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Disaster Loss 
How to Claim a State Tax Deduction for Your Disaster Loss
Disasters, both natural and man-made, are unpleasant. We 
designed this brochure to help you with financial recovery. 
Read on for general information on how you can claim your 
financial loss as a deduction on your California tax return. 
You can find information specific to your disaster in our 
publication series, California Disaster Relief Tax Provisions 
(FTB Pub. 1034A series).

Casualty and disaster losses 
California law generally follows federal law regarding the 
treatment of losses incurred as a result of a casualty or a disaster. 
To qualify as a disaster loss for federal purposes, the President 
of the United States must declare the area in which the disaster 
occurred as a disaster area, eligible for federal assistance under 
the Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance 
Act. This includes a major disaster or emergency declaration 
under the Act. A pronouncement by the Governor declaring an 
area as a disaster or emergency area is not enough. 

A casualty loss occurs when you lose or damage your property 
due to an earthquake, fire, flood, or similar event that is sudden, 
unexpected, or unusual. You usually qualify for a casualty 
loss deduction for tax purposes when insurance or other 
reimbursements do not repay you for damage to your property. 
Your casualty loss becomes a disaster loss when both of the 
following occur:

You sustain the loss in an area the President of the United 
States or the Governor of California designates as a disaster 
area. (Note: If only the Governor declares a disaster, 
subsequent state legislation is required to activate the disaster 
provision for California tax purposes).
You sustain the loss because of the declared disaster.

Special tax rules apply to disaster losses. You can claim a 
disaster loss in the tax year the disaster occurred or in the tax 
year immediately before the disaster occurred. The advantage 
of claiming a disaster loss in the prior year is that the loss will 
generally reduce the prior year tax liability generating a refund 
that FTB can quickly issue. 

Claiming a disaster loss on an amended return 
If you have already filed your return for the preceding year, you 
can claim a disaster loss against that year’s income by filing an 
Amended Individual Income Tax Return, Form 540X.

For example, you sustained a disaster loss in March 2008.  
You can claim the loss on your 2008 return when you file it 
by April 15, 2009, or claim the loss immediately on your 2007 
return. If you already filed your 2007 return, complete Form 
540X. You must make the election to claim the loss on your  
2007 return by April 15, 2009 (the original due date for the 
2008 tax return), unless California passes subsequent legislation 
extending the option until the October 15 extended due date.

Special disaster loss carryover rules 
You may also qualify to carry over any excess losses for up to  
15 years if subsequent California legislation identifies your 
disaster for the special carryover treatment. The California 
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disaster provisions (R&TC 17207 & 24347.5) allow disaster 
victims to carryover 100 percent of the excess loss for up to  
five years. 

For tax years 2004 and after, you can deduct any remaining 
excess losses at 100 percent for up to 15 years. 

For disaster losses incurred in prior tax years, you can deduct 
any excess loss that remains after the five-year period for up to 
10 more years at the following percentage rates:    

You cannot use disaster losses in computing a net operating 
loss deduction under Internal Revenue Code Section 172. If 
you have both disaster loss carryovers and net operating loss 
carryovers, you must use them in the order you incurred them.

Taxpayers should complete form FTB 3805V for the year of 
loss to compute the carryover.

How to calculate a disaster loss 
Compute your tax loss on your federal tax return and transfer 
that loss amount to your California return. In some cases, you 
may need to make adjustments between state and federal tax 
laws on your California return.

Individuals 
Calculate your disaster loss by reporting California amounts 
on IRS Form 4684, Casualties and Thefts, Section A - Personal 
Use Property, and submitting this form with your California tax 
return. You will also need to attach a statement giving the date 
and location of the disaster (city and county). 

Determine your personal loss by using the smaller of the 
decrease in the fair market value of your property due to the 
casualty or the adjusted basis of the property. Fair market 
value means the amount at which property would change 
hands between a willing buyer and seller. Adjusted basis 
generally means what you paid for the property plus the cost 
of any improvements, less deductions such as depreciation. To 
determine your allowable loss, deduct insurance proceeds or 
other reimbursement you received or expect to receive. Next, 
subtract $100 and then 10 percent of your federal adjusted 
gross income. Claim the remaining amount as your casualty or 
disaster loss.

Businesses 
Calculate your disaster loss by reporting California amounts on 
IRS Form 4684, Casualties and Thefts, Section B - Business and 
Income Producing Property.

Determine your business loss by using the smaller of the 
decrease in the fair market value of your property due to the 
casualty or the adjusted basis of the property. To determine the 
allowable loss, deduct insurance or other reimbursement you 
received or expect to receive.

Percentage Allowed  
to Carry Over

For Disasters Incurred In 
Taxable Years

60 2002 and 2003

55 2000 and 2001

50 1999 and before



Federal Postponement Periods 
California automatically follows federal postponement 
periods as announced by the IRS. The IRS may postpone for 
up to one year certain tax deadlines of taxpayers affected by 
a Presidentially declared disaster. Tax deadlines subject to 
postponement include those for filing tax returns, paying 
income taxes, and making contributions to a traditional 
IRA or Roth IRA. The IRS and FTB may cancel the interest 
and penalties on underpaid income tax for the length of any 
postponement deadlines. 

If the IRS postpones a tax deadline, the following taxpayers are 
eligible for the postponement: 

Any individual whose main home is located in a covered 
disaster area. 
Any business whose principal place of business is located 
in a covered disaster area.
Any relief worker affiliated with a recognized government 
or philanthropic organization and who is assisting in a 
covered disaster area. 
Any individual or business whose records are needed to 
meet a postponed deadline, provided those records are 
maintained in a covered disaster area. Note: The main 
home or principal place of business does not have to be 
located in the disaster area. 
Any estate or trust that has tax records needed to meet 
a postponed tax deadline, provided those records are 
maintained in a covered disaster area. 
The spouse on a joint return with a taxpayer who is eligible 
for postponements.
Any other person determined by the IRS to be affected by 
a Presidentially declared disaster.

Disasters Outside of California 
If you meet the qualifications to claim a disaster loss anywhere 
within the United States and have a California tax-filing 
requirement (resident or nonresident), the same disaster  
rules and postponement periods automatically apply to  
you. Be sure you indicate on your tax return the name and  
date (in red at the top of your return) of which disaster  
you are claiming a loss. 

Documentation you must attach to your  
California return 
To report your losses, you may need the following  
California forms: 

Schedule D-1, Sales of Business Property. 
Form FTB 3805V, Net Operating Loss (NOL) and  
NOL and Disaster Loss Limitations - Individuals,  
Estates, and Trusts.
Form FTB 3805Q, Net Operating Loss Computation and 
NOL and Disaster Loss Limitations - Corporations.
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You must also include these Internal Revenue Service (IRS) forms 
in your disaster loss documentation:

A completed IRS Form 4684, Casualties and Thefts use 
California amounts.
A copy of your IRS Form 1040, U.S. Individual Income Tax 
Return, or 1040X, Amended U.S. Individual Income Tax 
Return (for individuals).
A copy of your IRS Form 1120, U.S. Corporation Income Tax 
Return, or 1120X, Amended U.S. Corporation Income Tax 
Return (for corporations).
Any supporting IRS schedules that verify your deduction.

You must attach a clearly written statement to your loss 
documentation that indicates:

The date of the disaster.
The location of the disaster (city, county, and state).
If you choose, your decision to deduct the loss in the tax year 
before the year the disaster occured.

For filing deadline dates specific to your disaster, please refer to 
California Disaster Relief Tax Provisions (FTB Pub. 1034A series).

It is a good idea to take and keep photos of the damaged property 
to document the loss.

How to replace California tax returns lost or damaged 
in a disaster 
If your returns are lost or damaged in a disaster, we will replace 
your California tax returns at no cost. Complete form FTB 3516, 
Request for Copy of Tax Return. Print the name of the disaster 
at the top of the form and we will send you copies of your most 
recently filed tax return.

Please send your request to the appropriate address listed below.
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For Personal Income  
Tax Returns:

For Business Income  
Tax Returns:

RID UNIT PIT
FRANCHISE TAX BOARD
PO BOX 1570
RANCHO CORDOVA CA 
95741-1570

RID UNIT CORP
FRANCHISE TAX BOARD
PO BOX 1570
RANCHO CORDOVA CA 
95741-1570

You can also request a copy of your lost or damaged return by 
writing us a letter that includes all of the following:

Your name
Your address
Your social security number  
(for personal income tax returns)
Your corporation number, California Secretary of State 
number, or federal employer identification number  
(for corporate tax returns)
The tax year requested
Your signature
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Where to get forms to claim your loss 
You can access and print California tax forms and publications 
on our website at ftb.ca.gov.

You can also order forms by calling 800.338.0505. To order 
personal income tax forms, select the personal income tax forms 
option and any of the following form codes when prompted:

900 - California Residential Income Tax Booklet  
(includes Form 540)

914 - California Nonresident Income Tax Booklet  
(includes Form 540NR)

908 - Form 540X, Amended Individual Income Tax Return

909 - Schedule D-1, Sale of Business Property

926 - Form FTB 3805V, Net Operating Loss  
(NOL) Individuals

937 - Form FTB 3516, Request for Copy of Personal Income 
Tax or Fiduciary Return

To order corporate forms, please select business entities tax 
forms, and any of the following form codes when prompted:

816 - California S Corporation Tax Forms and Instructions 
(includes Form 100S)

817 - California Corporation Tax Forms and Instructions 
(includes Form 100)

817 - Form FTB 3805Q, Net Operating Loss  
(NOL) Computation

* - Form FTB 100X, Amended Corporation Income  
Tax Return

*available at our website only
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Assistance for persons with disabilities:  
We comply with the Americans with Disabilities Act.  
Persons with hearing or speech impairments, please call  
TTY/TDD 800.822.6268 

Mailing addresses for disaster loss documentation

Individual taxpayers: Business taxpayers:

FRANCHISE TAX BOARD 
PO BOX 942867 
SACRAMENTO CA  
94267-0001

FRANCHISE TAX BOARD 
PO BOX 942857 
SACRAMENTO CA  
94257-0501

Refunds 
Our commitment is to quickly issue refunds to disaster victims. 

If you electronically file your disaster loss tax return, you will 
receive your refund within seven days if you choose to have it 
deposited directly into your bank account or within 10 days by 
mail. Please follow your tax software instructions to enter the 
disaster information.

You can also file paper returns. To help us process your refund 
quickly, use red ink to print the name of the disaster at the top 
of Side 1 of your California tax return (for example: DISASTER 
- 2008 CALIFORNIA WILDFIRES). We give these returns top 
priority and will process them as quickly as possible.

Information and assistance on claiming a  
California disaster loss

Telephone and Internet Assistances

From within the  
United States, call

800.852.5711

From outside the United States, 
call (not toll-free)

916.845.6500

Website ftb.ca.gov

Asistencia para personas  
con discapacidades:  
Nosotros estamos en conformidad con la Ley sobre 
Estadounidenses con Discapacidades (ADA). Personas con 
discapacidades de la audición y del habla pueden llamar al  
TTY/TDD 800.822.6268. 

IRS forms and information 
Common casualty or disaster forms and publications:

Form 4684, Casualties and Thefts

Publication 547, Casualties, Disasters, and Thefts

Publication 584, Casualty, Disaster, and Theft Loss 
Workbook (Personal-Use Property)

Publication 584B, Business Casualty, Disaster, and  
Theft Loss Workbook

To get forms and other tax information from the IRS you  
can access their website at irs.gov. You can also call the IRS  
at 800.829.1040. For delivery by conventional mail call  
1.800.TAX.FORM (1.800.829.3676). 

Federal Emergency Management Agency 
Call the Federal Emergency Management Agency at 
800.462.9029 to get a list of Disaster Recovery Centers  
in your area. You can access their website at fema.gov.

•

•

•

•

Asistencia Por Teléfono Y El Internet 

Dentro de los Estados Unidos, 
llame al

800.852.5711

Fuera de los Estados Unidos, 
llame al (cargos aplican)

916.845.6500

Sitio web ftb.ca.gov

FTB Pub. 1034 (REV 09-2008)


