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Fast Refund? FEile electronically !
See page 2 for more information.

Can you use a short form?

Form 540A and Form 540EZ have been added
to the 1996 tax forms booklet. Use the chart on
page 3 to find out if you can use one of these
short, easy tax forms.

Do you need help? 1-800-338-0505 F AS.T
Most of your questions can be answered by reading the instructions
in this booklet. But if you find that you need help, use our F.A.S.T. (
Fast Answers about State Taxes) toll-free phone service available
24 hours a day. If you cannot get the answer you need, call our
reqular toll-free phone service listed on page 47. The best times to
call are between 7:00 and 10:00 in the morning and between 6:00
and 8:00 in the evening.
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What's New for 19967

Differences Between California and Federal Law

In general, California did not conform its law to changes made to the
Internal Revenue Code (IRC) by the federal Revenue Reconciliation
Act of 1993 (Public Law 103-66). California legislation during 1994 and
1996 did adopt a few specific provisions of the 1993 federal changes.
All other references in these instructions are to the IRC as it existed on
January 1, 1993.

Renter’s Credit
Due to a tax law change, renter’s credit has been eliminated for 1996.
You may not claim the credit on your personal income tax return.

New Credits and Expired Credits

See the chart on page 28 for information about new credits (Disabled
Access, Donated Agricultural Products Transportation and Enhanced
Oil Recovery) and expired credits (Employee Ridesharing, Employer
Ridesharing, Low Emission Vehicles and Recycling Equipment).

Alternative Minimum Tax (AMT) Exclusion

As the result of legislation enacted in 1996, AMT income shall not
include income, adjustments and items of tax preference related to any
trade or business of a qualified taxpayer who has gross receipts, less
returns and allowances, during the taxable year of less than
$1,000,000 from all trades or businesses. See page 30.

New Features on Form 540A

If you have your return prepared for you or if you use tax preparation
software, you probably do not use the tax booklet we mail to you each
year. If you would like to take yourself off the booklet mailing list, see
line 38 when you complete Form 540A.

You may be eligible for a refund of excess State Disability Insurance
(SDI) or Voluntary Plan Disability Insurance (VPDI). See page 19 for
more information.

General Information

California Tax Forms on the Internet!

Do you need a California income tax form or publication? Do you have
Internet access? If so, you may download, view and print 1994, 1995
and 1996 California income tax forms and publications. Our Internet
address is: http://www.fth.ca.gov

F.A.S.T. Toll-free Phone Service:
8] 1-800-338-0505

F.A.S.T. is the toll-free phone service you can use 24 hours a day to
get Fast Answers about State Taxes. When you see a phone symbol
in these instructions, you may dial 1-800-338-0505, select general tax
information, follow the recorded instructions and enter the three-digit
number below or to the right of the phone symbol to get more informa-
tion about the topic in that paragraph. See page 48 for a complete list
of the codes and the questions they answer.

Fast Refund

Get your refund fast! When you file your return electronically, your
refund check will be in the mail in less than 7 days from the time FTB
receives your return (if your return has no errors). It is this easy:

® Prepare your return (or have someone prepare it for you).

® Have a tax preparer or other business transmit your return for you.
For a fee, the tax preparer or other electronic filing service will
make sure that your return is sent correctly and will be able to
verify that the FTB received your return.

® Your return is filed! There is no return to mail!

California Alternative Minimum Tax (AMT)

You may owe AMT or have to limit your credits if your California
adjusted gross income, plus items such as accelerated depreciation,
charitable contributions of appreciated capital gain property and pas-
sive activity losses, total more than:

® $40,000 if you are married filing joint or qualifying widow(er); or
* $30,000 if you are single or head of household; or

® $20,000 if you are married filing separate.

Get Schedule P (540), Alternative Minimum Tax and Credit Limitations,
to see if you owe AMT. See the instructions for Form 540, “Step 5" to
see if you need to limit your credits.

Do | Have to File?

Requirements for Most People

* Find your status at the end of 1996 in the first column of the
chart below; and

» Read across to find your filing status for 1996.

You must file a return if either your gross income or your adjusted

gross income was more than the amount shown for your filing status.

On 12/31/96 Filing status Gross Adjusted
| was: income gross
income *

Single (including Single
divorced and Head of household®
legally separated)

Married with a child
and living apart
from spouse the
last 6 months of
1996

Married, living with
spouse at end of
1996 (or date in
1996 spouse died)
or $20,320°
Married, not living
with spouse at end
of 1996 (or date in | Married filing separate
1996 spouse died)

Widowed before Single
1996 and not Head of household
remarried in 1996 Qualifying widow(er)

$10,160 |$8,128

Head of household® $10,160 |$8,128

Married filing joint

$16,256°

$10,160 |$8,128

Dependent of Any filing status More than

another person your
standard
deduction®

* All income you received in the form of money, goods, property and
serV|ces that is not exempt from tax.

% Income of both spouses; both spouses must file a return even if
only one spouse had income over the amounts listed.

Use the worksheet on page 17 to figure your standard deduction.

* Your federal adjusted gross income minus all California income
adjustments

® See page 15.

Even if you do not have to file a return, you should file for a refund if:

® C(California state income tax was withheld from your pay; or
® You made estimated tax payments.

Requirements for Children

For each child under age 14 who received more than $1,300 of invest-
ment income in 1996, get and complete Form 540 and form FTB 3800,
Tax Computation for Children With Investment Income, or form FTB
3803, Parent’s Election to Report Child’s Interest and Dividends.

We Welcome Your Comments on Forms

Over the last several years, | have encouraged you to write with your
comments and suggestions for improving tax forms and instructions.
Many of you took the time to comment about improvements made as
well as to suggest further improvements. The tax forms and instruc-
tions in this booklet include many of the suggestions my staff and |
received in 1996. Your suggestions are an important part of the ongo-
ing effort to improve the Franchise Tax Board’s products and services
for you. Please write to me at:

GERALD GOLDBERG, EXECUTIVE OFFICER
FRANCHISE TAX BOARD

PO BOX 942840

SACRAMENTO CA 94240-0040
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Why spend unnecessary time preparing your California taxes? If you are
single or married filing a joint return and you have no dependents, chances
are good that you could be using Form 540EZ. It's quick, it's easy and you
can do it yourself. Check the chart below to see which form you should use.

Note: If you were not a resident of California for any part of 1996, you must
use Form 540NR.

Which form
should | use?

v

Form 540EZ

Form 540A

Form 540

Filing Status Single or married filing joint, Any filing status Any filing status
under 65 and not blind
Dependents No dependents All dependents you are entitled to claim | All dependents you are entitled

Amount of Income

Sources of Income

Adjustments to Income

Standard Deduction

Itemized Deductions

Taxable income
$50,000 or less

Only income from:

* Wages, salaries, tips

* Taxable interest of $400 or less

* Taxable scholarship or
fellowship grants

* Unemployment compensation

No adjustments to income

Allowed

No itemized deductions

Federal adjusted gross income
$100,000 or less

Only income from:

* Wages, salaries, tips

* Taxable scholarship or

fellowship grants

Interest and dividends

Unemployment compensation

Social security benefits

Tier 1 and tier 2

railroad retirement payments

* Fully and partially taxable IRA
distributions, pensions & annuities

e o o o

Allowed if the amount is the same as
your federal adjustments to income

Allowed
Allowed if the amount is the same as

your federal itemized deductions (except
for state, local and foreign taxes paid)

to claim

Any amount of income

All sources of income

All adjustments to income

Allowed

All itemized deductions

Payments Only withholding shown on * Withholding shown on Form(s) W-2, * Withholding from all sources
Form(s) W-2 W-2G and 1099-R * Estimated tax payments
* Estimated tax payments * Payments made with
* Payments made with extension extension voucher
voucher * Excess State Disability
* Excess State Disability Insurance Insurance (SDI) or Voluntary
(SDI) or Voluntary Plan Disability Plan Disability Insurance
Insurance (VPDI) (VPDI)
Tax Credits Only personal exemption credit * Personal exemption credit All tax credits
* Senior exemption credit
* Blind exemption credit
* Dependent exemption credit
Other Taxes Only tax computed using the Only tax computed using the tax table All taxes:

tax table

or tax rate schedules

Tax computed using the tax
table or tax rate schedules
Alternative minimum tax

Tax on early use of an IRA
or a qualified retirement plan
Tax for children under age
14 who have investment
income of more than $1,300
Tax on lump-sum distribution
Recapture taxes

Deferred tax on certain
installment obligations

Tax on accumulation
distribution of trusts
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Additional Information

Free Tax Help

At more than 1,500 sites throughout California,
trained volunteers provide free help to low-
income, senior, disabled and non-English speak-
ing persons who need to file simple federal and
state income tax returns. Many military bases
also provide this service for members of the U.S.
armed forces. Call the Franchise Tax Board
(FTB) at 1-800-852-5711 to find the location
nearest you.

Deceased Taxpayers

A final return must be filed for a person who died
in 1996 if a return normally would be required.
The administrator or executor, if one is
appointed, or beneficiary must file the return.
Please print or type “deceased” and the date of
death next to the taxpayer's name at the top of
the return.

If you are a surviving spouse, and no administra-
tor or executor has been appointed, you may file
a joint return if you did not remarry during 1996.
Indicate next to your signature that you are the
surviving spouse.

You may also file a joint return with an adminis-
trator or executor acting in behalf of the
deceased taxpayer.

If you file a return and claim a refund due to a
deceased taxpayer, you are certifying under pen-
alty of perjury either that you are the legal repre-
sentative of the deceased taxpayer's estate (in
this case, you must attach certified copies of the
letters of administration or letters testamentary)
or that you are entitled to the refund as the
deceased’s surviving relative or sole beneficiary
under the provisions of the California Probate
Code. You must also attach a copy of federal
Form 1310, Statement of Person Claiming
Refund Due a Deceased Taxpayer, or a copy of
the death certificate when you file a return and
claim a refund due.

Amended Returns

If you discover that you made an error on your
California income tax return after it was filed, use
Form 540X, Amended Individual Income Tax
Return, to correct and make any changes to your
return.

Changes to Federal Returns

If your federal income tax return is examined and
changed by the Internal Revenue Service (IRS)
and you owe additional tax, you must report
these changes to the FTB within six months of
the date of the final federal determination. If the
changes made by IRS result in a refund due for
California, you must claim a refund within two
years of the date of the final federal determina-
tion. You may either use Form 540X to make any
changes to your California income tax return
already filed, or you may send copies of the fed-
eral changes to: ATTN RAR/VOL, AUDIT SEC-
TION, FRANCHISE TAX BOARD, PO BOX 1998,
RANCHO CORDOVA CA 95741-1998.

Regardless of which method you use to notify
the FTB, you must include a copy of the final
federal determination along with all data and
schedules that the federal adjustment was based
on. Get FTB Pub. 1008, Federal Tax Adjust-
ments and Your Notification Responsibilities to
California, for more information.

Note: You do not have to file Form 540X if the
changes do not affect your California tax liability.

Military Personnel

If you are a member of the U.S. armed forces
and need additional information on how to file
your return, get FTB Pub. 1032, Tax Information
for Military Personnel.

Change of Address

If you move during the year, notify the FTB of
your new address by calling 1-800-852-5711.

Vehicle License Fees for Federal Schedule A

On your federal Schedule A, you may deduct the
California motor vehicle license fee listed on your
Vehicle Registration Billing Notice from the
Department of Motor Vehicles. The other fees
listed on your billing notice such as registration
fee, weight fee and county fees are not
deductible.

California Sales And Use Tax

If you purchased goods from an out-of-state
retailer (such as a mail-order firm) and sales tax
would have been charged if you had purchased
the goods in California, you owe use tax on your
purchase if the out-of-state retailer did not collect
the tax.

Your tax liability may be calculated by multiplying
the sales tax rate in your area times the cost of
the goods purchased. You may pay your tax lia-
bility by sending payment to the STATE BOARD
OF EQUALIZATION, PO BOX 942879, SACRA-
MENTO CA 94279-0001, with a brief letter listing
your name, address, a description and cost of
the goods purchased, and the name and address
of the out-of-state retailer.

If you file a Schedule C (Form 1040), Profit or
Loss From Business, with your federal income
tax return and are in the business of selling tan-
gible personal property, you may be required to
obtain a seller's permit with the State Board of
Equalization.

If you have a question as to which goods are
taxable, or want information about obtaining a
seller's permit, you should contact the nearest
office of the State Board of Equalization. You can
find the address and telephone number in the
State Government section of your telephone
directory.

Rounding to Whole Dollars

Please round cents to the nearest whole dollar
on your return and schedules. To do so, drop
amounts under 50 cents and increase amounts
from 50 to 99 cents to the next whole dollar. For
example, $123.49 becomes $123 and $725.50
becomes $726.

If you do round, do so for all amounts. However,
if you have to add two or more amounts to figure
the amount to enter on a line, include cents
when adding and only round the total. Example:
You want to add $5,000.55 and $18,500.73. On
the appropriate line you would enter $23,501
($5,000.55 + $18,500.73 = $23,501.28).

Requesting a Copy of Your Tax Return

The FTB keeps personal income tax returns for
three and one-half years from the original due
date. If you need to get a copy of a return from
those years, you must request it by writing a let-
ter or by completing form FTB 3516, Request for
Copy of Personal Income Tax or Fiduciary
Return. In most cases, there is a $10 fee for
each tax year you request. However, there is no
charge if: you are requesting a return and any
audit reports attached in connection with an audit

or collection activity; you were the victim of a
designated California or federal disaster; or you
request copies from a district office that assisted
you in completing your return. See page 47 for
information on ordering forms.

Collection Fees

The FTB is required to assess collection and fil-
ing enforcement cost recovery fees on delinquent
accounts.

Privacy Act Notice

The Information Practices Act of 1977 and the
federal Privacy Act require the FTB to tell you
why we ask you for information. The Operations
and Compliance Branches ask for tax return
information to carry out the Personal Income Tax
Law of the State of California. We may request
additional information if we audit your return or
take collection action.

If you meet the income requirements, the Reve-
nue and Taxation Code requires you to file a
return on the form we prescribe (Sections 18501
and 18621). When you file this or other docu-
ments, you must include your social security
number for identification and return processing
(Section 18624).

It is mandatory to furnish all information
requested when you are required to file any doc-
uments prescribed by the FTB. If you do not file
a return, or do not provide the information we
ask for, or provide fraudulent information, the law
states you may be charged penalties and interest
and, in certain cases, you may be subject to
criminal prosecution. We also may disallow
claimed exemptions, exclusions, credits, deduc-
tions or adjustments. This could make the tax
higher or delay or reduce any refund.

We may give the information you furnish us to
the IRS, the proper official of any state imposing
an income tax or a tax measured by income, the
Multistate Tax Commission and California gov-
ernment agencies and officials, as provided by
law. If you owe any monies, we may disclose the
amount due to employers, financial institutions,
county recorders, vacation trust funds, process
agents and other payers.

You have a right to access records containing
your personal information maintained by the FTB.
The officials responsible for maintaining the infor-
mation are: 1) Filing of returns—Chief, Filing Divi-
sion; 2) Auditing of returns—Chief, Audit Division;
and 3) Collection of monies—Chief, Collection
Division. The address is:

FRANCHISE TAX BOARD

PO BOX 942840

SACRAMENTO CA 94240-1040.
Telephone:

Within the United States. . . .
Outside the United States . . .

1-800-852-5711
1-916-845-6500
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TAXABLE YEAR

1996  for Individuals

Instructions for Automatic Extension

CALIFORNIA FORM

3519

General Information

If you cannot file your California tax return by April 15, 1997, you
will be allowed an automatic six month extension without filing a
written request. To qualify for the automatic extension, you must
file your tax return by October 15, 1997. However, to avoid late
payment penalties and interest, you must pay 100 percent of
your tax liability by April 15, 1997 .

Complete the tax payment worksheet below to see if you owe

If the amount on line 1 is more than the amount on line 3, then
your tax is more than your payments and credits. You have tax
due. Subtract the amount on line 3 from the amount on line 1.
Enter the tax due on line 4 and on the form FTB 3519 voucher
below and mail only the voucher portion  with your payment to:

FRANCHISE TAX BOARD
PO BOX 942867
SACRAMENTO CA 94267-0051

additional tax. If you owe additional tax but cannot file by April
15, 1997, use the payment voucher below to mail in your

Penalties and Interest

payment. Your payment must be postmarked by April 15, 1997.
Send in the voucher only if a payment is due.

Save your completed worksheet along with the copy of your
return for your tax records.

How to Complete the Tax Payment Worksheet

Line 1 — Enter the total tax you expect to owe. This is the amount you
expect to enter on Form 540EZ, line 23; Form 540A, line 23;
Form 540, line 37; or Form 540NR, line 46.

Remember, an extension of time to file your return is not an
extension of time to pay your tax. If you fail to pay your total tax
liability by April 15, 1997, a late payment penalty plus interest will
be added to your tax due. If after April 15, 1997, you find that
your estimate of tax due was too low, you should pay the
additional tax as soon as possible to avoid further accumulation
of penalties and interest. Pay your estimated additional tax with
another form FTB 3519 voucher. If you do not file your return by
October 15, 1997, you will be assessed a late filing penalty plus
interest from the original due date of the return.

Line 2 — Enter your total payments and credits on the following lines:

2a— California income tax withheld

Taxpayers Residing or Traveling Abroad

2b — California estimated tax payments and amount applied
from your 1995 return

2¢ — Other payments and credits including any tax
payments made with any previous 1996
form FTB 3519 voucher.

Line 3 — Add line 2a through line 2c. Enter the result on line 3.

Line 4 — Tax due. If the amount on line 3 is more than the amount on line
1, then your payments and credits are more than your tax. You
have no tax due. DO NOT SEND THE PAYMENT VOUCHER.
Your return, when filed by October 15, 1997, will verify that you
qualified for the extension.

If you are living or traveling outside the United States on April 15,
1997, the deadline to file your return and pay the tax is June 16,
1997. Interest will accrue from the original due date (April 15,
1997) until the date of payment. If you need additional time to file
your tax return, you will be allowed an automatic six-month
extension without filing a written request. To qualify for the
extension, you must file your tax return by December 15, 1997.
To avoid any late payment penalties, you must pay 100 percent
of your tax liability by June 16, 1997. When filing your return, be
sure to attach a statement to the front indicating that you were
“abroad on April 15, 1997.”

TAX PAYMENT WORKSHEET FOR YOUR RECORDS

1 Total tax you eXpect t0 OWE. . . . . v v v v
2 Payments and credits:
a California income tax withheld. . . . . .. ... ... .. ..
b California estimated tax payments and amount applied from your 1995 return. . . . .
c Other paymentsand credits. . . . .. .. ... ... . ...

1]

2a
2b
2c

3 Total tax payments and credits. Add line 2a through line 2c. . . . ... . . . ... .. . ... ... 3
4 Tax due. If line 3 is more than line 1, see instructions. If line 1 is more than line 3, subtract line 3 from line 1.
Enter the result here and on the voucher below

TRXABLEYEAR - Payment Voucher for
1996  Automatic Extension for Individuals

Your first name and initial

CALIFORNIA FORM

3519

Last name Your social security number

| |
Spouse’s social security number

If joint return, also give spouse’s first name and initial Last name

P
|
T

Present home address — number and street including PO Box or rural route Apt. no.

City, town or post office, state and ZIP code

IF NO PAYMENT IS DUE, DO NOT FILE THIS FORM Amount of payment
MAIL TO: FRANCHISE TAX BOARD (Calendar year — Due April 15, 1997) $ 00

PO BOX 942867
SACRAMENTO CA 94267-0051

, , Payment Voucher 5
For Privacy Act Notice, see form FTB 1131

FTB 3519 1996 Page5



When Should | File My Return?

File your return by April 15, 1997. The earlier you file your return, the earlier you will get your refund. But, if you will not be able to file your
return by midnight April 15, 1997, the following information will help you decide what to do next.

These are the return filing rules:

1. There is an automatic six-month extension to file
until October 15, 1997.
* To get the extension, you must file by
October 15, 1997.
* You do not need to write to the Franchise Tax
Board to request the extension to file.
2. There is no extension for the time to pay the tax
you owe.
* If you do not pay by April 15, 1997, you may
owe late payment penalties and interest.

Here is what to do:

1. Use the worksheet for form FTB 3519, Payment
Voucher for Automatic Extension for Individuals,
on page 5 to determine as accurately as possible
whether you owe any tax based on the informa-
tion you have.

Helpful Hints

Round to whole dollars.

Please round cents to the nearest whole dollar on your return
and schedules. See page 4 for more information on how to
round cents.

Verify Step 1, Step 2 and Step 3.

Step 1: Use your full legal name and complete address
including zip code. Verify that you entered your social security
number correctly and if married filing joint, verify that the first
social security number listed belongs to the first name listed.
Step 2: Make sure that you meet all the requirements for your
filing status. See page 15 for more information. If you believe
that you qualify for the head of household filing status, please
review the requirements on page 15.

Step 3: Take your personal exemption credit. Most taxpayers
qualify for this credit, but many neglect to claim it. See page 18
and page 26.

Attach the following to your return.

Form(s) W-2, W-2G and 1099-R: Make sure to staple all
Form(s) W-2, W-2G and 1099-R you received to the front of
your return.

Checks: Make your check payable to the Franchise Tax Board.
Also, write your social security number and “1996 Form
540EZ”, “1996 Form 540A” or 1996 Form 540" on it, and

staple it to the front of the return where it says “Attach check or

money order here.”

Federal Form 1040: Do not attach your federal return if you

file Form 540EZ or Form 540A. If you file Form 540, answer

the following question.

Did you attach any federal forms or schedules other than

Schedule A or Schedule B to your federal Form 10407

No. Do not attach Form 1040 to Form 540.

Yes. Attach a copy of Form 1040 and all supporting
federal forms and schedules to Form 540.

Assemble your Form 540 return.
Assemble your return in the following order:

® Attach your check (if you owe money) and
Form(s) W-2, W-2G, 1099-R to the front of your
return in the proper location;

® Form 540, both Side 1 and Side 2;

2. If you do not owe tax, you do not need to
send anything to the Franchise Tax Board
now. But make sure to file your return by
October 15, 1997.

3. If you owe tax, complete form FTB 3519. Make out
a check or money order payable to the “Franchise
Tax Board” for the full amount you owe.

4. To avoid late payment penalties and interest,
mail your check or money order and form
FTB 3519 by April 15, 1997, to:

FRANCHISE TAX BOARD
PO BOX 942867
SACRAMENTO CA 94267-0051

If you are living or traveling outside the United States on
April 15, 1997, the deadline for filing your return and paying
your tax is June 16, 1997. Interest will accrue from the
original due date (April 15th) until the date of payment. See
form FTB 3519 for more information.

® Schedule CA (540)/FTB 3885A/Schedule D;

® Other California schedules; and

® Complete copy of your federal return, if required.
Note: If you complete form FTB 5805 or form FTB 5805F,
attach it to the front of your Form 540.

Mail your return.

To get a refund, or if you have no amount due:

FRANCHISE TAX BOARD
PO BOX 942840
SACRAMENTO CA 94240-0000

If you owe money:

FRANCHISE TAX BOARD
PO BOX 942867
SACRAMENTO CA 94267-0001

Keep a copy of your return.

The Franchise Tax Board may request information from
you regarding your California income tax return within
the California statute of limitations period, which is
usually the later of four years from the due date of the
return or the date the return is filed. Keep a copy of
your return and the records which verify the income,
deductions, adjustments, or credits reported on your
return. Some records should be kept longer. For
example, keep property records as long as they are
needed to figure the basis of the original or replacement

property.

D File electronically.

If you file your return electronically, make sure all the
amounts entered are correct before you sign form

FTB 8453, California Individual Income Tax Declaration
for Electronic Filing. Your return can be electronically
transmitted by your preparer or electronic filing service
only after you sign form FTB 8453. The preparer or
electronic filing service must provide you with:

* A copy of form FTB 8453;
® Any original Form(s) W-2, W-2G and 1099-R; and

* A paper copy of your California tax return
showing the data transmitted to the FTB.
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Instructions for Form 540EZ, California Resident Income Tax Return

These instructions are based on the Internal Revenue Code (IRC) as of January 1, 1993, and the California Revenue and Taxation Code (R&TC).

Before You must complete your federal income tax return (Form 1040,
Form 1040A or Form 1040EZ) before you begin your Form
You 540EZ. You will use the information you entered on your federal
Begin income tax return to complete your Form 540EZ.
Important: Do not attach a copy of your federal income tax
return to Form 540EZ.
Step 1 If there is a label on the front of your booklet:
Name and 1. Complete your blue Form 540EZ before you remove the
Address address label from the front of your booklet.

2. Check your math and the amounts entered to make sure
that they are correct.

3. Remove your address label from the front of your booklet
and attach it on the front of your Form 540EZ in the space
provided at the top.

4. Make sure the information on your address label is correct.
If you need to make any changes, draw a line in ink through
the incorrect information and clearly print the new informa-
tion.

If there is no label, print or type your name, social security

number and address in the spaces provided at the top of

Form 540EZ.

If you file a joint return, show social security numbers in the
same order that you show both names.

Line 15 — Standard Deduction

Did you check the box on line 6 because your parents (or
someone else) can claim you on their return?

Yes  Complete the Standard Deduction Worksheet for
Dependents on Form 540EZ, Side 2, Part I.
No If single, enter $2,527. If married filing joint,

Step 2
Filing
Status

Your filing status for California must be the same as the filing
status you used on your federal income tax return. If it is not,
you cannot use Form 540EZ. See the instructions for

Form 540A beginning on page 15.

Line 1 — Single. You may check the box on line 1 if any of the following

Line 2 — Married Filing Joint Return.

was true on December 31, 1996:

® You were never married;

® You were legally separated under a decree of divorce or
separate maintenance; or

® You were widowed before January 1, 1996, and did not
remarry in 1996.

You may check the box on line 2

if any of the following is true:

® You were married as of December 31, 1996, even if you did
not live with your spouse at the end of 1996;

®  Your spouse died in 1996 and you did not remarry in 1996;
or

® Your spouse died in 1997 before filing a 1996 return.

Line 6 — Dependent Check Box

L,

601

Check the box on line 6 if your parent (or someone else) can
claim you as a dependent on his or her tax return. For example,
if your parents (or someone else) could claim you as a depen-
dent on their return but they chose not to claim you, you must
check the box on line 6.

Step 3

Taxable
Income

Please round cents to the nearest whole dollar.

Line 12b — Federal Adjusted Gross Income

Enter the amount of your federal adjusted gross income from
your federal TeleFile Tax Record, line H or your Form 1040EZ,
line 4 or your Form 1040A, line 16 or your Form 1040, line 31,
on Form 540EZ, line 12b.

Line 13 — Unemployment Compensation

Enter the amount of any unemployment compensation shown
on your federal TeleFile Tax Record, line D; Form 1040EZ,
line 3; Form 1040A, line 12; or Form 1040, line 19.

Line 14 — California Adjusted Gross Income

Subtract line 13 from line 12b. Enter the result on line 14.

enter $5,054.
Step 4 First figure your tax, then make sure you qualify to claim your
Tax and credits.
Credits
Line 17 — Tax

To figure your tax on the amount shown on line 16, you must
use the tax table on page 44 through page 46. If you are single,
use the column for filing status 1. If you are married, use the
column for filing status 2.

Line 18 — Personal Exemption Credit

Did you check the box on line 6?

Yes  Go to the Personal Exemption Chart for Dependents on
Form 540EZ, Side 2, Part Il.
No If single, enter $67. If married filing joint, enter $134.

Step 5

Overpaid Tax
or Tax Due

To avoid a delay in the processing of your return, be sure you
enter the correct amounts on line 24 through line 32.

Line 24 — California Income Tax Withheld

L,

204

Enter the total amount of California income tax withheld from
each of your Form(s) W-2. This amount should be shown on
Form W-2, box 18. Do not include any amount of local income
tax withheld.

Note: If you had two or more employers during 1996, received
more than $31,767 in wages from these employers and they
withheld more than $254.14 of California State Disability Insur-
ance (SDI or VPDI), you may be entitled to a credit for excess
SDI. See page 19 for more information.

If you do not have a Form W-2, see the instructions for “Sign
Your Return” on page 32.

Line 31 — Overpaid Tax

Is the amount on line 24 more than the amount on line 23?

No Enter zero and go to line 32.

Yes  Your payments and credits are more than your tax. Sub-
tract the amount on line 23 from the amount on line 24.
Enter the result on line 31. Go to line 34.

Line 32 — Tax Due

Is the amount on line 24 less than the amount on line 23?

No Enter zero and go to line 34.

Yes  Your tax is more than the total of your payments and
credits. Subtract the amount on line 24 from the amount
on line 23. Enter the result on line 32.

There is a penalty for not paying enough tax during the year.
You may have to pay a penalty if the:

® Tax due on line 32 is $100 or more; and
® Amount of state income tax withheld on line 24 is less than
80 percent of the amount of your total tax on line 23.

If you owe a penalty, the Franchise Tax Board will compute the
penalty and send you a bill.

You may add contributions to the tax due. You must pay the full
amount of tax due, including voluntary contributions, when you
file your Form 540EZ.

Personal Income Tax Booklet 1996  Page 7



Instructions: Form 540EZ

F.A.S.T. 1-800-338-0505

Step 6
Refund or
Amount

You Owe

Be sure to add or subtract correctly to figure the amount of your
refund or the amount you owe.

Contributions

You may make voluntary contributions of $1 or more in whole
dollar amounts. If you make a voluntary contribution, you must
complete Form 540EZ, Side 2, Part Ill. You may contribute only
to the funds listed in Part Ill and cannot change the amount you
contributed after you file your return.

Side 2, Part Ill — Contributions

Part 11l

Line 1 — Alzheimer's Disease/Related Disorders Fund

Part 11l

Contributions entered on line 1 will be used to conduct a sys-
tematic program for researching the cause and cure of Alzhei-
mer's disease and related disorders and research into the care
and treatment of persons suffering from dementing ilinesses.

Line 2 — California Fund for Senior Citizens

Part 11l

Contributions entered on line 2 will be used by the California
Fund for Senior Citizens which supports direct services to
seniors and the work of the California Senior Legislature. The
California Senior Legislature is non-partisan, volunteer, grass
roots body of seniors 60 years of age or older, elected by their
peers. The California Senior Legislature has been instrumental
in creating and steering senior legislation through the regular
legislature; legislation, such as: Alzheimer Studies and
Research; Adult Day Health Care Centers; nutrition centers;
respite care; long term care; the funding and broadening of In
Home Support Services; programs to abolish abuse of seniors;
skilled nursing facility reforms; and many more. All donations
over those needed to carry out the California Senior Legisla-
ture’s work, will be distributed for direct services to needy
seniors.

Line 3 — Rare and Endangered Species Preservation Program

Part Il

Contributions entered on line 3 will be used to help protect and
conserve California’s many threatened and endangered species
and the wild lands that they need to survive, for the enjoyment

and benefit of you and future generations of Californians.

Line 4 — State Children’s Trust Fund for the Prevention of Child

Part Il

Abuse

Contributions entered on line 4 will be used to fund programs
for the prevention, intervention and treatment of child abuse
and neglect.

Line 5 — California Breast Cancer Research Fund

Part Il

Contributions entered on line 5 will be used to conduct
research relating to the prevention, screening, cure and treat-
ment of breast cancer.

Line 6 — Veterans Memorial Account

Part 11l

Contributions entered on line 6 will be used to pay for the con-
struction, improvement, maintenance or repair of a veterans
memorial and an information program about the memorial.

Line 7 — California Firefighters’ Memorial Fund

Part Il

Contributions entered on line 7 will be used for the construction
of a memorial on the grounds of the State Capitol honoring the
hundreds of firefighters who have died protecting our neighbor-
hoods, our homes, our families and our dreams. These brave
men and women answered the call when fire alarms sounded
or when hazardous, cancer-causing elements needed to be
removed, and their sacrifices and the sacrifices of their families
deserve to be remembered.

Line 8 — California Public School Library Protection Fund

Part [l

Contributions entered on line 8 will be expended for the pur-
chase of books and other library resources through grants
awarded for implementing a school library improvement plan.

Line 9 — D.A.R.E. California (Drug Abuse Resistance Education)

Fund
Contributions entered on line 9 will be used to support local
D.A.R.E. programs and provide proven effective, in-classroom

Part I,
Line 10 &

anti-drug, anti-gang and anti-violence education for California
school children.

Line 11 — California Election Campaign Fund

Part I,

A contribution of $1, $5, $10 or $25 may be made to one of
these political parties: American Independent, Democratic,
Green, Libertarian, Natural Law, Peace and Freedom, Reform
or Republican. If you contribute, enter the party name in the
space provided on line 10, and enter the amount of your contri-
bution.

If your spouse contributes to the California Election Campaign
Fund, enter the name of the political party and contribution
amount on line 11. You and your spouse may each contribute
a maximum of $25.

Line 12 — Total Contributions

Add all contributions you entered on line 1 through
line 11. Enter the result on Side 2, Part Ill, line 12, and Side 1,
line 34.

Step 6 (continued)

Line 34 -

Total Contributions
Did you make any voluntary contribution on Form 540EZ,
Side 2, Part III?

Yes  Enter the amount of your total contributions from Part Il
line 12. Then go to line 35.

No Leave this line blank. If you entered an amount on:
® Line 31, go to line 35.
® Line 32, go to line 36.

Line 35 — Refund Or No Amount Due

Did you enter an amount on line 34?

No Enter the amount from line 31 on line 35. This is the
amount that will be refunded to you. If the amount is
less than $1, you must attach a written request to your
Form 540EZ to receive the refund. Go to Side 2, Part IV
to sign your return.

Yes  Go to the next question.

Is line 31 more than line 34?

Yes  Subtract line 34 from line 31. Enter the result on line 35.
Go to Side 2, Part IV to sign your return.
No Do not enter an amount on line 35. Go to line 36.

Line 36 — Amount You Owe

L,

207

Did you enter an amount on line 34?

No Enter the amount from line 32 on line 36.
Yes  If you entered an amount on:
® Line 32, add the amounts on line 32 and line 34 and
enter the result on line 36.
® Line 31, subtract the amount on line 31 from the
amount on line 34 and enter the result on line 36.

® Make your check or money order payable to the “Franchise
Tax Board” for the full amount you owe. Do not send cash.
Be sure to write your social security number and “1996
Form 540EZ” on your check or money order.

® Attach the check or money order to the front of your
Form 540EZ in the area below the words “Step 3, Taxable
Income.”

®  When you mail your Form 540EZ and payment, make sure
your check or money order is not covered up by your
Form(s) W-2 or any other items.

A penalty may be imposed if your check is returned by your
bank for insufficient funds.

To avoid a late filing penalty, file your Form 540EZ by the due
date even if you cannot pay the amount you owe.

Part IV — Sign Your Return

Sign your return on Form 540EZ, Side 2, Part IV. Then mail
your return to the Franchise Tax Board on or before the due
date. For further information, see page 32.

Page 8
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California Resident Income Tax Return
For Single and Joint Filers With No Dependents 1996

FORM

S40EZ

Step 1

Name and
Address

Use the California mailing label. If you do not have the label, please print or type.

Your first name and initial Last name Your:soual: security number Do Not Write
P : In These Spaces
If joint return, spouse’s first name and initial Last name Spouse’s social security number b
Present home address — number and street including PO Box or rural route Apt. no. AC
A
City, town or post office, state and ZIP code R
RP

Step 2 1 [ Single
Fil 2 [ Married filing joint return (even if only one spouse had income)
Sltzlirt]gs 6 If your parent(s), or someone else, can claim you (or your spouse, if married) as a dependent on their tax return, even
if that person chooses not to, check here . . . . . . . . . . ® 6 D
Step 3 12b Federal adjusted gross income from your TeleFile Tax Record, line H; or your
Taxable Form 1040EZ, line 4; or your Form 1040A, line 16; or your Form 1040, line 31 12b y '
Income 13 Unemployment compensation from your federal TeleFile Tax Record,
Attach check line D; Form 1040EZ, line 3; Form 1040A, line 12; or Form 1040, line 19 . .. e 13 y .
or money . . L . .
order here. 14 Subtract line 13 from line 12b. This is your California
adjusted gross income . . . . .. o 14 y .
15 Did you check the box on line 6?
Yes. Complete the worksheet on Side 2, Part I.
No. If single, enter $2,527. If married filing joint, enter $5,054 . . . ... .. e 15 y .
16 Subtract line 15 from line 14. This is your taxable income. If it is more
than $50,000, STOP. You must use Form 540A or Form 540. If line 15 is
more than line 14, enter -0- . . . . . . . . . . . . . 16 y .
Step 4 17 Tax. Use the amount on line 16 to find your tax in the tax table.
Tax and Enter the tax from the table on thisline . ... ................. 17 y .
Credits 18 Did you check the box on line 6?
Yes. Go to Side 2, Part Il.
No. If single, enter $67. If married filing joint, enter $134 . . . . . ... .. 18 .
23 Subtract line 18 from line 17. This is your total tax. If less than zero, enter -0-. @ 23 y '
Step 5
Overpaid 24 Enter your California income tax withheld from your Form(s) W-2, box 18 . . m 24 y .
Taxor 31 If line 24 is more than line 23, subtract line 23 from line 24. This is
Tax Due :
your overpaid tax . . . . . . ... m 31 y .
32 If line 24 is less than line 23, subtract line 24 from line 23. This is the
amount of tax due . .. ... ... ... 32 y .
Step 6 . . _
Refund or 34 Total contributions. Enter amount from Side 2, Part Ill, line 12. . . . ... ... ® 34 ' .
émouont 35 Subtract line 34 from line 31. Enter the result here. You have a REFUND or
You Ywe NO AMOUNT DUE. Go to Side 2, Part IV to sign your return . . . . . .. . .. m 35 , .
Attach
copy of your 36 Add line 32 and line 34. Enter the result here. This is the AMOUNT YOU

Form(s) W-2 here.

OWE. Go to Side 2, Part IV to sign your return . . . . . ... .. ....... m 36

For Privacy Act Notice, see instructions.

Form 540EZ c1 1996 Side 1



Part | If you checked the box on Side 1, line 6 because someone can claim you (or your spouse, if married) as a dependent, even if that
Standard person chooses not to, complete this worksheet to figure the amount to enter on Side 1, line 15.
Deducti i .
W%rﬂghlggt 1 Enter the amount from line 1 of your federal Form 1040EZ or from line 1 of the
for “Worksheet for Dependents” found in the instructions for federal Form 1040A
Dependents orForm 1040 . . .. ... 1 y .
2 Minimum standard deduction. . . . ... ... ... . ... 2 6 5 O .
3 Compare the amounts on line 1 and line 2 above. Enter the LARGER
of the two amounts here . . . . . .. ... ... . ... 3 y .
4 Maxi dard deduction: If single, enter $2,527
aximum standard deduction: If married filing joint, enter $5,054 4 1 -
5 Compare the amounts on line 3 and line 4.
Enter the SMALLER of the two amounts here and on Side 1, line 15. . . . . . .. 5 y .
If you did not check the box on Side 1, line 6 because no one can { Single, enter $2,527 on Side 1, line 15; OR
claim you (or your spouse, if married) as a dependent, and you are: Married filing joint, enter $5,054 on Side 1, line 15.
Part ” If you (or your spouse, if married) can be claimed as a dependent, enter the following amounts on line 18:
Personal * If single, enter -0-.
Eﬁe”t‘?t'on * If married filing joint and both you and your spouse can be claimed as dependents, enter -0-.
art for
Dependents * If married filing joint and only one of you can be claimed as a dependent, enter $67.
Part ||| You may make a voluntary contribution of $1 or more to the following funds:
Contributions 1 Alzheimer's Disease/Related Disorders Fund . . . . ... ...................... 48P 1 00
2 California Fund for Senior CItiZens. . . . . . . o o ot e 4P 2 00
3 Rare and Endangered Species Preservation Program . . . . . ... .. .. ... 450 3 00
4 State Children’s Trust Fund for the Prevention of Child Abuse . . . ... ............. 4510 4 00
5 California Breast Cancer Research Fund . . . . ... ... ...\ 4520 5 00
6 Veterans Memorial ACCOUNE. . . . . . o v v v vttt e e e e e 4530 6 00
7 California Firefighters' Memorial Fund . . . . . . . ... . ... 454 7 00
8 California Public School Library Protection Fund . . . . . .. ... ................. 455> 8 00
9 D.AR.E. California (Drug Abuse Resistance Education) Fund. . . .. ... ............ 456> 9 00
California Election} 10 Your political party ___ amount ($25 maximum). . ..  » 57 10 00
Campaign Fund 11 Spouse’s political party ___ amount ($25 maximum) . .. P 58 11 00
12 Total contributions. Add line 1 through line 11. Enter here and on Side 1, line 34. . ... ... ... ... 12 00
Due to a tax law change, renter’s credit has been eliminated for 1996.
You may not claim the credit on your personal income tax return.
Do not attach your federal return to this return.
Under penalties of perjury, | declare that | have examined this return and to the best of my knowledge and belief, it is true, correct and complete. 9

Part IV

Your signature Spouse’s signature (if filing joint, both must sign) Date / /
Daytime phone number

Sign Here X X (___ ) ___ -_ ___
It is unlawful to Signature of paid preparer (declaration of preparer is based on all information of which preparer has any knowledge) Preparer's SSN/FEIN
forge a spouse’s

signature. Firm’'s name (or yours if self-employed) Firm’'s address

Wh_ere to IF YOU HAVE A REFUND or NO AMOUNT DUE (Side 1, line 35)

Mail Your . )

Return Mail your return to:

FRANCHISE TAX BOARD, PO BOX 942840, SACRAMENTO CA 94240-0000

IF YOU HAVE AN AMOUNT DUE (Side 1, line 36)
Make a check or money order payable to “Franchise Tax Board” for the full amount you owe. Write your social security number
and “1996 Form 540EZ” on the check or money order. Attach it to your Form 540EZ and mail to:

FRANCHISE TAX BOARD, PO BOX 942867, SACRAMENTO CA 94267-0001

Side 2 Form 540EZ c1 1996



California Resident Income Tax Return
For Single and Joint Filers With No Dependents 1996

Step 1

Name and
Address

Use the California mailing label. If you do not have the label, please print or type.

Your first name and initial

Last name

Your social secu

ity nui

mber

If joint return, spouse’s first name and initial

Last name

Spouse’s social

ecurit

num

ner

Do Not Write
In These Spaces

P

Present home address — number and street including PO Box or rural route

Apt. no.

AC

A

City, town or post office, state and ZIP code

R

RP

Step 2

1

[J Single

2 [ Married filing joint return (even if only one spouse had income)

g'tlflirtlgs 6 If your parent(s), or someone else, can claim you (or your spouse, if married) as a dependent on their tax return, even
if that person chooses not to, check here . . . . . . . . . . e § D
Step 3 12b Federal adjusted gross income from your TeleFile Tax Record, line H; or your -
Taxable Form 1040EZ, line 4; or your Form 1040A, line 16; or your Form 1040, line 31 12b y '
Income 13 Unemployment compensation from your federal TeleFile Tax Record, -
Attach check line D; Form 1040EZ, line 3; Form 1040A, line 12; or Form 1040, line 19 . . . 13 y .
or money
order here. 14 Subtract line 13 from line 12b. This is your California -
adjusted gross income . . . . .. 14 y .
15 Did you check the box on line 6?
Yes. Complete the worksheet on Side 2, Part I. -
No. If single, enter $2,527. If married filing joint, enter $5,054 . . . ... .. 15 y .
16 Subtract line 15 from line 14. This is your taxable income. If it is more
than $50,000, STOP. You must use Form 540A or Form 540. If line 15 is -
more than line 14, enter -0- . . . . . . . . . ... .. ... .. 16 y .
Step 4 17 Tax. Use the amount on line 16 to find your tax in the tax table. -
Tax and Enter the tax from the table on thisline . ... ................. 17 y .
Credits 18 Did you check the box on line 6?
Yes. Go to Side 2, Part Il. -
No. If single, enter $67. If married filing joint, enter $134 . . . . . ... .. 18 .
23 Subtract line 18 from line 17. This is your total tax. If less than zero, enter -0-. 23 y ' -
Step 5 )
Overpaid 24 Enter your California income tax withheld from your Form(s) W-2, box 18 . . 24 y .
Taxor 31 If line 24 is more than line 23, subtract line 23 from line 24. This is -
Tax Due .
your overpaid tax . . . . . . ... 31 y .
32 If line 24 is less than line 23, subtract line 24 from line 23. This is the -
amount of tax due . .. ... ... ... 32 y .
D6, e o 77
Refund or 34 Total contributions. Enter amount from Side 2, Part lll, line 12. . . . . ... .. 34 ' .
¢mouont 35 Subtract line 34 from line 31. Enter the result here. You have a REFUND or -
You Ywe NO AMOUNT DUE. Go to Side 2, Part IV to sign your return . . . . . .. . .. 35 , .
Attach
copy of your 36 Add line 32 and line 34. Enter the result here. This is the AMOUNT YOU -
Form(s) W-2 here. OWE. Go to Side 2, Part IV to sign your return. . . . . ... ......... 36 y .

For Privacy Act Notice, see instructions.

Form 540EZ c1 1996 Side 1



Part | If you checked the box on Side 1, line 6 because someone can claim you (or your spouse, if married) as a dependent, even if that
Standard person chooses not to, complete this worksheet to figure the amount to enter on Side 1, line 15.
Deducti i .
W%rﬂghlggt 1 Enter the amount from line 1 of your federal Form 1040EZ or from line 1 of the
for “Worksheet for Dependents” found in the instructions for federal Form 1040A
Dependents orForm 1040 . . .. ... 1 y .
2 Minimum standard deduction. . . . ... ... ... . ... 2 6 5 O .
3 Compare the amounts on line 1 and line 2 above. Enter the LARGER
of the two amounts here . . . . . .. ... ... . ... 3 y .
4 Maxi dard deduction: If single, enter $2,527
aximum standard deduction: If married filing joint, enter $5,054 4 1 -
5 Compare the amounts on line 3 and line 4.
Enter the SMALLER of the two amounts here and on Side 1, line 15. . . . . . .. 5 y .
If you did not check the box on Side 1, line 6 because no one can { Single, enter $2,527 on Side 1, line 15; OR
claim you (or your spouse, if married) as a dependent, and you are: Married filing joint, enter $5,054 on Side 1, line 15.
Part ” If you (or your spouse, if married) can be claimed as a dependent, enter the following amounts on line 18:
Personal * If single, enter -0-.
Eﬁe”t‘?t'on * If married filing joint and both you and your spouse can be claimed as dependents, enter -0-.
art for
Dependents * If married filing joint and only one of you can be claimed as a dependent, enter $67.
Part ||| You may make a voluntary contribution of $1 or more to the following funds:
Contributions 1 Alzheimer's Disease/Related Disorders Fund . . . . ... ...................... 48P 1 00
2 California Fund for Senior CItiZens. . . . . . . o o ot e 4P 2 00
3 Rare and Endangered Species Preservation Program . . . . . ... .. .. ... 450 3 00
4 State Children’s Trust Fund for the Prevention of Child Abuse . . . ... ............. 4510 4 00
5 California Breast Cancer Research Fund . . . . ... ... ...\ 4520 5 00
6 Veterans Memorial ACCOUNE. . . . . . o v v v vttt e e e e e 4530 6 00
7 California Firefighters' Memorial Fund . . . . . . . ... . ... 454 7 00
8 California Public School Library Protection Fund . . . . . .. ... ................. 455> 8 00
9 D.AR.E. California (Drug Abuse Resistance Education) Fund. . . .. ... ............ 456> 9 00
California Election} 10 Your political party ___ amount ($25 maximum). . ..  » 57 10 00
Campaign Fund 11 Spouse’s political party ___ amount ($25 maximum) . .. P 58 11 00
12 Total contributions. Add line 1 through line 11. Enter here and on Side 1, line 34. . ... ... ... ... 12 00
Due to a tax law change, renter’s credit has been eliminated for 1996.
You may not claim the credit on your personal income tax return.
Do not attach your federal return to this return.
Under penalties of perjury, | declare that | have examined this return and to the best of my knowledge and belief, it is true, correct and complete. 9

Part IV

Your signature Spouse’s signature (if filing joint, both must sign) Date / /
Daytime phone number

Sign Here X X (___ ) ___ -_ ___
It is unlawful to Signature of paid preparer (declaration of preparer is based on all information of which preparer has any knowledge) Preparer's SSN/FEIN
forge a spouse’s

signature. Firm’'s name (or yours if self-employed) Firm’'s address

Wh_ere to IF YOU HAVE A REFUND or NO AMOUNT DUE (Side 1, line 35)

Mail Your . )

Return Mail your return to:

FRANCHISE TAX BOARD, PO BOX 942840, SACRAMENTO CA 94240-0000

IF YOU HAVE AN AMOUNT DUE (Side 1, line 36)
Make a check or money order payable to “Franchise Tax Board” for the full amount you owe. Write your social security number
and “1996 Form 540EZ” on the check or money order. Attach it to your Form 540EZ and mail to:

FRANCHISE TAX BOARD, PO BOX 942867, SACRAMENTO CA 94267-0001

Side 2 Form 540EZ c1 1996



California Resident

FORM

Income Tax Return 1996

540A

Step 1

Name
and
Address

Use the California mailing label. If you do not have the label, please print or type.

Your first name and initial Last name Your:soaaI: security number Do Not Write
. B In These Spaces
If joint return, spouse’s first name and initial Last name Spouse’s social security number
H H o P
Present home address — number and street including PO Box or rural route Apt. no. AC
A
City, town or post office, state and ZIP code R

RP

If your parent(s), or someone else, can claim you (or your spouse, if married) as a dependent on their tax return, even if that

Step 3 person chooses not to, check here . . . . . . . . L e 6[]
Exemptions 7 Personal: If you checked box 1, 3 or 4 above, enter 1. If you checked box 2 or 5, enter 2. If you checked
Do not the box online 6, see page 16 . . . . . . . . . 7
zmgmg"ﬂ 8 Blind: If you (or if married, your spouse) are visually impaired, enter 1. If both are visually impaired, enter 2. . . . 8
the boxes. 9 Senior: If you (or if married, your spouse) are 65 or older, enter 1. If both are 65 or older, enter2 . .. ... ... e 9
Attach check or 10 Dependents: Enter name and relationship. Do not include yourself, your spouse or the person you listed on line 4.
money order here.
Enter the total number of dependents 10
11 Add line 7 through line 10. These are your total exemptions . . . . . . . v v oo 11
Step 4 12 a State wages from your Form(s) W-2, box 17 . . . . . . . . . ... ® 12a
12 b Federal adjusted gross income from your TeleFile Tax Record, line H; Form 1040EZ, line 4; Form 1040A,
Li)é?ﬁ!ee line 16; or Form 1040, line 31. If this amount is over $100,000, STOP; you must file Form 540. . . . . . 12b
13 Total California income adjustments. Enter the amount from Side 2, Part I, line 7 . . .. ... ... ... e 13
14 Subtract line 13 from line 12b. This is your California adjusted gross income. See page 17. . . . .. .. e 14
15 Enter the { « California itemized deductions from line 5 of the worksheet on page 17, or
larger of: L « California standard deduction for your filing status from the chart on page 17. ... .. e 15
16 Subtract line 15 from line 14. This is your taxable income. If less than zero, enter -0-. . . .. ... ... 16
Step 5 17 Tax. Use the tax table or tax rate schedules to find the tax on the amount shown on line 16 . . . . . . 17
18 Exemption credits. If line 14 is less than: $30,000 (single or head of household); $40,000 (married
E?éd?tgd filing joint or qualifying widow(er)); or $20,000 (married filing separate), multiply $67 by the amount
on line 11. Otherwise, see page 18 . . . . . . . . . . o 18

23 Subtract line 18 from line 17. This is your total tax. If less than zero, enter -0-. . . . .. ... ...... ® 23
Step 6 24 California income tax withheld. Enter total from all 1996 Form(s) W-2,
) W-2G and 1099-R. Be sure to attach these forms to the left. . . . . . .. m 24
.?;’frgf'd 25 1996 California estimated tax and amount applied from 1995 return. Include
Tax Due amount paid with extension payment voucher, form FTB 3519. . . . . .. m 25
Wyour 27 Did you or your spouse have at least 2 employers in 1996 who paid
Form(s) W-2, W-2G you more than $31,767 in wages?
and 1099-R here. Yes. See page 19. No.Gotoline28 ............... m 27
28 Add line 24, line 25 and line 27. These are your total payments and credits . . . . ... ......... 28
29 If line 28 is more than line 23, subtract line 23 from line 28. This is your overpaid tax. . . . . ... ... 29
30 Enter the amount of line 29 you want applied to your 1997 estimated tax. . . . ... ... ........ m 30
31 Subtract line 30 from line 29. This is the amount of overpaid tax available this year. . . ... ...... m 31
32 If line 28 is less than line 23, subtract line 28 from line 23. This is the amount of tax due. . ... ... 32
Step 7 34 Total contributions. Enter amount from Side 2, Part Il, line 13 . . . . ... .. ... .. .. ... o 34
35 Subtract line 34 from line 31. Enter the result here and go to Side 2, Part Il to sign your return.
Refund or You have a REFUND of NO AMOUNT DUE . . .+« v v oo oee e oo e =35
You Owe 36 Add line 32 and line 34. Enter the result here and go to Side 2, Part Ill to sign your return.
This is the AMOUNT YOU OWE . . . . . . . . e e e e m 36
37 Underpayment of estimated tax. If form FTB 5805 is attached, check here . . . . .. ... ... .... U w37
38 If you do not need California income tax forms mailed to you next year, check here. . . ... ... o []33

For Privacy Act Notice, see instructions.

Continued on Side 2.
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Part |

California 1 State income tax refund from Form 1040, line 10. See page 16 . . . . . . . . . . . . . ... 1

Income 2 Unemployment compensation from federal TeleFile Tax Record, line D; Form 1040EZ, line 3;

Adjustments Form 1040A, line 12; or Form 1040, line 19. See page 16 . . . . . . . . . . vt i i i 2

See instructions 3. gocial security benefits or tier 1 and tier 2 railroad retirement benefits. See page 16 . . . .. ... ... .. 3
4 California nontaxable interest or dividend income. See page 16 . . . .. ... ... ... ... ... ... .. 4
5 IRA distributions. See page 17. . . . . . . 5
6 Pensions and annuities. See page 17. . . . . . e 6
7 Total California income adjustments. Add line 1 through line 6. Enter here and on Side 1, line 13 . . .. 7

Part Il

Contributions 1 Contribution to California Seniors Special Fund. See page 19 . . ... ......... .. ... 447 1

You may make a contribution of $1 or more to the following funds:

2 Alzheimer's Disease/Related Disorders Fund . . . . . . . ... i «448p 2 00
3 California Fund for Senior CItiZens. . . . . . o v v vt <449p» 3 00
4 Rare and Endangered Species Preservation Program . . . . ... ... .. . ... ... ... 45 > 4 00
5 State Children’s Trust Fund for the Prevention of Child Abuse . . . . ... ............ 4510 5 00
6 California Breast Cancer Research FUNA . . . . . . . oo oo e et e e 4520 6 00
7 Veterans Memorial ACCOUNL. . . . . v v v v v oo e e e e e 4530 7 00
8 California Firefighters' Memorial Fund . . . . . . . . .. oo 454p 8 00
9 California Public School Library Protection Fund . . . . . . ... ... ..ot 4550 9 00
10 D.AR.E. California (Drug Abuse Resistance Education) Fund. . . . .. ... ........... <45 > 10 00
California Election} 11 Your political party amount ($25 maximum). . . . B 57 11 00
Campaign Fund 12 Spouse’s political party amount ($25 maximum) . .. P 58 12 00
13 Total contributions. Add line 1 through line 12. Enter here and on Side 1, line 34 . . . .. ... ... ... 13
Do not attach your federal return to this return.
P art ”I Under lpenalties of perjury, | declare that | have examined this return anq to the bles.t.of my knowledge anq belief, it is true, correct and complete. 9
Your signature Spouse’s signature (if filing joint, both must sign) Date / /
Daytime phone number
Sign Here X X (__)___-____
s unlawu Signature of paid preparer (declaration of preparer is based on all information of which preparer has any knowledge) Preparer's SSN/FEIN
forIZeug a;pt;Just;.)’s
signature. Firm's name (or yours if self-employed) Firm's address
Where to IF YOU HAVE A REFUND or NO AMOUNT DUE (Side 1, line 35)
Mail Your Mail your retumn to:
Return

FRANCHISE TAX BOARD, PO BOX 942840, SACRAMENTO CA 94240-0000

IF YOU HAVE AN AMOUNT DUE (Side 1, line 36)
Make a check or money order payable to “Franchise Tax Board” for the full amount you owe. Write your social security number
and “1996 Form 540A” on the check or money order. Attach it to your Form 540A and mail to:

FRANCHISE TAX BOARD, PO BOX 942867, SACRAMENTO CA 94267-0001

Due to a tax law change, renter’s credit has been eliminated for 1996.
You may not claim the credit on your personal income tax return.

e Be sure to file your return by April 15, 1997.

< If you cannot file your return by April 15, 1997 and owe tax, be sure to
complete form FTB 3519, Payment Voucher for Automatic Extension
for Individuals, and pay the amount you owe by April 15, 1997 to avoid
late payment penalties and interest.

Do not attach a copy of your federal return.

Use the preprinted label if you received one. If the information is not
correct, make the necessary corrections in ink. If you did not receive a
label, print or type your name, social security number, and address in
Step 1.

Side 2 Form 540A c1 1996



Instructions for California Resident Income Tax Return — Form 540A

These instructions are based on the Internal Revenue Code (IRC) as of January 1, 1993, and the California Revenue and Taxation Code (R&TC).

Before
You
Begin

You must complete your federal income tax return

(Form 1040, Form 1040A or Form 1040EZ) before you
begin your Form 540A. You will use the information you
entered on your federal income tax return to complete your
Form 540A.

Step 1
Name and
Address

If there is a label on the front of your booklet:

1. Complete your blue Form 540A before you remove the
address label from the front of your booklet.

2. Check your math and the amounts entered to make
sure that they are correct.

3. Remove your address label from the front of your book-
let and attach it on the front of your Form 540A in the
space provided at the top.

4. Make sure the information on your address label is cor-
rect. If you need to make any changes, draw a line in
ink through the incorrect information and clearly print the
new information.

If there is no label, print or type your name, social security
number, and address in the space provided at the top of
Form 540A.

If you file a joint return, show social security numbers in the
same order as you show your names.

Step 2
Filing
Status

L, ]

218

Check only one of the boxes on line 1 through line 5. Be
sure to enter the required information if you check a box on
line 3, line 4 or line 5.

Your filing status for California must be the same as the
filing status you used on your federal income tax return.

Exception: Married taxpayers who file a joint federal
income tax return may file either a joint return or separate
returns if either spouse was:

® An active member of the United States armed forces or
any auxiliary military branch during 1996; or

® A nonresident for the entire year and had no income
from California sources during 1996.

However, if you file a joint return and if either spouse was a
nonresident in 1996, you must file Form 540NR, California
Nonresident or Part-Year Resident Income Tax Return.

Line 1 — Single. You may check the box on line 1 if any of the

following was true on December 31, 1996:

® You were never married;

® You were legally separated under a decree of divorce or
of separate maintenance; or

® You were widowed before January 1, 1996 and did not
remarry in 1996.

Line 2 — Married Filing Joint Return. ~ You may check the box on

line 2 if any of the following is true:

® You were married as of December 31, 1996, even if you
did not live with your spouse at the end of 1996;

® Your spouse died in 1996 and you did not remarry in
1996; or

® Your spouse died in 1997 before filing a 1996 return.

Line 3 — Married Filing Separate Return.  If you check the box on

line 3 be sure to enter your spouse’s name on line 3 and
social security number in “Step 1.” Also, if you file a sepa-
rate return, you cannot take the standard deduction if your
spouse itemizes deductions. For more information on how
to report income and deductions, get FTB Pub. 1051A,
Guidelines for Married Filing Separate Returns.

Note: You may be able to file as head of household if you
had a child living with you and you lived apart from your
spouse during the last 6 months of 1996.

Line 4 — Head of household. This filing status is for unmarried indi-

viduals who provide a home for certain other persons. You
may check the box on line 4 if you were unmarried or
legally separated as of December 31, 1996, and:

® You paid over half the cost of keeping up a home that

was the main home for all of 1996 of your parent whom
you can claim as a dependent. Your parent must have
been a U.S. citizen or resident, a resident of Canada or
a resident of Mexico. Your parent did not have to live
with you in your home; or

® You paid over half the cost of keeping up a home in
which you lived and in which one of the following also
lived for more than half of the year (temporary
absences, such as for school or vacations, count as
time lived in the home):

1. Your unmarried child, grandchild, great-grandchild,
etc., stepchild or adopted child. This child does not
have to be your dependent. If this child is not your
dependent, be sure to enter that child’s name in the
space provided on line 4.

Note: Your foster child must be your dependent and
must have lived with you the entire year.

2. Your married child, grandchild, great-grandchild,
etc., stepchild or adopted child. This child must be
your dependent. But if your married child’s other par-
ent claims him or her as a dependent under the
rules for children of divorced or separated parents,
this child does not have to be your dependent. Refer
to the instructions for federal Form 1040 or Form
1040A for more information about children of
divorced or separated parents.

3. Any other relative you can claim as a dependent. A
relative is:

® Your child; stepchild; adopted child; a child who

lived in your home as a family member if placed

with you by an authorized placement agency for

legal adoption; or a foster child (any child who

lived in your home as a family member for the

whole year).

Your grandchild, great-grandchild, etc.

Your son-in-law, daughter-in-law.

Your parent, stepparent, parent-in-law.

Your grandparent, great-grandparent, etc.

Your brother, sister, half brother, half sister, step-

brother, stepsister, brother-in-law, sister-in-law.

® |f related by blood, your aunt, uncle, nephew,
niece.

Note: Any relationships established by marriage are
not treated as ended by divorce or death.

Married persons who live apart.  Even if you were not
divorced or legally separated in 1996, you may be consid-
ered unmarried and file as head of household. You can
take the standard deduction even if your spouse itemizes
deductions. You may check the box on line 4 if all five of
the following apply:

1. You file a separate return from your spouse; and

2. You lived apart from your spouse during the last 6
months of 1996; and

3. You paid over half the cost of keeping up your home for
1996; and

4. Your home was the main home of your child, adopted
child or stepchild, for more than half of 1996 or the main
home of your foster child for the entire year; and

5. You claim this child as your dependent or the child’s
other parent claims him or her. If this child is not your
dependent, be sure to enter the child’s name on line 4.
Note: If this child is your foster child, the child must be
your dependent.

Get FTB Pub. 1540, Tax Information for Head of House-
hold, for more information.
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Instructions: Form 540A

F.A.S.T. 1-800-338-0505

Line 5 — Qualifying widow(er) with dependent child. You may
check the box on line 5 and use the joint return tax rates for
1996 if all five of the following apply:

1. Your spouse died in 1994 or 1995 and you did not
remarry in 1996; and

2. You have a child, stepchild, adopted child, or foster
child whom you can claim as a dependent; and

3. This child lived in your home for all of 1996. Temporary
absences, such as for vacation or school, count as time
lived in the home; and

4. You paid over half the cost of keeping up your home for
this child; and

5. You could have filed a joint return with your spouse the
year he or she died, even if you actually did not do so.

Note: If your spouse died in 1996, you may not file as a
qualifying widow(er) with dependent child. Instead see the
instructions for line 2.

Step 3

Exemptions

Line 6 — Dependent Check Box
- Check the box on line 6 if your parent (or someone else)
can claim you as a dependent on his or her tax return. For
601 example, if your parents (or someone else) could claim you
as a dependent on their return but they chose not to claim
you, you must check the box on line 6.

Line 7 — Personal Exemptions
Did you check the box on line 6?

No Follow the instructions on Form 540A, line 7.

Yes Ignore the instruction on Form 540A, line 7. Instead,
enter on line 7 the amount shown below for your fil-
ing status:

® Single or married filing separate, enter -0-;

® Head of household, enter -0-;

® Married filing joint and both you and your spouse
can be claimed as dependents, enter -0-; or

® Married filing joint and only one spouse can be
claimed as a dependent, enter 1.

Line 8 — Blind Exemptions
The first year you claim this exemption credit, you must
attach a doctor’s statement to the back of Form 540A indi-
cating you or your spouse are visually impaired. Visually
impaired means you cannot see better than 20/200 while
wearing glasses or contact lenses, or that your field of
vision is not more than 20 degrees.

Caution: An individual who is someone else’s dependent
may not claim this credit.

Line 9 — Senior Exemptions
If you are 65 years of age or older, you should claim an
additional exemption credit on line 9. If you are married,
each spouse 65 years of age or older should claim an addi-
tional credit.

Caution: An individual who is someone else’s dependent
may not claim this credit.

Line 10 — Dependent Exemptions

To claim an exemption credit for each of your dependents,
write each dependent’s name and relationship to you in the
space provided. Do not list the same person you listed on
line 4. Count the number of dependents listed and enter the
total on line 10.

The persons you list as dependents on your Form 540A
must be the same persons you listed as dependents on
your federal income tax return.

Line 12a — State Wages

Enter the total amount of your state wages from all states
from each of your Form(s) W-2. This amount should be on
Form W-2, box 17.

Line 13 — California Income Adjustments

California does not tax certain types of income that are
taxable on your federal return. In addition, there may be dif-
ferences between the taxable amounts of federal and Cali-
fornia IRA distributions, pensions and annuities. For more
information, see the instructions for Side 2, Part I.

Step 4 Refer to your completed federal income tax return to com-
Taxable plete “Step 4.”
Income

Side 2, Part | — California Income Adjustments

Part I,

Line 1 — State Income Tax Refund

Part I,

Enter the amount of any state income tax refund shown on
your federal Form 1040, line 10. If you filed Form 1040A or
1040EZ, enter -0- on line 1.

Line 2 — Unemployment Compensation

Part I,

Enter the amount of any unemployment compensation
shown on your federal TeleFile Tax Record, line D;

Form 1040EZ, line 3; Form 1040A, line 12; or Form 1040,
line 19.

Line 3 — Social Security Benefits — (and tier 1 or tier 2 railroad

Part I,

retirement benefits)

Enter the total of any of these amounts shown on your
federal return.

® Social security benefits and equivalent tier 1 railroad
retirement benefits reported on federal Form 1040A,
line 13b; or Form 1040, line 20b;

® Tier 1 (non social security equivalent) and tier 2 railroad
retirement benefits reported on federal Form 1040A,
line 11b; or Form 1040, line 16b.

If you filed Form 1040EZ, enter -0- on line 3.

Line 4 — California Nontaxable Interest or Dividend Income

If you received interest from municipal or state bonds from
a state other than California, you may not use Form 540A.
You must use Form 540.

California does not tax interest earned from:

® United States savings bonds;

® United States treasury bills; and

® Bonds or obligations of the United States and U.S. terri-
tories, and government agency obligations specifically
exempted by federal law.

Enter only the amount of interest that you received from
these sources and that you included in the amount
reported on your federal Form 1040A, line 8a, or

Form 1040, line 8a, or Form 1040EZ, line 2.

Do not enter the amount of interest that you earned on
Federal National Mortgage Association (Fannie Mae)
Bonds, Government National Mortgage Association (Ginnie
Mae) Bonds, and Federal Home Loan Mortgage Corpora-
tion (FHLMC) securities. This interest is taxed by California.

Certain mutual funds are qualified to pay “exempt-interest
dividends” if at least 50% of their assets consist of tax-
exempt government obligations. The portion of the divi-
dends that is tax-exempt will be shown on your annual
statement from the mutual fund.

If the amount of California tax-exempt interest is more than
the amount of federal tax-exempt interest, enter the differ-
ence on line 4. If the amount of California tax-exempt inter-
est is less than the amount of federal tax-exempt interest,
you may not use Form 540A. You must use Form 540.
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Part I,
Line 5 — Individual Retirement Account (IRA) Distributions California Standard Deduction Chart for Most People
The method of taxing IRA distributions is generally the Do not use this chart if your parent(s), or someone else, can claim
same for California and federal purposes. However, there you (or your spouse, if married) as a dependent on their tax return.
may be significant differences in the taxable amount Your Eiling Stat Enter On Line 15
depending on when you made your contributions. Before our Fing otatus nter Un Liné
1987, the maximum IRA contribution you were allowed to 1-Single . ... ... . . $2,527
deduct from California income was less than the maximum 2 — Married filing jointreturn. . . . . ... ... L $5,054
amount you were allowed to deduct from federal income. 3 - Married filing separate return. . . . .. ......... $2,527
For this reason, the amount of your IRA distribution taxed 4—Head of household. . . ... ... ... ... . ..... $5,054
]?ydCalliflornia may be different than the amount taxed under 5 — Qualifying Widow(er) . . . . .. o $5,054
ederal law. . .
Report the difference between your California and your fed- ;\lc:jte. IThte ((:jaln:?r(;u::l]| st?ndard dedtjctlon amounts are less than the
eral taxable IRA distributions on line 5. Be sure to attach ederal standard deduction amounts.
Form 1099-R to your Form 540A. Get FTB Pub. 1005,
Pension and Annuity Guidelines, for more information. California Standard Deduction Worksheet for Dependents
Part |, ) . Use this worksheet only if your parent(s), or someone else, can
Line 6 — Pensions and Annuities S . claim you as a dependent on their tax return.
A b e ST 1. Enter your earned income from line 1 of the federal
sharing or retirement plan, you may pay less tax on the o Y . "
distribution if you choose the 5-year or 10-year averaging Standard Deduction Worksheet for Dependents
method. However, you must file Form 540 to use these found in the instructions for federal Form 1040A
methods. Get the instructions for Form 540 and Schedule or Form 1040; or line A of the worksheet found
G-1, Tax on Lump-Sum Distributions (not in this booklet), on the back of federal Form 1040EZ. . . . . .. 1
37 e [T 2. Minimum standard deduction . . . ... ... .. 2_$650.00
If your annuity starting date was after 7/1/86 and before 3. Compare the amounts on line 1 and line 2.
f1/1/(E§7|.z;1nd if you elected tokuse the(:j 3-year regovew rule Enter the larger of the two amounts here. . . . 3
or California, you must make an adjustment because your -
federal taxable amount is less than your California taxable 4. Enter the amount shown below for your filing status.
amount. Figure the difference between the gross distribu- ® Single or married filing separate,
tion shown on your Form 1099-R, box 1 and the taxable enter $2,527 .. 4
amount shown in box 2a. Enter the difference in parenthe- * Married filing joint, head of household
ses on line 6. For example: “(12,325).” Combine line 1 or qualifying widow(er), enter $5,054
through line 6. If H‘e result li_s Ie§s th da” zgsr%, e{‘t?.r thi3 | 5. Standard deduction. Compare the amounts on
amount in parentheses on line 7 and on Side 1, line 13. In : :
this case orrJﬂy, treat the amount on line 13 as a positive line 3 and line 4. Enter the smaller .Of the two
number and add it to the amount on line 12. amounts here and on Form 5404, line 15. . .. 5
Step 4 (Continued) California Itemized Deductions Worksheet
. I . 1. Enter your total itemized deductions from
Line 14 — California Adjusted Gross Income federal Schedule A. line 28 1
Subtract line 13 from line 12b. Enter the result on line 14. If P Em
the result is less than zero, enter the amount in parenthe- 2. Add these amounts from federal Schedule A
ses. For example: “(12,325).” and enter on line 2:
Line 15 — Standard Deduction OR Itemized Deductions * Ll_ne 5 state and local |nc.ome tax and State
. ! Disability Insurance (SDI):
You must decide whether to take the standard deduction or « Line 8. foreian income taxes: 2
to itemize your actual charitable contributions, medical ' Y ’ e
expenses, interest paid, taxes, etc. Your California income 3. Subtract line 2 from line 1. This amount is your
tax will be less if you take the larger of: total California itemized deductions . . . . . 3
® Your California itemized deductions; or 4. Enter the standard deduction for your filing
* Your California standard deduction. status as shown on the “California Standard
If you are married and file a separate return, both you and Deduction Chart for Most People.” If your
your spouse must either itemize your deductions or take the parent(s), or someone else, can claim you as a
standard deduction. dependent on their tax return, complete the
Itemized deductions. Figure your California itemized “California Standard Deduction Worksheet for
deductions by completing the California ltemized Deduc- Dependents” above. Enter the amount from line 5
tions Worksheet on this page. Enter the result on of that worksheet on line 4 of this worksheet . 4
Form 540A, line 15. . .
] . N ) 5. Compare the amounts on line 3 and line 4.
Note: If you did not itemize deductions on your federal Enter the larger of the two amounts here
income tax return but will itemize deductions for your and on Form 540A. line 15 5
California Form 540A, first complete a federal Schedule A, P Y

Itemized Deductions. Then complete the California Itemized
Deductions Worksheet on this page. Do not attach federal

Schedule A to this return. Step 5 First figure your tax. Be sure to use the correct filing status
Standard deduction. Most people can find their standard Tax and and taxable income amount. Then make sure you qualify to
deduction by looking at the California Standard Deduction Credits claim your credits.
Chart for Most People to the right. But, if you checked the Line 17 — Tax
box on Form 540A, line 6, you must use the Standard B
Deduction Worksheet for D)t/apendents on this page. TfOtEgUffe”yo!Jf tax %f]l tge amount shown on line 16, use one
of the following methods:
® Tax Table. If your taxable income on line 16 is $50,000
or less, you must use the tax table on page 44 through
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Instructions: Form 540A

F.A.S.T. 1-800-338-0505

page 46. Be sure you use the correct column in the tax
table.

® Tax Rate Schedule. If your taxable income on line 16 is
over $50,000, you must use the tax rate schedules on
page 46.

Line 18 — Exemption Credits

Exemption credits may reduce your tax. Answer the ques-
tions below and complete a worksheet if necessary to figure
the amount of exemption credit you may use to reduce your
tax.

Question 1:
Is the amount on line 14 more than:

® $30,000 if single or head of household;
® $40,000 if married filing joint or qualifying widow(er); or
® $20,000 if married filing separate?

No  Multiply the amount from line 11 by $67. Enter the
result on line 18 and continue to line 23.
Yes Go to Question 2.

Question 2:
Did you claim the standard deduction on line 15?

Yes Complete the Exemption Credit Worksheet for Tax-
payers Claiming the Standard Deduction, below.
No  Go to Question 3.

Question 3:
Did you have either of the following?

® Investment interest expense 226, or
® Charitable contribution deduction for appreciated
property (@) 224.

No  Complete the Exemption Credit Worksheet for Tax-
payers Claiming Itemized Deductions, to the right.
You may not use Form 540A. You must use

Form 540, and you may need to complete
Schedule P (540), Alternative Minimum Tax and
Credit Limitations — Residents. See page 47 of this
booklet for information about ordering forms.

Yes

N =

o o1

Exemption Credit Worksheet for
Taxpayers Claiming the Standard Deduction

. Enter the amount from Form 540A, line 17 . . 1
. Enter the amount from Form 540A, line 14 . . 2
. Enter the amount for your filing status on line 3:

Single or head of household . . . . . .. $30,000
Married filing joint or qualifying widow(er) ~ $40,000
Married filing separate . . . .. ... .. $20,000
3
. Subtract line 3 from line 2. If zero or less,
enter-0- .. ... ... .

4
.Multiply line4 by .07. . .. ............ 5
. Subtract line 5 from line 1 6
. Multiply the amount from Form 540A,

line 11 by $67 . ... ... .. ... ........ 7

Yes

No

.Is line 7 less than line 6?

Enter the amount from line 7 on Form 540A, line 18 and
continue to Form 540A, line 23.

You may not use Form 540A.You must use Form 540.
See page 25.

line 6,

Exemption Credit Worksheet for
Taxpayers Claiming Itemized Deductions

A. Enter the amount from Form 540A, line 17. . . . A
B. Enter the smaller of federal Schedule A, line 4

(medical and dental expense) or 2%.% of

Form 1040, line 32 (federal AGI) . . . . ... .. B
C. Enter personal property and real property taxes

paid and included on federal Schedule A,

line 7 or line 8

D. Enter certain interest on a home mortgage not

used to buy, build or improve your home. @223 D
E. Enter miscellaneous itemized deductions from

federal Schedule A, line 26 and line 27
F. Add line B through line E
G. Enter any refund of personal property tax or real

property tax included on federal Form 1040,

line 10. Do not enter your state income tax refund G
H. Subtract the amount on line G from the amount

onlineF . ... .. ... H
I.  Enter the amount from Form 540A, line 16. . . . . |
J. AddlineHandlinel ................ J
K. Enter the amount for your filing status on line K:

Single or head of household. . . . . .. $30,000

Married filing joint or qualifying widow(er) $40,000

Married filing separate . . . . . ... .. $20,000

K

L. Subtract line K from line J. If zero or less,

enter-0-. . . ... ... L
M. Multiply lineL by .07. . ... ........... M
N. Subtract line M fromline A . . . ... ... ... N
O. Multiply the amount from Form 540A,

line 11by$67 . . .......... ... .... 0

P. Is line O less than line N?

Yes  Enter the amount from line O on Form 540A, line 18 and
continue to Form 540A, line 23.
No  You may not use Form 540A. You must use Form 540 and
you may need to complete Schedule P (540), Alternative
Minimum Tax and Credit Limitations — Residents. See
page 47 of this booklet for information about ordering forms.
Step 6 To avoid a delay in the processing of your return, be sure
Overpaid you enter the correct amounts on line 24 through line 32.
Tax or
Tax Due

Line 24 — California Income Tax Withheld

-

205

L,

204

Enter on line 24 the total amount shown as California
income tax withheld on your Form(s) W-2 in box 18;
Form(s) W-2G in box 14; or Form 1099-R in box 10.

Caution: Do not include local tax withheld or tax withheld
by other states.

If you received a Form 1099 showing California income tax
withheld (“backup withholding”) on dividends and interest
income, include the amount withheld in the total on line 24.

If you do not have a Form W-2, see the instructions for
“Sign Your Return” on page 32.

Line 25 — 1996 California Estimated Tax, Amount Applied From

1995 Return and Payment Made with Extension Pay-
ment Voucher

Enter the total of any:

® California estimated tax payments you made
(Form 540-ES) for 1996;

® Overpayment from your 1995 California income tax
return applied to your 1996 estimated tax; and

® Payment you sent with form FTB 3519, Payment
Voucher for Automatic Extension for Individuals.
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Instructions: Form 540A

If you and your spouse paid joint estimated tax but are now
filing separate returns, either of you may claim all of the
amount paid or you may each claim part of it.

Attach a statement, signed by you and your spouse,
explaining how you want your payments divided. Be sure to
show both social security numbers on your separate
returns. If you or your spouse made separate estimated tax
payments, but you are now filing a joint income tax return,
add the amounts you each paid. Attach a statement to the
front of Form 540A explaining that payments have been
made under both social security numbers.

Line 27 — Excess California SDI (or VPDI) Withheld

If more than $254.14 of California State Disability Insurance
(SDI) or Voluntary Plan Disability Insurance (VPDI) was
withheld from your wages by a single employer, or if an
employer withheld SDI (or VPDI) at a rate of more than
0.8% of your gross wages, you may not claim excess SDI
(or VPDI) on your Form 540A, line 27. Contact the
employer for a refund.

You may claim a credit for excess SDI (or VPDI) only if:

® You had two or more employers during 1996;

® You received more than $31,767 in wages during 1996
from these employers;

® Your employers combined withheld more than $254.14
of SDI (or VPDI) from your wages; and

® The amounts of SDI (or VPDI) withheld appear on your
Forms W-2. Be sure to attach your Forms W-2 to your
return.

Complete the worksheet below to figure the amount to enter
on line 27. If you are married and file a joint return, you
must figure the amount of excess SDI (or VPDI) separately
for each spouse .
| Your
You | Spouse

1. Add amounts of SDI (or VPDI) |
withheld shown on your Forms |
W-2. Enter the total here. . . .

|
2. 1996 SDI (or VPDI) limit . . .. _$254.14 $254.14

3. Excess SDI (or VPDI) with- |
held. Subtract line 2 from |
line 1. Enter the result here
and on Form 540A, line 27 . . |

Note: If zero or less, enter -0- on line 27.

Line 29 — Overpaid Tax

If the amount on line 28 is more than the amount on

line 23, your payments and credits are more than your tax.
Subtract the amount on line 23 from the amount on line 28.
Enter the result on line 29. This is the amount of your over-
paid tax.

If the amount on line 28 is less than the amount on line 23,
go to line 32.

Line 30 — Amount You Want Applied To Your 1997 Estimated Tax

If you pay estimated tax, you may apply $5.00 or more of
the amount on line 29 to your 1997 estimated tax. Enter on
line 30 the amount of line 29 you want applied to your 1997
estimated tax.

Line 31 — Amount of Overpaid Tax Available This Year

If you entered an amount on line 30, subtract that amount
from line 29. Enter the result on line 31. You may choose to
have this entire amount refunded to you or you may make
contributions to the California Seniors Special Fund or make
voluntary contributions from this amount. If you choose to
make contributions, skip line 32 and go to the instructions
for “Step 7.”

Line 32 — Tax Due
If the amount on line 28 is less than the amount on line 23,
your tax is more than your payments and credits. Subtract
the amount on line 28 from the amount on line 23. Enter
the result on line 32. This is the amount of your tax due.

There is a penalty for not paying enough tax during the
year. You may have to pay a penalty if:

® The tax due on line 32 is $100 or more; and
® The amount of state income tax withheld on line 24 is
less than 80% of the amount of your total tax on line 23.

If you owe a penalty, the Franchise Tax Board will compute
the penalty and send you a bill.

You may make contributions to the California Seniors Spe-
cial Fund or make voluntary contributions by adding them to
the tax due. You must pay the full amount of tax due,
including contributions, when you file your Form 540A.

Step 7
Refund or

Amount
You Owe

Be sure to add or subtract carefully to figure the amount of
your refund or the amount you owe.

Contributions

You may make contributions to the California Seniors Spe-
cial Fund or you may make voluntary contributions of $1 or
more in whole dollar amounts to the other funds listed in
Part Il. If you make one or more contributions, you must
complete Side 2, Part Il. You may contribute only to the
funds listed in Part Il and cannot change the amount you
contributed after you file your return.

Side 2, Part Il — Contributions

Part Il

Line 1 — Contribution to California Seniors Special Fund

Part I,

If you or your spouse claim the senior exemption credit on
line 9, you may each make a contribution of up to $67 to
the California Seniors Special Fund. Your contribution will
be used to support the work of the Area Agency on Aging
Council of California in its role as an advocate for Califor-
nia Seniors. All contributions over those needed for this
work will be used to provide direct services to seniors such
as meals, adult day care and transportation. The actual
use of the funds will be determined at the local level by the
Area Agency on Aging, its Advisory Council of Seniors and
the senior community. On line 1, enter the amount of your
contribution (if you contribute, do not enter more than $67;
if you and your spouse contribute, do not enter more than
$134).

Line 2 — Alzheimer's Disease/Related Disorders Fund

Part 11,

Contributions entered on line 2 will be used to conduct a
systematic program for researching the cause and cure of
Alzheimer’s disease and related disorders and research
into the care and treatment of persons suffering from
dementing illnesses.

Line 3 — California Fund for Senior Citizens

Part Il,

Contributions entered on line 3 will be used by the Califor-
nia Fund for Senior Citizens which supports direct services
to seniors and the work of the California Senior Legislature.
The California Senior Legislature is non-partisan, volunteer,
grass roots body of seniors 60 years of age or older,
elected by their peers. The California Senior Legislature
has been instrumental in creating and steering senior legis-
lation through the regular legislature; legislation, such as:
Alzheimer Studies and Research; Adult Day Health Care
Centers; nutrition centers; respite care; long term care; the
funding and broadening of In Home Support Services; pro-
grams to abolish abuse of seniors; skilled nursing facility
reforms; and many more. All donations over those needed
to carry out the California Senior Legislature’s work, will be
distributed for direct services to needy seniors.

Line 4 — Rare and Endangered Species Preservation

Program

Contributions entered on line 4 will be used to help protect
and conserve California’s many threatened and endan-
gered species and the wild lands that they need to survive,
for the enjoyment and benefit of you and future genera-
tions of Californians.
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Instructions: Form 540A

F.A.S.T. 1-800-338-0505

Part II,
Line 5 —

Part II,
Line 6 —

Part I,
Line 7 —

Part I,
Line 8 —

Part Il

State Children’s Trust Fund for the Prevention of
Child Abuse

Contributions entered on line 5 will be used to fund pro-
grams for the prevention, intervention and treatment of
child abuse and neglect.

California Breast Cancer Research Fund

Contributions entered on line 6 will be used to conduct
research relating to the prevention, screening, cure and
treatment of breast cancer.

Veterans Memorial Account

Contributions entered on line 7 will be used to pay for the
construction, improvement, maintenance or repair of a
veterans memorial and an information program about the
memorial.

California Firefighters’ Memorial Fund

Contributions entered on line 8 will be used for the con-
struction of a memorial on the grounds of the State Capitol
honoring the hundreds of firefighters who have died pro-
tecting our neighborhoods, our homes, our families and our
dreams. These brave men and women answered the call
when fire alarms sounded or when hazardous, cancer-
causing elements needed to be removed, and their sacri-
fices and the sacrifices of their families deserve to be
remembered.

Line 9 — California Public School Library Protection Fund

Part Il

Contributions entered on line 9 will be expended for the
purchase of books and other library resources through
grants awarded for implementing a school library improve-
ment plan.

Line 10 — D.A.R.E. California (Drug Abuse Resistance Education)

Part II,
Line 11 &

Fund

Contributions entered on line 10 will be used to support
local D.A.R.E. programs and provide proven effective,
in-classroom anti-drug, anti-gang and anti-violence educa-
tion for California school children.

Line 12 — California Election Campaign Fund

Part Il,

You may make a contribution of $1, $5, $10 or $25 to one
of these political parties: American Independent, Demo-
cratic, Green, Libertarian, Natural Law, Peace and Free-
dom, Reform or Republican. If you contribute, enter the
party name in the space provided on line 11, and enter the
amount of your contribution.

If your spouse contributes to the California Election
Campaign Fund, enter the name of the political party and
contribution amount on line 12. You and your spouse may
each contribute a maximum of $25.

Line 13 — Total Contributions

Add all contributions you entered on line 1 through line 12.
Enter the result on Side 2, Part Il, line 13, and on your
Form 540A, line 34.

Line 35 — Refund Or No Amount Due

If you did not enter an amount on line 34, enter the amount
from line 31 on line 35. This is the amount that will be
refunded to you. If the amount is less than $1, attach a writ-
ten request to your Form 540A to receive the refund.

If you entered an amount on line 34, subtract that amount
from the amount on line 31. If the result is zero or more,
enter the result on line 35. Then skip to the instructions for
line 37.

If the result is less than zero, your contributions are more
than your overpaid tax available on line 31. In this case, do
not enter an amount on line 35. Instead, subtract the
amount on line 31 from the amount on line 34. Enter the
result on line 36 and see the instructions for line 36.

Line 36 — Amount You Owe

If you did not enter an amount on line 34, enter the amount
from line 32 on line 36. This is the amount you owe with
your Form 540A.

If you entered an amount on line 34, add that amount to the
amount on line 32. Enter the result on line 36. This is the
amount you owe with your Form 540A.

® Make your check or money order payable to the “Fran-
chise Tax Board” for the full amount you owe. Do not
send cash. Be sure to write your social security number
and “1996 Form 540A” on your check or money order.

® Attach the check or money order to the front of your
Form 540A in the area below the words “Step 3,
Exemptions.”

® When you mail your Form 540A and payment, make
sure the check or money order is not covered up by
your Form(s) W-2 or any other items.

A penalty may be imposed if your check is returned by your
bank for insufficient funds. To avoid a late filing penalty, file
your Form 540A by the due date even if you cannot pay the
amount you owe.

Do not include any estimated tax payment for 1997 in your
check or money order. Mail any estimated tax payment in
an envelope separate from the one you use to pay the
amount you owe for 1996.

Line 37 — Underpayment of Estimated Tax

You may owe a penalty if:

® Line 32 is $100 ($50 if married filing separate) or more
and more than 20% of the tax shown on line 23; or

® You underpaid your 1996 estimated tax liability for any
payment period. The Franchise Tax Board can figure
the penalty for you when you file your return and send
you a hill. Or if you want, get form FTB 5805, Underpay-
ment of Estimated Tax by Individuals and Fiduciaries, to
see if you owe a penalty and to figure the amount. If
you complete form FTB 5805, enter the amount of the
penalty on line 37 and check the box at line 37. You
must complete and attach form FTB 5805 if you claim a
waiver or use the annualized income installment
method.

Note: Do not reduce the amount on line 29 or increase the
amount on line 32 by any penalty or interest amounts.

Line 38 — 1997 Tax Forms

If your Form 540A is prepared by someone else, or if you
do not need forms mailed to you next year, check the box
at line 38.

Step 7 (continued)

Line 34 —

Total Contributions

On line 34, enter the amount of your total contributions from
Side 2, Part II, line 13. If you did not complete Part Il, do
not enter an amount on line 34.

If you show an amount on line 31, you must subtract the
amount you contribute from the amount of overpaid tax.

If you show an amount on line 32, you must add the
amount you contribute to your tax due.

Part Il — Sign Your Return

Sign your return on Form 540A, Side 2, Part Ill. Then mail
your return to the Franchise Tax Board on or before the
due date. For further information, see page 32.
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California Resident

FORM

Income Tax Return 1996

540A

Use the California mailing label. If you do not have the label, please print or type.

Your first name and initial Last name Your:social: security number Do Not Write
Step 1 . " In These Spaces
Name If joint return, spouse’s first name and initial Last name Spouse’s social security number
and N : d
Address Present home address — number and street including PO Box or rural route A[.JK. no.. AC
A
City, town or post office, state and ZIP code R
RP
Step 2 1 O Single
™ 2 O Married filing joint return (even if only one spouse had income)
M 3 [ Married filing separate return. Enter spouse’s social security number above and full name here
Check only one. 4 [ Head of household (with qualifying person). if the qualifying person is a child but not your dependent, enter child’s name
5 [ Qualifying widow(er) with dependent child. Enter year spouse died 19
6 If your parent(s), or someone else, can claim you (or your spouse, if married) as a dependent on their tax return, even if that
Step 3 person chooses not to, check here . . . . . . . . L e 6[]
Exemptions 7 Personal: If you checked box 1, 3 or 4 above, enter 1. If you checked box 2 or 5, enter 2. If you checked
Do not the box online 6, see page 16 . . . . . . . . . 7
gmiLrﬂg"ﬁ 8 Blind: If you (or if married, your spouse) are visually impaired, enter 1. If both are visually impaired, enter 2. . . . 8
the boxes. 9 Senior: If you (or if married, your spouse) are 65 or older, enter 1. If both are 65 or older, enter 2 . . . . ... .. e 9
Attach check or 10 Dependents: Enter name and relationship. Do not include yourself, your spouse or the person you listed on line 4.
money order here.
Enter the total number of dependents 10
11 Add line 7 through line 10. These are your total exemptions . . . . . . . v v oo 11
Step 4 12 a State wages from your Form(s) W-2, box 17 . . . . . . . . . ... ® 12a
12 b Federal adjusted gross income from your TeleFile Tax Record, line H; Form 1040EZ, line 4; Form 1040A,
ﬁ’éﬁf line 16; or Form 1040, line 31. If this amount is over $100,000, STOP; you must file Form 540. . . . . . 12b
13 Total California income adjustments. Enter the amount from Side 2, Part I, line 7 . . .. ... ... ... e 13
14 Subtract line 13 from line 12b. This is your California adjusted gross income. See page 17. . . . .. .. e 14
15 Enter the { « California itemized deductions from line 5 of the worksheet on page 17, or
larger of: L « California standard deduction for your filing status from the chart on page 17. ... .. e 15
16 Subtract line 15 from line 14. This is your taxable income. If less than zero, enter -0-. . . .. ... ... 16
Step 5 17 Tax. Us.e the th tablg or tax. rate schedules to find Fhe tax on the amount shown on line 16 SRR 17
18 Exemption credits. If line 14 is less than: $30,000 (single or head of household); $40,000 (married
-(r:?z)e(d?tgd filing joint or qualifying widow(er)); or $20,000 (married filing separate), multiply $67 by the amount
on line 11. Otherwise, see page 18 . . . . . . . . . . o 18

23 Subtract line 18 from line 17. This is your total tax. If less than zero, enter -0-. . . . .. ... ...... ® 23
Step 6 24 California income tax withheld. Enter total from all 1996 Form(s) W-2,
) W-2G and 1099-R. Be sure to attach these forms to the left. . . . . . .. m 24
?gfrgf"d 25 1996 California estimated tax and amount applied from 1995 return. Include
Tax Due amount paid with extension payment voucher, form FTB 3519. . . . . .. m 25
Wyour 27 Did you or your spouse have at least 2 employers in 1996 who paid
Form(s) W-2, W-2G you more than $31,767 in wages?
and 1099-R here. Yes. See page 19. No.Gotoline28 ............... m 27
28 Add line 24, line 25 and line 27. These are your total payments and credits . . . . ... ......... 28
29 If line 28 is more than line 23, subtract line 23 from line 28. This is your overpaid tax. . . . . ... ... 29
30 Enter the amount of line 29 you want applied to your 1997 estimated tax. . . . ... ... ........ m 30
31 Subtract line 30 from line 29. This is the amount of overpaid tax available this year. . . ... ...... m 31
32 If line 28 is less than line 23, subtract line 28 from line 23. This is the amount of tax due. . ... ... 32
Step 7 34 Total contributions. Enter amount from Side 2, Part Il, line 13 . . . . ... .. ... .. .. ... o 34
35 Subtract line 34 from line 31. Enter the result here and go to Side 2, Part Il to sign your return.
Refund or You have a REFUND of NO AMOUNT DUE . . .+« v v oo oee e oo e =35
You Owe 36 Add line 32 and line 34. Enter the result here and go to Side 2, Part Ill to sign your return.
Thisis the AMOUNT YOU OWE . . . . . . o o e e m 36
37 Underpayment of estimated tax. If form FTB 5805 is attached, check here . . . . .. ... ... .... U w37
38 If you do not need California income tax forms mailed to you next year, check here. . . ... ... o []33

For Privacy Act Notice, see instructions.

Continued on Side 2.
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Part |

California 1 State income tax refund from Form 1040, line 10. See page 16 . . . . . . . . . . . . . ... 1

Income 2 Unemployment compensation from federal TeleFile Tax Record, line D; Form 1040EZ, line 3;

Adjustments Form 1040A, line 12; or Form 1040, line 19. See page 16 . . . . . . . . . . vt i i i 2

See instructions 3. gocial security benefits or tier 1 and tier 2 railroad retirement benefits. See page 16 . . . .. ... ... .. 3
4 California nontaxable interest or dividend income. See page 16 . . . .. ... ... ... ... ... ... .. 4
5 IRA distributions. See page 17. . . . . . . 5
6 Pensions and annuities. See page 17. . . . . . e 6
7 Total California income adjustments. Add line 1 through line 6. Enter here and on Side 1, line 13 . . .. 7

Part Il

Contributions 1 Contribution to California Seniors Special Fund. See page 19 . . ... ......... .. ... 447 1

You may make a contribution of $1 or more to the following funds:

2 Alzheimer's Disease/Related Disorders Fund . . . . . . . ... i «448p 2 00
3 California Fund for Senior CItiZens. . . . . . o v v vt <449p» 3 00
4 Rare and Endangered Species Preservation Program . . . . ... ... .. . ... ... ... 45 > 4 00
5 State Children’s Trust Fund for the Prevention of Child Abuse . . . . ... ............ 4510 5 00
6 California Breast Cancer Research FUNA . . . . . . . oo oo e et e e 4520 6 00
7 Veterans Memorial ACCOUNL. . . . . v v v v v oo e e e e e 4530 7 00
8 California Firefighters' Memorial Fund . . . . . . . . .. oo 454p 8 00
9 California Public School Library Protection Fund . . . . . . ... ... ..ot 4550 9 00
10 D.AR.E. California (Drug Abuse Resistance Education) Fund. . . . .. ... ........... <45 > 10 00
California Election} 11 Your political party amount ($25 maximum). . . . B 57 11 00
Campaign Fund 12 Spouse’s political party amount ($25 maximum) . .. P 58 12 00
13 Total contributions. Add line 1 through line 12. Enter here and on Side 1, line 34 . . . .. ... ... ... 13
Do not attach your federal return to this return.
P art ”I Under lpenalties of perjury, | declare that | have examined this return anq to the bles.t.of my knowledge anq belief, it is true, correct and complete. 9
Your signature Spouse’s signature (if filing joint, both must sign) Date / /
Daytime phone number
Sign Here X X (__)___-____
s unlawu Signature of paid preparer (declaration of preparer is based on all information of which preparer has any knowledge) Preparer's SSN/FEIN
forIZeug a;pt;Just;.)’s
signature. Firm's name (or yours if self-employed) Firm's address
Where to IF YOU HAVE A REFUND or NO AMOUNT DUE (Side 1, line 35)
Mail Your Mail your retumn to:
Return

FRANCHISE TAX BOARD, PO BOX 942840, SACRAMENTO CA 94240-0000

IF YOU HAVE AN AMOUNT DUE (Side 1, line 36)
Make a check or money order payable to “Franchise Tax Board” for the full amount you owe. Write your social security number
and “1996 Form 540A” on the check or money order. Attach it to your Form 540A and mail to:

FRANCHISE TAX BOARD, PO BOX 942867, SACRAMENTO CA 94267-0001

Due to a tax law change, renter’s credit has been eliminated for 1996.
You may not claim the credit on your personal income tax return.

e Be sure to file your return by April 15, 1997.

< If you cannot file your return by April 15, 1997 and owe tax, be sure to
complete form FTB 3519, Payment Voucher for Automatic Extension
for Individuals, and pay the amount you owe by April 15, 1997 to avoid
late payment penalties and interest.

Do not attach a copy of your federal return.

Use the preprinted label if you received one. If the information is not
correct, make the necessary corrections in ink. If you did not receive a
label, print or type your name, social security number, and address in
Step 1.
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FORM

California Resident
Income Tax Return 1996 540

Use the California mailing label. Otherwise, please print or type. Fiscal year beginning , 1996, ending , 19
Your first name and initial Last name Your:soualz security nu:mber : : : Do Not Write
o : R In These Spaces
If joint return, spouse’s first name and initial Last name Spouse’s social security number P
Present home address — number and street including PO Box or rural route Apt. no. AC
A
City, town or post office, state and ZIP code R
RP

1 [ Single
2 [ Married filing joint return (even if only one spouse had income)
3 [ Married filing separate return. Enter spouse’s social security number above and full name here
4 [J Head of household (with qualifying person). If the qualifying person is a child but not your dependent, enter child’s name here.
5 [ Qualifying widow(er) with dependent child. Enter year spouse died 19
6 If your parent(s), or someone else, can claim you (or your spouse, if married) as a dependent on their tax return,
check the BOX here . . . o v oo e 6[]
7 Personal: If you checked box 1, 3 or 4 above, enter 1. If you checked box 2 or 5, enter 2.
If you checked the box on line 6, SEE Page 25 . . . . . o v v i 7
8 Blind: If you (or if married, your spouse) are visually impaired, enter 1. If both are visually impaired, enter 2. . . .
9 Senior: If you (or if married, your spouse) are 65 or older, enter 1. If both are 65 or older, enter 2. . . . . .. .. e 9

10 Dependents: Enter name and relationship. Do not include yourself, your spouse or the person listed on line 4.

Enter the total number of dependents 10

11 Total number of exemptions. Add line 7 through line 10. . . . . . . . . . . . 11
12 State wages from your Form(s) W-2, box 17. . . . ... ... . ... ... e 12 | |
13 Federal adjusted gross income from Form 1040, line 31, Form 1040A, line 16,

Form 1040EZ, line 4 or TeleFile Tax Record, line H . . . ... ... .. .. . .. . . . ... ... .... 13
14 California adjustments — subtractions. Enter the amount from Schedule CA (540), line 31, coumn B .. e 14

Caution: If the amount on Schedule CA (540), line 31, column B is a negative number, see page 41.
15 Subtract line 14 from line 13. If less than zero, enter the result in parentheses. See page 25 . . . . . . 15
16 California adjustments — additions. Enter the amount from Schedule CA (540), line 31, coumnC. ... ® 16

Caution: If the amount on Schedule CA (540), line 31, column C is a negative number, see page 41.
17 California adjusted gross income. Combine line 15and line 16 . ... ... .......... ... ... e 17

18 Enter the Your California itemized deductions from Schedule CA (540), line 38; OR
larger of: Your California standard deduction shown below for your filing status:
» Married filing joint, Head of household, or Qualifying widow(er) .  $5,054

< Single or Married filing separate . . . ... ............ $2,527
(Dependent of someone else and checked box on line 6.... See page 26) J ... .. e 18
19 Subtract line 18 from line 17. This is your taxable income. If less than zero, enter -0- . . ... ... .. 19

20 Tax. Check if from [] Tax Table [ Tax Rate Schedue [ ] FTB 3800 0or [ ] FTB3803.. e 20

Caution: If under age 14 and you have more than $1,300 of investment income,
read the line 20 instructions to see if you must attach form FTB 3800.
21 Exemption credits.
Caution: See the line 21 instructions before making an entry on this line.
Check if from  [] Flowchart [ Federal AGI limit or ] California TMT fimit . . ... ... ... ®2

22 Subtract line 21 from line 20. If less than zero, enter -0-. . . . . . . . . . ... ... ... 22

23 Tax. Check if from  [] Schedule G-1, Tax on Lump-Sum Distributions; and
] form FTB 5870A, Tax on Accumulation Distribution of Trusts . . ... .. .. e 23

24 Add line 22 and line 23. Continue to Side 2 . . . . . . . . . 24

For Privacy Act Notice, see instructions. Form 540 c1 1996 Side 1



Step 6 25 Amount from Side 1, line 24 . . . . . . 25

Credits 28 Enter credit name code no and amount. .. » 28 |
29 Enter credit name code no and amount. .. » 290 |
30 Enter credit name code no andamount. .. »30 |
31 To claim more than three credits, see page 28 . . . . . ... ... ... .. e 31 |
33 Add line 28 through line 31. These are your total credits . . . ... ................... 33
34 Subtract line 33 from line 25. If less than zero, enter -0- . . .. .. .. ... ... .. .. .. ..... 34
Step 7 35 Alternative minimum tax. Attach Schedule P (540) . . . . . . .. .. ... . . . ... ® 35
Other 36 Other taxes and credit recapture from forms FTB 3501, FTB 3535, FTB 3805P, FTB 3805Z
Taxes OF FTB 3806. SEE PAGE 30 .+ + + « v o v e e e e et ® 36
37 Add line 34 through line 36. Thisis your total tax . . . . .. ....... .. .. ............. ® 37
38 California income tax withheld. Enter total from your 1996 Form(s) W-2,
Step 8 W-2G, 1099-MISC and 1099-R. Also attach the Form(s) to Side 1 . . . . . . m38_ 000001
Payments 39 1996 California estimated tax and amount applied from your 1995 return.
Include the amount from form FTB 3519 or Schedule K-1 (541) . . ... .. m3 _ 000001
41 Did either you or your spouse receive more than $31,767 in wages
in 1996?  Yes. See page 30. No.Gotolined42 .............. L R
42 Add line 38 through line 41. These are your total payments . . . . ... .. i 42
Step 9 43 If line 42 is.more than line 37, sgbtract line 37 from I.ine 42. This is your overpaid tax . ....... 43
Overpaid 44 Amount of line 43 you.want applfed. to your 1997 estlmateq tax . . R R m 44
Tax or 45 Subtract line 44 from line 43. This is the amount of overpaid tax available this year . . . ... ... .. m 45
Tax Due 46 If line 42 is less than line 37, subtract line 42 from line 37. This is the tax due .. .......... 46
Step 10 47 Contribution to California Seniors Special Fund. See page 31. . . ... .. e 47 00|
Contributions You may make a contribution of $1 or more to:
48 Alzheimer's Disease/Related Disorders Fund . . ... ............ e 4 |00
49 California Fund for Senior Citizens . . . . .. ... .. .. ......... e 49 100
50 Rare and Endangered Species Preservation Program . . . . ... ... .. e 50 100
51 State Children's Trust Fund for the Prevention of Child Abuse . ... ... e 51 100
52 California Breast Cancer Research Fund. . . . ... ............. e 52 100
53 Veterans Memorial Account . . . . . .. ... e 53 100
54 California Firefighters’ Memorial Fund . . . . .. ... ... ... .. ... e 54 |00
55 California Public School Library Protection Fund . . ... .......... e 55 |00
56 D.A.R.E. California (Drug Abuse Resistance Education) Fund . . . . . . .. e 56 |00
California Election } 57 Your political party amount ($25 max) P> 57 _ 100
Campaign Fund 58 Spouse’s political party amount ($25 max) P> 58 100
59 Add line 47 through line 58. These are your total contributions . . . . . .................. ® 59 |
60 Subtract line 59 from line 45. You have a REFUND OR NO AMOUNT DUE. Mail your retumn to:
Step 11 FRANCHISE TAX BOARD, PO BOX 942840, SACRAMENTO CA 94240-0000. . .......... m 60 |
Refund or 61 Add line 46 and line 59. This is the AMOUNT YOU OWE. Make a check or money order payable to
/\A(g]uouor:/tve “Franchise Tax Board” for the full amount you owe. Write your social security number and
“1996 Form 540" on it. Attach it to the front of your Form 540 and mail to:
FRANCHISE TAX BOARD, PO BOX 942867, SACRAMENTO CA 94267-0001. . .......... m 61
Step 12 62 Interest, late return penalties and late payment penalties. . . . .. ... ... ... ... .. ... 62
Interest and 63 Underpayment of estimated tax. If form FTB 5805 or 5805F is attached, check here. . . ... .. (] m 63
Penalties 64 If you do not need California income tax forms mailed to you next year, check here. . . .. ... .. e 64 []
S|gn IMPORTANT_: See “Sign Your Return” in the Form 540 instrgctions tolfind out if you shoulq attach a copy of your complete federal return.
Under penalties of perjury, | declare that | have examined this return, including accompanying schedules and statements, and to the best of my 9
Here knowledge and belief, it is true, correct and complete.
Itis unlawful o Your signature Spouse’s signature (if filing joint, both must sign) Date / /
forge a spouse’s Daytime phone number
signature.
X X () ___-____
Signature of paid preparer (declaration of preparer is based on all information of which preparer has any knowledge) Preparer's SSN/FEIN
Firm's name (or yours if self-employed) Firm's address
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Instructions for Form 540 — California Resident Income Tax Return

These instructions are based on the Internal Revenue Code (IRC) as of January 1, 1993, and the California Revenue and Taxation Code (R&TC).

Before
You
Begin

You must complete your federal income tax return

(Form 1040, 1040A or 1040EZ) before you begin your Cali-
fornia Form 540. You will use the information you entered
on your federal income tax return to complete your Form
540. Be sure to complete and mail the Form 540 with the
blue shading by April 15, 1997. If you cannot mail your
return by the due date, see page 6 for information.

Step 1
Name and
Address

If there is a label on the front of your booklet:

1. Complete your blue Form 540 before you remove
the label from the front of your booklet.

2. Check your math and the amounts entered to make
sure that they are correct.

3. Remove your label from the front of your booklet and
attach it to the front of your Form 540 in the space
provided at the top.

4. Make sure the information on your label is correct. If
you need to make any changes, draw a line in ink
through the incorrect information and clearly print the
new information.

If there is no label, print or type your name, social

security number and address in the spaces provided at the

top of Form 540.

If you file a joint return, show social security numbers in the
same order that you show both names.

Step 2
Filing
Status

L, ]

218

L, ]

215

Check only one of the boxes on line 1 through line 5. Be
sure to enter the required information if you check a box on
line 3, line 4 or line 5.

Your filing status for California must be the same as the
filing status you used on your federal income tax return.
Exception: Married taxpayers who file a joint federal
income tax return may file either a joint return or separate
returns if either spouse was:

® An active member of the United States armed forces (or
any auxiliary military branch) during 1996; or

® A nonresident for the entire year and had no income
from California sources during 1996. However, if you file
a joint return and if either spouse was a nonresident in
1996, you must file Form 540NR, California Nonresident
or Part-Year Resident Income Tax Return.

If You Are Married and File a Separate Return

If you check the box on line 3, you must enter your
spouse’s name on line 3 and social security number in the
space provided in “Step 1.”

Note: Community property rules apply to the separation of
income if you use the married filing separate status. For
more information, get FTB Pub. 1031, Guidelines for Deter-
mining Resident Status.

If You File as Head of Household

If you check the box on line 4 and if the qualifying person is
a child but not your dependent, enter that child’s name on
line 4. Do not claim yourself or a nonrelative as the qualify-
ing individual for head of household. See page 15 or get
FTB Pub. 1540, Tax Information for Head of Household, for
more information.

Step 3

Exemptions

Line 6 — Dependent Check Box

L, ]

601

Check the box on line 6 if your parent (or someone else)
can claim you as a dependent on his or her tax return. For
example, if your parents (or someone else) could claim you

Line 7 -

Line 8 —

Line 9 —

Line 10 —

as a dependent on their return but they chose not to claim
you, you must check the box on line 6.

Personal Exemptions
Did you check the box on line 6?

No  Follow the instructions on Form 540, line 7.

Yes Ignore the instructions on Form 540, line 7.
Instead, enter the amount shown below for your
filing status:

Single or married filing separate, enter -0-;
Head of household, enter -0-;
Married filing joint and both you and your spouse
can be claimed as dependents, enter -0-; or

® Married filing joint and only one spouse can be
claimed as a dependent, enter 1.

Blind Exemptions

The first year you claim this exemption credit, you must
attach a doctor’s statement to the back of Form 540 indicat-
ing you or your spouse are visually impaired. You are visu-
ally impaired if you cannot see better than 20/200 while
wearing glasses or contact lenses, or if your field of vision
is not more than 20 degrees.

Caution: An individual who is someone else’s dependent
may not claim this credit.

Senior Exemptions

If you are 65 years of age or older, you should claim an
additional exemption credit on line 9. If you are married,
each spouse 65 years of age or older should claim an
additional credit.

Caution: An individual who is someone else’s dependent
may not claim this credit.

Dependent Exemptions

To claim an exemption credit for each of your dependents,
write each dependent’s name and relationship to you in the
space provided. Do not list the same person you listed on
line 4. Count the number of dependents listed and enter the
total on line 10.

The persons you list as dependents on your Form 540 must
be the same persons you listed as dependents on your
federal income tax return.

Step 4
Taxable
Income

Line 12 -

Line 14 —

Line 15 —

Refer to your completed federal income tax return to com-
plete “Step 4.”

State Wages

Enter the total amount of your state wages from all states
from each of your Form(s) W-2. This amount should be in
box 17 of Form W-2.

California Adjustments — Subtractions
(from Schedule CA (540), line 31, column B)

If there are differences between your federal and California
income or deductions, you must complete Schedule CA
(540), California Adjustments — Residents. Follow the
instructions for Schedule CA (540) beginning on page 39.
Enter on this line the amount from Schedule CA (540),

line 31, column B.

Subtotal

Subtract the amount on line 14 from the amount on line 13.
Enter the result on line 15. If the amount on line 13 is less
than zero, combine the amounts on line 13 and line 14 and
enter the result in parentheses. For example: “(12,325).”
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Line 16 — California Adjustments — Additions
(from Schedule CA (540), line 31, column C)

If there are differences between your federal and California
income or deductions, you must complete Schedule CA
(540), California Adjustments — Residents. Follow the
instructions for Schedule CA (540) beginning on page 39.
Enter on this line the amount from Schedule CA (540),

line 31, column C.

Line 18 — Standard Deduction OR Itemized Deductions

You must decide whether to take the standard deduction or
itemize your charitable contributions, medical expenses,
interest paid, taxes, etc. Your California income tax will be
less if you take the larger of:

® Your California itemized deductions; or
® Your California standard deduction.

If you are married and file a separate return, both you and
your spouse must either itemize your deductions or take the
standard deduction.

Itemized deductions. Figure your California itemized
deductions by completing Schedule CA (540), Part I, line
33 through line 38. Enter the result on Form 540, line 18.
Note: If you did not itemize deductions on your federal
income tax return but will itemize deductions for your
California Form 540, first complete a federal Schedule A,
Itemized Deductions. Then complete Schedule CA (540),
Part Il, line 33 through line 38.

Standard deduction. Most people can find their standard
deduction by looking at the California Standard Deduction
Chart For Most People, below. But, if you checked the box
on Form 540, line 6, you must use the Standard Deduction
Worksheet for Dependents.

California Standard Deduction Chart For Most People
Do not use this chart if your parent(s), or someone else, can claim
you as a dependent on their tax return.

Your Filing Status Enter On Line 18

1-Single .. ... . . $2,527
2 — Married filing joint return. . . . .. ... ... ... .. $5,054
3 — Married filing separate return. . . . . . ... ... ... $2,527
4 —Head of household. . . . ................. $5,054
5 — Qualifying widow(er) . . .. .. ... .. ... ... $5,054

Note: The California standard deduction amounts are less than the
federal standard deduction amounts.

Standard Deduction Worksheet For Dependents

Use this worksheet only if your parent(s), or someone else, can claim
you as a dependent on their tax return.

1. Enter your earned income from line 1 of the federal
“Standard Deduction Worksheet for Dependents”
found in the instructions for federal Form 1040A
or Form 1040, or line A of the worksheet found
on the back of federal Form 1040EZ. . . . ... ..

Minimum standard deduction . . ... ........
3. Compare the amounts on line 1 and line 2.
Enter the larger of the two amounts here. . . . ..
4. Enter the amount shown below for your filing status.
® Single or married filing separate,
enter $2,527
® Married filing joint, head of household
or qualifying widow(er), enter $5,054
5. Standard deduction. Compare the amounts on
line 3 and line 4. Enter the smaller of the two
amounts here and on Form 540, line 18. . . . . ..

$650.00

N

Step 5

Tax

When you figure your tax, be sure to use the correct filing
status and taxable income amount.

Line 20 — Tax

To figure your tax, use one of the following methods and
check the corresponding box on line 20:

® Tax Table. If your taxable income on line 19 is $50,000
or less, you must use the tax table on page 44 through
page 46. Be sure you use the correct filing status col-
umn in the tax table.

® Tax Rate Schedules. If your taxable income on line 19
is over $50,000, you must use the tax rate schedules on
page 46.

® FTB 3800. Generally, you must use form FTB 3800, Tax
Computation for Children With Investment Income, to
figure the tax on the separate Form 540 of your child
who was under age 14 on January 1, 1997, and who
had more than $1,300 of investment income. Attach
form FTB 3800 to the child’s Form 540.

® FTB 3803. If, as a parent, you elect to report your
child’s interest and dividend income of $5,000 or less
(but not less than $500) on your return, complete form
FTB 3803, Parent’s Election to Report Child’s Interest
and Dividends. You must file a separate form FTB 3803
for each child whose income you elect to include on
your Form 540. Add the amount of tax, if any, from each
form FTB 3803, line 8, to the amount of your tax from
the tax table or tax rate schedules and enter the result
on Form 540, line 20. Check the box labeled
“FTB 3803.” Attach form(s) FTB 3803 to your return.

Line 21 — Exemption Credits

Exemption credits may reduce your tax, but the amount of
the credits may be limited in two ways. It may be limited by
federal adjusted gross income (AGI). And it may also be
limited by California tentative minimum tax (TMT). To find
out if your exemption credits may be affected by one or
both of these limitations, use the following flowchart. The
flowchart will help you determine if you need to complete a
worksheet or complete Schedule P (540) to figure the
amount of your exemption credits available to reduce tax.
See page 47 for information on ordering forms.

1 If your filing status is: Is Form 540, line 13 more than:
Single or married filing separate . . . . . ... .. $111,695
Married filing joint or qualifying widow(er) . . .. $223,390
Head of household. . . . ... ........... $167,542
Yes Complete Worksheet I.

No Gotobox2——
2 Did you complete federal Schedule C, D, E or F and claim or

receive any of the following:

Accelerated depreciation in excess of straight line;
Intangible drilling costs;

Depletion;

Circulation expenditures;

Research and experimental expenditures;

Mining exploration/development costs;

Amortization of pollution control facilities;

Income/loss from tax shelter farm activities;

Income/loss from passive activities;

Income from long-term contracts using the percentage of
completion method; or

+ Alternative minimum taxable income in excess of regular
taxable income from an estate or trust.

Yes Get and complete Schedule P (540) through Part IV,
line 5 to figure the amount of your exemption credits.

No  Go to box 3 -
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WORKSHEET Il — Exemption credit worksheet for
taxpayers claiming the standard deduction

Enter the amount from Form 540, line 20 . . . . 1
Enter the amount from Form 540, line 17 . . . . 2
Enter the amount for your filing status on line 3:

Single or head of household . . . . . . $30,000
Married filing joint or qualifying widow(er) ~ $40,000 3
Married filing separate . . . . .. ... $20,000

Subtract line 3 from line 2. If zero or less, enter -0- 4
Multiply line 4 by .07. . . . . ... ......... 5
Subtract line 5 from line 1. If zero or less, enter -0- 6
Multiply the amount from Form 540, line 11

by $67 . . . . .. 7
Enter the smaller of line 6 orline7........ 8

This is your allowable exemption credit. Enter this amount
on Form 540, line 21 and check the box labeled “California
TMT limit.” Go to Form 540, line 22.

3 Did you claim or receive any of the following:

* Investment interest expense @ 226

* Income from incentive stock options in excess of the
amount reported on your return. @) 225

» Charitable contribution deduction for appreciated property.
224

* Income from installment sales of certain property; or

* Net operating loss deduction or disaster loss carryover
reported on form(s) FTB 3805V, 3805Z or 3806.

Yes Get and complete Schedule P (540) through Part IV,

line 5 to figure the amount of your exemption credits.

No Gotobox4——

4 If your filing status is: Is Form 540, line 17 more than:
Single or head of household . . . . ... ...... $30,000
Married filing separate. . . . .. ........... $20,000
Married filing joint or qualifying widow(er) . . . . . $40,000
No  Multiply $67 by the amount on Form 540, line 11. Enter

the result on Form 540, line 21. Check the box labeled
“Flowchart.”
Yes Go to box 5 -

5 If your filing status is: Is Form 540, line 17 more than:
Single or head of household . . . .. ... .... $112,500
Married filing joint or qualifying widow(er) . ... $150,000
Married filing separate. . . . .. ........... $75,000
Yes Get and complete Schedule P (540) through Part IV,

line 5 to figure the amount of your exemption credits
No Go to box 6 -
6 Did you itemize deductions?
Yes Complete Worksheet IlI.
No  Complete Worksheet II.
o WORKSHEET | —
Limiting the exemption credit by federal AGI
a Multiply the total number of exemptions from

Form 540, line 11 by $67
Enter the amount from Form 540, line 13 . . . . b
Enter the amount for your filing status on line c:
Single or married filing separate . . . . . . $111,695
Married filing joint or qualifying widow(er) $223,390 { C
Head of household . . . . . ... .. ... $167,542
Subtract line c fromlineb . ............ d
Is line d more than $27,500 (more than $13,750
if married filing separate)?
YES Enter -0- on this line and on Form 540

line 21. Check the box labeled “Federal

AGI limit.” Go to Form 540, line 22.
NO Gotoline e.
Divide line d by $2,500 ($1,250 if married filing
separate). Note: If the result is not a whole
number, round it to the next higher whole number e

Multiply lineeby $6. . ... ........ ... .. f
Multiply line f by the total number of exemptions

from Form 540, line 11 . . . . ... ... ... .. g
Subtract line g from linea . ............ h

If the result is more than zero, enter the result. Get and
complete Schedule P (540) through Part IV, line 5 to figure
your exemption credit. If the result is zero or less than zero,
enter -0- on line h and on Form 540, line 21. Check the box
labeled “Federal AGI limit.” Go to Form 540, line 22.

R« —xT

zZ2

WORKSHEET Il — Exemption credit worksheet for
taxpayers claiming itemized deductions

Enter the amount from Form 540, line20. ... A
Enter the smaller of federal Schedule A,

line 4 (medical and dental expense); or

2%2% of Form 1040, line 32 (federal AGl). . .. B
Enter personal property and real property

taxes paid and included on federal

Schedule A, line 6, line 7orline8........ C
Enter certain interest on a home mortgage

not used to buy, build or improve your home.

223 D
Enter miscellaneous itemized deductions

from federal Schedule A, line26 . ........ E
Add line B through lineE . . . ... ... .... F

Enter any refund of personal property tax or
real property tax included on federal Form 1040,
line 10. Do not enter the amount of your state

income taxrefund. . . ............... G
Subtract line G from lineF. . . ... ....... H
Enter the amount from Form 540, line 19. . . . |
AddlineHandlinel .. .............. J

Enter the amount for your filing status on line K:
Single or head of household. . . . . . $30,000

Married filing joint or qualifying widow(er) $40,000 K
Married filing separate. . . . .. ... $20,000
Subtract line K from line J. If zero or less, enter -0- L

Multiply lineLby .07 . . . ... .......... M
Subtract line M from line A. If zero or less,
enter-0- . ... ... .. . . N
Multiply the amount from Form 540, line 11
by $67 .. .. 0
Enter the smaller of ineNorlineO .. ... .. P

This is your allowable exemption credit. Also enter this amount
on Form 540, line 21. Check the box labeled “California TMT
limit.” Go to Form 540, line 22.

Line 23 — Tax from Schedule G-1 and form FTB 5870A

Check the applicable box(es) and enter the amount of taxes
from:

® Schedule G-1, Tax on Lump-Sum Distributions; and
® Form FTB 5870A, Tax on Accumulation Distribution of

Trusts.
Step 6 A variety of California tax credits are available to reduce
Credits your tax if you qualify.
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To figure and claim most credits, you must complete a sep-
arate form or schedule and attach it to your Form 540. The
Credit Chart in the instructions for line 28 describes the
credits and provides the name, credit code and number of
the required form or schedule. Many credits are limited by a
certain percentage or a certain dollar amount. In addition,
the total amount you may claim for all credits is limited

by TMT.

Are you claiming any credits listed on the Credit Chart?

NO  Enter the amount from line 25 on line 34 and con-
tinue to line 35.

Figure the amount of your credit using the form,
schedule or worksheet identified in the Credit Chart.
Then answer the questions below to see if the total

YES

Line 28

a. Enter the amount from Worksheet I,
line 6, or Worksheet IIl, line N. . . a
b. Enter Schedule G-1 tax from

Form 540, line 23, ifany . .. .. b
c. Addlineaandlineb........ c
d. Enter the amount from Form 540,

line21. ............... d
e. Subtract lined fromlinec. . . .. e
f.  Enter the total of your credits . . . f

® |[f line e is more than line f, your credits are not lim-
ited. Go to the instructions for Form 540, line 28.

® |[fline e is less than line f, get and complete
Schedule P (540). See page 47 for information on
ordering forms.

amount you may claim for all credits is limited

by TMT.

1. Were you instructed in Step 5 to complete

Schedule P (540)?

No  Go to Question 2.
Yes

on Worksheet I, line h?

Yes
Il and V.
No  Go to Question 3.

3. Were your exemption credits limited in Step 5 by Work-

sheet Il or Worksheet [11?
Yes.

Get and complete Schedule P (540), Part V.
2. Did you complete Worksheet | in Step 5 and enter zero

Get and complete Schedule P (540), Parts I, II,

Get and complete Schedule P (540), Part V.

No. Complete the following worksheet:

CREDIT CHART

through
Line 31 — Additional Credits

Each credit has a code number. To claim only one, two or
three credits, enter the credit name, code number and
amount of the credit on lines 28, 29 and 30. To claim more
than three credits, use Schedule P (540). List three of the
credits on lines 28, 29 and 30. Enter the total of any
remaining credits from Schedule P (540) on line 31.

Important: Attach Schedule P (540) and any required sup-
porting schedules or statements to your Form 540.

Carryovers: If you claim a credit with carryover provisions
and the amount of the credit available this year exceeds
your tax, you may carry over any excess credit to future
years until the credit is used. If you claim a credit carryover
for an expired credit and are not required to complete
Schedule P (540), use form FTB 3540, Credit Carryover
Summary, to figure the amount of the credit. Otherwise,
enter the amount of the credit on Schedule P (540), Part V,
and do not attach form FTB 3540.

Credit Name Code Description
Child Adoption — Worksheet follows this chart. 197 | 50% of qualified costs in the year an adoption is ordered
Dependent Parent — Worksheet follows this chart.| 173 Must use married filing separate filing status and have a dependent parent
Disabled Access — FTB 3548 205 | Similar to the federal credit but limited to $125 based on 50% of qualified expenditures
that do not exceed $250.
Donated Agricultural Products Transportation — 204 | 50% of the costs paid or incurred for the transportation of agricultural products donated
FTB 3547 to nonprofit charitable organizations.
Employer Child Care Contribution — FTB 3501 190 Employer: 30% of contributions to a qualified plan
Employer Child Care Program — FTB 3501 189 Employers: Cost of establishing a child care program or constructing a child care facility
Enhanced Oil Recovery — FTB 3546 203 One third of the similar federal credit and limited to qualified enhanced oil recovery proj-
ects located within California.
Enterprise Zone Employee — FTB 3553 169 | 5% of wages from work in an enterprise zone
Enterprise Zone Hiring & Sales or Use Tax — 176 Business incentives for enterprise zone businesses
FTB 38052
Joint Custody Head of Household — Worksheet 170 | 30% of tax up to $269 for single or married filing separate taxpayers that have a child
follows this chart. and meet support test
Local Agency Military Base Recovery Area 198 Business incentives for LAMBRAS
(LAMBRA) Hiring & Sales or Use Tax —
FTB 3807
Los Angeles Revitalization Zone (LARZ) Hiring & 159 Business incentives for LARZ
Sales or Use Tax — FTB 3806
Low-Income Housing — FTB 3521 172 Similar to the federal credit but limited to low-income housing in California
Manufacturers’ Investment — FTB 3535 199 6% of the cost of qualified property
Other State Tax — Schedule S 187 Net income tax paid to another state or a U.S. possession on income also taxed by
California
Prior Year Alternative Minimum Tax — FTB 3510 188 Must have paid alternative minimum tax in a prior year and have no alternative minimum
tax liability in 1996
Prison Inmate Labor — FTB 3507 162 10% of wages paid to prison inmates
Program Area Hiring and Sales or Use Tax — 177 Business incentives for program areas
FTB 38052
Research — FTB 3523 183 Similar to the federal credit but limited to costs for research activities in California

(continued on next page)
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CREDIT CHART (continued)

Credit Name Code Description
Salmon & Steelhead Trout Habitat Restoration — 200 10% of qualified costs
Obtain certification from:

Department of Fish and Game

c/o Timber Tax Credits Program

PO Box 944209

Sacramento CA 95244-2090
Senior Head of Household — 163 | 2% of taxable income up to $823 for seniors who qualified for head of household and

Worksheet follows this chart. the qualifying individual died during 1994 or 1995
Agricultural Products 175
Commercial Solar Electric System 196 | The expiration dates for these credits have passed. However, these credits had
Commercial Solar Energy 181 | carryover features. You may claim these credits only if there is a carryover available
Employee Ridesharing 194 | from prior years. If you are not required to complete Schedule P (540),
191 |get form FTB 3540, Credit Carryover Summary, to figure your credit
Employer Ridesharing } 192 | carryover to future years.
193

Energy Conservation 182
Orphan Drug 185
Low-Emission Vehicles 160
Political Contributions 184
Recycling Equipment 174
Residential Rental & Farm Sales 186
Ridesharing 171
Solar Energy 180
Solar Pump 179
Water Conservation 178
Young Infant 161

Credit for Joint Custody Head of Household — Code 170

Note: You may not claim this credit if you used either the
head of household or qualifying widow(er) filing status.

You may claim a credit if you were unmarried at the end of
1996 (or if married, you lived apart from your spouse for all
of 1996 and you used the married filing separate filing sta-
tus); and if you furnished more than one-half the household
expenses for your home which also served as the home of
your child, step-child or grandchild for at least 146 days but
not more than 219 days of the taxable year. If the child is
married, you must be entitled to claim a dependent exemp-
tion credit for the child.

Also, the custody arrangement for the child must be part of
a decree of dissolution or separate maintenance or must be
part of a written agreement between the parents where the
proceedings have been initiated, but a decree of dissolution
or separate maintenance has not yet been issued.

Use the worksheet below to figure this credit.
1. Enter the amount from Form 540,

2. Enter the form FTB 5870A tax, if any,
included on Form 540, line 23. . . . .

3. Subtract line 2 from linel ... ...

o s

Credit amount. Multiply line 3 by
line 4. Enter the result or $269,
whicheverisless. ... ........

Credit for Dependent Parent — Code 173

Note: You may not claim the credit for dependent parent if
you used the single, head of household or qualifying
widow(er) filing status.

You may claim this credit only if:

® You were married at the end of 1996 and you used the
married filing separate filing status;

® Your spouse was not a member of your household dur-
ing the last six months of the year; and

® You furnished over one-half the household expenses for
your dependent mother’s or father's home, whether or
not he or she lived in your home.

Credit percentage — 30%. . . . . . . x 30

To figure the amount of this credit, use the worksheet
above for the credit for joint custody head of household.

Credit for Senior Head of Household — Code 163

You may claim this credit if you:

® Were 65 years of age or older on December 31, 1996;

® Qualified as a head of household in 1994 or 1995 by
providing a household for a qualifying individual who
died during 1994 or 1995; and

® Did not have adjusted gross income over $43,687 for
1996.

Note: If you meet all the conditions listed above, you do not
need to qualify to use the head of household filing status
for 1996 in order to claim this credit.

Use the following worksheet to figure this credit.
1. Enter the amount from Form 540,

2. Credit percentage —2%. . . . . . .. x 02
3. Credit amount. Multiply line 1 by

line 2. Enter the result or $823,

whicheverisless. . .. ... .....

Credit for Child Adoption Costs — Code 197

For the year in which an order of adoption is entered, you
may claim a credit for 50% of the cost of adopting a child
who is a citizen or legal resident of the United States and
who was in the custody of a California public agency or a
California political subdivision. You may include the follow-
ing costs if directly related to the adoption process:
® Fees of the Department of Social Services or a licensed
adoption agency;
Medical expenses not reimbursed by insurance; and
® Travel expenses for the adoptive family.

Note: Any deduction for the expenses used to claim this
credit must be reduced by the amount of the child adoption
costs credit claimed.

Use the worksheet on the next page to figure this credit. If

more than one adoption qualifies for this credit, complete a
separate worksheet for each adoption. The maximum credit
is limited to $2,500 per minor child.
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1. Enter qualifying costs for the child . .

2. Credit percentage — 50%. . . . . . . x 50

3. Credit amount. Multiply line 1
byline2. .. ..............

If line 3 is more than $2,500, your allowable credit is

$2,500. You may carry over the excess credit to future
years until the credit is used.

Line 34 — Subtract the amount on line 33 from the amount on

line 25. Enter the result on line 34. If the amount on line 33
is more than the amount on line 25, enter -0-. If you owe
interest on deferred tax from installment obligations, include
the additional tax, if any, in the amount you enter on

line 34. Write “IRC Section 453 interest” or “IRC Section
453A interest” and the amount on the dotted line to the left
of the amount on line 34.

Step 7

Other Taxes

Attach the specific form or statement required for each
entry in this section.

Line 35 — Alternative Minimum Tax (AMT)

If you claim certain types of deductions, exclusions and
credits, you may owe AMT if your total income is more
than: $40,000 if married filing joint or qualifying widow(er);
$30,000 if single or head of household; or $20,000 if mar-
ried filing separate.

As the result of legislation enacted in 1996, AMT income
shall not include income, adjustments and items of tax pref-
erence related to any trade or business of a qualified tax-
payer who has gross receipts, less returns and allowances,
during the taxable year of less than $1,000,000 from all
trades or businesses.

A child under age 14 may owe AMT if the sum of the
amount on line 19 (taxable income) and any preference
items listed on Schedule P (540) and included on the return
is more than the sum of $1,000 and the child’s earned
income.

Get Schedule P (540) for more information. See page 47
for information on ordering forms.

Line 36 — Other Taxes and Credit Recapture

If you used form(s) FTB 3501, Employer Child Care Pro-
gram/ Contribution Credit; FTB 3535, Manufacturers’ Invest-
ment Credit; FTB 3805P, Additional Tax Attributable to
Qualified Retirement Plans (Including IRAs), Annuities and
Modified Endowment Contracts; FTB 3805Z, Enterprise
Zone/Program Area Deduction and Credit Summary; or
FTB 3806, Los Angeles Revitalization Zone (LARZ) Deduc-
tion and Credit Summary; include the additional tax, if any,
on line 36. Write the form number on the dotted line to the
left of the amount on line 36.

Step 8

Payments

L, ]
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Make sure you have your Form(s) W-2, W-2G, 1099-MISC
and 1099-R before you begin this step.

If you received wages and do not have a Form W-2, see
the instructions for “Sign Your Return” on page 32.

Line 38 — California Income Tax Withheld

L,
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Enter the total California income tax withheld from your:
®  Form(s) W-2, box 18;

® Form(s) W-2G, box 14;

®  Form(s) 1099-MISC, box 11; or

®  Form(s) 1099-R, box 10.

Caution: Do not include local tax withheld or tax withheld
by other states.

If you received Form(s) 1099 showing California income tax
withheld (“backup withholding™) on dividends and interest
income, real estate sales and partnership distributions,
include the amount(s) withheld in the total on line 38.

Line 39 — 1996 California Estimated Tax Payments and Amount

Applied from 1995 Return (and Payment Made with
Extension Payment Voucher)
Enter the total of any:

® California estimated tax payments you made
(Form 540-ES) for 1996;

® Overpayment from your 1995 California income tax
return that you applied to your 1996 estimated tax;

® Payment you sent with form FTB 3519, Payment
Voucher for Automatic Extension for Individuals; and

® California estimated tax payments made on your behalf
by an estate or trust on Schedule K-1 (541).

If you and your spouse paid joint estimated tax but are filing
separate returns, either of you may claim all of the amount
paid, or you may each claim a part of it. Attach a statement
signed by you and your spouse explaining how you want
your payments divided. Show both social security numbers
on the separate returns. If you or your spouse made sepa-
rate estimated tax payments, but are now filing a joint
income tax return, add the amounts you each paid. Attach a
statement to the front of Form 540 explaining that payments
were made under both social security numbers.

Line 41 — Excess California SDI (or VPDI) Withheld

If more than $254.14 of California State Disability Insurance
(SDI) or Voluntary Plan Disability Insurance (VPDI) was
withheld from your wages by a single employer, or if an
employer withheld SDI (or VPDI) at a rate of more than .8%
of your gross wages, you may not claim excess SDI (or
VPDI) on your Form 540, line 41. Contact the employer for
a refund.

You may claim a credit for excess SDI (or VPDI) only if:

® You had two or more employers during 1996;

® You received more than $31,767 in wages during 1996
from these employers;

® Your employers combined withheld more than $254.14
of SDI (or VPDI) from your wages; and

® The amounts of SDI (or VPDI) withheld appear on your
Forms W-2. Be sure to attach your Forms W-2 to your
Form 540.

Complete the worksheet below to figure the amount to enter
on line 41. If you are married and file a joint return, you
must figure the amount of excess SDI (or VPDI) separately
for each spouse .

3. Excess SDI (or VPDI) with-
held. Subtract line 2 from
line 1. Enter the result here
and on Form 540, line 41 . . .

Note: If zero or less, enter -0- on line 41.

| Your
You | Spouse
1. Add amounts of SDI (or VPDI) |
withheld shown on your Forms |
W-2. Enter the total here. . . . |
2. 1996 SDI (or VPDI) limit. . . . $254.14i $254.14
|
|
I

Step 9
Overpaid
Tax or

Tax Due

To avoid a delay in the processing of your return, be sure
you enter the correct amounts on line 43 through line 46.

Line 43 — Overpaid Tax

If the amount on line 42 is more than the amount on line
37, subtract the amount on line 37 from the amount on
line 42. Enter the result on line 43. Your payments and
credits are more than your tax.

Page 30

Personal Income Tax Booklet 1996



F.AST.

1-800-338-0505

Instructions: Form 540

Line 44 — Amount You Want Applied to Your 1997 Estimated Tax

You may apply all or part of the amount on line 43 to your
estimated tax for 1997. Enter on line 44 the amount of
line 43 that you want applied to 1997.

Line 45 — Amount of Overpaid Tax Available This Year

If you entered an amount on line 44, subtract it from the
amount on line 43. Enter the result on line 45. You may
have this entire amount refunded to you or you may make
contributions to the California Seniors Special Fund or make
voluntary contributions from this amount. If you make a con-
tribution, skip line 46 and go to the instructions for

“Step 10.”

Line 46 — Tax Due

If the amount on line 42 is less than the amount on line 37,
subtract the amount on line 42 from the amount on line 37.
Enter the result on line 46. Your tax is more than your pay-
ments and credits.

There is a penalty for not paying enough tax during the
year. You may have to pay a penalty if:

® The tax due on line 46 is $100 or more; and

® The amount of state income tax withheld on line 38
is less than 80% of the amount of your total tax on
line 37.

If you owe a penalty, the Franchise Tax Board will compute
the penalty and send you a hill.

You may make contributions to the California Seniors
Special Fund or make voluntary contributions by adding
them to the tax due. You must pay the full amount of tax
due, including contributions, when you file your Form 540.

Step 10

Contri-
butions

You may make contributions in whole-dollar amounts only.
If you make one or more contributions, you must complete
“Step 10.” You may contribute to only the following funds
and cannot change the amount you contributed after the
return is filed.

If you have overpaid tax available on Form 540, line 45, the
amount you contribute must be subtracted from your over-
paid tax available. If you have tax due on Form 540,

line 46, your total contributions must be added to your

tax due.

Line 47 — Contribution to California Seniors Special Fund

If you or your spouse claim the senior exemption credit on
line 9, you may each make a contribution of up to $67 to
the California Seniors Special Fund. Your contribution will
be used to support the work of the area Agency on Aging
Council of California in its role as an advocate for California
seniors. All contributions over those needed for this work
will be used to provide direct services to senior citizens
such as meals, adult day care and transportation. The
actual use of the funds will be determined at the local level
by the Area Agency on Aging, its Advisory Council of
Seniors and the senior community. On line 47, enter the
amount of your contribution. If you contribute, do not enter
more than $67; if you and your spouse contribute, do not
enter more than $134.

Voluntary Contributions
You may make voluntary contributions of $1 or more in
whole-dollar amounts.

Line 48 — Alzheimer's Disease/Related Disorders Fund

Contributions entered on line 48 will be used to conduct a
systematic program for researching the cause and cure of
Alzheimer's disease and related disorders and research into
the care and treatment of persons suffering from dementing
ilinesses.

Line 49 — California Fund for Senior Citizens

Contributions entered on line 49 will be used by the Califor-
nia Fund for Senior Citizens which supports direct services
to seniors and the work of the California Senior Legislature.

The California Senior Legislature is a non-partisan, volun-
teer, grass roots body of seniors 60 years of age or older,
elected by their peers. The California Senior Legislature has
been instrumental in creating and steering senior legislation
through the regular legislature; legislation, such as: Alzhei-
mer Studies and Research; Adult Day Health Care Centers;
nutrition centers; respite care; long term care; the funding
and broadening of In Home Support Services; programs to
abolish abuse of seniors; skilled nursing facility reforms; and
many more. All donations over those needed to carry out
the California Senior Legislature’s work, will be distributed
for direct services to needy seniors.

Line 50 — Rare and Endangered Species Preservation Program

Contributions entered on line 50 will help to protect and
conserve California’s many threatened and endangered
species and the wild lands that they need to survive, for the
enjoyment and benefit of you and future generations of
Californians.

Line 51 — State Children’s Trust Fund for the Prevention of Child

Abuse

Contributions entered on line 51 will be used to fund
programs for the prevention, intervention and treatment of
child abuse and neglect.

Line 52 — California Breast Cancer Research Fund

Contributions entered on line 52 will be used to conduct
research relating to the prevention, screening, cure and
treatment of breast cancer.

Line 53 — Veterans Memorial Account

Contributions entered on line 53 will be used to pay for the
construction, improvement, maintenance or repair of a
veterans memorial and an information program about the
memorial.

Line 54 — California Firefighters’ Memorial Fund

Contributions entered on line 54 will be used for the con-
struction of a memorial on the grounds of the State Capitol
honoring the hundreds of firefighters who have died protect-
ing our neighborhoods, our homes, our families and our
dreams. These brave men and women answered the call
when fire alarms sounded or when hazardous, cancer-
causing elements needed to be removed, and their
sacrifices and the sacrifices of their families deserve to be
remembered.

Line 55 — California Public School Library Protection Fund

Contributions entered on line 55 will be expended for the
purchase of books and other library resources through
grants awarded for implementing a school library
improvement plan.

Line 56 — D.A.R.E. California (Drug Abuse Resistance Education)

Line 57 &
Line 58 —

Fund

Contributions entered on line 56 will be used to support
local D.A.R.E. programs and provide proven effective,
in-classroom anti-drug, anti-gang and anti-violence
education for California school children.

California Election Campaign Fund

A contribution of $1, $5, $10 or $25 may be made to one of
these political parties: American Independent, Democratic,
Green, Libertarian, Natural Law, Peace and Freedom,
Reform or Republican. If you contribute, enter the party
name and contribution amount on line 57.

If your spouse contributes to the California Election Cam-
paign Fund, enter the name of the political party and contri-
bution amount on line 58. You and your spouse may each
contribute a maximum of $25.

Line 59 — Total Contributions

Add line 47 through line 58. Enter the result on line 59. If
you show an amount on Form 540, line 45, you must sub-
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Instructions: Form 540

tract the amount you contribute from the amount of over-
paid tax. If you show an amount on Form 540, line 46, you
must add your total contributions to your tax due.

Step 11

Refund or
Amount
You Owe

Be sure to add or subtract correctly to figure the amount of
your refund or the amount you owe.

Line 60 — Refund or No Amount Due

If you did not enter an amount on line 59, enter the amount
from line 45 on line 60. This is the amount that will be
refunded to you. If this amount is less than $1, you must
attach a written request to your Form 540 requesting the
refund.

If you entered an amount on line 59, subtract it from the
amount on line 45. If the result is zero or more, enter it on
line 60. Then skip to the instructions for line 62.

If the result is less than zero, your contributions are more
than your overpaid tax available on line 45. In this case, do
not enter an amount on line 60. Instead, subtract the
amount on line 45 from the amount on line 59. Enter the
result on line 61 and see the instructions for line 61.

Line 61 — Amount You Owe

If you did not enter an amount on line 59, enter the amount
from line 46 on line 61. This is the amount you owe with
your Form 540.

If you entered an amount on line 59, add that amount to the
amount on line 46. Enter the result on line 61. This is the
amount you owe with your Form 540.

® Make your check or money order payable to the “Fran-
chise Tax Board” for the full amount you owe. Do not
send cash. Be sure to write your social security number
and “1996 Form 540" on your check or money order.

® Attach the check or money order to the front of your
Form 540 in the area below the words “Step 3, Exemp-
tions.” Make sure the check or money order is not cov-
ered up by your Form(s) W-2 or any other items.

A penalty may be imposed for a check returned by your
bank for insufficient funds. To avoid a late filing penalty, file
your Form 540 by the due date even if you cannot pay the
amount you owe.

Do not include any estimated tax payment in your check or
money order. Mail any estimated tax payment in a separate
envelope from the one you use to pay the amount you owe
with Form 540.

Step 12

Interest &
Penalties

If you file your return or pay your tax after the due date, you
may owe interest and penalties on the tax due.

Note: Do not reduce the amount on line 43 or increase the
amount on line 46 by any penalty or interest amounts.

Line 62 — Interest and Penalties

Enter on line 62 the amount of interest and late penalties
included in your payment.

Interest

Interest will be charged on any late filing or late payment
penalty from the original due date of the return to the date
paid. In addition, if other penalties are not paid within 10
days, interest will be charged from the date of the billing
notice until the date of payment. Interest compounds daily
and the interest rate is adjusted twice a year.

Late Filing of Return

The maximum total penalty is 25% of the tax not paid if the
return is filed after October 15, 1997. The minimum penalty
for filing a return more than 60 days late is $100 or 100% of
the balance due, whichever is less.

Late Payment of Tax
The penalty is 5% of the tax not paid when due plus 1/2%
for each month, or part of a month, the tax remains unpaid.

Other Penalties

There are also other penalties that can be imposed for a
check returned for insufficient funds, negligence, substantial
understatement of tax and fraud.

Line 63 — Underpayment of Estimated Tax

If line 46 is $100 or more and more than 20% of the sum of
the tax shown on line 34 (excluding the tax on lump-sum
distributions on line 23), or you underpaid your 1996 esti-
mated tax liability for any payment period, you may owe a
penalty. The Franchise Tax Board can figure the penalty for
you when you file your return and send you a bill. Or to see
if you owe a penalty and to figure the amount of the pen-
alty, get form FTB 5805, Underpayment of Estimated Tax
by Individuals and Fiduciaries (or form FTB 5805F, Under-
payment of Estimated Tax by Farmers and Fishermen). If
you complete one of these forms, be sure to attach it to the
front of your Form 540. Enter the amount of the penalty on
line 63 and check the box at line 63. You must complete
and attach the form if you claim a waiver, use the
annualized income installment method or pay tax according
to the schedule for farmers and fishermen.

Line 64 — 1997 Tax Forms

If your Form 540 is prepared by someone else, or if you do
not need forms mailed to you next year, check the box at
line 64.

Sign
Your
Return

L,
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613

611

You must sign your return in the space provided on Side 2.
If you file a joint return, your spouse must sign it also.

Paid Preparer’s Information

If you pay a person to prepare your California income tax
return, that person must sign and complete the area at the
bottom of Side 2. A paid preparer must give you two copies
of your return: one copy to file with the Franchise Tax
Board and one to keep for your records.

Attach Your Form(s) W-2 to Your Return

You must attach Copy 2 of all Form(s) W-2, W-2G, and
1099-R to the front of your return. If you do not receive your
Form W-2 by January 31, 1997, contact your employer.
Only your employer can give you or correct a Form W-2.

If you cannot get a copy of your Form(s) W-2, you must
complete form FTB 3525, Substitute for Form W-2, Wage
and Tax Statement, or Form 1099-R, Distributions from
Pensions, Annuities, Retirement or Profit-Sharing Plans,
IRAs, Insurance Contracts, etc. See the back cover for
information about how to order form FTB 3525.

If you forget to send your Form(s) W-2 with your income tax
return, do not send it separately. Wait until the Franchise
Tax Board requests the Form(s) W-2 from you.

Federal Form 1040: Did you attach any federal forms or
schedules other than Schedule A or Schedule B to your
federal Form 1040?

NO Do not attach Form 1040 to Form 540.

YES Attach a copy of Form 1040 and all supporting fed-
eral forms and schedules to Form 540.

Mailing Addresses
To get a refund, or if you have no amount due, mail your
return to:

FRANCHISE TAX BOARD
PO BOX 942840
SACRAMENTO CA 94240-0000

If you owe money, mail your return to:
FRANCHISE TAX BOARD
PO BOX 942867
SACRAMENTO CA 94267-0001
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California Resident

Income Tax Return 1996 540

Use the California mailing label. Otherwise, please print or type. Fiscal year beginning , 1996, ending , 19
Step 1 Your first name and initial Last name Your:social: security nu:mber : : : Do Not Write
Name + . S R R In These Spaces
and If joint return, spouse’s first name and initial Last name Spouse’s social security number
Address bl : : P
Present home address — number and street including PO Box or rural route AEJ[. no.. . AC
A
City, town or post office, state and ZIP code R
RP
Step 2 1 [ Single
- 2 [ Married filing joint return (even if only one spouse had income)
M 3 [ Married filing separate return. Enter spouse’s social security number above and full name here
Check only one. 4 [ Head of household (with qualifying person). If the qualifying person is a child but not your dependent, enter child’s name here.
5 [ Qualifying widow(er) with dependent child. Enter year spouse died 19
6 If your parent(s), or someone else, can claim you (or your spouse, if married) as a dependent on their tax return,
Step 3 check the BOX here . . . o o v e 6[]
Exemptions 7 Personal: If you checked box 1, 3 or 4 above, enter 1. If you checked box 2 or 5, enter 2.
Do not enter If you checked the box on line 6, SEE Page 25 . . . . . o v v i 7
I‘:f't'ﬁ; fgfeusms 8 Blind: If you (or if married, your spouse) are visually impaired, enter 1. If both are visually impaired, enter 2. . . .
9 Senior: If you (or if married, your spouse) are 65 or older, enter 1. If both are 65 or older, enter 2. . . . . . ... e 9
gﬁicehyﬂ:jg'r‘ here. 10 Dependents: Enter name and relationship. Do not include yourself, your spouse or the person listed on line 4.
Enter the total number of dependents 10
11 Total number of exemptions. Add line 7 through line 10. . . . . . . . . . . . 11
?:ggl:l 12 State wages from your Form(s) W-2, box 17. . . . ... ... . ... ... e 12 | |
Income 13 Federal adjusted gross income from Form 1040, line 31, Form 1040A, line 16,
- Form 1040EZ, line 4 or TeleFile Tax Record, line H . . .. ... .. .. ... ... .. .. ... .. ... 13
14 California adjustments — subtractions. Enter the amount from Schedule CA (540), line 31, coumn B .. e 14
Caution: If the amount on Schedule CA (540), line 31, column B is a negative number, see page 41.
15 Subtract line 14 from line 13. If less than zero, enter the result in parentheses. See page 25 . . . . . . 15
16 California adjustments — additions. Enter the amount from Schedule CA (540), line 31, coumnC. ... ® 16
Caution: If the amount on Schedule CA (540), line 31, column C is a negative number, see page 41.
17 California adjusted gross income. Combine line 15and line 16 . ... ... .......... ... ... o 17

18 Enter the Your California itemized deductions from Schedule CA (540), line 38; OR
larger of: Your California standard deduction shown below for your filing status:

» Married filing joint, Head of household, or Qualifying widow(er) .  $5,054
Attach copy of your

Form(s) W-2, W-2G » Single or Married filing separate . . . . .............. $2,527
and 1099-R here. (Dependent of someone else and checked box on line 6.... See page 26) J ... .. e 18
19 Subtract line 18 from line 17. This is your taxable income. If less than zero, enter -0- . . ... ... .. 19

Step 5

20 Tax. Check if from [] Tax Table [ Tax Rate Schedue [ ] FTB 3800 0or [ ] FTB3803.. e 20

UGS Caution: If under age 14 and you have more than $1,300 of investment income,

read the line 20 instructions to see if you must attach form FTB 3800.
21 Exemption credits.
Caution: See the line 21 instructions before making an entry on this line.
Check if from  [] Flowchart [] Federal AGI limit or  [] California TMT limit . .. ... ... .. ®2

22 Subtract line 21 from line 20. If less than zero, enter -0-. . . . . . . . .. ... . 22

23 Tax. Check if from [] Schedule G-1, Tax on Lump-Sum Distributions; and
(] form FTB 5870A, Tax on Accumulation Distribution of Trusts . . .. ... .. ® 23

24 Add line 22 and line 23. Continue to Side 2 . . . . . . . . . 24

For Privacy Act Notice, see instructions. Form 540 c1 1996 Side 1



Step 6 25 Amount from Side 1, line 24 . . . . . . 25

Credits 28 Enter credit name code no and amount. .. » 28 |
29 Enter credit name code no and amount. .. » 290 |
30 Enter credit name code no andamount. .. »30 |
31 To claim more than three credits, see page 28 . . . . . ... ... ... .. e 31 |
33 Add line 28 through line 31. These are your total credits . . . ... ................... 33
34 Subtract line 33 from line 25. If less than zero, enter -0- . . .. .. .. ... ... .. .. .. ..... 34
Step 7 35 Alternative minimum tax. Attach Schedule P (540) . . . . . . .. .. ... . . . ... ® 35
Other 36 Other taxes and credit recapture from forms FTB 3501, FTB 3535, FTB 3805P, FTB 3805Z
Taxes OF FTB 3806. SEE PAGE 30 .+ + + « v o v e e e e et ® 36
37 Add line 34 through line 36. Thisis your total tax . . . . .. ....... .. .. ............. ® 37
38 California income tax withheld. Enter total from your 1996 Form(s) W-2,
Step 8 W-2G, 1099-MISC and 1099-R. Also attach the Form(s) to Side 1 . . . . . . m38_ 000001
Payments 39 1996 California estimated tax and amount applied from your 1995 return.
Include the amount from form FTB 3519 or Schedule K-1 (541) . . ... .. m3 _ 000001
41 Did either you or your spouse receive more than $31,767 in wages
in 1996?  Yes. See page 30. No.Gotolined42 .............. L R
42 Add line 38 through line 41. These are your total payments . . . . ... .. i 42
Step 9 43 If line 42 is.more than line 37, sgbtract line 37 from I.ine 42. This is your overpaid tax . ....... 43
Overpaid 44 Amount of line 43 you.want applfed. to your 1997 estlmateq tax . . R R m 44
Tax or 45 Subtract line 44 from line 43. This is the amount of overpaid tax available this year . . . ... ... .. m 45
Tax Due 46 If line 42 is less than line 37, subtract line 42 from line 37. This is the tax due .. .......... 46
Step 10 47 Contribution to California Seniors Special Fund. See page 31. . . ... .. e 47 00|
Contributions You may make a contribution of $1 or more to:
48 Alzheimer's Disease/Related Disorders Fund . . ... ............ e 4 |00
49 California Fund for Senior Citizens . . . . .. ... .. .. ......... e 49 100
50 Rare and Endangered Species Preservation Program . . . . ... ... .. e 50 100
51 State Children's Trust Fund for the Prevention of Child Abuse . ... ... e 51 100
52 California Breast Cancer Research Fund. . . . ... ............. e 52 100
53 Veterans Memorial Account . . . . . .. ... e 53 100
54 California Firefighters’ Memorial Fund . . . . .. ... ... ... .. ... e 54 |00
55 California Public School Library Protection Fund . . ... .......... e 55 |00
56 D.A.R.E. California (Drug Abuse Resistance Education) Fund . . . . . . .. e 56 |00
California Election } 57 Your political party amount ($25 max) P> 57 _ 100
Campaign Fund 58 Spouse’s political party amount ($25 max) P> 58 100
59 Add line 47 through line 58. These are your total contributions . . . . . .................. ® 59 |
60 Subtract line 59 from line 45. You have a REFUND OR NO AMOUNT DUE. Mail your retumn to:
Step 11 FRANCHISE TAX BOARD, PO BOX 942840, SACRAMENTO CA 94240-0000. . .......... m 60 |
Refund or 61 Add line 46 and line 59. This is the AMOUNT YOU OWE. Make a check or money order payable to
/\A(g]uouor:/tve “Franchise Tax Board” for the full amount you owe. Write your social security number and
“1996 Form 540" on it. Attach it to the front of your Form 540 and mail to:
FRANCHISE TAX BOARD, PO BOX 942867, SACRAMENTO CA 94267-0001. . .......... m 61
Step 12 62 Interest, late return penalties and late payment penalties. . . . .. ... ... ... ... .. ... 62
Interest and 63 Underpayment of estimated tax. If form FTB 5805 or 5805F is attached, check here. . . ... .. (] m 63
Penalties 64 If you do not need California income tax forms mailed to you next year, check here. . . .. ... .. e 64 []
S|gn IMPORTANT_: See “Sign Your Return” in the Form 540 instrgctions tolfind out if you shoulq attach a copy of your complete federal return.
Under penalties of perjury, | declare that | have examined this return, including accompanying schedules and statements, and to the best of my 9
Here knowledge and belief, it is true, correct and complete.
Itis unlawful o Your signature Spouse’s signature (if filing joint, both must sign) Date / /
forge a spouse’s Daytime phone number
signature.
X X () ___-____
Signature of paid preparer (declaration of preparer is based on all information of which preparer has any knowledge) Preparer's SSN/FEIN
Firm's name (or yours if self-employed) Firm's address

Side 2 Form 540 c1 1996



TAXABLE YEAR

1996  California Adjustments — Residents

SCHEDULE

CA (540)

Important: Attach this schedule directly behind Form 540, Side 2.

Name(s) as shown on return

Social security number

Part | Income Adjustment Schedule

A

B C

Section A - Income

Federal Amounts
(taxable amounts from
your federal return)

Additions
See instructions.

Subtractions
See instructions.

7

8

9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21

Wages, salaries, tips, etc. See instructions before making an entry in column B or C 7
Taxable interestincome . . . . ... ... 8
Dividend inCOME. . . . . . o o e 9
State tax refund. Enter the same amount in column A and columnB. . . ... ... 10
Alimony received . . . . . . L 11
Business income or (I0SS) . . . . . ... 12
Capital gain or (I0SS) . . . . . o o o 13
Other gains or (I0SSES) . . . . . v v v v 14
IRA distribution. See instructions. (@) .. ..... (b)
Pensions and annuities. See instructions. (a) .. (b
Rental real estate, royalties, partnerships, S corporations, trusts, etc. . . . . .. ... 17
Farmincome or (I0SS) . . . . . . 18
Unemployment compensation. Enter the same amount in column A and column B . 19
Social security benefits @) ... ... .. (b)
Other income.

a California lottery winnings e NOL from FTB 3805Z, 3806 or 3807

b Disaster loss carryover from FTB 3805V f Other (describe) 21

¢ Federal NOL (Form 1040, line 21)
d NOL carryover from FTB 3805V

'\'x""_'_'_'_'__xT_____ -

- O O O T Q2
I L N\
- DO O O T Q@

22 Total. Combine line 7 through line 21 in column A. Add line 7 through line 21f in
column B and column C. Goto Section B . . . . ... ... .. ... .. .. ... ... 22
Section B — Adjustments to Income
23a Your IRA deduction. . . . . . ... 23a /
b Spouse’s IRA deduction . . . . .. ... b /
24 MOVING BXPENSES. . . o o v v e e e 24 v
25 One-half of self-employment tax. . . ... ... ... ... . . . . . ... .. ... 25 /
26 Self-employed health insurance deduction . . . ... ........ .. ... .. ... 26 Z
27 Keogh and self-employed SEP plans . . . . . . ... ... ... .. ... 27 /
28 Penalty on early withdrawal of savings . . . . .. ....... ... . ... ... ... 28 /
29 Alimony paid. Recipients: SSN - - /
Last name 29 /'
30 Add line 23a through line 29 in columns A, B,and C. . . . .. ... ... ..... 30 :
31 Total. Subtract line 30 from line 22 in columns A, B, and C. See the instructions i
for how to transfer the total to Form 540 . . . . . . . . . . . . ... ... 31 |
Part Il Adjustments To Federal Itemized Deductions
33 Federal itemized deductions. Add the amounts on federal Schedule A (Form 1040), lines 4, 9, 14, 18, 19, 26 and 27 . . .. 33
34 Enter total of federal Schedule A, line 5 (state and local income tax and State Disability Insurance) and line 8 (foreign taxes only) . . . . . 34
35 Subtract line 34 from line 33. . . . . 35
36 Other adjustments including California lottery losses. See instructions. Specify . ....... 36
37 Combine line 35 and line 36. . . . . . . . 37
38 Is the amount on Form 540, line 13 more than the Is the amount you entered on line 38 more than
amount shown below for your filing status? your standard deduction below?
Single or married filing separate. . . . . . . $111,695 Single or married filing separate. . . . . . .. $2,527
Head of household . . . . ... ....... $167,542 Married filing joint, head of household or 38
Married filing joint or qualifying widow(er). . . . .. ... . ... $5,054
qualifying widow(er). . . .. ... .... $223,390 YES. Transfer the amount on line 38 to
NO. Transfer the amount on line 37 to line 38. Form 540, line 18.
YES. Complete the Itemized Deductions Worksheet in NO. Enter your standard deduction on
the instructions for Schedule CA (540), line 38. Form 540, line 18.
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TAXABLE YEAR CALIFORNIA FORM

1996  Depreciation and Amortization Adjustments 3885A

Name(s) as shown on return Business or activity to which form FTB 3885A relates Social security number
Part | Identify the activity as passive or nonpassive.  See instructions.
1 [ This form is being completed for a passive activity. [ This form is being completed for a nonpassive activity.
Part Il  Election to Expense Certain Tangible Property (IRC Section 179).
2 Enter the amount from line 11 of the worksheet in the instructions . . . . . . . . . . 2
iati Description of laced | (b) Date placed California basi d) Method [ (e) Lif 1996 Californi
Part Ill - Depreciaion.  (© Pespton oproery pced |0 Pt pce 0 o oo @ Mot |0 feor [0 40 Caom i
3
4 Add the amounts on line 3, column (f) . . . . . . . o 4
5 California depreciation for assets placed in service prior t0 1996. . . . . . . . . ... 5
6 Total California depreciation from this activity. Add the amounts on line 2, line4andline5 . . ... ... ........... 6
7 Total federal depreciation from this activity. Enter depreciation from your federal Form 4562, line 21 . . . . .. ... ... .. 7
8 a |If line 6 is more than line 7, enter the difference here and on Schedule CA (540 or 540NR). See instructions . . . . . . . 8a
b If line 6 is less than line 7, enter the difference here and on Schedule CA (540 or 540NR). See instructions. . . . . . . . 8b
ot Description of b) Date placed California basi d) Cod Period 1996 Californi
Part IV Amortization. @ ar?]%crtrilggglg %u?i(rjgsw% © ma;eersigge © foer1 la?rrmglr?iza?%z @ s:ctﬁm © peerr(lzoentgrge 0 amoniz:tilo%méap\.'duction
9
10 Total California amortization from this activity. Add the amounts on line 9, column (f) . ... .................. 10
11 California amortization of costs that began before 1996 . . . . . . . . . .. . . 11
12 Total California amortization from this activity. Add the amounts on line 10 and line 11. . . . . . ... ... ... .. .. ... 12
13 Total federal amortization from this activity. Enter amortization from your federal Form 4562, line 42 . . . ... ... .. ... 13
14 a |If line 12 is more than line 13, enter the difference here and on Schedule CA (540 or 540NR). See instructions. . . . . . 14a
b If line 12 is less than line 13, enter the difference here and on Schedule CA (540 or 540NR). See instructions . . . . . . 14b
TAXABLE YEAR SCHEDULE
1996  California Capital Gain or Loss Adjustment D
(a) Description of property (identify S corporation stock) (b) Sales price (c) Cost or other basis (d) Loss. If (c) is more than (e) Gain. If (b) is more than
Example: 100 shares of “Z" (S stock) (b), subtract (b) from (c) (c), subtract (c) from (b)
1
2 Net gain or (loss) shown on California Schedule(s) K-1 from partnerships, S corporations,
fiduciaries and limited liability companies . . . . ... .. .. .. 2
3 Total 1996 gains from all sources. Add column (e) amounts of line Landline2 . ... ....... .. .. .. ... ... 3
4 1996 loss. Add column (d) amounts of line Land line2. . ... ......... .. ........ 4
5 California capital loss carryover from 1995, if any. See instructions . . ... ........... 5
6 Total 1996 loss. Add line 4and line 5. . . ... . ... ... 6
7 Combine line 3 and line 6. If a loss, go to line 8. Ifagain,gotoline9 . ............. ... ... ....... 7
8 Ifline 7 is a loss, enter the smaller of: (a) the loss on line 7; or
(b) $3,000 ($1,500 if married filing a separate return). See instructions . . . . ... ... ... .. 8
9 Enter the amount from federal Form 1040, line 13 . . . . . . . . . . 9
10 Enter the California gain from line 7 or loss from line 8 . . . . . . . . . . .. .. . . . . . . 10
11 California gain or loss adjustment: Compare line 9 and line 10. See instructions.
a If line 9 is more than line 10, enter the difference here and on Schedule CA (540 or 540NR) line 13, coumn B. . . 1la
b If line 9 is less than line 10, enter the difference here and on Schedule CA (540 or 540NR), line 13, column C . . . 11b
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TAXABLE YEAR

1996  California Adjustments — Residents

SCHEDULE

CA (540)

Important: Attach this schedule directly behind Form 540, Side 2.

Name(s) as shown on return

Social security number

Part | Income Adjustment Schedule

A

B C

Section A - Income

Federal Amounts
(taxable amounts from
your federal return)

Additions
See instructions.

Subtractions
See instructions.

7

8

9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21

Wages, salaries, tips, etc. See instructions before making an entry in column B or C 7
Taxable interestincome . . . . ... ... 8
Dividend inCOME. . . . . . o o e 9
State tax refund. Enter the same amount in column A and columnB. . . ... ... 10
Alimony received . . . . . . L 11
Business income or (I0SS) . . . . . ... 12
Capital gain or (I0SS) . . . . . o o o 13
Other gains or (I0SSES) . . . . . v v v v 14
IRA distribution. See instructions. (@) .. ..... (b)
Pensions and annuities. See instructions. (a) .. (b
Rental real estate, royalties, partnerships, S corporations, trusts, etc. . . . . .. ... 17
Farmincome or (I0SS) . . . . . . 18
Unemployment compensation. Enter the same amount in column A and column B . 19
Social security benefits @) ... ... .. (b)
Other income.

a California lottery winnings e NOL from FTB 3805Z, 3806 or 3807

b Disaster loss carryover from FTB 3805V f Other (describe) 21

¢ Federal NOL (Form 1040, line 21)
d NOL carryover from FTB 3805V

'\'x""_'_'_'_'__xT_____ -

- O O O T Q2
I L N\
- DO O O T Q@

22 Total. Combine line 7 through line 21 in column A. Add line 7 through line 21f in
column B and column C. Goto Section B . . . . ... ... .. ... .. .. ... ... 22
Section B — Adjustments to Income
23a Your IRA deduction. . . . . . ... 23a /
b Spouse’s IRA deduction . . . . .. ... b /
24 MOVING BXPENSES. . . o o v v e e e 24 v
25 One-half of self-employment tax. . . ... ... ... ... . . . . . ... .. ... 25 /
26 Self-employed health insurance deduction . . . ... ........ .. ... .. ... 26 Z
27 Keogh and self-employed SEP plans . . . . . . ... ... ... .. ... 27 /
28 Penalty on early withdrawal of savings . . . . .. ....... ... . ... ... ... 28 /
29 Alimony paid. Recipients: SSN - - /
Last name 29 /'
30 Add line 23a through line 29 in columns A, B,and C. . . . .. ... ... ..... 30 :
31 Total. Subtract line 30 from line 22 in columns A, B, and C. See the instructions i
for how to transfer the total to Form 540 . . . . . . . . . . . . ... ... 31 |
Part Il Adjustments To Federal Itemized Deductions
33 Federal itemized deductions. Add the amounts on federal Schedule A (Form 1040), lines 4, 9, 14, 18, 19, 26 and 27 . . .. 33
34 Enter total of federal Schedule A, line 5 (state and local income tax and State Disability Insurance) and line 8 (foreign taxes only) . . . . . 34
35 Subtract line 34 from line 33. . . . . 35
36 Other adjustments including California lottery losses. See instructions. Specify . ....... 36
37 Combine line 35 and line 36. . . . . . . . 37
38 Is the amount on Form 540, line 13 more than the Is the amount you entered on line 38 more than
amount shown below for your filing status? your standard deduction below?
Single or married filing separate. . . . . . . $111,695 Single or married filing separate. . . . . . .. $2,527
Head of household . . . . ... ....... $167,542 Married filing joint, head of household or 38
Married filing joint or qualifying widow(er). . . . .. ... . ... $5,054
qualifying widow(er). . . .. ... .... $223,390 YES. Transfer the amount on line 38 to
NO. Transfer the amount on line 37 to line 38. Form 540, line 18.
YES. Complete the Itemized Deductions Worksheet in NO. Enter your standard deduction on
the instructions for Schedule CA (540), line 38. Form 540, line 18.
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TAXABLE YEAR CALIFORNIA FORM

1996  Depreciation and Amortization Adjustments 3885A

Name(s) as shown on return Business or activity to which form FTB 3885A relates Social security number
Part | Identify the activity as passive or nonpassive.  See instructions.
1 [ This form is being completed for a passive activity. [ This form is being completed for a nonpassive activity.
Part Il  Election to Expense Certain Tangible Property (IRC Section 179).
2 Enter the amount from line 11 of the worksheet in the instructions . . . . . . . . . . 2
iati Description of laced | (b) Date placed California basi d) Method [ (e) Lif 1996 Californi
Part Ill - Depreciaion.  (© Pespton oproery pced |0 Pt pce 0 o oo @ Mot |0 feor [0 40 Caom i
3
4 Add the amounts on line 3, column (f) . . . . . . . o 4
5 California depreciation for assets placed in service prior t0 1996. . . . . . . . . ... 5
6 Total California depreciation from this activity. Add the amounts on line 2, line4andline5 . . ... ... ........... 6
7 Total federal depreciation from this activity. Enter depreciation from your federal Form 4562, line 21 . . . . .. ... ... .. 7
8 a |If line 6 is more than line 7, enter the difference here and on Schedule CA (540 or 540NR). See instructions . . . . . . . 8a
b If line 6 is less than line 7, enter the difference here and on Schedule CA (540 or 540NR). See instructions. . . . . . . . 8b
ot Description of b) Date placed California basi d) Cod Period 1996 Californi
Part IV Amortization. @ ar?]%crtrilggglg %u?i(rjgsw% © ma;eersigge © foer1 la?rrmglr?iza?%z @ s:ctﬁm © peerr(lzoentgrge 0 amoniz:tilo%méap\.'duction
9
10 Total California amortization from this activity. Add the amounts on line 9, column (f) . ... .................. 10
11 California amortization of costs that began before 1996 . . . . . . . . . .. . . 11
12 Total California amortization from this activity. Add the amounts on line 10 and line 11. . . . . . ... ... ... .. .. ... 12
13 Total federal amortization from this activity. Enter amortization from your federal Form 4562, line 42 . . . ... ... .. ... 13
14 a |If line 12 is more than line 13, enter the difference here and on Schedule CA (540 or 540NR). See instructions. . . . . . 14a
b If line 12 is less than line 13, enter the difference here and on Schedule CA (540 or 540NR). See instructions . . . . . . 14b
TAXABLE YEAR SCHEDULE
1996  California Capital Gain or Loss Adjustment D
(a) Description of property (identify S corporation stock) (b) Sales price (c) Cost or other basis (d) Loss. If (c) is more than (e) Gain. If (b) is more than
Example: 100 shares of “Z" (S stock) (b), subtract (b) from (c) (c), subtract (c) from (b)
1
2 Net gain or (loss) shown on California Schedule(s) K-1 from partnerships, S corporations,
fiduciaries and limited liability companies . . . . ... .. .. .. 2
3 Total 1996 gains from all sources. Add column (e) amounts of line Landline2 . ... ....... .. .. .. ... ... 3
4 1996 loss. Add column (d) amounts of line Land line2. . ... ......... .. ........ 4
5 California capital loss carryover from 1995, if any. See instructions . . ... ........... 5
6 Total 1996 loss. Add line 4and line 5. . . ... . ... ... 6
7 Combine line 3 and line 6. If a loss, go to line 8. Ifagain,gotoline9 . ............. ... ... ....... 7
8 Ifline 7 is a loss, enter the smaller of: (a) the loss on line 7; or
(b) $3,000 ($1,500 if married filing a separate return). See instructions . . . . ... ... ... .. 8
9 Enter the amount from federal Form 1040, line 13 . . . . . . . . . . 9
10 Enter the California gain from line 7 or loss from line 8 . . . . . . . . . . .. .. . . . . . . 10
11 California gain or loss adjustment: Compare line 9 and line 10. See instructions.
a If line 9 is more than line 10, enter the difference here and on Schedule CA (540 or 540NR) line 13, coumn B. . . 1la
b If line 9 is less than line 10, enter the difference here and on Schedule CA (540 or 540NR), line 13, column C . . . 11b
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Instructions for Schedule CA (540)

These instructions are based on the Internal Revenue Code (IRC) as of January 1, 1993 and the California Revenue and Taxation Code (R&TC).

General Information

Differences Between California and Federal Law

In general, California did not conform its law to
changes made to the Internal Revenue Code (IRC)
by the federal Revenue Reconciliation Act of 1993
(Public Law 103-66). California legislation during
1994 and 1996 did adopt a few specific provisions of
the 1993 federal changes. All other references in
these instructions are to the IRC as it existed on
January 1, 1993. Specific differences include:

IRC Section 179 expense deduction. The Califor-
nia maximum deduction is $10,000; the federal maxi-
mum deduction is $17,500. In many cases, this
difference also affects the California basis and
depreciation deduction for qualifying assets.

Nonresidential rental property placed in service

on or after May 13, 1993 (IRC Section 168). The
California recovery period is 31.5 years; the federal
recovery period is 39 years.

IRC Section 197 property. Property qualifying as
Section 197 property for federal purposes is also
Section 197 property for California purposes. How-
ever, for qualifying property acquired before January
1, 1994, the California adjusted basis as of January
1, 1994, must be amortized over the remaining fed-
eral amortization period.

Material participation in rental real estate activi-

ties. Beginning with the 1994 tax year, federal law
provides that eligible taxpayers who materially partic-
ipate in rental real estate activities will no longer be
subject to the limitations on the deduction of passive
activity losses. California does not conform to this
provision and these activities will still be considered
passive under California law. See form FTB 3801,
Passive Activity Loss Limitations, for more
information.

Purpose

Use this schedule to make adjustments to your
federal adjusted gross income and to your itemized
deductions using California law.

Specific Line Instructions for
Part| Income

Column A — Federal Amounts

Line 7 through Line 21 -

Enter on line 7 through line 21 the same amounts

you entered on your federal Form 1040, line 7

through line 21 (or on your federal Form 1040A, line

7 through line 13b; or on your federal Form 1040EZ

line 1, line 2 and line 3). Also enter the following if

applicable:

® The total IRA distribution received on line 15(a);

® The total pension or annuity distribution received
on line 16(a); and

® The total social security retirement benefit
received on line 20(a).

Line 22 — Total
Combine the amounts on line 7 through line 21.

Line 23a through Line 29 —

Enter the same amounts you entered on your federal
Form 1040, line 23a through line 29 (or your

Form 1040A, line 15a and line 15b).

Line 30 — Add line 23a through line 29. However, if
you made any of the adjustments described in the

instructions for federal Form 1040, line 30 or if you

claimed the foreign housing deduction from federal
Form 2555, enter the amount from Form 1040,

line 30 on this line.

Line 31 — Total
Subtract line 30 from line 22.

Column B and Column C — Subtractions and
Additions

Use these columns to enter subtractions and addi-
tions to federal amounts in column A that are neces-
sary because of the differences between California
and federal law. Enter all amounts as positive
numbers unless instructed otherwise.

You may need one of the following FTB publications

to complete column B and column C:

® 1001, Supplemental Guidelines to California
Adjustments;

® 1005, Pension and Annuity Guidelines; or

® 1032, Tax Information for Military Personnel.

To order a publication or form, see the back cover of
your tax booklet.

Line 7 — Wages, Salaries, Tips, etc.

Generally, you will not make any adjustments on this
line. If you did not receive any of the kinds of income
listed below, make no entry on this line in either
column B or column C.

Active duty military pay.  Special rules apply to
active duty military taxpayers. Get FTB Pub. 1032
for more information.

Ride-sharing benefits or sick pay received under
the Federal Insurance Contributions and Railroad
Retirement Act. California excludes these items
from income. Enter in column B the amount of these
benefits included in the amount in column A.

Income exempted by U.S. tax treaties (unless
specifically exempt for state purposes also). If
you excluded this income from your federal return,
enter the excluded amount in column C. If you
claimed foreign earned income or housing cost
exclusion under IRC Section 911, see the instruc-
tions for line 21. Get FTB Pub. 1001 for more
information.

Line 8 — Taxable Interest Income

If you did not receive any of the kinds of income
listed below, make no entry on this line in either
column B or column C. Otherwise, follow the
instructions below.

Enter in column B the interest you received from:

® United States saving bonds;

® United States treasury bills; or

® Any other bonds or obligations of the United
States and its territories;

Get FTB Pub. 1001 if you received interest income
from sources listed below.
A. Loans made in an enterprise zone, program area
or the Los Angeles Revitalization Zone (LARZ);
B. Merchant marine construction fund deposits by
ship contractors;
C. Original issue discount (OID) for bonds issued by
Poland; or
D. ltems listed above passed through to you from
S corporations, trusts, partnerships and limited
liability companies.
Do not make entries in either column B or column C
for interest you earned on Federal National Mort-
gage Association (Fannie Mae) Bonds, Government
National Mortgage Association (Ginnie Mae) Bonds,
and Federal Home Loan Mortgage Corporations
(FHLMC) securities.

Enter in column C the interest you identified as tax-

exempt interest on your federal Form 1040 (or

Form 1040A), line 8b and which you received from:

® Non-California state bonds;

® Non-California municipal bonds issued by a
county, city, town or other local government unit;

® Obligations of the District of Columbia issued
after December 27, 1973; and

® Non-California bonds if the interest was passed
through to you from S corporations, trusts, part-
nerships or limited liability companies.

Line 9 — Dividend Income

Generally, you will not make an adjustment on this

line. However, certain mutual funds are qualified to

pay “exempt-interest dividends” if at least 50% of

their assets consist of tax-exempt government obli-
gations. The portion of the dividend income that is
tax-exempt will be shown on your annual statement
from the mutual fund. If the California exempt-
interest dividend amount is more than the federal
exempt-interest dividend amount, enter the differ-
ence in column B.

Get FTB Pub. 1001 if you received dividend income

from:

® Noncash patronage dividends from farmers’
cooperatives or mutual associations;

® Afederal S corporation that is a California
C corporation;

® A controlled foreign corporation;

® Distributions of pre-1987 earnings from
S corporations;

® Undistributed capital gains for regulated invest-
ment company (RIC) shareholders; or

® Distributed capital gain dividends.

Line 10 — State Tax Refund

California does not tax the state income tax refund
you received in 1996. Enter in column B the amount
of state tax refund you entered in column A.

Line 11 — Alimony Received

If you are a nonresident alien and received alimony
that was not included in your federal income, enter
the alimony on this line in column C. Otherwise,
make no adjustment on this line.

Line 12 — Business Income or (Loss)

Adjustments to federal business income or loss you
reported in column A generally are necessary
because of the difference between California and
federal law relating to depreciation methods, special
credits and accelerated write-offs. As a result, the
recovery period or the basis you should use to figure
California depreciation may be different from the
amount used for federal purposes, and you may
need to make an adjustment to your business
income or loss. Adjustments are figured on form
FTB 3885A and are most commonly necessary
because:

Before January 1, 1987, California did not allow
depreciation under the federal accelerated cost
recovery system, and you must continue to figure
California depreciation for those assets in the same
manner as prior years.

On or after January 1, 1987, California provides
special credits and accelerated write-offs that affect
the California basis of qualifying assets. Refer to the
bulleted list below. Also, California does not conform
to certain federal provisions. See the items listed
under “General Information.”

Note: If any of your business activities is a passive
activity that produces a loss, complete form

FTB 3801, Passive Activity Loss Limitations (PALS),
to figure the passive activity loss allowable under
California law.

If you are engaged in more than one business activ-
ity, use a separate form FTB 3885A to report the
adjustments for each activity.

Get FTB Pub. 1001 for more information about:

Income related to:

® Business, trade or profession carried on within
California that is an integral part of a unitary
business carried on both within and outside Cali-
fornia; or

® Pro rata share of income received from a con-
trolled foreign corporation by a U.S. shareholder.

Basis adjustments related to:

® Property acquired prior to becoming a California
resident;

® Sales or use tax credit for property used in an
enterprise zone, program area, LARZ, or Local
Agency Military Base Recovery Area (LAMBRA);

® Manufacturer's Investment Credit (MIC);

® Reduced recovery periods for fruit-bearing grape-
vines replaced in a California vineyard on or
after 1/1/92 as a result of phylloxera infestation;
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® Expenditures for tertiary injectants;

® Certain property placed in service on an Indian
reservation after 1/1/94 and before 12/31/2003;

® Amortization of pollution control facilities;

® Discharge of real property business
indebtedness;

® Employer-paid child care center and services;

® Employer-paid child care plan;

® Vehicles used in an employer-sponsored
ridesharing program;

® An enhanced oil recovery system;

® The cost of making a business accessible to dis-
abled individuals; or

® Property for which you received an energy con-
servation subsidy from a public utility on or after
January 1, 1995.

Busmess expense deductions related to:
Wages paid in an enterprise zone, program area,
LARZ or LAMBRA;

® Certain employer costs for employees who are
also enrolled members of Indian tribes;

® Abandonment or tax recoupment fees for open-
space easements and timberland preserves;

® Indirect political contributions;

® Club dues or payments made to a club that
restricts membership or the use of its services or
facilities on the basis of age, sex, race, religion,
color, ancestry or national origin;

® |obbying expenses denied under IRC
Section 162;

® Business located in an enterprise zone, a pro-
gram area, LARZ or LAMBRA,;

® Research expense; or

° Em;()jloyer wage expense for Work Opportunity
Credit

Line 13 — Capital Gain or (Loss)

Generally, you will not make any adjustments on this

line if you do not have any of the items listed below.

Use Schedule D, California Gain or Loss Adjust-

ment if you have differences from:
Basis differences resulting from differences
between California and federal law in prior years;

® Gain or loss on stock and bond transactions;

® |nstallment sale gain reported on form
FTB 3805E, Installment Sale Income;

® Gain on the sale of personal residence where
depreciation was allowable;

®  Flow-through gain or loss from partnerships,
fiduciaries, S corporations or limited liability
companies;

® Gain from involuntary conversion of capital
assets not held for business profit; or

® Capital loss carryover from your 1995 California
Schedule D.

Get FTB Pub. 1001 for more information about:
Disposition of S corporation stock acquired
before 1987;

*  Gain on sale or disposition of qualified assisted
housing development to low-income residents or
to specified entities maintaining housing for low-
income residents;

® Gain on certain vessels transferred to and
exchanged with the Maritime Administration or in
connection with construction of new vessels;

® Undistributed capital gain for regulated invest-
ment company (RIC) shareholders;

® Gain or loss on the sale of property inherited
before January 1, 1987,

® Capital loss carrybacks; or

® Rollover gain from the sale of publicly traded
securities into specialized small business invest-
ment companies.

Line 14 — Other Gains or (Losses)

Generally, you will not make any adjustments on this
line. However, the California basis of your other
assets may be different than the federal basis due to
differences between California and federal law.
Therefore, you may have to adjust the amount of
other gains or losses. Get Schedule D-1, Sales of
Business Property, to figure the adjustment.

Line 15 — IRA Distribution

Generally, you will not make any adjustments on this
line. However, there may be significant differences in
the taxable amount, depending on when you made

your contributions to the IRA. Differences may also
occur if you changed your residency status after you
first began making contributions to your IRA or if
your California IRA deductions were different from
your federal deductions because of differences
between California and federal self-employment
income.

If the taxable amount using California law is:

® |ess than the amount taxable under federal law,
enter the difference in column B; or

® More than the amount taxable under federal law,
enter the difference in column C.

Get FTB Pub. 1005 for more information.

Line 16 — Pensions and Annuities

Generally, you will not make any adjustments on this
line. However, if you received certain railroad retire-
ment benefits or partially taxable distributions from a
pension plan, you may need to make the adjust-
ments described below.

If you received a federal Form RRB 1099-R for rail-
road retirement benefits and included all or part of
these benefits in taxable income in column A, enter
the taxable benefit amount in column B.

If you began receiving a retirement annuity between
the dates 7/1/86 and 1/1/87 and elected to use the
three-year rule for California purposes and the annu-
ity rules for federal purposes, enter in column C the
amount of the annuity payments you excluded for
federal purposes.

Line 17 — Rental Real Estate, Royalties,
Partnerships, S Corporations, and Trusts, etc.
Adjustments to federal income or loss you reported
in column A generally are necessary because of the
difference between California and federal law relat-
ing to depreciation methods, special credits and
accelerated write-offs. As a result, the recovery
period or the basis you should use to figure Califor-
nia depreciation may be different from the amount
used for federal purposes, and you may need to
make an adjustment to your income or loss. For
more information about the types of income and
deductions that often require adjustments, see the
instructions for Schedule CA (540), line 12.

Note: If any of your activities is a passive activity
that produces a loss, complete form FTB 3801 to
figure the passive activity loss allowable under
California law.

Note: Limited liability companies (LLCs) that are
classified as partnerships for California purposes and
limited liability partnerships (LLPs) are subject to the
same rules as other partnerships. LLCs report dis-
tributive items to members on Schedule K-1 (568),
Member’s Share of Income, Deductions, Credits, etc.
LLPs report to partners on Schedule K-1 (565), Part-
ner's Share of Income, Deductions, Credits, etc.

Get FTB Pub. 1001 for more information about:
Payments to retired or deceased partners;

® Accumulation distribution to beneficiaries for
which the trust was not required to pay California
tax because the beneficiary’s interest was
contingent.

Line 18 — Farm Income or (LosS)

Adjustments to federal income or loss you report in
column A generally are necessary because of the
difference between California and federal law relat-
ing to depreciation methods, special credits and
accelerated write-offs. As a result, the recovery
period or the basis you should use to figure Califor-
nia depreciation may be different from the amount
used for federal purposes, and you may need to
make an adjustment to your farm income or loss.

Note: If your farm activity is a passive activity which
produces a loss, complete form FTB 3801 to figure
the passive activity loss allowable under California
law.

Line 19 — Unemployment Compensation

Enter on line 19, column B the amount of unemploy-
ment compensation shown in column A.

Line 20 — Social Security Benefits

Enter in column B the amount of social security ben-
efits or equivalent tier 1 railroad retirement benefits
shown in column A.

Line 21 — Other Income

a. California Lottery Winnings.  Enter in column B
the amount of California lottery winnings included in
the federal amount on line 21 in column A. Note: Do
not include lottery winnings from other states. They
are taxable to California.

b. Disaster Loss Carryover from FTB 3805V. If
you have a California disaster loss carryover from
your 1995 form FTB 3805V, Net Operating Loss
(NOL) Computation and NOL and Disaster Loss Lim-
itations, enter that amount as a positive humber in
column B.

c. Federal NOL deduction from Form 1040,

line 21. If the amount on line 21 in column A
includes a federal net operating loss (NOL), enter
the amount of the federal NOL deduction as a posi-
tive number in column C. Get form FTB 3805V to fig-
ure the allowable California NOL deduction.

d. NOL Carryover from FTB 3805V. The allowable
NOL carryover under California law is different from
the allowable NOL carryover under federal law. Use
form FTB 3805V to figure the allowable California
NOL deduction and enter it as a positive number in
column B.

Note: If your 1995 form FTB 3805V has both disas-
ter loss carryovers and NOL carryovers, you will
need to separately state these two amounts. See
line 21b for disaster loss carryovers.

e. NOL deduction from FTB 38052, FTB 3806 or

FTB 3807. If you have an NOL deduction on form:
FTB 3805Z, Enterprise Zone/Program Area
Deduction and Credit Summary, line 8b;

® FTB 3806, Los Angeles Revitalization Zone
Deduction and Credit Summary, line 4b; or

® FTB 3807, Local Agency Military Base Recovery
Area Deduction and Credit Summary, line 4b.

enter in column B the total NOL deduction figured on
these forms.

f. Other (describe)

Reward from a crime hotline.  Enter in column B
the amount of a reward that was authorized by a
government agency, that you received from a crime
hotline established by a government agency or non-
profit organization and that is included in the amount
on line 21 in column A. Note: You may not make
this adjustment if you are an employee of the hotline
or someone who sponsors rewards for the hotline.

Payments for alternative transportation.  Enter in
column B the amount that you received from your
employer, other than wages or salaries, for partici-
pating in an alternative transportation method and is
included in the amount on line 21 in column A. For
more information, refer to R&TC Section 17149.

Federal foreign earned income or housing
exclusion. Enter in column C the amount deducted
from federal income on Form 1040, line 21.

Payment from a living benefit contract. ~ Enter in
column B the income from such a contract that you
included in the amount on line 21 in column A.

Beverage container recycling income.  Enter in
column B the amount of this type of income that you
included in the amount on line 21 in column A.

Rebates from water agencies or suppliers.  Enter
in column B the amount of this type of income that
you included in the amount on line 21 in column A.

Original issue discount (OID) for debt instru-

ments issued in 1985 and 1986. In the year of sale
or other disposition, you must recognize the differ-
ence between the amount reported on your federal
return and the amount reported for California pur-
poses. Issuers: Enter the difference between the
federal deductible amount and the California deduct-
ible amount on line 21f in column B. Holders: Enter
the difference between the amount included in fed-
eral gross income and the amount included for Cali-
fornia purposes on line 21f in column C.

Foreign income of nonresident aliens.  Adjust fed-
eral income to reflect worldwide income computed
under California law. Enter losses from foreign
sources in column B. Enter foreign source income in
column C.
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Energy conservation subsidies.  Enter in column C
the amount of any energy conservation subsidy pro-
vided, either directly or indirectly, by public utilities
for the purchase or installation of an energy conser-
vation measure that was not included in column A.

Line 22 — Total
Add line 7 through line 21f in column B and col-
umn C. Enter the totals on line 22.

Line 24 — Moving Expenses

Expenses incurred during 1996:  California law and
federal law are the same beginning in 1996. Make
no entry on this line.

Expenses incurred before 1996: If you incurred
moving expenses before 1996, received reimburse-
ment in 1996 and did not deduct those expenses on
a prior year's tax return, get 1995 form FTB 3596,
California Moving Expenses, to find out if you may
deduct those expenses. Then make the adjustments
indicated by form FTB 3596 on your 1996 Schedule
CA (540), line 24. See the back cover of your tax
booklet for information on ordering forms.

Line 26 — Self-employed Health Insurance

Deduction

California law allows the deduction for self-employed
health insurance. If you qualify for the federal deduc-
tion, you also qualify for the California deduction.
However, the amount of the deduction will be differ-
ent for California, and you must figure the deduction
using the lower California percentage of 25%. Com-

Specific Line Instructions for
Part Il Adjustments to
Federal Itemized Deductions

Line 33 — Federal Itemized Deductions

Enter the total amount of itemized deductions from
your federal Schedule A, lines 4, 9, 14, 18, 19, 26
and 27. Important: If you did not itemize deductions
on your federal tax return but will itemize deductions
on your California tax return, first complete federal
Schedule A. Then complete Schedule CA (540),
Part II, line 33 through line 38.

Line 34 — State, Local and Foreign Income Taxes
Enter the state and local income tax from federal
Schedule A, line 5 and only the portion relating to
foreign income taxes from line 8. Include state dis-
ability insurance (SDI), limited partnership tax and
income or franchise tax paid by S corporations.

Line 36 — Other Adjustments

Adoption related expenses. If you deducted adop-
tion related expenses on your federal Schedule A
and are claiming the adoption cost credit for the
same amounts on your Form 540, enter the amount
of the adoption cost credit claimed as a negative
number on line 36.

Mortgage Interest Credit. If you reduced your fed-
eral mortgage interest deduction by the amount of

enter the difference between the fair market value of
the stock and the California basis as a negative
number on line 36.

State Legislator's Travel Expenses.  Under Califor-
nia law, deductible travel expenses for state legisla-
tors include only those incurred while away from
their place of residence overnight. Figure the differ-
ence between the amount allowed using federal law
and the amount allowed using California law. Enter
the difference as a negative number on line 36.

Line 38 — California Itemized Deductions

Is the amount on Form 540, line 13 more than the
amount shown below for your filing status?

Single or married filing separate. . . . . $111,695
Married filing joint or

qualifying widow(er) . . . . .. ... $223,390
Head of household . . .. ... .... $167,542

NO.  Transfer the amount from line 37 to line 38.
Do not complete the worksheet below.

YES. Complete the Itemized Deductions
Worksheet that follows.

Itemized Deductions Worksheet
1. Amount from Schedule CA (540),
line37............. 1
2. Using California amounts, add the
amounts on federal Schedule A,
line 4, line 13 and line 19 plus
any gambling losses included on
line27 . .. .......... 2

plete the following worksheet to figure your California r ( 3. Subtract line 2 from line 1. . . 3
deduction and to make the necessary adjustment on your mortgage interest credit (from federal Form Note: If zero, stop. Enter the
Schedule CA (540): 8396, Mortgage Interest Credit), increase your Cali- amount from line 1 on Schedule
1. Enter the total amount paid in fornia itemized deductions by the same amount. CA (540), line 38.
1996 for you, your spouse and Errggi; g'se :m(?suitr;\tlgfnﬁ%gef?gﬁr:ﬁlngg%tgage interest 4. Multiply line 3 by 80% (.80) . . 4
dependents. Do not include ) P ) L 5. Amount from Form 540, line 13 5
amounts for any month you were Moving Expenses. If you incurred moving expenses 6. Enter the amount shown above
eligible to participate in an before 1996, received reimbursement in 1996 and for your filing status . . . . . . 6
employer-sponsored plan. . . . 1 did not deduct thfose expenses on all?nor_ year's tax 7 Subtract line 6 from line 5 . . . 7
2. Multiply line 1 by 25% (.25) . . 2 E;ug:{sgegt %ggf?ndogrntﬁf-r 803532’ %gég;?'%&'gvmg Note: If zero or less, stop. Enter
3. Enter your net profit and any P "Th K hy may s the amount from line 1 on Sched-
e o oaarirls PACEY e Ch (540 Ine 5
business under which the insur- line 36. See the ba)clk cover of vour tax booklet for 8. Multiply line 7 by 6% (.06). . . 8
ance plan is established, minus information on ordering forms Y 9. Compare line 4 and line 8. Enter
any deductions you claim on 9 ’ the smaller amount here. . . . 9
Form 1040, line 25 or line 27 . 3 Nontaxable Income Expenses. If, on federal 10. Total itemized deductions.
4. Enter your federal self-employed Schedule A, you claim expenses related to produc- Subtract line 9 from line 1. Enter
healthinsurance deduction from ing income taxed under federal law but not taxed by here and on Schedule CA (540),
Form 1040, line 26 . . . . . . 4 California, enter the amount as a negative number line38............. 10
5. Enter the smaller of line 2 or on line 36. You may claim expenses related to pro-
line3. . ... ... . .. ... 5 ducing income taxed by California law but not taxed
6. Subtract line 5 from line 4. Enter under federal law by entering the amount as a posi-
the result on line 26 in coumn B~ 6 tive number on line 36.
Line 29 — Alimony Paid Employee Business Expense. If you had assets
Enter the social security number and last name of placed in service before January 1, 1987, and you
the person to whom you paid alimony. Note: If you completed federal Form 2106, Employee Business
are a nonresident alien and did not deduct alimony Expenses, also complete Form 2106 using California
on your federal return, enter the amount you paid in amounts. Compare line 10 on both Forms 2106. If
column C. the federal amount is larger, enter the difference as
Line 30 — Add line 23a through line 29 in column B a negative number on fine 36. If the California .
and column C. Note: If you c?aimed the foreign amount is larger, enter the difference as a positive
housing deduction, include that amount in the total number on fine 36. _—
you enter in column B, line 30. Enter the amount Investment Interest Expense. Your California
and “foreign housing deduction” on the dotted line deduction for investment interest expense may be
next to line 30. different from your federal deduction. You must use
Line 31 — Total form FTB 3526, Investment Interest Expense Deduc-
Subtract line 30 from line 22 in column B and col- tion, to figure the amount to enter on line 36.
umn C. Enter the amount and “foreign housing Gambling Losses. California Lottery losses are not
deduction” on the dotted line next to line 30. deductible for California. Enter the amount of Califor-
Transfer the amount from line 31: nia Lottery losses shown on federal Schedule A as a
e Column B to Form 540, Side 1, line 14; and negative number on line 36. _
e Column C to Form 540, Side 1, line 16. Federal Estate Tax. Federal estate tax paid on
P ~ income in respect of a decedent is not deductible for
i you pI.an {0 ltemize deductlons,. g to. Part Il California. Enter the amount of federal estate tax
Caution: If Schedule CA (540), line 31: shown on federal Schedule A as a negative number
Column B is a negative number, do not transfer it to on line 36.
Form 540, line 14. Instead, transfer tlhe amount as a Generation Skipping Transfer Tax.  Tax paid on
positive number to form 540, line 16; or generation skipping transfers is not deductible under
Column C is a negative number, do not transfer it to California law. Enter the amount of expenses shown
Form 540, line 16. Instead, transfer the amount as a on federal Schedule A, line 23, as a negative num-
positive number to form 540, line 14. ber on line 36.
Contribution of Appreciated Stock to a Private
Foundation. For contributions made after 6/30/96,
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Instructions for Form FTB 3885A

Depreciation And Amortization Adjustments

General Information

In general, California did not conform its law to changes made to the Internal
Revenue Code (IRC) by the federal Revenue Reconciliation Act of 1993 (Public
Law 103-66). California legislation during 1994 and 1996 did adopt a few specific
provisions of the 1993 federal changes. All other references in these instructions
are to the IRC as it existed on January 1, 1993.

Expense treatment for small business (IRC Section 179): ~ The maximum
allowed under California law is $10,000; the maximum allowed under federal law
is $17,500.

Amortization of certain intangibles (IRC Section 197): Property classified as
Section 197 property under federal law is also Section 197 property for California
purposes. There is no separate California election required or allowed. However,
for Section 197 property acquired before January 1, 1994, the California adjusted
basis as of January 1, 1994, must be amortized over the remaining federal amor-
tization period.

Recovery period for nonresidential real property placed in service on or
after May 13, 1993 (IRC Section 168): The California recovery period is 31.5
years; the federal recovery period is 39 years.

Purpose

Use form FTB 3885A to figure the adjustment for the difference between the
amount of depreciation and amortization allowed as a deduction using California
law and the amount allowed as a deduction using federal law. California law and
federal law have not always allowed the same depreciation methods, special
credits or accelerated write-offs. As a result, the recovery periods or the basis on
which the depreciation is figured for California may be different from the amounts
used for federal purposes. You will probably have reportable differences if all or
part of your assets were placed in service:

® Before January 1, 1987. California did not allow depreciation under the fed-
eral accelerated cost recovery system (ACRS), and you must continue to fig-
ure California depreciation for those assets in the same manner as in prior
years.

® On or after January 1, 1987. California provides special credits and acceler-
ated write-offs that affect the California basis of qualifying assets. California
did not conform to all changes to federal law enacted in 1993 and this
causes the California basis or recovery periods to be different for some
assets.

Differences may also occur for other less common reasons and the instructions
for Schedule CA (540 or 540NR) list them on the line for the type of income likely
to be affected. For example, the instructions for Schedule CA (540 or 540NR),
line 12, Business Income, list other adjustments you may need to report on form
FTB 3885A if you are a sole proprietor. You may also get FTB Pub. 1001, Sup-
plemental Guidelines to California Adjustments, for more information about figur-
ing and reporting these adjustments.

If you are reporting differences for assets related to a passive activity, get form
FTB 3801, Passive Activity Loss Limitations for more information about passive
activities.

Do not use form FTB 3885A to report depreciation expense from federal Form

2106, Employee Business Expenses. See the instructions for Schedule CA (540
or 540NR), line 36.

over of unused cost from 1995. If you elect this deduction, you must reduce your
California depreciable basis by the IRC Section 179 expense. The maximum
Section 179 expense allowed under California law is $10,000.

Complete the worksheet below to figure the Section 179 expense for California.
Include all assets qualifying for the deduction because the limit applies to all
qualifying assets as a group rather than to each asset individually. Refer to fed-
eral form 4562 for information.

1 Maximum dollar limitation for California . . . . . . .. 1__ $10,000
2 Enter total cost of Section 179 property placed in
service during the tax year . . . . . ... ... ... 2
3 Threshold cost of Section 179 property before
reduction in limitation . . . .. .. .......... 3 __$200,000
4 Reduction in limitation. Subtract line 3 from line 2.
If zeroorless,enter-0- . . ... ........... 4
5 Dollar limitation for tax year. Subtract line 4 from line 1
Ifzeroorlessenter-0-. . . . . ... . ... ..... 5
(a) Description of property (b) Cost () Elected cost
6

7 Total elected cost of Section 179 property.
Add column (c), line6 . . .. ... ... .......
8 Tentative deduction. Enter the smaller of line 5 or line 7
9 Carryover of disallowed deduction from 1995 . . . . .
10 Enter the smaller of taxable income
(not less than zero) orline5. . . . .. ... ... .. 10
11 Section 179 expense deduction for California.
Add line 8 and line 9, but do not enter more than
line 10. Also enter the result on FTB 3885A, line2 . . 11
12 Carryover of disallowed deduction
to 1997. Add line 8 and line 9.
Subtract line 11 from the result. . . . 12

© 0

Specific Line Instructions

Note: Prepare and file a separate form FTB 3885A for each business or activity
on your return that has a difference between California and federal depreciation
or amortization. Enter the name of the business or activity in the space provided
at the top of the form. If you need more space, attach additional sheets. How-
ever, complete Part II, Election to Expense Certain Tangible Property (IRC Sec-
tion 179) only once.

Part | Identify the Activity as Passive or Nonpassive

Line 1 — Check the box to identify the activity as passive or nonpassive. A pas-
sive activity is any activity involving the conduct of any trade or business in which
you did not materially participate. Get form FTB 3801 for more information.

If the activity is passive, use this form as a worksheet to figure the depreciation
adjustment to carry to form FTB 3801. Caution: Beginning with the 1994 tax
year, federal law provides that eligible taxpayers who materially participate in
rental real estate activities will no longer be subject to the limitations on the
deduction of passive activity losses. California did not conform to this provision
and these activities are still considered passive for California purposes.

Part Il Election To Expense Certain Tangible Property

You may elect to expense part of the cost of depreciable personal property used
in your trade or business and certain other property described in federal Pub.
534, Depreciation. To do so, you must have purchased property, as defined in
the IRC Section 179(d)(2), and placed it in service during 1996, or have a carry-

Part Il Depreciation

Line 3 — Complete column (a) through column (f) for each tangible asset or
group of assets placed in service during the tax year. Be sure to use the Califor-
nia basis for assets on which you elected to take the Section 179 deduction. It
will be the difference between line 6, column (b) and line 6, column (c) of the
worksheet in Part Il. Be sure to use the California recovery period of 31.5 years if
you are depreciating nonresidential real property placed in service on or after
May 13, 1993.

Line 8 — If line 6 is more than line 7, enter the difference on line 8a.

Nonpassive Activities:  Enter this amount on Schedule CA (540 or 540NR) in
column B on line 12 for federal Schedule C activities; on line 17 for federal
Schedule E activities; or on line 18 for federal Schedule F activities.

Passive Activities: Enter this amount on form FTB 3801, Side 2, California
Worksheet, column (e).

If line 6 is less than line 7, enter the difference on line 8b.

Nonpassive Activities:  Enter this amount on Schedule CA (540 or 540NR) in
column C on line 12 for federal Schedule C activities; on line 17 for federal
Schedule E activities; or on line 18 for federal Schedule F activities.

Passive Activities: Enter this amount on form FTB 3801, Side 2, California
Worksheet, column (e).

Part IV Amortization

Line 9 — Complete column (a) through column (f) for intangible assets placed in
service during the tax year. Be sure to use the California basis and the California
recovery period.

Line 14 — If line 12 is more than line 13, enter the difference on line 14a.

Nonpassive Activities:  Enter this amount on Schedule CA (540 or 540NR) in
column B on line 12 for federal Schedule C activities; on line 17 for federal
Schedule E activities; or on line 18 for federal Schedule F activities.

Passive Activities: Enter this amount on form FTB 3801, Side 2, California
Worksheet, column (e).

If line 12 is less than line 13, enter the difference on line 14b.

Nonpassive Activities:  Enter this amount on Schedule CA (540 or 540NR) in
column C on line 12 for federal Schedule C activities; on line 17 for federal
Schedule E activities; or on line 18 for federal Schedule F activities.

Passive Activities: Enter this amount on form FTB 3801, Side 2, California
Worksheet, column (e).
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Instructions for California Schedule D

California Capital Gain Or Loss Adjustment

General Information

In general, California did not conform its law to
changes made to the Internal Revenue Code (IRC)
by the federal Revenue Reconciliation Act of 1993
(Public Law 103-66). California legislation during
1994 and 1996 did adopt a few specific provisions of
the 1993 federal changes. All other references in
these instructions are to the IRC as it existed on
January 1, 1993. Specifically, California does not
permit rollover of gain from the sale of publicly
traded securities into specialized small business
investment companies (SSBICs).  The gain is fully
taxable to California. Use California Schedule D to
figure the necessary adjustment.

Purpose

Use California Schedule D only if there is a differ-

ence between your federal capital gains and losses

and your California capital gains and losses associ-

ated with the following:

® Disposition of property that was expensed or
depreciated at some time during the period you
owned it; California and federal depreciation and
property expensing methods were different before
1987 and after 1/1/93 and caused a difference
between the California and federal basis;

® Gain or loss on stock and bond transactions;

® |nstallment sale gain reported on form FTB
3805E, Installment Sale Income;

® Gain on the sale of personal residence where
depreciation was allowable;

® Flow-through gain or loss from partnerships, fidu-
ciaries, S corporations or limited liability compa-
nies;

® Distributed and undistributed capital gain
dividends;

® Gain from involuntary conversion of capital assets
not held for business profit; and

® Capital loss carryover from your 1995 California
Schedule D.

For more information about the following, get FTB

Pub. 1001, Supplemental Guidelines to California

Adjustments
® Disposition of property inherited before 1987;

® Disposition of S corporation stock acquired before
1987,

® Gain on the sale or disposition of a qualified
assisted housing development to low-income resi-
dents or to specific entities maintaining housing
for low-income residents;

® Gain on certain vessels transferred to and
exchanged with the Maritime Administration or
realized in connection with construction of new
vessels; or

® Capital loss carryback.

Installment Sales

If you sold property at a gain (other than publicly
traded stocks or securities), and you will receive a
payment in a tax year after the year of sale, you
must report the sale on the installment method
unless you elect not to do so. Get form FTB 3805E,
Installment Sale Income. Also use that form if you
received a payment in 1996 for an installment sale
made in an earlier year.

Note: You may elect not to use the installment sale
method for California by reporting the entire gain on
Schedule D (or Schedule D-1 for business assets) in
the year of the sale and filing your return on or
before the due date.

At-Risk Rules And Passive Activity Limitations

If you dispose of (1) an asset used in an activity to
which the at-risk rules apply, or (2) any part of your
interest in an activity to which the at-risk rules apply,
and you have amounts in the activity for which you
are not at risk, get and complete federal Form 6198,
At-Risk Limitations, using California amounts to fig-
ure your California deductible loss under the at-risk
rules. Once a loss becomes allowable under the
at-risk rules, it becomes subject to the passive activ-

ity rules. Get form FTB 3801, Passive Activity Loss
Limitations, to see how to report capital gains and
losses from a passive activity.

Specific Line Instructions

Line 1 — List each capital asset transaction.

Column (a) — Description Of Property
Describe the asset you sold or exchanged.

Capital Gain Distributions.  If you receive federal
Form 2439, Notice to Shareholder of Undistributed
Long-Term Capital Gains, from a mutual fund, do not
include the undistributed capital gain dividends on
Schedule D. However, if you receive federal

Form 1099-DIV, Dividends and Distributions, enter
the name of the distributing corporation or mutual
fund in column (a), and the amount of distributed
capital gain dividends in column (e). Do not com-
plete columns (b), (c) and (d) for these dividends.
Follow the instructions for the remainder of
Schedule D.

Column (b) — Sales Price

Enter in this column either the gross sales price or
the net sales price from the sale. If you received a
Form 1099-B, 1099-S or similar statement showing
the gross sales price, enter that amount in col-

umn (b). However, if box 2 of Form 1099-B indicates
that gross proceeds less commissions and option
premiums were reported to IRS, enter that net
amount in column (b). If you entered the net amount
in column (b), do not include the commissions and
option premiums in column (c).

Column (c) — Cost Or Other Basis

In general, the cost or other basis is the cost of the
property plus purchase commissions and improve-
ments minus depreciation, amortization and deple-
tion. Enter the cost or adjusted basis of the asset for
California purposes. Use your records and California
tax returns for years before 1987 to determine the
California amount to enter in column (c).

If you used an amount other than cost as the
original basis, your federal basis may be different
from your California basis. Other reasons for
differences are:

Depreciation Methods and Property Expensing

California law:

® Did not allow the use of ACRS before 1987;

® Did not allow the use of an asset depreciation —
range 20% above or below the standard rate;

® Limits expensing of property under IRC

Section 179 to $10,000;

Permitted rapid write-off of property such as solar

energy systems, pollution control devices and

property used in an enterprise zone, program

area, the Los Angeles Revitalization Zone (LARZ)

or Local Agency Military Base Recovery Area

(LAMBRA).

Inherited Property — The California basis of prop-
erty inherited from a decedent is generally fair mar-
ket value (FMV) at the time of death. If you acquired
commumty property as a surviving spouse:

® Before January 1, 1987, generally the basis of
your deceased spouse’s one-half interest in the
property is FMV at the time of death and the basis
of your one-half interest is cost; or

On or after January 1, 1987, the entire basis of
the inherited community property is FMV at the
time of death. Get FTB Pub. 1039, Basis of Prop-
erty — Decedent/Surviving Spouse for more
information.

S Corporation Stock — Prior to 1987, California law
did not recognize S corporations. As a result, your
California basis in S corporation stock may differ
from your federal basis. In general, your California
basis will be cost-adjusted for income, loss and dis-
tributions received after 1986, while your stock was
California S corporation stock. Your federal basis will
be cost-adjusted for income, loss and distributions
received during the time your stock qualified for fed-
eral S corporation treatment.

Special Credits — California law authorizes special
tax credits not allowed under federal law or com-
puted differently under federal law. In many
instances if you claimed special credits related to
capital assets, you must reduce your basis in the
assets by the amount of credit.

Other adjustments may apply differently to the
federal and California basis of your capital assets.
Figure the original basis of your asset using the Cali-
fornia law in effect when the asset was acquired,
and adjust it according to provisions of California law
in effect during the period of your ownership.

Line 5 — 1995 California Capital Loss Carryover
Enter the amount of your 1995 California net capital
loss that was more than the loss limitation.

Line 7 — Net Gain Or Loss

If the amount on line 3 is more than the amount on
line 6, subtract line 6 from line 3. Enter the differ-
ence as a gain on line 7.

If the amount on line 6 is more than the amount on
line 3, subtract line 3 from line 6 and enter the differ-
ence as a loss on line 7.

Use the worksheet on this page to figure your capital
loss carryover to 1997.

Line 8 — If line 7 is a net capital loss, enter the
smaller of the loss on line 7 or $3,000 ($1,500 if you
are married filing a separate return).

Line 11a — Enter the difference on line 11a and on
Schedule CA (540 or 540NR), line 13, column B.
EXAMPLES:

Gain on line 9 is more than gain on line 10.

Federal gain on line 9is. . . . . . . $10,000

California gainon line 10is . . . . . . $ 6,000

Subtract line 10 from line 9 . . . . . . $ 4,000
Loss on line 9 is less than loss on line 10.

Federal losson line 9is. . . .. ... $1,000

California loss on line 10is . . . . . . $2,000

Subtract line 9 from line 10 . . . . . . $1,000
Gain on line 9 and loss on line 10.

Federal gain on line 9is. . . . . . .. $3,000

California loss on line 10is . . . . . . $3,000

Addline9andline10. ... ... .. $6,000

Line 11b — Enter the difference on line 11b and on
Schedule CA (540 or 540NR), line 13, column C.

EXAMPLES:
Gain on line 9 is less than gain on line 10.

Federal gainonline9is. . . . . ... $ 6,000

California gain on line 10is . . . . . $11,000

Subtract line 9 from line 10 . . . . . . $ 5,000
Loss on line 9 is more than loss on line 10.

Federal losson line 9is. . . . . ... $2,000

California loss on line 10is . . . . . . $1,000

Subtract line 10 from line 9 . . . . . . $1,000
Loss on line 9 and gain on line 10.

Federal loss on line 9is. . . . . ... $2,000
California gain on line 10is . . . . . . $5,000
Add line9andline10. . . . ... .. $7,000

California Capital Loss Carryover Worksheet
1. Loss from Schedule D, line 10,

stated as a positive number . . 1
2. Amount from Form 540 or

Form 540NR, line 17 . . . . . 2
3. Amount from Form 540 or

Form 540NR, line 18 . . . . . 3
4. Subtract line 3 from line 2. If less

than zero, enter as a negative

o

Combine line 1 and line 4. If
less than zero, enter -0-. . . .
Loss from Schedule D, line 7 .
Enter the smaller of I|ne 1lor

~No

8. Subtract line 7 from line 6. This is
your capital loss carryover to
1997 . . ..o 8

96 33207
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1996 California Tax Table

Use the Tax Table below if your taxable income on Form 540EZ, line 16; Form 540A, line 16; or Form 540, line 19 is $50,000 or less.

Use the Tax Rate Schedule on page 46 if your taxable income on Form 540A, line 16 or Form 540, line 19 is more than $50,000.

To Find Your Tax:

* Read down the column labeled “If Your Taxable Income Is . . ."” to find the range that includes your taxable income.

* Read across the columns labeled “The Tax For Filing Status” until you find the tax that applies for your taxable income and filing status.

Filing status: 1 or 3 (Single; Married filing Separate) 2 or 5 (Married filing Joint; Qualifying Widow(er)) 4 (Head of Household)

If Your Taxable The Tax For If Your Taxable The Tax For If Your Taxable The Tax For

Income Is . . . Filing Status Income s . . . Filing Status Income s . . . Filing Status
At But Not 10r3 20r5 4 | At But Not 10r3 20r5 4 | At But Not 10r3 20r5 4
Least Over Is Is Is |Least Over Is Is Is |Least Over Is Is Is
1 50 0 0 0 6,451 6,550 81 65 65 | 12,951 13,050 238 162 162
51 150 1 1 1 6,551 6,650 83 66 66 | 13,051 13,150 242 164 164
151 250 2 2 2 6,651 6,750 85 67 67 | 13,151 13,250 246 166 166
251 350 3 3 3 6,751 6,850 87 68 68 | 13,251 13,350 250 168 168
351 450 4 4 4 6,851 6,950 89 69 69 | 13,351 13,450 254 170 170
451 550 5 5 5 6,951 7,050 91 70 70 | 13,451 13,550 258 172 172
551 650 6 6 6 7,051 7,150 93 71 71 | 13,551 13,650 262 174 174
651 750 7 7 7 7,151 7,250 95 72 72 | 13,651 13,750 266 176 176
751 850 8 8 8 7,251 7,350 97 73 73 | 13,751 13,850 270 178 178
851 950 9 9 9 7,351 7,450 99 74 74 | 13,851 13,950 274 180 180
951 1,050 10 10 10 7,451 7,550 101 75 75 | 13,951 14,050 278 182 182
1,051 1,150 11 11 11 7,551 7,650 103 76 76 | 14,051 14,150 282 184 184
1,151 1,250 12 12 12 7,651 7,750 105 77 77 | 14,151 14,250 286 186 186
1,251 1,350 13 13 13 7,751 7,850 107 78 78 | 14,251 14,350 290 188 188
1,351 1,450 14 14 14 7,851 7,950 109 79 79 | 14,351 14,450 294 190 190
1,451 1,550 15 15 15 7,951 8,050 111 80 80 | 14,451 14,550 298 192 192
1,551 1,650 16 16 16 8,051 8,150 113 81 81 [ 14,551 14,650 302 194 194
1,651 1,750 17 17 17 8,151 8,250 115 82 82 | 14,651 14,750 306 196 196
1,751 1,850 18 18 18 8,251 8,350 117 83 83 | 14,751 14,850 310 198 198
1,851 1,950 19 19 19 8,351 8,450 119 84 84 | 14,851 14,950 314 200 200
1,951 2,050 20 20 20 8,451 8,550 121 85 85 | 14,951 15,050 318 202 202
2,051 2,150 21 21 21 8,551 8,650 123 86 86 | 15,051 15,150 322 204 204
2,151 2,250 22 22 22 8,651 8,750 125 87 87 | 15,151 15,250 326 206 206
2,251 2,350 23 23 23 8,751 8,850 127 88 88 | 15,251 15,350 330 208 208
2,351 2,450 24 24 24 8,851 8,950 129 89 89 | 15,351 15,450 334 210 210
2,451 2,550 25 25 25 8,951 9,050 131 90 90 | 15,451 15,550 338 212 212
2,551 2,650 26 26 26 9,051 9,150 133 91 91 | 15,551 15,650 342 214 214
2,651 2,750 27 27 27 9,151 9,250 135 92 92 | 15,651 15,750 346 216 216
2,751 2,850 28 28 28 9,251 9,350 137 93 93 | 15,751 15,850 350 218 218
2,851 2,950 29 29 29 9,351 9,450 139 94 94 | 15,851 15,950 354 220 220
2,951 3,050 30 30 30 9,451 9,550 141 95 95 | 15,951 16,050 358 222 222
3,051 3,150 31 31 31 9,551 9,650 143 96 96 | 16,051 16,150 362 224 224
3,151 3,250 32 32 32 9,651 9,750 145 97 97 | 16,151 16,250 366 226 226
3,251 3,350 33 33 33 9,751 9,850 147 98 98 | 16,251 16,350 370 228 228
3,351 3,450 34 34 34 9,851 9,950 149 100 100 | 16,351 16,450 374 230 230
3,451 3,550 35 35 35 9,951 10,050 151 102 102 | 16,451 16,550 378 232 232
3,551 3,650 36 36 36 | 10,051 10,150 153 104 104 | 16,551 16,650 382 234 234
3,651 3,750 37 37 37 | 10,151 10,250 155 106 106 | 16,651 16,750 386 236 236
3,751 3,850 38 38 38 | 10,251 10,350 157 108 108 | 16,751 16,850 390 238 238
3,851 3,950 39 39 39 | 10,351 10,450 159 110 110 | 16,851 16,950 394 240 240
3,951 4,050 40 40 40 | 10,451 10,550 161 112 112 | 16,951 17,050 398 242 242
4,051 4,150 41 41 41 10,551 10,650 163 114 114 17,061 17,150 402 244 244
4,151 4,250 42 42 42 | 10,651 10,750 165 116 116 | 17,151 17,250 406 246 246
4,251 4,350 43 43 43 | 10,751 10,850 167 118 118 | 17,251 17,350 410 248 248
4,351 4,450 44 44 44 | 10,851 10,950 169 120 120 | 17,351 17,450 414 250 250
4,451 4,550 45 45 45 | 10,951 11,050 171 122 122 | 17,451 17,550 418 252 252
4,551 4,650 46 46 46 | 11,051 11,150 173 124 124 | 17,551 17,650 422 254 254
4,651 4,750 47 47 47 | 11,151 11,250 175 126 126 | 17,651 17,750 426 256 256
4,751 4,850 48 48 48 | 11,251 11,350 177 128 128 | 17,751 17,850 430 258 258
4,851 4,950 49 49 49 | 11,351 11,450 179 130 130 | 17,851 17,950 434 260 260
4,951 5,050 51 50 50 | 11,451 11,550 181 132 132 | 17,951 18,050 438 262 262
5,051 5,150 53 51 51 | 11,551 11,650 183 134 134 | 18,051 18,150 442 264 264
5,151 5,250 55 52 52 | 11,651 11,750 186 136 136 | 18,151 18,250 446 266 266
5,251 5,350 57 53 53 | 11,751 11,850 190 138 138 | 18,251 18,350 450 268 268
5,351 5,450 59 54 54 | 11,851 11,950 194 140 140 | 18,351 18,450 455 270 270
5,451 5,550 61 55 55 | 11,951 12,050 198 142 142 | 18,451 18,550 461 272 272
5,551 5,650 63 56 56 | 12,051 12,150 202 144 144 | 18,551 18,650 467 274 274
5,651 5,750 65 57 57 | 12,151 12,250 206 146 146 | 18,651 18,750 473 276 276
5,751 5,850 67 58 58 [ 12,251 12,350 210 148 148 | 18,751 18,850 479 278 278
5,851 5,950 69 59 59 | 12,351 12,450 214 150 150 | 18,851 18,950 485 280 280
5,951 6,050 71 60 60 | 12,451 12,550 218 152 152 | 18,951 19,050 491 282 282
6,051 6,150 73 61 61 | 12,551 12,650 222 154 154 | 19,051 19,150 497 284 284
6,151 6,250 75 62 62 | 12,651 12,750 226 156 156 | 19,151 19,250 503 286 286
6,251 6,350 77 63 63 | 12,751 12,850 230 158 158 | 19,251 19,350 509 288 288
6,351 6,450 79 64 64 | 12,851 12,950 234 160 160 | 19,351 19,450 515 290 290

The tax table is continued on page 45.
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1996 California Tax Table _ coninued

Filing status: 1 or 3 (Single; Married filing Separate) 2 or 5 (Married filing Joint; Qualifying Widow(er)) 4 (Head of Household)

If Your Taxable The Tax For If Your Taxable The Tax For If Your Taxable The Tax For

Income Is . . . Filing Status Income s . . . Filing Status Income s . . . Filing Status

At But Not 10r3 20rb5 4 | At But Not 10r3 20rb5 4 | At But Not 10r3 20rb5 4

Least Over Is Is Is |Least Over Is Is Is |Least Over Is Is Is
19,451 19,550 521 292 292 | 26,451 26,550 961 497 497 | 33,451 33,550 1,538 777 847
19,551 19,650 527 294 294 | 26,551 26,650 969 501 501 | 33,551 33,650 1,548 781 853
19,651 19,750 533 296 296 | 26,651 26,750 977 505 505 | 33,651 33,750 1,557 785 859
19,751 19,850 539 298 298 | 26,751 26,850 985 509 509 | 33,751 33,850 1,566 789 865
19,851 19,950 545 300 300 | 26,851 26,950 993 513 513 | 33,851 33,950 1,575 793 871
19,951 20,050 551 302 302 | 26,951 27,050 1,001 517 517 | 33,951 34,050 1,585 797 877
20,051 20,150 557 304 304 | 27,0561 27,150 1,009 521 521 | 34,051 34,150 1,594 801 883
20,151 20,250 563 306 306 | 27,151 27,250 1,017 525 525 | 34,151 34,250 1,603 805 889
20,251 20,350 569 308 308 | 27,251 27,350 1,025 529 529 | 34,251 34,350 1,613 809 895
20,351 20,450 575 310 310 | 27,351 27,450 1,033 533 533 | 34,351 34,450 1,622 813 901
20,451 20,550 581 312 312 | 27,451 27,550 1,041 537 537 | 34,451 34,550 1,631 817 907
20,551 20,650 587 314 314 | 27,551 27,650 1,049 541 541 | 34,551 34,650 1,641 821 913
20,651 20,750 593 316 316 | 27,651 27,750 1,057 545 545 | 34,651 34,750 1,650 825 919
20,751 20,850 599 318 318 | 27,751 27,850 1,065 549 549 | 34,751 34,850 1,659 829 925
20,851 20,950 605 320 320 | 27,851 27,950 1,073 553 553 | 34,851 34,950 1,668 833 931
20,951 21,050 611 322 322 | 27,951 28,050 1,081 557 557 | 34,951 35,050 1,678 837 937
21,051 21,150 617 324 324 | 28,051 28,150 1,089 561 561 | 35,051 35,150 1,687 841 943
21,151 21,250 623 326 326 | 28,151 28,250 1,097 565 565 | 35,151 35,250 1,696 845 949
21,251 21,350 629 328 328 | 28,251 28,350 1,105 569 569 | 35,251 35,350 1,706 849 955
21,351 21,450 635 330 330 | 28,351 28,450 1,113 573 573 | 35,351 35,450 1,715 853 961
21,451 21,550 641 332 332 | 28,451 28,550 1,121 577 577 | 35,451 35,550 1,724 857 967
21,551 21,650 647 334 334 | 28,551 28,650 1,129 581 581 | 35,551 35,650 1,734 861 973
21,651 21,750 653 336 336 | 28,651 28,750 1,137 585 585 | 35,651 35,750 1,743 865 979
21,751 21,850 659 338 338 | 28,751 28,850 1,145 589 589 [ 35,751 35,850 1,752 869 985
21,851 21,950 665 340 340 | 28,851 28,950 1,153 593 593 | 35,851 35,950 1,761 873 991
21,951 22,050 671 342 342 | 28,951 29,050 1,161 597 597 | 35,951 36,050 1,771 877 997
22,051 22,150 677 344 344 | 29,051 29,150 1,169 601 601 | 36,051 36,150 1,780 881 1,003
22,151 22,250 683 346 346 | 29,151 29,250 1,177 605 605 | 36,151 36,250 1,789 885 1,009
22,251 22,350 689 348 348 | 29,251 29,350 1,185 609 609 | 36,251 36,350 1,799 889 1,015
22,351 22,450 695 350 350 | 29,351 29,450 1,193 613 613 | 36,351 36,450 1,808 893 1,021
22,451 22,550 701 352 352 | 29,451 29,550 1,201 617 617 | 36,451 36,550 1,817 897 1,027
22,551 22,650 707 354 354 | 29,551 29,650 1,209 621 621 | 36,551 36,650 1,827 901 1,033
22,651 22,750 713 356 356 | 29,651 29,750 1,217 625 625 | 36,651 36,750 1,836 905 1,039
22,751 22,850 719 358 358 | 29,751 29,850 1,225 629 629 | 36,751 36,850 1,845 910 1,045
22,851 22,950 725 360 360 | 29,851 29,950 1,233 633 633 | 36,851 36,950 1,854 916 1,051
22,951 23,050 731 362 362 | 29,951 30,050 1,241 637 637 | 36,951 37,050 1,864 922 1,057
23,051 23,150 737 364 364 | 30,051 30,150 1,249 641 643 | 37,051 37,150 1,873 928 1,063
23,151 23,250 743 366 366 | 30,151 30,250 1,257 645 649 | 37,151 37,250 1,882 934 1,071
23,251 23,350 749 369 369 | 30,251 30,350 1,265 649 655 | 37,251 37,350 1,892 940 1,079
23,351 23,450 755 373 373 | 30,351 30,450 1,273 653 661 | 37,351 37,450 1,901 946 1,087
23,451 23,550 761 377 377 | 30,451 30,550 1,281 657 667 | 37,451 37,550 1,910 952 1,095
23,551 23,650 767 381 381 | 30,551 30,650 1,289 661 673 | 37,551 37,650 1,920 958 1,103
23,651 23,750 773 385 385 | 30,651 30,750 1,297 665 679 | 37,651 37,750 1,929 964 1,111
23,751 23,850 779 389 389 | 30,751 30,850 1,305 669 685 | 37,751 37,850 1,938 970 1,119
23,851 23,950 785 393 393 | 30,851 30,950 1,313 673 691 | 37,851 37,950 1,947 976 1,127
23,951 24,050 791 397 397 | 30,951 31,050 1,321 677 697 | 37,951 38,050 1,957 982 1,135
24,051 24,150 797 401 401 | 31,051 31,150 1,329 681 703 | 38,051 38,150 1,966 988 1,143
24,151 24,250 803 405 405 | 31,151 31,250 1,337 685 709 | 38,151 38,250 1,975 994 1,151
24,251 24,350 809 409 409 | 31,251 31,350 1,345 689 715 | 38,251 38,350 1,985 1,000 1,159
24,351 24,450 815 413 413 | 31,351 31,450 1,353 693 721 | 38,351 38,450 1,994 1,006 1,167
24,451 24,550 821 417 417 | 31,451 31,550 1,361 697 727 | 38,451 38,550 2,003 1,012 1,175
24,551 24,650 827 421 421 | 31,551 31,650 1,369 701 733 | 38,551 38,650 2,013 1,018 1,183
24,651 24,750 833 425 425 | 31,651 31,750 1,377 705 739 | 38,651 38,750 2,022 1,024 1,191
24,751 24,850 839 429 429 | 31,751 31,850 1,385 709 745 | 38,751 38,850 2,031 1,030 1,199
24,851 24,950 845 433 433 | 31,851 31,950 1,393 713 751 | 38,851 38,950 2,040 1,036 1,207
24,951 25,050 851 437 437 | 31,951 32,050 1,401 717 757 | 38,951 39,050 2,050 1,042 1,215
25,051 25,150 857 441 441 | 32,051 32,150 1,409 721 763 | 39,051 39,150 2,059 1,048 1,223
25,151 25,250 863 445 445 | 32,151 32,250 1,417 725 769 | 39,151 39,250 2,068 1,054 1,231
25,251 25,350 869 449 449 | 32,251 32,350 1,427 729 775 | 39,251 39,350 2,078 1,060 1,239
25,351 25,450 875 453 453 | 32,351 32,450 1,436 733 781 | 39,351 39,450 2,087 1,066 1,247
25,451 25,550 881 457 457 | 32,451 32,550 1,445 737 787 | 39,451 39,550 2,096 1,072 1,255
25,551 25,650 889 461 461 | 32,551 32,650 1,455 741 793 | 39,551 39,650 2,106 1,078 1,263
25,651 25,750 897 465 465 | 32,651 32,750 1,464 745 799 | 39,651 39,750 2,115 1,084 1,271
25,751 25,850 905 469 469 | 32,751 32,850 1,473 749 805 | 39,751 39,850 2,124 1,090 1,279
25,851 25,950 913 473 473 | 32,851 32,950 1,482 753 811 | 39,851 39,950 2,133 1,096 1,287
25,951 26,050 921 477 477 | 32,951 33,050 1,492 757 817 | 39,951 40,050 2,143 1,102 1,295
26,051 26,150 929 481 481 | 33,051 33,150 1,501 761 823 | 40,051 40,150 2,152 1,108 1,303
26,151 26,250 937 485 485 | 33,151 33,250 1,510 765 829 | 40,151 40,250 2,161 1,114 1,311
26,251 26,350 945 489 489 | 33,251 33,350 1,520 769 835 | 40,251 40,350 2,171 1,120 1,319
26,351 26,450 953 493 493 | 33,351 33,450 1,529 773 841 | 40,351 40,450 2,180 1,126 1,327

The tax table is continued on page 46.
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1996 California Tax Table _ contnues

Filing status: 1 or 3 (Single; Married filing Separate)

2 or 5 (Married filing Joint; Qualifying Widow(er))

4 (Head of Household)

If Your Taxable The Tax For If Your Taxable The Tax For If Your Taxable The Tax For

Income Is . . . Filing Status Income Is . . . Filing Status Income Is . . . Filing Status

At But Not 10r3 20r5 4 | At But Not 10r3 20r5 4 | At But Not 10r3 20r5 4

Least Over Is Is Is |Least Over Is Is Is |Least Over Is Is Is
40,451 40,550 2,189 1,132 1,335 | 43,951 44,050 2,515 1,342 1,617 | 47,451 47,550 2,840 1,552 1,942
40,551 40,650 2,199 1,138 1,343 | 44,051 44,150 2,524 1,348 1,626 | 47,551 47,650 2,850 1,558 1,951
40,651 40,750 2,208 1,144 1,351 | 44,151 44,250 2,533 1,354 1,635 | 47,651 47,750 2,859 1,564 1,961
40,751 40,850 2,217 1,150 1,359 | 44,251 44,350 2,543 1,360 1,645 | 47,751 47,850 2,868 1,570 1,970
40,851 40,950 2,226 1,156 1,367 | 44,351 44,450 2,552 1,366 1,654 | 47,851 47,950 2,877 1,576 1,979
40,951 41,050 2,236 1,162 1,375 | 44,451 44,550 2,561 1,372 1,663 | 47,951 48,050 2,887 1,582 1,989
41,051 41,150 2,245 1,168 1,383 | 44,551 44,650 2,571 1,378 1,672 | 48,051 48,150 2,896 1,588 1,998
41,151 41,250 2,254 1,174 1,391 | 44,651 44,750 2,580 1,384 1,682 | 48,151 48,250 2,905 1,594 2,007
41,251 41,350 2,264 1,180 1,399 | 44,751 44,850 2,589 1,390 1,691 | 48,251 48,350 2,915 1,600 2,017
41,351 41,450 2,273 1,186 1,407 | 44,851 44,950 2,598 1,396 1,700 | 48,351 48,450 2,924 1,606 2,026
41,451 41,550 2,282 1,192 1,415 | 44,951 45,050 2,608 1,402 1,710 | 48,451 48,550 2,933 1,612 2,035
41,551 41,650 2,292 1,198 1,423 | 45,051 45,150 2,617 1,408 1,719 | 48,551 48,650 2,943 1,618 2,044
41,651 41,750 2,301 1,204 1,431 | 45,151 45,250 2,626 1,414 1,728 | 48,651 48,750 2,952 1,624 2,054
41,751 41,850 2,310 1,210 1,439 | 45,251 45,350 2,636 1,420 1,738 | 48,751 48,850 2,961 1,630 2,063
41,851 41,950 2,319 1,216 1,447 | 45,351 45,450 2,645 1,426 1,747 | 48,851 48,950 2,970 1,636 2,072
41,951 42,050 2,329 1,222 1,455 | 45,451 45,550 2,654 1,432 1,756 | 48,951 49,050 2,980 1,642 2,082
42,051 42,150 2,338 1,228 1,463 | 45,551 45,650 2,664 1,438 1,765 | 49,051 49,150 2,989 1,648 2,091
42,151 42,250 2,347 1,234 1,471 | 45,651 45,750 2,673 1,444 1,775 | 49,151 49,250 2,998 1,654 2,100
42,251 42,350 2,357 1,240 1,479 | 45,751 45,850 2,682 1,450 1,784 | 49,251 49,350 3,008 1,660 2,110
42,351 42,450 2,366 1,246 1,487 | 45,851 45,950 2,691 1,456 1,793 | 49,351 49,450 3,017 1,666 2,119
42,451 42,550 2,375 1,252 1,495 | 45,951 46,050 2,701 1,462 1,803 | 49,451 49,550 3,026 1,672 2,128
42,551 42,650 2,385 1,258 1,503 | 46,051 46,150 2,710 1,468 1,812 | 49,551 49,650 3,036 1,678 2,137
42,651 42,750 2,394 1,264 1,511 | 46,151 46,250 2,719 1,474 1,821 | 49,651 49,750 3,045 1,684 2,147
42,751 42,850 2,403 1,270 1,519 | 46,251 46,350 2,729 1,480 1,831 | 49,751 49,850 3,054 1,690 2,156
42,851 42,950 2,412 1,276 1,527 | 46,351 46,450 2,738 1,486 1,840 | 49,851 49,950 3,063 1,696 2,165
42,951 43,050 2,422 1,282 1,535 | 46,451 46,550 2,747 1,492 1,849 | 49,951 50,000 3,070 1,701 2,172
13081 43280 2440 12o4 LSe: | 46651 46950 2766 Isos  Iogs | OVER $50.000 YOU MUST COMPUTE
43251 43,350 2,450 1,300 1559 | 46,751 46,850 2,775 1510 1,877 | YOUR TAX USING THE TAX RATE
43,351 43,450 2,459 1,306 1,567 | 46,851 46,950 2,784 1,516 1,886 | SCHEDULES.
43,451 43,550 2,468 1,312 1,575 | 46,951 47,050 2,794 1,522 1,896
43,551 43,650 2,478 1,318 1,583 | 47,051 47,150 2,803 1,528 1,905
43,651 43,750 2,487 1,324 1,591 | 47,151 47,250 2,812 1,534 1,914
43,751 43,850 2,496 1,330 1,599 | 47,251 47,350 2,822 1,540 1,924
43,851 43,950 2,505 1,336 1,607 | 47,351 47,450 2,831 1,546 1,933

1996 Tax Rate Schedules

Schedule X -

Use if your filing status is
Single or Married Filing Separate

Schedule Y -
Use if your filing status is
Married Filing Joint or Qualifying
Widow(er) with Dependent Child

Schedule Z -

Use if your filing status is

Head of Household

If the amount on
Form 540A, line 16

or Form 540, line 19, is:

Enter on Form 540A

, line 17

Caution: Use only if your taxable income (Form 540A, line 16 or Form 540, line 19)
is more than $50,000. If $50,000 or less, use the Tax Table.

of the

over— But not over— or Form 540, line 20 amount over—

$ 0 $ 4,908 $ 0.00 + 1.0% $ 0
4,908 11,632 49.08 + 2.0% 4,908
11,632 18,357 183.56 + 4.0% 11,632
18,357 25,484 45256 + 6.0% 18,357
25,484 32,207 880.18 + 8.0% 25,484
32,207 AND OVER 1,418.02 + 9.3% 32,207
$ 0 $ 9,816 $ 0.00 + 1.0% $ 0
9,816 23,264 98.16 + 2.0% 9,816
23,264 36,714 367.12 + 4.0% 23,264
36,714 50,968 905.12 + 6.0% 36,714
50,968 64,414 1,760.36 + 8.0% 50,968
64,414 AND OVER 2,836.04 + 9.3% 64,414
$ 0 $ 9,817 $ 0 + 1.0% $ 0
9,817 23,264 098.17 + 2.0% 9,817
23,264 29,988 367.11 + 4.0% 23,264
29,988 37,114 636.07 + 6.0% 29,988
37,114 43,839 1,063.63 + 8.0% 37,114
43,839 AND OVER 1,601.63 + 9.3% 43,839
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How To Get California Tax Information

(Keep This Booklet For Future Use)

Regular
Toll-Free
Phone
Service

Our regular toll-free phone service is available from
7:00 a.m. until 8:00 p.m. Monday through Friday from
January 2 through April 15, 1997. The best times to
call are between 7:00 and 10:00 in the morning and
between 6:00 and 8:00 in the evening. Service is also
available on Saturday, April 5 and April 12, from 8:00
a.m. until 5:00 p.m. After April 15, service is available
Monday through Friday, between 8:00 a.m. and

5:00 p.m.

From within the United States. . . . .
From outside the United States. . . .

1-800-852-5711
1-916-845-6500

(not toll-free)
For hearing impaired with TDD . . . .  1-800-822-6268
For federal tax questions,

callthe IRSat. .. ...........

Bilingual Assistance

Para obtener servicio bilingiie de informacion sobre
impuestos o formularios, llame al nimero de teléfono
(anotado arriba) que le corresponde.

1-800-829-1040

Letters

We can serve you quickly if you call us for information
to complete your California income tax return, or to find
out about your tax refund. However, you may want to
write to us if you are replying to a notice we sent you,
or to get a written reply. If you write to us, be sure to
include your social security number, your daytime and
evening telephone numbers and a copy of the notice
with your letter. Send your letter to:

FRANCHISE TAX BOARD

PO BOX 942840

SACRAMENTO CA 94240-0040

We will acknowledge receipt of your letter within six to
eight weeks. In some cases, we may need to call you
for additional information.

Your
Rights
As A
Taxpayer

Our goal at the FTB is to make certain that your rights
are protected so that you will have the highest confi-
dence in the integrity, efficiency and fairness of our
state tax system. FTB Pub. 4058, California Taxpayers’
Bill of Rights, includes information on your rights as a
California taxpayer, the Taxpayers’ Rights Advocate
Program and how you can request written advice from
the FTB on whether a particular transaction is taxable.
You can order FTB Pub. 4058 by calling or writing the
FTB using the address above for letters.

Where
To Get
Income
Tax
Forms

By Internet — If you have Internet access, you may

download, view and print California income tax forms

and publications. Our Internet address is:
http://www.ftb.ca.gov

By phone — Use F.A.S.T. to order 1994, 1995 and
1996 California tax forms and 1996 federal forms listed
to the right. To order a form on the list:

» Call 1-800-338-0505.

» Select personal income tax form requests.

» Enter the three-digit code shown to the left of the
form title when you are instructed to do so.

We will send you two copies of each tax form and one
copy of each set of instructions. Please allow two weeks
to receive your order.

In person — Most libraries, post offices and banks
provide free California tax booklets during the filing
season. Many libraries and some quick print businesses
have forms and schedules for you to photocopy (you
may have to pay a nominal fee). Note that employees at
libraries, post offices, banks and quick print businesses
cannot provide tax information or assistance.

By mail — Write to: TAX FORMS REQUEST UNIT,

FRANCHISE TAX BOARD, PO BOX 307, RANCHO
CORDOVA CA 95741-0307.

California Tax Forms and Publications

[ 1900

[ 1903

[ 907
[]908
[ 1909
[]910
[Jo11

[]913
[]914
[]o17
[Jo18

[ 936
[]937

[]921

[]922
[]923
[] 940
[]938
[]924

L] 929
[J 930

[]925
[]928
[]926
[]901

[]927
[]919

[] 920
[ 1945

[] 946
[]o41

[] 942
[ ]934

California Resident Income Tax Booklet contents:

Form 540, Resident Income Tax Return

Form 540A, Resident Income Tax Return

Form 540EZ, Resident Income Tax Return For Single and
Joint Filers With No Dependents

Schedule CA 540, California Adjustments

FTB 3885A, Depreciation & Amortization Adjustments

Schedule D, California Capital Gain or Loss Adjustment

540-ES, Estimated Tax for Individuals

540X, Amended Income Tax Return

Schedule D-1, Sales of Business Property

Schedule G-1, Tax on Lump-Sum Distribution

Schedule P (540), Alternative Minimum Tax and

Credit Limitations — Residents

Schedule S, Other State Tax Credit

California Nonresident Income Tax Booklet contents:

Form 540NR, Nonresident or Part-Year Resident Income

Tax Return

Schedule CA (540NR), California Adjustments —

Nonresidents or Part-Year Residents

Schedule P (540NR), Alternative Minimum Tax and Credit

Limitations

Form 565, California Partnership Return of Income Booklet

FTB 3516, Request for Copy of Personal Income Tax or

Fiduciary Return

FTB 3519, Payment Voucher for Automatic Extension for

Individuals

FTB 3525, Substitute W-2 Statement

FTB 3526, Investment Interest Expense Deduction

FTB 3540, Credit Carryover Summary

FTB 3596, California Moving Expenses

FTB 3800, Tax Computation for Children with Investment

Income

FTB 3801, Passive Activity Loss Limitations

FTB 3803, Parent’'s Election to Report Child’s Interest and

Dividends

FTB 3805E, Installment Sale Income

FTB 3805P, Additional Tax from Qualified Retirement Plans

FTB 3805V, Net Operating Loss

FTB 3805Z, Enterprise Zone and Program Area Business

Booklet

FTB 5805, Underpayment of Estimated Tax

FTB Pub. 1001, Supplemental Guidelines to California

Adjustments

FTB Pub. 1005, Pension and Annuity Guidelines

FTB Pub. 1006, California Tax Forms and Related Federal

Forms

FTB Pub. 1008, Federal Tax Adjustments and Your

Notification Responsibilities

FTB Pub. 1031, Guidelines for Determining Resident

Status

FTB Pub. 1032, Tax Information for Military Personnel

FTB Pub. 1540, Head of Household

1996 Federal Tax Forms
(available January 1 through April 15, 1997 only)
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1040 Booklet (includes Schedule A, B, D & E;

Forms 1040V, EIC and 2441)

1040A Booklet (includes Schedule 1; Form EIC)

1040EZ Booklet

Form 1040X, Amended U.S. Individual Income Tax Return
Form 1040-ES, Estimated Tax for Individuals

Publication 17, Your Federal Income Tax for Individuals
Form 2119, Sale or Exchange of Principal Residence
Form 2106, Employee Business Expenses

Form 4562, Depreciation and Amortization

Schedule C, Profit or (Loss) from Business or Profession
Schedule SE, Social Security Self-Employment Tax
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F.A.S.T. Toll-Free Phone Service

(Keep This Booklet For Future Use)

Call Fast Answers about State Taxes, the F.A.S.T. toll-free phone
service you can use to:

« Get recorded answers to many of your questions about California
taxes;

* Order California or federal income tax forms; and

* Find out about your tax refund.

F.A.S.T. is available in English and Spanish to callers with touch-tone
or rotary dial telephones.

When Is F.A.S.T. Available?

To answer your questions, F.A.S.T. is available 24 hours a day, seven
days a week. To order forms or to find out about your tax refund,
F.A.S.T. is available from 6:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m., seven days a week,
except state holidays.

How To Use F.AS.T.

Have paper and pencil handy to take notes.
Call from within the United States . . . ... ... .. 1-800-338-0505
Call from outside the United States (not toll-free) . .  1-916-845-6600

Follow the recorded instructions and enter the three-digit code when
you are instructed to do so.

To Order Forms

Use F.A.S.T. to order 1994, 1995 and 1996 California tax forms and
1996 federal tax forms. See the list of forms and instructions for
ordering them on page 47.

To Find Out About Your Tax Refund

You should wait at least eight weeks after you file your tax return
before you call to find out about your refund. To use F.A.S.T., you
must know the first social security number shown on your tax return
and the exact dollar amount of your refund. To find out about your
refund, call 1-800-338-0505 between 6:00 a.m. and 10:00 p.m., select
refund information and follow the recorded instructions.

To Get Information

If you need an answer to any of the following questions, call
1-800-338-0505, select general tax information, follow the recorded
instructions and enter the three-digit code when you are instructed to
do so.

Code-Filing Assistance:

100 — Do | need to file a return?

111 — Which form should | use?

112 — How do | file electronically and get a fast refund?

200 — Where can | pick up a form today?

201 — How can | get an extension to file?

202 — There is no envelope in the booklet. Where do | send my
return?

203 — How much do | get for renter’s credit? (see page 2 first)

204 - | never received a Form W-2. What do | do?

205 - | have no withholding taken out. What do | do?

206 — Do | have to attach a copy of my federal return?

207 — Should | file my return even though | do not have the money to
pay?

208 — How do | figure my estimated tax payments?

209 - | lived in California for part of the year. Do | have to file a
return?

210 - | do not live in California. Why do | have to file a return?

211 — How do | figure my IRA deduction?

212 — How do | claim my disaster related loss?

215 — Who qualifies me to use the head of household filing status?

216 - I'm due a refund. Do | still need to file a return?

217 - | am currently/was in the military. Do | have to file a
California return?

218 — I'm in the military. Do | have to use the same filing status
as federal?

219 - | sold my personal residence. How do | report the sale to
California?

220 — There is no difference in my state and federal
depreciation, business income and capital gain income.
What do | do?

221 — What is community property?

222 — How much can | deduct for vehicle license fees?

227 — How do | get a refund of excess SDI?

239 — Where can | get help with filing my income tax return?

240 — Does a tax return have to be filed for a deceased
taxpayer?

Refunds:

300 — My spouse has passed away. You sent a refund with
both our names on it. What do | do?

301 - | got a letter saying you sent my refund to another
agency. Why?

Penalties:

400 - | have an extension of time to file my return. Why did |
get a penalty?

401 - | filed my return on time. Why did | get a penalty?

402 — How can | protest a penalty?

403 — What is the estimate penalty rate?

Notices And Bills:

500 - | received a bill and | cannot pay it in full. What do | do?

501 — Why didn’t you give me credit for my withholding?

502 — You didn't give me credit for my dependent. What do | do?

503 — | don’'t have a homeowner’s exemption. Why did you
deny my renter’s credit?

504 — I'm head of my house. Why was | denied head of
household filing status?

505 — Why was my IRA deduction denied?

506 — How can | get information about my Form 1099-G?

507 — Why did | receive a questionnaire?

508 - | received a notice that didn’t show all payments made.
How do | get credit for them?

Tax For Children Under 14:

601 — Can my child take a personal exemption credit when |
claim her or him as a dependent on my return?

602 — Federal law limits the standard deduction. Is the state
law the same?

Miscellaneous:

610 — Can | pay my taxes with a credit card?

611 — What address do | send my payment to?

612 — | mailed my return and haven't heard anything. Should |
send a copy of my return?

613 — | forgot to attach my Form(s) W-2 when | mailed my
return. What do | do?

614 — | forgot to attach a copy of my federal return. What do |
do?

615 — How do | get a copy of my state tax return?

616 — What should | do if my federal tax return was examined
or changed by the IRS?

617 — What are the current interest rates?

€5
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