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Instructions for Form FTB 3506
Child and Dependent Care Expenses Credit

What's New
Beginning with taxable year 2005, the following changes were made:
• California conformed to the federal definition of a qualifying child.
• The requirement to pay over half the cost of keeping up the home for you

and your qualifying person(s) has been eliminated.
• If you are a member of the armed forces and have earned military

compensation for active services, your military compensation is
considered as sourced in California regardless of the state of domicile
and may be used in computing this credit.

General Information
You must attach the completed form FTB 3506 to your return if you claim
the child and dependent care expenses credit.

A Purpose
If you paid someone in California to care for your child or other qualifying
person so you (and your spouse, if married) could work or look for work in
2005, you may be able to claim the credit for child and dependent care
expenses. However, you must have earned income to do so. If you qualify to
claim the credit, use form FTB 3506 to figure the amount of your credit.
If you received dependent care benefits for 2005 but do not qualify to claim
the credit, you are not required to complete form FTB 3506. For additional
definitions, requirements, and instructions, get federal Form 2441.

B Differences in California and Federal Law
The differences between California and federal law are as follows:
• California allows this credit only for care provided in California.
• If you were a nonresident, you must have earned wages from working in

California or earned self-employment income from California business
activities.

• Federal adjusted gross income must be $100,000 or less to qualify for
the California credit.

• The California credit is a percentage of the federal credit as modified by
California law.

• The California credit is refundable.

C Qualifications
You may take the credit if all eight of the following apply.
1. If you are married, you must file a joint return.  For an exception, see

Section E, Married Persons Filing Separate Returns, on page 70.
2. Care must be provided in California for one or more qualifying persons.

See Section D, Qualifying Person Defined, on this page.
3. You paid for care so you (and your spouse, if married) could work or

look for work. However, if you did not find a job and have no earned
income, you do not qualify for the credit. If your spouse was a student or
disabled, see the instructions for Part III, line 5, on page 71.

4. You (and your spouse, if married) must have earned income (wages or
self-employment income) during the year. See the instructions for
Part III, line 4, on page 71 for more information on earned income.

5. You and the qualifying person(s) live in the same home for more than
half the year.

6. The person who provided care was not your spouse or a person for
whom you can claim a dependent exemption. Generally, the person who
provided the care cannot be a parent of the individual for whom care was
provided. If your child provided the care, the child must have been
age 19 or older by the end of 2005.

7. You report the required information about the care provider(s) in Part II,
line 1, and the information about the qualifying person(s) in Part III,
line 2.

8. Your federal adjusted gross income is $100,000 or less.

D Qualifying Person Defined
Rules for Most People

A qualifying person is:
1. A child under age 13 who meets the requirements to be your dependent

as a Qualifying Child. An individual who turned 13 during the year
qualifies only for the part of the year when he or she was 12 years old.

2. Your spouse who was physically or mentally incapable of self-care.
3. Any person who was physically or mentally incapable of self-care whom

you can claim as a dependent (or could claim as a dependent except that
the person had gross income of $3,200 or more or filed a joint return).

4.  Any disabled person not able to care for himself or herself whom you
could claim as a dependent except that you (or your spouse if filing a
joint return), could be claimed as a dependent on someone else's 2005
return.

Qualifying Child
A Qualifying Child is a person who meets all of the following tests:
• Relationship Test - The person must be your birth child, stepchild,

adopted child, eligible foster child, brother, sister, half-brother, half-sister,
stepbrother, stepsister or a descendant of one of these.  An adopted child
includes a child who has been lawfully placed with you for legal adoption
even if the adoption is not yet final.  An eligible foster child must be place
with you by an authorized placement agency or by a court.

• Age Test - The person must be under 19 years of age or a full-time
student under 24. (For the purposes of qualifying for the Child and
Dependent Care Expenses Credit, the child must be under 13.)

• Residency Test - The person must live with you for more than half the
year.

• Support Test - The person must not have provided more than half of his
or her own support.

• Joint Return Test - The person must not have filed a joint federal income
tax return with his or her spouse.

• Citizenship Test - The person must be a citizen or national of the U.S. or
a resident of the U.S., Canada, or Mexico.

Qualifying Child of More Than One Person -- Tie-Breaker Rules
If… Then the child will be treated as the qualifying

child of the…
Only one of the Parent
persons is the
child's parent
Both persons Parent with whom the child lived with for the longer period
are the child's of time. If the child lived with each parent for the same
parent amount of time then the child will be treated as the

qualifying child of the parent with the highest adjusted
gross income.

None of the Person with the highest adjusted gross income.
persons are the
child’s parent.

Divorced, Separated, or Never Married Parents
For divorced or separated parents, there are special rules for determining if
your child is your qualifying person. A child can only be the qualifying
person of one parent when the parents are filing separate returns. Even if
both parents pay for child care for the same child, both parents cannot
qualify for the credit. Some custody agreements designate which parent is
entitled to the credit. However, the designated parent must still meet all the
qualifications in Section C, Qualifications, to claim the credit. Use the table
on the next page to see if your child is your qualifying person.
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Part II
Line 1
Complete line 1a through line 1g for each person or organization that
provided the care in California.  Only care provided in California qualifies for
the credit. You can use federal Form W-10, Dependent Care Provider’s
Identification and Certification, or any other source listed in the instructions
for Form W-10 to get the information from your care provider. If your
provider does not give you the information, complete as much of the
information as possible and explain that your provider did not give you the
information you requested.
If you do not give correct and complete information, we may disallow your
credit unless you can show you used due diligence in trying to get the
required information.

Lines 1a through Line 1c
Enter your California care provider's complete name (or business name),
address, and telephone number (including the area code).  We may contact
your care provider to verify the information you provide.
If you were covered by your employer's dependent care plan and your
employer furnished the care (either at your workplace or by hiring a care
provider), enter your employer's name on line 1a. Next, enter “See W-2” on
line 1b.  Complete line 1c through line 1f. Then leave line 1g blank.  But, if
your employer paid a third party (not hired by your employer) on your behalf
to provide care, you must provide information on the third party on line 1a
through line 1g.

Line 1d
For each care provider, check one box indicating whether the care provider is
a person or organization.

Line 1e
If your care provider is Then enter on line 1e
An individual The provider's social security number
Not an individual The provider's federal employer identification

number (FEIN)

A tax-exempt organization “Tax-exempt”

Line 1f
Enter the complete address where the care was provided. Only care provided
in California qualifies for the credit.

Line 1g
Enter the total amount you actually paid in 2005 to your care provider for
care provided in California.  Also include amounts your employer paid to a
third party on your behalf.  It does not matter when the expenses were
incurred.  Do not reduce this amount by any reimbursement you received.

Part III
Line 2
Complete column (a) through column (e) for each qualifying person for
whom care was provided in California. If you have more than three qualifying
persons, attach a sheet of paper to your return with the required information
and write “see attached.” Be sure to put your name and social security
number on the sheet.

Column (a)
Enter each qualifying person’s name.

Column (b)

Enter each qualifying person's social security number.  Be sure that the
name and social security number match the qualifying person's social
security card.  Otherwise, we may reduce or disallow your credit.  If the
person was born in, and later died in, 2005, and does not have a social
security number, enter “Deceased” in column (b) and attach a copy of the
person's birth and death certificates.

RULES FOR DIVORCED, SEPARATED, OR NEVER MARRIED PARENTS
IF AND THEN

ALL four of the following apply:
1. Your child was under 13 You were the custodial The child is your

and/or physically or parent and you can claim qualifying person.
mentally incapable of the dependent exemption
self-care when the care was credit for the child.
provided. Children turning 13
during the year qualify only for
the part of the year they were You were the custodial The child is your
12 years old. parent and the noncustodial qualifying person.

2. One of the following applies parent claimed the dependent
a. You are divorced or exemption credit under the

legally separated provisions of a decree of
from the other parent divorce, legal separation, or a

b. You are separated under a written separation agreement
written separation agreement

c. You and the other parent
lived apart at all times You are not the The child is not
during the last 6 months custodial parent. your qualifying
of the year.  (This includes person.
parents never married to each
 other.)

3. One or both parents had
custody of the child for
more than half the year.

4. One or both parents
provided more than
half the child’s support
for the year.

One or more of the four Use the “Rules for
statements above do not apply. Most People” on

page 69.

You are the custodial parent if you had physical custody of your child longer
than the other parent during the calendar year.  On days where custody is
shared, the parent having custody of the child for more than 12 hours is
considered to have custody for that day.

E Married Persons Filing Separate Returns
Generally, if you are married, you must file a joint return to claim the credit.
However, you can take the credit on your separate return if:
1. You meet all three requirements below:

• You lived apart from your spouse at all times during the last six
months of 2005.

• The qualifying person(s) lived in your home more than half of 2005.
• You provided over half the cost of keeping up your home.

2. You meet all the other qualifications in Section C, Qualifications.

F Nonresidents and Part-Year Residents
1. You must complete and attach Schedule CA (540NR), California

Adjustments - Nonresidents or Part-Year Residents, to your tax return,
Long Form 540NR.  If Part I of Schedule CA (540NR) is not fully
completed, we may disallow your credit.

2. Nonresidents must have earned income from California sources to
qualify for the credit.  Beginning with tax year 2005, a nonresident
servicemember's military wages are considered earned income from a
California source for the purpose of qualifying for the credit.

3. Part-year residents must have earned income while a California resident
or earned income from California sources while a nonresident to qualify
for the credit.

Specific Line Instructions
Part I
Unearned Income and Other Funds
List the source and amount of any money you received in 2005 that is not
included in your earned income (line 4 and line 5) but that was used to
support your household.  Include child support, property settlements, public
assistance benefits, court awards, inheritances, insurance proceeds,
pensions and annuities, social security payments, workers’ compensation,
unemployment compensation, interest, or dividends.
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Enter the social security numbers of the first two qualifying persons on
Form 540, line 42 and line 43; Form 540A, line 28 and line 29; or Long
Form 540NR, line 51 and line 52.

Column (c)
Enter the qualifying person's date of birth in the space provided or if the
qualifying person is disabled (physically or mentally incapable of self-care),
check the “Yes” box.

Column (d)
If you shared custody of the qualifying person(s), enter the percentage of
time you had physical custody during 2005.

Column (e)
Enter the qualified expenses you incurred and paid in 2005 for the qualifying
person. Include only the qualified expenses for care provided in California. If
the child turned 13 years old during the year, include only the qualified
expenses for the part of the year the child was under 13.
Do not include in column (e) qualified expenses:
• You incurred in 2005 but did not pay until 2006. You may be able to use

these expenses to increase your 2006 credit.
• You incurred in 2004 but did not pay until 2005. Instead, see instructions

for line 11.
• You prepaid in 2005 for care to be provided in 2006. These expenses

may only be used to figure your 2006 credit.
Note: A qualified expense does not include the amount you paid for
education (school tuition) or the amount you received through a subsidy
program.

Line 4

Line 5
Spouse Who Was a Student or Disabled
Your spouse was a student if he or she was enrolled as a full-time
student at a school during any 5 months of 2005. A school does not
include a night school or correspondence school.

Your spouse was disabled if he or she was not capable of self-care.
Figure your spouse’s earned income on a monthly basis.
For each month your spouse was a full-time student or disabled, enter
on line 5 the larger of
• Your spouse's actual earned income for that month, or
• $250 ($500, if you have 2 or more qualifying persons).
If, in the same month, both you and your spouse were either full-time
students or disabled, only one of you can be treated as having earned
income of $250 (or $500) in that month.  For any month that your
spouse was not a full-time student or disabled, use your spouse's
actual earned income for that month.

Line 7
Use the chart on this page to determine the decimal amount to enter on
line 7. Your federal adjusted gross income (AGI) is on Form 540A,
line 12b; Form 540, line 13; or Long Form 540NR, line 13.

If your Federal AGI is: The decimal amount
Over But not over on Line 7 is:

$0 $15,000  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .35
15,000 17,000  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .34
17,000 19,000  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .33
19,000 21,000  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .32
21,000 23,000  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .31
23,000 25,000  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .30
25,000 27,000  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .29
27,000 29,000  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .28
29,000 31,000  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .27
31,000 33,000  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .26
33,000 35,000  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .25
35,000 37,000  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .24
37,000 39,000  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .23
39,000 41,000  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .22
41,000 43,000  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .21
43,000 No limit  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .20

Line 9
Use the chart below to determine the decimal amount to enter on line 9.
If your federal AGI from Form 540A, The decimal amount  to
line 12b; Form 540, line 13; enter on Line 9 is:
or Long Form 540NR, line 13 is:

$40,000 or less  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .50
Over $40,000 but not over $70,000  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .43
Over $70,000 but not over $100,000  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .34
Over $100,000 . . . . . . . . . . . Stop. You do not qualify for this credit.

Line 11
If you had qualified expenses for care that was provided in 2004 that you
paid for in 2005, you may be able to increase your credit for 2005.
Complete the worksheet on Side 2 of form FTB 3506.  You will need a copy
of your 2004 California return to complete the worksheet.

Part IV
Line 13
Dependent care benefits are:
• Amounts an employer paid directly to you (or your spouse, if married),

or to your care provider for the care of your qualifying person(s), while
you worked.

• A day-care facility provided by your employer.
• Generally deducted from your salary.
• Shown in box 10 of your 2005 Form(s) W-2.

Line 14
If you had a flexible spending account, any amount included on line 13 that
you did not receive because you did not incur the expense is considered
forfeited.  Do not include amounts you expect to receive at a future date.

Earned income Includes: Earned income does not include:
• Wages, salary, tips, and other

taxable employee compensation, as
well as, military compensation
including compensation for service
in a combat zone

• Net earnings from self-employment
• Strike benefits
• Disability payments you report as

wages
• Active duty pay received by

members of the armed forces is
considered earned income
regardless of whether the member is
domiciled in this state or elsewhere

• Pensions or annuities
• Social security payments
• Workers’ compensation
• Interest
• Dividends
• Capital gains
• Unemployment compensation
• Public assistance
• Homeowner and Renter Assistance

• Wages, salary, tips, and other
taxable employee compensation, for
working in California, as well as,
military compensation including
compensation for service in a
combat zone

• Net earnings from self-employment
from California business activities

• Strike benefits related to California
employment

• Disability payments you report as
California wages

• Active duty pay received by
members of the armed forces is
considered earned income
regardless of whether the member is
domiciled in this state or elsewhere

• Pensions or annuities
• Social security payments
• Workers’ compensation
• Interest
• Dividends
• Capital gains
• Unemployment compensation
• Public assistance
• Homeowner and Renter Assistance

Nonresidents and Part-Year
Residents Only: Earned income
from California sources includes: Earned income does not include:
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Line 16
Enter the total of all qualified expenses incurred in 2005.  It does not matter
when the expenses were paid.
Note: A qualified expense does not include the amount you paid for
education (school tuition) or the amount you received through a subsidy
program.
Example: You received $2,000 cash under your employer's dependent care
plan for 2005. The $2,000 is shown in box 10 of your Form W-2. You
incurred $900 of qualified expenses in 2005 for the care of your 5-year-old
dependent child.  You would enter $900 on line 16, but would report the
entire $2,000 on line 13.
For all other lines, follow specific line instructions on the form.  For
additional information, get federal Form 2441 or Pub. 503, Child and
Dependent Care Expenses.

Worksheet
Line 12 and line 14
You will need to get the 2004 form FTB 3506 instructions to complete the
Credit for 2004 Expenses Paid in 2005 Worksheet.  You can get forms from
our Website at www.ftb.ca.gov or by calling (800) 338-0505.

Line 12
Enter the decimal amount from the chart in the line 7 instructions of the
2004 form FTB 3506 that corresponds to your 2004 federal adjusted gross
income.

Line 14
Enter the decimal amount from the chart in the line 9 instructions of the
2004 form FTB 3506 that corresponds to your 2004 California adjusted
gross income.




