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Clarification of the “Cash for Clunkers” Tax Rules 
 
The federal “Cash for Clunkers” program has generated a lot of interest among consumers and 
we have received many inquires about the tax implications of this popular program.  As a result, 
we are clarifying state tax rules for people who trade in their used vehicle under the “Cash for 
Clunkers” program. 
 
The “Cash for Clunkers” program, Federal law, H.R. 2346, The Consumer Assistance to 
Recycle and Save Program, allows qualifying consumers to receive a $3,500 or $4,500 voucher 
from the federal government when they trade in qualifying old vehicles and purchase or lease a 
new one. This federal law provides the value of the voucher received by the consumer is not 
considered as gross income of the purchaser for purposes of the federal income tax. 
 
California law does not conform to H.R. 2346. For state income tax purposes trade-ins are 
treated as normal sales or exchanges, and in some cases the value of the voucher received 
may be subject to state tax. That is to say, the person subtracts his or her basis (generally the 
cost of the used vehicle) of the car traded-in from the amount realized (the applicable voucher 
amount, plus any other salvage value the dealer offers as part of the exchange) to determine 
whether a gain or loss was realized on the disposition of the used vehicle. For example, if the 
family car was originally purchased for $19,500 and traded in for a $4,500 discount under the 
“Cash for Clunkers” program, there is no taxable gain. The $15,000 difference is a personal loss 
under tax law and may not be deducted for tax purposes. However, if the family car was 
purchased for $3,000 and it was traded in for a $3,500 discount, the $500 difference needs to 
be reported as income for state tax purposes.   
 
Different tax rules apply for vehicles used in a person’s trade or business. For example, when a 
person trades in the old company truck for a new company truck, under the “Cash for Clunkers” 
program, the gain or loss could be postponed for tax purposes under the “like-kind  
exchange” rules. 
 
Any scrap value received by the consumer for the trade-ins is also used in computing the gain 
or loss from these sales or exchange transactions. 
 
We will provide instructions about how to report taxable gains for the “Cash for Clunkers” 
program in its tax return instructions when the 2009 tax forms are published later this year. 
Taxpayers and practitioners can check FTB’s website at ftb.ca.gov for tax forms and other 
helpful information.   
 

http://www.ftb.ca.gov/
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Did You Know NHSC Loan Repayment Awards Are Exempt Under 
California Law? 
  
National Health Services Corps (NHSC) loan repayment program provide payment of student 
loans for participants who provide certain services in areas where shortages of these  
services exist.  
 
Funded by $200 million in American Recovery and Reinvestment Act funds, the NHSC is 
accepting applications until funds are expended or September 30, 2010, whichever comes first. 
You may have a client that will qualify to exclude amounts they received to repay their student 
loans in exchange for two years serving in a NHSC approved service site.  
 
The "American Jobs Creation Act of 2004" (H.R. 4520, P.L. 108-357), enacted on October 22, 
exempts NHSC loan repayment awards from federal income taxes. California law (see R&TC 
Sections 17131 and 17024.5) also exempts NHSC loan repayment awards from California 
income taxes.  
 
 

 

Federal and State Income Tax Changes 
 

Federal 

Effective April 1, 2009, the federal withholding tables changed due to the American 
Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009. 

To get more information and verify you do not have too much or too little federal 
income tax withheld from your pay, use the IRS withholding calculator.  

State 

A new law (AB X3 3 Ch. 18 2009) raised state personal income tax rates and 
reduced the dependent exemption credit for the 2009 calendar year. 

The new state withholding tables factor in changes for the tax rate increase only, so 
taxpayers claiming dependent exemption credits may need to modify their state 
withholding. 

For more information and an example of the changes, see taxpayers should review 
their withholding to avoid tax bills next April. 

Revised 2009 withholding tables 

The EDD expects to release revised withholding tables for 2009 to reflect a 10 percent 
increase in early October 2009. ABX4 17 (Ch. 09-15), a budget trailer bill, inflates the 
withholding for all California wages paid on or after November 1, 2009, by adding an 
additional 10 percent to the amount currently being withheld.

http://www.irs.gov/individuals/article/0,,id=96196,00.html
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/aboutFTB/press/2009/Release_31.shtml
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/aboutFTB/press/2009/Release_31.shtml
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How to Select a Tax Preparer 

 
 

How to Select an Income Tax Return Preparer, FTB 982, is an educational 
tool for taxpayers. We, working in conjunction with the IRS, gathered these 
tips for taxpayers to consider when they are looking for a tax professional: 
 

 Avoid preparers who guarantee that they can obtain a larger refund 
than other preparers.  

 Determine who will prepare your return before contracting for service.  

 Select a preparer who will be available to assist you in the future.   
 
To learn more about how to select an income tax preparer, go to ftb.ca.gov, 
and search for FTB 982. The brochure is available in English and Spanish. 
 
 

 
 

 

Chiang Determines Date to Stop Issuing IOUs 

State Controller John Chiang today announced he has completed “stress testing” the 
Department of Finance’s cash projections from the state’s newly-revised budget and has 
determined the new spending plan will provide the State Treasury with enough cash to stop 
issuing IOUs on September 4, almost one month earlier than expected. 

As the state’s chief fiscal officer, the Controller is responsible for managing the state’s cash and 
sizing the amount of short-term borrowing that typically is needed to pave over cash shortages 
during months when there are less revenues than expenditures. Using the new state spending 
plan, the Controller applied additional revenue projections and cash pressures, such as potential 
litigation, to determine when the state will have sufficient funds to meet all of its payment 
obligations, including redeeming outstanding IOUs. 

The Controller has advised the Governor, Treasurer and legislative leaders that current 
projections show the state will need to borrow $10.5 billion to meet California’s cash needs for 
the fiscal year. 

Based on the State Treasurer’s assurance that he will be able to obtain an interim $1.5 billion 
loan on August 28, the Controller set September 4, as the date he could stop issuing IOUs and 
the Treasurer may begin redeeming those that have already been issued. 

At the Controller’s request, the Pooled Money Investment Board (PMIB) scheduled an 
emergency meeting on August 21. At that meeting, the Controller asked the board to approve a 
redemption date of September 4, which is almost one month earlier than the October 2 maturity 
date printed on the IOUs. 

http://www.ftb.ca.gov/
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“While we can finally put an end to this difficult and, frankly, shameful chapter in the state’s 
history, it does not bring an end to our fiscal challenges,” Chiang said. “I urge the Governor 
and Legislature to continue their efforts to fix the state’s structural budget deficit and ensure 
we are never again forced to issue IOUs or delay payments to California families and  
small businesses.” 

Faced with a cash deficit of $2.8 billion in July, the Controller was forced to issue IOUs to 
preserve cash for education, debt service, and other payments protected by the 
Constitution, federal law, and court orders. Since July 2, the state has issued 327,000 IOUs 
totaling $1.95 billion. 

For more information about the IOUs, go to the California State Controller’s Office  
Press Releases. 
 
 

 

Small Business 

Does Your Client Know to Dissolve, Surrender, or Cancel 
Their Business Entity When They Are No Longer Doing 
Business? 

It is very important for taxpayers to understand that business entities registered with the 
California Secretary of State (SOS) must be dissolved, surrendered, or canceled when 
they are ceasing operations in California.  

Domestic corporations (those that originally incorporated in California) may 
legally dissolve.  

Foreign corporations (those that originally incorporated outside California) may 
legally surrender.  

Limited liability companies and partnerships (both domestic and foreign) may 
legally cancel.  

Until a taxpayer formally terminates the legal existence of the entity, the entity continues 
to exist. The entity’s tax filing and annual tax due requirements also continue. Often, a 
taxpayer does not formally terminate the entity with SOS even though it stops doing 
business, and stops fulfilling its tax filing requirements. Not filing timely tax returns or 
paying the annual tax usually leads to an entity being suspended. Penalties, fees, and 
interest will accrue until the entity is formally terminated.  

http://www.sco.ca.gov/eo_pressrel_6080.html
http://www.sco.ca.gov/eo_pressrel_6080.html
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Steps to dissolve, surrender, or cancel a business entity  

 File any delinquent tax returns.  

 File the final/current year tax return. On this tax return's first page, write FINAL at the 
top of the page and check the box labeled "Final Return."  

o Exception for a nonprofit tax-exempt church or tax-exempt corporation - 
It need not file a final return if its 3-year gross receipts average is not more 
than $25,000. But it must file a final return if its average exceeds $25,000, it's a 
private foundation, or it has non-member or unrelated business income.  

 Pay all tax balances, including any penalties, fees, and interest.  

 File the appropriate dissolution, surrender, or cancellation form(s) with the SOS within 
12 months of filing your business' final tax return. To get the correct forms, visit 
sos.ca.gov, or call the SOS at 916.657.5448.  

o Suspended or forfeited business - You must revive your business before you 
file dissolution, surrender, or cancellation forms with the SOS.  

o Public benefit, religious, and mutual benefit corporations holding 
charitable assets - You must obtain a dissolution waiver from the Office of the 
Attorney General before filing dissolution forms with the SOS. For more 
information, visit www.ag.ca.gov/charities, or call the Office of the Attorney 
General at 916.445.2021.  

Dissolving, withdrawing, or canceling a business' legal status does not nullify its legal tax 
requirements or outstanding liabilities. The entity or its transferees remain liable for the 
business' tax debts. See personal responsibility for more information. 

For more information see FTB Pub. 1038 Guide to Dissolve, Surrender, or Cancel a 
Business Entity. 

http://www.sos.ca.gov/
http://www.ag.ca.gov/charities/
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/businesses/personal_responsiblity.shtml
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/forms/misc/1038.pdf
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/forms/misc/1038.pdf
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Ask the Advocate 
 

 Reasonable Cause 
 
Recently, I have received requests from taxpayers to have certain 
penalties waived for what they believe is reasonable cause. The 
important thing to remember is that these requests are considered 
based on the individual facts and circumstances surrounding each 
case. Taxpayers most often request waivers of penalties based 
upon reasonable cause for the following penalties:  
 

 Late payment of tax.  

 Failure to file a return.  

 Accuracy related penalty.  

 Failure to furnish information. 

 File after notice of demand. 

 
In order to establish reasonable cause for the late payment of tax, the taxpayer must show that 
his failure to pay the proper amount of tax by the original due date occurred despite the exercise 
of ordinary business care and prudence. (Appeal of Roger W. Sleight (83-SBE-244)  
October 26, 1983.)   
 
In a recent decision, the Board determined  that a taxpayer did not show reasonable cause in a 
case where the taxpayer paid his tax late because of a dispute he had with his partnership over 
the amount of income reported on a Schedule K-1. The Board ruled the taxpayer had not 
explained with adequate precision the nature and extent of the steps that he allegedly took to 
gather the information he considered necessary to confirm the correctness of the income 
reported on the K-1. The Board also reasoned that the taxpayer failed to obtain by independent 
inquiry the information he needed from the partnership to calculate accurately the tax that he 
owed before the due date of his return. As a result, the Board concluded that the taxpayer failed 
to exercise ordinary business care and prudence when he paid his tax after the due date. 
 
In order to establish reasonable cause for failing to file a return on or before the due date, the 
taxpayer must show that his failure was due to reasonable cause and not due to willful neglect. 
To establish reasonable case, the taxpayer “must show that the failure to file a timely return 
occurred despite the exercise of ordinary business care and prudence, or that cause existed as 
would prompt an ordinary intelligent and prudent businessman to have so acted under similar 
circumstances.” (Appeal of Howard G and Mary Tons (79-SBE-027)   
January 9, 1979.) The burden is on taxpayers to prove that reasonable cause exists to support 
abatement of the penalty for filing a late tax return.  

We may impose the accuracy related penalty (ARP) on any portion of an underpayment of tax 
that should be shown on the return. (Revenue &Taxation Code Section (R&TC) Section 19164) 
The penalty is equal to 20 percent (or 40 percent for amnesty eligible year) of the underpayment 
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of tax. R&TC Section 19164 imposes a 20 percent ARP on any portion of an underpayment 
attributable to one or more of the following: 

 Negligence or disregard of rules or regulations.   
 Substantial understatement of income tax.   
 Substantial valuation misstatement.   
 Substantial overstatement of pension liabilities.   

A 40 percent penalty may be assessed for gross valuation misstatements. 

The reasonable cause and good faith defense applies to negligence or disregard of rules or 
regulations, substantial understatement of income tax, substantial valuation misstatement, and 
gross valuation misstatement. However, under certain circumstances the defense does not 
apply to an underpayment attributable to a substantial or gross valuation understatement 
regarding charitable deduction property. 

Internal Revenue Code (IRC) Section 6664 (c) (1) provides that no penalty under IRC Section 
6662 will be imposed if the taxpayer can show that there was reasonable cause and that the 
taxpayer acted in good faith with respect to the underpayment. Treasury Regulation Section 
1.6664-4 provides guidance on what constitutes reasonable cause and good faith and whether 
those standards are met for purposes of eliminating the ARP. The determination of reasonable 
cause is made on a case-by-case basis, taking into account all facts and circumstances. 

Failure to furnish information or file after notice and demand penalty can only be abated by 
showing reasonable cause and not willful neglect. To establish reasonable cause, a taxpayer 
must show that the failure to reply to the notice and demand or request for information occurred 
despite the exercise of ordinary business care and prudence such that an ordinarily intelligent 
and prudent businessperson would have acted similarly under the circumstances.  
 
 
 

Examplesi 

Reasonable Cause Not Reasonable Cause 

Credible and competent proof of illness or 
other personal difficulty completely 
prevented taxpayer from complying. 

Ignorance of the law. 

Reliance on agent to respond on taxpayer’s 
behalf. 

Relied on tax professional with competency 
in the subject of tax law, and tax 
professional’s advice is based on 
taxpayer’s full disclosure of relevant facts 
and documents. 

Lost, lacking, inaccurate, or difficult to obtain 
information. 

Complexity of tax law. 

Pressures of business affairs or work. 

Proof that the notice and demand/request 
for information was not mailed to taxpayer’s 
last known address. 

Claim taxpayer did not receive notice. 

 
 
This is intended to be a broad overview for purpose of general discussion and is not a complete 
analysis of how reasonable cause is determined or denied for the penalties listed. 
 

http://auditnet/issues/penalty/ReqDiscussion.htm# Negligence
http://auditnet/issues/penalty/ReqDiscussion.htm#Disregard
http://auditnet/issues/penalty/ReqDiscussion.htm#Understatement
http://auditnet/issues/penalty/ReqDiscussion.htm#Substantial
http://auditnet/issues/penalty/ReqDiscussion.htm#Gross
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For more information, go to ftb.ca.gov and search for reasonable cause. 
 
Steve Sims, EA 
FTB Advocate 
 

 
 

 

Inside FTB 

New Policy for FTB Installment Agreements  

 
We have implemented a uniform Installment Agreement (IA) Policy throughout our 
department, and external website. In September 2005, we initiated a pilot program 
to expand the dollar criteria and time to $25,000/60 months. In December 2006, 
the pilot program became permanent.  In September 2009, our website and the 
Electronic Installment Agreement (eIA) system will reflect the current criteria.  
 
Applicants may qualify for an IA if they: 
 

 Owe a balance of $25,000 or less. 

 Agree to pay in full within 60 months or less. 

 Have filed all required personal income tax returns. 
 

Note: Financial hardship must exist. Approval will be based on ability to pay and compliance 
history. A lien may be filed, and/or a financial statement requested as a condition for approval. 
Misrepresentation of financial condition may result in a renegotiation or cancellation of an 
approved IA. 
 

 
 

    

Criminal Corner 
 

Fake CPA, Partner Arrested for Bogus Investment Scheme 

The owner of a Glendale tax preparation business and his colleague were arrested on 
multiple felony charges including elder financial abuse, grand theft, state income tax 
evasion, and state income tax fraud related to their roles in a bogus securities 
investment scheme, we announced on August 5, 2009. 

Donald R. Ford, of Glendale, and Gregory A. Edwards, of Culver City, were remanded 
into custody after their arraignment Friday. Ford allegedly persuaded clients, whose 
trust he had gained from his tax preparation business, to invest in a phony investment 
scheme. Ford, who posed as a certified public accountant and Edwards allegedly, 
scammed investors by promising them high rates of return on investments. Instead, 
Ford and Edwards used the money for their own financial gain. 

http://www.ftb.ca.gov/


Tax News                      September 2009 

10 

Ford earned more than $1.3 million in income from the unlawful scheme and Edwards 
earned more than $961,000 for his role in the scam. Ford allegedly failed to report this 
income on his 2002 and 2006 state income tax returns and owes the state more than 
$231,000 in unpaid tax, penalties, and interest. Edwards allegedly failed to report his 
income on his 2006 state income tax return and owes the state more than $81,000 in 
unpaid tax. All income is taxable including income from illegal sources. 

Ford and Edwards were both booked into the Los Angeles County Jail and are still in 
custody. Their bail is set at $100,000 each. Their next court appearance has not  
been set. 

The filing of false tax returns and the failure to file tax returns is part of the annual $6.5 
billion tax gap facing California. The tax gap is defined as the difference between taxes 
that are owed and what is paid. 

CPAs are licensed by the state. The public can check on the status of a CPA with the 
California Board of Accountancy at cba.ca.gov or by calling 916.263.3680. The IRS and 
FTB have recently issued a brochure, FTB Publication 982, How to Select an Income Tax 
Return Preparer where taxpayers can learn more about choosing a tax professional. 

This is a joint investigation between Department of Justice (DOJ) and us. DOJ Deputy 
Attorney General Edward Skelly is prosecuting this case. 

 

 

                                                 
i The determination of reasonable cause is made on a case-by-case basis, taking into 
account all pertinent facts and circumstances. Nothing herein constitutes tax or legal advice. 

http://www.cba.ca.gov/
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/forms/misc/982.pdf
http://www.ftb.ca.gov/forms/misc/982.pdf

