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What’s New and Other Important Information for 2005
Amnesty
Recently enacted law provides clarification and relief for
taxpayers who participated in the 2005 California state Amnesty
program.  For more information visit our Website at
www.ftb.ca.gov and search for Amnesty.
New California Form Sch W-2
For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2005, you
can use the CA Sch W-2 to report certain W-2 information. You
should attach CA Sch W-2 to side 2 of your income tax return.
You can keep your W-2's for your own records. This is an
optional form, as you can still attach your W-2's to the front of
your return if you choose not to complete the CA Sch W-2.
Prior Name Line
There is a new line on Form 540 2EZ for taxpayers who may
have filed their 2004 income tax returns under a different last
name. If you had a different last name, please write the last
name only from your 2004 tax return on this new line.
New Voluntary Contribution Funds
You may make voluntary contributions to the following funds:
• Veterans' Quality of Life Fund
• California Sexual Violence Victim Services Fund
• California Colorectal Cancer Prevention Fund
Mandatory e-file
California law requires individual income tax returns prepared by
certain tax practitioners to be e-filed. This law saves money and
resources for the state. If you have a tax practitioner prepare
your return, they may be required to e-file it.  You have the right
to choose not to e-file, however, we encourage you to take
advantage of everything e-file has to offer.
Estimated Tax Payment Penalty
You may not be subject to estimate tax payments if your Califor-
nia withholding is enough during each payment period to total
either 90% of your current tax year liability or 100% of your prior
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year tax liability, OR you paid enough through withholding to
keep the amount you owe with your return under $200 ($100 if
married filing separately). However, if you did not pay enough
through withholding, you may have an underpayment penalty.
Get form FTB 5805, Underpayment of Estimated Tax by Individu-
als and Fiduciaries, for more information.
Note: If you owe an underpayment penalty, you cannot use
Form 540 2EZ. You must use CalFile, e-file, Form 540A, or
Form 540.
Head of Household Filing Status
Beginning in 2005, for a child to qualify as your foster child for
head of household purposes, the child must either be placed
with you by an authorized placement agency or by order of a
court.
If you are unmarried, your unmarried child no longer qualifies
you for head of household filing status if he or she is 19 years
of age or older, is not a student, and has gross income equal to
or greater than the federal exemption amount ($3,200 in 2005).
In addition, if you are unmarried, your unmarried child also no
longer qualifies you for the status if he or she is under 19 years
of age, or a student under 24, and pays more than half of his or
her own support.


