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What’s New and Other Important Information for 2004

Amnesty – Recent legislation authorizes the Franchise Tax Board 
and the Board of Equalization to administer a Tax Amnesty Program. 
Tax amnesty is a limited time chance for individuals and businesses 
to pay past-due income, franchise, sales, or use taxes and the 
related interest penalty-free without the fear of criminal prosecution. 
Amnesty runs from February 1, 2005, through March 31, 2005. 
Taxpayers eligible to participate in amnesty but choose not to do so 
will be subject to additional penalties. 
Amnesty is open to both individuals and businesses for taxable 
years 2002 and prior, if they did any of the following: 
•	 Did not file required California tax returns. 
•	 Underreported income on a previously filed tax return. 
•	 Claimed excessive deductions. 
• Did not pay income, franchise, sales or use taxes on time. 
The following taxpayers or transactions are not eligible for amnesty: 
•	 Taxpayers currently under criminal investigation or prosecution 

on tax-related matters. 
•	 Abusive tax shelter transactions that were eligible for relief 

under California's Voluntary Compliance Initiative or the 2003 
IRS Offshore Voluntary Compliance Initiative. These initiatives 
applied to taxpayers with nonreported or underreported tax 
liability amounts attributable to an investment in an abusive tax 
shelter. Note: These taxpayers are eligible for amnesty for non-
abusive tax shelters items. 

For more details, visit our Website at www.ftb.ca.gov or call 
(800) 852-5711. 

Tax Shelters – If you were involved in a potentially abusive tax shelter, 
you may have a disclosure, registration, and list maintenance require­
ment. The Franchise Tax Board may impose several new and enhanced 
penalties if you fail to file federal Forms 8886, 8264, 8271, or any 
required information. For more information, see Registration and 
Reporting Requirements under Abusive Tax Shelters on our Website at 
www.ftb.ca.gov. 
New Form 540 2EZ income limitations – For taxable years beginning on 
or after January 1, 2004, you may be able to file Form 540 2EZ if you are 
single or head of household and your total income for the taxable year is 
$100,000 or less, or if you are married filing jointly or qualifying 

widow(er) and your total income for the taxable year is $200,000 or less. 
Total income is defined as wages, interest, dividends, and pension 
income. However, if income adjustments are required due to differences 
between California and Federal law, you may not use this form. Get Form 
540, CalFile, or e-file instead. 
Paid Family Leave Benefits – If you received paid family leave benefits 
in 2004, they are not taxable by California. For additional information, get 
Schedule CA (540) and instructions - California Adjustments, and FTB 
Pub. 1001 - Supplemental Guidelines to California Adjustments. 
Mandatory e-file – California law requires individual income tax returns 
prepared by certain tax practitioners to be e-filed. This law saves money 
and resources for the state. If you have a tax practitioner prepare your 
return, they may be required to e-file it. You have the right to choose not 
to e-file, however, we encourage you take advantage of everything e-file 
has to offer. 
New Voluntary Contribution Funds – You may make voluntary 
contributions to the California Military Family Relief Fund and/or the 
California Prostate Cancer Research Fund. 
TeleFile Discontinued – TeleFile is no longer available to file California 
tax returns. We discontinued TeleFile due to decreasing usage and to 
help save California resources. If you qualified for TeleFile, you also 
qualify to use our free e-file option: CalFile. Like TeleFile, CalFile is fast, 
direct, and easy to use. Go to www.ftb.ca.gov to use CalFile or other 
free options available online including California e-file options and the 
Federal Free File Alliance. 
Estimated Tax Payment Penalty – You may not be subject to estimate 
tax payments if your California withholding is enough during each 
payment period to total either 90% of your current tax year liability or 
100% of your prior year tax liability, OR you paid enough through 
withholding to keep the amount you owe with your return under $200 
($100 if married filing separately). However, if you did not pay enough 
through withholding, you may have an underpayment penalty. Get form 
FTB 5805, Underpayment of Estimated Tax by Individuals and Fiducia­
ries, for more information. 

Note: If you owe an underpayment penalty, you cannot use 
Form 540 2EZ. You must use CalFile, e-file, Form 540A, or Form 540. 
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