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Last day to pay the 2003 amount you owe to avoid penalties and interest.* See form FTB 3519 on page 41
for more information.
*If you are living or traveling outside the United States on April 15, 2004, the due dates for filing your return and paying your tax are different. See
form FTB 3519 on page 41 for more information.

Last day to file your 2003 return to avoid penalties and interest computed from the original due date of
April 15, 2004.

Due dates for 2004 estimated tax payments. Generally, you do not have to make estimated tax payments if
your California withholding in each payment period totals 90 percent of your required annual payment.
Also, you do not have to make estimated tax payments if you will pay enough through withholding to keep
the amount you owe with your return under $200 ($100 if married filing separately). However, if you do
not pay enough tax either through withholding or by making estimated tax payments, you may have an
underpayment penalty. See Form 540-ES instructions on page 53 for more information.

Important due dates
April 15, 2004

October 15, 2004

April 15, 2004
June 15, 2004
September 15, 2004
January 18, 2005
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What’s New and Other Important Information for 2003?
Differences Between California and
Federal Law
In general, California law conforms to the Internal Revenue Code
(IRC) as of January 1, 2001.  However, there are continuing
differences between California and federal law.  It should be
noted that California does not always conform to the entire
provisions of a public law.  California has conformed to some of
the  changes made by the Internal Revenue Code after January
1, 2001, including some provisions of the Economic Growth and
Tax Relief Reconciliation Act of 2001 (Public Law 107-16), the
Victims of Terrorism Tax Relief Act of 2001 (Public Law 107-134),
and the Job Creation and Worker Assistance Act of 2002 (Public
Law 107-147).  California has not conformed to any of the
provisions of the Jobs and Growth Tax Relief Reconciliation Act
of 2003 (Public Law 108-27) and the Military Family Tax Relief
Act of 2003 (Public Law 108-121).

2003 Tax Law Changes
Use Tax – For taxable years beginning on or after
January 1, 2003, if you made a purchase from an out-of-state or
Internet seller and did not pay California use tax, you may now
report the California use tax on your personal income tax return.
For more information, see Additional Information on page 66.
Mandatory e-file – If you are a tax practitioner who prepared
more than 100 individual income tax returns during the calendar
year that began on or after January 1, 2003, and in the current
calendar year, you prepare one or more individual income tax
returns using tax preparation software, then for that calendar year
and for each subsequent calendar year thereafter, all income tax
returns you prepare shall be electronically filed (e-file) with the
Franchise Tax Board.  For additional information regarding e-file,
visit our Website at www.ftb.ca.gov .

Other Important Information
Reduction in Services
As a result of the reduced funding we have received due to the
State's budget problems, the Franchise Tax Board must reduce
the level of some of its public services in 2004.  Please be aware
of the following proposed changes in our services:
• Reduced hours of operation in our telephone service
• Longer wait time for telephone assistance
• Longer time to process your tax return and get your refund to

you if you file your return on paper instead of e-filing
• Longer time to respond to correspondence inquiries.
If you access our convenient online services you can still get the
information you need 24 hours a day, every day through our
Website at www.ftb.ca.gov .  In addition, we encourage you to
e-file your tax return to get your tax refund quickly.  You can find
the best way to e-file your California return by checking our
Website.
Southern California Wildfires – If you were a victim of the
Southern California Wildfires, get Pub. 1034, California Disaster
Relief Tax Provisions and Pub. 1034A-4, Southern California
Wildfires, for more information.
Enclose, but do not staple, any payment –  To help reduce our
processing costs, please enclose but do not staple your payment
to your return.  Or pay online at www.ftb.ca.gov , select payment
options.
Employer-Provided Adoption Assistance Exclusion –  With
regard to adoption of children with special needs, California has
not conformed to the federal provisions providing for a potential
increase in the exclusion for the year in which the adoption
becomes final or the limitation based upon the aggregate amount
paid in all years.  For more information, get form FTB 5123,
Employer Provided Adoption Assistance Exclusion.

Rental Allowance for State-Employed Clergy Members – The
housing exclusion allowed to state-employed members of the
clergy (priests, ministers, religious practitioners or similar
functionaries of a religious denomination or religious
organization) has been increased.  Effective January 1, 2003, up
to 50% of gross salary may be allocated for either the rental value
of a home furnished, or the rental allowance paid to him or her to
rent or provide a home.  For more information, get FTB
Pub. 1001, Supplemental Guidelines to California Adjustments.
Teacher Retention Credit –  The Teacher Retention Credit is
available for tax year 2003.
Natural Heritage Preservation Tax Credit –  The Natural
Heritage Preservation tax credit is available starting July 1, 2003.
Child and Dependent Care Expenses Refundable Credit/
Treatment of never married persons –  Parents who are not
married are treated the same as divorced or separated parents
for purposes of the California Child and Dependent Care
Expenses Credit.  For more information, please refer to the
instructions for form FTB 3506 on page 57.

Net Operating Loss (NOL) –  For taxable years 2002 and 2003,
the NOL carryover deduction was suspended.  Taxpayers may
continue to compute and carryover an NOL during the
suspension period.  The deduction for disaster losses is not
affected by the NOL suspension rules.
The carryover period for suspended losses is extended by two
years for losses incurred before January 1, 2002, and by one
year for losses incurred after January 1, 2002, and before
January 1, 2003.
After the suspension period, the Net Operating Loss deduction
will be allowed at 100%.
For more information, get form FTB 3805V.
Withholding on Real Property Sales –  Effective January 1,
2003, the 31/3% withholding requirement of the sales price for
transfer of California real property was expanded to include sales
made by California residents.  Exemptions from withholding
include the sale of a principal residence that qualifies for an
exclusion of a gain, a sale that will produce a loss for tax
purposes, and sales that qualify for tax deferred treatment under
IRC Section 1031, like-kind exchange.
For more information on the new real estate withholding rules,
get FTB Pub. 1016, Real Estate Withholding Guidelines.  If you
had California income tax withheld from the sale of your
California real estate during 2003, report the tax withheld on
Form 540, line 40.
Tax on Early Distributions – Federal and California law provide
for an additional tax on early distributions from annuity plans,
self-employed plans, Individual Retirement Arrangements (IRAs),
and Modified Endowment contracts.  The additional tax is
imposed only on the amount of the distribution that is includible in
income.  For California purposes, the additional tax rate is 2½%.

Exclusions for Registered Domestic Partners –  Several
taxpayer benefits now apply to a taxpayer's registered “domestic
partner” and their dependent(s) for medical expenses and health
benefits that occur on or after January 1, 2003.  These benefits
include:
• The exclusion from gross income for employer-provided

accident and health insurance.
• An exclusion from gross income for medical expense

reimbursement if the expense was not previously deducted.
• Medical expenses deductible as an itemized deduction.
• Long-term health care insurance deductible as a medical

expense.
• A deduction by self-employed individuals for health insurance

costs paid for themselves, their spouses, and dependents.
The deduction may not  exceed the net earnings from the trade
or business in which the insurance plan is established.
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The deductions are taken as an adjustment on the
Schedule CA (540).
Holocaust Restitution Payments – An exclusion is provided for
holocaust reparations received by eligible individuals, their heirs,
or estate for holocaust restitution payments, distributions or
excludable trust.
Energy Rebates –  An exclusion is allowed for vouchers, rebates,
or other financial incentives received from the California Energy
Commission, the Public Utilities Commission, or a local publicly
owned utility for the purchase and installation of specified energy
production systems.
Military Service Benefits – Extensions of time are provided to
members of the National Guard ordered into active service by the
Governor of California or active federal service by the President
of the United States for emergency purposes and to reservists
called to active duty.  The extensions apply to, among other
things, court proceedings, contract obligations, rental
agreements, taxes or assessments, and health or medical
insurance.
In addition, California allows an exemption from taxes to any
California taxpayer who dies on active duty with any branch of the
armed forces of the United States.
New Voluntary Contribution Fund – You may make voluntary
contributions to the California Missions Foundation Fund.

Federal Conformity Items
• California conforms to federal provisions regarding

disallowance of club dues.
• California conforms to federal provisions regarding

disallowance of lobbying and political expenses.
• California has conformed to the Victims of Terrorism Tax Relief

Act of 2001 to allow victims who have died as a result of the
terrorist attacks of September 11, 2001, and the anthrax
incidents in 2001, a forgiveness of their state tax liability for the
year immediately preceding the incident and all subsequent
tax years until the date of death.  For victims who died in 2001,
this will result in a forgiveness of tax liability for tax year 2000
and 2001.  For more information, get Form 540X, Amended
Individual Income Tax Return, and instructions.

New Federal Non-Conformity Items
California does not conform to the provisions in the Military
Family Tax Relief Act of 2003. For more information, get FTB
Pub. 1001, Supplemental Guidelines to California Adjustments
(2003) and FTB Pub. 1032, Tax Information for Military Personnel
(2003).

Common Errors and How to Prevent Them
Help us to process your return quickly and accurately.  When we
find an error, we must stop to verify the information on the return,
which slows processing.  The most common errors are wrong
estimated tax payments, taking the wrong exemption credit, and
tax computation errors.
To avoid these errors and help us to process your return faster,
please use these helpful hints when preparing your return.
When claiming estimated payments:
• Verify that the amount of estimated payments claimed on your

return matches what you sent to the FTB for that year.  Check
our Website at www.ftb.ca.gov  and access the “Check
Account Balance” feature to view your total estimate payments
before you file your return.

• If the amount of estimated payments claimed on your tax
return does not match FTB records, you will receive a Return
Information Notice to explain the difference.

When totaling your exemptions:
• Be sure to add the exemption amounts correctly and transfer

the total exemption amount to the correct line of the return.
(See the individual line instructions for assistance).

When computing your tax:
• Check our website at www.ftb.ca.gov  and access the

automated tax table to compute your tax, or
• Make sure to locate the correct tax amount from the tax table

and transfer it to your return correctly.
By using the helpful hints listed above, you can prevent delays in
processing your return and unnecessary account adjustments.

 INTERNET ASSISTANCE

We have made significant changes to our Website in an effort to
help answer questions when completing your income tax return.
Visit us at www.ftb.ca.gov  to get helpful information such as:
• Getting a Customer Service Number.
• Tips for e-filing your tax return.
• Checking the status of your refund and making an account

balance inquiry.
• Paying online with Web Pay (personal income tax, estimated

tax, and bills). You choose the dates to pay.
• Completing and submitting requests to make monthly tax

payments.
• Downloading tax forms and publications – sorted by year and

by form number.
• Accessing legal notices, rulings, and regulations; also see

FTB’s analysis of pending legislation; and get current
law/policy information by reading Tax News  Online.

• Finding out if you can TeleFile.
• Viewing internal procedure manuals to learn how we

administer the law.
• Checking your estimated tax payments.

�     AUTOMATED PHONE SERVICE SYSTEM
Get recorded answers to your tax questions, 24 hours a day,
7 days a week - at NO charge to you. Just call toll-free at
(800) 338-0505 and follow the instructions provided. For quicker
service, first choose Spanish or English, then press 1-4-1 (allow 3
seconds for a prompt), then enter the three-digit general
information code found wherever you see the phone symbol
throughout this booklet. See the back cover for a list of general
information topics and access codes.

$$$ for You
Earned Income Credit (EIC) –  If you earned less than $34,692
(less than $11,230 if you do not have any qualifying children), you
may be eligible to get the EIC to reduce the federal tax you owe,
or get a refund if you do not owe any federal tax. Call the IRS at
(800) 829-4477 and enter topic 601 when instructed, or see your
federal income tax booklet. There is no comparable state credit.
Refund of Excess State Disability Insurance (SDI) – You may
be eligible for a refund of excess SDI if you had at least two
employers during 2003 who together paid you more than $56,916
in wages. See the instructions on page 13 (Form 540A) or on
page 20 (Form 540).
Homeowner and Renter Assistance (HRA) – This California
program provides a once-a-year state payment to qualifying
homeowners and renters based on the property tax they paid in
the prior year. See page 66.
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Do I Have to File?
Requirements for Most People

Read down the first column to find your filing status at the end of 2003. Read across to find your age at the end
of 2003, and the number of dependents you are entitled to claim for 2003.  You must file a return if either  your
California gross income or  your California adjusted gross income was more than the amount shown for your
filing status, age, and number of dependents.
Even if you do not have a filing requirement based on the chart below, you should file a return to get a refund if
California state income tax was withheld from your pay, or if you made California estimated tax payments. Try
e-file! It’s fast, easy and convenient, and there are several free options. Go to www.ftb.ca.gov  for the details.

1 California gross income  is all income you received in the form of money, goods, property, and services from all sources that are not exempt from tax.
Gross income does not include any adjustments or deductions.

2 California adjusted gross income  is your federal adjusted gross income from all sources reduced or increased by all California income adjustments.
3 See page 9 or page 16.
4 The income of both spouses must be combined; both spouses may be required to file a return even if only one spouse had income over the amounts

listed.
5 Use the California Standard Deduction Worksheet for Dependents on page 11 or page 18 to figure your standard deduction.
6 If your 65th birthday is on January 1, 2004, you are considered to be age 65 on December 31, 2003.

Requirements for Children With Investment Income
California law is the same as federal law for the income of children under age 14.  For each child under age 14
who received more than $1,500 of investment income in 2003, complete Form 540 and form FTB 3800, Tax
Computation for Children Under Age 14 with Investment Income, to figure the tax on a separate Form 540 for
your child.
Note:   If you qualify, you may elect to report your child’s income of $7,500 or less (but not less than $750) on
your return by completing form FTB 3803, Parents’ Election to Report Child’s Interest and Dividends.  To make
this election, your child’s income must be only  from interest and/or dividends. See “Order Forms and Publica-
tions” on the back cover.

Other Situations When You Must File
If you owe any of the following taxes for 2003, you must file Form 540.
• Tax on a lump-sum distribution;
• Tax on a qualified retirement plan, including an individual retirement arrangement (IRA) or an Archer medical

savings account (MSA);
• Tax for children under age 14 who have investment income greater than $1,500 (see paragraph above);
• Alternative minimum tax;
• Recapture taxes;
• Deferred tax on certain installment obligations; or
• Tax on an accumulation distribution from a trust.

On 12/31/03,
my filing status was:

Single or
Head of household3

Married filing jointly or
Married filing separately4

Qualifying widow(er)

Dependent of another person
Any filing status

and on 12/31/03,
my age was 6:

Under 65

65 or older

Under 65 (both spouses)

65 or older (one spouse)

65 or older (both spouses)

Under 65

65 or older

Any age

California Gross Income1 California Adjusted Gross Income2

Dependents Dependents

0 1 2 or more 0 1 2 or more

12,346 20,913 27,338 9,877 18,444 24,869

16,446 22,871 28,011 13,977 20,402 25,542

24,692 33,259 39,684 19,753 28,320 34,745

28,792 35,217 40,357 23,853 30,278 35,418

32,892 39,317 44,457 27,953 34,378 39,518

20,913 27,338 18,444 24,869

22,871 28,011 20,402 25,542

More than your standard deduction5

✓ Tip



Which Form Should I Use?

Form 540 2EZ Form 540A Form 540

Filing Status

Dependents

Amount of Income

Sources of Income

Adjustment to Income

Standard Deduction

Itemized Deductions

Payments

Tax Credits

Other Taxes

Single, married filing jointly, head of
household, qualifying widow(er)

0-3 allowed

Total income of:
• $50,000 or less if single or head of

household
• $100,000 or less if married filing jointly

or qualifying widow(er)

Only income from:
• Wages, salaries, tips
• Taxable interest
• Taxable scholarship and

fellowship grants (only if reported on
Form(s) W-2)

• Unemployment compensation
• U.S. Social Security
• Tier 1 and tier 2 railroad retirement

payments
Note: You cannot use Form 540 2EZ if
you (or your spouse, if married) can be
claimed as a dependent by another
taxpayer, and your TOTAL income is
less than or equal to $10,220 if single;
$20,290 if married filing jointly or
qualifying widow(er); or $14,390 if head
of household.

No adjustments to income

Allowed

No itemized deductions

Only withholding shown on
Form(s) W-2

• Personal exemption credit
• Up to three dependent exemption

credits
• Nonrefundable renter’s credit
• Senior exemption credit

Only tax computed using the
540 2EZ Table

*Note: If you qualify to use
Form 540 2EZ, go to www.ftb.ca.gov  to
e-file or to download this form, or see
“Order Forms and Publications” on the
back cover.

Any filing status

All dependents you are entitled to claim

Any amount of income

Only income from:
• Wages, salaries, tips
• Taxable scholarship and fellowship grants
• Interest and dividends
• Unemployment compensation

reported on Form 1099-G
• Social security benefits
• Tier 1 and tier 2

railroad retirement payments
• Fully and partially taxable IRA

distributions, pensions, and annuities
• Alimony

Allowed if the amount is the same as your
federal adjustments to income
Note:  If you claimed educator expenses or
the tuition and fees deduction, do not file
Form 540A.

Allowed

Allowed if the amount is the same as your
federal itemized deductions (except for
state, local, and foreign taxes paid)

• Withholding shown on Form(s) W-2,
W-2G, and 1099-R

• Estimated tax payments
• Payments made with extension

voucher
• Excess State Disability Insurance

(SDI) or Voluntary Plan Disability
Insurance (VPDI)

• Personal exemption credit
• Senior exemption credit
• Blind exemption credit
• Dependent exemption credit
• Nonrefundable renter’s credit
• Child and Dependent Care Expenses

Credit

Tax computed using the tax table or tax rate
schedules

Any filing status

All dependents you are entitled to
claim

Any amount of income

All sources of income

All adjustments to income

Allowed

All itemized deductions

• Withholding shown on Form(s)
W-2, W-2G, 1099, 592-B, 594,
and 597

• Estimated tax payments
• Payments made with

extension voucher
• Excess State Disability

Insurance (SDI) or Voluntary
Plan Disability Insurance (VPDI)

All tax credits

All taxes:
• Tax computed using the tax

table or tax rate schedules
• Alternative minimum tax
• Tax on early distributions from

IRAs or other qualified
retirement plans

• Tax on distributions from MSAs
and education IRAs

• Tax for children under age 14
who have investment income
of more than $1,500

• Tax on lump-sum distributions
• Recapture taxes
• Deferred tax on certain

installment obligations
• Tax on accumulation

distributions of trusts
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✓ Tip
Were you or your spouse a resident of California during the entire year 2003?
Yes. Check the chart below to see which form to use.
No. You must use the Long or Short Form 540NR. To download or order the California Nonresident or Part-Year

Resident Income Tax Booklet, see page 67, “Where to Get Income Tax Forms and Publications.”

e-file and you won't have to
decide which form to use!
The software will select the
correct form for you.

Form not included in booklet. *See
the note at the bottom of this
column.



Helpful Hints (e-file and skip this page! See www.ftb.ca.gov)

Form(s) W-2, W-2G, and 1099: Make sure to staple all the Form(s) W-2 and W-2G
you received to the front of your return where it says “Attach copy of your Form(s)
W-2 and W-2G.” Also, attach any Form(s) 1099 showing California income tax
withheld.

If you do not receive your Form(s) W-2 by January 31, 2004, contact your employer.
Only your employer can issue or correct a Form W-2. If you cannot get a copy of
your Form W-2, you must complete form FTB 3525, Substitute for Form W-2, Wage
and Tax Statement, or Form 1099-R, Distributions From Pensions, Annuities,
Retirement or Profit Sharing Plans, IRAs, Insurance Contracts, etc. See “Order Forms
and Publications” on the back cover or go to our Website at www.ftb.ca.gov.

If you forget to send your Form(s) W-2 with your income tax return, do not send it
separately, or with another copy of your return. Wait until the Franchise Tax Board
requests it from you.

Assembling your return❏
Assemble your return in the order shown below.

Mailing your return❏
Mail your return using the envelope provided in this booklet. If your return shows a
refund or no amount due, be sure to attach the green label to the front of the
envelope. The address is:

FRANCHISE TAX BOARD
PO BOX 942840
SACRAMENTO CA 94240-0002

If your return has an amount due, be sure to attach the white label to the front of the
envelope. The address is:

FRANCHISE TAX BOARD
PO BOX 942867
SACRAMENTO CA 94267-0001

Filling in your return❏
Tips on how you should fill in Form 540A or Form 540:

• Use only black or blue ballpoint pen on the copy you send us.
• Enter your social security number(s) at the top of Form 540A or Form 540, Side

1, Step 1a.
• Print numbers and CAPITAL LETTERS inside boxes. Be sure to line up dollar

amounts.
• Round cents to the nearest whole dollar. For example, round $50.50 up to $51 or

round $25.49 down to $25.
• If you do not have an entry for a line, leave it blank unless the instructions for a

line specifically tell you to enter zero. Do not enter a dash.
• Attach your label. If you don’t have a label, please print your name(s) and

address in CAPITAL LETTERS in Step 1.

Verify Step 1, Step 1a, Step 2,❏ and Step 3
Step 1: Use your first name, middle initial, last name, and complete address
including ZIP Code.

If you lease a private mailbox (PMB) from a private business rather than a PO box
from the United States Postal Service, include the box number in the address area
labeled “PMB no.”

Step 1a: Make sure you entered your social security number and that it agrees with
your social security card. If you file a joint return, make sure that you enter the social
security numbers in the same order that your names are shown.

Step 2: Make sure you meet all the requirements for your filing status.  For more
information regarding filing status, see the Step 2 instructions on page 9 or page 16.

Step 3: Take your personal exemption credit to reduce your tax. See the instructions
for Form 540A, line 18 or Form 540, line 21.

Check other areas❏
Federal Adjusted Gross Income: Double-check that you correctly transferred your
federal adjusted gross income from your federal TeleFile Tax Record, line I; Form
1040EZ, line 4; Form 1040A, line 21; or Form 1040, line 34.

California Standard Deduction: Make sure you entered the California standard
deduction amount and not the federal amount.

Itemized Deductions: Be sure you reduced your federal itemized deductions by the
amount of state and local income taxes you claimed on your federal Schedule A.
Form 540 filers, use Schedule CA (540), Part II, on page 37. Form 540A filers, see
page 11.

Double-check your math: Double-check each subtraction, addition, and any other
calculation.

Paid Preparer’s Information: If you pay a person to prepare your California income
tax return, that person must sign and complete the area at the bottom of Side 2,
including an identification number (social security number, PTIN, or FEIN). A paid
preparer must give you two copies of your return, one copy to file with FTB, and one
copy to keep for your records.

Attachments to your return❏
Do I need to attach a copy of federal Form 1040?

Form 540A Filers: Form 540 Filers:

Do not attach a copy of your Did you attach any federal forms or
federal 1040 return to schedules other than Schedule A or
Form 540A. Schedule B to your federal Form 1040?

If No, do not attach a copy of your
federal 1040 return to Form 540.

If Yes, attach a copy of your federal 1040
return and all supporting federal forms
and schedules to Form 540.

Note:  Please do not attach any documents to your return unless specifically
instructed.  This will help us reduce government processing and storage costs.
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Copy of other state tax return (if required)

Form
540EZ or

540A

Copy of federal return (if required)
Supporting California Schedules

Side
 2Side

 1

Form 540

W-2
W-2G

1099-R
592-B
594
597

Enclose, but do not
staple, any payment.

Form 540
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Instructions for Form 540A — California Resident Income Tax Return
These instructions are based on the Internal Revenue Code (IRC) as of January 1, 2001, and the California Revenue and Taxation Code (R&TC).

Before You Begin
You must complete your federal income tax return (Form 1040,
Form 1040A, Form 1040EZ, or federal TeleFile Tax Record) before you
begin your Form 540A. You will use the information you entered on
your federal income tax return to complete your Form 540A. See
“Order Forms and Publications” on the back cover for information on
how to get the forms and publications referred to in these instructions.

You may qualify for the federal earned income credit. See
page 5 of this booklet for more information. There is no
comparable state credit.

Step 1 — Name(s) and Address
Is there a label with your name and address on the front of your
booklet?
Yes. Attach the label to your completed return.  Make sure that the
information on your label is correct. Cross out any errors and print the
correct information on the label.
No.  Print your first name, middle initial, last name, and address in the
spaces provided at the top of Form 540A.  See page 8, Helpful Hints,
“Filling in your return.”
Private Mail Box.  If you lease a private mailbox (PMB) from a private
business rather than a P.O. box from the United States Postal Service,
include the box number in the address area labeled “PMB no.”
Foreign Address.  Enter the information in the following order: city,
province or state, and country.  Follow the country's practice for
entering the postal code.  Do not abbreviate the country name.

Step 1a — Social Security Number(s)
Enter your social security number(s) in the spaces provided. To protect
your privacy, your social security number(s) are not printed on your
label. If you file a joint return, enter the social security numbers in the
same order as the names.
Note: If you do not have a social security number because you are a
nonresident or resident alien for federal tax purposes, and the IRS
issued you an Individual Taxpayer Identification Number (ITIN), enter
the ITIN in the space for the social security number.

Step 2 — Filing Status
Fill in only one of the circles for line 1 through line 5. Be sure to enter
the required additional information if you filled in the circle on line 3 or
line 5.
You must use the same filing status for California that you used for
your federal income tax return.
Exception: If you file a joint return for federal, you may file separately
for California if either spouse was:
• An active member of the United States armed forces or any auxiliary

military branch during 2003, or
• A nonresident for the entire year and had no income from California

sources during 2003.
If you had no federal filing requirement, use the same filing status for
California you would have used to file a federal income tax return.
Note: If you filed a joint return and either you or your spouse was a
nonresident for 2003, you must file the Long or Short Form 540NR,
California Nonresident or Part-Year Resident Income Tax Return.

Line 1 – Single
Fill in the circle on line 1 if any of the following was true on December
31, 2003:
• You were never married;
• You were legally separated under a decree of divorce or of separate

maintenance; or
• You were widowed before January 1, 2003, and did not remarry in

2003.

Line 2 – Married Filing Jointly
Fill in the circle on line 2 if any of the following is true:
• You were married as of December 31, 2003, even if you did not live

with your spouse at the end of 2003;
• Your spouse died in 2003 and you did not remarry in 2003; or
• Your spouse died in 2004 before you filed a 2003 return.

Line 3 – Married Filing Separately
If you fill in the circle on line 3, be sure to enter your spouse’s full
name on line 3 and social security number in Step 1a.
Note: You cannot claim a personal exemption credit for your spouse
even if your spouse had no income, is not filing a return, and is not
claimed as a dependent on another person’s return.
Note: You may be able to file as head of household if you had a child
living with you and you lived apart from your spouse during the entire
last six months of 2003.
For reporting separate income and deductions, get FTB Pub. 1051A,
Guidelines for Married Filing Separate Returns. See “Order Forms and
Publications” on the back cover.

Line 4 – Head of Household
This filing status is for unmarried individuals and certain married
individuals living apart (considered unmarried) who provide a home for
certain other persons. You are entitled to use the head of household
filing status only if all of the following apply:
• You were unmarried or considered unmarried on

December 31, 2003;
• You paid more than one-half the cost of keeping up a home for the

year 2003;
• For more than half the year, your home was the main home for you

and another person who lived with you;
• The other person was your qualifying relative; and
• You were not a nonresident alien at any time during the year.
For further information, log on to our Website at www.ftb.ca.gov or get
FTB Pub. 1540, California Head of Household Filing Status Information.
See code 934 on the back cover to order FTB Pub.1540 by telephone.

e-file and you can close this book now!  The software you
use to e-file will help you find out if you qualify to claim the
head of household filing status. Most software companies
also include the Head of Household Schedule (4803e),
which will help verify your eligibility to the FTB.  See
www.ftb.ca.gov

Line 5 – Qualifying Widow(er) with Dependent Child
Fill in the circle on line 5 and use the joint return tax rates for 2003 if
all five of the following apply:
• Your spouse died in 2001 or 2002 and you did not remarry in 2003;

and
• You have a child, stepchild, adopted child, or foster child whom you

can claim as a dependent; and
• This child lived in your home for all of 2003. Temporary absences,

such as for vacation or school, count as time lived in the home; and
• You paid over half the cost of keeping up your home for this child;

and
• You could have filed a joint return with your spouse the year he or

she died, even if you actually did not do so.
Note: If your spouse died in 2003, see the instructions for line 2 and
line 3.

Step 3 — Exemptions
Line 6 – Can be Claimed as Dependent

Fill in the circle on line 6 if your parent (or someone else)
can claim you as a dependent on his or her tax return, even
if he or she chooses not to.

✓ Tip

 

✓ Tip
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Line 7 – Personal Exemptions
Did you fill in the circle on line 6?
No Follow the instructions on Form 540A, line 7.
Yes Ignore the instructions on Form 540A, line 7. Instead, enter in the

box on line 7 the amount shown below for your filing status:
• Single or married filing separately, enter -0-;
• Head of household, enter -0-;
• Married filing jointly and both you and your spouse can be

claimed as dependents, enter -0-; or
• Married filing jointly and only one spouse can be claimed as a

dependent, enter 1.
Caution: You may not claim this credit if someone else can claim you
as a dependent on his or her return.

Line 8 – Blind Exemptions
The first year you claim this exemption credit, you must attach a
doctor’s statement to the back of Form 540A indicating you or your
spouse are visually impaired. Visually impaired means you cannot see
better than 20/200 while wearing glasses or contact lenses, or that
your field of vision is not more than 20 degrees.
Caution: You may not claim this credit if someone else can claim you
as a dependent on their return.

Line 9 – Senior Exemptions
If you were 65 years of age or older by December 31, 2003*, you
should claim an additional exemption credit on line 9. If you are
married, each spouse 65 years of age or older should claim an
additional credit. You may contribute all or part of this credit to the
California Seniors Special Fund. See page 25 for information about this
fund.
*If your 65th birthday is on January 1, 2004, you are considered to be
age 65 on December 31, 2003.
Caution: You may not claim this credit if someone else can claim you
as a dependent on their return.

Line 10 – Dependent Exemptions
To claim an exemption credit for each of your dependents, write each
dependent’s name and relationship to you in the space provided. If
additional space is needed, attach a separate sheet of paper. The
persons you list as dependents must be the same persons you listed as
dependents on your federal income tax return. Multiply the number you
entered by the pre-printed dollar amount and enter the result.

Line 11 – Total Personal, Blind, and Senior Exemptions
Enter the total dollar amount of all exemptions, personal and
dependents.

Step 4 — Taxable Income and California
Income Adjustments

Refer to your completed federal income tax return to complete Step 4.

Line 12a – State Wages
Enter the total amount of your state wages from each of your
Form(s) W-2. This amount should be on Form W-2, box 16.

Line 13 – California Income Adjustments
California does not tax certain types of income that are taxable on your
federal return. In addition, there may be differences between the
taxable amounts of federal and California IRA distributions, pensions,
and annuities.

Line 13a – State Income Tax Refund
Enter the amount of any state income tax refund shown on your federal
Form 1040, line 10. If you filed Form 1040A or Form 1040EZ, enter -0-.

Line 13b – Unemployment Compensation
Enter the amount of any unemployment compensation shown on your
federal TeleFile Tax Record, line D; Form 1040EZ, line 3; Form 1040A,
line 13; or Form 1040, line 19.
Note: Do not include qualified state tuition program earnings.

Line 13c – Social Security Benefits (and tier 1 or tier 2
railroad retirement benefits)

Enter the total of any social security benefits and equivalent tier 1
railroad retirement benefits reported on federal Form 1040A, line 14b
or Form 1040, line 20b.
Note: Do not include any other pension amounts on this line.
If you filed Form 1040EZ, enter -0- .

Line 13d – California Nontaxable Interest or Dividend
Income

California does not tax interest earned from:
• United States savings bonds;
• United States Treasury bills, notes, and bonds; and
• Bonds or obligations of United States territories, and government

agency obligations specifically exempted by federal law.
Enter only the amount of interest that you received from these
sources and that you included in the amount reported on your federal
Form 1040A, line 8a; Form 1040, line 8a; or Form 1040EZ, line 2.
Interest from municipal or state bonds from a state other than
California: This interest is taxed by California. You may not use
Form 540A. Use Form 540 or e-file.
Interest from Federal National Mortgage Association (Fannie Mae)
Bonds, Government National Mortgage Association (Ginnie Mae)
Bonds, and Federal Home Loan Mortgage Corporation (FHLMC)
securities: This interest is taxed by California. Do not enter it on
line 13d.
Exempt-interest dividends from mutual funds: Certain mutual funds
are qualified to pay “exempt-interest dividends” if at least 50% of
their assets consist of tax-exempt government obligations. The
portion of the dividends that are tax-exempt will be shown on your
annual statement from the mutual fund. If the amount of California
tax-exempt interest is more than the amount of federal tax-exempt
interest, enter the difference on line 13d. If the amount of California
tax-exempt interest is less than the amount of federal tax-exempt
interest, you may not use Form 540A. Use Form 540 or e-file.

Line 13e – California Individual Retirement
Account (IRA) Distributions

Note: You cannot use Form 540A if you have Roth IRA conversions
or distributions. Use Form 540 or e-file.
The method of taxing IRA distributions is generally the same for
California and federal purposes. However, there may be significant
differences in the taxable amount depending on when you made your
contributions. Before 1987, the maximum IRA contribution you were
allowed to deduct from California income was less than the maximum
amount you were allowed to deduct from federal income. For this
reason, the amount of your IRA distribution taxed by California may
be different from the amount taxed under federal law.
Report the difference between your California and your federal taxable
IRA distributions on line 13e. Be sure to attach Form 1099-R to your
Form 540A if tax was withheld. Get FTB Pub. 1005, Pension and
Annuity Guidelines, for more information. See “Order Forms and
Publications” on the back cover.

Line 13f – California Pensions and Annuities
Generally, you will not make any adjustments on this line. However, if
you received tier 2 railroad retirement benefits, tier 1 (non-social
security equivalent) (included in the amount on federal Form 1040A,
line 12b or Form 1040, line 16b), or partially taxable distributions
from a pension plan, you may need to make the adjustment described
on page 11.
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If you received a federal Form RRB 1099 – R for railroad retirement
benefits and included all or part of these benefits in federal adjusted
gross income on line 12b, enter the taxable benefit amount on line 13f.
If you began receiving a retirement annuity between July 1, 1986, and
January 1, 1987, and you elected to use the three-year recovery rule
for California, you must make an adjustment because your federal
taxable amount is less than your California taxable amount. Figure the
difference between the gross distribution shown on your Form 1099-R,
box 1 and the taxable amount shown in box 2a. Enter the difference in
parentheses on line 13f. For example: “(12,325).”
If you received a lump-sum distribution from a profit sharing or
retirement plan, you may pay less tax on the distribution if you choose
the 10-year averaging method. However, you must file Form 540 to use
this method. See the instructions for Form 540 and get Schedule G-1,
Tax on Lump-Sum Distributions (not in this booklet), for more
information. See “Order Form and Publications” on the back cover.
California law now conforms to certain provisions of the Internal
Revenue Code related to pension plans and deferred compensation, as
those provisions apply for federal purposes including amendments to
the Internal Revenue Code that may be enacted in the future.

Line 13g –Total California Adjustments
Combine line 13a through line 13f. If the result is less than zero, enter
the amount in parentheses on Form 540A, Side 1, line 13g. In this case
only, treat the amount on line 13g as a positive number and add it to
the amount on line 12b.

Line 14 – California Adjusted Gross Income
Subtract line 13g from line 12b. Enter the result on line 14. If the result
is less than zero, enter the amount in parentheses. For example:
“(12,325).”

Line 15 – CA Itemized Deductions or CA Standard
Deduction

You must decide whether to itemize your actual charitable contribu-
tions, medical expenses, interest paid, taxes, etc. or take the standard
deduction. Your California income tax will be less if you take the larger
of:
• Your California itemized deductions; or
• Your California standard deduction.
If you are married and file a separate return, you and your spouse must
either both itemize your deductions, or both take the standard
deduction.
Itemized deductions. Figure your California itemized deductions by
completing the California Itemized Deductions Worksheet on this page.
Enter the result on Form 540A, line 15.
Note: If you did not itemize deductions on your federal income tax
return but will itemize deductions for your California Form 540A, first
complete a federal Schedule A, Itemized Deductions. Then complete
the California Itemized Deductions Worksheet on this page. Do not
attach federal Schedule A to your Form 540A.
Standard deduction. Find your standard deduction on the California
Standard Deduction Chart for Most People on this page unless you
filled in the circle on Form 540A, line 6. In that case, use the California
Standard Deduction Worksheet for Dependents on this page.

California Standard Deduction Chart for Most People
Do not use this chart if your parent, or someone else, can claim you
(or your spouse, if married) as a dependent on his or her tax return.
Your Filing Status Enter On Line 15
1 – Single  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $3,070
2 – Married filing jointly  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $6,140
3 – Married filing separately  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $3,070
4 – Head of household  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $6,140
5 – Qualifying widow(er)  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $6,140
Note: The California standard deduction amounts are less than the
federal standard deduction amounts.

Note: If you filled in the circle on Form 540A, line 6, enter your wages,
salaries, and tips on the California Standard Deduction Worksheet for
Dependents, line 1 below. If you have earned income other than wages,
then you must file Form 540 and use the standard deduction worksheet
for that form.

California Standard Deduction Worksheet for Dependents
Use this worksheet only if your parent, or someone else, can claim
you (or your spouse if married) as a dependent on his or her  tax
return.
1. Enter your total wages, salaries, and tips from

all your Form(s) W-2, box 1. (You may also
refer to federal Form 1040EZ, line 1;
Form 1040A, line 7; or Form 1040, line 7.)  . . . . 1 ___________

2.  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 2 ___________
3. Add line 1 and line 2. Enter total here  . . . . . . . . 3 ___________
4. Minimum standard deduction  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 4 ___________
5. Enter the larger of line 3 or line 4 here  . . . . . . . . 5 ___________
6. Enter the amount shown for your filing status:

• Single or married filing separately,
enter $3,070  . . . . 6 ___________

• Married filing jointly, head of household,
or qualifying widow(er) enter $6,140

7. Standard deduction. Enter the smaller of
line 5 or line 6 here and on Form 540A, line 15  . 7 ___________

California Itemized Deductions Worksheet
1. Federal itemized deductions: Add the amounts

on federal Schedule A (Form 1040),
lines 4, 9, 14, 18, 19, 26, and 27  . . . . . . . . . . . . 1 ___________

2. Add the following  amounts from federal
Schedule A and enter on line 2:
• Line 5, state and local

income tax: __________
• State Disability Insurance (SDI): __________
• Line 8, foreign income taxes: __________

2 ___________
3. Subtract line 2 from line 1. This amount is your

total California itemized deductions  . . . . . . . . . 3 ___________
4. Is the amount on Form 540A, line 12b, more than

the amount shown below for your filing status?
Single or married filing separately  . . . . $135,714
Married filing jointly or qualifying

widow(er)  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $271,432
Head of household  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $203,574
Yes Continue to line 5 of this worksheet
No Enter on Form 540A, line 15, the larger of:
• The amount on line 3; or,
• Your standard deduction* shown below:

Single or married filing separately  . . . . . $3,070
Married filing jointly, head of household,

or qualifying widow(er)  . . . . . . . . . . . $6,140
Do not complete the rest of this worksheet.

5. Using California amounts, add the amounts
on federal Schedule A, line 4, line 13,
line 19, and any gambling losses included
on line 27  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 5 ___________

6. Subtract line 5 from line 3  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 6 ___________
Note: If -0-, skip line 7 through line 12, enter
the amount from line 3 on line 13 and
continue to line 14.

7. Multiply line 6 by 80% (.80)  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 7 ___________
8. Amount from Form 540A, line 12b  . . . . . . . . . . . 8 ___________

$250.00

$750.00

Worksheet continued on next page



Instructions: Form 540A Automated Toll-Free Phone Service (800) 338-0505

Page 12 Personal Income Tax Booklet 2003

AGI Limitation Worksheet
a. Enter the amount from Form 540A, line 12b  . . . . . a __________
b. Enter the amount for your filing status on line b  . . b __________

Single or married filing separately  . . $135,714
Married filing jointly or qualifying

widow(er)  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $271,432
Head of household  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $203,574

c. Subtract line b from line a  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . c __________
d. Divide line c by $2,500 ($1,250 if married filing

separately)  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . d __________
Note: If the result is not a whole number, round
it to the next higher whole number

e Multiply line d by $6  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . e __________
f Add the numbers from the boxes on Form 540A,

line 7, line 8, and line 9 (not the dollar amounts)  . f __________
g Multiply line e by line f  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . g __________
h Enter the dollar amount for line 7, line 8, and

line 9  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . h __________
i Subtract line g from line h. If zero or less,

enter -0-  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . i __________
j Enter the number from the box on Form 540A,

line 10 (not the dollar amount)  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . j __________
k Multiply line e by line j  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . k __________
l Enter the dollar amount (that you filled in) from

Form 540A, line 10  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . l __________
m Subtract line k from line l. If zero or less,

enter -0-  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . m __________
n Add line i and line m. Enter the result here and

on Form 540A, line 18  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . n __________

Line 19 – Nonrefundable Renter’s Credit
Did you pay rent for at least six months in 2003 on your principal
residence located in California?
Yes You may qualify to claim this credit which may reduce your tax.

Complete the qualification record on page 27.
No Go to line 20.

Step 6 — Overpaid Tax or Tax Due
To avoid a delay in the processing of your return, be sure you enter the
correct amounts on line 25 through line 36.

Line 25 – California Income Tax Withheld
Enter on line 25 the total amount shown as California
income tax withheld on your Form(s) W-2 in box 17;
Form(s) W-2G in box 14; or Form(s) 1099-R in box 10.
Caution: Do not include city or county tax withheld or tax
withheld by other states.

Note: The Franchise Tax Board verifies all withholding claimed from a
Form W-2, W-2G, 1099-MISC, or 1099-R with the Employment
Development Department.
If you received a Form 1099 showing California income tax withheld,
include the amount withheld in the total on line 25 and attach a copy of
the Form 1099 to your return.
If you do not have a Form W-2, see “Attachments to your return” on
page 8.

9. Enter the amount shown below for your
filing status  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 9 ___________

Single or married filing separately  . . $135,714
Married filing jointly or

qualifying widow(er)  . . . . . . . . . . $271,432
Head of household  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $203,574

10. Subtract line 9 from line 8  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 10 ___________
Note: If -0- or less, skip line 11 and line 12,
enter the amount from line 3 on line 13 and
continue to line 14.

11. Multiply line 10 by 6% (.06)  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 11 ___________
12. Compare line 7 and line 11. Enter the smaller

amount here  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 12 ___________
13. Total itemized deductions. Subtract line 12

from line 3  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 13 ___________
14. Enter on Form 540A, line 15, the larger of:

The amount on line 13; or,
Your standard deduction* shown below:

Single or married filing separately  . . . . . $3,070
Married filing jointly, head of household,

or qualifying widow(er)  . . . . . . . . . . . $6,140
*Standard Deduction for Dependents.
If your parent, or someone else, can claim you as a dependent, use
the standard deduction amount from line 7 of the “California
Standard Deduction Worksheet for Dependents” on page 11 instead
of the standard deduction amount shown above.

Step 5 — Tax and Credits
First figure your tax. Be sure to use the correct filing status and taxable
income amount. Then make sure you qualify to claim your credits.

Line 17 – Tax
If your taxable income on line 16 is:
• $100,000 or less, you must use the tax table beginning on page 60.

Be sure to use the correct column for your filing status.
• Over $100,000, you must use the tax rate schedules on page 65.

Be sure to use the correct tax rate schedule.
Note:  To prevent possible delays in processing your return or refund,
be sure to enter the correct tax amount on line 17. To automatically
figure your tax or to verify your tax calculation, use our online tax
calculator by visiting our Website at www.ftb.ca.gov

e-file and you won't have to do the math.  Go to our
Website at www.ftb.ca.gov

Line 18 – Exemption Credits
Use your exemption credits to reduce your tax. If your federal adjusted
gross income (AGI) on line 12b is more than the amount shown below
for your filing status, your credits will be limited.
If your filing status is: Is Form 540A, line 12b

more than:
Single or married filing separately  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $135,714
Married filing jointly or qualifying widow(er)  . . . . . . . . . . . . . $271,432
Head of household  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $203,574
Yes Complete the AGI Limitation Worksheet on this page.
No Follow the instructions shown on Form 540A, line 18.

�����
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Line 26 – 2003 California Estimated Tax and Payment
with form FTB 3519

Enter the total of any:
• California estimated tax payments you made using 2003

Form 540-ES;
• Overpayment from your 2002 California income tax return applied

to your 2003 estimated tax; and
• Payment you sent with form FTB 3519, Payment Voucher for

Automatic Extension for Individuals.
Note: To view payments you have made and/or to obtain your current
account balance, visit our Website at www.ftb.ca.gov and click on
“Check Account Balance.”
If you and your spouse paid joint estimated tax but are now filing
separate income tax returns, either of you may claim all of the amount
paid, or you may each claim part of it. Send a statement to FTB, signed
by you and your spouse, explaining how you want your payments
divided 30-45 days prior to filing your return(s). Be sure to show both
social security numbers on your separate returns. If you or your
spouse made separate estimated tax payments, but you are now filing
a joint income tax return, add the amounts you each paid. Attach a
statement to the front of Form 540A explaining that payments have
been made under both social security numbers.

Line 27 – Excess California SDI (or VPDI) Withheld
If California State Disability Insurance (SDI) or Voluntary Plan Disability
Insurance (VPDI) was withheld from your wages by a single employer
at more than 0.9% of your gross wages, you may not claim excess SDI
(or VPDI) on your Form 540A. Contact the employer for a refund.
You may be entitled to claim a credit for excess SDI (or VPDI) only if
you meet all of the following conditions:
• You had two or more employers during 2003;
• You received more than $56,916 in wages; and
• The amounts of SDI (or VPDI) withheld appear on your Forms W-2.

Be sure to attach your Forms W-2 to your Form 540A.
Complete the Excess SDI (or VPDI) Worksheet below to figure the
amount to enter on line 27.

Excess SDI (or VPDI) Worksheet
Follow the instructions below to figure the amount to enter on
Form 540A, line 27. If you are married and file a joint return, you
must figure the amount of excess SDI (or VPDI) separately for each
spouse.

Your
You Spouse

 1. Add amounts of SDI (or VPDI) withheld
shown on your Forms W-2. Enter the
total here  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 1 _______________

 2. 2003 SDI (or VPDI) limit  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 2 _______________
3. Excess SDI (or VPDI) withheld. Subtract

line 2 from line 1. Enter the result here
and on Form 540A, line 27.  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 3 _______________
Note: If zero or less, enter -0- on line 27.

Line 28 through Line 31 – Child and Dependent Care
Expenses Credit

You may be able to claim this credit if you paid someone to care for
your child under the age of 13, other dependent who is physically or
mentally incapable of caring for him or herself, or spouse if physically
or mentally incapable of caring for him or herself. To claim this credit,
your adjusted gross income must be less than $100,000. You must
complete and attach form FTB 3506, Child and Dependent Care
Expenses Credit, included in this booklet.

Line 28 and Line 29
Enter the qualifying person’s social security number. Do not enter more
than one qualifying person’s social security number on line 28 or
line 29 from form FTB 3506, Part III. If you have more than two
qualifying persons, enter only the first two qualifying persons listed on
form FTB 3506, Part III, line 2.

Line 30
Enter the amount from form FTB 3506, Part III, line 8 (do not round
this amount).

Line 31
Enter the amount from form FTB 3506, Part III, line 12 (do not round
this amount).
Note: If you received a refund for 2002, you may receive a
Form 1099-G, Certain Government Payments. The refund amount
reported on your Form 1099-G will be different from the amount shown
on your tax return if you claimed the Child and Dependent Care
Expenses Credit. This is because the credit is not part of the refund
from withholdings or estimated tax payments.

Line 33 – Overpaid Tax
If the amount on line 32 is more than the amount on line 24, your
payments and credits are more than your tax. Subtract the amount on
line 24 from the amount on line 32. Enter the result on line 33. This is
the amount of your overpaid tax. If the amount on line 32 is less than
the amount on line 24, go to line 36.

Line 34 – Amount You Want Applied To Your 2004
Estimated Tax

If you pay estimated tax, you may apply all or part of the amount on
line 33 to your 2004 estimated tax. Enter on line 34 the amount of
line 33 you want applied to your 2004 estimated tax.

Line 35 – Overpaid Tax Available This Year
If you entered an amount on line 34, subtract that amount from line 33.
Enter the result on line 35. You may choose to have this entire amount
refunded to you or you may make contributions to the California
Seniors Special Fund or make voluntary contributions from this
amount. If you choose to make contributions, skip line 36 and go to
Step 7.

Line 36 – Tax Due
If the amount on line 32 is less than the amount on line 24, your tax is
more than your payments and credits. Subtract the amount on line 32
from the amount on line 24. Enter the result on line 36. This is the
amount of your tax due.
There is a penalty for not paying enough tax during the year. You may
have to pay a penalty if:
• The tax due on line 36 is $200 ($100 if married filing separately) or

more; and
• California income tax withheld on line 25 is less than 90% of the

amount of your total tax on line 24.
If you increase your withholding, more of your 2004 state tax liability
will be withheld throughout the year. Doing so could eliminate the need
to make a large payment with your tax return. Or, it could eliminate the
need to make quarterly estimate payments. To increase your withhold-
ing, complete Employment Development Department (EDD) Form DE-4,
Employee's Withholding Allowance Certificate, and give it to your
employer's appropriate payroll staff. You can obtain this form by
calling EDD at (888) 745-3886 or through the Internet at
www.edd.ca.gov or you can get this form from your employer.
Note: Form DE 4 specifically adjusts your CA state withholding and is
not the same as the federal Form W-4, Employee's Withholding
Allowance Certificate.

$512.24 $512.24
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Line 37 – Use Tax
As explained on page 4, you may owe California use tax for purchases
from out-of-state sellers (for example, purchases made by telephone,
over the Internet, by mail, or in person).
You may now report use tax on your income tax return instead of filing
a use tax return with the California State Board of Equalization. To
report use tax on your income tax return, complete the Use Tax
Worksheet below.
If you owe use tax but choose not to report it on your income tax
return, you must report and pay the tax to the State Board of
Equalization. To do so, download a copy of Publication 79-B, California
Use Tax, from www.boe.ca.gov  You can also request a copy by calling
the State Board of Equalization's Information Center at (800) 400-7115
or TTY/TDD (800) 735-2929.
Note: Businesses that have a California seller's permit must continue to
report business purchases subject to use tax on their sales and use tax
returns.
See page 66 for a general explanation of California use tax.

Use Tax Worksheet
Round all amounts to the nearest whole dollar.

1. Enter your purchases from out-of-state or
Internet sellers made without payment of
California Sales/Use tax.1  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $ ________.00
See instructions below “Worksheet, Line 1,Purchases Subject
to Use Tax” for amounts to enter on this line.

2. Enter the applicable sales and use tax rate.2

See page 24  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .    ________
3. Multiply line 1 by the tax rate on line 2.

Enter result here.  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $ ________.00
4. Enter any sales or use tax you paid to another

state for purchases included on line 1.3  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $ ________.00
5. Subtract line 4 from line 3. This is the total use

tax due. Enter the amount due on line 37.
If the amount is less than zero, enter -0-.  . . . . . . . $ ________.00

1. Include handling charges. Do not include any other states’ sales or use tax paid on the
purchase(s).

2. Enter the decimal equivalent of the sales and use tax rate. For example, the decimal
equivalent of 7.25% is 0.0725, and the decimal equivalent of 7.375% is 0.07375. Use
the tax rate applicable to the place in California where the property is used, stored, or
otherwise consumed.

3. This is a credit for tax paid to other states.  You cannot claim a credit greater than the
amount of tax that would have been due if the purchase had been made in California.
For example, if you paid $8.00 sales tax to another state for a purchase, and you would
have paid $6.00 in California, you can claim a credit of only $6.00 for that purchase.

Worksheet, Line 1, Purchases Subject to Use Tax
• Report only purchases from out-of-state or Internet sellers made

during the year that corresponds with the income tax return you are
filing. For example, use your 2003 return to report taxable pur-
chases made in 2003.

• Report items that would have been taxable in a California store. For
example, you would include purchases of clothing, but not
purchases of prescription medicine. If you have questions on
whether a purchase is taxable, visit the State Board of Equalization's
website at www.boe.ca.gov, or call its Information Center at
(800) 400-7115 or TTY/TDD (800) 735-2929.

• If you traveled to a foreign country and brought items back to
California, generally the use tax is due on the purchase price of the
goods you listed on your U.S. Customs Declaration less the $400
per-person exemption. This $400 exemption does not apply to
goods sent or shipped to California by mail or other common
carrier.

• Do not report the following on your income tax return:
• Vehicles, vessels, and trailers that must be registered with the

Department of Motor Vehicles.
• Mobile homes or commercial coaches that must be registered

annually as required by the Health and Safety Code.

• Vessels documented with the U.S. Coast Guard.
• Aircraft.
• Leases of machinery, equipment, vehicles, and other tangible

personal property.
• If your filing status is “married filing separately,” you may elect to

report one-half of the use tax due or the entire amount on your
income tax return. If you elect to report one-half, your spouse may
report the remaining half on his or her income tax return or on the
individual use tax return available from the State Board of
Equalization (see discussion of Publication 79-B on this page).

Step 7 — Contributions
You may make contributions to the funds listed on Form 540A, Side 2,
Step 7. See page 25 for a description of the funds.

Line 38 – Total Contributions
Enter the amount of your total contributions on line 38. If you did not
make any contributions, do not enter an amount on line 38. If you show
an amount on line 35, you must subtract the amount you contribute
from the amount of overpaid tax. If you show an amount on line 36,
you must add the amount you contribute to your tax due.

Step 8 — Refund or Amount You Owe and Direct
Deposit (Refund Only)

Line 39 – Refund or No Amount Due
If you did not enter an amount on line 37 or line 38, enter the amount
from line 35 on line 39. This is the amount that will be refunded to you.
If the amount is less than $1, attach a written request to your
Form 540A to receive the refund.
Subtract line 37 and line 38 from line 35.  If the result is zero or more,
enter the result on line 39.  If the combined amount of line 37 and
line 38 is more than line 35, enter the difference on line 40.
Direct Deposit of Refund
Direct deposit is fast, safe, and convenient. To have your refund directly
deposited into your bank account, fill in the account information on
Form 540A, Side 2, Step 8. Please be sure to fill in all three boxes. Do
not attach a voided check or deposit slip. See the illustration below.
The illustration on this page shows which bank numbers to transfer to
the preprinted boxes on Form 540A, Side 2, Step 8.  Please be sure to
fill in the routing and account numbers and also indicate the account
type.

Do not use a deposit slip to find the bank numbers. Contact
your financial institution for assistance in getting the cor-
rect routing number.

The Franchise Tax Board is not responsible when a financial institution
rejects a direct deposit. If the bank or financial institution rejects the
direct deposit due to an error in the routing number, the Franchise Tax
Board will issue a paper check.

✓ Tip
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Line 40 – Amount You Owe
Add the amount on line 36, line 37, and line 38, if any, and enter the
result on line 40.
To avoid a late filing penalty, file your 2003 Form 540A by the extended
due date even if you cannot pay the amount you owe.
Do not combine your 2003 tax payment and any 2004 estimated tax
payment in the same check. You must prepare two separate checks and
mail each in a separate envelope.
Paying by Check or Money Order – Make your check or money order
payable to the “Franchise Tax Board.” Do not send cash. Write your
social security number and “2003 Form 540A” on the check or money
order.  Enclose, but do not staple, any payment to your return. A
penalty may be imposed if your check is returned by your bank for
insufficient funds.
Other Payment Options
• Electronic Funds Withdrawal – Instead of paying by check or

money order, you can use this convenient option if you e-file.
Simply provide your bank information, amount you want to pay, and
the date you want the balance due to be withdrawn from your
account. Your tax preparation software will offer this option.

• Web Pay – Pay the amount you owe using our secure online
payment service.  Visit our Website at www.ftb.ca.gov and select
“Payment Options.”

• Credit Card – You may use your Discover/NOVUS, MasterCard, Visa
or American Express card to pay your tax. If you pay by credit card,
do not mail form FTB 3519 to us. Call (800) 272-9829 or visit the
Website at www.officialpayments.com, and use the jurisdiction
code 1555. Official Payments Corp. charges a convenience fee for
using this service.

Paying by Credit Card – Whether you e-file or file by mail, you can use
your Discover/Novus, MasterCard, Visa, or American Express card to
pay your personal income taxes (tax return balance due, extension
payment, estimated tax payment, or tax due with bill notice). There is a
convenience fee for this service. This fee is paid directly to Official
Payments Corp. based on the amount of your tax payment.
Convenience Fee
• 2.5% of the tax amount charged (rounded to the nearest cent)
• Minimum fee: $1
Example:
Tax Payment = $753.56 Convenience Fee = $18.84
When will my payments be effective?
Your payment is effective on the date you charge it.
What if I change my mind?
If you pay your tax liability by credit card and later reverse the credit
card transaction, you may be subject to penalties, interest, and other
fees imposed by the Franchise Tax Board for nonpayment or late
payment of your tax liability.
How do I use my credit card to pay my income tax bill?
Once you have determined the type of payment and how much you
owe, you should have the following information ready:
• Your Discover/Novus, MasterCard, Visa, or American Express card
• Credit card number
• Expiration date
• Amount you are paying
• Your and your spouse’s SSN
• First 4 letters of your and your spouse’s last name
• Tax year
• Home phone number (including area code)
• ZIP Code for address where your monthly credit card bill is sent
• FTB Jurisdiction Code: 1555

Go to the Official Payments Corp. Website www.officialpayments.com
and select Payment Center, or use the toll-free number at (800) 2PAY-
TAX or (800) 272-9829. Follow the recorded instructions. Official
Payments Corp. will tell you the convenience fee before you complete
your transaction. You can decide whether to complete the transaction
at that time.
Payment Date : __________________
Confirmation Number: ___________________
If you cannot pay the full amount or can only make a partial payment
for the amount shown on line 40, you may request monthly payments.
For additional information regarding Installment Payments, see
Question 4 on page 28.

Line 41 – Underpayment of Estimated Tax
You may owe a penalty if:
• Line 36 is $200 ($100 if married filing separately) or more and

more than 20% of the tax shown on line 24; or
• You underpaid your 2003 estimated tax liability for any payment

period. The Franchise Tax Board can figure the penalty for you when
you file your return and send you a bill. Or you can get
form FTB 5805, Underpayment of Estimated Tax by Individuals and
Fiduciaries, to see if you owe a penalty and to figure the amount. If
you complete form FTB 5805, be sure to attach it to the back of
Form 540A. Enter the amount of the penalty on line 41 and fill in the
circle on line 41. You must complete and attach form FTB 5805 if
you claim a waiver of the penalty or use the annualized income
installment method.

Note: Do not reduce the amount on line 33 or increase the amount on
line 36 by any penalty or interest amounts.
See page 53 for information on estimated tax payments and how to
avoid the underpayment penalty.

Line 42 – 2004 Tax Forms
If your Form 540A is prepared by someone else or if you do not need
tax forms mailed to you next year, fill in the circle on line 42.

Step 9 — Sign Your Return
You must sign your return in the space provided on Side 2. If you file a
joint return, your spouse must sign it also. See page 8 “Helpful Hints”
for information on verifying and checking information on your return,
attachments to your return, and assembling and mailing your return.
Joint Return. If you file a joint return, both you and your spouse are
generally responsible for the tax and any interest or penalties due on
the return. This means that if one spouse does not pay the tax due, the
other may have to. See “Innocent Spouse Relief” on page 66.
Mailing Your Return
Mail your return in the envelope provided in this booklet. If your return
shows a refund or no amount due, be sure to attach the green label  to
the front of the envelope. If your return has an amount you owe, be
sure to attach the white label to the front of the envelope.
If you have misplaced your envelope, see page 8, “Mailing your return”
for the correct address.



Page 16 Personal Income Tax Booklet 2003

Instructions for Form 540 — California Resident Income Tax Return
These instructions are based on the Internal Revenue Code (IRC) as of January 1, 2001, and the California Revenue and Taxation Code (R&TC).

Before You Begin
You must complete your federal income tax return (Form 1040, 1040A,
1040EZ, or federal TeleFile Tax Record) before you begin your
California Form 540. You will use information from your federal
income tax return to complete your Form 540. Be sure to complete and
mail Form 540 by April 15, 2004. If you cannot mail your return by the
due date, see page 2.

You may qualify for the federal earned income credit. See
page 5 for more information. There is no comparable state
credit.

Step 1 — Name(s) and Address
Is there a label with your name and address on the front of your
booklet?
Yes. Attach the label to your completed return.  Make sure that the
information on your label is correct.  Cross out any errors and print the
correct information on the label.
No.  Print your first name, middle initial, last name, and address in the
spaces provided at the top of Form 540. See page 8, Helpful Hints,
“Filling in your return.”
Private Mail Box.  If you lease a private mailbox (PMB) from a private
business rather than a P.O. box from the United States Postal Service,
include the box number in the address area labeled “PMB no.”
Foreign Address.  Enter the information in the following order: city,
province or state, and country.  Follow the country's practice for
entering the postal code.  Do not abbreviate the country name.
Principal Business Activity Code
Enter the numeric principal business activity code from federal
Schedule C, line B.

Step 1a — Social Security Number(s)
Enter your social security number(s) in the spaces provided. To protect
your privacy, your social security number(s) are not printed on your
label. If you file a joint return, enter the social security numbers in the
same order as the names.
Note: If you do not have a social security number because you are a
nonresident or resident alien for federal tax purposes, and the IRS
issued you an Individual Taxpayer Identification Number (ITIN), enter
the ITIN in the space for the social security number.

Step 2 — Filing Status
Fill in only one of the circles for line 1 through line 5. Be sure to enter
the required additional information if you filled in the circle for line 3 or
line 5.
You must use the same filing status for California that you used for
your federal income tax return.
Exception: If you file a joint return for federal, you may file separately
for California if either spouse was:
• An active member of the United States armed forces or any auxiliary

military branch during 2003, or
• A nonresident for the entire year and had no income from California

sources during 2003.
If you had no federal filing requirement, use the same filing status for
California you would have used to file a federal income tax return.
Note: If you filed a joint return and either you or your spouse was a
nonresident for 2003, you must file the Long or Short Form 540NR,
California Nonresident or Part-Year Resident Income Tax Return.

Line 1 — Single
Fill in the circle on line 1 if any of the following was true on December
31, 2003:
• You were never married;
• You were legally separated under a decree of divorce or of separate

maintenance; or
• You were widowed before January 1, 2003, and did not remarry in

2003.

Line 2 — Married Filing Jointly
Fill in the circle on line 2 if any of the following is true:
• You were married as of December 31, 2003, even if you did not live

with your spouse at the end of 2003;
• Your spouse died in 2003 and you did not remarry in 2003; or
• Your spouse died in 2004 before you filed a 2003 return.

Line 3 — Married Filing Separately
If you fill in the circle on line 3, be sure to enter your spouse's full
name on line 3 and social security number in Step 1a.
Note:
• Community property rules apply to the division of income if you use

the married filing separately status. For more information, get
FTB Pub. 1031, Guidelines for Determining Resident Status, and
FTB Pub. 1051A, Guidelines for Married Filing Separate Returns.
See “Order Forms and Publications” on the back cover.

• You cannot claim a personal exemption credit for your spouse even
if your spouse had no income, is not filing a return, and is not
claimed as a dependent on another person's return.

• You may be able to file as head of household if you had a child
living with you and you lived apart from your spouse during the
entire last six months of 2003.

Line 4 — Head of Household
This filing status is for unmarried individuals and certain married
individuals living apart (considered unmarried) who provide a home for
certain other persons. You are entitled to use the head of household
filing status only if all of the following apply:
• You were unmarried or considered unmarried on

December 31, 2003;
• You paid more than one-half the cost of keeping up a home for the

year 2003;
• For more than half the year, your home was the main home for you

and another person who lived with you;
• The other person was your qualifying relative; and
• You were not a nonresident alien at any time during the year.
For further information, log on to our Website at www.ftb.ca.gov or get
FTB Pub. 1540, California Head of Household Filing Status Information.
See code 934 on the back cover to order FTB Pub.1540 by telephone.

e-file and you can close this book now!  The software you
use to e-file will help you find out if you qualify to claim the
head of household filing status.Most software companies
also include the Head of Household Schedule (4803e),
which will help verify your eligibility to the FTB. See
www.ftb.ca.gov.

✓ Tip

✓ Tip
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Line 5 — Qualifying Widow(er) with Dependent Child
Fill in the circle on line 5 and use the joint return tax rates for 2003 if
all five of the following apply:
• Your spouse died in 2001 or 2002 and you did not remarry in 2003;

and
• You have a child, stepchild, adopted child, or foster child whom you

can claim as a dependent; and
• This child lived in your home for all of 2003. Temporary absences,

such as for vacation or school, count as time lived in the home; and
• You paid over half the cost of keeping up your home for this child;

and
• You could have filed a joint return with your spouse the year he or

she died, even if you actually did not do so.
Note: If your spouse died in 2003, see the instructions for line 2 and
line 3.

Step 3 — Exemptions
Line 6 – Can be Claimed as a Dependent

Fill in the circle on line 6 if your parent (or someone else)
can claim you as a dependent on his or her tax return, even
if he or she chooses not to.

Line 7 – Personal Exemptions
Did you fill in the circle on line 6?
No Follow the instructions on Form 540, line 7.
Yes Ignore the instructions on Form 540, line 7. Instead, enter in the

box on line 7 the amount shown below for your filing status:
• Single or married filing separately, enter -0-;
• Head of household, enter -0-;
• Married filing jointly and both you and your spouse can be

claimed as dependents, enter -0-; or
• Married filing jointly and only one spouse can be claimed as

a dependent, enter 1.
Caution: You may not claim this credit if someone else can claim you
as a dependent on his or her return.

Line 8 – Blind Exemptions
The first year you claim this exemption credit, you must attach a
doctor’s statement to the back of Form 540 indicating you or your
spouse are visually impaired. You are visually impaired if you cannot
see better than 20/200 while wearing glasses or contact lenses, or if
your field of vision is not more than 20 degrees.
Caution: You may not claim this credit if someone else can claim you
as a dependent on their return.

Line 9 – Senior Exemptions
If you were 65 years of age or older by December 31, 2003*, you
should claim an additional exemption credit on line 9. If you are
married, each spouse 65 years of age or older should claim an
additional credit. You may contribute all or part of this credit to the
California Seniors Special Fund. See page 25 for information about this
fund.
*If your 65th birthday is on January 1, 2004, you are considered to be
age 65 on December 31, 2003.
Caution: You may not claim this credit if someone else can claim you
as a dependent on their return.

Line 10 – Dependent Exemptions
To claim an exemption credit for each of your dependents, write each
dependent’s name and relationship to you in the space provided. If
additional space is needed, attach a separate sheet of paper. The
persons you list as dependents must be the same persons you listed as
dependents on your federal income tax return. Multiply the number you
entered by the pre-printed dollar amount and enter the result.

Line 11 – Total Personal, Blind, and Senior Exemptions
Add line 7 through line 10 and enter the total amount of all exemptions,
personal and dependents.

Step 4 — Taxable Income
Refer to your completed federal income tax return to complete Step 4.

Line 12 – State Wages
Enter the total amount of your state wages from all states
from each of your Form(s) W-2. This amount should be on
Form W-2, box 16.

If you received wages and do not have a Form W-2, see “Attachments
to your return” on page 8.

Line 14 – California Adjustments — Subtractions
[from Schedule CA (540), line 34, column B]

If there are differences between your federal and California income or
deductions, you must complete Schedule CA (540), California
Adjustments — Residents. Follow the instructions for Schedule CA
(540) beginning on page 45. Enter on this line the amount from
Schedule CA (540), line 34, column B. If a negative amount, see
Schedule CA (540), line 34 instructions, page 48.
Note: If there are no differences between your federal and California
income or deductions, do not file a Schedule CA (540).

Line 15 – Subtotal
Subtract the amount on line 14 from the amount on line 13. Enter the
result on line 15. If the amount on line 13 is less than zero, combine
the amounts on line 13 and line 14 and enter the result in parentheses.
For example: “(12,325).”

Line 16 – California Adjustments — Additions
[from Schedule CA (540), line 34, column C]

If there are differences between your federal and California income or
deductions, you must complete Schedule CA (540), California
Adjustments — Residents. Follow the instructions for
Schedule CA (540) beginning on page 45. Enter on this line the amount
from Schedule CA (540), line 34, column C. If a negative amount, see
Schedule CA (540), line 34 instructions, page 48.

Line 18 – California Itemized Deductions or California
Standard Deduction

You must decide whether to itemize your charitable contributions,
medical expenses, interest paid, taxes, etc. or take the standard
deduction. Your California income tax will be less if you take the larger
of:
• Your California itemized deductions; or
• Your California standard deduction.
If you are married and file a separate return, you and your spouse must
either both itemize your deductions or both take the standard
deduction.
Itemized deductions. Figure your California itemized deductions by
completing Schedule CA (540), Part II, line 35 through line 40. Enter
the result on Form 540, line 18.
Note: If you did not itemize deductions on your federal income tax
return but will itemize deductions for your California Form 540, first
complete a federal Schedule A, Itemized Deductions. Then complete
Schedule CA (540), Part II, line 35 through line 40.
Standard deduction. Find your standard deduction on the California
Standard Deduction Chart for Most People on page 18. If you filled in
the circle on Form 540, line 6, use the California Standard Deduction
Worksheet for Dependents on page 18.

�����
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California Standard Deduction Chart for Most People
Do not use this chart if your parent, or someone else, can claim you
(or your spouse, if married) as a dependent on his or her tax return.
Your Filing Status Enter On Line 18
1 – Single  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $3,070
2 – Married filing jointly  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $6,140
3 – Married filing separately  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $3,070
4 – Head of household  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $6,140
5 – Qualifying widow(er)  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $6,140
Note: The California standard deduction amounts are less than the
federal standard deduction amounts.

California Standard Deduction Worksheet for Dependents
Use this worksheet only if your parent, or someone else, can claim
you (or your spouse if married) as a dependent on his or her tax
return.
1. Enter your earned income from: line 1 of the

“Standard Deduction Worksheet for Dependents’’
in the instructions for federal Form 1040;
Form 1040A; or from line A of the worksheet
on the back of Form 1040EZ. If you used federal
TeleFile, add $250 to the total of your wages
from all Form(s) W-2, box 1 and enter the
result here  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 1 ___________

2. Minimum standard deduction  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 2 ___________
3. Enter the larger of line 1 or line 2 here  . . . . . . . . 3 ___________
4. Enter the amount shown for your filing status:

• Single or married filing separately,
enter $3,070  . . . 4 ___________

• Married filing jointly, head of household,
or qualifying widow(er), enter $6,140

5. Standard deduction. Enter the smaller of
line 3 or line 4 here and on Form 540, line 18  . . 5 ___________

Step 5 — Tax
When you figure your tax, be sure to use the correct filing status and
taxable income amount.

Line 20 – Tax
To figure your tax, use one of the following methods and fill in the
matching circle on line 20:
• Tax Table. If your taxable income on line 19 is $100,000 or less,

you must use the tax table beginning on page 60. Be sure you use
the correct filing status column in the tax table.

• Tax Rate Schedules. If your taxable income on line 19 is over
$100,000, you must use the tax rate schedules on page 65.

• FTB 3800. Generally, you must use form FTB 3800, Tax Computa-
tion for Children Under Age 14 with Investment Income, to figure
the tax on a separate Form 540 for your child who was under age 14
on January 1, 2004, and who had more than $1,500 of investment
income. Attach form FTB 3800 to the child’s Form 540.

• FTB 3803. If, as a parent, you elect to report your child’s interest
and dividend income of $7,500 or less (but not less than $750) on
your return, complete form FTB 3803, Parents’ Election to Report
Child’s Interest and Dividends. You must file a separate form
FTB 3803 for each child whose income you elect to include on your
Form 540. Add the amount of tax, if any, from each form FTB 3803,
line 9, to the amount of your tax from the tax table or tax rate
schedules and enter the result on Form 540, line 20. Attach form(s)
FTB 3803 to your return.

Note: To prevent possible delays in processing your return or refund,
be sure to enter the correct tax amount on this line.  To automatically
figure your tax or to verify your tax calculation, use our online tax
calculator by visiting our Website at www.ftb.ca.gov

e-file and you won't have to do the math.  Go to our
Website at www.ftb.ca.gov

Line 21 – Exemption Credits
Use your exemption credits to reduce your tax. If your federal adjusted
gross income (AGI) on line 13 is more than the amount shown below
for your filing status, your credits will be limited.
If your filing status is: Is Form 540, line 13 more than:
Single or married filing separately  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $135,714
Married filing jointly or qualifying widow(er)  . . . . . . . . . . . . . $271,432
Head of household  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $203,574
Yes Complete the AGI Limitation Worksheet below.
No Follow the instructions on Form 540, line 21.

AGI Limitation Worksheet
a Enter the amount from Form 540, line 13  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . a _______
b Enter the amount for your filing status on line b:

Single or married filing separately  . . . . . . . . $135,714
Married filing jointly or

qualifying widow(er)  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $271,432 b _______
Head of household  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $203,574

c Subtract line b from line a  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . c _______
d Divide line c by $2,500 ($1,250 if married filing

separately). Note: If the result is not a whole
number, round it to the next higher whole number  . . . . . . . . d _______

e Multiply line d by $6  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . e _______
f Add the numbers from the boxes on Form 540, line 7,

line 8, and line 9 (not dollar amounts)  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . f _______
g Multiply line e by line f  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . g _______
h Enter the total dollar amount for line 7, line 8, and line 9  . . . h _______
i Subtract line g from line h. If zero or less, enter -0-  . . . . . . . i _______
j Enter the number from the box on Form 540, line 10

(not the dollar amount)  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . j _______
k Multiply line e by line j  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . k _______
l Enter the dollar amount (that you filled in) from

Form 540, line 10  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . l _______
m Subtract line k from line l. If zero or less, enter -0-  . . . . . . . m _______
n Add line i and line m. Enter the result here and on

Form 540, line 21  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . n _______

Line 23 – Tax from Schedule G-1 and form FTB 5870A
Fill in the circle for and enter the amount of taxes from:
• Schedule G-1, Tax on Lump-Sum Distributions; and
• Form FTB 5870A, Tax on Accumulation Distribution of Trusts.

Step 6 — Special Credits and Nonrefundable
Renter’s Credit

A variety of California tax credits are available to reduce your tax if you
qualify. To figure and claim most special credits, you must complete a
separate form or schedule and attach it to your Form 540. The Credit
Chart on the page 26 describes the credits and provides the name,
credit code, and number of the required form or schedule. Many
credits are limited to a certain percentage or a certain dollar amount. In
addition, the total amount you may claim for all credits is limited by
tentative minimum tax (TMT). Answer the following questions before
you claim credits on your tax return.
1. Do you qualify to claim the nonrefundable renter’s credit? Complete

the qualification record on page 27.
Check ����� Yes or ����� No, then go to Question 2.

2. Are you claiming any other special credit listed on the Credit Chart
on page 26?

No If you checked “Yes” for Question 1 and entered an amount on
Form 540, line 31, go to line 33. If you checked “No” for Ques-
tion 1, skip to the instructions for line 34.

Yes Figure your credit using the form, schedule, worksheet, or
certificate identified in the Credit Chart. Then go to Box A to see if
the total amount you may claim for all credits is limited by TMT. If
you checked “Yes” for Question 1, be sure that you entered your
nonrefundable renter’s credit on line 31.

}

$750.00

✓ Tip
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Box A – Did you complete federal Schedule C, D, E, or F and claim or receive
any of the following:

• Accelerated depreciation in excess of straight-line;
• Intangible drilling costs;
• Depletion;
• Circulation expenditures;
• Research and experimental expenditures;
• Mining exploration/development costs;
• Amortization of pollution control facilities;
• Income/loss from tax shelter farm activities;
• Income/loss from passive activities;
• Income from long-term contracts using the percentage of

completion method;
• Pass-through AMT adjustment from an estate or trust

reported on Schedule K-1 (541); or
• Excluded gain on the sale of qualified small business stock
Yes You must complete Schedule P (540). See “Order Forms and

Publications” on the back cover.
No Go to Box B.

Box B – Did you claim or receive any of the following:
• Investment interest expense;
• Income from incentive stock options in excess of the amount

reported on your return; or
• Income from installment sales of certain property.

Note: Net operating losses are suspended for two years 2002-2003.
Yes You must complete Schedule P (540). See “Order Forms and

Publications” on the back cover.
No Go to Box C.

Box C – If your filing status is: Is Form 540, line 17 more than:
Single or head of household  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $187,161
Married filing jointly or qualifying widow(er)  . . . . . . . . . . . . $249,548
Married filing separately  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $124,773
Yes You must complete Schedule P (540). See “Order Forms and

Publications” on the back cover.
No Your credits are not limited. Go to the instructions for

Form 540, line 28.

Line 28 through Line 30 – Additional Special Credits
Each credit has a code number. To claim only one or two credits, enter
the credit name, code number, and amount of the credit on line 28 and
line 29. To claim more than two credits, use Schedule P (540). See
“Order Forms and Publications” on the back cover. List two of the
credits on line 28 and line 29. Enter the total of any remaining credits
from Schedule P (540) on line 30.
Important: Attach Schedule P (540) and any supporting schedules or
statements to your Form 540.
Carryovers: If you claim a credit with carryover provisions and the
amount of the credit available this year exceeds your tax, you may carry
over any excess credit to future years until the credit is used (unless the
carryover period is a fixed number of years). If you claim a credit
carryover for an expired credit, use form FTB 3540, Credit Carryover
Summary, to figure the amount of the credit. Otherwise, enter the
amount of the credit on Schedule P (540), Part III, and do not attach
form FTB 3540.

Credit for Joint Custody Head of Household — Code 170
Note: You may not claim this credit if you used either the head of
household or qualifying widow(er) filing status.
You may claim a credit if you were unmarried at the end of 2003 (or if
married, you lived apart from your spouse for all of 2003 and you used
the married filing separately filing status); and if you furnished more
than one-half the household expenses for your home that also served as
the main home of your child, step-child, or grandchild for at least 146
days but not more than 219 days of the taxable year. If the child is
married, you must be entitled to claim a dependent exemption credit for
the child.
Also, the custody arrangement for the child must be part of a decree of
dissolution or separate maintenance or must be part of a written

x .30

x .02

x .50

agreement between the parents where the proceedings have been
initiated, but a decree of dissolution or separate maintenance has not
yet been issued.
Use the worksheet below to figure the joint custody head of household
credit.
1. Enter the amount from Form 540, line 24  . . . . . . . . . . . 1 _______
2. Credit percentage — 30%  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 2 _______
3. Credit amount. Multiply line 1 by line 2.

Enter the result or $327, whichever is less  . . . . . . . . . . 3 _______

Credit for Dependent Parent — Code 173
Note: You may not claim the credit for dependent parent if you used
the single, head of household, qualifying widow(er), or married filing
jointly filing status.
You may claim this credit only if:
• You were married at the end of 2003 and you used the married filing

separately filing status;
• Your spouse was not a member of your household during the last

six months of the year; and
• You furnished over one-half the household expenses for your

dependent mother’s or father’s home, whether or not she or he lived
in your home.

To figure the amount of this credit, use the worksheet above for the
credit for joint custody head of household.

Credit for Senior Head of Household — Code 163
You may claim this credit if you:
• Were 65 years of age or older on December 31, 2003*;
• Qualified as a head of household in 2001 or 2002 by providing a

household for a qualifying individual who died during 2001 or 2002;
and

• Did not have adjusted gross income over $53,084 for 2003.
*If your 65th birthday is on January 1, 2004, you are considered to be
age 65 on December 31, 2003.
Note: If you meet all the conditions listed above, you do not need to
qualify to use the head of household filing status for 2003 in order to
claim this credit.
Use this worksheet to figure this credit.
1. Enter the amount from Form 540, line 19  . . . . . . . . . . 1________
2. Credit percentage — 2%  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 2________
3. Credit amount. Multiply line 1 by line 2.

Enter the result or $1,000, whichever is less  . . . . . . . 3________

Credit for Child Adoption Costs — Code 197
For the year in which an order of adoption is entered, you may claim a
credit for 50% of the cost of adopting a child who is a citizen or legal
resident of the United States and who was in the custody of a California
public agency or a California political subdivision. You may include the
following costs if directly related to the adoption process:
• Fees of the Department of Social Services or a licensed adoption

agency;
• Medical expenses not reimbursed by insurance; and
• Travel expenses for the adoptive family.
Note: Any deduction for the expenses used to claim this credit must be
reduced by the amount of the child adoption costs credit claimed.
Use the worksheet below to figure this credit. If more than one adoption
qualifies for this credit, complete a separate worksheet for each
adoption. The maximum credit is limited to $2,500 per minor child.
1. Enter qualifying costs for the child  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 1________
2. Credit percentage — 50%  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 2________
3. Credit amount. Multiply line 1 by line 2.

Do not enter more than $2,500  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 3________
Your allowable credit is limited to $2,500 for 2003. You may carry over
the excess credit to future years until the credit is used.



Page 20 Personal Income Tax  Booklet 2003

Instructions: Form 540 Automated Toll-Free Phone Service (800) 338-0505

Line 31 – Nonrefundable renter’s credit
Go to the instructions for Step 6 on page 18.

Line 34 – Subtract the amount on line 33 from the amount on
line 25. Enter the result on line 34. If the amount on line 33 is more
than the amount on line 25, enter -0-. If you owe interest on deferred
tax from installment obligations, include the additional tax, if any, in the
amount you enter on line 34. Write “IRC Section 453 interest” or
“IRC Section 453A interest” and the amount on the dotted line to the
left of the amount on line 34.

Step 7 — Other Taxes
Attach the specific form or statement required for each entry in this
step.

Line 35 – Alternative Minimum Tax (AMT)
If you claim certain types of deductions, exclusions, and credits, you
may owe AMT if your total income is more than: $66,547 if married
filing jointly or qualifying widow(er); $49,910 if single or head of
household; or $33,272 if married filing separately.
A child under age 14 may owe AMT if the sum of the amount on line 19
(taxable income) and any preference items listed on Schedule P (540)
and included on the return is more than the sum of $5,500 and the
child’s earned income.
AMT income does not include income, adjustments, and items of tax
preference related to any trade or business of a qualified taxpayer who
has gross receipts, less returns and allowances, during the taxable year
of less than $1,000,000 from all trades or businesses.
Get Schedule P (540) for more information. See “Order Forms and
Publications” on the back cover.

Line 36 – Other Taxes and Credit Recapture
If you used form(s) FTB 3501, Employer Child Care Program/Contribu-
tion Credit; FTB 3535, Manufacturers’ Investment Credit; FTB 3805P,
Additional Taxes on Qualified Plans (Including IRAs) and Other Tax-
Favored Accounts; FTB 3805Z, Enterprise Zone Deduction and Credit
Summary; FTB 3806, Los Angeles Revitalization Zone (LARZ) Deduc-
tion and Credit Summary; FTB 3807, Local Agency Military Base
Recovery Area Deduction and Credit Summary; FTB 3808, Manufactur-
ing Enhancement Area Credit Summary; or FTB 3809, Targeted Tax
Area Deduction and Credit Summary; include the additional tax, if any,
on line 36. Write the form number on the dotted line to the left of the
amount on line 36.

Step 8 — Payments
Make sure you have your Form(s) W-2, W-2G, 1099-MISC, and 1099-R
showing California income tax withheld.

Line 38 – California Income Tax Withheld
Enter the total California income tax withheld from your:
• Form(s) W-2, box 17; • Form(s) 1099-MISC, box 16; or
• Form(s) W-2G, box 14; • Form(s) 1099-R, box 10.
Note: The Franchise Tax Board verifies all withholding claimed from a
Form W-2, W-2G, 1099-MISC, or 1099-R with the Employment
Development Department.
Caution: Do not include city or county tax withheld or tax withheld by
other states. Do not include withholding from Forms 592-B, 594, or
597 on this line.
Caution:  Generally, tax should not be withheld on Form 1099-MISC.  If
you want to pre-pay tax on income reported on Form 1099-MISC, you
may use Form 540-ES, Estimated Tax for Individuals.
If you also received Form(s) 1099 showing California income tax
withheld on real estate sales and partnership distributions, include the
amount(s) withheld in the total on line 38 and attach a copy of
Form(s) 1099 to your return.

Line 39 – 2003 CA Estimated Tax and Other Payments
Enter the total of any:
• California estimated tax payments you made using 2003

Form 540-ES;
• Overpayment from your 2002 California income tax return that you

applied to your 2003 estimated tax;
• Payment you sent with form FTB 3519, Payment Voucher for

Automatic Extension for Individuals; and
• California estimated tax payments made on your behalf by an estate,

trust, or S Corporation on Schedule K-1 (541), Schedule K-1
(100S).

Note: To view payments you have made and/or to obtain your current
account balance, visit our Website at www.ftb.ca.gov and click on
“Check Account Balance.”
If you and your spouse paid joint estimated tax but are now filing
separate income tax returns, either of you may claim all of the amount
paid or you may each claim a part of it. Send a statement to FTB signed
by you and your spouse, explaining how you want your payments
divided 30-45 days prior to filing your return(s). Be sure to show both
social security numbers on your separate returns. If you or your
spouse made separate estimated tax payments, but are now filing a
joint income tax return, add the amounts you each paid. Attach a
statement to the front of Form 540 explaining that payments were
made under both social security numbers.
Note: You do not have to make estimated tax payments if you are a
nonresident or new resident of California in 2004 and did not have a
California tax liability in 2003.

Line 40 - Real Estate Withholding
If you had California income tax withheld from the sales of your
California real estate, enter the total California tax withheld from your
Form 597, Real Estate Withholding Tax Statement.  Also, if you
received a nonresident withholding credit, enter the total California tax
withheld from your Forms 592-B or 594 on this line.  Attach a copy of
Form 592-B, 594, or 597 to the lower front of Form 540, Side 1.
Caution:  Do not include withholding from Form(s) W-2's or 1099's on
this line.

Line 41 – Excess California SDI (or VPDI) Withheld
If California State Disability Insurance (SDI) or Voluntary Plan Disability
Insurance (VPDI) was withheld from your wages by a single employer,
at more than 0.9% of your gross wages, you may not claim excess SDI
(or VPDI) on your Form 540. Contact the employer for a refund.
You may be entitled to claim a credit for excess SDI (or VPDI) only if
you meet all of the following conditions:
• You had two or more employers during 2003;
• You received more than $56,916 in wages; and
• The amounts of SDI (or VPDI) withheld appear on your Forms W-2.

Be sure to attach your Forms W-2 to your Form 540.
Complete the Excess SDI (or VPDI) Worksheet on the next page to
figure the amount to enter on line 41.



Personal Income Tax Booklet 2003 Page 21

Automated Toll-Free Phone Service (800) 338-0505 Instructions: Form 540

Excess SDI (or VPDI) Worksheet
Follow the instructions below to figure the amount of income tax to
enter on Form 540, line 41. If you are married and file a joint return,
you must figure the amount of excess SDI (or VPDI) separately for
each spouse.

Your
You Spouse

1. Add amounts of SDI (or VPDI) withheld
shown on your Forms W-2. Enter the
total here  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 1 _______________

2. 2003 SDI (or VPDI) limit  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 2 _______________
3. Excess SDI (or VPDI) withheld. Subtract

line 2 from line 1. Enter the result here
and enter on Form 540, line 41  . . . . . . . . . . . . 3 _______________
Note: If zero or less, enter -0- on line 41.

Line 42 through Line 45 – Child and Dependent Care
Expenses Credit

You may be able to claim this credit if you paid someone to care for
your child under the age of 13, other dependent who is physically or
mentally incapable of caring for him or herself, or spouse if physically
or mentally incapable of caring for him or herself. To claim this credit,
your adjusted gross income must be less than or equal to $100,000 and
you must complete and attach form FTB 3506, Child and Dependent
Care Expenses Credit, included in this booklet.

Line 42 and Line 43
Enter the qualifying person’s social security number.  Do not enter more
than one qualifying person’s social security number on line 42 or line 43
from form FTB 3506, Part III, line 2. If you have more than two
qualifying persons, enter only the first two qualifying persons listed on
form FTB 3506, Part III, line 2.

Line 44
Enter the amount from form FTB 3506, Part III, line 8 (do not round this
amount).

Line 45
Enter the credit amount from form FTB 3506, Part III, line 12 (do not
round this amount).
Note: If you received a refund for 2002, you may receive a
Form 1099-G, Certain Government Payments. The refund amount
reported on your Form 1099-G will be different from the amount shown
on your tax return if you claimed the Child and Dependent Care
Expenses Credit. This is because the credit is not part of the refund
from withholdings or estimated tax payments.

Step 9 — Overpaid Tax or Tax Due
To avoid a delay in the processing of your return, be sure you enter the
correct amounts on line 47 through line 50.

Line 47 – Overpaid Tax
If the amount on line 46 is more than the amount on line 37, your
payments and credits are more than your tax. Subtract the amount on
line 37 from the amount on line 46. Enter the result on line 47.

Line 48 – Amount You Want Applied to Your 2004
Estimated Tax

You may apply all or part of the amount on line 47 to your estimated tax
for 2004. Enter on line 48 the amount of line 47 that you want applied to
your 2004 estimated tax.

Line 49 – Overpaid Tax Available This Year
If you entered an amount on line 48, subtract it from the amount on
line 47. Enter the result on line 49. You may choose to have this entire
amount refunded to you or you may make contributions to the California
Seniors Special Fund or make other voluntary contributions from this
amount. If you make a contribution, skip line 50 and go to Step 10.

Line 50 – Tax Due
If the amount on line 46 is less than the amount on line 37, subtract the
amount on line 46 from the amount on line 37. Enter the result on
line 50. Your tax is more than your payments and credits.
There is a penalty for not paying enough tax during the year. You may
have to pay a penalty if:
• The tax due on line 50 is $200 or more ($100 or more if married

filing separately); and
• The amount of state income tax withheld on line 38 is less than 90%

of the amount of your total tax on line 37.
If you increase your withholding, more of your 2004 state tax liability
will be withheld throughout the year.  Doing so could eliminate the need
to make a large payment with your tax return.  Or, it could eliminate the
need to make quarterly estimate payments.  To increase your withhold-
ing, complete Employment Development Department (EDD) Form DE-4,
Employee's Withholding Allowance Certificate, and give it to your
employer's appropriate payroll staff.  You can obtain this form by calling
EDD at (888) 745-3886 or through the Internet at www.edd.ca.gov or
you can get this form from your employer.
Note: Form DE 4 specifically adjusts your CA state withholding and is
not the same as the federal Form W-4, Employee's Withholding
Allowance Certificate.

Line 51 – Use Tax
As explained on page 4, you may owe California use tax for purchases
from out-of-state sellers (for example, purchases made by telephone,
over the Internet, by mail, or in person). You may now report use tax on
your income tax return instead of filing a use tax return with the
California State Board of Equalization. To report use tax on your income
tax return, complete the Use Tax Worksheet below.
If you owe use tax but choose not to report it on your income tax return
you must report and pay the tax to the State Board of Equalization. To
do so, download a copy of Publication 79-B, California Use Tax, from
www.boe.ca.gov  You can also request a copy by calling the State
Board of Equalization's Information Center at (800) 400-7115 or
TTY/TDD (800) 735-2929.
Note: Businesses that have a California seller's permit must continue to
report business purchases subject to use tax on their sales and use tax
returns.
See page 66 for a general explanation of California use tax.

Use Tax Worksheet
Round all amounts to the nearest whole dollar.

1. Enter your purchases from out-of-state or Internet
sellers made without payment of California
Sales/Use tax.1  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $ ________.00

2. Enter the applicable sales and use tax rate.2

See page 24  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .    ________
3. Multiply line 1 by the tax rate on line 2.

Enter result here.  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $ ________.00
4. Enter any sales or use tax you paid to another state for

purchases included on line 1.3  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $ ________.00
5. Subtract line 4 from line 3. This is the total use tax due.

Enter the amount due on line 51.  If the amount is
less than zero, enter -0-.  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $ ________.00

1. Include handling charges. Do not include any other states’ sales or use tax paid on the
purchase(s).

2. Enter the decimal equivalent of the sales and use tax rate. For example, the decimal
equivalent of 7.25% is 0.0725, and the decimal equivalent of 7.375% is 0.07375. Use
the tax rate applicable to the place in California where the property is used, stored, or
otherwise consumed.

3. This is a credit for tax paid to other states.  You cannot claim a credit greater than the
amount of tax that would have been due if the purchase had been made in California. For
example, if you paid $8.00 sales tax to another state for a purchase, and you would have
paid $6.00 in California, you can claim a credit of only $6.00 for that purchase.

$512.24 $512.24
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Instructions: Form 540 Automated Toll-Free Phone Service (800) 338-0505

Worksheet, Line 1, Purchases Subject to Use Tax
• Report only purchases from out-of-state or Internet sellers made

during the year that corresponds with the income tax return you are
filing. For example, use your 2003 return to report taxable pur-
chases made in 2003.

• Report items that would have been taxable in a California store. For
example, you would include purchases of clothing, but not
purchases of prescription medicine. If you have questions on
whether a purchase is taxable, visit the State Board of Equalization's
website at www.boe.ca.gov, or call its Information Center at
(800) 400-7115 or TTY/TDD (800) 735-2929.

• If you traveled to a foreign country and brought items back to
California, generally the use tax is due on the purchase price of the
goods you listed on your U.S. Customs Declaration less the $400
per-person exemption. This $400 exemption does not apply to
goods sent or shipped to California by mail or other common
carrier.

• Do not report the following on your income tax return:
• Vehicles, vessels, and trailers that must be registered with the

Department of Motor Vehicles.
• Mobile homes or commercial coaches that must be registered

annually as required by the Health and Safety Code.
• Vessels documented with the U.S. Coast Guard.
• Aircraft.
• Leases of machinery, equipment, vehicles, and other tangible

personal property.
• If your filing status is “married filing separately,” you may elect to

report one-half of the use tax due or the entire amount on your
income tax return. If you elect to report one-half, your spouse may
report the remaining half on his or her income tax return or on the
individual use tax return available from the State Board of
Equalization (see discussion of Publication 79-B on previous page).

Step 10 — Contributions
You may make contributions to the funds listed on Form 540, Side 2,
Step 10. See page 25 for a description of the funds.

Step 11 — Refund or Amount You Owe
Be sure to add or subtract correctly to figure the amount of your refund
or the amount you owe.

Line 65 – Refund or No Amount Due
If you did not enter an amount on line 51 or line 64, enter the amount
from line 49 on line 65. This is the amount that will be refunded to you.
If it is less than $1, you must attach a written statement to your
Form 540 requesting the refund.
Subtract line 51 and line 64 from line 49.  If the combined amount of
line 51 and line 64 is more than line 49, enter the difference on line 66.
To have your refund directly deposited into your bank account, fill in
the account information on the tax return. See the illustration on
page 23 for the correct numbers to transfer to your return.
Want a fast refund? Get your refund in 10 days or less when you e-file
your return. Visit our Website at www.ftb.ca.gov for more information.

Line 66 – Amount You Owe
Add the amount on line 50, line 51, and line 64, if any.  Enter the result
on line 66.
To avoid a late filing penalty, file your Form 540 by the extended due
date even if you cannot pay the amount you owe.
Do not combine your 2003 tax payment and any 2004 estimated tax
payment in the same check. Prepare two separate checks and mail
each in a separate envelope.
Paying by Check or Money Order – Make your check or money order
payable to the Franchise Tax Board. Do not send cash.  Write your
social security number and “2003 Form 540” on the check or money
order. Enclose, but do not staple, your payment to your return. A

penalty may be imposed if your check is returned by your bank for
insufficient funds.
Other Payment Options
• Electronic Funds Withdrawal – Instead of paying by check or

money order you can use this convenient option if you e-file. Simply
provide your bank information, amount you want to pay, and the
date you want the balance due to be withdrawn from your account.
Your tax preparation software will offer this option.

• Web Pay – Pay the amount you owe using our secure online
payment service.  Visit our Website at www.ftb.ca.gov and select
“Payment Options.”

• Credit Card – You may use your Discover/NOVUS, MasterCard,
Visa, or American Express card to pay your tax. If you pay by credit
card, do not mail form FTB 3519 to us. Call (800) 272-9829 or visit
the Website at www.officialpayments.com, and use the jurisdiction
code 1555. Official Payments Corp. charges a convenience fee for
using this service.

Paying by Credit Card – Whether you e-file or file by mail, you can use
your Discover/Novus, MasterCard, Visa, or American Express card to
pay your personal income taxes (tax return balance due, extension
payment, estimated tax payment, or tax due with bill notice). There is a
convenience fee for this service. This fee is paid directly to Official
Payments Corp. based on the amount of your tax payment.
Convenience Fee
• 2.5% of the tax amount charged (rounded to the nearest cent)
• Minimum fee: $1
Example:
Tax Payment = $753.56 Convenience Fee = $18.84
When will my payments be effective?
Your payment is effective on the date you charge it.
What if I change my mind?
If you pay your tax liability by credit card and later reverse the credit
card transaction, you may be subject to penalties, interest, and other
fees imposed by the Franchise Tax Board for nonpayment or late
payment of your tax liability.
How do I use my credit card to pay my income tax bill?
Once you have determined the type of payment and how much you
owe, you should have the following information ready:
• Your Discover/Novus, MasterCard, Visa, or American Express card
• Credit card number
• Expiration date
• Amount you are paying
• Your and your spouse’s SSN
• First 4 letters of your and your spouse’s last name
• Tax year
• Home phone number (including area code)
• ZIP Code for address where your monthly credit card bill is sent
• FTB Jurisdiction Code: 1555
Go to the Official Payments Corp. Website www.officialpayments.com
and select Payment Center, or use the toll-free number at (800) 2PAY-
TAX or (800) 272-9829. Follow the recorded instructions. Official
Payments Corp. will tell you the convenience fee before you complete
your transaction. You can decide whether to complete the transaction
at that time.
Payment Date : __________________
Confirmation Number: ___________________
If you cannot pay the full amount or can only make a partial payment
for the amount shown on line 69, you may request monthly payments.
For additional information regarding Installment Payments, see
Question 4 on page 28.
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Automated Toll-Free Phone Service (800) 338-0505 Instructions: Form 540

Step 12 — Interest and Penalties
If you file your return or pay your tax after the due date, you may owe
interest and penalties on the tax due.
Note: Do not reduce the amount on line 47 or increase the amount on
line 50 by any penalty or interest amounts. Enter on line 67 the amount
of interest and penalties.

Line 67 – Interest and Penalties
Interest. Interest will be charged on any late filing or late payment
penalty from the original due date of the return to the date paid. In
addition, if other penalties are not paid within 15 days, interest will be
charged from the date of the billing notice until the date of payment.
Interest compounds daily and the interest rate is adjusted twice a year.
Late Filing of Return. The maximum total penalty is 25% of the tax not
paid if the return is filed after October 15, 2004. The minimum penalty
for filing a return more than 60 days late is $100 or 100% of the
balance due, whichever is less.
Late Payment of Tax. The penalty is 5% of the tax not paid when due
plus 1/2% for each month, or part of a month, the tax remains unpaid.
Other Penalties. There are also other penalties that can be imposed for
a check returned for insufficient funds, negligence, substantial
understatement of tax and fraud.

Line 68 – Underpayment of Estimated Tax
If line 50 is $200 ($100 if married filing separately) or more and more
than 20% of the tax shown on line 34 (excluding the tax on lump-sum
distributions on line 23), or you underpaid your 2003 estimated tax
liability for any payment period, you may owe a penalty. The Franchise
Tax Board can figure the penalty for you when you file your return and
send you a bill. Or to see if you owe a penalty and to figure the amount
of the penalty, get form FTB 5805, Underpayment of Estimated Tax by
Individuals and Fiduciaries (or form FTB 5805F, Underpayment of
Estimated Tax by Farmers and Fishermen). If you complete one of
these forms, be sure to attach it to the back of your Form 540. Enter
the amount of the penalty on line 68 and fill in the correct circle on
line 68. You must complete and attach the form if you claim a waiver,
use the annualized income installment method, or pay tax according to
the schedule for farmers and fishermen, even if you do not owe a
penalty.
See page 2, Important due dates, for more information on estimated
tax payments and how to avoid the underpayment penalty.
See the instructions for line 69 for information about figuring your
payment, if any.

Line 69 – Total Amount Due
Is there an amount on line 66?
Yes Add line 66, line 67, and line 68. Enter the result and make your

check or money order for this amount.
No Go to the next question.
Is there an amount on line 65?
Yes Add line 67 and line 68. If the result is:

• Less than line 65, your refund will be reduced by this amount
when your return is processed. Do not enter an amount on
line 69.

• More than line 65, subtract line 65 from the sum of line 67 and
line 68 and enter the result. Make your check or money order
for this amount. Or, use Web Pay and pay online. Go to our
Website at www.ftb.ca.gov and select “Payment Options.”

No Add line 67 and line 68 and enter the result.

Line 70 – 2004 Tax Forms
If your Form 540 is prepared by someone else, or if you do not need
forms mailed to you next year, fill in the circle on line 70.

Step 13 — Direct Deposit (Refund Only)
It’s fast, safe, and convenient to have your refund directly deposited
into your bank account. For further information, see page 22, Step 11.
Direct Deposit of Refund
Direct deposit is fast, safe, and convenient. To have your refund directly
deposited into your bank account, fill in the account information on
Form 540, Side 2, Step 13. Please be sure to fill in the routing and
account numbers and also indicate the account type. Do not attach a
voided check or deposit slip. See the illustration on this page.

Do not use a deposit slip to find the bank numbers. Contact
your financial institution for assistance in getting the
correct routing number.

The Franchise Tax Board is not responsible when a financial institution
rejects a direct deposit.  If the bank or financial institution rejects the
direct deposit due to an error in the routing number, the Franchise Tax
Board will issue a paper check.

Sign Your Return
You must sign your return in the space provided on Side 2. If you file a
joint return, your spouse must sign it also. See page 8 “Helpful Hints,”
for more information on verifying and checking information on your
return, attachments to your return, and assembling and mailing your
return.
Joint Return. If you file a joint return, both you and your spouse are
generally responsible for the tax and any interest or penalties due on
the return. This means that if one spouse does not pay the tax due, the
other may have to. See “Innocent Spouse Relief,” on page 66.
For information about Power of Attorney, visit our Website at
www.ftb.ca.gov.

✓ Tip

John Doe
Mary Doe
1234 Main Street
Anytown, CA 99999

1234
15-0000/0000

PAY TO THE
ORDER OF

ANYTOWN BANK
Anytown, CA 99999

I : 250250025 I : 202020 • 1234
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Sales and Use Tax Rates by County
(Includes state, local, and district taxes)

As of December 31, 2003

County Rate County Rate
Alameda 8.25% Orange 7.75%
Alpine 7.25% Placer 7.25%
Amador 7.25% Plumas 7.25%
Butte 7.25% Riverside 7.75%
Calaveras 7.25% Sacramento 7.75%
Colusa 7.25% San Benito 7.25%
Contra Costa 8.25% San Bernardino 7.75%
Del Norte 7.25% San Diego 7.75%
El Dorado1 7.25% San Francisco 8.50%
Fresno1 7.875% San Joaquin 7.75%
Glenn 7.25% San Luis Obispo 7.25%
Humboldt 7.25% San Mateo 8.25%
Imperial1 7.75% Santa Barbara 7.75%
Inyo 7.75% Santa Clara 8.25%
Kern 7.25% Santa Cruz 8.00%
Kings 7.25% Shasta 7.25%
Lake1 7.25% Sierra 7.25%
Lassen 7.25% Siskiyou 7.25%
Los Angeles1 8.25% Solano 7.375%
Madera 7.75% Sonoma1 7.50%
Marin 7.25% Stanislaus 7.375%
Mariposa 7.75% Sutter 7.25%
Mendocino1 7.25% Tehama 7.25%
Merced 7.25% Trinity 7.25%
Modoc 7.25% Tulare 7.25%
Mono 7.25% Tuolumne 7.25%
Monterey 7.25% Ventura 7.25%
Napa 7.75% Yolo1 7.25%
Nevada1 7.375% Yuba 7.25%
1 Many cities and towns in California impose a district tax, which results in a higher sales and use tax rate than in other parts of the county. If you are

reporting an item that was purchased for use in any of the following cities or towns, please use the appropriate tax rates for those areas. The
following tax rates apply within the city limits or the town limits of the listed community.

County City or Town with Tax Rate
a Special Tax District

El Dorado Placerville 7.50%
Fresno Clovis 8.175%
Imperial Calexico 8.25%
Lake Clearlake 7.75%
Los Angeles Avalon 8.75%
Mendocino Willits 7.75%

(effective October 1, 2003)2

Nevada Truckee 7.875%
Sonoma Sebastopol 7.625%

(effective April 1, 2003)3

Yolo West Sacramento 7.75%
(effective April 1, 2003)4

Yolo Woodland 7.75%
2 The tax rate in the City of Willits prior to October 1, 2003 is 7.25%.
3 The tax rate in the City of Sebastopol prior to April 1, 2003 is 7.50%.
4 The tax rate in the City of West Sacramento prior to April 1, 2003 is 7.25%.
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Voluntary Contribution Fund Descriptions
You may make contributions to the California Seniors Special Fund or make other voluntary contributions of $1 or more in whole dollar amounts.
The amount you contribute either reduces your overpaid tax or increases your tax due. You may contribute only to the funds listed and cannot change
the amount you contributed after you file your return.
If you are using:
• Form 540A, enter the amounts you want to contribute on the line for the fund on Side 2, Step 7. Enter the total contributions on line 38.
• Form 540, enter the amounts you want to contribute on the line for the fund on Side 2, Step 10. Enter the total contributions on line 64.

Code Fund Name and Description

����� 52 ����� California Seniors Special Fund. If you and/or your
spouse are 65 years of age* or older and claim the Senior
Exemption Credit on line 9, you may make a combined
total contribution of up to $164 or $82 per spouse.
Contributions entered to this fund will be distributed to the
Area Agency of Aging Councils (TACC) to provide advice
on and sponsorship of Senior Citizens issues. Any excess
contributions not required by TACC will be distributed to
senior citizen service organizations throughout California
for meals, adult day care, and transportation.
*If your 65th birthday is on January 1, 2004, you are
considered to be age 65 on December 31, 2003.

����� 53 ����� Alzheimer’s Disease/Related Disorders Fund.
Contributions will be used to conduct a program for
researching the cause and cure of Alzheimer’s disease and
related disorders and research into the care and treatment
of persons suffering from dementing illnesses.

����� 54 ����� California Fund for Senior Citizens.  Contributions will
provide support for the California Senior Legislature (CSL).
The CSL are volunteers who prioritize statewide senior
related legislative proposals in areas of health, housing,
transportation, and community services. Any excess
contributions not required by the CSL will be distributed to
senior citizen service organizations throughout California.

����� 55 ����� Rare and Endangered Species Preservation Program.
Contributions will be used to help protect and conserve
California’s many threatened and endangered species and
the wild lands that they need to survive, for the enjoyment
and benefit of you and future generations of Californians.

����� 56 ����� State Children’s Trust Fund for the Prevention of Child
Abuse.  Contributions will be used to fund programs for
the prevention, intervention, and treatment of child abuse
and neglect.

����� 57 ����� California Breast Cancer Research Fund.  Contributions
will fund research toward preventing and curing breast
cancer. Breast cancer is the most common cancer to strike
women in California. It kills 4,000 California women each
year. Contributions also fund research on prevention and
better treatment, and keep doctors up-to-date on research
progress. For more about the research your contributions
support, please see our Website at www.ucop.edu/
srphome/bcrp/. Your contribution can help make breast
cancer a disease of the past.

Code Fund Name and Description

����� 58 ����� California Firefighters’ Memorial Fund.  Contributions
will be used for the repair and maintenance of the
California Firefighters' Memorial on the grounds of the
State Capitol, ceremonies to honor the memory of fallen
firefighters and to assist surviving loved ones, and for an
informational guide detailing survivor benefits to assist the
spouses and children of fallen firefighters.

����� 59 ����� Emergency Food Assistance Program Fund.
Contributions will be used to help local food banks feed
California’s hungry.  Your contribution will fund the
purchase of much-needed food for delivery to food banks,
pantries, and soup kitchens throughout the state.  The
State Department of Social Services will monitor its
distribution to ensure the food is given to those most in
need.

����� 60 ����� California Peace Officer Memorial Foundation Fund.
Contributions will be used to preserve the memory of
California’s fallen peace officers and assist the families
they left behind. Since statehood, over 1,300 courageous
California peace officers have made the ultimate sacrifice
while protecting law-abiding citizens. The non-profit
charitable organization, California Peace Officers’ Memorial
Foundation, has accepted the privilege and responsibility
of maintaining a memorial for fallen officers on the State
Capitol grounds. Each May, the Memorial Foundation
conducts a dignified ceremony honoring fallen officers and
their surviving families by offering moral support, crisis
counseling, and financial support that includes academic
scholarships for the children of those officers who have
made the supreme sacrifice. On behalf of all of us and the
law-abiding citizens of California, thank you for your
participation.

����� 61 ����� Asthma and Lung Disease Research Fund.
Contributions will support the American Lung Association
of California’s scientific peer-reviewed research program
that provides grants to develop and advance the under-
standing of the causes of lung disease, the third leading
cause of death. Find out more at www.californialung.org.

����� 62 ����� California Missions Foundation Fund
Contributions will be used to restore and repair the
Spanish colonial and mission era missions in this state
and to preserve the artworks and artifacts of these
missions.
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CREDIT CHART
Credit Name Code Description
Child Adoption – Worksheet on page 19 197 50% of qualified costs in the year an adoption is ordered
Child and Dependent Care Expenses – FTB 3506 None Similiar to the federal credit except that the California credit amount is based on a

See the instructions on page 57 specified percentage of the federal credit and is refundable
Community Development Financial Institution 209 20% of each qualified deposit made to a community development financial institution

Deposits – Certification Required Obtain certification from: California Organized Investment Network (COIN), Department of
Insurance, 300 Capitol Mall, 16th Floor, Sacramento CA 95814

Dependent Parent – Worksheet on page 19 173 Must use married filing separately filing status and have a dependent parent
Disabled Access for Eligible Small Businesses – 205 Similar to the federal credit but limited to $125 based on 50% of qualified expenditures

FTB 3548 that do not exceed $250
Donated Agricultural Products Transportation – 204 50% of the costs paid or incurred for the transportation of agricultural products donated

FTB 3547 to nonprofit charitable organizations
Employer Child Care Contribution – FTB 3501 190 Employer: 30% of contributions to a qualified plan
Employer Child Care Program – FTB 3501 189 Employer: Cost of establishing a child care program or constructing a child care facility
Enhanced Oil Recovery – FTB 3546 203 One third of the similar federal credit and limited to qualified enhanced oil recovery projects located

within California
Enterprise Zone Employee – FTB 3553 169 5% of wages from work in an enterprise zone
Enterprise Zone Hiring & Sales 176 Business incentives for enterprise zone businesses

or Use Tax – FTB 3805Z
Farmworker Housing – Certification required 207 50% of new construction or rehabilitation costs for farmworker housing

Obtain certification from: Farmworker Housing Assistance Program, California Tax Credit Allocation
Committee, 915 Capitol Mall, Room 485, Sacramento CA 95814

Joint Custody Head of Household – 170 30% of tax up to $327 for taxpayers who are single or married filing separately, who have a
Worksheet on page 19 child and meet the support test

Joint Strike Fighter Wages – FTB 3534 215 30% of qualified wages paid or incurred in taxable years beginning in 2003, not to exceed $10,000
for each qualified employee, or a proportional amount for an employee who is employed by the
taxpayer for only part of the taxable year

Joint Strike Fighter Property Costs – FTB 3534 216 10% of the cost of property placed in service in California for ultimate use in a joint strike fighter
Local Agency Military Base Recovery Area 198 Business incentives for LAMBRAs

(LAMBRA) Hiring & Sales or Use Tax – FTB 3807
Long-Term Care – FTB 3504 214 $500 multiplied by the number of qualifying individuals
Low-Income Housing – FTB 3521 172 Similar to the federal credit but limited to low-income housing in California
Manufacturers’ Investment – FTB 3535 199 6% of the cost of qualified property
Manufacturing Enhancement Area (MEA) 211 Percentage of qualified wages paid to qualified disadvantaged individuals

Hiring – FTB 3808
Natural Heritage Preservation – FTB 3503 213 55% of the fair market value of any qualified contribution. This credit is available starting

July 1, 2003.
Nonrefundable Renter’s — See page 27 None For California residents who paid rent for their principal residence for at least 6 months in 2003 and

whose AGI does not exceed a certain limit
Other State Tax – Schedule S 187 Net income tax paid to another state or a U.S. possession on income also taxed by California
Prior Year Alternative Minimum Tax – FTB 3510 188 Must have paid alternative minimum tax in a prior year and have no alternative minimum tax liability

in 2003
Prison Inmate Labor – FTB 3507 162 10% of wages paid to prison inmates
Research – FTB 3523 183 Similar to the federal credit but limited to costs for research activities in California
Rice Straw – Certification required 206 $15 per ton of purchased rice straw grown in California

Obtain certification from: Rice Straw Tax Credit Program, Department of Food and Agriculture, 1220
N Street, Room A400, Sacramento, CA 95814

Senior Head of Household – 163 2% of taxable income up to $1,000 for seniors who qualified for head of household in 2001 or 2002
Worksheet on page 19 and whose qualifying individual died during 2001 or 2002

Solar or Wind Energy System Credit – FTB 3508 217 The lesser of 15% of the cost paid or incurred for the purchase and installation of a Solar or Wind
Energy System or the dollar amount per rated watt of the Solar Energy System

Targeted Tax Area (TTA) Hiring & Sales or 210 Business incentives for TTA businesses
Use Tax – FTB 3809

Teacher Retention Credit – FTB 3505 212 Credentialed teachers may be able to claim a credit of up to $1,500 (per individual) based on years
of service and the limitation based on income.

Repealed Credits: The expiration dates for these credits have passed. However, these credits had carryover provisions. You may claim these credits only if there is a
carryover available from prior years. If you are not required to complete Schedule P (540), get form FTB 3540, Credit Carryover Summary, to
figure your credit carryover to future years.

Agricultural Products 175
Commercial Solar Electric System 196
Commercial Solar Energy 181
Employee Ridesharing 194
Employer Ridesharing: Large employer 191

Small employer 192
Transit passes 193

Energy Conservation 182

Los Angeles Revitalization Zone (LARZ)
Hiring & Sales or Use Tax 159

Low-Emission Vehicles 160
Orphan Drug 185
Political Contributions 184
Recycling Equipment 174
Residential Rental & Farm Sales 186
Ridesharing 171

Salmon & Steelhead Trout Habitat
Restoration 200

Solar Energy 180
Solar Pump 179
Water Conservation 178
Young Infant 161
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1. Were you a resident1 of California for the entire year in
2003?
YES. Go to question 2.
NO. Stop. File the Long or Short Form 540NR, California

Nonresident or Part-Year Resident Income Tax Return. See
“Order Forms and Publications” on the back cover.

2. Is your California adjusted gross income the amount on
Form 540A, line 14 or Form 540, line 17:
• $29,054 or less if single or married filing separately; or
• $58,108 or less if married filing jointly, head of household,

or qualifying widow(er)?
YES. Go to question 3.
NO. Stop here. You do not qualify for this credit.

3. Did you pay rent, for at least half of 2003, on property
(including a mobile home that you owned on rented
land) in California which was your principal residence?
YES. Go to question 4.
NO. Stop here.  You do not qualify for this credit.

4. Can you be claimed as a dependent by a parent, foster parent,
legal guardian, or any other person in 2003?
NO. Go to question 6.
YES. Go to question 5.

5. For more than half the year in 2003, did you live in the home of
the person who can claim you as a dependent?
NO. Go to question 6.
YES. Stop here. You do not qualify for this credit.

6. Was the property you rented exempt2 from property tax
in 2003?
NO. Go to question 7.
YES. Stop here. You do not qualify for this credit.

Nonrefundable Renter’s Credit Qualification Record
e-file and skip this page! The software you use to e-file will help you find out if you qualify for this credit and will figure the correct
amount of the credit automatically. Go to www.ftb.ca.gov

If you were a resident of California and paid rent on property in California which was your principal residence, you may qualify for a
credit that you can use to reduce your tax. Answer the questions below to see if you qualify.

7. Did you claim the homeowner’s property tax exemption3

anytime during 2003?
NO. Go to question 8.
YES. Stop here. You do not qualify for this credit.

8. Were you single in 2003?
YES. Go to question 11.
NO. Go to question 9.

9. Did your spouse claim the homeowner’s property tax
exemption3 anytime during 2003?
NO. Go to question 11.
YES. Go to question 10.

10. Did you and your spouse maintain separate residences for
the entire year in 2003?
YES. Go to question 11.
NO. Stop here. You do not qualify for this credit.

11. If you are:
• Single or married filing separately,4 enter $60 below.
• Married filing jointly, head of household, or qualifying

widow(er), enter $120 below. Enter this figure on Form 540A,
line 19 or Form 540, line 31.

$ ___ ___ ___

Fill in the street address(es) and landlord information below for the
residence(s) you rented in California during 2003 which qualified you
for this credit.

Do Not Mail This Record

Street Address City, State, and ZIP Code Dates Rented in 2003(From______to______)

a_________________________________________________________________________________________________________

b_________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Enter the name, address, and telephone number of your landlord(s) or the person(s) to whom you paid rent for the residence(s) listed
above.

Name Street Address City, State, ZIP Code, and Telephone Number

a_________________________________________________________________________________________________________

b_________________________________________________________________________________________________________
1 Military personnel.  If you are not a legal resident of California, you do not qualify for this credit.  However, your spouse may claim this credit if he or she was a resident, did not live in

military housing during 2003, and is otherwise qualified.
2 Property exempt from property taxes.  You do not qualify for this credit if, for more than half of the year, you rented property that was exempt from property taxes.  Exempt property

includes most government-owned buildings, church-owned parsonages, college dormitories, and military barracks.  However, if you or your landlord paid possessory interest taxes for the
property you rented, then you may claim this credit.

3 Homeowner’s property tax exemption.  You do not qualify for this credit if you or your spouse received a homeowner’s property tax exemption at any time during the year.  However, if you
lived apart from your spouse for the entire year and your spouse received a homeowner’s property tax exemption for a separate residence, then you may claim this credit if you are
otherwise qualified.

4 Married filing separate returns. If you and your spouse file separate returns, lived in the same rental property and both qualify for this credit, one spouse may claim the full amount of this
credit ($120), or each spouse may claim half of the amount ($60 each).

✓ Tip

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
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1. What if I can’t file by April 15, 2004, and I think I
owe tax?
You must pay 100% of the amount you owe by April 15, 2004, to
avoid interest and penalties. If you cannot file because you have not
received all your Form(s) W-2, estimate the amount of tax you owe
by completing form FTB 3519, Payment Voucher for Automatic
Extension for Individuals on page 41. Mail it to the FTB with your
payment by April 15, 2004. Then, when you receive all your
Form(s) W-2, complete and mail your return by October 15, 2004
(you must use Form 540A or Form 540).

2. I never received a Form W-2. What should I do?
If you do not receive all your Forms W-2 by January 31, 2004,
contact your employer. Only your employer can issue or
correct a Form W-2. For more information, call
(800) 338-0505, select “Personal Income Tax,” then “General
Tax Information,” and enter code 204 when instructed.

3. How can I get help?
There are more than 1,500 sites throughout California where trained
volunteers provide free help during the tax filing season to persons
who need to file simple federal and state income tax returns. Many
military bases also provide this service for members of the U.S.
Armed Forces. From January 2 through April 15, a list of locations
is available on our Website at www.ftb.ca.gov or you may call the
FTB at (800) 852-5711 to find a location near you.

4. What do I do if I can’t pay what I owe with my 2003
return?

Pay as much as you can when you file your return. If you
cannot pay your tax in full with your return, you can request
monthly payments. However, you will be charged interest and
may be charged an underpayment penalty on the tax not paid
by April 15, 2004, even if your request to pay in installments is
approved. To make monthly payments, complete form
FTB 3567, Installment Agreement Request, and mail it to the
address on the form. Do not mail it with your return.

The Installment Agreement Request might not be processed and
approved until after your return is processed, and you may receive a
bill before you receive approval of your request.
To order this form by phone, call (800) 338-0505, select “Personal
Income Tax,” then select “Order Forms and Publications,” and enter
code 949 when instructed, or go to our Website at www.ftb.ca.gov

Note: You can also pay by credit card. For more information,
go to our Website at www.ftb.ca.gov, or call (800) 338-0505,
select “Personal Income Tax,” then select “General Tax
Information,” and enter code 610 when instructed.

5. How long will it take to get my refund?
If you e-file, you will get the fastest possible refund. Your
refund check will be in the mail within seven to ten calendar
days (or if you request direct deposit, the refund will post to
your bank account within five to seven banking days) from the
time the FTB receives your electronic return. For more
information about e-filing, go to our Website at
www.ftb.ca.gov or call (800) 338-0505, select personal
income tax, then select general tax information, and enter
code 112 when instructed.

If you do not e-file your return, you should receive your refund
check, or if you request direct deposit the refund should post to
your account, within six to eight weeks after you file your return.

6. I expected my refund by now. How can I check on
the status?
You can check on the status of your refund over the Internet. Go to
our Website at www.ftb.ca.gov

You can also call our automated phone service. See the back cover
for more information.

7. I discovered an error on my tax return. What should
I do?
If you discover that you made an error on your California income
tax return after you filed it, use Form 540X, Amended Individual
Income Tax Return, to correct your return. See “Order Forms and
Publications” on the back cover.

8. I found an error after FTB accepted my e-file
return. What should I do?
You cannot retransmit the corrected return once we've accepted it.
You can correct an error only by completing Form 540X, Amended
Individual Income Tax Return, and mailing the paper copy to us.
You cannot e-file an amended return. See “Order Forms and
Publications” on the back cover.

9. The Internal Revenue Service (IRS) made changes
to my federal return. What should I do?
If your federal income tax return is examined and changed by the
IRS and you owe additional tax, you must report these changes to
the FTB within six months of the date of the final federal determina-
tion. If the changes made by IRS result in a refund due for
California, you must claim a refund within two years of the date of
the final federal determination. You may either use Form 540X to
correct the California income tax return you already filed, or you
may send a copy of the federal changes to:

ATTN RAR/VOL, AUDIT SECTION
FRANCHISE TAX BOARD
PO BOX 1673
SACRAMENTO CA 95812-1673

Regardless of which method you use to notify the FTB, you must
include a copy of the final federal determination along with all data
and schedules on which the federal adjustment was based. Get FTB
Pub. 1008, Federal Tax Adjustments and Your Notification Respon-
sibilities to California, for more information. See “Order Forms and
Publications” on back cover.
Note: You do not have to file Form 540X if the changes do not affect
your California tax liability.

10. How long should I keep my tax information?
We may request information from you regarding your California
income tax return within the California statute of limitations period,
which is usually the later of four years from the due date of the
return or four years from the date the return is filed.  (Exception:
An extended statute of limitations period may apply for California or
federal tax returns that are related to or subject to a federal audit.)
Keep a copy of your return and the records that verify the income,
deductions, adjustments, or credits reported on your return. Some
records should be kept longer. For example, keep property records
as long as they are needed to figure the basis of the property or
records needed to verify carryover items (i.e. net operating losses)
or records needed to track deferred gains on a 1031 exchange.

11. I will be moving after I file my return. How do I
notify the FTB of my new address?
You can notify the FTB of your new address by using form
FTB 3533, Change of Address. This form is available on our Website
at www.ftb.ca.gov as a fillable form or you may call (800) 852-
5711 and select option 5 to report a change of address.
After filing your return, you should report a change of address to us
for up to four years, especially if you leave the state and no longer
have a requirement to file a California return.

�����
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California Resident Income Tax Return 2003
FORM

540A C1 Side 1

Step 1

Step 1a
SSN

Step 2
Filing Status

Fill in only one.

1 � Single
2 � Married filing jointly (even if only one spouse had income)
3 � Married filing separately. Enter spouse’s social security number above and full name here _______________________________
4 � Head of household (with qualifying person). STOP. See instructions.
5 � Qualifying widow(er) with dependent child. Enter year spouse died _________ .

540A03103

Place
label here
or print_______________________________________________________

Name
and
Address

�����

Step 4
Taxable
Income and
California
Income
Adjustments

Standard
Deduction

Single or
Married
filing
separately,
$3,070.

Married filing
jointly,
Head of
household, or
Qualifying
widow(er),
$6,140.

12 a State wages from your Form(s) W-2, box 16  . . . . . . � 12a
12 b Enter federal adjusted gross income from your TeleFile Tax Record, line I; Form 1040EZ, line 4;

Form 1040A, line 21; or Form 1040, line 34  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 12b
13 California Income Adjustments. See instructions for line 13a through line 13f.

a State income tax refund  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 13a
b Unemployment compensation  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 13b
c U.S. Social security or railroad retirement  . . . . . . . . . . 13c
d California nontaxable interest or dividend income  . . . . 13d
e California IRA distributions  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 13e
f California pensions and annuities  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 13f
g Total California income adjustments. Add line 13a through line 13f  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . � 13g

14 Subtract line 13g from line 12b. This is your California adjusted gross income.
See page 11  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . � 14

15 Enter the larger of your California Itemized deductions or Standard deduction
(see instructions). If the circle on line 6 is filled in, STOP. See page 11  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . � 15

16 Subtract line 15 from line 14. This is your taxable income. If less than zero, enter -0-  . . . . . . . 16

17 Tax. Fill in the circle if from: � Tax Table � Tax Rate Schedule  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 17
18 Exemption credits. Enter the amount from line 11.

If line 12b is more than $135,714, see instructions.  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 18

19 Nonrefundable renter’s credit. See page 12  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . � 19

20 Total credits. Add line 18 and line 19  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 20

23 Subtract line 20 from line 17. This is your total tax. If less than zero, enter -0-  . . . . . . . . . . . � 23

For Privacy Act Notice, get form FTB 1131.

IMPORTANT:
Your social security number

 is required.

Spouse’s social security numberYour social security number

- -

P

AC

A

R

RP

Your first name Last nameInitial

If joint return, spouse’s first name Last nameInitial

Present home address — number and street, PO Box, or rural route PMB no.

City, town, or post office (If you have a foreign address, see instructions) State ZIP Code

-

Apt. no.

Step 3
Exemptions
Enclose, but do not
staple, any payment.

Dependent
Exemptions

6 If your parent, (or someone else) can claim you (or your spouse, if married) as a dependent on his or her
tax return, even if he or she chooses not to, fill in this circle  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . � 6 �

� � � � � For line 7, line 8, line 9, and line 10: Multiply the amount you enter in the box by the pre-printed dollar amount for that line.
7 Personal: If you filled in 1, 3, or 4 above, enter 1 in the box. If you filled in  2 or 5, enter 2

in the box. If you filled in the circle on line 6, see page 10  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 7 � X  $82  =  $___________
8 Blind: If you (or if married, your spouse) are visually impaired, enter 1; if both, enter 2  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 8 � X  $82  =  $___________
9 Senior: If you (or if married, your spouse) are 65 or older, enter 1; if both, enter 2  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . � 9 � X  $82  =  $___________

10 Dependents: Enter name and relationship. Do not include yourself or your spouse.
______________________ _______________________ ______________________
______________________ _______________________ Total dependent exemptions  . . . . . . . . � 10 � X  $257  =  $__________

11 Exemption amount: Add line 7 through line 10. Transfer this amount to line 18  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 11 $__________

Step 5
Tax and
Credits

Attach copy of your
Form(s) W-2, and
W-2G. Also attach
any Form(s) 1099
showing California
tax withheld.

- -

.....,,,,,

.....,,,,,

.....,,,,,

.....,,,,,

.....,,,,,

.....,,,,,

.....,,,,,

.....,,,,,

.....

.....,,,,,

.....,,,,,



Side  2 Form 540A C1 2003 540A03203

Step 9
Sign Here
It is unlawful to
forge a spouse’s
signature.

Joint return?
See instructions.

Under penalties of perjury, I declare that I have examined this return and to the best of my knowledge and belief, it is true, correct, and complete. 3
Your signature Spouse’s signature (if filing jointly, both must sign) Daytime phone number (optional)

X X Date

( )

Paid Preparer’s SSN/PTINPaid preparer’s signature (declaration of preparer is based on all information of which preparer has any knowledge)

Firm’s name (or yours if self-employed) Firm’s address

Do not attach a voided check or a deposit slip. See instructions.
Fill in the boxes to have your refund directly deposited. Routing number  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . �

Account
number  . . . . . . . . �

Account type:
Checking Savings

CA Seniors Special Fund.
See instructions  . . . . . . . . . . . . . � 52

Alzheimer’s Disease/Related
Disorders Fund  . . . . . . . . . . . . . � 53

CA Fund for Senior Citizens  . . . . . . � 54
Rare and Endangered Species

Preservation Program  . . . . . . . . � 55
State Children’s Trust Fund for the

Prevention of Child Abuse  . . . . . � 56

00

00
00

00

00

CA Breast Cancer Research Fund  . . � 57
CA Firefighters’ Memorial Fund  . . . � 58
Emergency Food Assistance

Program Fund  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . � 59
CA Peace Officer Memorial

Foundation Fund  . . . . . . . . . . . . . � 60
Asthma and Lung Disease

Research Fund  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . � 61
CA Missions Foundation Fund  . . . . � 62

00
00

00

00

00
00

Step 6
Overpaid
Tax/
Tax Due/
Use Tax

To view your 2003
estimated
payments, go to
www.ftb.ca.gov

Do not attach
a copy of
your federal
return.

24 Enter the amount from Side 1, line 23  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 24

25 California income tax withheld. See page 12  . . . . . . . . . � 25
26 2003 California estimated tax and payment with

form FTB 3519 and amount applied from 2002 return  . � 26

27 Excess SDI. See page 13  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . � 27
Child and Dependent Care Expenses Credit. See instructions.
Attach form FTB 3506.

� 31

32 Total payments and credits. Add line 25, line 26, line 27, and line 31  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 32

33 Overpaid tax. If line 32 is more than line 24, subtract line 24 from line 32  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 33

34 Enter the amount of line 33 you want applied to your 2004 estimated tax  . . . . . . . . . . . . � 34

35 Overpaid tax available this year. Subtract line 34 from line 33  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . � 35

36 Tax due. If line 32 is less than line 24, subtract line 32 from line 24. See instructions  . . . . . . 36

37 Use Tax. See instructions  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . � 37

Step 7
Contributions

38 Add line 52 through line 62. These are your total contributions  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . � 38

39 REFUND or NO AMOUNT DUE. See page 14. Mail to:
FRANCHISE TAX BOARD, PO BOX 942840, SACRAMENTO CA 94240-0002  . . . . . . . . . . � 39

40 AMOUNT YOU OWE.  See page 15. Mail to:
FRANCHISE TAX BOARD, PO BOX 942867, SACRAMENTO CA 94267-0001  . . . . . . . . . � 40
Or pay online with FTB’s WebPay – go to www.ftb.ca.gov

41 Underpayment of estimated tax. If form FTB 5805 is attached, fill in this circle  . . . . . � � 41
42 If you do not need California income tax forms mailed to you next year, fill in this circle  . . � 42

Step 8
Refund or
Amount
You Owe

Direct
Deposit
(Refund
Only)

.....

Your name ____________________________________________ Your SSN: _____________________________

FEIN

.....

- -
- -

�

��

� 28

� 29

� 30

.....,,,,,

.....,,,,,

.....,,,,,

,,,,,

.....,,,,,

.....,,,,,

.....,,,,,

.....,,,,,

,,,,,

�

.....,,,,,

.....,,,,,

.....,,,,,

�

.....,,,,,

.....,,,,,

.....,,,,,



12 State wages from your Form(s) W-2, box 16  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . � 12
13 Enter federal adjusted gross income from Form 1040, line 34; Form 1040A, line 21;

Form 1040EZ, line 4; or TeleFile Tax Record, line I  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 13
14 California adjustments – subtractions. Enter the amount from Schedule CA (540), line 34, column B  . . . . � 14
15 Subtract line 14 from line 13. If less than zero, enter the result in parentheses. See page 17  . . . . . . . . . . . . . 15
16 California adjustments – additions. Enter the amount from Schedule CA (540), line 34, column C  . . . . . . . � 16
17 California adjusted gross income. Combine line 15 and line 16  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . � 17
18 Enter the Your California itemized deductions from Schedule CA (540), line 41; OR

larger of: Your California standard deduction shown below for your filing status:
• Single or Married filing separately  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $3,070
• Married filing jointly, Head of household, or Qualifying widow(er)  . . . . $6,140
If the circle on line 6 is filled in, STOP. See page 17  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . � 18

19 Subtract line 18 from line 17. This is your taxable income. If less than zero, enter -0-  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 19

Step 4
Taxable
Income

Enclose, but do not
staple, any payment.

Step 5
Tax

Attach copy of your
Form(s) W-2, W-2G,
592-B, 594 and
597. Also, attach any
Form(s) 1099
showing California
tax withheld.

54003103

{

For Privacy Act Notice, get form FTB 1131.

20 Tax. Fill in circle if from: � Tax Table � Tax Rate Schedule � FTB 3800 or � FTB 3803  . . . . � 20
Caution: If under age 14 and you have more than $1,500 of investment income, read the line 20

instructions to see if you must attach form FTB 3800.
21 Exemption credits. Enter the amount from line 11. If your federal AGI is more than $135,714,

see page 18  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 21
22 Subtract line 21 from line 20. If less than zero, enter -0-  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 22
23 Tax. Fill in circle if from: � Schedule G-1, Tax on Lump-Sum Distributions

� form FTB 5870A, Tax on Accumulation Distribution of Trusts  . . . . . . . . . . � 23
24 Add line 22 and line 23. Continue to Side 2  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 24

California Resident Income Tax Return 2003
FORM

540 C1 Side 1

Step 1

Step 1a
SSN

Step 2
Filing Status

Fill in only one.

1 � Single
2 � Married filing jointly (even if only one spouse had income)
3 � Married filing separately. Enter spouse’s social security number above and full name here _______________________________
4 � Head of household (with qualifying person). STOP. See instructions.
5 � Qualifying widow(er) with dependent child. Enter year spouse died _________ .

Place
label here
or print_______________________________________________________

Name
and
Address

�����

IMPORTANT:
Your social security number

 is required.

Spouse’s social security numberYour social security number

- -- -

P

AC

A

R

RP

Your first name Last nameInitial

If joint return, spouse’s first name Last nameInitial

Present home address — number and street, PO Box, or rural route PMB no.

City, town, or post office (If you have a foreign address, see instructions) State ZIP Code

-

Apt. no.

Step 3
Exemptions

Dependent
Exemptions

6 If your parent (or someone else) can claim you (or your spouse, if married) as a dependent on his or her
tax return, even if he or she chooses not to, fill in this circle  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . � 6 �

� � � � � For line 7, line 8, line 9, and line 10: Multiply the amount you enter in the box by the pre-printed dollar amount for that line.
7 Personal: If you filled in 1, 3, or 4 above, enter 1 in the box. If you filled in 2 or 5, enter 2

in the box. If you filled in the circle on line 6, see page 17  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 7 � X  $82 =  $__________
8 Blind: If you (or if married, your spouse) are visually impaired, enter 1; if both, enter 2  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 8 � X  $82 =  $__________
9 Senior: If you (or if married, your spouse) are 65 or older, enter 1; if both, enter 2  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . � 9 � X  $82 =  $__________

10 Dependents: Enter name and relationship. Do not include yourself or your spouse.
______________________ _______________________ ______________________
______________________ _______________________ Total dependent exemptions  . . . . . . . . . � 10 � X $257 =  $__________

11 Exemption amount: Add line 7 through line 10. Transfer this amount to line 21  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 11 $__________

Fiscal year filers only: Enter month of year end: month________ year 2004.

{

PBA Code



Side  2 Form 540 C1 2003 54003203

Step 6
Special
Credits
and
Nonrefundable
Renter’s
Credit

Sign
Here
It is unlawful to
forge a spouse’s
signature.

Joint return?
See instructions.

IMPORTANT: See the instructions to find out if you should attach a copy of your complete federal return. Under penalties of perjury,
I declare that I have examined this return, including accompanying schedules and statements, and to the best of my knowledge and belief, it is true, correct, and complete. 3

Paid preparer’s signature (declaration of preparer is based on all information of which preparer has any knowledge)

Firm’s name (or yours if self-employed) Firm’s address

25 Amount from Side 1, line 24  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 25
28 Enter credit name__________________code no________and amount  . . . . � 28
29 Enter credit name__________________code no________and amount  . . . . � 29
30 To claim more than two credits, see page 19  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . � 30
31 Nonrefundable renter’s credit. See page 20 for “Step 6”  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . � 31
33 Add line 28 through line 31. These are your total credits  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 33
34 Subtract line 33 from line 25. If less than zero, enter -0-  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 34

Step 7
Other Taxes

35 Alternative minimum tax. Attach Schedule P (540)  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . � 35
36 Other taxes and credit recapture. See page 20  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . � 36
37 Add line 34 through line 36. This is your total tax  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . � 37

38 California income tax withheld. See page 20  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . � 38
39 2003 CA estimated tax and other payments. See page 20  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . � 39
40 Real estate withholding. (Form(s) 592-B, 594, and 597) See page 20  . . . . . . � 40
41 Excess SDI. See page 20  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . � 41
Child and Dependent Care Expenses Credit. See page 55; attach form FTB 3506

42 __________-_____-__________ ����� 43 __________-_____-__________
44 _____________________ � 45
46 Add line 38, line 39, line 40, line 41, and line 45. These are your total payments  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 46
47 Overpaid tax. If line 46 is more than line 37, subtract line 37 from line 46  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 47
48 Amount of line 47 you want applied to your 2004 estimated tax  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . � 48
49 Overpaid tax available this year. Subtract line 48 from line 47  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . � 49
50 Tax due. If line 46 is less than line 37, subtract line 46 from line 37. See page 21  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 50
51 Use Tax. See page 21  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . � 51

Step 8
Payments

To view your 2003
estimated
payments, go to
www.ftb.ca.gov

Step 9
Overpaid Tax/
Tax Due/
Use Tax

64 Add line 52 through line 62. These are your total contributions  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . � 64

65 REFUND OR NO AMOUNT DUE. See page 22. Mail to:
FRANCHISE TAX BOARD, PO BOX 942840, SACRAMENTO CA 94240-0002  . . . . � 65

66 AMOUNT YOU OWE. See page 22. Mail to:
FRANCHISE TAX BOARD, PO BOX 942867, SACRAMENTO CA 94267-0001  . . . . � 66

Paid preparer’s SSN/PTIN

Your signature Spouse’s signature (if filing jointly, both must sign) Daytime phone number (optional)

X X Date

( )

FEIN

Step 10
Contributions

CA Seniors Special Fund.
See instructions  . . . . . . . . . . . . . � 52

Alzheimer’s Disease/Related
Disorders Fund  . . . . . . . . . . . . . � 53

CA Fund for Senior Citizens  . . . . . . � 54
Rare and Endangered Species

Preservation Program  . . . . . . . . � 55
State Children’s Trust Fund for the

Prevention of Child Abuse  . . . . . � 56

00

00
00

00

00

CA Breast Cancer Research Fund  . . � 57
CA Firefighters’ Memorial Fund  . . . � 58
Emergency Food Assistance

Program Fund  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . � 59
CA Peace Officer Memorial

Foundation Fund  . . . . . . . . . . . . . � 60
Asthma and Lung Disease

Research Fund  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . � 61
CA Missions Foundation Fund  . . . . . � 62

00
00

00

00

00
00

Your name ____________________________________________ Your SSN: _____________________________

�

�
�����

Step 11
Refund or
Amount
You Owe

Step 12
Interest and
Penalties

67 Interest, late return penalties, and late payment penalties  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 67
68 Underpayment of estimated tax. Fill in circle: � FTB 5805 attached � FTB 5805F attached  . . . . .  � 68
69 Total amount due. See instructions. Enclose, but do not staple, any payment  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 69
70 If you do not need California income tax forms mailed to you next year, fill in the circle  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . � 70 �
Do not attach a voided check or a deposit slip. See instructions
Fill in the boxes to have your refund directly deposited. Routing number  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . �Step 13

Direct Deposit
(Refund Only)

.....

.....,,,,,

,,,,,

,,,,,

,,,,,

Account
number  . . . . . . . . . . �

Account Type:
Checking Savings ��

�



123456789012345
123456789012345
123456789012345
123456789012345
123456789012345
123456789012345

123456789012345
123456789012345
123456789012345
123456789012345
123456789012345
123456789012345
123456789012345
123456789012345
123456789012345
123456789012345
123456789012345
123456789012345
123456789012345
123456789012345
123456789012345

123456789012345
123456789012345
123456789012345
123456789012345

1234567890123
1234567890123
1234567890123
1234567890123
1234567890123
1234567890123

1234567890123
1234567890123
1234567890123
1234567890123
1234567890123

123456789012345
123456789012345
123456789012345
123456789012345
123456789012345
123456789012345

123456789012
123456789012
123456789012
123456789012

123456789012345
123456789012345
123456789012345123456789012345

123456789012345
123456789012345

Social security number

-
Part I Income Adjustment Schedule Federal Amounts Subtractions Additions

(taxable amounts from See instructions See instructions
Section A – Income your federal return)

7 Wages, salaries, tips, etc. See instructions before making an entry in column B or C 7
8 Taxable interest income  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 8
9 Ordinary dividends. See instructions. (b) ________________________  . . . . . . . . . (a)

10 Taxable refunds, credits, offsets of state and local income taxes  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 10
11 Alimony received  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 11
12 Business income or (loss)  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 12
13 Capital gain or (loss). See instructions. (b) _______________________  . . . . . . . . (a)
14 Other gains or (losses)  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 14
15 Total IRA distributions. See instructions. (a) ____________________  . . . . . . . . . . (b)
16 Total pensions and annuities. See instructions. (a) ____________________  . . . . . (b)
17 Rental real estate, royalties, partnerships, S corporations, trusts, etc.  . . . . . . . . . . . 17
18 Farm income or (loss)  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 18
19 Unemployment compensation. Enter the same amount in column A and column B  . 19
20 Social security benefits (a) ____________________  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (b)
21 Other income. a _____________ a _____________

a California lottery winnings e NOL from FTB 3805D, 3805Z, b _____________ b _____________
b Disaster loss carryover from FTB 3805V  3806, 3807, or 3809 21 _______________ c _____________ c _____________
c Federal NOL (Form 1040, line 21) f Other (describe) d _____________ d _____________
d NOL carryover from FTB 3805V ________________________ e _____________ e _____________

________________________ f _____________ f _____________
22 Total. Combine line 7 through line 21 in column A. Add line 7 through line 21f in

column B and column C. Go to Section B 22 _______________
Section B – Adjustments to Income
23 Educator expense  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 23
24 IRA deduction  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 24
25 Student loan interest deduction  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 25
26 Tuition and fees deduction  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 26
27 Moving expenses.  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 27
28 One-half of self-employment tax  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 28
29 Self-employed health insurance deduction  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 29
30 Self-employed SEP, SIMPLE, and qualified plans  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 30
31 Penalty on early withdrawal of savings  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 31
32a Alimony paid. (b) Recipient’s: SSN ___ ___ ___ – ___ ___ – ___ ___ ___ ___

Last name ______________________________ 32a
33 Add line 23 through line 32a in columns A, B, and C  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 33
34 Total. Subtract line 33 from line 22 in columns A, B, and C. See instructions  . . . . . 34 _________________
Part II Adjustments to Federal Itemized Deductions
35 Federal itemized deductions. Add the amounts on federal Schedule A (Form 1040), lines 4, 9, 14, 18, 19, 26, and 27  . . . . . . . 35 _________________
36 Enter total of federal Schedule A (Form 1040), line 5 (state and local income tax and State Disability Insurance) and line 8

(foreign taxes only)  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 36 _________________
37 Subtract line 36 from line 35  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 37  _________________
38 Other adjustments including California lottery losses. See instructions. Specify _________________  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 38  _________________
39 Combine line 37 and line 38  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 39  _________________
40 Is your federal AGI (Form 540, line 13) more than the amount shown below for your filing status?

Single or married filing separately – $135,714 Head of household – $203,574 Married filing jointly or qualifying widow(er) – $271,432
No. Transfer the amount on line 39 to line 40
Yes. Complete the Itemized Deductions Worksheet in the instructions for Schedule CA (540), line 40  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 40

41 Enter the larger of the amount on line 40 or your standard deduction listed below
Single or married filing separately – $3,070 Married filing jointly, head of household, or qualifying widow(er) – $6,140
Transfer the amount on line 41 to Form 540, line 18  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 41

Name(s) as shown on return

CA54003103

-

{

123456789012345
123456789012345
123456789012345
123456789012345
123456789012345
123456789012345
123456789012345
123456789012345
123456789012345
123456789012345
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123456789012345
123456789012345
123456789012345

BA C

California Adjustments — Residents
SCHEDULE

CA (540)
TAXABLE YEAR

2003
Important: Attach this schedule directly behind Form 540, Side 2.

SUSPENDED
SUSPENDED

Schedule CA (540) 2003



D54003103

1a

1b

2 Net gain or (loss) shown on California Schedule(s) K-1 (541, 565, 568, and 100S)  . . . . . . . . . . . . 2
3 Capital gain distributions (federal Form 1099-DIV, box 2a minus box 2d)  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 3
4 Total 2003 gains from all sources. Add column (e) amounts of line 1a, line 1b, line 2, and line 3  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 4
5 2003 loss. Add column (d) amounts of line 1a, line 1b, and line 2. Enter as a negative amount  . . . 5
6 California capital loss carryover from 2002, if any. See instructions. Enter as a negative amount  . 6
7 Total 2003 loss. Add line 5 and line 6. Enter as a negative amount  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 7
8 Combine line 4 and line 7. If a loss, go to line 9. If a gain, go to line 10  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 8
9 If line 8 is a loss, enter the smaller of: (a) the loss on line 8; or

(b) $3,000 ($1,500 if married filing a separate return). See instructions  . . . 9
10 Enter the amount from federal Form 1040, line 13a  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 10
11 Enter the California gain from line 8 or loss from line 9  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 11
12 a If line 10 is more than line 11, enter the difference here and on Schedule CA (540) line 13, col. B  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 12a

b If line 10 is less than line 11, enter the difference here and on Schedule CA (540), line 13, col. C  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 12b

California Capital Gain or Loss Adjustment
Do not complete this schedule if all of your California gains (losses) are the same as your federal gains (losses).

SCHEDULE

D (540)
TAXABLE YEAR

2003

(a) (b) (c) (d) (e)
Description of property (identify S corporation stock) Sales price Cost or other basis Loss. If (c) is more than Gain. If (b) is more than

Example 100 shares of ‘’Z’’ (S stock) (b), subtract (b) from (c) (c), subtract (c) from (b)

For Privacy Act Notice, get form FTB 1131.

--
Social security numberName(s) as shown on return

Part I Identify the activity as passive or nonpassive. (See instructions.)
1 � This form is being completed for a passive activity.

� This form is being completed for a nonpassive activity.
Part II Election to Expense Certain Tangible Property (IRC Section 179).
2 Enter the amount from line 12 of the Tangible Property Expense Worksheet in the instructions  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 2

Part III Depreciation

3

4 Add the amounts on line 3, column (f)  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 4
5 California depreciation for assets placed in service prior to 2003  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 5
6 Total California depreciation from this activity. Add the amounts on line 2, line 4, and line 5  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 6
7 Total federal depreciation from this activity. Enter depreciation from your federal Form 4562, line 22  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 7
8 a If line 6 is more than line 7, enter the difference here and see instructions  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 8a

b If line 6 is less than line 7, enter the difference here and see instructions  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 8b
Part IV Amortization

9

10 Total California amortization from this activity. Add the amounts on line 9, column (f)  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 10
11 California amortization of costs that began before 2003  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 11
12 Total California amortization from this activity. Add the amounts on line 10 and line 11  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 12
13 Total federal amortization from this activity. Enter amortization from your federal Form 4562, line 44  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 13
14 a If line 12 is more than line 13, enter the difference here and see instructions  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 14a

b If line 12 is less than line 13, enter the difference here and see instructions  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 14b

Depreciation and Amortization Adjustments
Do not complete this form if your California depreciation amounts are the same as federal amounts.

CALIFORNIA FORM

3885A
TAXABLE YEAR

2003

(a) (b) (c) (d) (e) (f)
Description of property placed Date placed California basis Method Life or California

in service in service for depreciation rate depreciation deduction

(a) (b) (c) (d) (e) (f)
Description of cost Date placed California basis Code Period or California

amortizable in service for amortization section percentage amortization deduction

Business or activity to which form FTB 3885A relates

Schedule D (540)/FTB 3885A 2003



FTB 3519 2003For Privacy Act Notice, get form FTB 1131.

Your first name Initial Last name Your social security number

If joint payment, spouse’s first name Initial Last name Spouse’s social security number

Present home address – number and street, PO Box, or rural route Apt. no. PMB no.

City, town, or post office State ZIP Code

Payment Voucher for Automatic
Extension for Individuals

CALIFORNIA  FORM

3519 (PIT)
TAXABLE YEAR

2003

Amount of paymentIF PAYMENT IS DUE, MAIL TO:
FRANCHISE TAX BOARD
PO BOX 942867
SACRAMENTO CA 94267-0051

1 Total tax you expect to owe. This is the amount you expect to enter on Form 540A, line 23; Form 540, line 37;
or Long Form 540NR, line 46  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 1

2 Payments and credits:
a California income tax withheld (including real estate and nonresident withholding)  . . . . . 2a
b California estimated tax payments and amount applied from your 2002 tax return  . . . . . . 2b

(Note: You can check the estimated tax payments we’ve received by visiting our
Website at www.ftb.ca.gov)

c Other payments and credits, including any tax payments made with any previous
form FTB 3519 voucher  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 2c

3 Total tax payments and credits. Add line 2a, line 2b, and line 2c  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 3
4 Tax due. Is line 1 more than line 3?  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 4

• No. Stop here. You have no tax due. DO NOT MAIL THE PAYMENT VOUCHER. Your return, when filed by October 15, 2004, will verify that you qualified
for the extension.

• Yes. Subtract line 3 from line 1. This is your tax due. Enter the tax due amount from line 4 as the “Amount of payment” on the form FTB 3519 voucher
below. Fill in your name(s), address, and social security number(s), and separate the voucher from this page where it says “DETACH HERE.” Make a check
or money order payable to “Franchise Tax Board.” Also write your social security number and “2003 FTB 3519” on the check or money order. Mail both
the check or money order and the voucher to: FRANCHISE TAX BOARD, PO BOX 942867, SACRAMENTO CA 94267-0051

✓✓✓✓✓ Keep this completed worksheet with your tax records.

TAX PAYMENT WORKSHEET FOR YOUR RECORDS

Instructions for Form FTB 3519
Payment Voucher for Automatic Extension for Individuals
General Information
Use form FTB 3519 only if:
• You cannot file your 2003 return* by April 15, 2004; and
• You owe tax for 2003.
Use the worksheet below to determine if you owe tax.
• If you do not owe tax, there is nothing to file at this time. Do not complete or

mail this voucher. But, you must file your return by October 15, 2004.
• If you owe tax, choose one of the following payment options. Be sure to pay

by April 15, 2004 to avoid penalties and interest. See Penalties and Interest
for more information.
Check or Money Order: Complete the payment voucher below and mail it with
your check or money order to the Franchise Tax Board (FTB).
Web Payment:  To make a payment online or to schedule a future payment
(up to one year in advance), visit FTB's Website at www.ftb.ca.gov and select
“Payment Options.” Do not mail the voucher to us.
Credit Card: Use your Discover/NOVUS, MasterCard, American Express, or
Visa card to pay your tax. Call (800) 272-9829 or visit the Website
www.officialpayments.com, and use the jurisdiction code 1555. Official
Payments Corp. charges a convenience fee for using this service. Do not mail
the voucher to us.
Installment Agreement:  Can’t pay the full amount you owe?  Visit our
Website at www.ftb.ca.gov or get FTB 3567, Installment Agreement Request
Booklet.

--
--

-

Name and Address. Be sure to fill in your complete name(s), address, and social
security number(s) on the voucher. If you lease a private mailbox (PMB) from a
private business rather than a PO box from the United States Postal Service,
include the box number in the field labeled “PMB no.” in the address area.

Penalties and Interest
If you fail to pay your total tax liability by April 15, 2004, a late-payment penalty
plus interest will be added to your tax due. If after April 15, 2004, you find that
your estimate of tax due was too low, you should pay the additional tax as soon
as possible to avoid further accumulation of penalties and interest. Pay your
additional tax with another form FTB 3519 voucher. If you do not file your tax
return by October 15, 2004, you will be assessed a late-filing penalty plus
interest from the original due date of the return.

Taxpayers Residing or Traveling Outside the USA
If you are living or traveling outside the USA on April 15, 2004, the deadline to
file your return and pay the tax is June 15, 2004. Interest will accrue from the
original due date (April 15, 2004) until the date of payment. If you need
additional time to file your tax return, you will be allowed an automatic six-month
extension without filing a written request. To qualify for the extension, you must
file your tax return by December 15, 2004. To avoid any late-payment penalties,
you must pay 100% of your tax liability by June 15, 2004. When filing your tax
return, be sure to attach a statement to the front indicating that you were
“outside the USA on April 15, 2004.”
* When you do file your 2003 return, you can e-file. Visit our Website at www.ftb.ca.gov.

Otherwise, you must use Form 540A, Form 540, or Long Form 540NR. Note: If you use
form FTB 3519, you may not file Form 540 2EZ or Short Form 540NR.

.....

351903103

If amount of payment is
zero, do not mail form } �

DETACH HERE IF NO PAYMENT IS DUE, DO NOT MAIL THIS FORM DETACH HERE

,,,,,,,,,,

Calendar year –
Due April 15, 2004

� �



540ES04103

Estimated Tax for Individuals
CALIFORNIA FORM

540-ES
Your first name Last nameInitial

If joint payment, spouse’s first name Last nameInitial

Present home address — number and street, PO Box, or rural route PMB no.

City, town, or post office State ZIP Code

-

TAXABLE YEAR

2004
Fiscal year filers, enter year ending month: Year 2005

Your social security number

- -
Spouse’s social security number

- -
Payment
Voucher

1
Amount of payment

Do not combine this payment with payment of your tax due for 2003.  Make your check or money order payable to
“Franchise Tax Board.”  Write your social security number and “Form 540-ES 2004” on it.  Mail this voucher and your
check or money order to: FRANCHISE TAX BOARD, PO BOX 942867, SACRAMENTO CA 94267-0031.
If No Payment is Due, Do Not Mail This Form.
See Section A of the instructions for an alternative to using this form.

Apt. no.

.....

For Privacy Act Notice, get form FTB 1131. Form 540-ES (REV. 2003)

Due April 15, 2004

,,,,,,,,,,



540ES04103

Estimated Tax for Individuals
CALIFORNIA FORM

540-ES
Your first name Last nameInitial

If joint payment, spouse’s first name Last nameInitial

Present home address — number and street, PO Box, or rural route PMB no.

City, town, or post office State ZIP Code

-

TAXABLE YEAR

2004
Fiscal year filers, enter year ending month: Year 2005

Your social security number

- -
Spouse’s social security number

- -
Payment
Voucher

2
Amount of payment

Do not combine this payment with payment of your tax due for 2003.  Make your check or money order payable to
“Franchise Tax Board.”  Write your social security number and “Form 540-ES 2004” on it.  Mail this voucher and your
check or money order to: FRANCHISE TAX BOARD, PO BOX 942867, SACRAMENTO CA 94267-0031.
If No Payment is Due, Do Not Mail This Form.
See Section A of the instructions for an alternative to using this form.

Form 540-ES (REV. 2003)For Privacy Act Notice, get form FTB 1131.

Apt. no.

540ES04103

Estimated Tax for Individuals
CALIFORNIA FORM

540-ES
Your first name Last nameInitial

If joint payment, spouse’s first name Last nameInitial

Present home address — number and street, PO Box, or rural route PMB no.

City, town, or post office State ZIP Code

-

TAXABLE YEAR

2004
Fiscal year filers, enter year ending month: Year 2005

Your social security number

- -
Spouse’s social security number

- -
Payment
Voucher

3
Amount of payment

Do not combine this payment with payment of your tax due for 2003.  Make your check or money order payable to
“Franchise Tax Board.”  Write your social security number and “Form 540-ES 2004” on it.  Mail this voucher and your
check or money order to: FRANCHISE TAX BOARD, PO BOX 942867, SACRAMENTO CA 94267-0031.
If No Payment is Due, Do Not Mail This Form.
See Section A of the instructions for an alternative to using this form.

Form 540-ES (REV. 2003)For Privacy Act Notice, get form FTB 1131.

Apt. no.

540ES04103

Estimated Tax for Individuals
CALIFORNIA FORM

540-ES
Your first name Last nameInitial

If joint payment, spouse’s first name Last nameInitial

Present home address — number and street, PO Box, or rural route PMB no.

City, town, or post office State ZIP Code

-

TAXABLE YEAR

2004
Fiscal year filers, enter year ending month: Year 2005

Your social security number

- -
Spouse’s social security number

- -
Payment
Voucher

4
Amount of payment

Do not combine this payment with payment of your tax due for 2003.  Make your check or money order payable to
“Franchise Tax Board.”  Write your social security number and “Form 540-ES 2004” on it.  Mail this voucher and your
check or money order to: FRANCHISE TAX BOARD, PO BOX 942867, SACRAMENTO CA 94267-0031.
If No Payment is Due, Do Not Mail This Form.
See Section A of the instructions for an alternative to using this form.

Form 540-ES (REV. 2003)For Privacy Act Notice, get form FTB 1131.

Apt. no.

.....

.....

.....

Due Jan. 18, 2005

Due Sept. 15, 2004

Due June 15,  2004

,,,,,,,,,,

,,,,,,,,,,

,,,,,,,,,,

DETACH HERE IF NO PAYMENT IS DUE, DO NOT MAIL THIS FORM DETACH HERE� �

DETACH HERE IF NO PAYMENT IS DUE, DO NOT MAIL THIS FORM DETACH HERE� �
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Instructions for Schedule CA (540)
These instructions are based on the Internal Revenue Code (IRC) as of January 1, 2001 and the California Revenue and Taxation Code (R&TC).

What's Changed?
The California legislature enacted SB 615 (Stats. 2004.CH.388), which makes
California law compatible with the Servicemembers Civil Relief Act (Public Law
108-189). This means that servicemembers domiciled outside of California and
their spouses may exclude the member's military compensation from gross
income when computing the tax rate on nonmilitary income.
Requirements for military servicemembers domiciled in California remain
unchanged. Military servicemembers domiciled in California must include their
military compensation in total income. In addition, they must include their
military compensation in California source income when stationed in California.
However, military compensation is not California source income when a
servicemember is permanently stationed outside of California.
Amended Returns.  The new laws permit servicemembers domiciled outside of
California, who included military compensation in income from all sources, to
amend certain previously filed returns. To determine which years may be
amended, get FTB Pub. 1001, Supplemental Guidelines to California Adjust-
ments, and FTB Pub. 1032, Tax Information for Military Personnel.
For servicemembers who are American Indian tribal members treated as living in
“Indian country,” get FTB 674, Frequently Asked Questions About the Income
Taxation of American Indians.

General Information
In general, California law conforms to the Internal Revenue Code (IRC) as of
January 1, 2001.  However, there are continuing differences between California
and federal law.  It should be noted that California does not always conform to
the entire provisions of a public law.  California has conformed to some of the
changes made to the Internal Revenue Code after January 1, 2001, including
some provisions of the Economic Growth and Tax Relief Reconciliation Act of
2001 (Public Law 107-16), the Victims of Terrorism Tax Relief Act of 2001
(Public Law 107-134), and the Job Creation and Worker Assistance Act of 2002
(Public Law 107-147).  California has not conformed to any of the provisions of
the Jobs and Growth Tax Relief Reconciliation Act of 2003 (Public Law 108-27)
and the Military Family Tax Relief Act of 2003 (Public law 108-121).
Differences Between California and Federal Law for 2003:
California law does not conform to federal law for:
• The tax incentives for “renewal communities.” California law does, however,

provide a variety of independent area tax incentives to encourage revitalization
of specially designated areas. The Government Code provides for the
designation of Enterprise Zones, Local Agency Military Base Recovery Areas
(LAMBRAs), a Targeted Tax Area (TTA), and Manufacturing Enhancement
Areas (MEAs). California law conforms to the general federal rules for
expensing IRC Section 179 property with the exception that California law only
allows a maximum deduction of $25,000. In lieu of this deduction, the
California Personal Income Tax Law allows a taxpayer with a business in an
“Economic Development Area” to elect to expense $20,000 to $40,000
(depending on the designation) of certain specified equipment used in the
business.

• The increased IRC Section 179 expense. Although federal law increased the
IRC Section 179 expense to $100,000, the maximum deduction amount under
California law is $25,000.

• Rebates or vouchers received from a local water agency, energy agency, or
energy supplier. This includes a rebate, voucher or other financial incentive
from the California Energy Commission, the Public Utility Commission, or a
local publicly owned electric utility company for any expenses paid or incurred
by a taxpayer for the purchase or installation of a thermal, solar or wind
energy/fuel generating system.

• Interest deduction allowed for interest paid on any loan or indebtedness from
a utility company to purchase energy efficient equipment and products for
California residents.

• Net Operating Loss - Pierce's disease.
• The additional 30% or 50% first year depreciation allowance for qualified

property.
• Educator Expense or the Tuition and Fees deduction.
• The Student loan interest deduction.
• The Clean Air Fuel first year deduction. You will need to report this adjustment

on line 33, column B as part of your subtractions.
NOTE:  Net Operating Losses have been suspended for 2002 and 2003.
California law is the same as federal law in the following areas:
Roth IRAs. The contribution rules and distribution rules are the same.

Self-employed health insurance deduction. The percentage for 2003 is 100%.
Note:  For instructions regarding registered domestic partners, see page 4,
line 29.
Holocaust Restitution Payments. An exclusion is provided for Holocaust
reparations received by eligible individuals, their heirs or estate for Holocaust
restitution payments, distributions or excludable trust.

Purpose
Use this schedule to make adjustments to your federal adjusted gross income
and to your federal itemized deductions using California law.

Part I – Specific Line Instructions
Column A — Federal Amounts
Line 7 through Line 21 – Enter on line 7 through line 21 the same amounts you
entered on your federal Form 1040, line 7 through line 21; Form 1040A, line 7
through line 14b; or Form 1040EZ line 1, line 2, and line 3.  Also enter the following
if applicable:
• The total qualified dividends on line 9(b);
• The total post-May 5 capital gain distributions on line 13(b);
• The total IRA distribution received on line 15(a);
• The total pension or annuity distribution received on line 16(a); and
• The total social security retirement benefit received on line 20(a).
Line 22 – Total
Combine the amounts on line 7 through line 21.
Line 23 through Line 31 – Enter the same amounts you entered on your federal
Form 1040, line 23 through line 31 or Form 1040A, line 16 through line 19.
Line 32a and Line 32b – Enter on line 32a the same amount you entered on your
federal Form 1040, line 32a. Enter on line 32b the social security number and
last name of the person to whom you paid alimony.
Line 33 – Add line 23 through line 32a. However, if you made any of the
adjustments described in the instructions for federal Form 1040, line 33 or if you
claimed the foreign housing deduction from federal Form 2555, Foreign Earned
Income, or Form 2555-EZ, Foreign Earned Income Exclusion, enter the amount
from Form 1040, line 33 on this line.
Line 34 – Total
Subtract line 33 from line 22.

Column B and Column C — Subtractions and Additions
Use these columns to enter subtractions and additions to the federal amounts in
column A that are necessary because of differences between California and
federal law. Enter all amounts as positive numbers unless instructed otherwise.
You may need one of the following FTB publications to complete column B and
column C:
• 1001, Supplemental Guidelines to California Adjustments;
• 1005, Pension and Annuity Guidelines;
• 1031, Guidelines for Determining Resident Status;
• 1032, Tax Information for Military Personnel; or
• 1100, Taxation of Nonresidents and Individuals Who Changed Residency.
To order a publication or form visit our Website at www.ftb.ca.gov or see the
back cover of your tax booklet.
Line 7 – Wages, Salaries, Tips, etc.
Generally, you will not make any adjustments on this line. If you did not receive
any of the following types of income, make no entry on this line in either
column B or column C.
Active duty military pay. Special rules apply to active duty military taxpayers.
Get FTB Pub. 1001 for more information.
Sick pay received under the Federal Insurance Contributions Act and Railroad
Retirement Act. California excludes this items from income. Enter in column B
the amount of these benefits included in the amount in column A.
Ridesharing fringe benefit differences.
Under federal law, qualified transportation benefits are excluded from gross
income.  Under the Revenue and Taxation Code, there are no monthly limits for
the exclusion of these benefits and California's definitions are more expansive.
Enter the amount of ridesharing benefits received and included in federal income
on line 7, column B.



Page 46 Schedule CA (540) Instructions 2003 (REV 2004)

Income exempted by U.S. tax treaties (unless specifically exempt for state
purposes also). If you excluded this income from your federal return, enter the
excluded amount in column C. If you claimed foreign earned income or housing
cost exclusion under IRC Section 911, see the instructions for line 21. Get FTB
Pub. 1001 for more information.
Exclusion for Medical Expenses. California allows an exclusion from gross
income for employer-provided accident, health insurance, and medical expense
reimbursement for registered domestic partners and the partner's dependents if
expenses were not previously deducted. Self-employed individuals may also
claim a deduction for health insurance costs paid for themselves, their spouses,
and dependents.  In addition, self-employed individuals may also claim this
deduction for health insurance costs paid for registered domestic partner and the
domestic partner's dependents.
Employer-Provided Adoption Assistance Exclusion. With regard to adoption of
children with special needs, California has not conformed to the federal
provisions providing for a potential increase in the exclusion for the year in
which the adoption becomes final or the limitation based upon the aggregate
amount paid in all years.  For more information, get form FTB 5123, Employer
Provided Adoption Assistance Exclusion, or FTB Pub. 1001, Supplemental
Guidelines to California Adjustments (2003).
Exclusion for compensation from exercising a California Qualified Stock
Option (CQSO).  To claim this exclusion, your earned income from the
corporation granting the CQSO must be $40,000 or less; the market value of the
options granted to you must be $100,000 or less; the total number of shares
must be 1,000 or less; and the corporation issuing the stock must designate that
the stock issued is a California qualified stock option at the time the option is
granted.  If you included in federal income an amount qualifying for this
exclusion, enter that amount in column B.
Line 8 – Taxable Interest Income
If you did not receive any of the kinds of income listed below, do not make an
entry on this line in either column B or column C.
Enter in column B the interest you received from:
• U.S. savings bonds (except for interest from series EE U.S. savings bonds

issued after 1989 that qualified for the Education Savings Bond Program
exclusion);

• U.S. Treasury bills, notes, and bonds; or
• Any other bonds or obligations of the United States and its territories.
Enter in column C the interest you identified as tax-exempt interest on your
federal Form 1040 (or Form 1040A), line 8b and which you received from:
• Non-California state bonds;
• Non-California municipal bonds issued by a county, city, town, or other local

government unit;
• Obligations of the District of Columbia issued after December 27, 1973; and
• Non-California bonds if the interest was passed through to you from

S corporations, trusts, partnerships, or Limited Liability Companies (LLCs).
Note: Do not make entries in either column B or column C for interest you
earned on Federal National Mortgage Association (Fannie Mae) Bonds,
Government National Mortgage Association (Ginnie Mae) Bonds, and Federal
Home Loan Mortgage Corporations (FHLMC) securities, or grants paid to low
income individuals.
Get FTB Pub. 1001 if you received interest income from the following sources:
• Loans made in an enterprise zone (EZ); or
• Items listed above passed through to you from S corporations, trusts,

partnerships, or LLCs.
Line 9 – Ordinary dividends
Generally, you will not have a difference between the amount of dividends
reported in Column A and the amount reported using California law.   However,
California taxes dividends that are derived from other states and their municipal
obligations.  In addition, certain mutual funds pay "exempt-interest dividends".  If
the mutual fund has at least 50% of its assets invested in tax-exempt U.S.
obligations and/or in California or its municipal obligations, that amount of
dividend is exempt from California tax.  The proportion of dividends that are tax-
exempt will be shown on your annual statement or statement issued with
Form 1099.
Add dividends received from the following and enter in column B:
• The portion of exempt interest dividends from mutual funds that meets the

50% rule above.
• Non-cash patronage dividends from farmers’ cooperatives or mutual

associations.
Add dividends received from the following and enter in column C:
• The federally exempt interest dividends from other states, or their municipal

obligations and/or from mutual funds that do not meet the 50% rule above.
• Controlled foreign corporation dividends in the year distributed;

• Regulated investment company (RIC) capital gains in the year distributed;
• Distributions of pre-1987 earnings from an S corporation;
• Non-cash patronage dividends from farmers’ cooperatives or mutual

associations.
Get FTB Pub. 1001 if you received dividends from:
• Non-cash patronage dividends from farmers’ cooperatives or mutual

associations;
• A controlled foreign corporation;
• Distributions of pre-1987 earnings from S corporations; or
• Undistributed capital gains for regulated investment company (RIC)

shareholders.
Line 10 – Taxable refunds, credits, or offsets of state and local income taxes
California does not tax the state income tax refund you received in 2003. Enter in
column B the amount of state tax refund you entered in column A.
Line 11 – Alimony Received
If you are a nonresident alien and received alimony that was not included in your
federal income, enter the alimony on this line in column C. Otherwise, make no
entry on this line.
Line 12 – Business Income or (Loss)
Adjustments to federal business income or loss you reported in column A
generally are necessary because of the difference between California and federal
law relating to depreciation methods, special credits, and accelerated write-offs.
As a result, the recovery period or basis you use to figure California depreciation
may be different from the amount used for federal purposes.
Adjustments are figured on form FTB 3885A, Depreciation and Amortization
Adjustments, and are most commonly necessary because of the following:
• Before January 1, 1987, California did not allow depreciation under the

federal accelerated cost recovery system. You must continue to figure
California depreciation for those assets in the same manner as prior years.

• On or after January 1, 1987, California provides special credits and accelerated
write-offs that affect the California basis of qualifying assets. Refer to the
bulleted list below.

Use form FTB 3801, Passive Activity Loss Limitation, to figure the total
adjustment for line 12 if you have:
• One or more passive activities that produce a loss; or
• One or more passive activities that produce a loss and any nonpassive activity

reported on federal Schedule C.
Use form FTB 3885A to figure the total adjustment for line 12 if you have:
• Only nonpassive activities which produce either gains or losses (or combina-

tion of gains and losses); or
• Passive activities that produce gains.
Get FTB Pub. 1001 for more information about:
Income related to:
• Business, trade, or profession carried on within California that is an integral

part of a unitary business carried on both within and outside California; or
• Pro-rata share of income received from a controlled foreign corporation by a

U.S. shareholder.
Basis adjustments related to:
• Property acquired prior to becoming a California resident;
• Sales or use tax credit for property used in an EZ, Local Agency Military Base

Recovery Area (LAMBRA), Targeted Tax Area (TTA), or former LARZ;
• Reduced recovery periods for fruit-bearing grapevines replaced in a California

vineyard on or after 1/1/92 as a result of phylloxera infestation; or on or after
1/1/97 as a result of Pierce’s disease;

• Expenditures for tertiary injectants;
• Property placed in service on an Indian reservation after 1/1/94 and before 12/

31/03;
• Amortization of pollution control facilities;
• Discharge of real property business indebtedness;
• Employer-paid child care program;
• Employer-paid child care plan;
• Vehicles used in an employer-sponsored ridesharing program;
• An enhanced oil recovery system;
• Joint Strike Fighter property costs;
• The cost of making a business accessible to disabled individuals;
• Property for which you received an energy conservation subsidy from a public

utility on or after 1/1/95 and before 1/1/97; or
• Research and experimental expenditures.
Business expense deductions related to:
• Wages paid in an EZ, LAMBRA, Manufacturing Enhancement Area (MEA), or

TTA;
• Certain employer costs for employees who are also enrolled members of

Indian tribes;
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• Abandonment or tax recoupment fees for open-space easements and
timberland preserves;

• Business located in an EZ, LAMBRA, or TTA;
• Research expense;
• Employer wage expense for the Work Opportunity Credit and Welfare-to-Work

Credit;
• Pro-rata share of deductions received from a controlled foreign corporation by

a U.S. shareholder;
• Interest paid on indebtedness in connection with company-owned life

insurance policies; or
• Premiums paid on life insurance policies, annuities, or endowment contracts

issued after 6/8/97 where the owner of the business is directly or indirectly a
policy beneficiary.

Line 13 – Capital Gain or (Loss)
Generally, you will not make any adjustments on this line. However, if you have
any of the items listed below, use Schedule D (540), California Capital Gain or
Loss Adjustment, to calculate the amount to enter on this line.
• Gain on the sale of qualified small business stock which qualifies for the gain

exclusion under IRC Section 1202;
• Basis amounts resulting from differences between California and federal law

in prior years;
• Gain or loss on stock and bond transactions;
• Installment sale gain reported on form FTB 3805E, Installment Sale Income;
• Gain on the sale of personal residence where depreciation was allowable;
• Flow-through gain or loss from partnerships, fiduciaries, S corporations, or

LLCs; or
• Capital loss carryover from your 2002 California Schedule D (540).
Get FTB Pub. 1001 for more information about:
• Disposition of S corporation stock acquired before 1987;
• Gain on sale or disposition of qualified assisted housing development to low-

income residents or to specified entities maintaining housing for low-income
residents;

• Undistributed capital gain for RIC shareholders;
• Gain or loss on the sale of property inherited before 1/1/87; or
• Capital loss carrybacks.
Line 14 – Other Gains or (Losses)
Generally, you will not make any adjustments on this line. However, the California
basis of your other assets may be different from the federal basis due to
differences between California and federal law. Therefore, you may have to adjust
the amount of other gains or losses. Get Schedule D-1, Sales of Business
Property.
Line 15 – Total IRA Distributions
Generally, you will not make any adjustments on this line. However, there may be
significant differences in the taxable amount of a distribution (including a
distribution from conversion of a traditional IRA to a Roth IRA), depending on
when you made your contributions to the IRA. Differences may also occur if your
California IRA deductions were different from your federal deductions because of
differences between California and federal self-employment income.
If the taxable amount using California law is:
• Less than the amount taxable under federal law, enter the difference in

column B; or
• More than the amount taxable under federal law, enter the difference in

column C.
Get FTB Pub. 1005 for more information and worksheets for figuring the
adjustment to enter on this line, if any.
Caution:  If you have an IRA basis and were a nonresident in prior years,  you
may need to restate your California IRA basis. Get FTB Pub. 1100, Taxation of
Nonresidents and Individuals Who Change Residency.
Coverdell ESA formerly known as Education (ED) IRA – If column A includes a
taxable distribution from an ED IRA, you may owe additional tax on that amount.
Get form FTB 3805P, Additional Taxes on Qualified Plans (Including IRAs) and
Other Tax-Favored Accounts. Report only the taxable amount of the distribution
on line 21f.
Line 16 – Total Pensions and Annuities
Generally, you will not make any adjustments on this line. However, if you
received Tier 2 railroad retirement benefits or partially taxable distributions from
a pension plan, you may need to make the following adjustments.
If you received a federal Form RRB 1099-R for railroad retirement benefits and
included all or part of these benefits in taxable income in column A, enter the
taxable benefit amount in column B.
If you began receiving a retirement annuity between 7/1/86 and 1/1/87 and
elected to use the three-year rule for California purposes and the annuity rules
for federal purposes, enter in column C the amount of the annuity payments you
excluded for federal purposes.

Line 17 – Rental Real Estate, Royalties, Partnerships, S Corporations, and
Trusts, etc.
Adjustments to federal income or loss you reported in column A generally are
necessary because of the difference between California and federal law relating
to depreciation methods, special credits, and accelerated write-offs. As a result,
the recovery period or basis you use to figure California depreciation may be
different from the recovery period or amount used for federal purposes, and you
may need to make an adjustment to your income or loss. For more information,
see the instructions for column B and column C, line 12.
Note:  California law does not conform to federal law for material participation in
rental real estate activities. Beginning in 1994, and for federal purposes only,
rental real estate activities conducted by persons in real property business are
not automatically treated as passive activities. Get form FTB 3801, Passive
Activity Loss Limitations, for more information.
Use form FTB 3801, Passive Activity Loss Limitations, to figure the total
adjustment for line 17 if you have:
• One or more passive activities that produce a loss; or
• One or more passive activities that produce a loss and any nonpassive activity

reported on federal Schedule E.
Use form FTB 3885A, Depreciation and Amortization Adjustments, to figure the
total adjustment for line 17 if you have:
• Only nonpassive activities which produce either gains or losses (or combina-

tion of gains and losses); or
• Passive activities that produce gains.
Note:  LLCs that are classified as partnerships for California purposes and
limited liability partnerships (LLPs) are subject to the same rules as other
partnerships.  LLCs report distributive items to members on Schedule K-1 (568),
Member's Share of Income, Deductions, Credits, etc.  LLPs report to partners on
Schedule K-1 (565), Partner's Share of Income, Deductions, Credits, etc.
Get FTB Pub. 1001 for more information about accumulation distributions to
beneficiaries for which the trust was not required to pay California tax because
the beneficiary’s interest was contingent.
Line 18 – Farm Income or (Loss)
Adjustments to federal income or loss you report in column A generally are
necessary because of the difference between California and federal law relating
to depreciation methods, special credits, and accelerated write-offs. As a result,
the recovery period or basis you use to figure California depreciation may be
different from the amount used for federal purposes, and you may need to make
an adjustment to your farm income or loss.
Use form FTB 3801, Passive Activity Loss Limitation, to figure the total
adjustment for line 18 if you have:
• One or more passive activities that produce a loss; or
• One or more passive activities that produce a loss and any nonpassive activity

reported on federal Schedule F.
Use form FTB 3885A, Depreciation and Amortization Adjustments, to figure the
total adjustment for line 18 if you have:
• Only nonpassive activities which produce either gains or losses (or combina-

tion of gains and losses); or
• Passive activities that produce gains.
Line 19 – Unemployment Compensation
California does not tax unemployment compensation. Enter on line 19, column B
the amount of unemployment compensation shown in column A. Note: Do not
include qualified state tuition program earnings.
Line 20 – U.S. Social Security Benefits
California does not tax U.S. social security benefits or equivalent Tier 1 railroad
retirement benefits. Enter in column B the amount of U.S. social security benefits
or equivalent Tier 1 railroad retirement benefits shown in column A.
Line 21 – Other Income
a. California Lottery Winnings. California does not tax California lottery
winnings. Enter in column B the amount of California lottery winnings included in
the federal amount on line 21 in column A.
Note: Do not include lottery winnings from other states. They are taxable by
California. California and federal laws allow gambling losses only to the extent
you report gambling income.  If you reduced your gambling income for California
lottery income, you may need to reduce the losses included in the federal
itemized deductions on line 35. Enter these losses on line 38 as a negative
number.
b. Disaster Loss Carryover from form FTB 3805V, line 6. If you have a
California disaster loss carryover from your 2002 form FTB 3805V, Net Operating
Loss (NOL) Computation and NOL and Disaster Loss Limitations, enter that
amount as a positive number in column B.
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c. Federal NOL deduction from Form 1040, line 21. If the amount on line 21 in
column A includes a federal NOL, enter the amount of the federal NOL deduction
as a positive number in column C. Get form FTB 3805V, Net Operating Loss
(NOL) Computation and NOL and Disaster Loss Limitations – Individuals,
Estates, and Trusts, to figure the allowable California NOL deduction.
d. NOL Carryover from form FTB 3805V, line 5. This is suspended for 2002 and
2003.
e. NOL deduction from form FTB 3805D, FTB 3805Z, FTB 3806, FTB 3807, or
FTB 3809. This is suspended for 2002 and 2003.
f. Other (describe).
Reward from a crime hotline. Enter in column B the amount of a reward
authorized by a government agency that you received from a crime hotline
established by a government agency or nonprofit organization and that is
included in the amount on line 21 in column A.
Note: You may not make this adjustment if you are an employee of the hotline or
someone who sponsors rewards for the hotline.
Federal foreign earned income or housing exclusion. Enter in column C the
amount deducted from federal income on Form 1040, line 21.
Beverage container recycling income. Enter in column B the amount of this type
of income that you included in the amount on line 21 in column A.
Rebates or vouchers from a local water agency, energy agency, or energy
supplier. California law allows an income exclusion for rebates or vouchers from
a local water agency, energy agency, or energy supplier for the purchase and
installation of water conservation appliances and devices. Enter in column B the
amount of this type of income that you included in the amount on line 21 in
column A.
Original issue discount (OID) for debt instruments issued in 1985 and 1986.  In
the year of sale or other disposition, you must recognize the difference between
the amount reported on your federal return and the amount reported for
California purposes. Issuers: Enter the difference between the federal deductible
amount and the California deductible amount on line 21f in column B. Holders:
Enter the difference between the amount included in federal gross income and
the amount included for California purposes on line 21f in column C.
Foreign income of nonresident aliens. Adjust federal income to reflect
worldwide income computed under California law. Enter losses from foreign
sources in column B. Enter foreign source income in column C.
Cost-share payments received by forest landowners. Enter in column B the
cost-share payments received from the Department of Forestry and Fire
Protection under the California Forest Improvement Act of 1978 or from the
United States Department of Agriculture, Forest Service, under the Forest
Stewardship Program and the Stewardship Incentives Program, pursuant to the
Cooperative Forestry Assistance Act.
Compensation for False Imprisonment. California excludes compensation for
false imprisonment from income.  Enter the amount of compensation on line 21f,
column B.
Coverdell (ESA) Distributions. If you received a distribution from a Coverdell
ESA, you now report only the taxable amount of the distribution on line 21f.
Grants paid to low-income individuals.  California excludes grants paid to low-
income individuals to construct or retrofit buildings to make them more energy
efficient.  Federal has no similar exclusion.  Enter on line 21f, column B the
amount of this type of income.
Line 22 – Total
Add line 7 through line 21f in column B and column C. Enter the totals on line 22.
Line 23 through Line 31 – California law is the same as federal law with the
exception of the following:
• Line 23 (Educator Expense), transfer the amount from column A, line 23, to

column B, line 23.
• Line 25 (Student Loan Interest Deduction), California only allows a deduction

for interest required to be paid in the first 60 months.  California also has a
different phase-out deduction amount.  If you claimed the student loan
interest deduction on your federal return, complete the worksheet to compute
the amount to enter on line 25, column B.

Student Loan Interest Deduction Worksheet
1. Enter the total amount from Schedule CA, (540), line 25,

Column A . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 1. ____________
Caution:  If the amount on line 1 is zero.  STOP.  Enter zero on Schedule CA
(540), line 25, column B. You are not allowed a deduction for California.

2. Enter the total interest you paid in 2003 on qualified
student loans. Do not include interest that was required
to be paid after the first 60 months or interest for
voluntary payments . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 2. ____________

3. Enter the smaller of line 2 or $2,500 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 3. ____________
4. Enter the amount from Form 540,

line 13 (Note: Use the federal AGI
NOT California AGI) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 4. ____________

5. Add line 1 and line 4 . . . . . . . . . . . . . 5. ____________
6. Did you file federal Form 2555,

2555-EZ, or 4563, or are you
excluding income from sources
within Puerto Rico or America
Samoa from your federal income?
No. Skip line 6a through 6d.

Enter the amount from line 5 on
line 7 and go to line 8.

Yes. Continue to line 6a.
6a. Enter any foreign earned income exclusion

(federal Form 2555, line 40 or
Form 2555-EZ, line 18) . . . . . . . . . . . 6a.____________

6b. Enter any housing exclusion and/or
deduction (federal Form 2555, line 34
and line 48) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 6b.____________

6c. Enter the amount of income from
Puerto Rico that you are excluding
from federal income . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 6c.____________

6d. Enter the amount of income from
American Samoa that you are
excluding (federal Form 4563,
line 15) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 6d.____________

7. Add line 5 through line 6d . . . . . . . . . 7.  ____________
8. Enter the amount shown below

for your filing status
• Single, head of household, or
   qualifying widow(er) – $41,600 . . 8. ____________
• Married filing jointly  – $62,400

9. Is the amount on line 7 more than
the amount on line 8?
� No. Skip lines 9 and 10, enter
             -0- on line 11, and go to
            line 12.
�  Yes. Subtract line 8 from line 7 . . 9. ____________

10. Divide line 9 by $15,000. Enter the result as a
decimal (rounded to at least three places). Do not
enter more than “1.000” . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 10.  __  .  __ __ __

11. Multiply line 3 by line 10 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 11. ____________
12. Student loan interest deduction. Subtract line 11

from line 3 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 12. ____________
13. Student loan interest adjustment. Subtract line 12

from line 1. Enter the result here and on
Schedule CA (540), line 25, column B . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 13. ____________

• Line 26 (Tuition and Fees deductions), transfer the amount from column A,
line 26, to column B, line 26.

• Line 29 (Self-Employed Health Insurance Deduction), most people do not have
an entry in column B or column C.  For the purposes of this deduction,
California allows you to treat your registered domestic partner as your
spouse.
Enter on column C, line 29, the amount paid for health insurance coverage
(established under your business) for your registered domestic partner and
their dependents.  Your total California deduction cannot exceed the
limitations explained in the federal instructions.  Do not include health
insurance costs for any month you were eligible to participate in any
subsidized health plan maintained by your or your domestic partner's
employer.

}
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Enter on column B, line 29, the amount of health insurance cost included in
column A, line 29, for any month you were eligible to participate in any
subsidized health plan maintained by your registered domestic partner's
employer.

• Clean Air Fuel, first year deduction (this will be included in the total for
Column B on line 33). See instructions below.

Line 32a – Alimony Paid
Enter the social security number and last name of the person to whom you paid
alimony. Note: If you are a nonresident alien and did not deduct alimony on your
federal return, enter the amount you paid in column C.
Line 33 – Add line 23 through line 32a in column B and column C. If you claimed
the Clean Air Fuel first year deduction, include that amount in the total you enter
in column B, line 33. Enter the amount and “Clean Air Fuel” on the dotted line
next to line 33. If you claimed the foreign housing deduction, include that
amount in the total you enter in column B, line 33. Enter the amount and
“Form 2555” or “Form 2555-EZ” on the dotted line next to line 33.
Line 34 – Total
Subtract line 33 from line 22 in column B and column C.
Transfer the amount from line 34:
• Column B to Form 540, Side 1, line 14; and
• Column C to Form 540, Side 1, line 16.
Caution: If Schedule CA (540), line 34:
• Column B is a negative number, do not transfer it to Form 540, line 14.

Instead, transfer the amount as a positive number to Form 540, line 16; or
• Column C is a negative number, do not transfer it to Form 540, line 16.

Instead, transfer the amount as a positive number to Form 540, line 14. If you
plan to itemize deductions, go to Part II.

Part II – Specific Line Instructions
Line 35 – Federal Itemized Deductions
Enter the total amount of itemized deductions from your federal Form 1040,
Schedule A, lines 4, 9, 14, 18, 19, 26, and 27. Important: If you did not itemize
deductions on your federal tax return but will itemize deductions on your
California tax return, first complete federal Schedule A. Then complete Schedule
CA (540), Part II, line 35 through line 41.
Line 36 – State, Local, and Foreign Income Taxes
Enter the state and local income tax from federal Form 1040, Schedule A, line 5
and only the portion relating to foreign income taxes from line 8. Include state
disability insurance (SDI), limited partnership tax, and income or franchise tax
paid by S corporations.
Line 38 – Other Adjustments
Adoption-Related Expenses. If you deducted adoption-related expenses on your
federal Form 1040, Schedule A and are claiming the adoption cost credit for the
same amounts on your Form 540, enter the amount of the adoption cost credit
claimed as a negative number on line 38.
Mortgage Interest Credit. If you reduced your federal mortgage interest
deduction by the amount of your mortgage interest credit (from federal
Form 8396, Mortgage Interest Credit), increase your California itemized
deductions by the same amount. Enter the amount of your federal mortgage
interest credit as a positive number on line 38.
Nontaxable Income Expenses. If, on federal Schedule A, you claim expenses
related to producing income taxed under federal law but not taxed by California,
enter the amount as a negative number on line 38. You may claim expenses
related to producing income taxed by California law but not taxed under federal
law by entering the amount as a positive number on line 38.
Employee Business Expense. If you completed federal Form 2106, Employee
Business Expense, or Form 2106-EZ, Unreimbursed Employee Business
Expense, also complete Form 2106 or Form 2106-EZ using California amounts.
Compare line 10 on both Forms 2106 (or line 6 if using Forms 2106-EZ). If the
federal amount is larger, enter the difference as a negative number on line 38. If
the California amount is larger, enter the difference as a positive number on
line 38.
Investment Interest Expense. Your California deduction for investment interest
expense may be different from your federal deduction. You must use form
FTB 3526, Investment Interest Expense Deduction, to figure the amount to enter
on line 38.
Interest Expense Deduction. Your California interest expense deduction may be
different from your federal deduction. A deduction is allowed for interest paid on
any loan or financed indebtedness from a utility company to purchase energy
efficient equipment and products for California residences. Enter as a positive
number on line 38.

Gambling Losses. California lottery losses are not deductible for California.
Enter the amount of California lottery losses shown on federal Schedule A as a
negative number on line 38.
Federal Estate Tax. Federal estate tax paid on income in respect of a decedent is
not deductible for California. Enter the amount of federal estate tax shown on
federal Schedule A as a negative number on line 38.
Generation Skipping Transfer Tax. Tax paid on generation skipping transfers is
not deductible under California law. Enter the amount of expenses shown on
federal Schedule A as a negative number on line 38.
State Legislator’s Travel Expenses. Under California law, deductible travel
expenses for state legislators include only those incurred while away from their
place of residence overnight. Figure the difference between the amount allowed
using federal law and the amount allowed using California law. Enter the
difference as a negative number on line 38.
Charitable Contribution Carryover Deduction. If you are deducting a prior year
charitable contribution carryover, and the California carryover is larger than the
federal carryover, enter the additional amount as a positive number on line 38
Interest on loans from utility companies. Taxpayers are allowed a tax deduction
for interest paid or incurred on a public utility company financed loan that is
used to purchase and install energy efficient equipment or products, including
zone-heating products for a qualified residence located in California. Federal law
has no equivalent deduction. Enter the amount as a positive number on line 38.
Medical benefits paid on behalf of registered domestic partners. Taxpayer
benefits are extended to include the taxpayer's registered domestic partner and
their dependent(s) for medical expenses and health insurance benefits that occur
on or after January 1, 2002.  Federal law does not include this provision.  Enter
the amount as a positive number on line 38.
Line 40 – California Itemized Deductions
Is the amount on Form 540, line 13 more than the amount shown below for your
filing status?
Single or married filing separately  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $135,714
Married filing jointly or qualifying widow(er)  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $271,432
Head of household  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $203,574
NO Transfer the amount from line 39 to line 40. Do not complete the

worksheet.
YES Complete the Itemized Deductions Worksheet.
Note:
• If you are married and filing a separate return, you and your spouse must

either both itemize your deductions or both take the standard deduction.
• Also, if someone else can claim you as a dependent, you may claim the

greater of the standard deduction or your itemized deductions. See instruc-
tions for the “California Standard Deduction Worksheet for Dependents” to
figure your standard deduction.

Itemized Deductions Worksheet
 1. Amount from Schedule CA (540), line 39  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 1 ________
 2. Using California amounts, add the amounts on federal

Form 1040, Schedule A, line 4, line 13, and line 19
plus any gambling losses included on line 27  . . . . . . . . . . . . 2 ________

 3. Subtract line 2 from line 1  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 3 ________
Note: If -0-, stop. Enter the amount from line 1 on
Schedule CA (540), line 40.

 4. Multiply line 3 by 80% (.80)  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 4 ________
 5. Amount from Form 540, line 13  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 5 ________
 6. Enter the amount shown above for your filing status  . . . . . . . 6 ________
 7. Subtract line 6 from line 5  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 7 ________

Note: If -0- or less, stop. Enter the amount from line 1
on Schedule CA (540), line 40.

 8. Multiply line 7 by 6% (.06)  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 8 ________
 9. Compare line 4 and line 8. Enter the smaller amount here  . . . 9 ________
 10. Total itemized deductions. Subtract line 9 from line 1.

Enter here and on Schedule CA (540), line 40  . . . . . . . . . . . . 10 ________
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Instructions for California Schedule D (540)
California Capital Gain or Loss Adjustment
General Information
In general, California law conforms to the Internal Revenue Code (IRC)
as of January 1, 2001.  However, there are continuing differences
between California and federal law.  It should be noted that California
does not always conform to the entire provisions of a public law.
California has conformed to some of the changes made to the Internal
Revenue Code after January 1, 2001, including some provisions of the
Economic Growth and Tax Relief Reconciliation Act of 2001 (Public Law
107-16), the Victims of Terrorism Tax Relief Act of 2001 (Public Law
107-134), and the Job Creation and Worker Assistance Act of 2002
(Public Law 107-147).  California has not conformed to any of the
provisions of the Jobs and Growth Tax Relief Reconciliation Act of 2003
(Public Law 108-27) and the Military Family Tax Relief Act of 2003
(Public Law 108-121).
Note: California law does not conform to federal law for the Section 179
expense deduction. For 2003, the maximum amount for California is
$25,000.

Purpose
Use California Schedule D only if there is a difference between your
California and federal capital gains and losses.
For more information about the following, get FTB Pub. 1001, Supple-
mental Guidelines to California Adjustments:
• Disposition of property inherited before 1987;
• Disposition of S corporation stock acquired before 1987;
• Gain on the sale or disposition of a qualified assisted housing

development to low-income residents or to specific entities maintain-
ing housing for low-income residents; or

• Capital loss carryback.
Exclusion of Gain on Qualified Small Business Stock. California law
(R&TC Section 18152.5) provides an exclusion (similar to the federal
exclusion under IRC Section 1202) of 50% of the gain on the sale of
qualifying small business stock originally issued after 8/10/93 that was
held for more than five years. However, for California purposes, at least
80% of the issuing corporation’s payroll must be attributable to
employment located within California, and at least 80% of the value of
the corporation’s assets must be used by the corporation to actively
conduct one or more qualified trades or businesses in California. See
the Specific Line Instruction for Line 1b.
Installment Sales. If you sold property at a gain (other than publicly
traded stocks or securities) and you will receive a payment in a tax year
after the year of sale, you must report the sale on the installment
method unless you elect not to do so. Get form FTB 3805E. Also, use
that form if you received a payment in 2003, for an installment sale
made in an earlier year. Note: You may elect not to use the installment
sale method for California by reporting the entire gain on Schedule D
(540) (or Schedule D-1 for business assets) in the year of the sale and
filing your return on or before the due date.
At-Risk Rules and Passive Activity Limitations. If you dispose of (1)
an asset used in an activity to which the at-risk rules apply, or (2) any
part of your interest in an activity to which the at-risk rules apply, and
you have amounts in the activity for which you are not at risk, get and
complete federal Form 6198, At-Risk Limitations, using California
amounts to figure your California deductible loss under the at-risk rules.
Once a loss becomes allowable under the at-risk rules, it becomes
subject to the passive activity rules. Get form FTB 3801, Passive Activity
Loss Limitations.

Specific Line Instructions
Note: If you have gain on the sale of qualified small business stock that
qualifies for the federal Section 1202 exclusion, go to the instructions
for line 1b.
Line 1a – List each capital asset transaction.
Column (a) – Description of Property. Describe the asset you sold or
exchanged.
Column (b) – Sales Price. Enter in this column either the gross sales
price or the net sales price. If you received a Form 1099-B, 1099-S, or
similar statement showing the gross sales price, enter that amount in
column (b). However, if box 2 of Form 1099-B indicates that gross
proceeds less commissions and option premiums were reported to IRS,
enter that net amount in column (b). If you entered the net amount in
column (b), do not include the commissions and option premiums in
column (c).
Column (c) – Cost or Other Basis. In general, the cost or other basis is
the cost of the property plus purchase commissions and improvements
minus depreciation, amortization and depletion. Enter the cost or
adjusted basis of the asset for California purposes. Use your records
and California tax returns for years before 1987 to determine the
California amount to enter in column (c). If you used an amount other
than cost as the original basis, your federal basis may be different from
your California basis. Other reasons for differences are:
Depreciation Methods and Property Expensing
Before 1987, California law did not allow the use of ACRS and did not
allow the use of an asset depreciation range 20% above or below the
standard rate. Before 1999, California had different limits on the
expensing of property under IRC Section 179. California law permits
rapid write-off of certain property such as solar energy systems,
pollution control devices, and property used in an Enterprise Zone,
LAMBRA, Targeted Tax Area, or LARZ.
Inherited Property – The California basis of property inherited from a
decedent is generally fair market value (FMV) at the time of death. If you
acquired community property as a surviving spouse, get FTB Pub. 1039,
Basis of Property – Decedent/Surviving Spouse, for more information.
S Corporation Stock – Prior to 1987, California law did not recognize S
corporations and your California basis in S corporation stock may differ
from your federal basis. In general, your California basis will be cost-
adjusted for income, loss, and distributions received after 1986, while
your stock was California S corporation stock. Your federal basis will be
cost-adjusted for income, loss, and distributions received during the
time your stock qualified for federal S corporation treatment. Effective
for taxable years beginning on or after 1/1/02, any corporation with a
valid federal S corporation election is considered an S corporation for
California purposes. Existing law already requires federal C corporations
to be treated as C corporations for California purposes.
Special Credits – California law authorizes special tax credits not
allowed under federal law or computed differently under federal law. In
many instances if you claimed special credits related to capital assets,
you must reduce your basis in the assets by the amount of credit.
Other adjustments may apply differently to the federal and California
basis of your capital assets. Figure the original basis of your asset using
the California law in effect when the asset was acquired, and adjust it
according to provisions of California law in effect during the period of
your ownership.
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Line 1b – Section 18152.5 Exclusion. If the gain qualifying for the IRC
Section 1202 exclusion also qualifies for the California exclusion
under R&TC Section 18152.5: Enter in column (a) “Section 18152.5
Exclusion.” Complete column (b) and column (c) according to the
instructions for line 1a. Enter in column (d) the amount of gain that
qualifies for the California exclusion. Enter in column (e) the entire gain
realized. If the gain qualifying for the IRC Section 1202 exclusion does
not qualify for the California exclusion: Complete column (a), column
(b), and column (c) according to the instructions for line 1a. Enter -0- in
column (d) and enter the entire gain realized in column (e).
Line 3 – Capital Gain Distributions. If you receive federal Form 2439,
Notice to Shareholder of Undistributed Long-Term Capital Gains, from a
mutual fund, do not include the undistributed capital gain dividends on
Schedule D. If you receive federal Form 1099-DIV, Dividends and
Distributions, enter the amount of distributed capital gain dividends.
Line 6 – 2002 California Capital Loss Carryover. If you were a resident
of California for all prior years, enter your California capital loss
carryover from 2002. However, if you were a nonresident of California
during any taxable year that generated a portion of your 2002 capital
loss carryover, you must recalculate your 2002 capital carryover loss as
if you were a resident of California for all prior years. Get FTB Pub.
1100, Taxation of Nonresidents and Individuals Who Change Residency,
for more information. Enter your California capital loss carryover
amount from 2002 on line 6 as a negative number.
Line 8 – Net Gain or Loss. If the amount on line 4 is more than the
amount on line 7, subtract line 7 from line 4. Enter the difference as a
gain on line 8.
If the amount on line 7 is more than the amount on line 4, subtract
line 4 from line 7 and enter the difference as a negative amount on
line 8.
Use the worksheet on this page to figure your capital loss carryover to
2004.
Line 9 – If line 8 is a net capital loss, enter the smaller of the loss on
line 8 or $3,000 ($1,500 if you are married filing a separate return).

Line 12a – Enter the difference on line 12a and on Schedule CA (540),
line 13, column B.

For example:
Loss on line 10 is less than loss on line 11.

Federal loss on line 10 is  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $1,000
California loss on line 11 is  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $2,000
Subtract line 10 from line 11  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $1,000

Gain on line 10 and loss on line 11.
Federal gain on line 10 is  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $3,000
California loss on line 11 is  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $3,000
Add line 10 and line 11  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $6,000

Line 12b – Enter the difference on line 12b and on Schedule CA (540),
line 13, column C.

For example:
Loss on line 10 is more than loss on line 11.

Federal loss on line 10 is  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $2,000
California loss on line 11 is  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $1,000
Subtract line 11 from line 10  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $1,000

Loss on line 10 and gain on line 11.
Federal loss on line 10 is  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $2,000
California gain on line 11 is  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $5,000
Add line 10 and line 11  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $7,000

California Capital Loss Carryover Worksheet
 1. Loss from Schedule D (540), line 11, stated as a

positive number  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 1_________
 2. Amount from Form 540, line 17  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 2 _________
 3. Amount from Form 540, line 18  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 3 _________
 4. Subtract line 3 from line 2. If less than zero, enter

as a negative amount  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 4 _________
 5. Combine line 1 and line 4. If less than zero,

enter -0-  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 5 _________
 6. Loss from Schedule D (540), line 8  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 6 _________
 7. Enter the smaller of line 1 or line 5  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 7 _________
 8. Subtract line 7 from line 6. This is your capital loss

carryover to 2004  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 8 _________

Instructions for Form FTB 3885A
Depreciation and Amortization Adjustments
General Information
In general, California law conforms to the Internal Revenue Code (IRC)
as of January 1, 2001.  However, there are continuing differences
between California and federal law.  It should be noted that California
does not always conform to the entire provisions of a public law.
California has conformed to some of the changes made to the Internal
Revenue Code after January 1, 2001, including some provisions of the
Economic Growth and Tax Relief Reconciliation Act of 2001 (Public Law
107-16), the Victims of Terrorism Tax Relief Act of 2001 (Public Law
107-134), and the Job Creation and Worker Assistance Act of 2002
(Public Law 107-147).  California has not conformed to any of the
provisions of the Jobs and Growth Tax Relief Reconciliation Act of 2003
(Public Law 108-27) and the Military Family Tax Relief Act of 2003
(Public Law 108-121).
Get FTB Pub. 1001, Supplemental Guidelines to California Adjustments,
for more information on differences between California and federal law
for the following items:
• Amortization of certain intangibles (IRC Section 197);
• Qualified Indian Reservation property;
• Grapevines subject to Phylloxera or Pierce's disease; and
• Bonus Depreciation

Purpose
Use form FTB 3885A only if there is a difference between the amount of
depreciation and amortization allowed as a deduction using California
law and the amount allowed using federal law. California law and federal
law have not always allowed the same depreciation methods, special
credits, or accelerated write-offs. As a result, the recovery periods or
the basis on which the depreciation is figured for California may be
different from the amounts used for federal purposes. You will probably
have reportable differences if all or part of your assets were placed in
service:
• Before 1/1/87. California did not allow depreciation under the federal

accelerated cost recovery system (ACRS), and you must continue to
figure California depreciation for those assets in the same manner as
in prior years.

• On or after 1/1/87. California provides special credits and accelerated
write-offs that affect the California basis of qualifying assets.
California did not conform to all changes to federal law enacted in
1993, and this causes the California basis or recovery periods to be
different for some assets.
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• On or after 9/11/01. If you claimed the 30% additional depreciation
for federal purposes, California has not conformed to the Federal Job
Creation and Worker Assistance Act of 2002 which allows taxpayers
to take an additional first year depreciation deduction and Alternative
Minimum Tax depreciation adjustment for property placed in service
after September 10, 2001.
Federal law increased the additional first-year depreciation deduction
and Alternative Minimum Tax depreciation adjustment of the adjusted
basis of qualified property from 30% to 50%. The deduction is
allowable for property acquired after May 5, 2003 and placed in
service before January 1, 2005.  California has not conformed to the
Jobs and Growth Tax Act of 2003 which allows this increase in
deduction.

Differences may also occur for other less common reasons, and the
instructions for Schedule CA (540 or 540NR) list them on the line for
the type of income likely to be affected. You may also get FTB Pub. 1001
for more information about figuring and reporting these adjustments.
If you are reporting differences for assets related to a passive activity,
get form FTB 3801, Passive Activity Loss Limitations, for more
information about passive activities.
Do not use form FTB 3885A to report depreciation expense from federal
Form 2106, Employee Business Expenses. Instead, see the instructions
for Schedule CA (540 or 540NR), line 39.

Specific Line Instructions
Note: Prepare and file a separate form FTB 3885A for each business or
activity on your return that has a difference between California and
federal depreciation or amortization. Enter the name of the business or
activity in the space provided at the top of the form. If you need more
space, attach additional sheets. However, complete Part II, Election to
Expense Certain Tangible Property (IRC Section 179), only once.
Part I Identify the Activity as Passive or Nonpassive
Line 1 – Check the box to identify the activity as passive or nonpassive.
A passive activity is any activity involving the conduct of any trade or
business in which you did not materially participate. Get form FTB 3801
for more information.
If the activity is passive, use this form as a worksheet to figure the
depreciation adjustment to carry to form FTB 3801.
Caution: Beginning in 1994, and for federal purposes only, rental real
estate activities of persons in real property business are not automati-
cally treated as passive activities. California did not conform to this
provision.
Part II Election To Expense Certain Tangible Property
You may elect to expense part of the cost of depreciable personal
property used in your trade or business and certain other property
described in federal Pub. 946, How to Depreciate Property. To do so,
you must have purchased property, as defined in the IRC Section
179(d)(2), and placed it in service during 2003, or have a carryover of
unused cost from 2002. If you elect this deduction, you must reduce
your California depreciable basis by the IRC Section 179 expense. The
maximum Section 179 expense allowed for 2003 is $25,000.
Complete the worksheet on this page to figure IRC Section 179 expense
for California. Include all assets qualifying for the deduction because the
limit applies to all qualifying assets as a group rather than to each asset
individually. Refer to federal Form 4562 for information.

Tangible Property Expense Worksheet
 1 Maximum dollar limitation for California  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 1 __________
 2 Total cost of Section 179 property placed in service  . . . . . . . . . . 2 __________
 3 Threshold cost of Section 179 property before

reduction in limitation  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 3 __________
 4 Reduction in limitation. Subtract line 3 from line 2.

If zero or less, enter -0-  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 4 __________
 5 Dollar limitation for tax year. Subtract line 4 from line 1.

If zero or less, enter -0-  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 5 __________
(a) Description of property (b) Cost (c) Elected cost

 6

 7 Listed property (elected Section 179 cost)  . . 7 _________
 8 Total elected cost of Section 179 property. Add column (c),

line 6 and line 7  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 8 _________
 9 Tentative deduction. Enter the smaller of line 5 or line 8  . . . . . . . 9 _________
 10 Carryover of disallowed deduction from 2002  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 10 _________
 11 Enter the smaller of business income (not less than -0-)

or line 5  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 11 _________
 12 Section 179 expense deduction for California.

Add line 9 and line 10, but do not enter more than
line 11. Also enter the result on FTB 3885A, line 2  . . . . . . . . . . . . 12 _________

 13 Carryover of disallowed deduction to 2004.
Add line 9 and line 10.
Subtract line 12 from the result  . . . . . . . . . . . 13__________

Part III Depreciation
Line 3 – Complete column (a) through column (f) for each tangible
asset or group of assets placed in service during the tax year. Be sure to
use the California basis for assets on which you elected to take the
Section 179 deduction. It will be the difference between line 6,
column (b) and line 6, column (c) of the Tangible Property Expense
Worksheet in Part II.
Line 8a and Line 8b – Are you using this form as a worksheet in
connection with form FTB 3801?
Yes Enter the amount from line 8a or line 8b on form FTB 3801,

Side 2, California Passive Activity Worksheet, column (e).
No Include the amount from line 8a on Schedule CA (540 or 540NR)

in column B on line 12 for federal Schedule C activities; on
line 17 for federal Schedule E activities; and on line 18 for federal
Schedule F activities.
Include the amount from line 8b on Schedule CA (540 or 540NR)
in column C on line 12 for federal Schedule C activities; on
line 17 for federal Schedule E activities; and on line 18 for federal
Schedule F activities.

Part IV Amortization
Line 9 – Complete column (a) through column (f) for intangible assets
placed in service during the tax year. Be sure to use the California basis
and the California recovery period.
Line 14a and Line 14b – Are you using this form as a worksheet in
connection with form FTB 3801?
Yes Enter the amount from line 14a or line 14b on form FTB 3801,

Side 2, California Passive Activity Worksheet, column (e).
No Include the amount from line 14a on Schedule CA (540 or

540NR) in column B on line 12 for federal Schedule C activities;
on line 17 for federal Schedule E activities; and on line 18 for
federal Schedule F activities.
Include the amount from line 14b on Schedule CA (540 or
540NR) in column C on line 12 for federal Schedule C activities;
on line 17 for federal Schedule E activities; and on line 18 for
federal Schedule F activities.
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2004 Instructions for Form 540-ES
Estimated Tax For Individuals

A Purpose
Use this form to figure and pay your estimated tax. Estimated tax is the tax you
expect to owe for 2004 after subtracting the tax you expect to have withheld and
any credits you plan to take. These estimated tax payments do not apply to your
2003 tax liability. Use these instructions and the 2004 Estimated Tax Worksheet to
determine if you owe estimated tax for 2004 and to figure the required amount. If
you need to make a payment for your 2003 tax liability, make a separate payment
for any balance due shown on your 2003 tax return. Use form FTB 3519, Payment
Voucher for Automatic Extension for Individuals, or form FTB 3567, Installment
Agreement Request, or call (800) 338-0505.

Generally, the required estimated tax amount is based on the lesser of 90% of the
current year’s tax or 100% of the prior year’s tax. Note: Certain taxpayers are
limited in their use of the prior year’s tax as a basis for figuring their estimated tax.
See paragraph C for more information. You can check the estimated payments
we’ve received by going to our Website at www.ftb.ca.gov and clicking “Check
Account Balance.”

If you increase your withholding, more of your 2004 state tax liability will be
withheld throughout the year.  Doing so could eliminate the need to make a large
payment with your tax return.  Or, it could eliminate the need to make quarterly
estimate payments.  To increase your withholding, complete Employment
Development Department (EDD) Form DE-4, Employee's Withholding Allowance
Certificate, and give it to your employer's appropriate payroll staff.  You can obtain
this form by calling EDD at (888) 745-3886 or through the Internet at
www.edd.ca.gov/taxrep/de4.pdf, or you can get this form from your employer.

Note: Form DE 4 specifically adjusts your California state withholding and is not
the same as the Federal Form W-4, Employee's Withholding Allowance Certificate.

B Who Must Make Estimated Tax Payments
Generally, you must make estimated tax payments if you expect to owe at least
$200 ($100 if married filing separately) in tax for 2004 (after subtracting
withholding and credits) and you expect your withholding and credits to be less
than the smaller of:

1. 90% of the tax shown on your 2004 tax return; or
2. The tax shown on your 2003 tax return.

Note: You do not have to make estimated tax payments if you are a nonresident or
new resident of California in 2004 and did not have a California tax liability in 2003.

If you and your spouse paid joint estimated tax payments, but are now filing
separate returns, either of you may claim all of the amount paid, or you may each
claim part of the joint estimated payments. If you want the estimated tax payments
to be divided, notify the FTB before the end of the tax year in which you wish to file
separate returns so that the payments can be applied to the proper account. The
FTB will accept in writing, any divorce agreement (or court ordered settlement) or a
statement showing the allocation of the payments along with a notarized signature
of both taxpayers. The statements should be sent to:

JOINT ESTIMATE CREDIT ALLOCATION M/S F-225
TAXPAYER SERVICES CENTER
FRANCHISE TAX BOARD
PO BOX 942840
SACRAMENTO CA 94240-0040

C Limit on the Use of Prior Year’s Tax
Individuals who are required to make estimated payments, and whose 2003
adjusted gross income is more than $150,000 (or $75,000 if married filing
separately), must figure estimated tax based on the lesser of 90% of their tax for
2004 or 110% of their tax for 2003. This rule does not apply to farmers or
fishermen.

D When to Make Your Estimated Tax Payments
For estimated tax purposes, the year is divided into four payment periods. Each
period has a specific payment due date. If you do not pay enough tax by the due
date of each of the payment periods, you may be charged a penalty even if you are
due a refund when you file your income tax return. The payment periods and due
dates are:

For the payment period: Due date:
January 1 through March 31, 2004 April 15, 2004
April 1 through May 31, 2004 June 15, 2004
June 1 through August 31, 2004 September 15, 2004
Sept. 1 through Dec. 31, 2004 January 18, 2005

Filing an Early Return In Place of the 4th Installment. If you file your 2004 tax
return by January 31, 2005, and pay the entire balance due, you do not have to
make your last estimated tax payment.

Annualization Option. If you do not receive your taxable income evenly during the
year, it may be to your advantage to annualize your income. This method allows
you to match your estimated tax payments to the actual period when you earned
the income. You may use the annualization schedule included with the 2003 form
FTB 5805, Underpayment of Estimated Tax by Individuals and Fiduciaries.

Farmers and Fishermen. If you are a farmer or fisherman, and at least two-thirds
of your 2003 and 2004 gross income is from farming or fishing, you may:

• Pay all of your estimated tax by January 18, 2005; or
• File your tax return for 2004 on or before March 1, 2005, and pay the total tax

due. In this case, you need not make estimated tax payments for 2004. Use
form FTB 5805F, Underpayment of Estimated Tax by Farmers and Fishermen, to
determine if you paid the required estimated tax. If the estimated tax is
underpaid, attach the completed form FTB 5805F to the back of your return.

Fiscal Year. If you file your return on a fiscal year basis, your due dates will be the
15th day of the 4th, 6th, and 9th months of your fiscal year and the 1st month of
the following fiscal year. If a due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday,
use the next business day.

E How to Use Form 540-ES Payment Voucher
Use the Estimated Tax Worksheet and your 2003 California income tax return as a
guide for figuring your 2004 estimated tax. Caution: If you filed Form 540 2EZ for
2003, do not use the Form 540 2EZ instructions for figuring amounts on this
worksheet. Instead, get the 2003 California Resident Income Tax Booklet.

Note: This form is not an application for an installment agreement. If you are not
able to pay your income tax, get FTB 3567, Installment Agreement Request Booklet
or complete the form on line. Visit our Website at www.ftb.ca.gov.

There is a separate payment voucher for each due date. Please be sure you use the
voucher with the correct due date shown in the top margin of the voucher.
Complete Form 540-ES using black or blue ink:
1. Print your name, address, and social security number in the space provided on

Form 540-ES.
2. Complete the payment box of the voucher by entering the amount of the

payment that you are sending. Your entry must match the amount you are
sending. Be sure that the amount shown on line 20 of the Estimated Tax
Worksheet has been reduced by any overpaid tax on your 2003 return that you
chose to apply toward your 2004 estimated tax payment.

3. Paying your tax:
Check or money order – make your check or money order payable to
“Franchise Tax Board.” Write your social security number and “Form 540-ES
2004” on it and mail to the address on the voucher.
Web Payment – To make a payment on line or to schedule a future payment
(up to one year in advance), visit our Website at www.ftb.ca.gov and select
“Payment Options.” Do not mail the voucher to us.
Credit card – Call (800) 272-9829 or visit the Website
www.officialpayments.com. You will be charged a fee for this service. Do not
mail the voucher if you pay by credit card.

4. Complete the Record of Estimated Tax Payments on page 2 for your files.
5. Fiscal year filers: Enter the month of your fiscal year end (located directly

below the form’s title).

F Failure to Make Estimated Tax Payments
If you are required to make estimated tax payments and do not or if you underpay
any installment, a penalty may be assessed on the portion of estimated tax that
was underpaid from the due date of the installment to the date of payment or the
due date of your tax return, whichever is earlier. Refer to the 2003 form FTB 5805
for more information.
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2004 Estimated Tax Worksheet Keep this worksheet for your records.
1 Residents: Enter your estimated 2004 California AGI. Nonresidents and part-year residents: Enter your estimated

 2004 total AGI from all sources . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 1 _________________
2 a If you plan to itemize deductions, enter the estimated total of your itemized deductions . . . . . . . . 2a _________________

b If you do not plan to itemize deductions, enter the standard deduction for your filing status:
$3,070 if you are single or married filing a separate return
$6,140 if you are married filing a joint return, head of household, or a qualifying widow(er) . . . . . 2b _________________

c Enter the amount from line 2a or line 2b, whichever applies . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 2c_________________
3 Subtract line 2c from line 1 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 3 _________________
4 Tax. Figure your tax on the amount on line 3 using the 2003 tax table or tax rate schedules in the instructions

for Form 540, Form 540A, or Long Form 540NR. Also include any tax from form FTB 3800, Tax Computation for Children with
Investment Income; or form FTB 3803, Parents’ Election to Report Child’s Interest and Dividends . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 4 _________________

5 Residents: Skip to line 6a. Nonresidents and part-year residents:
a Enter your estimated California taxable income from Schedule CA (540NR), Part IV, line 46 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 5a_________________
b Compute the CA Tax Rate: Tax on total taxable income from line 4 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 5b___.___ ___ ___ ___

Total taxable income from line 3

c Multiply the amount on line 5a by the CA Tax Rate on line 5b  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 5c_________________
6 a Residents: Enter the exemption credit amount from the 2003 instructions for Form 540 or Form 540A . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 6a_________________

b Nonresidents or part-year residents: Enter the CA credit proration percentage. Divide line 5a by line 3. If more than 1 enter 1.0000 . . 6b___.___ ___ ___ ___
7 Nonresidents: CA prorated Exemption credits. Multiply the total exemption credit amount by line 6b . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 7 _________________
8 Residents: Subtract line 6a from line 4. Nonresidents or part-year residents subtract line 7 from line 5c . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  8 _________________
9 Tax on accumulation distribution of trusts. See instructions for form FTB 5870A . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  9 _________________

10 Add line 8 and line 9 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  10 _________________
11 Credits for joint custody head of household, dependent parent, senior head of household, child and dependent care expenses,

and long-term care . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 11 _________________
Nonresidents and part-year residents: For the child and dependent care expenses credit, use the amount from your 2003
Long Form 540NR, line 54. For the other credits listed on line 11, multiply the total 2003 credit amount by the ratio on line 6b.

12 Subtract line 11 from line 10 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 12 _________________
13 Other credits (such as other state tax credit). See the 2003 instructions for Form 540, Form 540A, or Long Form 540NR . . . . . . 13 _________________
14 Subtract line 13 from line 12 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 14 _________________
15 Interest on deferred tax from installment obligations under IRC Sections 453 or 453A . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 15 _________________
16 2004 Estimated Tax. Add line 14 and line 15. Enter the result, but not less than zero . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 16 _________________
17 a Multiply line 16 by 90% (.90). Farmers and fishermen multiply line 16 by 66 2/3% (.6667) . . . . . 17a_________________

b Enter 100% of the tax shown on your 2003 Form 540, line 34; Form 540A, line 23;
or Long Form 540NR, line 43 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 17b_________________

c Enter the amount from your 2003 Form 540, line 17; Form 540A, line 14; or Long Form 540NR, line 21 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 17c_________________
d Is the amount on line 17c more than $150,000 ($75,000 if married filing a separate return)?

Yes. Go to line 17e. No. Enter the lesser of line 17a or line 17b. Skip line 17e and 17f and go to line 18 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 17d_________________
e Multiply 110% (1.10) by the tax shown on your 2003 Form 540, line 34; Form 540A, line 23; or Long Form 540NR, line 43.

Go to line 17f . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 17e_________________
f Enter the lesser of line 17a or line 17e and go to line 18 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 17f _________________

Caution: Generally, if you do not prepay at least the amount on line 17d (or 17f if no amount on line 17d), you may owe a
penalty for not paying enough estimated tax. To avoid a penalty, make sure your estimated tax on line 16 is as accurate as
possible. If you prefer, you may pay 100% of your 2004 estimated tax (line 16).

18 California income tax withheld and estimated to be withheld during 2004 (include withholding on pensions, annuities, etc) . . . . . 18 _________________
19 Balance. Subtract line 18 from line 17d (or line 17f if no amount on line 17d). If less than $200 (or less than $100,

if married filing separately), you do not have to make a payment at this time . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 19 _________________
20 Installment amount. Divide the amount on line 19 by 4. Enter the result here and on each of your Forms 540-ES. If you

will earn your income at an uneven rate during the year, see Annualization Option in the instructions under paragraph D . . . . . . . 20 _________________

Record of Estimated Tax Payments
Payment voucher (a) (b) (c) (d)
number Date Amount paid 2003 overpayment applied Total amount paid and

credited add (b) and (c)

1 $ $ $
2
3
4

Total . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ����� $ $ $
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3 Add the amounts in column (e) of line 2. Do not enter more than $3,000 for one qualifying person or $6,000 for two
or more qualifying persons. If you completed Part V, enter the amount from line 30  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 3

4 Enter YOUR earned income  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 4
5 If married filing a joint return, enter YOUR SPOUSE’S earned income  (if your spouse was a student or was

disabled, see the instructions); all others, enter the amount from line 4  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 5

6 Enter the smallest of line 3, line 4, or line 5  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 6
7 Enter the decimal amount shown in the chart on page 3 of the instructions for line 7  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 7
8 Multiply line 6 by the decimal amount on line 7. Enter the amount here and on Form 540A, line 30;

Form 540, line 44; or Long Form 540NR, line 53  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 8
9 Enter the decimal amount listed on the chart on page 3 of the instructions for line 9  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 9

10 Multiply the amount on line 8 by the decimal amount on line 9  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 10
11 Credit for prior year expenses paid in 2003. See instructions for line 11  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 11
12 Add line 10 and line 11. Enter the amount here and on Form 540A, line 31, or Form 540, line 45.

Long Form 540NR filers enter the amount here and continue to Part IV  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 12
Part IV Nonresident and Part-Year Residents
13 Did you maintain your primary home in California for yourself and the qualifying person(s) during 2003?

(See instructions) If “Yes” continue. If “No,” stop. You do not qualify for the credit  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 13

14 Enter the percentage from Long Form 540NR, line 25a. (If your percentage is more than 1.00, enter 1.0000)  . . . . . . . . 14
15 Multiply line 12 by line 14. Enter here and on Long Form 540NR, line 54  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 15

Child and Dependent Care Expenses Credit
YEAR

2003
Name(s) as shown on return

350603103

CALIFORNIA FORM

3506
Social Security Number

-

Part II Persons or Organizations Who Provided the Care – You must complete this part. (If you need more space, attach a separate sheet.)
1 (a) (b) (c) (d) (e)

Care provider’s name Address (number, street, apt. no., Identifying Telephone Amount paid
Also check if provider is a person  city, state, and ZIP Code) number (SSN or EIN) number (See instructions)

or an organization

� Person � Organization ( )

� Person � Organization ( )

Did you receive dependent care benefits? � � � � �
No Complete Part III below.
Yes Complete Part V before Part III.

Part III Credit for Child and Dependent Care Expenses
2 Information about your qualifying person(s). See instructions

(a) (b) (c) (d) (e)
Qualifying person’s name Qualifying person’s Qualifying person’s Percentage of Qualified expenses you

social security number date of birth (DOB) time spent in incurred and paid in 2003
(See instructions) or if disabled your home for the qualifying

First Last person’s care

Part I Unearned Income and Other Funds Received in 2003. See instructions
SOURCE OF INCOME/FUNDS AMOUNT SOURCE OF INCOME/FUNDS AMOUNT

Attach to your California Form 540, 540A, or Long Form 540NR.

-

X.

X.

DOB:_________________
Disabled � Yes

DOB:_________________
Disabled � Yes

DOB:_________________
Disabled � Yes

� Yes � No

X ___ . ___ ___ ___ ___
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350603203

Part V Dependent Care Benefits
16 Enter the total amount of dependent care benefits you received for 2003. This amount should be shown in box 10 of

your Form(s) W-2. Do not include amounts that were reported to you as wages in box 1 of Form(s) W-2  . . . . . . . . . . . 16

17 Enter the amount forfeited, if any. See instructions  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 17

18 Subtract line 17 from line 16  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 18
19 Enter the total amount of qualified expenses incurred in 2003 for the

care of the qualifying person(s). See instructions  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 19

20 Enter the smaller of line 18 or line 19  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 20

21 Enter YOUR earned income  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 21
22 If married filing a joint return, enter YOUR SPOUSE’S earned income

(if your spouse was a student or was disabled, see the instructions for
line 5); all others, enter the amount from line 21  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 22

23 Enter the smallest of line 20, line 21, or line 22  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 23
24 Excluded benefits. Enter here the smaller of the following:

• The amount from line 23; or
• $5,000 ($2,500 if married filing a separate return and you were required to enter your spouse’s earned income

on line 22)  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 24

25 Taxable benefits. Subtract line 24 from line 18  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 25

26 Enter $3,000 ($6,000 if two or more qualifying persons)  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 26

27 Enter the amount from line 24  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 27
28 Subtract the amount on line 27 from the amount on line 26. If zero or less, stop. You do not qualify for the credit.

Exception – If you paid 2002 expenses in 2003, see instructions for line 11  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 28

29 Complete Part III, line 2. Do not include in column (e) any benefits shown on line 24 above. Add the
amounts in column (e) and enter the total here  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 29

30 Enter the smaller of line 28 or line 29. Also, enter this amount on Side 1, line 3 on the front of this form and
complete line 4 through line 12  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 30

Worksheet – Credit for 2002 Expenses Paid in 2003
1) Enter your 2002 qualified expenses paid in 2002. If you did not claim the credit for these expenses on your 2002

return, get and complete a 2002 form FTB 3506 for these expenses.  You may need to amend your 2002 return . . . . . ____________________
2) Enter your 2002 qualified expenses paid in 2003 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ____________________
3) Add the amounts on line 1 and line 2 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ____________________
4) Enter $2,400 if care was for one qualifying person ($4,800 for two or more) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ____________________
5) Enter any dependent care benefits received for 2002 and excluded from your income

(from line 25 of 2002 form FTB 3506) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ____________________
6) Subtract amount on line 5 from amount on line 4 and enter the result . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ____________________
7) Compare your and your spouse’s earned income for 2002 and enter the smaller amount . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ____________________
8) Compare the amounts on line 3, line 6, and line 7 and enter the smallest amount . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ____________________
9) Enter the amount on your 2002 form FTB 3506, line 6.  Important:  If you were instructed on line 1 to get and

complete a 2002 form FTB 3506, enter the amount from line 6 of that form . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ____________________
10) Subtract amount on line 9 from amount on line 8 and enter the result. If zero or less, stop here. You cannot increase

your credit by any previous year’s expenses . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ____________________
11) Enter your 2002 federal adjusted gross income (AGI) (from your 2002 Form 540, line 13; 540A, line 12b;

or Long Form 540NR, line 13) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ____________________
12) 2002 federal AGI decimal amount (from 2002 form FTB 3506, instructions for line 7) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ____________________
13) Multiply line 10 by line 12 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ____________________
14) 2002 California AGI decimal amount (from 2002 form FTB 3605, instructions for line 9) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  ____________________
15) Multiply line 13 by line 14.  Enter the result here and on line 11 of your 2003 form FTB 3506 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ____________________

X.

X.
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Instructions for Form FTB 3506
Child and Dependent Care Expenses Credit

What's New
Beginning in 2003, the following changes were made:
• Maximum qualifying expenses – California increased the maximum

qualifying expenses to $3,000 for one qualifying person and $6,000 for two or
more qualifying persons.

• Credit Percentage – California decreased the percentages of the federal credit
allowed.

General Information
You must attach the completed form FTB 3506 to your return.

A Purpose
If you paid someone to care for your child or other qualifying person so you (and
your spouse, if married) could work or look for work in 2003, you may be able to
claim the credit for child and dependent care expenses. However, you must have
earned income to do so. If you qualify to claim the credit, use form FTB 3506 to
figure the amount of your credit.
For additional definitions, requirements, and instructions, get federal Form 2441
or Publication 503, Child and Dependent Care Expenses.

B     Differences in California and Federal Law
The differences between California and federal law are as follows:
• California adjusted gross income must be $100,000 or less to qualify for the

California credit.
• Never married parents, who have lived apart at all times during the last six

months of the year, may be treated differently for federal purposes.
• Federal law increased the amount of earned income a disabled or full-time

student spouse is treated as having earned. California did not conform.
• The California credit is a percentage of the federal credit as modified by

California law.
• Your primary home for you and your qualifying person(s) must be in

California.
• The California credit is refundable.

C Qualifications
You may take the credit if all nine of the following apply.
1. If you are married, you must file a joint return.  For an exception, see Section

E, Married Persons Filing Separate Returns, on page 2.
2. Care must be provided for one or more qualifying persons. See Section D,

Qualifying Person Defined, on this page.
3. You paid for care so you (and your spouse, if married) could work or look for

work. However, if you did not find a job and have no earned income for the
year, you do not qualify for the credit. If your spouse was a student or
disabled, see the instructions for Part III, line 5.

4. You (and your spouse, if married) paid over half the cost of keeping up your
home for the qualifying person(s).  The cost includes rent, mortgage interest,
real estate taxes, utilities, home repairs, and food eaten in the home.

5. You and the qualifying person(s) live in the same home.
6. Your primary home (where you and your qualifying person(s) lived) must

have been in California.
7. The person who provided care was not your spouse or a person for whom you

can claim a dependent exemption.  Generally, the person who provided the
care cannot be a parent of the individual for whom care was provided.  If your
child provided the care, the child must have been age 19 or older by the end of
2003.

8. You report the required information about the care provider(s) in Part II,
line 1, and the information about the qualifying person(s) in Part III,  line 2.

9. Your California adjusted gross income is $100,000 or less.

D Qualifying Person Defined
Rules for Most People

A qualifying person is:
1. A child under age 13.  You must qualify to claim the dependent exemption

credit for this child.  Children turning 13 during the year qualify only for the
part of the year they were 12 years old.

2. Your spouse who was physically or mentally incapable of self-care.
3. Your dependent who was physically or mentally incapable of self-care.  You

must qualify for the dependent exemption credit for this person (or you could
have claimed the dependent exemption credit except the person had gross
income of $3,050 or more).

Divorced, Separated, or Never Married Parents
For divorced, separated, or never married parents, there are special rules for
determining if your child is your qualifying person.  A child can only be the
qualifying person of one parent when the parents are filing separate returns.  Even
if both parents pay for child care for the same child, both parents cannot qualify
for the credit.  Some custody agreements designate which parent is entitled to the
credit.  However, the designated parent must still meet all the qualifications in
Section C, Qualifications, to claim the credit.

Custodial Parent
You are the custodial parent if you had physical custody of your child longer than
the other parent during the calendar year.  On days where custody is shared, the
parent having custody of the child for more than 12 hours is considered to have
custody for that day.  If you and the other parent have physical custody for the
same number of days, then neither you nor the other parent is the custodial
parent.

Divorced or Separated Parents
Use the table below to decide whether you must use the “Rules for Most People”
or the “Rules for Divorced or Separated Parents,” on this page.

Read the following four statements to see
if they are all true.
1. Your child was under 13 or physically or

mentally incapable of self-care when the care
was provided.

2. You are divorced or legally separated from the
other parent, or you were still married to the
other parent, but lived apart at all times during
the last 6 months of 2003.
To be divorced or legally separated, you must
have a final decree of divorce or legal
separation issued by the court.  Having filed a
petition for divorce or legal separation, or living
apart from a spouse is not the same as being
divorced or legally separated under a final
decree of divorce or legal separation.

3. You and the other parent, together, had custody
of the child for more than half of 2003.

4. You and the other parent, together, provided
more than half the child's support for 2003.

Rules for Divorced or Separated Parents

Which parent had physical And Is the child your
custody of the child for qualifying person?
more time during 2003?

You You can claim the Yes. The child is your
dependent exemption qualifying person.
credit for the child.

You You met all of the Yes. The child is your
requirements for the qualifying person.
dependent exemption
except that you did not
provide more than half
of the child’s support
during the year.

The other parent No. The child is not your
qualifying person. Even
if you are able to claim
the dependent
exemption credit, the
child is still not your
qualifying person.

You and the other No. The child is not
parent had physical your qualifying person.

custody for the same Neither parent qualifies
number of days in 2003 for this credit.

Are all four
statements true?

Yes.  Use the “Rules
for Divorced or
Separated Parents” on
this page.

No. Use the “Rules for
Most People” on this
page.
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Part II
Line 1
Complete column (a) through column (e) for each person or organization that
provided the care.  You can use federal Form W-10, Dependent Care Provider’s
Identification and Certification, or any other source listed in the instructions for
Form W-10 to get the information from your care provider. If your provider does
not give you the information, complete as much of the information as possible
and explain that your provider did not give you the information you requested.
If you do not give correct and complete information, your credit may be
disallowed unless you can show you used due diligence in trying to get the
required information.

Columns (a) and (b)
Enter your care provider’s complete name (or business name) and address. Also,
check the box indicating whether your care provider is a person or an organiza-
tion. If you were covered by your employer’s dependent care plan and your
employer furnished the care (either at your workplace or by hiring a care
provider), enter your employer’s name in column  (a).  Next, enter “See W-2” in
column (b). Enter your employer’s telephone number in column (d).  Leave
column (c) and column (e) blank.  If your employer paid a third party (not hired
by your employer) on your behalf to provide the care, you must give information
about the third party in column (a) through column (e).

Column (c)
If your care provider is:
• An individual, enter his or her social security number.
• Not an individual, enter the care provider's federal employer identification

number (FEIN).
• A tax-exempt organization, enter “Tax-Exempt.”

Column (d)
Enter the telephone number of your care provider, including area code.  We may
call to verify the provider information.

Column (e)
Enter the total amount you actually paid in 2003 to your care provider.  Also
include amounts your employer paid to a third party on your behalf.  It does not
matter when the expenses were incurred.  Do not reduce this amount by any
reimbursement you received.

Part III
Line 2
Complete column (a) through column (e) for each qualifying person.  If you have
more than three qualifying persons, attach a sheet of paper to your return with the
required information and write “see attached.”  Be sure to put your name and
social security number (SSN) on the sheet.

Column (a)
Enter each qualifying person’s name.

Column (b)
Enter the social security numbers of the first two qualifying persons on Form 540,
line 42 and line 43; Form 540A, line 28 and line 29; or Long Form 540NR, line 51
and line 52.
You must enter the qualifying person's social security number.  Be sure that the
name and social security number match the qualifying person's social security
card.  Otherwise, we may reduce or disallow your credit.  If the person was born
in, and later died in, 2003, and does not have a social security number, enter
“Deceased” in column (b) and attach a copy of the person's birth and death
certificates.

Column (c)
Enter the qualifying person's date of birth in the space provided or if the qualifying
person is disabled (physically or mentally incapable of self-care), check the “Yes”
box.

Column (d)
If you shared custody of the qualifying person(s), enter the percentage of time you
had physical custody during 2003.

Column (e)
Enter the qualified expenses you incurred and paid in 2003 for the qualifying
person. If the child turned 13 years old during the year, include only the qualified
expenses for the part of the year the child was under 13. Do not include in column
(e) qualified expenses:

Are all five
statements true?

Yes.  Use the “Rules
for Never Married
Parents” on this page.

No. Use the “Rules for
Most People” on
page 1.

Never Married Parents
Use the table below to decide whether you must use the "Rules for Most People,"
on page 1 or the "Rules for Never Married Parents" below.

Read the following five statements to see
if they are all true.

1. Your child was under 13 or physically or
mentally incapable of self-care when the care
was provided.

2. You and the other parent were never married.
3. You lived apart from the other parent at all

times during the last 6 months of 2003.
4. You and the other parent, together, had custody

of the child for more than half of 2003.
5. You and the other parent, together, provided

more than half the child's support for 2003.

Rules for Never Married Parents

Which parent had physical And Is the child your
custody of the child for qualifying person?
more time during 2003?

You You can claim the Yes. The child is your
the dependent qualifying person.
exemption credit for
the child.

You You met all of the Yes. For tax years
requirements for the 2002 and after.
dependent exemption
except that you did not
provide more than half No. For tax years 2000
of the child’s support and 2001.
during the year.

The other parent No. The child is not your
qualifying person. Even
if you are able to claim
the dependent
exemption credit, the
child is still not your
qualfying person.

You and the other parent No. The child is not
had physical custody your qualifying person.

for the same number of Neither parent qualifies
days in 2003. for this credit.

E Married Persons Filing Separate Returns
Generally, if you are married, you must file a joint return to claim the credit.
However, you can take the credit on your separate return if:
1. You meet all three requirements below:

• You lived apart from your spouse at all times during the last six months of
2003.

• The qualifying person(s) lived in your home more than half of 2003.
• You provided over half the cost of keeping up your home.

2. You meet all the other qualifications in Section C, Qualifications.

Specific Line Instructions
Part I
Unearned Income and Other Funds
List the source and amount of any money you received in 2003 that is not
included in your earned income (line 4 and line 5) but that was used to support
your household.  Include child support, property settlements, public assistance
benefits, court awards, inheritances, insurance proceeds, pensions and annuities,
social security payments, workers’ compensation, unemployment compensation,
interest, or dividends.
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• You incurred in 2003 but did not pay until 2004.  You may be able to use these
expenses to increase your 2004 credit.

• You incurred in 2002 but did not pay until 2003.  Instead, see instructions for
line 11.

• You prepaid in 2003 for care to be provided in 2004.  These expenses may
only be used to figure your 2004 credit.

Line 4
Earned Income
Includes: Does not include:
• Wages, salary, tips, and other • Pensions or annuities

taxable employee compensation • Social security payments
• Net earnings from self-employment • Workers’ compensation
• Strike benefits • Interest
• Disability payments you report as • Dividends

wages • Capital gains
• Unemployment compensation
• Any nontaxable employee

compensation
• Public assistance
• Homeowner and Renter

Assistance

Line 5
Spouse Who Was a Student or Disabled

Your spouse was a student if he or she was enrolled as a full-time student at a
school during any 5 months of 2003. A school does not include a night school or
correspondence school. Your spouse was disabled if he or she was not capable of
self-care. Figure your spouse’s earned income on a monthly basis.
For each month your spouse was a full-time student or disabled, enter on line 5
the larger of
• Your spouse's actual earned income for that month, or
• $200 ($400, if you have 2 or more qualifying persons).
If, in the same month, both you and your spouse were either full-time students or
disabled, only one of you can be treated as having earned income of $200 (or
$400) in that month.  For any month that your spouse was not a full-time student
or disabled, use your spouse's actual earned income for that month.

Line 7
Use the chart on this page to determine the decimal amount to enter on line 7.
Your federal adjusted gross income (AGI) is on Form 540A, line 12b; Form 540,
line 13; or Long Form 540NR, line 13.

If your Federal AGI is: The decimal amount
Over But not over on Line 7 is:

$0 $15,000  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .35
15,000 17,000  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .34
17,000 19,000  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .33
19,000 21,000  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .32
21,000 23,000  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .31
23,000 25,000  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .30
25,000 27,000  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .29
27,000 29,000  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .28
29,000 31,000  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .27
31,000 33,000  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .26
33,000 35,000  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .25
35,000 37,000  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .24
37,000 39,000  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .23
39,000 41,000  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .22
41,000 43,000  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .21
43,000 No limit  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .20

Line 9
Use the chart below to determine the decimal amount to enter on line 9.

If your California AGI from Form 540A, The decimal amount  to
line 14; Form 540, line 17; enter on Line 9 is:
or Long Form 540NR, line 21 is:

$40,000 or less  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .50
Over $40,000 but not over $70,000  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .43
Over $70,000 but not over $100,000  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .34
Over $100,000 . . . . . . . . . . . Stop. You do not qualify for this credit.

Line 11
If you had qualified expenses for care that was provided in 2002, but that you paid
for in 2003, you may be able to increase your credit for 2003.  Complete the
worksheet on Side 2 of form FTB 3506.  You will need a copy of your 2002
California return to complete the worksheet.

Part IV
Line 13- Line 15
Nonresidents and part-year residents must complete and attach Schedule CA
(540NR), California Adjustments - Nonresidents or Part-Year Residents, to their
Long Form 540NR tax return.  If Part I of Schedule CA (540NR) is not fully
completed, your credit may be disallowed.
You must maintain your primary home in California for yourself and your
qualifying person(s) during the year or portion of the year to qualify for the credit.
Full-year nonresidents of California who retained their main home in another state
do not qualify for this credit.
Nonresidents and part-year residents must calculate the percentage of the Child
and Dependent Care Expenses Credit that they may be qualified to take.  It is
based on the percentage from Long Form 540NR, line 25a.

Part V
Line 16
Dependent care benefits are:
• Amounts an employer paid directly to you (or your spouse, if married), or to

your care provider for the care of your qualifying persons while you worked.
• A day-care facility provided by your employer.
• Generally deducted from your salary.
• Shown in box 10 of your 2003 Form(s) W-2.

Line 17
If you had a flexible spending account, any amount included on line 16 that you
did not receive because you did not incur the expense is considered forfeited.  Do
not include amounts you expect to receive at a future date.

Line 19
Enter the total of all qualified expenses incurred in 2003.  It does not matter when
the expenses were paid.
Example:  You received $2,000 cash under your employer's dependent care plan
for 2003.  The $2,000 is shown in box 10 of your Form W-2.  You incurred $900
of qualified expenses in 2003 for the care of your 5-year-old dependent child.  You
would enter $900 on line 19, but would report the entire $2,000 on line 16.
For all other lines, follow specific line instructions on the form.  For additional
information, see federal Form 2441 or Publication 503.

Worksheet
Line 12 and line 14
You will need to get the 2002 form FTB 3506 instructions to complete the Credit
for 2002 Expenses Paid in 2003 Worksheet.  You can get forms from our Website
at www.ftb.ca.gov or by calling (800) 338-0505.

Line 12
Enter the decimal amount from the chart in the line 7 instructions of the 2002
form FTB 3506 that corresponds to your 2002 federal adjusted gross income.

Line 14
Enter the decimal amount from the chart in the line 9 instructions of the 2002
form FTB 3506 that corresponds to your 2002 California adjusted gross income



2003 California Tax Table
To Find Your Tax:
• Read down the column labeled “If Your Taxable Income Is . . .” to find the range that includes your taxable income from

Form 540, line 19 or Form 540A, line 16.
• Read across the columns labeled “The Tax For Filing Status” until you find the tax that applies for your taxable income and filing status.

Continued on next page.

Filing status: 1 or 3 (Single; Married Filing Separately) 2 or 5 (Married Filing Jointly; Qualifying Widow(er)) 4 (Head of Household)

If Your Taxable The Tax For If Your Taxable The Tax For If Your Taxable The Tax For
Income Is . . . Filing Status Income Is . . . Filing Status Income Is . . . Filing Status

At But Not 1 Or 3 2 Or 5 4 At But Not 1 Or 3 2 Or 5 4 At But Not 1 Or 3 2 Or 5 4
Least Over Is Is Is Least Over Is Is Is Least Over Is Is Is
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1 50 0 0 0
51 150 1 1 1

151 250 2 2 2
251 350 3 3 3
351 450 4 4 4

451 550 5 5 5
551 650 6 6 6
651 750 7 7 7
751 850 8 8 8
851 950 9 9 9

951 1,050 10 10 10
1,051 1,150 11 11 11
1,151 1,250 12 12 12
1,251 1,350 13 13 13
1,351 1,450 14 14 14

1,451 1,550 15 15 15
1,551 1,650 16 16 16
1,651 1,750 17 17 17
1,751 1,850 18 18 18
1,851 1,950 19 19 19

1,951 2,050 20 20 20
2,051 2,150 21 21 21
2,151 2,250 22 22 22
2,251 2,350 23 23 23
2,351 2,450 24 24 24

2,451 2,550 25 25 25
2,551 2,650 26 26 26
2,651 2,750 27 27 27
2,751 2,850 28 28 28
2,851 2,950 29 29 29

2,951 3,050 30 30 30
3,051 3,150 31 31 31
3,151 3,250 32 32 32
3,251 3,350 33 33 33
3,351 3,450 34 34 34

3,451 3,550 35 35 35
3,551 3,650 36 36 36
3,651 3,750 37 37 37
3,751 3,850 38 38 38
3,851 3,950 39 39 39

3,951 4,050 40 40 40
4,051 4,150 41 41 41
4,151 4,250 42 42 42
4,251 4,350 43 43 43
4,351 4,450 44 44 44

4,451 4,550 45 45 45
4,551 4,650 46 46 46
4,651 4,750 47 47 47
4,751 4,850 48 48 48
4,851 4,950 49 49 49

4,951 5,050 50 50 50
5,051 5,150 51 51 51
5,151 5,250 52 52 52
5,251 5,350 53 53 53
5,351 5,450 54 54 54

5,451 5,550 55 55 55
5,551 5,650 56 56 56
5,651 5,750 57 57 57
5,751 5,850 58 58 58
5,851 5,950 59 59 59

5,951 6,050 60 60 60
6,051 6,150 62 61 61
6,151 6,250 64 62 62
6,251 6,350 66 63 63
6,351 6,450 68 64 64

6,451 6,550 70 65 65
6,551 6,650 72 66 66
6,651 6,750 74 67 67
6,751 6,850 76 68 68
6,851 6,950 78 69 69

6,951 7,050 80 70 70
7,051 7,150 82 71 71
7,151 7,250 84 72 72
7,251 7,350 86 73 73
7,351 7,450 88 74 74

7,451 7,550 90 75 75
7,551 7,650 92 76 76
7,651 7,750 94 77 77
7,751 7,850 96 78 78
7,851 7,950 98 79 79

7,951 8,050 100 80 80
8,051 8,150 102 81 81
8,151 8,250 104 82 82
8,251 8,350 106 83 83
8,351 8,450 108 84 84

8,451 8,550 110 85 85
8,551 8,650 112 86 86
8,651 8,750 114 87 87
8,751 8,850 116 88 88
8,851 8,950 118 89 89

8,951 9,050 120 90 90
9,051 9,150 122 91 91
9,151 9,250 124 92 92
9,251 9,350 126 93 93
9,351 9,450 128 94 94

9,451 9,550 130 95 95
9,551 9,650 132 96 96
9,651 9,750 134 97 97
9,751 9,850 136 98 98
9,851 9,950 138 99 99

9,951 10,050 140 100 100
10,051 10,150 142 101 101
10,151 10,250 144 102 102
10,251 10,350 146 103 103
10,351 10,450 148 104 104

10,451 10,550 150 105 105
10,551 10,650 152 106 106
10,651 10,750 154 107 107
10,751 10,850 156 108 108
10,851 10,950 158 109 109

10,951 11,050 160 110 110
11,051 11,150 162 111 111
11,151 11,250 164 112 112
11,251 11,350 166 113 113
11,351 11,450 168 114 114

11,451 11,550 170 115 115
11,551 11,650 172 116 116
11,651 11,750 174 117 117
11,751 11,850 176 118 118
11,851 11,950 178 119 119

11,951 12,050 180 121 121
12,051 12,150 182 123 123
12,151 12,250 184 125 125
12,251 12,350 186 127 127
12,351 12,450 188 129 129

12,451 12,550 190 131 131
12,551 12,650 192 133 133
12,651 12,750 194 135 135
12,751 12,850 196 137 137
12,851 12,950 198 139 139

12,951 13,050 200 141 141
13,051 13,150 202 143 143
13,151 13,250 204 145 145
13,251 13,350 206 147 147
13,351 13,450 208 149 149

13,451 13,550 210 151 151
13,551 13,650 212 153 153
13,651 13,750 214 155 155
13,751 13,850 216 157 157
13,851 13,950 218 159 159

13,951 14,050 220 161 161
14,051 14,150 222 163 163
14,151 14,250 226 165 165
14,251 14,350 230 167 167
14,351 14,450 234 169 169

14,451 14,550 238 171 171
14,551 14,650 242 173 173
14,651 14,750 246 175 175
14,751 14,850 250 177 177
14,851 14,950 254 179 179

14,951 15,050 258 181 181
15,051 15,150 262 183 183
15,151 15,250 266 185 185
15,251 15,350 270 187 187
15,351 15,450 274 189 189

15,451 15,550 278 191 191
15,551 15,650 282 193 193
15,651 15,750 286 195 195
15,751 15,850 290 197 197
15,851 15,950 294 199 199

15,951 16,050 298 201 201
16,051 16,150 302 203 203
16,151 16,250 306 205 205
16,251 16,350 310 207 207
16,351 16,450 314 209 209

16,451 16,550 318 211 211
16,551 16,650 322 213 213
16,651 16,750 326 215 215
16,751 16,850 330 217 217
16,851 16,950 334 219 219

16,951 17,050 338 221 221
17,051 17,150 342 223 223
17,151 17,250 346 225 225
17,251 17,350 350 227 227
17,351 17,450 354 229 229

17,451 17,550 358 231 231
17,551 17,650 362 233 233
17,651 17,750 366 235 235
17,751 17,850 370 237 237
17,851 17,950 374 239 239

17,951 18,050 378 241 241
18,051 18,150 382 243 243
18,151 18,250 386 245 245
18,251 18,350 390 247 247
18,351 18,450 394 249 249

18,451 18,550 398 251 251
18,551 18,650 402 253 253
18,651 18,750 406 255 255
18,751 18,850 410 257 257
18,851 18,950 414 259 259

18,951 19,050 418 261 261
19,051 19,150 422 263 263
19,151 19,250 426 265 265
19,251 19,350 430 267 267
19,351 19,450 434 269 269
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19,451 19,550 438 271 271
19,551 19,650 442 273 273
19,651 19,750 446 275 275
19,751 19,850 450 277 277
19,851 19,950 454 279 279

19,951 20,050 458 281 281
20,051 20,150 462 283 283
20,151 20,250 466 285 285
20,251 20,350 470 287 287
20,351 20,450 474 289 289

20,451 20,550 478 291 291
20,551 20,650 482 293 293
20,651 20,750 486 295 295
20,751 20,850 490 297 297
20,851 20,950 494 299 299

20,951 21,050 498 301 301
21,051 21,150 502 303 303
21,151 21,250 506 305 305
21,251 21,350 510 307 307
21,351 21,450 514 309 309

21,451 21,550 518 311 311
21,551 21,650 522 313 313
21,651 21,750 526 315 315
21,751 21,850 530 317 317
21,851 21,950 534 319 319

21,951 22,050 538 321 321
22,051 22,150 542 323 323
22,151 22,250 546 325 325
22,251 22,350 550 327 327
22,351 22,450 556 329 329

22,451 22,550 562 331 331
22,551 22,650 568 333 333
22,651 22,750 574 335 335
22,751 22,850 580 337 337
22,851 22,950 586 339 339

22,951 23,050 592 341 341
23,051 23,150 598 343 343
23,151 23,250 604 345 345
23,251 23,350 610 347 347
23,351 23,450 616 349 349

23,451 23,550 622 351 351
23,551 23,650 628 353 353
23,651 23,750 634 355 355
23,751 23,850 640 357 357
23,851 23,950 646 359 359

23,951 24,050 652 361 361
24,051 24,150 658 363 363
24,151 24,250 664 365 365
24,251 24,350 670 367 367
24,351 24,450 676 369 369

24,451 24,550 682 371 371
24,551 24,650 688 373 373
24,651 24,750 694 375 375
24,751 24,850 700 377 377
24,851 24,950 706 379 379

24,951 25,050 712 381 381
25,051 25,150 718 383 383
25,151 25,250 724 385 385
25,251 25,350 730 387 387
25,351 25,450 736 389 389

25,451 25,550 742 391 391
25,551 25,650 748 393 393
25,651 25,750 754 395 395
25,751 25,850 760 397 397
25,851 25,950 766 399 399

25,951 26,050 772 401 401
26,051 26,150 778 403 403
26,151 26,250 784 405 405
26,251 26,350 790 407 407
26,351 26,450 796 409 409

26,451 26,550 802 411 411
26,551 26,650 808 413 413
26,651 26,750 814 415 415
26,751 26,850 820 417 417
26,851 26,950 826 419 419

26,951 27,050 832 421 421
27,051 27,150 838 423 423
27,151 27,250 844 425 425
27,251 27,350 850 427 427
27,351 27,450 856 429 429

27,451 27,550 862 431 431
27,551 27,650 868 433 433
27,651 27,750 874 435 435
27,751 27,850 880 437 437
27,851 27,950 886 439 439

27,951 28,050 892 441 441
28,051 28,150 898 443 443
28,151 28,250 904 445 445
28,251 28,350 910 447 447
28,351 28,450 916 451 451

28,451 28,550 922 455 455
28,551 28,650 928 459 459
28,651 28,750 934 463 463
28,751 28,850 940 467 467
28,851 28,950 946 471 471

28,951 29,050 952 475 475
29,051 29,150 958 479 479
29,151 29,250 964 483 483
29,251 29,350 970 487 487
29,351 29,450 976 491 491

29,451 29,550 982 495 495
29,551 29,650 988 499 499
29,651 29,750 994 503 503
29,751 29,850 1,000 507 507
29,851 29,950 1,006 511 511

29,951 30,050 1,012 515 515
30,051 30,150 1,018 519 519
30,151 30,250 1,024 523 523
30,251 30,350 1,030 527 527
30,351 30,450 1,036 531 531

30,451 30,550 1,042 535 535
30,551 30,650 1,048 539 539
30,651 30,750 1,054 543 543
30,751 30,850 1,060 547 547
30,851 30,950 1,066 551 551

30,951 31,050 1,072 555 555
31,051 31,150 1,080 559 559
31,151 31,250 1,088 563 563
31,251 31,350 1,096 567 567
31,351 31,450 1,104 571 571

31,451 31,550 1,112 575 575
31,551 31,650 1,120 579 579
31,651 31,750 1,128 583 583
31,751 31,850 1,136 587 587
31,851 31,950 1,144 591 591

31,951 32,050 1,152 595 595
32,051 32,150 1,160 599 599
32,151 32,250 1,168 603 603
32,251 32,350 1,176 607 607
32,351 32,450 1,184 611 611

32,451 32,550 1,192 615 615
32,551 32,650 1,200 619 619
32,651 32,750 1,208 623 623
32,751 32,850 1,216 627 627
32,851 32,950 1,224 631 631

32,951 33,050 1,232 635 635
33,051 33,150 1,240 639 639
33,151 33,250 1,248 643 643
33,251 33,350 1,256 647 647
33,351 33,450 1,264 651 651

33,451 33,550 1,272 655 655
33,551 33,650 1,280 659 659
33,651 33,750 1,288 663 663
33,751 33,850 1,296 667 667
33,851 33,950 1,304 671 671

33,951 34,050 1,312 675 675
34,051 34,150 1,320 679 679
34,151 34,250 1,328 683 683
34,251 34,350 1,336 687 687
34,351 34,450 1,344 691 691

34,451 34,550 1,352 695 695
34,551 34,650 1,360 699 699
34,651 34,750 1,368 703 703
34,751 34,850 1,376 707 707
34,851 34,950 1,384 711 711

34,951 35,050 1,392 715 715
35,051 35,150 1,400 719 719
35,151 35,250 1,408 723 723
35,251 35,350 1,416 727 727
35,351 35,450 1,424 731 731

35,451 35,550 1,432 735 735
35,551 35,650 1,440 739 739
35,651 35,750 1,448 743 743
35,751 35,850 1,456 747 747
35,851 35,950 1,464 751 751

35,951 36,050 1,472 755 755
36,051 36,150 1,480 759 759
36,151 36,250 1,488 763 763
36,251 36,350 1,496 767 767
36,351 36,450 1,504 771 771

36,451 36,550 1,512 775 777
36,551 36,650 1,520 779 783
36,651 36,750 1,528 783 789
36,751 36,850 1,536 787 795
36,851 36,950 1,544 791 801

36,951 37,050 1,552 795 807
37,051 37,150 1,560 799 813
37,151 37,250 1,568 803 819
37,251 37,350 1,576 807 825
37,351 37,450 1,584 811 831

37,451 37,550 1,592 815 837
37,551 37,650 1,600 819 843
37,651 37,750 1,608 823 849
37,751 37,850 1,616 827 855
37,851 37,950 1,624 831 861

37,951 38,050 1,632 835 867
38,051 38,150 1,640 839 873
38,151 38,250 1,648 843 879
38,251 38,350 1,656 847 885
38,351 38,450 1,664 851 891

38,451 38,550 1,672 855 897
38,551 38,650 1,680 859 903
38,651 38,750 1,688 863 909
38,751 38,850 1,696 867 915
38,851 38,950 1,704 871 921

38,951 39,050 1,712 875 927
39,051 39,150 1,720 879 933
39,151 39,250 1,729 883 939
39,251 39,350 1,738 887 945
39,351 39,450 1,748 891 951

39,451 39,550 1,757 895 957
39,551 39,650 1,766 899 963
39,651 39,750 1,776 903 969
39,751 39,850 1,785 907 975
39,851 39,950 1,794 911 981

39,951 40,050 1,804 915 987
40,051 40,150 1,813 919 993
40,151 40,250 1,822 923 999
40,251 40,350 1,831 927 1,005
40,351 40,450 1,841 931 1,011
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40,451 40,550 1,850 935 1,017
40,551 40,650 1,859 939 1,023
40,651 40,750 1,869 943 1,029
40,751 40,850 1,878 947 1,035
40,851 40,950 1,887 951 1,041

40,951 41,050 1,897 955 1,047
41,051 41,150 1,906 959 1,053
41,151 41,250 1,915 963 1,059
41,251 41,350 1,924 967 1,065
41,351 41,450 1,934 971 1,071

41,451 41,550 1,943 975 1,077
41,551 41,650 1,952 979 1,083
41,651 41,750 1,962 983 1,089
41,751 41,850 1,971 987 1,095
41,851 41,950 1,980 991 1,101

41,951 42,050 1,990 995 1,107
42,051 42,150 1,999 999 1,113
42,151 42,250 2,008 1,003 1,119
42,251 42,350 2,017 1,007 1,125
42,351 42,450 2,027 1,011 1,131

42,451 42,550 2,036 1,015 1,137
42,551 42,650 2,045 1,019 1,143
42,651 42,750 2,055 1,023 1,149
42,751 42,850 2,064 1,027 1,155
42,851 42,950 2,073 1,031 1,161

42,951 43,050 2,083 1,035 1,167
43,051 43,150 2,092 1,039 1,173
43,151 43,250 2,101 1,043 1,179
43,251 43,350 2,110 1,047 1,185
43,351 43,450 2,120 1,051 1,191

43,451 43,550 2,129 1,055 1,197
43,551 43,650 2,138 1,059 1,203
43,651 43,750 2,148 1,063 1,209
43,751 43,850 2,157 1,067 1,215
43,851 43,950 2,166 1,071 1,221

43,951 44,050 2,176 1,075 1,227
44,051 44,150 2,185 1,079 1,233
44,151 44,250 2,194 1,083 1,239
44,251 44,350 2,203 1,087 1,245
44,351 44,450 2,213 1,091 1,251

44,451 44,550 2,222 1,095 1,257
44,551 44,650 2,231 1,099 1,263
44,651 44,750 2,241 1,105 1,269
44,751 44,850 2,250 1,111 1,275
44,851 44,950 2,259 1,117 1,281

44,951 45,050 2,269 1,123 1,287
45,051 45,150 2,278 1,129 1,293
45,151 45,250 2,287 1,135 1,301
45,251 45,350 2,296 1,141 1,309
45,351 45,450 2,306 1,147 1,317

45,451 45,550 2,315 1,153 1,325
45,551 45,650 2,324 1,159 1,333
45,651 45,750 2,334 1,165 1,341
45,751 45,850 2,343 1,171 1,349
45,851 45,950 2,352 1,177 1,357

45,951 46,050 2,362 1,183 1,365
46,051 46,150 2,371 1,189 1,373
46,151 46,250 2,380 1,195 1,381
46,251 46,350 2,389 1,201 1,389
46,351 46,450 2,399 1,207 1,397

46,451 46,550 2,408 1,213 1,405
46,551 46,650 2,417 1,219 1,413
46,651 46,750 2,427 1,225 1,421
46,751 46,850 2,436 1,231 1,429
46,851 46,950 2,445 1,237 1,437

46,951 47,050 2,455 1,243 1,445
47,051 47,150 2,464 1,249 1,453
47,151 47,250 2,473 1,255 1,461
47,251 47,350 2,482 1,261 1,469
47,351 47,450 2,492 1,267 1,477

47,451 47,550 2,501 1,273 1,485
47,551 47,650 2,510 1,279 1,493
47,651 47,750 2,520 1,285 1,501
47,751 47,850 2,529 1,291 1,509
47,851 47,950 2,538 1,297 1,517

47,951 48,050 2,548 1,303 1,525
48,051 48,150 2,557 1,309 1,533
48,151 48,250 2,566 1,315 1,541
48,251 48,350 2,575 1,321 1,549
48,351 48,450 2,585 1,327 1,557

48,451 48,550 2,594 1,333 1,565
48,551 48,650 2,603 1,339 1,573
48,651 48,750 2,613 1,345 1,581
48,751 48,850 2,622 1,351 1,589
48,851 48,950 2,631 1,357 1,597

48,951 49,050 2,641 1,363 1,605
49,051 49,150 2,650 1,369 1,613
49,151 49,250 2,659 1,375 1,621
49,251 49,350 2,668 1,381 1,629
49,351 49,450 2,678 1,387 1,637

49,451 49,550 2,687 1,393 1,645
49,551 49,650 2,696 1,399 1,653
49,651 49,750 2,706 1,405 1,661
49,751 49,850 2,715 1,411 1,669
49,851 49,950 2,724 1,417 1,677

49,951 50,050 2,734 1,423 1,685
50,051 50,150 2,743 1,429 1,693
50,151 50,250 2,752 1,435 1,701
50,251 50,350 2,761 1,441 1,709
50,351 50,450 2,771 1,447 1,717

50,451 50,550 2,780 1,453 1,725
50,551 50,650 2,789 1,459 1,733
50,651 50,750 2,799 1,465 1,741
50,751 50,850 2,808 1,471 1,749
50,851 50,950 2,817 1,477 1,757

50,951 51,050 2,827 1,483 1,765
51,051 51,150 2,836 1,489 1,773
51,151 51,250 2,845 1,495 1,781
51,251 51,350 2,854 1,501 1,789
51,351 51,450 2,864 1,507 1,797

51,451 51,550 2,873 1,513 1,805
51,551 51,650 2,882 1,519 1,813
51,651 51,750 2,892 1,525 1,821
51,751 51,850 2,901 1,531 1,829
51,851 51,950 2,910 1,537 1,837

51,951 52,050 2,920 1,543 1,845
52,051 52,150 2,929 1,549 1,853
52,151 52,250 2,938 1,555 1,861
52,251 52,350 2,947 1,561 1,869
52,351 52,450 2,957 1,567 1,877

52,451 52,550 2,966 1,573 1,885
52,551 52,650 2,975 1,579 1,893
52,651 52,750 2,985 1,585 1,901
52,751 52,850 2,994 1,591 1,909
52,851 52,950 3,003 1,597 1,917

52,951 53,050 3,013 1,603 1,925
53,051 53,150 3,022 1,609 1,933
53,151 53,250 3,031 1,615 1,941
53,251 53,350 3,040 1,621 1,949
53,351 53,450 3,050 1,627 1,958

53,451 53,550 3,059 1,633 1,968
53,551 53,650 3,068 1,639 1,977
53,651 53,750 3,078 1,645 1,986
53,751 53,850 3,087 1,651 1,996
53,851 53,950 3,096 1,657 2,005

53,951 54,050 3,106 1,663 2,014
54,051 54,150 3,115 1,669 2,024
54,151 54,250 3,124 1,675 2,033
54,251 54,350 3,133 1,681 2,042
54,351 54,450 3,143 1,687 2,051

54,451 54,550 3,152 1,693 2,061
54,551 54,650 3,161 1,699 2,070
54,651 54,750 3,171 1,705 2,079
54,751 54,850 3,180 1,711 2,089
54,851 54,950 3,189 1,717 2,098

54,951 55,050 3,199 1,723 2,107
55,051 55,150 3,208 1,729 2,117
55,151 55,250 3,217 1,735 2,126
55,251 55,350 3,226 1,741 2,135
55,351 55,450 3,236 1,747 2,144

55,451 55,550 3,245 1,753 2,154
55,551 55,650 3,254 1,759 2,163
55,651 55,750 3,264 1,765 2,172
55,751 55,850 3,273 1,771 2,182
55,851 55,950 3,282 1,777 2,191

55,951 56,050 3,292 1,783 2,200
56,051 56,150 3,301 1,789 2,210
56,151 56,250 3,310 1,795 2,219
56,251 56,350 3,319 1,801 2,228
56,351 56,450 3,329 1,807 2,237

56,451 56,550 3,338 1,813 2,247
56,551 56,650 3,347 1,819 2,256
56,651 56,750 3,357 1,825 2,265
56,751 56,850 3,366 1,831 2,275
56,851 56,950 3,375 1,837 2,284

56,951 57,050 3,385 1,843 2,293
57,051 57,150 3,394 1,849 2,303
57,151 57,250 3,403 1,855 2,312
57,251 57,350 3,412 1,861 2,321
57,351 57,450 3,422 1,867 2,330

57,451 57,550 3,431 1,873 2,340
57,551 57,650 3,440 1,879 2,349
57,651 57,750 3,450 1,885 2,358
57,751 57,850 3,459 1,891 2,368
57,851 57,950 3,468 1,897 2,377

57,951 58,050 3,478 1,903 2,386
58,051 58,150 3,487 1,909 2,396
58,151 58,250 3,496 1,915 2,405
58,251 58,350 3,505 1,921 2,414
58,351 58,450 3,515 1,927 2,423

58,451 58,550 3,524 1,933 2,433
58,551 58,650 3,533 1,939 2,442
58,651 58,750 3,543 1,945 2,451
58,751 58,850 3,552 1,951 2,461
58,851 58,950 3,561 1,957 2,470

58,951 59,050 3,571 1,963 2,479
59,051 59,150 3,580 1,969 2,489
59,151 59,250 3,589 1,975 2,498
59,251 59,350 3,598 1,981 2,507
59,351 59,450 3,608 1,987 2,516

59,451 59,550 3,617 1,993 2,526
59,551 59,650 3,626 1,999 2,535
59,651 59,750 3,636 2,005 2,544
59,751 59,850 3,645 2,011 2,554
59,851 59,950 3,654 2,017 2,563

59,951 60,050 3,664 2,023 2,572
60,051 60,150 3,673 2,029 2,582
60,151 60,250 3,682 2,035 2,591
60,251 60,350 3,691 2,041 2,600
60,351 60,450 3,701 2,047 2,609

60,451 60,550 3,710 2,053 2,619
60,551 60,650 3,719 2,059 2,628
60,651 60,750 3,729 2,065 2,637
60,751 60,850 3,738 2,071 2,647
60,851 60,950 3,747 2,077 2,656

60,951 61,050 3,757 2,083 2,665
61,051 61,150 3,766 2,089 2,675
61,151 61,250 3,775 2,095 2,684
61,251 61,350 3,784 2,101 2,693
61,351 61,450 3,794 2,107 2,702
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61,451 61,550 3,803 2,113 2,712
61,551 61,650 3,812 2,119 2,721
61,651 61,750 3,822 2,125 2,730
61,751 61,850 3,831 2,131 2,740
61,851 61,950 3,840 2,137 2,749

61,951 62,050 3,850 2,145 2,758
62,051 62,150 3,859 2,153 2,768
62,151 62,250 3,868 2,161 2,777
62,251 62,350 3,877 2,169 2,786
62,351 62,450 3,887 2,177 2,795

62,451 62,550 3,896 2,185 2,805
62,551 62,650 3,905 2,193 2,814
62,651 62,750 3,915 2,201 2,823
62,751 62,850 3,924 2,209 2,833
62,851 62,950 3,933 2,217 2,842

62,951 63,050 3,943 2,225 2,851
63,051 63,150 3,952 2,233 2,861
63,151 63,250 3,961 2,241 2,870
63,251 63,350 3,970 2,249 2,879
63,351 63,450 3,980 2,257 2,888

63,451 63,550 3,989 2,265 2,898
63,551 63,650 3,998 2,273 2,907
63,651 63,750 4,008 2,281 2,916
63,751 63,850 4,017 2,289 2,926
63,851 63,950 4,026 2,297 2,935

63,951 64,050 4,036 2,305 2,944
64,051 64,150 4,045 2,313 2,954
64,151 64,250 4,054 2,321 2,963
64,251 64,350 4,063 2,329 2,972
64,351 64,450 4,073 2,337 2,981

64,451 64,550 4,082 2,345 2,991
64,551 64,650 4,091 2,353 3,000
64,651 64,750 4,101 2,361 3,009
64,751 64,850 4,110 2,369 3,019
64,851 64,950 4,119 2,377 3,028

64,951 65,050 4,129 2,385 3,037
65,051 65,150 4,138 2,393 3,047
65,151 65,250 4,147 2,401 3,056
65,251 65,350 4,156 2,409 3,065
65,351 65,450 4,166 2,417 3,074

65,451 65,550 4,175 2,425 3,084
65,551 65,650 4,184 2,433 3,093
65,651 65,750 4,194 2,441 3,102
65,751 65,850 4,203 2,449 3,112
65,851 65,950 4,212 2,457 3,121

65,951 66,050 4,222 2,465 3,130
66,051 66,150 4,231 2,473 3,140
66,151 66,250 4,240 2,481 3,149
66,251 66,350 4,249 2,489 3,158
66,351 66,450 4,259 2,497 3,167

66,451 66,550 4,268 2,505 3,177
66,551 66,650 4,277 2,513 3,186
66,651 66,750 4,287 2,521 3,195
66,751 66,850 4,296 2,529 3,205
66,851 66,950 4,305 2,537 3,214

66,951 67,050 4,315 2,545 3,223
67,051 67,150 4,324 2,553 3,233
67,151 67,250 4,333 2,561 3,242
67,251 67,350 4,342 2,569 3,251
67,351 67,450 4,352 2,577 3,260

67,451 67,550 4,361 2,585 3,270
67,551 67,650 4,370 2,593 3,279
67,651 67,750 4,380 2,601 3,288
67,751 67,850 4,389 2,609 3,298
67,851 67,950 4,398 2,617 3,307

67,951 68,050 4,408 2,625 3,316
68,051 68,150 4,417 2,633 3,326
68,151 68,250 4,426 2,641 3,335
68,251 68,350 4,435 2,649 3,344
68,351 68,450 4,445 2,657 3,353

68,451 68,550 4,454 2,665 3,363
68,551 68,650 4,463 2,673 3,372
68,651 68,750 4,473 2,681 3,381
68,751 68,850 4,482 2,689 3,391
68,851 68,950 4,491 2,697 3,400

68,951 69,050 4,501 2,705 3,409
69,051 69,150 4,510 2,713 3,419
69,151 69,250 4,519 2,721 3,428
69,251 69,350 4,528 2,729 3,437
69,351 69,450 4,538 2,737 3,446

69,451 69,550 4,547 2,745 3,456
69,551 69,650 4,556 2,753 3,465
69,651 69,750 4,566 2,761 3,474
69,751 69,850 4,575 2,769 3,484
69,851 69,950 4,584 2,777 3,493

69,951 70,050 4,594 2,785 3,502
70,051 70,150 4,603 2,793 3,512
70,151 70,250 4,612 2,801 3,521
70,251 70,350 4,621 2,809 3,530
70,351 70,450 4,631 2,817 3,539

70,451 70,550 4,640 2,825 3,549
70,551 70,650 4,649 2,833 3,558
70,651 70,750 4,659 2,841 3,567
70,751 70,850 4,668 2,849 3,577
70,851 70,950 4,677 2,857 3,586

70,951 71,050 4,687 2,865 3,595
71,051 71,150 4,696 2,873 3,605
71,151 71,250 4,705 2,881 3,614
71,251 71,350 4,714 2,889 3,623
71,351 71,450 4,724 2,897 3,632

71,451 71,550 4,733 2,905 3,642
71,551 71,650 4,742 2,913 3,651
71,651 71,750 4,752 2,921 3,660
71,751 71,850 4,761 2,929 3,670
71,851 71,950 4,770 2,937 3,679

71,951 72,050 4,780 2,945 3,688
72,051 72,150 4,789 2,953 3,698
72,151 72,250 4,798 2,961 3,707
72,251 72,350 4,807 2,969 3,716
72,351 72,450 4,817 2,977 3,725

72,451 72,550 4,826 2,985 3,735
72,551 72,650 4,835 2,993 3,744
72,651 72,750 4,845 3,001 3,753
72,751 72,850 4,854 3,009 3,763
72,851 72,950 4,863 3,017 3,772

72,951 73,050 4,873 3,025 3,781
73,051 73,150 4,882 3,033 3,791
73,151 73,250 4,891 3,041 3,800
73,251 73,350 4,900 3,049 3,809
73,351 73,450 4,910 3,057 3,818

73,451 73,550 4,919 3,065 3,828
73,551 73,650 4,928 3,073 3,837
73,651 73,750 4,938 3,081 3,846
73,751 73,850 4,947 3,089 3,856
73,851 73,950 4,956 3,097 3,865

73,951 74,050 4,966 3,105 3,874
74,051 74,150 4,975 3,113 3,884
74,151 74,250 4,984 3,121 3,893
74,251 74,350 4,993 3,129 3,902
74,351 74,450 5,003 3,137 3,911

74,451 74,550 5,012 3,145 3,921
74,551 74,650 5,021 3,153 3,930
74,651 74,750 5,031 3,161 3,939
74,751 74,850 5,040 3,169 3,949
74,851 74,950 5,049 3,177 3,958

74,951 75,050 5,059 3,185 3,967
75,051 75,150 5,068 3,193 3,977
75,151 75,250 5,077 3,201 3,986
75,251 75,350 5,086 3,209 3,995
75,351 75,450 5,096 3,217 4,004

75,451 75,550 5,105 3,225 4,014
75,551 75,650 5,114 3,233 4,023
75,651 75,750 5,124 3,241 4,032
75,751 75,850 5,133 3,249 4,042
75,851 75,950 5,142 3,257 4,051

75,951 76,050 5,152 3,265 4,060
76,051 76,150 5,161 3,273 4,070
76,151 76,250 5,170 3,281 4,079
76,251 76,350 5,179 3,289 4,088
76,351 76,450 5,189 3,297 4,097

76,451 76,550 5,198 3,305 4,107
76,551 76,650 5,207 3,313 4,116
76,651 76,750 5,217 3,321 4,125
76,751 76,850 5,226 3,329 4,135
76,851 76,950 5,235 3,337 4,144

76,951 77,050 5,245 3,345 4,153
77,051 77,150 5,254 3,353 4,163
77,151 77,250 5,263 3,361 4,172
77,251 77,350 5,272 3,369 4,181
77,351 77,450 5,282 3,377 4,190

77,451 77,550 5,291 3,385 4,200
77,551 77,650 5,300 3,393 4,209
77,651 77,750 5,310 3,401 4,218
77,751 77,850 5,319 3,409 4,228
77,851 77,950 5,328 3,417 4,237

77,951 78,050 5,338 3,425 4,246
78,051 78,150 5,347 3,433 4,256
78,151 78,250 5,356 3,441 4,265
78,251 78,350 5,365 3,449 4,274
78,351 78,450 5,375 3,458 4,283

78,451 78,550 5,384 3,468 4,293
78,551 78,650 5,393 3,477 4,302
78,651 78,750 5,403 3,486 4,311
78,751 78,850 5,412 3,496 4,321
78,851 78,950 5,421 3,505 4,330

78,951 79,050 5,431 3,514 4,339
79,051 79,150 5,440 3,523 4,349
79,151 79,250 5,449 3,533 4,358
79,251 79,350 5,458 3,542 4,367
79,351 79,450 5,468 3,551 4,376

79,451 79,550 5,477 3,561 4,386
79,551 79,650 5,486 3,570 4,395
79,651 79,750 5,496 3,579 4,404
79,751 79,850 5,505 3,589 4,414
79,851 79,950 5,514 3,598 4,423

79,951 80,050 5,524 3,607 4,432
80,051 80,150 5,533 3,616 4,442
80,151 80,250 5,542 3,626 4,451
80,251 80,350 5,551 3,635 4,460
80,351 80,450 5,561 3,644 4,469

80,451 80,550 5,570 3,654 4,479
80,551 80,650 5,579 3,663 4,488
80,651 80,750 5,589 3,672 4,497
80,751 80,850 5,598 3,682 4,507
80,851 80,950 5,607 3,691 4,516

80,951 81,050 5,617 3,700 4,525
81,051 81,150 5,626 3,709 4,535
81,151 81,250 5,635 3,719 4,544
81,251 81,350 5,644 3,728 4,553
81,351 81,450 5,654 3,737 4,562

81,451 81,550 5,663 3,747 4,572
81,551 81,650 5,672 3,756 4,581
81,651 81,750 5,682 3,765 4,590
81,751 81,850 5,691 3,775 4,600
81,851 81,950 5,700 3,784 4,609

81,951 82,050 5,710 3,793 4,618
82,051 82,150 5,719 3,802 4,628
82,151 82,250 5,728 3,812 4,637
82,251 82,350 5,737 3,821 4,646
82,351 82,450 5,747 3,830 4,655
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82,451 82,550 5,756 3,840 4,665
82,551 82,650 5,765 3,849 4,674
82,651 82,750 5,775 3,858 4,683
82,751 82,850 5,784 3,868 4,693
82,851 82,950 5,793 3,877 4,702

82,951 83,050 5,803 3,886 4,711
83,051 83,150 5,812 3,895 4,721
83,151 83,250 5,821 3,905 4,730
83,251 83,350 5,830 3,914 4,739
83,351 83,450 5,840 3,923 4,748

83,451 83,550 5,849 3,933 4,758
83,551 83,650 5,858 3,942 4,767
83,651 83,750 5,868 3,951 4,776
83,751 83,850 5,877 3,961 4,786
83,851 83,950 5,886 3,970 4,795

83,951 84,050 5,896 3,979 4,804
84,051 84,150 5,905 3,988 4,814
84,151 84,250 5,914 3,998 4,823
84,251 84,350 5,923 4,007 4,832
84,351 84,450 5,933 4,016 4,841

84,451 84,550 5,942 4,026 4,851
84,551 84,650 5,951 4,035 4,860
84,651 84,750 5,961 4,044 4,869
84,751 84,850 5,970 4,054 4,879
84,851 84,950 5,979 4,063 4,888

84,951 85,050 5,989 4,072 4,897
85,051 85,150 5,998 4,081 4,907
85,151 85,250 6,007 4,091 4,916
85,251 85,350 6,016 4,100 4,925
85,351 85,450 6,026 4,109 4,934

85,451 85,550 6,035 4,119 4,944
85,551 85,650 6,044 4,128 4,953
85,651 85,750 6,054 4,137 4,962
85,751 85,850 6,063 4,147 4,972
85,851 85,950 6,072 4,156 4,981

85,951 86,050 6,082 4,165 4,990
86,051 86,150 6,091 4,174 5,000
86,151 86,250 6,100 4,184 5,009
86,251 86,350 6,109 4,193 5,018
86,351 86,450 6,119 4,202 5,027

86,451 86,550 6,128 4,212 5,037
86,551 86,650 6,137 4,221 5,046
86,651 86,750 6,147 4,230 5,055
86,751 86,850 6,156 4,240 5,065
86,851 86,950 6,165 4,249 5,074

86,951 87,050 6,175 4,258 5,083
87,051 87,150 6,184 4,267 5,093
87,151 87,250 6,193 4,277 5,102
87,251 87,350 6,202 4,286 5,111
87,351 87,450 6,212 4,295 5,120

87,451 87,550 6,221 4,305 5,130
87,551 87,650 6,230 4,314 5,139
87,651 87,750 6,240 4,323 5,148
87,751 87,850 6,249 4,333 5,158
87,851 87,950 6,258 4,342 5,167

87,951 88,050 6,268 4,351 5,176
88,051 88,150 6,277 4,360 5,186
88,151 88,250 6,286 4,370 5,195
88,251 88,350 6,295 4,379 5,204
88,351 88,450 6,305 4,388 5,213

88,451 88,550 6,314 4,398 5,223
88,551 88,650 6,323 4,407 5,232
88,651 88,750 6,333 4,416 5,241
88,751 88,850 6,342 4,426 5,251
88,851 88,950 6,351 4,435 5,260

88,951 89,050 6,361 4,444 5,269
89,051 89,150 6,370 4,453 5,279
89,151 89,250 6,379 4,463 5,288
89,251 89,350 6,388 4,472 5,297
89,351 89,450 6,398 4,481 5,306

89,451 89,550 6,407 4,491 5,316
89,551 89,650 6,416 4,500 5,325
89,651 89,750 6,426 4,509 5,334
89,751 89,850 6,435 4,519 5,344
89,851 89,950 6,444 4,528 5,353

89,951 90,050 6,454 4,537 5,362
90,051 90,150 6,463 4,546 5,372
90,151 90,250 6,472 4,556 5,381
90,251 90,350 6,481 4,565 5,390
90,351 90,450 6,491 4,574 5,399

90,451 90,550 6,500 4,584 5,409
90,551 90,650 6,509 4,593 5,418
90,651 90,750 6,519 4,602 5,427
90,751 90,850 6,528 4,612 5,437
90,851 90,950 6,537 4,621 5,446

90,951 91,050 6,547 4,630 5,455
91,051 91,150 6,556 4,639 5,465
91,151 91,250 6,565 4,649 5,474
91,251 91,350 6,574 4,658 5,483
91,351 91,450 6,584 4,667 5,492

91,451 91,550 6,593 4,677 5,502
91,551 91,650 6,602 4,686 5,511
91,651 91,750 6,612 4,695 5,520
91,751 91,850 6,621 4,705 5,530
91,851 91,950 6,630 4,714 5,539

91,951 92,050 6,640 4,723 5,548
92,051 92,150 6,649 4,732 5,558
92,151 92,250 6,658 4,742 5,567
92,251 92,350 6,667 4,751 5,576
92,351 92,450 6,677 4,760 5,585

92,451 92,550 6,686 4,770 5,595
92,551 92,650 6,695 4,779 5,604
92,651 92,750 6,705 4,788 5,613
92,751 92,850 6,714 4,798 5,623
92,851 92,950 6,723 4,807 5,632

92,951 93,050 6,733 4,816 5,641
93,051 93,150 6,742 4,825 5,651
93,151 93,250 6,751 4,835 5,660
93,251 93,350 6,760 4,844 5,669
93,351 93,450 6,770 4,853 5,678

93,451 93,550 6,779 4,863 5,688
93,551 93,650 6,788 4,872 5,697
93,651 93,750 6,798 4,881 5,706
93,751 93,850 6,807 4,891 5,716
93,851 93,950 6,816 4,900 5,725

93,951 94,050 6,826 4,909 5,734
94,051 94,150 6,835 4,918 5,744
94,151 94,250 6,844 4,928 5,753
94,251 94,350 6,853 4,937 5,762
94,351 94,450 6,863 4,946 5,771

94,451 94,550 6,872 4,956 5,781
94,551 94,650 6,881 4,965 5,790
94,651 94,750 6,891 4,974 5,799
94,751 94,850 6,900 4,984 5,809
94,851 94,950 6,909 4,993 5,818

94,951 95,050 6,919 5,002 5,827
95,051 95,150 6,928 5,011 5,837
95,151 95,250 6,937 5,021 5,846
95,251 95,350 6,946 5,030 5,855
95,351 95,450 6,956 5,039 5,864

95,451 95,550 6,965 5,049 5,874
95,551 95,650 6,974 5,058 5,883
95,651 95,750 6,984 5,067 5,892
95,751 95,850 6,993 5,077 5,902
95,851 95,950 7,002 5,086 5,911

95,951 96,050 7,012 5,095 5,920
96,051 96,150 7,021 5,104 5,930
96,151 96,250 7,030 5,114 5,939
96,251 96,350 7,039 5,123 5,948
96,351 96,450 7,049 5,132 5,957

96,451 96,550 7,058 5,142 5,967
96,551 96,650 7,067 5,151 5,976
96,651 96,750 7,077 5,160 5,985
96,751 96,850 7,086 5,170 5,995
96,851 96,950 7,095 5,179 6,004

96,951 97,050 7,105 5,188 6,013
97,051 97,150 7,114 5,197 6,023
97,151 97,250 7,123 5,207 6,032
97,251 97,350 7,132 5,216 6,041
97,351 97,450 7,142 5,225 6,050

97,451 97,550 7,151 5,235 6,060
97,551 97,650 7,160 5,244 6,069
97,651 97,750 7,170 5,253 6,078
97,751 97,850 7,179 5,263 6,088
97,851 97,950 7,188 5,272 6,097

97,951 98,050 7,198 5,281 6,106
98,051 98,150 7,207 5,290 6,116
98,151 98,250 7,216 5,300 6,125
98,251 98,350 7,225 5,309 6,134
98,351 98,450 7,235 5,318 6,143

98,451 98,550 7,244 5,328 6,153
98,551 98,650 7,253 5,337 6,162
98,651 98,750 7,263 5,346 6,171
98,751 98,850 7,272 5,356 6,181
98,851 98,950 7,281 5,365 6,190

98,951 99,050 7,291 5,374 6,199
99,051 99,150 7,300 5,383 6,209
99,151 99,250 7,309 5,393 6,218
99,251 99,350 7,318 5,402 6,227
99,351 99,450 7,328 5,411 6,236

99,451 99,550 7,337 5,421 6,246
99,551 99,650 7,346 5,430 6,255
99,651 99,750 7,356 5,439 6,264
99,751 99,850 7,365 5,449 6,274
99,851 99,950 7,374 5,458 6,283

99,951 100,000 7,381 5,465 6,290
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2003 California Tax Rate Schedules

Caution: Use only if your taxable income on Form 540, line 19 or Form 540A, line 16 is more than $100,000. If $100,000 or less, use the Tax Table.

If the amount on Form 540, Enter on Form 540, line 20
line 19 or Form 540A, line 16 is: or Form 540A, line 17 of the
over – But not over – amount over –

Schedule X –
Use if your filing status is
Single or Married Filing Separately

Schedule Y –
Use if your filing status is
Married Filing Jointly or Qualifying
Widow(er) with Dependent Child

Schedule Z –
Use if your filing status is
Head of Household

How to Figure Tax Using the 2003 California Tax Rate Schedules
Example: John and Jackie Anderson are filing a joint return using Form 540. Their taxable income on Form 540, line 19 is $125,000.

Step 1: Using Schedule Y, they find the taxable income range that includes their taxable income of $125,000. See the boxed range in the sample below.

$ 0 $ 11,924 $ 0.00 + 1.0% $ 0.00
11,924 28,266 119.24 + 2.0% 11,924
28,266 44,612 446.08 + 4.0% 28,266
44,612 61,930 1099.92 + 6.0% 44,612
61,930 78,266 2139.00 + 8.0% 61,930
78,266  AND OVER  3445.88 + 9.3%  78,266

Schedule Y –
Use if your filing status is
Married Filing Jointly or Qualifying
Widow(er) with Dependent Child

Example Your Income
Step 2: They subtract the amount at the beginning of their range from $125,000 $

their taxable income. - 78,266 -                  
$ 46,734 $

Step 3: They multiply the result from Step 2 by the percentage for $46,734 $
their range.         x .093          x         

$4,346.26 $

Step 4: They round the amount from Step 3 to two decimals (if $3,445.88 $
necessary) and add it to the tax amount for their income   + 4,346.26 +                  
range. After rounding the result, they will enter $7,792 on $7,792.14 $
Form 540, line 20. For information on rounding, see  “Filling in your
return” on page 8.

If the amount on Form 540,
line 19 is: Enter on Form 540, line 20 of the
over – But not over – amount over –

$ 0 $ 5,962 $ 0.00 + 1.0% $ 0.00
5,962 14,133 59.62 + 2.0% 5,962

14,133 22,306 223.04 + 4.0% 14,133
22,306 30,965 549.96 + 6.0% 22,306
30,965 39,133 1069.50 + 8.0% 30,965
39,133  AND OVER  1722.94 + 9.3%  39,133

$ 0 $ 11,924 $ 0.00 + 1.0% $ 0.00
11,924 28,266 119.24 + 2.0% 11,924
28,266 44,612 446.08 + 4.0% 28,266
44,612 61,930 1099.92 + 6.0% 44,612
61,930 78,266 2139.00 + 8.0% 61,930
78,266  AND OVER  3445.88 + 9.3%  78,266

$ 0 $ 11,930  $ 0.00 + 1.0% $ 0.00
11,930 28,267 119.30 + 2.0% 11,930
28,267 36,437 446.04 + 4.0% 28,267
36,437 45,096 772.84 + 6.0% 36,437
45,096 53,267 1292.38 + 8.0% 45,096
53,267  AND OVER  1946.06 + 9.3%  53,267

✓ Tip Go to www.ftb.ca.gov to e-file and eliminate the math. Or search our Website for “tax calculator” to use the online tax calculator to figure your
tax.
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Additional Information
California Sales And Use Tax
California Use Tax
The use tax has been in effect in California since July 1, 1935. It applies to
purchases from out-of-state or Internet sellers. It is similar to the sales tax
paid on purchases you make in California.
In general, you must pay California use tax if you purchase an item out of
state (for example, by telephone, over the Internet, by mail, or in person)
and
• The seller does not collect California sales or use tax, and
• You use, give away, store, or consume the item in this state.
Example: You live in California and purchase a dining table from a
company in North Carolina. The company ships the table from North
Carolina to your home for your use and does not charge California sales or
use tax. You owe use tax for the purchase.
Complete the Use Tax Worksheet on page 14 or page 21 to calculate the
amount due. If you do not know your use tax rate, see the chart on page
24. If you have questions regarding the use tax rate in effect in your area,
please visit the State Board of Equalization's Website at www.boe.ca.gov
or call the State Board of Equalization's Information Center at
(800) 400-7115 or TTY/TDD (800) 735-2929. Please call this number for
use tax questions only. Income tax information is not available at this
number.
Extensions to file. If you request an extension to file your income tax
return, wait until you file your return to report your purchases subject to
use tax and to make your use tax payment.
Corrected use tax calculations. Do not complete an Amended Income Tax
return to revise your use tax. If you have changes to the amount of use tax
you reported on your original income tax return, contact the State Board of
Equalization.
For assistance, please visit the State Board of Equalization’s Website at
www.boe.ca.gov or call their Information Center at (800) 400-7115 or
TTY/TDD (800) 735-2929. Income tax information is not available at this
number.

Collection Fees
The FTB is required to assess collection and filing enforcement cost
recovery fees on delinquent accounts.

Deceased Taxpayers
A final return must be filed for a person who died in 2003 if a return
normally would be required. The administrator or executor, if one is
appointed, or beneficiary must file the return. Please print “deceased” and
the date of death next to the taxpayer’s name at the top of the return.
If you are a surviving spouse and no administrator or executor has been
appointed, you may file a joint return if you did not remarry during 2003.
Indicate next to your signature that you are the surviving spouse.
You may also file a joint return with an administrator or executor acting on
behalf of the deceased taxpayer.
If you file a return and claim a refund due to a deceased taxpayer, you are
certifying under penalty of perjury either that you are the legal representa-
tive of the deceased taxpayer’s estate (in this case, you must attach
certified copies of the letters of administration or letters testamentary) or
that you are entitled to the refund as the deceased’s surviving relative or
sole beneficiary under the provisions of the California Probate Code. You
must also attach a copy of federal Form 1310, Statement of Person
Claiming Refund Due a Deceased Taxpayer, or a copy of the death
certificate when you file a return and claim a refund due.

Homeowner and Renter Assistance
Homeowner assistance is a once-a-year payment from the State of
California as a reimbursement for part of the property taxes you paid on
your home. If eligible, you could receive up to 96% of the property taxes
you paid in the prior year. In 2003, you would have qualified for this
assistance if you:

• Were one of the following on December 31, 2002: 62 years of age* or
older, blind, or disabled; and

• Owned your home and lived in it on December 31, 2003, had total
household income of $37,676 or less, and are a U.S. citizen, designated
alien, or qualified alien, when you file your claim.
*If your 62nd birthday is on January 1, 2004, you are considered to be
age 62 on December 31, 2003.

Renter assistance is a once-a-year payment from the State of California as a
reimbursement for part of the property taxes that you pay indirectly when
you pay your rent. In 2003, you would have qualified for this assistance if
you:
• Were one of the following on December 31, 2002: 62 years of age* or

older, blind, or disabled; and
• Paid $50 or more rent per month in the prior year, had total household

income of $37,676 or less, and are a U.S. citizen, designated alien, or
qualified alien when you file your claim.
*If your 62nd birthday is on January 1, 2004, you are considered to be
age 62 on December 31, 2003.

The 2004 filing season for these programs begins July 1, 2004. For more
information, call (800) 852-5711 or visit us at our Website at
www.ftb.ca.gov

Innocent Spouse Relief
You may qualify for relief from liability for tax on a joint return if (1) there
is an understatement of tax because your spouse omitted income or
claimed false deductions or credits, (2) you are divorced, separated, or no
longer living with your spouse, or (3) given all the facts and circum-
stances, it would be unfair to hold you liable for the tax. Get FTB Pub. 705,
“Innocent Spouse – Are you eligible?,” for more information.

Military Personnel
If you are a member of the military and need additional information on how
to file your return, get FTB Pub 1032, Tax Information for Military
Personnel. See “Order Forms and Publications” on the back cover.

Requesting a Copy of Your Tax Return
The FTB keeps personal income tax returns for three and one-half years
from the original due date. If you need to get a copy of a return from those
years, you must request it by writing a letter or by completing form
FTB 3516, Request for Copy of Personal Income Tax or Fiduciary Return.
In most cases, there is a $20 fee for each tax year you request. However,
there is no charge if you were the victim of a designated California or
federal disaster; or you request copies from a field office that assisted you
in completing your return.  See "Order Forms and Publication" on the back
cover.

Vehicle License Fees for Federal Schedule A
On your federal Schedule A, you may deduct the California motor vehicle
license fee listed on your Vehicle Registration Billing Notice from the
Department of Motor Vehicles. The other fees listed on your billing notice
such as registration fee, weight fee, and county fees are not deductible.

Voting Is Everybody’s Business
You may register to vote if you meet these requirements:
• You are a United States citizen;
• You are a resident of California;
• You will be 18 years old by the date of the next election; and
• You are not in prison or on parole for the conviction of a felony.
You need to re-register every time you move, change your name, or wish
to change political parties. In order to vote in an election, you must be
registered to vote at least 15 days before that election. To obtain a Voter
Registration Card, call the California Secretary of State’s office toll-free
voter hotline at (800) 345-VOTE or visit their Website at www.ss.ca.gov

It’s Your Right . . . Register and Vote



How To Get California Tax Information (Keep This Booklet For Future Use)
Where To Get Income Tax Forms and Publications

By Internet – You can view, download, and print California income tax
forms and publications from our Website at www.ftb.ca.gov or you may
have these forms and publications mailed to you. Many of our most
frequently used forms may be filed electronically, printed out for
submission, and saved for record keeping.
By phone – To order 2001 – 2003 California tax forms and publications
and 2003 federal booklets:
• Refer to the list on the next page and find the code number for the

form you want to order.
• Call (800) 338-0505.
• Select “Personal Income Tax.”
• Select “To Order Forms and Publications.”
• Enter the three-digit form code when you are instructed.
Please allow two weeks to receive your order. If you live outside
California, please allow three weeks to receive your order.
In person – Many post offices and banks provide free California tax
booklets during the filing season. Most libraries and some quick print
businesses have forms and schedules for you to photocopy (a nominal
fee may apply).
Note: Employees at libraries, post offices, banks, and quick print
businesses cannot provide tax information or assistance.
By mail – Write to: TAX FORMS REQUEST UNIT, FRANCHISE TAX
BOARD, PO BOX 307, RANCHO CORDOVA CA 95741-0307.

Letters
If you write to us, be sure your letter includes your social security
number and your daytime and evening telephone numbers. Send your
letter to:

FRANCHISE TAX BOARD
PO BOX 942840
SACRAMENTO CA 94240-0040

We will respond to your letter within 10 weeks. In some cases, we may
call you to respond to your inquiry, or ask you for additional informa-
tion. Do not attach correspondence to your tax return unless the
correspondence relates to an item on the return.

General Toll-Free Phone Service
Telephone assistance is available year-round from 7 a.m. until 7 p.m.
Monday through Friday, except state holidays. We may modify these
hours without notice to meet operational needs.
From within the United States, call  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (800) 852-5711
From outside the United States, call (not toll-free)  . . . . . (916) 845-6500
For federal tax questions, call the IRS at  . . . . . . . . . . . . (800) 829-1040
Assistance for persons with disabilities
We comply with the Americans with Disabilities Act. Persons with a
hearing or speech impairment please call:
TTY/TDD  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (800) 822-6268
Large-print forms and instructions – The Resident Booklet is available
in large print upon request and is also available on cassette tape. See
“Where To Get Income Tax Forms and Publications’’ on this page.
Asistencia bilingüe en español
Asistencia telefónica esta disponible todo el año durante las 7 a.m. y las
7 p.m. lunes a viernes, excepto días festivos estatales.  Sin embargo,
podríamos modificar este horario sin aviso previo para cumplir
necesidades de operación.
Dentro de los Estados Unidos, llame a  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (800) 852-5711
Fuera de los Estados Unidos, llame al (cargos aplican)  . (916) 845-6500
Para preguntas sobre impuestos federales,

llame el IRS al  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (800) 829-1040

Pagina Electrónica:
www.ftb.ca.gov

Asistencia para personas discapacitadas: Nosotros estamos en
conformidad con el Acta de Americanos Discapacitados. Personas con
problemas auditivos o de habla, pueden llamar al (800) 822-6268 con
un aparato de telecomunicación TTY/TTD.

Your Rights As A Taxpayer
Our goal at the FTB is to make certain that your rights are protected so
that you will have the highest confidence in the integrity, efficiency, and
fairness of our state tax system. FTB Pub. 4058, California Taxpayers’
Bill of Rights, includes information on your rights as a California
taxpayer, the Taxpayers’ Rights Advocate Program, and how you can
request written advice from the FTB on whether a particular transaction
is taxable. See “Where To Get Income Tax Forms and Publications,” on
this page.

Privacy Act Notice
The Franchise Tax Board considers the privacy of your tax information
to be of the utmost importance.
Your Rights:
You have a right to see our records that contain your personal informa-
tion, and we must tell you why we ask for your tax information and to
whom we may provide that information. You also have the right to
question the correctness of the information that is contained within your
file.
Your Responsibility:
If you meet certain income requirements, the California Revenue &
Taxation Code requires you to file a return on the forms we prescribe
(see sections 18501 and 18621). When you file these forms and related
documents, you must include your social security number for identifica-
tion and return processing (section 18624).
Reasons for Information Requests:
We ask for return information so that we can administer the tax law
fairly and correctly. We may request additional information to resolve
audit or collection issues. It is mandatory that you furnish all requested
information.
If you do not file a return, do not provide the information we ask for, or
if you provide fraudulent information, you may be charged penalties and
interest, and, in certain cases, you may be criminally prosecuted.
Additionally, we may disallow your claimed exemptions, exclusions,
credits, deductions, or adjustments. This could increase your tax
liability, or delay or reduce any refund.
Information Disclosure:
We may give your tax information to the Internal Revenue Service, to
income tax officials of other states, to the Multistate Tax Commission,
and to certain California government agencies and officials, as provided
by law. Also, as provided by law, we may give your tax information to
other persons as necessary to determine your tax liability or to collect
the amount of tax you owe. If you owe the Franchise Tax Board money,
the amount due may be disclosed to employers, financial institutions,
county recorders, vacation trust funds, process agents, or others who
hold assets belonging to you.
Responsibility for the Records:
The Director of the Enterprise Data Management Bureau is responsible
for maintaining the records of the Franchise Tax Board. To obtain
information about your records, 1) write to: Disclosure Officer,
Mailstop B-1 Franchise Tax Board, PO Box 1468, Sacramento CA
95812-1468, or 2) call: (800) 852-5711 within the United States, or
(916) 845-6500 outside of the United States.

Personal Income Tax Booklet 2003 Page 67



� Automated Toll-Free Phone Service (Keep This Booklet For Future Use)
Our automated toll-free phone service is
available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, in
English and Spanish to callers with touch-tone
telephones. You can:
• Order California and federal tax forms and

publications;
• Get current year tax refund information;
• Get balance due and payment information;

and
• Hear recorded answers to many of your

questions about California taxes.
Have paper and pencil ready to take notes.
Call from within the

United States  . . . . . . . . . .  (800) 338-0505
Call from outside the

United States  . . . . . . . . . .  (916) 845-6500
(not toll-free)

Order Forms and Publications
If your current address is on file, you can
order California tax forms for the current and
previous two years. You can also order
current year federal tax booklets. See the
following list of forms and follow the
instructions for ordering forms on the
previous page.

Code California Tax Forms and Publications
900 California Resident Income Tax Booklet:

Form 540, Resident Income Tax Return
Form 540A, Resident Income Tax Return

965 Form 540 2EZ Tax Booklet
903 Schedule CA (540), California Adjust-

ments: FTB 3885A, Depreciation &
Amortization Adjustments
Schedule D, California Capital Gain or
Loss Adjustment

969 Large Print Resident Booklet
970 Resident Booklet on Cassette
907 540-ES, Estimated Tax for Individuals
908 540X, Amended Individual Income Tax

Return
909 Schedule D-1, Sales of Business

Property
910 Schedule G-1, Tax on Lump-Sum

Distributions
911 Schedule P (540), Alternative Minimum

Tax and Credit Limitations – Residents
913 Schedule S, Other State Tax Credit
914 California Nonresident Income Tax

Booklet:
Long and Short Form 540NR, Nonresi-
dent or Part-Year Resident Income Tax
Return

917 Schedule CA (540NR), California
Adjustments — Nonresidents or
Part-Year Residents

918 Schedule P (540NR), Alternative
Minimum Tax and Credit Limitations –
Nonresident or Part-Year Residents

933 FTB 3504, Long-Term Care Credit
932 FTB 3506, Child and Dependent Care

Expenses Credit
937 FTB 3516, Request for Copy of Personal

Income Tax or Fiduciary Return
921 FTB 3519, Payment Voucher for

Automatic Extension for Individuals

972 FTB 3520, Power of Attorney Form and
FTB Pub. 1144, Power of Attorney
Frequently Asked Questions

922 FTB 3525, Substitute for W-2 Wage and
Tax Statement

923 FTB 3526, Investment Interest Expense
Deduction

931 FTB 3534, Joint Strike Fighter Credits
940 FTB 3540, Credit Carryover Summary
949 FTB 3567, Installment Agreement

Request
924 FTB 3800, Tax Computation for Children

with Investment Income
929 FTB 3801, Passive Activity Loss

Limitations
930 FTB 3803, Parents’ Election to Report

Child’s Interest and Dividends
935 FTB 3805D, Net Operating Loss (NOL)

Computation and Limitations – Pierce’s
Disease

925 FTB 3805E, Installment Sale Income
928 FTB 3805P, Additional Taxes from

Qualified Retirement Plans
926 FTB 3805V, Net Operating Loss (NOL)

— Individuals
901 FTB 3805Z, Enterprise Zone Businesses
927 FTB 5805, Underpayment of Estimated

Tax by Individuals and Fiduciaries
919 FTB Pub. 1001, Supplemental Guidelines

to California Adjustments
920 FTB Pub. 1005, Pension and Annuity

Guidelines
945 FTB Pub. 1006, California Tax Forms and

Related Federal Forms
946 FTB Pub. 1008, Federal Tax Adjustments

and Your Notification Responsibilities
943 FTB Pub. 4058, California Taxpayers’ Bill

of Rights
941 FTB Pub. 1031, Guidelines for Determin-

ing Resident Status
942 FTB Pub. 1032, Tax Information for

Military Personnel
951 FTB Pub. 1051A, Guidelines for Married

Filing Separate Returns
934 FTB Pub. 1540, California Head of

Household Filing Status Information

Code Federal Tax Forms
902 1040 Booklet (with Schedules A, B, D, &

E; Forms 1040V, EIC, and 2441)
904 1040A Booklet (with Schedule 1;

Form EIC)
915 1040EZ Booklet

Current Year Refund Information
If you file by mail, you should wait at least 8
weeks after you file your tax return before you
call to find out about your refund. You will
need your social security number, the
numbers in your street address, box number,
or route number, and your ZIP Code to use
this service.

Balance Due and Payment
Information
You should wait at least 45 days from the date
you mailed your payment before you call to
verify receipt of your payment. You will need
your social security number, the numbers in
your street address, box number, or route
number, and your ZIP Code to use this
service.

Answers To Tax Questions
Call our automated phone service, select
personal income tax information, then general
tax information,  and enter the 3-digit question
code.

Code Filing Assistance:
100 Do I need to file a return?
111 Which form should I use?
112 How do I file electronically and get a fast

refund?
113 What is the Teacher Retention Credit?
201 How can I get an extension to file?
203 What is the nonrefundable renter’s credit

and how do I qualify?
204 I never received a Form W-2. What do I

do?
205 I have no withholding taken out. What

do I do?
206 Do I have to attach a copy of my federal

return?
209 I lived in California for part of the year.

Do I have to file a return?
210 I did not live in California. Do I have to

file a return?
215 Who qualifies me to use the head of

household filing status?
222 How much can I deduct for vehicle

license fees?

Penalties
403 What is the estimate penalty rate?

Notices And Bills
503 How do I file a protest against a Notice

of Proposed Assessment?
506 How can I get information about my

Form 1099-G?

Tax For Children
601 Can my child take a personal exemption

credit when I claim her or him as a
dependent on my return?

Miscellaneous
611 What address do I send my payment to?
619 How do I report a change of address?

Recycled
Recyclable

Page 68 Personal Income Tax Booklet 2003




