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TAXABLE YEAR

1996
CALIFORNIA FORM

5805
Underpayment of Estimated Tax
by Individuals and Fiduciaries

Attach this form to the front of your Form 540, Form 540A, Form 540NR, or Form 541. Also, check the underpayment of estimated tax box
located on Form 540, line 63; Form 540A, line 37; Form 540NR, line 72 or Form 541, line 38, whichever applies.
Name(s) as shown on return Social security number or FEIN

IMPORTANT
IN MOST CASES, THE FRANCHISE TAX BOARD CAN FIGURE THE PENALTY FOR YOU AND YOU DO NOT HAVE TO COMPLETE THIS FORM.
SEE GENERAL INFORMATION A.

IF YOU MEET ANY OF THE FOLLOWING CONDITIONS, YOU DO NOT OWE A PENALTY FOR UNDERPAYMENT OF ESTIMATED TAX AND SHOULD
NOT COMPLETE OR FILE THIS FORM.
Conditions:
1. 80% of your 1996 California adjusted gross income (AGI) was wages subject to California withholding; or
2. 80% of your 1995 or 1996 tax liability (after reducing it for the amount of all credits, except the withholding credit) was paid by the amount

of tax withheld from your wages for that year; or
3. The amount of your tax liability (allowing for credits and withholding, but not including other taxes or estimated tax payments) for either

1995 or 1996 was less than $100 ($50 if married filing a separate return); or
4. Your 1995 return was for a full 12 months (or would have been if you were required to file) and you did not have any tax liability on

that return; or
5. The amount of your withholding plus your estimated tax payments, if paid in the required installments, is at least 80% of the tax shown

on your 1996 return or 100% of the tax shown on your 1995 return except when:
• You made estimated tax payments for 1993, 1994, or 1995 (or were charged an estimated tax penalty for any of those years), AND
• Your AGI is more than $75,000 (more than $37,500 if married filing separate), AND
• Your 1996 modified AGI exceeds your 1995 AGI by more than $40,000 (more than $20,000 if married filing separate), AND
• Your 2nd, 3rd, or 4th required installment is based on either your 1995 tax or 80% of your 1996 modified tax.
In this case, the use of your prior year’s tax may be limited. See instructions for Schedule A for the definition of modified AGI and further
information about this limitation.

1 Are you requesting a waiver of the penalty? If yes, see General Information B . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Yes No
2 Did you use the annualized income installment method? If yes, see instructions for Part III. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Yes No
3 Are you treating your California withholding as not withheld in equal installments, and you are able to show the actual amounts

withheld per period and the actual dates withheld? If yes, you must enter the uneven amounts withheld below on the spaces provided. Yes No
Enter the actual uneven amounts withheld next to the corresponding quarterly payment due date here: 4/15/96 $ ;
6/17/96 $ ; 9/16/96 $ ; 1/15/97 $ .

4 Are you subject to the limitation on the use of prior year’s tax? . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Yes No
See the list under condition 5 above and the instructions for Schedule A.

5 For estates and trusts: Was the date of death less than two years from the end of the tax year?
See General Information D . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Yes No

Part I Questions. All filers must complete this part

Part II Compute Your Estimate Requirement. All filers must complete this part.
1

3

4
5
6

2

7
8

9

10
11

12

13

1 Current year tax. Enter your 1996 tax after credits. See instructions. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
2 Multiply line 1 by 80% (.80) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
3 Withhholding taxes. Do not include any estimated tax payments on this line. See instructions . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
4 Subtract line 3 from line 1. If less than $100 (or less than $50 if married filing separate), stop here.

You do not owe the penalty. Do not file form FTB 5805 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
5 Prior year (1995) tax. Caution: The use of prior year’s tax may be limited. See the list under condition 5 above . . . . .
6 Enter the smaller of line 2 or line 5 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

Short Method Caution: See the instructions to see if you can use the short method. If you annualize or are limited on the use of prior year’s tax, skip
this part and go to Part III or Schedule A.

7 Enter the amount, if any, from Part II, line 3 above . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
8 Enter the total amount, if any, of estimated tax payments you made . . . . . . . . . . . .
9 Add line 7 and line 8 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

10 Total underpayment for year. Subtract line 9 from line 6. If zero or less, stop here; you do not owe the penalty.
Do not file form FTB 5805 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

11 Multiply line 10 by .059761. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
12 • If the amount on line 10 was paid on or after 4/15/97, enter -0-.

• If the amount on line 10 was paid before 4/15/97, enter the result of the following computation:

Amount on Number of days paid
line 10 X before 4/15/97 X .00025 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

13 PENALTY. Subtract line 12 from line 11. Enter the result here and on Form 540, line 63;
Form 540A, line 37; Form 540NR, line 72; or Form 541, line 38. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . P
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Part III Annualized Income Installment Method Schedule

Use this schedule ONLY IF you earned taxable income at an UNEVEN RATE during 1996 (Example A). If you earned your income
at approximately the same rate each month, then you should not complete this schedule (Example B). If you choose to compute the
penalty, see Schedule B in the instructions for form FTB 5805.

Example A: If you were a commissioned salesperson who earned no income during the first three months of the year, but earned
most of your income during the following six months, and then earned very little during the last three months, you should complete
this schedule. You may be able to benefit by using the annualized income installment method. The required annualized income
installment of estimated tax may be less than your required installment figured under the equal installment method.

Example B: If you worked all year and earned a monthly salary that did not change much during the year, you should not complete
this schedule.

Note: To complete this schedule correctly, you must first complete Side 1, Part II, line 1 through line 6.

Estates and trusts, do not use the period ending dates shown to the right.
Instead, use the following: 2/29/96, 4/30/96, 7/31/96 and 11/30/96. Fiscal year filers
must adjust dates accordingly.

1/1/96 to
3/31/96

1/1/96 to
5/31/96

1/1/96 to
8/31/96

1/1/96 to
12/31/96

1
2
3

4
5
6

7
8
9

10

11

12

13
14
15
16

17
18
19
20
21

22

23

1 Enter your adjusted gross income for each period. Form 540NR filers, see
instructions. Estates or trusts, enter the amount from Form 541, line 19
attributable to each period. See instructions . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

2 Annualization amounts. Estates or trusts, see instructions . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
3 Annualized income. Multiply line 1 by line 2 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
4 Enter your itemized deductions for the period shown in each column. If you do not

itemize deductions, enter -0- here and on line 6. Estates or trusts, enter -0- here,
skip to line 9, and enter the amount from line 3 on line 9. See instructions . . . . . . . .

5 Annualization amounts . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
6 Annualized itemized deductions. Multiply line 4 by line 5 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
7 Enter your standard deduction from your 1996 Form 540 or Form 540NR, line 18;

or Form 540A, line 15. Enter the total standard deduction amount in each column .
8 Enter line 6 or line 7, whichever is larger . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

10 Figure the tax on the amount in each column of line 9 using the tax table or the
tax from form FTB 3800. Also, include any tax from form FTB 3803. Estates or
trusts, see instructions . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

9 Subtract line 8 from line 3 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

11 Enter the total amount of exemption credits from your 1996 Form 540, line 21;
Form 540A, line 18; Form 540NR, line 23; or Form 541, line 21. Enter the total
exemption credit amount in each column. See instructions . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

12 Subtract line 11 from line 10. Form 540NR filers, complete the worksheet in the
instructions . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

13 Enter the total credit amount from your 1996 Form 540, line 33 or
Form 541, line 22. Form 540NR filers, see instructions. Enter the
total amount of credits in each column . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

14 Subtract line 13 from line 12. If zero or less, enter -0- . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
15 Applicable percentage . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
16 Multiply line 14 by line 15 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

COMPLETE LINE 17 THROUGH LINE 23 OF EACH COLUMN BEFORE YOU GO
TO THE NEXT COLUMN.
17 Enter the combined amounts shown on line 23 from all preceding columns . . . . .
18 Subtract line 17 from line 16. If zero or less, enter -0- . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
19 Enter the required installment in each column. See instructions . . . . . . . . . . . .
20 Enter the amount from line 22 from the preceding column . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
21 Add line 19 and line 20 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
22 If line 21 is more than line 18, subtract line 18 from line 21. Otherwise,

enter -0- . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
23 Enter line 18 or line 21, whichever is less. Transfer these amounts to

Schedule B, line 1 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ❚

Note: If you use the annualized income installment method for one payment due date, you must use it for all due dates.
This schedule automatically selects the smaller of your annualized income installment or your regular installment.

4 2.4 1.5 1

4 2.4 1.5 1

20% 40% 60% 80%
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Instructions for Form FTB 5805
Underpayment of Estimated Tax by Individuals and Fiduciaries

General Information

A Who Must File
Generally, you do not have to complete this
form because the Franchise Tax Board (FTB)
can figure the amount of any penalty for you
after you file your return and then send you a
bill. If FTB figures your penalty and sends you
a bill, you must pay the penalty within 10 days
of the billing to avoid additional interest
charges. However, you must complete this
form and attach it to the front of your return if
you answered ‘‘yes’’ to any of the questions in
Part I.
If you are subject to a penalty for underpay-
ment or late payment of your 1996 estimated
taxes and if you choose to figure your penalty,
use form FTB 5805 and the applicable
schedules.

B Waiver of the Penalty
You may request a waiver of the penalty if:
• You underpaid an estimated tax install-

ment due to a casualty, disaster or other
unusual circumstance and it would be
inequitable to impose the penalty; or

• You retired after age 62 or became disa-
bled in 1995 or 1996 and your underpay-
ment was due to reasonable cause.

To request a waiver, check the ‘‘yes’’ box on
form FTB 5805, Part I, question 1. Attach
form FTB 5805 to the front of your return and
include a statement explaining the reasons
you are requesting a waiver of the estimate
penalty.

C Annualized Income Installment
Method

If you use the annualized income installment
method to determine your estimate payment
requirements, you must complete form
FTB 5805, including Side 2. Attach it to the
front of your return and check the underpay-
ment of estimated tax box on your return.

D Estates and Trusts
Estates and trusts are required to make quar-
terly estimated tax payments. Estates and
grantor trusts, which receive the residue of
the decedent’s estate, are required to make
estimated income tax payments for any year
ending two or more years after the date of the
decedent’s death.

E Nonresidents and New
Residents

If you are a nonresident or new resident and
had no California tax liability for the previous
year, no estimated tax is due for the first tax-
able year of residence.

F Farmers and Fishermen
You are considered a farmer or fisherman if at
least two-thirds (2/3) of your annual gross
income for 1995 or 1996 is from farming or
fishing. Farmers and fishermen are required to
make one estimate payment; for calendar
year taxpayers the due date is January 15,
1997. If you file Form 540 or Form 541 and
pay the entire tax due by March 3, 1997, you
do not owe a penalty for underpaying esti-
mated tax. However, if you do not file your
return and pay the tax by March 3, 1997, use
form FTB 5805F, Underpayment of Estimated
Tax by Farmers and Fishermen, to figure your
penalty.

G Estimated Tax Installment Due
Dates

If you are a calendar year taxpayer, the fol-
lowing estimated tax installment due dates
applied for 1996:
• First quarter — April 15, 1996
• Second quarter — June 17, 1996
• Third quarter — September 16, 1996
• Fourth quarter — January 15, 1997
Fiscal year filers must pay estimated tax
installments on the 15th day of the 4th, 6th,
and 9th months of their fiscal year and the 1st
month of the following fiscal year.
Due dates falling on Saturday, Sunday or
a legal holiday are extended to the next
working day.
The penalty is figured separately for each due
date. Therefore, you may owe a penalty for
an earlier installment due date, even if you
pay enough tax later to make up the
underpayment.

H Filing an Early Return in Place
of the 4th Installment

If you file your 1996 tax return and pay your
tax in full on or before January 31, 1997, you
do not have to make your last estimated tax
payment. Fiscal year filers must file their
return and pay their tax before the first day of
the 2nd month after the end of their taxable
year.

I Amended Return
If you file an amended return on or before the
due date of your original return, use the tax,
credit and other amounts shown on your
amended return to figure your penalty for
underpayment of estimated tax. If you file an
amended return after the due date of the orig-
inal return, you must use the amounts shown
on the original return to figure the penalty.

J Penalty Rates
The rates used to determine the amount of
your penalty are established at various dates
throughout the year. If an installment of esti-
mated tax for any quarter remained unpaid or
underpaid for more than one rate period, the
penalty for that underpayment will be com-
puted using more than one rate when
applicable.
The following rate applies to the 1996 compu-
tation period:

• 9%  4-15-96 through 6-30-97
Fiscal year filers: the rates for the periods
7/1/97 through 12/31/97 and 1/1/98 through
3/15/98 will be determined by FTB in March
1997 and September 1997, respectively.
Call FTB’s F.A.S.T. (Fast Answers about
State Taxes), toll-free phone service to get
updated penalty rates.

How to Use F.A.S.T.
F.A.S.T. is available in English and Spanish to
callers with touch-tone or rotary telephones.
F.A.S.T. is available 24 hours a day, seven
days a week.
From within the United States,
call . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 1-800-338-0505
From outside the United States,
call (not toll-free) . . . . . . 1-916-845-6600
After you reach the F.A.S.T number, select
general tax information, follow the recorded
instructions and enter code number 403,
when you are instructed to do so, to get the
updated penalty rate.

Part II Instructions for Computing
the Estimate Requirement
Use this part to compute the amount of esti-
mated tax that you were required to pay.
Line 1 – Enter your tax liability (excluding any
tax on lump-sum distributions) from your 1996
form 540, line 34; or Form 540A, line 23; or
Form 540NR, line 43; or Form 541, line 24.
Line 3 – Enter your withholding from your
1996 Form 540, line 38 and line 41; or
Form 540A, line 24; or Form 540NR, line 47
and line 50; or Form 541, line 27.
Line 5 – Enter your tax liability (excluding any
tax on lump-sum distributions) from your 1995
Form 540, line 34; or Form 540A, line 23; or
Form 540NR, line 43; or Form 541, line 24.
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Caution – You may not be able to base the
estimate requirement on your 1995 tax if:
1. Your 1996 income was more than $75,000

(more than $37,500 if you are married fil-
ing separate); and

2. Your 1996 income exceeded your 1995
income by more than $40,000 (more than
$20,000 if you are married filing separate).

For more information see the instructions on
page 3, for Schedule A, Required Installments
for Taxpayers Affected by Limitation on Prior
Year’s Tax.

Part II – Short Method
You may use the short method only if you are
a calendar year taxpayer and:
1. You made no estimated tax payments (or

your only payments were from
withholding); or

2. You made estimated tax payments in four
equal amounts on the due dates.

You may not use the short method if any of
the following apply:
1. You made any estimated tax payment late;

or
2. You are subject to the limitation on the use

of prior year’s tax. See instructions for
Schedule A, on page 3.

3. You answered ‘‘Yes’’ to Part I, Question 3.
If you can use the short method, use Part II,
line 1 through line 10 to figure your total
underpayment for the year, and Part II, line 11
through line 13 to figure the penalty.

Part III – Annualized Income Installment
Method
If your income varied during the year, you
may be able to lower or eliminate the amount
of one or more required installments by using
the annualized income installment method.
Use Part III to figure the amount to enter on
Schedule B, line 1.
If you use the annualized income installment
method for any payment due date, you must
use it for all payment due dates. To figure the
amount of each required installment, Part III
automatically selects the smaller of the
annualized income installment or the regular
installment (increased by the amount saved
by using the annualized income installment
method in figuring earlier installments).

Part III Instructions for Annualized
Income Installments
Note: If you are filing Form 540NR, use the
Form 540NR Instructions for Part III following
this section.
Line 1 – Figure your total income for the
period, minus your adjustments to income for
the period. Include your share of partnership
or S corporation income or loss items for the
period.
Election to use modified AGI. Each period,
you can choose to use your modified AGI (as

defined on page 3 under the instructions for
Schedule A, Part I, line 2) for the period on
line 1. You can make this choice only if you
made an estimated tax payment for 1993,
1994, or 1995, or you were charged a penalty
for not paying estimated tax for any of those
years, and you satisfy three other conditions.
You satisfy the first condition if your AGI for
the period is more than:

• $18,750 for the first period ($9,375 if
married filing separate),

• $31,250 for the second period ($15,625 if
married filing separate),

• $50,000 for the third period ($25,000 if
married filing separate), or

• $75,000 for the fourth period ($37,500 if
married filing separate).

To see whether you satisfy the second condi-
tion, complete the following worksheet for
each period.
1. Enter your modifed AGI for

the period . . . . . . . . . .
2. Enter your 1995

AGI as shown
on your return . .

3. Annualization amounts.
Enter: 4 for the first
period, 2.4 for
the second period,
1.5 for the third
period, and 1 for
the fourth period.
(Estates and trusts
use 6, 3, 1.71429,
and 1.09091.) . .

4. Divide line 2 by line 3 . . .
5. Subtract line 4 from line 1 .
You satisfy the second condition if the amount
on line 5 above is more than:
• $10,000 for the first period ($5,000 if mar-

ried filing separate),
• $16,667 for the second period ($8,333 if

married filing separate),
• $26,667 for the third period ($13,333 if

married filing separate), or
• $40,000 for the fourth period ($20,000 if

married filing separate).
To see whether you satisfy the third condition,
complete line 1 and line 2 of Schedule A. You
satisfy the third condition only if the amount
on line 2 of Schedule A is more than the
amount on line 1.
Line 2 – Estates and trusts, do not use
amounts shown in column (a) through
column (d). Instead, use 6, 3, 1.71429, and
1.09091, respectively, as the annualization
amounts.
Line 4 – If you elected to use your modified
AGI on line 1, use the amount of your 1995
itemized deductions, rather than the 1996
amounts, from partnerships in which you were
not a general partner and owned less than a
10% capital or profits interest and from S cor-
porations in which you owned less than 10%
of the stock (by vote or value).

Line 6 – Multiply line 4 by line 5 and enter the
result on line 6. If, in any quarter, your AGI is
greater than:

• $223,390 (married filing joint); or
• $111,695 (single or married filing sepa-

rate); or
• $167,542 (head of household)
your itemized deductions are limited. Com-
plete the itemized deduction worksheet in the
Schedule CA (540) instructions in your tax
booklet for each period your AGI reaches the
above amounts.
Line 10 – Form 541 filers. Figure the tax on
the amount in each column of line 9 using the
tax tables in your tax booklet. Also, include
any tax from:

• FTB 5870A, Tax on Accumulation Distribu-
tion of Trusts;

• IRC Section 644, tax on trusts; or
• IRC Section 453A tax.
Line 11 – If your exemption credits were lim-
ited because of the AGI limitation or the limi-
tation based on tentative minimum tax, it may
be to your advantage to make a separate
computation for each period. If you choose,
you may complete the exemption credit work-
sheet in your tax booklet for each period. Indi-
viduals, estates and trusts complete
Schedule P (540 or 541), Alternative Minimum
Tax and Credit Limitations, for each period.
Line 13 – Enter the credits you are entitled to
because of events that occurred during the
months shown in the column headings.
If you elected to use your modified AGI on
line 1, use the amount of your 1995 credits
(rather than your 1996 credits) from partner-
ships in which you were not a general partner
and owned less than a 10% capital or profits
interest and from S corporations in which you
owned less than 10% of the stock (by vote or
by value).
Credit Limitation – If your credits were lim-
ited by tentative minimum tax, it may be to
your advantage to make a separate computa-
tion for each period. If you choose, you may
complete a separate Schedule P (540 or 541),
Alternative Minimum Tax and Credit Limita-
tions, for each period.
Line 19 – If you are required to use form
FTB 5805, Schedule A, enter the amounts
from Schedule A, line 5, line 8 or line 19,
whichever applies. Otherwise, enter 1/4 of the
amount on form FTB 5805, Part II, line 6 in
each column.

Form 540NR Instructions For
Part III
Use these instructions only if you are filing
Form 540NR.
Line 1 – Enter your total AGI for each period.
Your total AGI is your AGI for the period from
all sources.
Line 12 – As a nonresident or part-year resi-
dent, you must figure your tax based on your
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total income. You then must determine your
California tax liability by multiplying the tax by
the ratio of California AGI to total AGI. To do
this, complete the worksheet below.
California AGI is all of the income you earned
while you were a California resident plus any

income received from sources within Califor-
nia while you were a nonresident, less appli-
cable income adjustments. For more
information, see Schedule CA (540NR), Cali-
fornia Adjustments – Nonresident or Part-Year
Residents.

Line 13 – Refigure Form 540NR, line 31
through line 42 prorating the credits on line 31
through line 36 using the proration percentage
from Line D of the worksheet below.

1/1/96 to
3/31/96

1/1/96 to
5/31/96

1/1/96 to
8/31/96

1/1/96 to
12/31/96

Form 540NR Filers: Use this worksheet to figure your
prorated tax.
A California AGI . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
B Annualization amounts . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
C Multiply line A by line B . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
D Proration percentage. Divide line C by Part III, line 3 . . . . . . . . . .
E Subtract Part III, line 11 from line 10 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
F Multiply line D by line E. Enter the result here and on Part III,

line 12 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

4 2.4 1.5 1

Schedule A — Required Installments for
Taxpayers Affected by Limitation on
Prior Year’s Tax
Generally, the amount of your prior year’s tax
is used to determine the amount of your
required annual payment if that amount is
smaller than 80% of your current year’s tax.
However, your use of the prior year’s tax
required annual payment is limited if all of the
following conditions apply to you:
1. You are not considered a farmer or a fish-

erman. See General Information F.
2. You made an estimated tax payment for

1993, 1994 or 1995, or you were charged
a penalty for not paying estimated tax for
any of those years. Do not include with-
holding or a credit from your prior year’s
tax as a payment of estimated tax.

3. Your 1996 AGI as shown on your return is
more than $75,000 (more than $37,500 if
you are married filing a separate return).

4. Your 1996 modified AGI (see Schedule A,
Part I, line 2 instructions) exceeds the AGI
shown on your 1995 return by more than
$40,000 (more than $20,000 if you are
married filing a separate return).

If the amount you enter on form FTB 5805,
Part II, line 6, is your prior year tax (from
line 5) AND all four of the above conditions
apply, you must use Schedule A to figure your
required installment.
To figure your estimate penalty:
1. Complete Schedule A and enter the

amount from line 5, line 8 or line 19,
whichever applies, on Schedule B, line 1.

2. Enter the amount from Schedule B, line 14
on form FTB 5805, Part II, line 13.

3. Attach form FTB 5805 to the front of your
return and check the ‘‘yes’’ box for ques-
tion 4 in Part I.

Instructions for Schedule A
Part I — Installments Based on
Limitation on Prior Year’s Tax
Line 2 – Modified Tax. – To figure your
modified tax, first figure your 1996 modified
AGI by making the following adjustments to
your 1996 AGI.
1. Do not include any taxable gain from the

sale or exchange of your main home.
2. Do not include any taxable gain from a

casualty, theft, condemnation or other
involuntary conversion.

3. Do not include any 1996 income, gain,
loss or deduction from a partnership in
which you were not a general partner and
owned less than a 10% capital or profits
interest or from an S corporation in which
you owned less than 10% of the stock (by
vote or value). Instead, include the
amounts (if any) from these partnerships
and S corporations shown on your 1995
return. This adjustment does not apply to
any gain or loss from the disposition of
your interest in the partnership or
S corporation.

4. If you want, you may use any or all of the
adjustments in 1 through 3 above to figure
any necessary changes to other income
and adjustments to income that are
affected by the amount of your AGI. Treat
all adjustments from the same partnership
or S corporation in the same manner.

Note: If your 1996 AGI exceeds your 1995
AGI by more than $40,000 (more than
$20,000 if you are married filing a separate
return), but your 1996 modified AGI does not
exceed your 1995 AGI by that amount, do not
complete Schedule A. Instead, figure your
underpayment in the normal manner. Attach
form FTB 5805 to the front of your return, and
check ‘‘no’’ in Part I, question 4.
Figure your 1996 modified tax in the same
manner as you figured your current year tax
on form FTB 5805, Part II, line 1 except:
1. Start with your modified AGI as explained

previously.

2. Do not include any 1996 itemized deduc-
tions, credits or items affecting other taxes,
such as the alternative minimum tax, from
a partnership in which you were not a gen-
eral partner and owned less than a 10%
capital or profits interest or from an S cor-
poration in which you owned less than
10% of the stock (by vote or value).
Instead, include the amount of these
items, if any, shown on your 1995 tax
return.

3. If you want, you may use any or all of the
adjustments used to arrive at your modi-
fied AGI to refigure all other items affected
by the amount of your AGI, such as the
deduction for medical and dental expenses
and the rehabilitation credit. Treat all
adjustments from the same partnership or
S corporation in the same manner.

Multiply the result by 20% (.20) to find the
amount to enter on line 2 in each column.

Part II — Installments Based on
Annualization Exception
Complete Part II only if you completed Sched-
ule A, Part I, line 6 through line 8, have a
modified AGI, and received your income at an
uneven rate throughout the year. Part II may
let you base one or more installments on the
amount of your 1995 tax rather than on 80%
of your 1996 tax or modified tax.
Line 9 – Figure the amount to enter on this
line after you figure your AGI amount on
line 14. Modify the amount from line 14 as
explained earlier in the definition of modified
AGI. Partnership and S corporation items from
1995 that must be included in your modified
AGI are treated as accruing evenly during
1996.
Line 14 – To figure your AGI for the period,
use the instructions for line 1 of the 1996
annualized income installment method in
Part III on Side 2 of FTB 5805 (but do not use
modified AGI on this line).
You can use your 1995 tax to figure install-
ments 2 through 4 if, based on your
annualized AGI or your annualized modified
AGI amounts through the end of the install-
ment period, you would not be subject to the
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limit on the use of your prior year’s tax. How-
ever, the first installment due that does not
qualify for the annualization exception is
increased by the amount saved by using this
exception in figuring earlier installments.

Schedule B — Regular Method to Figure
Your Underpayment and Penalty
Use the regular method if you are not eligible
to use the short method.

Schedule B Instructions for
Figuring the Underpayment and
Penalty
Part I — Figure Your Underpayment
Line 1 – Enter in column (a) through
column (d) the amount of your required install-
ment. For most taxpayers this is the amount
shown on form FTB 5805, Side 1, Part II,
line 6 divided by 4. If you use the annualized
income installment method, enter the amount
from form FTB 5805, Side 2, Part III, line 23.
Line 2 – Enter the estimate payments made
by the date at the top of each column.
Include any overpayment of tax from your
1995 return that you elected to apply to the
1996 estimated tax. Enter this amount in
column (a).
Withholding is divided by 4 and entered in
each column, unless you can show that it was
withheld otherwise.
Note: If you are treating your California with-
holding as not withheld in equal installments,
and you are able to show the actual amounts
withheld per period and the dates withheld,
you must answer ‘‘yes’’ to Part I, Question 3
and indicate the uneven amounts withheld on
the lines provided on Part I, Question 3.

If you file your return and pay the tax due by
February 3, 1997, enter the amount of tax
paid with your return in column (d). In this
case, you will not owe a penalty for the esti-
mate payment due by January 15, 1997.
Line 8 – If line 8 is zero for all payment peri-
ods, you do not owe a penalty. But if you
checked ‘‘yes’’ for any question on form
FTB 5805, Side 1, Part I, you must file
FTB 5805 with your return.

Part II — Figure the Penalty
Figure the penalty by applying the appropriate
rate against each underpayment shown on
line 8. The penalty is figured for the number
of days that the underpayment remained
unpaid.
The rates are established at various times
throughout the year. For the period covered
by the 1996 form FTB 5805, one rate was in
effect over two rate periods. If an underpay-
ment remained unpaid for more than one rate
period, the penalty on that underpayment will
be figured using more than one rate period.
Use line 10 and line 12 to figure the number
of days the underpayment remained unpaid.
Use line 11 and line 13 to figure the actual
penalty amount by applying the rate against
the underpayment for the number of days it
remained unpaid.
Maximum days in a rate period per quarter:

Installment Days in
Rate Period

1

Days in
Rate Period

2

1
2
3
4

260
199
107

105
105
105

90

Payment Application. Your payments are
applied to any underpayment balance on an
earlier installment. It does not matter if you
designate a payment for a later period. For
example, you had an underpayment for the
April 15th installment of $500. The June 17th
installment required a payment of $1,200. On
June 10th, you sent in a payment of $1,200 to
cover the June 17th installment. However,
$500 of this payment is considered to be for
the April 15th installment. The penalty for the
April 15th installment is figured to June 10th.
The amount of the payment to be applied to
the June 17th installment is $700.
Subsequent Payments. For purposes of
computing the penalty, it may be helpful to
make a list of any payments that you made
after the timely payments entered in Part I,
line 2. If you made no other payments, follow
the line-by-line instructions in Part II.
If you made subsequent payments, you may
need to make additional computations for the
applicable column on the worksheet. How-
ever, if the payment reduced the underpay-
ment to zero, there are no further
computations to make for that column. In that
case, you count the number of days from the
installment due date to the date paid.
If a subsequent payment does not reduce the
underpayment to zero, you will need to make
an additional computation in the column. First,
you count the number of days from the due
date to the date paid and use the underpay-
ment amount from Schedule B, line 8.
Second, count the number of days from the
payment date to the end of the rate period,
and subtract the amount of the subsequent
payment from the underpayment amount from
Schedule B, line 8. Then apply the rate for the
applicable period.
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Schedule A Required Installments for Taxpayers Affected by Limitation on Prior Year’s Tax. See instructions

Part I Installments Based on Limitation on Prior Year’s Tax
(a)

4/15/96

1
1 Divide the amount from form FTB 5805, Part II, line 5 by four (4) and enter the

result in each column . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

(b)
6/17/96

(c)
9/16/96

(d)
1/15/97

2 In each column, enter 20% of your 1996 modified tax.
See instructions . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

3 Enter the larger of line 1 or line 2. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
4 Divide the amount from form FTB 5805, Part II, line 2 by four (4) and enter the

result in each column . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
5 Enter the smaller of line 3 or line 4. If both line 2 and line 4 are larger than

line 1, go to line 6. Otherwise, skip line 6 through line 19 and enter these
amounts on Schedule B, line 1 (or form FTB 5805, Part III, line 19, if applicable) . .
Complete line 7 in column (a) before going to line 6 in column (b).

6 Enter the amount from column (a), line 7. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
7 Subtract line 1 from line 5 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
8 In column (a), enter the amount from line 1. In column (b), add line 5 and line 6.

In column (c) and column (d), enter the amount from line 5. If you are using
Part II below, go to line 9. Otherwise, skip Part II and enter these amounts on
Schedule B, line 1 (or form FTB 5805, Part III, line 19, if applicable) . . . . . . . . .

2
3

4

5

6
7

8

Part II Installments Based on Annualization Exception. See instructions

Estates and trusts, do not use the period ending dates shown to the right. Instead,
use the following: 2/29/96, 4/30/96, 7/31/96, and 11/30/96.

(a)
1/1/96 to
3/31/96

(b)
1/1/96 to
5/31/96

(c)
1/1/96 to
8/31/96

(d)
1/1/96 to
12/31/96

9 Enter your modified AGI for each period. See instructions . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

8

9
10 Annualization amounts. Estates and trusts, do not use the amounts shown to the

right. Instead, use 3, 1.71429 and 1.09091. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
11 Annualized modified AGI. Multiply line 9 by line 10 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
12 Enter your 1995 AGI as shown on your return in each column. . . . . . . . . . . . .
13 Subtract line 12 from line 11. If less than zero, enter -0- . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
14 Enter your AGI for each period. See instructions . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
15 Annualized AGI. Multiply line 14 by line 10 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
16 In column (a), enter the amount from line 1. In column (b) through column (d),

enter the amount from line 5 if:
• Line 13 is more than $40,000 (more than $20,000 if married filing

separate); and
• Line 15 is more than $75,000 (more than $37,500 if married filing

separate).
Otherwise, enter the amount from line 1 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

17 Subtract line 16 from line 5 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
Complete line 18 and line 19 in one column before going to the next column.

18 If you entered -0- on line 17, add the amounts on line 17 of all preceding columns.
From the result, subtract the total of the amounts on line 18 of all preceding
columns and enter the result. Otherwise, enter -0-. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

19 Add line 16 and line 18. Enter here and on Schedule B, line 1 (or form FTB 5805,
Part III, line 19, if applicable) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

10
11
12
13
14
15

16
17

18

19

2.4 1.5 1
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Schedule B Regular Method to Figure Your Underpayment and Penalty

Part I Figure Your Underpayment (a)
4/15/96

11 Required installments. See instructions . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

(b)
6/17/96

(c)
9/16/96

(d)
1/15/97

Part II Figure the Penalty. Complete line 10 through line 13 of one column before going to the next column.

Payment Due Dates

2 Estimated tax paid and tax withheld. See instructions. For column (a) only, also
enter the amount from line 2 on line 6. (If line 2 is equal to or more than line 1
for all payment periods, stop here; you do not owe the penalty.) Do not file form
FTB 5805 unless you answered yes to a question in Part I . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

3 Enter amount, if any, from line 9 of previous column . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

4 Add line 2 and line 3 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
5 Add amounts on line 7 and line 8 of the previous column . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
6 Subtract line 5 from line 4. If zero or less, enter -0-. For column (a) only, enter

the amount from line 2 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
7 If the amount on line 6 is zero, subtract line 4 from line 5.

Otherwise, enter -0- . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
8 Underpayment. If line 1 is equal to or more than line 6, subtract line 6 from

line 1. Then go to line 3 of next column. Otherwise, go to line 9 . . . . . . . . P

9 Overpayment. If line 6 is more than line 1, subtract line 1 from line 6. Then go to
line 3 of next column . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

10 Number of days FROM the date shown above line 10 TO the date the
amount on line 8 was paid or 12/31/96 whichever is earlier . . . . . . . . . . . .

2
3

4
5

6

7

8

9

April 15, 1996 — December 31, 1996 4/15/96 6/17/96

10

11 Underpayment Number of
on line 8 X days on line 10 X .09

(see instructions) 366 P 11

Days: Days:

$ $

Ra
te

 P
er

io
d 

1

$14
14 PENALTY. Add all amounts on line 11 and line 13 in all columns. Enter the total here, on Form FTB 5805, Part II,

line 13, and on Form 540, line 63; Form 540A, line 37; Form 540NR, line 72; or Form 541, line 38. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . P

COMPLETE LINE 3 THROUGH LINE 9 OF ONE COLUMN BEFORE GOING TO THE
NEXT COLUMN.

12 Number of days FROM the date shown above line 12 TO the date the
amount on line 8 was paid or 4/15/97 whichever is earlier . . . . . . . . . . . .

13 Underpayment Number of
on line 8 X days on line 12 X .09

(see instructions) 365 P

January 1, 1997 — April 15, 1997 1/1/97 1/1/97 1/1/97

12

13

Days: Days: Days:

$ $ $

Ra
te

 P
er

io
d 

2

9/16/96

1/15/97
Days:

$

Days:

$


