Failure to File Penalty for Foreign or Suspended Limited Liability Companies (LLCs)
FTB Archive Disclaimer: Archived content is not current and may contain broken links. It remains online for historical reference or research. The search function above allows you to search archived and current content separately. If you need archived content in a different format, contact us.
Purpose of Bulletin
To inform staff that effective January 1, 2013, California Revenue and Taxation Code (R&TC), Section 19135 expands the $2,000 failure to file penalty to include nonqualified or forfeited foreign LLCs, or suspended domestic LLCs.
Under R&TC 19135, a $2,000 failure to file penalty is imposed when nonqualified or forfeited foreign corporations doing business in California, or suspended domestic corporations fail to file their return within 60 days of FTB’s notice of demand to file the return. Effective January 1, 2013, AB 318 expands the $2,000 failure to file penalty to also apply to nonqualified or forfeited foreign LLCs doing business in California, or suspended domestic LLCs doing business in California.
Taxpayers may call us at 800.852.5711, Monday through Friday, 7 a.m. to 5 p.m., except state holidays.
Refer media contacts to Public Affairs at 916.845.4800
Is there something wrong with this page?
Help Us Improve Our Website
Don't include social security numbers or other personal/confidential information.
Feedback received: Thank you for your help.
If you need assistance, contact us.
Oops! Something went wrong.
We appreciate your feedback. Please try again later