, we 
are rolling out a set of major improvements that will make Web Pay much easier to use. 
 
The first significant change is that both individual and business taxpayers can access 
Web Pay directly once they’ve logged in to MyFTB Account. No additional 
authentication will be required. Once the taxpayer has logged in to their account, they 
can take advantage of three new features: 

http://www.ftb.ca.gov/forms/misc/3520.pdf
http://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/f2848.pdf?portlet=103
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/forms/misc/743.pdf
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/forms/misc/743.pdf
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/index.shtml
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Save information for future payments – Taxpayers will be able to save information 
they use to make a Web Pay. They will be able to save bank account information for 
two accounts that they can use for future payments. Individual taxpayers can save 
spouse/RDP information, too. Also, since the taxpayer is already in MyFTB Account 
they no longer have to input their mailing address. (Individual taxpayers can update 
their address information in MyFTB Account.) 
 
View scheduled payments – Taxpayers can view all Web Pay requests made on or 
after January 3. The payments will be displayed in three groups – pending, processed, 
and canceled.  
 

• Pending means we have not sent the request to the taxpayer’s bank. These 
payments can be canceled if the taxpayer needs to make changes or reschedule 
the payment. 

• Processed means we have sent the request to the taxpayer’s bank. We also 
provide links back to MyFTB Account to verify the payment has been applied. If 
the bank rejects the payment request, we will display the reason.  

• Canceled shows payments the taxpayer has canceled. This provides 
confirmation that the payment request was not sent to the taxpayer’s bank. 

Cancel pending payments – Taxpayers will be able to cancel payments that we show 
as “pending” in our system. They can usually cancel a payment up until noon on the 
scheduled payment date. To ensure the payment’s cancelation, it’s advised the 
cancelation take place no later than two business days before the scheduled payment 
date. If the taxpayer needs to change the account they’re using, the amount of the 
payment, or the date the payment will be made, they will need to cancel the payment 
and complete a new payment request. 
 
Individual taxpayers still have the option to access Web Pay without registering for 
MyFTB Account. They can log in with their social security number and last name, as 
they do now, but they will not be able to use any of the new features. If they need to 
cancel a payment, they will need to contact our e-Programs Customer Service Unit at 
916.845.0353, TTY/TDD 800.822.6268, at least two business days before the 
scheduled payment date. We encourage all taxpayers to register with MyFTB Account 
so they can take advantage of the new features in Web Pay and manage  
their payments. 
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Alert Taxpayers to Errors in Reporting Income Exclusions for 
Disability Payments 
 
We received many amended returns that incorrectly exclude what is properly taxable 
income reported on the Form 1099-R. 
  
We are concerned about the volume of amended returns that we are receiving that 
reduces taxable income based upon exclusion under IRC Section 104. The IRC 
provides for the exclusion of income received due to personal injuries or sicknesses. 
Included in this exclusion are amounts for personal injuries or sickness resulting from 
active service in the armed forces. 
  
Tax exempt income from the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) is generally not 
reported on a Form 1099-R, box 1-gross distributions ,and therefore does not need to 
be calculated and excluded on the taxpayer's income tax return.   
  
On many of the amended returns we are receiving, the taxpayer or tax representative is 
using the taxpayer's VA service-connected disability rating to reduce taxable income. A 
taxpayer's VA disability rating is the measure of the extent of a taxpayer's disability and 
is stated as a percentage. This percentage equals a specific dollar amount. It is not a 
factor to be multiplied against income to determine excludable income.   
 
Another problem we are seeing with the amended returns and documentation provided 
is that the VA service-connected disability rating is not retroactive nor has the rating 
changed. Therefore the 1099-R issued for military retirement pay has already been 
reduced by any VA disability payments.    
 
As a way for the taxpayer or tax representative to verify the accuracy of the amount 
reported on the 1099-R when a change has occurred they can use the Retiree Account 
Statements provided by Defense Finance and Account Service (DFAS) form DFAS-CL 
7220/148 for the corresponding period and look under the "pay item description" section 
for the VA waiver amount which should correspond to your VA disability rating amount. 
 
If you believe the current year 1099-R incorrectly reports income that should be 
excluded, please seek a corrected 1099-R.   
  
In the case where the taxpayer's disability rating has been retroactively changed and 
corrected forms are not available, please include all supporting documentation with your 
filing. This documentation needs to include but is not limited to the VA's decision for 
service-connected compensation which specifically identifies the rating decision along 
with the effective dates and form DFAS-CL 7220/148 for the incorrect months before 
and after the change occurred.   
  
For more information see Internal Revenue Service Publication 525, Taxable and 
Nontaxable Income. 
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Taxpayers’ Bill of Rights Hearing Summary 

On December 1, 2011, the Franchise Tax Board held its annual Taxpayers’ Bill of 
Rights Hearing along with a regularly scheduled board meeting. Practitioners and 
taxpayers were invited to submit issues in writing and could also request time to 
address the board during the meeting to present their issue. Here are a few of the items 
presented to the board. 

Conformity – This continues to be an issue for California taxpayers. This year, the 
board heard recommendations for California to consider an expansion of areas of 
automatic conformity to defined subchapters or parts of the IRC. 

Litigation – A taxpayer and several members of his bankrupt company testified that if 
the services of city, county and state governmental agencies in California were denied 
until such time as an entity is in full compliance with the tax laws, we would see its 
ability to collect revenues due the state increase significantly. 

Mandatory E-Pay Waiver – A suggestion was made to allow for waiver of the 
mandatory e-pay requirement where a taxpayer is disabled and cannot meet this 
requirement. 

IRS Ruling on Mello Roos – A request was made for us to obtain a written ruling from 
the IRS that sets forth when a Mello-Roos property tax assessment is deductible and 
when it is not.  

Practitioner Hotline Upgrade – Practitioners urged us to implement the Virtual Hold 
Technology (VHT) service on the practitioner hotline due to long wait times experienced 
by practitioners.   

These are just a few of the issues we heard this year. The Taxpayers’ Rights 
Advocate’s goal is to review and address each one of these issues as well as all of the 
issues received in writing, and respond by February 1, 2012. Our responses will be 
posted on our website. 

 
  
 
Earned Income Tax Credit Can Put Money in Your Client’s 
Pocket 

Your client could be eligible to get more money back from the IRS - as much as $5,751. 
If your clients earned less than $49,078 from wages, self-employment, or farming last 
year, they may qualify for the Earned Income Tax Credit (EITC). 

http://www.ftb.ca.gov/aboutFTB/taxpayer_advocate/index.shtml
http://www.irs.gov/eitc
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EITC is a financial boost for working people in a recovering economy. Your clients may 
be among the millions who will qualify for the first time because their financial, marital, 
or parental status changed in 2011. 

Eligibility is based on several factors, including the amount of earned and other types of 
income, or combined income if married, whether you have qualifying children and how 
many workers without children may also qualify. 

Four of five eligible people claim and get their EITC. Use IRS's online EITC Assistant to 
see if your client qualifies. If so, file and claim the credit to get it. 

Free help is available at volunteer income tax assistance sites. Locate a volunteer site 
by calling your community's 211 or 311 number for local services or call the IRS at 
800.906.9887. 

  
 
 
Tax News Flashes 
 
We flashed the following article on December 15: 
Upcoming Live: Free California Source Income Withholding Webinar 
 
We will host a free California source income withholding webinar in December 2011. 
 
The topic is: Nonresident Independent Contractor Withholding. 

We designed this webinar for those who must withhold on California source income 
payments to resident and nonresident independent contractors. We will look at: 

• The basics of nonresident withholding.  
• Backup withholding. 
• A three-phase summary of withholding and what to do:  

o Before payment (Forms 587, 588, 589, 590). 
o At the time of payment. 
o After payment (Forms 592, 592-V, 592-B). 

• Updates on our new electronic Form 589. 
• The consequences of noncompliance. 
• Withholding resources and contact information you can use any time. 

 
Date/Time:   Tuesday, December 20, 10 a.m. PST. 
Duration: Approximately 35 minutes. 

Register here  Registration takes only a few minutes. Space is limited.  

http://www.irs.gov/individuals/article/0,,id=150557,00.html
http://www.irs.gov/individuals/article/0,,id=130102,00.html
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/forms/2011/11_587.pdf
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/forms/misc/588.pdf
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/forms/misc/589.pdf
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/forms/2011/11_590.pdf
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/forms/2011/11_592.pdf
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/forms/2011/11_592v.pdf
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/forms/2011/11_592b.pdf
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/individuals/wsc/California_Source_Income_Withholding_Webinars.shtml
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Ask the Advocate 
 
Taxpayers’ Bill of Rights Annual Report Available 

 
Each year the Taxpayers’ Bill of Rights requires me to provide my findings of areas 

where FTB can improve its operations and services to 
taxpayers to the California Legislature. I do this in my 
Taxpayers’ Bill of Rights Annual Report to the 
Legislature. 
 
Areas of improvement are primarily identified during 
my interactions with the tax professional community 
and from submissions into our Systemic Issues 
Management System (SIMS). My constant interaction 
with the tax professional community during my 
frequent presentations, the annual Taxpayers’ Bill of 
Rights Hearing, and Advisory Board meetings, allow 
me to hear firsthand what issues, concerns, and 
challenges taxpayers face and the impact of tax 
legislation. Furthermore, when I combine the 
information gained from my tax professional 
interactions with submissions into our SIMS, I am able 
to stay apprised of the effects that law changes, FTB’s 

policies, processes, and procedures have on taxpayers.  
 
In this year’s report, I discuss issues, areas of concern, and challenges that both the 
taxpayers and FTB face regarding the following issues: 
 

• Auditor Retention 
• Collections 
• Conformity 
• Late State/Federal Legislation 
• Tax Liens 
• Investigations Transparency 
• Penalties 
• Education and Outreach 

A complete copy of the 2011 Taxpayers’ Bill of Rights Annual Report to the Legislature 
is available at ftb.ca.gov. Search for 2011 Annual Report. 
 
 
 

http://www.ftb.ca.gov/aboutFTB/taxpayer_advocate/2011_BillRightsAnnlReport.pdf
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/aboutFTB/taxpayer_advocate/2011_BillRightsAnnlReport.pdf
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/aboutFTB/taxpayer_advocate/2011_BillRightsAnnlReport.pdf
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/index.shtml
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If you would like to report a systemic issue, go to ftb.ca.gov and search for systemic. 
Systemic issues:  
 

• Affect multiple taxpayers.  
• Relate to FTB systems, policies, and/or procedures.  
• Involve protecting taxpayer rights.  
• Reduce or prevent taxpayer burdens. 

 
Steve Sims, EA 
Taxpayers’ Rights Advocate 
 
Follow me on Twitter at twitter.com/FTBAdvocate. 
 
 
 
  
 
Event Calendar 
 

Education and Outreach 
Speaking Engagements and Small Business Fairs 

 January 2012 

 Date Event Association Subject Matter Location 
3 California Society of CPAs CA Tax Updates Woodland Hills 

3 
San Fernando Valley Discussion 
Group CA Tax Updates Van Nuys 

5 IRS Seminar CA Tax Updates Escondido 
6 IRS Seminar CA Tax Updates San Bernardino 
7 IRS Seminar CA Tax Updates Santa Barbara 
10 IRS Seminar CA Tax Updates Torrance 
11 IRS Seminar CA Tax Updates Irvine 
12 IRS Seminar CA Tax Updates Los Angeles 
13 IRS Seminar CA Tax Updates Burbank 

14 
Philippine Institute of CPAs 
Seminar 

CA Tax Updates 
San Francisco 

24 CA Society of Enrolled Agents CA Tax Updates Fairfield 

24 
CA Society of Accountants and 
Tax Preparers 

CA Tax Updates 
Oakland 

25 Society of CA Accountants CA Tax Updates Arcadia 
25 Society of CA Accountants CA Tax Updates San Rafael 

 

http://www.ftb.ca.gov/index.shtml
http://twitter.com/FTBAdvocate
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February 2012 

 Date Event Association Subject Matter Location 
15 Cal CPA CA Tax Update West LA 
28 UC San Francisco Nonresident/Foreign 

Scholars 
San Francisco 

 March 2012 

 Date Event Association Subject Matter Location 
9 International Education Center Nonresident/Foreign 

Scholar 
Riverside 

  
 
  
 
 

 
  
Announcing External EDR Webpage 
 
We are introducing our new EDR project webpage. Through this webpage, taxpayers 
will be able to see how they will benefit from the EDR project, get an overview of the 
revenue projection, and watch a brief video about the project.  
 
 
  
 
Criminal Corner  
 
Fake CPA, Partner Sentenced for Bogus Investment Scheme 

A Glendale tax preparation business owner and his colleague were each sentenced to 
five years in state prison and ordered to pay $1.3 million restitution after pleading guilty 
to their roles in a bogus investment scheme. 

Donald R. Ford, of Glendale, and Gregory A. Edwards, of Culver City, were sentenced 
on November 30, on multiple felony charges including financial elder abuse, grand theft, 
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false statements in the offer or sale of a security, and filing of a false state income tax 
return related to a bogus securities investment scheme.  

Ford persuaded senior citizen clients, whose trust he had gained from his tax 
preparation business, to invest in a phony investment scheme. Ford, who posed as a 
certified public accountant, and Edwards scammed investors by promising them high 
rates of return on investments. Instead, Ford and Edwards used the money on personal 
expenses and to fund a lavish lifestyle, which included luxury cars and  
expensive vacations.  

Ford earned more than $1.3 million in income from the unlawful scheme and Edwards 
earned more than $961,000 for his role in the scam. Ford failed to report this income on 
his 2005, 2006, and 2007 state income tax returns and Edwards failed to report his 
income on his 2005, 2006, and 2007 state income tax return. All income is taxable 
including income from illegal sources. 

The pair is scheduled to surrender January 30, to begin their prison sentences.  

Los Angeles County Superior Court Judge Robert J. Perry handed down the sentence 
November 30, in Department 104 of the Clara Shortridge Folz Criminal Justice Center. 
California Department of Justice (DOJ) Deputy Attorney General, Edward Skelly 
prosecuted this case. This is a joint investigation between DOJ and us. 

CPAs are licensed by the state. The public can check on the status of a CPA with the 
California Board of Accountancy at www.cba.ca.gov or by calling 916.263.3680. We and 
the IRS have issued a brochure, FTB Publication 982, How to Select an Income Tax 
Return Preparer where taxpayers can learn more about choosing a tax professional. 

Our criminal investigation program identifies and investigates cases of tax evasion and 
tax fraud to encourage compliance with California income tax laws and maintain  
public trust. 

 
  
 
Inside FTB 
 
Interagency Intercept Collection (IIC) Program Expanding 
 
We implemented a pilot program to expand the IIC program to offset income tax refunds 
for C corporations, S corporations, general partnerships, limited partnerships, limited 
liability limited partnerships, limited liability companies treated as partnerships, limited 
liability companies treated as corporations, and exempt organizations with unrelated 
business income beginning January 2, 2012. 

http://www.cba.ca.gov/
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/forms/misc/982.pdf
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/forms/misc/982.pdf
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We administer the IIC program on behalf of the State Controller’s Office for individual 
tax refunds, lottery winnings, and unclaimed property payments to apply to state and 
local debts. More than 300 agencies participate in the program including Board of 
Equalization and the Employment Development Department. 
 
Nineteen city, county, and state agencies will participate in the year-long pilot. The pilot 
will then be evaluated for full implementation in the future. 
 
Government Code Sections 12419.2, 12419.3, 12419.5 and 12419.7 authorizes the  
IIC program. 
 
The following notices will be sent to entities notifying them of the intercept: 
 

• Pre Intercept Notice – Participating agencies send this notice at least 30 days 
prior to referring debts to the IIC program. 

• FTB Form 5947D, Zero Balance Refund Return Information Notice with FTB 
Form 5949, Return Information Notice Explanation.   

• FTB Form 4141B, Agency Offset Notice. 
   

Refer entities that received a notice regarding intercept funds to: 
 

• Interagency Intercept Desk at 916.845.5344. 
 

• FTB/Intercept Desk 
PO Box 2966 MS A-460 
Rancho Cordova, CA 95741-2966 

 
  
 
 
Big Business 
 
Contractors Can Now Operate as LLCs 
 
Beginning on January 1, 2012, the Contractor State License Board is authorized to 
issue a contractor’s license to a limited liability company (LLC). This will allow LLCs to 
render services that may be lawfully rendered only pursuant to a license, certificate,  
or registration.  
 
Generally, LLCs are not allowed to be used for certain businesses subject to 
professional licensing requirements. However, as is now the case for contractors, 
amendments to the law allow specific businesses with licensing requirements to form 
and operate as an LLC. This change to the Business and Professions Code and the 

http://ftbnet2/ftbforms/5800-5999/5947dpc.pdf
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/forms/misc/5949.pdf
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Corporations Code for contractors was enacted on September 30, 2010, in Senate Bill 
(SB) 392. For more information and other requirements for contractors, see SB 392. 
 
It is important for contractors to know what their filing requirement will be should they 
decide to operate as an LLC.  
 
For California income tax purposes, an LLC with more than one member will be 
classified as a partnership and an LLC with a single individual member will be classified 
as a sole proprietorship/disregarded entity, unless the LLC chooses to be classified as a 
corporation for income tax purposes. California treats the LLC, and its owners, in the 
same manner the LLC is treated for federal tax purposes. 
 
LLCs classified as partnerships or disregarded entities and organize in California, 
register in California, or conduct business in California must file California Form 568, 
Limited Liability Company Return of Income. The return must be filed by the 15th day of 
the fourth month after the close of the LLC’s taxable year. They are also required to pay 
an annual tax of $800, and may be subject to an LLC fee based on total income from all 
sources derived from or attributable to the State of California. The annual tax is due by 
the 15th day of the fourth month of the taxable year, and is paid using FTB 3522, 
Limited Liability Company Tax Voucher. The estimated LLC fee is due by the 15th day 
of the sixth month. 
 
In addition, an LLC filing Form 568, which has members who are not residents of 
California, must file FTB 3832, Limited Liability Company Nonresident Members' 
Consent with Form 568. FTB 3832 is signed by the nonresident individuals and foreign 
entity members to show their consent to California's jurisdiction to tax their distributive 
share of income attributable to California sources. The LLC must pay the tax for every 
nonresident member that did not sign a FTB 3832 and are subject to a withholding 
requirement on distributions of income made to nonresident members. 
 
LLCs classified as a corporation and organize in California, register in California, 
conduct business in California, or receive California source income, must file California 
Form 100. The California Form 100 must be filed by the 15th day of the third month 
after the close of the LLC’s taxable year. The LLC will be taxed at the corporate tax rate 
of 8.84 percent and will be subject to a minimum tax of $800. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/cgi-bin/postquery?bill_number=sb_392&sess=PREV&house=B&author=florez
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