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Improper Information Return Reporting Leads to Penalties and 
Loss of Deductions 
 
Studies indicate that taxpayer compliance is highest when there is third party information 
reporting, such as the filing of Forms W-2 and 1099. As a result, we, in cooperation with the 
Employment Development Department (EDD), will devote greater resources to verify that your 
clients' business expense deductions for wages and compensation paid to employees and 
independent contractors are supported by Forms W-2 and 1099.1 

 We may disallow deductions 
for unsupported wages and compensation, and either EDD or we may impose 9.3 percent 
penalties.2,3 We may also impose a $50 penalty for each failure to file or furnish correct and 
timely Forms W-2 and 1099.4 EDD has a corresponding $50 penalty for non-compliance with 
Form W-2 requirements.5 Finally, if the unsupported amounts result in a substantial 
understatement of income tax, your client could be subject to our 20 percent accuracy-related 
penalty.6   
 
The failure to correctly and timely report wages and compensation contributes to the tax gap, 
which is the difference between what taxpayers owe and what they voluntarily pay. Our efforts 
to address the tax gap will help to ensure that business expense deductions are properly 
supported and that all income received by employees and independent contractors is properly 
reported.   
 
By helping your clients to comply with these reporting requirements, you further assist our 
efforts to close the tax gap and level the playing field among all taxpayers.   
 
For more information, go to ftb.ca.gov and search information returns or FTB Pub 4227A, 
Guide to Information Returns Filed With California.  
 
 
 

 

 

 

 

                                                 
1 California Revenue & Taxation Code (R&TC) Section 18631, Internal Revenue Code (IRC) Sections 6041 and 6041A, and 
California Unemployment Insurance Code (CUIC) Section 13050. 

 
2 R&TC Sections 17299.8 and 24447.  
 
3 R&TC Sections 19175 and 17041 and CUIC Section 13052.5. 
 
4 R&TC Section 19183 and IRC Sections 6721 and 6722.   
 
5 CUIC Section 13052. 
 
6 R&TC Section 19164 and IRC Section 6662. 
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Common Errors Found on California Combined Returns 
 
We are seeing an up tick in errors on these returns. Beginning with taxable year 2007, we 
added two new questions to Side 1 of the California Form 100 and 100W: 
 
Question B-3: Is there a change in the members listed in Schedule R-7 from the prior year? 
 
Question B-4: Enter the number of members (including parent or key corporation) listed in the 
Schedule R-7, Part I, subject to income or franchise tax. 
 
During the 2007 filing season, we received many returns that did not respond to the above 
questions or provided the wrong information. For example, if an entity has not been assessed 
the franchise tax or the income tax as reported on Section A, Part I of the Schedule R-7, that 
entity should not be considered in the response to Question B-4. 
 
Another area where common errors occur is on the Schedule R-7. Boxes A, B, and C of Section 
A, Part I are not being checked. Boxes A and B on the Schedule R-7 should be checked based 
on the following: 
   

• If the electing member is incorporated, organized, qualified, or registered with the 
California Secretary of State to do business here, this member has a California filing 
requirement since they are subject to the franchise tax. This electing member would 
check Box A. 

 
• If the electing member has any property, payroll, or sales in California, this member has a 

California filing requirement since they are doing business here and are subject to the 
franchise tax. This electing member would check Box B. 

 
• If the electing member derives income from sources within California, but is not doing 

business here, this member has a California filing requirement since they have California 
source income and are subject to the income tax. This electing member would also check 
Box B. 

 
In addition, assigned California corporation numbers are not being provided. 
 
Quite often, tax preparers and taxpayers list information in Section A, Part I of the Schedule R-7 
with information from the federal consolidated return. A common error is that entities that are not 
California taxpayers are identified as such. Section A, Part I of the Schedule R-7 should only 
include entities that are required to file a return in California. If an entity does not have a 
California return filing requirement, the entity should be identified in Part 2 of the Schedule R-7.   
 
Another area of concern involves the key corporation. Disclosing the key corporation’s California 
corporation number is critical when identifying affiliates on the Schedule R-7. 
 
The key corporation must file the single group return for all of the California taxpayers of the 
combined reporting group.  Preferably, the parent corporation of the California taxpayers should 
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be designated as the key corporation, but only if it is qualified or incorporated in California, or if it 
is doing business in California, or if it has California source income. If the parent corporation is 
not taxable in California, the key corporation should be the taxpayer with the largest property 
factor numerator in California. All payments (including electronic fund transfers) must indicate 
the key corporation’s California corporate number. 
 
A properly completed California Schedule R-7 eliminates processing delays and reduces 
erroneous assessments. For more help, please consult FTB Pub 1061, Guidelines for 
Corporations Filing a Combined Report. 
 
 
Fewer Notices – Less Time   
FTB Revises Billing Process 

  
As part of our ongoing effort to improve our collection program, we are streamlining the 
delinquent billing process. Effective July 1, 2009, the Past Due Notice and the Delinquent Notice 
will be eliminated, reducing the billing process by 90 days, giving taxpayers 105 days to resolve 
their tax liabilities. Eliminating these unnecessary notices brings us in line with the IRS’ billing 
process, which gives taxpayers 90 days. The change will affect one in ten delinquent taxpayers.   
  
We encourage taxpayers to pay what they owe as quickly as possible to avoid additional 
penalties, interest, and involuntary collection actions. Taxpayers who cannot pay their tax 
liabilities immediately can visit ftb.ca.gov and search payment options for more information 
including installment agreement requests or call the phone number listed on their notice.  
 
We anticipate this change to accelerate our collection of revenue, increasing revenue by  
$7 million in the 2009-2010 fiscal year. The change also reduces our costs by $223,000. 
 
 
 

Get Estimated Tax Payment Email Reminders 
Tell your clients about our new estimated tax payment email reminder service and they will 
never forget an estimated tax payment due date. Subscribers will receive an email reminder to 
make their estimated tax payment approximately two weeks before each quarterly due date.  
Go to ftb.ca.gov and search for MyFTB Account. 

In addition, we value our taxpayers’ feedback, so we added a survey feature upon logging out of 
MyFTB Account. Encourage your clients to give us their comments on new ways to improve 
MyFTB Account in the future. 
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Estimated Tax Payments with ABX3 3 Law Change 

(Updated: April 9, 2009) 

A taxpayer must make estimated tax payments if they expect to owe at least $500 ($250 if 
married/RDP filing separately) in tax for the 2009 tax year and they expect their withholding and 
credits to be less than 90 percent of the tax shown on their 2009 tax return or the tax shown on 
their 2008 tax return including alternative minimum tax. 

If your client is required to make estimated tax payments, they are required to make installments 
of 30 percent of the required estimated tax liability for the first and second quarters and  
20 percent of the required estimated tax liability for the third and fourth quarters. Before 2009, 
payments were made in four equal installments. 

Increase to PIT tax rate and reduced dependent exemption credit 

A taxpayer should also consider the effects of another recent law change7 when figuring 
estimated tax payments. The new law calls for an increase in each of the 2009 tax rates by an 
additional 0.25 percent and a reduction (-$210) to dependent exemptions, adjusted for inflation. 
These changes will result in an increased tax liability. However, an under payment of estimated 
tax as a direct result of these changes to the tax rate and dependent exemption credit will not 
result in an underpayment penalty.  

Married Filing Jointly with Two Dependents Example 

Without the new tax rates/dependent 
exemption credit 

With the new tax rates/dependent exemption 
credit 

    
Taxable Income $100,000 Taxable Income $100,000
    
Tax *$4,689 Tax *$4,689
  
 Taxable Income $100,000 
 Increase in tax rate X 0.0025
 Increase Tax $250
  
 Tax *$4,689
 Increase Tax $250
 Total $4,939
  
Exemptions Amount (816) Exemptions Amount (396)
  
Total Tax $3,873 Total Tax $4,543
 
*Based on the 2008 tax table. 
                                                 
7 ABx3 3; Stats 2009, Ch. 18 
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Check Refund Status 
Good news! The state is issuing tax refunds again. Our online service helps your clients know 
when they can expect to receive their refund. It also provides information about any offsets that 
may have reduced their refund amount. All that is needed is your client’s social security number, 
mailing address, and refund amount. 
Go to ftb.ca.gov and search for refund status. 
 
 

Paying Electronically Saves Time 
We all know that going paperless saves time, hassle, and trees. Paying electronically 
means your client doesn’t have to spend time writing and mailing a check. It also ensures 
that their payment is quickly applied to their account. We encourage them to use one of the 
many options we offer for electronic payments.  

But which is right for them? We have provided you a brief summary of the options below. 
We also created an e-pay toolkit that contains posters, pamphlets, and other resources you 
can use to help your clients understand these options. Using the toolkit is another way to 
show your clients your commitment to making their lives easier. Go to ftb.ca.gov and search 
for e-pay toolkit. 

Electronic Funds Withdrawal (EFW): Use this option to pay electronically when e-filing. 
Your client can pay when they e-file their balance due return, and not worry about having to 
remember to mail a check. They can choose the amount they want to pay, as well as the 
date they want the funds to be transferred from either their checking or savings account. 
Your clients can even schedule electronic withdrawal for their next year’s estimated tax 
payments when they e-file. Check your software provider’s instructions for the availability of 
this option.  

Web Pay: Your clients can request a debit to their account online, at any time, to pay any 
FTB liability, including: 

• A balance due on their current-year tax return.  
• Extension payments (Form FTB 3519).  
• Estimated tax payments (Form 540-ES). 
• Prior-year amounts.  
• Any bill.  

Similar to EFW, your clients choose the amount to pay and the date the funds should be 
transferred from their checking or savings accounts. 

To use Web Pay, all your clients need to enter are their social security number and last 
name. 
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Credit Card: Your clients can use their credit cards to pay any bill when they make a 
payment through Official Payments Corporation. Official Payments Corporation charges a 
convenience fee of 2.5 percent (minimum $1).  

Installment Payments: If your clients are unable to pay their balances in full, encourage 
them to apply for an installment agreement online. Generally, your clients qualify if they: 

• Owe a balance of $10,000 or less.  
• Agree to pay their balance in 36 months or less.  
• Have filed all personal income tax returns.  

Online installment agreements are available for balances of $10,000 or less. We also accept 
installment agreement applications for balances up to $25,000, and for payment periods up 
to 60 months. However, taxpayers who owe balances between $10,000 and $25,000 should 
call 800.689.4776, to discuss setting up an installment agreement. 

 
 
 

Small Business 

Do You Need to File a Claim for Refund? 
 
If you filed your 2004 LLC tax return (Form 568) and paid a fee you may need to file a claim for 
refund for 2004. The time to request a refund is running out.  
 
Before the enactment of Assembly Bill 198 (Stats. 2007, Ch. 381, effective on  
October 10, 2007, and operative for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2007), LLCs 
paid an annual fee based on the LLC's total income from all sources reportable to this state.    
 
The constitutionality of the LLC fee under former California Revenue and Taxation Code Section 
17942 has been challenged in three separate court cases: 
 

Northwest Energetic Services, LLC v. Franchise Tax Board – The LLC in this case 
registered with the Secretary of State but did no business in California. The Court of 
Appeal held that assessing an LLC fee on an entity that had no income attributable to 
activities in California was unconstitutional and the fee should be refunded. This case is 
now final with respect to the constitutional issue. 
 
Ventas Finance I, LLC v. Franchise Tax Board, Court of Appeal, First Appellate 
District, A116277, A117751 - The LLC in this case had income attributable to activities 
within and without California. A decision was issued but is not final. 
 
Bakersfield Mall, LLC v. Franchise Tax Board, San Francisco Superior Court  
CGC-07-462728 - The LLC in this case alleges it conducted all of its activities in 
California. The case is ongoing. 
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If you filed an LLC tax return (form 568) and paid a fee based on worldwide total income, 
regardless of where that income was sourced, you may want to file a claim for refund. If you 
want to file a claim for refund, there is a time limit to request a refund known as the statute of 
limitations.8 Generally, you can file a refund claim four years from the due date of the return or 
one year from the date of overpayment which ever occurs later. For most LLCs, the statute of 
limitations to request a refund of any or all of their 2004 fee will expire on April 15, 2009. 
 
If an LLC wants to file a refund claim based on recent court cases, the representative or LLC 
should fax a letter at 916.845.9796 with the following information: 
  

• The LLC name and identification number issued by the Secretary of State. Unregistered 
LLCs use the identification number issued by the FTB. 

• This is a claim for refund. 
• The tax years involved.  
• A description of the issue (stating that the LLC fee is unconstitutional is enough).  
• The amount of the claim, which should match the amount of the annual fee that the LLC 

paid.  
• Name of person to contact, phone number, and fax number.  

 

The letter must be signed by a representative with a valid power of attorney or signed by the 
LLC's managing member.  
 
We will provide a confirmation of the faxed refund claim receipt. The refund claim will be held 
pending result of the court's final decision on this issue. FTB cannot email information since the 
letter will contain confidential information. 
 
Although we prefer a fax, you can send claims for refund for this issue by sending a letter or an 
amended return to the following address:  
 
Franchise Tax Board  
PO Box 942867  
Sacramento CA 94267-8888 
 
Because the decision in Northwest with respect to the LLC fee is final, we are processing refund 
claims for LLCs that have the same facts as were involved in the Northwest case, i.e., an LLC 
that conducted no activities in California. Both the Ventas and Bakersfield cases are still 
pending and action on claims for LLCs that have the same facts as were involved in either of 
these cases will be held pending the final court decision. 

For more information, go to our website and search for FTB Notice 2008-2. 

New Jobs Tax Credit 

A New Jobs Tax Credit is now available for employers beginning on or after January 1, 2009. 
The credit, which will be claimed on the 2009 tax return, is $3000 for each additional full-time 

                                                 
8 California Revenue and Taxation Code Sections 19306, 19308, 19311, 19312, and 19313. 
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employee for small businesses with 20 or less employees. This credit will not be subject to the 
50 percent limitation for business credits. 
   
The total amount of the credit available to taxpayers will be capped at $400 million. We will 
determine when the cap has been reached and will set a cut-off date for claiming the credit.  
The credit must be claimed on a timely filed original return received by us before the cut-off 
date. This cut-off date is defined as the last day of the calendar quarter within which we estimate 
the $400 million limit will be reached. The cut-off date has not yet been determined.  
 
Taxpayers claiming the credit after the cut-off date will be notified that the credit is denied. If the 
credit is denied because the cap has been reached, taxpayers will not be subject to the 
underpayment of estimated tax penalty or underpayment of tax penalty to the extent that the 
underpayment was created or increased by the disallowance of the credit. 
 
An employer will qualify for the credit if: 
 

• Each qualified full-time hourly employee is paid wages for not less than an 
average of 35 hours per week. 

• Each qualified full-time employee that is a salaried employee was paid 
compensation during the year for full-time employment within the meaning of 
Section 515 of the Labor Code. 

• On the last day of the preceding taxable year, they employed a total of 20 or fewer 
employees. 

• There is a net increase in qualified full-time employees compared to the number of 
full-time employees employed in the preceding taxable year. For taxpayers who 
first commence doing business in California during the taxable year, the number of 
qualified full-time employees employed in the preceding year would generally be 
zero, unless certain special rules apply. 

An employer may not claim the credit for those employees who are any of the following: 
 

• Certified as a qualified employee in an enterprise zone or targeted tax area. 

• Certified as a qualified disadvantaged individual in a manufacturing enhancement 
area or a targeted tax area. 

• Certified as a qualified disadvantaged individual or qualified displaced employee in 
a local agency military base recovery area. 

• An employee whose wages are included in calculating any other credit allowed. 

 
A new credit form is currently being developed and will be available by December 2009. For 
more information about this credit, go to ftb.ca.gov and search for new jobs tax credit. 
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Ask the Advocate 

 
In March, we implemented our new Systemic Issue Management 
System. This system allows us to collect taxpayer issues and track the 
research and resolution.  

Robert, a CPA from LA, reported the following issue: Why are several 
of his clients with multiple W-2s being denied refunds of their excess 
State Disability Insurance (SDI) contributions? 

Our staff looks at each W-2 to verify SDI withheld for each employer. 
This occurs whether the return was e-filed or filed on paper. For paper 
returns, sometimes there is a problem because the SDI amount is not 
clearly identified as SDI on each W-2. Instead, there is only a dollar 
amount present in box 14 of the W-2. To help alleviate this problem w

trained our staff to look at the amounts appearing in box 14, regardless of the presence of an 
identifying abbreviation. Amounts present with no designator are compared to the current 
percentage equal to the SDI rate. If those amounts match, we verify the wages were claimed on 
the return and then allow the excess SDI.  

e 

For e-filed returns, because the physical W-2 is not attached, we must rely on the preparers 
input for each wage and tax statement (W-2) to verify SDI amounts. Tax preparers should look 
for the efile software prompt that asks the preparer to enter SDI information in Disability Plan 
Literal (Field 363) and to specify a designator. The designator identifies it as SDI or VPDI, 
etc., and places it on the wage and tax statement with the appropriate abbreviation. The e-filed 
W-2 is set up the same as paper with box 14 utilized for SDI, employees are trained to verify 
any amount entered in the field for SDI. With the presence of the designator, employees can 
more easily identify the amounts as SDI. 

That being said, it looks as though both FTB and tax return preparers can work together to 
reduce or hopefully eliminate this problem (ok reduce). Thank you Robert for Asking the 
Advocate. 

If you have a systemic issue or just want to check out the system, go to ftb.ca.gov and search 
for systemic issues. We will research the issue and take the appropriate actions. 
 
Steve Sims, EA 
Taxpayers’ Rights Advocate 
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Inside FTB 

• FTB Begins Annual Nonfiler Program 

If you notice an increase in new clients who need to file overdue tax returns, it may be 
because we began contacting more than 900,000 individuals who earned California 
income, but failed to file state income tax returns last year. 

Each year, we receive more than 350 million income records from third parties such as 
the IRS, banks, employers, state departments, and other sources. We match this 
information against the records of tax returns filed. Last year, we collected more than 
$550 million in revenue through these efforts. 

This effort is nothing new – since the 1950s, FTB has contacted individuals who may 
have a filing requirement, but have not filed a tax return. These individuals will have  
30 days to file their state tax return or show why one is not due. When a required return is 
not filed, FTB issues a tax assessment using income records to estimate the amount of 
state tax due. The assessment will include interest, fees, and penalties. 

• The Package X customer service phone number, 916.845.7070, discontinues on   
April 16, 2009. 

 
    
Criminal Corner 
 

Former Vice President of Finance Pleads Guilty to Grand Theft,  
False State Income Tax Returns  

A Chatsworth man pleaded guilty to one felony count of grand theft and one felony count 
of filing a false state income tax return. 

James I. Ha, 35, was employed as the vice president of finance for a local marketing 
company. According to court documents, Ha abused his position of trust by embezzling 
more than $350,000 from 2001 – 2004. In addition, Ha also failed to claim this money on 
his state income tax returns for the same years. All income is taxable including income 
from illegal sources. Ha used the embezzled funds for personal expenses. 

Sentencing is delayed until April 2010, to give Ha time to pay restitution to his former 
employer and pay FTB more than $45,000 representing the unpaid tax, penalties, 
interest, and the cost of the investigation. Ha faces up to three years in state prison and 
five years of formal probation. 

Failing to report all income is part of the $6.5 billion tax gap California faces each year. 
The tax gap is defined as the difference between the tax that is owed and the tax that is 
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paid. Since January, FTB has cooperated with local district attorneys around the state on 
six successful prosecutions. 

Los Angeles County Superior Court Judge Marcelita V. Haynes presided over the case 
and Los Angeles County Deputy District Attorney Reid Rose prosecuted the case. This 
was a joint investigation between the Los Angeles County Police Department, the Los 
Angeles County District Attorney’s Office, and us. 

Restitution Ordered in Identity Theft, Online Auction House Scam  

A Brentwood man was ordered to pay more than $187,000 restitution to the State of 
California after previously pleading guilty to state income tax evasion. 

Charles Merritt-Osborne is currently serving an eight-year prison term after pleading 
guilty in June 2008. Merritt- Osborne was the alleged ringleader of a scheme where 
stolen identities were used to create fraudulent companies, which then obtained credit to 
purchase goods for resale on eBay. The scam netted more than $2 million. 

Two felony counts of state income tax evasion were among the charges to which Merritt-
Osborne pleaded guilty. An exact amount of restitution was not determined at sentencing, 
so the hearing ordered full restitution in the amount of $187,191 which represents the 
unpaid tax, penalties, interest, and the cost of the investigation. All income is taxable 
including income from illegal sources. The failure to file tax returns is part of the  
$6.5 billion tax gap California faces each year. The tax gap is defined as the difference 
between the tax that is owed and the tax that is paid. 

Santa Clara Superior Court Judge David A. Cena ordered the restitution in Department 
31 of the Hall of Justice. Assistant Attorney General Ralph Savilla with the Office of the 
Attorney General prosecuted the case. The fraud was discovered by the state’s high tech 
crime task force. 

 
 
Big Business 

 

Large Corporate Understatement Penalty Frequently Asked Questions 

In December 2008, we constructed a set of frequently asked questions (FAQs) to further explain 
the large corporate understatement penalty. The new penalty9 applies to corporations for 
taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2003, where the corporation has an 
understatement of tax in excess of $1 million. The penalty is 20 percent of the entire amount of 
the understatement. The understatement is measured by the difference between the tax 
reported on the original return or on an amended return, filed on or before the extended due 
date, and the correct tax liability. 

                                                 
9 California Revenue and Taxation Code section 19138(b). 
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For the purpose of this penalty for taxable years 2003-2007, a taxpayer can file an amended 
return and pay the tax shown on the amended return by May 31, 2009, to treat the tax shown on 
this amended return as tax shown on the original return. This will increase the self-assessed tax 
base against which the understatement is measured to reduce the likelihood of receiving this 
penalty. 

Recently, we drafted an additional set of FAQs for the large corporate understatement penalty 
addressing procedures on the following subjects:  

1. Filing of amended returns for pre-2008 taxable years.  
2. Payment of amount shown on such amended returns.  
3. Method to alleviate burden of filing such amended returns in the following situations:  

o Pending proposed assessments.  
o Disputed proposed assessments.  
o Final proposed assessments. 

We held an Interested Parties Meeting on March 23, 2009 collecting your comments and 
recommendations regarding these purposed FAQs. This second draft of FAQs is designed to 
answer questions relating to the implementation and administration of the cure provision of this 
penalty. Stay tuned for the results.  
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