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2010 Filing Season Opens

We are now accepting 2010 state tax returns. Also, please note the following updates on
law changes and filing services:

Standard deduction — The standard deduction for single or filing separately tax statuses
increased from $3,637 to $3,670. For joint, surviving spouse, or head of household filers, it
increased from $7,274 to $7,340.

Personal exemption credit — The personal exemption amount for single, filing
separately, and head of household filers increased from $98 to $99. For joint or
surviving spouses, it increased from $196 to $198. The dependent exemption credit is
also $99 per dependent.

New Jobs tax credit still available — Starting in 2009, this incentive provides a tax
credit of up to $3,000 for each added qualified full-time employee hired by a qualified
small business employer. Funding is limited to $400 million. As of January 1, 2011,
$360 million remains available. The credit must be claimed on a timely-filed original
2010 return received before the $400 million limit is exhausted.

Generally speaking, employers qualify for the credit if they employed 20 or fewer
employees in the prior year. They must have a net increase in qualified full-time
employees in 2010 compared to the number of full-time employees employed in the
prior year.

Net operating losses suspended — For 2010 and 2011, net operating losses from
prior years cannot be deducted by certain taxpayers. The net operating loss suspension
rules do not apply to taxpayers with modified adjusted gross income (PITL) or
preapportioned income (CTL) of less than $300,000 or with disaster loss carryovers.

Voluntary Contribution Funds - Taxpayers can contribute to one or more charitable
causes directly on the state tax form. New on the 2010 tax return are the:

Arts Council Fund.

California Police Activities League (CALPAL) Fund.

California Veterans Homes Fund.

Safely Surrendered Baby Fund.

Access Your Account —This new service allows taxpayers to change their address or
phone number and get information such as estimated tax payments, any balances due,
state W-2 information, or FTB-issued 1099 forms online. Taxpayers and tax
professionals complete a one-time registration where they choose their own user name
and password. This service eliminates the need for taxpayers to get a customer service
number each year.



http://www.ftb.ca.gov/businesses/New_Jobs_Credit.shtml
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/individuals/vcfsr/Index.shtml
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/online/myacct/index.asp
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MyFTB Account for Businesses - Coming in mid February 2011, business entities
and their authorized tax representatives can view their prepaid estimated income tax
payments online with MyFTB Account for Businesses. We encourage you to access My
FTB Account for Businesses to verify estimated tax payments before filing, since
claiming the wrong amount of estimated tax payments is a top processing error and
errors delay refunds and result in tax bills after filing. Using this service you can also
verify the exact entity name to use when filing the return, another common error causing
processing delays. Go to ftb.ca.gov after February 14 and search for MyFTB Account.

Check Your Refund Status —After filing the 2010 tax return, taxpayers can use this
service to see where their refund is. This service is also available in Spanish. In general,
refunds for e-filed returns with direct deposit are generally issued within seven days and
mailed refund checks are generally sent within two weeks. Refunds for paper-filed
returns take longer, up to six to eight weeks depending on the time of year the return

is filed.

Pay Taxes Online — Our Web Pay service allows taxpayers to authorize a payment
from their bank account to pay their return balance due or extension payment. Payment
must be made by April 18, to avoid penalties and interest. Taxpayers can also make
estimated tax or any bill payments online, and sign up for email reminders of upcoming
estimate payment due dates. Taxpayers can schedule payments up to one year in
advance. For a fee, taxpayers can also pay their taxes online with their American
Express, Discover/NOVUS, MasterCard, and Visa cards.

Request a Monthly Payment Plan — We offer monthly installment payment plans to
those who cannot pay what they owe by the due date. Taxpayers who owe less than
$25,000 and can repay the tax within five years generally qualify. Sign up online at
ftb.ca.gov and select installment agreement request.

Federal Earned Income Tax Credit — This is a federal incentive for low-income
individuals and families. Taxpayers earning less than $48,362 can qualify for a
“refundable” credit up to $5,666. “Refundable” means that you do not have to have a tax
liability to get a refund check from the federal government. If you think you might qualify,
go to irs.gov and search for EITC Assistant. California has no comparable state credit.

Recordkeeping — Keep a copy of your client’s state tax returns and all supporting
records. We may request information regarding your client’s tax return at any time within
the California statute of limitations period, which is generally four years from the return's
due date.


http://www.ftb.ca.gov/index.shtml
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/online/refund/index.asp
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/online/myacct/index.asp
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/online/webpay/index.asp
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/online/CCard.shtml
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/online/CCard.shtml
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/online/eia/index.asp
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/index.shtml
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/online/eia/index.asp
http://www.irs.gov/individuals/article/0,,id=96406,00.html
http://www.irs.gov/
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IRS 2010 Filing Delay

Taxpayers who file their 2010 tax returns early have been advised by the IRS to wait
until mid February 2011.The delay is due to Congress’ late passage of the Tax Relief,
Unemployment Insurance Reauthorization, and Job Creation Act of 2010. The delay
affects both paper and electronic filers.

Taxpayers affected by the filing delay are those claiming:

¢ Itemized deductions on Schedule A. The election to deduct state and local general
sales and use taxes instead of state and local income taxes was extended for 2010
and 2011.

e The above-the-line deduction for higher education tuition and fees. This deduction of
up to $4,000 of tuition and fees paid to a post-secondary institution is claimed on
Form 8917, Tuition and Fees Deduction, to arrive at adjusted gross income (AGI).
The IRS indicated no delays for taxpayers claiming education credits, including the
American Opportunity Tax Credit, and the Lifetime Learning Credit.

e The above-the-line deduction for kindergarten through grade 12 educators with out-
of-pocket classroom expenses of up to $250.

The IRS urges taxpayers to use e-file instead of paper tax forms to minimize confusion
over the recent tax law changes and ensure accurate tax returns.

We are now accepting California income tax returns on paper or e-file. Taxpayers are
not required to wait until they file their federal return, or prove they have filed. However,
taxpayers will need to be able to prepare their federal return in order to properly prepare
a California return. Filing a California return before the federal return may require the
California return to be amended based on a final federal filing.

Some commercial software products may prevent the state return to be filed before the
federal; if this occurs, taxpayers must contact the software provider for assistance.

The IRS will announce a specific date in the near future when it can start processing tax
returns impacted by the recent law change.

Taxpayers can go to irs.ustreas.gov, or contact the IRS at 800.829.1040, Monday
through Friday, 7 a.m. to 10 p.m.


http://www.irs.ustreas.gov/
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FTB Checks Taxpayer Qualifications for Exemption of COD
Income on Potential "Nonqualified Properties"

In January 2011, we began mailing letters to pre-selected individuals who received a
Form 1099-C, Cancellation of Debt (COD), for tax years 2007 and 2008.

On April 12, 2010, SB 401, the Conformity Act of 2010 was enacted. The law
largely brings California into conformity with the federal Mortgage Forgiveness Debt
Relief Act of 2007 for discharges that occur in tax years 2007 through 2012. It
allows taxpayers to exclude from their income the amount of qualified mortgage
debt on their home loan that has been forgiven by their lender resulting from a
foreclosure, "short sale," or loan modification. However, for California purposes, the
amount of qualified mortgage debt is less than the federal amount, and a state-only
limitation is imposed on the total amount of relief that may be excluded from gross
income. Debt forgiveness on other types of properties, such as a second home,
rental, investment, or business property (“nonqualified properties”), does not qualify
for exclusion under the new law.

In an effort to measure compliance with the law, our review letters focus on COD
income related to the “nonqualified properties.” We advise such taxpayers that they may
still be able to exclude COD income under other provisions and encourage all who
receive the review letter to promptly respond. Failure to respond could result in formal
audit action, penalties, and/or a tax assessment.

We provide the following information resources to assist taxpayers who received a
1099-C and/or who have questions regarding COD issues:

e ftb.ca.gov - Search for mortgage debt relief.

¢ [RS.gov - Search for home foreclosure and debt cancellation.

e IRS publication 4681, Canceled Debts, Foreclosures, Repossessions, and
Abandonments

e Federal law — Mortgage Forgiveness Debt Relief Act and Debt Cancellation

e SB 1055 — Legislative Change 08-7

e Press Release April 2010 — California Enacts Mortgage Forgiveness Debt Relief

e Tax News February 2010 — California Code of Civil Procedures and Foreclosure

e Tax News November 2009 — Documents, Second Mortgages, Tax Reporting —
How to Handle a Foreclosed Home for Tax Purposes

e Tax News July 2009 — Foreclosure and Short Sales



http://www.ftb.ca.gov/aboutFTB/newsroom/Mortgage_Debt_Relief_Law.shtml
http://www.irs.gov/newsroom/article/0,,id=174034,00.html
http://www.irs.gov/publications/p4681/index.html
http://www.irs.gov/publications/p4681/index.html
http://www.irs.gov/individuals/article/0,,id=179414,00.html
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/law/legis/08legchng/LC_sb1055_0807.pdf
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/aboutFTB/press/2010/Release_22.shtml
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/professionals/taxnews/2010/February/Article_8.shtml
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/professionals/taxnews/2009/November/Article_4.shtml
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/professionals/taxnews/2009/November/Article_4.shtml
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/professionals/taxnews/2009/July/Article_9.shtml
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Roth IRA Conversion Frequently Asked Questions

California conforms to several recent federal law changes in the area of traditional and
Roth IRAs. Each of these changes became effective January 1, 2010. One significant
change now allows taxpayers using the married filing separate filing status to convert
from a traditional IRA to a Roth IRA. Additionally, the limitation prohibiting Roth
conversion to those reporting a modified adjusted gross income of $100,000 or more
has been eliminated.

Lastly, a number of issues have arisen as a result of the change allowing taxpayers to
make a Roth IRA conversion in 2010 and defer the recognition of income to 2011 and
2012. Below are answers to some of the most frequently asked questions.

Does California conform to this change?

Yes, California pre-conforms to many of the deferred compensation provisions of the
Internal Revenue Code under Revenue and Taxation Code (R&TC) section 17501.
Consequently, the change in federal law allowing taxpayers to report the taxable portion
of their 2010 Roth IRA rollover ratably during 2011 and 2012 is applicable for

California purposes.

Must a taxpayer make a separate California election or do conversions have to be
treated the same for California purposes as for federal?

Under IRC section 408A(d)(3)(A)(iii), a taxpayer must elect out of deferring the income
to 2011 and 2012. Any election for federal purposes will apply for California purposes.
But, if a taxpayer elects out of the deferral for federal purposes, California will allow a
separate election to not opt out of the deferral for California purposes and vice versa.

If a nonresident taxpayer who was not subject to California taxes in 2010 makes
the election for federal purposes and moves into California during 2011 or 2012,
is he or she bound by this election for California purposes?

Yes, under R&TC section 17024.5(e)(3)(B)(i), if a taxpayer made a valid federal election
prior to becoming a California taxpayer, that taxpayer is deemed to have made the
same election for California purposes unless a separate election is expressly authorized
by statute. The R&TC does not provide for a separate election for purposes of Roth IRA
conversions in these circumstances.
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If a taxpayer chooses to defer to 2011 and 2012 and the taxpayer leaves California
in one of those years how is the conversion treated for California purposes?
Similarly, how is the conversion treated if a nonresident moves into California?

In Legal Ruling 98-3, Taxation of IRA Distributions Rolled Over to a Roth IRA Followed
by a Change of Residence Status, we provided guidance as to the tax treatment of
California residents who converted a traditional IRA to Roth IRA in 1998 and then
change residence during the ratable period between 1999 and 2001, as well as the tax
treatment of non California residents who converted an IRA to Roth IRA in 1998 and
then become California residents in the period between 1999 and 2001. The analysis in
this ruling remains applicable to the new deferral rule allowing taxpayers to report the
income from the conversion of a traditional IRA ratably over the two years following

the conversion.

Outbound taxpayers must include in gross income only those portions of the taxable
distribution reportable under the two year rule before they became nonresidents. Under
R&TC section 17952.5 the gross income of a nonresident does not include qualified
retirement income including income from an IRA, received on or after January 1, 1996.
R&TC 17952.5 prevents the imposition of California tax on the portions of the IRA
distribution recognized after an individual becomes a nonresident.

California will allow for the proration of the taxpayer's income from the conversion based
upon the number of days a taxpayer is within California during the two years of the
proration. An individual who makes a rollover contribution from an IRA to a Roth IRA
before January 1, 2011 and changes residency in 2011, must include in California
adjusted gross income one half of the taxable portion of the distribution multiplied by a
fraction, the denominator of which is the total number of days in the taxable year and
the numerator of which is the number of days in the year in which the individual is a
California resident.

If the taxpayer changes residency during the second year, the amount included in
California adjusted gross income for the year of the change in residency is one half of
the taxable distribution multiplied by a fraction, the denominator of which is the total
number of days in the taxable year and the numerator of which is the number of days in
the year in which the individual is a California resident.

Real Estate Withholding Rates Decrease

As of January 1, 2011, the California real estate withholding rates changed. The
optional gain on sale withholding rates decreased for individuals and non-California
partnerships to 9.3 percent, S corporations to 10.8 percent, and financial S corporations
to 12.8 percent.
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Assembly Bill ABX3 3 (Evans, Stat. 2009, Ex. Sess. 20009/2010, Ch. 18) applicable to
taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2009, and before January 1, 2011,
resulted in an increase to the optional gain on sale withholding tax rate for individuals,
non-California partnerships, S corporations, and financial S corporations. This tax rate
increase does not apply to taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2011.

For updated forms which include the reduced tax rates, go to ftb.ca.gov and search for
withholding requirements.

Interest Rates Decrease

The adjusted interest rate has been determined for the period July 1, 2011, through
December 31, 2011." The interest rate will decrease from four to three percent. This
rate is compounded daily and accrues with respect to various state taxes including:
personal income, corporate income, and franchise. The rate for corporation tax
overpayments for the period will remain zero percent.

To find adjusted interest rates, both current and past, go to ftb.ca.gov and search for
interest rates.

'Pursuant to Section 19521 of the Revenue and Taxation Code

Over $15 Million in Returned Tax Refunds Checks

We are holding more than $15 million in returned state income tax refunds.

This year nearly 49,000 refunds, ranging from $1 to $218,000 were returned to the state
by the US Postal Service.

Typically, refunds are returned because the taxpayer changed residences after filing a
tax return. Encourage your clients to update their address by using MyFTB Account at
ftb.ca.gov . We reissue returned refunds automatically once we receive a new address.

Your clients who are expecting a state refund, or are unsure if they received their
refund, who can access Check Your Refund Status on our website. This service is
available in both English and Spanish.

Encourage your clients to use direct deposit when filing their tax returns. Direct deposit
is a fast and secure method to receive your tax refund within days rather than waiting


https://listmanager.ftb.ca.gov/t/78058/77493/773/0/
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/individuals/wsc/California_Real_Estate.shtml
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/individuals/faq/ivr/617.shtml
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/index.shtml
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/online/myacct/index.asp
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/index.shtml?disabled=true
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/online/refund/index.asp
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weeks for a refund check in the mail. Plus, direct deposit eliminates returned refund
checks due to inaccurate addresses. This year, more than 4.6 million California
taxpayers used direct deposit to receive nearly $4 billion directly into their bank
accounts.

Free Power of Attorney (POA) Webinar

Do you know when to use a POA? Would you like hear why we send back your
POA form and how to avoid common errors? Join us for a free webinar and get the
information you need.

Participants attending this webinar will receive an overview of the following topics:

What is a POA?

When a POA is required
When a POA is not required
Alternative Forms

Avoiding Common Errors

Date/Time: Thursday, February 17, 2011 at 10 a.m. (PST)

Duration:  This webinar is approximately 30 minutes.

Reqister here

For more information, go to ftb.ca.gov and search for POA webinars.

Available Now: Free California Source Income Withholding
Webinar in February 2011

We will host a free California source income withholding webinar in February 2011.
The topic is:

Property Management Withholding

We designed this webinar for property managers who must withhold on
California source income payments to nonresident property owners. We will
look at:


https://www2.gotomeeting.com/register/453350259
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/
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e The basics of nonresident withholding.

e Backup withholding.

e A summary of the three phases of withholding and what to do before payment
(Forms 588, 589, 590), at the time of payment, and after payment of California
source income to nonresident property owners (Forms 592, 592-V, 592-B).

e How we are preparing for process changes that will occur when we implement
our new, automated withholding system.

e Withholding resources and contact information you can use at any time.

Date/Time:  Thursday, February 24, 2011, 10 a.m. (PST)
Duration: This webinar is approximately 30 minutes.

Reqister here

Registration only takes a few minutes. Space is limited.

The Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act and Impact
on California Tax

On January 24, we sent a Tax News Alert with the following information:

The Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act signed by the President in March of
2010, requires benefit plans that provide coverage for family members to cover adult
children of the employee, to age 26 whether or not they qualify as dependents for tax
purposes, effective for plan renewals beginning on or after September 23, 2010. The
Health Care and Education Reconciliation Act of 2010 extends the general exclusion for
reimbursements for medical care expenses under an employer-provided accident or
health plan to any child of an employee who has not attained age 27 as of the end of
the taxable year. This law also amended federal income tax laws to exclude the value of
an eligible adult child’s medical coverage from the taxable income of the parent-
employee. Federal law also allows self-employed individuals a deduction for health
insurance premiums for an adult child under age 27 who is not a dependent.

California law has not been amended to conform to the 2010 federal income tax rules
which exclude the value of the medical coverage provided to nondependent adult
children from California gross income and allow a deduction to self-employed
individuals for health insurance premiums for nondependent adult children under age
27. For California income tax purposes, the fair market value of employer-provided
medical coverage for some adult children in excess of the amount paid by the employee
for such coverage may result in taxable income to the employee. Any amount paid by

10


http://www.ftb.ca.gov/forms/misc/588.pdf
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/forms/misc/589.pdf
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/forms/2011/11_590.pdf
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/forms/2011/11_592.pdf
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/forms/2011/11_592v.pdf
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/forms/2011/11_592b.pdf
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/individuals/wsc/California_Source_Income_Withholding_Webinars.shtml
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an employee for such additional coverage is excluded from federal, but not California
taxable wages.

e The additional income is reportable and taxable to the employee, not to the adult
child.

e The amount of income included in taxable wage is equal to the amount by which
fair market value of the taxable benefit received by an employee exceeds the
amount the employee pays for the benefit.

In addition, self-employed individuals may not deduct the health insurance premium
paid for an adult child under age 27 who is not a dependent.

For more information, go to www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll Taxes/

11


https://listmanager.ftb.ca.gov/t/81719/47618/805/0/
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Small Business

Online Filing Available for Tax-Exempt Organizations

Starting January 1, 2011, a new California law requires tax-exempt organizations, other
than churches and church-related organizations, with average gross receipts of $25,000
or less to e-file with us or risk losing their tax-exempts status.

We are mailing notices to the more than 256,000 tax-exempt organizations meeting the
criteria to file using ETB 199-N, also known as the e-postcard. Available online, the e-
postcard asks the same basic information as the IRS Form 990-N. The due date is the
same for state and federal purposes — by the 15th day of the 5th month after an
organization’s tax year ends. For example, organizations whose calendar year ends
December 31, 2010, must file by May 15, 2011.

A tax-exempt organization that fails to file the e-postcard for three consecutive years
loses its tax-exempt status and may be liable for the $800 minimum franchise tax. Any
organization losing its status will have to reapply for tax exemption.

For more information, go to ftb.ca.gov and search for exempt organizations, or call us
at 916. 845.4171.

12


http://www.ftb.ca.gov/businesses/bus_structures/Filing_Requirements_Form_199N.shtml
http://www.irs.gov/charities/article/0,,id=169250,00.html
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/
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Ask the Advocate

NASSCO-Corporate Minimum Tax

The Board of Equalization recently ruled in the Appeal of
NASSCO Holdings, Inc 2010-SBE-001, November 17,
2010, that a corporate taxpayer may use Enterprise
Zone credits and/or the Manufacturing Investment Credit
(MIC) to reduce corporate alternative minimum tax
(AMT). Since then, | have received many questions on
how the FTB is going to implement this ruling. We will be
revising Form 100 Schedule P in February 2011. In
addition, the NASSCO decision applies only to corporate
taxpayers, and does not apply to personal income
taxpayers, due in part to differences in how the corporate
and personal income tax statutes are

drafted. Consequently, personal income taxpayers may
not claim the credits at issue in NASSCO in the manner
that a corporation could.

The most frequent questions | have heard on this issue are “Can | file an amended
return?” and “How will this affect my credit carryover?” Unfortunately, we have yet to
determine answers to these questions. Stay tuned however as we are working to get
the answers to these questions and more as soon as possible. We will update you in a
future Tax News article and possibly a Tax News Flash as information becomes
available. In addition, you can go to ftb.ca.gov and search for nassco for additional

information.

Steve Sims, EA
Taxpayers’ Rights Advocate

Follow me on Twitter at twitter.com/FTBAdvocate.

13


http://ftb.ca.gov/
http://twitter.com/FTBAdvocate
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Event Calendar

As part of education and outreach to our tax professional community, we participate in
many different presentations and fairs. We provided this calendar to show the events
we are attending.

Education and Outreach

February Events

Date Event Association Subject Matter Location
10 Auburn Small Business Classes for small business | Auburn
Class development
16 Board of Equalization Small business fair Carlsbad
18 East Bay Association of Ca Tax Question Panel Dublin
Enrolled Agents
17 Board of Equalization Small business fair Westminster
March Events
10 Economic Development Enterprise Zone Policy Redding
Corporation of Shasta Meeting
County
22 UC San Francisco Tax workshop(s) San
Francisco

April Events

No events scheduled for April

14



Tax News
February 2011

Inside FTB

Tax News Conducts Survey

Over the next week, Tax News plans to email a survey randomly to the Tax News
subscribers via email. If you receive the survey, please take a few minutes to complete
it. We welcome your feedback and appreciate your honesty. With your help, we hope to
build a better product for you.

Criminal Corner

Bakersfield Couple Arrested for State Income Tax Fraud
A Bakersfield couple was arrested on eight felony counts including tax fraud.

Agustin E. Ramirez, 56, was charged with four felony counts of conspiring to commit a
crime, grand theft, filing fraudulent returns, and money laundering. Maria Z. Ramirez,
54, was charged with four felony counts of conspiring to commit a crime, grand theft,
filing fraudulent returns, and being an accessory to a crime.

The couple allegedly failed to report more than $380,000 in kickback income from the
purchase of Bakersfield homes on their 2006 and 2007 state income tax returns. The
couple owes the state more than $57,000 in unpaid taxes. Penalties, interest, and the
cost of investigation will be added to this amount.

We initiated the investigation when they received information from the Kern County
District Attorney’s Office, which alleged that Agustin E. Ramirez participated in a
scheme to purchase five homes in the Bakersfield area between November 2006
and January 2007 by using fraudulent loan applications.

Officers from the Bakersfield Police Department arrested Agustin E. Ramirez on
November 19, 2010, and Maria Z. Ramirez was arrested on December 8, 2010. Their
bail is set at $2 million and $1 million respectively.

15
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Big Business

Large Corporate Understatement Penalty (LCUP) Stands

On December 13, 2010, the California Court of Appeal rejected claims that Revenue
and Taxation Code (R&TC) Section 19138, a corporate tax penalty provision for
understating taxes by more than $1 million, is a tax and not a penalty (California
Taxpayers’ Association v. Franchise Tax Board, Court of Appeal of California, Third
District, No. C062791, December 13, 2010). In finding California’s large corporate
understatement penalty to be just that - a penalty - it is not subject to the two-thirds
legislative vote requirement, and therefore is valid. They also concluded that the post-
payment refund action provided under the statute afforded taxpayers paying the penalty
adequate due process protections.

R&TC 19138 was added by SB X1 28 and became effective December 19, 2008. This
statute created a new penalty that applies to corporations for taxable years beginning
on or after January 1, 2003, where the corporation has an understatement of tax in
excess of $1 million. The penalty is 20 percent of the understatement, which is
measured by the difference between the correct amount of tax and the tax reported on
the original return or on an amended return filed on or before the extended due date.

For taxable years 2003-2007, a taxpayer could have filed an amended return and paid
the tax shown on the amended return by May 31, 2009, to treat the tax shown on this
amended return as tax shown on the original return. This one-time increase of self-
assessed tax was allowed for corporations to reduce the likelihood of receiving this
penalty for these taxable years.

LCUP Current Statistics -
Amended for More:

o 169 taxpayers filed 448 tax years (2003 to 2007) and reported $2,613,313,829
on their amended for more returns.

« From our records, it was determined that $2,602,436,448 of the amended for
more amount was paid via electronic funds transfer payments and $64,715,030
was transferred from other tax years. This resulted in a total of $2,667,151,518
being applied, by the taxpayers, for the amended for more returns.

e The payment amount is greater than the reported amount because some
taxpayers included interest.

Claims for Refund:

o Of the 169 taxpayers that filed amended for more returns, 38 of them have filed
claims against 90 years. The total amount of claims filed to date is $475,858,277.

16



Tax News
February 2011

Penalties Assessed:

e FTB has assessed a total of 10 LCUP penalties for $3,800,000.

17



