
Do you need help? 1-800-338-0505 & F.A.S.T

Most of your questions can be answered by reading the
instructions in this booklet. But if you find that you need
help, use our F.A.S.T. (Fast Answers about State Taxes)
toll-free phone service available 24 hours a day. If you
cannot get the answer you need, call our general toll-free
phone service listed on page 55. The best times to call are
between 7:00 and 10:00 in the morning and between
6:00 and 8:00 in the evening.
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This booklet contains two copies of:
Form 540EZ , California Resident Income
Tax Return For Single and Joint Filers with
No Dependents, page 7

Form 540A , California Resident Income
Tax Return, page 13

Form 540 , California Resident Income Tax
Return, page 23

Schedule CA (540) , California Adjustments
— Residents, page 35

Schedule D , California Capital Gain or
Loss Adjustment, page 36

FTB 3885A, Depreciation and Amortization
Adjustments, page 36

This booklet contains one copy of:
Form 540-ES , Estimated Tax for
Individuals, page 46

Form 540-V , Return Payment Voucher for
Individuals, page 5

FTB 3519, Payment Voucher for Automatic
Extension, page 45

Fast Refund ? File Electronically and
Request Direct Deposit!
See page 2 for more information.

Can you use a short form?
Form 540A and Form 540EZ are included in this tax
forms booklet. Use the chart on page 3 to find out if you
can use one of these short, easy tax forms.
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What’s New for  1997?
Differences Between California and Federal Law
Due to California legislation enacted in 1997, California tax law con-
forms to the Internal Revenue Code (IRC) as of January 1, 1997, and
to selected provisions of the federal Taxpayer Relief Act of 1997
(Public Law 105-34). For example, California law and federal law are
the same regarding: exclusion of gain on the sale of personal resi-
dence; new federal Individual Retirement Account (IRA) provisions;
self-employed health insurance deduction; and alternative minimum tax
(AMT) exemption amounts.

New Look for Form 540EZ, Form 540A and Form 540
These forms now have boxes in some areas and bar codes to help us
process your return faster using our new system. See page 4 for infor-
mation on how to fill in the form.

Form 540-V, Return Payment Voucher for Individuals
To make sure that your payment is processed quickly and accurately,
we encourage you to attach this new payment voucher to your 1997
return with your check or money order. See page 5.

Direct Deposit If You File Electronically!
Receiving a refund? If you file your return electronically, you can have
your refund sent directly to your bank account instead of waiting to
receive your refund check in the mail. Or if you prefer, you can have
your refund check mailed to you in 7 to 10 days from the time FTB
receives your return (if your return has no errors). Many tax preparers
and electronic filing services will transmit your return for a fee.

File Your Return From Your Home Personal Computer!
File your return through our Tax Return On-Line Service (TROLS)
program. You must have a personal computer, a modem, and ‘‘file-
from-home’’ software obtained from retail stores or web-sites. The soft-
ware allows you to transmit your return directly to FTB through a
software or on-line filing company. For links to websites that offer the
software, go to FTB’s website (http://www.ftb.ca.gov ); select ‘‘Elec-
tronic Services’’ from the main menu; then select ‘‘Electronic Transmit-
ter Service.’’

Request a Payment Plan to Pay Your Taxes
If you owe tax with your 1997 tax return and cannot pay the entire
amount you owe when you file, you can now request a payment plan
to pay your taxes in monthly payments. See page 44, Installment
Payments, for more information.

Renter’s Credit
Due to a tax law change, renter’s credit has been eliminated for 1997.
You may not claim the credit on your personal income tax return.

New and Expired Voluntary Contribution Funds
Recent California legislation allows you to make a voluntary contribu-
tion to the California Military Museum Fund. The California Election
Campaign Fund has expired.

New Credits
See the chart on page 30 for information about the new credits for
Rice Straw, Farmworker Housing and Community Development
Financial Institution Deposits.

General Information
California Tax Forms on the Internet!
If you have Internet access, you may download, view and print 1994,
1995, 1996 and 1997 California income tax forms and publications.
Our Internet address is: http://www.ftb.ca.gov

California Alternative Minimum Tax (AMT)
You may owe AMT or have to limit your credits. See the instructions
for Form 540, line 21 to see if you need to get Schedule P (540), Alter-
native Minimum Tax and Credit Limitations — Residents.

F.A.S.T. Toll-free Phone Service:& 1-800-338-0505
When you see a phone in the instructions, dial 1-800-338-0505, select
general tax information, follow the recorded instructions and enter the
three-digit number by the phone to get more information.

Do I  Have to File?
Requirements for Most People. Find your status at the end of
1997 in the first column of the chart below. Read across to find your
filing status for 1997. You must file a return if either your gross
income or your adjusted gross income was more than the amount
shown for your filing status.

On 12/31/97
I was:

Filing status Gross
income 1

Adjusted
gross
income 2

Single (including
divorced and
legally separated)

Single
Head of household3 $10,384 $8,307

Married with a child
and living apart
from spouse the
last 6 months of
1997

Head of household3 $10,384 $8,307

Widowed before
1997 and not
remarried in 1997

Single
Head of household
Qualifying widow(er)

$10,384 $8,307

Dependent of
another person

Any filing status More than
your
standard
deduction5

Married, living with
spouse at end of
1997 (or date in
1997 spouse died)
or
Married, living apart
from spouse at end
of 1997 (or date in
1997 spouse died)

Married filing joint

Married filing separate

$20,7684 $16,6144

1 All income you received in the form of money, goods, property and
services from all sources that is not exempt from tax.

2 Your federal adjusted gross income from all sources reduced/
increased by all California income adjustments.

3 See page 17.
4 Income of both spouses; both spouses must file a return even if

only one spouse had income over the amounts listed.
5 Use the worksheet on page 19 to figure your standard deduction.

Even if you do not have to file a return, you should file one in order to
get a refund if California state income tax was withheld from your pay,
or you made estimated tax payments.
Requirements for Children with Investment Income
California law is the same as federal law for the income of children
under age 14. For each child under age 14 who received more than
$1,300 of investment income in 1997, get and complete Form 540 and
form FTB 3800, Tax Computation for Children with Investment Income,
or form FTB 3803, Parents’ Election to Report Child’s Interest and
Dividends.

We Welcome Your  Comments on Forms
Your comments and suggestions for improving tax forms and instruc-
tions are important to us and have resulted in several improvements to
the Franchise Tax Board’s products and services. For example, you
have shared with us your concern with the use of our nation’s natural
resources and your requests that we offer more convenient methods to
file your return and receive your refund. In response, our income tax
booklets are now printed on recycled paper. Additionally, you now have
another method of filing electronically through the tax return on-line
service (TROLS) filing program. If you file electronically, you may
request the convenience of direct deposit of your refund. Please con-
tinue to write with your comments and suggestions for improving tax
forms and instructions. Write to me at:

Mail: GERALD GOLDBERG, EXECUTIVE OFFICER
FRANCHISE TAX BOARD
PO BOX 942840
SACRAMENTO CA 94240-0040

or E-mail: Go to http://www.ftb.ca.gov and select
‘‘Send Mail to the Executive Officer’’.
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Why spend unnecessary time preparing your California taxes? If you are
single or married filing a joint return and you have no dependents, chances
are good that you could be using Form 540EZ. It’s quick, it’s easy, and you
can do it yourself. Check the chart below to see which form you should use.
Note: If you were not a resident of California for any part of 1997, you must
use Form 540NR.

Single or married filing joint,
under 65 and not blind

Any filing status

No dependents All dependents you are entitled to claim

Taxable income
$50,000 or less

Federal adjusted gross income
$100,000 or less

Only income from:
• Wages, salaries, tips
• Taxable interest of $400 or less
• Taxable scholarship or

fellowship grants
• Unemployment compensation

reported on Form 1099-G

Only income from:
• Wages, salaries, tips
• Taxable scholarship

fellowship grants
• Interest and dividends
• Unemployment compensation

reported on Form 1099-G
• Social security benefits
• Tier 1 and tier 2

railroad retirement payments
• Fully and partially taxable IRA

distributions, pensions & annuities

No adjustments to income Allowed if the amount is the same as
your federal adjustments to income

AllowedAllowed

No itemized deductions Allowed if the amount is the same as
your federal itemized deductions (except
for state, local and foreign taxes paid)

Only withholding shown on
Form(s) W-2

• Withholding shown on Form(s) W-2,
W-2G and 1099-R

• Estimated tax payments
• Payments made with extension

voucher
• Excess State Disability Insurance

(SDI) or Voluntary Plan Disability
Insurance (VPDI)

• Personal exemption credit
• Senior exemption credit
• Blind exemption credit
• Dependent exemption credit

Only personal exemption credit

Only tax computed using the
tax table

Only tax computed using the tax table
or tax rate schedules

Filing Status

Dependents

Amount of Income

Sources of Income

Adjustment to Income

Standard Deduction

Itemized Deductions

Payments

Tax Credits

Other Taxes

All dependents you are entitled
to claim

Any amount of income

All sources of income

All adjustments to income

Allowed

All itemized deductions

• Withholding from all sources
• Estimated tax payments
• Payments made with

extension voucher
• Excess State Disability

Insurance (SDI) or Voluntary
Plan Disability Insurance
(VPDI)

All tax credits

All taxes:
• Tax computed using the tax

table or tax rate schedules
• Alternative minimum tax
• Tax on early use of an IRA

or a qualified retirement plan
• Tax for children under age

14 who have investment
income of more than $1,300

• Tax on lump-sum distribution
• Recapture taxes
• Deferred tax on certain

installment obligations
• Tax on accumulation

distribution of trusts

Any filing status

Form Not Included In This Booklet.
(See page 39 to order this form.)

Form 540Form 540AForm 540EZ
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Helpful Hints
Filling in your return.

Tips on how you should fill in Form 540EZ, Form
540A and Form 540:
• Use black or blue ballpoint pen on the copy you 

send us. The scanning machines may not be
able to read red or other colored ink or pencil.

• Print all names and words in CAPITAL
LETTERS.

• Print numbers inside boxes. Be sure to line up
dollar amounts.

• Round cents to the nearest whole dollar on your
return and schedules. See page 44 for more
information on how to round cents.

• If you do not have an entry for a line, leave it
blank. Do not enter a dash. Also do not enter a
zero unless the instructions for a line specifically
tell you to enter zero.

• Attach your label. Or if you don’t have a label fill
in your name as in the following example:

Is your name or address too long to fit in the boxes
provided? Do not shorten your name or address. In-
stead ignore the boxes and fit the information in the
space provided. Example: Jonathan A. Ziggzephyr-
stone would enter his name as follows:

Your first name Last nameInitial

J O H N A D O E

Your first name Last nameInitial

J A Z I G ZO N A T H AN G E HP Y R S T O N E

Verify Step 1, Step 2 and Step 3.
Step 1: Use your full legal name and complete
address including zip code. Verify that you entered
your social security number correctly. If married filing
jointly, verify that the first social security number
listed belongs to the first name listed.
Step 2: Make sure that you meet all the
requirements for your filing status. See page 17 for
more information. If you believe that you qualify for
the head of household filing status, please review
the requirements on page 17.
Step 3: Take your personal exemption credit. Most
taxpayers qualify for this credit, but many neglect to
claim it. See page 20 and page 28.

Check other areas.
California Part-year Residents or Nonresidents:
You must file Form 540NR.
Federal Adjusted Gross Income: Double-check
that you correctly transferred your federal adjusted
gross income from your federal TeleFile Tax Record,
line H; or Form 1040EZ, line 4; or Form 1040A, line
16; or Form 1040, line 32.
California Standard Deduction: Make sure that you
entered the California standard deduction and not
the federal amount.
Itemized Deductions: Be sure that you reduced
your federal itemized deductions by the amount of
state and local income taxes you claimed on your
federal Schedule A. Form 540 filers, see page 35.
Form 540A filers, see page 19.
Double-check your math: Double-check each
subtraction, addition and any other calculations.

Attachments to your return.
Form(s) W-2, W-2G and 1099-R: Make sure to
staple all the Form(s) W-2, W-2G and 1099-R you
received to the front of your return where it says
‘‘Attach copy of your Form(s) W-2 here.’’
Checks: If you have a balance due, make your
check or money order payable to the Franchise Tax
Board. Also, write your social security number and
‘‘1997 Form 540EZ,’’ ‘‘1997 Form 540A,’’ or ‘‘1997
Form 540’’ on the check or money order. Also,
complete Form 540-V, Return Payment Voucher for
Individuals, located on page 5. See Assembling
your return below before attaching the voucher to
your return.
Federal Form 1040: Do not attach your federal
return if you file Form 540EZ or Form 540A. If you
file Form 540, did you attach any federal forms or
schedules other than Schedule A or Schedule B to
your federal Form 1040?
No. Do not attach Form 1040 to Form 540.
Yes. Attach a copy of Form 1040 and all supporting
federal forms and schedules to Form 540.

Assembling your return.
Assemble your return in the order shown below.
See page 6, Tax Time Tips, for where to mail your
return.

Form 540

540-V
(If you
owe)

Check or money order

(If you owe)

W-2
1099-R
W-2G

Side 1

Side
2

Supporting California Schedules

Federal return (if required)
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CALIFORNIA FORM

1997 Return Payment Voucher for Individuals

TAXABLE YEAR

540-V

Make your check or money order payable to ‘‘Franchise Tax Board.’’

Write your social security number, type of return and tax year on your
check or money order.

Attach this voucher and your payment to the front of your return.

Amount of payment

Your first name

If joint payment, spouse’s first name

Present home address — number and street including PO Box or rural route

City, town or post office

Your social security number

Spouse’s social security number

Apt. no.

Last name

Spouse’s last name if different from yours

Initial

Initial

ZIP CodeState

*
5
4
0
V
9
7
1
*

$

For Privacy Act Notice, see form FTB 1131.

0 0

Do I Need To Use This Form?
The Franchise Tax Board is modernizing its payment system. Sending this new return payment voucher with your check or
money order will help us process your payment accurately and efficiently. We strongly encourage you to use Form 540-V,
but there is no penalty if you do not do so. If your 1997 return shows a refund or no tax due, you do not need to use this
payment voucher.

TAXABLE YEAR CALIFORNIA FORM

1997 540-V
Instructions for Return Payment Voucher
for Individuals

How Do I Prepare and Mail My Payment?

Step 1: Prepare Your Check or Money Order
➮ Make it payable to Franchise Tax Board for the full amount you owe.
➮ Write your social security number and the type of the return on your check or money order :

‘‘1997 Form 540EZ’’; or
‘‘1997 Form 540A’’; or
‘‘1997 Form 540’’; or
‘‘1997 Form 540NR’’.

Step 2: Complete the Return Payment Voucher (Form 540-V)
➮ Using blue or black ink, enter your name(s), address and social security number(s) in the space provided.
➮ Enter the amount of payment that you are sending with your return. If you are paying penalties or interest

in addition to the tax you owe, be sure to enter the total amount of your check or money order on Form 540-V.
➮ Cut off the voucher on the dotted line.

Step 3: Attach the Return Payment Voucher and Check or Money Order to Your Return
➮ Place the check or money order on top of the voucher. Attach both to the front of your return where it says 

‘‘Attach check or money order and Form 540-V here.’’ Make sure that your check or money order and voucher are
not covered up by your Form(s) W-2 or any other items.

Step 4: Mail
➮  Mail your return, the attached voucher and your check or money order to the following address:

FRANCHISE TAX BOARD
PO BOX 942867
SACRAMENTO CA 94267-0001

$

✍

5
4
0
V

DETACH HERE

Fiscal year filers, enter year ending: month year 1 9 9 8

•
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Tax Time Tips

Refund of excess SDI
You may be eligible for a refund of excess SDI if you had at least two employers during 1997 who together :
• Paid you more than $31,767 in wages and
• Withheld more than $158.84 of State Disability Insurance (SDI) or Voluntary Plan Disability Insurance 

(VPDI).
See page 21 (instructions for Form 540A, line 27) or page 32 (instructions for Form 540, line 41) for more
information.

If you have a refund or no amount due : If you owe money:

FRANCHISE TAX BOARD FRANCHISE TAX BOARD
PO BOX 942840 PO BOX 942867
SACRAMENTO CA 94240-0000 SACRAMENTO CA 94267-0001

The Franchise Tax Board (FTB) may request information from you regarding your California income tax
return within the California statute of limitations period, which is usually the later of four years from the
due date of the return or the date the return is filed. Keep a copy of your return and the records that
verify the income, deductions, adjustments or credits reported on your return. Some records should be
kept longer. For example, keep property records as long as they are needed to figure the basis of the
original or replacement property.

Mailing your return.

Keep a copy of your return.

File electronically.
If you file your return electronically, make sure all the amounts entered are correct before you sign form
FTB 8453, California Individual Income Tax Declaration for Electronic Filing. If you are requesting direct
deposit of a refund, make sure that your account and routing information is correct. Your return can be
transmitted to FTB by your preparer or electronic filing service only after you sign form FTB 8453. The
preparer or electronic filing service must provide you with:
• A copy of form FTB 8453;
• Any original Form(s) W-2, W-2G, 1099-G and 1099-R that you provided; and
• A paper copy of your California tax return showing the data transmitted to the FTB.

Important due dates.
DATE
April 15, 1998

October 15, 1998

April 15, 1998
June 15, 1998
September 15, 1998
January 15, 1999

Last day to pay 1997 amount you owe to avoid penalties and interest1.
See page 45 for more information.

Last day to file your 1997 return to avoid penalties and interest computed from the
original due date of April 15, 1998. 

Due dates for 1998 estimated tax payments. Generally, you need to make estimated
payments if less than 80% of your tax is paid by withholding. See page 49.

1 If you are living or traveling outside the United States on April 15, 1998, the due dates for filing your return and paying your
tax are different. See ‘‘Taxpayers Residing or Traveling Abroad’’ on page 45 for more information.
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Step 3

Step 4

Step 5

Taxable
Income

Tax and
Credits

Overpaid
Tax or
Tax Due

Step 6
Refund or
Amount
You Owe

15 Did you check the box on line 6?
Yes. Complete the worksheet on Side 2, Part I.
No. If single, enter $2,583. If married filing joint, enter $5,166 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 15

16 Subtract line 15 from line 14. This is your taxable income. If it is more
than $50,000, STOP. You must use Form 540A or Form 540. If line 15 is
more than line 14, enter -0- . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 16

17 Tax. Use the amount on line 16 to find your tax in the tax table.
Enter the tax from the table on this line . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 17

23 Subtract line 18 from line 17. This is your total tax. If less than zero, enter -0-. . . . . . . . . • 23

24 Enter your California income tax withheld from your Form(s) W-2, box 18 . . . . ■ 24

31 Overpaid tax. If line 24 is more than line 23, subtract line 23 from line 24.
Enter the result and go to line 34. If line 24 is less than line 23,
enter -0- and go to line 32 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ■ 31

32 Tax due. If line 24 is less than line 23, subtract line 24 from line 23.
Enter the result and go to line 34 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 32

35 Subtract line 34 from line 31. Enter the result here. You have a REFUND
or NO AMOUNT DUE. Go to Side 2, Part IV to sign your return . . . . . . . . . ■ 35

36 Add line 32 and line 34. Enter the result here. This is the AMOUNT YOU
OWE. Go to Side 2, Part IV to sign your return . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ■ 36

For Privacy Act Notice, see instructions.

34 Total contributions. Enter amount from Side 2, Part III, line 10 . . . . . . . . . . . • 34

Attach check
or money
order and
Form 540-V
here.

Attach copy
of your
Form(s) W-2
here.

Step 2
Filing
Status

1 ■ Single
2 ■ Married filing joint return (even if only one spouse had income)
6 If your parent(s), or someone else, can claim you (or your spouse, if married) as a dependent on their tax return,

even if that person chooses not to, check here . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 6

18 Did you check the box on line 6?
Yes. Go to Side 2, Part II.
No. If single, enter $68. If married filing joint, enter $136 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 18

13 Unemployment compensation from your federal TeleFile Tax Record,
line D; or Form 1040EZ, line 3; or Form 1040A, line 12; or Form 1040, line 19 . . . . . . . . • 13

14 Subtract line 13 from line 12b. This is your California
adjusted gross income . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 14

12a State wages from your Form(s) W-2, box 17 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 12a

FORM

Your first name

If joint return, spouse’s first name

Present home address — number and street including PO Box or rural route

City, town or post office

Your social security number

Spouse’s social security number

Do Not Write
In These
Spaces

P

AC

A

R

RP

Apt. no.

Use the California mailing label. If you do not have the label, please print.
Last name

Last name

Initial

Initial

ZIP CodeState

Step 1
Name
and
Address

540EZ

$

$

*
5
4
0
E
Z
9
7
1
*

California Resident Income Tax Return
For Single and Joint Filers With No Dependents 1997

•

•

•

•

•

•

•

•

•

•

•

•

•

•

•

•

•

•

•

•

•

•

•

•

•

•

•

•

•

•
12b Federal adjusted gross income from your TeleFile Tax Record, line H; or your

Form 1040EZ, line 4; or your Form 1040A, line 16; or your Form 1040, line 32 . . . . . . . . 12b



1 Alzheimer’s Disease/Related Disorders Fund . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . O 48 P 1

2 California Fund for Senior Citizens. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . O 49 P 2

3 Rare and Endangered Species Preservation Program . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . O 50 P 3

4 State Children’s Trust Fund for the Prevention of Child Abuse . . . . . . . . . . . . . O 51 P 4

5 California Breast Cancer Research Fund . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . O 52 P 5

6 California Firefighters’ Memorial Fund . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . O 53 P 6

7 California Public School Library Protection Fund . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . O 54 P 7

8 D.A.R.E. California (Drug Abuse Resistance Education) Fund. . . . . . . . . . . . . . O 55 P 8

9 California Millitary Museum Fund. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . O 56 P 9

10 Total contributions. Add line 1 through line 9. Enter here and on Side 1, line 34. . . . . . . . 10

Side 2 Form 540EZ C1 1997

1 Enter the amount from line 1 of your federal Form 1040EZ or from line 1 of the ‘‘Worksheet
for Dependents’’ found in the instructions for federal Form 1040A or Form 1040 . . . . . . . . . . 1

2 Minimum standard deduction . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 2
3 Compare the amounts on line 1 and line 2 above. Enter the LARGER

of the two amounts here . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 3

4 Maximum standard deduction: { If single, enter $2,583 }If married filing joint, enter $5,166 . . . . . . . . . . . . 4

5 Compare the amounts on line 3 and line 4.
Enter the SMALLER of the two amounts here and on Side 1, line 15 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 5

If you did not check the box on Side 1, line 6 because no one can Single, enter $2,583 on Side 1, line 15; OR 
claim you (or your spouse, if married) as a dependent, and you are: { Married filing joint, enter $5,166 on Side 1, line 15.

If you (or your spouse, if married) can be claimed as a dependent, enter the following amounts on line 18:

• If single, enter -0-.

• If married filing joint and both you and your spouse can be claimed as dependents, enter -0-.

• If married filing joint and only one of you can be claimed as a dependent, enter $68.

Part I
Standard
Deduction
Worksheet
for
Dependents

Part II
Personal
Exemption
Chart for
Dependents

Part III
Contributions

Under penalties of perjury, I declare that I have examined this return and to the best of my knowledge and belief, it is true, correct and complete. 9

Due to a tax law change, renter’s credit has been eliminated for 1997.
You may not claim the credit on your personal income tax return.

Do not attach your federal return to this return.

Part IV

Sign Here
It is unlawful to
forge a spouse’s
signature.

REFUND or NO AMOUNT DUE (Side 1, line 35):
FRANCHISE TAX BOARD
PO BOX 942840
SACRAMENTO CA 94240-0000

Where to
Mail Your
Return

You may make a voluntary contribution of $1 or more to the following funds:

Your signature Spouse’s signature (if filing joint, both must sign) Daytime phone number

Paid preparer’s signature (declaration of preparer is based on all information of which preparer has any knowledge)

Firm’s name (or yours if self-employed)

X X Date | | | | | | |
Preparer’s SSN / FEIN

Firm’s address

( )| | | | | | | | | | | |-

• Make your check or money order payable to ‘‘Franchise Tax Board.’’
• Write your social security number and ‘‘1997 Form 540EZ’’ on

your check or money order.
• Complete Form 540-V, Return Payment Voucher for Individuals.
• Attach check or money order and voucher to your Form 540EZ.

*
5
4
0
E
Z
9
7
2
*

AMOUNT DUE (Side 1, line 36):
FRANCHISE TAX BOARD
PO BOX 942867
SACRAMENTO CA 94267-0001

If you checked the box on Side 1, line 6 because someone can claim you (or your spouse, if married) as a dependent, even if that
person chooses not to, complete this worksheet to figure the amount to enter on Side 1, line 15.

0
0 0
0 0
0 0
0 0
0 0
0 0
0 0
0 0
0 0•

•

•

•

•

•

•

•

•

•

0

•

•

•

•

•
6 5 0



Form 540EZ C1 1997 Side 1

Step 3

Step 4

Step 5

Taxable
Income

Tax and
Credits

Overpaid
Tax or
Tax Due

Step 6
Refund or
Amount
You Owe

15 Did you check the box on line 6?
Yes. Complete the worksheet on Side 2, Part I.
No. If single, enter $2,583. If married filing joint, enter $5,166 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 15

16 Subtract line 15 from line 14. This is your taxable income. If it is more
than $50,000, STOP. You must use Form 540A or Form 540. If line 15 is
more than line 14, enter -0- . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 16

17 Tax. Use the amount on line 16 to find your tax in the tax table.
Enter the tax from the table on this line . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 17

23 Subtract line 18 from line 17. This is your total tax. If less than zero, enter -0-. . . . . . . . . • 23

24 Enter your California income tax withheld from your Form(s) W-2, box 18 . . . . ■ 24

31 Overpaid tax. If line 24 is more than line 23, subtract line 23 from line 24.
Enter the result and go to line 34. If line 24 is less than line 23,
enter -0- and go to line 32 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ■ 31

32 Tax due. If line 24 is less than line 23, subtract line 24 from line 23.
Enter the result and go to line 34 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 32

35 Subtract line 34 from line 31. Enter the result here. You have a REFUND
or NO AMOUNT DUE. Go to Side 2, Part IV to sign your return . . . . . . . . . ■ 35

36 Add line 32 and line 34. Enter the result here. This is the AMOUNT YOU
OWE. Go to Side 2, Part IV to sign your return . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ■ 36

For Privacy Act Notice, see instructions.

34 Total contributions. Enter amount from Side 2, Part III, line 10 . . . . . . . . . . . • 34

Attach check
or money
order and
Form 540-V
here.

Attach copy
of your
Form(s) W-2
here.

Step 2
Filing
Status

1 ■ Single
2 ■ Married filing joint return (even if only one spouse had income)
6 If your parent(s), or someone else, can claim you (or your spouse, if married) as a dependent on their tax return,

even if that person chooses not to, check here . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 6

18 Did you check the box on line 6?
Yes. Go to Side 2, Part II.
No. If single, enter $68. If married filing joint, enter $136 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 18

13 Unemployment compensation from your federal TeleFile Tax Record,
line D; or Form 1040EZ, line 3; or Form 1040A, line 12; or Form 1040, line 19 . . . . . . . . • 13

14 Subtract line 13 from line 12b. This is your California
adjusted gross income . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 14

12a State wages from your Form(s) W-2, box 17 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 12a

FORM

Your first name

If joint return, spouse’s first name

Present home address — number and street including PO Box or rural route

City, town or post office

Your social security number

Spouse’s social security number

Do Not Write
In These
Spaces

P

AC

A

R

RP

Apt. no.

Use the California mailing label. If you do not have the label, please print.
Last name

Last name

Initial

Initial

ZIP CodeState

Step 1
Name
and
Address

540EZ

$

$

*
5
4
0
E
Z
9
7
1
*

California Resident Income Tax Return
For Single and Joint Filers With No Dependents 1997

•

•

•

•

•

•

•

•

•

•

•

•

•

•

•

•

•

•

•

•

•

•

•

•

•

•

•

•

•

•
12b Federal adjusted gross income from your TeleFile Tax Record, line H; or your

Form 1040EZ, line 4; or your Form 1040A, line 16; or your Form 1040, line 32 . . . . . . . . 12b



1 Alzheimer’s Disease/Related Disorders Fund . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . O 48 P 1

2 California Fund for Senior Citizens. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . O 49 P 2

3 Rare and Endangered Species Preservation Program . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . O 50 P 3

4 State Children’s Trust Fund for the Prevention of Child Abuse . . . . . . . . . . . . . O 51 P 4

5 California Breast Cancer Research Fund . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . O 52 P 5

6 California Firefighters’ Memorial Fund . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . O 53 P 6

7 California Public School Library Protection Fund . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . O 54 P 7

8 D.A.R.E. California (Drug Abuse Resistance Education) Fund. . . . . . . . . . . . . . O 55 P 8

9 California Millitary Museum Fund. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . O 56 P 9

10 Total contributions. Add line 1 through line 9. Enter here and on Side 1, line 34. . . . . . . . 10

Side 2 Form 540EZ C1 1997

1 Enter the amount from line 1 of your federal Form 1040EZ or from line 1 of the ‘‘Worksheet
for Dependents’’ found in the instructions for federal Form 1040A or Form 1040 . . . . . . . . . . 1

2 Minimum standard deduction . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 2
3 Compare the amounts on line 1 and line 2 above. Enter the LARGER

of the two amounts here . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 3

4 Maximum standard deduction: { If single, enter $2,583 }If married filing joint, enter $5,166 . . . . . . . . . . . . 4

5 Compare the amounts on line 3 and line 4.
Enter the SMALLER of the two amounts here and on Side 1, line 15 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 5

If you did not check the box on Side 1, line 6 because no one can Single, enter $2,583 on Side 1, line 15; OR 
claim you (or your spouse, if married) as a dependent, and you are: { Married filing joint, enter $5,166 on Side 1, line 15.

If you (or your spouse, if married) can be claimed as a dependent, enter the following amounts on line 18:

• If single, enter -0-.

• If married filing joint and both you and your spouse can be claimed as dependents, enter -0-.

• If married filing joint and only one of you can be claimed as a dependent, enter $68.

Part I
Standard
Deduction
Worksheet
for
Dependents

Part II
Personal
Exemption
Chart for
Dependents

Part III
Contributions

Under penalties of perjury, I declare that I have examined this return and to the best of my knowledge and belief, it is true, correct and complete. 9

Due to a tax law change, renter’s credit has been eliminated for 1997.
You may not claim the credit on your personal income tax return.

Do not attach your federal return to this return.

Part IV

Sign Here
It is unlawful to
forge a spouse’s
signature.

REFUND or NO AMOUNT DUE (Side 1, line 35):
FRANCHISE TAX BOARD
PO BOX 942840
SACRAMENTO CA 94240-0000

Where to
Mail Your
Return

You may make a voluntary contribution of $1 or more to the following funds:

Your signature Spouse’s signature (if filing joint, both must sign) Daytime phone number

Paid preparer’s signature (declaration of preparer is based on all information of which preparer has any knowledge)

Firm’s name (or yours if self-employed)

X X Date | | | | | | |
Preparer’s SSN / FEIN

Firm’s address

( )| | | | | | | | | | | |-

• Make your check or money order payable to ‘‘Franchise Tax Board.’’
• Write your social security number and ‘‘1997 Form 540EZ’’ on

your check or money order.
• Complete Form 540-V, Return Payment Voucher for Individuals.
• Attach check or money order and voucher to your Form 540EZ.

*
5
4
0
E
Z
9
7
2
*

AMOUNT DUE (Side 1, line 36):
FRANCHISE TAX BOARD
PO BOX 942867
SACRAMENTO CA 94267-0001

If you checked the box on Side 1, line 6 because someone can claim you (or your spouse, if married) as a dependent, even if that
person chooses not to, complete this worksheet to figure the amount to enter on Side 1, line 15.

0
0 0
0 0
0 0
0 0
0 0
0 0
0 0
0 0
0 0•

•

•

•

•

•

•

•

•

•

0

•

•

•

•

•
6 5 0
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Instructions for Form 540EZ, California Resident Income Tax Return
These instructions are based on the Internal Revenue Code (IRC) as of January 1, 1997, and the California Revenue and Taxation Code (R&TC).

Before
You
Begin

You must complete your federal income tax return (Form 1040,
Form 1040A, Form 1040EZ or federal TeleFile Tax Record)
before you begin your Form 540EZ. You will use the information
you entered on your federal income tax return to complete your
Form 540EZ.

Important: Do not attach a copy of your federal income tax
return to Form 540EZ.

Step 1
Name and
Address

If there is a label on the front of your booklet:

1. Complete your Form 540EZ before you remove the address
label from the front of your booklet.

2. Check your math and the amounts entered to make sure
that they are correct.

3. Remove your address label from the front of your booklet
and attach it on the front of your Form 540EZ in the space
provided at the top.

4. Make sure the information on your address label is correct.
If you need to make any changes, draw a line in ink through
the incorrect information and clearly print the new informa-
tion.

If there is no label, print your name, social security number and
address in the spaces provided at the top of Form 540EZ. See
page 4, Helpful Hints, Filling in your return.

If you file a joint return, show social security numbers in the
same order that you show both names.

Step 2
Filing
Status

Your filing status for California must be the same as the filing
status you used on your federal income tax return. If it is not,
you cannot use Form 540EZ. See the instructions for Form
540A beginning on page 17.

Line 1 – Single. You may check the box on line 1 if any of the following
was true on December 31, 1997:
• You were never married;
• You were legally separated under a decree of divorce or of

separate maintenance; or
• You were widowed before January 1, 1997, and did not

remarry in 1997.

Line 2 – Married Filing Joint Return. You may check the box on line 2
if any of the following is true:
• You were married as of December 31, 1997, even if you did

not live with your spouse at the end of 1997;
• Your spouse died in 1997 and you did not remarry in 1997;

or
• Your spouse died in 1998 before filing a 1997 return.

Line 6 – Dependent Check Box

&
601

Check the box on line 6 if your parent (or someone else) can
claim you as a dependent on his or her tax return. For example,
if your parents (or someone else) could claim you as a depen-
dent on their return but they chose not to claim you, you must
check the box on line 6.

Step 3
Taxable
Income

Please round cents to the nearest whole dollar. See page 44 for
more information on rounding.

Line 12a – State Wages
Enter the total amount of your state wages from all states from
each of your Form(s) W-2. This amount should be on Form(s)
W-2, box 17.

Line 12b – Federal Adjusted Gross Income
Enter on Form 540EZ, line 12b the amount of your federal
adjusted gross income from your federal TeleFile Tax Record,
line H; or your Form 1040EZ, line 4; or your Form 1040A,
line 16; or your Form 1040, line 32.

Line 13 – Unemployment Compensation
Enter the amount of any unemployment compensation shown
on your federal TeleFile Tax Record, line D; or Form 1040EZ,
line 3; or Form 1040A, line 12; or Form 1040, line 19.

Line 14 – California Adjusted Gross Income
Subtract line 13 from line 12b. Enter the result on line 14.

Line 15 – Standard Deduction
Did you check the box on line 6 because your parents (or
someone else) can claim you on their return?

Yes Complete the Standard Deduction Worksheet for Depen-
dents on Form 540EZ, Side 2, Part I.

No If single, enter $2,583. If married filing joint,
enter $5,166.

Step 4
Tax and
Credits

First figure your tax, then make sure you qualify to claim your
credits.

Line 17 – Tax
To figure your tax on the amount shown on line 16, you must
use the tax table on page 51 through page 53. If you are single,
use the column for filing status 1. If you are married, use the
column for filing status 2.

Line 18 – Personal Exemption Credit
Did you check the box on line 6?

Yes Go to the Personal Exemption Chart for Dependents on
Form 540EZ, Side 2, Part II.

No If single, enter $68. If married filing joint, enter $136.

Step 5
Overpaid Tax
or Tax Due

To avoid a delay in the processing of your return, be sure you
enter the correct amounts on line 24 through line 32.

Line 24 – California Income Tax Withheld
Enter the total amount of California income tax withheld from
each of your Form(s) W-2. This amount should be shown on
Form W-2, box 18. Do not include any amount of local income
tax withheld or tax withheld by another state.

Note: If you had two or more employers during 1997, received
more than $31,767 in wages from these employers and they
withheld more than $158.84 of California State Disability Insur-
ance (SDI) or Voluntary Plan Disability Insurance (VPDI), you
may be entitled to a credit for excess SDI. See page 21, line 27
for more information.&

204
If you do not have a Form W-2, see the instructions for ‘‘Sign
Your Return’’ on page 34.

Line 31 – Overpaid Tax
Is the amount on line 24 more than the amount on line 23?

No Enter zero and go to line 32.
Yes Your payments and credits are more than your tax. Sub-

tract the amount on line 23 from the amount on line 24.
Enter the result on line 31. Go to line 34.

Line 32 – Tax Due
Is the amount on line 24 less than the amount on line 23?

No Enter zero and go to line 34.
Yes Your tax is more than the total of your payments and

credits. Subtract the amount on line 24 from the amount
on line 23. Enter the result on line 32.

There is a penalty for not paying enough tax during the year.
You may have to pay a penalty if the:

• Tax due on line 32 is $100 or more; and
• Amount of state income tax withheld on line 24 is less than

80% of the amount of your total tax on line 23.

If you owe a penalty, the Franchise Tax Board will compute the
penalty and send you a bill.

You may add contributions to the tax due. You must pay the full
amount of tax due, including voluntary contributions, when you
file your Form 540EZ.
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Instructions: Form 540EZ F.A.S.T. 1-800-338-0505

Step 6
Refund or
Amount
You Owe

Be sure to add or subtract correctly to figure the amount of your
refund or the amount you owe.

Contributions
You may make voluntary contributions of $1 or more in whole
dollar amounts. If you make a voluntary contribution, you must
complete Form 540EZ, Side 2, Part III. You may contribute only
to the funds listed in Part III and cannot change the amount you
contributed after you file your return.

Side 2, Part III — Contributions
Part III,
Line 1 – Alzheimer’s Disease/Related Disorders Fund

Contributions entered on line 1 will be used to conduct a pro-
gram for researching the cause and cure of Alzheimer’s dis-
ease and related disorders and research into the care and
treatment of persons suffering from dementing illnesses.

Part III,
Line 2 – California Fund for Senior Citizens

Contributions entered on line 2 will be used by the California
Fund for Senior Citizens which supports direct services to
seniors and the work of the California Senior Legislature. The
California Senior Legislature is non-partisan, volunteer, grass
roots body of seniors 60 years of age or older, elected by their
peers. The California Senior Legislature has been instrumental
in creating and steering senior legislation through the regular
legislature; legislation, such as: Alzheimer Studies and
Research; Adult Day Health Care Centers; nutrition centers;
respite care; long term care; the funding and broadening of In
Home Support Services; programs to abolish abuse of seniors;
skilled nursing facility reforms; and many more. All donations
over those needed to carry out the California Senior Legisla-
ture’s work, will be distributed for direct services to needy
seniors.

Part III,
Line 3 – Rare and Endangered Species Preservation Program

Contributions entered on line 3 will be used to help protect and
conserve California’s many threatened and endangered species
and the wild lands that they need to survive, for the enjoyment
and benefit of you and future generations of Californians.

Part III,
Line 4 – State Children’s Trust Fund for the Prevention of Child

Abuse
Contributions entered on line 4 will be used to fund programs
for the prevention, intervention and treatment of child abuse
and neglect.

Part III,
Line 5 – California Breast Cancer Research Fund

Contributions entered on line 5 will be used to conduct
research relating to the prevention, screening, cure and treat-
ment of breast cancer.

Part III,
Line 6 – California Firefighters’ Memorial Fund

Contributions entered on line 6 will be used for the construction
of a memorial on the grounds of the State Capitol honoring the
hundreds of firefighters who have died protecting our neighbor-
hoods, our homes, our families and our dreams. These brave
men and women answered the call when fire alarms sounded
or when hazardous, cancer-causing elements needed to be
removed, and their sacrifices and the sacrifices of their families
deserve to be remembered.

Part III,
Line 7 – California Public School Library Protection Fund

Contributions entered on line 7 will be expended for the pur-
chase of books and other library resources through grants
awarded for implementing a school library improvement plan.

Part III,
Line 8 – D.A.R.E. California (Drug Abuse Resistance Education)

Fund
Contributions entered on line 8 will be used to support local
D.A.R.E. programs and provide proven effective, in-classroom
anti-drug, anti-gang and anti-violence education for California
school children.

Part III,
Line 9 – California Military Museum Fund

Contributions entered on line 9 will be used to support the
museum’s effort to: 1) collect, exhibit, and preserve California’s
military history from 1775 to date; 2) assist in educating the
general public, especially school children, about our American
military heritage and thus instill pride therein; 3) recognize all
branches of the U.S. Armed Forces and the contributions of
ethnicities and their members throughout our proud military
history; and 4) maintain and operate the facilities required.

Part III,
Line 10 – Total Contributions

Add all contributions you entered on line 1 through
line 9. Enter the result on Side 2, Part III, line 10, and Side 1,
line 34.

Step 6 (continued)
Line 34 – Total Contributions

Did you make any voluntary contribution on Form 540EZ,
Side 2, Part III?

Yes Enter the amount of your total contributions from Part III,
line 10. Then go to line 35.

No Leave this line blank. If you entered an amount on:

• Line 31, go to line 35.
• Line 32, go to line 36.

Line 35 – Refund Or No Amount Due
Did you enter an amount on line 34?

No Enter the amount from line 31 on line 35. This is the
amount that will be refunded to you. If the amount is
less than $1, you must attach a written request to your
Form 540EZ to receive the refund. Go to Side 2, Part IV
to sign your return.

Yes Go to the next question.

Is line 31 more than line 34?

Yes Subtract line 34 from line 31. Enter the result on line 35.
Go to Side 2, Part IV to sign your return.

No Do not enter an amount on line 35. Go to line 36.

Line 36 – Amount You Owe
Did you enter an amount on line 34?

No Enter the amount from line 32 on line 36.
Yes If you entered an amount on:

• Line 32, add the amounts on line 32 and line 34 and
enter the result on line 36.

• Line 31, subtract the amount on line 31 from the
amount on line 34 and enter the result on line 36.

• Make your check or money order payable to the ‘‘Franchise
Tax Board’’ for the full amount you owe. Do not send cash.
Be sure to write your social security number and ‘‘1997
Form 540EZ’’ on your check or money order.

• Fill in Form 540-V, Return Payment Voucher for Individuals,
located on page 5.

• Attach your check or money order and Form 540-V to your
return. See page 4, Helpful Hints, Assembling your return.

A penalty may be imposed if your check is returned by your
bank for insufficient funds.&
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To avoid a late filing penalty, file your Form 540EZ by the due
date even if you cannot pay the amount you owe.

If you cannot pay the full amount shown on line 36 with your
return, you may request to make monthly payments. See
page 44, Installment Payments, for more information.

Part IV — Sign Your Return
You must sign your return in the space provided on Side 2,
Part IV. If you file a joint return, your spouse must sign it also.

Then mail your return to the Franchise Tax Board on or before
the due date. For further information, see page 34.



California Resident
Income Tax Return 1997

Qualifying widow(er) with dependent child. Enter year spouse died 19 .
Head of household (with qualifying person). If the qualifying person is a child but not your dependent, enter child’s name

Married filing separate return. Enter spouse’s social security number above and full name here

Step 2
Filing Status

1
2
3
4
5

Married filing joint return (even if only one spouse had income)

Step 3
Exemptions

Attach check or
money order and
Form 540-V here.

6 If your parent(s), or someone else, can claim you (or your spouse, if married) as a dependent on their tax
return, even if that person chooses not to, check here . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 6

7 Personal: If you checked box 1, 3 or 4 above, enter 1. If you checked box 2 or 5, enter 2. If you checked
the box on line 6, see page 18 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 7

8 Blind: If you (or if married, your spouse) are visually impaired, enter 1. If both are visually impaired, enter 2 . . . . 8
9 Senior: If you (or if married, your spouse) are 65 or older, enter 1. If both are 65 or older, enter 2 . . . . . . . . . • 9

10 Dependents: Enter name and relationship. Do not include yourself, your spouse or the person you listed on line 4.

 Enter the total number of dependents 10
11 Add line 7 through line 10. These are your total exemptions . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 11

Step 4

Check only one.

12 b Federal adjusted gross income from your TeleFile Tax Record, line H; Form 1040EZ, line 4; Form 1040A,
line 16; or Form 1040, line 32. If this amount is over $100,000, STOP; you must file Form 540. . . . . . 12b

14 Subtract line 13 from line 12b. This is your California adjusted gross income. See page 19. . . . . . . . • 14
15 Enter the larger of your CA itemized deductions OR your CA standard deduction. See page 19 . . . • 15
16 Subtract line 15 from line 14. This is your taxable income. If less than zero, enter -0- . . . . . . . . . . . 16

Step 5
Tax and
Credits

Attach copy of your
Form(s) W-2, W-2G
and 1099-R here.

17 Tax. Use the tax table or tax rate schedules to find the tax on the amount shown on line 16 . . . . . . 17
18 Exemption credits. If line 14 is less than: $33,750 (single or head of household); $45,000 (married

filing joint or qualifying widow(er)); or $22,500 (married filing separate), multiply $68 by the amount
on line 11. Otherwise, see page 20 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 18

23 Subtract line 18 from line 17. This is your total tax. If less than zero, enter -0-. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 23

Step 6
Overpaid
Tax or
Tax Due

24 California income tax withheld. See page 20 . . . . . . . . . ■ 24
25 1997 CA estimated tax and payment with form FTB 3519 . ■ 25

28 Total payments and credits. Add line 24, line 25 and line 27 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 28
29 Overpaid tax. If line 28 is more than line 23, subtract line 23 from line 28 . . . . . . . . . . 29
30 Enter the amount of line 29 you want applied to your 1998 estimated tax. . . . . . . . . . ■ 30
31 Overpaid tax available this year. Subtract line 30 from line 29 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ■ 31
32 Tax due. If line 28 is less than line 23, subtract line 28 from line 23 . . . . . . . . . . . . 32

Step 7
Refund or
Amount
You Owe

34 Total contributions. Enter amount from Side 2, Part II, line 11 . . . . . . . • 34
35 Subtract line 34 from line 31. Enter the result here and go to Side 2,

Part III to sign your return. You have a REFUND or NO AMOUNT DUE . ■ 35

36 Add line 32 and line 34. Enter the result here and go to Side 2, Part III
to sign your return. This is the AMOUNT YOU OWE . . . . . . . . . . . . ■ 36

37 Underpayment of estimated tax. If form FTB 5805 is attached, check here . . . . . . . ■ ■ 37
38 If you do not need California income tax forms mailed to you next year, check here. . . . • 38 ■

For Privacy Act Notice, see instructions. Continued on Side 2. Form 540A C1 1997 Side 1

FORM

540A

Taxable
Income

Single

12 a State wages from your Form(s) W-2, box 17 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 12a

13 Total California income adjustments. Enter the amount from Side 2, Part I, line 7 . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 13

27 Did either you or your spouse receive more than $31,767 in
wages in 1997? Yes. See page 21. No. Go to line 28 . ■ 27

*
5
4
0
A
9
7
1
*

Your first name

If joint return, spouse’s first name

Present home address — number and street including PO Box or rural route

City, town or post office

Your social security number

Spouse’s social security number

Do Not Write
In These
Spaces

P

AC

A

R

RP

Apt. no.

Use the California mailing label. If you do not have the label, please print.
Last name

Last name

Initial

Initial

ZIP CodeState

Step 1
Name
and
Address

•

$ •

$ •



Side 2 Form 540A C1 1997

1 State income tax refund adjustment (from Form 1040, line 10). See page 18 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 1
2 Unemployment compensation adjustment (from federal TeleFile Tax Record, line D; Form 1040EZ, line 3;

Form 1040A, line 12; or Form 1040, line 19). See page 18. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 2
3 Social security benefits adjustment or tier 1 and tier 2 railroad retirement benefits adjustment. See page 18 3
4 California nontaxable interest or dividend income adjustment. See page 18 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 4
5 California IRA distributions adjustment. See page 19 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 5
6 California pensions and annuities adjustment. See page 19. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 6
7 Total California income adjustments. Add line 1 through line 6. Enter here and on Side 1, line 13 . . . . 7

2 Alzheimer’s Disease/Related Disorders Fund . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . O 48 P 2
3 California Fund for Senior Citizens. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . O 49 P 3

5 State Children’s Trust Fund for the Prevention of Child Abuse . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . O 51 P 5
6 California Breast Cancer Research Fund . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . O 52 P 6

11 Total contributions. Add line 1 through line 10. Enter here and on Side 1, line 34 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 11

1 Contribution to California Seniors Special Fund. See page 21 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . O 47 P 1
You may make a contribution of $1 or more to the following funds:

00
00
00
00
00
00
00
00
00

Due to a tax law change, renter’s credit has been eliminated for 1997.
You may not claim the credit on your personal income tax return.

8 California Public School Library Protection Fund . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . O 54 P 8

Do not attach your federal return to this return.

9 D.A.R.E. California (Drug Abuse Resistance Education) Fund. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . O 55 P 9

Part I
California
Income
Adjustments
See instructions

Part II
Contributions

4 Rare and Endangered Species Preservation Program . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . O 50 P 4

Part III

Sign Here

It is unlawful to
forge a spouse’s
signature.

Where to
Mail Your
Return

• Be sure to file your return by April 15, 1998.

• If you cannot file your return by April 15, 1998 and owe tax, be
sure to complete form FTB 3519, Payment Voucher for
Automatic Extension for Individuals, and pay the amount
you owe by April 15, 1998 to avoid late payment penalties
and interest.

• Do not attach a copy of your federal return.

• Use the preprinted label if you received one. If the information is
not correct, make the necessary corrections in ink. If you did not
receive a label, print your name, social security number and
address in Step 1.

*
5
4
0
A
9
7
2
*

Under penalties of perjury, I declare that I have examined this return and to the best of my knowledge and belief, it is true, correct and complete.
Your signature Spouse’s signature (if filing joint, both must sign) Daytime phone number

Paid preparer’s signature (declaration of preparer is based on all information of which preparer has any knowledge)

Firm’s name (or yours if self-employed)

X X Date | | | | | | |
Preparer’s SSN / FEIN

Firm’s address

( )| | | | | | | | | | | |-

7 California Firefighters’ Memorial Fund . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . O 53 P 7

10 California Military Museum Fund . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . O 56 P 10

REFUND or NO AMOUNT DUE (Side 1, line 35):
FRANCHISE TAX BOARD
PO BOX 942840
SACRAMENTO CA 94240-0000

• Make your check or money order payable to ‘‘Franchise Tax Board.’’
• Write your social security number and ‘‘1997 Form 540A’’ on

your check or money order.
• Complete Form 540-V, Return Payment Voucher for Individuals.
• Attach check or money order and voucher to your Form 540A.

AMOUNT DUE (Side 1, line 36):
FRANCHISE TAX BOARD
PO BOX 942867
SACRAMENTO CA 94267-0001
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California Resident
Income Tax Return 1997

Qualifying widow(er) with dependent child. Enter year spouse died 19 .
Head of household (with qualifying person). If the qualifying person is a child but not your dependent, enter child’s name

Married filing separate return. Enter spouse’s social security number above and full name here

Step 2
Filing Status

1
2
3
4
5

Married filing joint return (even if only one spouse had income)

Step 3
Exemptions

Attach check or
money order and
Form 540-V here.

6 If your parent(s), or someone else, can claim you (or your spouse, if married) as a dependent on their tax
return, even if that person chooses not to, check here . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 6

7 Personal: If you checked box 1, 3 or 4 above, enter 1. If you checked box 2 or 5, enter 2. If you checked
the box on line 6, see page 18 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 7

8 Blind: If you (or if married, your spouse) are visually impaired, enter 1. If both are visually impaired, enter 2 . . . . 8
9 Senior: If you (or if married, your spouse) are 65 or older, enter 1. If both are 65 or older, enter 2 . . . . . . . . . • 9

10 Dependents: Enter name and relationship. Do not include yourself, your spouse or the person you listed on line 4.

 Enter the total number of dependents 10
11 Add line 7 through line 10. These are your total exemptions . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 11

Step 4

Check only one.

12 b Federal adjusted gross income from your TeleFile Tax Record, line H; Form 1040EZ, line 4; Form 1040A,
line 16; or Form 1040, line 32. If this amount is over $100,000, STOP; you must file Form 540. . . . . . 12b

14 Subtract line 13 from line 12b. This is your California adjusted gross income. See page 19. . . . . . . . • 14
15 Enter the larger of your CA itemized deductions OR your CA standard deduction. See page 19 . . . • 15
16 Subtract line 15 from line 14. This is your taxable income. If less than zero, enter -0- . . . . . . . . . . . 16

Step 5
Tax and
Credits

Attach copy of your
Form(s) W-2, W-2G
and 1099-R here.

17 Tax. Use the tax table or tax rate schedules to find the tax on the amount shown on line 16 . . . . . . 17
18 Exemption credits. If line 14 is less than: $33,750 (single or head of household); $45,000 (married

filing joint or qualifying widow(er)); or $22,500 (married filing separate), multiply $68 by the amount
on line 11. Otherwise, see page 20 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 18

23 Subtract line 18 from line 17. This is your total tax. If less than zero, enter -0-. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 23

Step 6
Overpaid
Tax or
Tax Due

24 California income tax withheld. See page 20 . . . . . . . . . ■ 24
25 1997 CA estimated tax and payment with form FTB 3519 . ■ 25

28 Total payments and credits. Add line 24, line 25 and line 27 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 28
29 Overpaid tax. If line 28 is more than line 23, subtract line 23 from line 28 . . . . . . . . . . 29
30 Enter the amount of line 29 you want applied to your 1998 estimated tax. . . . . . . . . . ■ 30
31 Overpaid tax available this year. Subtract line 30 from line 29 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ■ 31
32 Tax due. If line 28 is less than line 23, subtract line 28 from line 23 . . . . . . . . . . . . 32

Step 7
Refund or
Amount
You Owe

34 Total contributions. Enter amount from Side 2, Part II, line 11 . . . . . . . • 34
35 Subtract line 34 from line 31. Enter the result here and go to Side 2,

Part III to sign your return. You have a REFUND or NO AMOUNT DUE . ■ 35

36 Add line 32 and line 34. Enter the result here and go to Side 2, Part III
to sign your return. This is the AMOUNT YOU OWE . . . . . . . . . . . . ■ 36

37 Underpayment of estimated tax. If form FTB 5805 is attached, check here . . . . . . . ■ ■ 37
38 If you do not need California income tax forms mailed to you next year, check here. . . . • 38 ■

For Privacy Act Notice, see instructions. Continued on Side 2. Form 540A C1 1997 Side 1

FORM

540A

Taxable
Income

Single

12 a State wages from your Form(s) W-2, box 17 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 12a

13 Total California income adjustments. Enter the amount from Side 2, Part I, line 7 . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 13

27 Did either you or your spouse receive more than $31,767 in
wages in 1997? Yes. See page 21. No. Go to line 28 . ■ 27

*
5
4
0
A
9
7
1
*

Your first name

If joint return, spouse’s first name

Present home address — number and street including PO Box or rural route

City, town or post office

Your social security number

Spouse’s social security number

Do Not Write
In These
Spaces

P

AC

A

R

RP

Apt. no.

Use the California mailing label. If you do not have the label, please print.
Last name

Last name

Initial

Initial

ZIP CodeState

Step 1
Name
and
Address

•

$ •

$ •



Side 2 Form 540A C1 1997

1 State income tax refund adjustment (from Form 1040, line 10). See page 18 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 1
2 Unemployment compensation adjustment (from federal TeleFile Tax Record, line D; Form 1040EZ, line 3;

Form 1040A, line 12; or Form 1040, line 19). See page 18. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 2
3 Social security benefits adjustment or tier 1 and tier 2 railroad retirement benefits adjustment. See page 18 3
4 California nontaxable interest or dividend income adjustment. See page 18 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 4
5 California IRA distributions adjustment. See page 19 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 5
6 California pensions and annuities adjustment. See page 19. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 6
7 Total California income adjustments. Add line 1 through line 6. Enter here and on Side 1, line 13 . . . . 7

2 Alzheimer’s Disease/Related Disorders Fund . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . O 48 P 2
3 California Fund for Senior Citizens. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . O 49 P 3

5 State Children’s Trust Fund for the Prevention of Child Abuse . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . O 51 P 5
6 California Breast Cancer Research Fund . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . O 52 P 6

11 Total contributions. Add line 1 through line 10. Enter here and on Side 1, line 34 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 11

1 Contribution to California Seniors Special Fund. See page 21 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . O 47 P 1
You may make a contribution of $1 or more to the following funds:

00
00
00
00
00
00
00
00
00

Due to a tax law change, renter’s credit has been eliminated for 1997.
You may not claim the credit on your personal income tax return.

8 California Public School Library Protection Fund . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . O 54 P 8

Do not attach your federal return to this return.

9 D.A.R.E. California (Drug Abuse Resistance Education) Fund. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . O 55 P 9

Part I
California
Income
Adjustments
See instructions

Part II
Contributions

4 Rare and Endangered Species Preservation Program . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . O 50 P 4

Part III

Sign Here

It is unlawful to
forge a spouse’s
signature.

Where to
Mail Your
Return

• Be sure to file your return by April 15, 1998.

• If you cannot file your return by April 15, 1998 and owe tax, be
sure to complete form FTB 3519, Payment Voucher for
Automatic Extension for Individuals, and pay the amount
you owe by April 15, 1998 to avoid late payment penalties
and interest.

• Do not attach a copy of your federal return.

• Use the preprinted label if you received one. If the information is
not correct, make the necessary corrections in ink. If you did not
receive a label, print your name, social security number and
address in Step 1.

*
5
4
0
A
9
7
2
*

Under penalties of perjury, I declare that I have examined this return and to the best of my knowledge and belief, it is true, correct and complete.
Your signature Spouse’s signature (if filing joint, both must sign) Daytime phone number

Paid preparer’s signature (declaration of preparer is based on all information of which preparer has any knowledge)

Firm’s name (or yours if self-employed)

X X Date | | | | | | |
Preparer’s SSN / FEIN

Firm’s address

( )| | | | | | | | | | | |-

7 California Firefighters’ Memorial Fund . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . O 53 P 7

10 California Military Museum Fund . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . O 56 P 10

REFUND or NO AMOUNT DUE (Side 1, line 35):
FRANCHISE TAX BOARD
PO BOX 942840
SACRAMENTO CA 94240-0000

• Make your check or money order payable to ‘‘Franchise Tax Board.’’
• Write your social security number and ‘‘1997 Form 540A’’ on

your check or money order.
• Complete Form 540-V, Return Payment Voucher for Individuals.
• Attach check or money order and voucher to your Form 540A.

AMOUNT DUE (Side 1, line 36):
FRANCHISE TAX BOARD
PO BOX 942867
SACRAMENTO CA 94267-0001

9



Personal Income Tax Booklet 1997 Page 17

Instructions for California Resident Income Tax Return — Form 540A
These instructions are based on the Internal Revenue Code (IRC) as of January 1, 1997, and the California Revenue and Taxation Code (R&TC).

Before
You
Begin

You must complete your federal income tax return
(Form 1040, Form 1040A, Form 1040EZ or federal TeleFile
Tax Record) before you begin your Form 540A. You will
use the information you entered on your federal income tax
return to complete your Form 540A.

Step 1
Name and
Address

If there is a label on the front of your booklet:
1. Complete your Form 540A before you remove the

address label from the front of your booklet.
2. Check your math and the amounts entered to make

sure that they are correct.
3. Remove your address label from the front of your book-

let and attach it on the front of your Form 540A in the
space provided at the top.

4. Make sure the information on your address label is cor-
rect. If you need to make any changes, draw a line in
ink through the incorrect information and clearly print the
new information.

If there is no label, print your name, social security number,
and address in the space provided at the top of Form 540A.
See page 4, Helpful Hints, Filling in your return.
If you file a joint return, show social security numbers in the
same order as you show your names.

Step 2
Filing
Status

Check only one of the boxes on line 1 through line 5. Be
sure to enter the required additional information if you
check a box on line 3, line 4 or line 5.
Your filing status for California must be the same as the fil-
ing status you used on your federal income tax return.
Exception: Married taxpayers who file a joint federal
income tax return may file either a joint return or separate
returns if either spouse was:

&
218

• An active member of the United States armed forces or
any auxiliary military branch during 1997; or

• A nonresident for the entire year and had no income
from California sources during 1997.

However, if you file a joint return and if either spouse was a
nonresident in 1997, you must file Form 540NR, California
Nonresident or Part-Year Resident Income Tax Return.

Line 1 – Single. You may check the box on line 1 if any of the
following was true on December 31, 1997:
• You were never married;
• You were legally separated under a decree of divorce or

of separate maintenance; or
• You were widowed before January 1, 1997 and did not

remarry in 1997.

Line 2 – Married Filing Joint Return. You may check the box on
line 2 if any of the following is true:
• You were married as of December 31, 1997, even if you

did not live with your spouse at the end of 1997;
• Your spouse died in 1997 and you did not remarry in

1997; or
• Your spouse died in 1998 before filing a 1997 return.

Line 3 – Married Filing Separate Return. If you check the box on
line 3, be sure to enter your spouse’s name on line 3 and
social security number in ‘‘Step 1.’’ Note: If you file a sepa-
rate return, you cannot take the standard deduction if your
spouse itemizes deductions. Also, you cannot claim a per-
sonal exemption credit for your spouse even if your spouse
had no income, is not filing a return and is not claimed as a
dependent on another person’s return. For more information
on how to report income and deductions, get FTB
Pub. 1051A, Guidelines for Married Filing Separate Returns.
Note: You may be able to file as head of household if you
had a child living with you and you lived apart from your
spouse during the last 6 months of 1997.

Line 4 – Head of household. This filing status is for unmarried indi-
viduals who provide a home for certain other persons. You
may check the box on line 4 if you were unmarried or
legally separated as of December 31, 1997, and:

&
215

• You paid over half the cost of keeping up a home that
was the main home for all of 1997 of your parent whom
you can claim as a dependent. Your parent must have
been a U.S. citizen or resident, a resident of Canada or
a resident of Mexico. Your parent did not have to live
with you in your home; or

• You paid over half the cost of keeping up a home in
which you lived and in which one of the following also
lived for more than half of the year (temporary
absences, such as for school or vacations, count as
time lived in the home):
1. Your unmarried child, grandchild, great-grandchild,

etc., stepchild or adopted child. This child does not
have to be your dependent. If this child is not your
dependent, be sure to enter that child’s name in the
space provided on line 4.
Note: Your foster child must be your dependent,
must be under age 19 (or if a full-time student under
age 24), and must have lived with you the entire
year.

2. Your married child, grandchild, great-grandchild,
etc., stepchild or adopted child. This child must be
your dependent. But if your married child’s other par-
ent claims him or her as a dependent under the
rules for children of divorced or separated parents,
this child does not have to be your dependent. Refer
to the instructions for federal Form 1040 or
Form 1040A for more information about children of
divorced or separated parents.

3. Any other relative you can claim as a dependent. A
relative is:
• Your child; stepchild; adopted child; a child who

lived in your home as a family member if placed
with you by an authorized placement agency for
legal adoption; or a foster child (any child who
lived in your home as a family member for the
whole year).

• Your grandchild, great-grandchild, etc.
• Your son-in-law, daughter-in-law.
• Your parent, stepparent, parent-in-law.
• Your grandparent, great-grandparent, etc.
• Your brother, sister, half brother, half sister, step-

brother, stepsister, brother-in-law, sister-in-law.
• If related by blood, your aunt, uncle, nephew,

niece.
Note: Any relationships established by marriage are
not treated as ended by divorce or death.

Married persons who live apart. Even if you were not
divorced or legally separated in 1997, you may be consid-
ered unmarried and file as head of household. You can
take the standard deduction even if your spouse itemizes
deductions. You may check the box on line 4 if all five of
the following apply:
1. You file a separate return from your spouse; and
2. You lived apart from your spouse during the last 6

months of 1997; and
3. You paid over half the cost of keeping up your home for

1997; and
4. Your home was the main home of your child, adopted

child or stepchild, for more than half of 1997 or the main
home of your foster child for the entire year; and

5. You claim this child as your dependent or the child’s
other parent claims him or her. If this child is not your
dependent, be sure to enter the child’s name on line 4.
Note: If this child is your foster child, the child must be
your dependent.

Get FTB Pub. 1540, Tax Information for Head of House-
hold, for more information.



Page 18 Personal Income Tax Booklet 1997

Instructions: Form 540A F.A.S.T. 1-800-338-0505
Line 5 – Qualifying widow(er) with dependent child. You may

check the box on line 5 and use the joint return tax rates for
1997 if all five of the following apply:
1. Your spouse died in 1995 or 1996 and you did not

remarry in 1997; and
2. You have a child, stepchild, adopted child, or foster

child whom you can claim as a dependent; and
3. This child lived in your home for all of 1997. Temporary

absences, such as for vacation or school, count as time
lived in the home; and

4. You paid over half the cost of keeping up your home for
this child; and

5. You could have filed a joint return with your spouse the
year he or she died, even if you actually did not do so.

Note: If your spouse died in 1997, you may not file as a
qualifying widow(er) with dependent child. Instead see the
instructions for line 2.

Step 3
Exemptions

Line 6 – Dependent Check Box

&
601

Check the box on line 6 if your parent (or someone else)
can claim you as a dependent on his or her tax return. For
example, if your parents (or someone else) could claim you
as a dependent on their return but they chose not to claim
you, you must check the box on line 6.

Line 7 – Personal Exemptions
Did you check the box on line 6?
No Follow the instructions on Form 540A, line 7.
Yes Ignore the instructions on Form 540A, line 7.

Instead, enter on line 7 the amount shown below for
your filing status:
• Single or married filing separate, enter -0-;
• Head of household, enter -0-;
• Married filing joint and both you and your spouse

can be claimed as dependents, enter -0-; or
• Married filing joint and only one spouse can be

claimed as a dependent, enter 1.

Line 8 – Blind Exemptions
The first year you claim this exemption credit, you must
attach a doctor’s statement to the back of Form 540A indi-
cating you or your spouse are visually impaired. Visually
impaired means you cannot see better than 20/200 while
wearing glasses or contact lenses, or that your field of
vision is not more than 20 degrees.
Caution: An individual who is someone else’s dependent
may not claim this credit.

Line 9 – Senior Exemptions
If you are 65 years of age or older, you should claim an
additional exemption credit on line 9. If you are married,
each spouse 65 years of age or older should claim an
additional credit.
Caution: An individual who is someone else’s dependent
may not claim this credit.

Line 10 – Dependent Exemptions
To claim an exemption credit for each of your dependents,
write each dependent’s name and relationship to you in the
space provided. The persons you list as dependents on
your Form 540A must be the same persons you listed as
dependents on your federal income tax return. Do not list
the same person you listed on line 4. Count the number of
dependents listed and enter the total on line 10.

Step 4
Taxable
Income

Refer to your completed federal income tax return to
complete ‘‘Step 4.’’

Line 12a – State Wages
Enter the total amount of your state wages from all states
from each of your Form(s) W-2. This amount should be on
Form W-2, box 17.

Line 13 – California Income Adjustments
California does not tax certain types of income that are
taxable on your federal return. In addition, there may be
differences between the taxable amounts of federal and
California IRA distributions, pensions and annuities. For
more information, see below.

Side 2, Part I — California Income Adjustments
Part I,
Line 1 – State Income Tax Refund Adjustment

Enter the amount of any state income tax refund shown on
your federal Form 1040, line 10. If you filed Form 1040A or
1040EZ, enter -0- on line 1.

Part I,
Line 2 – Unemployment Compensation Adjustment

Enter the amount of any unemployment compensation
shown on your federal TeleFile Tax Record, line D;
Form 1040EZ, line 3; Form 1040A, line 12; or Form 1040,
line 19.

Part I,
Line 3 – Social Security Benefits Adjustment – (and tier 1 or tier

2 railroad retirement benefits adjustment)
Enter the total of any of these amounts shown on your
federal return:
• Social security benefits and equivalent tier 1 railroad

retirement benefits reported on federal Form 1040A,
line 13b; or Form 1040, line 20b;

• Tier 1 (non social security equivalent) and tier 2 railroad
retirement benefits reported on federal Form 1040A,
line 11b; or Form 1040, line 16b.

If you filed Form 1040EZ, enter -0- on line 3.

Part I,
Line 4 – California Nontaxable Interest or Dividend Income

Adjustment
If you received interest from municipal or state bonds from
a state other than California, you may not use Form 540A.
You must use Form 540.
California does not tax interest earned from:
• United States savings bonds;
• United States treasury bills; and
• Bonds or obligations of the United States and U.S. terri-

tories, and government agency obligations specifically
exempted by federal law.

Enter only the amount of interest that you received from
these sources and that you included in the amount
reported on your federal Form 1040A, line 8a, or
Form 1040, line 8a, or Form 1040EZ, line 2.
Do not enter the amount of interest that you earned on
Federal National Mortgage Association (Fannie Mae)
Bonds, Government National Mortgage Association (Ginnie
Mae) Bonds, and Federal Home Loan Mortgage Corpora-
tion (FHLMC) securities. This interest is taxed by California.
Certain mutual funds are qualified to pay ‘‘exempt-interest
dividends’’ if at least 50% of their assets consist of tax-
exempt government obligations. The portion of the divi-
dends that is tax-exempt will be shown on your annual
statement from the mutual fund.
If the amount of California tax-exempt interest is more than
the amount of federal tax-exempt interest, enter the differ-
ence on line 4. If the amount of California tax-exempt
interest is less than the amount of federal tax-exempt
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F.A.S.T. 1-800-338-0505 Instructions: Form 540A
interest, you may not use Form 540A. You must use Form
540.

Part I,
Line 5 – California Individual Retirement Account (IRA)

Distributions Adjustment
The method of taxing IRA distributions is generally the
same for California and federal purposes. However, there
may be significant differences in the taxable amount
depending on when you made your contributions. Before
1987, the maximum IRA contribution you were allowed to
deduct from California income was less than the maximum
amount you were allowed to deduct from federal income.
For this reason, the amount of your IRA distribution taxed
by California may be different than the amount taxed under
federal law.
Report the difference between your California and your fed-
eral taxable IRA distributions on line 5. Be sure to attach
Form 1099-R to your Form 540A. Get FTB Pub. 1005,
Pension and Annuity Guidelines, for more information.

Part I,
Line 6 – California Pensions and Annuities Adjustment

If you received a lump-sum distribution from a profit
sharing or retirement plan, you may pay less tax on the
distribution if you choose the 5-year or 10-year averaging
method. However, you must file Form 540 to use these
methods. Get the instructions for Form 540 and Schedule
G-1, Tax on Lump-Sum Distributions (not in this booklet),
for more information.
If your annuity starting date was after July 1, 1986 and
before January 1, 1987 and if you elected to use the
3-year recovery rule for California, you must make an
adjustment because your federal taxable amount is less
than your California taxable amount. Figure the difference
between the gross distribution shown on your
Form 1099-R, box 1 and the taxable amount shown in
box 2a. Enter the difference in parentheses on line 6. For
example: ‘‘(12,325).’’ Combine line 1 through line 6. If the
result is less than zero, enter the amount in parentheses
on line 7 and on Side 1, line 13. In this case only, treat the
amount on line 13 as a positive number and add it to the
amount on line 12.

Step 4 (continued)
Line 14 – California Adjusted Gross Income

Subtract line 13 from line 12b. Enter the result on line 14. If
the result is less than zero, enter the amount in parenthe-
ses. For example: ‘‘(12,325).’’

Line 15 – CA Standard Deduction OR CA Itemized Deductions
You must decide whether to take the standard deduction or
to itemize your actual charitable contributions, medical
expenses, interest paid, taxes, etc. Your California income
tax will be less if you take the larger of:
• Your California itemized deductions; or
• Your California standard deduction.
If you are married and file a separate return, both you and
your spouse must either itemize your deductions or take the
standard deduction.
Itemized deductions. Figure your California itemized
deductions by completing the California Itemized Deduc-
tions Worksheet on this page. Enter the result on
Form 540A, line 15.
Note: If you did not itemize deductions on your federal
income tax return but will itemize deductions for your
California Form 540A, first complete a federal Schedule A,
Itemized Deductions. Then complete the California Itemized
Deductions Worksheet on this page. Do not attach federal
Schedule A to this return.
Standard deduction. Most people can find their standard
deduction by looking at the California Standard Deduction
Chart for Most People to the right. But, if you checked the
box on Form 540A, line 6, you must use the California

Standard Deduction Worksheet for Dependents on this
page.

California Standard Deduction Chart for Most People

Your Filing Status Enter On Line 15
1 – Single . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $2,583
2 – Married filing joint return. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $5,166
3 – Married filing separate return . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $2,583
4 – Head of household . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $5,166
5 – Qualifying widow(er) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $5,166
Note:  The California standard deduction amounts are less than the
federal standard deduction amounts.

Do not use this chart if your parent(s), or someone else, can claim
you (or your spouse, if married) as a dependent on their tax return.

California Standard Deduction Worksheet for Dependents
Use this worksheet only if your parent(s), or someone else, can
claim you as a dependent on their tax return.
1. Enter your earned income from line 1 of the federal

‘‘Standard Deduction Worksheet for Dependents’’
in the instructions for federal Form 1040A or
Form 1040; or from line A of the worksheet found
on the back of federal Form 1040EZ: or if using
federal TeleFile, enter your total wages from all
Form(s) W-2 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 1

2. Minimum standard deduction . . . . . . . . . . . 2
3. Compare the amounts on line 1 and line 2.

Enter the larger of the two amounts here . . . . 3
4. Enter the amount shown below for your filing status.

• Single or married filing separate,
enter $2,583

• Married filing joint, head of household
. . 4

or qualifying widow(er), enter $5,166
5. Standard deduction. Compare the amounts on

line 3 and line 4. Enter the smaller of the two
amounts here and on Form 540A, line 15 . . . . 5

}

$650.00

California Itemized Deductions Worksheet
1. Enter your total itemized deductions from

federal Schedule A, line 28 . . . . . . . . . . . 1
2. Add these amounts from federal Schedule A

and enter on line 2:
• Line 5, state and local income tax and State

Disability Insurance (SDI):
• Line 8, foreign income taxes:  . . 2

3. Subtract line 2 from line 1. This amount is your
total California itemized deductions . . . . . 3

4. Enter the standard deduction for your filing
status as shown on the ‘‘California Standard
Deduction Chart for Most People.’’ If your
parent(s), or someone else, can claim you as a
dependent on their tax return, complete the
‘‘California Standard Deduction Worksheet for
Dependents’’ above. Enter the amount from
line 5 of that worksheet on line 4 of this
worksheet. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 4

5. Compare the amounts on line 3 and line 4.
Enter the larger of the two amounts here
and on Form 540A, line 15 . . . . . . . . . . . 5
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Step 5
Tax and
Credits

First figure your tax. Be sure to use the correct filing status
and taxable income amount. Then make sure you qualify to
claim your credits.

Line 17 – Tax
To figure your tax on the amount shown on line 16, use one
of the following methods:
• Tax Table. If your taxable income on line 16 is $50,000

or less, you must use the tax table on page 51 through
page 53. Be sure you use the correct filing status col-
umn in the tax table.

• Tax Rate Schedule. If your taxable income on line 16 is
over $50,000, you must use the tax rate schedules on
page 54.

Line 18 – Exemption Credits
Exemption credits may reduce your tax. Answer the ques-
tions below and complete a worksheet if necessary to figure
the amount of exemption credit you may use to reduce your
tax.
Question 1:
Is the amount on line 14 more than:
• $33,750 if single or head of household;
• $45,000 if married filing joint or qualifying widow(er); or
• $22,500 if married filing separate?
No Multiply the amount from line 11 by $68. Enter the

result on line 18 and continue to line 23.
Yes Go to Question 2.
Question 2:
Did you claim the standard deduction on line 15?
Yes Complete the Exemption Credit Worksheet for Tax-

payers Claiming the Standard Deduction, below.
No Go to Question 3.
Question 3:
Did you have either of the following?
• Investment interest expense & 226; or
• Charitable contribution deduction for appreciated

property & 224.
No Complete the Exemption Credit Worksheet for Tax-

payers Claiming Itemized Deductions, to the right.
Yes You may not use Form 540A. You must use

Form 540, and you may need to complete
Schedule P (540), Alternative Minimum Tax and
Credit Limitations — Residents. See page 55 of this
booklet for information about ordering forms.

Exemption Credit Worksheet for
Taxpayers Claiming the Standard Deduction

1. Enter the amount from Form 540A, line 17 . . 1
2. Enter the amount from Form 540A, line 14 . . 2
3. Enter the amount for your filing status on line 3:

Single or head of household . . . . . . . $33,750
Married filing joint or qualifying widow(er) $45,000
Married filing separate . . . . . . . . . . $22,500

3
4. Subtract line 3 from line 2. If zero or less,

enter -0- . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 4
5. Multiply line 4 by .07. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 5
6. Subtract line 5 from line 1 . . . . . . . . . . . . 6
7. Multiply the amount from Form 540A,

line 11 by $68 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 7
8. Is line 7 less than line 6?

Yes Enter the amount from line 7 on Form 540A, line 18 and
continue to Form 540A, line 23.

No You may not use Form 540A.You must use Form 540.
See page 55 of this booklet for information about
ordering forms.

Exemption Credit Worksheet for
Taxpayers Claiming Itemized Deductions

A. Enter the amount from Form 540A, line 17. . . . A
B. Enter the smaller of federal Schedule A, line 4

(medical and dental expense) or 21⁄2% of
Form 1040, line 32 (federal AGI) . . . . . . . . . B

C. Enter personal property and real property taxes
paid and included on federal Schedule A,
line 6, line 7 or line 8 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . C

D. Enter certain interest on a home mortgage not
used to buy, build or improve your home. & 223 D

E. Enter miscellaneous itemized deductions from
federal Schedule A, line 26 . . . . . . . . . . . . E

F. Add line B through line E . . . . . . . . . . . . . F
G. Enter any refund of personal property tax or real

property tax included on federal Form 1040,
line 10. Do not enter your state income tax refund G

H. Subtract the amount on line G from the amount
on line F . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . H

I. Enter the amount from Form 540A, line 16. . . . . I
J. Add line H and line I . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . J
K. Enter the amount for your filing status on line K:

Single or head of household. . . . . . . $33,750
Married filing joint or qualifying widow(er) $45,000
Married filing separate . . . . . . . . . . $22,500

K
L. Subtract line K from line J. If zero or less,

enter -0- . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . L
M. Multiply line L by .07 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . M
N. Subtract line M from line A . . . . . . . . . . . . N
O. Multiply the amount from Form 540A,

line 11 by $68 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . O
P. Is line O less than line N?

Yes Enter the amount from line O on Form 540A, line 18 and
continue to Form 540A, line 23.

No You may not use Form 540A. You must use Form 540 and
you may need to complete Schedule P (540), Alternative
Minimum Tax and Credit Limitations — Residents. See
page 55 of this booklet for information about ordering forms.

Step 6
Overpaid
Tax or
Tax Due

To avoid a delay in the processing of your return, be sure
you enter the correct amounts on line 24 through line 32.

Line 24 – California Income Tax Withheld

&
205

Enter on line 24 the total amount shown as California
income tax withheld on your Form(s) W-2 in box 18;
Form(s) W-2G in box 14; or Form 1099-R in box 10.
Caution: Do not include city or county tax withheld or tax
withheld by other states.
If you received a Form 1099 showing California income tax
withheld (‘‘backup withholding’’) on dividends and interest
income, include the amount withheld in the total on line 24.&

204
If you do not have a Form W-2, see the instructions for
‘‘Sign Your Return’’ on page 34.

Line 25 – 1997 CA Estimated Tax and Payment with form
FTB 3519
Enter the total of any:
• California estimated tax payments you made

(Form 540-ES) for 1997;
• Overpayment from your 1996 California income tax

return applied to your 1997 estimated tax; and
• Payment you sent with form FTB 3519, Payment

Voucher for Automatic Extension for Individuals.
If you and your spouse paid joint estimated tax but are now
filing separate returns, either of you may claim all of the
amount paid or you may each claim part of it.
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F.A.S.T. 1-800-338-0505 Instructions: Form 540A
Attach a statement, signed by you and your spouse,
explaining how you want your payments divided. Be sure to
show both social security numbers on your separate
returns. If you or your spouse made separate estimated tax
payments, but you are now filing a joint income tax return,
add the amounts you each paid. Attach a statement to the
front of Form 540A explaining that payments have been
made under both social security numbers.

Line 27 – Excess California SDI (or VPDI) Withheld
If more than $158.84 of California State Disability Insurance
(SDI) or Voluntary Plan Disability Insurance (VPDI) was
withheld from your wages by a single employer, or if an
employer withheld SDI (or VPDI) at a rate of more than
0.5% of your gross wages, you may not claim excess SDI
(or VPDI) on your Form 540A, line 27. Contact the
employer for a refund.
You may claim a credit for excess SDI (or VPDI) only if:
• You had two or more employers during 1997;
• You received more than $31,767 in wages during 1997

from these employers;
• Your employers combined withheld more than $158.84

of SDI (or VPDI) from your wages; and
• The amounts of SDI (or VPDI) withheld appear on your

Forms W-2. Be sure to attach your Forms W-2 to your
return.

Complete the worksheet below to figure the amount to enter
on line 27. If you are married and file a joint return, you
must figure the amount of excess SDI (or VPDI) separately
for each spouse .

1. Add amounts of SDI (or VPDI)
withheld shown on your Forms
W-2. Enter the total here. . 1

2.
3.

$158.84$158.84

Your
SpouseYou

1997 SDI (or VPDI) limit . . 2
Excess SDI (or VPDI) with-
held. Subtract line 2 from
line 1. Enter the result here
and on Form 540A, line 27 3
Note: If zero or less, enter -0- on line 27.

Line 29 – Overpaid Tax
If the amount on line 28 is more than the amount on
line 23, your payments and credits are more than your tax.
Subtract the amount on line 23 from the amount on line 28.
Enter the result on line 29. This is the amount of your over-
paid tax.
If the amount on line 28 is less than the amount on line 23,
go to line 32.

Line 30 – Amount You Want Applied To Your 1998 Estimated Tax
If you pay estimated tax, you may apply $5.00 or more of
the amount on line 29 to your 1998 estimated tax. Enter on
line 30 the amount of line 29 you want applied to your 1998
estimated tax.

Line 31 – Overpaid Tax Available This Year
If you entered an amount on line 30, subtract that amount
from line 29. Enter the result on line 31. You may choose to
have this entire amount refunded to you or you may make
contributions to the California Seniors Special Fund or make
voluntary contributions from this amount. If you choose to
make contributions, skip line 32 and go to the instructions
for ‘‘Step 7.’’

Line 32 – Tax Due
If the amount on line 28 is less than the amount on line 23,
your tax is more than your payments and credits. Subtract
the amount on line 28 from the amount on line 23. Enter
the result on line 32. This is the amount of your tax due.

There is a penalty for not paying enough tax during the
year. You may have to pay a penalty if:
• The tax due on line 32 is $100 or more; and
• The amount of state income tax withheld on line 24 is

less than 80% of the amount of your total tax on line 23.
If you owe a penalty, the Franchise Tax Board will compute
the penalty and send you a bill.
You may make contributions to the California Seniors Spe-
cial Fund or make voluntary contributions by adding them to
the tax due. You must pay the full amount of tax due,
including contributions, when you file your Form 540A.

Step 7
Refund or
Amount
You Owe

Be sure to add or subtract carefully to figure the amount of
your refund or the amount you owe.
Contributions
You may make contributions to the California Seniors Spe-
cial Fund or you may make voluntary contributions of $1 or
more in whole dollar amounts. If you make one or more
contributions, you must complete Side 2, Part II. You may
contribute only to the funds listed in Part II and cannot
change the amount you contributed after you file your
return.

Side 2, Part II — Contributions
Part II,
Line 1 – Contribution to California Seniors Special Fund

If you or your spouse claim the senior exemption credit on
line 9, you may each make a contribution of up to $68 to
the California Seniors Special Fund. Your contribution will
be used to support the work of the Area Agency on Aging
Council of California in its role as an advocate for Califor-
nia Seniors. All contributions over those needed for this
work will be used to provide direct services to seniors such
as meals, adult day care and transportation. The actual
use of the funds will be determined at the local level by the
Area Agency on Aging, its Advisory Council of Seniors and
the senior community. On line 1, enter the amount of your
contribution (if you contribute, do not enter more than $68;
if you and your spouse contribute, do not enter more than
$136).

Part II,
Line 2 – Alzheimer’s Disease/Related Disorders Fund

Contributions entered on line 2 will be used to conduct a
program for researching the cause and cure of Alzheimer’s
disease and related disorders and research into the care
and treatment of persons suffering from dementing ill-
nesses.

Part II,
Line 3 – California Fund for Senior Citizens

Contributions entered on line 3 will be used by the Califor-
nia Fund for Senior Citizens which supports direct services
to seniors and the work of the California Senior Legislature.
The California Senior Legislature is non-partisan, volunteer,
grass roots body of seniors 60 years of age or older,
elected by their peers. The California Senior Legislature
has been instrumental in creating and steering senior legis-
lation through the regular legislature; legislation, such as:
Alzheimer Studies and Research; Adult Day Health Care
Centers; nutrition centers; respite care; long term care; the
funding and broadening of In Home Support Services; pro-
grams to abolish abuse of seniors; skilled nursing facility
reforms; and many more. All donations over those needed
to carry out the California Senior Legislature’s work, will be
distributed for direct services to needy seniors.

Part II,
Line 4 – Rare and Endangered Species Preservation

Program
Contributions entered on line 4 will be used to help protect
and conserve California’s many threatened and endan-
gered species and the wild lands that they need to survive,
for the enjoyment and benefit of you and future genera-
tions of Californians.
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Part II,
Line 5 – State Children’s Trust Fund for the Prevention of

Child Abuse
Contributions entered on line 5 will be used to fund pro-
grams for the prevention, intervention and treatment of
child abuse and neglect.

Part II,
Line 6 – California Breast Cancer Research Fund

Contributions entered on line 6 will be used to conduct
research relating to the prevention, screening, cure and
treatment of breast cancer.

Part II,
Line 7 – California Firefighters’ Memorial Fund

Contributions entered on line 7 will be used for the con-
struction of a memorial on the grounds of the State Capitol
honoring the hundreds of firefighters who have died pro-
tecting our neighborhoods, our homes, our families and our
dreams. These brave men and women answered the call
when fire alarms sounded or when hazardous, cancer-
causing elements needed to be removed, and their sacri-
fices and the sacrifices of their families deserve to be
remembered.

Part II,
Line 8 – California Public School Library Protection Fund

Contributions entered on line 8 will be expended for the
purchase of books and other library resources through
grants awarded for implementing a school library improve-
ment plan.

Part II,
Line 9 – D.A.R.E. California (Drug Abuse Resistance Education)

Fund
Contributions entered on line 9 will be used to support
local D.A.R.E. programs and provide proven effective,
in-classroom anti-drug, anti-gang and anti-violence educa-
tion for California school children.

Part II,
Line 10 – California Military Museum Fund

Contributions entered on line 10 will be used to support the
museum’s effort to: 1) collect, exhibit, and preserve Califor-
nia’s military history from 1775 to date; 2) assist in educat-
ing the general public, especially school children, about our
American military heritage and thus instill pride therein; 3)
recognize all branches of the U.S. Armed Forces and the
contributions of ethnicities and their members throughout
our proud military history; and 4) maintain and operate the
facilities required.

Part II,
Line 11 – Total Contributions

Add all contributions you entered on line 1 through line 10.
Enter the result on Side 2, Part II, line 11, and on your
Form 540A, line 34.

Step 7 (continued)
Line 34 – Total Contributions

On line 34, enter the amount of your total contributions from
Side 2, Part II, line 11. If you did not complete Part II, do
not enter an amount on line 34.
If you show an amount on line 31, you must subtract the
amount you contribute from the amount of overpaid tax.
If you show an amount on line 32, you must add the
amount you contribute to your tax due.

Line 35 – Refund Or No Amount Due
If you did not enter an amount on line 34, enter the amount
from line 31 on line 35. This is the amount that will be
refunded to you. If the amount is less than $1, attach a writ-
ten request to your Form 540A to receive the refund.
If you entered an amount on line 34, subtract that amount
from the amount on line 31. If the result is zero or more,
enter the result on line 35. Then skip to the instructions for
line 37.

If the result is less than zero, your contributions are more
than your overpaid tax available on line 31. In this case, do
not enter an amount on line 35. Instead, subtract the
amount on line 31 from the amount on line 34. Enter the
result on line 36 and see the instructions for line 36.

Line 36 – Amount You Owe
If you did not enter an amount on line 34, enter the amount
from line 32 on line 36. This is the amount you owe with
your Form 540A.
If you entered an amount on line 34, add that amount to the
amount on line 32. Enter the result on line 36. This is the
amount you owe with your Form 540A.
• Make your check or money order payable to the ‘‘Fran-

chise Tax Board’’ for the full amount you owe. Do not
send cash. Be sure to write your social security number
and ‘‘1997 Form 540A’’ on your check or money order.

• Fill in Form 540-V, Return Payment Voucher for Individ-
uals, located on page 5.

• Attach your check or money order and Form 540-V to
your return. See page 4, Helpful Hints.

A penalty may be imposed if your check is returned by your
bank for insufficient funds. To avoid a late filing penalty, file
your Form 540A by the due date even if you cannot pay the
amount you owe.
Do not combine your 1997 tax payment and any 1998
estimated tax payment in the same check. You must send
two separate checks and mail each check in a separate
envelope.
If you cannot pay the full amount shown on line 36 with
your return, you may request to make monthly payments.
See page 44, Installment Payments, for more information.

Line 37 – Underpayment of Estimated Tax
You may owe a penalty if:
• Line 32 is $100 ($50 if married filing separate) or more

and more than 20% of the tax shown on line 23; or
• You underpaid your 1997 estimated tax liability for any

payment period. The Franchise Tax Board can figure
the penalty for you when you file your return and send
you a bill. Or if you want, get form FTB 5805, Underpay-
ment of Estimated Tax by Individuals and Fiduciaries, to
see if you owe a penalty and to figure the amount. If
you complete form FTB 5805, enter the amount of the
penalty on line 37 and check the box at line 37. You
must complete and attach form FTB 5805 if you claim a
waiver or use the annualized income installment
method.

Note: Do not reduce the amount on line 29 or increase the
amount on line 32 by any penalty or interest amounts.

Line 38 – 1998 Tax Forms
If your Form 540A is prepared by someone else or if you do
not need forms mailed to you next year, check the box on
line 38.

Part III — Sign Your Return
Sign your return on Form 540A, Side 2, Part III. Then mail
your return to the Franchise Tax Board on or before the
due date. For further information, see page 34.



California Resident
Income Tax Return 1997

Step 2
Filing Status

Step 3
Exemptions

Attach check or
money order and
Form 540-V here.

6 If your parent(s), or someone else, can claim you (or your spouse, if married) as a dependent on their tax return,
check the box here . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 6

7 Personal: If you checked box 1, 3 or 4 above, enter 1. If you checked box 2 or 5, enter 2.
If you checked the box on line 6, see page 27 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 7

8 Blind: If you (or if married, your spouse) are visually impaired, enter 1. If both are visually impaired, enter 2 . . . . 8
9 Senior: If you (or if married, your spouse) are 65 or older, enter 1. If both are 65 or older, enter 2 . . . . . . . . . • 9

10 Dependents: Enter name and relationship. Do not include yourself, your spouse or the person listed on line 4.

Enter the total number of dependents 10
11 Total number of exemptions. Add line 7 through line 10. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 11

Step 4

Check only one.

12 State wages from your Form(s) W-2, box 17 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 12
13 Federal adjusted gross income from Form 1040, line 32, Form 1040A, line 16,

Form 1040EZ, line 4 or TeleFile Tax Record, line H . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 13
14 California adjustments – subtractions. Enter the amount from Schedule CA (540), line 32, column B . . • 14

Caution: If the amount on Schedule CA (540), line 32, column B is a negative number, see page 27.

18 Enter the Your California itemized deductions from Schedule CA (540), line 39; OR
larger of: Your California standard deduction shown below for your filing status:

• Married filing joint, Head of household, or Qualifying widow(er) . $5,166
• Single or Married filing separate . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $2,583{ 
(Dependent of someone else and checked box on line 6. . . . See page 28)

} 
. . . . . • 18

19 Subtract line 18 from line 17. This is your taxable income. If less than zero, enter -0- . . . . . . . . . . 19

Step 5
Tax

Attach copy of your
Form(s) W-2, W-2G
and 1099-R here.

Form 540 C1 1997 Side 1

FORM

540

Taxable
Income

15 Subtract line 14 from line 13. If less than zero, enter the result in parentheses. See page 27 . . . . . . 15
16 California adjustments – additions. Enter the amount from Schedule CA (540), line 32, column C . . . . • 16

Caution: If the amount on Schedule CA (540), line 32, column C is a negative number, see page 27.
17 California adjusted gross income. Combine line 15 and line 16 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 17

20 Tax. Check if from ■ Tax Table ■ Tax Rate Schedule ■ FTB 3800 or ■ FTB 3803 . . . • 20
Caution: If under age 14 and you have more than $1,300 of investment income,

read the line 20 instructions to see if you must attach form FTB 3800.
21 Exemption credits.

Caution: See the line 21 instructions before making an entry on this line.
Check if from ■ Flowchart ■ Federal AGI limit or ■ California TMT limit . . . . . . . . . . . . • 21

22 Subtract line 21 from line 20. If less than zero, enter -0- . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 22

23 Tax. Check if from ■ Schedule G-1, Tax on Lump-Sum Distributions; and
■ form FTB 5870A, Tax on Accumulation Distribution of Trusts . . . . . . . . • 23

24 Add line 22 and line 23. Continue to Side 2 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 24

1 ■ Single
2 ■ Married filing joint return (even if only one spouse had income)
3 ■ Married filing separate return. Enter spouse’s social security number above and full name here
4 ■ Head of household (with qualifying person). If the qualifying person is a child but not your dependent, enter child’s name here.

5 ■ Qualifying widow(er) with dependent child. Enter year spouse died 19 .

For Privacy Act Notice, see instructions.*
5
4
0
9
7
1
*

Your first name

If joint return, spouse’s first name

Present home address — number and street including PO Box or rural route

City, town or post office

Your social security number

Spouse’s social security number

Do Not Write
In These
Spaces

P

AC

A

R

RP

Apt. no.

Last name

Last name

Initial

Initial

ZIP CodeState

Step 1
Name
and
Address

Use mailing
label or
print.

Fiscal year filers, enter year ending: month year 1 9 9 8



IMPORTANT: See ‘‘Sign Your Return’’ in the Form 540 instructions to find out if you should attach a copy of your complete federal return.
Under penalties of perjury, I declare that I have examined this return, including accompanying schedules and statements, and to the best
of my knowledge and belief, it is true, correct and complete.

25 Amount from Side 1, line 24 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 25
28 Enter credit name code no. and amount . . . P 28
29 Enter credit name code no. and amount . . . P 29
30 Enter credit name code no. and amount . . . P 30
31 To claim more than three credits, see page 30 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 31
33 Add line 28 through line 31. These are your total credits . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 33
34 Subtract line 33 from line 25. If less than zero, enter -0- . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 34

35 Alternative minimum tax. Attach Schedule P (540) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 35
36 Other taxes and credit recapture. See page 32 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 36
37 Add line 34 through line 36. This is your total tax . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 37
38 California income tax withheld. Enter total from your 1997 Form(s) W-2,

W-2G, 1099-MISC and 1099-R. Also attach the Form(s) to Side 1 . . . . . . ■ 38
39 1997 CA estimated tax and amount applied from your 1996 return.

Include the amount from form FTB 3519 or Schedule K-1 (541) . . . . . . . ■ 39
41 Did either you or your spouse receive more than $31,767 in wages

in 1997? Yes. See page 32. No. Go to line 42. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ■ 41
42 Add line 38 through line 41. These are your total payments . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 42

43 Overpaid tax. If line 42 is more than line 37, subtract line 37 from line 42. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 43
44 Amount of line 43 you want applied to your 1998 estimated tax . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ■ 44
45 Overpaid tax available this year. Subtract line 44 from line 43. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ■ 45
46 Tax due. If line 42 is less than line 37, subtract line 42 from line 37 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 46

47 Contribution to California Seniors Special Fund. See page 33 . . . . . . . . • 47
You may make a contribution of $1 or more to:

48 Alzheimer’s Disease/Related Disorders Fund . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 48
49 California Fund for Senior Citizens . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 49
50 Rare and Endangered Species Preservation Program . . . . . . . . . . . . • 50
51 State Children’s Trust Fund for the Prevention of Child Abuse . . . . . . . • 51
52 California Breast Cancer Research Fund. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 52
53 California Firefighters’ Memorial Fund . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 53
54 California Public School Library Protection Fund . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 54
55 D.A.R.E. California (Drug Abuse Resistance Education) Fund . . . . . . . . • 55
56 California Military Museum Fund . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 56
57 Add line 47 through line 56. These are your total contributions . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 57
58 REFUND OR NO AMOUNT DUE. Subtract line 57 from line 45. Mail to:

FRANCHISE TAX BOARD, PO BOX 942840,
SACRAMENTO CA 94240-0000 . . . . . . . ■ 58

59 AMOUNT YOU OWE. Add line 46 and line 57. Make a check/money order payable
to ‘‘Franchise Tax Board’’ for the full amount. Write your social security number
and ‘‘1997 Form 540’’ on it. Complete Form 540-V. Attach both to the front of
your Form 540 and mail to: FRANCHISE TAX BOARD, PO BOX 942867,

SACRAMENTO CA 94267-0001 . . . . . . . . ■ 59

60 Interest, late return penalties and late payment penalties. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 60
61 Underpayment of estimated tax. If form FTB 5805 or 5805F is attached, check here . . . . . . . . . ■ ■ 61
62 If you do not need California income tax forms mailed to you next year, check here . . . . . . . . . . . • 62 ■ 
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California Resident
Income Tax Return 1997

Step 2
Filing Status

Step 3
Exemptions

Attach check or
money order and
Form 540-V here.

6 If your parent(s), or someone else, can claim you (or your spouse, if married) as a dependent on their tax return,
check the box here . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 6

7 Personal: If you checked box 1, 3 or 4 above, enter 1. If you checked box 2 or 5, enter 2.
If you checked the box on line 6, see page 27 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 7

8 Blind: If you (or if married, your spouse) are visually impaired, enter 1. If both are visually impaired, enter 2 . . . . 8
9 Senior: If you (or if married, your spouse) are 65 or older, enter 1. If both are 65 or older, enter 2 . . . . . . . . . • 9

10 Dependents: Enter name and relationship. Do not include yourself, your spouse or the person listed on line 4.

Enter the total number of dependents 10
11 Total number of exemptions. Add line 7 through line 10. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 11

Step 4

Check only one.

12 State wages from your Form(s) W-2, box 17 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 12
13 Federal adjusted gross income from Form 1040, line 32, Form 1040A, line 16,

Form 1040EZ, line 4 or TeleFile Tax Record, line H . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 13
14 California adjustments – subtractions. Enter the amount from Schedule CA (540), line 32, column B . . • 14

Caution: If the amount on Schedule CA (540), line 32, column B is a negative number, see page 27.

18 Enter the Your California itemized deductions from Schedule CA (540), line 39; OR
larger of: Your California standard deduction shown below for your filing status:

• Married filing joint, Head of household, or Qualifying widow(er) . $5,166
• Single or Married filing separate . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $2,583{ 
(Dependent of someone else and checked box on line 6. . . . See page 28)

} 
. . . . . • 18

19 Subtract line 18 from line 17. This is your taxable income. If less than zero, enter -0- . . . . . . . . . . 19

Step 5
Tax

Attach copy of your
Form(s) W-2, W-2G
and 1099-R here.

Form 540 C1 1997 Side 1

FORM

540

Taxable
Income

15 Subtract line 14 from line 13. If less than zero, enter the result in parentheses. See page 27 . . . . . . 15
16 California adjustments – additions. Enter the amount from Schedule CA (540), line 32, column C . . . . • 16

Caution: If the amount on Schedule CA (540), line 32, column C is a negative number, see page 27.
17 California adjusted gross income. Combine line 15 and line 16 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 17

20 Tax. Check if from ■ Tax Table ■ Tax Rate Schedule ■ FTB 3800 or ■ FTB 3803 . . . • 20
Caution: If under age 14 and you have more than $1,300 of investment income,

read the line 20 instructions to see if you must attach form FTB 3800.
21 Exemption credits.

Caution: See the line 21 instructions before making an entry on this line.
Check if from ■ Flowchart ■ Federal AGI limit or ■ California TMT limit . . . . . . . . . . . . • 21

22 Subtract line 21 from line 20. If less than zero, enter -0- . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 22

23 Tax. Check if from ■ Schedule G-1, Tax on Lump-Sum Distributions; and
■ form FTB 5870A, Tax on Accumulation Distribution of Trusts . . . . . . . . • 23

24 Add line 22 and line 23. Continue to Side 2 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 24

1 ■ Single
2 ■ Married filing joint return (even if only one spouse had income)
3 ■ Married filing separate return. Enter spouse’s social security number above and full name here
4 ■ Head of household (with qualifying person). If the qualifying person is a child but not your dependent, enter child’s name here.

5 ■ Qualifying widow(er) with dependent child. Enter year spouse died 19 .

For Privacy Act Notice, see instructions.*
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IMPORTANT: See ‘‘Sign Your Return’’ in the Form 540 instructions to find out if you should attach a copy of your complete federal return.
Under penalties of perjury, I declare that I have examined this return, including accompanying schedules and statements, and to the best
of my knowledge and belief, it is true, correct and complete.

25 Amount from Side 1, line 24 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 25
28 Enter credit name code no. and amount . . . P 28
29 Enter credit name code no. and amount . . . P 29
30 Enter credit name code no. and amount . . . P 30
31 To claim more than three credits, see page 30 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 31
33 Add line 28 through line 31. These are your total credits . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 33
34 Subtract line 33 from line 25. If less than zero, enter -0- . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 34

35 Alternative minimum tax. Attach Schedule P (540) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 35
36 Other taxes and credit recapture. See page 32 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 36
37 Add line 34 through line 36. This is your total tax . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 37
38 California income tax withheld. Enter total from your 1997 Form(s) W-2,

W-2G, 1099-MISC and 1099-R. Also attach the Form(s) to Side 1 . . . . . . ■ 38
39 1997 CA estimated tax and amount applied from your 1996 return.

Include the amount from form FTB 3519 or Schedule K-1 (541) . . . . . . . ■ 39
41 Did either you or your spouse receive more than $31,767 in wages

in 1997? Yes. See page 32. No. Go to line 42. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ■ 41
42 Add line 38 through line 41. These are your total payments . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 42

43 Overpaid tax. If line 42 is more than line 37, subtract line 37 from line 42. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 43
44 Amount of line 43 you want applied to your 1998 estimated tax . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ■ 44
45 Overpaid tax available this year. Subtract line 44 from line 43. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ■ 45
46 Tax due. If line 42 is less than line 37, subtract line 42 from line 37 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 46

47 Contribution to California Seniors Special Fund. See page 33 . . . . . . . . • 47
You may make a contribution of $1 or more to:

48 Alzheimer’s Disease/Related Disorders Fund . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 48
49 California Fund for Senior Citizens . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 49
50 Rare and Endangered Species Preservation Program . . . . . . . . . . . . • 50
51 State Children’s Trust Fund for the Prevention of Child Abuse . . . . . . . • 51
52 California Breast Cancer Research Fund. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 52
53 California Firefighters’ Memorial Fund . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 53
54 California Public School Library Protection Fund . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 54
55 D.A.R.E. California (Drug Abuse Resistance Education) Fund . . . . . . . . • 55
56 California Military Museum Fund . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 56
57 Add line 47 through line 56. These are your total contributions . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . • 57
58 REFUND OR NO AMOUNT DUE. Subtract line 57 from line 45. Mail to:

FRANCHISE TAX BOARD, PO BOX 942840,
SACRAMENTO CA 94240-0000 . . . . . . . ■ 58

59 AMOUNT YOU OWE. Add line 46 and line 57. Make a check/money order payable
to ‘‘Franchise Tax Board’’ for the full amount. Write your social security number
and ‘‘1997 Form 540’’ on it. Complete Form 540-V. Attach both to the front of
your Form 540 and mail to: FRANCHISE TAX BOARD, PO BOX 942867,

SACRAMENTO CA 94267-0001 . . . . . . . . ■ 59

60 Interest, late return penalties and late payment penalties. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 60
61 Underpayment of estimated tax. If form FTB 5805 or 5805F is attached, check here . . . . . . . . . ■ ■ 61
62 If you do not need California income tax forms mailed to you next year, check here . . . . . . . . . . . • 62 ■ 
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Instructions for Form 540 — California Resident Income Tax Return
These instructions are based on the Internal Revenue Code (IRC) as of January 1, 1997 , and the California Revenue and Taxation Code (R&TC).

Before
You
Begin

You must complete your federal income tax return
(Form 1040, 1040A, 1040EZ or federal TeleFile Tax
Record) before you begin your California Form 540. You will
use the information you entered on your federal income tax
return to complete your Form 540. Be sure to complete and
mail the Form 540 by April 15, 1998. If you cannot mail
your return by the due date, see page 45.

Step 1
Name and
Address

If there is a label on the front of your booklet:
1. Complete your Form 540 before you remove the

label from the front of your booklet.
2. Check your math and the amounts entered to make

sure that they are correct.
3. Remove your label from the front of your booklet and

attach it to the front of your Form 540 in the space
provided at the top.

4. Make sure the information on your label is correct. If
you need to make any changes, draw a line in ink
through the incorrect information and clearly print the
new information.

If there is no label, print your name, social security number
and address in the spaces provided at the top of Form 540.
See page 4, Helpful Hints, Filling in your return.
If you file a joint return, show social security numbers in the
same order that you show both names.

Step 2
Filing
Status

Check only one of the boxes on line 1 through line 5. Be
sure to enter the required additional information if you
check a box on line 3, line 4 or line 5.
Your filing status for California must be the same as the
filing status you used on your federal income tax return.
Exception: Married taxpayers who file a joint federal
income tax return may file either a joint return or separate
returns if either spouse was:

&
218

• An active member of the United States armed forces (or
any auxiliary military branch) during 1997; or

• A nonresident for the entire year and had no income
from California sources during 1997.

However, if you file a joint return and if either spouse was a
nonresident in 1997, you must file Form 540NR, California
Nonresident or Part-Year Resident Income Tax Return.
If You Are Married and File a Separate Return
If you check the box on line 3, you must enter your
spouse’s name on line 3 and social security number in the
space provided in ‘‘Step 1.’’
Note: Community property rules apply to the separation of
income if you use the married filing separate status. For
more information, get FTB Pub. 1031, Guidelines for Deter-
mining Resident Status and FTB Pub. 1051A, Guidelines
for Married Filing Separate Returns.

&
215

If You File as Head of Household
If the qualifying person is a child but not your dependent,
enter that child’s name on line 4. Do not claim yourself or a
nonrelative as the qualifying person. See page 17 or get
FTB Pub. 1540, Tax Information for Head of Household, for
more information.

Step 3
Exemptions

Line 6 – Dependent Check Box

&
601

Check the box on line 6 if your parent (or someone else)
can claim you as a dependent on his or her tax return. For
example, if your parents (or someone else) could claim you
as a dependent on their return but they chose not to claim
you, you must check the box on line 6.

Line 7 – Personal Exemptions
Did you check the box on line 6?
No Follow the instructions on Form 540, line 7.

Yes Ignore the instructions on Form 540, line 7.
Instead, enter the amount shown below for your
filing status:

• Single or married filing separate, enter -0-;
• Head of household, enter -0-;
• Married filing joint and both you and your spouse

can be claimed as dependents, enter -0-; or
• Married filing joint and only one spouse can be

claimed as a dependent, enter 1.

Line 8 – Blind Exemptions
The first year you claim this exemption credit, you must
attach a doctor’s statement to the back of Form 540 indicat-
ing you or your spouse are visually impaired. You are visu-
ally impaired if you cannot see better than 20/200 while
wearing glasses or contact lenses, or if your field of vision
is not more than 20 degrees.
Caution: An individual who is someone else’s dependent
may not claim this credit.

Line 9 – Senior Exemptions
If you are 65 years of age or older, you should claim an
additional exemption credit on line 9. If you are married,
each spouse 65 years of age or older should claim an
additional credit.
Caution: An individual who is someone else’s dependent
may not claim this credit.

Line 10 – Dependent Exemptions
To claim an exemption credit for each of your dependents,
write each dependent’s name and relationship to you in the
space provided. The persons you list as dependents on
your Form 540 must be the same persons you listed as
dependents on your federal income tax return. Do not list
the same person you listed on line 4. Count the number of
dependents listed and enter the total on line 10.

Step 4
Taxable
Income

Refer to your completed federal income tax return to
complete ‘‘Step 4.’’

Line 12 – State Wages
Enter the total amount of your state wages from all states
from each of your Form(s) W-2. This amount should be in
box 17 of Form W-2.

Line 14 – California Adjustments — Subtractions
(from Schedule CA (540), line 32, column B)
If there are differences between your federal and California
income or deductions, you must complete Schedule CA
(540), California Adjustments — Residents. Follow the
instructions for Schedule CA (540) beginning on page 39.
Enter on this line the amount from Schedule CA (540),
line 32, column B.

Line 15 – Subtotal
Subtract the amount on line 14 from the amount on line 13.
Enter the result on line 15. If the amount on line 13 is less
than zero, combine the amounts on line 13 and line 14 and
enter the result in parentheses. For example: ‘‘(12,325).’’

Line 16 – California Adjustments — Additions
(from Schedule CA (540), line 32, column C)
If there are differences between your federal and California
income or deductions, you must complete Schedule CA
(540), California Adjustments — Residents. Follow the
instructions for Schedule CA (540) beginning on page 39.
Enter on this line the amount from Schedule CA (540),
line 32, column C.

Line 18 – Standard Deduction OR Itemized Deductions
You must decide whether to take the standard deduction or
itemize your charitable contributions, medical expenses,
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interest paid, taxes, etc. Your California income tax will be
less if you take the larger of:
• Your California itemized deductions; or
• Your California standard deduction.
If you are married and file a separate return, both you and
your spouse must either itemize your deductions or take the
standard deduction.
Itemized deductions. Figure your California itemized
deductions by completing Schedule CA (540), Part II,
line 34 through line 39. Enter the result on Form 540,
line 18. Note: If you did not itemize deductions on your fed-
eral income tax return but will itemize deductions for your
California Form 540, first complete a federal Schedule A,
Itemized Deductions. Then complete Schedule CA (540),
Part II, line 34 through line 39.
Standard deduction. Most people can find their standard
deduction by looking at the California Standard Deduction
Chart For Most People, below. But, if you checked the box
on Form 540, line 6, you must use the Standard Deduction
Worksheet for Dependents.

California Standard Deduction Chart For Most People

Your Filing Status Enter On Line 18

1 – Single . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $2,583
2 – Married filing joint return. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $5,166
3 – Married filing separate return . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $2,583
4 – Head of household . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $5,166
5 – Qualifying widow(er) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $5,166
Note: The California standard deduction amounts are less than the federal
standard deduction amounts.

Do not use this chart if your parent(s), or someone else, can claim you as a
dependent on their tax return.

Standard Deduction Worksheet For Dependents
Use this worksheet only if your parent(s), or someone else, can claim you as a
dependent on their tax return.
1. Enter your earned income from: line 1 of the federal

‘‘Standard Deduction Worksheet for Dependents’’
in the instructions for federal Form 1040A or
Form 1040; or from line A of the worksheet found
on the back of federal Form 1040EZ; or if using
federal TeleFile, enter your total wages from all
Form(s) W-2 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 1

2. Minimum standard deduction . . . . . . . . . . . . 2
3. Compare the amounts on line 1 and line 2.

Enter the larger of the two amounts here . . . . . . 3
4. Enter the amount shown below for your filing status.

• Single or married filing separate,
enter $2,583

• Married filing joint, head of household
. . . . 4

or qualifying widow(er), enter $5,166
5. Standard deduction. Compare the amounts on

line 3 and line 4. Enter the smaller of the two
amounts here and on Form 540, line 18. . . . . . . 5

}

$650.00

Step 5
Tax

When you figure your tax, be sure to use the correct filing
status and taxable income amount.

Line 20 – Tax
To figure your tax, use one of the following methods and
check the corresponding box on line 20:
• Tax Table. If your taxable income on line 19 is $50,000

or less, you must use the tax table on page 51 through
page 53. Be sure you use the correct filing status col-
umn in the tax table.

• Tax Rate Schedules. If your taxable income on line 19
is over $50,000, you must use the tax rate schedules on
page 54.

• FTB 3800. Generally, you must use form FTB 3800, Tax
Computation for Children With Investment Income, to
figure the tax on a separate Form 540 for your child
who was under age 14 on January 1, 1998, and who
had more than $1,300 of investment income. Attach
form FTB 3800 to the child’s Form 540.

• FTB 3803. If, as a parent, you elect to report your
child’s interest and dividend income of $6,500 or less
(but not less than $650) on your return, complete form
FTB 3803, Parents’ Election to Report Child’s Interest
and Dividends. You must file a separate form FTB 3803
for each child whose income you elect to include on
your Form 540. Add the amount of tax, if any, from each
form FTB 3803, line 8, to the amount of your tax from
the tax table or tax rate schedules and enter the result
on Form 540, line 20. Check the box labeled
‘‘FTB 3803.’’ Attach form(s) FTB 3803 to your return.

Line 21 – Exemption Credits
Exemption credits may reduce your tax, but the amount of
the credits may be limited in two ways. It may be limited by
federal adjusted gross income (AGI). And it may also be
limited by California tentative minimum tax (TMT). To find
out if your exemption credits may be affected by one or
both of these limitations, use the following flowchart. The
flowchart will help you determine if you need to complete a
worksheet or complete Schedule P (540) to figure the
amount of exemption credits available to reduce your tax.
See page 55 for information on ordering forms.

If your filing status is: Is Form 540, line 13 more than:
Single or married filing separate . . . . . . . . . . . . . $114,152
Married filing joint or qualifying widow(er). . . . . . . . . $228,305
Head of household . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $171,228
Yes Complete Worksheet I on the next page.
No Go to box 2 ↓

Did you complete federal Schedule C, D, E or F and claim or receive
any of the following:
• Accelerated depreciation in excess of straight line;
• Intangible drilling costs;
• Depletion;
• Circulation expenditures;
• Research and experimental expenditures;
• Mining exploration/development costs;
• Amortization of pollution control facilities;
• Income/loss from tax shelter farm activities;
• Income/loss from passive activities;
• Income from long-term contracts using the percentage of

completion method; or
• Flow-through AMT adjustment from an estate or trust

reported on Schedule K-1 (541).
Yes Get and complete Schedule P (540) through Part IV,

line 5 to figure the amount of your exemption credits.
No Go to box 3 ↓

1

2

Did you claim or receive any of the following:
• Investment interest expense & 226;
• Income from incentive stock options in excess of the amount

reported on your return. & 225;
• Charitable contribution deduction for appreciated property. & 224;
• Income from installment sales of certain property; or
• Net operating loss deduction or disaster loss carryover

reported on form(s) FTB 3805V, 3805Z, 3806 or 3807.
Yes Get and complete Schedule P (540) through Part IV, line 5

to figure the amount of your exemption credits.
No Go to box 4 ↓

If your filing status is: Is Form 540, line 17 more than:
Single or head of household . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $33,750
Married filing separate . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $22,500
Married filing joint or qualifying widow(er). . . . . . . . . $45,000
No Multiply $68 by the amount on Form 540, line 11. Enter 

the result on Form 540, line 21. Check the box labeled
‘‘Flowchart.’’

Yes Go to box 5 ↓

3

4
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If your filing status is: Is Form 540, line 17 more than:
Single or head of household . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $112,500
Married filing joint or qualifying widow(er). . . . . . . . . $150,000
Married filing separate . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $75,000
Yes Get and complete Schedule P (540) through Part IV, line 5 

to figure the amount of your exemption credits
No Go to box 6 ↓

Did you itemize deductions?
Yes Complete Worksheet III.
No Complete Worksheet II.

5

6

WORKSHEET I —
Limiting the exemption credit by federal AGI

a Multiply the total number of exemptions from
Form 540, line 11 by $68 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . a

b Enter the amount from Form 540, line 13 . . . . . . . b
c Enter the amount for your filing status on line c:

Single or married filing separate . . . . . . $114,152
Married filing joint or qualifying widow(er) $228,305 c
Head of household . . . . . . . . . . . . . $171,228

d Subtract line c from line b . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . d
Is line d more than $27,500 (more than $13,750
if married filing separate)?
YES Enter -0- on this line, line h below and on Form 540, line 21.

Check the box labeled ‘‘Federal AGI limit.’’ Skip lines e, f and g
of this worksheet. Go to Form 540, line 22.

NO Go to line e.
e Divide line d by $2,500 ($1,250 if married filing

separate). Note: If the result is not a whole
number, round it to the next higher whole number . . . . e

f Multiply line e by $6 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . f
g Multiply line f by the total number of exemptions

from Form 540, line 11 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . g
h Subtract line g from line a . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . h

If the result is more than zero, enter the result.
Get and complete Schedule P (540) through Part IV, line 5 to figure
your exemption credit. If the result is zero or less than zero, enter -0-
on line h and on Form 540, line 21. Check the box labeled
‘‘Federal AGI limit.’’ Go to Form 540, line 22.

}

WORKSHEET II — Exemption credit worksheet for
taxpayers claiming the standard deduction

1 Enter the amount from Form 540, line 20 . . . . . . . . 1
2 Enter the amount from Form 540, line 17 . . . . . . . . 2
3 Exclusion. If you file Schedule C, D, E or F see

Trade or Business Exclusion in the box to the right
of this worksheet. Otherwise, enter -0-. . . . . . . . . . 3

4 Subtract line 3 from line 2 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 4
5 Enter the amount for your filing status on line 5:

Single or head of household . . . . . . $33,750
Married filing joint or qualifying widow(er) $45,000
Married filing separate . . . . . . . . . $22,500 } 5

6 Subtract line 5 from line 4. If zero or less, enter -0- . . 6
7 Multiply line 6 by .07 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 7
8 Subtract line 7 from line 1. If zero or less, enter -0- . . 8
9 Multiply the amount from Form 540, line 11 by $68 . . . 9

10 Enter the smaller of line 8 or line 9 . . . . . . . . . . 10
This is your allowable exemption credit. Enter this amount on Form 540,
line 21 and check the box labeled ‘‘California TMT limit.’’ Go to
Form 540, line 22.

WORKSHEET III — Exemption credit worksheet for
taxpayers claiming itemized deductions

A Enter the amount from Form 540, line 20 . . . . . . . A
B Enter the smaller of federal Schedule A, line 4

(medical and dental expense); or 21⁄2% of Form 1040,
line 32 (federal AGI) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . B

C Enter personal property and real property taxes paid
and included on federal Schedule A, line 6, line 7 or
line 8. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . C

D Enter certain interest on a home mortgage not used
used to buy, build or improve your home. & 223. . . D

E Enter miscellaneous itemized deductions
from federal Schedule A, line 26 . . . . . . . . . . . E

F Add line B through line E . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . F
G Enter any refund of personal property tax or

real property tax included on federal Form 1040,
line 10. Do not enter the amount of your state
income tax refund . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . G

H Subtract line G from line F. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . H
I Enter the amount from Form 540, line 19 . . . . . . . . I
J Add line H and line I . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . J
K Exclusion. If you file federal Schedule C, D, E or F

see Trade or Business Exclusion in the next box.
Otherwise, enter -0- . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . K

L Subtract line K from line J . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . L
M Enter the amount for your filing status on line M:

Single or head of household. . . . . . $33,750
Married filing joint or qualifying widow(er) $45,000
Married filing separate . . . . . . . . . $22,500 } M

N Subtract line M from line L. If zero or less, enter -0- . N
O Multiply line N by .07 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . O
P Subtract line O from line A. If zero or less, enter -0- . P
Q Multiply the amount from Form 540, line 11 by $68 . . Q
R Enter the smaller of line P or line Q . . . . . . . . . . R

This is your allowable exemption credit. Also enter this amount
on Form 540, line 21. Check the box labeled ‘‘California TMT
limit.’’ Go to Form 540, line 22.

If your aggregate gross receipts from trade or business income are less than
$1,000,000 as described below, enter your total taxable trade or business income
on line 3 (if you are using Worksheet II) or line K (if you are using Worksheet III).
You qualify for the exclusion if you:
• Own or have an ownership interest in a trade or business; and
• Have aggregate gross receipts, less returns and allowances, during the

taxable year of less than $1,000,000 from all trades or businesses for which
you are the owner or have an ownership interest. Gross receipts may include,
but are not limited to, items reported on federal Schedule C, D, E, (other than
income from a trust) or F and from federal Form 4797 (figured in accordance
with California law) or California Schedule D-1 (if required to complete it) that
are associated with a trade or business. In the case of an ownership interest,
you include only the proportional share of gross receipts of any trade or
business from a partnership S corporation, regulated investment company
(RIC), real estate investment trust (REIT), or real estate mortgage investment
conduit (REMIC) in accordance with your ownership interest in the
enterprise. Apply the $1,000,000 test to the return regardless of filing status.
The threshold does not become $2,000,000 for married filing joint taxpayers.

Definitions.
‘‘Aggregate gross receipts, less returns and allowances’’ means the sum of
the gross receipts of the trade or businesses which you own and the proportionate
interest of the gross receipts of the trades or businesses which you own and of
pass-through entities in which you hold an interest.

‘‘Gross receipts less returns and allowances’’ means the sum of the gross
receipts from the production of business income, as defined in R&TC Section
25120(a), and the gross receipts from the production of nonbusiness income, as
defined in R&TC Section 25120(d).

‘‘Proportionate interest’’ means:
1. In the case of a pass-through entity which reports a profit for the taxable or

income year, your profit interest in the entity at the end of your taxable year.
2. In the case of a pass-through entity which reports a loss for the taxable or

income year, your loss interest in the entity at the end of your taxable year.
3. In the case of a pass-through entity which is sold or liquidates during the

taxable or income year, your capital account interest in the entity at the time
of the sale or liquidation.

‘‘Proportionate interest’’ includes an interest in a pass-through entity including a
partnership, S corporation, RIC, REIT or REMIC.

Trade or Business Exclusion
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Line 23 – Tax from Schedule G-1 and form FTB 5870A

Check the applicable box(es) and enter the amount of taxes
from:
• Schedule G-1, Tax on Lump-Sum Distributions; and
• Form FTB 5870A, Tax on Accumulation Distribution of

Trusts.

Step 6
Credits

A variety of California tax credits are available to reduce
your tax if you qualify.
To figure and claim most credits, you must complete a sep-
arate form or schedule and attach it to your Form 540. The
Credit Chart in the instructions for line 28 describes the
credits and provides the name, credit code and number of
the required form or schedule. Many credits are limited by a
certain percentage or a certain dollar amount. In addition,
the total amount you may claim for all credits is limited
by TMT.
Are you claiming any credits listed on the Credit Chart?
NO Enter the amount from line 25 on line 34 and con-

tinue to line 35.
YES Determine the amount of your credit using the form,

schedule, worksheet or certificate identified in the
Credit Chart. Then answer the questions below to
see if the total amount you may claim for all credits
is limited by TMT.

1. Were you instructed in Step 5 to complete
Schedule P (540)?
No Go to Question 2.
Yes Get and complete Schedule P (540), Part V.

2. Did you complete Worksheet I in Step 5 and enter zero
on Worksheet I, line h?
Yes Get and complete Schedule P (540), Parts I, II,

III and V.
No Go to Question 3.

3. Were your exemption credits limited in Step 5 by Work-
sheet II or Worksheet III?
Yes Get and complete Schedule P (540), Part V.
No Complete the following worksheet:
a. Enter the amount from Worksheet II,

line 8, or Worksheet III, line P. . . a
b. Enter Schedule G-1 tax from

Form 540, line 23, if any . . . . . b
c. Add line a and line b . . . . . . . . c
d. Enter the amount from Form 540,

line 21 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . d
e. Subtract line d from line c . . . . . e
f. Enter the total of your credits . . . f
• If line e is more than line f, your credits are not lim-

ited. Go to the instructions for Form 540, line 28.
• If line e is less than line f, get and complete Sched-

ule P (540). See page 55 for information on ordering
forms.

Line 28
through
Line 31 – Additional Credits

Each credit has a code number. To claim only one, two or
three credits, enter the credit name, code number and
amount of the credit on lines 28, 29 and 30. To claim more
than three credits, use Schedule P (540). List three of the
credits on lines 28, 29 and 30. Enter the total of any
remaining credits from Schedule P (540) on line 31.
Important: Attach Schedule P (540) and any required sup-
porting schedules or statements to your Form 540.
Carryovers: If you claim a credit with carryover provisions
and the amount of the credit available this year exceeds
your tax, you may carry over any excess credit to future
years until the credit is used. If you claim a credit carryover
for an expired credit and were not required to complete
Schedule P (540) for line 21, use form FTB 3540, Credit
Carryover Summary, to figure the amount of the credit. Oth-
erwise, enter the amount of the credit on Schedule P (540),
Part V, and do not attach form FTB 3540.

CREDIT CHART
Credit Name Code Description

Child Adoption – Worksheet follows this chart. 197 50% of qualified costs in the year an adoption is ordered
Community Development Financial Institution
Deposits — obtain certification from: California
Organized Investment Network (COIN), Depart-
ment of Insurance, 300 Capitol Mall, Suite 1460,
Sacramento CA 95814

209 20% of each qualified deposit made to a community development financial institution

Dependent Parent – Worksheet follows this chart. 173 Must use married filing separate filing status and have a dependent parent
Disabled Access for Eligible Small Businesses –

FTB 3548
205 Similar to the federal credit but limited to $125 based on 50% of qualified expenditures

that do not exceed $250
Donated Agricultural Products Transportation –

FTB 3547
204 50% of the costs paid or incurred for the transportation of agricultural products donated

to nonprofit charitable organizations
Employer Child Care Contribution – FTB 3501 190 Employer: 30% of contributions to a qualified plan
Employer Child Care Program – FTB 3501 189 Employer: Cost of establishing a child care program or constructing a child care facility
Enhanced Oil Recovery – FTB 3546 203 One third of the similar federal credit and limited to qualified enhanced oil recovery proj-

ects located within California.
Enterprise Zone Employee – FTB 3553 169 5% of wages from work in an enterprise zone
Enterprise Zone Hiring & Sales or Use Tax –

FTB 3805Z
176 Business incentives for enterprise zone businesses

Farmworker Housing – obtain certification from:
Farmworker Housing Assistance Program, Cali-
fornia Tax Credit Allocation Committee, 915 Capi-
tol Mall, Room 485, Sacramento CA 95814

207 50% of new construction or rehabilitation costs for farmworker housing

Joint Custody Head of Household – Worksheet
follows this chart.

170 30% of tax up to $275 for single or married filing separate taxpayers who have a child
and meet support test

Local Agency Military Base Recovery Area
(LAMBRA) Hiring & Sales or Use Tax –
FTB 3807

198 Business incentives for LAMBRAs

Los Angeles Revitalization Zone (LARZ) Hiring &
Sales or Use Tax – FTB 3806

159 Business incentives for LARZ

Low-Income Housing – FTB 3521 172 Similar to the federal credit but limited to low-income housing in California

(continued on next page)
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CREDIT CHART (continued)
Credit Name Code Description

Manufacturers’ Investment – FTB 3535 199 6% of the cost of qualified property
Other State Tax – Schedule S 187 Net income tax paid to another state or a U.S. possession on income also taxed by

California
Prior Year Alternative Minimum Tax – FTB 3510 188 Must have paid alternative minimum tax in a prior year and have no alternative minimum

tax liability in 1997
Prison Inmate Labor – FTB 3507 162 10% of wages paid to prison inmates
Program Area Hiring & Sales or Use Tax –

FTB 3805Z
177 Business incentives for program areas for incentives passed through from a 1996 fiscal

year filer. See the FTB 3805Z Booklet for more information.
Research – FTB 3523 183 Similar to the federal credit but limited to costs for research activities in California
Rice Straw – obtain certification from: Rice Straw
Tax Credit Program, Department of Food and
Agriculture, 1220 N Street Room 409, Sacra-
mento, CA 95814

206 $15 per ton of purchased rice straw grown in California

Salmon & Steelhead Trout Habitat Restoration –
obtain certification from: Department of Fish and
Game, c/o FISH-Timber Tax Credits Program,
PO Box 944209, Sacramento CA 95244-2090

200 The lesser of 10% of qualified costs or other amount determined by the Department of
Fish and Game

Senior Head of Household –
Worksheet follows this chart.

163 2% of taxable income up to $841 for seniors who qualified for head of household and
the qualifying individual died during 1995 or 1996

Agricultural Products
Commercial Solar Electric System
Commercial Solar Energy
Employee Ridesharing
Employer Ridesharing: Large employer

Small employer
Transit passes

175
196
181
194
191
192
193

Repealed Credits: The expiration dates for these credits have passed. However, these credits had carryover features. You may claim these credits
only if there is a carryover available from prior years. If you are not required to complete Schedule P (540), get form FTB 3540,
Credit Carryover Summary, to figure your credit carryover to future years.

Energy Conservation
Orphan Drug
Low-Emission Vehicles
Political Contributions
Recycling Equipment
Residential Rental & Farm Sales
Ridesharing

Solar Energy
Solar Pump
Water Conservation
Young Infant

182
185
160
184
174
186
171

180
179
178
161

Credit for Joint Custody Head of Household — Code 170
Note: You may not claim this credit if you used either the
head of household or qualifying widow(er) filing status.
You may claim a credit if you were unmarried at the end of
1997 (or if married, you lived apart from your spouse for all
of 1997 and you used the married filing separate filing sta-
tus); and if you furnished more than one-half the household
expenses for your home which also served as the home of
your child, step-child or grandchild for at least 146 days but
not more than 219 days of the taxable year. If the child is
married, you must be entitled to claim a dependent exemp-
tion credit for the child.
Also, the custody arrangement for the child must be part of
a decree of dissolution or separate maintenance or must be
part of a written agreement between the parents where the
proceedings have been initiated, but a decree of dissolution
or separate maintenance has not yet been issued.
Use the worksheet below to figure this credit.
1. Enter the amount from Form 540,

line 24 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 1
2. Enter the form FTB 5870A tax, if any,

included on Form 540, line 23. . . . 2
3. Subtract line 2 from line 1 . . . . . 3
4. Credit percentage — 30% . . . . . . 4 x .30
5. Credit amount. Multiply line 3 by

line 4. Enter the result or $275,
whichever is less . . . . . . . . . . . 5

Credit for Dependent Parent — Code 173
Note: You may not claim the credit for dependent parent if
you used the single, head of household or qualifying
widow(er) or married filing joint filing status.
You may claim this credit only if:
• You were married at the end of 1997 and you used the

married filing separate filing status;
• Your spouse was not a member of your household

during the last six months of the year; and

• You furnished over one-half the household expenses for
your dependent mother’s or father’s home, whether or
not he or she lived in your home.

To figure the amount of this credit, use the worksheet for
the credit for joint custody head of household.

Credit for Senior Head of Household — Code 163
You may claim this credit if you:
• Were 65 years of age or older on December 31, 1997;
• Qualified as a head of household in 1995 or 1996 by

providing a household for a qualifying individual who
died during 1995 or 1996; and

• Did not have adjusted gross income over $44,648 for
1997.

Note: If you meet all the conditions listed above, you do not
need to qualify to use the head of household filing status
for 1997 in order to claim this credit.
Use the following worksheet to figure this credit.
1. Enter the amount from Form 540,

line 19 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 1
2. Credit percentage — 2%. . . . . . . 2 x .02
3. Credit amount. Multiply line 1 by

line 2. Enter the result or $841,
whichever is less . . . . . . . . . . . 3

Credit for Child Adoption Costs — Code 197
For the year in which an order of adoption is entered, you
may claim a credit for 50% of the cost of adopting a child
who is a citizen or legal resident of the United States and
who was in the custody of a California public agency or a
California political subdivision. You may include the follow-
ing costs if directly related to the adoption process:
• Fees of the Department of Social Services or a licensed

adoption agency;
• Medical expenses not reimbursed by insurance; and
• Travel expenses for the adoptive family.
Note: Any deduction for the expenses used to claim this
credit must be reduced by the amount of the child adoption
costs credit claimed.
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Use the worksheet below to figure this credit. If more than
one adoption qualifies for this credit, complete a separate
worksheet for each adoption. The maximum credit is limited
to $2,500 per minor child.
1. Enter qualifying costs for the child . 1
2. Credit percentage — 50% . . . . . . 2 x .50
3. Credit amount. Multiply line 1

by line 2 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 3
If line 3 is more than $2,500, your allowable credit is
$2,500. You may carry over the excess credit to future
years until the credit is used.

Line 34 – Subtract the amount on line 33 from the amount on
line 25. Enter the result on line 34. If the amount on line 33
is more than the amount on line 25, enter -0-. If you owe
interest on deferred tax from installment obligations, include
the additional tax, if any, in the amount you enter on
line 34. Write ‘‘IRC Section 453 interest’’ or ‘‘IRC Section
453A interest’’ and the amount on the dotted line to the left
of the amount on line 34.

Step 7
Other Taxes

Attach the specific form or statement required for each
entry in this section.

Line 35 – Alternative Minimum Tax (AMT)
If you claim certain types of deductions, exclusions and
credits, you may owe AMT if your total income is more
than: $45,000 if married filing joint or qualifying widow(er);
$33,750 if single or head of household; or $22,500 if mar-
ried filing separate.
As the result of legislation enacted in 1996, AMT income
shall not include income, adjustments and items of tax pref-
erence related to any trade or business of a qualified tax-
payer who has gross receipts, less returns and allowances,
during the taxable year of less than $1,000,000 from all
trades or businesses.
A child under age 14 may owe AMT if the sum of the
amount on line 19 (taxable income) and any preference
items listed on Schedule P (540) and included on the return
is more than the sum of $1,300 and the child’s earned
income.
Get Schedule P (540) for more information. See page 55
for information on ordering forms.

Line 36 – Other Taxes and Credit Recapture
If you used form(s) FTB 3501, Employer Child Care Pro-
gram/Contribution Credit; FTB 3535, Manufacturers’ Invest-
ment Credit; FTB 3805P, Additional Tax Attributable to
Qualified Retirement Plans (Including IRAs), Annuities and
Modified Endowment Contracts; FTB 3805Z, Enterprise
Zone Deduction and Credit Summary; FTB 3806, Los Ange-
les Revitalization Zone (LARZ) Deduction and Credit Sum-
mary or FTB 3807, Local Agency Military Base Recovery
Area Deduction and Credit Summary; include the additional
tax, if any, on line 36. Write the form number on the dotted
line to the left of the amount on line 36.

Step 8
Payments

Make sure you have your Form(s) W-2, W-2G, 1099-MISC
and 1099-R before you begin this step.

&
204

If you received wages and do not have a Form W-2, see
the instructions for ‘‘Sign Your Return’’ on page 34.

Line 38 – California Income Tax Withheld

&
205

Enter the total California income tax withheld from your:
• Form(s) W-2, box 18;
• Form(s) W-2G, box 14;
• Form(s) 1099-MISC, box 11; or
• Form(s) 1099-R, box 10.
Caution: Do not include city or county tax withheld or tax
withheld by other states.
If you received Form(s) 1099 showing California income tax
withheld (‘‘backup withholding’’) on dividends and interest
income, real estate sales and partnership distributions,
include the amount(s) withheld in the total on line 38.

Line 39 – 1997 CA Estimated Tax and Amount Applied from 1996
Return
Enter the total of any:
• California estimated tax payments you made

(Form 540-ES) for 1997;
• Overpayment from your 1996 California income tax

return that you applied to your 1997 estimated tax;
• Payment you sent with form FTB 3519, Payment

Voucher for Automatic Extension for Individuals; and
• California estimated tax payments made on your behalf

by an estate or trust on Schedule K-1 (541).
If you and your spouse paid joint estimated tax but are filing
separate returns, either spouse may claim all of the amount
paid, or may claim a part of it. Attach a statement signed by
you and your spouse explaining how you want your pay-
ments divided. Show both social security numbers on the
separate returns. If you or your spouse made separate esti-
mated tax payments, but are now filing a joint income tax
return, add the amounts you each paid. Attach a statement
to the front of Form 540 explaining that payments were
made under both social security numbers.

Line 41 – Excess California SDI (or VPDI) Withheld
If more than $158.84 of California State Disability Insurance
(SDI) or Voluntary Plan Disability Insurance (VPDI) was
withheld from your wages by a single employer, or if an
employer withheld SDI (or VPDI) at a rate of more than .5%
of your gross wages, you may not claim excess SDI (or
VPDI) on your Form 540, line 41. Contact the employer for
a refund.
You may claim a credit for excess SDI (or VPDI) only if:
• You had two or more employers during 1997;
• You received more than $31,767 in wages during 1997

from these employers;
• Your employers combined withheld more than $158.84

of SDI (or VPDI) from your wages; and
• The amounts of SDI (or VPDI) withheld appear on your

Forms W-2. Be sure to attach your Forms W-2 to your
Form 540.

Complete the worksheet below to figure the amount to enter
on line 41. If you are married and file a joint return, you
must figure the amount of excess SDI (or VPDI) separately
for each spouse .

1. Add amounts of SDI (or VPDI)
withheld shown on your Forms
W-2. Enter the total here. . 1

2.
3.

$158.84$158.84

Your
SpouseYou

1997 SDI (or VPDI) limit . . 2
Excess SDI (or VPDI) with-
held. Subtract line 2 from
line 1. Enter the result here
and on Form 540, line 41 . 3
Note:  If zero or less, enter -0- on line 41.

Step 9
Overpaid
Tax or
Tax Due

To avoid a delay in the processing of your return, be sure
you enter the correct amounts on line 43 through line 46.

Line 43 – Overpaid Tax
If the amount on line 42 is more than the amount on line
37, subtract the amount on line 37 from the amount on
line 42. Enter the result on line 43. Your payments and
credits are more than your tax.

Line 44 – Amount You Want Applied to Your 1998 Estimated Tax
You may apply all or part of the amount on line 43 to your
estimated tax for 1998. Enter on line 44 the amount of
line 43 that you want applied to 1998.

Line 45 – Overpaid Tax Available This Year
If you entered an amount on line 44, subtract it from the
amount on line 43. Enter the result on line 45. You may
have this entire amount refunded to you or you may make
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contributions to the California Seniors Special Fund or make
voluntary contributions from this amount. If you make a con-
tribution, skip line 46 and go to the instructions for
‘‘Step 10.’’

Line 46 – Tax Due
If the amount on line 42 is less than the amount on line 37,
subtract the amount on line 42 from the amount on line 37.
Enter the result on line 46. Your tax is more than your pay-
ments and credits.
There is a penalty for not paying enough tax during the
year. You may have to pay a penalty if:
• The tax due on line 46 is $100 or more; and
• The amount of state income tax withheld on line 38

is less than 80% of the amount of your total tax on
line 37.

If you owe a penalty, the Franchise Tax Board will compute
the penalty and send you a bill.
You may make contributions to the California Seniors
Special Fund or make voluntary contributions by adding
them to the tax due. You must pay the full amount of tax
due, including contributions, when you file your Form 540.

Step 10
Contri-
butions

You may make contributions in whole-dollar amounts only.
If you make one or more contributions, you must complete
‘‘Step 10.’’ You may contribute to only the following funds
and cannot change the amount you contributed after the
return is filed.
If you have overpaid tax available on Form 540, line 45, the
amount you contribute must be subtracted from your over-
paid tax available. If you have tax due on Form 540,
line 46, your total contributions must be added to your
tax due.

Line 47 – Contribution to California Seniors Special Fund
If you or your spouse claim the senior exemption credit on
line 9, you may each make a contribution of up to $68 to
the California Seniors Special Fund. Your contribution will
be used to support the work of the area Agency on Aging
Council of California in its role as an advocate for California
seniors. All contributions over those needed for this work
will be used to provide direct services to senior citizens
such as meals, adult day care and transportation. The
actual use of the funds will be determined at the local level
by the Area Agency on Aging, its Advisory Council of
Seniors and the senior community. On line 47, enter the
amount of your contribution. If you contribute, do not enter
more than $68; if you and your spouse contribute, do not
enter more than $136.
Voluntary Contributions
You may make voluntary contributions of $1 or more in
whole-dollar amounts.

Line 48 – Alzheimer’s Disease/Related Disorders Fund
Contributions entered on line 48 will be used to conduct a
program for researching the cause and cure of Alzheimer’s
disease and related disorders and research into the care
and treatment of persons suffering from dementing ill-
nesses.

Line 49 – California Fund for Senior Citizens
Contributions entered on line 49 will be used by the Califor-
nia Fund for Senior Citizens which supports direct services
to seniors and the work of the California Senior Legislature.
The California Senior Legislature is a non-partisan, volun-
teer, grass roots body of seniors 60 years of age or older,
elected by their peers. The California Senior Legislature has
been instrumental in creating and steering senior legislation
through the regular legislature; legislation, such as: Alzhei-
mer Studies and Research; Adult Day Health Care Centers;
nutrition centers; respite care; long term care; the funding
and broadening of In Home Support Services; programs to
abolish abuse of seniors; skilled nursing facility reforms; and
many more. All donations over those needed to carry out
the California Senior Legislature’s work, will be distributed
for direct services to needy seniors.

Line 50 – Rare and Endangered Species Preservation Program
Contributions entered on line 50 will help to protect and
conserve California’s many threatened and endangered
species and the wild lands that they need to survive, for the
enjoyment and benefit of you and future generations of
Californians.

Line 51 – State Children’s Trust Fund for the Prevention of Child
Abuse
Contributions entered on line 51 will be used to fund
programs for the prevention, intervention and treatment of
child abuse and neglect.

Line 52 – California Breast Cancer Research Fund
Contributions entered on line 52 will be used to conduct
research relating to the prevention, screening, cure and
treatment of breast cancer.

Line 53 – California Firefighters’ Memorial Fund
Contributions entered on line 53 will be used for the con-
struction of a memorial on the grounds of the State Capitol
honoring the hundreds of firefighters who have died protect-
ing our neighborhoods, our homes, our families and our
dreams. These brave men and women answered the call
when fire alarms sounded or when hazardous, cancer-
causing elements needed to be removed, and their
sacrifices and the sacrifices of their families deserve to be
remembered.

Line 54 – California Public School Library Protection Fund
Contributions entered on line 54 will be expended for the
purchase of books and other library resources through
grants awarded for implementing a school library
improvement plan.

Line 55 – D.A.R.E. California (Drug Abuse Resistance Education)
Fund
Contributions entered on line 55 will be used to support
local D.A.R.E. programs and provide proven effective,
in-classroom anti-drug, anti-gang and anti-violence
education for California school children.

Line 56 – California Military Museum Fund
Contributions entered on line 56 will be used to support the
museum’s effort to: 1) collect, exhibit, and preserve Califor-
nia’s military history from 1775 to date; 2) assist in educat-
ing the general public, especially school children, about our
American military heritage and thus instill pride therein; 3)
recognize all branches of the U.S. Armed Forces and the
contributions of ethnicities and their members throughout
our proud military history; and 4) maintain and operate the
facilities required.

Line 57 – Total Contributions
Add line 47 through line 56. Enter the result on line 57. If
you show an amount on Form 540, line 45, you must sub-
tract the amount you contribute from the amount of over-
paid tax. If you show an amount on Form 540, line 46, you
must add your total contributions to your tax due.

Step 11
Refund or
Amount
You Owe

Be sure to add or subtract correctly to figure the amount of
your refund or the amount you owe.

Line 58 – Refund or No Amount Due
If you did not enter an amount on line 57, enter the amount
from line 45 on line 58. This is the amount that will be
refunded to you. If this amount is less than $1, you must
attach a written statement to your Form 540 requesting the
refund.
If you entered an amount on line 57, subtract it from the
amount on line 45. If the result is zero or more, enter it on
line 58. Then skip to the instructions for line 60.
If the result is less than zero, your contributions are more
than your overpaid tax available on line 45. In this case, do
not enter an amount on line 58. Instead, subtract the
amount on line 45 from the amount on line 57. Enter the
result on line 59 and see the instructions for line 59.



Page 34 Personal Income Tax Booklet 1997

F.A.S.T. 1-800-338-0505 Instructions: Form 540
Line 59 – Amount You Owe

If you did not enter an amount on line 57, enter the amount
from line 46 on line 59. This is the amount you owe with
your Form 540.
If you entered an amount on line 57, add that amount to the
amount on line 46. Enter the result on line 59. This is the
amount you owe with your Form 540.
• Make your check or money order payable to the

‘‘Franchise Tax Board’’ for the full amount you owe. Do
not send cash. Write your social security number and
‘‘1997 Form 540’’ on your check or money order.

• Fill in Form 540-V, Return Payment Voucher for
Individuals, located on page 5.

• Attach your check or money order and Form 540-V to
your return. See page 4, Helpful Hints.

A penalty may be imposed for a check returned by your
bank for insufficient funds. To avoid a late filing penalty, file
your Form 540 by the due date even if you cannot pay the
amount you owe.
Do not combine your 1997 tax payment and any 1998 esti-
mated tax payment in the same check. You must send two
separate checks and mail each check in a separate
envelope.
If you cannot pay the full amount shown on line 59 with
your return, you may request to make monthly payments.
See page 44, Installment Payments, for more information.

Step 12
Interest &
Penalties

If you file your return or pay your tax after the due date, you
may owe interest and penalties on the tax due.
Note: Do not reduce the amount on line 43 or increase the
amount on line 46 by any penalty or interest amounts.

Line 60 – Interest and Penalties
Enter on line 60 the amount of interest and late penalties
included in your payment.
Interest
Interest will be charged on any late filing or late payment
penalty from the original due date of the return to the date
paid. In addition, if other penalties are not paid within 15
days, interest will be charged from the date of the billing
notice until the date of payment. Interest compounds daily
and the interest rate is adjusted twice a year.
Late Filing of Return
The maximum total penalty is 25% of the tax not paid if the
return is filed after October 15, 1998. The minimum penalty
for filing a return more than 60 days late is $100 or 100% of
the balance due, whichever is less.
Late Payment of Tax
The penalty is 5% of the tax not paid when due plus 1/2%
for each month, or part of a month, the tax remains unpaid.
Other Penalties
There are also other penalties that can be imposed for a
check returned for insufficient funds, negligence, substantial
understatement of tax and fraud.

Line 61 – Underpayment of Estimated Tax
If line 46 is $100 or more and more than 20% of the sum of
the tax shown on line 34 (excluding the tax on lump-sum
distributions on line 23), or you underpaid your 1997

estimated tax liability for any payment period, you may owe
a penalty. The Franchise Tax Board can figure the penalty
for you when you file your return and send you a bill. Or to
see if you owe a penalty and to figure the amount of the
penalty, get form FTB 5805, Underpayment of Estimated
Tax by Individuals and Fiduciaries (or form FTB 5805F,
Underpayment of Estimated Tax by Farmers and Fisher-
men). If you complete one of these forms, be sure to attach
it to the front of your Form 540 on top of any check, money
order, Form W-2, Form 1099 or special documentation.
Enter the amount of the penalty on line 61 and check the
box at line 61. You must complete and attach the form if
you claim a waiver, use the annualized income installment
method or pay tax according to the schedule for farmers
and fishermen even if you do not owe a penalty.

Line 62 – 1998 Tax Forms
If your Form 540 is prepared by someone else, or if you do
not need forms mailed to you next year, check the box at
line 62.

Sign
Your
Return

You must sign your return in the space provided on Side 2.
If you file a joint return, your spouse must sign it also.
Paid Preparer’s Information
If you pay a person to prepare your California income tax
return, that person must sign and complete the area at the
bottom of Side 2. A paid preparer must give you two copies
of your return: one copy to file with the Franchise Tax
Board and one to keep for your records.

&
204

Attach Your Forms W-2 to Your Return
You must attach Copy 2 of all Form(s) W-2, W-2G, and
1099-R to the front of your return. If you do not receive your
Form W-2 by January 31, 1998, contact your employer.
Only your employer can give or correct a Form W-2.
If you cannot get a copy of your Form(s) W-2, you must
complete form FTB 3525, Substitute for Form W-2, Wage
and Tax Statement, or Form 1099-R, Distributions from
Pensions, Annuities, Retirement or Profit-Sharing Plans,
IRAs, Insurance Contracts, etc. See page 55 for information
about how to order form FTB 3525.
If you forget to send your Form(s) W-2 with your income tax
return, do not send it separately. Wait until the Franchise
Tax Board requests the Form(s) W-2 from you.&
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Attaching Federal Form 1040: Did you attach any federal
forms or schedules other than Schedule A or Schedule B to
your federal Form 1040?
NO Do not attach copy of Form 1040 to Form 540.
YES Attach a copy of Form 1040 and all supporting

federal forms and schedules to Form 540.

&
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Mailing Addresses
If you have a refund, or no amount due, mail your return to:

FRANCHISE TAX BOARD
PO BOX 942840
SACRAMENTO CA 94240-0000

&
611

If you owe money, mail your return to:
FRANCHISE TAX BOARD
PO BOX 942867
SACRAMENTO CA 94267-0001
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1997 CA (540)California Adjustments — Residents

Schedule CA (540) 1997 Page 35

Part I Income Adjustment Schedule A B C
Federal Amounts
(taxable amounts from
your federal return)

Subtractions
See instructions.

Additions
See instructions.

7 Wages, salaries, tips, etc. See instructions before making an entry in column B or C 7

16 Pensions and annuities. See instructions. (a) . . (b)
17 Rental real estate, royalties, partnerships, S corporations, trusts, etc. . . . . . . . . . 17
18 Farm income or (loss) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 18
19 Unemployment compensation. Enter the same amount in column A and column B . 19

23 IRA deduction . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 23
24 Medical savings account deduction . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 24
25 Moving expenses. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 25
26 One-half of self-employment tax . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 26
27 Self-employed health insurance deduction . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 27
28 Keogh and self-employed SEP and SIMPLE plans . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 28
29 Penalty on early withdrawal of savings . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 29
30a Alimony paid. (b) Recipient’s: SSN - -

Last name 30a
31 Add line 23 through line 30a in columns A, B, and C . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 31
32 Total. Subtract line 31 from line 22 in columns A, B, and C. See the instructions

for how to transfer the total to Form 540 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 32

13 Capital gain or (loss) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 13

21 Other income.
a California lottery winnings e NOL from FTB 3805Z, 3806 or 3807
b Disaster loss carryover from FTB 3805V f Other (describe) 21
c Federal NOL (Form 1040, line 21)
d NOL carryover from FTB 3805V

22 Total. Combine line 7 through line 21 in column A. Add line 7 through line 21f in
column B and column C. Go to Section B . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 22

Part II Adjustments To Federal Itemized Deductions

34 Federal itemized deductions. Add the amounts on federal Sch. A (Form 1040), lines 4, 9, 14, 18, 19, 26 and 27 34
35 Enter total of federal Sch. A, line 5 (state and local income tax and State Disability Insurance) and line 8 (foreign taxes only) 35
36 Subtract line 35 from line 34 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 36
37 Other adjustments including California lottery losses. See instructions. Specify . 37
38 Combine line 36 and line 37 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 38

8 Taxable interest income . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 8
9 Dividend income. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 9

10 State tax refund. Enter the same amount in column A and column B . . . . . . . . . 10
11 Alimony received . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 11
12 Business income or (loss) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 12

14 Other gains or (losses) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 14
15 IRA distribution. See instructions. (a) . . . . . . . (b)

20 Social security benefits (a) . . . . . . . . . . . . (b)

Important:  Attach this schedule directly behind Form 540, Side 2.
Name(s) as shown on return

Section A – Income

a
b
c
d
e
f

a
b
c
d
e
f

{
Section B – Adjustments to Income

39 Is the amount on Form 540, line 13 more than the
amount shown below for your filing status?
Single or married filing separate . . . . . . $114,152
Head of household . . . . . . . . . . . . . $171,228
Married filing joint or

qualifying widow(er) . . . . . . . . . . . $228,305
NO. Transfer the amount on line 38 to line 39.
YES. Complete the Itemized Deductions Worksheet

in the instructions for Sch. CA (540), line 39.

39}
Is the amount you entered on line 39 more
than your standard deduction below?
Single or married filing separate . . . . . $2,583
Married filing joint, head of household or

qualifying widow(er) . . . . . . . . . . $5,166
YES. Transfer the amount on line 39 to

Form 540, line 18.
NO. Enter your standard deduction on

Form 540, line 18.

*
C
A
5
4
0
9
7
1
*

Social security number



TAXABLE YEAR CALIFORNIA FORM

1997 3885ADepreciation and Amortization Adjustments

TAXABLE YEAR SCHEDULE

1997 DCalifornia Capital Gain or Loss Adjustment

Name(s) as shown on return Business or activity to which form FTB 3885A relates

Part I Identify the activity as passive or nonpassive. See instructions.
1 ■ This form is being completed for a passive activity. ■ This form is being completed for a nonpassive activity.

(a) Description of property placed
in service during 1997

(a) Description of property (identify S corporation stock)
Example: 100 shares of ‘‘Z’’ (S stock)

1

(b) Sales price (c) Cost or other basis (d) Loss. If (c) is more than
(b), subtract (b) from (c)

(e) Gain. If (b) is more than
(c), subtract (c) from (b)

4 Add the amounts on line 3, column (f) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 4
5 California depreciation for assets placed in service prior to 1997. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 5
6 Total California depreciation from this activity. Add the amounts on line 2, line 4 and line 5 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 6
7 Total federal depreciation from this activity. Enter depreciation from your federal Form 4562, line 21 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 7
8 a If line 6 is more than line 7, enter the difference here and on Schedule CA (540 or 540NR). See instructions . . . . . . . 8a

b If line 6 is less than line 7, enter the difference here and on Schedule CA (540 or 540NR). See instructions. . . . . . . . 8b

2 Net gain or (loss) shown on California Schedule(s) K-1 from partnerships,
S corporations, fiduciaries and limited liability companies . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 2

3 Total 1997 gains from all sources. Add column (e) amounts of line 1 and line 2 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 3
4 1997 loss. Add column (d) amounts of line 1 and line 2 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 4
5 California capital loss carryover from 1996, if any. See instructions . . . . . . . . 5
6 Total 1997 loss. Add line 4 and line 5 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 6
7 Combine line 3 and line 6. If a loss, go to line 8. If a gain, go to line 9 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 7
8 If line 7 is a loss, enter the smaller of: (a) the loss on line 7; or

(b) $3,000 ($1,500 if married filing a separate return). See instructions . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 8
9 Enter the amount from federal Form 1040, line 13 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 9

10 Enter the California gain from line 7 or loss from line 8 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 10
11 California gain or loss adjustment: Compare line 9 and line 10. See instructions.

a If line 9 is more than line 10, enter the difference here and on Sch. CA (540 or 540NR) line 13, col. B 11a
b If line 9 is less than line 10, enter the difference here and on Sch. CA (540 or 540NR), line 13, col. C 11b

Page 36 FTB 3885A/Schedule D 1997

Part II Election to Expense Certain Tangible Property (IRC Section 179).
2 Enter the amount from line 11 of the worksheet in the instructions . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 2

Part III Depreciation. (b) Date placed
in service

(c) California basis
for depreciation

(d) Method (e) Life or
rate

(f) 1997 California
depreciation deduction

3

(a) Description of costs
amortizable during 1997

10 Total California amortization from this activity. Add the amounts on line 9, column (f) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 10
11 California amortization of costs that began before 1997 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 11
12 Total California amortization from this activity. Add the amounts on line 10 and line 11 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 12
13 Total federal amortization from this activity. Enter amortization from your federal Form 4562, line 42 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 13
14 a If line 12 is more than line 13, enter the difference here and on Schedule CA (540 or 540NR). See instructions. . . . . . 14a

b If line 12 is less than line 13, enter the difference here and on Schedule CA (540 or 540NR). See instructions . . . . . . 14b

Part IV Amortization. (b) Date placed
in service

(c) California basis
for amortization

(d) Code
section

(e) Period or
percentage

(f) 1997 California
amortization deduction

9

*
3
8
8
5
A
9
7
1
*

Social security number



TAXABLE YEAR SCHEDULE

1997 CA (540)California Adjustments — Residents

Schedule CA (540) 1997 Page 37

Part I Income Adjustment Schedule A B C
Federal Amounts
(taxable amounts from
your federal return)

Subtractions
See instructions.

Additions
See instructions.

7 Wages, salaries, tips, etc. See instructions before making an entry in column B or C 7

16 Pensions and annuities. See instructions. (a) . . (b)
17 Rental real estate, royalties, partnerships, S corporations, trusts, etc. . . . . . . . . . 17
18 Farm income or (loss) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 18
19 Unemployment compensation. Enter the same amount in column A and column B . 19

23 IRA deduction . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 23
24 Medical savings account deduction . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 24
25 Moving expenses. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 25
26 One-half of self-employment tax . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 26
27 Self-employed health insurance deduction . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 27
28 Keogh and self-employed SEP and SIMPLE plans . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 28
29 Penalty on early withdrawal of savings . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 29
30a Alimony paid. (b) Recipient’s: SSN - -

Last name 30a
31 Add line 23 through line 30a in columns A, B, and C . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 31
32 Total. Subtract line 31 from line 22 in columns A, B, and C. See the instructions

for how to transfer the total to Form 540 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 32

13 Capital gain or (loss) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 13

21 Other income.
a California lottery winnings e NOL from FTB 3805Z, 3806 or 3807
b Disaster loss carryover from FTB 3805V f Other (describe) 21
c Federal NOL (Form 1040, line 21)
d NOL carryover from FTB 3805V

22 Total. Combine line 7 through line 21 in column A. Add line 7 through line 21f in
column B and column C. Go to Section B . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 22

Part II Adjustments To Federal Itemized Deductions

34 Federal itemized deductions. Add the amounts on federal Sch. A (Form 1040), lines 4, 9, 14, 18, 19, 26 and 27 34
35 Enter total of federal Sch. A, line 5 (state and local income tax and State Disability Insurance) and line 8 (foreign taxes only) 35
36 Subtract line 35 from line 34 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 36
37 Other adjustments including California lottery losses. See instructions. Specify . 37
38 Combine line 36 and line 37 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 38

8 Taxable interest income . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 8
9 Dividend income. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 9

10 State tax refund. Enter the same amount in column A and column B . . . . . . . . . 10
11 Alimony received . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 11
12 Business income or (loss) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 12

14 Other gains or (losses) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 14
15 IRA distribution. See instructions. (a) . . . . . . . (b)

20 Social security benefits (a) . . . . . . . . . . . . (b)

Important:  Attach this schedule directly behind Form 540, Side 2.
Name(s) as shown on return

Section A – Income

a
b
c
d
e
f

a
b
c
d
e
f

{
Section B – Adjustments to Income

39 Is the amount on Form 540, line 13 more than the
amount shown below for your filing status?
Single or married filing separate . . . . . . $114,152
Head of household . . . . . . . . . . . . . $171,228
Married filing joint or

qualifying widow(er) . . . . . . . . . . . $228,305
NO. Transfer the amount on line 38 to line 39.
YES. Complete the Itemized Deductions Worksheet

in the instructions for Sch. CA (540), line 39.

39}
Is the amount you entered on line 39 more
than your standard deduction below?
Single or married filing separate . . . . . $2,583
Married filing joint, head of household or

qualifying widow(er) . . . . . . . . . . $5,166
YES. Transfer the amount on line 39 to

Form 540, line 18.
NO. Enter your standard deduction on

Form 540, line 18.

*
C
A
5
4
0
9
7
1
*

Social security number



TAXABLE YEAR CALIFORNIA FORM

1997 3885ADepreciation and Amortization Adjustments

TAXABLE YEAR SCHEDULE

1997 DCalifornia Capital Gain or Loss Adjustment

Name(s) as shown on return Business or activity to which form FTB 3885A relates

Part I Identify the activity as passive or nonpassive. See instructions.
1 ■ This form is being completed for a passive activity. ■ This form is being completed for a nonpassive activity.

(a) Description of property placed
in service during 1997

(a) Description of property (identify S corporation stock)
Example: 100 shares of ‘‘Z’’ (S stock)

1

(b) Sales price (c) Cost or other basis (d) Loss. If (c) is more than
(b), subtract (b) from (c)

(e) Gain. If (b) is more than
(c), subtract (c) from (b)

4 Add the amounts on line 3, column (f) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 4
5 California depreciation for assets placed in service prior to 1997. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 5
6 Total California depreciation from this activity. Add the amounts on line 2, line 4 and line 5 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 6
7 Total federal depreciation from this activity. Enter depreciation from your federal Form 4562, line 21 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 7
8 a If line 6 is more than line 7, enter the difference here and on Schedule CA (540 or 540NR). See instructions . . . . . . . 8a

b If line 6 is less than line 7, enter the difference here and on Schedule CA (540 or 540NR). See instructions. . . . . . . . 8b

2 Net gain or (loss) shown on California Schedule(s) K-1 from partnerships,
S corporations, fiduciaries and limited liability companies . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 2

3 Total 1997 gains from all sources. Add column (e) amounts of line 1 and line 2 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 3
4 1997 loss. Add column (d) amounts of line 1 and line 2 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 4
5 California capital loss carryover from 1996, if any. See instructions . . . . . . . . 5
6 Total 1997 loss. Add line 4 and line 5 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 6
7 Combine line 3 and line 6. If a loss, go to line 8. If a gain, go to line 9 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 7
8 If line 7 is a loss, enter the smaller of: (a) the loss on line 7; or

(b) $3,000 ($1,500 if married filing a separate return). See instructions . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 8
9 Enter the amount from federal Form 1040, line 13 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 9

10 Enter the California gain from line 7 or loss from line 8 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 10
11 California gain or loss adjustment: Compare line 9 and line 10. See instructions.

a If line 9 is more than line 10, enter the difference here and on Sch. CA (540 or 540NR) line 13, col. B 11a
b If line 9 is less than line 10, enter the difference here and on Sch. CA (540 or 540NR), line 13, col. C 11b
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Part II Election to Expense Certain Tangible Property (IRC Section 179).
2 Enter the amount from line 11 of the worksheet in the instructions . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 2

Part III Depreciation. (b) Date placed
in service

(c) California basis
for depreciation

(d) Method (e) Life or
rate

(f) 1997 California
depreciation deduction

3

(a) Description of costs
amortizable during 1997

10 Total California amortization from this activity. Add the amounts on line 9, column (f) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 10
11 California amortization of costs that began before 1997 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 11
12 Total California amortization from this activity. Add the amounts on line 10 and line 11 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 12
13 Total federal amortization from this activity. Enter amortization from your federal Form 4562, line 42 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 13
14 a If line 12 is more than line 13, enter the difference here and on Schedule CA (540 or 540NR). See instructions. . . . . . 14a

b If line 12 is less than line 13, enter the difference here and on Schedule CA (540 or 540NR). See instructions . . . . . . 14b

Part IV Amortization. (b) Date placed
in service

(c) California basis
for amortization

(d) Code
section

(e) Period or
percentage

(f) 1997 California
amortization deduction

9

*
3
8
8
5
A
9
7
1
*

Social security number
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Instructions for Schedule CA (540)
These instructions are based on the Internal Revenue Code (IRC) as of January 1, 1997 and the California Revenue and Taxation Code (R&TC).

General Information
Differences Between California and Federal Law
Due to California legislation enacted in 1997, Califor-
nia tax law conforms to the Internal Revenue Code
(IRC) as of January 1, 1997, and to selected provi-
sions of the federal Taxpayer Relief Act of 1997
(Public Law 105-34). For example, California law and
federal law are the same regarding:
• Exclusion of gain on the sale of personal

residence;
• New federal Individual Retirement Account (IRA)

provisions; and
• Self-employed health insurance deduction.
Specific differences include:
IRC Section 179 expense deduction. The Califor-
nia maximum deduction is $13,000; the federal maxi-
mum deduction is $18,000. In many cases, this
difference also affects the California basis and
depreciation deduction for qualifying assets.
IRC Section 197 property. Property qualifying as
Section 197 property for federal purposes is also
Section 197 property for California purposes. How-
ever, for qualifying property acquired before January
1, 1994, the California adjusted basis as of January
1, 1994, must be amortized over the remaining
federal amortization period.
Material participation in rental real estate activi-
ties. Beginning in 1994, and for federal purposes
only, rental real estate activities conducted by per-
sons in a real property business are not automati-
cally treated as passive activities. California did not
conform to this provision. See form FTB 3801, Pas-
sive Activity Loss Limitations, for more information.
Exclusion for compensation from exercising a
California Qualified Stock Option (CQSO). The
exclusion is available beginning January 1, 1997, for
qualified stock issued on or after January 1, 1997.
See instructions for line 7 for more information.

Purpose
Use this schedule to make adjustments to your
federal adjusted gross income and to your itemized
deductions using California law.

Specific Line Instructions for
Part I Income Adjustment
Schedule
Column A — Federal Amounts
Line 7 through Line 21 –
Enter on line 7 through line 21 the same amounts
you entered on your federal Form 1040, line 7
through line 21 (or on your federal Form 1040A,
line 7 through line 13b; or on your federal
Form 1040EZ line 1, line 2 and line 3). Also enter
the following if applicable:
• The total IRA distribution received on line 15(a);
• The total pension or annuity distribution received

on line 16(a);
• The total social security retirement benefit

received on line 20(a); and
• The social security number and last name of the

person to whom you paid alimony on line 30b.
Line 22 – Total
Combine the amounts on line 7 through line 21.
Line 23 through Line 30a –
Enter the same amounts you entered on your federal
Form 1040, line 23 through line 30a (or your
Form 1040A, line 15).
Line 31 – Add line 23 through line 30a. However, if
you made any of the adjustments described in the
instructions for federal Form 1040, line 31 or if you
claimed the foreign housing deduction from federal

Form 2555, enter the amount from Form 1040,
line 31 on this line.
Line 32 – Total
Subtract line 31 from line 22.

Column B and Column C — Subtractions and
Additions
Use these columns to enter subtractions and addi-
tions to federal amounts in column A that are neces-
sary because of the differences between California
and federal law. Enter all amounts as positive
numbers unless instructed otherwise.
You may need one of the following FTB publications
to complete column B and column C:
• 1001, Supplemental Guidelines to California

Adjustments;
• 1005, Pension and Annuity Guidelines; or
• 1032, Tax Information for Military Personnel.
To order a publication or form, see the back cover of
your tax booklet.
Line 7 – Wages, Salaries, Tips, etc.
Generally, you will not make any adjustments on this
line. If you did not receive any of the kinds of income
listed below, make no entry on this line in either
column B or column C.
Active duty military pay. Special rules apply to
active duty military taxpayers. Get FTB Pub. 1032
for more information.
Ride-sharing benefits or sick pay received under
the Federal Insurance Contributions Act and Rail-
road Retirement Act. California excludes these
items from income. Enter in column B the amount of
these benefits included in the amount in column A.
Income exempted by U.S. tax treaties (unless
specifically exempt for state purposes also). If
you excluded this income from your federal return,
enter the excluded amount in column C. If you
claimed foreign earned income or housing cost
exclusion under IRC Section 911, see the instruc-
tions for line 21. Get FTB Pub. 1001 for more
information.
Exclusion for compensation from exercising a
California Qualified Stock Option (CQSO). To be
eligible for this exclusion: your earned income must
be $40,000 or less; the market value of the options
granted to you must be $100,000 or less; and the
total number of shares must be 1,000 or less. If you
included in federal income an amount qualifying for
this exclusion, enter that amount in column B.
Line 8 – Taxable Interest Income
If you did not receive any of the kinds of income
listed below, make no entry on this line in either
column B or column C. Otherwise, follow the
instructions below.
Enter in column B the interest you received from:
• United States saving bonds;
• United States treasury bills; or
• Any other bonds or obligations of the United

States and its territories;
Get FTB Pub. 1001 if you received interest income
from sources listed below.
A. Loans made in an enterprise zone (EZ), program

area or the Los Angeles Revitalization Zone
(LARZ); or

B. Items listed above passed through to you from
S corporations, trusts, partnerships and limited
liability companies (LLC’s).

Do not make entries in either column B or column C
for interest you earned on Federal National Mort-
gage Association (Fannie Mae) Bonds, Government
National Mortgage Association (Ginnie Mae) Bonds,
and Federal Home Loan Mortgage Corporations
(FHLMC) securities.
Enter in column C the interest you identified as tax-
exempt interest on your federal Form 1040 (or
Form 1040A), line 8b and which you received from:
• Non-California state bonds;

• Non-California municipal bonds issued by a
county, city, town or other local government unit;

• Obligations of the District of Columbia issued
after December 27, 1973; and

• Non-California bonds if the interest was passed
through to you from S corporations, trusts, part-
nerships or limited liability companies.

Line 9 – Dividend Income
Generally, you will not make an adjustment on this
line. However, certain mutual funds are qualified to
pay ‘‘exempt-interest dividends’’ if at least 50% of
their assets consist of tax-exempt government obli-
gations. The portion of the dividend income that is
tax-exempt will be shown on your annual statement
from the mutual fund. If the California exempt-
interest dividend amount is more than the federal
exempt-interest dividend amount, enter the differ-
ence in column B.
Get FTB Pub. 1001 if you received dividend income
from:
• Noncash patronage dividends from farmers’

cooperatives or mutual associations;
• A federal S corporation that is a California

C corporation;
• A controlled foreign corporation;
• Distributions of pre-1987 earnings from

S corporations;
• Undistributed capital gains for regulated invest-

ment company (RIC) shareholders; or
• Distributed capital gain dividends.
Line 10 – State Tax Refund
California does not tax the state income tax refund
you received in 1997. Enter in column B the amount
of state tax refund you entered in column A.
Line 11 – Alimony Received
If you are a nonresident alien and received alimony
that was not included in your federal income, enter
the alimony on this line in column C. Otherwise,
make no entry on this line.
Line 12 – Business Income or (Loss)
Adjustments to federal business income or loss you
reported in column A generally are necessary
because of the difference between California and
federal law relating to depreciation methods, special
credits and accelerated write offs. As a result, the
recovery period or the basis you should use to figure
California depreciation may be different from the
amount used for federal purposes, and you may
need to make an adjustment to your business
income or loss. Adjustments are figured on form
FTB 3885A and are most commonly necessary
because:
Before January 1, 1987, California did not allow
depreciation under the federal accelerated cost
recovery system, and you must continue to figure
California depreciation for those assets in the same
manner as prior years.
On or after January 1, 1987, California provides
special credits and accelerated write offs that affect
the California basis of qualifying assets. Refer to the
bulleted list below. Also, California does not conform
to certain federal provisions. See the items listed
under ‘‘General Information.’’
Note: If any of your business activities is a passive
activity that produces a loss, complete form
FTB 3801, Passive Activity Loss Limitations (PALS),
to figure the passive activity loss allowable under
California law.
If you are engaged in more than one business activ-
ity, use a separate form FTB 3885A to report the
adjustments for each activity.
Get FTB Pub. 1001 for more information about:
Income related to:
• Business, trade or profession carried on within

California that is an integral part of a unitary
business carried on both within and outside
California;
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• Pro rata share of income received from a con-
trolled foreign corporation by a U.S. shareholder;
or

• Retail lessee construction or improvement allow-
ances received under leases entered into after
8/5/97.

Basis adjustments related to:
• Property acquired prior to becoming a California

resident;
• Sales or use tax credit for property used in an

EZ, program area, LARZ, or Local Agency
Military Base Recovery Area (LAMBRA);

• Reduced recovery periods for fruit-bearing grape-
vines replaced in a California vineyard on or
after 1/1/92 as a result of phylloxera infestation;

• Reduced recovery periods for fruit-bearing grape-
vines replaced in a California vineyard on or
after 1/1/97 as a result of Pierce’s disease;

• Expenditures for tertiary injectants;
• Certain property placed in service on an Indian

reservation after 1/1/94 and before 12/31/2003;
• Amortization of pollution control facilities;
• Discharge of real property business

indebtedness;
• Employer-paid child care center and services;
• Employer-paid child care plan;
• Vehicles used in an employer-sponsored

ridesharing program;
• An enhanced oil recovery system;
• The cost of making a business accessible to

disabled individuals; or
• Property for which you received an energy con-

servation subsidy from a public utility on or after
1/1/95 and before 1/1/97;

• Research and experimental expenitures.
Business expense deductions related to:
• Wages paid in an EZ, program area, LARZ or

LAMBRA;
• Certain employer costs for employees who are

also enrolled members of Indian tribes;
• Abandonment or tax recoupment fees for open-

space easements and timberland preserves;
• Club dues or payments made to a club that

restricts membership or the use of its services or
facilities on the basis of age, sex, race, religion,
color, ancestry or national origin;

• Lobbying expenses denied under IRC
Section 162;

• Business located in an EZ, a program area,
LARZ or LAMBRA;

• Research expense;
• Employer wage expense for Work Opportunity

Credit;
• Pro-rata share of deductions received from a

controlled foreign corporation by a U.S. share-
holder;

• Qualified clinical testing expenses incurred after
5/31/97 for Orphan Drug Credit;

• Qualified environmental cleanup costs paid or
incurred after 8/5/97;

• Inventory shrinkage for tax years ending after
8/5/97;

• Interest paid on indebtedness in connection with
company-owned life insurance policies; or

• Premiums paid on life insurance policies, annui-
ties or endowment contracts issued after 6/8/97
where the owner of the business is directly or
indirectly a policy beneficiary.

Line 13 – Capital Gain or (Loss)
Generally, you will not make any adjustments on this
line if you do not have any of the items listed below.
Use Schedule D, California Gain or Loss Adjust-
ment, if you have differences from:
• Basis amounts resulting from differences

between California and federal law in prior years;
• Gain or loss on stock and bond transactions;
• Installment sale gain reported on form

FTB 3805E, Installment Sale Income;
• Gain on the sale of personal residence where

depreciation was allowable;
• Flow-through gain or loss from partnerships,

fiduciaries, S corporations or LLC’s; or
• Capital loss carryover from your 1996 California

Schedule D.

Get FTB Pub. 1001 for more information about:
• Disposition of S corporation stock acquired

before 1987;
• Gain on sale or disposition of qualified assisted

housing development to low-income residents or
to specified entities maintaining housing for low-
income residents;

• Undistributed capital gain for regulated invest-
ment company (RIC) shareholders;

• Gain or loss on the sale of property inherited
before 1/1/87;

• Capital loss carrybacks;
• Gain realized on the sale or exchange of quali-

fied small business stock occurring after 8/5/97;
• Gain or loss from the cancellation, lapse, expira-

tion or other termination of a right or obligation
with respect to real property and nonactively
traded personal property occurring after 9/5/97;
or

• Gain on the sale of livestock sold due to flood or
other weather-related conditions, after 12/31/96.

Line 14 – Other Gains or (Losses)
Generally, you will not make any adjustments on this
line. However, the California basis of your other
assets may be different than the federal basis due to
differences between California and federal law.
Therefore, you may have to adjust the amount of
other gains or losses. Get Schedule D-1, Sales of
Business Property, to figure the adjustment.
Line 15 – IRA Distribution
Generally, you will not make any adjustments on this
line. However, there may be significant differences in
the taxable amount, depending on when you made
your contributions to the IRA. Differences may also
occur if you changed your residency status after you
first began making contributions to your IRA or if
your California IRA deductions were different from
your federal deductions because of differences
between California and federal self-employment
income.
If the taxable amount using California law is:
• Less than the amount taxable under federal law,

enter the difference in column B; or
• More than the amount taxable under federal law,

enter the difference in column C.
Get FTB Pub. 1005 for more information.
Line 16 – Pensions and Annuities
Generally, you will not make any adjustments on this
line. However, if you received tier 2 railroad retire-
ment benefits or partially taxable distributions from a
pension plan, you may need to make the adjust-
ments described below.
If you received a federal Form RRB 1099-R for rail-
road retirement benefits and included all or part of
these benefits in taxable income in column A, enter
the taxable benefit amount in column B.
If you began receiving a retirement annuity between
the dates 7/1/86 and 1/1/87 and elected to use the
three-year rule for California purposes and the annu-
ity rules for federal purposes, enter in column C the
amount of the annuity payments you excluded for
federal purposes.
If you received an annuity for survivor benefits as a
spouse, former spouse or child of a public safety
officer killed in the line of duty, on or after 1/1/97,
you must generally enter in column C the amount of
the annuity payments that you excluded for federal
purposes.
Line 17 – Rental Real Estate, Royalties,
Partnerships, S Corporations, and Trusts, etc.
Adjustments to federal income or loss you reported
in column A generally are necessary because of the
difference between California and federal law relat-
ing to depreciation methods, special credits and
accelerated write offs. As a result, the recovery
period or the basis you should use to figure Califor-
nia depreciation may be different from the recovery
period or amount used for federal purposes, and you
may need to make an adjustment to your income or
loss. For more information about the types of income
and deductions that often require adjustments, see
the instructions for Schedule CA (540), line 12.

Note: If any of your activities is a passive activity
that produces a loss, complete form FTB 3801 to
figure the passive activity loss allowable under
California law.
Note: LLCs that are classified as partnerships for
California purposes and limited liability partnerships
(LLPs) are subject to the same rules as other part-
nerships. LLCs report distributive items to members
on Schedule K-1 (568), Member’s Share of Income,
Deductions, Credits, etc. LLPs report to partners on
Schedule K-1 (565), Partner’s Share of Income,
Deductions, Credits, etc.
Get FTB Pub. 1001 for more information about:
• Accumulation distribution to beneficiaries for

which the trust was not required to pay California
tax because the beneficiary’s interest was
contingent.

Line 18 – Farm Income or (Loss)
Adjustments to federal income or loss you report in
column A generally are necessary because of the
difference between California and federal law relat-
ing to depreciation methods, special credits and
accelerated write offs. As a result, the recovery
period or the basis you should use to figure Califor-
nia depreciation may be different from the amount
used for federal purposes, and you may need to
make an adjustment to your farm income or loss.
Note: If your farm activity is a passive activity that
produces a loss, complete form FTB 3801 to figure
the passive activity loss allowable under California
law.
Line 19 – Unemployment Compensation
Enter on line 19, column B the amount of unemploy-
ment compensation shown in column A.
Line 20 – Social Security Benefits
Enter in column B the amount of social security ben-
efits or equivalent tier 1 railroad retirement benefits
shown in column A.
Line 21 – Other Income
a. California Lottery Winnings. Enter in column B
the amount of California lottery winnings included in
the federal amount on line 21 in column A. Note: Do
not include lottery winnings from other states. They
are taxable to California.
b. Disaster Loss Carryover from FTB 3805V. If
you have a California disaster loss carryover from
your 1996 form FTB 3805V, Net Operating Loss
(NOL) Computation and NOL and Disaster Loss Lim-
itations, enter that amount as a positive number in
column B.
c. Federal NOL deduction from Form 1040,
line 21. If the amount on line 21 in column A
includes a federal NOL, enter the amount of the
federal NOL deduction as a positive number in col-
umn C. Get form FTB 3805V to figure the allowable
California NOL deduction.
d. NOL Carryover from FTB 3805V. The allowable
NOL carryover under California law is different from
the allowable NOL carryover under federal law. Use
form FTB 3805V to figure the allowable California
NOL deduction, and enter it as a positive number in
column B.
Note: If your 1996 form FTB 3805V has both disas-
ter loss carryovers and NOL carryovers, you will
need to separately state these two amounts. See
line 21b for disaster loss carryovers.
e. NOL deduction from FTB 3805Z, FTB 3806 or
FTB 3807. If you have an NOL deduction on form:
• FTB 3805Z, Enterprise Zone Deduction and

Credit Summary, line 4b;
• FTB 3806, Los Angeles Revitalization Zone

Deduction and Credit Summary, line 4b; or
• FTB 3807, Local Agency Military Base Recovery

Area Deduction and Credit Summary, line 4b,
enter in column B the total NOL deduction figured on
these forms.
f. Other (describe)
Reward from a crime hotline. Enter in column B
the amount of a reward that was authorized by a
government agency, that you received from a crime
hotline established by a government agency or non-
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profit organization and that is included in the amount
on line 21 in column A. Note: You may not make
this adjustment if you are an employee of the hotline
or someone who sponsors rewards for the hotline.
Payments for alternative transportation. Enter in
column B the amount that you received from your
employer, other than wages or salaries, for partici-
pating in an alternative transportation method and
that is included in the amount on line 21 in column
A. For more information, get FTB Pub. 1001.
Federal foreign earned income or housing
exclusion. Enter in column C the amount deducted
from federal income on Form 1040, line 21.
Beverage container recycling income. Enter in
column B the amount of this type of income that you
included in the amount on line 21 in column A.
Rebates from water agencies or suppliers. Enter
in column B the amount of this type of income that
you included in the amount on line 21 in column A.
Original issue discount (OID) for debt instru-
ments issued in 1985 and 1986. In the year of sale
or other disposition, you must recognize the differ-
ence between the amount reported on your federal
return and the amount reported for California pur-
poses. Issuers: Enter the difference between the
federal deductible amount and the California deduct-
ible amount on line 21f in column B. Holders: Enter
the difference between the amount included in
federal gross income and the amount included for
California purposes on line 21f in column C.
Foreign income of nonresident aliens. Adjust fed-
eral income to reflect worldwide income computed
under California law. Enter losses from foreign
sources in column B. Enter foreign source income in
column C.
Cost-share payments received by forest land-
owners. Enter in column B the cost-share payments
received from the Department of Forestry and Fire
Protection under the California Forest Improvement
Act of 1978 or from the United States Department of
Agriculture, Forest Service, under the Forest Stew-
ardship Program and the Stewardship Incentives
Program, pursuant to the Cooperative Forestry
Assistance Act.
Student loan cancellations. Enter in column C the
forgiven amount of any student loan that was
discharged after 8/5/97, and sponsored by a tax-
exempt charitable organization, such as educational
organizations or private foundations. Note: Do not
enter the forgiven amount of a California State Uni-
versity student loan discharged on or after 1/1/97.
Room and board benefits received under the
Golden State Scholarshare Trust Act. Enter in
column C the amount of benefits received from the
Golden State Scholarshare Trust that represent qual-
ified higher education expenses for room and board.
Benefits for qualified higher education expenses
under a state tuition program. Enter in column C
any benefits you received as a participant under a
state tuition program other than the Golden State
Scholarshare Trust.
Line 22 – Total
Add line 7 through line 21f in column B and
column C. Enter the totals on line 22.
Line 30a – Alimony Paid
Enter the social security number and last name of
the person to whom you paid alimony. Note: If you
are a nonresident alien and did not deduct alimony
on your federal return, enter the amount you paid in
column C.
Line 31 – Add line 23 through line 30a in column B
and column C.
If you claimed the foreign housing deduction, include
that amount in the total you enter in column B,
line 31. Enter the amount and ‘‘Form 2555’’ on the
dotted line next to line 31.
If you claimed a deduction on your federal return
(Form 1040, line 31) for expenses you paid or
incurred with respect to services you performed as a
fee basis official employeed by a state or local gov-
ernment, include that amount in the total you enter in

column B, line 31. Enter the amount and ‘‘FBO’’ on
the dotted line next to line 31.
Line 32 – Total
Subtract line 31 from line 22 in column B and
column C.
Transfer the amount from line 32:
• Column B to Form 540, Side 1, line 14; and
• Column C to Form 540, Side 1, line 16.
If you plan to itemize deductions, go to Part II.
Caution: If Schedule CA (540), line 32:
Column B is a negative number, do not transfer it to
Form 540, line 14. Instead, transfer the amount as a
positive number to Form 540, line 16; or
Column C is a negative number, do not transfer it to
Form 540, line 16. Instead, transfer the amount as a
positive number to Form 540, line 14.

Specific Line Instructions for
Part II Adjustments to
Federal Itemized Deductions
Line 34 – Federal Itemized Deductions
Enter the total amount of itemized deductions from
your federal Schedule A, lines 4, 9, 14, 18, 19, 26
and 27. Important: If you did not itemize deductions
on your federal tax return but will itemize deductions
on your California tax return, first complete federal
Schedule A. Then complete Schedule CA (540),
Part II, line 34 through line 39.
Line 35 – State, Local and Foreign Income Taxes
Enter the state and local income tax from federal
Schedule A, line 5 and only the portion relating to
foreign income taxes from line 8. Include state dis-
ability insurance (SDI), limited partnership tax and
income or franchise tax paid by S corporations.
Line 37 – Other Adjustments
Adoption-related expenses. If you deducted
adoption-related expenses on your federal Schedule
A and are claiming the adoption cost credit for the
same amounts on your Form 540, enter the amount
of the adoption cost credit claimed as a negative
number on line 37.
Mortgage Interest Credit. If you reduced your fed-
eral mortgage interest deduction by the amount of
your mortgage interest credit (from federal Form
8396, Mortgage Interest Credit), increase your Cali-
fornia itemized deductions by the same amount.
Enter the amount of your federal mortgage interest
credit as a positive number on line 37.
Nontaxable Income Expenses. If, on federal
Schedule A, you claim expenses related to produc-
ing income taxed under federal law but not taxed by
California, enter the amount as a negative number
on line 37. You may claim expenses related to pro-
ducing income taxed by California law but not taxed
under federal law by entering the amount as a posi-
tive number on line 37.
Employee Business Expense. If you had assets
placed in service before 1/1/87, and you completed
federal Form 2106, Employee Business Expenses,
also complete Form 2106 using California amounts.
Compare line 10 on both Forms 2106. If the federal
amount is larger, enter the difference as a negative
number on line 37. If the California amount is larger,
enter the difference as a positive number on line 37.
If you used Form 2106-EZ, Unreimbursed Employee
Business Expenses, substitute Form 2106-EZ, line 6
for Form 2106, line 10.
Investment Interest Expense. Your California
deduction for investment interest expense may be
different from your federal deduction. You must use
form FTB 3526, Investment Interest Expense Deduc-
tion, to figure the amount to enter on line 37.
Gambling Losses. California Lottery losses are not
deductible for California. Enter the amount of Califor-
nia Lottery losses shown on federal Schedule A as a
negative number on line 37.
Federal Estate Tax. Federal estate tax paid on
income in respect of a decedent is not deductible for
California. Enter the amount of federal estate tax

shown on federal Schedule A as a negative number
on line 37.
Generation Skipping Transfer Tax. Tax paid on
generation skipping transfers is not deductible under
California law. Enter the amount of expenses shown
on federal Schedule A, as a negative number on
line 37.
Contribution of Appreciated Stock to a Private
Foundation. For contributions made during 1997,
enter the difference between the fair market value of
the stock and the California basis as a negative
number on line 37.
State Legislator’s Travel Expenses. Under Califor-
nia law, deductible travel expenses for state legisla-
tors include only those incurred while away from
their place of residence overnight. Figure the differ-
ence between the amount allowed using federal law
and the amount allowed using California law. Enter
the difference as a negative number on line 37.
Charitable contribution carryover deduction. If
you are deducting a prior year charitable contribution
carryover, and the California carryover is larger than
the federal carryover, increase your California item-
ized deductions by entering the additional amount as
a positive number on line 37.
Line 39 – California Itemized Deductions
Is the amount on Form 540, line 13 more than the
amount shown below for your filing status?
Single or married filing separate . . . . . $114,152
Married filing joint or

qualifying widow(er) . . . . . . . . . $228,305
Head of household . . . . . . . . . . . $171,228
NO. Transfer the amount from line 38 to line 39.

Do not complete the worksheet below.
YES. Complete the Itemized Deductions

Worksheet that follows.
Itemized Deductions Worksheet
1. Amount from Schedule CA (540),

line 38 . . . . . . . . . . . . . 1
2. Using California amounts, add the

amounts on federal Schedule A,
line 4, line 13 and line 19 plus
any gambling losses included
on line 27 . . . . . . . . . . . 2

3. Subtract line 2 from line 1 . . . 3
Note: If -0-, stop. Enter the
amount from line 1 on Sched-
ule CA (540), line 39.

4. Multiply line 3 by 80% (.80) . . 4
5. Amount from Form 540, line 13 5
6. Enter the amount shown above

for your filing status . . . . . . 6
7. Subtract line 6 from line 5 . . . 7

Note: If -0- or less, stop. Enter
the amount from line 1 on Sched-
ule CA (540), line 39.

8. Multiply line 7 by 6% (.06) . . . 8
9. Compare line 4 and line 8. Enter

the smaller amount here . . . . 9
10. Total itemized deductions.

Subtract line 9 from line 1. Enter
here and on Schedule CA (540),
line 39 . . . . . . . . . . . . . 10
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Instructions for Form FTB 3885A
Depreciation And Amortization Adjustments

General Information
Due to California legislation enacted in 1997, California tax law conforms to the
Internal Revenue Code as of January 1, 1997, and to selected provisions of the
federal Taxpayer Relief Act of 1997 (P.L. 105-34). Get FTB Pub. 1001, Supple-
mental Guidelines to California Adjustments, for more information on differences
between California and federal law for the following items:
Expense treatment for small business (IRC Section 179): The maximum
allowed under California law is $13,000; the maximum allowed under federal law
is $18,000. Amortization of certain intangibles (IRC Section 197): Property
classified as Section 197 property under federal law is also Section 197 property
for California purposes. There is no separate California election required or
allowed. However, for Section 197 property acquired before January 1, 1994, the
California adjusted basis as of January 1, 1994, must be amortized over the
remaining federal amortization period. Income forecast method of deprecia-
tion: California has not adopted the federal expanded definition of ‘‘income’’ used
in the depreciation computation or the recent federal provision that limits the use
of this method of depreciation for property placed in service after 8/5/97. Luxury
automobile depreciation limitations for clean fuel and electric vehicles:
California has not adopted the federal modified depreciation limitations for such
vehicles placed in service after 8/5/97. Qualified Indian reservation property:
California has not conformed to the accelerated recovery periods available under
the Alternative Depreciation System (ADS) for such property. Grapevines sub-
ject to Phylloxera or Pierce’s disease: For California purposes replacement
grapevines may be depreciated using a recovery period of 5 years instead of 10
years.

Purpose
Use form FTB 3885A to figure the adjustment for the difference between the
amount of depreciation and amortization allowed as a deduction using California
law and the amount allowed as a deduction using federal law. California law and
federal law have not always allowed the same depreciation methods, special
credits or accelerated write offs. As a result, the recovery periods or the basis on
which the depreciation is figured for California may be different from the amounts
used for federal purposes. You will probably have reportable differences if all or
part of your assets were placed in service:
• Before 1/1/87. California did not allow depreciation under the federal acceler-

ated cost recovery system (ACRS), and you must continue to figure California
depreciation for those assets in the same manner as in prior years.

• On or after 1/1/87. California provides special credits and accelerated write
offs that affect the California basis of qualifying assets. California did not
conform to all changes to federal law enacted in 1993, and this causes the
California basis or recovery periods to be different for some assets.

Differences may also occur for other less common reasons, and the instructions
for Schedule CA (540 or 540NR) list them on the line for the type of income likely
to be affected. For example, the instructions for Schedule CA (540 or 540NR),
line 12, Business Income, list other adjustments you may need to report on form
FTB 3885A if you are a sole proprietor. You may also get FTB Pub. 1001 for
more information about figuring and reporting these adjustments.
If you are reporting differences for assets related to a passive activity, get form
FTB 3801, Passive Activity Loss Limitations for more information about passive
activities.
Do not use form FTB 3885A to report depreciation expense from federal
Form 2106, Employee Business Expenses. See the instructions for Schedule CA
(540 or 540NR), line 37.

Specific Line Instructions
Note: Prepare and file a separate form FTB 3885A for each business or activity
on your return that has a difference between California and federal depreciation
or amortization. Enter the name of the business or activity in the space provided
at the top of the form. If you need more space, attach additional sheets. How-
ever, complete Part II, Election to Expense Certain Tangible Property (IRC Sec-
tion 179) only once.

Part I Identify the Activity as Passive or Nonpassive
Line 1 – Check the box to identify the activity as passive or nonpassive. A pas-
sive activity is any activity involving the conduct of any trade or business in which
you did not materially participate. Get form FTB 3801 for more information.
If the activity is passive, use this form as a worksheet to figure the depreciation
adjustment to carry to form FTB 3801. Caution: Beginning in 1994, and for
federal purposes only, rental real estate activities of persons in real property
business are not automatically treated as passive activities. California did not
conform to this provision.

Part II Election To Expense Certain Tangible Property
You may elect to expense part of the cost of depreciable personal property used
in your trade or business and certain other property described in federal

Pub. 946, How to Depreciate Property. To do so, you must have purchased prop-
erty, as defined in the IRC Section 179(d)(2), and placed it in service during
1997, or have a carryover of unused cost from 1996. If you elect this deduction,
you must reduce your California depreciable basis by the IRC Section 179
expense. The maximum Section 179 expense allowed under California law is
$13,000.
Complete the worksheet below to figure the Section 179 expense for California.
Include all assets qualifying for the deduction because the limit applies to all
qualifying assets as a group rather than to each asset individually. Refer to
federal Form 4562 for information.

1 Maximum dollar limitation for California . . . . . . . . 1 $13,000

2 Enter total cost of Section 179 property placed in
service during the tax year . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 2

3 Threshold cost of Section 179 property before
reduction in limitation . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 3 $200,000

4 Reduction in limitation. Subtract line 3 from line 2.
If zero or less, enter -0- . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 4

5 Dollar limitation for tax year. Subtract line 4 from
line 1. If zero or less enter -0- . . . . . . . . . . . . . 5
(a) Description of property (b) Cost (c) Elected cost

7 Total elected cost of Section 179 property.
Add column (c), line 6 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 7

8 Tentative deduction. Enter the smaller of line 5 or line 7 8

9 Carryover of disallowed deduction from 1996 . . . . . 9
10 Enter the smaller of business income

(not less than -0-) or line 5 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 10
11 Section 179 expense deduction for California.

Add line 8 and line 9, but do not enter more than
line 10. Also enter the result on FTB 3885A, line 2 . . 11

6

12 Carryover of disallowed deduction
to 1998. Add line 8 and line 9.
Subtract line 11 from the result. . . . 12

Part III Depreciation
Line 3 – Complete column (a) through column (f) for each tangible asset or
group of assets placed in service during the tax year. Be sure to use the Califor-
nia basis for assets on which you elected to take the Section 179 deduction. It
will be the difference between line 6, column (b) and line 6, column (c) of the
worksheet in Part II. Be sure to use the California recovery period of 31.5 years if
you are depreciating nonresidential real property placed in service on or after
5/13/93, and before 1/1/97.
Line 8 – If line 6 is more than line 7, enter the difference on line 8a.
Nonpassive Activities: Enter this amount on Schedule CA (540 or 540NR) in
column B on line 12 for federal Schedule C activities; on line 17 for federal
Schedule E activities; or on line 18 for federal Schedule F activities.
Passive Activities: Enter this amount on form FTB 3801, Side 2, California
Worksheet, column (e).
If line 6 is less than line 7, enter the difference on line 8b.
Nonpassive Activities: Enter this amount on Schedule CA (540 or 540NR) in
column C on line 12 for federal Schedule C activities; on line 17 for federal
Schedule E activities; or on line 18 for federal Schedule F activities.
Passive Activities: Enter this amount on form FTB 3801, Side 2, California
Worksheet, column (e).

Part IV Amortization
Line 9 – Complete column (a) through column (f) for intangible assets placed in
service during the tax year. Be sure to use the California basis and the California
recovery period.
Line 14 – If line 12 is more than line 13, enter the difference on line 14a.
Nonpassive Activities: Enter this amount on Schedule CA (540 or 540NR) in
column B on line 12 for federal Schedule C activities; on line 17 for federal
Schedule E activities; or on line 18 for federal Schedule F activities.
Passive Activities: Enter this amount on form FTB 3801, Side 2, California
Worksheet, column (e).
If line 12 is less than line 13, enter the difference on line 14b.
Nonpassive Activities: Enter this amount on Schedule CA (540 or 540NR) in
column C on line 12 for federal Schedule C activities; on line 17 for federal
Schedule E activities; or on line 18 for federal Schedule F activities.
Passive Activities: Enter this amount on form FTB 3801, Side 2, California
Worksheet, column (e).
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Instructions for California Schedule D
California Capital Gain Or Loss Adjustment

General Information
Due to California legislation enacted in 1997, Califor-
nia tax law conforms to the Internal Revenue Code
(IRC) as of January 1, 1997, and to selected provi-
sions of the federal Taxpayer Relief Act of 1997
(Public Law 105-34). For example, California law and
federal law are the same regarding the exclusion of
gain on the sale of a personal residence. However,
California did not conform to the federal provision
that provides that rental real estate activities of per-
sons in real property business are automatically
treated as passive activities beginning in 1994. Get
form FTB 3801, Passive Activity Loss Limitations, for
more information. Also, California does not conform
to the federal reduced capital gains tax rates. Cali-
fornia taxes capital gains at the same tax rate as
other types of income.

Purpose
Use California Schedule D only if there is a differ-
ence between your federal capital gains and losses
and your California capital gains and losses associ-
ated with the following:
• Disposition of property that was expensed or

depreciated at some time during the period you
owned it; California and federal depreciation and
property expensing methods were different before
1987 and after 1/1/93 and caused a difference
between the California and federal basis;

• Gain or loss on stock and bond transactions;
• Installment sale gain reported on form

FTB 3805E, Installment Sale Income;
• Gain on the sale of personal residence where

depreciation was allowable;
• Flow-through gain or loss from partnerships, fidu-

ciaries, S corporations or LLC’s;
• Distributed and undistributed capital gain

dividends;
• Gain from involuntary conversion of capital assets

not held for business profit; and
• Capital loss carryover from your 1996 California

Schedule D.
For more information about the following, get FTB
Pub. 1001, Supplemental Guidelines to California
Adjustments:
• Disposition of property inherited before 1987;
• Disposition of S corporation stock acquired before

1987;
• Gain on the sale or disposition of a qualified

assisted housing development to low-income resi-
dents or to specific entities maintaining housing
for low-income residents; or

• Capital loss carryback.
Installment Sales
If you sold property at a gain (other than publicly
traded stocks or securities) and you will receive a
payment in a tax year after the year of sale, you
must report the sale on the installment method
unless you elect not to do so. Get form FTB 3805E,
Installment Sale Income. Also use that form if you
received a payment in 1997 for an installment sale
made in an earlier year.
Note: You may elect not to use the installment sale
method for California by reporting the entire gain on
Schedule D (or Schedule D-1 for business assets) in
the year of the sale and filing your return on or
before the due date.
At-Risk Rules and Passive Activity Limitations
If you dispose of (1) an asset used in an activity to
which the at-risk rules apply, or (2) any part of your
interest in an activity to which the at-risk rules apply,
and you have amounts in the activity for which you
are not at risk, get and complete federal Form 6198,
At-Risk Limitations, using California amounts to fig-
ure your California deductible loss under the at-risk
rules. Once a loss becomes allowable under the
at-risk rules, it becomes subject to the passive activ-
ity rules. Get form FTB 3801, Passive Activity Loss

Limitations, to see how to report capital gains and
losses from a passive activity.

Specific Line Instructions
Line 1 – List each capital asset transaction.
Column (a) – Description of Property
Describe the asset you sold or exchanged.
Capital Gain Distributions. If you receive federal
Form 2439, Notice to Shareholder of Undistributed
Long-Term Capital Gains, from a mutual fund, do not
include the undistributed capital gain dividends on
Schedule D. However, if you receive federal
Form 1099-DIV, Dividends and Distributions, enter
the name of the distributing corporation or mutual
fund in column (a) and the amount of distributed
capital gain dividends in column (e). Do not com-
plete columns (b), (c) and (d) for these dividends.
Follow the instructions for the remainder of
Schedule D.
Column (b) – Sales Price
Enter in this column either the gross sales price or
the net sales price from the sale. If you received a
Form 1099-B, 1099-S or similar statement showing
the gross sales price, enter that amount in col-
umn (b). However, if box 2 of Form 1099-B indicates
that gross proceeds less commissions and option
premiums were reported to IRS, enter that net
amount in column (b). If you entered the net amount
in column (b), do not include the commissions and
option premiums in column (c).
Column (c) – Cost or Other Basis
In general, the cost or other basis is the cost of the
property plus purchase commissions and improve-
ments minus depreciation, amortization and deple-
tion. Enter the cost or adjusted basis of the asset for
California purposes. Use your records and California
tax returns for years before 1987 to determine the
California amount to enter in column (c).
If you used an amount other than cost as the
original basis, your federal basis may be different
from your California basis. Other reasons for
differences are:
Depreciation Methods and Property Expensing
California law:
• Did not allow the use of ACRS before 1987;
• Did not allow the use of an asset depreciation –

range 20% above or below the standard rate;
• Limits expensing of property under IRC

Section 179 to $13,000;
• Permitted rapid write off of property such as solar

energy systems, pollution control devices and
property used in an EZ, program area, the Los
Angeles Revitalization Zone (LARZ) or Local
Agency Military Base Recovery Area (LAMBRA).

Inherited Property – The California basis of prop-
erty inherited from a decedent is generally fair mar-
ket value (FMV) at the time of death. If you acquired
community property as a surviving spouse, get FTB
Pub. 1039, Basis of Property – Decedent/Surviving
Spouse, for more information.
S Corporation Stock – Prior to 1987, California law
did not recognize S corporations. As a result, your
California basis in S corporation stock may differ
from your federal basis. In general, your California
basis will be cost-adjusted for income, loss and dis-
tributions received after 1986, while your stock was
California S corporation stock. Your federal basis will
be cost-adjusted for income, loss and distributions
received during the time your stock qualified for fed-
eral S corporation treatment.
Special Credits – California law authorizes special
tax credits not allowed under federal law or com-
puted differently under federal law. In many
instances if you claimed special credits related to
capital assets, you must reduce your basis in the
assets by the amount of credit.
Other adjustments may apply differently to the
federal and California basis of your capital assets.

Figure the original basis of your asset using the Cali-
fornia law in effect when the asset was acquired,
and adjust it according to provisions of California law
in effect during the period of your ownership.
Line 5 – 1996 California Capital Loss Carryover
Enter the amount of your 1996 California net capital
loss that was more than the loss limitation.
Line 7 – Net Gain or Loss
If the amount on line 3 is more than the amount on
line 6, subtract line 6 from line 3. Enter the differ-
ence as a gain on line 7.
If the amount on line 6 is more than the amount on
line 3, subtract line 3 from line 6 and enter the differ-
ence as a loss on line 7.
Use the worksheet on this page to figure your capital
loss carryover to 1998.
Line 8 – If line 7 is a net capital loss, enter the
smaller of the loss on line 7 or $3,000 ($1,500 if you
are married filing a separate return).
Line 11a – Enter the difference on line 11a and on
Schedule CA (540 or 540NR), line 13, column B.
EXAMPLES:
Gain on line 9 is more than gain on line 10.

Federal gain on line 9 is . . . . . . . $10,000
California gain on line 10 is . . . . . . $ 6,000
Subtract line 10 from line 9 . . . . . . $ 4,000

Loss on line 9 is less than loss on line 10.
Federal loss on line 9 is . . . . . . . . $1,000
California loss on line 10 is . . . . . . $2,000
Subtract line 9 from line 10 . . . . . . $1,000

Gain on line 9 and loss on line 10.
Federal gain on line 9 is . . . . . . . . $3,000
California loss on line 10 is . . . . . . $3,000
Add line 9 and line 10 . . . . . . . . . $6,000

Line 11b – Enter the difference on line 11b and on
Schedule CA (540 or 540NR), line 13, column C.
EXAMPLES:
Gain on line 9 is less than gain on line 10.

Federal gain on line 9 is . . . . . . . . $ 6,000
California gain on line 10 is . . . . . $11,000
Subtract line 9 from line 10 . . . . . . $ 5,000

Loss on line 9 is more than loss on line 10.
Federal loss on line 9 is . . . . . . . . $2,000
California loss on line 10 is . . . . . . $1,000
Subtract line 10 from line 9 . . . . . . $1,000

Loss on line 9 and gain on line 10.
Federal loss on line 9 is . . . . . . . . $2,000
California gain on line 10 is . . . . . . $5,000
Add line 9 and line 10 . . . . . . . . . $7,000

California Capital Loss Carryover Worksheet
1. Loss from Schedule D, line 10,

stated as a positive number . . 1
2. Amount from Form 540 or

Form 540NR, line 17 . . . . . 2
3. Amount from Form 540 or

Form 540NR, line 18 . . . . . 3
4. Subtract line 3 from line 2. If less

than zero, enter as a negative
amount. . . . . . . . . . . . . 4

5. Combine line 1 and line 4. If
less than zero, enter -0- . . . . 5

6. Loss from Schedule D, line 7 . 6
7. Enter the smaller of line 1 or

line 5. . . . . . . . . . . . . . 7
8. Subtract line 7 from line 6.

This is your capital loss
carryover to 1998 . . . . . . . 8
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Additional Information
Free Tax Help
At more than 1,500 sites throughout California,
trained volunteers provide free help to low-
income, senior, disabled and non-English speak-
ing persons who need to file simple federal and
state income tax returns. Many military bases
also provide this service for members of the U.S.
armed forces. Call the Franchise Tax Board
(FTB) at 1-800-852-5711 to find the location
nearest you.
Deceased Taxpayers
A final return must be filed for a person who died
in 1997 if a return normally would be required.
The administrator or executor, if one is
appointed, or beneficiary must file the return.
Please print ‘‘deceased’’ and the date of death
next to the taxpayer’s name at the top of the
return.
If you are a surviving spouse and no administra-
tor or executor has been appointed, you may file
a joint return if you did not remarry during 1997.
Indicate next to your signature that you are the
surviving spouse.
You may also file a joint return with an adminis-
trator or executor acting on behalf of the
deceased taxpayer.
If you file a return and claim a refund due to a
deceased taxpayer, you are certifying under pen-
alty of perjury either that you are the legal repre-
sentative of the deceased taxpayer’s estate (in
this case, you must attach certified copies of the
letters of administration or letters testamentary)
or that you are entitled to the refund as the
deceased’s surviving relative or sole beneficiary
under the provisions of the California Probate
Code. You must also attach a copy of federal
Form 1310, Statement of Person Claiming
Refund Due a Deceased Taxpayer, or a copy of
the death certificate when you file a return and
claim a refund due.
Installment Payments
If you cannot pay the full amount that you owe
with your return, you may ask to make monthly
installment payments. However, you will be
charged interest and may be charged an under-
payment penalty on the tax not paid by April 15,
1998, even if your request to pay in installments
is granted. To limit the interest and penalty
charges, pay as much of the tax as possible by
April 15, 1998. To ask for an installment agree-
ment, use form FTB 3567, Installment Agreement
Request. To order by phone, see page 55.
Amended Returns
If you discover that you made an error on your
California income tax return after it was filed, use
Form 540X, Amended Individual Income Tax
Return, to correct and make any changes to your
return.
Changes to Federal Returns
If your federal income tax return is examined and
changed by the Internal Revenue Service (IRS)
and you owe additional tax, you must report
these changes to the FTB within six months of
the date of the final federal determination. If the
changes made by IRS result in a refund due for
California, you must claim a refund within two
years of the date of the final federal determina-
tion. You may either use Form 540X to make any
changes to your California income tax return
already filed, or you may send copies of the
federal changes to:

ATTN RAR/VOL, AUDIT SECTION, FRANCHISE
TAX BOARD, PO BOX 1998, RANCHO COR-
DOVA CA 95741-1998.
Regardless of which method you use to notify
the FTB, you must include a copy of the final
federal determination along with all data and
schedules on which the federal adjustment was
based. Get FTB Pub. 1008, Federal Tax Adjust-
ments and Your Notification Responsibilities to
California, for more information.
Note: You do not have to file Form 540X if the
changes do not affect your California tax liability.
Military Personnel
If you are a member of the U.S. armed forces
and need additional information on how to file
your return, get FTB Pub. 1032, Tax Information
for Military Personnel.
Change of Address
If you move during the year, notify the FTB of
your new address by calling 1-800-852-5711.
Vehicle License Fees for Federal Schedule A
On your federal Schedule A, you may deduct the
California motor vehicle license fee listed on your
Vehicle Registration Billing Notice from the
Department of Motor Vehicles. The other fees
listed on your billing notice such as registration
fee, weight fee and county fees are not
deductible.
California Sales And Use Tax
If you purchased goods from an out-of-state
retailer (such as a mail-order firm) and sales tax
would have been charged if you had purchased
the goods in California, you owe use tax on your
purchase if the out-of-state retailer did not collect
the tax.
Your tax liability may be calculated by multiplying
the sales tax rate in your area times the cost of
the goods purchased. You may pay your tax lia-
bility by sending payment to the STATE BOARD
OF EQUALIZATION, PO BOX 942879, SACRA-
MENTO CA 94279-0001, with a brief letter listing
your name, address, a description and cost of
the goods purchased, and the name and address
of the out-of-state retailer.
If you file a Schedule C (Form 1040), Profit or
Loss From Business, with your federal income
tax return and are in the business of selling tan-
gible personal property, you may be required to
obtain a seller’s permit with the State Board of
Equalization.
If you have a question concerning which goods
are taxable, or want information about obtaining
a seller’s permit, please contact the State Board
of Equalization’s toll free number at
1-800-400-7115, to talk to a Customer Service
Representative. Representatives are available
from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Monday - Friday,
excluding state holidays.
Rounding to Whole Dollars
Please round cents to the nearest whole dollar
on your return and schedules. Drop amounts
under 50 cents and increase amounts from 50 to
99 cents to the next whole dollar. For example,
$123.49 becomes $123 and $725.50 becomes
$726.
If you have to add two or more amounts include
cents when adding and round only the total.
Example: You want to add $5,000.55 and
$18,500.73. You would enter $23,501 ($5,000.55
+ $18,500.73 = $23,501.28).

Requesting a Copy of Your Tax Return
The FTB keeps personal income tax returns for
three and one-half years from the original due
date. If you need to get a copy of a return from
those years, you must request it by writing a let-
ter or by completing form FTB 3516, Request for
Copy of Personal Income Tax or Fiduciary
Return. In most cases, there is a $10 fee for
each tax year you request. However, there is no
charge if: you are requesting a return and any
audit reports attached in connection with an audit
or collection activity; you were the victim of a
designated California or federal disaster; or you
request copies from a district office that assisted
you in completing your return. See page 55 for
information on ordering forms.
Collection Fees
The FTB is required to assess collection and
filing enforcement cost recovery fees on delin-
quent accounts.
Privacy Act Notice
The Information Practices Act of 1977 and the
federal Privacy Act require the FTB to tell you
why we ask you for information. The Operations
and Compliance Branches ask for tax return
information to carry out the Personal Income Tax
Law of the State of California. We may request
additional information if we audit your return or
take collection action.
If you meet the income requirements, the Reve-
nue and Taxation Code requires you to file a
return on the form we prescribe (Sections 18501
and 18621). When you file this or other docu-
ments, you must include your social security
number for identification and return processing
(Section 18624).
It is mandatory to furnish all information
requested when you are required to file any doc-
uments prescribed by the FTB. If you do not file
a return, or do not provide the information we
ask for, or provide fraudulent information, the law
states you may be charged penalties and interest
and, in certain cases, you may be subject to
criminal prosecution. We also may disallow
claimed exemptions, exclusions, credits, deduc-
tions or adjustments. This could make the tax
higher or delay or reduce any refund.
We may give the information you furnish us to
the IRS, the proper official of any state imposing
an income tax or a tax measured by income, the
Multistate Tax Commission and California gov-
ernment agencies and officials, as provided by
law. If you owe any monies, we may disclose the
amount due to employers, financial institutions,
county recorders, vacation trust funds, process
agents and other payers.
You have a right to access records containing
your personal information maintained by the FTB.
The officials responsible for maintaining the infor-
mation are: 1) Filing of returns–Chief, Filing Divi-
sion; 2) Auditing of returns–Chief, Audit Division;
and 3) Collection of monies–Chief, Collection
Division. The address is:

FRANCHISE TAX BOARD
PO BOX 942840
SACRAMENTO CA 94240-1040.

Telephone:
Within the United States . . . . 1-800-852-5711
Outside the United States . . . 1-916-845-6500
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General Information
If you cannot file your California tax return by April 15, 1998, you
will be allowed an automatic six-month extension without filing a
written request. To qualify for the automatic extension, you must file
your tax return by October 15, 1998. However, an extension of time
to file your return is not an extension of time to pay your tax. To
avoid late-payment penalties and interest, you must pay 100% of
your tax liability by April 15, 1998.
Complete the tax payment worksheet below to see if you owe
additional tax. If you owe additional tax but cannot file by April 15,
1998, use the payment voucher below to mail in your payment. Your
payment must be postmarked by April 15, 1998. Send in the
voucher only if a payment is due.
Save your completed worksheet along with the copy of your return
for your tax records.

How to Complete the Tax Payment Worksheet
Line 1 – Enter the total tax you expect to owe. This is the amount you

expect to enter on Form 540EZ, line 23; Form 540A, line 23;
Form 540, line 37; or Form 540NR, line 46.

Line 2 – Enter your total payments and credits on the following lines:
2a – California income tax withheld
2b – California estimated tax payments and amount applied

from your 1996 return
2c – Other payments and credits including any tax

payments made with any previous 1997
form FTB 3519 voucher.

Add line 2a through line 2c. Enter the result on line 3.
Line 4 – Tax due. If the amount on line 3 is more than the amount on

line 1, then your payments and credits are more than your tax. You
have no tax due. DO NOT SEND THE PAYMENT VOUCHER. Your
return, when filed by October 15, 1998, will verify that you qualified
for the extension.

If the amount on line 1 is more than the amount on line 3, then
your tax is more than your payments and credits. You have tax due.
Subtract the amount on line 3 from the amount on line 1. Enter the
tax due on line 4 and on the form FTB 3519 voucher below. Fill in
your name, address, and social security number on the voucher and
separate it from this page where it says ‘‘detach here.’’ Make a
check or money order payable to ‘‘Franchise Tax Board.’’ Write your
social security number and ‘‘1997 Form 3519’’ on it. Mail your check
or money order and the voucher to:

FRANCHISE TAX BOARD
PO BOX 942867
SACRAMENTO CA 94267-0051

Penalties and Interest
Remember, an extension of time to file your return is not an
extension of time to pay your tax. If you fail to pay your total tax
liability by April 15, 1998, a late-payment penalty plus interest will be
added to your tax due. If after April 15, 1998, you find that your
estimate of tax due was too low, you should pay the additional tax
as soon as possible to avoid further accumulation of penalties and
interest. Pay your estimated additional tax with another form
FTB 3519 voucher. If you do not file your return by October 15,
1998, you will be assessed a late-filing penalty plus interest from the
original due date of the return.

Taxpayers Residing or Traveling Abroad
If you are living or traveling outside the United States on April 15,
1998, the deadline to file your return and pay the tax is June 15,
1998. Interest will accrue from the original due date (April 15, 1998)
until the date of payment. If you need additional time to file your tax
return, you will be allowed an automatic six-month extension without
filing a written request. To qualify for the extension, you must file
your tax return by December 15, 1998. To avoid any late-payment
penalties, you must pay 100% of your tax liability by June 15, 1998.
When filing your return, be sure to attach a statement to the front
indicating that you were ‘‘abroad on April 15, 1998.’’

TAXABLE YEAR CALIFORNIA FORM

1997 3519for Individuals
Instructions for Automatic Extension

TAX PAYMENT WORKSHEET FOR YOUR RECORDS

2 Payments and credits:
a California income tax withheld. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 2a
b California estimated tax payments and amount applied from your 1996 return . . . . . 2b
c Other payments and credits . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 2c

3 Total tax payments and credits. Add line 2a through line 2c . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 3
4 Tax due. If line 3 is more than line 1, see instructions. If line 1 is more than line 3, subtract line 3 from line 1.

Enter the result here and on the voucher below . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 4

Line 3 –

1 Total tax you expect to owe. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 1

FTB 3519 1997 Page 45

CALIFORNIA FORM

1997
Payment Voucher for
Automatic Extension for Individuals

TAXABLE YEAR

3519

IF NO PAYMENT IS DUE, DO NOT FILE THIS FORM

MAIL TO: FRANCHISE TAX BOARD
PO BOX 942867
SACRAMENTO CA 94267-0051

Amount of payment

Your first name

If joint payment, spouse’s first name

Present home address — number and street including PO Box or rural route

City, town or post office

Your social security number

Apt. no.

Last name

Spouse’s last name if different from yours

Initial

Initial

ZIP CodeState

$
For Privacy Act Notice, see form FTB 1131.

0 0

P
I
T

DETACH HERE

(Calendar year —
Due April 15, 1998)

PAYMENT
VOUCHER 5

•

Spouse’s social security number
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DETACH HERE

CALIFORNIA FORM

1998 Estimated Tax for Individuals
Fiscal year filers, enter year ending: month year 1 9 9 9

TAXABLE YEAR

540-ES

Make your check or money order payable to ‘‘Franchise Tax Board.’’ Write your social security
number and ‘‘Form 540-ES 1998’’ on it. Do not combine this payment with payment of your tax due
for 1997. Mail this voucher and your check or money order to: 540-ES UNIT

FRANCHISE TAX BOARD
PO BOX 942867
SACRAMENTO CA 94267-0031

Payment
Voucher

1
Due April 15, 1998

Amount of payment

Your first name

If joint payment, spouse’s first name

Present home address — number and street including PO Box or rural route

City, town or post office

Your social security number

Spouse’s social security number

Apt. no.

Last name

Last name

Initial

Initial

ZIP CodeState

•$
For Privacy Act Notice, see form FTB 1131. File only if you are making a payment of estimated tax.

0 0*
5
4
0
E
S
9
8
1
*



Personal Income Tax Booklet 1997 Page 47

Estimated Tax Vouchers 1 through 4

Use the Estimated Tax Vouchers 1 through 4 to pay
your estimated tax for 1998. See page 49 for instruc-
tions. The 1998 Estimated Tax Worksheet on page
50 will help you figure your estimated tax payments,
if any, for 1998.

Important: Start with Estimated Tax Payment
Voucher 1 on page 46. Estimated Tax Payment
Vouchers 2 through 4 are on page 48.
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DETACH HERE

DETACH HERE

CALIFORNIA FORM

1998 Estimated Tax for Individuals
Fiscal year filers, enter year ending: month year 1 9 9 9

TAXABLE YEAR

540-ES

Make your check or money order payable to ‘‘Franchise Tax Board.’’ Write your social security
number and ‘‘Form 540-ES 1998’’ on it. Do not combine this payment with payment of your tax due
for 1997. Mail this voucher and your check or money order to: 540-ES UNIT

FRANCHISE TAX BOARD
PO BOX 942867
SACRAMENTO CA 94267-0031

Payment
Voucher

4
Due Jan. 15, 1999

Amount of payment

Your first name

If joint payment, spouse’s first name

Present home address — number and street including PO Box or rural route

City, town or post office

Your social security number

Spouse’s social security number

Apt. no.

Last name

Last name

Initial

Initial

ZIP CodeState

•$
For Privacy Act Notice, see form FTB 1131. File only if you are making a payment of estimated tax.

0 0*
5
4
0
E
S
9
8
1
*

DETACH HERE

CALIFORNIA FORM

1998 Estimated Tax for Individuals
Fiscal year filers, enter year ending: month year 1 9 9 9

TAXABLE YEAR

540-ES

Make your check or money order payable to ‘‘Franchise Tax Board.’’ Write your social security
number and ‘‘Form 540-ES 1998’’ on it. Do not combine this payment with payment of your tax due
for 1997. Mail this voucher and your check or money order to: 540-ES UNIT

FRANCHISE TAX BOARD
PO BOX 942867
SACRAMENTO CA 94267-0031

Payment
Voucher

3
Due Sept. 15, 1998

Amount of payment

Your first name

If joint payment, spouse’s first name

Present home address — number and street including PO Box or rural route

City, town or post office

Your social security number

Spouse’s social security number

Apt. no.

Last name

Last name

Initial

Initial

ZIP CodeState

•$
For Privacy Act Notice, see form FTB 1131. File only if you are making a payment of estimated tax.

0 0*
5
4
0
E
S
9
8
1
*

CALIFORNIA FORM

1998 Estimated Tax for Individuals
Fiscal year filers, enter year ending: month year 1 9 9 9

TAXABLE YEAR

540-ES

Make your check or money order payable to ‘‘Franchise Tax Board.’’ Write your social security
number and ‘‘Form 540-ES 1998’’ on it. Do not combine this payment with payment of your tax due
for 1997. Mail this voucher and your check or money order to: 540-ES UNIT

FRANCHISE TAX BOARD
PO BOX 942867
SACRAMENTO CA 94267-0031

Payment
Voucher

2
Due June 15, 1998

Amount of payment

Your first name

If joint payment, spouse’s first name

Present home address — number and street including PO Box or rural route

City, town or post office

Your social security number

Spouse’s social security number

Apt. no.

Last name

Last name

Initial

Initial

ZIP CodeState

•$
For Privacy Act Notice, see form FTB 1131. File only if you are making a payment of estimated tax.

0 0*
5
4
0
E
S
9
8
1
*
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1998 Instructions for Form 540-ES
Estimated Tax For Individuals

A Purpose
Use this form to make installment payments of estimated tax. Esti-
mated tax is the tax you expect to owe for 1998 after subtracting the
tax you expect to have withheld and any credits you plan to take. Use
these instructions and the Estimated Tax Worksheet to determine if
you owe estimated tax and to figure the required installment amount.
The required installment amount is based on the lesser of 80% of the
current year’s tax or 100% of the prior year’s tax.

B Who Must Make Estimated Tax Payments
Important note: California and federal estimated tax payment require-
ments are not the same.
Generally, you must make 1998 estimated tax payments unless:
• More than 80% of your 1997 tax was paid by withholding; or
• More than 80% of your 1998 California adjusted gross income

(AGI) will be wages subject to withholding; or
• More than 80% of your 1998 tax will be paid by withholding; or
• Your tax for 1997 (after subtracting withholding and credits) was

less than $100; or
• Your tax for 1998 (after subtracting withholding and credits) will be

less than $100.
Generally, you and your spouse may file either joint or separate
payment vouchers. However, you must make separate estimated tax
payments if:
• You are separated under a decree of divorce or separate

maintenance; or
• You and your spouse have different taxable years.
If you make joint estimated tax payments but you and your spouse do
not file a joint return for the taxable year, you and your spouse must
agree on how to divide the estimated tax payments. You and your
spouse may agree to claim the entire estimated tax on either spouse’s
separate return or divide the payments in any manner.

C When To Make Your Estimated Tax Payments
For estimated tax purposes, the year is divided into four payment
periods. Each period has a specific payment due date. If you do not
pay enough tax by the due date of each of the payment periods, you
may be charged a penalty even if you are due a refund when you file
your income tax return. The chart below lists the payment periods and
due dates.

The payment
For the period due date is
January 1 through March 31, 1998 April 15, 1998
April 1 through May 31, 1998 June 15, 1998
June 1 through August 31, 1998 September 15, 1998
Sept. 1 through Dec. 31, 1998 January 15, 1999
Filing An Early Return In Place of the 4th Installment. If you file
your 1998 tax return by February 1, 1999, and pay the entire balance
due, you do not have to make your last estimated tax payment.
Annualization Option. If you do not receive your taxable income
evenly during the year, it may be to your advantage to annualize your
income. This method allows you to match your estimated tax payments
to the actual period when you earned the income. You may use the
annualization schedule included with form FTB 5805, Underpayment of
Estimated Tax by Individuals and Fiduciaries.
Farmers and Fishermen. If at least two-thirds of your gross income
for 1997 or 1998 is from farming or fishing, you may:
• Pay all of your estimated tax by January 15, 1999; or
• File your tax return for 1998 on or before March 1, 1999 and pay

the total tax due. In this case, you need not make estimated tax
payments for 1998. Attach form FTB 5805F, Underpayment of Esti-
mated Tax by Farmers and Fishermen to the front of your return.

Fiscal Year. If you file your return on a fiscal year basis, your due
dates will be the 15th day of the 4th, 6th and 9th months of your fiscal
year and the 1st month of the following fiscal year. If a due date falls
on a Saturday, Sunday or legal holiday, the next regular workday is the
due date.

D How To Use Form 540-ES Payment Voucher
Use the Estimated Tax Worksheet and your 1997 California income tax
return as a guide for figuring your 1998 estimated tax. There is a sepa-
rate payment voucher for each due date. Please be sure you use the
voucher with the correct due date shown on the right side of the
voucher.
Fill in Form 540-ES:
1. Print your name, address and social security number in the space

provided on Form 540-ES. Use black or blue ballpoint pen. The
scanning machines may not be able to read other colors of ink or
pencil. Print all names and words in CAPITAL LETTERS. Print let-
ters and numbers inside boxes. Fill in your name as in the following
example:

Your first name Last nameInitial

J O H N A D O E
If your name or address is too long to fit in the boxes provided do not
shorten your name or address. Instead, ignore the boxes and fit the
information in the space provided. Example:

Your first name Last nameInitial

J A Z I G ZO N A T H AN G E HP Y R S T O N E

2. Enter in the payment box of the voucher only the amount you are
sending in. When making payments of estimated tax, be sure to
take into account any 1997 overpayment that you chose to credit
against your 1998 tax, but do not include the overpayment amount
in the amount of your payment. Therefore, the amount shown on
line 19 of the Estimated Tax Worksheet should be reduced by any
overpaid tax on your 1997 return that you chose to apply toward
your 1998 estimated tax payment.

3. Make your check or money order payable to ‘‘Franchise Tax
Board.’’ Write your social security number and ‘‘Form 540-ES
1998’’ on the check or money order. Mail your Form 540-ES and
your check or money order to:
540-ES UNIT
FRANCHISE TAX BOARD
PO BOX 942867
SACRAMENTO CA 94267-0031

4. Fill in the Record of Estimated Tax Payments (located on the bot-
tom of the Estimated Tax Worksheet) for your files.

5. Fiscal year filers: If you file your return on a fiscal year basis, be
sure to fill in the month as in the following example:

month 0 6

E Failure To Make Estimated Tax Payments
If you are required to make estimated tax payments and do not, or if
you underpay any installment, a penalty will be assessed (with certain
exceptions) on the portion of estimated tax that was underpaid from
the due date of the installment to the date of payment or the due date
of your tax return, whichever is earlier. For more information, refer to
form FTB 5805.
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1998 Estimated Tax Worksheet Keep this worksheet for your records.

Caution: If your adjusted gross income (AGI) is over $114,152, your itemized deductions and your exemption
credits may be limited. See the instructions for Form 540 or Form 540NR for more information.

1 Residents: Enter your estimated 1998 California AGI . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 1
Nonresidents and part-year residents: Enter your estimated 1998 total AGI from all sources.

2 a If you plan to itemize deductions, enter the estimated total of your itemized deductions . . . . . . 2a
b If you do not plan to itemize deductions, enter the standard deduction for your filing status:

$2,583 if you are single or married filing a separate return
$5,166 if you are married filing a joint return, head of household or a qualifying widow(er) . . . 2b

c Enter the amount from line 2a or line 2b, whichever applies . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 2c
3 Subtract line 2c from line 1 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 3

5 Residents: Skip to line 6.
Nonresidents and part-year residents:

a Compute this ratio: Estimated 1998 California AGI (using Form 540NR) =  . . . . . . . . . . . 5a .
Estimated 1998 AGI from all sources (using Form 540NR)

b Multiply the amount on line 4 by the ratio on line 5a. Enter the result on line 5b . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 5b
6 Residents: Enter the exemption credit amount from the 1997 instructions for Form 540, or Form 540A . . . . . . . . . . . . . 6

Nonresidents or part-year residents: Multiply the total exemption credit amount from the 1997 instructions for
Form 540NR by the ratio on line 5a.

7 Residents: Subtract line 6 from line 4 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 7
Nonresidents or part-year residents: Subtract line 6 from line 5b.

8 Tax on accumulation distribution of trusts. See instructions for form FTB 5870A . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 8
9 Add line 7 and line 8 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 9

10 Credits for joint custody head of household, dependent parent and senior head of household (1997 amounts) . . . . . . . . . 10
Nonresidents and part-year residents: Multiply the total 1997 credit amount by the ratio on line 5a.

11 Subtract line 10 from line 9 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 11
12 Other credits such as other state tax credit. See your 1997 instructions for Form 540, Form 540A or

Form 540NR . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 12
13 Subtract line 12 from line 11 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 13
14 Interest on deferred tax from installment obligations under IRC Section 453 or 453A . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 14
15 1998 Estimated Tax. Add line 13 and line 14. Enter the result, but not less than zero . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 15
16 a Enter 80% (662⁄3% for farmers and fishermen) of line 15 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 16a

b Enter 100% of the tax shown on your 1997 Form 540, line 34; Form 540A, line 23
or Form 540NR, line 43 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 16b

c Required Annual Payment. Enter the lesser of line 16a or line 16b. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 16c
Caution: Generally, if you do not prepay at least the amount on line 16c, you may owe a penalty for not paying

enough estimated tax. To avoid a penalty, make sure your estimated tax on line 15 is as accurate as possible.
If you prefer, you may pay 100% of your 1998 estimated tax (line 15).

17 California income tax withheld and estimated to be withheld during 1998 (include withholding on pensions, annuities, etc) . . 17
18 Balance. Subtract line 17 from line 16c. If less than $100 (or less than $50, if married filing separate), you do not have

to make a payment at this time. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 18
19 Installment amount. Divide the amount on line 18 by 4. Enter the result here and on each of your Forms 540-ES. If you

will earn your income at an uneven rate during the year, see, Annualization Option, in the instructions under paragraph C . . 19 .00

Record of Estimated Tax Payments

(a) Date (b) Amount paid
(c) 1997 overpayment

applied
(d) Total amount paid and

credited (add (b) and (c))

1
2
3
4

Total. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . P
Mail your Form 540-ES payment vouchers to: 540-ES UNIT, FRANCHISE TAX BOARD, PO BOX 942867, SACRAMENTO CA 94267-0031.

Payment voucher
number

4 Tax. Figure your tax on the amount on line 3 using the 1997 tax table or tax rate schedule in the instructions
for Form 540, Form 540A or Form 540NR; or form FTB 3800, Tax Computation for Children with Investment Income.
Also include any tax from form FTB 3803, Parents’ Election to Report Child’s Interest and Dividends . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 4

$

$

$

$ $

$



1 50 0 0 0
51 150 1 1 1

151 250 2 2 2
251 350 3 3 3
351 450 4 4 4

451 550 5 5 5
551 650 6 6 6
651 750 7 7 7
751 850 8 8 8
851 950 9 9 9

951 1,050 10 10 10
1,051 1,150 11 11 11
1,151 1,250 12 12 12
1,251 1,350 13 13 13
1,351 1,450 14 14 14

1,451 1,550 15 15 15
1,551 1,650 16 16 16
1,651 1,750 17 17 17
1,751 1,850 18 18 18
1,851 1,950 19 19 19

1,951 2,050 20 20 20
2,051 2,150 21 21 21
2,151 2,250 22 22 22
2,251 2,350 23 23 23
2,351 2,450 24 24 24

2,451 2,550 25 25 25
2,551 2,650 26 26 26
2,651 2,750 27 27 27
2,751 2,850 28 28 28
2,851 2,950 29 29 29

2,951 3,050 30 30 30
3,051 3,150 31 31 31
3,151 3,250 32 32 32
3,251 3,350 33 33 33
3,351 3,450 34 34 34

3,451 3,550 35 35 35
3,551 3,650 36 36 36
3,651 3,750 37 37 37
3,751 3,850 38 38 38
3,851 3,950 39 39 39

3,951 4,050 40 40 40
4,051 4,150 41 41 41
4,151 4,250 42 42 42
4,251 4,350 43 43 43
4,351 4,450 44 44 44

4,451 4,550 45 45 45
4,551 4,650 46 46 46
4,651 4,750 47 47 47
4,751 4,850 48 48 48
4,851 4,950 49 49 49

4,951 5,050 50 50 50
5,051 5,150 52 51 51
5,151 5,250 54 52 52
5,251 5,350 56 53 53
5,351 5,450 58 54 54

5,451 5,550 60 55 55
5,551 5,650 62 56 56
5,651 5,750 64 57 57
5,751 5,850 66 58 58
5,851 5,950 68 59 59

5,951 6,050 70 60 60
6,051 6,150 72 61 61
6,151 6,250 74 62 62
6,251 6,350 76 63 63
6,351 6,450 78 64 64

6,451 6,550 80 65 65
6,551 6,650 82 66 66
6,651 6,750 84 67 67
6,751 6,850 86 68 68
6,851 6,950 88 69 69

6,951 7,050 90 70 70
7,051 7,150 92 71 71
7,151 7,250 94 72 72
7,251 7,350 96 73 73
7,351 7,450 98 74 74

7,451 7,550 100 75 75
7,551 7,650 102 76 76
7,651 7,750 104 77 77
7,751 7,850 106 78 78
7,851 7,950 108 79 79

7,951 8,050 110 80 80
8,051 8,150 112 81 81
8,151 8,250 114 82 82
8,251 8,350 116 83 83
8,351 8,450 118 84 84

8,451 8,550 120 85 85
8,551 8,650 122 86 86
8,651 8,750 124 87 87
8,751 8,850 126 88 88
8,851 8,950 128 89 89

8,951 9,050 130 90 90
9,051 9,150 132 91 91
9,151 9,250 134 92 92
9,251 9,350 136 93 93
9,351 9,450 138 94 94

9,451 9,550 140 95 95
9,551 9,650 142 96 96
9,651 9,750 144 97 97
9,751 9,850 146 98 98
9,851 9,950 148 99 99

9,951 10,050 150 100 100
10,051 10,150 152 102 102
10,151 10,250 154 104 104
10,251 10,350 156 106 106
10,351 10,450 158 108 108

10,451 10,550 160 110 110
10,551 10,650 162 112 112
10,651 10,750 164 114 114
10,751 10,850 166 116 116
10,851 10,950 168 118 118

10,951 11,050 170 120 120
11,051 11,150 172 122 122
11,151 11,250 174 124 124
11,251 11,350 176 126 126
11,351 11,450 178 128 128

11,451 11,550 180 130 130
11,551 11,650 182 132 132
11,651 11,750 184 134 134
11,751 11,850 186 136 136
11,851 11,950 188 138 138

11,951 12,050 192 140 140
12,051 12,150 196 142 142
12,151 12,250 200 144 144
12,251 12,350 204 146 146
12,351 12,450 208 148 148

12,451 12,550 212 150 150
12,551 12,650 216 152 152
12,651 12,750 220 154 154
12,751 12,850 224 156 156
12,851 12,950 228 158 158

12,951 13,050 232 160 160
13,051 13,150 236 162 162
13,151 13,250 240 164 164
13,251 13,350 244 166 166
13,351 13,450 248 168 168

13,451 13,550 252 170 170
13,551 13,650 256 172 172
13,651 13,750 260 174 174
13,751 13,850 264 176 176
13,851 13,950 268 178 178

13,951 14,050 272 180 180
14,051 14,150 276 182 182
14,151 14,250 280 184 184
14,251 14,350 284 186 186
14,351 14,450 288 188 188

14,451 14,550 292 190 190
14,551 14,650 296 192 192
14,651 14,750 300 194 194
14,751 14,850 304 196 196
14,851 14,950 308 198 198

14,951 15,050 312 200 200
15,051 15,150 316 202 202
15,151 15,250 320 204 204
15,251 15,350 324 206 206
15,351 15,450 328 208 208

15,451 15,550 332 210 210
15,551 15,650 336 212 212
15,651 15,750 340 214 214
15,751 15,850 344 216 216
15,851 15,950 348 218 218

15,951 16,050 352 220 220
16,051 16,150 356 222 222
16,151 16,250 360 224 224
16,251 16,350 364 226 226
16,351 16,450 368 228 228

16,451 16,550 372 230 230
16,551 16,650 376 232 232
16,651 16,750 380 234 234
16,751 16,850 384 236 236
16,851 16,950 388 238 238

16,951 17,050 392 240 240
17,051 17,150 396 242 242
17,151 17,250 400 244 244
17,251 17,350 404 246 246
17,351 17,450 408 248 248

17,451 17,550 412 250 250
17,551 17,650 416 252 252
17,651 17,750 420 254 254
17,751 17,850 424 256 256
17,851 17,950 428 258 258

17,951 18,050 432 260 260
18,051 18,150 436 262 262
18,151 18,250 440 264 264
18,251 18,350 444 266 266
18,351 18,450 448 268 268

18,451 18,550 452 270 270
18,551 18,650 456 272 272
18,651 18,750 460 274 274
18,751 18,850 465 276 276
18,851 18,950 471 278 278

18,951 19,050 477 280 280
19,051 19,150 483 282 282
19,151 19,250 489 284 284
19,251 19,350 495 286 286
19,351 19,450 501 288 288

1997 California Tax Table
Use the Tax Table below if your taxable income on Form 540EZ, line 16; Form 540A, line 16; or Form 540, line 19 is $50,000 or less.
Use the Tax Rate Schedule on page 54 if your taxable income on Form 540A, line 16 or Form 540, line 19 is more than $50,000.
To Find Your Tax:
• Read down the column labeled ‘‘If Your Taxable Income Is . . .’’ to find the range that includes your taxable income.
• Read across the columns labeled ‘‘The Tax For Filing Status’’ until you find the tax that applies for your taxable income and filing status.
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Continued on next page.

If Your Taxable
Income Is . . .

The Tax For
Filing Status

If Your Taxable
Income Is . . .

The Tax For
Filing Status

If Your Taxable
Income Is . . .

At
Least

The Tax For
Filing Status

But Not
Over

At
Least

But Not
Over

At
Least

But Not
Over

1 Or 3
Is

2 Or 5
Is

4
Is

1 Or 3
Is

2 Or 5
Is

4
Is

1 Or 3
Is

2 Or 5
Is

4
Is

Filing status: 1 or 3 (Single; Married filing Separate) 2 or 5 (Married filing Joint; Qualifying Widow(er)) 4 (Head of Household)



19,451 19,550 507 290 290
19,551 19,650 513 292 292
19,651 19,750 519 294 294
19,751 19,850 525 296 296
19,851 19,950 531 298 298

19,951 20,050 537 300 300
20,051 20,150 543 302 302
20,151 20,250 549 304 304
20,251 20,350 555 306 306
20,351 20,450 561 308 308

20,451 20,550 567 310 310
20,551 20,650 573 312 312
20,651 20,750 579 314 314
20,751 20,850 585 316 316
20,851 20,950 591 318 318

20,951 21,050 597 320 320
21,051 21,150 603 322 322
21,151 21,250 609 324 324
21,251 21,350 615 326 326
21,351 21,450 621 328 328

21,451 21,550 627 330 330
21,551 21,650 633 332 332
21,651 21,750 639 334 334
21,751 21,850 645 336 336
21,851 21,950 651 338 338

21,951 22,050 657 340 340
22,051 22,150 663 342 342
22,151 22,250 669 344 344
22,251 22,350 675 346 346
22,351 22,450 681 348 348

22,451 22,550 687 350 350
22,551 22,650 693 352 352
22,651 22,750 699 354 354
22,751 22,850 705 356 356
22,851 22,950 711 358 358

22,951 23,050 717 360 360
23,051 23,150 723 362 362
23,151 23,250 729 364 364
23,251 23,350 735 366 366
23,351 23,450 741 368 368

23,451 23,550 747 370 370
23,551 23,650 753 372 372
23,651 23,750 759 374 374
23,751 23,850 765 376 376
23,851 23,950 771 380 380

23,951 24,050 777 384 384
24,051 24,150 783 388 388
24,151 24,250 789 392 392
24,251 24,350 795 396 396
24,351 24,450 801 400 400

24,451 24,550 807 404 404
24,551 24,650 813 408 408
24,651 24,750 819 412 412
24,751 24,850 825 416 416
24,851 24,950 831 420 420

24,951 25,050 837 424 424
25,051 25,150 843 428 428
25,151 25,250 849 432 432
25,251 25,350 855 436 436
25,351 25,450 861 440 440

25,451 25,550 867 444 444
25,551 25,650 873 448 448
25,651 25,750 879 452 452
25,751 25,850 885 456 456
25,851 25,950 891 460 460

25,951 26,050 897 464 464
26,051 26,150 904 468 468
26,151 26,250 912 472 472
26,251 26,350 920 476 476
26,351 26,450 928 480 480

26,451 26,550 936 484 484
26,551 26,650 944 488 488
26,651 26,750 952 492 492
26,751 26,850 960 496 496
26,851 26,950 968 500 500

26,951 27,050 976 504 504
27,051 27,150 984 508 508
27,151 27,250 992 512 512
27,251 27,350 1,000 516 516
27,351 27,450 1,008 520 520

27,451 27,550 1,016 524 524
27,551 27,650 1,024 528 528
27,651 27,750 1,032 532 532
27,751 27,850 1,040 536 536
27,851 27,950 1,048 540 540

27,951 28,050 1,056 544 544
28,051 28,150 1,064 548 548
28,151 28,250 1,072 552 552
28,251 28,350 1,080 556 556
28,351 28,450 1,088 560 560

28,451 28,550 1,096 564 564
28,551 28,650 1,104 568 568
28,651 28,750 1,112 572 572
28,751 28,850 1,120 576 576
28,851 28,950 1,128 580 580

28,951 29,050 1,136 584 584
29,051 29,150 1,144 588 588
29,151 29,250 1,152 592 592
29,251 29,350 1,160 596 596
29,351 29,450 1,168 600 600

29,451 29,550 1,176 604 604
29,551 29,650 1,184 608 608
29,651 29,750 1,192 612 612
29,751 29,850 1,200 616 616
29,851 29,950 1,208 620 620

29,951 30,050 1,216 624 624
30,051 30,150 1,224 628 628
30,151 30,250 1,232 632 632
30,251 30,350 1,240 636 636
30,351 30,450 1,248 640 640

30,451 30,550 1,256 644 644
30,551 30,650 1,264 648 648
30,651 30,750 1,272 652 653
30,751 30,850 1,280 656 659
30,851 30,950 1,288 660 665

30,951 31,050 1,296 664 671
31,051 31,150 1,304 668 677
31,151 31,250 1,312 672 683
31,251 31,350 1,320 676 689
31,351 31,450 1,328 680 695

31,451 31,550 1,336 684 701
31,551 31,650 1,344 688 707
31,651 31,750 1,352 692 713
31,751 31,850 1,360 696 719
31,851 31,950 1,368 700 725

31,951 32,050 1,376 704 731
32,051 32,150 1,384 708 737
32,151 32,250 1,392 712 743
32,251 32,350 1,400 716 749
32,351 32,450 1,408 720 755

32,451 32,550 1,416 724 761
32,551 32,650 1,424 728 767
32,651 32,750 1,432 732 773
32,751 32,850 1,440 736 779
32,851 32,950 1,448 740 785

32,951 33,050 1,457 744 791
33,051 33,150 1,466 748 797
33,151 33,250 1,476 752 803
33,251 33,350 1,485 756 809
33,351 33,450 1,494 760 815

33,451 33,550 1,504 764 821
33,551 33,650 1,513 768 827
33,651 33,750 1,522 772 833
33,751 33,850 1,531 776 839
33,851 33,950 1,541 780 845

33,951 34,050 1,550 784 851
34,051 34,150 1,559 788 857
34,151 34,250 1,569 792 863
34,251 34,350 1,578 796 869
34,351 34,450 1,587 800 875

34,451 34,550 1,597 804 881
34,551 34,650 1,606 808 887
34,651 34,750 1,615 812 893
34,751 34,850 1,624 816 899
34,851 34,950 1,634 820 905

34,951 35,050 1,643 824 911
35,051 35,150 1,652 828 917
35,151 35,250 1,662 832 923
35,251 35,350 1,671 836 929
35,351 35,450 1,680 840 935

35,451 35,550 1,690 844 941
35,551 35,650 1,699 848 947
35,651 35,750 1,708 852 953
35,751 35,850 1,717 856 959
35,851 35,950 1,727 860 965

35,951 36,050 1,736 864 971
36,051 36,150 1,745 868 977
36,151 36,250 1,755 872 983
36,251 36,350 1,764 876 989
36,351 36,450 1,773 880 995

36,451 36,550 1,783 884 1,001
36,551 36,650 1,792 888 1,007
36,651 36,750 1,801 892 1,013
36,751 36,850 1,810 896 1,019
36,851 36,950 1,820 900 1,025

36,951 37,050 1,829 904 1,031
37,051 37,150 1,838 908 1,037
37,151 37,250 1,848 912 1,043
37,251 37,350 1,857 916 1,049
37,351 37,450 1,866 920 1,055

37,451 37,550 1,876 924 1,061
37,551 37,650 1,885 930 1,067
37,651 37,750 1,894 936 1,073
37,751 37,850 1,903 942 1,079
37,851 37,950 1,913 948 1,085

37,951 38,050 1,922 954 1,093
38,051 38,150 1,931 960 1,101
38,151 38,250 1,941 966 1,109
38,251 38,350 1,950 972 1,117
38,351 38,450 1,959 978 1,125

38,451 38,550 1,969 984 1,133
38,551 38,650 1,978 990 1,141
38,651 38,750 1,987 996 1,149
38,751 38,850 1,996 1,002 1,157
38,851 38,950 2,006 1,008 1,165

38,951 39,050 2,015 1,014 1,173
39,051 39,150 2,024 1,020 1,181
39,151 39,250 2,034 1,026 1,189
39,251 39,350 2,043 1,032 1,197
39,351 39,450 2,052 1,038 1,205

39,451 39,550 2,062 1,044 1,213
39,551 39,650 2,071 1,050 1,221
39,651 39,750 2,080 1,056 1,229
39,751 39,850 2,089 1,062 1,237
39,851 39,950 2,099 1,068 1,245

39,951 40,050 2,108 1,074 1,253
40,051 40,150 2,117 1,080 1,261
40,151 40,250 2,127 1,086 1,269
40,251 40,350 2,136 1,092 1,277
40,351 40,450 2,145 1,098 1,285
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40,451 40,550 2,155 1,104 1,293
40,551 40,650 2,164 1,110 1,301
40,651 40,750 2,173 1,116 1,309
40,751 40,850 2,182 1,122 1,317
40,851 40,950 2,192 1,128 1,325

40,951 41,050 2,201 1,134 1,333
41,051 41,150 2,210 1,140 1,341
41,151 41,250 2,220 1,146 1,349
41,251 41,350 2,229 1,152 1,357
41,351 41,450 2,238 1,158 1,365

41,451 41,550 2,248 1,164 1,373
41,551 41,650 2,257 1,170 1,381
41,651 41,750 2,266 1,176 1,389
41,751 41,850 2,275 1,182 1,397
41,851 41,950 2,285 1,188 1,405

41,951 42,050 2,294 1,194 1,413
42,051 42,150 2,303 1,200 1,421
42,151 42,250 2,313 1,206 1,429
42,251 42,350 2,322 1,212 1,437
42,351 42,450 2,331 1,218 1,445

42,451 42,550 2,341 1,224 1,453
42,551 42,650 2,350 1,230 1,461
42,651 42,750 2,359 1,236 1,469
42,751 42,850 2,368 1,242 1,477
42,851 42,950 2,378 1,248 1,485

42,951 43,050 2,387 1,254 1,493
43,051 43,150 2,396 1,260 1,501
43,151 43,250 2,406 1,266 1,509
43,251 43,350 2,415 1,272 1,517
43,351 43,450 2,424 1,278 1,525

43,451 43,550 2,434 1,284 1,533
43,551 43,650 2,443 1,290 1,541
43,651 43,750 2,452 1,296 1,549
43,751 43,850 2,461 1,302 1,557
43,851 43,950 2,471 1,308 1,565

43,951 44,050 2,480 1,314 1,573
44,051 44,150 2,489 1,320 1,581
44,151 44,250 2,499 1,326 1,589
44,251 44,350 2,508 1,332 1,597
44,351 44,450 2,517 1,338 1,605

44,451 44,550 2,527 1,344 1,613
44,551 44,650 2,536 1,350 1,621
44,651 44,750 2,545 1,356 1,629
44,751 44,850 2,554 1,362 1,637
44,851 44,950 2,564 1,368 1,646

44,951 45,050 2,573 1,374 1,655
45,051 45,150 2,582 1,380 1,664
45,151 45,250 2,592 1,386 1,674
45,251 45,350 2,601 1,392 1,683
45,351 45,450 2,610 1,398 1,692

45,451 45,550 2,620 1,404 1,702
45,551 45,650 2,629 1,410 1,711
45,651 45,750 2,638 1,416 1,720
45,751 45,850 2,647 1,422 1,730
45,851 45,950 2,657 1,428 1,739

45,951 46,050 2,666 1,434 1,748
46,051 46,150 2,675 1,440 1,757
46,151 46,250 2,685 1,446 1,767
46,251 46,350 2,694 1,452 1,776
46,351 46,450 2,703 1,458 1,785

46,451 46,550 2,713 1,464 1,795
46,551 46,650 2,722 1,470 1,804
46,651 46,750 2,731 1,476 1,813
46,751 46,850 2,740 1,482 1,823
46,851 46,950 2,750 1,488 1,832

46,951 47,050 2,759 1,494 1,841
47,051 47,150 2,768 1,500 1,850
47,151 47,250 2,778 1,506 1,860
47,251 47,350 2,787 1,512 1,869
47,351 47,450 2,796 1,518 1,878

47,451 47,550 2,806 1,524 1,888
47,551 47,650 2,815 1,530 1,897
47,651 47,750 2,824 1,536 1,906
47,751 47,850 2,833 1,542 1,916
47,851 47,950 2,843 1,548 1,925

47,951 48,050 2,852 1,554 1,934
48,051 48,150 2,861 1,560 1,943
48,151 48,250 2,871 1,566 1,953
48,251 48,350 2,880 1,572 1,962
48,351 48,450 2,889 1,578 1,971

48,451 48,550 2,899 1,584 1,981
48,551 48,650 2,908 1,590 1,990
48,651 48,750 2,917 1,596 1,999
48,751 48,850 2,926 1,602 2,009
48,851 48,950 2,936 1,608 2,018

48,951 49,050 2,945 1,614 2,027
49,051 49,150 2,954 1,620 2,036
49,151 49,250 2,964 1,626 2,046
49,251 49,350 2,973 1,632 2,055
49,351 49,450 2,982 1,638 2,064

49,451 49,550 2,992 1,644 2,074
49,551 49,650 3,001 1,650 2,083
49,651 49,750 3,010 1,656 2,092
49,751 49,850 3,019 1,662 2,102
49,851 49,950 3,029 1,668 2,111

49,951 50,000 3,036 1,672 2,118
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1997 California Tax Rate Schedules
Caution: Use only if you file Form 540A or Form 540 and your taxable income on Form 540A, line 16 or Form 540, line 19 is more than $50,000.
If $50,000 or less, use the Tax Table. If your federal adjusted gross income is more than $100,000, you must file Form 540.

If the amount on Form 540A,
line 16 or Form 540, line 19 is:
over— But not over—

Enter on Form 540A, line 17
or Form 540, line 20

of the
amount over—

Schedule X –
Use if your filing status is
Single or Married Filing Separate

Schedule Y –
Use if your filing status is
Married Filing Joint or Qualifying
Widow(er) with Dependent Child

Schedule Z –
Use if your filing status is
Head of Household

$ 5,016
11,888
18,761
26,045
32,916

AND OVER

$ 0.00
50.16

187.60
462.52
899.56

1,449.24

+
+
+
+
+
+

1.0%
2.0%
4.0%
6.0%
8.0%
9.3%

$ 0
5,016

11,888
18,761
26,045
32,916

$ 0
5,016

11,888
18,761
26,045
32,916

$ 10,032
23,776
37,522
52,090
65,832

AND OVER

$ 0.00
100.32
375.20
925.04

1,799.12
2,898.48

+
+
+
+
+
+

1.0%
2.0%
4.0%
6.0%
8.0%
9.3%

$ 0
10,032
23,776
37,522
52,090
65,832

$ 10,033
23,776
30,648
37,931
44,803

AND OVER

$ 0.00
100.33
375.19
650.07

1,087.05
1,636.81

+
+
+
+
+
+

1.0%
2.0%
4.0%
6.0%
8.0%
9.3%

$ 0
10,033
23,776
30,648
37,931
44,803

How to Figure Tax Using the 1997 California Tax Rate Schedules

Example: Anthony and Lynn Green are filing a joint return. Their taxable income on Form 540A, line 16 is $59,000.

Step 1: Using Schedule Y, they find the taxable income range that includes their taxable income of $59,000. See the boxed range in the
sample below.

Schedule Y –
Use if your filing status is
Married Filing Joint or Qualifying
Widow(er) with Dependent Child

+
+
+
+
+
+

1.0%
2.0%
4.0%
6.0%
8.0%
9.3%

Step 2: They subtract the amount at the beginning of their range from
their taxable income.

Example

Step 3: They multiply the result from Step 2 by the percentage for
their range.

$6,910.00
x .08

$ 552.80

Step 4: They round the amount from Step 3 to two decimals (if
necessary) and add it to the tax amount for their income
range. After rounding the result, they will enter $2,352 on
Form 540A, line 17. For information on rounding, see page 44.

$1,799.12
+ 552.80

$2,351.92

Your Income

$
x

$

$
+

$

$59,000
- 52,090
$ 6,910

$
-
$

$ 0
10,032
23,776
37,522
52,090
65,832

$ 0
10,033
23,776
30,648
37,931
44,803

$ 0
10,032
23,776
37,522
52,090
65,832

$ 10,032
23,776
37,522
52,090
65,832

AND OVER

$ 0.00
100.32
375.20
925.04

1,799.12
2,898.48

$ 0
10,032
23,776
37,522
52,090
65,832



Letters We can serve you by phone if you call us for informa-
tion to complete your California income tax return or to
find out about your tax refund. However, you may want
to write to us if you are replying to a notice we sent you
or to get a written reply. If you write to us, be sure your
letter includes your social security number, your daytime
and evening telephone numbers and a copy of the
notice. Send your letter to:

FRANCHISE TAX BOARD
PO BOX 942840
SACRAMENTO CA 94240-0040

We will acknowledge receipt of your letter within eight to
ten weeks. In some cases, we may need to call you for
additional information.

Your
Rights
As A
Taxpayer

Our goal at the FTB is to make certain that your rights
are protected so that you will have the highest confi-
dence in the integrity, efficiency and fairness of our
state tax system. FTB Pub. 4058, California Taxpayers’
Bill of Rights, includes information on your rights as a
California taxpayer, the Taxpayers’ Rights Advocate
Program and how you can request written advice from
the FTB on whether a particular transaction is taxable.
You can order FTB Pub. 4058 by calling or writing the
FTB using the address above for letters.

Where
To Get
Income
Tax
Forms

General
Toll-Free
Phone
Service

Our general toll-free phone service is available from
7:00 a.m. until 8:00 p.m. Monday through Friday from
January 2 through April 15, 1998. The best times to
call are between 7:00 a.m. and 10:00 a.m. and between
6:00 p.m. and 8:00 p.m. Service is also available on
Saturday, April 4 and April 11, from 8:00 a.m. until 5:00
p.m. After April 15, service is available Monday through
Friday, from 8:00 a.m. until 5:00 p.m.
From within the United States. . . . . 1-800-852-5711
From outside the United States . . . . 1-916-845-6500

(not toll-free)
For hearing impaired with TDD . . . . 1-800-822-6268
For federal tax questions,
call the IRS at . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 1-800-829-1040
Asistencia Bilingu ¨e en Españ ol
Para obtener servicios en Español y asistencia para
completar su declaración de impuestos/formularios,
llame al número de teléfono (anotado arriba) que le
corresponde.

(Keep This Booklet For Future Use)How To Get California Tax Information
By Internet – If you have Internet access, you may
download, view and print California income tax forms
and publications. Our Internet address is:

http://www.ftb.ca.gov
By phone – Use F.A.S.T. to order 1994, 1995, 1996
and 1997 California tax forms and 1997 federal forms.
To order a form:
• Refer to the list in the next column and find the code

number for the form you want to order.
• Call 1-800-338-0505.
• Select personal income tax form requests.
• Enter the three-digit code for the form when you are

instructed to do so.
Please allow two weeks to receive your order. If you live
outside California, please allow three weeks to receive
your order.
In person – Most libraries, post offices and banks
provide free California tax booklets during the filing
season. Many libraries and some quick print businesses
have forms and schedules for you to photocopy (you
may have to pay a nominal fee). Note that employees at
libraries, post offices, banks and quick print businesses
cannot provide tax information or assistance.
By mail – Write to: TAX FORMS REQUEST UNIT,
FRANCHISE TAX BOARD, PO BOX 307, RANCHO
CORDOVA CA 95741-0307.

900 California Resident Income Tax Booklet contents:
Form 540, Resident Income Tax Return
Form 540A, Resident Income Tax Return
Form 540EZ, Resident Income Tax Return For Single and

Joint Filers With No Dependents
903 Schedule CA 540, California Adjustments

FTB 3885A, Depreciation & Amortization Adjustments
Schedule D, California Capital Gain or Loss Adjustment

907 540-ES, Estimated Tax for Individuals
908 540X, Amended Income Tax Return
909 Schedule D-1, Sales of Business Property
910 Schedule G-1, Tax on Lump-Sum Distribution
911 Schedule P (540), Alternative Minimum Tax and

Credit Limitations – Residents
913 Schedule S, Other State Tax Credit
914 California Nonresident Income Tax Booklet contents:

Form 540NR, Nonresident or Part-Year Resident Income
Tax Return

917 Schedule CA (540NR), California Adjustments —
Nonresidents or Part-Year Residents

918 Schedule P (540NR), Alternative Minimum Tax and Credit
Limitations

936 Form 565, California Partnership Return of Income Booklet
937 FTB 3516, Request for Copy of Personal Income Tax or

Fiduciary Return
921 FTB 3519, Payment Voucher for Automatic Extension for

Individuals
922 FTB 3525, Substitute W-2 Statement
923 FTB 3526, Investment Interest Expense Deduction
940 FTB 3540, Credit Carryover Summary
949 FTB 3567, Installment Agreement Request
938 FTB 3596, California Moving Expenses (1995 only)
924 FTB 3800, Tax Computation for Children with Investment

Income
929 FTB 3801, Passive Activity Loss Limitations
930 FTB 3803, Parent’s Election to Report Child’s Interest and

Dividends
925 FTB 3805E, Installment Sale Income
928 FTB 3805P, Additional Tax from Qualified Retirement Plans
926 FTB 3805V, Net Operating Loss
901 FTB 3805Z, Enterprise Zone Business Booklet
927 FTB 5805, Underpayment of Estimated Tax
919 FTB Pub. 1001, Supplemental Guidelines to California

Adjustments
920 FTB Pub. 1005, Pension and Annuity Guidelines
945 FTB Pub. 1006, California Tax Forms and Related Federal

Forms
946 FTB Pub. 1008, Federal Tax Adjustments and Your

Notification Responsibilities
941 FTB Pub. 1031, Guidelines for Determining Resident

Status
942 FTB Pub. 1032, Tax Information for Military Personnel
951 FTB Pub. 1051A, Guidelines for Married Filing Separate

Returns
934 FTB Pub. 1540, Head of Household

California Tax Forms and Publications

902 1040 Booklet (includes Schedules A, B, D & E;
Forms 1040V, EIC and 2441)

904 1040A Booklet (includes Schedule 1; Form EIC)
915 1040EZ Booklet
906 Form 1040X, Amended U.S. Individual Income Tax Return
931 Form 1040-ES, Estimated Tax for Individuals
935 Publication 17, Your Federal Income Tax for Individuals
933 Form 2119, Sale or Exchange of Principal Residence
912 Form 2106, Employee Business Expenses
932 Form 4562, Depreciation and Amortization
916 Schedule C, Profit or (Loss) from Business or Profession
905 Schedule SE, Social Security Self-Employment Tax

1997 Federal Tax Forms
(available January 2 through April 15, 1998 only)
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F.A.S.T. Toll-Free Phone Service (Keep This Booklet For Future Use)&
212 – How do I claim my disaster related loss?
215 – Who qualifies me to use the head of household filing status?
216 – I’m due a refund. Do I still need to file a return?
217 – I am currently/was in the military. Do I have to file a

California return?
218 – I’m in the military. Do I have to use the same filing status

as federal?
219 – I sold my personal residence. How do I report the sale to

California?
220 – There is no difference in my state and federal

depreciation, business income and capital gain income.
What do I do?

221 – What is community property?
222 – How much can I deduct for vehicle license fees?
227 – How do I get a refund of excess SDI?
239 – Where can I get help with filing my income tax return?
240 – Does a tax return have to be filed for a deceased

taxpayer?

Refunds:
300 – My spouse passed away. You sent a refund with 

both our names on it. What do I do?
301 – I got a letter saying you sent my refund to another

agency. Why?

Penalties:
400 – I have an extension of time to file my return. Why did I 

get a penalty?
401 – I filed my return on time. Why did I get a penalty?
402 – How can I protest a penalty?
403 – What is the estimate penalty rate?

Notices And Bills:
500 – I received a bill and I cannot pay it in full. What do I do?
501 – Why didn’t you give me credit for my withholding?
502 – You didn’t give me credit for my dependent. What do I do?
503 – I don’t have a homeowner’s exemption. Why did you

deny my renter’s credit?
504 – I’m head of my house. Why was I denied head of

household filing status?
505 – Why was my IRA deduction denied?
506 – How can I get information about my Form 1099-G?
507 – Why did I receive a questionnaire?
508 – I received a notice that didn’t show all payments made.

How do I get credit for them?

Tax For Children Under 14:
601 – Can my child take a personal exemption credit when I 

claim her or him as a dependent on my return?
602 – Federal law limits the standard deduction. Is the state

law the same?

Miscellaneous:
610 – Can I pay my taxes with a credit card?
611 – What address do I send my payment to?
612 – I mailed my return and haven’t heard anything. Should I

send a copy of my return?
613 – I forgot to attach my Form(s) W-2 when I mailed my

return. What do I do?
614 – I forgot to attach a copy of my federal return. What do I

do?
615 – How do I get a copy of my state tax return?
616 – What should I do if my federal tax return was examined

and changed by the IRS?
617 – What are the current interest rates?

Call Fast Answers about State Taxes, the F.A.S.T. toll-free phone
service you can use to:
• Find out about your current year tax refund;
• Order California and federal income tax forms;
• Obtain balance due and payment information; and
• Hear recorded answers to many of your questions about California

taxes.
F.A.S.T. is available in English and Spanish to callers with touch-tone
telephones.

How To Use F.A.S.T.
Have paper and pencil ready to take notes.
Call from within the United States . . . . . . . . . . . 1-800-338-0505
Call from outside the United States (not toll-free) . . 1-916-845-6600

To Find Out About Your Current Year Tax Refund
You should wait at least eight weeks after you file your tax return
before you call to find out about your refund. You will need your social
security number, the numbers in your street address, box number or
route number, and your zip code to use this service. Refund status
information is available from 6:00 a.m. until 10:00 p.m., seven days a
week, except state holidays. Call the F.A.S.T. number, select refund
information and follow the recorded instructions.

To Order Forms
If your current address is on file, you can use F.A.S.T. to order current
and prior year California tax forms. You can also order current year
federal tax forms between January 2 and April 15. See the list of forms
and instructions for ordering forms on page 55. This service is avail-
able from 6:00 a.m. until 10:00 p.m., seven days a week, except state
holidays.

To Obtain Balance Due And Payment Information
You should wait at least 45 days from the date you mailed your pay-
ment before you call to verify receipt of your payment. You will need
your social security number, the numbers in your street address, box
number or route number, and your zip code to use this service.
Balance due and payment information is available from 6:00 a.m. to
10:00 p.m., seven days a week, except state holidays.

To Hear Answers To California Tax Questions
Recorded answers to tax questions are available 24 hours a day,
seven days a week. To receive answers to any of the following ques-
tions, call the F.A.S.T. number, select general tax information and
enter the three digit code when instructed to do so.

Code- Filing Assistance:
100 – Do I need to file a return?
111 – Which form should I use?
112 – How do I file electronically and get a fast refund?
200 – Where can I pick up a form today?
201 – How can I get an extension to file?
202 – There is no envelope in the booklet. Where do I send my

return?
203 – How much do I get for renter’s credit?
204 – I never received a Form W-2. What do I do?
205 – I have no withholding taken out. What do I do?
206 – Do I have to attach a copy of my federal return?
207 – Should I file my return even though I do not have the money to

pay?
208 – How do I figure my estimated tax payments?
209 – I lived in California for part of the year. Do I have to file a

return?
210 – I do not live in California. Why do I have to file a return?
211 – How do I figure my IRA deduction? Recycled

Recyclable


