—&=_  California Exempt Organization — R

1996  Annual Information Statement or Return 199
MONTH DAY YEAR MONTH DAY YEAR
For calendar or fiscal year beginning | | 1996, and ending | |
A Final return?
Attach Preaddressed Label ® [ Dissolved [J Withdrawn [ Merged/Reorganized (attach explanation)
or See Instructions If a box is checked, enter date ®

B Check forms filed this year: State: [J 109 [J100 [J100S
Federal: (1990 [ 990EZ [ 990T [ 990PF (11041 [11120H [J 1120
C If organization is exempt under R&TC Section 23701d and is a school, public
charity, religious organization or is controlled by a religious organization,
check box. See General Instruction F. No filing fee is required.  ® [
D Is this a group filing? See General Instruction M.  [JYes [ No
E Is this a nonexempt charitable trust as described in IRC Section 4947(a)(1)?
[JYes [JNo
F Accounting method used

California corporation number FEIN

Corporation/Organization name

Address

City State ZIP code

Part | Complete Part | unless not required to file this form. See General Instructions B and C.

1 Gross sales or receipts from other sources. From Side 2, Part Il, line 8. . . . .. ............. ® 1
2 Gross dues and assessments from members and affiliates . . . . ........... . .. ... ... .. ® |2
3 Gross contributions, gifts, grants, and similar amounts received. See instructions page 2 . . . . ... .. ® |3
Receipts | 4 Total gross receipts for filing requirement test. Add line 1 through line 3.
and This line must be completed. If the result is less than $25,000, see General Instructon C . . . . . .. ® |4 |
Revenues | 5 Cost of goods SOI0. . . . . . o oo oo 5
6 Cost or other basis and sales expenses of assets sold . . ... ........ 6
7 Totalcosts. Add line5and line 6 . . . . .. ... 7
8 Total gross income. Subtract line 7 from line 4. . . . . 8
Expenses 9 Total expenses and disbursements. From Side 2, Part I, line 18. . . . . .. ..... ... .. ... .. ... 9
10 Excess of receipts over expenses and disbursements. Subtract line 9 fromline8 . ... ... ... ... ... 10
Fiing 11 Filing fee $10 or $25. See General Instruction F . . . . . . ... . . . . ... 11
Fee 12 Penalty for failure to file on time. See General Instruction L. . . . . . .. ... ... .. ... .. . ..., 12
13 Balance due. Add line 11 and line 12 . . . . . . . . . e e 13

14 If exempt under R&TC Section 23701d, has the organization during the year: (1) participated in any political campaign,
or (2) attempted to influence legislation or any ballot measure, or (3) made an election under R&TC Section 23704.5

(relating to lobbying by public charities)? If “yes,” complete and attach form FTB 3509 . .. ... ...... ... ... ... ..... [JYes [JNo
15 Did the organization have any changes in its activities, governing instrument, articles of incorporation or bylaws that have

not been reported to the Franchise Tax Board? If “Yes,” complete an explanation and attach copies of revised documents . . . . . . [JYes [JNo
16 Is the organization exempt under R&TC Section 2370107 . . . . . . . . . oo [IlYes [INo

If “yes,” enter amount of gross receipts from nonmember sources $
17 Did the organization file Form 100, Form 100S or Form 109 to report taxable income?. . . . . ... .. ... .. ... ... ... .... [IlYes [INo

If “yes,” enter amount of total income reported $

18 The books are in care of Daytime telephone ( )

located at

Under penalties of perjury, | declare that | have examined this return, including accompanying schedules and statements, and to the best of my knowledge and belief, it
Please is true, correct and complete. Declaration of preparer (other than taxpayer) is based on all information of which preparer has any knowledge.
Sign |
Here > > ( )

Signature of officer Date Title Daytime telephone
Date . Preparer’s social security no.
. Preparer's Check if P Y

Paid signature > self-employed ] | |
Preparer’s
Use Only [ Firm's name (or yours, if > FEIN

self-employed) and address Daytime telephone ( )
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Part Il Organizations with gross receipts of more than $25,000 and private foundations regardless of amount of gross
receipts — complete Part Il or furnish substitute information. See Specific Line Instructions.
1 Gross sales or receipts from all business activities. See instructions page 3. . . . ... ... ... .. .. 1
2 MBIt . o e 2
. B DIVIENDS . . . o o 3
RECBIDIS | 4 GrosS TBNIS . . . o o o o oo e 4
from Other 5 Gross royalties 5
Sources | T YRR IEEES v
6 Gross amount received from sale of @ssets . . . . . . ... 6
7 Other income. Attach schedule . . . . . . . . .. 7
8 Total gross sales or receipts from other sources. Add line 1 through line 7.
Enter here and on Side 1, Part I, line 1. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 8
9 Contributions, gifts, grants, and similar amounts paid. Attach schedule . . . . .. ... ... .......... 9
10 Disbursements to or for members. . . . . . .. 10
11 Compensation of officers, directors and trustees. Attach schedule. . . . ... .................. 11
Expenses |12 Other salaries andwages . .. ........... ... ... .. ... . 12
and 13 INtErESt . . o 13
DISOUISE- |14 TAXES . . o o v v e e e e e e e e 14
ments 15 RENS . o o o 15
16 Depreciation and depletion. . . . . . . .. 16
17 Other. Attach schedule. . . . . . . . . 17
18 Total expenses and disbursements. Add line 9 through line 17. Enter here and on Side 1, Part I, line 9. . . 18
Schedule L Balance Sheets Beginning of income year End of income year
Assets (a) (b) (c) (d)
1 Cash......... .. ... ... . . ...
2 Net accounts receivable. . . ... ... .......
3 Net notes receivable. Attach schedule. . . . . . ..
4 Inventories . . . ...
5 Federal and state government obligations . . . . .
6 Investments in other bonds. Attach schedule . . . .
7 Investments in stock. Attach schedule. . . ... ..
8 Mortgage loans (number of loans )
9 Other investments. Attach schedule . . . . ... ..
10 a Depreciable assets . . .. .............
b Less accumulated depreciation . . ... ... .. ( ) (
11 Land . ... .
12 Other assets. Attach schedule . . . ... ... ...

13

14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22

Totalassets . . ............... .. ...
Liabilities and net worth

Accounts payable . . . ... ... ... ... ...
Contributions, gifts, grants payable. . . .. ... ..
Bonds and notes payable. Attach schedule. . . . .
Mortgages payable . . ................
Other liabilities. Attach schedule . . ... ... ...
Capital stock or principle fund . . . ... ... ...
Paid-in or capital surplus. Attach reconciliation . . .
Retained earnings or income fund . . . . ... ...
Total liabilities and networth. . . . . .. ... ...

Schedule M-1  Reconciliation of income per books with income per return

Do not complete this schedule if the amount on Schedule L, line 13, column (d), is less than $25,000.

B O I O

Net income per books. . . . .. ......... 7 Income recorded on books this year

Federal income tax . . .. ............ not included in this return.

Excess of capital losses over capital gains . . . Attach schedule. . . . ... ...........
Income not recorded on books this 8 Deductions in this return not charged

year. Attach schedule. . . .. .......... against book income this year.

Expenses recorded on books this year not Attach schedule. . . .. .............
deducted in this return. Attach schedule. . . . . 9 Total. Add line 7and line8 ... ........
Total. 10 Net income per return.

Add line 1 through line5.............

Subtract line 9 fromline 6. ...........
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Instructions for Form 199

California Exempt Organization Annual Information Statement or Return

References in these instructions are to the Internal Revenue Code (IRC) as of January 1, 1993, and to the California Revenue and Taxation Code (R&TC).

General Instructions

In general, California did not conform its law to
changes made to the Internal Revenue Code
(IRC) by the federal Revenue Reconciliation Act
of 1993 (Public Law 103-66). California legisla-
tion did adopt specific provisions of the 1993 and
1996 federal changes and these provisions are
specifically identified when appropriate. All other
references in these instructions are to the IRC as
it existed on January 1, 1993.

Only file this form if you have received a letter
from the Franchise Tax Board (FTB) granting a
tax-exempt status to your organization. Organiza-
tions that do not hold a current R&TC Section
23701 tax-exempt status should not file

Form 199 except nonexempt charitable trusts
described under General Instruction, Section B
below.

Exempt organizations are not required to attach

a copy of federal Form 990, Return of Organiza-

tion Exempt from Income Tax. However,

Form 990 may be attached to Form 199 in lieu of
completing Part Il of Form 199 unless otherwise

provided in these instructions.

A Purpose of Form

Form 199 is used by organizations that have
been granted an exemption by FTB, organized
and operated under R&TC Section 23701, to pro-
vide the FTB with required information.

B Who Must File

Except for those organizations excluded from fil-

ing under General Instruction C, an annual return

using Form 199 is required from every organiza-

tion exempt from tax under R&TC Section 23701.

These organizations include:

® Private foundations. All private foundations
must complete Part | and Part Il of Form 199
and pay the applicable filing fee. However,
they may furnish the following substitute infor-
mation for Part II:

1. A complete copy of the current
Form CT-2, Registry of Charitable Trusts
Report (including federal Form 990), or
2. A complete copy of federal Form 990-PF,
with appropriate schedules.
® Labor organizations exempt under R&TC
Section 23701a. These organizations must
complete Part | and Part Il of Form 199 and
pay the applicable filing fee. These organiza-
tions may substitute Department of Labor
Form LM2 for Part II.
® Religious or apostolic organizations
described in R&TC Section 23701k. These
organizations must attach a complete
Form 565, Partnership Return of Income, to
Form 199.

* Homeowners' associations. See General
Instruction D.
® Nonexempt charitable trusts  described in

IRC Section 4947(a)(1) must comply with the
reporting requirements of private foundations.
They are required to file Form 199 not

Form 541.

C Exceptions

Except for a private foundation, organizations

with gross receipts that are normally less than
$25,000 are not required to file Form 199. See
General Instruction E.

Other organizations not required to file Form 199,
regardless of the amount of gross receipts
include:

® Churches, interchurch organizations of local
association units of a church, conventions or
associations of churches, or integrated
auxiliaries of churches;

® Religious orders;

® Organizations formed to carry out a function
of a state, or public body that is carrying out
that function and is controlled by the state or
a public body;

® Political organizations exempt under R&TC
Section 23701r; and

® Stock bonus, pension or profit sharing trusts
exempt under R&TC Section 17631.

D Homeowners' Associations

Homeowners’ associations exempt under R&TC
Section 23701t include condominium manage-
ment associations, residential real estate man-
agement associations and cooperative housing
corporations.

Homeowners’ associations’ gross receipts are
defined as gross receipts from all sources before
deductions.

Homeowners' associations’ taxable income is
defined as all income received during the taxable
year other than amounts received from member-
ship fees, dues, or assessments.

Homeowners’ associations may also be required
to file Form 100, California Corporation Franchise
or Income Tax Return if the homeowners’ associ-
ation’s nonexempt gross income exceeds $100.

For more complete details regarding filing
requirements, get FTB Pub. 1028, Guidelines for
Homeowners’ Associations.

E Gross Receipts

Gross receipts are the total amounts received by
the organization during the annual accounting
period from all sources without subtracting costs
or expenses. Gross receipts include but are not
limited to:

® The gross amount received as contributions,
gifts, grants, and similar amounts before
deducting the expenses of raising and collect-
ing such amounts;

® The gross amount received as dues and
assessments from members or affiliated
organizations before deducting the expenses
attributable to the receipt of such amounts;

® Gross sales or receipts from business activi-
ties, including business activities unrelated to
the purpose of the organization;

® The gross amount received from the sale of
assets before deducting the cost or other
basis of the property and expense of sale;
and

® The gross amount received as investment
income such as interest, dividends, rents
and royalties.

Normally less than $25,000 means:

IF IN EXISTENCE | GROSS RECEIPTS/
FOR - PLEDGES EQUAL

$37,500 or less

$30,000 or less (average
for 2 years)

1 year or less

2 years

$25,000 or less (average
for current year and 2
prior years)

3 years or more

F Payment of Filing Fee

Organizations required to file Form 199 must pay
a $10 filing fee. If the $10 fee is not paid by the
due date (including extensions), an additional
$15 is assessed for a total fee of $25.

Exception. The filing fee does not apply to the
following organizations exempt under R&TC
Section 23701d:

® Exclusively religious organizations

® An exclusively educational organization if
the organization normally maintains a regular
faculty and curriculum and normally has a
regularly organized body of students in
attendance at the place where its educational
activities are regularly carried on;

® An exclusively charitable organization, or
an organization for the prevention of cru-
elty to children or animals, if the organiza-
tion is supported, in whole or in part, by funds
contributed by the United States or any state
or political subdivision thereof, or is primarily
supported by contributions of the general
public; and

® An organization operated, supervised, or
controlled by or in connection with an
exclusively religious organization.

Note: Organizations required to file Form 199 but
not required to pay the filing fee must check the
box at Question C on Form 199, Side 1.

G Miscellaneous Forms to File

1. Form 109, California Exempt Organization

Business Income Tax Return, must be

filed by:

® Exempt organizations, when gross
income derived from unrelated business is
$1,000 or more. Form 109 must be filed
whether or not Form 199 is filed.

® Stock bonus, pension or profit sharing
trusts (exempt under R&TC Sec-
tion 17631) with unrelated business
income of $1,000 or more. Exception.
Political organizations (exempt under
R&TC Section 23701r), homeowners’
associations (exempt under R&TC Sec-
tion 23701t) and organizations controlled
by the state or other governmental munici-
palities are not required to file Form 109.
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2. Form 100, Corporation Franchise or Income
Tax Return, must be filed by:

® Political organizations  (exempt under
R&TC Section 23701r) with taxable
income in excess of $100. There is no
requirement to file Form 199;

® Some mutual and cooperative organi-
zations that are exempt under federal law
but not exempt under California law; and

® Homeowners’ associations  (exempt
under R&TC Section 23701t) with home-
owners’ association nonexempt gross
income in excess of $100. Form 100 must
be filed whether or not Form 199 is
required to be filed. See General
Instruction D.

3. Form 565, Partnership Return of Income,
must be completed by all religious or apos-
tolic organizations described in R&TC Sec-
tion 23701k, and attached to Form 199.

4. The federal Form 1099 series, Information,
Return, and Form 596, Annual Summary and
Transmittal of Information Returns, must be
filed to report payments of compensation that
are not subject to income tax withholding and
are $600 or more to any one recipient during
the year. These payments include dividends,
interest, rents, royalties, annuities, etc. Every
organization which makes these payments in
the course of a trade or business, which for
this purpose includes all exempt functions, is
required to file these forms.

5. Statement by Domestic Non Profit Corpora-
tion or Statement by Foreign Non Profit Cor-
poration. An annual statement of officers
must be filed with the California Office of the
Secretary of State by all corporations and
exempt organizations incorporated or quali-
fied in California.

R&TC Section 19141 requires the FTB to
assess a penalty for failure to file a statement
of officers. The FTB has no authority to waive
this penalty except as directed by the Califor-
nia Secretary of State’s Office.

For more information, contact:
CALIFORNIA SECRETARY OF
STATE'S OFFICE
PO BOX 944230
SACRAMENTO CA 94244-0230
TELEPHONE: (916) 657-3537

6. Form CT-2, Registry of Charitable Trusts

Report, if the organization is organized for

public benefit purposes. R&TC Section 23703

requires the FTB to disallow exemption and

assess the minimum tax for any year(s) in
which the organization fails to properly file
this form. The FTB has no authority to rein-
state exemption or cancel the tax except as
directed by the California Registry of

Charitable Trusts.

For more information, contact:
REGISTRY OF CHARITABLE TRUSTS
PO BOX 903447
SACRAMENTO CA 94203-4470
TELEPHONE: (916) 445-6464

H Name and Address

If there is a label on the cover of this booklet
remove it and attach it on the front of Form 199.
If any information on the label is incorrect, draw
a single line through it and enter the correct
information.

If you did not receive a preaddressed label, copy
the information exactly as shown on your
exemption letter.

| Signature

Corporations and Associations —  The return
must be signed by a corporate officer such as
the president, vice president, treasurer, assistant
treasurer, chief accounting officer or trustee. In
the case of homeowners’ association, a person
who has similar authority and who is authorized
to sign must sign the return.

Trusts — The return must be signed by the indi-
vidual fiduciary or by the authorized officer of the
trust receiving or having custody or control and
management of the income of the trust. If two or
more individuals act jointly as fiduciaries, the
return may be signed by any one of them.

Note: A receiver, trustee or assignee must sign
any return that must be filed on behalf of the
organization.

J  When and Where to File

File Form 199 by the 15th day of the 5th month
after the accounting period ends.

If payment is included with your completed form,
mail it to:

FRANCHISE TAX BOARD

PO BOX 942857

SACRAMENTO CA 94257-0701

Include your California corporation number on all
payments.

If payment is not required with your completed
form, mail it to:

FRANCHISE TAX BOARD

PO BOX 942857

SACRAMENTO CA 94257-0700

Note: If you are sending more than one return,
use separate envelopes and separate checks to
make sure that the returns and payments are
processed correctly.

K Extension of Time to File

If Form 199 cannot be filed by the 15th day of
the 5th month after the accounting period, the
exempt organization has an additional seven
months to file without filing a written request for
extension. However, an organization that is not in
good standing on the due date of the return will
not be given an extension of time to file.

If the return is not filed and the filing fee paid by
the extended due date, penalties, additional fees,
and interest may be imposed as explained
below. See General Information F for which
organizations are required to pay a filing fee, and
the amount of the fee, if applicable.

L Penalties

Failure to File a Timely Return —  An organiza-
tion that fails to file the return on or before the
original due date, or extended due date, is
assessed a penalty of $5 for each month, or part
of the month, the return is late. If the return is not
filed by the extended due date, the automatic
extension will not apply. The penalty may not
exceed $40.

Note: Organizations exempt from the $10 filing
fee (see General Instruction F) are not exempt
from this penalty.

Late Payment of Fee — An organization that
fails to pay the $10 filing fee by the original due
date, or extended due date, is assessed an addi-
tional filing fee of $15.

Failure to Furnish Information —  In the case of
a private foundation, the FTB may make a writ-
ten demand that a delinquent return or founda-

tion report be filed within a reasonable time after
notice of mailing a demand. The person who fails
to file after such demand is subject to a penalty
of $5 for each month, or part of the month, (not
to exceed $25) after the period expires. The
penalty is in addition to the late filing penalty
described above.

Waiver — The law provides the FTB with the
authority to waive the above penalties if it is
shown that the failure was due to reasonable
cause and not due to willful neglect.

Suspension/Revocation —  The corporate
rights, powers and privileges may be suspended,
or the exemption from tax may be revoked, for
failure to file a return or statement or pay the
filing fee or penalties.

M Group Return

A central or parent organization may file a group
return for organizations that:

® Are tax-exempt under a group exemption
letter that is still in effect;

* Are affiliated with the central organization at
the time its annual accounting period ends;

® Are subject to the central organization’s
general supervision or control; and

® Have the same accounting period as the
central organization.

A separate form FTB 3500, Exemption Applica-
tion, must be filed on behalf of the group and
approved before a group return may be filed.

N Questions About Filing

If you need further information, write to:
FRANCHISE TAX BOARD
PO BOX 942857
SACRAMENTO CA 94257-0540

Include your organization’s identifying number
and telephone number on all correspondence.

Specific Line Instructions

Side 1, Part |

Line 1 — Gross Sales or Receipts from Other
Sources

Enter the amount from Side 2, Part Il line 8.

See General Instruction E for the definition of
gross receipts. Homeowners' associations see
General Instruction D.

Note: Do not include amounts for gross dues
and assessments from members and affiliates or
amounts from gross contributions, gifts, grants
and similar amounts received. These amounts
are reported on Part |, line 2 and line 3.

Line 3 — Gross Contributions, Gifts, Grants

and Similar Amounts Received

The entry on line 3 differs depending on whether
or not the organization is a private foundation.

Private foundations , regardless of the amount
of gross receipts, and other organizations with
gross receipts greater than $25,000, must attach
an itemized schedule if money, securities, or
other property aggregating $5,000 or more is
received directly or indirectly from one person in
one or more transactions during the year. The
schedule must show the name, address, date
received, and the total amount received from
each person.

In determining whether a person has contributed
$5,000 or more, organizations must aggregate
gifts of $1,000 or more from that person.
Separate and independent gifts need not be
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aggregated if less than $1,000. Also, if a contri-
bution is in the form of property (other than secu-
rities), the organization must furnish a description
of the property. If the property consists of securi-
ties for which market quotations are readily avail-
able, the description and fair market value of the
securities must be submitted.

Person means individuals, fiduciaries, partner-
ships, corporations, associations, trusts and
exempt organizations.

Organizations that are not private foundations
must report the name and address of the contrib-
utor who gave more than $5,000 in money, secu-
rities, or other property during the year only if it
has actual knowledge of the contributor. For
example, an organization need not require an
employer who withholds contributions from the
compensation of employees and pays over to the
organization periodically the total amounts with-
held, to specify the amounts paid over with
respect to a particular employee. In such case,
unless the organization has actual knowledge
that a particular employee gave more than
$5,000, the organization must report only the
name and address of the employer and the total
amount paid over by the employer.

Organizations described in R&TC

Sections 23701b, 23701g, and 23701l that
receive contributions or gifts to be used exclu-
sively for the purposes described in IRC Sec-
tion 170 must attach a statement with respect to
all gifts which aggregate $1,000 from any one
person showing:

® The name of the donor;

® The amount of the contribution;

® The specific purpose of the contribution; and
® The specific use of the contribution.

If the contribution or gift is transferred to another
organization, the statement must include:

® The name of the transferee organization;

® A description of the nature of the transferee
organization; and

® A description of the relationship between the
transferee and transferor organizations. Such
organizations must also attach a statement
showing the total dollar amount of contribu-
tions and gifts received.

Line 4 - Total Gross Receipts

Add line 1 through line 3. See General Instruc-

tion E for the definition of gross receipts.

Line 14 - Influencing Legislation

An organization which is exempt under R&TC

Section 23701d is prohibited from supporting or

opposing candidates for public office. However, a

R&TC Section 23701d organization may elect to

make limited expenditures to influence legislation

within the limitations set by R&TC

Section 23704.5. Organizations making this elec-

tion must complete form FTB 3509, Political or

Legislative Activities by R&TC Section 23701d

Organizations and attach it to Form 199.

Side 2, Part Il
Exempt organizations must either:

® Complete Part Il of Form 199;

® Attach a completed copy of Form CT-2, Reg-
istry of Charitable Trusts Report (including
federal Form 990); or

® Attach a completed copy of federal
Form 990-PF for private foundations, includ-
ing all appropriate schedules.

Line 1 — Gross Sales or Receipts from All
Business Activities

See General Instruction E for the definition of
gross receipts. Homeowners’ associations see
General Instruction D.

Note: Do not include amounts for gross dues
and assessments from members and affiliates or
amounts from gross contributions, gifts, grants
and similar amounts received. These amounts
are reported on Side 1, Part I, line 2 and line 3
respectively.

Line 6 — Gross Amount Received from Sale of
Assets

Attach a schedule showing for each asset
(whether or not depreciable) sold or exchanged
the:

* Date acquired, manner of acquisition, date
sold, and to whom sold;

® Gross sales price;

® Cost or other basis, or value at time of acqui-
sition if received by donation (state how
received);

® Expense of sale and cost of improvements
subsequent to acquisition; and

® |f depreciable property, depreciation since
acquisition.

The gross sales price should be entered on

Side 2, Part I, line 6 and the cost or other basis,

expenses, etc. (less depreciation if applicable),

should be totaled and entered on Side 1, Part I,

line 6.

Line 8 — Total Gross Sales or Receipts from
Other Sources

Add line 1 through line 7. Enter on line 8 and on
Side 1, Part I, line 1.

Line 9 — Contributions, Gifts, Grants, and

Similar Amounts Paid

Private foundations, regardless of gross receipts,
and other organizations required to file Form 199,
must attach a schedule to support contributions,
gifts, grants, scholarships, etc., showing:

® Each class of activity;

® Separate totals for each activity;

® Name and address of the donee and the
amount of the distribution to the donee; and

® Relationship of the donee, if related by blood,
marriage, adoption, or employment (including
children of employees) to any person or cor-
poration having an interest in the organization
(such as creator, donor, director, trustee,
officer, etc.).

Activities should be classified according to pur-
pose in greater detail than merely charitable,
educational, religious, or scientific. For example,
payments for nursing service, laboratory con-
struction, fellowships, or assistance to indigent
families should be so identified.

Private foundations making contributions, etc., to
a trust, association or corporation, shall also indi-
cate the organizational status of each donee;
such as private foundation, operating private
foundation or other public charity, etc.

When the fair market value of the property at the
time of disbursement is used to measure a con-
tribution, the schedule must also show the:

® Description of the contributed property;

® Book value of the contributed property;

® Method used to determine the book value;
and

® Date of the gift.

In such a case, the difference between fair mar-

ket value and book value should be reflected in

the books of account.

Line 11 — Compensation of Officers, Directors
and Trustees

All organizations must attach a schedule of offi-
cers, directors, trustees or individuals having
similar responsibilities. The schedule must show
for each; their name, address, social security
number, position, compensation and time
devoted to the position.

Line 16 — Depreciation and Depletion

Corporations and Associations —  California
law is generally the same as federal law.

California differences.

1. California has not adopted the federal Modi-
fied Accelerated Cost Recovery System
(MACRS).

2. California prohibits the use of the 20 percent
ADR ranges. Only the mid-range asset guide-
line period is allowed.

3. California allows the special additional first-
year depreciation. (R&TC Section 24356, not
IRC Section 179.)

Complete form FTB 3885, Corporation Deprecia-
tion and Amortization, to figure the difference
between state and federal depreciation.

Exempt corporations claiming depreciation
deductions must attach a schedule showing:

® Description of property;

® Date acquired;

® Cost or other basis (exclude land);

® Depreciation allowed or allowable in prior

years;

Method of computation;

® Rate (%) or life (years); and

® Depreciation this year (total additional first-
year depreciation claimed must be shown on
a separate line of the depreciation schedule).

Trusts — In 1987, California changed the rules
for depreciation by conforming to the federal
Modified Accelerated Cost Recovery System
(MACRS). The California MACRS applies to
assets placed in service on or after 1/1/87.

Complete form FTB 3885F, Depreciation and
Amortization, to figure the difference between
state and federal depreciation.

Enter the total from form FTB 3885F, line 6, on
Form 199, Side 2, Part Il, line 16 and attach form
FTB 3885F to Form 199.

Schedule L — Balance Sheets

The balance sheets should agree with the books

of account. Any difference should be reconciled
on Schedule M-1 of Form 199.
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How to Get California Tax Information

(Keep this page for future use.)

F.A.S.T. Toll-Free Phone Service

Call Fast Answers about State Taxes,the
F.A.S.T. toll-free phone service you can use to:

® Get recorded answers to many of your ques-
tions about California taxes;

® Order California or federal income tax forms;
and

® Find out about your personal income tax
refund.

F.A.S.T. is available in English and Spanish to
callers with touch-tone or rotary dial telephones.

When Is F.A.S.T. Available?

To answer your questions, F.A.S.T. is available
24 hours a day, seven days a week. To order
forms, or to find out about your tax personal
income refund, F.A.S.T. is available from 6:00
a.m. to 10:00 p.m., seven days a week, except
state holidays.

How To Use F.A.S.T.
Have paper and pencil handy to take notes.

Call from within the
United States . . . .. ...

Call from outside the
United States . . . .. ...

1-800-338-0505

1-916-845-6600
(not toll-free)

Follow the recorded instructions and enter the
three-digit code when you are instructed to do
S0.

To Find Out About Your Personal Tax Refund

You should wait at least eight weeks after you
file your personal tax return before you call to
find out about your refund. To use F.A.S.T., you
must know the first social security number shown
on your tax return and the exact dollar amount of
your refund. To find out about your refund, call
1-800-338-0505 between 6:00 a.m. and 10:00
p.m., select Refund Information and follow the
recorded instructions.

To Get Information

If you need an answer to any of the following
questions, call 1-800-338-0505, select General
Tax Information, follow the recorded instructions
and enter the three-digit code when you are
instructed to do so.

Code — Prefiling Assistance

715 — If my actual tax is less than the minimum
franchise tax, what figure do | put on
line 22 of Form 1007

717 — What are the tax rates for corporations?

718 — How do | get an extension of time to file?

722 — When do | have to file a short-period
return?

730 — May | claim net operating losses in the
first year?

731 — Are corporations allowed to use
MACRS/ACRS or Section 179 expensing?

733 — Can the prepayment to the Secretary of
State be applied to my last year of
business?

734 — What is the difference between franchise
tax and income tax?

S corporations

704 — Is an S corporation subject to the mini-
mum franchise tax?

705 — Are S corporations required to file esti-
mate payments?

706 — What forms do S corporations file?

707 — The tax for my S corporation is less than
the minimum franchise tax. What figure do
| put on line 21 of Form 100S?

708 — Where do S corporations make the state
tax adjustment on Schedule K-1(100S)?

Exempt Organizations

709 — How do | get tax-exempt status?

710 — Does an exempt organization have to file
Form 1997

735 — How can an exempt organization incorpo-
rate without paying corporation fees and
costs?

736 — | have exempt status. Do | need to file
Form 100 or Form 109 in addition to
Form 199?

Minimum Tax and Estimate Tax

711 — Why can't | claim my prepayment tax as a
credit or estimate payment on my return?

712 — What is the minimum franchise tax?

714 — I'm not doing business; do | have to pay
the minimum franchise tax?

716 — When are my estimate payments due?

Billings and Miscellaneous Notices

723 — | received a bill for $250. What is this for?

728 — Why was my corporation suspended?

729 — Why is my subsidiary getting a request for
a return when we file a combined report?
Tax Clearance

724 — How do | dissolve my corporation?

725 — What do | have to do to get a tax
clearance?

726 — How long will it take to get a tax clear-
ance certificate?

727 — My corporation was suspended/forfeited.
Can | still get a tax clearance?

Miscellaneous

700 — Who do | need to contact to start a
business?

701 - | need a state ID number for my business.
Who do | contact?

702 — Can you send me an employer's tax
guide?

703 — How do | incorporate?

719 — How do | properly identify my corporation
when dealing with the Franchise Tax
Board?

720 — How do | change my corporation name?

721 — How do | change my accounting period?

732 — What is the Water's-Edge Election?

737 — Where do | send my payment?

738 — What is electronic funds transfer?

739 — How do | get a copy of my state corporate
tax return?

Regular Toll-Free Phone Service

Our regular toll-free phone service is available
from 7:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. Monday through Fri-
day from January 2 through April 15, 1997. The
best times to call are between 7:00 and 10:00 in
the morning and between 6:00 and 8:00 in the
evening. Service is also available on Saturday,
April 5 and April 12, from 8:00 a.m. until
5:00 p.m. After April 15 service is available
Monday through Friday, between 8:00 a.m. and
5:00 p.m.
From within the

United States. . . . .. ..
From outside the

United States . . . . . . ..

1-800-852-5711

1-916-845-6500
(not toll-free)
For hearing impaired

withTDD . .. ....... 1-800-822-6268

For federal tax questions,
callthe IRSat . ......

Bilingual Assistance

Para obtener servicio bilingiie de informacion
sobre impuestos o formularios, llame al nimero
de teléfono (anotado arriba) que le corresponde.

Letters

We can serve you quickly if you call us for infor-
mation to complete your California tax return, or
to find out about your tax refund. However, you
may want to write to us if you are replying to a
notice we sent you, or to get a written reply. If
you write to us, be sure to include the California
corporation number or federal employer identifi-
cation number (FEIN), your daytime and evening
telephone numbers and a copy of the notice with
your letter. Send your letter to:

FRANCHISE TAX BOARD
PO BOX 942857
SACRAMENTO CA 94257-0540

We will acknowledge receipt of your letter within
six to eight weeks. In some cases we may need
to call you for additional information.

Your Rights As A Taxpayer

Our goal at the FTB is to make certain that your
rights are protected so that you will have the
highest confidence in the integrity, efficiency and
fairness of our state tax system. FTB Pub. 4058,
California Taxpayers’ Bill of Rights, includes
information on your rights as a California tax-
payer, the Taxpayers’ Rights Advocate Program
and how you can request written advice from the
FTB on whether a particular transaction is taxa-
ble. You can order FTB Pub. 4058 by calling or
writing the FTB using the address above for
letters.

1-800-829-1040

Where to Get Income Tax Forms

By Internet — If you have Internet access, you

may download, view and print California tax

forms and publications. Our Internet address is:
http:/lwww.ftb.ca.gov

By phone — Use F.A.S.T. to order 1994, 1995
and 1996 California tax forms.

We will send you two copies of each tax form
and one copy of each set of instructions. Please
allow two weeks to receive your order.

In person — Most libraries, post offices and
banks provide free California tax booklets during
the filing season. Many libraries and some quick
print businesses have forms and schedules for
you to photocopy (you may have to pay a nomi-
nal fee). Note that employees at libraries, post
offices, banks and quick print businesses cannot
provide tax information or assistance.
By mail — Write to:

TAX FORMS REQUEST UNIT

FRANCHISE TAX BOARD

PO BOX 307

RANCHO CORDOVA CA 95741-0307
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