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Proposition 30 Tax Increases 
 
Updated: 120412 
 
As we reported in our September 2012 issue of Tax News, the 2012 income tax 
brackets, along with filing requirement thresholds, standard deductions, and certain 
credits were adjusted for inflation using a process called “indexing.” The indexing rate is 
based on the inflation rate, as measured by the California Consumer Price Index, for all 
urban consumers from June 2011 to June 2012. This year the inflation rate measured 
1.9 percent. 
 
In addition to the annual indexing process, the 2012 tax rate schedules have also been 
updated to reflect tax increases due to the passage of Proposition 30. 
 
Among other things, Proposition 30 raises the personal income tax rate on individuals 
making more than $250,000 per year for the next seven years. 

The income tax changes apply retroactively to all income earned or received since 
January 1, 2012.  

For tax year 2012, the maximum individual tax rate is 12.3 percent. If the income 
exceeds $1 million, there is an additional 1 percent mental health tax bringing the top 
rate to 13.3 percent. The maximum Alternative Minimum Tax rate (AMT) for individuals 
remains at 7 percent.  
 
The 2012 corporate tax rate is 8.84 percent for corporations other than banks and 
financial institutions, and 10.84 percent for banks and financial institutions. The AMT 
rate for corporations is 6.65 percent. The corporate tax rate is 1.5 percent for S 
corporations other than banks or financial institutions, and 3.5 percent for bank and 
financial institutions registered as S corporations. 
 
The good news is that taxpayers will not be required to "catch up" for the tax increase in 
the first three quarters, by increasing the fourth quarter estimate. Taxpayers will also not 
receive an underpayment penalty to the extent that the underpayment was created or 
increased by the passage of Proposition 30 (Revenue and Taxation Code (R&TC) 
Section 19136(2)(g)(1 and 19142(b)(1)).  
 

Therefore, taxpayers may pay the balance due with the return without fear of receiving a 
notice from us for the penalty. Please be aware, however, that only the portion of the 
underpayment due to the tax increase will have the penalty waived. For example, if your 
client was underpaid in the first two quarters and makes a full payment with the tax 
return, we will still issue the penalty on the first two quarters as this underpayment was 
not caused by Proposition 30. To request a waiver or reduction of the underpayment of 
estimated tax penalty due to this new law, included a 5805 with the return and fill out 
Part 1, question 1 with the explanation that the underpayment is due to Proposition 30.   

https://www.ftb.ca.gov/professionals/taxnews/2012/september/Article_2.shtml
https://www.ftb.ca.gov/forms/2012_California_Tax_Rates_and_Exemptions.shtml
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The complete 2012 tax rate schedules are available on our website. 
 
Disaster Relief for Hurricane Sandy Victims  

On November 9, our public affairs office issued a news release announcing special tax 
relief for California taxpayers in the federally declared disaster areas affected by 
Hurricane Sandy.   

Internal Revenue Service (IRS) postponed due dates for filing tax returns and paying 
taxes including the fourth quarter estimated tax payments normally due January 15. The 
new due date, as described by the IRS, is February 1, 2013. California also follows this 
postponed due date. For taxpayers with filing and payment deadlines during the 
postponement period, we will not charge interest or impose any late filing or late 
payment penalties that would otherwise apply. 

Clients that meet the qualifications to claim a disaster loss anywhere within the United 
States and have a California tax-filing requirement (resident or nonresident), the same 
federal disaster rules and postponement periods automatically apply to them. 
Taxpayers claiming the disaster loss should write “Hurricane Sandy” in red ink at the top 
of the tax return to alert us to expedite the refund. If taxpayers are e-filing, they should 
follow the software instructions to enter the disaster information. 

Taxpayers who need copies of state returns to replace lost or damaged ones should 
complete FTB 3516, Request for Copy of Tax Return. Print “Hurricane Sandy” in red at 
the top of the request. Disaster victims receive copies of tax returns for free.  

The specific counties in the disaster area can be found on the IRS' website. To learn 
more about disaster losses, go to publication FTB 1034, Disaster Loss at ftb.ca.gov or 
go to the disaster relief page on IRS.gov. 

 

 
Solutions to Form 588 Errors 
 
Here are the most common errors and solutions to prevent processing delays with Form 
588, Nonresident Withholding Waiver Request. See the table below for error types and 
their corresponding solutions. 
 
Category Error Solution 

Year Using incorrect tax 
year Form 588. 

Use the correct tax year Form 588. Make sure 
the tax form matches the current tax year. 

https://www.ftb.ca.gov/forms/2012_California_Tax_Rates_and_Exemptions.shtml
https://www.ftb.ca.gov/aboutFTB/press/2012/Release_30.shtml
https://www.ftb.ca.gov/forms/misc/3516.pdf
https://www.ftb.ca.gov/forms/misc/1034.pdf
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/
http://www.irs.gov/uac/Tax-Relief-in-Disaster-Situations
http://www.irs.gov/
https://www.ftb.ca.gov/forms/misc/588.pdf
https://www.ftb.ca.gov/forms/misc/588.pdf
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Identification Withholding agent 
listed as the payee. 

Withholding agent, also known as payer, is any 
individual or entity that is responsible for 
payment or distribution of California source 
income. All the withholding agent's information 
must be completed correctly in Part I of Form 
588. 

 Payee listed as the 
withholding agent. 

 
Payee is any individual or entity that receives 
California source income. Correct payee 
information must be completed in Part IV. Use 
side 2 of Form 588, if you have more than one 
payee. Submitting a spreadsheet of payees will 
not be accepted. 
  

 
Requester 
information is 
incomplete. 

A requester can be the withholding agent, 
payee, or an authorized third party. All the 
requester's information must be completed 
correctly in Part II of Form 588. 

 
Incorrect or missing 
information for 
Grantor Trusts. 

The grantor’s social security number, grantor's 
name, and the grantor trust’s name must be 
provided on Form 588. 

Dates 

Missing newly 
admitted date when 
requesting under 
reason “D.” 

Requester must provide the date the payee 
became a member, shareholder, or partner. The 
date cannot be older than the current tax year. 

Supporting 
Documents 

No supporting 
documents provided, 
when reason “C” or 
“E” selected by the 
requester. 

When requester select reason “C” or “E,” 
requester must provide the two most current 
copies of Schedule R-7 or Schedule 1067A 
when claiming as part of a combined or group 
return. 

 
For more information, go to ftb.ca.gov, and search for:  

• Nonresident Withholding 
• Publication 1017, Resident and Nonresident Withholding Guidelines 

 
Call us at:   

• 888.792.4900  
• 916.845.4900 (outside U.S.)  
• 800.822.6268 (TTY/TDD - Assistance for persons with hearing or speech 

impairments)  
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Nonfiler Program Changes to Benefit Taxpayers and Us 
 
Beginning January 1, 2013, we will expand our Delinquency Control (DLC) Program to 
include limited liability companies (LLCs). This change benefits both the taxpayers and 
us by ensuring consistency in how we pursue business entities that have a California 
filing requirement through the nonfiler program.  
In addition to pursing business entities with California sourced income, we also 
administer the DLC Program which currently identifies active corporations, exempt 
organizations, and limited partnerships that failed to file required tax returns. We send 
the nonfilers a Request for Past Due Return notice 60 days after the extended due date 
of the tax return. If the business entity doesn’t file the requested tax return, we send an 
official Demand for Past Due Return notice and the business entity’s account enters the 
collection cycle. Although the DLC Program doesn’t establish a liability on the account, 
we may suspend (domestic) or forfeit (foreign) the business entity organization’s 
powers, rights, and privileges. 
A suspended or forfeited business entity may not: 

• Legally transact business. 
• Bring an action or defend itself in court. 
• Be granted an automatic extension of time to file. 
• File a claim for refund. 
• File or maintain an appeal before the Board of Equalization.  
• Continue a protest. 

And may have any contract made by the business entity declared voidable by the 
other party. 

Go to our Limited Liability Companies Tax Information and Frequently Asked Questions, 
for more information. 

 

 
Reporting and Remitting Real Estate Withholding on 
Installment Sales  
 
For installment sales occurring on or after January 1, 2009, California requires 
withholding on the principal portion of each installment payment if the sale of California 
real property is structured as an installment sale. The buyer and the real estate escrow 
person must withhold and remit the proper amounts and providing the seller with the 
proper paperwork.  
 

https://www.ftb.ca.gov/forms/2002/02_3556.pdf
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The real estate escrow person will withhold on the first installment payment. The real 
estate escrow person computes the first installment payment by subtracting from the 
total sales price (consideration) the amount of the installment obligation (seller take 
back). The real estate escrow person withholds the required amount from the first 
installment payment in escrow and remits it to us by the 20th day of the month following 
the month in which the transaction occurred along with a copy of the promissory note 
and one of the following completed forms: 
  

• Form 593, Real Estate Withholding Tax Statement, signed and 
certified by the sellers.   

• Form 593-V, Payment Voucher for Real Estate Withholding. 
• Form 593-I, Real Estate Withholding Installment Sale Acknowledgment. 

 
The real estate escrow person must send one copy of Form 593 to the seller by 
the 20th day of the month following the end of the month in which the 
transaction occurred. The escrow person must also retain a copy of Forms 593, 
593-V, or 593-I, and the promissory note for a minimum of five years and must 
provide it to us upon our request.   
 
The buyer must withhold the required amount from the seller on the principal 
portion of each subsequent installment payment and remit to us by the 20th 
day of the month following the month of the installment payment with the 
following completed forms:  
 

• Form 593, Real Estate Withholding Tax Statement. 
Note: You do not need to obtain the sellers signature on each 
subsequent completed Form 593.  

• Form 593-V, Payment Voucher for Real Estate Withholding. 
 
The buyer must also send one copy of Form 593 to the seller by the 20th day of the 
month following the month of the installment payments.  
 
The buyer must promptly inform us if the terms of the installment sale, promissory note, 
or payment schedule change. When sending the final installment payment, write “Final 
Installment Payment” on the bottom of Form 593.  
 
Optional: Withholding on Installment Sale Elect-out Method 
 
If the seller elects out of the installment method to recognize the entire gain in the year 
of sale and files a California tax return reporting the entire sale on Schedule D-1, they 
may request, on behalf of the buyer, to be relieved of withholding. After filing the tax 
return and reporting the entire gain, the seller must submit a written request to us to  
 
 
 

https://www.ftb.ca.gov/forms/2012/12_593.pdf
https://www.ftb.ca.gov/forms/2012/12_593v.pdf
https://www.ftb.ca.gov/forms/2012/12_593i.pdf
https://www.ftb.ca.gov/forms/2012/12_593.pdf
https://www.ftb.ca.gov/forms/2012/12_593v.pdf


Tax News  
December 2012 

7 

release the buyer from withholding on the installment sale payments. We recommend 
that you call us at 888.792.4900 or 916.845.4900 (outside California) for specific 
information on how to make your request. Once we receive the request, we will issue an 
approval or denial within 30 days. 

For more information, go to ftb.ca.gov and search for real estate withholding. 

 

 
Highlights of the Research Credit Interested Parties Meeting  
 
On October 11, 2012, we held an Interested Parties Meeting to open dialogue with 
practitioners and taxpayers on issues related to the California research credit. The 
meeting goal was to solicit input from our stakeholders and obtain suggestions to 
improve the research and development credit administration and audit examinations. 
  
The meeting focused on four key areas: 
 
1. What legislative proposals should be considered for California?  
2.  What is the best way to understand the taxpayer's business?  
3.  How can we expedite the audit process while ensuring the documentation and 

substantiation is sufficient to determine the proper qualified activities and expenses?  
4. What are some solutions to overcome base-year documentation issues?  
 
Several participants submitted their issues in writing, while others raised their issues in 
an open forum.  
 
We took careful note of the issues raised and the many observations and suggestions 
to ease compliance and enhance the audit process. After evaluation and discussion 
with our staff, we will determine what changes to our approach of the issues can be 
pursued. 
 

For more information, go to ftb.ca.gov and search business tax credit.  

  

http://www.ftb.ca.gov/
https://www.ftb.ca.gov/index.shtml?WT.mc_id=Global_Home_Tab
https://www.ftb.ca.gov/businesses/bustaxcredit.shtml
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Updated Penalty Reference Chart 
 
We updated the Penalty Reference Chart (FTB 1024). We list the penalty codes 
numerically by R&TC sections and reference comparable Internal Revenue Code. 
These penalties reflect the law enacted on September 21, 2011, for taxable years 
beginning on or after January 1, 2011. 

To view or print the chart, go to ftb.ca.gov and search for 1024. 

 

 

$2,000 Penalty for LLCs 

In our July 2012 Ask the Advocate article, we addressed the penalty ($2,000 per tax 
year) that we can assess suspended or forfeited corporations doing business in 
California. On September 14, 2012, the law (R&TC Section 19135) that imposes this 
penalty was amended by Assembly Bill (AB) 318 (Skinner, Stats. 2012, Ch 313). 

Beginning January 1, 2013, the $2,000 penalty will also apply to an LLC if the LLC fails 
to file a tax return within 60 days after receiving a formal written demand to file.  

We will impose the penalty in addition to the demand and delinquent penalties and the 
filing enforcement fee. 

The penalty already applies to corporations and will now include the following: 

• Nonqualified foreign LLCs that are doing business in California. 
• LLCs that continue to do business while they are suspended (domestic LLCs) or 

forfeited (foreign LLCs). 

The penalty may be waived if there is reasonable cause. 

For more information on penalties we may assess businesses and individuals, see our 
recently updated FTB 1024, Penalty Reference Chart. 

  

https://www.ftb.ca.gov/forms/misc/1024.pdf
https://www.ftb.ca.gov/
https://www.ftb.ca.gov/professionals/taxnews/2012/july/Ask.shtml
https://www.ftb.ca.gov/forms/misc/1024.pdf
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Increase in Annual Notices  
 
During the period of November 2012 through January 2013, we will send about 300,000 
annual notices to taxpayers that have not received a notice in the previous year. The 
vast majority of these taxpayers’ debts had been deemed to be uncollectable and, 
therefore, previously discharged from accountability pursuant to Government Code 
13940. Placing accounts in a discharged status because we deem the account currently 
uncollectable does not discharge the underlying liability, but merely places accounts in 
an uncollectible status until we locate additional assets or the statute of limitations on 
collections expires.  

R&TC Section 21023 requires us to give written notification once a year to all taxpayers 
with a tax delinquency detailing their delinquent balance due as of the date of the 
notice. This legal requirement excludes accounts that have been discharged from 
accountability and accounts where we have record of returned mail and no other 
mailable address is found. 

This year, we extend the annual notice process to taxpayers with debts currently 
discharged from accountability. We do so to provide better service and notification to 
taxpayers as a reminder of their outstanding tax liability. Accounts discharged from 
accountability because we deemed them uncollectable are still subject to potential 
collection actions. The annual notice will provide a breakdown of the balance due with 
penalties and interest. However, before we begin formal collection actions, the taxpayer 
will receive an additional balance due notice 30 days before taking any involuntary 
collection action.    
 
We have additional accounts that will not receive an annual notice this year because we 
show returned mail for the taxpayer’s address on file and have not found another 
mailable address. Please encourage your clients to update their account address with 
us to ensure they receive future notices. We offer several ways for you and/or your 
clients to report a change of address. 
 
 
 
 
Website Survey – Thank you! 
 
Thank you for participating in the survey to improve the Tax Professionals section of our 
website. We received over 1,200 responses! 
 
What’s next? 
 
Our next step will be to compile and review your responses. Look for survey results in 
the February 2013 issue of Tax News. 

https://www.ftb.ca.gov/individuals/faq/ivr/619.shtml
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Ask the Advocate 
 

CalCPA Annual Meeting 
 
On October 24, 2012, we held our annual liaison 
meeting with the California Society of Certified Public 
Accountants (CalCPA). This year, like every year, they 
had some great questions for FTB staff. I want to 
share a few of the questions I thought our Tax News 
readers would find most interesting and helpful in my 
Ask the Advocate column this month. 
 
Interest and Penalty Calculations Online 
 
Question: A taxpayer may make a payment because 
of a federal adjustment assessed by the FTB. Can the 
FTB website provide a breakdown of how much of the 
payment is tax, penalties and interest? Currently, only 
the total payment is shown. 
 

Answer: We cannot break down how much of a single payment is applied to the tax, 
penalties, and/or interest within MyFTB Account. There are complex rules within the 
accounting system of how payments are applied to liabilities. In addition, the application 
of the payment can change if the tax or penalties are modified. Generally, payments are 
first applied to tax, then penalties, and then interest.   
 
Currently, within MyFTB Account, the penalties and interest for a tax year are 
aggregated and displayed as a single amount. However, as part of our Enterprise Data 
to Revenue (EDR) project, we plan to show penalties (broken down by type) and 
interest separately. This is planned for July 2014. 
 
FTB Procedures for Considering Reasonable Cause for Certain Penalties 
 
Question:  A taxpayer had ownership changes during the year that resulted in a 
technical termination for both Federal and State purposes. The Federal and California 
short period returns for the first part of the year were filed late. Both the IRS and FTB 
assessed late filing penalties. The FTB’s assessment was issued on a Notice of 
Balance Due. A reply letter was sent to the IRS and FTB stating the grounds for 
reasonable cause and requested abatement of the penalties. After reviewing the letter 
and facts, the IRS wrote back and reversed the penalties. The FTB responded that in 
order to consider reasonable cause and penalty abatement, the taxpayer must pay the 
penalty and file a claim for refund. In this circumstance, is the FTB response correct that 
a penalty issued via a Notice of Balance Due must be first paid and a claim for refund 
filed to have the grounds for reasonable cause considered?     
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Answer:  No. If a taxpayer makes a request for waiver of a penalty based on 
reasonable cause, our staff can consider the request prior to the taxpayer's payment of 
the penalty and make a determination to waive unpaid late payment penalties. The 
taxpayer must state the basis for reasonable cause is and provide substantiating 
documentation as needed. If the taxpayer disagrees with our determination not to waive 
the penalties, the taxpayer must then pay the penalties and make a written request for 
refund. Often, taxpayers who request penalty abatement from the IRS are provided 
relief from late payment and late filing penalties based on that taxpayer's good filing 
history. In such cases, the IRS does not require the taxpayer to state any reasonable 
cause basis for abatement nor does it require the taxpayer to pay the penalty prior to 
abatement for a good filing history. We do not currently have the legal authority to abate 
penalties based only on a taxpayer's good filing history without an independent showing 
of reasonable cause. Therefore, taxpayers requesting abatement of late filing/payment 
penalties should state the reasonable cause basis for their request and provide any 
supporting documentation, including any documentation showing that IRS abatement 
was for reasonable cause as opposed to filing history. 
 
Taxpayer Research and Development (R&D) Record Assessment and Retention 
 
Question: The IRS advises its R&D auditors to assess the qualified research activities 
and qualified research expenditure records maintained by the Taxpayer during the 
exam. If the auditor denies R&D credits due to lack of substantiation, they are advised 
to recommend to Taxpayers what records should be maintained to prospectively claim 
the credit. Furthermore, the IRS R&D auditor may propose the Taxpayer enter into a 
Research Credit Recordkeeping Agreements (RCRA) on a go-forward basis. These 
steps mitigate any potential abuse of the presumption of correctness or taxpayers’ 
burden of proof. Does the FTB advise its auditors to assess the records maintained by 
Taxpayer during the exam and is the R&D records assessment shared with the 
Taxpayer on what is considered reasonable documentation and what is not? 
 
Answer:  Yes, we encourage all staff members to perform a through and 
comprehensive review of the records provided by the taxpayer to ensure:  
 

• The taxpayer is engaged in qualified research activities. 
• The claimed qualified research expenses are directly related to such activities. 
• The taxpayer has properly calculated the claimed credit.  

 
We encourage our staff members to engage in open and transparent communication 
with our stakeholders during the audit process, which should include a dialogue 
regarding the reasonableness of the documentation provided during the audit and how 
applicable the taxpayer responses may have been to the issue under review. We do not 
have a program similar to the RCRA. We are exploring whether to consider this option 
in the future.  
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LLC Nexus 
 

Question:  A limited partnership was formed in 2009 to conduct business in Arizona. In 
2011, the partnership business was converted to an LLC with a California resident 
becoming the managing member. The LLC is in the process of registering to do 
business in California. Before the registration process could be completed, California 
issued the LLC a temporary entity identification number and sent a bill for the $800 
minimum tax. As part of the registration process, California asks that they use the date 
the name was originally registered which was in 2009, rather than the date of the 
creation of the LLC which was in 2011. A concern of the taxpayers is that if the original 
registration is used, California will attempt to assess the minimum tax going back to the 
original registration date which is not correct. 
 
1. Why would the FTB issue a temporary entity identification number when the LLC was 
in the process of registering with the Secretary of State’s (SOS) Office?   
 
Answer: 
We issue a temporary identification number in response to a filing where there has not 
yet been a number assigned by the SOS. In this case, the identification was apparently 
issued because the entity began doing business in California before the registration was 
complete. 
 
2. Does the fact that the FTB has issued an identification number mean that the LLC 
must continue its registration with the SOS or does the FTB number become the 
permanent registration for the LLC? 
 
Answer: 
Yes, the LLC must continue its registration with the SOS. Once the LLC receives the 
SOS number, that number should be used instead of the temporary entity identification 
issued by us.   
 
3. How would using the original registration date in 2009, as opposed to the formation 
date in 2011, affect how the FTB will bill the LLC? Our understanding is that the LLC 
would establish business nexus in CA when the CA resident became a Managing 
Member of the LLC.  

 
Answer: 
Presumably, the LLC filed Form LLC-5, Application to Register a Foreign Limited 
Liability Company. That form asks for the date the foreign LLC was formed in the other 
state. We do not use this date in determining when the LLC began doing business in 
California for franchise and income tax purposes. 
 
Steve Sims, EA 
Taxpayers’ Rights Advocate 
 
Follow me on Twitter at twitter.com/FTBAdvocate. 

http://www.sos.ca.gov/business/llc/forms/llc-5.pdf
http://www.sos.ca.gov/business/llc/forms/llc-5.pdf
http://twitter.com/FTBAdvocate
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Event Calendar 
 
As part of our education and outreach to our tax professional community, we participate 
in many different presentations and fairs. We now provide a combined-calendar to show 
the events we are attending as well as other events happening with us such as 
interested party and board meetings.  
 
 
 
 
 

 
  
EDR in the News 
 
EDR Release 1.0.1 Is Coming This Month 
 
We will implement EDR Release 1.0.1 on December 31, 2012. This release is the 
second of nine planned releases for the EDR Project. It expands the use of new 
technology and equipment introduced during Release 1.0, making our return and 
payment processes more efficient. 
 
With EDR Release 1.0.1, we will: 
 
 Scan all pages of paper-filed current year, 2008, and prior year personal income 

tax 540 form types including W-2’s, schedules, and checks.  
 Scan all years of the incoming personal income tax amended 540X returns.  
 Electronically deposit any checks received with any of these returns through 

Image Cash Letter. 
 

Capturing full images of the returns and payments allows us to eliminate paper, speed 
up processing, and accelerate deposits. 
 
  

https://www.ftb.ca.gov/professionals/taxnews/2012/august/EDR.shtml
https://www.ftb.ca.gov/professionals/taxnews/2012/March/Article_11.shtml
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Inside FTB 
 
Taxpayers’ Bill of Rights Hearing 
 
Historically, the Franchise Tax Board's Taxpayers' Bill of Rights Hearing has been 
held during the last Board meeting of the calendar year. This year’s meeting will take 
place on December 5 at 1:30 p.m. at the Franchise Tax Board, 9646 Butterfield 
Way, Town Center, Gerald Goldberg Auditorium, and the Bill of Rights Hearing will 
be on the agenda. The public is encouraged to provide either written or oral 
comments at the hearing on any issues related to the laws or procedures 
administered by the Department. 
 
 
 
 
Criminal Corner 
 
San Diego Woman Pleads Guilty to State Tax Evasion and Grand 
Theft 
 
A San Diego corporate travel planner pleads guilty to one count of felony state income 
tax evasion for filing a false return and one count of grand theft. She also admitted the 
“aggravated white collar crime enhancement” for stealing more than $500,000. This 
enhancement mandates a state prison commitment. 

Sarah Marie Thompson, 35, filed false personal income tax returns for 2006, 2007, and 
2008. According to the San Diego District Attorney’s Office, Thompson embezzled 
nearly $615,000 from her employer between July 2005 and June 2008. 

Thompson was responsible for booking travel for employees and clients. She defrauded 
her employer by charging fraudulent amounts to her employer’s credit card and altering 
the company’s accounts payables to cover the fraud. Thompson made unauthorized 
purchases for travel, clothing, motorcycles, scooters, a motorcycle trailer, household 
goods, and sporting event tickets. She also bought American Express gift cards in $500 
increments. 

Our investigators determined that Thompson had unreported income of more than 
$550,000 for tax years 2006, 2007, and 2008. Thompson evaded the payment of 
personal income taxes of nearly $50,000. Penalties, interest, and the cost of the 
investigation will be sought at the restitution hearing. All income, including income from 
illegal sources is taxable.  
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Thompson’s sentencing hearing is set for January 9, 2013, at the Superior Court of 
California, County of San Diego,North County Regional Center in Department D6.  

The case was a joint investigation with the San Diego County Sheriff’s Department, San 
Diego County District Attorney’s Office, and us. The case was prosecuted by San Diego 
County Deputy District Attorney, Anna Winn.  

San Diego County Superior Court Judge Runston G. Maino in Department 26 presided 
over the October 25 case. 

 
 
 
Big Business 
 
Short Period Return for an S Corporation Termination  
 
In last month’s issue, we discussed when a short period return was due. Now we will 
discuss the short-year return for an S corporation termination. 

Corporations or limited liability companies treated as corporations, having a valid federal 
S election, automatically become California S corporations. This applies to all S status 
corporations, whether or not they are registered with California’s Secretary of State. 

Since the corporation becomes an S corporation automatically for California purposes, 
the corporation does not file an S corporation election, but attaches a copy of their 
federal confirmation letter with their first California return. The federal S corporation 
election is binding and the corporation cannot make a separate state election to be 
treated as a C corporation for California tax purposes. 

Therefore, if there is a federal termination of a corporation’s S election, the termination 
also applies to California. Depending when the termination occurs, the corporation may 
need to file two short-period returns. Each short period return will be deemed to be a 
separate tax year and is subject to the annual minimum tax.   

For example: 

ABC, Inc. is an S corporation with a calendar year ending. On June 30, 2012, the S 
corporation election terminates. 

• For January 1, 2012 to June 30, 2012 — the S corporation will file and pay its tax 
liability, but not less than the minimum franchise tax.  

• For July 1, 2012 to December 31, 2012 — the C corporation will file and pay its 
tax liability, but not less than the minimum franchise tax. 

https://www.ftb.ca.gov/professionals/taxnews/2012/November/Big_Business.shtml
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However, when a corporation must file a short period return for federal purposes, the 
corporation must also file a short period return with the state (R&TC Section 24634). 
The original due date of the return is the same due date as the federal return. In the 
example above, the due date of both returns will be March 15, 2013. In addition, the 
corporation will be eligible for the state automatic seven-month extension to file the 
state tax return.  

For more information, see FTB Publication 1060, Guide for Corporations Starting 
Business in California. 

http://www.ftb.ca.gov/forms/misc/1060.pdf
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/forms/misc/1060.pdf
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