Additional Information

California Sales And Use Tax

In general, the purchase of goods outside California that are brought into
the state for storage, use, or other consumption may be subject to use
tax. The use tax rate is the same as the sales tax rate in effect where the
goods will be stored, used or consumed; usually your residence address.
The tax is based on the purchase price of the goods.

e If you purchased goods from an out-of-state retailer (such as a mail
order firm) and sales tax would have been charged if you purchased the
goods in Galifornia, you may owe the use tax on your purchase if the
out-of-state retailer did not collect the California tax.

e |f you traveled to a foreign country and brought goods home with
you, the use tax will be based on the purchase price of the goods you
listed on your U.S. Customs Declaration after deduction of the $400
per individual exemption allowable by law within any 30-day period.
This deduction does not apply to goods sent or shipped to California
by common carrier.

Your tax liability may be calculated by multiplying the sales tax rate at
your residence by the cost of the goods purchased. Send your payment to
the STATE BOARD OF EQUALIZATION, PO BOX 942879, SACRAMENTO CA
94279-0001, with a brief statement listing your name, address, daytime
telephone number, cost and description of the goods purchased. Board of
Equalization Pamphlet 79-B contains additional information and a form you
may use to report the tax. An electronic version of this pamphlet may be
found in the Board of Equalization’s Website at www.boe.ca.gov/pdf/
pub79b.pdf.

If you file a Schedule C (Form 1040), Profit or Loss From Business, with
your federal income tax return and are in the business of selling tangible
personal property, you may be required to obtain a seller’s permit with the
State Board of Equalization.

If you have any questions concerning the taxability of a purchase, or want
information about obtaining a seller’s permit, please contact the State
Board of Equalization’s toll-free number at (800) 400-7115, to talk to a
Customer Service Representative. Representatives are available from

8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday - Friday, excluding state holidays.

Collection Fees

The FTB is required to assess collection and filing enforcement cost
recovery fees on delinquent accounts.

Deceased Taxpayers

A final return must be filed for a person who died in 2003 if a return
normally would be required. The administrator or executor, if one is
appointed, or beneficiary must file the return. Please print “deceased” and
the date of death next to the taxpayer’s name at the top of the return.

If you are a surviving spouse and no administrator or executor has been
appointed, you may file a joint return if you did not remarry during 2003.
Indicate next to your signature that you are the surviving spouse.

You may also file a joint return with an administrator or executor acting on
behalf of the deceased taxpayer.

If you file a return and claim a refund due to a deceased taxpayer, you are
certifying under penalty of perjury either that you are the legal representa-
tive of the deceased taxpayer’s estate (in this case, you must attach
certified copies of the letters of administration or letters testamentary) or
that you are entitled to the refund as the deceased’s surviving relative or
sole beneficiary under the provisions of the California Probate Code. You
must also attach a copy of federal Form 1310, Statement of Person
Claiming Refund Due a Deceased Taxpayer, or a copy of the death
certificate when you file a return and claim a refund due.

Homeowner and Renter Assistance

Homeowner assistance is a once-a-year payment from the State of
California as a reimbursement for part of the property taxes you paid on
your home. If eligible, you could receive up to 96% of the property taxes
you paid in the prior year. In 2003, you would have qualified for this
assistance if you:

e Were one of the following on December 31, 2002: 62 years of age* or
older, blind, or disabled; and

e QOwned your home and lived in it on December 31, 2002, had total
household income of $37,676 or less, and are a U.S. citizen, designated
alien, or qualified alien when you file your claim.

*If your 62nd birthday is on January 1, 2003, you are considered to be
age 62 on December 31, 2002.

Renter assistance is a once-a-year payment from the State of California as a
reimbursement for part of the property taxes that you pay indirectly when
you pay your rent. In 2003, you would have qualified for this assistance if
you:

e Were one of the following on December 31, 2002: 62 years of age™ or
older, blind, or disabled; and

e Paid $50 or more rent per month in the prior year, had total household
income of $37,676 or less, and are a U.S. citizen, designated alien, or
qualified alien when you file your claim.

*If your 62nd birthday is on January 1, 2003, you are considered to be
age 62 on December 31, 2002.

The 2004 filing season for these programs begins July 1, 2004. For more
information, call (800) 852-5711 or visit us at our Website at
www.fth.ca.gov.

Innocent Spouse Relief

You may qualify for relief from liability for tax on a joint return if (1) there
is an understatement of tax because your spouse omitted income or
claimed false deductions or credits, (2) you are divorced, separated, or no
longer living with your spouse, or (3) given all the facts and
circumstances, it would be unfair to hold you liable for the tax. Get FTB
Pub. 705, “Innocent Spouse — Are You Eligible?” for more information. See
“Where To Get Income Tax Forms and Publications” on page 58.

Military Personnel

If you are a member of the military and need additional information on how
to file your return, get FTB Pub. 1032, California Tax Information for
Military Personnel. See “Where To Get Income Tax Forms and Publica-
tions” on page 58.

Requesting a Copy of Your Tax Return

The FTB keeps personal income tax returns for three and one-half years
from the original due date. If you need to get a copy of a return from those
years, you must request it by writing a letter or by completing form FTB
3516, Request for Copy of Personal Income Tax or Fiduciary Return. In
most cases, there is a $20 fee for each tax year you request. However,
there is no charge if you were the victim of a designated California or
federal disaster. See “Where To Get Income Tax Forms and Publications”
on page 58.

Vehicle License Fees for Federal Schedule A

On your federal Schedule A, you may deduct the California motor vehicle
license fee listed on your Vehicle Registration Billing Notice from the
Department of Motor Vehicles. The other fees listed on your billing notice
such as registration fee, weight fee, and county fees are not deductible.

Voting Is Everyhody’s Business
You may register to vote if you meet these requirements:

e You are a United States citizen;

e You are a resident of California;

e You will be 18 years old by the date of the next election; and

e You are not in prison or on parole for the conviction of a felony.

You need to re-register every time you move, change your name, or wish
to change political parties. In order to vote in an election, you must be
registered to vote at least 15 days before that election. To obtain a Voter
Registration Card, call the California Secretary of State’s office toll-free
voter hotline at (800) 345-VOTE or visit the Website at www.ss.ca.gov.

It’s Your Right . . . Register and Vote
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