2011 State Income Tax Rate Schedules Adjusted
FTB Archive Disclaimer: Archived content is not current and may contain broken links. It remains online for historical reference or research. The search function above allows you to search archived and current content separately. If you need archived content in a different format, contact us.
Media Contact Only
Public Affairs Office
For Immediate Release
Sacramento –The Franchise Tax Board (FTB) today released the 2011 state tax brackets. Brackets are “indexed” each year by adjusting them to reflect changes in the California Consumer Price Index (CPI).
Filing requirement thresholds, the standard deduction, and certain credits were adjusted along with income tax brackets based on the inflation rate of 2.7 percent, as measured by the California CPI for all urban consumers from June 2010 to June 2011. Last year California had an inflation rate that measured 0.9 percent.
Below are some of the changes to various items:
|Description||2011 Amounts||2010 Amounts|
|Standard deduction for single or “married filing separate” taxpayers||$3,769||$3,670|
|Standard deduction for joint, surviving spouse, or head of household taxpayers||$7,538||$7,340|
|Personal exemption credit amount for single, separate, and head of household taxpayers||$102||$99|
|Personal exemption credit amount for joint filers or surviving spouses||$204||$198|
|Dependent exemption credit||$315||$99*|
|Renter’s Credit is available for single filers with adjusted gross incomes||$35,659 or less||$34,722 or less|
|Renter’s Credit is available for joint filers with adjusted gross incomes||$71,318 or less||$69,443 or less|
* A temporary tax law (AB X3 3 Ch. 18 2009) reduced the dependent exemption credit for tax years 2009 and 2010 to the indexed personal exemption credit amount.
In addition, FTB provides minimum filing requirement thresholds to ensure that most people who will not owe taxes are not required to file a tax return. FTB adjusts these tables each year to include the added senior exemption and the dependent exemption credits. For example, most single people under 65 years old with no dependents would not need to file a state return until they have adjusted gross income of $12,122 or more compared to last year’s threshold of $11,803 or more.
Other tax credits affected by indexing include the Joint Custody Head of Household Credit, Dependent Parent Credit, and Qualified Senior Head of Household Credit.
For more information on other taxes and fees in California, visit: taxes.ca.gov.
Connect With Us
Help Us Improve Our Website
Don't include social security numbers or other personal/confidential information.
Thank you for your help.
If you need assistance, contact us.
Oops! Something went wrong.
We appreciate your feedback. Please try again later