Extended Due Date Deadline is October 15 for Filing State Tax Returns
FTB Archive Disclaimer: Archived content is not current and may contain broken links. It remains online for historical reference or research. The search function above allows you to search archived and current content separately. If you need archived content in a different format, contact us.
Media Contact Only
Public Affairs Office
For Immediate Release
Video Link: Daniel Tahara speaks about it here.
Sacramento – The Franchise Tax Board (FTB) today reminded taxpayers that Monday, October 15 is the deadline to timely file their 2011 state personal income tax returns to avoid late filing penalties.
Each year Californians file more than 15 million personal income tax returns, with more than 1.5 million taking advantage of California’s automatic filing extension.
Free tax help is still available. ReadyReturn and CalFile will be available through October 15 on FTB's website ftb.ca.gov. The ReadyReturn program completes the taxpayer’s return for them using information already collected from employers-such as W-2s. CalFile is a free, direct-to-government, e-file program that accepts income of up to $333,134, itemized deductions, and some tax credits.
Taxpayers can also use a tax preparer, or one of the other free or fee-based e-file services listed on FTB's website. E-filing provides faster refunds, increased accuracy, and a timely confirmation that FTB received the return. For quick refunds, FTB encourages taxpayers to opt for direct deposit into their bank account.
Taxpayers can also access MyFTB Account, an online service where taxpayers can view their wage and withholding information, estimated payments, FTB issued 1099s, and current balance information.
FTB offers electronic payment options as well. FTB's Web Pay allows taxpayers to authorize a payment from their bank account to pay their return balance due or estimated tax payments. For a fee, taxpayers can also pay using major credit cards by calling (800) 2PAY TAX [(800) 272-9829] or visiting officialpayments.com.
Installment payment plans are available on FTB's website for taxpayers who face financial trouble. Those who owe $25,000 or less and can repay the tax within five years generally qualify.
Don’t forget the Federal Earned Income Tax Credit (EITC). This is a federal incentive for low-income individuals and families. Taxpayers earning less than $49,078 can qualify for a “refundable” credit that can total up to $5,751. “Refundable” means taxpayers do not have to have a tax liability to get a refund check from the government. Taxpayers can see if they qualify for the credit by visiting the IRS website at irs.gov and searching for EITC Assistant. California has no comparable state credit.
As of October 4, 2012, California taxpayers filed nearly 15.1 million personal income tax returns of which 12.4 million were e-filed. The state has issued 10.3 million refunds totaling $9.4 billion.
Connect With Us
Is there something wrong with this page?
Help Us Improve Our Website
Don't include social security numbers or other personal/confidential information.
Feedback received: Thank you for your help.
If you need assistance, contact us.
Oops! Something went wrong.
We appreciate your feedback. Please try again later