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What’s New for 1998?
Differences Between California and Federal Law

In general, California tax law conforms to the Internal Revenue
Code (IRC) as of January 1, 1998. However, there are continu-
ing differences between California and federal tax law. Califor-
nia has not conformed to the changes to the IRC made by the
federal Internal Revenue Service (IRS) Restructuring and
Reform Act of 1998 (Public Law 105-206) and the Tax and
Trade Relief Extension Act of 1998 (Public Law 105-277). Spe-
cific areas of nonconformity are discussed in the affected tax
forms instructions.

1998 California Tax Law Changes
Social Security Numbers Removed From Label.
To protect your privacy, your social security number(s) are no
longer printed on the peel-off label. Be sure to enter your social
security number(s) on your return in Step 1a so that we can
properly process your return.

Increased Dependent Exemption Credit.
The 1998 dependent exemption credit has increased to $253
for each dependent.

New Nonrefundable Renter’s Credit.
California residents who, for more than half of 1998, lived in
and paid rent for property located in California may qualify for
this credit to offset tax. You must owe tax in order to claim this
credit. See page 26 for more information.

New Voluntary Contribution Funds.
You may now make a voluntary contribution to the California
Mexican American Veterans’ Memorial and the Emergency
Food Assistance Program Fund.

Increased Basic Standard Deduction for Dependents.
The 1998 basic standard deduction is the greater of $700 or
the dependent’s earned income plus $250.

New Credits.
See the chart beginning on page 34 for information about the
new Manufacturing Enhancement Areas credit and Targeted
Tax Areas credit.

Pay Your Taxes The Easy Way! Use e-pay!
You don’t have to write and mail a check! If you file your return
electronically, you can choose to pay your income tax electroni-
cally. You can authorize the Franchise Tax Board (FTB) to
debit your account for the amount of tax you owe by complet-
ing the electronic filing declaration form at the same time you
electronically file your return. Ask your tax preparer or check
your on-line filing tax software to see if this option is offered.
See page 5 for more information.

New Form to Report a Change of Address
You may now use form FTB 3533, Change of Address, to
notify us of your new address. See ‘‘Order Forms’’ on the back
cover. Or, you may still call (800) 852-5711 to report your
change of address.

General Information
California Tax Forms on the Internet!

If you have Internet access, you may download, view and print
California income tax forms and publications for tax years 1994
through 1998. Our Internet address is:

http://www.ftb.ca.gov

Direct Deposit If You File Electronically!
Receiving a refund? If you file your return electronically, you
can have your refund sent directly to your bank account within
5 to 7 banking days. Many tax preparers and electronic filing
services will transmit your return. They may charge you a fee
for their service. See page 5 for more information.

File Your Return From Your Home Personal Computer!
Now you can file your return through our On-Line Filing
Service. You must have a personal computer, a modem and
‘‘file-from-home’’ software obtained from retail stores or
websites. The software allows you to transmit your return to the
FTB through an on-line service provider. For links to
websites that offer the software, go to FTB’s website at
http://www.ftb.ca.gov and select ‘‘Electronic Services’’ from
the main menu.

California Alternative Minimum Tax (AMT)
You may owe AMT or have to limit your credits. See the
instructions for Form 540, line 21 to see if you need to get
Schedule P (540), Alternative Minimum Tax and Credit Limita-
tions – Residents.

Refund of Excess State Disability Insurance (SDI)
You may be eligible for a refund of excess SDI if you had at
least two employers during 1998 who together :

• Paid you more than $31,767 in wages; and
• Withheld more than $158.84 of SDI or Voluntary Plan Dis-

ability Insurance (VPDI).

See page 23 (instructions for Form 540A, line 27) or page 36
(instructions for Form 540, line 41) for more information.

F.A.S.T. Automated Toll-free Phone& Service: (800) 338-0505
When you see a phone symbol in the instructions, you may get
more information about the paragraph or line by the phone
symbol by dialing (800) 338-0505. Select general tax informa-
tion, follow the recorded instructions and enter the three-digit
number by the phone symbol.

We Welcome Your Comments on
Forms

We value your comments and suggestions and are happy to
announce that they have led to improvements to the Franchise
Tax Board’s products and services. You have asked for
improved access to our toll-free phone service. As a result, our
general toll-free phone service hours of operation have been
extended. We will now be open 6 a.m. until midnight Monday
through Friday and from 8 a.m. until 5 p.m. on Saturdays from
January 4 through April 15, 1999. After April 15, we will be
open Monday through Friday, from 7 a.m. until 8 p.m. One of
our key goals is to make it easier for you to do business with
us and we are eager for your ideas. Please continue to write
with your comments and suggestions. Write to me at:

Mail: GERALD GOLDBERG, EXECUTIVE OFFICER
FRANCHISE TAX BOARD
PO BOX 942840
SACRAMENTO CA 94240-0040

Email: Go to http://www.ftb.ca.gov and select 
‘‘Send Email to the Executive Officer.’’
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Do I Have to File?
Requirements for Most People
Find your filing status at the end of 1998 in the first column of the chart below. Read across to find your filing status for 1998. You
must file a return if either your California gross income or your California adjusted gross income was more than the amount shown
for your filing status.

On 12/31/98 I was: Filing status California
gross income 1

California
adjusted
gross income 2

Single (including divorced and legally
separated)

Single
Head of household3 $10,623 $8,498

Married with a child and living apart from
spouse the last 6 months of 1998 Head of household3

Widowed before 1998 and not
remarried in 1998

Single
Head of household3

Qualifying widow(er)

Dependent of another person Any filing status More than your
standard
deduction 5

Married, living with spouse at end of 1998 (or
date in 1998 spouse died)
or
Married, living apart from spouse at end of
1998 (or date in 1998 spouse died)

Married filing joint

Married filing separate

$21,2464 $16,9964

1 California gross income is all income you received in the form of money, goods, property and services from all sources that is not exempt from
tax, including any gain on the sale of your home (even if you exclude or postpone part or all of the gain). Gross income does not include any
adjustments or deductions.

2 California adjusted gross income is your federal adjusted gross income from all sources reduced or increased by all California income
adjustments.

3 See page 19.
4 Income of both spouses; both spouses must file a return even if only one spouse had income over the amounts listed.
5 Use the worksheet on page 22 to figure your standard deduction.

$10,623 $8,498

$10,623 $8,498

Even if you do not have to file a return, you should file one in order to get a refund if California state income tax was withheld from
your pay, or if you made estimated tax payments.

Requirements for Children With Investment Income
California law is the same as federal law for the income of children under age 14. For each child under age 14 who received more
than $1,400 of investment income in 1998, get and complete Form 540 and form FTB 3800, Tax Computation for Children with
Investment Income, or form FTB 3803, Parents’ Election to Report Child’s Interest and Dividends. See ‘‘Order Forms’’ on the back
cover.

Other Situations When You Must File
If you owe any of the following taxes for 1998, you must file a return:
• Tax on a qualified retirement plan, including an individual retirement arrangement (IRA) or on a medical savings account (MSA);
• Alternative minimum tax;
• Tax for children under age 14 who have investment income greater than $1,400 (see paragraph above);
• Tax on a lump-sum distribution;
• Recapture taxes;
• Deferred tax on certain installment obligations; or
• Tax on an accumulation distribution of a trust.
If you owe any of the above taxes, you cannot file Form 540EZ or Form 540A. You must file Form 540.
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Which form
should I use?

Were you a resident of California during the entire 1998 year?
Yes. If you are single or married filing a joint return and you have no
dependents, chances are good that you could be using Form 540EZ. It’s
quick and easy! Check the chart below to see which form you should use.
No. You must use Form 540NR. See ‘‘Order Forms’’ on the back cover.

Single or married filing joint,
under 65 and not blind

Any filing status

No dependents All dependents you are entitled to claim

Taxable income
$50,000 or less

Federal adjusted gross income
$100,000 or less

Only income from:
• Wages, salaries, tips
• Taxable interest of $400 or less
• Taxable scholarship or

fellowship grants
• Unemployment compensation

reported on Form 1099-G

Only income from:
• Wages, salaries, tips
• Taxable scholarship

fellowship grants
• Interest and dividends
• Unemployment compensation

reported on Form 1099-G
• Social security benefits
• Tier 1 and tier 2

railroad retirement payments
• Fully and partially taxable IRA

distributions, pensions & annuities

No adjustments to income Allowed if the amount is the same as
your federal adjustments to income

AllowedAllowed

No itemized deductions Allowed if the amount is the same as
your federal itemized deductions (except for
state, local and foreign taxes paid)

Only withholding shown on
Form(s) W-2

• Withholding shown on Form(s) W-2,
W-2G and 1099-R

• Estimated tax payments
• Payments made with extension

voucher
• Excess State Disability Insurance

(SDI) or Voluntary Plan Disability
Insurance (VPDI)

• Personal exemption credit
• Senior exemption credit
• Blind exemption credit
• Dependent exemption credit
• Nonrefundable renter’s credit

• Personal exemption credit
• Nonrefundable renter’s credit

Only tax computed using the
tax table

Only tax computed using the tax table
or tax rate schedules

Filing Status

Dependents

Amount of Income

Sources of Income

Adjustment to Income

Standard Deduction

Itemized Deductions

Payments

Tax Credits

Other Taxes

All dependents you are entitled
to claim

Any amount of income

All sources of income

All adjustments to income

Allowed

All itemized deductions

• Withholding from all sources
• Estimated tax payments
• Payments made with

extension voucher
• Excess State Disability

Insurance (SDI) or Voluntary
Plan Disability Insurance
(VPDI)

All tax credits

All taxes:
• Tax computed using the tax table

or tax rate schedules
• Alternative minimum tax
• Tax on early distributions from

IRAs or other qualified
retirement plans

• Tax on distributions from MSAs
and education IRAs

• Tax for children under age 14
who have investment income of
more than $1,400

• Tax on lump-sum distributions
• Recapture taxes
• Deferred tax on certain installment

obligations
• Tax on accumulation distribution

of trusts

Any filing status

Form 540Form 540AForm 540EZ
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All About Electronic Filing
You Can Choose How to File Your

California Return!

You can file your return on paper, as you might have done last year. Or you can
file your return using one of the Franchise Tax Board’s (FTB) electronic filing
(e-file) methods! e-file is the computer transmission of your return. There are
many advantages to e-file!

( Fast Refunds ➧  Your check is in the mail within 7 to 10 calendar days after your
return is transmitted!

( Direct Deposit ➧  If you choose, your refund can be deposited into your bank
account within 5 to 7 banking days from the date your return is transmitted!

( Fewer Errors ➧  e-file returns have fewer errors than those filed on paper! This
means that most people who e-file don’t receive a notice from us about a mistake
on their return.

( Electronic Payment ➧  If you choose, the amount you owe can be withdrawn
from your bank account. You choose the exact day for the withdrawal at the time
you e-file. There is no check to mail!

e-file Through Your Tax Preparer

Many tax preparers can e-file your return to the FTB. Your tax preparer will receive
proof from the FTB that your return was filed and the date it was filed. Check to see
if your tax preparer offers e-file services.

e-file From Your Home Computer

Use a computer, modem and tax preparation software to prepare your return. Rather
than printing out your return and mailing it to us, you can e-file it without leaving
home!

For more information about e-file, visit our website at http://www.ftb.ca.gov and
select ‘‘Electronic Services’’ from the main menu, or call (800) 338-0505, select
general tax information, then enter code 112 when instructed.
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Tax Time Tips

If you have a refund or no amount due : If you owe :

FRANCHISE TAX BOARD FRANCHISE TAX BOARD
PO BOX 942840 PO BOX 942867
SACRAMENTO CA 94240-0000 SACRAMENTO CA 94267-0001

The Franchise Tax Board (FTB) may request information from you regarding your California income tax
return within the California statute of limitations period, which is usually the later of four years from the
due date of the return or the date the return is filed. Keep a copy of your return and the records that
verify the income, deductions, adjustments or credits reported on your return. Some records should be
kept longer. For example, keep property records as long as they are needed to figure the basis of the
original or replacement property.

Mailing your return.

Keep a copy of your return.

If you file electronically.
If you file your return electronically, make sure all the amounts entered on the paper copy of your
California return are correct before you sign form FTB 8453, California Individual Income Tax
Declaration for e-file. If you are requesting direct deposit of a refund, make sure that your account and
routing information is correct. Your return can be transmitted to FTB by your preparer or electronic filing
service only after you sign form FTB 8453. The preparer or electronic filing service must provide you
with:
• A copy of form FTB 8453;
• Any original Form(s) W-2, W-2G, 1099-G and 1099-R that you provided; and
• A paper copy of your California tax return showing the data transmitted to the FTB.

Important due dates.
DATE
April 15, 1999

October 15, 1999

April 15, 1999
June 15, 1999
September 15, 1999
January 18, 2000

Last day to pay 1998 amount you owe to avoid penalties and interest1.
See page 7 for more information.

Last day to file your 1998 return to avoid penalties and interest computed from the
original due date of April 15, 1999.

Due dates for 1999 estimated tax payments. Generally, you need to make estimated
payments if less than 80% of your tax is paid by withholding. See ‘‘Estimated tax
payments’’ below.

1 If you are living or traveling outside the United States on April 15, 1999, the due dates for filing your return and paying your
tax are different. See ‘‘Taxpayers Residing or Traveling Abroad’’ on page 7 for more information.

Estimated tax payments.
Generally, you do not have to make estimated tax payments if your California withholding in each
payment period is at least 1/4 of your required annual payment. Also, you do not have to make
estimated tax payments if you will pay enough through withholding to keep the amount you owe with
your return under $200 ($100 if married filing separate). However, if you do not pay enough tax either
through withholding or by making estimated tax payments, you may have an underpayment penalty.
Call (800) 338-0505, select general tax information and enter code 208 for more information.



General Information
If you cannot file your California tax return by April 15, 1999, you
will be allowed an automatic six-month extension without filing a
written request. To qualify for the automatic extension, you must file
your tax return by October 15, 1999. However, an extension of time
to file your return is not an extension of time to pay your tax. To
avoid late-payment penalties and interest, you must pay 100% of
your tax liability by April 15, 1999.
Complete the tax payment worksheet below to see if you owe
additional tax. If you owe additional tax but cannot file by
April 15, 1999, use the payment voucher below to mail in your
payment. Your payment must be postmarked by April 15, 1999.
Send in the voucher only if a payment is due.
Keep your completed worksheet along with the copy of your return
with your tax records.

Penalties and Interest
Remember, an extension of time to file your return is not an
extension of time to pay your tax. If you fail to pay your total tax
liability by April 15, 1999, a late-payment penalty plus interest will be
added to your tax due. If after April 15, 1999, you find that your
estimate of tax due was too low, you should pay the additional tax
as soon as possible to avoid further accumulation of penalties and
interest. Pay your estimated additional tax with another form
FTB 3519 voucher. If you do not file your return by
October 15, 1999, you will be assessed a late-filing penalty plus
interest from the original due date of the return.

Taxpayers Residing or Traveling Abroad
If you are living or traveling outside the United States on
April 15, 1999, the deadline to file your return and pay the tax is
June 15, 1999. Interest will accrue from the original due date
(April 15, 1999) until the date of payment. If you need additional
time to file your tax return, you will be allowed an automatic
six-month extension without filing a written request. To qualify for the
extension, you must file your tax return by December 15, 1999. To
avoid any late-payment penalties, you must pay 100% of your tax
liability by June 15, 1999. When filing your return, be sure to attach
a statement to the front indicating that you were ‘‘abroad on
April 15, 1999.’’

TAX PAYMENT WORKSHEET FOR YOUR RECORDS

2 Payments and credits:
a California income tax withheld. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 2a
b California estimated tax payments and amount applied from your 1997 return . . . . . 2b
c Other payments and credits, including any tax payments made with any previous

form FTB 3519 voucher . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 2c
3 Total tax payments and credits. Add line 2a, line 2b, and line 2c . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 3
4 Tax due. Is line 1 more than line 3? . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 4

1 Total tax you expect to owe. This is the amount you expect to enter on Form 540EZ, line 23; Form 540A, line 23;
Form 540, line 37; or Form 540NR, line 46 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 1

FTB 3519 1998 Page 7

1998
Payment Voucher for
Automatic Extension for Individuals

TAXABLE YEAR

3519

IF NO PAYMENT IS DUE, DO NOT FILE THIS FORM

MAIL TO: FRANCHISE TAX BOARD
PO BOX 942867
SACRAMENTO CA 94267-0051

Amount of payment

Your first name

If joint payment, spouse’s first name

Present home address — number and street including PO Box or rural route

City, town or post office

Your social security number

Apt. no.

Last name

Spouse’s last name if different from yours

Initial

Initial

ZIP CodeState

For Privacy Act Notice, see form FTB 1131.

P
I
T

DETACH HERE

(Calendar year —
Due April 15, 1999)

PAYMENT
VOUCHER 5

Spouse’s social security number

Instructions for Form FTB 3519
Automatic Extensions for Individuals

• No. Stop here. You have no tax due. DO NOT SEND THE PAYMENT VOUCHER. Your return, when filed by October 15, 1999, will verify that you
qualified for the extension.

• Yes. Subtract line 3 from line 1. This is your tax due. Enter the tax due amount from line 4 as the ‘‘Amount of payment’’ on the form FTB 3519 voucher
below. Fill in your name, address and social security number and separate the voucher from this page where it says ‘‘DETACH HERE.’’ Make a check or
money order payable to ‘‘Franchise Tax Board.’’ Also write your social security number and ‘‘1998 Form 3519’’ on the check or money order. Mail both
the check or money order and the voucher to: FRANCHISE TAX BOARD

PO BOX 942867
SACRAMENTO CA 94267-0051

351998109

CALIFORNIA FORM

•,, •,,
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Helpful Hints
Filling in your return.

Tips on how you should fill in Form 540EZ,
Form 540A or Form 540:
• Use black or blue ballpoint pen on the copy you 

send us. Scanning machines may not be
able to read red or other colored ink or pencil.

• Enter your social security number(s) at the top of
Form 540EZ, Form 540A or Form 540, Side 1,
Step 1a because these numbers are not
pre-printed on your label anymore.

• Print all names and words in CAPITAL
LETTERS.

• Print numbers inside boxes. Be sure to line up
dollar amounts.

• Round cents to the nearest whole dollar. See
page 49 for more information on how to round
cents.

• If you do not have an entry for a line, leave it
blank. Do not enter a dash. Also do not enter a
zero unless the instructions for a line specifically
tell you to enter zero.

• Attach your label. Or if you don’t have a label, fill
in your name as in the following example:

Is your name or address too long to fit in the boxes
provided? Do not shorten your name or address. In-
stead, ignore the boxes and fit the information in the
space provided. Example: Jonathan A. Ziggzephyr-
stone would enter his name as follows:

Your first name Last nameInitial

J O H N A D O E

Your first name Last nameInitial

J A Z I G ZO N A T H AN G E HP Y R S T O N E

Verify Step 1, Step 1a, Step 2
and Step 3.

Step 1: Use your full legal name and complete
address including ZIP Code.

Step 1a: Make sure that you entered your social
security number(s) and that it agrees with your social
security card(s). If you file a joint return, make sure
that you enter the social security numbers in the
same order that your names are shown.

Step 2: Make sure that you meet all the
requirements for your filing status. See page 19 for
more information. If you believe that you qualify for
the head of household filing status, please review
the information beginning on page 19.

Step 3: Take your personal exemption credit to
reduce your tax. See page 13 if you have no
dependents. Otherwise, see page 22 or page 32.

Check other areas.
Federal Adjusted Gross Income: Double-check
that you correctly transferred your federal adjusted
gross income from your federal TeleFile Tax Record,
line H; or Form 1040EZ, line 4; or Form 1040A,
line 18; or Form 1040, line 33.
California Standard Deduction: Make sure that you
entered the California standard deduction and not
the federal amount.
Itemized Deductions: Be sure that you reduced
your federal itemized deductions by the amount of
state and local income taxes you claimed on your
federal Schedule A. Form 540 filers, use Schedule
CA (540), Part II, on page 39. Form 540A filers, see
page 22.
Double-check your math: Double-check each
subtraction, addition and any other calculation.

Attachments to your return.
Form(s) W-2, W-2G and 1099-R: Make sure to
staple all the Form(s) W-2, W-2G and 1099-R you
received to the front of your return where it says
‘‘Attach copy of your Form(s) W-2 here.’’
Checks: If you have a balance due, make your
check or money order payable to the Franchise Tax
Board. Also, write your social security number and
‘‘1998 Form 540EZ,’’ ‘‘1998 Form 540A’’ or ‘‘1998
Form 540’’ on the check or money order. Also, see
‘‘Assembling your return’’ below.
Federal Form 1040: Do not attach your federal
return if you file Form 540EZ or Form 540A. If you
file Form 540, did you attach any federal forms or
schedules other than Schedule A or Schedule B to
your federal Form 1040?
No. Do not attach Form 1040 to Form 540.
Yes. Attach a copy of Form 1040 and all supporting

federal forms and schedules to Form 540.

Assembling your return.
Assemble your return in the order shown below.
See page 6 for where to mail your return.

Form 540

Check or money order
(If you owe)

W-2
1099-R
W-2G

Side 1

Side
2

Supporting California Schedules

Copy of federal return (if required)



Form 540EZ C1 1998 Side 1

Step 3

Step 4

Step 5

Taxable
Income

Tax and
Credits

Overpaid
Tax or
Tax Due

Step 6
Refund or
Amount
You Owe

15 Did you check the box on line 6?
Yes. Complete the California Standard Deduction Worksheet for Dependents on Side 2, Part I.
No. If single, enter $2,642. If married filing joint, enter $5,284 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 15

16 Subtract line 15 from line 14. This is your taxable income. If it is more than $50,000, STOP.
You must use Form 540A or Form 540. If line 15 is more than line 14, enter -0- . . . . . . . 16

17 Tax. Use the amount on line 16 and your filing status in Step 2 to find your tax in the tax table.
Enter the tax from the table on this line . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 17

23 Subtract line 20 from line 17. This is your total tax. If less than zero, enter -0-. . . . . . . . . • 23

24 Enter your California income tax withheld from your Form(s) W-2, box 18.
If line 24 is more than line 23, go to line 31. Otherwise, go to line 32 . . . . . . . . . . . . . ■ 24

31 Overpaid tax. If line 24 is more than line 23, subtract line 23 from line 24. Enter the result
and go to line 34. If line 24 is less than line 23, enter -0- and go to line 32 . . . . . . . . . ■ 31

32 Tax due. If line 24 is less than line 23, subtract line 24 from line 23.
Enter the result and go to line 34 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 32

35 REFUND or NO AMOUNT DUE. Subtract line 34 from line 31. Enter the result here.
Go to Side 2, Part IV to sign your return . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ■ 35

36 AMOUNT YOU OWE. Add line 32 and line 34. Enter the result here.
Go to Side 2, Part IV to sign your return . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ■ 36

For Privacy Act Notice, see instructions.

34 Total contributions. Enter amount from Side 2, Part III, line 12 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 34

Attach check
or money
order here.

Attach copy
of your
Form(s) W-2
here.

Step 2
Filing
Status

1 ■ Single
2 ■ Married filing joint return (even if only one spouse had income)
6 If your parent (or someone else) can claim you (or your spouse, if married) as a dependent on his or her

tax return, even if he or she choose not to, check here . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 6

18 Did you check the box on line 6? Yes. Go to Side 2, Part II.
No. If single, enter $70. If married filing joint, enter $140. 18

13 Unemployment compensation from your federal TeleFile Tax Record,
line D; or Form 1040EZ, line 3; or Form 1040A, line 12; or Form 1040, line 19 . . . . . . . . • 13

14 Subtract line 13 from line 12b. This is your California adjusted gross income . . . . . . . . . • 14

12a State wages from your Form(s) W-2, box 17. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 12a

Your first name

If joint return, spouse’s first name

Present home address — number and street including PO Box or rural route

City, town or post office

If joint return, spouse’s social security number

Do Not Write
In These
Spaces

P

AC

A

R

RP

Apt. no.

Last name

Last name

Initial

Initial

ZIP CodeState

Step 1
Place
label here
or print

Name
and
Address

540EZ
California Resident Income Tax Return
For Single and Joint Filers With No Dependents 1998

12b Federal adjusted gross income from your TeleFile Tax Record, line H; or your
Form 1040EZ, line 4; or your Form 1040A, line 18; or your Form 1040, line 33 . . . . . . . . 12b

FORM

540EZ98109

•,

•,

•,

•,

•,

•,

•,

•

19 Nonrefundable renter’s credit. See page 13 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 19

20 Total credits. Add line 18 and line 19 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 20
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Step 1a
SSN

IMPORTANT:
Your social security number is required.
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Your social security number
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1 Alzheimer’s Disease/Related Disorders Fund. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . O 48 P 1

2 California Fund for Senior Citizens . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . O 49 P 2

3 Rare and Endangered Species Preservation Program. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . O 50 P 3

4 State Children’s Trust Fund for the Prevention of Child Abuse. . . . . . . . . . . . . O 51 P 4

5 California Breast Cancer Research Fund . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . O 52 P 5

6 California Firefighters’ Memorial Fund. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . O 53 P 6

7 California Public School Library Protection Fund. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . O 54 P 7

8 D.A.R.E. California (Drug Abuse Resistance Education) Fund . . . . . . . . . . . . . O 55 P 8

9 California Millitary Museum Fund . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . O 56 P 9

10 California Mexican American Veterans’ Memorial . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . O 57 P 10

11 Emergency Food Assistance Program Fund . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . O 58 P 11

12 Total contributions. Add line 1 through line 11. Enter here and on Side 1, line 34 . . . . . . . 12

Side 2 Form 540EZ C1 1998

1 Enter your total wages, salaries and tips from all your Form(s) W-2, box 1. (You may also
refer to federal Form 1040EZ, line 1; Form 1040A, line 7 or Form 1040, line 7) . . . . . . . . . 1

4 Minimum standard deduction . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 4
5 Compare the amounts on line 3 and line 4 above. Enter the LARGER

of the two amounts here. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 5

6 Maximum standard deduction: { If single, enter $2,642 }If married filing joint, enter $5,284 . . . . . . . . . . . . 6
7 Standard deduction. Compare the amounts on line 5 and line 6.

Enter the SMALLER of the two amounts here and on Side 1, line 15 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 7

If you did not check the box on Side 1, line 6 because no one can Single, enter $2,642 on Side 1, line 15; OR 
claim you (or your spouse, if married) as a dependent, and you are: { Married filing joint, enter $5,284 on Side 1, line 15.

If you (or your spouse, if married) can be claimed as a dependent, enter the following amounts on line 18:
• If single, enter -0-.
• If married filing joint and both you and your spouse can be claimed as dependents, enter -0-.
• If married filing joint and only one of you can be claimed as a dependent, enter $70.

Part I
California
Standard
Deduction
Worksheet
for
Dependents

Part II
Personal
Exemption
Chart for
Dependents

Part III
Contributions

Under penalties of perjury, I declare that I have examined this return and to the best of my knowledge and belief, it is true, correct and complete. 9

Do not attach your federal return to this return.

Part IV

Sign Here
It is unlawful to
forge a spouse’s
signature.

REFUND or NO AMOUNT DUE (Side 1, line 35):
FRANCHISE TAX BOARD
PO BOX 942840
SACRAMENTO CA 94240-0000

Where to
Mail Your
Return

You may make a voluntary contribution of $1 or more to the following funds:

Your signature Spouse’s signature (if filing joint, both must sign) Daytime phone number

Paid preparer’s signature (declaration of preparer is based on all information of which preparer has any knowledge)

Firm’s name (or yours if self-employed)

X X Date

Paid Preparer’s SSN / FEIN

Firm’s address

• Make your check or money order payable to ‘‘Franchise Tax Board.’’
• Write your social security number and ‘‘1998 Form 540EZ’’ on your check or money order.
• Attach check or money order to your Form 540EZ.

AMOUNT DUE (Side 1, line 36):
FRANCHISE TAX BOARD
PO BOX 942867
SACRAMENTO CA 94267-0001

If you checked the box on Side 1, line 6 because someone can claim you (or your spouse, if married) as a dependent, even if that
person chooses not to, complete this worksheet to figure the amount to enter on Side 1, line 15.
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3 Add line 1 and line 2. Enter total here . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 3
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Form 540EZ C1 1998 Side 1

Step 3

Step 4

Step 5

Taxable
Income

Tax and
Credits

Overpaid
Tax or
Tax Due

Step 6
Refund or
Amount
You Owe

15 Did you check the box on line 6?
Yes. Complete the California Standard Deduction Worksheet for Dependents on Side 2, Part I.
No. If single, enter $2,642. If married filing joint, enter $5,284 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 15

16 Subtract line 15 from line 14. This is your taxable income. If it is more than $50,000, STOP.
You must use Form 540A or Form 540. If line 15 is more than line 14, enter -0- . . . . . . . 16

17 Tax. Use the amount on line 16 and your filing status in Step 2 to find your tax in the tax table.
Enter the tax from the table on this line . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 17

23 Subtract line 20 from line 17. This is your total tax. If less than zero, enter -0-. . . . . . . . . • 23

24 Enter your California income tax withheld from your Form(s) W-2, box 18.
If line 24 is more than line 23, go to line 31. Otherwise, go to line 32 . . . . . . . . . . . . . ■ 24

31 Overpaid tax. If line 24 is more than line 23, subtract line 23 from line 24. Enter the result
and go to line 34. If line 24 is less than line 23, enter -0- and go to line 32 . . . . . . . . . ■ 31

32 Tax due. If line 24 is less than line 23, subtract line 24 from line 23.
Enter the result and go to line 34 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 32

35 REFUND or NO AMOUNT DUE. Subtract line 34 from line 31. Enter the result here.
Go to Side 2, Part IV to sign your return . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ■ 35

36 AMOUNT YOU OWE. Add line 32 and line 34. Enter the result here.
Go to Side 2, Part IV to sign your return . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ■ 36

For Privacy Act Notice, see instructions.

34 Total contributions. Enter amount from Side 2, Part III, line 12 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 34

Attach check
or money
order here.

Attach copy
of your
Form(s) W-2
here.

Step 2
Filing
Status

1 ■ Single
2 ■ Married filing joint return (even if only one spouse had income)
6 If your parent (or someone else) can claim you (or your spouse, if married) as a dependent on his or her

tax return, even if he or she choose not to, check here . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 6

18 Did you check the box on line 6? Yes. Go to Side 2, Part II.
No. If single, enter $70. If married filing joint, enter $140. 18

13 Unemployment compensation from your federal TeleFile Tax Record,
line D; or Form 1040EZ, line 3; or Form 1040A, line 12; or Form 1040, line 19 . . . . . . . . • 13

14 Subtract line 13 from line 12b. This is your California adjusted gross income . . . . . . . . . • 14

12a State wages from your Form(s) W-2, box 17. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 12a

Your first name

If joint return, spouse’s first name

Present home address — number and street including PO Box or rural route

City, town or post office

If joint return, spouse’s social security number

Do Not Write
In These
Spaces

P

AC

A

R

RP

Apt. no.

Last name

Last name

Initial

Initial

ZIP CodeState

Step 1
Place
label here
or print

Name
and
Address

540EZ
California Resident Income Tax Return
For Single and Joint Filers With No Dependents 1998

12b Federal adjusted gross income from your TeleFile Tax Record, line H; or your
Form 1040EZ, line 4; or your Form 1040A, line 18; or your Form 1040, line 33 . . . . . . . . 12b
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19 Nonrefundable renter’s credit. See page 13 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 19

20 Total credits. Add line 18 and line 19 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 20
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Step 1a
SSN

IMPORTANT:
Your social security number is required.
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1 Alzheimer’s Disease/Related Disorders Fund. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . O 48 P 1

2 California Fund for Senior Citizens . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . O 49 P 2

3 Rare and Endangered Species Preservation Program. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . O 50 P 3

4 State Children’s Trust Fund for the Prevention of Child Abuse. . . . . . . . . . . . . O 51 P 4

5 California Breast Cancer Research Fund . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . O 52 P 5

6 California Firefighters’ Memorial Fund. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . O 53 P 6

7 California Public School Library Protection Fund. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . O 54 P 7

8 D.A.R.E. California (Drug Abuse Resistance Education) Fund . . . . . . . . . . . . . O 55 P 8

9 California Millitary Museum Fund . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . O 56 P 9

10 California Mexican American Veterans’ Memorial . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . O 57 P 10

11 Emergency Food Assistance Program Fund . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . O 58 P 11

12 Total contributions. Add line 1 through line 11. Enter here and on Side 1, line 34 . . . . . . . 12

Side 2 Form 540EZ C1 1998

1 Enter your total wages, salaries and tips from all your Form(s) W-2, box 1. (You may also
refer to federal Form 1040EZ, line 1; Form 1040A, line 7 or Form 1040, line 7) . . . . . . . . . 1

4 Minimum standard deduction . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 4
5 Compare the amounts on line 3 and line 4 above. Enter the LARGER

of the two amounts here. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 5

6 Maximum standard deduction: { If single, enter $2,642 }If married filing joint, enter $5,284 . . . . . . . . . . . . 6
7 Standard deduction. Compare the amounts on line 5 and line 6.

Enter the SMALLER of the two amounts here and on Side 1, line 15 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 7

If you did not check the box on Side 1, line 6 because no one can Single, enter $2,642 on Side 1, line 15; OR 
claim you (or your spouse, if married) as a dependent, and you are: { Married filing joint, enter $5,284 on Side 1, line 15.

If you (or your spouse, if married) can be claimed as a dependent, enter the following amounts on line 18:
• If single, enter -0-.
• If married filing joint and both you and your spouse can be claimed as dependents, enter -0-.
• If married filing joint and only one of you can be claimed as a dependent, enter $70.

Part I
California
Standard
Deduction
Worksheet
for
Dependents

Part II
Personal
Exemption
Chart for
Dependents

Part III
Contributions

Under penalties of perjury, I declare that I have examined this return and to the best of my knowledge and belief, it is true, correct and complete. 9

Do not attach your federal return to this return.

Part IV

Sign Here
It is unlawful to
forge a spouse’s
signature.

REFUND or NO AMOUNT DUE (Side 1, line 35):
FRANCHISE TAX BOARD
PO BOX 942840
SACRAMENTO CA 94240-0000

Where to
Mail Your
Return

You may make a voluntary contribution of $1 or more to the following funds:

Your signature Spouse’s signature (if filing joint, both must sign) Daytime phone number

Paid preparer’s signature (declaration of preparer is based on all information of which preparer has any knowledge)

Firm’s name (or yours if self-employed)

X X Date

Paid Preparer’s SSN / FEIN

Firm’s address

• Make your check or money order payable to ‘‘Franchise Tax Board.’’
• Write your social security number and ‘‘1998 Form 540EZ’’ on your check or money order.
• Attach check or money order to your Form 540EZ.

AMOUNT DUE (Side 1, line 36):
FRANCHISE TAX BOARD
PO BOX 942867
SACRAMENTO CA 94267-0001

If you checked the box on Side 1, line 6 because someone can claim you (or your spouse, if married) as a dependent, even if that
person chooses not to, complete this worksheet to figure the amount to enter on Side 1, line 15.
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3 Add line 1 and line 2. Enter total here . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 3
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Personal Income Tax Booklet 1998 Page 13

Instructions for Form 540EZ, California Resident Income Tax Return
These instructions are based on the Internal Revenue Code (IRC) as of January 1, 1998, and the California Revenue and Taxation Code (R&TC).

Before
You
Begin

You must complete your federal income tax return (Form 1040,
Form 1040A, Form 1040EZ or federal TeleFile Tax Record)
before you begin your Form 540EZ. You will use the information
you entered on your federal income tax return to complete your
Form 540EZ.

Step 1
Name and
Address

If there is a label on the front of your booklet, attach the
label to your return after you have completed it. Make sure that
the information on your label is correct. Cross out any errors
and print the correct information.
If there is no label on the front of your booklet, print your name
and address in the spaces provided at the top of Form 540EZ.
See page 8, Helpful Hints, ‘‘Filling in your return.’’

Step 1a
Social
Security
Number(s)

Enter your social security number(s) in the spaces provided. To
protect your privacy, your social security number(s) are not
printed on your label. If you file a joint return, show the social
security numbers in the same order that you show both names.
Note: If you do not have a social security number because you
are a nonresident or resident alien for federal tax purposes, and
the IRS issued you an IRS Individual Taxpayer Identification
Number (ITIN), enter the ITIN in the spaces provided for the
social security number.

Step 2
Filing
Status

Your filing status for California must be the same as the filing
status you used on your federal income tax return. If it is not,
you cannot use Form 540EZ. See the instructions for
Form 540A beginning on page 19.

Line 1 – Single. You may check the box on line 1 if any of the following
was true on December 31, 1998:
• You were never married;
• You were legally separated under a decree of divorce or of

separate maintenance; or
• You were widowed before January 1, 1998, and did not

remarry in 1998.

Line 2 – Married Filing Joint Return. You may check the box on line 2
if any of the following is true:
• You were married as of December 31, 1998, even if you did

not live with your spouse at the end of 1998;
• Your spouse died in 1998 and you did not remarry in 1998;

or
• Your spouse died in 1999 before filing a 1998 return.

Line 6 – Dependent Check Box

&
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Check the box on line 6 if your parent (or someone else) can
claim you as a dependent on his or her tax return. For example,
if your parents (or someone else) could claim you as a depen-
dent on their return but they chose not to claim you, you must
still check the box on line 6.

Step 3
Taxable
Income

Please round cents to the nearest whole dollar. See page 49 for
more information on rounding.

Line 12a – State Wages
Enter the total amount of your state wages from all states from
each of your Form(s) W-2. This amount should be on
Form(s) W-2, box 17.

Line 12b – Federal Adjusted Gross Income
Enter the adjusted gross income from your federal TeleFile Tax
Record, line H; or your Form 1040EZ, line 4; or your
Form 1040A, line 18; or your Form 1040, line 33.

Line 13 – Unemployment Compensation
Enter the amount of any unemployment compensation shown
on your federal TeleFile Tax Record, line D; or Form 1040EZ,
line 3; or Form 1040A, line 12; or Form 1040, line 19.

Line 14 – California Adjusted Gross Income
Subtract line 13 from line 12b.

Line 15 – Standard Deduction
Did you check the box on line 6 because your parent (or some-
one else) can claim you on his or her tax return?
Yes Complete the California Standard Deduction Worksheet

for Dependents on Form 540EZ, Side 2.
No If single, enter $2,642. If married filing joint,

enter $5,284.

Step 4
Tax and
Credits

First figure your tax, then make sure you qualify to claim your
credits.

Line 17 – Tax
To figure your tax on the amount shown on line 16, you must
use the tax table beginning on page 50. If you are single, use
the column for filing status 1. If you are married, use the column
for filing status 2.

Line 18 – Personal Exemption Credit
Did you check the box on line 6?
Yes Go to the Personal Exemption Chart for Dependents on

Form 540EZ, Side 2.
No If single, enter $70. If married filing joint, enter $140.

Line 19 – Nonrefundable Renter’s Credit
Did you pay rent for at least 6 months in 1998 on your principal
residence located in California?
Yes You may qualify to claim this credit. See page 26 to

determine if you qualify.
No Go to line 20.

Step 5
Overpaid Tax
or
Tax Due

To avoid a delay in the processing of your return, be sure you
enter the correct amounts on line 24 through line 32.

Line 24 – California Income Tax Withheld
Enter the total amount of California income tax withheld from
each of your Form(s) W-2. This amount should be shown on
Form W-2, box 18. Do not include any amount of local income
tax withheld or tax withheld by another state.

&
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If you did not receive a Form W-2 from your employer, see the
instructions for ‘‘Sign Your Return’’ on page 38.
Note: If you had two or more employers during 1998, received
more than $31,767 in wages from these employers and they
withheld more than $158.84 of California State Disability Insur-
ance (SDI) or Voluntary Plan Disability Insurance (VPDI), you
may be entitled to a credit for excess SDI. In that case, you
must use Form 540A. See page 23, line 27 for more
information.

Line 31 – Overpaid Tax
Is the amount on line 24 more than the amount on line 23?
No Enter zero and go to line 32.
Yes Your payments and credits are more than your tax. Sub-

tract the amount on line 23 from the amount on line 24.
Enter the result on line 31. Go to line 34.

Line 32 – Tax Due
Is the amount on line 24 less than the amount on line 23?
No Enter zero and go to line 34.
Yes Your tax is more than the total of your payments and

credits. Subtract the amount on line 24 from the amount
on line 23. Enter the result on line 32.

There is a penalty for not paying enough tax during the year.
You may have to pay a penalty if the:
• Tax due on line 32 is $200 or more; and
• California income tax withheld on line 24 is less than 80% of

the amount of your total tax on line 23.
If you owe a penalty, the Franchise Tax Board will compute the
penalty and send you a bill.
You may add contributions to the tax due. You must pay the full
amount of tax due, including voluntary contributions, when you
file your Form 540EZ.

Step 6
Refund or
Amount
You Owe

Be sure to add or subtract correctly to figure the amount of your
refund or the amount you owe.

Contributions
You may make voluntary contributions of $1 or more in whole
dollar amounts. If you make a voluntary contribution, you must
complete Form 540EZ, Side 2, Part III. You may contribute only
to the funds listed in Part III and cannot change the amount you
contributed after you file your return.
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Instructions: Form 540EZ F.A.S.T. (800) 338-0505

Side 2, Part III — Contributions
Part III,
Line 1 – Alzheimer’s Disease/Related Disorders Fund

Contributions entered on line 1 will be used to conduct a pro-
gram for researching the cause and cure of Alzheimer’s dis-
ease and related disorders and research into the care and
treatment of persons suffering from dementing illnesses.

Part III,
Line 2 – California Fund for Senior Citizens

Contributions entered on line 2 will be used by the California
Fund for Senior Citizens which supports direct services to
seniors and the work of the California Senior Legislature. The
California Senior Legislature is a non-partisan, volunteer, grass
roots body of seniors 60 years of age or older, elected by their
peers. The California Senior Legislature has been instrumental
in creating and steering senior legislation through the regular
legislature; legislation, such as: Alzheimer Studies and
Research; Adult Day Health Care Centers; nutrition centers;
respite care; long term care; the funding and broadening of In
Home Support Services; programs to abolish abuse of seniors;
skilled nursing facility reforms; and many more. All donations
over those needed to carry out the California Senior Legisla-
ture’s work, will be distributed for direct services to needy
seniors.

Part III,
Line 3 – Rare and Endangered Species Preservation Program

Contributions entered on line 3 will be used to help protect and
conserve California’s many threatened and endangered species
and the wild lands that they need to survive, for the enjoyment
and benefit of you and future generations of Californians.

Part III,
Line 4 – State Children’s Trust Fund for the Prevention of Child

Abuse
Contributions entered on line 4 will be used to fund programs
for the prevention, intervention and treatment of child abuse
and neglect.

Part III,
Line 5 – California Breast Cancer Research Fund

Contributions entered on line 5 will be used to conduct
research relating to the prevention, screening, cure and treat-
ment of breast cancer.

Part III,
Line 6 – California Firefighters’ Memorial Fund

Contributions entered on line 6 will be used for the construction
of a memorial on the grounds of the State Capitol honoring the
hundreds of firefighters who have died protecting our neighbor-
hoods, our homes, our families and our dreams. These brave
men and women answered the call when fire alarms sounded
or when paramedic services were needed, and their sacrifices
and the sacrifices of their families deserve to be remembered.

Part III,
Line 7 – California Public School Library Protection Fund

Contributions entered on line 7 will be expended for the pur-
chase of books and other library resources through grants
awarded for implementing a school library improvement plan.

Part III,
Line 8 – D.A.R.E. California (Drug Abuse Resistance Education)

Fund
Contributions entered on line 8 will be used to support local
D.A.R.E. programs and provide proven effective, in-classroom
anti-drug, anti-gang and anti-violence education for California
school children.

Part III,
Line 9 – California Military Museum Fund

Contributions entered on line 9 will be used to support the
museum’s effort to: 1) collect, exhibit, and preserve California’s
military history from 1775 to date; 2) assist in educating the
general public, especially school children, about our American
military heritage and thus instill pride therein; 3) recognize all
branches of the U.S. Armed Forces and the contributions of
ethnicities and their members throughout our proud military his-
tory; and 4) maintain and operate the facilities required.

Part III,
Line 10 – California Mexican American Veterans’ Memorial

Contributions entered on line 10 will be used to pay for the
construction, beautification, enhancement, maintenance or
repair of the California Mexican American Veterans’ Memorial.

Part III,
Line 11 – Emergency Food Assistance Program Fund

Contributions entered on line 11 will be used to help local food
banks feed California’s hungry. Your contribution will fund the
purchase of much-needed food for delivery to food banks, pan-
tries and soup kitchens throughout the state. The State Depart-
ment of Social Services will monitor its distribution to ensure
the food is given to those most in need.

Part III,
Line 12 – Total Contributions

Add all contributions you entered on line 1 through
line 11. Enter the result on Side 2, Part III, line 12, and Side 1,
line 34.

Step 6 (continued)
Line 34 – Total Contributions

Did you make any voluntary contribution on Form 540EZ,
Side 2, Part III?

Yes Enter the amount of your total contributions from
Part III, line 12. Then go to line 35.

No Leave this line blank. If you entered an amount
on:
• Line 31, go to line 35.
• Line 32, go to line 36.

Line 35 – Refund Or No Amount Due
Did you enter an amount on line 34?

No Enter the amount from line 31 on line 35. This is
the amount that will be refunded to you. If the
amount is less than $1, you must attach a writ-
ten request to your Form 540EZ to receive the
refund. Go to Side 2, Part IV to sign your return.

Yes Go to the next question.
Is line 31 more than line 34?

Yes Subtract line 34 from line 31. Enter the result on
line 35. Go to Side 2, Part IV to sign your return.

No Do not enter an amount on line 35. Go to
line 36.

&
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Want a fast refund? Get your refund within 7 to 10 calendar
days (or within 5 to 7 banking days with direct deposit!).
E-file your return!

Line 36 – Amount You Owe
Did you enter an amount on line 34?

No Enter the amount from line 32 on line 36.
Yes If you entered an amount on:

• Line 32, add the amounts on line 32 and
line 34 and enter the result on line 36.

• Line 31, subtract the amount on line 31 from
the amount on line 34 and enter the result on
line 36.

• Make your check or money order payable to the ‘‘Franchise
Tax Board’’ for the full amount you owe. Do not send cash.
Be sure to write your social security number and ‘‘1998
Form 540EZ’’ on your check or money order.

• Attach your check or money order to your return. See
page 8, Helpful Hints, ‘‘Assembling your return.’’

A penalty may be imposed if your check is returned by your
bank for insufficient funds.&
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To avoid a late filing penalty, file your Form 540EZ by the due
date even if you cannot pay the amount you owe. If you cannot
pay the full amount shown on line 36 with your return, you may
request to make monthly payments. See page 49, Additional
Information, ‘‘Installment Payments.’’

Part IV — Sign Your Return
You must sign your return in the space provided on Side 2. If
you file a joint return, your spouse must sign it also.
Then mail your return to the Franchise Tax Board on or before
the due date. For further information, see page 38.



California Resident
Income Tax Return 1998

Step 2
Filing Status

1
2
3
4
5

Step 3
Exemptions

Attach check or
money order here.

6 If your parent (or someone else) can claim you (or your spouse, if married) as a dependent on his or her
tax return, even if he or she chooses not to, check here . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 6

7 Personal: If you checked box 1, 3 or 4 above, enter 1. If you checked box 2 or 5, enter 2. If you checked
the box on line 6, see page 20 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 7

8 Blind: If you (or if married, your spouse) are visually impaired, enter 1. If both are visually impaired, enter 2 . . . 8
9 Senior: If you (or if married, your spouse) are 65 or older, enter 1. If both are 65 or older, enter 2 . . . . . . . . . • 9

10 Add line 7 through line 9 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 10
11 Dependents: Enter name and relationship. Do not include yourself or your spouse.

 Enter the total number of dependents 11

Step 4

Check only one.

12 b Enter federal adjusted gross income from your TeleFile Tax Record, line H; Form 1040EZ, line 4;

Form 1040A, line 18; or Form 1040, line 33. If this amount is over $100,000, STOP; you must file Form 540. . 12b
13 Total California income adjustments. Enter the amount from Side 2, Part I, line 7 . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 13
14 Subtract line 13 from line 12b. This is your California adjusted gross income. See page 21. . . . . . . . • 14
15 Enter the larger of your CA itemized deductions OR your CA standard deduction. See page 21 . . . • 15
16 Subtract line 15 from line 14. This is your taxable income. If less than zero, enter -0- . . . . . . . . . . . 16

Step 5
Tax and
Credits

Attach copy of your
Form(s) W-2, W-2G
and 1099-R here.

17 Tax. Use the tax table or tax rate schedules to find the tax on the amount shown on line 16 . . . . . . 17
18 Exemption credits. See page 22 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 18
19 Nonrefundable renter’s credit. See page 23. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 19
20 Total credits. Add line 18 and line 19 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 20
23 Subtract line 20 from line 17. This is your total tax. If less than zero, enter -0-. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 23

Step 6
Overpaid
Tax or
Tax Due

24 California income tax withheld. See page 23 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ■ 24
25 1998 California estimated tax and payment with form FTB 3519 . . . . ■ 25
27 Did either you or your spouse receive more than $31,767 in

wages in 1998? Yes. See page 23. No. Go to line 28 . . . . . . . ■ 27
28 Total payments and credits. Add line 24, line 25 and line 27 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 28
29 Overpaid tax. If line 28 is more than line 23, subtract line 23 from line 28 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 29
30 Enter the amount of line 29 you want applied to your 1999 estimated tax . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ■ 30
31 Overpaid tax available this year. Subtract line 30 from line 29 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ■ 31
32 Tax due. If line 28 is less than line 23, subtract line 28 from line 23 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 32

Step 7
Refund or
Amount
You Owe

34 Total contributions. Enter amount from Side 2, Part II, line 13 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 34
35 Subtract line 34 from line 31. Enter the result here and go to Side 2,

Part III to sign your return. You have a REFUND or NO AMOUNT DUE . . . . . . . . . . . ■ 35
36 Add line 32 and line 34. Enter the result here and go to Side 2, Part III

to sign your return. This is the AMOUNT YOU OWE . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ■ 36

37 Underpayment of estimated tax. If form FTB 5805 is attached, check here . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ■ ■ 37
38 If you do not need California income tax forms mailed to you next year, check here . . . . . . . . . . • 38 ■

For Privacy Act Notice, see instructions. Form 540A C1 1998 Side 1

540A

Taxable
Income

Single
Married filing joint return (even if only one spouse had income)
Married filing separate return. Enter spouse’s social security number above and full name here
Head of household (with qualifying person). STOP. See page 19.
Qualifying widow(er) with dependent child. Enter year spouse died 19 .

12 a State wages from your Form(s) W-2, box 17 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 12a

FORM

540A98109

••,

••,

••,

Your first name

If joint return, spouse’s first name

Present home address — number and street including PO Box or rural route

City, town or post office

Do Not Write
In These
Spaces

P

AC

A

R

RP

Apt. no.

Last name

Last name

Initial

Initial

ZIP CodeState

Step 1a
SSN

IMPORTANT:
Your social security number is required.

If joint return, spouse’s social security number

Step 1
Place
label here
or print

Name
and
Address

P

Your social security number



Side 2 Form 540A C1 1998

1 State income tax refund adjustment (from Form 1040, line 10). See page 20 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 1
2 Unemployment compensation adjustment (from federal TeleFile Tax Record, line D; Form 1040EZ, line 3;

Form 1040A, line 12; or Form 1040, line 19). See page 20. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 2
3 Social security benefits adjustment or tier 1 and tier 2 railroad retirement benefits adjustment. See page 21 3
4 California nontaxable interest or dividend income adjustment. See page 21 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 4
5 California IRA distributions adjustment. See page 21 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 5
6 California pensions and annuities adjustment. See page 21. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 6
7 Total California income adjustments. Add line 1 through line 6. Enter here and on Side 1, line 13 . . . . 7

1 Contribution to California Seniors Special Fund. See page 24 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . O 47 P 1
You may make a contribution of $1 or more to the following funds:

2 Alzheimer’s Disease/Related Disorders Fund . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . O 48 P 2
3 California Fund for Senior Citizens. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . O 49 P 3
4 Rare and Endangered Species Preservation Program . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . O 50 P 4
5 State Children’s Trust Fund for the Prevention of Child Abuse . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . O 51 P 5
6 California Breast Cancer Research Fund . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . O 52 P 6
7 California Firefighters’ Memorial Fund . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . O 53 P 7
8 California Public School Library Protection Fund . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . O 54 P 8
9 D.A.R.E. California (Drug Abuse Resistance Education) Fund. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . O 55 P 9

10 California Military Museum Fund . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . O 56 P 10
11 California Mexican American Veterans’ Memorial . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . O 57 P 11
12 Emergency Food Assistance Program Fund . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . O 58 P 12
13 Total contributions. Add line 1 through line 12. Enter here and on Side 1, line 34 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 13

00
00
00
00
00
00
00
00
00
00
00

Do not attach your federal return to this return.

Part I
California
Income
Adjustments
See instructions

Part II
Contributions

Part III

Sign Here

It is unlawful to
forge a spouse’s
signature.

Where to
Mail Your
Return

• Be sure to file your return by April 15, 1999.

• If you cannot file your return by April 15, 1999, and owe tax, be
sure to complete form FTB 3519, Payment Voucher for
Automatic Extension for Individuals, and pay the amount
you owe by April 15, 1999, to avoid late payment penalties
and interest.

• Do not attach a copy of your federal return.

• Use the preprinted label if you received one. If the information is
not correct, make the necessary corrections in ink.

• Be sure to enter your social security number(s) in Step 1a.

Under penalties of perjury, I declare that I have examined this return and to the best of my knowledge and belief, it is true, correct and complete. 9
Your signature Spouse’s signature (if filing joint, both must sign) Daytime phone number

Paid preparer’s signature (declaration of preparer is based on all information of which preparer has any knowledge)

Firm’s name (or yours if self-employed)

X X Date

Paid preparer’s SSN / FEIN

Firm’s address

REFUND or NO AMOUNT DUE (Side 1, line 35):
FRANCHISE TAX BOARD
PO BOX 942840
SACRAMENTO CA 94240-0000

• Make your check or money order payable to ‘‘Franchise Tax Board.’’
• Write your social security number and ‘‘1998 Form 540A’’ on

your check or money order.
• Attach check or money order to your Form 540A.

AMOUNT DUE (Side 1, line 36):
FRANCHISE TAX BOARD
PO BOX 942867
SACRAMENTO CA 94267-0001

540A98209

( ) -



California Resident
Income Tax Return 1998

Step 2
Filing Status

1
2
3
4
5

Step 3
Exemptions

Attach check or
money order here.

6 If your parent (or someone else) can claim you (or your spouse, if married) as a dependent on his or her
tax return, even if he or she chooses not to, check here . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 6

7 Personal: If you checked box 1, 3 or 4 above, enter 1. If you checked box 2 or 5, enter 2. If you checked
the box on line 6, see page 20 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 7

8 Blind: If you (or if married, your spouse) are visually impaired, enter 1. If both are visually impaired, enter 2 . . . 8
9 Senior: If you (or if married, your spouse) are 65 or older, enter 1. If both are 65 or older, enter 2 . . . . . . . . . • 9

10 Add line 7 through line 9 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 10
11 Dependents: Enter name and relationship. Do not include yourself or your spouse.

 Enter the total number of dependents 11

Step 4

Check only one.

12 b Enter federal adjusted gross income from your TeleFile Tax Record, line H; Form 1040EZ, line 4;

Form 1040A, line 18; or Form 1040, line 33. If this amount is over $100,000, STOP; you must file Form 540. . 12b
13 Total California income adjustments. Enter the amount from Side 2, Part I, line 7 . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 13
14 Subtract line 13 from line 12b. This is your California adjusted gross income. See page 21. . . . . . . . • 14
15 Enter the larger of your CA itemized deductions OR your CA standard deduction. See page 21 . . . • 15
16 Subtract line 15 from line 14. This is your taxable income. If less than zero, enter -0- . . . . . . . . . . . 16

Step 5
Tax and
Credits

Attach copy of your
Form(s) W-2, W-2G
and 1099-R here.

17 Tax. Use the tax table or tax rate schedules to find the tax on the amount shown on line 16 . . . . . . 17
18 Exemption credits. See page 22 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 18
19 Nonrefundable renter’s credit. See page 23. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 19
20 Total credits. Add line 18 and line 19 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 20
23 Subtract line 20 from line 17. This is your total tax. If less than zero, enter -0-. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 23

Step 6
Overpaid
Tax or
Tax Due

24 California income tax withheld. See page 23 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ■ 24
25 1998 California estimated tax and payment with form FTB 3519 . . . . ■ 25
27 Did either you or your spouse receive more than $31,767 in

wages in 1998? Yes. See page 23. No. Go to line 28 . . . . . . . ■ 27
28 Total payments and credits. Add line 24, line 25 and line 27 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 28
29 Overpaid tax. If line 28 is more than line 23, subtract line 23 from line 28 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 29
30 Enter the amount of line 29 you want applied to your 1999 estimated tax . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ■ 30
31 Overpaid tax available this year. Subtract line 30 from line 29 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ■ 31
32 Tax due. If line 28 is less than line 23, subtract line 28 from line 23 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 32

Step 7
Refund or
Amount
You Owe

34 Total contributions. Enter amount from Side 2, Part II, line 13 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 34
35 Subtract line 34 from line 31. Enter the result here and go to Side 2,

Part III to sign your return. You have a REFUND or NO AMOUNT DUE . . . . . . . . . . . ■ 35
36 Add line 32 and line 34. Enter the result here and go to Side 2, Part III

to sign your return. This is the AMOUNT YOU OWE . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ■ 36

37 Underpayment of estimated tax. If form FTB 5805 is attached, check here . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ■ ■ 37
38 If you do not need California income tax forms mailed to you next year, check here . . . . . . . . . . • 38 ■

For Privacy Act Notice, see instructions. Form 540A C1 1998 Side 1

540A

Taxable
Income

Single
Married filing joint return (even if only one spouse had income)
Married filing separate return. Enter spouse’s social security number above and full name here
Head of household (with qualifying person). STOP. See page 19.
Qualifying widow(er) with dependent child. Enter year spouse died 19 .

12 a State wages from your Form(s) W-2, box 17 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 12a

FORM

540A98109

••,

••,

••,

Your first name

If joint return, spouse’s first name

Present home address — number and street including PO Box or rural route

City, town or post office

Do Not Write
In These
Spaces

P

AC

A

R

RP

Apt. no.

Last name

Last name

Initial

Initial

ZIP CodeState

Step 1a
SSN

IMPORTANT:
Your social security number is required.

If joint return, spouse’s social security number

Step 1
Place
label here
or print

Name
and
Address

P

Your social security number



Side 2 Form 540A C1 1998

1 State income tax refund adjustment (from Form 1040, line 10). See page 20 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 1
2 Unemployment compensation adjustment (from federal TeleFile Tax Record, line D; Form 1040EZ, line 3;

Form 1040A, line 12; or Form 1040, line 19). See page 20. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 2
3 Social security benefits adjustment or tier 1 and tier 2 railroad retirement benefits adjustment. See page 21 3
4 California nontaxable interest or dividend income adjustment. See page 21 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 4
5 California IRA distributions adjustment. See page 21 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 5
6 California pensions and annuities adjustment. See page 21. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 6
7 Total California income adjustments. Add line 1 through line 6. Enter here and on Side 1, line 13 . . . . 7

1 Contribution to California Seniors Special Fund. See page 24 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . O 47 P 1
You may make a contribution of $1 or more to the following funds:

2 Alzheimer’s Disease/Related Disorders Fund . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . O 48 P 2
3 California Fund for Senior Citizens. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . O 49 P 3
4 Rare and Endangered Species Preservation Program . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . O 50 P 4
5 State Children’s Trust Fund for the Prevention of Child Abuse . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . O 51 P 5
6 California Breast Cancer Research Fund . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . O 52 P 6
7 California Firefighters’ Memorial Fund . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . O 53 P 7
8 California Public School Library Protection Fund . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . O 54 P 8
9 D.A.R.E. California (Drug Abuse Resistance Education) Fund. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . O 55 P 9

10 California Military Museum Fund . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . O 56 P 10
11 California Mexican American Veterans’ Memorial . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . O 57 P 11
12 Emergency Food Assistance Program Fund . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . O 58 P 12
13 Total contributions. Add line 1 through line 12. Enter here and on Side 1, line 34 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 13

00
00
00
00
00
00
00
00
00
00
00

Do not attach your federal return to this return.

Part I
California
Income
Adjustments
See instructions

Part II
Contributions

Part III

Sign Here

It is unlawful to
forge a spouse’s
signature.

Where to
Mail Your
Return

• Be sure to file your return by April 15, 1999.

• If you cannot file your return by April 15, 1999, and owe tax, be
sure to complete form FTB 3519, Payment Voucher for
Automatic Extension for Individuals, and pay the amount
you owe by April 15, 1999, to avoid late payment penalties
and interest.

• Do not attach a copy of your federal return.

• Use the preprinted label if you received one. If the information is
not correct, make the necessary corrections in ink.

• Be sure to enter your social security number(s) in Step 1a.

Under penalties of perjury, I declare that I have examined this return and to the best of my knowledge and belief, it is true, correct and complete. 9
Your signature Spouse’s signature (if filing joint, both must sign) Daytime phone number

Paid preparer’s signature (declaration of preparer is based on all information of which preparer has any knowledge)

Firm’s name (or yours if self-employed)

X X Date

Paid preparer’s SSN / FEIN

Firm’s address

REFUND or NO AMOUNT DUE (Side 1, line 35):
FRANCHISE TAX BOARD
PO BOX 942840
SACRAMENTO CA 94240-0000

• Make your check or money order payable to ‘‘Franchise Tax Board.’’
• Write your social security number and ‘‘1998 Form 540A’’ on

your check or money order.
• Attach check or money order to your Form 540A.

AMOUNT DUE (Side 1, line 36):
FRANCHISE TAX BOARD
PO BOX 942867
SACRAMENTO CA 94267-0001

540A98209

( ) -
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Instructions for Form 540A — California Resident Income Tax Return
These instructions are based on the Internal Revenue Code (IRC) as of January 1, 1998, and the California Revenue and Taxation Code (R&TC).

Before
You
Begin

You must complete your federal income tax return
(Form 1040, Form 1040A, Form 1040EZ or federal Tele-
File Tax Record) before you begin your Form 540A.
You will use the information you entered on your federal
income tax return to complete your Form 540A. See
‘‘Order Forms’’ on the back cover for information on
how to get forms and publications referred to in these
instructions.

Step 1
Name and
Address

If there is a label on the front of your booklet, attach
the label to your return after you have finished complet-
ing it. Make sure that the information on your label is
correct. Cross out any errors and print the correct
information.
If there is no label on the front of your booklet, print
your name, and address in the space provided at the
top of Form 540A. See page 8, Helpful Hints, ‘‘Filling in
your return.’’

Step 1a
Social
Security
Number(s)

Enter your social security number(s) in the spaces
provided. To protect your privacy, your social security
number(s) are not printed on your label. If you file a
joint return, show the social security numbers in the
same order that you show both names. Note: If you do
not have a social security number because you are a
nonresident or resident alien for federal tax purposes,
and the IRS issued you an IRS Individual Taxpayer
Identification Number (ITIN), enter the ITIN in the
spaces provided for the social security number.

Step 2
Filing
Status

Check only one of the boxes on line 1 through line 5.
Be sure to enter the required additional information if
you check a box on line 3 or line 5.
Your filing status for California must be the same as the
filing status you used on your federal income tax return.
Exception: Married taxpayers who file a joint federal
income tax return may file either a joint return or sepa-
rate returns if either spouse was:

&
218

• An active member of the United States armed forces
or any auxiliary military branch during 1998; or

• A nonresident for the entire year and had no income
from California sources during 1998.

However, if you file a joint return and if either spouse
was a nonresident in 1998, you must file Form 540NR,
California Nonresident or Part-Year Resident Income
Tax Return.

Line 1 – Single. You may check the box on line 1 if any of the
following was true on December 31, 1998:
• You were never married;
• You were legally separated under a decree of

divorce or of separate maintenance; or
• You were widowed before January 1, 1998 and did

not remarry in 1998.

Line 2 – Married Filing Joint Return. You may check the box
on line 2 if any of the following is true:
• You were married as of December 31, 1998, even if

you did not live with your spouse at the end of 1998;
• Your spouse died in 1998 and you did not remarry in

1998; or
• Your spouse died in 1999 before filing a 1998 return.

Line 3 – Married Filing Separate Return. If you check the box
on line 3, be sure to enter your spouse’s name on line 3
and social security number in ‘‘Step 1a.’’ Note: You
cannot claim a personal exemption credit for your
spouse even if your spouse had no income, is not filing
a return and is not claimed as a dependent on another
person’s return. For how to report income and deduc-
tions, get FTB Pub. 1051A, Guidelines for Married Filing
Separate Returns.
Note: You may be able to file as head of household if
you had a child living with you and you lived apart from
your spouse during the entire last 6 months of 1998.
See the instructions for line 4 below.

Line 4 – Head of household. This filing status is for unmarried
individuals who provide a home for certain other per-
sons. You may check the box on line 4 if you were
unmarried or had a final decree of legal separation as of
December 31, 1998, and:

&
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• You paid over half the cost of keeping up a home
that was the main home for all of 1998 of your
parent whom you can claim as a dependent. Your
parent must have been a U.S. citizen, national, or
resident; a resident of Canada; or a resident of
Mexico. Your parent did not have to live with you in
your home; or

• You paid over half the cost of keeping up a home in
which you lived and in which one of the following
also lived for more than half of the year (temporary
absences, such as for school or vacations, count as
time lived in the home):
Note: If you were married at some time during 1998,
but were divorced or had a decree of legal separa-
tion as of December 31, 1998, and you and your
spouse lived together with the person you believe
qualifies you for the head of household filing status,
a special rule applies. The rule is: For the period you
all lived together, you may count only half of that
time.
1. Your unmarried child, grandchild, great-

grandchild, etc., stepchild or adopted child. This
child does not have to be your dependent.
Note: You must be able to claim your foster child
as your dependent. The child must be under age
19 (or if a full-time student under age 24) and
must have lived with you the entire year.

2. Your married child, grandchild, great-grandchild,
etc., stepchild or adopted child. You must be able
to claim this child as your dependent. But if your
married child’s other parent claims him or her as
a dependent under the rules for children of
divorced or separated parents, this child does not
have to be your dependent. Refer to the instruc-
tions for federal Form 1040 or Form 1040A for
more information about children of divorced or
separated parents.

3. Any of the following relatives whom you can
claim as a dependent:
• Your child; stepchild; adopted child; a child

who lived in your home as a family member if
placed with you by an authorized placement
agency for legal adoption; or a foster child
(any child who lived in your home as a family
member for the whole year in the absence of
the child’s parents).

• Your grandchild, great-grandchild, etc.
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• Your son-in-law, daughter-in-law.
• Your parent, stepparent, parent-in-law.
• Your grandparent, great-grandparent, etc.
• Your brother, sister, half brother, half sister,

stepbrother, stepsister, brother-in-law, sister-
in-law.

• If related to you by blood, your aunt, uncle,
nephew, niece.

Note: Any relationships established by marriage
are not treated as ended by divorce or death.

Married persons who live apart. Even if you did not
receive a final decree of divorce or legal separation in
1998, you may be considered unmarried and file as
head of household if you met certain requirements. You
can take the standard deduction even if your spouse
itemizes deductions. You may check the box on line 4 if
all five of the following apply:
1. You file a separate return from your spouse; and
2. You lived apart from your spouse during the entire

last 6 months of 1998; and
3. You paid over half the cost of keeping up your home

for 1998; and
4. Your home was the main home of your child,

adopted child or stepchild, for more than half of 1998
or the main home of your foster child (any child who
lived in your home as a family member for the whole
year in the absence of the child’s parents) for all of
1998; and

5. You can claim this child as your dependent or the
child’s other parent claims him or her.
Note: If this child is your foster child, you must be
able to claim the child as your dependent.

Get FTB Pub. 1540, California Head of Household Filing
Status Information, for more information.

Line 5 – Qualifying widow(er) with dependent child. You may
check the box on line 5 and use the joint return tax
rates for 1998 if all five of the following apply:
1. Your spouse died in 1996 or 1997 and you did not

remarry in 1998; and
2. You have a child, stepchild, adopted child, or foster

child whom you can claim as a dependent; and
3. This child lived in your home for all of 1998. Tempo-

rary absences, such as for vacation or school, count
as time lived in the home; and

4. You paid over half the cost of keeping up your home
for this child; and

5. You could have filed a joint return with your spouse
the year he or she died, even if you actually did not
do so.

Note: If your spouse died in 1998, you may not file as a
qualifying widow(er) with dependent child. Instead, see
the instructions for line 2.

Step 3
Exemptions

Line 6 – Dependent Check Box

&
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Check the box on line 6 if your parent (or someone
else) can claim you as a dependent on his or her tax
return. For example, if your parents (or someone else)
could claim you as a dependent on their tax return but
they chose not to claim you, you must check the box on
line 6.

Line 7 – Personal Exemptions
Did you check the box on line 6?
No Follow the instructions on Form 540A, line 7.

Yes Ignore the instructions on Form 540A, line 7.
Instead, enter on line 7 the amount shown below
for your filing status:

• Single or married filing separate, enter -0-;
• Head of household, enter -0-;
• Married filing joint and both you and your

spouse can be claimed as dependents, enter
-0-; or

• Married filing joint and only one spouse can
be claimed as a dependent, enter 1.

Line 8 – Blind Exemptions
The first year you claim this exemption credit, you must
attach a doctor’s statement to the back of Form 540A
indicating you or your spouse are visually impaired.
Visually impaired means you cannot see better than
20/200 while wearing glasses or contact lenses, or that
your field of vision is not more than 20 degrees.
Caution: An individual who is someone else’s depen-
dent may not claim this credit.

Line 9 – Senior Exemptions
If you were 65 years of age or older by December 31,
1998, you should claim an additional exemption credit
on line 9. If you are married, each spouse 65 years of
age or older should claim an additional credit.
Caution: An individual who is someone else’s
dependent may not claim this credit.

Line 11 – Dependent Exemptions
To claim an exemption credit for each of your depen-
dents, write each dependent’s name and relationship to
you in the space provided. The persons you list as
dependents on your Form 540A must be the same per-
sons you listed as dependents on your federal income
tax return. Count the number of dependents listed and
enter the total on line 11.

Step 4
Taxable
Income

Refer to your completed federal income tax return to
complete ‘‘Step 4.’’

Line 12a – State Wages
Enter the total amount of your state wages from all
states from each of your Form(s) W-2. This amount
should be on Form W-2, box 17.

Line 13 – California Income Adjustments
California does not tax certain types of income that are
taxable on your federal return. In addition, there may be
differences between the taxable amounts of federal and
California IRA distributions, pensions and annuities. For
more information, see below.

Side 2, Part I — California Income Adjustments
Part I,
Line 1 – State Income Tax Refund Adjustment

Enter the amount of any state income tax refund shown
on your federal Form 1040, line 10. If you filed
Form 1040A or Form 1040EZ, enter -0- on line 1.

Part I,
Line 2 – Unemployment Compensation Adjustment

Enter the amount of any unemployment compensation
shown on your federal TeleFile Tax Record, line D;
Form 1040EZ, line 3; Form 1040A, line 12; or
Form 1040, line 19.
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Part I,
Line 3 – Social Security Benefits Adjustment – (and tier 1 or

tier 2 railroad retirement benefits adjustment)
Enter the total of any of these amounts shown on your
federal return:
• Social security benefits and equivalent tier 1 railroad

retirement benefits reported on federal Form 1040A,
line 13b; or Form 1040, line 20b;

• Tier 1 (non social security equivalent) and tier 2
railroad retirement benefits reported on federal Form
1040A, line 11b; or Form 1040, line 16b.

If you filed Form 1040EZ, enter -0- on line 3.

Part I,
Line 4 – California Nontaxable Interest or Dividend Income

Adjustment
Interest from municipal or state bonds from a state
other than California: This interest is taxed by Califor-
nia. You may not use Form 540A. You must use
Form 540.
California does not tax interest earned from:
• United States savings bonds;
• United States Treasury bills, notes and bonds; and
• Bonds or obligations of United States territories, and

government agency obligations specifically exempted
by federal law.

Enter only the amount of interest that you received
from these sources and that you included in the
amount reported on your federal Form 1040A, line 8a,
or Form 1040, line 8a, or Form 1040EZ, line 2.
Interest from Federal National Mortgage Associa-
tion (Fannie Mae) Bonds, Government National
Mortgage Association (Ginnie Mae) Bonds, and
Federal Home Loan Mortgage Corporation (FHLMC)
securities: This interest is taxed by California. Do not
enter it on line 4.
Exempt-interest dividends from mutual funds: Cer-
tain mutual funds are qualified to pay ‘‘exempt-interest
dividends’’ if at least 50% of their assets consist of tax-
exempt government obligations. The portion of the
dividends that is tax-exempt will be shown on your
annual statement from the mutual fund.
If the amount of California tax-exempt interest is more
than the amount of federal tax-exempt interest, enter
the difference on line 4. If the amount of California tax-
exempt interest is less than the amount of federal tax-
exempt interest, you may not use Form 540A. You
must use Form 540.

Part I,
Line 5 – California Individual Retirement Account (IRA)

Distributions Adjustment
Note: You must use Form 540 to report Roth IRA con-
versions and distributions.
The method of taxing IRA distributions is generally the
same for California and federal purposes. However,
there may be significant differences in the taxable
amount depending on when you made your contribu-
tions. Before 1987, the maximum IRA contribution you
were allowed to deduct from California income was less
than the maximum amount you were allowed to deduct
from federal income. For this reason, the amount of
your IRA distribution taxed by California may be differ-
ent than the amount taxed under federal law.
Report the difference between your California and your
federal taxable IRA distributions on line 5. Be sure to

attach Form 1099-R to your Form 540A. Get FTB
Pub. 1005, Pension and Annuity Guidelines, for more
information.

Part I,
Line 6 – California Pensions and Annuities Adjustment

If you received a lump-sum distribution from a profit
sharing or retirement plan, you may pay less tax on the
distribution if you choose the 5-year or 10-year averag-
ing method. However, you must file Form 540 to use
these methods. Get the instructions for Form 540 and
Schedule G-1, Tax on Lump-Sum Distributions (not in
this booklet), for more information.
If your annuity starting date was after July 1, 1986, and
before January 1, 1987, and if you elected to use the
3-year recovery rule for California, you must make an
adjustment because your federal taxable amount is less
than your California taxable amount. Figure the differ-
ence between the gross distribution shown on your
Form 1099-R, box 1 and the taxable amount shown in
box 2a. Enter the difference in parentheses on line 6.
For example: ‘‘(12,325).’’ Combine line 1 through line 6.
If the result is less than zero, enter the amount in
parentheses on line 7 and on Side 1, line 13. In this
case only, treat the amount on line 13 as a positive
number and add it to the amount on line 12.

Step 4 (continued)
Line 14 – California Adjusted Gross Income

Subtract line 13 from line 12b. Enter the result on line
14. If the result is less than zero, enter the amount in
parentheses. For example: ‘‘(12,325).’’

Line 15 – CA Standard Deduction OR CA Itemized Deductions
You must decide whether to take the standard deduc-
tion or to itemize your actual charitable contributions,
medical expenses, interest paid, taxes, etc. Your Cali-
fornia income tax will be less if you take the larger of:
• Your California itemized deductions; or
• Your California standard deduction.
If you are married and file a separate return, both you
and your spouse must either itemize your deductions or
take the standard deduction.
Itemized deductions. Figure your California itemized
deductions by completing the California Itemized Deduc-
tions Worksheet on the following page.
Note: If you did not itemize deductions on your federal
income tax return but will itemize deductions for your
California Form 540A, first complete a federal
Schedule A, Itemized Deductions. Then complete the
California Itemized Deductions Worksheet on the follow-
ing page. Do not attach federal Schedule A to this
return.
Standard deduction. Find your standard deduction by
looking at the California Standard Deduction Chart for
Most People on the following page unless you checked
the box on Form 540A, line 6. In that case, use the
California Standard Deduction Worksheet for Depen-
dents on the following page.
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California Standard Deduction Chart for Most People

Your Filing Status Enter On Line 15
1 – Single . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $2,642
2 – Married filing joint return. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $5,284
3 – Married filing separate return . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $2,642
4 – Head of household. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $5,284
5 – Qualifying widow(er) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $5,284
Note: The California standard deduction amounts are less than the
federal standard deduction amounts.

Do not use this chart if your parent, or someone else, can claim you (or
your spouse, if married) as a dependent on his or her tax return.

California Standard Deduction Worksheet for Dependents
Use this worksheet only if your parent, or someone else, can claim
you (or your spouse if married) as a dependent on his or her
California tax return.
1. Enter your total wages, salaries and tips from

all your Form(s) W-2, box 1. (You may also
refer to federal Form 1040EZ, line 1;
Form 1040A, line 7; or Form 1040, line 7) . . 1

2. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 2
3. Add line 1 and line 2. Enter total here . . . . . 3
4. Minimum standard deduction . . . . . . . . . . 4
5. Compare the amounts on line 3 and line 4.

Enter the larger of the two amounts here . . . 5
6. Enter the amount shown below for your filing

status:
• Single or married filing separate,

enter $2,642
• Married filing joint, head of household . . . . 6

or qualifying widow(er) enter $5,284
7. Standard deduction. Compare the amounts

on line 5 and 6. Enter the smaller of the two
amounts here and on Form 540A, line 15 . . . 7

$250.00

$700.00

}
California Itemized Deductions Worksheet

1. Enter your total itemized deductions from
federal Schedule A, line 28 . . . . . . . . . . . 1

2. Add these amounts from federal Schedule A
and enter on line 2:
• Line 5, state and local income tax and State

Disability Insurance (SDI):
• Line 8, foreign income taxes:  . . 2

3. Subtract line 2 from line 1. This amount is your
total California itemized deductions . . . . . 3

4. Enter the standard deduction for your filing
status from the ‘‘California Standard Deduction
Chart for Most People’’ or from line 7 of the
‘‘California Standard Deduction Worksheet for
Dependents,’’ if your parent(s), or someone
else, can claim you as a dependent on their
tax return . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 4

5. Compare the amounts on line 3 and line 4.
Enter the larger of the two amounts here
and on Form 540A, line 15 . . . . . . . . . . . 5

Step 5
Tax and
Credits

First figure your tax. Be sure to use the correct filing
status and taxable income amount. Then make sure you
qualify to claim your credits.

Line 17 – Tax
To figure your tax on the amount shown on line 16, use
one of the following methods:

• Tax Table. If your taxable income on line 16 is
$50,000 or less, you must use the tax table begin-
ning on page 50. Be sure you use the correct filing
status column in the tax table.

• Tax Rate Schedule. If your taxable income on line
16 is over $50,000, you must use the tax rate
schedules on page 53.

Line 18 – Exemption Credits
Exemption credits may reduce your tax. Answer the
questions below and complete a worksheet to figure the
amount of exemption credit you may use to reduce your
tax.
Question 1: Is the amount on line 14 more than:
• $42,945 if single or head of household; or
• $57,260 if married filing joint or qualifying widow(er);

or
• $28,630 if married filing separate?
No Complete the following worksheet to figure your

exemption credits:
a Multiply $70 by the amount on

Form 540A, line 10 . . . . . a
b Multiply $253 by the amount on

Form 540A, line 11 . . . . . b
c Add line a and line b. Enter here

and on Form 540A, line 18 and
continue to Form 540A, line 19 c

Yes Go to Question 2.
Question 2: Did you claim the standard deduction on
line 15?
Yes Complete the Exemption Credit Worksheet for

Taxpayers Claiming the Standard Deduction,
below.

No Go to Question 3.
Question 3: Did you have either of the following?
• Investment interest expense & 226; or
• Charitable contribution deduction for appreciated

property & 224.

No Complete the Exemption Credit Worksheet for
Taxpayers Claiming Itemized Deductions, on the
next page.

Yes You may not use Form 540A. You must use
Form 540, and you may need to complete
Schedule P (540), Alternative Minimum Tax and
Credit Limitations — Residents. See ‘‘Order
Forms’’ on the back cover.

Exemption Credit Worksheet for
Taxpayers Claiming the Standard Deduction

1. Enter the amount from Form 540A, line 17. . . . . . . 1
2. Enter the amount from Form 540A, line 14. . . . . . . 2
3. Enter the amount for your filing status on line 3:

Single or head of household . . . . . . . . $42,945
Married filing joint or qualifying widow(er) . $57,260
Married filing separate . . . . . . . . . . . $28,630

3
4. Subtract line 3 from line 2. If zero or less, enter -0- . . 4
5. Multiply line 4 by .07 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 5
6. Subtract line 5 from line 1 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 6
7. Multiply $70 by the amount from Form 540A, line 10 . 7
8. Multiply $253 by the amount from Form 540A, line 11 . 8
9. Add line 7 and line 8 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 9
10. Is line 9 less than line 6?

Yes Enter the amount from line 9 on Form 540A, line 18 and
continue to Form 540A, line 19.

No You may not use Form 540A. You must use Form 540.
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Exemption Credit Worksheet for
Taxpayers Claiming Itemized Deductions

A. Enter the amount from Form 540A, line 17. . . . A
B. Enter the smaller of federal Schedule A, line 4

(medical and dental expense) or 21⁄2% of
Form 1040, line 33 (federal AGI) . . . . . . . . . B

C. Enter personal property and real property taxes
paid and included on federal Schedule A,
line 6, line 7 or line 8 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . C

D. Enter certain interest on a home mortgage not
used to buy, build or improve your home. & 223 D

E. Enter miscellaneous itemized deductions from
federal Schedule A, line 26 . . . . . . . . . . . . E

F. Add line B through line E . . . . . . . . . . . . . F
G. Enter any refund of personal property tax or real

property tax included on federal Form 1040,
line 10. Do not enter your state income tax refund G

H. Subtract the amount on line G from the amount
on line F . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . H

I. Enter the amount from Form 540A, line 16. . . . . I
J. Add line H and line I . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . J
K. Enter the amount for your filing status on line K:

Single or head of household. . . . . . . $42,945
Married filing joint or qualifying widow(er) $57,260
Married filing separate . . . . . . . . . . $28,630

K
L. Subtract line K from line J. If zero or less,

enter -0- . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . L
M. Multiply line L by .07 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . M
N. Subtract line M from line A . . . . . . . . . . . . N
O. Multiply $70 by the amount from Form 540A,

line 10 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . O
P. Multiply $253 by the amount from Form 540A,

line 11 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . P
Q. Add line O and line P . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Q
R. Is line Q less than line N?

Yes Enter the amount from line Q on Form 540A, line 18 and
continue to Form 540A, line 19.

No You may not use Form 540A. You must use Form 540 and
you may need to complete Schedule P (540), Alternative
Minimum Tax and Credit Limitations — Residents. See
‘‘Order Forms’’ on the back cover.

Line 19 – Nonrefundable Renter’s Credit
Did you pay rent for at least 6 months in 1998 on your
principal residence located in California?
Yes You may qualify to claim this credit. See page 26

to determine if you qualify.
No Go to line 20.

Step 6
Overpaid
Tax or
Tax Due

To avoid a delay in the processing of your return, be
sure you enter the correct amounts on line 24 through
line 32.

Line 24 – California Income Tax Withheld

&
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Enter on line 24 the total amount shown as California
income tax withheld on your Form(s) W-2 in box 18;
Form(s) W-2G in box 14; or Form 1099-R in box 10.
Caution: Do not include city or county tax withheld or
tax withheld by other states.
If you received a Form 1099 showing California income
tax withheld (‘‘backup withholding’’) on dividends and
interest income, include the amount withheld in the total
on line 24.&

204
If you do not have a Form W-2, see the instructions for
‘‘Sign Your Return’’ on page 38.

Line 25 – 1998 CA Estimated Tax and Payment with form
FTB 3519
Enter the total of any:

• California estimated tax payments you made
(Form 540-ES) for 1998;

• Overpayment from your 1997 California income tax
return applied to your 1998 estimated tax; and

• Payment you sent with form FTB 3519, Payment
Voucher for Automatic Extension for Individuals.

If you and your spouse paid joint estimated tax but are
now filing separate returns, either of you may claim all
of the amount paid or you may each claim part of it.
Attach a statement, signed by you and your spouse,
explaining how you want your payments divided. Be
sure to show both social security numbers on your
separate returns. If you or your spouse made separate
estimated tax payments, but you are now filing a joint
income tax return, add the amounts you each paid.
Attach a statement to the front of Form 540A explaining
that payments have been made under both social
security numbers.

Line 27 – Excess California SDI (or VPDI) Withheld
If more than $158.84 of California State Disability Insur-
ance (SDI) or Voluntary Plan Disability Insurance (VPDI)
was withheld from your wages by a single employer, or
if an employer withheld SDI (or VPDI) at a rate of more
than 0.5% of your gross wages, you may not claim
excess SDI (or VPDI) on your Form 540A, line 27 for
the amount over-withheld by your employer. Contact the
employer for a refund.
You may claim a credit for excess SDI (or VPDI) only if
you meet all of the following conditions:
• You had two or more employers during 1998;
• You received more than $31,767 in wages during

1998 from these employers;
• Your employers combined withheld more than

$158.84 of SDI (or VPDI) from your wages; and
• The amounts of SDI (or VPDI) withheld appear on

your Forms W-2. Be sure to attach your Forms W-2
to your return.

Complete the worksheet below to figure the amount to
enter on line 27. If you are married and file a joint
return, you must figure the amount of excess SDI (or
VPDI) separately for each spouse .

1. Add amounts of SDI (or VPDI)
withheld shown on your Forms
W-2. Enter the total here. . 1

2.
3.

$158.84$158.84

Your
SpouseYou

1998 SDI (or VPDI) limit . . 2
Excess SDI (or VPDI) with-
held. Subtract line 2 from
line 1. Enter the result here
and on Form 540A, line 27 3
Note: If zero or less, enter -0- on line 27.

Line 29 – Overpaid Tax
If the amount on line 28 is more than the amount on
line 23, your payments and credits are more than your
tax. Subtract the amount on line 23 from the amount on
line 28. Enter the result on line 29. This is the amount
of your overpaid tax. If the amount on line 28 is less
than the amount on line 23, go to line 32.
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Line 30 – Amount You Want Applied To Your 1999 Estimated

Tax
If you pay estimated tax, you may apply all or part of
the amount on line 29 to your 1999 estimated tax. Enter
on line 30 the amount of line 29 you want applied to
your 1999 estimated tax.

Line 31 – Overpaid Tax Available This Year
If you entered an amount on line 30, subtract that
amount from line 29. Enter the result on line 31. You
may choose to have this entire amount refunded to you
or you may make contributions to the California Seniors
Special Fund or make voluntary contributions from this
amount. If you choose to make contributions, skip
line 32 and go to the instructions for ‘‘Step 7.’’

Line 32 – Tax Due
If the amount on line 28 is less than the amount on
line 23, your tax is more than your payments and cred-
its. Subtract the amount on line 28 from the amount on
line 23. Enter the result on line 32. This is the amount
of your tax due.
There is a penalty for not paying enough tax during the
year. You may have to pay a penalty if the:
• Tax due on line 32 is $200 ($100 if married filing

separate) or more; and
• California income tax withheld on line 24 is less than

80% of the amount of your total tax on line 23.
If you owe a penalty, the Franchise Tax Board will
compute the penalty and send you a bill.
You may make contributions to the California Seniors
Special Fund or make voluntary contributions by adding
them to the tax due. You must pay the full amount of
tax due, including contributions, when you file your
Form 540A.

Step 7
Refund or
Amount
You Owe

Be sure to add or subtract carefully to figure the amount
of your refund or the amount you owe.
Contributions
You may make contributions to the California Seniors
Special Fund or you may make voluntary contributions
of $1 or more in whole dollar amounts. If you make one
or more contributions, you must complete Side 2,
Part II. You may contribute only to the funds listed in
Part II and cannot change the amount you contributed
after you file your return.

Side 2, Part II — Contributions
Part II,
Line 1 – Contribution to California Seniors Special Fund

If you or your spouse claim the senior exemption credit
on line 9, you may each make a contribution of up to
$70 to the California Seniors Special Fund. Your contri-
bution will be used to support the work of the Area
Agency on Aging Council of California in its role as an
advocate for California Seniors. All contributions over
those needed for this work will be used to provide
direct services to seniors such as meals, adult day care
and transportation. The actual use of the funds will be
determined at the local level by the Area Agency on
Aging, its Advisory Council of Seniors and the senior
community. On line 1, enter the amount of your contri-
bution (if you contribute, do not enter more than $70; if
you and your spouse contribute, do not enter more
than $140).

Part II,
Line 2 – Alzheimer’s Disease/Related Disorders Fund

Contributions entered on line 2 will be used to conduct
a program for researching the cause and cure of
Alzheimer’s disease and related disorders and research
into the care and treatment of persons suffering from
dementing illnesses.

Part II,
Line 3 – California Fund for Senior Citizens

Contributions entered on line 3 will be used by the Cali-
fornia Fund for Senior Citizens which supports direct
services to seniors and the work of the California
Senior Legislature. The California Senior Legislature is
a non-partisan, volunteer, grass roots body of seniors
60 years of age or older, elected by their peers. The
California Senior Legislature has been instrumental in
creating and steering senior legislation through the reg-
ular legislature; legislation, such as: Alzheimer Studies
and Research; Adult Day Health Care Centers; nutrition
centers; respite care; long term care; the funding and
broadening of In Home Support Services; programs to
abolish abuse of seniors; skilled nursing facility reforms;
and many more. All donations over those needed to
carry out the California Senior Legislature’s work, will
be distributed for direct services to needy seniors.

Part II,
Line 4 – Rare and Endangered Species Preservation

Program
Contributions entered on line 4 will be used to help pro-
tect and conserve California’s many threatened and
endangered species and the wild lands that they need
to survive, for the enjoyment and benefit of you and
future generations of Californians.

Part II,
Line 5 – State Children’s Trust Fund for the Prevention of

Child Abuse
Contributions entered on line 5 will be used to fund
programs for the prevention, intervention and treatment
of child abuse and neglect.

Part II,
Line 6 – California Breast Cancer Research Fund

Contributions entered on line 6 will be used to conduct
research relating to the prevention, screening, cure and
treatment of breast cancer.

Part II,
Line 7 – California Firefighters’ Memorial Fund

Contributions entered on line 7 will be used for the con-
struction of a memorial on the grounds of the State
Capitol honoring the hundreds of firefighters who have
died protecting our neighborhoods, our homes, our
families and our dreams. These brave men and women
answered the call when fire alarms sounded or when
paramedic services were needed, and their sacrifices
and the sacrifices of their families deserve to be
remembered.

Part II,
Line 8 – California Public School Library Protection Fund

Contributions entered on line 8 will be expended for the
purchase of books and other library resources through
grants awarded for implementing a school library
improvement plan.

Part II,
Line 9 – D.A.R.E. California (Drug Abuse Resistance

Education) Fund
Contributions entered on line 9 will be used to support
local D.A.R.E. programs and provide proven effective,
in-classroom anti-drug, anti-gang and anti-violence edu-
cation for California school children.
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Part II,

Line 10 – California Military Museum Fund
Contributions entered on line 10 will be used to support
the museum’s effort to: 1) collect, exhibit, and preserve
California’s military history from 1775 to date; 2) assist
in educating the general public, especially school chil-
dren, about our American military heritage and thus
instill pride therein; 3) recognize all branches of the
U.S. Armed Forces and the contributions of ethnicities
and their members throughout our proud military his-
tory; and 4) maintain and operate the facilities required.

Part II,
Line 11 – California Mexican American Veterans’ Memorial

Contributions entered on line 11 will be used to pay for
the construction, beautification, enhancement, mainte-
nance or repair of the California Mexican American
Veterans’ Memorial.

Part II,
Line 12 – Emergency Food Assistance Program Fund

Contributions entered on line 12 will be used to help
local food banks feed California’s hungry. Your contri-
bution will fund the purchase of much-needed food for
delivery to food banks, pantries and soup kitchens
throughout the state. The State Department of Social
Services will monitor its distribution to ensure the food
is given to those most in need.

Part II,
Line 13 – Total Contributions

Add all contributions you entered on line 1 through
line 12. Enter the result on Side 2, Part II, line 13, and
on your Form 540A, line 34.

Step 7 (continued)
Line 34 – Total Contributions

Enter the amount of your total contributions from Side 2,
Part II, line 13. If you did not make any contributions, do
not enter an amount on line 34. If you show an amount
on line 31, you must subtract the amount you contribute
from the amount of overpaid tax. If you show an amount
on line 32, you must add the amount you contribute to
your tax due.

Line 35 – Refund Or No Amount Due
If you did not enter an amount on line 34, enter the
amount from line 31 on line 35. This is the amount that
will be refunded to you. If the amount is less than $1,
attach a written request to your Form 540A to receive
the refund.
If you entered an amount on line 34, subtract that
amount from the amount on line 31. If the result is zero
or more, enter the result on line 35. Then skip to the
instructions for line 37.
If the result is less than zero, your contributions are
more than your overpaid tax available on line 31. In this
case, do not enter an amount on line 35. Instead, sub-
tract the amount on line 31 from the amount on line 34.
Enter the result on line 36 and see the instructions for
line 36.

&
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Want a fast refund? Get your refund within 7 to 10 cal-
endar days (or within 5 to 7 banking days with direct
deposit!). E-file your return!

Line 36 – Amount You Owe
If you did not enter an amount on line 34, enter the
amount from line 32 on line 36. This is the amount you
owe with your Form 540A.
If you entered an amount on line 34, add that amount to
the amount on line 32. Enter the result on line 36. This
is the amount you owe with your Form 540A.
• Make your check or money order payable to the

‘‘Franchise Tax Board’’ for the full amount you owe.
Do not send cash. Be sure to write your social secu-
rity number and ‘‘1998 Form 540A’’ on your check or
money order.

• Attach your check or money order to your return.
See page 8, Helpful Hints, ‘‘Assembling Your
Return.’’

A penalty may be imposed if your check is returned by
your bank for insufficient funds. To avoid a late filing
penalty, file your Form 540A by the due date even if
you cannot pay the amount you owe.
Do not combine your 1998 tax payment and any 1999
estimated tax payment in the same check. You must
send two separate checks and mail each check in a
separate envelope.
If you cannot pay the full amount shown on line 36 with
your return, you may request to make monthly pay-
ments. See page 49, Additional Information, ‘‘Installment
Payments,’’ for more information.

Line 37 – Underpayment of Estimated Tax
You may owe a penalty if:
• Line 32 is $200 ($100 if married filing separate) or

more and more than 20% of the tax shown on
line 23; or

• You underpaid your 1998 estimated tax liability for
any payment period. The Franchise Tax Board can
figure the penalty for you when you file your return
and send you a bill. Or if you want, get form
FTB 5805, Underpayment of Estimated Tax by
Individuals and Fiduciaries, to see if you owe a pen-
alty and to figure the amount. If you complete form
FTB 5805, enter the amount of the penalty on
line 37 and check the box at line 37. You must com-
plete and attach form FTB 5805 if you claim a
waiver or use the annualized income installment
method.

Note: Do not reduce the amount on line 29 or increase
the amount on line 32 by any penalty or interest
amounts.
See page 6, Tax Time Tips, ‘‘Estimated tax payments,’’
for information on estimated tax payments and how to
avoid the underpayment penalty.

Line 38 – 1999 Tax Forms
If your Form 540A is prepared by someone else or if
you do not need forms mailed to you next year, check
the box on line 38.

Part III — Sign Your Return
Sign your return on Form 540A, Side 2, Part III. Then
mail your return to the Franchise Tax Board on or
before the due date. For further information, see
page 38.
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Nonrefundable Renter’s Credit Qualification Record
Answering the questions below will determine if you qualify to claim the nonrefundable renter’s credit.

Keep This For Your Records. DO NOT MAIL IT TO THE FRANCHISE TAX BOARD.
1 Were you a resident1 of California for the entire year in 1998?

YES. Go to the next question. NO. Stop here. File Form 540NR, California Nonresident or Part-Year Resident Income Tax
Return.

2 Is the amount on Form 540EZ, line 14 or Form 540A, line 14 or Form 540, line 17, $25,000 or less if single or married filing
separate; or $50,000 or less if married filing joint, head of household or qualifying widow(er)?
YES. Go to the next question. NO. Stop here. You do not qualify for this credit.

3 Did you pay rent, for at least half of 1998, on property (including a mobile home that you owned on rented land) in California
which was your principal residence?
YES. Go to the next question. NO. Stop here. You do not qualify for this credit.

4 Did you live with any other person (such as your parent) for more than half the year who claimed you as a dependent in 1998
or are you a minor living with and under the care of a parent, foster parent or legal guardian?
NO. Go to the next question. YES. Stop here. You do not qualify for this credit.

5 Was the property you rented exempt2 from property tax in 1998?
NO. Go to the next question. YES. Stop here. You do not qualify for this credit.

6 Did you or your spouse claim the homeowner’s property tax exemption 3 anytime during 1998?
NO. Skip question 7 and answer question 8 through question 10. YES. Go to question 7.

7 Did you and your spouse maintain separate residences for the entire year in 1998?
YES. The spouse that answered ‘‘yes’’ to question 6 may not claim this credit. If the other spouse alone could have answered
‘‘no’’ to question 6, that person qualifies for the credit and should complete questions 8, 9, and 10.
NO. Stop here. You do not qualify for this credit.

8 List the street address(es) of residence(s) you rented in California during 1998 which qualified you for this credit. Do not list
post office boxes.

Street Address City, State and ZIP Code Dates Rented in 1998
(From __ to __)

a

b

9 List the name, address and telephone number of your landlord(s) or the person(s) to whom you paid rent for the residence(s)
listed in question 8.

Name Street Address City, State and ZIP Code Telephone Number

a

b

10 If single or married filing separate4 , enter $60 here. If married filing joint, head of household or
qualifying widow(er), enter $120 here. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 10  
Form 540EZ or Form 540A filers: Also enter this amount on Form 540EZ, line 19 or Form 540A, line 19.
Form 540 filers: If this credit is the only special credit you are claiming, enter this amount on Form 540, line 31. If you are
claiming other special credits in addition to this credit, go to ‘‘Step 6’’ of the instructions for Form 540 and answer Question 1
through Question 5.

1 Military personnel. If you are not a legal resident of California, you do not qualify for this credit. However, your spouse may claim this credit if he or
she was a resident, did not live in military housing during 1998 and is otherwise qualified. If your spouse was a part-year resident, he or she must file
Form 540NR.
2 Property exempt from property taxes. You do not qualify for this credit if, for more than half of the year, you rented property that was exempt from
property taxes. Exempt property includes most government-owned buildings, church-owned parsonages, college dormitories and military barracks.
However, if you or your landlord paid possessory interest taxes for the property you rented, then you may claim this credit.
3 Homeowner’s property tax exemption. You do not qualify for this credit if you or your spouse received a homeowner’s property tax exemption at
any time during the year. However, if you lived apart from your spouse for the entire year and your spouse received a homeowner’s property tax
exemption for a separate residence, then you may claim this credit if you are otherwise qualified.
4 Married filing separate returns. If you and your spouse file separate returns, lived in the same rental property and both qualify for this credit, one
spouse may claim the full amount of this credit ($120), or each spouse may claim half of the amount ($60 each).



Step 2

California Resident
Income Tax Return 1998

Step 3
Exemptions

Attach check or
money order here.

6 If your parent (or someone else), can claim you (or your spouse, if married) as a dependent on his or her tax
return, even if he or she chooses not to, check here . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 6

7 Personal: If you checked box 1, 3 or 4 above, enter 1. If you checked box 2 or 5, enter 2. If you checked
the box on line 6, see page 31 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 7

8 Blind: If you (or if married, your spouse) are visually impaired, enter 1. If both are visually impaired, enter 2 . . . 8
9 Senior: If you (or if married, your spouse) are 65 or older, enter 1. If both are 65 or older, enter 2 . . . . . . . . . • 9

10 Add line 7 through line 9 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 10
11 Dependents: Enter name and relationship. Do not include yourself or your spouse.

 Enter the total number of dependents 11

For Privacy Act Notice, see instructions. Form 540 C1 1998 Side 1

540
FORM

54098109

Your first name

If joint return, spouse’s first name

Present home address — number and street including PO Box or rural route

City, town or post office

Do Not Write
In These
Spaces

P

AC

A

R

RP

Apt. no.

Last name

Last name

Initial

Initial

ZIP CodeState

Step 1a
SSN

IMPORTANT:
Your social security number is required.

If joint return, spouse’s social security number

Step 1
Place
label here
or print

Name
and
Address

P

Your social security number

1
2
3
4
5

Filing Status

Check only one.

Step 4 12 State wages from your Form(s) W-2, box 17 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 12
13 Enter federal adjusted gross income from Form 1040, line 33; Form 1040A, line 18;

Form 1040EZ, line 4 or TeleFile Tax Record, line H . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 13
14 California adjustments – subtractions. Enter the amount from Schedule CA (540), line 33, column B . . • 14

Caution: If the amount on Schedule CA (540), line 33, column B is a negative number, see page 31.

18 Enter the Your California itemized deductions from Schedule CA (540), line 40; OR
larger of: Your California standard deduction shown below for your filing status:

• Married filing joint, Head of household, or Qualifying widow(er) . $5,284
• Single or Married filing separate . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $2,642{ 
(Dependent of someone else and checked box on line 6. . . . See page 31)

} 
. . . . . • 18

19 Subtract line 18 from line 17. This is your taxable income. If less than zero, enter -0- . . . . . . . . . . 19

Step 5
Tax

Attach copy of your
Form(s) W-2, W-2G
and 1099-R here.

Taxable
Income

15 Subtract line 14 from line 13. If less than zero, enter the result in parentheses. See page 31 . . . . . . 15
16 California adjustments – additions. Enter the amount from Schedule CA (540), line 33, column C . . . . • 16

Caution: If the amount on Schedule CA (540), line 33, column C is a negative number, see page 31.
17 California adjusted gross income. Combine line 15 and line 16 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 17

20 Tax. Check if from ■ Tax Table ■ Tax Rate Schedule ■ FTB 3800 or ■ FTB 3803 . . . • 20
Caution: If under age 14 and you have more than $1,400 of investment income,

read the line 20 instructions to see if you must attach form FTB 3800.
21 Exemption credits. Caution: See the line 21 instructions before making an entry on this line.

Check if from ■ Flowchart ■ Federal AGI limit or ■ California TMT limit . . . . . . . . . . . . • 21
22 Subtract line 21 from line 20. If less than zero, enter -0- . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 22
23 Tax. Check if from ■ Schedule G-1, Tax on Lump-Sum Distributions; and

■ form FTB 5870A, Tax on Accumulation Distribution of Trusts . . . . . . . . • 23

24 Add line 22 and line 23. Continue to Side 2 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 24

Fiscal year filers only: Enter month of year end: month _______ year 1999.

Single
Married filing joint return (even if only one spouse had income)
Married filing separate return. Enter spouse’s social security number above and full name here
Head of household (with qualifying person) STOP. See page 19.
Qualifying widow(er) with dependent child. Enter year spouse died 19 .



IMPORTANT: See ‘‘Sign Your Return’’ in the Form 540 instructions to find out if you should attach a copy of your complete federal return. Under penalties of perjury, I declare
that I have examined this return, including accompanying schedules and statements, and to the best of my knowledge and belief, it is true, correct and complete. 9

25 Amount from Side 1, line 24 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 25
28 Enter credit name code no. and amount . . . P 28
29 Enter credit name code no. and amount . . . P 29
30 To claim more than two credits, see page 34 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 30
31 Nonrefundable renter’s credit. See instructions for ‘‘Step 6’’ on page 34 . . • 31
33 Add line 28 through line 31. These are your total credits . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 33
34 Subtract line 33 from line 25. If less than zero, enter -0- . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 34

35 Alternative minimum tax. Attach Schedule P (540) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 35
36 Other taxes and credit recapture. See page 36 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 36
37 Add line 34 through line 36. This is your total tax . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 37
38 California income tax withheld. Enter total from your 1998 Form(s) W-2,

W-2G, 1099-MISC and 1099-R. Also attach the form(s) to Side 1 . . . . . . ■ 38
39 1998 CA estimated tax and amount applied from your 1997 return.

Include the amount from form FTB 3519 or Schedule K-1 (541) . . . . . . . ■ 39
41 Did either you or your spouse receive more than $31,767 in wages

in 1998? Yes. See page 36. No. Go to line 42 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ■ 41
42 Add line 38 through line 41. These are your total payments . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 42

43 Overpaid tax. If line 42 is more than line 37, subtract line 37 from line 42. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 43
44 Amount of line 43 you want applied to your 1999 estimated tax . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ■ 44
45 Overpaid tax available this year. Subtract line 44 from line 43. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ■ 45
46 Tax due. If line 42 is less than line 37, subtract line 42 from line 37 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 46

47 Contribution to California Seniors Special Fund. See page 37 . . . . . . . . • 47
You may make a contribution of $1 or more to:

48 Alzheimer’s Disease/Related Disorders Fund . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 48
49 California Fund for Senior Citizens . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 49
50 Rare and Endangered Species Preservation Program . . . . . . . . . . . . • 50
51 State Children’s Trust Fund for the Prevention of Child Abuse . . . . . . . • 51
52 California Breast Cancer Research Fund. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 52
53 California Firefighters’ Memorial Fund . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 53
54 California Public School Library Protection Fund . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 54
55 D.A.R.E. California (Drug Abuse Resistance Education) Fund . . . . . . . . • 55
56 California Military Museum Fund . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 56
57 California Mexican American Veterans’ Memorial . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 57
58 Emergency Food Assistance Program Fund . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 58
59 Add line 47 through line 58. These are your total contributions . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 59
60 REFUND OR NO AMOUNT DUE. Subtract line 59 from line 45. Mail to:

FRANCHISE TAX BOARD, PO BOX 942840, SACRAMENTO CA 94240-0000 ■ 60
61 AMOUNT YOU OWE. Add line 46 and line 59. Make a check/money order payable

to ‘‘Franchise Tax Board’’ for the full amount. Write your social security number
and ‘‘1998 Form 540’’ on it. Attach it to the front of your Form 540 and mail to:
FRANCHISE TAX BOARD, PO BOX 942867, SACRAMENTO CA 94267-0001 . ■ 61

62 Interest, late return penalties and late payment penalties. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 62
63 Underpayment of estimated tax. If form FTB 5805 or 5805F is attached, check here . . . . . . . . ■ ■ 63
64 If you do not need California income tax forms mailed to you next year, check here . . . . . . . . . . • 64 ■

Step 6
Special
Credits
and
Nonrefundable
Renter’s
Credit

Step 7
Other Taxes

Step 8
Payments

Step 9
Overpaid
Tax or
Tax Due

Step 10
Contributions

Step 11
Refund or
Amount
You Owe

Step 12
Interest and
Penalties

Sign
Here
It is unlawful to
forge a spouse’s
signature.

00
00
00
00
00
00
00
00
00
00

Side 2 Form 540 C1 1998

Paid preparer’s signature (declaration of preparer is based on all information of which preparer has any knowledge)

Firm’s name (or yours if self-employed)

Paid preparer’s SSN / FEIN

Firm’s address

( )

- -Date

X

X

Your signature Daytime phone number

Spouse’s signature (if filing joint, both must sign)

-

54098209

•,,

•,,

00
00
00
00
00
00
00
00
00
00



Step 2

California Resident
Income Tax Return 1998

Step 3
Exemptions

Attach check or
money order here.

6 If your parent (or someone else), can claim you (or your spouse, if married) as a dependent on his or her tax
return, even if he or she chooses not to, check here . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 6

7 Personal: If you checked box 1, 3 or 4 above, enter 1. If you checked box 2 or 5, enter 2. If you checked
the box on line 6, see page 31 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 7

8 Blind: If you (or if married, your spouse) are visually impaired, enter 1. If both are visually impaired, enter 2 . . . 8
9 Senior: If you (or if married, your spouse) are 65 or older, enter 1. If both are 65 or older, enter 2 . . . . . . . . . • 9

10 Add line 7 through line 9 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 10
11 Dependents: Enter name and relationship. Do not include yourself or your spouse.

 Enter the total number of dependents 11

For Privacy Act Notice, see instructions. Form 540 C1 1998 Side 1

540
FORM

54098109

Your first name

If joint return, spouse’s first name

Present home address — number and street including PO Box or rural route

City, town or post office

Do Not Write
In These
Spaces

P

AC

A

R

RP

Apt. no.

Last name

Last name

Initial

Initial

ZIP CodeState

Step 1a
SSN

IMPORTANT:
Your social security number is required.

If joint return, spouse’s social security number

Step 1
Place
label here
or print

Name
and
Address

P

Your social security number

1
2
3
4
5

Filing Status

Check only one.

Step 4 12 State wages from your Form(s) W-2, box 17 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 12
13 Enter federal adjusted gross income from Form 1040, line 33; Form 1040A, line 18;

Form 1040EZ, line 4 or TeleFile Tax Record, line H . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 13
14 California adjustments – subtractions. Enter the amount from Schedule CA (540), line 33, column B . . • 14

Caution: If the amount on Schedule CA (540), line 33, column B is a negative number, see page 31.

18 Enter the Your California itemized deductions from Schedule CA (540), line 40; OR
larger of: Your California standard deduction shown below for your filing status:

• Married filing joint, Head of household, or Qualifying widow(er) . $5,284
• Single or Married filing separate . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $2,642{ 
(Dependent of someone else and checked box on line 6. . . . See page 31)

} 
. . . . . • 18

19 Subtract line 18 from line 17. This is your taxable income. If less than zero, enter -0- . . . . . . . . . . 19

Step 5
Tax

Attach copy of your
Form(s) W-2, W-2G
and 1099-R here.

Taxable
Income

15 Subtract line 14 from line 13. If less than zero, enter the result in parentheses. See page 31 . . . . . . 15
16 California adjustments – additions. Enter the amount from Schedule CA (540), line 33, column C . . . . • 16

Caution: If the amount on Schedule CA (540), line 33, column C is a negative number, see page 31.
17 California adjusted gross income. Combine line 15 and line 16 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 17

20 Tax. Check if from ■ Tax Table ■ Tax Rate Schedule ■ FTB 3800 or ■ FTB 3803 . . . • 20
Caution: If under age 14 and you have more than $1,400 of investment income,

read the line 20 instructions to see if you must attach form FTB 3800.
21 Exemption credits. Caution: See the line 21 instructions before making an entry on this line.

Check if from ■ Flowchart ■ Federal AGI limit or ■ California TMT limit . . . . . . . . . . . . • 21
22 Subtract line 21 from line 20. If less than zero, enter -0- . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 22
23 Tax. Check if from ■ Schedule G-1, Tax on Lump-Sum Distributions; and

■ form FTB 5870A, Tax on Accumulation Distribution of Trusts . . . . . . . . • 23

24 Add line 22 and line 23. Continue to Side 2 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 24

Fiscal year filers only: Enter month of year end: month _______ year 1999.

Single
Married filing joint return (even if only one spouse had income)
Married filing separate return. Enter spouse’s social security number above and full name here
Head of household (with qualifying person) STOP. See page 19.
Qualifying widow(er) with dependent child. Enter year spouse died 19 .



IMPORTANT: See ‘‘Sign Your Return’’ in the Form 540 instructions to find out if you should attach a copy of your complete federal return. Under penalties of perjury, I declare
that I have examined this return, including accompanying schedules and statements, and to the best of my knowledge and belief, it is true, correct and complete. 9

25 Amount from Side 1, line 24 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 25
28 Enter credit name code no. and amount . . . P 28
29 Enter credit name code no. and amount . . . P 29
30 To claim more than two credits, see page 34 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 30
31 Nonrefundable renter’s credit. See instructions for ‘‘Step 6’’ on page 34 . . • 31
33 Add line 28 through line 31. These are your total credits . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 33
34 Subtract line 33 from line 25. If less than zero, enter -0- . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 34

35 Alternative minimum tax. Attach Schedule P (540) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 35
36 Other taxes and credit recapture. See page 36 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 36
37 Add line 34 through line 36. This is your total tax . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 37
38 California income tax withheld. Enter total from your 1998 Form(s) W-2,

W-2G, 1099-MISC and 1099-R. Also attach the form(s) to Side 1 . . . . . . ■ 38
39 1998 CA estimated tax and amount applied from your 1997 return.

Include the amount from form FTB 3519 or Schedule K-1 (541) . . . . . . . ■ 39
41 Did either you or your spouse receive more than $31,767 in wages

in 1998? Yes. See page 36. No. Go to line 42 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ■ 41
42 Add line 38 through line 41. These are your total payments . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 42

43 Overpaid tax. If line 42 is more than line 37, subtract line 37 from line 42. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 43
44 Amount of line 43 you want applied to your 1999 estimated tax . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ■ 44
45 Overpaid tax available this year. Subtract line 44 from line 43. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ■ 45
46 Tax due. If line 42 is less than line 37, subtract line 42 from line 37 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 46

47 Contribution to California Seniors Special Fund. See page 37 . . . . . . . . • 47
You may make a contribution of $1 or more to:

48 Alzheimer’s Disease/Related Disorders Fund . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 48
49 California Fund for Senior Citizens . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 49
50 Rare and Endangered Species Preservation Program . . . . . . . . . . . . • 50
51 State Children’s Trust Fund for the Prevention of Child Abuse . . . . . . . • 51
52 California Breast Cancer Research Fund. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 52
53 California Firefighters’ Memorial Fund . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 53
54 California Public School Library Protection Fund . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 54
55 D.A.R.E. California (Drug Abuse Resistance Education) Fund . . . . . . . . • 55
56 California Military Museum Fund . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 56
57 California Mexican American Veterans’ Memorial . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 57
58 Emergency Food Assistance Program Fund . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 58
59 Add line 47 through line 58. These are your total contributions . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 59
60 REFUND OR NO AMOUNT DUE. Subtract line 59 from line 45. Mail to:

FRANCHISE TAX BOARD, PO BOX 942840, SACRAMENTO CA 94240-0000 ■ 60
61 AMOUNT YOU OWE. Add line 46 and line 59. Make a check/money order payable

to ‘‘Franchise Tax Board’’ for the full amount. Write your social security number
and ‘‘1998 Form 540’’ on it. Attach it to the front of your Form 540 and mail to:
FRANCHISE TAX BOARD, PO BOX 942867, SACRAMENTO CA 94267-0001 . ■ 61

62 Interest, late return penalties and late payment penalties. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 62
63 Underpayment of estimated tax. If form FTB 5805 or 5805F is attached, check here . . . . . . . . ■ ■ 63
64 If you do not need California income tax forms mailed to you next year, check here . . . . . . . . . . • 64 ■

Step 6
Special
Credits
and
Nonrefundable
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Credit

Step 7
Other Taxes

Step 8
Payments

Step 9
Overpaid
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Tax Due

Step 10
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Step 11
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Amount
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Step 12
Interest and
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It is unlawful to
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signature.
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00
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00
00
00

Side 2 Form 540 C1 1998
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Instructions for Form 540 — California Resident Income Tax Return
These instructions are based on the Internal Revenue Code (IRC) as of January 1, 1998 , and the California Revenue and Taxation Code (R&TC).

Before
You
Begin

You must complete your federal income tax return (Form 1040,
1040A, 1040EZ or federal TeleFile Tax Record) before you
begin your California Form 540. You will use information from
your federal income tax return to complete your Form 540. Be
sure to complete and mail Form 540 by April 15, 1999. If you
cannot mail your return by the due date, see page 7.

Step 1
Name and
Address

If there is a label on the front of your booklet, attach the
label to your return after you have completed it. Make sure that
the information on your label is correct. Cross out any errors
and print the correct information.
If there is no label, print your name and address in the spaces
provided at the top of Form 540. See page 8, Helpful Hints,
‘‘Filling in your return.’’

Step 1a
Social
Security Num-
ber

Enter your social security number(s) in the spaces provided. To
protect your privacy, your social security number(s) are not
printed on your label. If you file a joint return, show the social
security numbers in the same order that you show both names.
Note: If you do not have a social security number because you
are a nonresident or resident alien for federal tax purposes, and
the IRS issued you an IRS Individual Taxpayer Identification
Number (ITIN), enter the ITIN in the spaces provided for the
social security number.

Step 2
Filing
Status

Check only one of the boxes on line 1 through line 5. Be sure to
enter the required additional information if you check a box on
line 3 or line 5.
Your filing status for California must be the same as the filing
status you used on your federal income tax return. Exception:
Married taxpayers who file a joint federal income tax return may
file either a joint return or separate returns if either spouse was:

&
218

• An active member of the United States armed forces (or any
auxiliary military branch) during 1998; or

• A nonresident for the entire year and had no income from
California sources during 1998.

However, if you file a joint return and if either spouse was a
nonresident in 1998, you must file Form 540NR, California Non-
resident or Part-Year Resident Income Tax Return.
If You Are Married and File a Separate Return
Enter your spouse’s name on line 3 and social security number
in the space provided in ‘‘Step 1a.’’
Note: Community property rules apply to the separation of
income if you use the married filing separate status. For more
information, get FTB Pub. 1031, Guidelines for Determining
Resident Status and FTB Pub. 1051A, Guidelines for Married
Filing Separate Returns.

&
215

If You File as Head of Household
Do not claim yourself or a nonrelative as the qualifying person.
See page 19 for more information.

Step 3
Exemptions

Line 6 – Dependent Check Box

&
601

Check the box on line 6 if your parent (or someone else) can
claim you as a dependent on his or her tax return. For example,
if your parent (or someone else) could claim you as a depen-
dent on his or her tax return but he or she chose not to claim
you, you must still check the box on line 6.

Line 7 – Personal Exemptions
Did you check the box on line 6?
No Follow the instructions on Form 540, line 7.
Yes Ignore the instructions on Form 540, line 7. Instead,

enter the amount shown below for your filing status:
• Single or married filing separate, enter -0-;
• Head of household, enter -0-;
• Married filing joint and both you and your spouse

can be claimed as dependents, enter -0-; or
• Married filing joint and only one spouse can be

claimed as a dependent, enter 1.

Line 8 – Blind Exemptions
The first year you claim this exemption credit, you must attach a
doctor’s statement to the back of Form 540 indicating you or
your spouse are visually impaired. You are visually impaired if
you cannot see better than 20/200 while wearing glasses or
contact lenses, or if your field of vision is not more than 20
degrees.
Caution: An individual who is someone else’s dependent may
not claim this credit.

Line 9 – Senior Exemptions
If you were 65 years of age or older by December 31, 1998,
you should claim an additional exemption credit on line 9. If you
are married, each spouse 65 years of age or older should claim
an additional credit.
Caution: An individual who is someone else’s dependent may
not claim this credit.

Line 11 – Dependent Exemptions
To claim an exemption credit for each of your dependents, write
each dependent’s name and relationship to you in the space
provided. The persons you list as dependents on your Form 540
must be the same persons you listed as dependents on your
federal income tax return. Count the number of dependents
listed and enter the total on line 11.

Step 4
Taxable
Income

Refer to your completed federal income tax return to complete
‘‘Step 4.’’

Line 12 – State Wages
Enter the total amount of your state wages from all states from
each of your Form(s) W-2. This amount should be in box 17 of
Form W-2.

Line 14 – California Adjustments — Subtractions
(from Schedule CA (540), line 33, column B)
If there are differences between your federal and California
income or deductions, you must complete Schedule CA (540),
California Adjustments — Residents. Follow the instructions for
Schedule CA (540) beginning on page 43. Enter on this line the
amount from Schedule CA (540), line 33, column B.

Line 15 – Subtotal
Subtract the amount on line 14 from the amount on line 13.
Enter the result on line 15. If the amount on line 13 is less than
zero, combine the amounts on line 13 and line 14 and enter the
result in parentheses. For example: ‘‘(12,325).’’

Line 16 – California Adjustments — Additions
(from Schedule CA (540), line 33, column C)
If there are differences between your federal and California
income or deductions, you must complete Schedule CA (540),
California Adjustments — Residents. Follow the instructions for
Schedule CA (540) beginning on page 43. Enter on this line the
amount from Schedule CA (540), line 33, column C.

Line 18 – Standard Deduction OR Itemized Deductions
You must decide whether to take the standard deduction or
itemize your charitable contributions, medical expenses, interest
paid, taxes, etc. Your California income tax will be less if you
take the larger of:
• Your California itemized deductions; or
• Your California standard deduction.
If you are married and file a separate return, both you and your
spouse must either itemize your deductions or take the standard
deduction.
Itemized deductions. Figure your California itemized deduc-
tions by completing Schedule CA (540), Part II, line 35 through
line 40. Enter the result on Form 540, line 18. Note: If you did
not itemize deductions on your federal income tax return but will
itemize deductions for your California Form 540, first complete a
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federal Schedule A, Itemized Deductions. Then complete
Schedule CA (540), Part II, line 35 through line 40.
Standard deduction. Most people can find their standard
deduction by looking at the California Standard Deduction Chart
For Most People, below. But, if you checked the box on
Form 540, line 6, you must use the California Standard Deduc-
tion Worksheet For Dependents.

California Standard Deduction Chart For Most People

Your Filing Status Enter On Line 18

1 – Single . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $2,642
2 – Married filing joint return. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $5,284
3 – Married filing separate return . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $2,642
4 – Head of household . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $5,284
5 – Qualifying widow(er) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $5,284
Note: The California standard deduction amounts are less than the federal
standard deduction amounts.

Do not use this chart if your parent, or someone else, can claim you as a
dependent on his or her tax return.

California Standard Deduction Worksheet For Dependents
Use this worksheet only if your parent, or someone else, can claim you as a
dependent on his or her tax return.
1. Enter your earned income from: line 1 of the federal

‘‘Standard Deduction Worksheet for Dependents’’
in the instructions for federal Form 1040A or Form 1040;
or from line A of the worksheet found on the back
of federal Form 1040EZ. If you used federal TeleFile,
add $250 to the total of your wages from all
Form(s) W-2, box 1. Enter the result here. . . . . . 1

2. Minimum standard deduction . . . . . . . . . . . . 2
3. Compare the amounts on line 1 and line 2.

Enter the larger of the two amounts here . . . . . . 3
4. Enter the amount shown below for your filing status.

• Single or married filing separate,
enter $2,642•
Married filing joint, head of household

. . . . 4

or qualifying widow(er), enter $5,284
5. Standard deduction. Compare the amounts on

line 3 and line 4. Enter the smaller of the two
amounts here and on Form 540, line 18. . . . . . . 5

}
$700.00

Step 5
Tax

When you figure your tax, be sure to use the correct filing status
and taxable income amount.

Line 20 – Tax
To figure your tax, use one of the following methods and check
the corresponding box on line 20:
• Tax Table. If your taxable income on line 19 is $50,000 or

less, you must use the tax table beginning on page 50. Be
sure you use the correct filing status column in the tax table.

• Tax Rate Schedules. If your taxable income on line 19 is
over $50,000, you must use the tax rate schedules on
page 53.

• FTB 3800. Generally, you must use form FTB 3800, Tax
Computation for Children With Investment Income, to figure
the tax on a separate Form 540 for your child who was
under age 14 on January 1, 1999, and who had more than
$1,400 of investment income. Attach form FTB 3800 to the
child’s Form 540.

• FTB 3803. If, as a parent, you elect to report your child’s
interest and dividend income of $7,000 or less (but not less
than $700) on your return, complete form FTB 3803, Par-
ents’ Election to Report Child’s Interest and Dividends. You
must file a separate form FTB 3803 for each child whose
income you elect to include on your Form 540. Add the
amount of tax, if any, from each form FTB 3803, line 9, to
the amount of your tax from the tax table or tax rate sched-
ules and enter the result on Form 540, line 20. Check the
box labeled ‘‘FTB 3803.’’ Attach form(s) FTB 3803 to your
return.

Line 21 – Exemption Credits
Exemption credits may reduce your tax, but the amount of the
credits may be limited in two ways. It may be limited by federal

adjusted gross income (AGI). And it may also be limited by Cali-
fornia tentative minimum tax (TMT). To find out if your exemp-
tion credits may be affected by one or both of these limitations,
use the following flowchart. The flowchart will help you deter-
mine if you need to complete a worksheet or complete
Schedule P (540) to figure the amount of exemption credits
available to reduce your tax. See ‘‘Order Forms’’ on the back
cover for how to get Schedule P (540).

If your filing status is: Is Form 540, line 13 more than:
Single or married filing separate . . . . . . . . . . . . . $116,777
Married filing joint or qualifying widow(er). . . . . . . . . $233,556
Head of household . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $175,166
Yes Complete Worksheet I on the next page.
No Go to box 2 ↓

Did you complete federal Schedule C, D, E or F and claim or receive
any of the following:
• Accelerated depreciation in excess of straight-line;
• Intangible drilling costs;
• Depletion;
• Circulation expenditures;
• Research and experimental expenditures;
• Mining exploration/development costs;
• Amortization of pollution control facilities;
• Income/loss from tax shelter farm activities;
• Income/loss from passive activities;
• Income from long-term contracts using the percentage of

completion method;
• Pass-through AMT adjustment from an estate or trust

reported on Schedule K-1 (541); or
• Excluded gain on the sale of qualified small business stock
Yes Get and complete Schedule P (540) through Part IV, line 5

to figure the amount of your exemption credits.
No Go to box 3 ↓

1

2

Did you claim or receive any of the following:
• Investment interest expense & 226;
• Income from incentive stock options in excess of the amount

reported on your return. & 225;
• Charitable contribution deduction for appreciated property. & 224;
• Income from installment sales of certain property; or
• Net operating loss deduction or disaster loss carryover

reported on form(s) FTB 3805V, 3805Z, 3806 or 3807.
Yes Get and complete Schedule P (540) through Part IV, line 5

to figure the amount of your exemption credits.
No Go to box 4 ↓

If your filing status is: Is Form 540, line 17 more than:
Single or head of household . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $42,945
Married filing joint or qualifying widow(er). . . . . . . . . $57,260
Married filing separate . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $28,630
No Complete the following worksheet to determine your total 

exemption credits:
a Multiply $70 by the amount on Form 540, line 10 . a
b Multiply $253 by the amount on Form 540, line 11 . b
c Total exemption credits. Add line a and line b.

Enter the result on Form 540, line 21. Check the
box labeled ‘‘Flowchart.’’ . . . . . . . . . . . . . . c

Yes Go to box 5 ↓

3

4

If your filing status is: Is Form 540, line 17 more than:
Single or head of household . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $161,044
Married filing joint or qualifying widow(er). . . . . . . . . $214,725
Married filing separate . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $107,362
Yes Get and complete Schedule P (540) through Part IV, line 5 

to figure the amount of your exemption credits.
No Go to box 6 ↓

Did you itemize deductions?
Yes Complete Worksheet III.
No Complete Worksheet II.

5

6
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WORKSHEET I —
Limiting the exemption credit by federal AGI

a Enter the amount from Form 540, line 13 . . . . . . . . a
b Enter the amount for your filing status on line b:

Single or married filing separate . . . . . . $116,777
Married filing joint or qualifying widow(er) $233,556 b
Head of household . . . . . . . . . . . . . $175,166

c Subtract line b from line a . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . c
d Divide line c by $2,500 ($1,250 if married filing

separate). Note: If the result is not a whole
number, round it to the next higher whole number . . . d

e Multiply line d by $6 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . e
f Multiply line e by the number of exemptions

from Form 540, line 10 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . f
g Multiply $70 by the number of exemptions on

Form 540, line 10 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . g
h Subtract line f from line g. If zero or less, enter -0-. . . h
i Multiply line e by the number of exemptions

from Form 540, line 11 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . i
j Multiply $253 by the number of exemptions on

Form 540, line 11 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . j
k Subtract line i from line j. If zero or less, enter -0- . . . . k
l Add line h and line k . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . l

If the result is more than zero, enter the result. Get and complete
Schedule P (540) through Part IV, line 5. If the result is zero or less than
zero, enter -0- here and on Form 540, line 21. Check the box labeled
‘‘Federal AGI limit.’’ Go to Form 540, line 22.

}

WORKSHEET II — Exemption credit worksheet for
taxpayers claiming the standard deduction

1 Enter the amount from Form 540, line 20 . . . . . . . . 1
2 Enter the amount from Form 540, line 17 . . . . . . . . 2
3 Exclusion. If you file federal Schedule C, D, E or F

see Trade or Business Exclusion in the box to the
right of this worksheet. Otherwise, enter -0- . . . . . . . 3

4 Subtract line 3 from line 2 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 4
5 Enter the amount for your filing status on line 5:

Single or head of household . . . . . . $42,945
Married filing joint or qualifying widow(er) $57,260
Married filing separate . . . . . . . . . $28,630 } 5

6 Subtract line 5 from line 4. If zero or less, enter -0- . . 6
7 Multiply line 6 by .07 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 7
8 Subtract line 7 from line 1. If zero or less, enter -0- . . 8
9 Multiply $70 by the amount on Form 540, line 10 . . . . 9

10 Multiply $253 by the amount on Form 540, line 11 . . 10
11 Add line 9 and line 10 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 11
12 Enter the smaller of line 8 or line 11 . . . . . . . . . . 12

This is your allowable exemption credit. Enter this amount on Form 540,
line 21 and check the box labeled ‘‘California TMT limit.’’ Go to
Form 540, line 22.

WORKSHEET III — Exemption credit worksheet for
taxpayers claiming itemized deductions

A Enter the amount from Form 540, line 20 . . . . . . . A
B Enter the smaller of federal Schedule A, line 4

(medical and dental expense); or 21⁄2% of Form 1040,
line 33 (federal AGI) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . B

C Enter personal property and real property taxes paid
and included on federal Schedule A, line 6, line 7 or
line 8. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . C

D Enter certain interest on a home mortgage not used
to buy, build or improve your home. & 223 . . . . . . D

E Enter miscellaneous itemized deductions
from federal Schedule A, line 26 . . . . . . . . . . . E

F Add line B through line E . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . F
G Enter any refund of personal property tax or

real property tax included on federal Form 1040,
line 10. Do not enter the amount of your state
income tax refund . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . G

H Subtract line G from line F. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . H
I Enter the amount from Form 540, line 19 . . . . . . . . I
J Add line H and line I . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . J
K Exclusion. If you file federal Schedule C, D, E or F

see Trade or Business Exclusion in the next box.
Otherwise, enter -0- . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . K

L Subtract line K from line J . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . L
M Enter the amount for your filing status on line M:

Single or head of household. . . . . . $42,945
Married filing joint or qualifying widow(er) $57,260
Married filing separate . . . . . . . . . $28,630 } M

N Subtract line M from line L. If zero or less, enter -0- . N
O Multiply line N by .07 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . O
P Subtract line O from line A. If zero or less, enter -0- . P
Q Multiply $70 by the amount on Form 540, line 10 . . . Q
R Multiply $253 by the amount on Form 540, line 11 . . R
S Add line Q and line R . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . S
T Enter the smaller of line P or line S . . . . . . . . . . T

This is your allowable exemption credit. Also enter this amount
on Form 540, line 21. Check the box labeled ‘‘California TMT
limit.’’ Go to Form 540, line 22.

If your aggregate gross receipts from trade or business income are less than
$1,000,000 as described below, enter your total taxable trade or business income
on line 3 (if you are using Worksheet II) or line K (if you are using Worksheet III).
You qualify for the exclusion if you:
• Own or have an ownership interest in a trade or business; and
• Have aggregate gross receipts, less returns and allowances, during the

taxable year of less than $1,000,000 from all trades or businesses for which
you are the owner or have an ownership interest. Gross receipts may include,
but are not limited to, items reported on federal Schedule C, D, E, (other than
income from a trust) or F and from federal Form 4797 (figured in accordance
with California law) or California Schedule D-1 (if required to complete it) that
are associated with a trade or business. In the case of an ownership interest,
you include only the proportional share of gross receipts of any trade or
business from a partnership, S corporation, regulated investment company
(RIC), real estate investment trust (REIT) or real estate mortgage investment
conduit (REMIC) in accordance with your ownership interest in the
enterprise. Apply the $1,000,000 test to the return regardless of filing status.
The threshold does not become $2,000,000 for married filing joint taxpayers.

Definitions.
‘‘Aggregate gross receipts, less returns and allowances’’ means the sum of
the gross receipts of the trades or businesses which you own and the proportion-
ate interest of the gross receipts of the trades or businesses which you own and
of pass-through entities in which you hold an interest.

‘‘Gross receipts, less returns and allowances’’ means the sum of the gross
receipts from the production of business income, as defined in R&TC
Section 25120(a), and the gross receipts from the production of nonbusiness
income, as defined in R&TC Section 25120(d).

‘‘Proportionate interest’’ means:
1. In the case of a pass-through entity which reports a profit for the taxable or

income year, your profit interest in the entity at the end of your taxable year.
2. In the case of a pass-through entity which reports a loss for the taxable or

income year, your loss interest in the entity at the end of your taxable year.
3. In the case of a pass-through entity which is sold or liquidates during the

taxable or income year, your capital account interest in the entity at the time
of the sale or liquidation.

‘‘Proportionate interest’’ includes an interest in a pass-through entity including a
partnership, S corporation, RIC, REIT or REMIC.

Trade or Business Exclusion
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Line 23 – Tax from Schedule G-1 and form FTB 5870A

Check the applicable box(es) and enter the amount of taxes
from:
• Schedule G-1, Tax on Lump-Sum Distributions; and
• Form FTB 5870A, Tax on Accumulation Distribution of

Trusts.

Step 6
Special Cred-
its & Nonre-
fundable
Renter’s
Credit

A variety of California tax credits are available to reduce your
tax if you qualify.
To figure and claim most credits, you must complete a separate
form or schedule and attach it to your Form 540. The Credit
Chart below describes the credits and provides the name, credit
code and number of the required form or schedule. Many cred-
its are limited by a certain percentage or a certain dollar
amount. In addition, the total amount you may claim for all cred-
its is limited by TMT. Answer the following questions before you
claim any of the credits described below on your tax return.
1. Do you qualify to claim the nonrefundable renter’s credit?

(See page 26.)
Check ■ Yes or ■ No, then go to Question 2.

2. Are you claiming any other special credits listed in the Credit
Chart below?
No If you checked ‘‘Yes’’ for Question 1 and entered an

amount on Form 540, line 31, go to line 33.
If you checked ‘‘No’’ for Question 1, skip to the
instructions for line 34.

Yes Figure your credit using the form, schedule, work-
sheet or certificate identified in the Credit Chart.
Then answer the questions below to see if the total
amount you may claim for all credits is limited
by TMT. If you checked ‘‘Yes’’ for Question 1, be
sure that you entered your nonrefundable renter’s
credit on line 31.

3. Were you instructed in Step 5 to get and complete
Schedule P (540)?
No Go to Question 4.
Yes Get and complete Schedule P (540), Part V.

4. Did you complete Worksheet I in Step 5 and enter zero on
Worksheet I, line l?
Yes Get and complete Schedule P (540), Parts I, II, III

and V.
No Go to Question 5.

5. Were your exemption credits limited in Step 5 by Worksheet
II or Worksheet III?
Yes Get and complete Schedule P (540), Part V.
No Complete the following worksheet:
a. Enter the amount from Worksheet II, line

8, or Worksheet III, line P . . . . . . a
b. Enter Schedule G-1 tax from Form 540,

line 23, if any . . . . . . . . . . . . b
c. Add line a and line b . . . . . . . . c
d. Enter the amount from Form 540,

line 21 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . d
e. Subtract line d from line c . . . . . . e
f. Enter the total of your credits . . . . f
• If line e is more than line f, your credits are not limited.

Go to the instructions for Form 540, line 28.
• If line e is less than line f, get and complete

Schedule P (540).
Line 28
through
Line 30 – Additional Special Credits

Each credit has a code number. To claim only one or two cred-
its, enter the credit name, code number and amount of the
credit on lines 28 and 29. To claim more than two credits, use
Schedule P (540). List two of the credits on lines 28 and 29.
Enter the total of any remaining credits from Schedule P (540)
on line 30.
Important: Attach Schedule P (540) and any supporting sched-
ules or statements to your Form 540.
Carryovers: If you claim a credit with carryover provisions and
the amount of the credit available this year exceeds your tax,
you may carry over any excess credit to future years until the
credit is used (unless the carryover period is a fixed number of
years). If you claim a credit carryover for an expired credit and
were not required to complete Schedule P (540) for line 21, use
form FTB 3540, Credit Carryover Summary, to figure the
amount of the credit. Otherwise, enter the amount of the credit
on Schedule P (540), Part V, and do not attach form FTB 3540.

CREDIT CHART

Credit Name Code Description
197 50% of qualified costs in the year an adoption is ordered

Community Development Financial Institution
Deposits — obtain certification from: California
Organized Investment Network (COIN),
Department of Insurance, 300 Capitol Mall,
Suite 1460, Sacramento CA 95814

209 20% of each qualified deposit made to a community development financial institution

Dependent Parent – Worksheet follows this chart. 173 Must use married filing separate filing status and have a dependent parent
Disabled Access for Eligible Small Businesses –

FTB 3548
205 Similar to the federal credit but limited to $125 based on 50% of qualified expenditures

that do not exceed $250
Donated Agricultural Products Transportation –

FTB 3547
204 50% of the costs paid or incurred for the transportation of agricultural products donated

to nonprofit charitable organizations
Employer Child Care Contribution – FTB 3501 190 Employer: 30% of contributions to a qualified plan
Employer Child Care Program – FTB 3501 189 Employer: Cost of establishing a child care program or constructing a child care facility
Enhanced Oil Recovery – FTB 3546 203 One third of the similar federal credit and limited to qualified enhanced oil recovery

projects located within California
Enterprise Zone Employee – FTB 3553 169 5% of wages from work in an enterprise zone
Enterprise Zone Hiring & Sales or Use Tax –

FTB 3805Z
176 Business incentives for enterprise zone businesses

Farmworker Housing – obtain certification from:
Farmworker Housing Assistance Program,
California Tax Credit Allocation Committee,
915 Capitol Mall, Room 485, Sacramento
CA 95814

207 50% of new construction or rehabilitation costs for farmworker housing 

170

(continued on next page)

Child Adoption – Worksheet follows this chart.

Joint Custody Head of Household –
Worksheet follows this chart.

30% of tax up to $281 for single or married filing separate taxpayers who have a child
and meet support test
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CREDIT CHART (continued)

Credit Name Code Description
198 Business incentives for LAMBRAs

Low-Income Housing – FTB 3521 172 Similar to the federal credit but limited to low-income housing in California
199 6% of the cost of qualified property

Manufacturing Enhancement Area (MEA)
Hiring – FTB 3808

211 Percentage of qualified wages paid to qualified disadvantaged individuals

Nonrefundable Renter’s — See page 26 None For California residents who paid rent for their principal residence for at least 6 months
in 1998 and whose AGI does not exceed a certain limit

Other State Tax – Schedule S 187 Net income tax paid to another state or a U.S. possession on income also taxed by
California

188 Must have paid alternative minimum tax in a prior year and have no alternative minimum
tax liability in 1998

162 10% of wages paid to prison inmates
Research – FTB 3523 183 Similar to the federal credit but limited to costs for research activities in California
Rice Straw – obtain certification from: Rice Straw

Tax Credit Program, Department of Food and
Agriculture, 1220 N Street Room 409,
Sacramento, CA 95814

206 $15 per ton of purchased rice straw grown in California 

Salmon & Steelhead Trout Habitat Restoration –
obtain certification from: Department of Fish and
Game, c/o FISH-Timber Tax Credits Program,
PO Box 944209, Sacramento CA 95244-2090

200 The lesser of 10% of qualified costs or other amount determined by the Department of
Fish and Game 

Senior Head of Household –
Worksheet follows this chart.

163 2% of taxable income up to $861 for seniors who qualified for head of household and
the qualifying individual died during 1996 or 1997

Targeted Tax Area (TTA) Hiring & Sales or
Use Tax – FTB 3809

210 Business incentives for TTA businesses

Agricultural Products
Commercial Solar Electric System
Commercial Solar Energy
Employee Ridesharing
Employer Ridesharing: Large employer

Small employer
Transit passes

175
196
181
194
191
192
193

Repealed Credits: The expiration dates for these credits have passed. However, these credits had carryover features. You may claim these credits
only if there is a carryover available from prior years. If you are not required to complete Schedule P (540), get form FTB 3540,
Credit Carryover Summary, to figure your credit carryover to future years.

Energy Conservation
Orphan Drug
Los Angeles Revitalization Zone (LARZ)

Hiring & Sales or Use Tax
Low-Emission Vehicles
Political Contributions
Recycling Equipment

Residential Rental & Farm Sales
Ridesharing
Solar Energy
Solar Pump
Water Conservation
Young Infant

182
185

159
160
184
174

186
171
180
179
178
161

Credit for Joint Custody Head of Household — Code 170
Note: You may not claim this credit if you used either the head
of household or qualifying widow(er) filing status.
You may claim a credit if you were unmarried at the end of
1998 (or if married, you lived apart from your spouse for all of
1998 and you used the married filing separate filing status); and
if you furnished more than one-half the household expenses for
your home that also served as the home of your child, step-child
or grandchild for at least 146 days but not more than 219 days
of the taxable year. If the child is married, you must be entitled
to claim a dependent exemption credit for the child.
Also, the custody arrangement for the child must be part of a
decree of dissolution or separate maintenance or must be part
of a written agreement between the parents where the proceed-
ings have been initiated, but a decree of dissolution or separate
maintenance has not yet been issued.
Use the worksheet below to figure this credit.
1. Enter the amount from Form 540,

line 24 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 1
2. Enter the form FTB 5870A tax, if any,

included on Form 540, line 23 . . . . . 2
3. Subtract line 2 from line 1 . . . . . . 3
4. Credit percentage — 30% . . . . . . . 4 x .30
5. Credit amount. Multiply line 3 by

line 4. Enter the result or $281,
whichever is less. . . . . . . . . . . . 5

Credit for Dependent Parent — Code 173
Note: You may not claim the credit for dependent parent if you
used the single, head of household, qualifying widow(er) or mar-
ried filing joint filing status.
You may claim this credit only if:
• You were married at the end of 1998 and you used the mar-

ried filing separate filing status;
• Your spouse was not a member of your household during

the last six months of the year; and
• You furnished over one-half the household expenses for

your dependent mother’s or father’s home, whether or not
she or he lived in your home.

To figure the amount of this credit, use the worksheet for the
credit for joint custody head of household.

Credit for Senior Head of Household — Code 163
You may claim this credit if you:
• Were 65 years of age or older on December 31, 1998;
• Qualified as a head of household in 1996 or 1997 by provid-

ing a household for a qualifying individual who died during
1996 or 1997; and

• Did not have adjusted gross income over $45,675 for 1998.
Note: If you meet all the conditions listed above, you do not
need to qualify to use the head of household filing status for
1998 in order to claim this credit.
Use the worksheet on the next page to figure this credit.

Local Agency Military Base Recovery Area
(LAMBRA) Hiring & Sales or Use Tax –
FTB 3807

Manufacturers’ Investment – FTB 3535

Prior Year Alternative Minimum Tax – FTB 3510

Prison Inmate Labor – FTB 3507
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1. Enter the amount from Form 540,

line 19 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 1
2. Credit percentage — 2% . . . . . . . 2 x .02
3. Credit amount. Multiply line 1 by

line 2. Enter the result or $861,
whichever is less. . . . . . . . . . . . 3

Credit for Child Adoption Costs — Code 197
For the year in which an order of adoption is entered, you may
claim a credit for 50% of the cost of adopting a child who is a
citizen or legal resident of the United States and who was in the
custody of a California public agency or a California political
subdivision. You may include the following costs if directly
related to the adoption process:
• Fees of the Department of Social Services or a licensed

adoption agency;
• Medical expenses not reimbursed by insurance; and
• Travel expenses for the adoptive family.
Note: Any deduction for the expenses used to claim this credit
must be reduced by the amount of the child adoption costs
credit claimed.
Use the worksheet below to figure this credit. If more than one
adoption qualifies for this credit, complete a separate worksheet
for each adoption. The maximum credit is limited to $2,500 per
minor child.
1. Enter qualifying costs for the child. . . 1
2. Credit percentage — 50% . . . . . . . 2 x .50
3. Credit amount. Multiply line 1

by line 2. Do not enter more than $2,500 3
Your allowable credit is limited to $2,500 for 1998. You may
carry over the excess credit to future years until the credit is
used.

Line 31 – Nonrefundable renter’s credit
Go to the instructions for ‘‘Step 6’’ on page 34.

Line 34 – Subtract the amount on line 33 from the amount on
line 25. Enter the result on line 34. If the amount on line 33 is
more than the amount on line 25, enter -0-. If you owe interest
on deferred tax from installment obligations, include the addi-
tional tax, if any, in the amount you enter on line 34. Write ‘‘IRC
Section 453 interest’’ or ‘‘IRC Section 453A interest’’ and the
amount on the dotted line to the left of the amount on line 34.

Step 7
Other Taxes

Attach the specific form or statement required for each entry in
this step.

Line 35 – Alternative Minimum Tax (AMT)
If you claim certain types of deductions, exclusions and credits,
you may owe AMT if your total income is more than: $57,260 if
married filing joint or qualifying widow(er); $42,945 if single or
head of household; or $28,630 if married filing separate.
A child under age 14 may owe AMT if the sum of the amount
on line 19 (taxable income) and any preference items listed on
Schedule P (540) and included on the return is more than the
sum of $5,000 and the child’s earned income.
AMT income does not include income, adjustments and items of
tax preference related to any trade or business of a qualified
taxpayer who has gross receipts, less returns and allowances,
during the taxable year of less than $1,000,000 from all trades
or businesses.
Get Schedule P (540) for more information.

Line 36 – Other Taxes and Credit Recapture
If you used form(s) FTB 3501, Employer Child Care Pro-
gram/Contribution Credit; FTB 3535, Manufacturers’ Investment
Credit; FTB 3805P, Additional Taxes Attributable to IRAs, Other
Qualified Retirement Plans, Annuities, Modified Endowment
Contracts and MSAs; FTB 3805Z, Enterprise Zone Deduction
and Credit Summary; FTB 3806, Los Angeles Revitalization
Zone (LARZ) Deduction and Credit Summary or FTB 3807,
Local Agency Military Base Recovery Area Deduction and Credit
Summary; include the additional tax, if any, on line 36. Write the
form number on the dotted line to the left of the amount on
line 36.

Step 8
Payments

Make sure you have your Form(s) W-2, W-2G, 1099-MISC and
1099-R before you begin this step.
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If you received wages and do not have a Form W-2, see the
instructions for ‘‘Sign Your Return’’ on page 38.

Line 38 – California Income Tax Withheld

&
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Enter the total California income tax withheld from your:
• Form(s) W-2, box 18;
• Form(s) W-2G, box 14;
• Form(s) 1099-MISC, box 11; or
• Form(s) 1099-R, box 10.
Caution: Do not include city or county tax withheld or tax with-
held by other states.
If you received Form(s) 1099 showing California income tax
withheld (‘‘backup withholding’’) on dividends and interest
income, real estate sales and partnership distributions, include
the amount(s) withheld in the total on line 38.

Line 39 – 1998 CA Estimated Tax and Amount Applied from 1997
Return
Enter the total of any:
• California estimated tax payments you made

(Form 540-ES) for 1998;
• Overpayment from your 1997 California income tax return

that you applied to your 1998 estimated tax;
• Payment you sent with form FTB 3519, Payment Voucher

for Automatic Extension for Individuals; and
• California estimated tax payments made on your behalf by

an estate or trust on Schedule K-1 (541).
If you and your spouse paid joint estimated tax but are filing
separate returns, either spouse may claim all of the amount
paid or may claim a part of it. Attach a statement signed by you
and your spouse explaining how you want your payments
divided. Show both social security numbers on the separate
returns. If you or your spouse made separate estimated tax pay-
ments, but are now filing a joint income tax return, add the
amounts you each paid. Attach a statement to the front of
Form 540 explaining that payments were made under both
social security numbers.

Line 41 – Excess California SDI (or VPDI) Withheld
If more than $158.84 of California State Disability Insurance
(SDI) or Voluntary Plan Disability Insurance (VPDI) was withheld
from your wages by a single employer, or if an employer with-
held SDI (or VPDI) at a rate of more than .5% of your gross
wages, you may not claim excess SDI (or VPDI) on your
Form 540, line 41 for the amount over-withheld by your
employer. Contact the employer for a refund.
You may claim a credit for excess SDI (or VPDI) only if you
meet the following conditions:
• You had two or more employers during 1998;
• You received more than $31,767 in wages during 1998 from

these employers;
• Your employers combined withheld more than $158.84 of

SDI (or VPDI) from your wages; and
• The amounts of SDI (or VPDI) withheld appear on your

Forms W-2. Be sure to attach your Forms W-2 to your
Form 540.

Complete the worksheet on page 37 to figure the amount to
enter on line 41. If you are married and file a joint return, you
must figure the amount of excess SDI (or VPDI) separately for
each spouse .
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1. Add amounts of SDI (or VPDI)
withheld shown on your Forms
W-2. Enter the total here. . 1

2.
3.

$158.84$158.84

Your
SpouseYou

1998 SDI (or VPDI) limit . . 2
Excess SDI (or VPDI) with-
held. Subtract line 2 from
line 1. Enter the result here
and on Form 540, line 41 . 3
Note:  If zero or less, enter -0- on line 41.

Step 9
Overpaid Tax
or
Tax Due

To avoid a delay in the processing of your return, be sure you
enter the correct amounts on line 43 through line 46.

Line 43 – Overpaid Tax
If the amount on line 42 is more than the amount on line 37,
subtract the amount on line 37 from the amount on line 42.
Enter the result on line 43. Your payments and credits are more
than your tax.

Line 44 – Amount You Want Applied to Your 1999 Estimated Tax
You may apply all or part of the amount on line 43 to your esti-
mated tax for 1999. Enter on line 44 the amount of line 43 that
you want applied to 1999.

Line 45 – Overpaid Tax Available This Year
If you entered an amount on line 44, subtract it from the amount
on line 43. Enter the result on line 45. You may have this entire
amount refunded to you or you may make contributions to the
California Seniors Special Fund or make voluntary contributions
from this amount. If you make a contribution, skip line 46 and
go to the instructions for ‘‘Step 10.’’

Line 46 – Tax Due
If the amount on line 42 is less than the amount on line 37, sub-
tract the amount on line 42 from the amount on line 37. Enter
the result on line 46. Your tax is more than your payments and
credits.
There is a penalty for not paying enough tax during the year.
You may have to pay a penalty if:
• The tax due on line 46 is $200 or more ($100 or more if

married filing separate); and
• The amount of state income tax withheld on line 38

is less than 80% of the amount of your total tax on
line 37.

If you owe a penalty, the Franchise Tax Board will compute the
penalty and send you a bill.
You may make contributions to the California Seniors Special
Fund or make voluntary contributions by adding them to the tax
due. You must pay the full amount of tax due, including contri-
butions, when you file your Form 540.

Step 10
Contri-
butions

You may make contributions in whole-dollar amounts only. If
you make one or more contributions, you must complete ‘‘Step
10.’’ You may contribute to only the following funds and cannot
change the amount you contributed after the return is filed.
If you have overpaid tax available on line 45, the amount you
contribute must be subtracted from your overpaid tax available.
If you have tax due on line 46, your total contributions must be
added to your tax due.

Line 47 – Contribution to California Seniors Special Fund
If you or your spouse claim the senior exemption credit on
line 9, you may each make a contribution of up to $70 to the
California Seniors Special Fund. Your contribution will be used
to support the work of the area Agency on Aging Council of
California in its role as an advocate for California seniors. All
contributions over those needed for this work will be used to
provide direct services to senior citizens such as meals, adult
day care and transportation. The actual use of the funds will be
determined at the local level by the Area Agency on Aging, its
Advisory Council of Seniors and the senior community. On line

47, enter the amount of your contribution. If you contribute, do
not enter more than $70; if you and your spouse contribute, do
not enter more than $140.
Voluntary Contributions
You may make voluntary contributions of $1 or more in whole-
dollar amounts.

Line 48 – Alzheimer’s Disease/Related Disorders Fund
Contributions entered on line 48 will be used to conduct a pro-
gram for researching the cause and cure of Alzheimer’s disease
and related disorders and research into the care and treatment
of persons suffering from dementing illnesses.

Line 49 – California Fund for Senior Citizens
Contributions entered on line 49 will be used by the California
Fund for Senior Citizens which supports direct services to
seniors and the work of the California Senior Legislature. The
California Senior Legislature is a non-partisan, volunteer, grass
roots body of seniors 60 years of age or older, elected by their
peers. The California Senior Legislature has been instrumental
in creating and steering senior legislation through the regular
legislature; legislation, such as: Alzheimer Studies and
Research; Adult Day Health Care Centers; nutrition centers;
respite care; long term care; the funding and broadening of In
Home Support Services; programs to abolish abuse of seniors;
skilled nursing facility reforms; and many more. All donations
over those needed to carry out the California Senior Legisla-
ture’s work, will be distributed for direct services to needy
seniors.

Line 50 – Rare and Endangered Species Preservation Program
Contributions entered on line 50 will help to protect and con-
serve California’s many threatened and endangered species
and the wild lands that they need to survive, for the enjoyment
and benefit of you and future generations of Californians.

Line 51 – State Children’s Trust Fund for the Prevention of Child
Abuse
Contributions entered on line 51 will be used to fund programs
for the prevention, intervention and treatment of child abuse and
neglect.

Line 52 – California Breast Cancer Research Fund
Contributions entered on line 52 will be used to conduct
research relating to the prevention, screening, cure and treat-
ment of breast cancer.

Line 53 – California Firefighters’ Memorial Fund
Contributions entered on line 53 will be used for the construc-
tion of a memorial on the grounds of the State Capitol honoring
the hundreds of firefighters who have died protecting our neigh-
borhoods, our homes, our families and our dreams. These
brave men and women answered the call when fire alarms
sounded or when hazardous, cancer-causing elements needed
to be removed, and their sacrifices and the sacrifices of their
families deserve to be remembered.

Line 54 – California Public School Library Protection Fund
Contributions entered on line 54 will be expended for the pur-
chase of books and other library resources through grants
awarded for implementing a school library improvement plan.

Line 55 – D.A.R.E. California (Drug Abuse Resistance Education)
Fund
Contributions entered on line 55 will be used to support local
D.A.R.E. programs and provide proven effective, in-classroom
anti-drug, anti-gang and anti-violence education for California
school children.

Line 56 – California Military Museum Fund
Contributions entered on line 56 will be used to support the
museum’s effort to: 1) collect, exhibit, and preserve California’s
military history from 1775 to date; 2) assist in educating the
general public, especially school children, about our American
military heritage and thus instill pride therein; 3) recognize all
branches of the U.S. Armed Forces and the contributions of eth-
nicities and their members throughout our proud military history;
and 4) maintain and operate the facilities required.
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Line 57 – California Mexican American Veterans’ Memorial

Contributions entered on line 57 will be used to pay for the con-
struction, beautification, enhancement, maintenance or repair of
the California Mexican American Veterans’ Memorial.

Line 58 – Emergency Food Assistance Program Fund
Contributions entered on line 58 will help local food banks feed
California’s hungry. Your contribution will fund the purchase of
much-needed food for delivery to food banks, pantries and soup
kitchens throughout the state. The State Department of Social
Services will monitor its distribution to ensure the food is given
to those most in need.

Line 59 – Total Contributions
Add line 47 through line 58. Enter the result on line 59. If you
show an amount on Form 540, line 45, you must subtract the
amount you contribute from the amount of overpaid tax. If you
show an amount on Form 540, line 46, you must add your total
contributions to your tax due.

Step 11
Refund or
Amount
You Owe

Be sure to add or subtract correctly to figure the amount of your
refund or the amount you owe.

Line 60 – Refund or No Amount Due
If you did not enter an amount on line 59, enter the amount
from line 45 on line 60. This is the amount that will be refunded
to you. If this amount is less than $1, you must attach a written
statement to your Form 540 requesting the refund.
If you entered an amount on line 59, subtract it from the amount
on line 45. If the result is zero or more, enter it on line 60. Then
skip to the instructions for Step 12.
If the result is less than zero, your contributions are more than
your overpaid tax available on line 45. In this case, do not enter
an amount on line 60. Instead, subtract the amount on line 45
from the amount on line 59. Enter the result on line 61 and see
the instructions for line 61.

&
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Want a fast refund? Get your refund within 7 to 10 calendar
days (or within 5 to 7 banking days with direct deposit!).
E-file your return!

Line 61 – Amount You Owe
If you did not enter an amount on line 59, enter the amount
from line 46 on line 61. This is the amount you owe with your
Form 540.
If you entered an amount on line 59, add that amount to the
amount on line 46. Enter the result on line 61. This is the
amount you owe with your Form 540.
• Make your check or money order payable to the ‘‘Franchise

Tax Board’’ for the full amount you owe. Do not send cash.
Write your social security number and ‘‘1998 Form 540’’ on
your check or money order.

• Attach your check or money order to your return. See
‘‘Assembling your return’’ on page 8.

A penalty may be imposed for a check returned by your bank
for insufficient funds. To avoid a late filing penalty, file your
Form 540 by the due date even if you cannot pay the amount
you owe.
Do not combine your 1998 tax payment and any 1999 estimated
tax payment in the same check. You must send two separate
checks and mail each check in a separate envelope to different
addresses.
If you cannot pay the full amount shown on line 61 with your
return, you may request to make monthly payments. See
page 49, ‘‘Installment Payments,’’ for more information.

Step 12
Interest &
Penalties

If you file your return or pay your tax after the due date, you
may owe interest and penalties on the tax due.
Note: Do not reduce the amount on line 43 or increase the
amount on line 46 by any penalty or interest amounts.

Line 62 – Interest and Penalties
Enter on line 62 the amount of interest and late penalties
included in your payment.

Interest
Interest will be charged on any late filing or late payment pen-
alty from the original due date of the return to the date paid. In
addition, if other penalties are not paid within 15 days, interest
will be charged from the date of the billing notice until the date
of payment. Interest compounds daily and the interest rate is
adjusted twice a year.
Late Filing of Return
The maximum total penalty is 25% of the tax not paid if the
return is filed after October 15, 1999. The minimum penalty for
filing a return more than 60 days late is $100 or 100% of the
balance due, whichever is less.
Late Payment of Tax
The penalty is 5% of the tax not paid when due plus 1/2% for
each month, or part of a month, the tax remains unpaid.
Other Penalties
There are also other penalties that can be imposed for a check
returned for insufficient funds, negligence, substantial under-
statement of tax and fraud.

Line 63 – Underpayment of Estimated Tax
If line 46 is $200 ($100 if married filing separate) or more and
more than 20% of the sum of the tax shown on line 34 (ex-
cluding the tax on lump-sum distributions on line 23), or you
underpaid your 1998 estimated tax liability for any payment
period, you may owe a penalty. The Franchise Tax Board can
figure the penalty for you when you file your return and send
you a bill. Or to see if you owe a penalty and to figure the
amount of the penalty, get form FTB 5805, Underpayment of
Estimated Tax by Individuals and Fiduciaries (or form
FTB 5805F, Underpayment of Estimated Tax by Farmers and
Fishermen). If you complete one of these forms, be sure to
attach it to the front of your Form 540 on top of any check,
money order, Form W-2, Form 1099 or special documentation.
Enter the amount of the penalty on line 63 and check the box at
line 63. You must complete and attach the form if you claim a
waiver, use the annualized income installment method or pay
tax according to the schedule for farmers and fishermen even if
you do not owe a penalty.
See page 6, Tax Time Tips, for more information on estimated
tax payments and how to avoid the underpayment penalty.

Line 64 – 1999 Tax Forms
If your Form 540 is prepared by someone else, or if you do not
need forms mailed to you next year, check the box at line 64.

Sign
Your
Return

You must sign your return in the space provided on Side 2. If
you file a joint return, your spouse must sign it also.
Paid Preparer’s Information
If you pay a person to prepare your California income tax return,
that person must sign and complete the area at the bottom of
Side 2. A paid preparer must give you two copies of your return:
one copy to file with the Franchise Tax Board and one to keep
for your records.
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Attach Your Forms W-2 to Your Return
You must attach Copy 2 of all Form(s) W-2, W-2G, and 1099-R
to the front of your return. If you do not receive your Form W-2
by January 31, 1999, contact your employer. Only your
employer can give or correct a Form W-2.
If you cannot get a copy of your Form(s) W-2, you must com-
plete form FTB 3525, Substitute for Form W-2, Wage and Tax
Statement, or Form 1099-R, Distributions from Pensions, Annui-
ties, Retirement or Profit-Sharing Plans, IRAs, Insurance Con-
tracts, etc. See ‘‘Order Forms’’ on the back cover.
If you forget to send your Form(s) W-2 with your income tax
return, do not send it separately. Wait until the Franchise Tax
Board requests the Form(s) W-2 from you.&

613 Check Your Social Security Number(s)
Make sure that you have written your social security number(s)
in the spaces provided at the top of Form 540 in ‘‘Step 1a.’’
Attaching Federal Form 1040 See ‘‘Attachments to your
return,’’ on page 8.

&
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Mailing Addresses
See, ‘‘Mailing your return,’’ on page 6.
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Part I Income Adjustment Schedule A B C
Federal Amounts
(taxable amounts from
your federal return)

Subtractions
See instructions.

Additions
See instructions.

7 Wages, salaries, tips, etc. See instructions before making an entry in column B or C 7
8 Taxable interest income . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 8
9 Ordinary dividends . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 9

10 State tax refund. Enter the same amount in column A and column B . . . . . . . . . 10
11 Alimony received . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 11
12 Business income or (loss) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 12
13 Capital gain or (loss) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 13
14 Other gains or (losses) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 14
15 Total IRA distributions. See instructions. (a) . . . (b)
16 Total pensions and annuities. See instructions. (a) (b)
17 Rental real estate, royalties, partnerships, S corporations, trusts, etc. . . . . . . . . . 17
18 Farm income or (loss) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 18
19 Unemployment compensation. Enter the same amount in column A and column B . 19
20 Social security benefits (a) . . . . . . . . . . . . (b)

23 IRA deduction . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 23
24 Student loan interest deduction . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 24
25 Medical savings account deduction . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 25
26 Moving expenses. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 26
27 One-half of self-employment tax . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 27
28 Self-employed health insurance deduction . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 28
29 Keogh and self-employed SEP and SIMPLE plans . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 29
30 Penalty on early withdrawal of savings . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 30
31a Alimony paid. (b) Recipient’s: SSN - -

Last name 31a
32 Add line 23 through line 31a in columns A, B, and C . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 32
33 Total. Subtract line 32 from line 22 in columns A, B, and C. See the instructions

for how to transfer the total to Form 540 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 33

21 Other income.
a California lottery winnings e NOL from FTB 3805Z, 3806 or 3807
b Disaster loss carryover from FTB 3805V f Other (describe) 21
c Federal NOL (Form 1040, line 21)
d NOL carryover from FTB 3805V

22 Total. Combine line 7 through line 21 in column A. Add line 7 through line 21f in
column B and column C. Go to Section B . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 22

Part II Adjustments To Federal Itemized Deductions

35 Federal itemized deductions. Add the amounts on federal Sch. A (Form 1040), lines 4, 9, 14, 18, 19, 26 and 27 . . . . . . . . 35
36 Enter total of federal Sch. A, line 5 (state and local income tax and State Disability Insurance) and line 8 (foreign taxes only) 36
37 Subtract line 36 from line 35 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 37
38 Other adjustments including California lottery losses. See instructions. Specify . . . . . . . . . . 38
39 Combine line 37 and line 38 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 39

Important:  Attach this schedule directly behind Form 540, Side 2.
Name(s) as shown on return

Section A – Income

a
b
c
d
e
f

a
b
c
d
e
f

{
Section B – Adjustments to Income

40 Is the amount on Form 540, line 13 more than the
amount shown below for your filing status?
Single or married filing separate . . . . . . $116,777
Head of household . . . . . . . . . . . . . $175,166
Married filing joint or qualifying widow(er) . $233,556
NO. Transfer the amount on line 39 to line 40.
YES. Complete the Itemized Deductions Worksheet

in the instructions for Sch. CA (540), line 40.

40}
Is the amount you entered on line 40 more
than your standard deduction below?
Single or married filing separate . . . . . . . . . . . . $2,642
Married filing joint, head of household or

qualifying widow(er) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $5,284
YES. Transfer the amount on line 40 to Form 540, line 18.
NO. Enter your standard deduction on Form 540, line 18.

Social security number

SCHEDULE

CA54098109



TAXABLE YEAR

1998 3885ADepreciation and Amortization Adjustments

TAXABLE YEAR SCHEDULE

1998 DCalifornia Capital Gain or Loss Adjustment

Name(s) as shown on return Business or activity to which form FTB 3885A relates

Part I Identify the activity as passive or nonpassive. See instructions.
1 ■ This form is being completed for a passive activity. ■ This form is being completed for a nonpassive activity.

(a) Description of property placed
in service during 1998

(a) Description of property (identify S corporation stock)
Example: 100 shares of ‘‘Z’’ (S stock)

1a

1b

(b) Sales price (c) Cost or other basis (d) Loss. If (c) is more than
(b), subtract (b) from (c)

(e) Gain. If (b) is more than
(c), subtract (c) from (b)

4 Add the amounts on line 3, column (f) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 4
5 California depreciation for assets placed in service prior to 1998. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 5
6 Total California depreciation from this activity. Add the amounts on line 2, line 4 and line 5 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 6
7 Total federal depreciation from this activity. Enter depreciation from your federal Form 4562, line 21 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 7
8 a If line 6 is more than line 7, enter the difference here and see instructions. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 8a

b If line 6 is less than line 7, enter the difference here and see instructions . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 8b

2 Net gain or (loss) shown on California Schedule(s) K-1 from partnerships, S corporations,
fiduciaries and limited liability companies . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 2

3 Capital gain distributions (federal Form 1099-DIV, box 2a minus box 2d) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 3
4 Total 1998 gains from all sources. Add column (e) amounts of line 1a, line 1b, line 2 and line 3 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 4
5 1998 loss. Add column (d) amounts of line 1 and line 2 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 5
6 California capital loss carryover from 1997, if any. See instructions . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 6
7 Total 1998 loss. Add line 5 and line 6 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 7
8 Combine line 4 and line 7. If a loss, go to line 9. If a gain, go to line 10 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 8
9 If line 8 is a loss, enter the smaller of: (a) the loss on line 8; or

(b) $3,000 ($1,500 if married filing a separate return). See instructions. . . . . . 9
10 Enter the amount from federal Form 1040, line 13 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 10
11 Enter the California gain from line 8 or loss from line 9 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 11
12 a If line 10 is more than line 11, enter the difference here and on Sch. CA (540 or 540NR) line 13, col. B . . . . . . . . 12a

b If line 10 is less than line 11, enter the difference here and on Sch. CA (540 or 540NR), line 13, col. C . . . . . . . . 12b

Page 40 FTB 3885A/Schedule D 1998

Part II Election to Expense Certain Tangible Property (IRC Section 179).
2 Enter the amount from line 11 of the worksheet in the instructions . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 2

Part III Depreciation. (b) Date placed
in service

(c) California basis
for depreciation

(d) Method (e) Life or
rate

(f) 1998 California
depreciation deduction

3

(a) Description of costs
amortizable during 1998

10 Total California amortization from this activity. Add the amounts on line 9, column (f) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 10
11 California amortization of costs that began before 1998 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 11
12 Total California amortization from this activity. Add the amounts on line 10 and line 11 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 12
13 Total federal amortization from this activity. Enter amortization from your federal Form 4562, line 42 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 13
14 a If line 12 is more than line 13, enter the difference here and see instructions . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 14a

b If line 12 is less than line 13, enter the difference here and see instructions . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 14b

Part IV Amortization. (b) Date placed
in service

(c) California basis
for amortization

(d) Code
section

(e) Period or
percentage

(f) 1998 California
amortization deduction

9

Social security number

CALIFORNIA FORM

3885A98109



TAXABLE YEAR

1998 CA (540)California Adjustments — Residents

Schedule CA (540) 1998 Page 41

Part I Income Adjustment Schedule A B C
Federal Amounts
(taxable amounts from
your federal return)

Subtractions
See instructions.

Additions
See instructions.

7 Wages, salaries, tips, etc. See instructions before making an entry in column B or C 7
8 Taxable interest income . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 8
9 Ordinary dividends . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 9

10 State tax refund. Enter the same amount in column A and column B . . . . . . . . . 10
11 Alimony received . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 11
12 Business income or (loss) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 12
13 Capital gain or (loss) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 13
14 Other gains or (losses) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 14
15 Total IRA distributions. See instructions. (a) . . . (b)
16 Total pensions and annuities. See instructions. (a) (b)
17 Rental real estate, royalties, partnerships, S corporations, trusts, etc. . . . . . . . . . 17
18 Farm income or (loss) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 18
19 Unemployment compensation. Enter the same amount in column A and column B . 19
20 Social security benefits (a) . . . . . . . . . . . . (b)

23 IRA deduction . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 23
24 Student loan interest deduction . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 24
25 Medical savings account deduction . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 25
26 Moving expenses. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 26
27 One-half of self-employment tax . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 27
28 Self-employed health insurance deduction . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 28
29 Keogh and self-employed SEP and SIMPLE plans . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 29
30 Penalty on early withdrawal of savings . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 30
31a Alimony paid. (b) Recipient’s: SSN - -

Last name 31a
32 Add line 23 through line 31a in columns A, B, and C . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 32
33 Total. Subtract line 32 from line 22 in columns A, B, and C. See the instructions

for how to transfer the total to Form 540 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 33

21 Other income.
a California lottery winnings e NOL from FTB 3805Z, 3806 or 3807
b Disaster loss carryover from FTB 3805V f Other (describe) 21
c Federal NOL (Form 1040, line 21)
d NOL carryover from FTB 3805V

22 Total. Combine line 7 through line 21 in column A. Add line 7 through line 21f in
column B and column C. Go to Section B . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 22

Part II Adjustments To Federal Itemized Deductions

35 Federal itemized deductions. Add the amounts on federal Sch. A (Form 1040), lines 4, 9, 14, 18, 19, 26 and 27 . . . . . . . . 35
36 Enter total of federal Sch. A, line 5 (state and local income tax and State Disability Insurance) and line 8 (foreign taxes only) 36
37 Subtract line 36 from line 35 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 37
38 Other adjustments including California lottery losses. See instructions. Specify . . . . . . . . . . 38
39 Combine line 37 and line 38 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 39

Important:  Attach this schedule directly behind Form 540, Side 2.
Name(s) as shown on return

Section A – Income

a
b
c
d
e
f

a
b
c
d
e
f

{
Section B – Adjustments to Income

40 Is the amount on Form 540, line 13 more than the
amount shown below for your filing status?
Single or married filing separate . . . . . . $116,777
Head of household . . . . . . . . . . . . . $175,166
Married filing joint or qualifying widow(er) . $233,556
NO. Transfer the amount on line 39 to line 40.
YES. Complete the Itemized Deductions Worksheet

in the instructions for Sch. CA (540), line 40.

40}
Is the amount you entered on line 40 more
than your standard deduction below?
Single or married filing separate . . . . . . . . . . . . $2,642
Married filing joint, head of household or

qualifying widow(er) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $5,284
YES. Transfer the amount on line 40 to Form 540, line 18.
NO. Enter your standard deduction on Form 540, line 18.

Social security number

SCHEDULE

CA54098109



TAXABLE YEAR

1998 3885ADepreciation and Amortization Adjustments

TAXABLE YEAR SCHEDULE

1998 DCalifornia Capital Gain or Loss Adjustment

Name(s) as shown on return Business or activity to which form FTB 3885A relates

Part I Identify the activity as passive or nonpassive. See instructions.
1 ■ This form is being completed for a passive activity. ■ This form is being completed for a nonpassive activity.

(a) Description of property placed
in service during 1998

(a) Description of property (identify S corporation stock)
Example: 100 shares of ‘‘Z’’ (S stock)

1a

1b

(b) Sales price (c) Cost or other basis (d) Loss. If (c) is more than
(b), subtract (b) from (c)

(e) Gain. If (b) is more than
(c), subtract (c) from (b)

4 Add the amounts on line 3, column (f) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 4
5 California depreciation for assets placed in service prior to 1998. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 5
6 Total California depreciation from this activity. Add the amounts on line 2, line 4 and line 5 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 6
7 Total federal depreciation from this activity. Enter depreciation from your federal Form 4562, line 21 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 7
8 a If line 6 is more than line 7, enter the difference here and see instructions. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 8a

b If line 6 is less than line 7, enter the difference here and see instructions . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 8b

2 Net gain or (loss) shown on California Schedule(s) K-1 from partnerships, S corporations,
fiduciaries and limited liability companies . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 2

3 Capital gain distributions (federal Form 1099-DIV, box 2a minus box 2d) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 3
4 Total 1998 gains from all sources. Add column (e) amounts of line 1a, line 1b, line 2 and line 3 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 4
5 1998 loss. Add column (d) amounts of line 1 and line 2 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 5
6 California capital loss carryover from 1997, if any. See instructions . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 6
7 Total 1998 loss. Add line 5 and line 6 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 7
8 Combine line 4 and line 7. If a loss, go to line 9. If a gain, go to line 10 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 8
9 If line 8 is a loss, enter the smaller of: (a) the loss on line 8; or

(b) $3,000 ($1,500 if married filing a separate return). See instructions. . . . . . 9
10 Enter the amount from federal Form 1040, line 13 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 10
11 Enter the California gain from line 8 or loss from line 9 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 11
12 a If line 10 is more than line 11, enter the difference here and on Sch. CA (540 or 540NR) line 13, col. B . . . . . . . . 12a

b If line 10 is less than line 11, enter the difference here and on Sch. CA (540 or 540NR), line 13, col. C . . . . . . . . 12b

Page 42 FTB 3885A/Schedule D 1998

Part II Election to Expense Certain Tangible Property (IRC Section 179).
2 Enter the amount from line 11 of the worksheet in the instructions . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 2

Part III Depreciation. (b) Date placed
in service

(c) California basis
for depreciation

(d) Method (e) Life or
rate

(f) 1998 California
depreciation deduction

3

(a) Description of costs
amortizable during 1998

10 Total California amortization from this activity. Add the amounts on line 9, column (f) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 10
11 California amortization of costs that began before 1998 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 11
12 Total California amortization from this activity. Add the amounts on line 10 and line 11 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 12
13 Total federal amortization from this activity. Enter amortization from your federal Form 4562, line 42 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 13
14 a If line 12 is more than line 13, enter the difference here and see instructions . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 14a

b If line 12 is less than line 13, enter the difference here and see instructions . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 14b

Part IV Amortization. (b) Date placed
in service

(c) California basis
for amortization

(d) Code
section

(e) Period or
percentage

(f) 1998 California
amortization deduction

9

Social security number

CALIFORNIA FORM

3885A98109
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Instructions for Schedule CA (540)
These instructions are based on the Internal Revenue Code (IRC) as of January 1, 1998 and the California Revenue and Taxation Code (R&TC).

General Information
Differences Between California and
Federal Law
California legislation enacted in 1998 conforms
California tax law to the Internal Revenue Code
(IRC) as of January 1, 1998. However, there are
continuing differences between California and
federal tax law. California has not conformed to
the changes made to the IRC by the Internal
Revenue Service (IRS) Restructuring and Reform
Act of 1998 (Public Law 105-206) and the Tax
and Trade Relief Extension Act of 1998 (Public
Law 105-277).
California law is different from federal law in the
following areas:
IRC Section 179 expense deduction. The Cali-
fornia maximum deduction is $16,000; the federal
maximum deduction is $18,500. In many cases,
this difference also affects the California basis
and depreciation deduction for qualifying assets.
See form FTB 3885A, Depreciation and Amorti-
zation Adjustments.
IRC Section 197 property. Property qualifying
as Section 197 property for federal purposes is
also Section 197 property for California purposes.
However, for qualifying property acquired before
January 1, 1994, the California adjusted basis as
of January 1, 1994, must be amortized over the
remaining federal amortization period. See
form FTB 3885A.
Material participation in rental real estate
activities. Beginning in 1994, and for federal
purposes only, rental real estate activities con-
ducted by persons in a real property business
are not automatically treated as passive activi-
ties. California did not conform to this provision.
Get form FTB 3801, Passive Activity Loss
Limitations, for more information.
Excluded gain on the sale of qualified small
business stock held for more than five years.
Get FTB Pub. 1001, Supplemental Guidelines to
California Adjustments.
Roth IRAs. See the instructions for Column B
and Column C, line 15.
Self-employed health insurance deduction.
The California deduction for health insurance
costs of self- employed individuals is 40%; the
federal deduction is 45%. See the instructions for
Column B and Column C, line 28.

Purpose
Use this schedule to make adjustments to your
federal adjusted gross income and to your fed-
eral itemized deductions using California law.

Part I – Specific Line Instructions
Column A — Federal Amounts

Line 7 through Line 21
Enter on line 7 through line 21 the same
amounts you entered on your federal Form 1040,
line 7 through line 21 (or on your federal Form
1040A, line 7 through line 13b; or on your federal
Form 1040EZ line 1, line 2 and line 3). Also
enter the following if applicable:

• The total IRA distribution received on
line 15(a);

• The total pension or annuity distribution
received on line 16(a); and

• The total social security retirement benefit
received on line 20(a).

Line 22 – Total
Combine the amounts on line 7 through line 21.

Line 23 through Line 30
Enter the same amounts you entered on your
federal Form 1040, line 23 through line 30 (or
your Form 1040A, line 15 and line 16).

Line 31a and Line 31b
Enter on line 31a the same amount you entered
on your federal Form 1040, line 31a. Enter on
line 31b the social security number and last
name of the person to whom you paid alimony.
Line 32 – Add line 23 through line 31a. How-
ever, if you made any of the adjustments
described in the instructions for federal
Form 1040, line 32 or if you claimed the foreign
housing deduction from federal Form 2555, For-
eign Earned Income, or Form 2555-EZ, Foreign
Earned Income Exclusion, enter the amount from
Form 1040, line 32 on this line.

Line 33 – Total
Subtract line 32 from line 22.

Column B and Column C — Subtractions
and Additions
Use these columns to enter subtractions and
additions to federal amounts in column A that are
necessary because of the differences between
California and federal law. Enter all amounts as
positive numbers unless instructed otherwise.
You may need one of the following FTB
publications to complete column B and column C:
• 1001, Supplemental Guidelines to California

Adjustments;
• 1005, Pension and Annuity Guidelines;
• 1005A, California Treatment of Roth IRA;
• 1031, Guidelines for Determining Resident

Status; or
• 1032, Tax Information for Military Personnel.
To order a publication or form, see the back
cover of your tax booklet.

Line 7 – Wages, Salaries, Tips, etc.
Generally, you will not make any adjustments on
this line. If you did not receive any of the kinds of
income listed below, make no entry on this line in
either column B or column C.
Active duty military pay. Special rules apply to
active duty military taxpayers. Get
FTB Pub. 1032 for more information.
Ride-sharing benefits or sick pay received
under the Federal Insurance Contributions
Act and Railroad Retirement Act. California
excludes these items from income. Enter in col-
umn B the amount of these benefits included in
the amount in column A.
Income exempted by U.S. tax treaties (unless
specifically exempt for state purposes also). If
you excluded this income from your federal
return, enter the excluded amount in column C. If
you claimed foreign earned income or housing
cost exclusion under IRC Section 911, see the
instructions for line 21. Get FTB Pub. 1001 for
more information.

Exclusion for compensation from exercising a
California Qualified Stock Option (CQSO). To
be eligible for this exclusion: your earned income
from the corporation granting the CQSO must be
$40,000 or less; the market value of the options
granted to you must be $100,000 or less; and
the total number of shares must be 1,000 or less.
If you included in federal income an amount
qualifying for this exclusion, enter that amount in
column B.
Employer-provided meals. If your employer pro-
vided meals to you and other employees at the
job site for the employer’s convenience, you may
have to include the value of those meals as a
taxable fringe benefit for California purposes.
California law has not conformed to the recent
federal provision that allows employees to
exclude (and employers to deduct) the value of
such meals solely because the meals were pro-
vided to more than 50% of the employees.
Check with your employer if you think that this
might apply to you. If it does, enter in column C
the amount of these benefits that were excluded
for federal tax purposes.

Line 8 – Taxable Interest Income
If you did not receive any of the kinds of income
listed below, make no entry on this line in either
column B or column C. Otherwise, follow the
instructions below.
Enter in column B the interest you received from:
• U.S. saving bonds (except for interest from

series EE U.S. savings bonds issued after
1989 that qualified for the Education Savings
Bond Program exclusion);

• U.S. Treasury bills, notes and bonds; or
• Any other bonds or obligations of the United

States and its territories;
Get FTB Pub. 1001 if you received interest
income from the following sources:
• Loans made in an enterprise zone (EZ), or

the Los Angeles Revitalization Zone (LARZ);
or

• Items listed above passed through to you
from S corporations, trusts, partnerships and
limited liability companies (LLCs).

Do not make entries in either column B or
column C for interest you earned on Federal
National Mortgage Association (Fannie Mae)
Bonds, Government National Mortgage Associa-
tion (Ginnie Mae) Bonds, and Federal Home
Loan Mortgage Corporations (FHLMC) securities.
Enter in column C the interest you identified as
tax-exempt interest on your federal Form 1040
(or Form 1040A), line 8b and which you received
from:
• Non-California state bonds;
• Non-California municipal bonds issued by a

county, city, town or other local government
unit;

• Obligations of the District of Columbia issued
after December 27, 1973; and

• Non-California bonds if the interest was
passed through to you from S corporations,
trusts, partnerships or LLCs.

Line 9 – Ordinary dividends
Generally, you will not make an adjustment on
this line. However, certain mutual funds are quali-
fied to pay ‘‘exempt-interest dividends’’ if at least
50% of their assets consist of tax-exempt govern-
ment obligations. The portion of the exempt-
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interest dividend that is tax-exempt will be shown
on your annual statement from the mutual fund.
If the California exempt-interest dividend amount
is more than the federal exempt-interest dividend
amount, enter the difference in column B.
Get FTB Pub. 1001 if you received dividends
from:
• Noncash patronage dividends from farmers’

cooperatives or mutual associations;
• A federal S corporation that is a California

C corporation;
• A controlled foreign corporation;
• Distributions of pre-1987 earnings from

S corporations;
• Undistributed capital gains for regulated

investment company (RIC) shareholders; or
• Distributed capital gain dividends.

Line 10 – State Tax Refund
California does not tax the state income tax
refund you received in 1998. Enter in column B
the amount of state tax refund you entered in
column A.

Line 11 – Alimony Received
If you are a nonresident alien and received ali-
mony that was not included in your federal
income, enter the alimony on this line in
column C. Otherwise, make no entry on this line.

Line 12 – Business Income or (Loss)
Adjustments to federal business income or loss
you reported in column A generally are neces-
sary because of the difference between Califor-
nia and federal law relating to depreciation
methods, special credits and accelerated write-
offs. As a result, the recovery period or the basis
you should use to figure California depreciation
may be different from the amount used for
federal purposes, and you may need to make an
adjustment to your business income or loss.
Adjustments are figured on form FTB 3885A and
are most commonly necessary because of the
following:
• Before January 1, 1987, California did not

allow depreciation under the federal
accelerated cost recovery system, and you
must continue to figure California depreciation
for those assets in the same manner as prior
years.

• On or after January 1, 1987, California pro-
vides special credits and accelerated write-
offs that affect the California basis of
qualifying assets. Refer to the bulleted list
below. Also, California does not conform to
certain federal provisions. See the items
listed under ‘‘General Information.’’

Use form FTB 3801, Passive Activity Loss Limita-
tion (PALS), to figure the total adjustment for
line 12 if you have:
• One or more passive activities that produce a

loss; or
• One or more passive activities that produce a

loss and any nonpassive activity reported on
federal Schedule C.

Use form FTB 3885A, Depreciation and
Amortization Adjustments, to figure the total
adjustment for line 12 if you have:
• Only nonpassive activities which produce

either gains or losses (or combination of
gains and losses); or

• Passive activities that produce gains.

Get FTB Pub. 1001 for more information about:
Income related to:
• Business, trade or profession carried on

within California that is an integral part of a
unitary business carried on both within and
outside California; or

• Pro-rata share of income received from a
controlled foreign corporation by a U.S.
shareholder.

Basis adjustments related to:
• Property acquired prior to becoming a

California resident;
• Sales or use tax credit for property used in an

EZ, LARZ, Local Agency Military Base
Recovery Area (LAMBRA) or Targeted Tax
Area (TTA);

• Reduced recovery periods for fruit-bearing
grapevines replaced in a California vineyard
on or after 1/1/92 as a result of phylloxera
infestation;

• Reduced recovery periods for fruit-bearing
grapevines replaced in a California vineyard
on or after 1/1/97 as a result of Pierce’s
disease;

• Expenditures for tertiary injectants;
• Certain property placed in service on an

Indian reservation after 1/1/94 and before
12/31/03;

• Amortization of pollution control facilities;
• Discharge of real property business

indebtedness;
• Employer-paid child care center and services;
• Employer-paid child care plan;
• Vehicles used in an employer-sponsored

ridesharing program;
• An enhanced oil recovery system;
• The cost of making a business accessible to

disabled individuals;
• Property for which you received an energy

conservation subsidy from a public utility on
or after 1/1/95 and before 1/1/97; or

• Research and experimental expenditures.
Business expense deductions related to:
• Wages paid in an EZ, LARZ, LAMBRA or

Manufacturing Enhancement Area (MEA) or
TTA;

• Certain employer costs for employees who
are also enrolled members of Indian tribes;

• Abandonment or tax recoupment fees for
open-space easements and timberland
preserves;

• Club dues or payments made to a club that
restricts membership or the use of its
services or facilities on the basis of age, sex,
race, religion, color, ancestry or national
origin;

• Lobbying expenses denied under
IRC Section 162;

• Business located in an EZ, LARZ, LAMBRA
or TTA;

• Research expense;
• Employer wage expense for the Work

Opportunity Credit and Welfare-to-Work
Credit;

• Pro-rata share of deductions received from a
controlled foreign corporation by a U.S.
shareholder;

• Interest paid on indebtedness in connection
with company-owned life insurance policies;

• Premiums paid on life insurance policies,
annuities or endowment contracts issued after
6/8/97 where the owner of the business is
directly or indirectly a policy beneficiary; or

• Meals provided to more than 50% (but less
than 100%) of employees on the employment
premises for the employer’s convenience.

Line 13 – Capital Gain or (Loss)
Generally, you will not make any adjustments on
this line if you do not have any of the items listed
below. Use Schedule D, California Gain or Loss
Adjustment, if you have differences from:
• Gain on the sale of qualified small business

stock which qualifies for the gain exclusion
under IRC Section 1202;

• Basis amounts resulting from differences
between California and federal law in prior
years;

• Gain or loss on stock and bond transactions;
• Installment sale gain reported on form

FTB 3805E, Installment Sale Income;
• Gain on the sale of personal residence where

depreciation was allowable;
• Flow-through gain or loss from partnerships,

fiduciaries, S corporations or LLCs; or
• Capital loss carryover from your 1997

California Schedule D.
Get FTB Pub. 1001 for more information about:
• Disposition of S corporation stock acquired

before 1987;
• Gain on sale or disposition of qualified

assisted housing development to low-income
residents or to specified entities maintaining
housing for low-income residents;

• Undistributed capital gain for regulated invest-
ment company (RIC) shareholders;

• Gain or loss on the sale of property inherited
before 1/1/87; or

• Capital loss carrybacks.

Line 14 – Other Gains or (Losses)
Generally, you will not make any adjustments on
this line. However, the California basis of your
other assets may be different from the federal
basis due to differences between California and
federal law. Therefore, you may have to adjust
the amount of other gains or losses. Get
Schedule D-1, Sales of Business Property, to fig-
ure the adjustment.

Line 15 – Total IRA Distributions
Generally, you will not make any adjustments on
this line. However, there may be significant differ-
ences in the taxable amount of a distribution
(including a distribution from conversion of a tra-
ditional IRA to a Roth IRA), depending on when
you made your contributions to the IRA. Differ-
ences may also occur if you changed your resi-
dency status after you first began making
contributions to your IRA or if your California IRA
deductions were different from your federal
deductions because of differences between Cali-
fornia and federal self-employment income.
If the taxable amount using California law is:
• Less than the amount taxable under federal

law, enter the difference in column B; or
• More than the amount taxable under federal

law, enter the difference in column C.
Traditional IRA – Get FTB Pub. 1005 for more
information and worksheets for figuring the
adjustment to enter on this line, if any.
Roth IRA – Get FTB Pub. 1005A, California
Treatment of Roth IRA, for information about
figuring the taxable gain and the California
adjustment if you converted a traditional IRA to a
Roth IRA.
Education (Ed) IRA – If column A includes a
taxable distribution from an Ed IRA, you may
owe additional tax on that amount. Get form
FTB 3805P, Additional Taxes Attributable to
IRAs, Other Qualified Retirement Plans, Annui-
ties, Modified Endowment Contracts and MSAs.
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Line 16 – Total Pensions and Annuities
Generally, you will not make any adjustments on
this line. However, if you received tier 2 railroad
retirement benefits or partially taxable distribu-
tions from a pension plan, you may need to
make the adjustments described below.
If you received a federal Form RRB 1099-R for
railroad retirement benefits and included all or
part of these benefits in taxable income in
column A, enter the taxable benefit amount in
column B.
If you began receiving a retirement annuity
between 7/1/86 and 1/1/87 and elected to use
the three-year rule for California purposes and
the annuity rules for federal purposes, enter in
column C the amount of the annuity payments
you excluded for federal purposes.

Line 17 – Rental Real Estate, Royalties,
Partnerships, S Corporations and Trusts, etc.
Adjustments to federal income or loss you
reported in column A generally are necessary
because of the difference between California and
federal law relating to depreciation methods,
special credits and accelerated write-offs. As a
result, the recovery period or the basis you
should use to figure California depreciation may
be different from the recovery period or amount
used for federal purposes, and you may need to
make an adjustment to your income or loss. For
more information about the types of income and
deductions that often require adjustments, see
the instructions for Column B and Column C,
line 12.
Use form FTB 3801, Passive Activity Loss Limita-
tion (PALS), to figure the total adjustment for
line 17 if you have:
• One or more passive activities that produce a

loss; or
• One or more passive activities that produce a

loss and any nonpassive activity reported on
federal Schedule E.

Use form FTB 3885A, Depreciation and Amorti-
zation Adjustments, to figure the total adjustment
for line 17 if you have:
• Only nonpassive activities which produce

either gains or losses (or combination of
gains and losses); or

• Passive activities that produce gains.
Note: LLCs that are classified as partnerships for
California purposes and limited liability partner-
ships (LLPs) are subject to the same rules as
other partnerships. LLCs report distributive items
to members on Schedule K-1 (568), Member’s
Share of Income, Deductions, Credits, etc. LLPs
report to partners on Schedule K-1 (565), Part-
ner’s Share of Income, Deductions, Credits, etc.
Get FTB Pub. 1001 for more information about
accumulation distributions to beneficiaries for
which the trust was not required to pay California
tax because the beneficiary’s interest was
contingent.

Line 18 – Farm Income or (Loss)
Adjustments to federal income or loss you report
in column A generally are necessary because of
the difference between California and federal law
relating to depreciation methods, special credits
and accelerated write-offs. As a result, the
recovery period or the basis you should use to
figure California depreciation may be different
from the amount used for federal purposes, and
you may need to make an adjustment to your
farm income or loss.

Use form FTB 3801, Passive Activity Loss Limita-
tion (PALS), to figure the total adjustment for
line 18 if you have:
• One or more passive activities that produce a

loss; or
• One or more passive activities that produce a

loss and any nonpassive activity reported on
federal Schedule F.

Use form FTB 3885A, Depreciation and Amorti-
zation Adjustments, to figure the total adjustment
for line 18 if you have:
• Only nonpassive activities which produce

either gains or losses (or combination of
gains and losses); or

• Passive activities that produce gains.

Line 19 – Unemployment Compensation
Enter on line 19, column B the amount of unem-
ployment compensation shown in column A.

Line 20 – Social Security Benefits
Enter in column B the amount of social security
benefits or equivalent tier 1 railroad retirement
benefits shown in column A.

Line 21 – Other Income
a. California Lottery Winnings. Enter in column
B the amount of California lottery winnings
included in the federal amount on line 21 in col-
umn A. Note: Do not include lottery winnings
from other states. They are taxable to California.
b. Disaster Loss Carryover from FTB 3805V. If
you have a California disaster loss carryover
from your 1997 form FTB 3805V, Net Operating
Loss (NOL) Computation and NOL and Disaster
Loss Limitations, enter that amount as a positive
number in column B.
c. Federal NOL deduction from Form 1040,
line 21. If the amount on line 21 in column A
includes a federal NOL, enter the amount of the
federal NOL deduction as a positive number in
column C. Get form FTB 3805V to figure the
allowable California NOL deduction.
d. NOL Carryover from FTB 3805V. The allow-
able NOL carryover under California law is differ-
ent from the allowable NOL carryover under
federal law. Use form FTB 3805V to figure the
allowable California NOL deduction, and enter it
as a positive number in column B.
Note: If your 1997 form FTB 3805V has both dis-
aster loss carryovers and NOL carryovers, you
will need to separately state these two amounts.
See line 21b for disaster loss carryovers.
e. NOL deduction from FTB 3805Z, FTB 3806
or FTB 3807. Enter in column B the total NOL
deduction figured on the following forms.
• FTB 3805Z, Enterprise Zone Deduction and

Credit Summary, line 4b;
• FTB 3806, Los Angeles Revitalization Zone

Deduction and Credit Summary, line 4b; or
• FTB 3807, Local Agency Military Base

Recovery Area Deduction and Credit Sum-
mary, line 4b.

f. Other (describe)
Reward from a crime hotline. Enter in column
B the amount of a reward that was authorized by
a government agency, that you received from a
crime hotline established by a government
agency or nonprofit organization and that is
included in the amount on line 21 in column A.
Note: You may not make this adjustment if you
are an employee of the hotline or someone who
sponsors rewards for the hotline.

Payments for alternative transportation (free
or subsidized parking, alternative commute
methods, monthly transit passes, etc.). Enter
in column B the amount that you received from
your employer, other than wages or salaries, for
participating in an alternative transportation
method and that is included in the amount on
line 21 in column A. For more information, get
FTB Pub. 1001.
Federal foreign earned income or housing
exclusion. Enter in column C the amount
deducted from federal income on Form 1040,
line 21.
Beverage container recycling income. Enter in
column B the amount of this type of income that
you included in the amount on line 21 in
column A.
Rebates from water agencies or suppliers.
Enter in column B the amount of this type of
income that you included in the amount on
line 21 in column A.
Original issue discount (OID) for debt instru-
ments issued in 1985 and 1986. In the year of
sale or other disposition, you must recognize the
difference between the amount reported on your
federal return and the amount reported for Cali-
fornia purposes. Issuers: Enter the difference
between the federal deductible amount and the
California deductible amount on line 21f in col-
umn B. Holders: Enter the difference between
the amount included in federal gross income and
the amount included for California purposes on
line 21f in column C.
Foreign income of nonresident aliens. Adjust
federal income to reflect worldwide income com-
puted under California law. Enter losses from for-
eign sources in column B. Enter foreign source
income in column C.
Cost-share payments received by forest land-
owners. Enter in column B the cost-share pay-
ments received from the Department of Forestry
and Fire Protection under the California Forest
Improvement Act of 1978 or from the United
States Department of Agriculture, Forest Service,
under the Forest Stewardship Program and the
Stewardship Incentives Program, pursuant to the
Cooperative Forestry Assistance Act.
Qualified prizes with cash options. Enter in
column C the lump-sum award or the value of an
annuity awarded that was not included in federal
gross income due to the special rule for cash
options for receipt of qualified prizes.
Medical Savings Account (MSA) – If column A
includes a taxable distribution from an MSA, you
may owe additional tax on that amount. Get
form FTB 3805P, Additional Taxes Attributable to
IRAs, Other Qualified Retirement Plans, Annui-
ties, Modified Endowment Contracts and MSAs.

Line 22 – Total
Add line 7 through line 21f in column B and
column C. Enter the totals on line 22.

Line 23 through Line 27
Do not enter adjustments on these lines. Califor-
nia law is the same as federal law.

Line 28 – Self-employed Health Insurance
Deduction
California law allows the deduction for self-
employed health insurance. If you qualify for the
federal deduction, you also qualify for the Califor-
nia deduction. However, the amount of the
deduction will be different for California, and you
must figure the deduction using the lower
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California percentage of 40%. Complete the fol-
lowing worksheet to figure your California deduc-
tion and to make the necessary adjustment on
Schedule CA (540):
1. Enter the total amount paid in

1998 for you, your spouse and
dependents. Do not include
amounts for any month you were
eligible to participate in an
employer-sponsored plan . . 1

2. Multiply line 1 by 40% (.40) . 2
3. Enter your net profit and any

other earned income from the
business under which the insur-
ance plan is established, minus
any deductions you claim on
Form 1040, line 27 and line 29 3

4. Enter your federal self-employed
health insurance deduction from
Form 1040, line 28 . . . . . . 4

5. Enter the smaller of line 2 or
line 3 . . . . . . . . . . . . . 5

6. Subtract line 5 from line 4.
Enter the result on line 28 in
column B . . . . . . . . . . . 6

Line 29 and Line 30
Do not enter adjustments on these lines.
California law is the same as federal law.

Line 31a – Alimony Paid
Enter the social security number and last name
of the person to whom you paid alimony. Note: If
you are a nonresident alien and did not deduct
alimony on your federal return, enter the amount
you paid in column C.

Line 32 – Add line 23 through line 31a in
column B and column C.
If you claimed the foreign housing deduction,
include that amount in the total you enter in
column B, line 32. Enter the amount and
‘‘Form 2555’’ or ‘‘Form 2555-EZ’’ on the dotted
line next to line 32.

Line 33 – Total
Subtract line 32 from line 22 in column B and
column C.
Transfer the amount from line 33:
• Column B to Form 540, Side 1, line 14; and
• Column C to Form 540, Side 1, line 16.
If you plan to itemize deductions, go to Part II.
Caution: If Schedule CA (540), line 33:
Column B is a negative number, do not transfer
it to Form 540, line 14. Instead, transfer the
amount as a positive number to Form 540,
line 16; or
Column C is a negative number, do not transfer
it to Form 540, line 16. Instead, transfer the
amount as a positive number to Form 540,
line 14.

Part II – Specific Line Instructions
Line 35 – Federal Itemized Deductions
Enter the total amount of itemized deductions
from your federal Schedule A, lines 4, 9, 14, 18,
19, 26 and 27. Important: If you did not itemize
deductions on your federal tax return but will
itemize deductions on your California tax return,
first complete federal Schedule A. Then complete
Schedule CA (540), Part II, line 35 through
line 40.

Line 36 – State, Local and Foreign Income
Taxes
Enter the state and local income tax from federal
Schedule A, line 5 and only the portion relating
to foreign income taxes from line 8. Include state
disability insurance (SDI), limited partnership tax
and income or franchise tax paid by S corpora-
tions.

Line 38 – Other Adjustments
Adoption-Related Expenses. If you deducted
adoption-related expenses on your federal
Schedule A and are claiming the adoption cost
credit for the same amounts on your Form 540,
enter the amount of the adoption cost credit
claimed as a negative number on line 38.
Mortgage Interest Credit. If you reduced your
federal mortgage interest deduction by the
amount of your mortgage interest credit (from
federal Form 8396, Mortgage Interest Credit),
increase your California itemized deductions by
the same amount. Enter the amount of your
federal mortgage interest credit as a positive
number on line 38.
Nontaxable Income Expenses. If, on federal
Schedule A, you claim expenses related to pro-
ducing income taxed under federal law but not
taxed by California, enter the amount as a nega-
tive number on line 38. You may claim expenses
related to producing income taxed by California
law but not taxed under federal law by entering
the amount as a positive number on line 38.
Employee Business Expenses:
If you completed federal Form 2106, Employee
Business Expense (or Form 2106-EZ), also com-
plete Form 2106 (or Form 2106-EZ, Unreim-
bursed Employee Business Expenses) using
California amounts. Specific differences between
California and federal law are shown below.
• Assets placed in service before 1/1/87:

Expenses on assets placed in service before
1/1/87 must be figured under California law;
and

• Federal employees on temporary duty sta-
tus: California did not conform to the recent
federal provision that expanded temporary
duties to include prosecutive duties, in addi-
tion to investigative duties. Therefore, travel
expenses paid or incurred in connection with
temporary duty status (exceeding one year),
involving the prosecution (or support of
the prosecution) of a federal crime, should
not be included when completing Form 2106
(or Form 2106-EZ) using California amounts.

Compare line 10 on both Forms 2106 (or line 6 if
using Forms 2106-EZ).
If the federal amount is larger, enter the differ-
ence as a negative number on line 38. If the
California amount is larger, enter the difference
as a positive number on line 38.
Investment Interest Expense. Your California
deduction for investment interest expense may
be different from your federal deduction. You
must use form FTB 3526, Investment Interest
Expense Deduction, to figure the amount to enter
on line 38.
Gambling Losses. California Lottery losses are
not deductible for California. Enter the amount of
California Lottery losses shown on federal
Schedule A as a negative number on line 38.
Federal Estate Tax. Federal estate tax paid on
income in respect of a decedent is not deductible
for California. Enter the amount of federal estate

tax shown on federal Schedule A as a negative
number on line 38.
Generation Skipping Transfer Tax. Tax paid on
generation skipping transfers is not deductible
under California law. Enter the amount of
expenses shown on federal Schedule A, as a
negative number on line 38.
Contribution of Appreciated Stock to a Private
Foundation. For contributions made during
1998, enter the difference between the fair mar-
ket value of the stock and the California basis as
a negative number on line 38.
State Legislator’s Travel Expenses. Under
California law, deductible travel expenses for
state legislators include only those incurred while
away from their place of residence overnight. Fig-
ure the difference between the amount allowed
using federal law and the amount allowed using
California law. Enter the difference as a negative
number on line 38.
Charitable Contribution Carryover Deduction.
If you are deducting a prior year charitable contri-
bution carryover, and the California carryover is
larger than the federal carryover, increase your
California itemized deductions by entering the
additional amount as a positive number on
line 38.

Line 40 – California Itemized Deductions
Is the amount on Form 540, line 13 more than
the amount shown below for your filing status?
Single or married filing separate . . $116,777
Married filing joint or

qualifying widow(er) . . . . . . . $233,556
Head of household . . . . . . . . . . $175,166
NO Transfer the amount from line 39 to

line 40. Do not complete the worksheet
below.

YES Complete the worksheet
that follows.

Itemized Deductions Worksheet
1. Amount from Schedule CA (540),

line 39 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 1
2. Using California amounts, add the

amounts on federal Schedule A,
line 4, line 13 and line 19 plus
any gambling losses included
on line 27 . . . . . . . . . . . . 2

3. Subtract line 2 from line 1 . . . 3
Note: If -0-, stop. Enter the
amount from line 1 on
Schedule CA (540), line 40.

4. Multiply line 3 by 80% (.80) . . 4
5. Amount from Form 540, line 13 5
6. Enter the amount shown above

for your filing status . . . . . . 6
7. Subtract line 6 from line 5 . . . 7

Note: If -0- or less, stop. Enter
the amount from line 1 on
Schedule CA (540), line 40.

8. Multiply line 7 by 6% (.06) . . . 8
9. Compare line 4 and line 8. Enter

the smaller amount here . . . . 9
10. Total itemized deductions.

Subtract line 9 from line 1. Enter
here and on Schedule CA (540),
line 40 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 10
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Instructions for Form FTB 3885A
Depreciation And Amortization Adjustments

General Information
California legislation enacted in 1998 conforms California tax law to the Internal
Revenue Code (IRC) as of January 1, 1998, However, there are continuing differ-
ences between California and federal tax law. California has not conformed to
the changes made to the IRC by the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) Restructur-
ing and Reform Act of 1998 (Public Law 105-206) and the Tax and Trade Relief
Extension Act of 1998 (Public Law 105-277). Get FTB Pub. 1001, Supplemental
Guidelines to California Adjustments, for more information on differences
between California and federal law for the following items:
Expense treatment for small business (IRC Section 179): The maximum
allowed under California law is $16,000; the maximum allowed under federal law
is $18,500. Amortization of certain intangibles (IRC Section 197): Property
classified as Section 197 property under federal law is also Section 197 property
for California purposes. There is no separate California election required or
allowed. However, for Section 197 property acquired before 1/1/94, the California
adjusted basis as of 1/1/94, must be amortized over the remaining federal amorti-
zation period. Qualified Indian reservation property: California has not con-
formed to the accelerated recovery periods available under the Alternative
Depreciation System (ADS) for such property. Grapevines subject to
Phylloxera or Pierce’s disease: For California purposes, replacement grape-
vines may be depreciated using a recovery period of 5 years instead of 10 years.

Purpose
Use form FTB 3885A to figure the adjustment for the difference between the
amount of depreciation and amortization allowed as a deduction using California
law and the amount allowed as a deduction using federal law. California law and
federal law have not always allowed the same depreciation methods, special
credits or accelerated write-offs. As a result, the recovery periods or the basis on
which the depreciation is figured for California may be different from the amounts
used for federal purposes. You will probably have reportable differences if all or
part of your assets were placed in service:
• Before 1/1/87. California did not allow depreciation under the federal acceler-

ated cost recovery system (ACRS), and you must continue to figure California
depreciation for those assets in the same manner as in prior years.

• On or after 1/1/87. California provides special credits and accelerated write-
offs that affect the California basis of qualifying assets. California did not
conform to all changes to federal law enacted in 1993, and this causes the
California basis or recovery periods to be different for some assets.

Differences may also occur for other less common reasons, and the instructions
for Schedule CA (540 or 540NR) list them on the line for the type of income likely
to be affected. For example, the instructions for Schedule CA (540 or 540NR),
line 12, Business Income, list other adjustments you may need to report on form
FTB 3885A if you are a sole proprietor. You may also get FTB Pub. 1001 for
more information about figuring and reporting these adjustments.
If you are reporting differences for assets related to a passive activity, get
form FTB 3801, Passive Activity Loss Limitations, for more information about
passive activities.
Do not use form FTB 3885A to report depreciation expense from federal
Form 2106, Employee Business Expenses. See the instructions for
Schedule CA (540 or 540NR), line 38.

Specific Line Instructions
Note: Prepare and file a separate form FTB 3885A for each business or activity
on your return that has a difference between California and federal depreciation
or amortization. Enter the name of the business or activity in the space provided
at the top of the form. If you need more space, attach additional sheets. How-
ever, complete Part II, Election to Expense Certain Tangible Property (IRC Sec-
tion 179), only once.

Part I Identify the Activity as Passive or Nonpassive
Line 1 – Check the box to identify the activity as passive or nonpassive. A pas-
sive activity is any activity involving the conduct of any trade or business in which
you did not materially participate. Get form FTB 3801 for more information.
If the activity is passive, use this form as a worksheet to figure the depreciation
adjustment to carry to form FTB 3801. Caution: Beginning in 1994, and for
federal purposes only, rental real estate activities of persons in real property
business are not automatically treated as passive activities. California did not
conform to this provision.

Part II Election To Expense Certain Tangible Property
You may elect to expense part of the cost of depreciable personal property used
in your trade or business and certain other property described in federal
Pub. 946, How to Depreciate Property. To do so, you must have purchased prop-
erty, as defined in the IRC Section 179(d)(2), and placed it in service during
1998, or have a carryover of unused cost from 1997. If you elect this deduction,
you must reduce your California depreciable basis by the IRC Section 179
expense. The maximum Section 179 expense allowed under California law is
$16,000.
Complete the worksheet below to figure IRC Section 179 expense for California.
Include all assets qualifying for the deduction because the limit applies to all
qualifying assets as a group rather than to each asset individually. Refer to
federal Form 4562 for information.

1 Maximum dollar limitation for California . . . . . . . . 1 $16,000

2 Enter total cost of Section 179 property placed in
service during the tax year . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 2

3 Threshold cost of Section 179 property before
reduction in limitation . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 3 $200,000

4 Reduction in limitation. Subtract line 3 from line 2.
If zero or less, enter -0- . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 4

5 Dollar limitation for tax year. Subtract line 4 from
line 1. If zero or less enter -0- . . . . . . . . . . . . . 5
(a) Description of property (b) Cost (c) Elected cost

7 Total elected cost of Section 179 property.
Add column (c), line 6 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 7

8 Tentative deduction. Enter the smaller of line 5 or line 7 8

9 Carryover of disallowed deduction from 1997 . . . . . 9
10 Enter the smaller of business income

(not less than -0-) or line 5 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 10
11 Section 179 expense deduction for California.

Add line 8 and line 9, but do not enter more than
line 10. Also enter the result on FTB 3885A, line 2 . . 11

6

12 Carryover of disallowed deduction
to 1999. Add line 8 and line 9.
Subtract line 11 from the result. . . . 12

Part III Depreciation
Line 3 – Complete column (a) through column (f) for each tangible asset or
group of assets placed in service during the tax year. Be sure to use the Califor-
nia basis for assets on which you elected to take the Section 179 deduction. It
will be the difference between line 6, column (b) and line 6, column (c) of the
worksheet in Part II.
Line 8a and Line 8b – Are you using this form as a worksheet in connection
with form FTB 3801?
Yes. Enter the amount from line 8a or line 8b on form FTB 3801, Side 2,

California Passive Activity Worksheet, column (e).
No. Include the amount from line 8a on Schedule CA (540 or 540NR) in

column B on line 12 for federal Schedule C activities; on line 17 for federal
Schedule E activities; and on line 18 for federal Schedule F activities.
Include the amount from line 8b on Schedule CA (540 or 540NR) in
column C on line 12 for federal Schedule C activities; on line 17 for federal
Schedule E activities; and on line 18 for federal Schedule F activities.

Part IV Amortization
Line 9 – Complete column (a) through column (f) for intangible assets placed in
service during the tax year. Be sure to use the California basis and the California
recovery period.
Line 14a and Line 14b – Are you using this form as a worksheet in connection
with form FTB 3801?
Yes. Enter the amount from line 14a or line 14b on form FTB 3801, Side 2,

California Passive Activity Worksheet, column (e).
No. Include the amount from line 14a on Schedule CA (540 or 540NR) in

column B on line 12 for federal Schedule C activities; on line 17 for federal
Schedule E activities; and on line 18 for federal Schedule F activities.
Include the amount from line 14b on Schedule CA (540 or 540NR) in
column C on line 12 for federal Schedule C activities; on line 17 for federal
Schedule E activities; and on line 18 for federal Schedule F activities.
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Instructions for California Schedule D
California Capital Gain Or Loss Adjustment

General Information
California legislation enacted in 1998 conforms Cali-
fornia tax law to the Internal Revenue Code (IRC) as
of January 1, 1998. However, there are continuing
differences between California and federal tax law.
California has not conformed to the changes made
to the IRC by the Internal Revenue Service (IRS)
Restructuring and Reform Act of 1998 (Public Law
105-206) and the Tax and Trade Relief Extension
Act of 1998 (Public Law 105-277). For example,
California does not conform to the federal reduced
capital gains tax rates. California taxes capital gains
at the same tax rate as other types of income.

Purpose
Use California Schedule D only if there is a differ-
ence between your federal capital gains and losses
and your California capital gains and losses associ-
ated with the following:
• Gain on the sale of qualified small business stock

which qualifies for the gain exclusion under IRC
Section 1202;

• Disposition of property that was expensed or
depreciated at some time during the period you
owned it; California and federal depreciation and
property expensing methods were different before
1987 and after 1/1/93 and caused a difference
between the California and federal basis;

• Gain or loss on stock and bond transactions;
• Installment sale gain reported on form

FTB 3805E, Installment Sale Income;
• Gain on the sale of personal residence where

depreciation was allowable;
• Flow-through gain or loss from partnerships, fidu-

ciaries, S corporations or LLCs;
• Distributed and undistributed capital gain

dividends;
• Gain from involuntary conversion of capital assets

not held for business profit; or
• Capital loss carryover from your 1997 California

Schedule D.
For more information about the following, get FTB
Pub. 1001:
• Disposition of property inherited before 1987;
• Disposition of S corporation stock acquired before

1987;
• Gain on the sale or disposition of a qualified

assisted housing development to low-income resi-
dents or to specific entities maintaining housing
for low-income residents; or

• Capital loss carryback.
Exclusion of Gain on Qualified Small Business
Stock. California law (R&TC Section 18152.5) pro-
vides an exclusion (similar to the federal exclusion
under IRC Section 1202) of 50% of the gain on the
sale of qualifying small business stock originally
issued after 8/10/93, and before 1/1/99, that was
held for more than 5 years. However, for California
purposes, 80% of the issuing corporation’s payroll
must be attributable to employment located within
California, and, at least 80% of the value of the cor-
poration’s assets must be used by the corporation to
actively conduct one or more qualified trades or
businesses in California. See the Specific Line
Instruction for Line 1b.
Installment Sales. If you sold property at a gain
(other than publicly traded stocks or securities) and
you will receive a payment in a tax year after the
year of sale, you must report the sale on the install-
ment method unless you elect not to do so. Get form
FTB 3805E. Also use that form if you received a
payment in 1998 for an installment sale made in an
earlier year. Note: You may elect not to use the
installment sale method for California by reporting
the entire gain on Schedule D (or Schedule D-1 for
business assets) in the year of the sale and filing
your return on or before the due date.
At-Risk Rules and Passive Activity Limitations. If
you dispose of (1) an asset used in an activity to

which the at-risk rules apply, or (2) any part of your
interest in an activity to which the at-risk rules apply,
and you have amounts in the activity for which you
are not at risk, get and complete federal Form 6198,
At-Risk Limitations, using California amounts to fig-
ure your California deductible loss under the at-risk
rules. Once a loss becomes allowable under the
at-risk rules, it becomes subject to the passive activ-
ity rules. Get form FTB 3801, Passive Activity Loss
Limitations, to see how to report capital gains and
losses from a passive activity.

Specific Line Instructions
Note: If you have gain on the sale of qualified small
business stock that qualifies for the federal
Section 1202 exclusion, go to the instructions for
line 1b.
Lin e 1a – Lis t each capital asset transaction.
Column (a ) – Descriptio n of Property . Describe
the asset you sold or exchanged.
Column (b ) – Sales Price . Enter in this column
either the gross sales price or the net sales price. If
you received a Form 1099-B, 1099-S or similar
statement showing the gross sales price, enter that
amount in column (b). However, if box 2 of
Form 1099-B indicates that gross proceeds less
commissions and option premiums were reported to
IRS, enter that net amount in column (b). If you
entered the net amount in column (b), do not include
the commissions and option premiums in column (c).
Colum n (c) – Cost or Other Basis. In general, the
cost or other basis is the cost of the property plus
purchase commissions and improvements minus
depreciation, amortization and depletion. Enter the
cost or adjusted basis of the asset for California pur-
poses. Use your records and California tax returns
for years before 1987 to determine the California
amount to enter in column (c). If you used an
amount other than cost as the original basis, your
federal basis may be different from your California
basis. Other reasons for differences are:
Depreciation Methods and Property Expensing
California law: Did not allow the use of ACRS before
1987; Did not allow the use of an asset depreciation
range 20% above or below the standard rate; Limits
expensing of property under IRC Section 179 to
$16,000; Permitted rapid write-off of property such
as solar energy systems, pollution control devices
and property used in an EZ, the LARZ or LAMBRA.
Inherited Propert y – The California basis of prop-
erty inherited from a decedent is generally fair mar-
ket value (FMV) at the time of death. If you acquired
community property as a surviving spouse, get FTB
Pub. 1039, Basis of Property – Decedent/Surviving
Spouse, for more information.
S Corporation Stoc k – Prior to 1987, California law
did not recognize S corporations and your California
basis in S corporation stock may differ from your
federal basis. In general, your California basis will be
cost-adjusted for income, loss and distributions
received after 1986, while your stock was California
S corporation stock. Your federal basis will be cost-
adjusted for income, loss and distributions received
during the time your stock qualified for federal S cor-
poration treatment.
Special Credit s – California law authorizes special
tax credits not allowed under federal law or com-
puted differently under federal law. In many
instances if you claimed special credits related to
capital assets, you must reduce your basis in the
assets by the amount of credit.
Other adjustments may apply differently to the
federal and California basis of your capital assets.
Figure the original basis of your asset using the Cali-
fornia law in effect when the asset was acquired,
and adjust it according to provisions of California law
in effect during the period of your ownership.

Lin e 1b – Sectio n 18152.5 Exclusion. If the gain
qualifying for the IRC Section 1202 exclusion
also qualifies for the California exclusion under
R&TC Section 18152.5: Enter in column (a)
‘‘Section 18152.5 Exclusion.’’ Complete column (b)
and column (c) according to the instructions for
line 1a. Enter in column (d) the amount of gain that
qualifies for the California exclusion. Enter in column
(e) the entire gain realized. If the gain qualifying
for the IRC Section 1202 exclusion does not
qualify for the California exclusion: Complete
column (a), column (b) and column (c) according to
the instructions for line 1a. Enter -0- in column (d)
and enter the entire gain realized in column (e).
Line 3 – Capita l Gain Distributions . If you receive
federal Form 2439, Notice to Shareholder of Undis-
tributed Long-Term Capital Gains, from a mutual
fund, do not include the undistributed capital gain
dividends on Schedule D. If you receive federal
Form 1099-DIV, Dividends and Distributions, enter
the amount of distributed capital gain dividends.
Lin e 6 – 1997 California Capital Loss Carryover.
Enter the amount of your 1997 California net capital
loss that was more than the loss limitation.
Lin e 8 – Net Gain or Loss. If the amount on line 4
is more than the amount on line 7, subtract line 7
from line 4. Enter the difference as a gain on line 8.
If the amount on line 7 is more than the amount on
line 4, subtract line 4 from line 7 and enter the
difference as a loss on line 8.
Use the worksheet on this page to figure your capital
loss carryover to 1999.
Line 9 – If line 8 is a net capital loss, enter the
smaller of the loss on line 8 or $3,000 ($1,500 if you
are married filing a separate return).
Line 12 a – Enter the difference on line 12a and on
Schedule CA (540 or 540NR), line 13, column B.
FOR EXAMPLE:
Loss on line 10 is less than loss on line 11.

Federal loss on line 10 is . . . . . . .  $1,000
California loss on line 11 is . . . . . .  $2,000
Subtract line 10 from line 11. . . . . .  $1,000

Gain on line 10 and loss on line 11.
Federal gain on line 10 is . . . . . . .  $3,000
California loss on line 11 is . . . . . .  $3,000
Add line 10 and line 11 . . . . . . . .  $6,000

Line 12 b – Enter the difference on line 12b and on
Schedule CA (540 or 540NR), line 13, column C.
FOR EXAMPLE:
Loss on line 10 is more than loss on line 11.

Federal loss on line 10 is . . . . . . .  $2,000
California loss on line 11 is . . . . . .  $1,000
Subtract line 11 from line 10. . . . . .  $1,000

Loss on line 10 and gain on line 11.
Federal loss on line 10 is . . . . . . .  $2,000
California gain on line 11 is . . . . . .  $5,000
Add line 10 and line 11 . . . . . . . .  $7,000

California Capital Loss Carryover Worksheet
1. Loss from Schedule D, line 11,

stated as a positive number . . . 1
2. Amount from Form 540 or

Form 540NR, line 17 . . . . . .  2
3. Amount from Form 540 or

Form 540NR, line 18 . . . . . .  3
4. Subtract line 3 from line 2. If less

than zero, enter as a negative
amount. . . . . . . . . . . . . .  4

5. Combine line 1 and line 4. If
less than zero, enter -0- . . . . .  5

6. Loss from Schedule D, line 8 . . 6
7. Enter the smaller of line 1 or line 5 7
8. Subtract line 7 from line 6.

This is your capital loss
carryover to 1999 . . . . . . . .  8
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Additional Information
Amended Returns

If you discover that you made an error on your California
income tax return after it was filed, use Form 540X, Amended
Individual Income Tax Return, to correct and make any changes
to your return.

California Sales And Use Tax
If you purchased goods from an out-of-state retailer (such as a
mail-order firm) and sales tax would have been charged if you
had purchased the goods in California, you owe use tax on your
purchase if the out-of-state retailer did not collect the tax.
Your tax liability may be calculated by multiplying the sales tax
rate in your area times the cost of the goods purchased. You
may pay your tax liability by sending payment to the STATE
BOARD OF EQUALIZATION, PO BOX 942879, SACRAMENTO
CA 94279-0001, with a brief letter listing your name, address, a
description and cost of the goods purchased, and the name and
address of the out-of-state retailer.
If you file a Schedule C (Form 1040), Profit or Loss From Busi-
ness, with your federal income tax return and are in the busi-
ness of selling tangible personal property, you may be required
to obtain a seller’s permit with the State Board of Equalization.
If you have a question concerning which goods are taxable, or
want information about obtaining a seller’s permit, please con-
tact the State Board of Equalization’s toll free number at
(800) 400-7115, to talk to a Customer Service Representative.
Representatives are available from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday -
Friday, excluding state holidays.

Change of Address
If you move during the year, you may notify the Franchise Tax
Board (FTB) of your new address by calling (800) 852-5711 or
by using form FTB 3533, Change of Address. See ‘‘Order
Forms’’ on the back cover.

Changes to Federal Returns
If your federal income tax return is examined and changed by
the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) and you owe additional tax,
you must report these changes to the FTB within six months of
the date of the final federal determination. If the changes made
by IRS result in a refund due for California, you must claim a
refund within two years of the date of the final federal determi-
nation. You may either use Form 540X to make any changes to
your California income tax return already filed, or you may send
copies of the federal changes to:

ATTN RAR/VOL, AUDIT SECTION
FRANCHISE TAX BOARD
PO BOX 1998
RANCHO CORDOVA CA 95741-1998.

Regardless of which method you use to notify the FTB, you
must include a copy of the final federal determination along with
all data and schedules on which the federal adjustment was
based. Get FTB Pub. 1008, Federal Tax Adjustments and Your
Notification Responsibilities to California, for more information.
Note: You do not have to file Form 540X if the changes do not
affect your California tax liability.

Collection Fees
The FTB is required to assess collection and filing enforcement
cost recovery fees on delinquent accounts.

Deceased Taxpayers
A final return must be filed for a person who died in 1998 if a
return normally would be required. The administrator or execu-
tor, if one is appointed, or beneficiary must file the return.
Please print ‘‘deceased’’ and the date of death next to the tax-
payer’s name at the top of the return.
If you are a surviving spouse and no administrator or executor
has been appointed, you may file a joint return if you did not
remarry during 1998. Indicate next to your signature that you
are the surviving spouse.
You may also file a joint return with an administrator or executor
acting on behalf of the deceased taxpayer.
If you file a return and claim a refund due to a deceased tax-
payer, you are certifying under penalty of perjury either that you
are the legal representative of the deceased taxpayer’s estate
(in this case, you must attach certified copies of the letters of
administration or letters testamentary) or that you are entitled to

the refund as the deceased’s surviving relative or sole benefi-
ciary under the provisions of the California Probate Code. You
must also attach a copy of federal Form 1310, Statement of
Person Claiming Refund Due a Deceased Taxpayer, or a copy
of the death certificate when you file a return and claim a refund
due.

Free Tax Help
At more than 1,500 sites throughout California, trained volun-
teers provide free help to low-income, senior, disabled and non-
English speaking persons who need to file simple federal and
state income tax returns. Many military bases also provide this
service for members of the U.S. armed forces. Call the Fran-
chise Tax Board (FTB) at (800) 852-5711 to find the location
nearest you. A list of locations is available on our website from
January 2 through April 15. Our Internet address is:

http://www.ftb.ca.gov

Installment Payments
If you cannot pay the full amount that you owe with your return,
you may ask to make monthly installment payments. However,
you will be charged interest and may be charged an underpay-
ment penalty on the tax not paid by April 15, 1999, even if your
request to pay in installments is granted. To limit the interest
and penalty charges, pay as much of the tax as possible by
April 15, 1999. To ask for an installment agreement, use form
FTB 3567, Installment Agreement Request. See ‘‘Order Forms’’
on the back cover.

Military Personnel
If you are a member of the U.S. armed forces and need addi-
tional information on how to file your return, get FTB Pub. 1032,
Tax Information for Military Personnel. See ‘‘Order Forms’’ on
the back cover.

Requesting a Copy of Your Tax Return
The FTB keeps personal income tax returns for three and one-
half years from the original due date. If you need to get a copy
of a return from those years, you must request it by writing a
letter or by completing form FTB 3516, Request for Copy of
Personal Income Tax or Fiduciary Return. In most cases, there
is a $10 fee for each tax year you request. However, there is no
charge if: you are requesting a return and any audit reports
attached in connection with an audit or collection activity; you
were the victim of a designated California or federal disaster; or
you request copies from a district office that assisted you in
completing your return. See ‘‘Order Forms’’ on the back cover.

Rounding to Whole Dollars
Please round cents to the nearest whole dollar on your return
and schedules. Drop amounts under 50 cents and increase
amounts from 50 to 99 cents to the next whole dollar. For
example, $123.49 becomes $123 and $725.50 becomes $726.
If you have to add two or more amounts include cents when
adding and round only the total. Example: You want to add
$5,000.55 and $18,500.73. You would enter $23,501 ($5,000.55
+ $18,500.73 = $23,501.28).

Vehicle License Fees for Federal Schedule A
On your federal Schedule A, you may deduct the California
motor vehicle license fee listed on your Vehicle Registration Bill-
ing Notice from the Department of Motor Vehicles. The other
fees listed on your billing notice such as registration fee, weight
fee and county fees are not deductible.

Voting Is Everybody’s Business
You may register to vote if you meet the following requirements:
• You are a United States citizen;
• You are a resident of California;
• You will be 18 years old by the date of the next election;
• You are not in prison or on parole for the conviction of a

felony.
You need to re-register every time you move, change your
name, or wish to change political parties.
In order to vote in an election, you must be registered to vote at
least 29 days before that election.
To obtain a Voter Registration Card, call the Secretary of
State’s office toll-free voter hotline at (800) 345-VOTE.

It’s Your Right . . .
Register and Vote



1 50 0 0 0
51 150 1 1 1

151 250 2 2 2
251 350 3 3 3
351 450 4 4 4

451 550 5 5 5
551 650 6 6 6
651 750 7 7 7
751 850 8 8 8
851 950 9 9 9

951 1,050 10 10 10
1,051 1,150 11 11 11
1,151 1,250 12 12 12
1,251 1,350 13 13 13
1,351 1,450 14 14 14

1,451 1,550 15 15 15
1,551 1,650 16 16 16
1,651 1,750 17 17 17
1,751 1,850 18 18 18
1,851 1,950 19 19 19

1,951 2,050 20 20 20
2,051 2,150 21 21 21
2,151 2,250 22 22 22
2,251 2,350 23 23 23
2,351 2,450 24 24 24

2,451 2,550 25 25 25
2,551 2,650 26 26 26
2,651 2,750 27 27 27
2,751 2,850 28 28 28
2,851 2,950 29 29 29

2,951 3,050 30 30 30
3,051 3,150 31 31 31
3,151 3,250 32 32 32
3,251 3,350 33 33 33
3,351 3,450 34 34 34

3,451 3,550 35 35 35
3,551 3,650 36 36 36
3,651 3,750 37 37 37
3,751 3,850 38 38 38
3,851 3,950 39 39 39

3,951 4,050 40 40 40
4,051 4,150 41 41 41
4,151 4,250 42 42 42
4,251 4,350 43 43 43
4,351 4,450 44 44 44

4,451 4,550 45 45 45
4,551 4,650 46 46 46
4,651 4,750 47 47 47
4,751 4,850 48 48 48
4,851 4,950 49 49 49

4,951 5,050 50 50 50
5,051 5,150 51 51 51
5,151 5,250 53 52 52
5,251 5,350 55 53 53
5,351 5,450 57 54 54

5,451 5,550 59 55 55
5,551 5,650 61 56 56
5,651 5,750 63 57 57
5,751 5,850 65 58 58
5,851 5,950 67 59 59

5,951 6,050 69 60 60
6,051 6,150 71 61 61
6,151 6,250 73 62 62
6,251 6,350 75 63 63
6,351 6,450 77 64 64

6,451 6,550 79 65 65
6,551 6,650 81 66 66
6,651 6,750 83 67 67
6,751 6,850 85 68 68
6,851 6,950 87 69 69

6,951 7,050 89 70 70
7,051 7,150 91 71 71
7,151 7,250 93 72 72
7,251 7,350 95 73 73
7,351 7,450 97 74 74

7,451 7,550 99 75 75
7,551 7,650 101 76 76
7,651 7,750 103 77 77
7,751 7,850 105 78 78
7,851 7,950 107 79 79

7,951 8,050 109 80 80
8,051 8,150 111 81 81
8,151 8,250 113 82 82
8,251 8,350 115 83 83
8,351 8,450 117 84 84

8,451 8,550 119 85 85
8,551 8,650 121 86 86
8,651 8,750 123 87 87
8,751 8,850 125 88 88
8,851 8,950 127 89 89

8,951 9,050 129 90 90
9,051 9,150 131 91 91
9,151 9,250 133 92 92
9,251 9,350 135 93 93
9,351 9,450 137 94 94

9,451 9,550 139 95 95
9,551 9,650 141 96 96
9,651 9,750 143 97 97
9,751 9,850 145 98 98
9,851 9,950 147 99 99

9,951 10,050 149 100 100
10,051 10,150 151 101 101
10,151 10,250 153 102 102
10,251 10,350 155 103 103
10,351 10,450 157 105 105

10,451 10,550 159 107 107
10,551 10,650 161 109 109
10,651 10,750 163 111 111
10,751 10,850 165 113 113
10,851 10,950 167 115 115

10,951 11,050 169 117 117
11,051 11,150 171 119 119
11,151 11,250 173 121 121
11,251 11,350 175 123 123
11,351 11,450 177 125 125

11,451 11,550 179 127 127
11,551 11,650 181 129 129
11,651 11,750 183 131 131
11,751 11,850 185 133 133
11,851 11,950 187 135 135

11,951 12,050 189 137 137
12,051 12,150 191 139 139
12,151 12,250 193 141 141
12,251 12,350 197 143 143
12,351 12,450 201 145 145

12,451 12,550 205 147 147
12,551 12,650 209 149 149
12,651 12,750 213 151 151
12,751 12,850 217 153 153
12,851 12,950 221 155 155

12,951 13,050 225 157 157
13,051 13,150 229 159 159
13,151 13,250 233 161 161
13,251 13,350 237 163 163
13,351 13,450 241 165 165

13,451 13,550 245 167 167
13,551 13,650 249 169 169
13,651 13,750 253 171 171
13,751 13,850 257 173 173
13,851 13,950 261 175 175

13,951 14,050 265 177 177
14,051 14,150 269 179 179
14,151 14,250 273 181 181
14,251 14,350 277 183 183
14,351 14,450 281 185 185

14,451 14,550 285 187 187
14,551 14,650 289 189 189
14,651 14,750 293 191 191
14,751 14,850 297 193 193
14,851 14,950 301 195 195

14,951 15,050 305 197 197
15,051 15,150 309 199 199
15,151 15,250 313 201 201
15,251 15,350 317 203 203
15,351 15,450 321 205 205

15,451 15,550 325 207 207
15,551 15,650 329 209 209
15,651 15,750 333 211 211
15,751 15,850 337 213 213
15,851 15,950 341 215 215

15,951 16,050 345 217 217
16,051 16,150 349 219 219
16,151 16,250 353 221 221
16,251 16,350 357 223 223
16,351 16,450 361 225 225

16,451 16,550 365 227 227
16,551 16,650 369 229 229
16,651 16,750 373 231 231
16,751 16,850 377 233 233
16,851 16,950 381 235 235

16,951 17,050 385 237 237
17,051 17,150 389 239 239
17,151 17,250 393 241 241
17,251 17,350 397 243 243
17,351 17,450 401 245 245

17,451 17,550 405 247 247
17,551 17,650 409 249 249
17,651 17,750 413 251 251
17,751 17,850 417 253 253
17,851 17,950 421 255 255

17,951 18,050 425 257 257
18,051 18,150 429 259 259
18,151 18,250 433 261 261
18,251 18,350 437 263 263
18,351 18,450 441 265 265

18,451 18,550 445 267 267
18,551 18,650 449 269 269
18,651 18,750 453 271 271
18,751 18,850 457 273 273
18,851 18,950 461 275 275

18,951 19,050 465 277 277
19,051 19,150 469 279 279
19,151 19,250 474 281 281
19,251 19,350 480 283 283
19,351 19,450 486 285 285

1998 California Tax Table
Use the Tax Table below if your taxable income on Form 540EZ, line 16; Form 540A, line 16; or Form 540, line 19 is $50,000 or less.
Use the Tax Rate Schedules on page 53 if your taxable income on Form 540A, line 16 or Form 540, line 19 is more than $50,000.
To Find Your Tax:
• Read down the column labeled ‘‘If Your Taxable Income Is . . .’’ to find the range that includes your taxable income.
• Read across the columns labeled ‘‘The Tax For Filing Status’’ until you find the tax that applies for your taxable income and filing status.
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Continued on next page.

If Your Taxable
Income Is . . .

The Tax For
Filing Status

If Your Taxable
Income Is . . .

The Tax For
Filing Status

If Your Taxable
Income Is . . .
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Least

The Tax For
Filing Status

But Not
Over

At
Least

But Not
Over
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Least

But Not
Over

1 Or 3
Is

2 Or 5
Is

4
Is

1 Or 3
Is

2 Or 5
Is

4
Is

1 Or 3
Is

2 Or 5
Is

4
Is

Filing status: 1 or 3 (Single; Married filing Separate) 2 or 5 (Married filing Joint; Qualifying Widow(er)) 4 (Head of Household)



19,451 19,550 492 287 287
19,551 19,650 498 289 289
19,651 19,750 504 291 291
19,751 19,850 510 293 293
19,851 19,950 516 295 295

19,951 20,050 522 297 297
20,051 20,150 528 299 299
20,151 20,250 534 301 301
20,251 20,350 540 303 303
20,351 20,450 546 305 305

20,451 20,550 552 307 307
20,551 20,650 558 309 309
20,651 20,750 564 311 311
20,751 20,850 570 313 313
20,851 20,950 576 315 315

20,951 21,050 582 317 317
21,051 21,150 588 319 319
21,151 21,250 594 321 321
21,251 21,350 600 323 323
21,351 21,450 606 325 325

21,451 21,550 612 327 327
21,551 21,650 618 329 329
21,651 21,750 624 331 331
21,751 21,850 630 333 333
21,851 21,950 636 335 335

21,951 22,050 642 337 337
22,051 22,150 648 339 339
22,151 22,250 654 341 341
22,251 22,350 660 343 343
22,351 22,450 666 345 345

22,451 22,550 672 347 347
22,551 22,650 678 349 349
22,651 22,750 684 351 351
22,751 22,850 690 353 353
22,851 22,950 696 355 355

22,951 23,050 702 357 357
23,051 23,150 708 359 359
23,151 23,250 714 361 361
23,251 23,350 720 363 363
23,351 23,450 726 365 365

23,451 23,550 732 367 367
23,551 23,650 738 369 369
23,651 23,750 744 371 371
23,751 23,850 750 373 373
23,851 23,950 756 375 375

23,951 24,050 762 377 377
24,051 24,150 768 379 379
24,151 24,250 774 381 381
24,251 24,350 780 383 383
24,351 24,450 786 387 387

24,451 24,550 792 391 391
24,551 24,650 798 395 395
24,651 24,750 804 399 399
24,751 24,850 810 403 403
24,851 24,950 816 407 407

24,951 25,050 822 411 411
25,051 25,150 828 415 415
25,151 25,250 834 419 419
25,251 25,350 840 423 423
25,351 25,450 846 427 427

25,451 25,550 852 431 431
25,551 25,650 858 435 435
25,651 25,750 864 439 439
25,751 25,850 870 443 443
25,851 25,950 876 447 447

25,951 26,050 882 451 451
26,051 26,150 888 455 455
26,151 26,250 894 459 459
26,251 26,350 900 463 463
26,351 26,450 906 467 467

26,451 26,550 912 471 471
26,551 26,650 918 475 475
26,651 26,750 925 479 479
26,751 26,850 933 483 483
26,851 26,950 941 487 487

26,951 27,050 949 491 491
27,051 27,150 957 495 495
27,151 27,250 965 499 499
27,251 27,350 973 503 503
27,351 27,450 981 507 507

27,451 27,550 989 511 511
27,551 27,650 997 515 515
27,651 27,750 1,005 519 519
27,751 27,850 1,013 523 523
27,851 27,950 1,021 527 527

27,951 28,050 1,029 531 531
28,051 28,150 1,037 535 535
28,151 28,250 1,045 539 539
28,251 28,350 1,053 543 543
28,351 28,450 1,061 547 547

28,451 28,550 1,069 551 551
28,551 28,650 1,077 555 555
28,651 28,750 1,085 559 559
28,751 28,850 1,093 563 563
28,851 28,950 1,101 567 567

28,951 29,050 1,109 571 571
29,051 29,150 1,117 575 575
29,151 29,250 1,125 579 579
29,251 29,350 1,133 583 583
29,351 29,450 1,141 587 587

29,451 29,550 1,149 591 591
29,551 29,650 1,157 595 595
29,651 29,750 1,165 599 599
29,751 29,850 1,173 603 603
29,851 29,950 1,181 607 607

29,951 30,050 1,189 611 611
30,051 30,150 1,197 615 615
30,151 30,250 1,205 619 619
30,251 30,350 1,213 623 623
30,351 30,450 1,221 627 627

30,451 30,550 1,229 631 631
30,551 30,650 1,237 635 635
30,651 30,750 1,245 639 639
30,751 30,850 1,253 643 643
30,851 30,950 1,261 647 647

30,951 31,050 1,269 651 651
31,051 31,150 1,277 655 655
31,151 31,250 1,285 659 659
31,251 31,350 1,293 663 663
31,351 31,450 1,301 667 668

31,451 31,550 1,309 671 674
31,551 31,650 1,317 675 680
31,651 31,750 1,325 679 686
31,751 31,850 1,333 683 692
31,851 31,950 1,341 687 698

31,951 32,050 1,349 691 704
32,051 32,150 1,357 695 710
32,151 32,250 1,365 699 716
32,251 32,350 1,373 703 722
32,351 32,450 1,381 707 728

32,451 32,550 1,389 711 734
32,551 32,650 1,397 715 740
32,651 32,750 1,405 719 746
32,751 32,850 1,413 723 752
32,851 32,950 1,421 727 758

32,951 33,050 1,429 731 764
33,051 33,150 1,437 735 770
33,151 33,250 1,445 739 776
33,251 33,350 1,453 743 782
33,351 33,450 1,461 747 788

33,451 33,550 1,469 751 794
33,551 33,650 1,477 755 800
33,651 33,750 1,485 759 806
33,751 33,850 1,494 763 812
33,851 33,950 1,504 767 818

33,951 34,050 1,513 771 824
34,051 34,150 1,522 775 830
34,151 34,250 1,532 779 836
34,251 34,350 1,541 783 842
34,351 34,450 1,550 787 848

34,451 34,550 1,559 791 854
34,551 34,650 1,569 795 860
34,651 34,750 1,578 799 866
34,751 34,850 1,587 803 872
34,851 34,950 1,597 807 878

34,951 35,050 1,606 811 884
35,051 35,150 1,615 815 890
35,151 35,250 1,625 819 896
35,251 35,350 1,634 823 902
35,351 35,450 1,643 827 908

35,451 35,550 1,652 831 914
35,551 35,650 1,662 835 920
35,651 35,750 1,671 839 926
35,751 35,850 1,680 843 932
35,851 35,950 1,690 847 938

35,951 36,050 1,699 851 944
36,051 36,150 1,708 855 950
36,151 36,250 1,718 859 956
36,251 36,350 1,727 863 962
36,351 36,450 1,736 867 968

36,451 36,550 1,745 871 974
36,551 36,650 1,755 875 980
36,651 36,750 1,764 879 986
36,751 36,850 1,773 883 992
36,851 36,950 1,783 887 998

36,951 37,050 1,792 891 1,004
37,051 37,150 1,801 895 1,010
37,151 37,250 1,811 899 1,016
37,251 37,350 1,820 903 1,022
37,351 37,450 1,829 907 1,028

37,451 37,550 1,838 911 1,034
37,551 37,650 1,848 915 1,040
37,651 37,750 1,857 919 1,046
37,751 37,850 1,866 923 1,052
37,851 37,950 1,876 927 1,058

37,951 38,050 1,885 931 1,064
38,051 38,150 1,894 935 1,070
38,151 38,250 1,904 939 1,076
38,251 38,350 1,913 943 1,082
38,351 38,450 1,922 947 1,088

38,451 38,550 1,931 953 1,094
38,551 38,650 1,941 959 1,100
38,651 38,750 1,950 965 1,106
38,751 38,850 1,959 971 1,112
38,851 38,950 1,969 977 1,120

38,951 39,050 1,978 983 1,128
39,051 39,150 1,987 989 1,136
39,151 39,250 1,997 995 1,144
39,251 39,350 2,006 1,001 1,152
39,351 39,450 2,015 1,007 1,160

39,451 39,550 2,024 1,013 1,168
39,551 39,650 2,034 1,019 1,176
39,651 39,750 2,043 1,025 1,184
39,751 39,850 2,052 1,031 1,192
39,851 39,950 2,062 1,037 1,200

39,951 40,050 2,071 1,043 1,208
40,051 40,150 2,080 1,049 1,216
40,151 40,250 2,090 1,055 1,224
40,251 40,350 2,099 1,061 1,232
40,351 40,450 2,108 1,067 1,240
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40,451 40,550 2,117 1,073 1,248
40,551 40,650 2,127 1,079 1,256
40,651 40,750 2,136 1,085 1,264
40,751 40,850 2,145 1,091 1,272
40,851 40,950 2,155 1,097 1,280

40,951 41,050 2,164 1,103 1,288
41,051 41,150 2,173 1,109 1,296
41,151 41,250 2,183 1,115 1,304
41,251 41,350 2,192 1,121 1,312
41,351 41,450 2,201 1,127 1,320

41,451 41,550 2,210 1,133 1,328
41,551 41,650 2,220 1,139 1,336
41,651 41,750 2,229 1,145 1,344
41,751 41,850 2,238 1,151 1,352
41,851 41,950 2,248 1,157 1,360

41,951 42,050 2,257 1,163 1,368
42,051 42,150 2,266 1,169 1,376
42,151 42,250 2,276 1,175 1,384
42,251 42,350 2,285 1,181 1,392
42,351 42,450 2,294 1,187 1,400

42,451 42,550 2,303 1,193 1,408
42,551 42,650 2,313 1,199 1,416
42,651 42,750 2,322 1,205 1,424
42,751 42,850 2,331 1,211 1,432
42,851 42,950 2,341 1,217 1,440

42,951 43,050 2,350 1,223 1,448
43,051 43,150 2,359 1,229 1,456
43,151 43,250 2,369 1,235 1,464
43,251 43,350 2,378 1,241 1,472
43,351 43,450 2,387 1,247 1,480

43,451 43,550 2,396 1,253 1,488
43,551 43,650 2,406 1,259 1,496
43,651 43,750 2,415 1,265 1,504
43,751 43,850 2,424 1,271 1,512
43,851 43,950 2,434 1,277 1,520

43,951 44,050 2,443 1,283 1,528
44,051 44,150 2,452 1,289 1,536
44,151 44,250 2,462 1,295 1,544
44,251 44,350 2,471 1,301 1,552
44,351 44,450 2,480 1,307 1,560

44,451 44,550 2,489 1,313 1,568
44,551 44,650 2,499 1,319 1,576
44,651 44,750 2,508 1,325 1,584
44,751 44,850 2,517 1,331 1,592
44,851 44,950 2,527 1,337 1,600

44,951 45,050 2,536 1,343 1,608
45,051 45,150 2,545 1,349 1,616
45,151 45,250 2,555 1,355 1,624
45,251 45,350 2,564 1,361 1,632
45,351 45,450 2,573 1,367 1,640

45,451 45,550 2,582 1,373 1,648
45,551 45,650 2,592 1,379 1,656
45,651 45,750 2,601 1,385 1,664
45,751 45,850 2,610 1,391 1,672
45,851 45,950 2,620 1,397 1,681

45,951 46,050 2,629 1,403 1,690
46,051 46,150 2,638 1,409 1,699
46,151 46,250 2,648 1,415 1,709
46,251 46,350 2,657 1,421 1,718
46,351 46,450 2,666 1,427 1,727

46,451 46,550 2,675 1,433 1,736
46,551 46,650 2,685 1,439 1,746
46,651 46,750 2,694 1,445 1,755
46,751 46,850 2,703 1,451 1,764
46,851 46,950 2,713 1,457 1,774

46,951 47,050 2,722 1,463 1,783
47,051 47,150 2,731 1,469 1,792
47,151 47,250 2,741 1,475 1,802
47,251 47,350 2,750 1,481 1,811
47,351 47,450 2,759 1,487 1,820

47,451 47,550 2,768 1,493 1,829
47,551 47,650 2,778 1,499 1,839
47,651 47,750 2,787 1,505 1,848
47,751 47,850 2,796 1,511 1,857
47,851 47,950 2,806 1,517 1,867

47,951 48,050 2,815 1,523 1,876
48,051 48,150 2,824 1,529 1,885
48,151 48,250 2,834 1,535 1,895
48,251 48,350 2,843 1,541 1,904
48,351 48,450 2,852 1,547 1,913

48,451 48,550 2,861 1,553 1,922
48,551 48,650 2,871 1,559 1,932
48,651 48,750 2,880 1,565 1,941
48,751 48,850 2,889 1,571 1,950
48,851 48,950 2,899 1,577 1,960

48,951 49,050 2,908 1,583 1,969
49,051 49,150 2,917 1,589 1,978
49,151 49,250 2,927 1,595 1,988
49,251 49,350 2,936 1,601 1,997
49,351 49,450 2,945 1,607 2,006

49,451 49,550 2,954 1,613 2,015
49,551 49,650 2,964 1,619 2,025
49,651 49,750 2,973 1,625 2,034
49,751 49,850 2,982 1,631 2,043
49,851 49,950 2,992 1,637 2,053

49,951 50,000 2,999 1,642 2,060
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1998 California Tax Rate Schedules
Caution: Use only if you file Form 540A or Form 540 and your taxable income on Form 540A, line 16 or form 540, line 19 is more than $50,000. If
$50,000 or less, use the Tax Table. If your federal adjusted gross income is more than $100,000, you must file Form 540.

If the amount on Form 540A,
line 16 or Form 540, line 19 is:
over— But not over—

Enter on Form 540A, line 17
or Form 540, line 20

of the
amount over—

Schedule X –
Use if your filing status is
Single or Married Filing Separate

Schedule Y –
Use if your filing status is
Married Filing Joint or Qualifying
Widow(er) with Dependent Child

Schedule Z –
Use if your filing status is
Head of Household

$ 5,131
12,161
19,193
26,644
33,673

AND OVER

$ 0.00
51.31

191.91
473.19
920.25

1,482.57

+
+
+
+
+
+

1.0%
2.0%
4.0%
6.0%
8.0%
9.3%

$ 0
5,131

12,161
19,193
26,644
33,673

$ 0
5,131

12,161
19,193
26,644
33,673

$ 10,262
24,322
38,386
53,288
67,346

AND OVER

$ 0.00
102.62
383,82
946.38

1,840.50
2,965.14

+
+
+
+
+
+

1.0%
2.0%
4.0%
6.0%
8.0%
9.3%

$ 0
10,262
24,322
38,386
53,288
67,346

$ 10,264
24,323
31,353
38,803
45,833

AND OVER

$ 0.00
102.64
383.82
665.02

1,112.02
1,674.42

+
+
+
+
+
+

1.0%
2.0%
4.0%
6.0%
8.0%
9.3%

$ 0
10,264
24,323
31,353
38,803
45,833

How to Figure Tax Using the 1998 California Tax Rate Schedules

Example: Larry and Dena Sparks are filing a joint return. Their taxable income on Form 540A, line 16 is $59,000.

Step 1: Using Schedule Y, they find the taxable income range that includes their taxable income of $59,000. See the boxed range in the
sample below.

Schedule Y –
Use if your filing status is
Married Filing Joint or Qualifying
Widow(er) with Dependent Child

+
+
+
+
+
+

1.0%
2.0%
4.0%
6.0%
8.0%
9.3%

Step 2: They subtract the amount at the beginning of their range from
their taxable income.

Example

Step 3: They multiply the result from Step 2 by the percentage for
their range.

$5,712.00
x .08

$ 456.96

Step 4: They round the amount from Step 3 to two decimals (if
necessary) and add it to the tax amount for their income
range. After rounding the result, they will enter $2,297 on
Form 540A, line 17. For information on rounding, see page 49.

$1,840.50
+ 456.96

$2,297.46

Your Income

$
x

$

$
+

$

$59,000
- 53,288
$ 5,712

$
-
$

$ 0
10,262
24,322
38,386
53,288
67,346

$ 0
10,264
24,323
31,353
38,803
45,833

$ 0
10,262
24,322
38,386
53,288
67,346

$ 10,262
24,322
38,386
53,288
67,346

AND OVER

$ 0.00
102.62
383.82
946.38

1,840.50
2,965.14

$ 0
10,262
24,322
38,386
53,288
67,346
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Index
A All about electronic filing . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 5

Amended returns . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 49
Amortization . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 47
Alternative minimum tax . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 2
Amount you owe . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 14, 25, 38
Attachment to your return . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 8
Assembling your return. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 8
Auto license fee, deductible amount . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 49

B Blindness . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 20, 31

C Capital Gains or Losses . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 48
Change of address . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 2, 49
Children with investment income . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 3
Copies of filed returns, how to order . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 49
Corresponding with the Franchise Tax Board. . . . . . . . . 55

D Deceased taxpayers . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 49
Dependents . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 2, 20, 31
Depreciation . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 47
Direct deposit . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 2, 5
Do I have to file? . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 3

E Electronic filing . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 2, 5, 6
Electronic payments . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 2, 5
Estimated tax payments . . . . . . . . . . . . 6, 23, 25, 36, 38
Exemption credits . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 22, 32
Extension of time to file . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 7

F Fast refunds . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 2, 5
Figure your tax,

Form 540EZ . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 13
Form 540A . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 22
Form 540 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 32

Filing status . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 13, 19, 31
Filling in your return. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 8
Forms

540 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 27
540A . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 15
540EZ. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 9
Schedule CA (540) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 39
Schedule D . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 40
FTB 3885A. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 40
FTB 3519. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 7

Forms, how to get. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 55
Free tax help. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 49

H Head of household . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 19, 31
Help (free) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 49, 55
Helpful hints . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 8

I Important due dates . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 6
Income tax withheld . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 13, 23, 36
Installment payments . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 49
Internet address . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 2, 5, 55
Interest income

Exclusion of interest from federal obligations . . . . . 21, 43
IRA distribution . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 21, 44
Itemized deductions . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 21, 31

L Line instructions for:

Form 540EZ . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 13
Form 540A . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 19
Form 540 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 31
Schedule CA (540) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 43
Schedule D . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 48
FTB 3885A. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 47

M Mailing your return . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 6
Married persons:

Filing joint returns . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 13, 19, 31
Filing separate returns . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 13, 31
Living apart . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 13

Military personnel . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 19, 26, 31, 49

N Name and address . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 13, 19, 31
Nonrefundable renter’s credit . . . . . . . . . 2, 13, 23, 26, 36
Nonresident . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 4

O On-line filing . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 2, 5
Order tax forms and publications . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 56

P Part-year resident . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 4
Pensions and annuities . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 21, 45
Preparer, tax return . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 38
Privacy Act Notice . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 55
Publications, how to get . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 55

R Railroad benefits (tier 1 and tier 2) . . . . . . . . . . . . . 21, 45
Records, how long to keep them . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 6
Requesting a copy of your return. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 49
Rounding to whole dollars . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 49

S Sales and use tax. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 49
Sign your return . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 14, 25, 38
Single person . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 13, 19
Social security benefits. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 21, 45
Social security number . . . . . . . . . . . . . 2, 8, 13, 21, 31
Standard deduction . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 2, 21, 31
State disability insurance (SDI) . . . . . . . . . . . . 2, 23, 36

T Tax forms . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 2, 55, 56
Tax help . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 49, 55
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Letters
We can serve you by phone if you call us for information to complete
your California income tax return or to find out about your tax refund.
However, you may want to write to us if you are replying to a notice we
sent you or to get a written reply. If you write to us, be sure your letter
includes your social security number, your daytime and evening tele-
phone numbers and a copy of the notice. Send your letter to:

FRANCHISE TAX BOARD
PO BOX 942840
SACRAMENTO CA 94240-0040

We will respond to your letter within six to eight weeks. In some cases,
we may need to call you for additional information.

Our goal at the FTB is to make certain that your rights are protected
so that you will have the highest confidence in the integrity, efficiency
and fairness of our state tax system. FTB Pub. 4058, California Tax-
payers’ Bill of Rights, includes information on your rights as a Califor-
nia taxpayer, the Taxpayers’ Rights Advocate Program and how you
can request written advice from the FTB on whether a particular trans-
action is taxable. See ‘‘Where To Get Income Tax Forms,’’ on this
page for how to get this publication.

Where To Get Income Tax Forms
Between January 4 – April 15, 1999, our general toll-free phone
service is available:
• Monday – Friday, 6 a.m. until midnight; and
• Saturday, 8 a.m. until 5 p.m.
After April 15, 1999, our general toll-free phone service is available:
• Monday – Friday, 7 a.m. until 8 p.m.
The best times to call are before 10 a.m. and after 6 p.m.

From within the United States . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (800) 852-5711
From outside the United States . . . . . . . . . . . . . (916) 845-6500

(not toll-free)
For hearing impaired with TDD . . . . . . . . . . . . . (800) 822-6268
For federal tax questions, call the IRS at . . . . . . . (800) 829-1040
Asistencia Bilingu ¨e en Españ ol
Para obtener servicios en Español y asistencia para completar su
declaración de impuestos/formularios, llame al número de teléfono
(anotado arriba) que le corresponde.

(Keep This Booklet For Future Use)How To Get California Tax Information

By Internet – If you have Internet access, you may download, view
and print California income tax forms and publications. Our Internet
address is: http://www.ftb.ca.gov
By phone – Use F.A.S.T. to order 1996, 1997 and 1998 California tax
forms and 1998 federal forms. To order a form:
• Refer to the list on the back cover and find the code number for

the form you want to order.
• Call (800) 338-0505.
• Select personal income tax form requests.
• Enter the three-digit code for the form when you are instructed.
Please allow two weeks to receive your order. If you live outside
California, please allow three weeks to receive your order.
In person – Most libraries, post offices and banks provide free
California tax booklets during the filing season. Many libraries and
some quick print businesses have forms and schedules for you to
photocopy (you may have to pay a nominal fee). Note that employees
at libraries, post offices, banks and quick print businesses cannot
provide tax information or assistance.
By mail – Write to: TAX FORMS REQUEST UNIT, FRANCHISE TAX
BOARD, PO BOX 307, RANCHO CORDOVA CA 95741-0307.
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District Offices
You can get information, California tax forms and resolve problems on
your account if you visit one of our district offices.

District Office Address
Bakersfield 1800 30th Street, Suite 370
Burbank 333 N. Glenoaks Boulevard, Room 200
Fresno 2550 Mariposa Street, Room 3002
Long Beach 4300 Long Beach Boulevard, Suite 700B
Los Angeles 300 S. Spring Street, Suite 5704
Oakland 1515 Clay Street, Suite 3N-305
Sacramento 3321 Power Inn Road
San Bernardino 464 W. 4th Street, Suite 454
San Diego 5353 Mission Center Road, Suite 314
San Francisco 50 Fremont Street, Suite 900
San Jose 96 N. Third Street, 4th Floor
Santa Ana 600 W. Santa Ana Boulevard, Suite 300
Santa Rosa 50 D Street, Room 130
Stockton 31 East Channel Street, Room 219
Ventura 4820 McGrath Street, 2nd Floor
West Covina 100 N. Barranca Street, Room 600

Your Rights As A Taxpayer

General Toll-Free Phone Service

The Information Practices Act of 1977 and the federal Privacy Act require the
Franchise Tax Board to tell you why we ask you for information. The Operations
and Compliance Branches ask for tax return information to carry out the Personal
Income Tax Law of the State of California. We may request additional information
if we audit your return or take collection action.

If you meet the income requirements, the Revenue and Taxation Code requires
you to file a return on the form we prescribe (Sections 18501 and 18621). When
you file this or other documents, you must include your social security number for
identification and return processing (Section 18624).

It is mandatory to furnish all information requested when you are required to file
any documents prescribed by the Franchise Tax Board. If you do not file a
return, or do not provide the information we ask for, or provide fraudulent
information, the law states you may be charged penalties and interest and, in
certain cases, you may be subject to criminal prosecution. We also may disallow
claimed exemptions, exclusions, credits, deductions or adjustments. This could
make the tax higher or delay or reduce any refund.

We may give the information you furnish us to the United States Internal
Revenue Service, the proper official of any state imposing an income tax or a tax
measured by income, the Multistate Tax Commission and California government
agencies and officials, as provided by law. If you owe any monies, we may
disclose the amount due to employers, financial institutions, county recorders,
vacation trust funds, process agents and other payers.

You have a right to access records containing your personal information
maintained by the Franchise Tax Board. The officials responsible for maintaining
the information are: 1) Filing of returns – Chief, Filing Division; 2) Auditing of
returns – Chief, Audit Division; and 3) Collection of monies – Chief, Accounts
Receivable Management Division. The address is:

FRANCHISE TAX BOARD
PO BOX 942840
SACRAMENTO CA 94240-1040

Telephone:
Within the United States . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (800) 852-5711
Outside the United States

(not toll-free) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (916) 845-6500

Privacy Act Notice



F.A.S.T. Automated Toll-Free Phone Service (Keep This Booklet For Future Use)&
Call Fast Answers about State Taxes, the F.A.S.T.
automated toll-free phone service you can use to:
• Get current year tax refund information;
• Order California and federal income tax

forms;
• Get balance due and payment

information; and
• Hear recorded answers to many of your

questions about California taxes.
F.A.S.T. is available in English and Spanish to call-
ers with touch-tone telephones.

How To Use F.A.S.T.
Have paper and pencil ready to take notes.
Call from within the United States (800) 338-0505
Call from outside the

United States (not toll-free) (916) 845-6600

Get Current Year Refund Information
You should wait at least eight weeks after you file
your tax return before you call to find out about your
refund. You will need your social security number,
the numbers in your street address, box number or
route number, and your ZIP Code to use this ser-
vice. Refund status information is available from
6 a.m. until 12 midnight Monday through Friday
except state holidays, and 6 a.m. until 10 p.m. Satur-
day and Sunday.

Order Forms
If your current address is on file, you can use
F.A.S.T. to order current and prior year California tax
forms. You can also order current year federal tax
forms between January 2 and April 15. See the fol-
lowing list of forms and follow the instructions for
ordering forms on the previous page. This service is
available from 6 a.m. until 12 midnight Monday
through Friday except state holidays, and 6 a.m.
until 10 p.m. Saturday and Sunday.
California Tax Forms and Publications
900 California Resident Income Tax Booklet

contents:
Form 540, Resident Income Tax Return
Form 540A, Resident Income Tax Return
Form 540EZ, Resident Income Tax Return

For Single and Joint Filers With
No Dependents

903 Schedule CA (540), California
Adjustments
FTB 3885A, Depreciation & Amortization
Adjustments
Schedule D, California Capital Gain or
Loss Adjustment

907 540-ES, Estimated Tax for Individuals
908 540X, Amended Individual Income Tax

Return
909 Schedule D-1, Sales of Business Property
910 Schedule G-1, Tax on Lump-Sum

Distribution
911 Schedule P (540), Alternative Minimum

Tax and Credit Limitations – Residents
913 Schedule S, Other State Tax Credit
914 California Nonresident Income Tax Booklet

contents:
Form 540NR, Nonresident or Part-Year
Resident Income Tax Return

917 Schedule CA (540NR), California
Adjustments — Nonresidents or
Part-Year Residents

918 Schedule P (540NR), Alternative Minimum
Tax and Credit Limitations – Nonresident
or Part-Year Residents

937 FTB 3516, Request for Copy of Personal
Income Tax or Fiduciary Return

921 FTB 3519, Payment Voucher for Automatic
Extension for Individuals

922 FTB 3525, Substitute for W-2 Wage and
Tax Statement. . .

923 FTB 3526, Investment Interest Expense
Deduction

966 FTB 3533, Change of Address
940 FTB 3540, Credit Carryover Summary
949 FTB 3567, Installment Agreement Request

Recycled
Recyclable
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207 – Should I file my return even though I do
not have the money to pay?

208 – How do I figure my estimated tax
payments?

209 – I lived in California for part of the year.
Do I have to file a return?

210 – I do not live in California. Why do I have
to file a return?

211 – How do I figure my IRA deduction?
212 – How do I claim my disaster related loss?
215 – Who qualifies me to use the head of

household filing status?
216 – I’m due a refund. Do I still need to file a

return?
217 – I am currently/was in the military. Do I

have to file a California return?
218 – I’m in the military. Do I have to use the

same filing status as federal?
219 – I sold my personal residence. How do I

report the sale to California?
220 – There is no difference in my state and

federal depreciation, business income and
capital gain income. What do I do?

221 – What is community property?
222 – How much can I deduct for vehicle

license fees?
227 – How do I get a refund of excess SDI?
239 – Where can I get help with filing my

income tax return?
240 – Does a tax return have to be filed for a

deceased taxpayer?
Refunds:
300 – My spouse passed away. You sent a

refund with both our names on it. What
do I do?

301 – I got a letter saying you sent my refund
to another agency. Why?

Penalties:
400 – I have an extension of time to file my

return. Why did I get a penalty?
401 – I filed my return on time. Why did I get a

penalty?
402 – How can I protest a penalty?
403 – What is the estimate penalty rate?
Notices And Bills:
500 – I received a bill and I cannot pay it in full.

What do I do?
501 – Why didn’t you give me credit for my

withholding?
502 – You didn’t give me credit for my

dependent. What do I do?
504 – I’m head of my house. Why was I denied

head of household filing status?
505 – Why was my IRA deduction denied?
506 – How can I get information about my

Form 1099-G?
508 – I received a notice that didn’t show all

payments made. How do I get credit for
them?

Tax For Children:
601 – Can my child take a personal exemption

credit when I claim her or him as a
dependent on my return?

602 – Federal law limits the standard deduction.
Is the state law the same?

Miscellaneous:
610 – Can I pay my taxes with a credit card?
611 – What address do I send my payment to?
612 – I mailed my return and haven’t heard

anything. Should I send a copy of my
return?

613 – I forgot to attach my Form(s) W-2 when I
mailed my return. What do I do?

614 – I forgot to attach a copy of my federal
return. What do I do?

615 – How do I get a copy of my state tax
return?

616 – What should I do if my federal tax return
was examined and changed by the IRS?

617 – What are the current interest rates?
619 – How do I report a change of address?

924 FTB 3800, Tax Computation for Children
with Investment Income

929 FTB 3801, Passive Activity Loss Limitations
930 FTB 3803, Parents’ Election to Report

Child’s Interest and Dividends
925 FTB 3805E, Installment Sale Income
928 FTB 3805P, Additional Taxes from

Qualified Retirement Plans
926 FTB 3805V, Net Operating Loss (NOL)

— Individuals
901 FTB 3805Z, Enterprise Zone Businesses
927 FTB 5805, Underpayment of Estimated Tax
919 FTB Pub. 1001, Supplemental Guidelines

to California Adjustments
920 FTB Pub. 1005, Pension and Annuity

Guidelines
945 FTB Pub. 1006, California Tax Forms and

Related Federal Forms
946 FTB Pub. 1008, Federal Tax Adjustments and

Your Notification Responsibilities
943 FTB Pub. 4058, California Taxpayers’

Bill of Rights
941 FTB Pub. 1031, Guidelines for Determining

Resident Status
942 FTB Pub. 1032, Tax Information for Military

Personnel
951 FTB Pub. 1051A, Guidelines for Married Filing

Separate Returns
934 FTB Pub. 1540, California Head of

Household Filing Status Information

1998 Federal Tax Forms (available January 2
through April 15, 1999 only)
902 1040 Booklet (includes Schedules A, B, D 

& E; Forms 1040V, EIC and 2441)
904 1040A Booklet (includes Schedule 1;

Form EIC)
915 1040EZ Booklet
906 Form 1040X, Amended U.S. Individual

Income Tax Return
931 Form 1040-ES, Estimated Tax for

Individuals
935 Publication 17, Your Federal Income Tax

for Individuals
912 Form 2106, Employee Business Expenses
932 Form 4562, Depreciation and Amortization
916 Schedule C, Profit or Loss from Business
905 Schedule SE, Self-Employment Tax

Get Balance Due And Payment
Information
You should wait at least 45 days from the date you
mailed your payment before you call to verify receipt
of your payment. You will need your social security
number, the numbers in your street address, box
number or route number, and your ZIP Code to use
this service. Balance due and payment information is
available from 6 a.m. until 12 midnight Monday
through Friday except state holidays and 6 a.m. until
10 p.m. Saturday and Sunday.

Hear Answers To California Tax
Questions
Recorded answers to tax questions are available 24
hours a day, seven days a week. To receive
answers to any of the following questions, call the
F.A.S.T. number, select general tax information and
enter the three digit code when instructed.
Code- Filing Assistance:
100 – Do I need to file a return?
111 – Which form should I use?
112 – How do I file electronically and get a fast

refund?
200 – Where can I pick up a form today?
201 – How can I get an extension to file?
202 – There is no envelope in the booklet.

Where do I send my return?
203 – What is and how do I qualify for the

nonrefundable renter’s credit?
204 – I never received a Form W-2. What do I do?
205 – I have no withholding taken out. What

do I do?
206 – Do I have to attach a copy of my federal

return?


