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State Tax Relief Provided for Disaster Victims 

Recent Legislation (AB 1662, AB 1690, and ABX6 11) designates several wildfires, 
storms, an earthquake, and explosion as state disasters, thus providing the disaster 
victims with specific tax relief.     
 
Special tax rules apply to disaster losses. Disaster victims can claim a disaster loss in 
either the year the disaster occurred or in the prior year. Typically, taxpayers must 
deduct losses only in the year of the disaster. The advantage of claiming a disaster loss 
in the prior year is that the loss will generally reduce the prior year tax liability and 
creates a refund that we can quickly issue. 

The following events are designated as state disasters and provide the following tax 
benefits: 

 

When the losses exceed disaster victims’ income for the year, they can carry the loss 
over for up to 15 years to reduce their tax liability until the disaster losses are used up. 
For example, a couple who were disaster victims of the July 2010 wildfires have 
uninsured losses of $300,000 and taxable income for 2009 of $50,000. They have the 
option to report the disaster on their 2009 tax return, get a refund of their state income 
taxes paid, and carryover the $250,000 balance to future years. They have until October 
17, 2011, to make this election.  
 

Disaster  Counties covered by disaster 

designation 

Prior year election   

deadline 

100 percent loss 

carryover provision  
September 2010 San 

Bruno Explosion  

San Mateo 2009 by  

October 17, 2011 

15 years 

July 2010 Kern Wildfires  Kern 2009 by 

October 17, 2011 

15 years 

April 2010 Baja California 

Earthquake 

Imperial* 2009 by  

October 17, 2011 

15 years 

January 2010 Humboldt 

Earthquake 

Humboldt 2009 by  

October 17, 2011 

15 years 

January 2010 California 

Winter Storms  

 

Calaveras * 

Imperial * 

Los Angeles * 

Orange  

Riverside* 

San Bernardino*  

San Francisco  

Siskiyou* 

2009 by 

October 17, 2011 

15 years 

August 2009 California 

Wildfires  

Los Angeles  

Monterey 

Placer 

Expired 15 years 



Tax News  
November 2010 

3 

Disaster victims that already filed their tax return for the prior year can claim a disaster 
loss against that year’s income by filing Form 540X, Amended Individual Income Tax 
Return.  
 
A casualty loss occurs when your property is lost or damaged due to an earthquake, 
fire, flood, or similar event that is sudden, unexpected, or unusual. Disaster victims 
usually qualify for a casualty loss deduction for tax purposes when insurance or other 
reimbursements do not repay you for damage to your property. For California purposes, 
your casualty loss becomes a disaster loss when both of the following occur:  
 
• Disaster victims sustain the loss in an area the President of the United States or the 

Governor of California designates as a disaster area. If only the Governor declares a 
disaster, subsequent state legislation is required to activate the disaster provision for 
California tax purposes.  

• Disaster victims sustain the loss because of the declared disaster.  
 
For more details, refer FTB Publication 1034, Disaster Loss How to Claim a State Tax 
Deduction at ftb.ca.gov.  
 
*Also qualifies for Federal disaster relief 
 
 
 
  
Assessing the Mandatory e-pay Penalty Begins 2011 
 
Starting January 1, 2011, the mandatory e-pay penalty will be assessed when a person 
required to make payments electronically pays using any other method.  
 
The penalty is equal to one percent (1%) of the amount paid, unless failure to pay was 
for reasonable cause and not willful neglect. (Revenue and Taxation Code  
section 19011.5) 
 
Electronic payments are required once a person: 
 

 Makes an estimate tax or extension payment (by check or electronic method) 
over $20,000.  

 Files an original tax return with a tax liability over $80,000.  

Electronic payments may be made using any of the following methods: 
 

 Pay online with Web Pay at ftb.ca.gov. 
 Request an Electronic Funds Withdrawal (EFW) when e-filing a tax return. 

http://www.ftb.ca.gov/forms/2009/09_540x.pdf
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/forms/2009/09_540x.pdf
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/forms/misc/1034.pdf
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/forms/misc/1034.pdf
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/index.shtml
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/online/webpay/
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/index.shtml
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 Pay by credit card online at www.officialpayments.com or by calling  
toll free 1.800.272.9829. 

 Use the pay-by-phone option by completing and submitting form FTB 4073, 
Mandatory e-pay Pay-by-Phone Authorization Agreement for Individuals, 
available at ftb.ca.gov. 

Fiduciaries, estates, and trusts are not required to make payments electronically, 
regardless of the amount owed. 
 
 
 
 
Penalty Reference Chart Updated 
 
We updated the penalty reference chart (FTB 1024). We list the penalty codes 
numerically by Revenue and Taxation Code sections. These penalties reflect the law as 
enacted on April 12, 2010, for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2010.  
 
To view or print the chart, go to ftb.ca.gov and search for 1024. 
 
 

 
 
What is a Partial Lien Release? 
 
A partial lien release releases a specific piece of property from a recorded state tax lien. 
However, it does not release the lien in its entirety. The lien remains in effect against the 
taxpayer and continues to encumber other property the taxpayer owns or acquires in 
the future.  
 
Sometimes, during short sales transactions, your client may not have enough funds in 
their escrow account to pay off our recorded state tax lien in full. If this happens, you 
may request a Partial Lien Release from us. 
 
To request a partial lien release for your client, call the Lien Resolution Unit at 
916.845.4350. If it is determined that a partial release of lien or subordination of a lien is 
warranted, we will ask for the following documentation to be submitted via overnight 
mail to the address below:  
 

 Letter of explanation. 
 Estimated closing statement. 
 Current preliminary title report that includes the legal description of the property. 
 Current appraisal. 
 Copies of all other lien encumbrances. 

http://www.officialpayments.com/
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/individuals/mandatory_epay/paybyphone.shtml
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/forms/misc/4073.pdf
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/index.shtml
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/forms/misc/1024.pdf
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/
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 Documentation to substantiate all lien payoffs through this escrow. 
 Copy of the new deed of trust (for subordination requests only). 

 
LIEN RESOLUTION UNIT MS A410 
FRANCHISE TAX BOARD  
SACRAMENTO, CA 95827 
 
For more information about liens, go to ftb.ca.gov and search liens. 
 
 
 
 
Taxpayers Beware: eMail Phishing Scam  
 
Warn your clients about a potential phishing scheme via email and caution them not to 
respond to the email.  
 
We received calls from concerned taxpayers who have received what looks like an 
official email from a tax agency. The email warns the taxpayer that their federal 
Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT) tax payment did not go through and directs 
the taxpayer to another website. While we recently introduced secured email as an 
efficient and easy method for us to communicate confidential information with 
taxpayers, its use is currently limited to specialized business purposes. Secure email 
cannot be initiated from an individual outside our agency.  
 
We do not send email notices regarding EFT payment rejections. If we have a question 
about a taxpayer’s EFT payment, normal procedures are to call the taxpayer or send a 
bill through the mail.   
 
The IRS is aware of this scam and provides guidance about this and other scams at its 
website. The Board of Equalization also reports hearing from its taxpayers about the 
same scam and has issued a similar warning.    
 
If your client receives suspicious emails, advise them not to click on the link or respond 
to the sender. Anyone who has a question about an FTB EFT payment should check 
their bank account to verify whether an EFT payment has been made, or you can call us 
at 916.845.7057, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. weekdays. 
 
  

http://www.ftb.ca.gov/
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/professionals/taxnews/2010/October/Article_6.shtml
http://www.irs.gov/newsroom/article/0,,id=98269,00.html
http://www.irs.gov/
http://www.boe.ca.gov/news/2010/112-10-G.pdf
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Free Backup Withholding Seminars 
 
Do you know the current backup withholding requirements? If you do not, join us for a 
free webinar and get the information you need. 
 
The webinars are developed for individuals, businesses, and government entities. 
Participants attending one of these webinars will receive an overview of the  
following topics: 

 Requirements.  
 Reporting and remitting.  
 Forms and publications.  
 Frequently asked questions (FAQs). 

Duration: Approximately 45 minutes. 

Dates/Time: 

 Tuesday, November 16, 2010 at 10 a.m. (PST) 

 Tuesday, December 14, 2010 at 10 a.m. (PST) 

Registration takes only a few minutes. To register, select a date and time option from 
above. Space is limited. 
 
 
 

 
Chaptered or Vetoed? - That is the Question 
 
After the longest budget delay in state history, the Legislature and the Governor reach 
an agreement in early October. The following is a list of bills related to us, with a brief 
description, that were chaptered and a list of the bills that were vetoed as part the 
budget negotiations.  
 

BILL 
NUMBER 

DESCRIPTION CHAPTERED 
NUMBER 

AB 183 Principle Residence Credit 10-12 
AB 347 Haiti Earthquake 10-8 
AB 680 Tax Levy Administration 10-4 
AB 1585  State Agencies Submit Required Reports as Printed 

Copies to Legislative Counsel and Secretary Of Senate 
10-7 

https://www2.gotomeeting.com/register/200508107
https://www2.gotomeeting.com/register/170286770
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and as Electronic Copies to Assembly Chief Clerk/Bills 
Requiring Reports Shall Include Repeal Date 

AB 2091 Public Records/Exempt Public Agency Information 
Security Records From Disclosure if Facts of Case of 
Disclosure Would Reveal Vulnerabilities or Increase 
Potential for Attack 

10-205 

AB 2177 Allow Electronic Communication to Taxpayers to Inform Of 
Tax Change or Obligation 

10-136 

SB 401 Conformity Act of 2010 10-14 
AB 658 CA Police Activities League 10-346 
AB 1088 CA Veterans Home Fund 10-355 
AB 1530 FTB Order of Restitution for Collections 10-359 

AB 1662 Disaster Loss Deduction/Excess Loss Carryover/August 
2009 Los Angeles, Monterey, Placer, and July 2010 Kern 
County Wildfires and January 2010 Calaveras, Imperial, 
Los Angeles, Orange, Riverside, San Bernardino, San 
Francisco, and Siskiyou County Winter Storms 

10-447 

AB 1690 Disaster Loss/Humboldt 10-449 
AB 1983 Safely Surrendered Baby Fund 10-587 
AB 2136 Disaster Loss Deduction/Excess Loss Carryover/April 

2010 Imperial County Earthquake 
10-461 

AB 2408 State Government Information Technology/Statutory 
Codification Changes Made Necessary By Governor’s 
Reorganization Plan No. 1 Of 2009 

10-404 

AB 2671 Minimum Franchise Tax and Annual Tax/Exempt 
Corporations and Limited Liability Company Small 
Businesses Owned Solely by Deployed Member Of U.S. 
Armed Forces that Operate at A Loss or Ceases Operation 

10-394 

SB 392 Limited Liability Companies/Contractors 10-698 
SB 657 FTB Provide AG with Company Name and California 

Identification Numbers For Retailers and Manufacturers 
with Gross Receipts Over $100 Million 

10-556 

SB 1008 Limited Partnerships and Foreign Limited 
Partnerships/Engineers and Land Surveyors 

10-634 

SB 1065 Innocent Spouse Law Conformity 10-318 
SB 1076 Arts Council Fund 10-319 
SB 1492 Voluntary Disclosure Agreements 10-498 
 
 

BILL 
NUMBER 

VETOED  

SBX8-29 FTB, BOE, and employees in Position Funded 95% by Other Sources than 
General Fund Exempt from Furloughs 

SBX8-32 Conformity Act of 2010 
AB 1506 Registered Warrants Use to Pay Tax 
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AB 1899 State Agencies Post Specified Audits and Contracts to the Reporting 
Transparency in Government Internet Web Site 

AB 1987 State Employees/Retirees Who Have Not Reinstated May Not Perform 
Services for State Until Separated from Service for at Least 180 Days 

AB 2008 FTB and BOE Employees Exempt from Furloughs 
AB 2017 California Youth Leadership Fund 
AB 2458 Underpayment Penalty for Small Businesses Shall be Due and Payable 60 

Days from Notification 
AB 2666 FTB Compile Information on Any Tax Expenditure Claimed and Reported by 

Publicly Traded Company and Submit to State Chief Information Officer for 
Publication on the Reporting Transparency in Government Internet Website 

SB 1166 State Agencies Notify California Residents of Any Breach of Security of 
System or Data/Additional Notification Requirements/if Notification to More 
than 500 Residents Must Also Submit Electronically to Attorney General 

SB 1272 Tax Expenditures/Add 7 Year Sunset 
SB 1425 Public Retirement Retiree Final Compensation/Establish Regulation that 

Retired Persons May Not Perform Services for Any State or Local 
Retirement System Employer Until Separated from Service for at Least 180 
Days 

  
 

 

 
Systemic Issue Update  
 
Doing Business as an Insurance Company? 
 
We received this issue through our Systemic Issue Management System. In our effort to 
share the progress and changes we have made from your comments and suggestions, 
we periodically will provide your submission and the resolution. 
 
Systemic Issue Submission: 
 
What procedures are in place when we get information that the corporation is doing 
business as an insurance company? 
 
Research and Resolution: 
 
Corporations that are doing business in California and are registered with the 
Department of Insurance and have received a Certificate of Authority should not be 
required to file a tax return with us. We do not receive information from the Department 
of Insurance or any other source showing the Certificate of Authority and therefore our 
systems see these entities as regular corporations with a filing requirement.   
 
We contacted the Department of Insurance to obtain the information annually, before we 
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start our nonfiler process for a given tax year. They committed to provide us an annual 
listing of companies who have been issued a Certificate of Authority so we can 
proactively code these entities to eliminate the nonfiler notices for them.   
 
 

 
 

 
Ask the Advocate 

 
CSEA Meeting 
 
On September 24, 2010, we held our annual liaison 
meeting with the California Society of Enrolled Agents 
(CSEA). This year, like every year, they had some really 
great questions for FTB staff. I decided to share a few 
questions I thought our Tax News readers would find 
most interesting in this month.  
 
QUESTION 1: 
 
Some of the FTBs formal responses to items submitted 
for the December 2009 Taxpayer Bill of Rights hearings 
(TBR) were included in the March 2010 Tax News. In 
particular, the Tax News stated that FTB would consider 
a legislative proposal (LP) for California to automatically 

provide statutory disaster tax relief, whenever the governor declares a disaster in the 
state, rather than to require legislation each time in response to the Governor’s disaster 
declaration. What is the status of this LP?   

 
RESPONSE 1: 
 
On May 3, 2010, AB 1782 (Harkey) was introduced that would have, among other 
things, provided automatic disaster loss treatment—similar to the TBR proposal. That 
bill failed passage in the Assembly Revenue and Taxation Committee (the policy 
committee of the first house). FTB staff made the decision to let the issue ―cool off‖ for a 
year but will ask one of the revenue and taxation chairs to author the TBR proposal in 
2011. 
 
QUESTION 2: 
 
Beginning January 1, 2011, California conforms to 2006 federal law that requires small 
tax-exempt organizations with gross receipts of $25,000 or less, other than churches 
and church-related organizations, to e-file an annual informational notice, similar to IRS 
Form 990-N, known as the e-postcard [SB 401(CH 10-14)]. The due date for calendar 
year organizations is May 15th each year. The IRS is reporting noncompliance with the 
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e-postcard filing requirement, which can cause an organization to lose its exempt 
status. What are FTB plans for rollout of the state version of e-postcard?   
 
RESPONSE 2: 
 
FTB understands the importance of outreach. Therefore, we are taking various 
measures to get the word out on the new filing requirements for the smaller tax-exempt 
organizations as follows.   
 
We are creating a Web application for the small tax-exempt organizations to file with 
FTB. The application will be ready for use by January 3, 2011. Our Charities and 
Nonprofit (Exempt Organizations) webpage provides information regarding the filing 
requirements for the small tax-exempt organizations. Within the next few months the full 
instructions for filing the California e-Postcard will be on the FTB website. 
 
This fall, we will mail letters to California tax-exempt organizations to inform them of the 
new filing requirement.  
 
In July, we published a Tax News article, New Reporting Requirements for Small Tax-
Exempt Organizations Begins 2011, to explain the impacts of SB401 on the smaller tax-
exempt organizations. The Tax News article was also picked up and published by 
Research Institute of America (RIA) and California CPA Educational Foundation. 
 
We send updates through social media (Facebook and Twitter) on the new filing 
requirements for these tax-exempt organizations. 
 
Our exempt organizations staff conducts presentations throughout California to share 
exempt organization information, which includes the new filing requirements of the 
smaller tax-exempt organizations. Most of these presentations are sponsored by the 
Board of Equalization. 
 
Our exempt organizations phone center continuously reminds tax-exempt organizations 
of the new filing requirements.      
 
QUESTION 3: 
 
Beginning January 1, 2011, California now has a bright-line test for establishing when a 
taxpayer is considered to be ―doing business‖ in California. Additionally, California also 
adopts the option for businesses apportioning income to elect to apportion income using 
the single sales factor rather than the three-factor, double-weighted sales 
apportionment method. Since these are significant changes, does FTB have plans for 
any taxpayer outreach other than updating the instructions for Schedule R, 
Apportionment and Allocation of Income? 
 
RESPONSE 3: 
 

http://www.ftb.ca.gov/professionals/taxnews/2010/July/Article_8.shtml
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/professionals/taxnews/2010/July/Article_8.shtml
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Yes. In December 2009, we published an article in Tax News announcing the corporate 
law changes applicable for tax years beginning January 1, 2011, and providing the 
public with an email address (2011corplawchanges@ftb.ca.gov) to send in their 
inquiries. In March of 2010, we covered these 2011 corporation tax law changes on our 
public website (see website link or instructions below). We plan to use the website to 
keep the public informed of the latest developments, FAQs, interested parties meetings, 
etc. Concerning the single sales factor election, we held two interested parties meetings 
for comments on the proposed regulation in January and June of this year. We have 
also added information in the ―What’s New/Tax Law Changes‖ portion of our 2009 and 
2010 tax forms’ instructions. Currently, we are working on an FAQ for the new definition 
of doing business in California. We will be working closely with our Education and 
Outreach and Public Affairs Office to keep the public informed. Finally, in the very near 
future, there are plans for more public announcements via Tax News and our website.   
  
Go to ftb.ca.gov and search 2011 corp law changes.  
 
Steve Sims, EA 
Taxpayers’ Rights Advocate 
 
Follow our FTB Advocate on Twitter at twitter.com/FTBAdvocate. 
 
  

mailto:2011corplawchanges@ftb.ca.gov
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/businesses/2011_Corporation_Tax_Law_Changes.shtml
http://twitter.com/FTBAdvocate
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Our Calendar 
 
As part of education and outreach to our tax professional community, we participate in 
many different presentations and fairs. We provided this calendar to show the events 
we are attending. 
 

Education and Outreach  
November Events 

        
Date Event/Association Subject Matter Location 

Nov 3 East Bay Association of Enrolled Agents  California Tax update  Dublin  
Nov 4 FNCC 1040 Update Seminar Redding  
Nov 8 SBSE  Small Business Update  San Francisco 
Nov 10 Coachella Valley Enterprise Zone  Enterprise Zone  Indio 
Nov11 CSEA Golden Gate Chapter presentation San Francisco 
Nov 17 San Diego Tax & Acctg Institute California Tax Update San Diego 

    
December Events  

        
Date Event/Association Subject Matter Location 

Dec 2 CSTC  California Tax Update Anahiem 
Dec 2 Sac SB Office Small Business Update  Citrus Heights  
Dec 6 Regional Enterprise Zone Enterprise Zone  Imperial Valley  
Dec 7  Regional Enterprise Zone Enterprise Zone  National City  
Dec 14  California Society of CPAs California Tax Update TBD  

    
January Events  

        
Date Event/Association Subject Matter Location 

Jan 4  CPA California Tax Update  Woodland Hills 
Jan 4  San Fernando Valley Discussion Group California Tax Update  Van Nuys 
Jan 8  CSTC Inland Empire Chapter   California Tax Update  Claremont 
Jan 10  IRS  California Tax Update  Torrance 
Jan 10  California Society of CPAs California Tax Update  Pasadena 
Jan 11  IRS  California Tax Update  Irvine 
Jan12 IRS  California Tax Update  San Diego 
Jan13 IRS  California Tax Update  San Bernardino 
Jan14  IRS  California Tax Update  Burbank 
Jan 15  IRS  California Tax Update  Goleta 
Jan 26  Society of CA Accountants California Tax Update  Arcadia 
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Inside FTB 
 

Interested Parties Meeting 
 
We are holding an interested parties meeting to discuss the need for possible regulatory 
guidance relating to the LLC fee imposed under Revenue and Taxation Code section 
17942 to: 

 
 Address the application of the new assignment mechanism contained in 

17942(b)(1)(B).  

 Address rules for passive investments and occasional sales. 

 Provide examples to demonstrate the calculation required by the new section. 

 Discuss whether any proposed regulation should address the use of Schedule R 
as an instrument for determining the total income for fee purposes. 

 
When:  November 19, 2010, 10 a.m. 
Where: Franchise Tax Board 

Golden State Room A 
9646 Butterfield Way 
Sacramento, CA 95827 
(North lobby entrance) 

 
To attend this meeting, please RSVP by November 16, 2010, by contacting Colleen 
Berwick at (916) 845-3306 or email: Colleen.Berwick@ftb.ca.gov. Space is limited. 
 
To participate in this meeting by telephone, use this number to dial in: (877) 923-3149. 
The participant pass code is 2233420. 
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Criminal Corner 
 

Diamond Springs Couple Sentenced on State Income Tax Evasion  

 
Dora Lee Velasquez was sentenced on one felony count of state income tax evasion 
and given 90 days suspended jail time, ordered to complete 300 hours of community 
service, and placed on 5 years formal probation. Also, she was ordered to file the 2005 
through 2009 state income tax returns.  

In addition, Velasquez was ordered to pay restitution of $28,578 to us representing the 
investigation cost. The unpaid tax, penalties, and interest restitution will be determined 
at a later date.  

Emilio Rubalcaba, Jr. was sentenced on one misdemeanor count of state income tax 
evasion and given 60 days suspended jail time, three years court probation, and also 
ordered to file the 2005 through 2009 state income tax returns.  

According to court documents, Velasquez and Rubalcaba failed to file their 2001 – 2004 
state income tax returns and failed to report more than $547,000 in taxable income they 
earned from two painting companies the couple owned. Velasquez was sole owner of 
Eagle Painting Company, which she closed in 2003. Rubalcaba then opened his 
painting business, American Eagle Painting.  
 
We discovered the case through our internal collections process. 

El Dorado County Superior Court Judge Douglas C. Phimister handed down the 
sentence in Department 7 of the El Dorado County Superior Court. Deputy District 
Attorney Vicki Ashworth of the El Dorado County District Attorney’s Office prosecuted 
the case. 
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Big Business 
 
Suspension and Revivor 101 - Part 4 
 
Suspension or forfeiture, and contacts made by the entity in California will be voidable 
at that time. 
 
Relief Period  
 
Relief period is the period of time that taxpayers can request to have their contracts 
relieved of contract voidability. 
 
Relief Period - During Revivor 
 
During the revivor process, you can choose when the relief period begins. The relief 
period ends on the date of revivor. The relief period can start on either the: 
 

 Beginning of the tax year of suspension/forfeiture, or 
 Beginning of a tax year after the tax year of the suspension of forfeiture. 

 
Example: Harp, Inc., a calendar year filer, was suspended in 2006 and revived on June 
19, 2010. The corporation can choose to start the relief period from the beginning of any 
the 2006 through 2010 tax years. If the corporation chooses the 2008 tax year to start 
the relief period, the relief period would be January 1, 2008 to June 19, 2010. 
 
Relief Period – After Revivor 
 
After the revivor process, the relief period starts with the tax year the corporation or LLC 
was suspended. The relief period ends on the date of revivor.  
 
Example: Cello, Inc., a calendar year filer, was suspended in 2007. The LLC revived on 
April 1, 2009. The corporation did not request relief of contract voidability. On March 1, 
2010, the corporation requests relief of contract voidability. The corporation’s relief 
period is January 1, 2007 to March 1, 2010. 
 
Figuring the Contract Voidability Penalty 
 
The contract voidability penalty is $100 a day for the relief period. The penalty cannot 
exceed the tax due for the relief period. When a tax return is not due, the minimum 
franchise tax is considered the tax due for the period. 
 
Example: Flute, Inc., a calendar year filer, was suspended in 2006. The corporation 
revived on April 1, 2010. The corporation requests a relief period from January 1, 2008 
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to April 1, 2010. The corporation’s contract voidability penalty for each year of the relief 
period is: 
 

TAX YEAR RETURN TAX CONTRACT VOIDABILITY PENALTY 

2010 $800 $800 

2009 $20,000 $20,000 

2008 $10,000 $10,000 

Total Penalty $30,800 

 
Nonqualified Corporations OR LLCs with an FTB Assigned Number 
 
When a foreign corporation or LLC with an FTB assigned number fails to pay taxes, 
penalties, and interest, or fails to file a the return, we send them a File Notice Before 
Contract Voidability. If they do not comply within 60 days from the mail date, we send 
them Notice of Contracts Subject to Voidability, and contracts made by the entity in 
California will be voidable at that time. 
 
Relief Period – During and After Bringing the Entity into Compliance 
 
You can choose the beginning tax year of the relief period. The relief period ends on the 
date the taxpayer brings themselves into compliance. The relief period can start on 
either the: 
 

 Beginning of the tax year the contracts become voidable, or 
 Beginning of a tax year after the contracts became voidable. 

 
Figuring the Contract Voidability Penalty 
 
Example: On January 25, 2000, Drum, Inc. (a nonqualified corporation) receives Notice 
of Contracts Subject to Voidability and their contracts become voidable. Drum, Inc. is a 
calendar year filer. On December 14, 2009, the corporation files all its missing tax 
returns and pays all the outstanding amounts they owe. At that time the corporation did 
not request relief of contract voidability. On March 1, 2010, the corporation contacts us 
and asks for relief from contract voidability starting with the 2008 tax year.  
 
The corporation’s relief period is January 1, 2008 to December 14, 2009 (date of 
compliance). 
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The corporation’s contract voidability penalty for each year of the relief period is: 
 

TAX YEAR RETURN TAX CONTRACT VOIDABILITY PENALTY 

2009 $5,000 $5,000 

2008 $10,000 $10,000 

2000 to 
2007 

Did not request relief from contract voidability for these tax 
years. 

Total Penalty $15,000 

 
Foreign Corporations or LLCs not Qualified and not Filing Returns 
 
When a foreign corporation or LLC is not qualified to do business in California does not 
have an FTB assigned account number, and fails to file tax returns, any contract 
entered into within the state can be declared voidable during the applicable period. 
 
Applicable Period 
 
The applicable period begins on the later of: 
 

 January 1, 1991. 
 The first day of the tax year for which the corporation or LLC has failed to file a 

tax return or pay taxes. 
 
The applicable period ends on the earlier of the date the corporation or LLC: 
 

 Qualifies to do business with the Secretary of State 
 Obtains an account number from us 

 
Relief Period 
 
The relief period is the same as the applicable period. 
 
Voluntary Disclosure Program 
 
Corporations and LLCs that have fully complied with their voluntary disclosure 
agreements, will be considered to have applied for and been granted relief from contract 
voidability. Go to our website for additional information on the Voluntary Disclosure 
Program. 
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Interest 
 
Interest on the contract voidability is charged from the original notice date of the penalty 
assessment to the date paid. 
 
Penalty Waiver or Abatement 
 
The contract voidability penalty cannot be waived for reasonable cause. 
 
 




