
YEAR

1995
California Exempt Organization
Annual Information Statement or Return

FORM

199
MONTH DAY YEAR MONTH DAY YEAR

For calendar or fiscal year beginning 1995, and ending .

Attach Preaddressed Label
or See Instructions

California corporation number FEIN

Corporation/Organization name

Address

City State ZIP code

A Final return?

• Dissolved Withdrawn Merged/Reorganized (attach explanation)

If a box is checked, enter date •
B Check forms filed this year: State: 109 100 100S

Federal: 990 990EZ 990T 990PF 1041 1120H 1120

C If organization is exempt under R&TC Section 23701d and is a school, public

charity, religious organization or is controlled by a religious organization,

check box. See General Instruction F. No filing fee is required. •
D Is this a group filing? See General Instruction M. Yes No

E Is this a nonexempt charitable trust as described in IRC Section 4947(a)(1)?

Yes No

F Accounting method used

Part I Complete Part I unless not required to file this form. See General Instructions B and C.

Receipts
and

Revenues

Expenses

Filing
Fee

1 Gross sales or receipts from other sources. From Side 2, Part II, line 8 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
2 Gross dues and assessments from members and affiliates. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
3 Gross contributions, gifts, grants, and similar amounts received. See instructions page 2 . . . . . . . . . . . . .
4 Total gross receipts for filing requirement test. Add line 1 through line 3.

This line must be completed. If the result is less than $25,000, see General Instruction C. . . . . . . . •
5 Cost of goods sold . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
6 Cost or other basis and sales expenses of assets sold. . . . . . . . . . . . . .
7 Total costs. Add line 5 and line 6. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
8 Total gross income. Subtract line 7 from line 4 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
9 Total expenses and disbursements. From Side 2, Part II, line 18 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

10 Excess of receipts over expenses and disbursements. Subtract line 9 from line 8 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
11 Filing fee $10 or $25. See General Instruction F . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
12 Penalty for failure to file on time. See General Instruction L . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
13 Balance due. Add line 11 and line 12 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

1
2
3

4
5
6

7
8
9

10
11
12
13

14 If exempt under R&TC Section 23701d, has the organization during the year: (1) participated in any political campaign,
or (2) attempted to influence legislation or any ballot measure, or (3) made an election under R&TC Section 23704.5
(relating to lobbying by public charities)? If ‘‘yes,’’ complete and attach form FTB 3509 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Yes No

15 Did the organization have any changes in its activities, governing instrument, articles of incorporation or bylaws that have
not been reported to the Franchise Tax Board? If ‘‘Yes,’’ complete an explanation and attach copies of revised documents . . . . . . Yes No

16 Is the organization exempt under R&TC Section 23701g? . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Yes No
If ‘‘yes,’’ enter amount of gross receipts from nonmember sources $ 

17 Did the organization file Form 100, Form 100S or Form 109 to report taxable income?. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Yes No
If ‘‘yes,’’ enter amount of total income reported $ 

18 The books are in care of Daytime telephone

located at

Please
Sign
Here

Paid
Preparer’s
Use Only

Under penalties of perjury, I declare that I have examined this return, including accompanying schedules and statements, and to the best of my knowledge and belief, it
is true, correct and complete. Declaration of preparer (other than taxpayer) is based on all information of which preparer has any knowledge.

P Signature of officer Date P Title Daytime telephone

Date Preparer’s social security no.
Preparer’s
signature P

Check if
self-employed

FEIN

Daytime telephone ( )
PFirm’s name (or yours, if

self-employed) and address

Form 199 C1 1995 Side 1

( )

( )



Part II Organizations with gross receipts of more than $25,000 and private foundations regardless of amount of gross
receipts — complete Part II or furnish substitute information. See Specific Line Instructions.

Receipts
from Other
Sources

Expenses
and
Disburse-
ments

1 Gross sales or receipts from all business activities. See instructions page 3 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
2 Interest . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
3 Dividends . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
4 Gross rents . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
5 Gross royalties . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
6 Gross amount received from sale of assets . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
7 Other income. Attach schedule . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
8 Total gross sales or receipts from other sources. Add line 1 through line 7.

Enter here and on Side 1, Part I, line 1 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
9 Contributions, gifts, grants, and similar amounts paid. Attach schedule . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

10 Disbursements to or for members. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
11 Compensation of officers, directors and trustees. Attach schedule . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
12 Other salaries and wages . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
13 Interest . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
14 Taxes . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
15 Rents . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
16 Depreciation and depletion. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
17 Other. Attach schedule . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
18 Total expenses and disbursements. Add line 9 through line 17. Enter here and on Side 1, Part I, line 9. . .

1
2
3
4
5
6
7

8
9

10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18

Schedule L Balance Sheets

Schedule M-1 Reconciliation of income per books with income per return
Do not complete this schedule if the amount on Schedule L, line 13, column (d), is less than $25,000.

Assets
1 Cash . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
2 Net accounts receivable. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
3 Net notes receivable. Attach schedule . . . . . . . .
4 Inventories . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
5 Federal and state government obligations . . . . .
6 Investments in other bonds. Attach schedule . . . .
7 Investments in stock. Attach schedule . . . . . . . .
8 Mortgage loans (number of loans ). . . . .
9 Other investments. Attach schedule . . . . . . . . .

10 a Depreciable assets . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
b Less accumulated depreciation . . . . . . . . . .

11 Land . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
12 Other assets. Attach schedule . . . . . . . . . . . .
13 Total assets . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
Liabilities and net worth
14 Accounts payable . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
15 Contributions, gifts, grants payable. . . . . . . . . .
16 Bonds and notes payable. Attach schedule . . . . .
17 Mortgages payable . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
18 Other liabilities. Attach schedule . . . . . . . . . . .
19 Capital stock or principle fund . . . . . . . . . . . .
20 Paid-in or capital surplus. Attach reconciliation . . .
21 Retained earnings or income fund . . . . . . . . . .
22 Total liabilities and net worth . . . . . . . . . . . . .

End of income yearBeginning of income year

( ) ( )

1 Net income per books. . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
2 Federal income tax . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
3 Excess of capital losses over capital gains . . .
4 Income not recorded on books this

year. Attach schedule . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
5 Expenses recorded on books this year not

deducted in this return. Attach schedule. . . . .
6 Total.

Add line 1 through line 5 . . . . . . . . . . . . .

7 Income recorded on books this year
not included in this return.
Attach schedule . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

8 Deductions in this return not charged
against book income this year.
Attach schedule . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

9 Total. Add line 7 and line 8 . . . . . . . . . . .
10 Net income per return.

Subtract line 9 from line 6 . . . . . . . . . . . .

Side 2 Form 199 C1 1995

(a)(a) (b) (c) (d)
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1995 Instructions for Form 199
California Exempt Organization Annual Information Statement or Return
References in these instructions are to the Internal Revenue Code (IRC) as of January 1, 1993, and to the California Revenue and Taxation Code (R&TC).

General Instructions
In general, California did not conform its law to
changes made to the Internal Revenue Code
(IRC) by the federal Revenue Reconciliation Act
of 1993 (Public Law 103-66). California legisla-
tion during 1994 did adopt specific provisions of
the 1993 federal changes and these provisions
are specifically identified when appropriate. All
other references in these instructions are to the
IRC as it existed on January 1, 1993.

Only file this form if you have received a letter
from the Franchise Tax Board granting a tax-
exempt status to your organization. Organizations
that do not hold a current R&TC Section 23701
tax exempt status should not file the Form 199.

Exempt organizations are not required to attach
a copy of federal Form 990, Return of Organiza-
tion Exempt from Income Tax. However, Form
990 may be attached to Form 199 in lieu of com-
pleting Part II of Form 199 unless otherwise pro-
vided in these instructions.

A Purpose of Form
Form 199 is used by organizations that have
been granted an exemption by FTB, organized
and operated under R&TC Section 23701, to pro-
vide the Franchise Tax Board with required
information.

B Who Must File
Except for those organizations excluded from fil-
ing under General Instruction C, an annual return
using Form 199 is required from every organiza-
tion exempt from tax under R&TC Section 23701.
These organizations include:
• private foundations. All private foundations

must complete Part I and Part II of Form 199
and pay the applicable filing fee. However,
they may furnish the following substitute infor-
mation for Part II:

1. A complete copy of the current
Form CT-2, Registry of Charitable Trusts
Report (including federal Form 990), or

2. A complete copy of federal Form 990-PF,
with appropriate schedules.

• labor organizations exempt under R&TC
Section 23701a. These organizations must
complete Part I and Part II of Form 199 and
pay the applicable filing fee. These organiza-
tions may substitute Department of Labor
Form LM2 for Part II.

• religious or apostolic organizations
described in R&TC Section 23701k. These
organizations must attach a complete
Form 565, Partnership Return of Income, to
Form 199.

• homeowners’ associations. See General
Instruction D.

• nonexempt charitable trusts described in
IRC Section 4947(a)(1) and not treated as
private foundations under IRC Section 509(a).
These trusts are required to file Form 199 not
Form 541. They must comply with the report-
ing requirements of private foundations.

Failure to file Form 199 on or before the due
date will subject the organization to penalties.
See General Instruction L.

C Exceptions
Except for a private foundation, no organization
with gross receipts that are normally less than
$25,000 is required to file Form 199. See Gen-
eral Instruction E.

Other organizations not required to file Form 199
include:

• churches, interchurch organizations of local
association units of a church, conventions or
associations of churches, or integrated auxil-
iaries of churches;

• religious orders;
• nonprofit exempt organizations formed to

carry out a function of a state, or public body
that is carrying out that function and is con-
trolled by the state or a public body; and

• political organizations exempt under R&TC
Section 23701r.

D Homeowners’ Associations
Homeowners’ associations exempt under R&TC
Section 23701t include condominium manage-
ment associations, residential real estate man-
agement associations and cooperative housing
corporations.

Homeowners’ associations’ gross receipts are
defined as gross receipts from all sources before
deductions.

Homeowners’ associations’ taxable income is
defined as all income received during the taxable
year other than amounts received from member-
ship fees, dues, or assessments.

Homeowners’ associations may also be required
to file Form 100, California Corporation Franchise
or Income Tax Return if the homeowners’ associ-
ation’s nonexempt gross income exceeds $100.

For more complete details regarding filing
requirements, get FTB Pub. 1028, Guidelines for
Homeowners’ Associations.

E Gross Receipts
Gross receipts are the total amounts received by
the organization during the annual accounting
period from all sources without subtracting costs
or expenses. Gross receipts include but are not
limited to:

• the gross amount received as contributions,
gifts, grants, and similar amounts before
deducting the expenses of raising and collect-
ing such amounts;

• the gross amount received as dues and
assessments from members or affiliated
organizations before deducting the expenses
attributable to the receipt of such amounts;

• gross sales or receipts from business activi-
ties, including business activities unrelated to
the purpose of the organization;

• the gross amount received from the sale of
assets before deducting the cost or other
basis of the property and expense of sale;
and

• the gross amount received as investment
income such as interest, dividends, rents and
royalties.

IF IN EXISTENCE
FOR –

GROSS RECEIPTS/
PLEDGES EQUAL

1 year or less

2 years

3 years or more

$37,500 or less

$30,000 or less (average
for 2 years)

$25,000 or less (average
for current year and 2
prior years)

Normally less than $25,000 means:

F Payment of Filing Fee
Organizations required to file Form 199 must pay
a $10 filing fee. If the $10 fee is not paid by the
due date (including extensions), an additional
$15 is assessed for a total fee of $25.

Exception.  The filing fee does not apply to the
following organizations:

• exclusively religious organizations exempt
under R&TC Section 23701d;

• an exclusively educational organization
exempt under R&TC Section 23701d, if the
organization normally maintains a regular fac-
ulty and curriculum and normally has a regu-
larly organized body of students in
attendance at the place where its educational
activities are regularly carried on;

• an exclusively charitable organization, or
an organization for the prevention of cru-
elty to children or animals, exempt under
R&TC Section 23701d, if the organization is
supported, in whole or in part, by funds con-
tributed by the United States or any state or
political subdivision thereof, or is primarily
supported by contributions of the general
public; and

• an organization exempt under R&TC Sec-
tion 23701d, if the organization is operated,
supervised, or controlled by or in connection
with an exclusively religious organization.

Organizations required to file Form 199 but not
required to pay the filing fee must check the box
after Question C on Form 199, Side 1.

G Miscellaneous Forms to File
1. Form 109, California Exempt Organization

Business Income Tax Return, must be
filed by:

• exempt organizations, when gross
income derived from unrelated business is
$1,000 or more. Form 109 must be filed
whether or not Form 199 is filed.

• stock bonus, pension or profit sharing
trusts (exempt under R&TC Sec-
tion 17631)  with unrelated business
income of $1,000 or more. There is no
requirement to file Form 199.
Exception.  Political organizations (exempt
under R&TC Section 23701r), homeown-
ers’ associations (exempt under R&TC
Section 23701t) and organizations con-
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trolled by the state or other governmental
municipalities are not required to file
Form 109.

2. Form 100, Corporation Franchise or Income
Tax Return, must be filed by:

• political organizations (exempt under
R&TC Section 23701r) with taxable
income in excess of $100. There is no
requirement to file Form 199;

• some mutual and cooperative organiza-
tions  that are exempt under federal law
but not exempt under California law; and

• homeowners’ associations (exempt
under R&TC Section 23701t) with home-
owners’ association nonexempt gross
income in excess of $100. Form 100 must
be filed whether or not Form 199 is
required to be filed. See General
Instruction D.

3. Form 565, Partnership Return of Income,
must be completed by all religious or apos-
tolic organizations described in R&TC Sec-
tion 23701k, and attached to Form 199.

4. The federal Form 1099 series, Information,
Return, and Form 596, Annual Summary and
Transmittal of Information Returns, must be
filed to report payments of compensation that
are not subject to income tax withholding and
are $600 or more to any one recipient during
the year. These payments include dividends,
interest, rents, royalties, annuities, etc. Every
organization which makes these payments in
the course of a trade or business, which for
this purpose includes all exempt functions, is
required to file these forms.

5. Statement by Domestic Non Profit Corpora-
tion. An annual statement of officers must be
filed with the Office of the Secretary of State
by all corporations and exempt organizations
incorporated or qualified in California.

R&TC Section 19141 requires the Franchise
Tax Board to assess a penalty for failure to
file a statement of officers. The Franchise Tax
Board has no authority to waive this penalty
except as directed by the California Secretary
of State’s Office.

For more information, contact:
CALIFORNIA SECRETARY OF
STATE’S OFFICE
PO BOX 944230
SACRAMENTO CA 94244-0230
TELEPHONE: (916) 657-3537

H Name and Address
If there is a label on the cover of this booklet
remove it and attach it on the front of Form 199.
If any information on the label is incorrect, draw
a single line through it and enter the correct
information.

If you did not receive a preaddressed label, copy
the information exactly as shown on your exemp-
tion letter.

I Signature
Corporations and Associations — The return
must be signed by a corporate officer such as
the president, vice president, treasurer, assistant
treasurer, chief accounting officer or trustee. In
the case of an association, a person who has
similar authority and who is authorized to sign
must sign the return.

Trusts — The return must be signed by the indi-
vidual fiduciary or by the authorized officer of the
trust receiving or having custody or control and
management of the income of the trust. If two or
more individuals act jointly as fiduciaries, the
return may be signed by any one of them.

Note:  A receiver, trustee or assignee must sign
any return that must be filed on behalf of the
organization.

J When and Where to File
File Form 199 by the 15th day of the 5th month
after the accounting period ends.

If payment is included with your completed form,
mail it to:

FRANCHISE TAX BOARD
PO BOX 942857
SACRAMENTO CA 94257-0701

Include your California corporation number on all
payments.

If payment is not required with your completed
form, mail it to:

FRANCHISE TAX BOARD
PO BOX 942857
SACRAMENTO CA 94257-0700

Note:  If you are sending more than one return,
use separate envelopes to make sure that the
returns are processed correctly.

K Extension of Time to File
If Form 199 cannot be filed by the 15th day of
the 5th month after the accounting period, the
exempt organization has an additional seven
months to file without filing a written request for
extension. However, an organization that is not in
good standing on the due date of the return will
not be given an extension of time to file.

If the return is not filed and the filing fee paid by
the extended due date, penalties, additional fees,
and interest may be imposed as explained
below. See General Information F for which
organizations are required to pay a filing fee, and
the amount of the fee, if applicable.

L Penalties
Failure to File a Timely Return — Any organi-
zation that fails to file the return on or before the
original due date, or extended due date, is
assessed a penalty of $5 for each month, or part
of the month, the return is late. If the return is not
filed by the extended due date, the automatic
extension will not apply. The penalty may not
exceed $40.

Note:  Organizations exempt from the $10 filing
fee (see General Instruction F) are not exempt
from this penalty.

Late Payment of Fee — Any organization that
fails to pay the $10 filing fee by the original due
date, or extended due date, is assessed an addi-
tional filing fee of $15.

Failure to Furnish Information — In the case of
a private foundation, the Franchise Tax Board
may make a written demand that a delinquent
return or foundation report be filed within a rea-
sonable time after notice of mailing a demand.
The person who fails to file after such demand is
subject to a penalty of $5 for each month, or part
of the month, (not to exceed $25) after the period

expires. The penalty is in addition to the late fil-
ing penalty described above.

Waiver — The law provides the Franchise Tax
Board with the authority to waive the above pen-
alties if it is shown that the failure was due to
reasonable cause and not due to willful neglect.

Suspension/Revocation — The corporate
rights, powers and privileges may be suspended,
or the exemption from tax may be revoked, for
failure to file a return or statement or pay the fil-
ing fee or penalties.

M Group Return
A central or parent organization may file a group
return for organizations that:

• are tax exempt under a group exemption let-
ter that is still in effect;

• are affiliated with the central organization at
the time its annual accounting period ends;

• are subject to the central organization’s gen-
eral supervision or control; and

• have the same accounting period as the
central organization.

A separate form FTB 3500, Exemption Applica-
tion, must be filed on behalf of the group and
approved before a group return may be filed.

N Questions About Filing
If you need further information, write to:

FRANCHISE TAX BOARD
PO BOX 942857
SACRAMENTO CA 94257-0540

Include your organization’s identifying number
and telephone number on all correspondence.

Specific Line Instructions
Side 1, Part I
Line 1 – Gross Sales or Receipts from Other
Sources
Enter the amount from Side 2, Part II, line 8.

See General Instruction E for the definition of
gross receipts. Homeowners’ associations see
General Instruction D.

Note:  Do not include amounts for gross dues
and assessments from members and affiliates or
amounts from gross contributions, gifts, grants
and similar amounts received. These amounts
are reported on line 2 and line 3 of Part I.
Line 3 – Gross Contributions, Gifts, Grants
and Similar Amounts Received
The entry on line 3 differs depending on whether
or not the organization is a private foundation.

Private foundations , regardless of the amount
of gross receipts, and other organizations with
gross receipts greater than $25,000, must attach
an itemized schedule if money, securities, or
other property aggregating $5,000 or more is
received directly or indirectly from one person in
one or more transactions during the year. The
schedule must show the name, address, date
received, and the total amount received from
each person.

In determining whether a person has contributed
$5,000 or more, organizations must aggregate
gifts of $1,000 or more from that person. Sepa-
rate and independent gifts need not be aggre-
gated if less than $1,000. Also, if a contribution is
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in the form of property (other than securities), the
organization must furnish a description of the
property. If the property consists of securities for
which market quotations are readily available, the
description and fair market value of the securities
must be submitted.

Person means individuals, fiduciaries, partner-
ships, corporations, associations, trusts and
exempt organizations.

Organizations that are not private foundations
must report the name and address of the contrib-
utor if it has actual knowledge of the contributor.
For example, an organization need not require
an employer who withholds contributions from the
compensation of employees and pays over to the
organization periodically the total amounts with-
held, to specify the amounts paid over with
respect to a particular employee. In such case,
unless the organization has actual knowledge
that a particular employee gave more than
$5,000, the organization must report only the
name and address of the employer and the total
amount paid over by the employer.

Organizations described in R&TC Sections
23701b, 23701g, and 23701l that receive contri-
butions or gifts to be used exclusively for the pur-
poses described in IRC Section 170 must attach
a statement with respect to all gifts which aggre-
gate $1,000 from any one person showing:

• the name of the donor;
• the amount of the contribution;
• the specific purpose of the contribution; and
• the specific use of the contribution.

If the contribution or gift is transferred to another
organization, the statement must include:

• the name of the transferee organization;
• a description of the nature of the transferee

organization; and
• a description of the relationship between the

transferee and transferor organizations. Such
organizations must also attach a statement
showing the total dollar amount of contribu-
tions and gifts received.

Line 4 – Total Gross Receipts
Add line 1 through line 3. See General Instruc-
tion E for the definition of gross receipts.

If the amount on line 4 is smaller than $25,000,
and the organization is not a private foundation,
do not file Form 199.
Line 14 – Influencing Legislation
An organization which is exempt under R&TC
Section 23701d is prohibited from supporting or
opposing candidates for public office. However, a
23701d organization may elect to make limited
expenditures to influence legislation within the
limitations set by R&TC Section 23704.5. Organi-
zations making this election must complete form
FTB 3509, Political or Legislative Activities by
R&TC Section 23701d Organizations and attach
it to Form 199.

Side 2, Part II
Exempt organizations must either:

• complete Part II of Form 199;
• attach a completed copy of Form CT-2, Reg-

istry of Charitable Trusts Report (including
federal Form 990); or

• attach a completed copy of federal
Form 990-PF for private foundations, includ-
ing all appropriate schedules.

Line 1 – Gross Sales or Receipts from All
Business Activities
See General Instruction E for the definition of
gross receipts. Homeowners’ associations see
General Instruction D.

Note:  Do not include amounts for gross dues
and assessments from members and affiliates or
amounts from gross contributions, gifts, grants
and similar amounts received. These amounts
are reported on Side 1, Part I, line 2 and line 3
respectively.
Line 6 – Gross Amount Received from Sale of
Assets
Attach a schedule showing for each asset
(whether or not depreciable) sold or exchanged
the:

• date acquired, manner of acquisition, date
sold, and to whom sold;

• gross sales price;
• cost or other basis, or value at time of acqui-

sition if received by donation (state how
received);

• expense of sale and cost of improvements
subsequent to acquisition; and

• if depreciable property, depreciation since
acquisition.

The gross sales price should be entered on
Side 2, Part II, line 6 and the cost or other basis,
expenses, etc. (less depreciation if applicable),
should be totaled and entered on Side 1, Part I,
line 6.
Line 8 – Total Gross Sales or Receipts from
Other Sources
Add line 1 through line 7. Enter on line 8 and on
Side 1, Part I, line 1.
Line 9 – Contributions, Gifts, Grants, and
Similar Amounts Paid
Private foundations, regardless of gross receipts,
and other organizations required to file Form
199, must attach a schedule to support contribu-
tions, gifts, grants, scholarships, etc., showing:

• each class of activity;
• separate totals for each activity;
• name and address of the donee and the

amount of the distribution to the donee; and
• relationship of the donee, if related by blood,

marriage, adoption, or employment (including
children of employees) to any person or cor-
poration having an interest in the organization
(such as creator, donor, director, trustee,
officer, etc.).

Activities should be classified according to pur-
pose in greater detail than merely charitable,
educational, religious, or scientific. For example,
payments for nursing service, laboratory con-
struction, fellowships, or assistance to indigent
families should be so identified.

Private foundations making contributions, etc., to
a trust, association or corporation, shall also indi-
cate the organizational status of each donee;
such as private foundation, operating private
foundation or other public charity, etc.

When the fair market value of the property at the
time of disbursement is used to measure a con-
tribution, the schedule must also show the:

• description of the contributed property;
• book value of the contributed property;
• method used to determine the book value;

and
• date of the gift.

In such a case, the difference between fair mar-
ket value and book value should be reflected in
the books of account.
Line 11 – Compensation of Officers, Directors
and Trustees
All organizations must attach a schedule of offi-
cers, directors, trustees or individuals having sim-
ilar responsibilities. The schedule must show for
each; their name, address, social security num-
ber, position, compensation and time devoted to
the position.
Line 16 – Depreciation and Depletion
Corporations and Associations — California
law is generally the same as federal law.

California differences.
1. California has not adopted the federal Modi-

fied Accelerated Cost Recovery System
(MACRS).

2. California prohibits the use of the 20 percent
ADR ranges. Only the mid-range asset guide-
line period is allowed.

3. California allows the special additional first-
year depreciation. (R&TC Section 24356, not
IRC Section 179.)

Complete form FTB 3885, Corporation Deprecia-
tion and Amortization, to figure the difference
between state and federal depreciation.

Exempt corporations claiming depreciation
deductions must attach a schedule showing:

• description of property;
• date acquired;
• cost or other basis (exclude land);
• depreciation allowed or allowable in prior

years;
• method of computation;
• rate (%) or life (years); and
• depreciation this year (total additional first-

year depreciation claimed must be shown on
a separate line of the depreciation schedule).

Trusts — In 1987, California changed the rules
for depreciation by conforming to the Federal
Modified Accelerated Cost Recovery System
(MACRS). The California MACRS applies to
assets placed in service on or after 1/1/87.

Complete form FTB 3885F, Depreciation and
Amortization, to figure the difference between
state and federal depreciation.

Enter the total from form FTB 3885F, line 6, on
Form 199, Side 2, Part II, line 16 and attach form
FTB 3885F to Form 199.
Schedule L – Balance Sheets
The balance sheets should agree with the books
of account. Any difference should be reconciled
on Schedule M-1 of Form 199.
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F.A.S.T. Toll-Free Phone Service
Fast Answers about State Taxes is the F.A.S.T. toll-
free phone service you can use to get recorded
answers to many of your questions about California
taxes. You can also order California tax forms by
calling the F.A.S.T. number.

F.A.S.T. is available in English and Spanish to call-
ers with touch-tone or rotary dial telephones.

When Is F.A.S.T. Available?
To answer your questions, F.A.S.T. is available
24 hours a day, seven days a week. To order forms,
or to find out about your tax refund, F.A.S.T. is avail-
able from 6:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m., seven days a
week, except state holidays.

How To Use F.A.S.T.
1. Have paper and pencil handy to take notes.
2. Call the F.A.S.T. number:

From within the
United States . . . . . . . . 1-800-338-0505
From outside the United States
(not toll-free) . . . . . . . . . 1-916-845-6600

3. Follow the recorded instructions.

To Get Information — If you need an answer to
any of the following questions, enter the correct code
after you reach the F.A.S.T. number:

Code – Prefiling Assistance
715 – If my actual tax is less than the minimum

franchise tax, what figure do I put on line 22
of Form 100?

717 – What are the tax rates for corporations?
718 – How do I get an extension of time to file?
722 – When do I have to file a short-period return?
730 – May I claim net operating losses in the first

year?
731 – Are corporations allowed to use

MACRS/ACRS or Section 179 expensing?
733 – Can the prepayment to the Secretary of

State be applied to my last year of business?
734 – What is the difference between franchise tax

and income tax?
S Corporations

704 – Is an S corporation subject to the minimum
franchise tax?

705 – Are S corporations required to file estimate
payments?

706 – What forms do S corporations file?
707 – The tax for my S corporation is less than the

minimum franchise tax. What figure do I put
on line 21 of Form 100S?

708 – Where do S corporations make the state tax
adjustment on Schedule K-1(100S)?
Exempt Organizations

709 – How do I get tax-exempt status?
710 – Does an exempt organization have to file

Form 199?
735 – How can an exempt organization incorporate

without paying corporation fees and costs?
736 – I have exempt status. Do I need to file Form

100 or Form 109 in addition to Form 199?
Minimum Tax and Estimate Tax

711 – Why can’t I claim my prepayment tax as a
credit or estimate payment on my return?

712 – What is the minimum franchise tax?
714 – I’m not doing business; do I have to pay the

minimum franchise tax?
716 – When are my estimate payments due?

Billings and Miscellaneous Notices
713 – Why do I have an additional $200 adjustment

on my corporation return?
723 – I received a bill for $250. What is this for?

728 – Why was my corporation suspended?
729 – Why is my subsidiary getting a request for a

return when we file a combined report?
Tax Clearance

724 – How do I dissolve my corporation?
725 – What do I have to do to get a tax clearance?
726 – How long will it take to get a tax clearance

certificate?
727 – My corporation was suspended/forfeited. Can

I still get a tax clearance?
Miscellaneous

700 – Who do I need to contact to start a
business?

701 – I need a state ID number for my business.
Who do I contact?

702 – Can you send me an employer’s tax guide?
703 – How do I incorporate?
719 – How do I properly identify my corporation

when dealing with the Franchise Tax Board?
720 – How do I change my corporation name?
721 – How do I change my accounting period?
732 – What is the Water’s-Edge Election?
737 – Where do I send my payment to?
738 – What is electronic funds transfer?
739 – How do I get a copy of my state corporate

tax return?

Regular Toll-Free Phone Service
Our regular toll-free phone service is available 7:00
a.m. to 8:00 p.m. Monday through Friday from Janu-
ary 2 through April 15, 1996. The best times to call
are between 7:00 and 10:00 in the morning and
between 6:00 and 8:00 in the evening. Service is
also available on Saturdays, April 6 and April 13,
from 8:00 a.m. until 5:00 p.m. After April 15 service
is available Monday through Friday, between 8:00
a.m. and 5:00 p.m.

From within the United States,
call . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 1-800-852-5711
From outside the United States,
call (not toll-free) . . . . . . . . . 1-916-845-6500
For federal tax questions, call the IRS at
1-800-829-1040.

Hearing Impaired
Toll-free phone service is provided for the hearing
impaired with a Telecommunications Device (TDD).
Call 1-800-822-6268. The Franchise Tax Board will
also accept calls for, and relay messages to, any
California state agency.

Letters
We can serve you quickly if you call us or visit a dis-
trict office for information to complete your California
tax return. However, you may want to write to us if
you are replying to a notice we sent you, or to get a
written reply.

If you write to us, be sure to include the California
corporation number or FEIN and your daytime and
evening telephone numbers in your letter. Send your
letter to:

FRANCHISE TAX BOARD
PO BOX 942857
SACRAMENTO CA 94257-0540.

We will acknowledge receipt of your letter within six
to eight weeks. In some cases we may need to call
you for additional information.

In Person
Addresses of Franchise Tax Board district offices are
shown below. You can get information, California tax
forms, and you can resolve problems on your
account. Our district offices are open Monday
through Friday from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

California Offices
Bakersfield . . . . . . . . . 1430 Truxtun Avenue
Burbank . . . . . 333 North Glenoaks Boulevard
Fresno . . . . . . . . . . . 2550 Mariposa Street
Long Beach . . . . . . . . . 245 West Broadway
Los Angeles . . . . . . . 300 South Spring Street
Oakland . . . . . . . . . . . . . 1970 Broadway
Sacramento . . . . . . . 8745 Folsom Boulevard
San Bernardino . . . . . . . . 215 North D Street
San Diego . . . . . . 5353 Mission Center Road
San Francisco . . . . . . . . . 50 Fremont Street
San Jose. . . . . . . . . . 96 North Third Street
Santa Ana . . . . 600 West Santa Ana Boulevard
Santa Barbara . . . . . . 360 South Hope Avenue
Santa Rosa . . . . . . . . . . . . . 50 D Street
Stockton . . . . . . . . . 31 East Channel Street
West Covina . . . . . . 100 North Barranca Street

Where to Get Forms
By Internet – If you have Internet access, you may
download, view and print California tax forms and
publications. Go to the California Home Page at
http://www.ca.gov and access the Califonia Fran-
chise Tax Board under state servers.

By phone — Call our toll-free phone number listed
under ‘‘Regular Toll-Free Phone Service’’ to get the
California tax forms you need.

By mail — We will send you two copies of each tax
form and one copy of each set of instructions you
order. Please allow two weeks to receive your order.

In person — You can get California tax forms at the
Franchise Tax Board district offices listed above.
Many libraries and some quick print businesses have
forms for you to photocopy (you may have to pay a
nominal fee). Note that employees at libraries and
quick print businesses cannot provide tax information
or assistance.

Address your envelope to:
TAX FORMS REQUEST UNIT
FRANCHISE TAX BOARD
PO BOX 307
RANCHO CORDOVA CA 95741-0307

Your Rights As A Taxpayer
Our goal at the Franchise Tax Board is to make cer-
tain that your rights are protected, so that you will
have the highest confidence in the integrity, effi-
ciency and fairness of our state tax system. FTB
Pub. 4058, California Taxpayers’ Bill of Rights,
includes information on your rights as a California
taxpayer, the Taxpayers’ Rights Advocate Program
and how you can request written advice from the
Franchise Tax Board on whether a particular trans-
action is taxable. You can order FTB Pub. 4058 by
writing or calling the Franchise Tax Board using the
address or telephone numbers listed on this page.


