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Do I Have to File? 
Steps to Determine Filing Requirement (If you are a nonresident or part-year resident of California and received California-
sourced income in 2005, follow the instructions below. For more details see page 11 in the 540NR Non-Resident Booklet.) 
Step 1:  Read down the first column to find your filing status at the end of 2005.  Read across to find your age at the end of 
2005, and number of dependents you are entitled to claim for 2005.
Step 2:  Is your gross income (see footnote 1 below) more than the amount shown in the Gross Income chart below for 
your filing status, age, and number of dependents?  If yes, you have a filing requirement.  If no, go to Step 3.
Step 3:  Is your adjusted gross income (see footnote 2 below) more than the amount shown in the Adjusted Gross Income 
chart below for your filing status, age, and number of dependents?  If yes, you have a filing requirement. If no, you do not 
have a filing requirement.
Note:  Active duty military personnel, get FTB Pub. 1032, Tax Information for Military Personnel.

Even if you do not have a filing requirement based on the chart below, you should file a return in order to get a 
refund if California state income tax was withheld from your pay, if you made California estimated tax payments, 
or you have earned income and qualify for the child care credit (get FTB Form 3506). Try e-file! It’s fast, easy and 
convenient and there are several free options. Visit our Website at www.ftb.ca.gov for details.

1 Gross income is computed under California law and consists of all income you received from all sources in the form of money, goods, property, and 
services, that is not exempt from tax.  Gross income computed under California law does not include any adjustments or deductions.

2 Adjusted gross income is computed under California law and consists of your federal adjusted gross income from all sources, reduced or 
increased by all California income adjustments.

3 Get FTB Pub. 1540, Tax Information for Head of Household Filing Status. See “Where to Get Income Tax Forms and Publications” on page 65.
4 The income of both spouses must be combined; both spouses may be required to file a return even if only one spouse had income over the amounts 

listed.
5  Use the California Standard Deduction Worksheet for Dependents on page 20 to figure your standard deduction.
6  If your 65th birthday is on January 1, 2006, you are considered to be age 65 on December 31, 2005.

Requirements for Children with Investment Income
California law is the same as federal law for the income of children under age 14.  For each child under age 14 who 
received more than $1,600 of investment income in 2005, get and complete Long Form 540NR and form FTB 3800, Tax 
Computation for Children Under Age 14 with Investment Income, to figure the tax on a separate return.
Note:  If you qualify, you may elect to report your child’s income of $8,000 or less (but not less than $800) on your return 
by completing form FTB 3803, Parents’ Election to Report Child’s Interest and Dividends.  To make this election, your 
child’s income must be only from interest and/or dividends. See “Where To Get Income Tax Forms and Publications” on 
page 65 or go to our Website at www.ftb.ca.gov.

Other Situations When You Must File
If you owe any of the following taxes for 2005, you must file a California tax return.
• Tax on a lump-sum distribution;
• Tax on a qualified retirement plan including an Individual Retirement Arrangement (IRA);
• Tax for children under age 14 who have investment income greater than $1,600 (see paragraph above);
• Alternative minimum tax;
• Recapture taxes;
• Deferred tax on certain installment obligations; or
• Tax on an accumulation distribution from a trust.

On 12/31/05,
my filing status was:

Single or
Head of household3

Married filing jointly
Married filing separately4

Qualifying widow(er)

Dependent of another person 
Any filing status 

and on 12/31/05,
my age was6:

Under 65

65 or older

Under 65 (both spouses)

65 or older (one spouse)

65 or older (both spouses)

Under 65

65 or older

Any age

 Gross Income1 Adjusted Gross Income2

 Dependents Dependents

 
0 1

 2 
0 1

 2
   or more   or more

 13,085  22,152 28,952 10,468 19,535 26,335

 17,435  24,235  29,675 14,818 21,618 27,058

 26,170 35,237 42,037 20,935 30,002 36,802

 30,520  37,320  42,760 25,285 32,085 37,525

 34,870  41,670 47,110 29,635 36,435 41,875

  22,152 28,952  19,535 26,335

  24,235 29,675  21,618   27,058

  

 More than your standard deduction5

✓Tip




