Legislative Change - Stale Dated or Replacement Warrants

FTB Archive Disclaimer:  Archived content is not current and may contain broken links. It remains online for historical reference or research. The search function above allows you to search archived and current content separately. If you need archived content in a different format, contact us.

September 1, 2016

Purpose of Bulletin

To inform staff that Senate Bill (SB) 836, chapter 31, Statutes 2016, made several changes to the Government Code including the name change of The California Victim Compensation and Government Claims Board to the California Victim Compensation Board.

This change shifted the governmental claims duties to the Department of General Services (except for claims for reissuance of stale dated or replacement warrants).

SB 836 allows the originating agency to accept direct claims for stale dated or replacement warrants without a claim fee. SB 836 also changes the authority to discharge a state entity from accountability for the collection of debt from the California Victim Compensation Board to the State Controller, and renumbered the statutes to Government Code Sections 12433 through 12439.

Background

Prior to June 27, 2016, the law provided that taxpayers who sought replacement of stale dated warrants (uncashed warrants older than 3 years from date of issuance) must make a government claim to the Victim Compensation and Government Claims Board and pay a $25 fee.

Additional Information

When a taxpayer requests a reissuance of a stale dated, or replacement warrant, ask the taxpayer to return the original warrant to the following address:

RETURNED WARRANT DESK MS F283
FRANCHISE TAX BOARD
PO BOX 942867
SACRAMENTO CA 94267-0001

When a taxpayer deposits a stale dated warrant and then learns the bank cannot honor the warrant, the bank is often unable to return the original warrant to the taxpayer. Under the "Check 21" law, the bank can give the taxpayer a copy of the warrant, or a substitute check. The Franchise Tax Board will accept either a bank copy of the warrant, or a substitute check in-lieu of the original stale dated warrant.

Taxpayer Inquiries

Taxpayers may contact the Franchise Tax Board at 1.800.852.5711 from 7 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday, except state holidays.

Help Us Improve Our Website

Don't include social security numbers or other personal/confidential information.



Thank you for your help.

If you need assistance, contact us.

Oops! Something went wrong.

We appreciate your feedback. Please try again later

 

You are leaving ftb.ca.gov

We do not control the destination site and cannot accept any responsibility for its contents, links, or offers. Review the site's security and confidentiality statements before using the site.

If you have any issues or technical problems, contact that site for assistance.

Ahora está saliendo de ftb.ca.gov

Nosotros no controlamos el sitio web al que se destina y no podemos aceptar ninguna responsabilidad por su contenido, enlaces, u ofertas. Revise las declaraciones de seguridad y confidencialidad del sitio antes de usar el sitio. Si tiene algún problema en general o técnico, comuníquese con ese sitio para obtener asistencia.

Si tiene algún problema en general o técnico, comuníquese con ese sitio para obtener asistencia.