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CUT HERE

(Calendar year corporations — Due March 15, 1996)
(Calendar year exempt organizations — Due May 15, 1996)

YEAR CALIFORNIA FORMPayment Voucher for Automatic Extension
for Corporations and Exempt Organizations

IF NO PAYMENT IS DUE, DO NOT FILE THIS FORM
EFT TAXPAYERS, DO NOT USE THIS FORM Payment Voucher 5

1995 3539
For income year beginning , and ending .

MONTH DAY YEAR MONTH DAY YEAR

California corporation number Federal employer identification number Tax due

Corporation/Exempt Organization name

Address

City State ZIP code

YEAR CALIFORNIA FORMInstructions for Automatic Extension
for Corporations and Exempt Organizations1995 3539

Reminder: 1994 Tax Law Change
Effective for income years beginning on or after January 1,
1994, the water’s-edge election fee is no longer required.
Note: Payment of water’s-edge election fees for calendar
year 1993 (or fiscal years beginning in 1993), is still required.
DO NOT use this form for those payments. Use the 1993
form FTB 3539, Payment Voucher for Automatic Extension
for Corporations and Exempt Organizations.
For more information regarding water’s-edge reporting, get
Form 100-WE, Water’s-Edge Booklet and FTB Notice 93-7.

General Information
If a corporation, including real estate investment trusts
(REITs), real estate mortgage investment conduits (REMICs),
regulated investment companies (RICs) and limited liability
companies (LLCs) treated as corporations, or an exempt
organization in good standing cannot file its California tax
return by the original due date, a seven month extension will
be allowed automatically without filing a written request. To
qualify for the automatic extension, the corporation’s or
exempt organization’s tax return must be filed by the
extended due date. The extended due date for corporations
is the 15th day of the tenth month following the close of the
income year (fiscal year filers) or October 15, 1996 (calendar
year filers). The extended due date for exempt organizations
is the 15th day of the twelfth month following the close of the
taxable year (fiscal year filers) or December 16, 1996
(calendar year filers).
However, to avoid late payment penalties and interest, 100
percent of the tax liability must be paid by the 15th day of
the third month (fiscal year corporations), or the 15th day of
the fifth month (fiscal year exempt organizations) following
the close of the income year or March 15, 1996 (calendar
year corporations), or May 15, 1996 (calendar year exempt
organizations).
Complete the tax payment worksheet on Side 2 to see if
additional tax is due. Only send in the voucher if a
payment is due.

Save the completed worksheet as a permanent part of the
corporation’s or exempt organization’s tax records along with
a copy of the return.
Note:  Exempt pension trusts should use form FTB 3563,
Payment Voucher for Automatic Extension for Fiduciaries, if
a payment is required.

Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT)
Corporations that meet certain requirements must remit all of
their payments through EFT rather than by paper checks.
Corporations that remit an estimated tax payment or
extension payment in excess of $20,000 or that have a total
tax liability in excess of $80,000 in any income year
beginning on or after January 1, 1995, must pay through
EFT. The Franchise Tax Board will notify corporations that
are subject to this requirement. If you are an EFT taxpayer,
DO NOT USE THIS FORM. Those that wish to participate on
a voluntary basis may do so. For more information, call
1-800-852-2753.

Where to File
If tax is due, and the corporation is not required to use EFT,
attach a check or money order for the tax due to form FTB
3539 and mail only the voucher portion with the payment
to:

Franchise Tax Board
P.O. Box 942857
Sacramento, CA 94257-0551

Penalties and Interest
Remember, an extension of time to file the tax return is not
an extension of time to pay the tax. If the corporation or
exempt organization fails to pay its total tax by the original
due date, a late payment penalty plus interest will be added
to the tax due. If the corporation or exempt organization does
not file its return by the extended due date, the automatic
extension will not apply and a late filing penalty plus interest
will be assessed.

3
5
3
9



Side 2 FTB 3539 1995

TAX PAYMENT WORKSHEET FOR YOUR RECORDS
1 Total tentative tax. Include alternative minimum tax if applicable. See instructions . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 1
2 Estimated tax payments including prior year overpayment applied as a credit . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 2
3 Tax Due. If line 2 is more than line 1, see instructions. If line 1 is more than line 2, subtract line 2 from line 1.

Enter the result here and on form FTB 3539 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 3

Combined Reports
If members of a combined unitary group have made or
intend to make an election to file a Combined Unitary Group
Single Return, only the key corporation designated to file the
return should submit form FTB 3539. Payment of at least the
minimum franchise tax must be made for each corporation of
the combined unitary group that is subject to tax in
California.
If members of a combined unitary group intend to file
separate returns with the Franchise Tax Board, each
member must submit its own form FTB 3539 if there is an
amount entered on line 3 of the worksheet.

Exempt Organizations
The due dates for corporations also apply to the filing of
Form 100, California Franchise or Income Tax Return, by
political action committees and exempt homeowners’
associations.
Political action committees and exempt homeowners’
associations that file Form 100 should not enter the
minimum franchise tax on line 1 of the Tax Payment
Worksheet below.
Form 199 Filers:
Form 199, California Exempt Organization Annual
Information Statement or Return, requires a $10 filing fee to
be paid with the return on the original or extended due date.

How to Complete the Tax Payment Worksheet
Line 1 - Enter the total tentative tax, including the alternative

minimum tax for the income year.
• If filing Form 100 or 100S, the tentative tax may not be

less than the minimum franchise tax.
• If filing Form 109, enter the amount of tax. Form 109

filers are not subject to the minimum franchise tax.
Line 2 - Enter the estimated tax payments, including prior year

overpayment applied as a credit.
Line 3 - Tax due. If the amount on line 2 is more than the amount on

line 1, the payments and credits are more than the tax. The
corporation or exempt organization has no tax due. DO NOT
SEND THE PAYMENT VOUCHER. The corporation or
exempt organization will automatically qualify for an
extension if the tax return is filed by the extended due date.
If the amount on line 1 is more than the amount on line 2,
then the corporation’s or exempt organization’s tax is more
than its payments and credits. The corporation or exempt
organization has tax due.
Subtract line 2 from line 1. Enter this amount on line 3 below
and on form FTB 3539.

Use form FTB 3539 only if paying the fee early. Enter the
amount of the fee on line 3 of the Tax Payment Worksheet
below.


