California Mortgage Forgiveness Debt Relief Extended Through 2013
FTB Archive Disclaimer: Archived content is not current and may contain broken links. It remains online for historical reference or research. The search function above allows you to search archived and current content separately. If you need archived content in a different format, contact us.
Media Contact Only
Public Affairs Office
For Immediate Release
Sacramento – A new state law allows taxpayers to immediately exclude from their income the amount of mortgage debt on their home loan that their lender forgave.
On July 21, 2014, Governor Brown signed Assembly Bill 1393 (Ch.152) retroactively extending California’s partial conformity to the federal exclusion of income from the discharge of qualified mortgage debt to tax year 2013. Specifically, the bill includes the following:
- The California exclusion is extended to apply to discharges of qualified mortgage debt occurring on or after January 1, 2013, and before January 1, 2014.
- Qualified principal residence indebtedness is limited to $800,000 ($400,000 for taxpayers filing separate).
- Taxpayers may exclude from gross income up to $500,000 ($250,000 for taxpayers filing separate) of qualified mortgage debt forgiven.
Generally, if a taxpayer owes a debt and the lender cancels or forgives that debt, the canceled amount is taxable. Lenders report these amounts on a 1099-C and provide documentation to both the taxpayer and the government. Debt forgiveness on other types of debt, such as a second home or business property, does not qualify for exclusion.
Taxpayers who have not yet filed their 2013 tax return can file for debt relief on their original 2013 Form 540, California Resident Income Tax Return, or 2013 Form 540NR, California Nonresident or Part-Year Resident Income Tax Return.
If taxpayers have already filed their 2013 tax return, and reported the discharged mortgage debt as income, they can file a Form 540X, Amended Individual Income Tax Return, to exclude the income and reduce their tax liability. Taxpayers need to write “Mortgage Debt Relief” in red across the top of the Form 540X.
Taxpayers must include a copy of their federal return, including Form 982, Reduction of Tax Attributes Due to Discharge of Indebtedness (and Section 1082 Basis Adjustment), with their original or amended California tax return.
Connect With Us
Help Us Improve Our Website
Don't include social security numbers or other personal/confidential information.
Thank you for your help.
If you need assistance, contact us.
Oops! Something went wrong.
We appreciate your feedback. Please try again later