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Heads-Up – Changes in Pass-through Entity Return Penalties 
 
Recently signed legislation, SB 401, changed the partnership late filing penalty1  and 
added a new late filing penalty for S corporation returns. 
 
We assess the late filing penalty if a partnership or LLC, treated as a partnership, files a 
late or incomplete return. The late filing penalty is currently $10 per partner, for each 
month or fraction of the month the return is late or incomplete, to a maximum of five 
months. Beginning with returns required to be filed after January 1, 2011, the penalty 
will increase to $18 per partner for a maximum of 12 months. 
 
Currently S corporations are subject to the delinquent penalty2. Beginning with returns 
required to be filed after January 1, 2011, we will assess the new late filing penalty3 in 
addition to the delinquent penalty. The new late filing penalty is $18 per shareholder, for 
each month or fraction of the month the return is late or incomplete, for a maximum of 
12 months.  
 
We can waive both late filing penalties for reasonable cause. 
 
 

 

How do I Report a Short Sale? 
 
In prior issues of Tax News we have addressed several issues related to foreclosures. 
In our February 2010 issue, we addressed how the State of California civil procedures 
interact with the Internal Revenue Code 108.   
 
Four questions repeatedly come up regarding the proper treatment of a 
foreclosure/short sale. These four questions are:  
 

 How do I report a foreclosure on property located in another state?  

 What do I do if the taxpayer moves into or out of California before or after a 
foreclosure? 

 How do I report cancellation of debt (COD) income if the creditor has not issued 
or refuses to issue a 1099C? 

 How do I report a short sale? 
 
The answers depend on each individual’s facts, but first you must determine what type 
of a loan you are dealing with; that is, are the loan(s) at issue recourse or non-recourse.  

                                                 
1
 R&TC Section 19172 

2
 R&TC Section 19131 

3
 R&TC Section 19172.5 

http://www.ftb.ca.gov/professionals/taxnews/2010/February/Article_8.shtml
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In some cases you may be dealing with a client that has both a recourse and a non-
recourse loan. 
  

Although California has rules/law governing what a creditor can do to recover “purchase 
money” loans, California’s rules are not binding in another state. The answer to the 
recourse or non-recourse question is based on the state’s laws in which the property 
is/was located. Like California, each state has its own set of rules concerning what a 
creditor/lender can do to collect a debt. If your client's property is located outside 
California and sold as a foreclosure, sale under the deed of trust or mortgage, or short 
sale4, you will need to review the creditor laws in that state to determine the proper 
classification of the loan(s) at issue. If the lender is able to pursue the borrower for 
payment of the remaining balance of the debt after the property is sold, the loan is 
recourse.  If the lender's only remedy is to repossess the property used as collateral, the 
loan is non-recourse. 

 

The type of loan also dictates how you report the deemed sale of the property.  

 

Forgiveness of a non-recourse loan resulting from either a foreclosure or a short sale 
will not generate cancellation of debt income (COD). However, you do still need to 
address the other tax consequences, like reporting the sale (deemed sale).  

 
The Form 1099A is issued when a borrower abandons secured property, or when a 
lender acquires property in full or partial satisfaction of a debt and the property was 
used as security for the debt. This is when you are treated as having a deemed sale. 

 

If the debt is nonrecourse and the debt is discharged in connection with the sale or 
other disposition of the property, the full amount of debt is treated as part of the amount 
realized and the transaction is treated as a capital gain or loss. See IRC 7701(g) and 
Reg. 1.1001-2.  

 

IRC section 7701(g) states the deemed sales price (FMV) cannot be less than the 
amount of any nonrecourse indebtedness to which such property is subject.  Meaning 
you must use the outstanding debt as your sales price for purposes of determining if 
you have a gain or a loss, even if the amount of the debt is more than the sales price 
(FMV) of the property (short sale).  

 

The 1099C is issued if the creditor abandons their right to collect a balance due (the 
deficiency) from the debtor of $600 or more, and there is an identifiable event.  

 

                                                 
4
 A short sale is a property sold for an amount short of the balance owed with the consent of the lender to 

avoid a foreclosure. 
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You do not have COD income until your debtor(s) cancels the debt (when the creditor(s) 
abandons their right to collect). IRC 61(a)(12) requires the inclusion of COD income; 
IRC regulation 1.61-12 states it is the discharge of indebtedness that results in the 
realization of income. Your creditors may not cancel the debt (this depends on what the 
state creditor laws allow) and may pursue collection of the full deficiency, in which case 
you would not have COD income to report. 
 

For a recourse loan, you report the difference in the property’s FMV and the outstanding 
balance as COD income in the year in which the lender forgives the deficiency. 
Generally, a 1099C is issued. You need to determine if one of the provisions in IRC 108 
applies, which allows the COD income to be excluded based on the laws in place in the 
year of the discharge.   

 

You report the deemed sale using the FMV as your sales price, and use your basis to 
determine if you have a gain or a loss.   

 

When you are dealing with a client that has changed their state of residency, the issue 
involves the determination of when you have taxable COD income and the sourcing of 
such income.  This may be a fact-intensive analysis, and the answer may change based 
on the specific set of facts.  
 
A California resident is taxed on all income, regardless of its source.  A part-year 
resident is taxed on all income for any part of the taxable year the taxpayer was a 
resident of this state; regardless of source, plus for any part of the taxable year the 
taxpayer was a nonresident, income derived from sources within this state. A 
nonresident is taxed if they have California sourced income. R&TC section 17951 
regulations provide guidance on nonresident's income from sources with this state. 
Regulation 17951-3 provides for the inclusion of gains realized from the sale or transfer 
of real or tangible property in this state. 
 
So, if the lender does not discharge the indebtedness until after the taxpayer has 
become a California resident, it would be taxable to California, regardless of where the 
property was located.  
 

California law currently allows taxpayers who had all or part of the loan balance on their 
principal residence forgiven by their lender to exclude the forgiven debt from California 
gross income. California law conforms, with modifications, to federal mortgage 
forgiveness debt relief for discharges that occurred in tax years 2007 through December 
31, 2012. The amount of qualifying indebtedness is less than the federal amount, and 
California imposes a state-only limitation on the total amount of relief excluded from 
gross income. For more information, go to our updated Mortgage Forgiveness Debt 
Relief webpage. 

 

http://www.ftb.ca.gov/aboutFTB/newsroom/Mortgage_Debt_Relief_Law.shtmlhttp:/www.ftb.ca.gov/aboutFTB/newsroom/Mortgage_Debt_Relief_Law.shtml
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/aboutFTB/newsroom/Mortgage_Debt_Relief_Law.shtmlhttp:/www.ftb.ca.gov/aboutFTB/newsroom/Mortgage_Debt_Relief_Law.shtml
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Additionally, the IRS has issued several informative articles and publications on 
foreclosures/short-sales available at irs.gov. 

 
 

 
 

Tax Relief to Baja California Quake Victims 
 

We offer taxpayers affected by the Baja California earthquake in the federally-declared 
disaster area special tax relief. 
 

The President declared a major disaster for Imperial County as a result of the April 4, 
2010 earthquake. The earthquake was widely felt in Southern California, particularly in 
Imperial County, where it caused serious structural damage. 
 

Special tax rules apply to disaster losses. Taxpayers can claim a disaster loss in the 
year before the disaster occurred by amending their 2009 tax return filed earlier this 
year. The advantage of claiming a disaster loss in the prior year is that we can quickly 
issue a refund. Or, the taxpayers can wait and claim a disaster loss on the 2010 tax 
return that they will file next spring. 
 

Taxpayers claiming the disaster loss should write “Baja California Earthquake 2010” in 
red ink at the top of the tax return to alert us to expedite the refund. If taxpayers are e-
filing, they should follow the software instructions to enter the disaster information. You 
can get our amended 2009 tax return or original 2009 tax return at ftb.ca.gov. 
 

If taxpayers affected by the earthquake need copies of state tax returns to replace lost 
or damaged ones, they should complete Form FTB 3516, Request for Copy of Tax 
Return. Print “Baja California Earthquake 2010” in red at the top of the request. Disaster 
victims receive free copies of tax returns. 
 

For more disaster loss information, go to ftb.ca.gov and search for FTB 1034, Disaster 
Loss or to irs.gov and search for IRS 547, Casualties, Disasters, and Thefts. 
 
 

 
 

Statutes of Limitations on Assessments  
 
This is the first in a series of four articles on Statutes of Limitation (SOL) that relate to 
California tax law. This month's article addresses common SOLs for assessments 
unrelated to federal action. Future articles will cover SOLs for refund or credit unrelated 
to federal action, SOLs for assessment and refund/credit following federal action, and 
miscellaneous SOLs for assessment and refund/credit. 
 
1. What is the general SOL for us to issue an assessment? Revenue and Taxation 
Code (R&TC) section 19057 authorizes us to issue a notice of a proposed assessment 

http://www.irs.gov/
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/forms/2009/09_540x.pdf
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/forms/2009/09_540.pdf
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/forms/03_forms/3516.pdf
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/forms/misc/1034.pdf
http://www.irs.gov/
http://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/p547.pdf
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within four years from the original due date of the return if the return is filed on or before 
the original due date. The postmarked date of the return is the date it is considered 
"filed." The four-year SOL for assessments starts to run from the date the return is filed 
if it is filed after the original due date. This is true whether the return is filed during the 
"automatic extension" period or after it ends. 
 

2. What is the SOL for assessments related to "abusive tax avoidance 
transactions?" R&TC section 19755 allows us to issue a notice of a proposed 
assessment relating to an "abusive tax avoidance transaction" (ATAT) within eight years 
after a return is filed. This eight year SOL applies to returns filed on or after January 1, 
2000. An ATAT is an arrangement whose principal purpose is tax avoidance. Listed 
transactions, as identified by the Internal Revenue Service in various Notices, are 
ATATs, as are all non-listed transactions with substantially similar attributes.  
 
3. What is the SOL for assessments related to omitted income? R&TC section 
19058 authorizes us to issue a notice of a proposed assessment six years from the date 
the return is filed, if the taxpayer omitted an income item greater than 25 percent of the 
gross income stated on the return, including all schedules and statements attached to 
the return. For example, the taxpayer's return states $30,000 gross income. We 
discover that the taxpayer omitted gambling income of $10,000. Since $10,000 is more 
than 25 percent of $30,000, we have six years from the date the return is filed to issue a 
notice proposing an assessment of tax, interest, and penalties based on this additional 
income. Note that if the return contains sufficient information so that we can tell the 
nature and amount of the income that is not included on the return, then we cannot use 
this SOL to issue a notice proposing an assessment. 
 
4. Do we ever have an unlimited SOL to issue an assessment? Yes! If a taxpayer 
does not file a return, we have no time limit to issue a notice of a proposed assessment. 
 
 

 

IRS Nationwide Tax Forums Registration Available!   
 
Join tax professionals from across the country for three days of the latest tax law 
information, hands-on workshops, networking opportunities, and exhibits of the 
latest tax products and financial services to improve your business. 

 
In 2010, the Nationwide Tax Forums sites include Atlanta, GA, Chicago, IL, Orlando, 
FL, New York, NY, Las Vegas, NV, and finally San Diego, CA.   
 

Take advantage of this great opportunity to receive CPE credits, learn from subject 
matter experts, and network with your peers. You can also take 
advantage of IRS electronic services, and obtain assistance on your most 
difficult tax case. More forum dates and information is available on our 
website. To register, go to the IRS Nationwide Tax Forum at irstaxforum.com.  

https://www.irstaxforum.com/
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Available Now: Free California Source Income Withholding 
Webinar in June 2010 
 
We will host a free California source income withholding webinar in June 2010. The 
topic is: 
 
Property Management Withholding 
We designed this webinar for property managers who must withhold on California 
source income payments to property owners. We’ll take a look at: 

 

 The basics of nonresident withholding, including backup withholding.  

 A summary of the three phases of withholding and what to do before payment 

(FTB Forms 588, 589, 590), at the time of payment, and after payment of 

California source income to nonresident property owners (FTB Forms 592, 592-

V, 592-B).  

 How we’re preparing for process changes that will occur when we implement our 

new, automated withholding system in late 2010. 

 Withholding resources and contact information you can use at any time.  

Date/Time: Thursday, June 10, 2010 at 1 p.m. (PDT) 
 
Duration: This webinar is approximately 25 minutes. 
 
Register here   
 
Registration only takes a few minutes. Space is limited. To reserve your space, select 
the link above or go to ftb.ca.gov and search for webinars. 
 
 

 

Small Business 
 

Does Your Client Know that the Estimated Tax Payment Percentages 
Changed for 2010? 
 
In 2009, the estimated payment percentages were 30 percent, 30 percent, 20 percent, 
and 20 percent for respective quarters. For taxable years beginning on or after January 
1, 2010, the estimated tax payment percentages have change for individuals and 
corporations. The third quarter estimated tax payment was eliminated by the revised 
percentages. The percentages for 2010 are now 30 percent, 40 percent, 0, and 30 
percent for the first, second, third, and fourth quarter installments. 

http://www.ftb.ca.gov/forms/misc/588.pdf
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/forms/misc/589.pdf
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/forms/2010/10_590.pdf
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/forms/2010/10_592.pdf
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/forms/2010/10_592v.pdf
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/forms/2010/10_592v.pdf
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/forms/2010/10_592b.pdf
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/individuals/wsc/California_Source_Income_Withholding_Webinars.shtml
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/
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The estimated tax is payable in four installments by individuals and corporations. For 
individuals who file their return on a fiscal year basis, the due dates for the installment 
payments are the 15th day of the fourth, sixth, and ninth month of their fiscal year and 
the first month of the following fiscal year. 
 
Generally, individuals must make estimated tax payments if they expect to owe at least 
$500 ($250 if married/RDP filing separately) in tax for 2010 (after subtracting 
withholding and credits), and they expect their withholding and credits to be less than 
the smaller of:  
 

 90 percent of the taxes shown on their 2010 tax return.  

 The tax shown on their 2009 tax return, including AMT.  

Corporations incorporated or qualified under the laws of California or doing business in 
California, whether active, inactive, or having income from sources within California, 
unless otherwise provided by the Corporation Tax Law, are required to make estimated 
tax payments. For corporations, the estimated tax payments are due and payable by the 
15th day of the fourth, sixth, ninth, and twelfth month of the taxable year for corporations. 
The amount of each installment is the applicable percentage of the total estimated tax 
due (estimated income multiplied by the appropriate tax rate). 
 
Corporations not required to make an estimated tax payment for the first quarter would 
be required to make estimated tax payments of 60 percent, 0, and 40 percent for the 
second, third, and fourth quarter installments, respectively. Corporations not required to 
make an estimated tax payment for the first and second quarter would be required to 
make estimated tax payments of 70 percent and 30 percent for third and fourth quarter 
installments, respectively.  
 
For more information on estimated tax payments for individuals, see the 2010 
Instructions for Form 540-ES, Estimated Tax for Individuals, and the 2010 Instructions 
for 100-ES Form, Corporation Estimated Tax, at ftb.ca.gov. 
 

http://www.ftb.ca.gov/
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Ask the Advocate 

What You Should Know About FTB 
Wage Garnishments  
 
An Earnings Withholding Order for Taxes (EWOT) is a 
continuing wage garnishment on earnings due to a 
taxpayer from an employer and is subject to the 
provisions of the Code of Civil Procedure Section 
706.010 et seg. Court action is not required, except 
when we desire to reach more than the established 25 
percent of disposable income (Code of Civil 
Procedure Section 706.076) or to levy on the earnings 
of a nonliable spouse. 
  
An EWOT creates a levy upon the earnings of the 
taxpayer in the amount of the taxpayer’s outstanding 
personal income tax liabilities. The term "earnings" 

means compensation payable by an employer to an employee for personal services 
performed by such employee, whether designated as wages, salary, commission, 
bonus, or otherwise. It does not include periodic payments pursuant to a pension or 
retirement program. 
  
The employer shall not withhold from any pay period that ends prior to the 10th day after 
receipt of the EWOT. However, if a pay period ends on the 10th or subsequent day after 
receipt, the earnings of that period are subject to withholding. Generally, the employer 
shall continue to withhold until the amount specified in the order is paid or we withdraw 
the order. The EWOT is a continuing levy on the taxpayer's earnings until the amount 
on the order is satisfied or the order is terminated. 
 
On liabilities for which we have a state tax lien and after compliance with relevant 
provisions of the R&TC, including the Taxpayer Bill of Rights, we issue an EWOT against 
a taxpayer when, for example, the taxpayer: 
  

 Has not responded to a demand for payment. 

 Has previously promised to pay and failed to do so. 

 Has a history of delinquency. 

 Does not make a full disclosure of their financial condition when required to do so. 

 Defaults on an installment agreement. 
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Priority of EWOTs 
 
The relative priorities of various orders used to levy wages are: 
  

1.)  An earnings assignment order for support. 
2.)  A withholding order for child or spousal support. 
3.)  An EWOT. The Code of Civil Procedure Section 706.077 states that only 

one EWOT for state taxes can be deducted at one time (regardless if the 
amount of the first EWOT is less than 25 percent).  As between an IRS 
garnishment and an EWOT, the first in time has priority. 

4.) An earnings withholding order for other nontax debt and civil judgments. 
 
 
When taxpayers are unable to pay the total amount of taxes owed, we urge them to enter 
into an installment agreement . In most cases this can prevent the issuance of an EWOT. 
 
Steve Sims, EA 
Taxpayers’ Rights Advocate 
 
Follow our FTB Advocate on Twitter at twitter.com/FTBAdvocate. 
 
 

 

 

Inside FTB 
 

Phone System Failure 
 
On April 14, one of our busiest days for our contact centers and for us in general, we 
experienced a card failure within our phone system. The card failure caused problems 
for callers to our contact centers for almost six hours, with some callers receiving dead 
air and others were disconnected. Typically on April 14 and 15, we will receive between 
25,000 and 30,000 calls each day.   
 
After many attempts to resolve the issue with no success, our vendor was aware that 
CalPERS had a spare card. At approximately 1:20 pm, a contact was made to CalPERS 
and they were happy to assist. The new card was delivered to our doorstep at 2:45 pm; 
installation began immediately, and within one hour all contact centers were up and 
running normally. 
 
We want to thank CalPERS for their assistance to us. As a result of their quick 
response, approximately 4,600 callers were able to get through and get the service they 
needed on April 14. In addition, there was no disruption of service in our contact centers 
on April 15. 
 

http://www.ftb.ca.gov/online/eia/index.asp
http://twitter.com/FTBAdvocate
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Criminal Corner 
 

Montebello Business Owners Arrested for State Income Tax Evasion 

A Montebello business woman and her estranged husband were arrested Friday 
morning, May 14, on a total of 11 felony counts for state income tax evasion. 

Miriam E. Avila, 49, and Raul Avila, 50, allegedly failed to report more than $1.3 
million of gross receipts from their realty business, Avcorp Realty & Management 
Group, during the years 2003 through 2006. In addition, Miriam E. Avila failed to 
report personal income of more than $654,000 during the years 2003 through 2005. 

Every year we contact individuals who may have a filing requirement, but have not 
filed a tax return. These individuals have 30 days to file their state tax return or 
show why one is not due. We contacted the Avilas numerous times to file the 
delinquent returns.  

The failure to report income is part of the $6.5 billion tax gap now facing California. 
The tax gap is defined as the difference between the tax that is due and the tax that 
is paid. You can report suspected tax fraud by calling us at 800.540.3453. 

Penalties, interest, and the cost of the investigation will be added to the unpaid 
taxes amount. Each tax count carries a maximum term of three years in  
state prison. 

Raul Avila was booked in the Men’s Central Jail in Los Angeles and Miriam E. Avila 
was booked in the Century Regional Detention Center in Lynwood.  

 

 

Big Business 
 

Estimated Fee for LLCs Due 
 
For most calendar year LLCs, June 15 is the date that their 2010 estimated LLC fee is 
due. For fiscal year LLCs, the estimated fee is due on the 15th day of the sixth month of 
the current taxable year. LLCs use Form 3536, Estimated Fee for LLCs, to make their 
estimated fee payments. 
 
The amount of the estimated fee is 100 percent of the current taxable year LLC fee. We 
will assess a penalty if the estimated fee is not paid or is underpaid by the estimated fee 
due date. The penalty is 10 percent of the underpaid fee amount. The underpaid fee 
amount is the difference between the current taxable year LLC fee, less the estimated 
fee paid. The LLC can avoid the penalty if their estimate is equal to or greater than their 
prior year’s LLC fee. Unlike the corporation estimated tax prior tax year exception, there 
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is no requirement that the prior tax year be a full 12 months. Also, there is no penalty for 
the LLC’s first year filing in California. However, we cannot waive the penalty for 
reasonable cause. 
 

 


