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Do I Have to File?
Steps to Determine Filing Requirement
Step 1:  Is your gross income (see footnote 1 below) more than the amount shown in the California Gross Income chart
below for your filing status, age, and number of dependents? If yes, you have a filing requirement. If no, go to Step 2.
Step 2:  Is your adjusted gross income  (see footnote 2 below) more than the amount shown in the California Adjusted
Gross Income chart below for your filing status, age, and number of dependents?  If yes, you have a filing requirement.  If
no, you do not have a filing requirement.

Even if you do not have a filing requirement based on the chart below, you should file a return to get a refund if
California state income tax was withheld from your pay, if you made California estimated tax payments or, if you
had real estate withholding. Try e-file! It’s fast, easy and convenient, and there are several free options. Go to
www.ftb.ca.gov for the details.

1 California gross income is all income you received from all sources in the form of money, goods, property, and services that are not exempt from
tax.  Gross income does not include any adjustments or deductions.

2 California adjusted gross income is your federal adjusted gross income from all sources reduced or increased by all California income adjustments.
3 See page 9.
4 The income of both spouses must be combined; both spouses may be required to file a return even if only one spouse had income over the amounts

listed.
5 Use the California Standard Deduction Worksheet for Dependents on page 11 or page 17 to figure your standard deduction.
6 If your 65th birthday is on January 1, 2005, you are considered to be age 65 on December 31, 2004.

Requirements for Children With Investment Income
California law is the same as federal law for the income of children under age 14.  For each child under age 14 who re-
ceived more than $1,600 of investment income in 2004, complete Form 540 and form FTB 3800, Tax Computation for
Children Under Age 14 with Investment Income, to figure the tax on a separate Form 540 for your child.
Note:  If you qualify, you may elect to report your child’s income of $8,000 or less (but not less than $800) on your return
by completing form FTB 3803, Parents’ Election to Report Child’s Interest and Dividends.  To make this election, your
child’s income must be only from interest and/or dividends. See “Order Forms and Publications” on the back cover or go to
our Website at www.ftb.ca.gov.

Other Situations When You Must File
If you owe any of the following taxes for 2004, you must file Form 540.

• Tax on a lump-sum distribution;
• Tax on a qualified retirement plan including an Individual Retirement Arrangement (IRA) or an Archer Medical

Savings Account (MSA);
• Tax for children under age 14 who have investment income greater than $1,600 (see paragraph above);
• Alternative minimum tax;
• Recapture taxes;
• Deferred tax on certain installment obligations; or
• Tax on an accumulation distribution from a trust.

On 12/31/04,
my filing status was:

Single or
Head of household3

Married filing jointly or
Married filing separately4

Qualifying widow(er)3

Dependent of another person
Any filing status

and on 12/31/04,
my age was6:

Under 65

65 or older

Under 65 (both spouses)

65 or older (one spouse)

65 or older (both spouses)

Under 65

65 or older

Any age

California Gross Income1 California Adjusted Gross Income2

Dependents Dependents

0 1 2 or more 0 1 2 or more

12,729 21,562 28,187 10,183 19,016 25,641

16,979 23,604 28,904 14,433 21,058 26,358

25,457 34,290 40,915 20,365 29,198 35,823

29,707 36,332 41,632 24,615 31,240 36,540

33,957 40,582 45,882 28,865 35,490 40,790

21,562 28,187 19,016 25,641

23,604 28,904 21,058 26,358

More than your standard deduction5
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